View Full Version : ARR News and other Tidbits

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

12th February 2005, 06:18 PM
Please use this thread to post news on events, concerts, etc, as well as tidbits on ARR.

12th February 2005, 06:20 PM
Rehman Composes for Tsunami Relief

Music director A.R.Rehman will present the theme music to raise funds for Tsunami relief at an international charity cricket match. Rehman will also sing a number when the Asian XI with Sourav Ganguly in the lead will take on the powerful World XI comprising eminent cricketers like Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara, Shane Warne, Chris Cairns and Glen McGrath. The theme music in addition to a song on Tsunami will be performed by Rehman at the Eden Gardens on February 13.

11th July 2005, 08:01 PM
Moderator avargalae! Moderatora irunthukittu oru post kooda poda maatreenga :( .

Neenga ennadanna Misc sectionla romba busy ya irukeenga. Thiru Tamil films la busy ya irukarru (lock panrathulaye). Inga koncham vanthuttu ponga sir :D ....

12th July 2005, 06:38 AM
scale, oru post kooda pOdalanu sollradhu abandaam. unga post'kku mEleiyE oru post pOttirukkEn. :D

ok, will try to post a little more frequently.
but the problem is that there has been no new ARR tamil releases and I dont listen to any songs other than tamil and english.....

12th July 2005, 10:14 AM
Welcome thiru as moderator :clap:. NOV voda puttukku inge thada sattam pottu vaithirunthom. Neer vandhu viteer.... :roll:

28th July 2005, 03:23 PM
http://www.kumudam.com/kumudam/mainpage.php

Vairamuthu's Interview

IR - ARR ?

IR - Aarmoniya Arasar

ARR - Keyboard King

28th July 2005, 05:36 PM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/July/230705.asp

when he ears so much money why didnt he do that, money talks more than music.

28th July 2005, 09:38 PM

I just dont know whats wrong with people. If ARR decided to give a live show in a small villiage, that itself show how generous he can be. If he spend 5 hours and if that is equivalent to some money that itself is work.

I read in another report that for the same function "ARR" came little late and the kids were starving and they didnt feed the kids until the function was over. What can ARR do about it. Did he called someone and told them not to feed these kids.

Press in the freedom of liberty is spreading these nonsense. Look at IR thread. more than TIS, people talk about IR's background, he being a low caste etc. Total nonsense.

IR did the biggest mistake in life, just stick with Tamil folks.

ARR didnt do that and he is now popular across India. Hope he doesnt come back to TFM, atleast forever.

2nd August 2005, 01:17 AM
IR did the biggest mistake in life, just stick with Tamil folks.

ARR didnt do that and he is now popular across India. Hope he doesnt come back to TFM, atleast forever.

And you will be happy for IR reigning the permanent king over here with no competetion at all :lol:

alias
2nd August 2005, 02:35 AM
Thats not happening in this life of IR and as IR said he is fullfilled his life goal. So better try luck with his son rajasarnam :lol:

2nd August 2005, 11:33 AM
Thats not happening in this life of IR and as IR said he is fullfilled his life goal. So better try luck with his son rajasarnam :lol:
Dont know about that, but Ayngaran is not willing to take Aa Aah audio rights due to recent failures with ARR album. Note that the failure doesnt mean failure of songs, but commercial failures. The amount they pay for ARR songs are not worth any more it seems, so they are asking to reduce the rate or forget about it. Thats why its not yet on their list. This is the same reason why they dont want to release MX (cuz Kamal was "demanding" a lot) and now Aa Aah. I just hope they will release the CD soon, cuz their quality is much better than CDs from their indian counter part 5*.

Tamil movie folks has to also understand a lot. While SRK gets only 4.5 crore and has entire India wathcing his movie, our RK, KH and the likes are getting 4 to 10 crore. They are "claiming" that they have such a rate, but the fact is the products are overpriced. Tamil Audio CD costs double that of Hindi Audio CD, same with DVD and the theatrical rates are also too much, as a result theatre owner increase their ticket rate. This is a shame. Since Jayalalitha introduced the piracy bill, things are going smooth but with few of the movies running for 100 days, actors are demanding more now, and hence more cost of production and hence few suicide attempts also.

There are many of us who want to buy original CDs and with these issues popping up the MP3 will rule the world.

alias
2nd August 2005, 08:13 PM
njv, The reason I thought was Surya has his own audio company which released New and they are one who has released Aa Ahaha. So there is no question of selling it to Ayaganran who are going to loose their money invested in TJ.

9th August 2005, 01:50 AM
http://g.msn.co.in/IN8/14398.1?http://autofeed.msn.co.in/pandorav3/output/Cinema/cf7050b6-2644-4510-91dd-09080d7e540d.aspx&&HL=Rahman%20changes%20track&CP=65001&CE=h02

may be old news, but msn.co.in replays it...

9th August 2005, 09:27 AM
now ayngaran finally released Aa Aah.

9th August 2005, 09:27 AM
now ayngaran finally released Aa Aah and came up with very interesting combo!!! Aa Aah with ONOK. This is the second CD that I am gonna own which has ARR and IR movies (first one was Ejamaan with Duet).

10th August 2005, 11:06 AM
Celebrities from across the globe join the Campaign to say "No Excuses, Promises Must be Kept."

To raise awareness on the world's commitment to end poverty, the United Nations Millennium Campaign has produced a global media initiative entitled "Only with your Voice".

Click on the pictures to Watch the clips featuring celebrities from across the world calling upon the world's 6 billion voices to join their voices and remind our governments that they must live up to their promise to end poverty once and for all.
Share your favourite video clip with your friends, family and colleagues.

http://www.millenniumcampaign.org/site/pp.asp?c=grKVL2NLE&b=496093

25th August 2005, 05:10 PM
Rehman brings another to Chennai
IndiaGlitz [Thursday, August 25, 2005]

A R Rehman, the internationally acclaimed music-composer,is known for his innovations.

This music composer, from a humble beginning in Kollywood,has gone on to leave his mark from Broadway to Bollywood. He even scored music for a Chinese film.

This music wizard has now come up with a state-of-the-art music studio in Chennai which possess all latest international facilities.

The music facility was inaugurated on Wednesday.

Rehman already has a big studio in Chennai. The latest one is bigger and better in terms of facilities.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/16421.html

26th August 2005, 12:51 AM
Here is a funny news item about HFM MDs beating each other up. I guess Ismail Durbar is some sort of jerk
http://us.rediff.com/movies/2005/aug/22aadesh.htm

29th August 2005, 01:04 AM
[tscii:e4f23752fc]Shyam Benegal’s ‘Chamki’ [August 16]

After NETAJI – THE FORGOTTEN HERO, Shyam Benegal has started work on his next venture, titled CHAMKI. Produced by a corporate entity, WSG Pictures, the veteran has roped in Urmila Matondkar and Jimmy Shergill for the principal roles. A.R. Rahman, who had scored the music of Benegal’s past few films, will score the music of this one as well.

Set in Rajasthan, close to the Indo-Pak border, CHAMKI belongs to a tribal community who are traditionally entertainers, snake charmers, mendicants, balladeers and dancers. They indulge in cross border smuggling, are often involved in petty crimes and do not necessarily respect national borders. Source:indiafm

[/tscii:e4f23752fc]

11th September 2005, 10:15 AM
Please Vote for ARRahman here........

http://in.rediff.com/us/iapoy05.htm

it is for India Abroad Person of the year.......they wanted someone who has achieved for India in 2005, well, ARR has been achieving for quite a lot of yrs now.....so pls vote for him with reasons(they need reasons), if u want pls refer the reasons i gave for selecting ARR.......

a)For promoting Anti-Poverty cause,
b)For composing music for Lord of the rings musical,
c)For composing patriotic songs in Bose,Swades,Mangal Pandey,
d)For being touted as Mozart of Madras,
e)For composing music in foreign languages like chinese.

i dunt how big is this award, but i want ARR to win anywhere and evrywhere....i hope u wud want to............

15th September 2005, 05:25 AM
I've been making too many sacrifices: Rehman
[Interview by Subhash K. Jha]
Wednesday, September 14, 2005

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/interview/6404.html

A.R. Rahman thinks he has been making too many concessions with the way his songs are treated in films and says Bollywood needs to be proud of its music again.

"I''ve been making too many sacrifices, especially with the way my songs were used. I think Hindi films need to become proud of songs and music again," Rehman told IANS in an interview.

He also brushes aside the charge of being repetitive, saying he has simply done a few too many period films. While Rehman wants to return to the format of musicals, he is also keen on composing for a string of Hindi films.

"It''s better to be burnt out than fade away," he said. Excerpts from the interview:

So many period films...and now "Mangal Pandey". What challenges?
I was offered three period films at the same time, including one from Roland Joffe. I was quite wary of doing "Mangal Pandey" until I heard the script. I thought there was no scope for music.

Then when director Ketan Mehta and Aamir Khan came to me I quite liked the interpretation. So we plunged into it. Before that I was like...'Oh no, not another period film! I just did "Bhagat Singh" and "Bose"...Composing for a sutradhar, as I've done in "Mangal Pandey", was a new experience for me.

How did you pick Kailash Kher for the title song?
I wanted a very Nusrat Ali Khan kind of voice. Lyricist Mehboob suggested Kailash. He has done a fabulous job. "Vaari vaari" in "Mangal Pandey" is my first mujra.

Your music in "Bose - The Forgotten Hero" went unnoticed?
They didn't picturise a large part of my music. When the music isn't picturised, it goes unnoticed. The junta disregarded it. I told Shyam Benegal that it's imperative to cash in on whatever songs I compose. Why be apologetic about the music?

But I must say I enjoyed composing for "Bose"...For me, every score is enjoyable. It can't be helped if some of them went out of hand. Did the music for a film called "Adaa", I don't know what happened. I put my best effort in all of them. The rest is up to god.

In Mumbai there's a growing feeling that your songs have become repetitive?
Which of my songs are repetitive? Tell me, so I can correct myself. According to me, the repetitive pattern in my career was caused by the series of period films. But I got paid very well.

Is money important?
Not as a rule. But I had invested in a studio in Chennai that cost more than I had bargained for. I didn't have to take a loan. And I enjoyed doing all the period films. But now whatever films I have on hand - like Abbas Tyrewala's "Jane Tu" and Rakesh Mehra's "Rang De Basanti", Shyam Benegal and Rajiv Menon's new film - aren't period films.

Too many assignments in Hindi?
Better to be burnt out than fade way...1999 was my busiest period - "Dil Se", "Taal", "Bombay Dreams", "Kandukondain Kandukondain". I love working on musical subjects like "Taal", "Sapne" and "Kandukondain Kandukondain". Ghai and Mani Ratnam are two people who know what to do with music. I want to return to that format.

For now I've stopped doing period films though they've helped me go new areas of my creativity. Their fate wasn't in my hand. I'm doing three southern Indian films. I'm happy about them. At least they won't feel let down and they won't feel I've run away, like they sometimes believe in Mumbai.

What went wrong with the music in "Yuva"?
In "Yuva", Mani Ratnam didn't want songs in the first place. The songs were done largely for the background. I knew from the start there would be very high expectations from our combination. I knew they were in for a letdown, though not as much as they finally were.

I've been making too many sacrifices, especially with the way my songs were used. I think Hindi films need to become proud of songs and music again. That's what the history of our cinema is about. Even my "Hum hain iss pal yahan" in Ghai's "Kisna" was used in the background.

The music boom in the Mumbai film industry is over.
The boom in music happened in the mid-1990s. That's when "Roja" happened. During the last 7 to 8 years the whole equation between music and cinema has changed.

"Dhoom" had one hit song, and that song made the film a hit. I feel audiences shouldn't be tortured with unwanted songs. At the same time why deprive them of something they love?

Anything in Hindi songs that you like lately?
I like M.M. Kreem's songs. "Jadu hai nasha hai" in "Jism" and some of the Pakistani songs. Otherwise Hindi music seems to be following the herd mentality. There's no time to think...One "Kaliyon ka chaman" and everyone uses the same rhythms. Fortunately I'm not forced to do anything that I don't want to.

Are you happy with your career?
My career is not in my hands. I'm happy with what I'm doing. But I'm always thirsty for more. There's no fixed working place for me. Chennai is my home, I guess. But I want to reach out to the listener in Kanjeevaram and Kolkata. Their approval means a lot to me.

15th September 2005, 07:55 AM
That was a good interview. " Hindi music seems to be following the herd mentality. There's no time to think...One "Kaliyon ka chaman" and everyone uses the same rhythms." was on the dot !

yvsmani
15th September 2005, 02:50 PM
Nice to know that he appreciated maragathamani's music

28th September 2005, 01:04 PM
http://www.soundwizard.net/projects/index.php?app_id=1

30th September 2005, 05:14 PM
http://www.soundwizard.net/projects/index.php?app_id=1

http://www.lazygeek.net/archives/2005/09/29/peek_into_rahmans_desk.html

http://www.soundwizard.net/projects/showproject.php?project_id=2

3rd October 2005, 06:20 PM
A R Rehman on Mani Ratnam
He creates excitement wherever he goes. Beginning from "Roja" in Tamilnadu, "Rangeela' in the north and 'Bombay Dreams' abroad, he is celebrated all over.

When people still insist that 'Roja' is his best music till date, he admits without getting annoyed, "Yes, it gave a new direction to my career and also 'Roja' created a new trend in the industry." When asked why he creates special music for Mani Ratnam, he smiles his answer, "Mani Ratnam knows how to use the songs."

Apart from scoring music for movies and plays, A R Rehman evinces great interest in things related to children. "Apart from music, I am fond of children and health related matter." He is planning to score music and sing a poem penned by President Abdul Kalam, another great man who is interested in children's welfare.

There is shade of Abdul Kalam's thinking in his words. Kalam said, "Continue to dream." AR says, "Be determined to follow your dreams."

It seems great achievers think alike!
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/03102005-3.shtml

4th October 2005, 09:59 AM
Rehman to compose music for Kalam's poems

IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, October 04, 2005]

There is no stopping the music whiz A R Rehman. Not perhaps content with composing music for films in Kollywood, Bollywood and even for international films and also for London's famous Broadway theatre, Rehman is making a move-on.

Adding one more feather to his cap, Rehman is planning to score music and sing for a poem penned by President of India Dr A P J Abdul Kalam.

Though Rehman did not confirm the news, sources close to him said, the works will begin towards this album before the end of this year'.

Rehman, like Kalam, is a youth icon who is totally devoted to what he is doing.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/17166.html

rajdes
4th October 2005, 12:39 PM
Good interview. Interesting comments on current HFM. Spot-on as RR said. Glad that he is speaking his mind.

4th October 2005, 10:59 PM
can someone giv me the list of song ARR composed for Kisna......
an who is the MD for the movie???

5th October 2005, 09:19 AM
lancelot....

ARR composed Hum Iss Ye Pal Yahan, and My Wish Comes True, plus couple of instrumental which is basically the same tune as Hum Iss.

The rest of the songs were composed by Ismail Darbar...

5th October 2005, 09:54 AM
lancelot....

ARR composed Hum Iss Ye Pal Yahan, and My Wish Comes True, plus couple of instrumental which is basically the same tune as Hum Iss.

The rest of the songs were composed by Ismail Darbar...

than you soooooo much. i was hoping Hum Iss Ye was by ARR. that was the only song i liked in the album

5th October 2005, 11:20 AM
i knoe this is the rong place to ask this. but does anyone know who the MD was for the Aamir Khan movie Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandhar???

Shankar
5th October 2005, 12:23 PM
jatin-lalit

7th October 2005, 03:33 PM
http://moviescore.blogspot.com/

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=229191&highlight=#229191

7th October 2005, 04:44 PM
[tscii:9946293ae4]We can get to hear A R Rahman again in Tamil
October 7, 2005

A R Rahman had become too busy in Hindi and international films and we could not hear his scintillating music. After the flop of Baba, he sort of went into a shell. Now, he is back with a bang

with S.J. Surya’s Anbe Aruyire. After the good response to the film’s music, Rahman has taken a short vacation. His next project will be Jillendru oru kadhal. He will also be working on a new film yet-to-be-titled. Having been made the high-profile music director of Sivaji, he will also be tuning in for that film.

http://www.behindwoods.com/features/News/News32/7-10-05/tamil-movies-news-arrahman.html

[/tscii:9946293ae4]

sanchayy
8th October 2005, 01:41 PM
http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/08102005-2.shtml

9th October 2005, 11:08 AM
Date: Sat, 8 Oct 2005 20:14:09 -0700 (PDT)
Subject: [arr] Gift to ARR

The group gifted a montage to ARR which recreated his face with inlay card images of every
single one of his 94 Original/Remade/Reused and Non-film releases with the following text:

Aankhon Ki Pyaas Hai, Is Dil Ki Aas Hai, Inki Talaash Hai
ONLY YOU
From Roja to Ah Aah and Beyond
Forever with you
arrahmanfans

The fantastic work was was designed by Vinit of our group.
ARR with the Montage

http://www.flickr.com/photos/14734266@N00/50654741/

--
The original montage image

http://www.flickr.com/photos/14734266@N00/50655859/
--
A big round of applause for Vinit for the fantastic work please...

sanchayy
9th October 2005, 03:46 PM
http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/specials/cinema/news/music.html

10th October 2005, 11:25 PM
WOHE IS 2 BE TELECASTED ON AXN :

Tue, 25 Oct 22:00

Wed, 26 Oct 05:30

Wed, 26 Oct 18:30

26th October 2005, 11:45 PM
http://sify.com/news/fullstory.php?id=13972920

not a good news...but news anyways...

27th October 2005, 09:57 AM
app_engine it is really a good news only as i sincerely believe that A.R.Rahman wud have paid all tax rightly and earnestly...

so an incident to show case Rahman's greatness once again..athu mattum ilama...ARR ku konjam drishti kazhinja maahtiriyum aachu :)

27th October 2005, 11:25 AM
proof of ARR's importance to North Indian Film Industry...
the news even made it to indiafm.com which never bothers about anything outside its industry.

http://www.indiafm.com/news/2005/10/26/6097/index.html

27th October 2005, 11:58 AM
To: arrahmanfans@yahoogroups.com
Date: Wed, 26 Oct 2005 17:58:13 -0000
Subject: [arr] Bad day for the boss...???

It seems rather emphatic effort by the press to bring ARR under bad
light. The raids were conducted in almost every other Top film stars
in Chennai, but they decide to put ARRs photos in all the sites.
Others who came under the raid included Yuvan Shankar, Vikram,
Vijay, Trisha... and the list goes on. Arent they biggies in
kollywood, y dont they write more about what happened there?

All the major websites, press releases have been dogmatic in
singling ARR and splashing his photos with headlines "IT scrutiny".
Whats all this bad press all about? He was always their darling when he made waves in music. Just coz he is a popular figure they want his photos visible in the news so that ppl buy their stories.

I know the Central Govt is only trying to do their job; and am sure
in the next cple of days we will all be enlightened with their calculations and what each star owes. Well before the press start
making judgements abt ARR or his earnings, I wud want them to also take into consideration his humanitarian efforts and contributions.

He has conducted concerts all over the world and most of the
proceeds have been donated to NGOs and Non-Profit Service
Organizations.

* I dont remember any other music director contributing something towards National Integration with an album like Vande Mataram, Jana Gana Mana

* Innumerous concerts in an effort to support NGOs like Banyan

* Spirit of Unity Concert series

* Anthem to fight TB and not to forget a special status as UN
Ambassdor to lead the fight against the disease

* Concert for the families who were victims to the Tsunami disaster

and his contributions keep going on....

I was doing some research on the web and it looks like IT Dept is
doing this as a relegious act every year around September /October, and all these raids on Film personalities. In 2000 they did the same thing with Bollywood biggies, and now they have turned their attention to the South. I dont know how genuine are their intentions, but in a country filled with plagiarism and corruption, their first target should be politicians and industrial big wigs, then those in the entertainment sector.

As ARR fans we can all only hope that he is undeterred by all these
bad press and continues to give us all the best in music.

Talent cannot be Taxed!
Outcries from a loyal fan
Badrie

27th October 2005, 02:53 PM
Though it is not a great distinction but i feel tax-raid episode will highlight the following things:

1.North Indian media(includes Mumbai) carried the news in the front page which once again stamps the fact that ARR is the most popular film personality from south.....
2.ARR,if found clean, will increase his image manifold times....being a celebrity and paying tax regularly is just the image ARR wants....

This is nothing new for people who have closely watched the political games b4 elections.....elections which are due by feb2006 in TN and parties need finance and they conduct such raids on celebrities and any celeb found guilty will be charged with a hefty sum by the party in bargain for his escape.....a very popular political party is very well known for its such cheap petty money-gathering ideas since 1947.......

27th October 2005, 05:20 PM
ithukku munnakuda rajini homela kuda pala murai raid nadathirikku.appakuda intha alavu publisiti illai,aana rehmanukku intha alavu media uuthi perusu panna athukku enna artham.etho politic pinnadi irukku..

28th October 2005, 10:50 PM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=218710&disdate=10/28/2005

ARR paid 90 lacs as IT for the unaccounted 6 cr...as per this newspaper...

kumaranmani
29th October 2005, 03:53 AM
Quoting "* I dont remember any other music director contributing something towards National Integration with an album like Vande Mataram, Jana Gana Mana and blah blah"

None of these are justifications for any tax fraud. I am not saying ARR has not paid his taxes. All I am saying is if he did, why do you worry?

The simple fact is "If you make money, you pay taxes" Musician or not, talented or not.

Your statements indicate that he is a generous giver. But that wasnt the question.

2nd November 2005, 10:29 PM
http://kumudam.com/reporter/031105/pg1.php
House gatekeeper created problem for ARR, this report says...

2nd November 2005, 11:51 PM
http://kumudam.com/reporter/031105/pg1.php
House gatekeeper created problem for ARR, this report says...

why??what happened?

3rd November 2005, 12:38 AM
IT found 6 cr unaccounted money with ARR and asked him to pay tax + penalty of 90 lakhs.

3rd November 2005, 01:09 AM
dinesh, as per Kumudam, the IT officials' team which stormed to many homes of film personalities (with a lot of pre-planning and info), also went to ARR's home. ARR wasn't home and his gatekeeper refused entry to the house, making them wait for 2 hours outside... i.e. till when ARR could be reached through cell..."andhakkaduppil uLLE irundha papers / money'ai aLLikkoNdu vandhu vittOm" says an insider from IT dept....

6th November 2005, 11:24 AM
ARR at Miami University

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/58948282/

6th November 2005, 11:25 AM
A Bloggers report

http://mohankaus.blogspot.com/2005/09/film-songs-that-i-am-listening-to.html

7th November 2005, 11:39 PM
Scale, thanks for the last link, that was a good writeup. I pretty much agree with the list put up by that guy. Expecting another Swades from Rahman soon.

19th November 2005, 02:37 PM
Vijayr :D . ella sourcem ARR yahoogroupl thaan.

One more. A rare photograph of KB, Pyramid Natrajan, Visu, MR, Vairamuthu & ARR.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/64190438/in/photostream/

2nd December 2005, 05:14 PM
hi guys.... i heard Bharathiraja is to take a new film soon....who is the md for it??? is it ARR??

3rd December 2005, 09:09 AM
ARR to scoe for a movie on Mozart

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2005/12/asian-mozart-to-score-for-mozart-film.html

5th December 2005, 09:32 PM
hi guys.... i heard Bharathiraja is to take a new film soon....who is the md for it??? is it ARR??

According to Kumudham, Kasthuri Raja (Danush's father) is making a movie about tamil culture, to be directed by Bharathiraja, music by Illayaraja and this also bring IR and Vairamuthu together. So its going to be BR-IR-VM combo after decade of seperation.

i am not sure if you are talking about the same or different movie.

6th December 2005, 04:39 PM

According to Kumudham, Kasthuri Raja (Danush's father) is making a movie about tamil culture, to be directed by Bharathiraja, music by Illayaraja and this also bring IR and Vairamuthu together. So its going to be BR-IR-VM combo after decade of seperation.

i am not sure if you are talking about the same or different movie.

ohhk...great news...i liked BR-IR-VM combo in Mudhal Mariyathai,amazing movie,excellent score & songs & meaningful lyrics...:D:D:D

6th December 2005, 05:17 PM
Is the movie by RGV in tamil by ARRahman? Produced by Jothika?? also is vasanth's surya starrer movie music by ARRahman??? check out !!

Hoping to hit a six through Aaru
IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, December 06, 2005]

Suriya is elated at the success of Ghajini in Telugu too. Eagerly awaiting the release of his next Aaru, Suriya says, 'I expected Ghajini to make it big. I knew hard work always pays. However I was thrilled at the big response for the movie at Andhra Pradesh. Chiranjeevi sir, who distributed the film in Andhra Pradesh appreciated me'.

Asked how Aaru is shaping up, Suriya, says, 'It is a different film. Though such action-packed movies were released before, Aaru will be different and intense action. Interestingly I speak a typical Chennai dialect in the movie'.

About his forthcoming movie, Suriya, says, 'after Jillendru oru Kadhal, I am doing a movie for Ramgopal Verma, which will be produced by Jyothika. After this, I would be doing a movie for director Gowtham Menon and then director Vasanth'.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/18797.html

9th December 2005, 09:31 PM
[tscii:eb376ac4f4]another film that might have arr music :

‘Thirumagan’ is S J Suryah’s new film

As soon as I made a decision to act in films, I reduced my weight. I also decided that actor Suryah cannot depend solely on the strength of the story to take him along.

decided not to ride on director Suryah’s back. By acting…fighting…dancing…I want to triumph as actor Suryah.” For his dedication, S J Suryah was rewarded with ‘Kalvanin Kaadhali.’

The director and producer who saw the first copy have been very impressed. They are convinced that the film will not only bring in the profits, but also a good crowd.

After ‘Kalvanin Kaadhali’ S J Suryah directs Vijay in ‘Puli.’ Asin is Vijay’s co-star in the film. After ‘Puli’ Suryah’s next venture is ‘Thirumagan.’ It has been Suryah’s long time dream to bring to celluloid, life in Thirunelveli on the lines of Bharatiraja’s bani. Producer Thanu has come forward to make the dream come true. The film will be directed by Rathnakumar, who till now has been a story and dialogue writer. It goes without saying that the story and dialogues in the film are by him!

Just like in ‘Kalvanin Kaadhali,’ S J Suryah lets the director do his work in ‘Thirumagan’ and he will do his work as the actor. A R Rahman could be the music composer for the film.
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/09122005-2.shtml[/tscii:eb376ac4f4]

10th December 2005, 11:48 AM
To: arrahmanfans@yahoogroups.com
Date: Fri, 9 Dec 2005 16:26:43 +0800
Subject: [arr] MET BOSS at PLanet M
HI All

This is my first mail to the group. Yesterday, I met Boss at RDB release function. He sang Khalbali without any music and still sounded quiet good. Naresh Iyer sang Rubaru with ARR. All were shouting for ARR to sing more but it seems they(planet M) did not want him to sing any other album song. When a fan told that ARR is the god of music, he replied "I am the slave of music". What great humility!!!!.

I and some others even got to shake hands with him and take a photograph with him. He is a very similing and composed person as if he was well expecting that his fans will largely outnumber Aamir's fans.

Thank you Planet M

Long live Music!! Long Live Rahman!!

--
Ravi Nair

sanchayy
24th December 2005, 03:00 PM
Aamir Khan-Mani Ratnam together for the first time

Aamir Khan
Aamir Khan is surely making news on Bollyvista and in Bollywood! First for his marriage, then for 'Rang De Basanti' (releasing on 20th January) and now for his next project with the southside Mani Ratnam.

Aamir and Mani will team up together for the first time in a film to be produced by Bobby Bedi (whose 'Rising' was a bit of a damp squib compared to expectations.) Needless to add, A.R.Rahman is likely to score the music. The film will be an out-and-out comedy.

http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/32/6010

Shankar
27th December 2005, 02:25 PM
Maddy and friends,
http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2005/dec/26sld1.htm

You guys claimed Mangal was a BIG hit...Apparently, it just recovered its cost..and any movie that's just broken even isn't called a hit.

muzammil84
27th December 2005, 07:59 PM
hello guys and girls download ARR Tsunami Concert in Karaikal http://uyirvani.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=7328

5th January 2006, 10:21 AM
ARR Rahman The musical genius

http://www.glamsham.com/movies/scoops/06/jan/04rehmaan.asp

6th January 2006, 12:25 PM
SJS's next directional venture is "Isai". Hero Surya (not SJS, surya). Lady artist not decided. music - ofcourse ARR.

6th January 2006, 12:26 PM
btw SJS will also be producing it this time :)

Guess_Me
6th January 2006, 03:42 PM
SJS's next directional venture is "Isai". Hero Surya (not SJS, surya). Lady artist not decided. music - ofcourse ARR.

The name sounds sweet. Reminds me of Rhythm which had music connected with the nature. Lets hope Isai would be something special.

6th January 2006, 03:59 PM
then wat happened to AC with simbu... scrapped is it??

6th January 2006, 06:12 PM
[tscii:aa65d0d834]A.R Rahman is celebrating his birthday today. This year is a crucial one for him, especially because 2005 had seen him in diminished form, with hardly a chartbuster to his credit. Instead, he was concentrating more on his international assignments.
The two films he did in Hindi- Mangal Pandey - The Rising and Kisna bombed badly and the response to his only Tamil release Aa Aah was lukewarm, though it had a peppy number “Mayilazage..” .

Pretenders to his throne like Harris Jayaraj and Yuvan Shankar Raja ruled the charts. The trouble with Rahman's music was that it was not able to strike a chord with the Ringtone generation, which wants only funky sounds.

Critics also point out that he has lost touch with Tamil film music and today’s generation. However, this is not the truth as Rahman was the music director who had actually shaped the youth generation of the 90's. In reality, he was concentrating more on his Bombay Dreams and other international assignments, and had little time for Tamil projects that really made him what he is today!

In 2006, the maestro has decided to strike back with a vengeance in Tamil music scenario with a slew of biggies like Sivaji, Godfather, Dasavatharam, Jillendru Oru Kathal and Vikraman's new film. The A.R Rahman-Shankar team is the greatest combination in Tamil film music - a truly unbeatable pair!

The music in Sivaji promises to rock Kollywood, as all the five songs and the background score are being prepared with great care. After hearing the first song in Sivaji, which had a lot of Arabic sounds, Rajnikant was hugely impressed and told people close to him that Rahman has finally struck form[/tscii:aa65d0d834]

6th January 2006, 07:11 PM
SJS can deliver two movies in parallel, so probably a/c will also be on the pipeline or Isai may be later part of 2006. The title is registered recently with surya and arr on it.

6th January 2006, 07:55 PM
I think Puli is the next movie of S.J.Suryah.
Do you think that S.J.Suryah wil drop Puli because Vijay is out ? If there no other actor who wants to work with him in Puli S.J.Suryah will act in Puli. He can take over the Production work, too. There is no problem. And Vijay said in a press conference on 4th January that the story discussing is going on right now. So there is no problem.

6th January 2006, 11:29 PM
After hearing the first song in Sivaji, which had a lot of Arabic sounds, Rajnikant was hugely impressed and told people close to him that Rahman has finally struck form[/tscii]
Hope he didnt rehash kalbali song from rdb.

btw i didnt post anythign about puli. I just posted sjs-surya-arr isai because the title was registered last week and imdb also confirmed it.

14th January 2006, 02:56 AM
http://dinamalar.com/2006jan14/imp19.asp

15th January 2006, 01:41 AM
All A.R.Rahman Fans vote for A.R.Rahman at this website
www.ennavale.com on the top of this website there is USer Voting. I have already voted for A.R.Rahman 5 times.

16th January 2006, 01:38 PM
Greatest gift for A R Rehman
IndiaGlitz [Monday, January 16, 2006]

Music director A R Rehman was in the Saudi holy city of Mina along with his mother recently to perform the Hajj pilgrimage for the second time.

'I would like to tell you that this year I got the most precious gift on my birthday, 6 January. Allah gave me the opportunity to confine myself inside the Prophet's Mosque in Madinah and pray all through the day,' he said.

According to Rehman, prayers release his tension and give him a sense of containment. 'I am an artist, but despite tremendous work pressure I never skip prayers.'

It was in the year 1989 that he and his family embraced Islam. Rehman performed his first Hajj in 2004. 'I wanted to bring my wife also for Hajj this year, but since my son is only three years old, she could not make it. God willing, I will come again next time with my wife and children,' Rehman, who also has two daughters, said.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/19754.html

16th January 2006, 09:33 PM
Not sure if this link has been posted earlier. Anyways, an article in Kumgumam about Kamal's current film

http://www.universalherokamal.com/others/Magazine/MagazineIndex.html

16th January 2006, 11:50 PM
Not sure if this link has been posted earlier. Anyways, an article in Kumgumam about Kamal's current film

http://www.universalherokamal.com/others/Magazine/MagazineIndex.html

can someone tell wat it is in english

17th January 2006, 09:50 PM
see the trailer

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/trailer/7516.html

stone cold
2nd February 2006, 10:13 AM
[tscii:050cec8201]Rahman ready for Lord of the Rings

People often wake up in the middle of the night if jolted by a nightmare. But when A R Rahman suddenly woke up from one of his power naps a few months ago, he was humming a tune.

"I had to write it down immediately," he says, "I was afraid I might forget it."

When he later played the tune to director Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, who was in Chennai for the Rang De Basanti recordings, Mehra insisted he wanted the tune for his film. "I told him I thought there was no scope for this kind of song in his film," Rahman says, chuckling, "but he said he would create the situation. I thought, well, it's his headache."

The tune went on to become Tu Bin Bathaiye, the sensuous, lingering number sung by Madhushree and Naresh Iyer.

"Virtually every song in this film has an interesting history to it," says Rahman, adding that, after a long time, he had an opportunity to create a wide variety of tunes. "Besides, the songs are also used to carry the story forward."

In Toronto to finalise the score for the most expensive musical ever, The Lord Of The Rings, the composer discussed a wide range of topics in an interview by telephone, from the creation of some of his most memorable songs in RDB to his continuing association with Subhash Ghai and his strained relationship with Deepa Mehta (Water). "She is a lovely person, but I don't know whether we will work together," says Rahman, who decided to opt out of Water over four years ago because it had become too controversial.

"I don't think there was any need for a controversy," he says with a deep sigh, "but some people made it controversial. I did not want to continue to be associated with the film." But he also acknowledges that the movie has some of his finest songs. Though he dropped out, Deepa Mehta insisted he see the film before it opened at the Toronto International Film Festival in September. "It was beautiful," he says.

Rahman is currently working on the music of The Lord of the Rings not too far from Mehta's office in Toronto. He admires her conviction and passion, he says. The $26 million musical extravaganza opens in Toronto in a few weeks, to be followed in a few months by a British edition in London, then a Broadway edition. With some luck, Bombay Dreams will also be touring American and Canadian cities soon.

He is working with a Finnish folk group for The Lord of the Rings, and says that those familiar with the novels and hugely popular movies that have inspired the musical know what to expect musically. "And to those getting to know the show, I would say don't expect Shakalaka Baby or Chaiya Chaiya," he adds.

While the Bombay Dreams score comprised original as well as re-worked music from some of his Bollywood hits, the experience of working for The Lord of the Rings is unique, he continues. "With Bombay Dreams, I felt I was extending what I had been doing in Hindi and Tamil films," he says. "Here, I am creating something that isn't anywhere close to anything I have done so far."

There are also many things he has done for RDB that are new to him. For one thing, he says he had "the audacity, if you will" to join Lata Mangeshkar for a song. "The song has a long and complicated history," he says. "I felt, several times, that I was not going to have it in her voice, but I didn't want to give up."

When a song in which a soldier's mother is featured arose, he thought of a situation from one of his favourite films, the Tom Cruise-starring war drama Fourth Of July. "I kept thinking the song should be very different from the kind of mother-child songs we generally hear in our films," he continues. "At one point, I thought, how about getting the dead son to respond to the mother?" he remembers.

Mehra and lyricist Prasoon Joshi loved the idea, he continues. But, after many months, he heard that many others associated with the film had their reservations, wondering if such a song could work. "Then came the question of who would sing it," he adds. "I knew who would be singing it -- the mother of all singers, Lataji."

When the date for recording was fixed, Mangeshkar was ill. And months later, when a second date was being arranged, he heard that she had to attend an event organised by Yash Chopra. Rahman told her there would not be another opportunity for her to record the song. "I was also going abroad in a few days," he continues. "She made a big sacrifice and cancelled the event."

Rahman also revealed that, as per original plans, Mangeshkar had only a few lines. "But she was singing it so beautifully, and she had made this big effort to record it," he continues, "that we decided to expand her contribution."

Mangeshkar has sung just about half a dozen songs for Rahman. "But every time I have worked with her, I have felt we were doing something truly special." Besides, she has also paid him the "highest compliment," he says. "She told me she liked my version of Vande Mataram better than her own!" No one could pay him a better compliment, the composer adds.

The soundtrack of RDB also has several other lilting numbers, especially the Rubaroo item song by newcomer Naresh Iyer. Rahman had heard Naresh at a contest organised by Adnan Sami. He remembers that though Naresh did not win, he had left a strong impression on him. "I often tell myself that music is not a race," Rahman says. "And when Naresh lost by a few points, I said to myself that we should not let him go. I knew he was talented and wanted to give him an opportunity."

Rahman says he asked the 24-year old singer if he was prepared to come down from Mumbai to Chennai and stay put for several months. "I knew how serious he was when he turned up with his parents in no time," the composer adds. "They had got him to stay in a house near my studio, and brought him to me saying 'Now you are in charge of him.'"

Iyer was available for Rahman at any time, night or day. So much so that when Rahman was too tired to sing the Rubaroo number, he got it sung by his new protégé. "I had planned to sing the song later," Rahman continues. "But Naresh had sung it so well, I decided to keep his version. That is why you hear me sing only a few lines with him."

Besides, he says laughing, he would not have felt comfortable saying the words, Ai Salaa.

Now that RDB is behind him, Rahman says it will be many months before one gets another Hindi movie score from him. He is looking forward to working again with some of the producers and directors who understand him well, he adds, one of whom is Subhash Ghai. "I composed just one song (apart from the background music) for Kisna because of other engagements abroad," he says.

When Ghai was in New York a few months ago, he had said that he too was looking forward to working with Rahman, adding, "We challenge each other so much that there is always extraordinary music."

Rahman returns the compliment. "His passion for music is just great," he says.

[/tscii:050cec8201]

dude
10th February 2006, 08:15 AM
Thalai is going to be in the bay area next week.

http://panasianmusicfestival.stanford.edu/

10th February 2006, 06:26 PM
any of u know frm where i can get the lyrics for Kathal Dhesam songs... i want them in english

10th February 2006, 07:21 PM
dasavatharam confirmed ....

http://www.madrasplus.com/fullStory.asp?articleID=MADP7ART2102006

dude
13th February 2006, 01:06 PM
any of u know frm where i can get the lyrics for Kathal Dhesam songs... i want them in english

there are lyrics for a couple of songs here:
http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/movie/T0000070.html

16th February 2006, 10:32 AM
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/61762

'Tribute to A R Rahman' show at the Stanford
Pan Asian Music Festival.

Date: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:30 am
Subject: Tribute to A R Rahman - Stanford Event

I just came back from the 'Tribute to A R Rahman' show at the Stanford
Pan Asian Music Festival.

I finally got meet our boss up close :-) A long time desire got
fulfilled today. I am all smiling here. I will be posting quite a
few pictures of tonight's tribute show, soon.

Excerpts from the show:

- It was not a performance, it was more of a tribute to him. There
was some audio-visuals, followed by his interview on stage and then a
QA session for the audience.

- The hall was jam packed and the aisles were literally overflowing
(as expected)

- Before the show started, I managed to sneak up to him(he was sitting
in the first row all by himself!) and introduced myself. He smiled.
And then I told him that I was part of the yahoogroup and there was an
instant look of recognition on his face followed by a big smile. Felt
nice that our yahoogroup's mention catches ARR's attention in this way.

- The interview session was filled with generic, oft-repeated
questions which ARR answered quite well. Most of his answers were
humorous and he constantly had the audience laughing out loud.
(Hmmm... this is a new ARR indeed..)

- Interesting titbit that he mentioned: Manirathnam initially told ARR
the story of Saathiya (Alaipayuthe); the love story that starts on a
train. ARR composed 'Chayya Chayya' for that initial meeting of the
hero-heroine on the train it seems. Then all of a sudden Manirathnam
started working on Dil Se and used that song for that movie instead :-)

- A nice titbit for our group. ARR, while responding to a question,
mentioned that he was going through our yahoogroup's messages and read
that 7 or 8 of the songs in Rang De Basanti were in the top ten.
Yayyyy! So ARR does read our messages. This is GREAT news indeed
:-)(I think it was Dinesh who posted that particular message, dude, I think I made your day :-) )
- He mentioned 3 or 4 times that his current favorite song(of his own
creation) is 'Luka Chuppi' from RDB.

- He confirmed the news that he would be doing Manirathnam's next
movie - Guru. He also mentioned that work on the movie 'Buddha' is in
progress. Upon asking him about him working on Mahabharata and the
Sholay-remake, he said he did not know about that, and that it was
news to him:-)

- The stanford students rendered a few of his songs. I was watching
ARR's reaction. He was extremely pleased with the way they performed.
So, kudos to the standford students, you made the Boss take notice :-)

- After the show I hung around and asked a couple of questions. One
was about the Bharathiyar songs album he was supposed to be doing. He
was confused for a moment, then he remembered and replied that Bharat
Bala was supposed to be making a movie and when he starts working on
that, this album would happen. Lets hope that this project takes off
soon.

- Upon asking when he was going to give a performance in the US, he
mentioned that he will be coming to San Francisco (Cow Palace)
sometime in June or July of this year it seems. So, that is another
piece of great news for fans in the Bay Area.

Well folks, thats the gist of what happened tonight. Feels nice to
share my experience with you all. I will be posting pictures of the
show soon, so look out for that.

regards,
Om

PICS:

http://launch.ph.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/photos/browse/30f1

terminator
20th February 2006, 12:26 PM
[tscii:70e1560fab]Rahman’s mission for world music

A.R. Rahman is a happy man after the scintillating impact of Rang De Basanti. His next project would be a tour of the US with a music ensemble called Global Rhythms. Srinivas Krishnan is the artistic director of this ensemble and it includes musicians who have been selected from all parts of USA. Therefore, the music they create is simply out of the world. Their recent production has been a program of Rahman’s songs with their own influences including African, Israeli and American folk styles. The team has perfect understanding of Indian music, especially Rahman’s intuitive approach. Therefore, ARR would be traveling with them soon to popularize their creation. Way to go, man!

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/feb-06-04/20-02-06-rahman.html[/tscii:70e1560fab]

22nd February 2006, 10:59 AM
Vishal from the hit duo Vishal-Shekhar talks about rahman.

Q: In fact if we look at last few years or so, composers like you and
Shekhar, Pritam and Salim-Sulaiman are giving a new sound of music to
Bollywood on a consistent note.

A: God is great and is defining what we do. Look at the kind of work
that A.R.Rehman is doing. Now that's the dream we have. You want to be the one who should be setting the trend. I know it is pretty ambitious but this is what we aspire to do.

I love arr.

http://indiafm.com/features/2006/02/20/1029/index.html

28th February 2006, 10:50 AM
[tscii:aae5b7132d]What must be the reason for the failure of ‘Parthale Paravasam’?

It failed but it gave me lots of satisfaction, as it has different story and screenplay. I made mistake by casting two major stars Simran and Madhavan in it. Expectations are high because of the cast and the screenplay was in the backseat because of the songs. It would have become a hit if minor actors were in it.

for other Qs & Anwers...check here :

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/ar/i/director/1571/3/general/1/[/tscii:aae5b7132d]

2nd March 2006, 10:08 AM
ARR in Chandramukhi Remake??

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/nmirror/mmpaper.asp?sectid=10&articleid=31200623145656231200623144828

2nd March 2006, 12:08 PM
[tscii:0f9675c3a2]
ARR in Chandramukhi Remake??

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/nmirror/mmpaper.asp?sectid=10&articleid=31200623145656231200623144828

Bachchan in Chandramukhi remake

Big B plays the psychiatrist in the film

Ram Kamal Mukherjee

Amitabh Bachchan will be starring in the remake of the Rajnikant blockbuster, Chandramukhi. To be directed by Telegu filmmaker V Naren Aditya, the film will be produced by K S Rama Rao and Sa Re Ga Ma. “Yes I approached Amitji for the lead role and he has verbally agreed to do the film,” confirms Naren Aditya. The film was recently made in Tamil and Telegu and it created a business of Rs 100 crore, breaking all the records of South Indian cinema. The film was first made in Malayalam in 1994 by director Fazil. Later the film was made in Kannada.

Incidentally many Bollywood filmmakers like Boney Kapoor and Aditya Chopra wanted to buy the rights of this film in Hindi, but it was producer K R Rama Rao and his company Creative Commercial which brought the right of the film. “Amitabh will be playing the role of a psychiatrist in my film. I am following the original Malayalam script and screenplay because we bought the rights from the Malayalam producer. Not just that, the original script is more complete. I have made it slightly contemporary and had made minor changes in the script. The film begins in New York and later the plot shifts to Jodhpur and Jaisalmer area. Amitabh comes to India from NY for the treatment of the female protagonist in my film,” reveals the director.

He is yet to finalise the actress for the film. “I am looking for a very powerful actress who also is a good classical dancer,” he says. “Certain sections of the media reported that I had approached Aishwarya Rai for the role, which is untrue. I know that she is very pretty, but I want someone who can carry the seriousness of the character in the film.”

He is considering A R Rahman to compose music for the film. “Music plays an extremely important role in my film. It's basically a thriller, which needs to have some music impact in the narration,” he adds.

The film will go on the floors by the end of this year. “We could have started the film few months earlier, but Mr Bachchan fell ill and all his dates were re-scheduled. Now he is working and I hope that we will get our dates soon,” he says
[/tscii:0f9675c3a2]

3rd March 2006, 11:04 PM
http://www.screenindia.com/fullstory.php?content_id=12102

ARR gets the MP state Latha Mangeshkar award...

4th March 2006, 01:17 PM
http://www.screenindia.com/fullstory.php?content_id=12102

ARR gets the MP state Latha Mangeshkar award...

Post Edited.

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/62960

Thanks to Gopal Admin of ARR YG. :clap:

6th March 2006, 04:07 PM
kanchipuram going on floors !!

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/06032006-4.shtml

6th March 2006, 05:04 PM
[tscii:2d63b88193]KS Ravikumar’s story and Rajini’s consideration March 06, 2006

Director K S Ravikumar has certainly not forgotten his shelved project, the Rajini starrer Jaggubhai. Recently the director visited the superstar on the sets of Sivaji. When Rajini had enquired of the director’s Dasavataram project, Ravikumar said that it was going well and hinted at the story of Jaggubhai. Rajini didn’t give any response. Ravikumar knows that when Rajini is silent it means he is considering. This certainly brought some cheer to Ravikumar. As we reported already, even Satyanarayana Rao Gaekwad, Rajini’s brother, is interested in reviving Jaggubhai. If it is revived, the same team will work in the flick—A R Rahman, Vairamuthu and Sabu Cyril. Ravikumar will take up the project immediately after he finishes his Dasavataram if Rajini gives his nod.

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/mar-06-02/06-03-06-rajini.html[/tscii:2d63b88193]

8th March 2006, 04:04 PM
does anyone know from where i can get Indira BGM????
i need the song that ARR sings at last where Arvin Swami brings the Mel Jadi vilagers to his vilage......
it's a small song...but very nice

9th March 2006, 12:11 PM
ARR to perform at Hollywood Bowl World Festival

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117939425?categoryid=16&cs=1&nid=2568

11th March 2006, 09:09 PM
Just check some of ARR's best wallpapers (according to me) in this link of mine.....also find ARR T-shirt, got printed by myself at Forum, Bangalore.....also find ARR's birthday bash at my office.....

http://photos.yahoo.com/sudhir_resumes

11th March 2006, 10:18 PM
Just check some of ARR's best wallpapers (according to me) in this link of mine.....also find ARR T-shirt, got printed by myself at Forum, Bangalore.....also find ARR's birthday bash at my office.....

http://photos.yahoo.com/sudhir_resumes

dude... frm where can i get the T-shirt??

12th March 2006, 08:55 AM
lancy, i got it printed from a Bangalore shopping mall, i guess u can get it printed at a t-shirt printing shop when u come to chennai :D ......ARRfans-Yahoo group were planning a similar thing but i doubt whether it ever worked out......

12th March 2006, 11:46 AM
Awesome Maddy!! Thanks for the pics :) . ARR YG Bangalore guys have these T-shirts and I think they have attended wearing it in the 3D Concert Bangalore.

12th March 2006, 07:15 PM
thanx scale for ur comment..... :D ....i didnt know that bangalore YG guys have their own t-shirt...i guess i will have to ping them in the group....

btw, if i'm not wrong, today is our boss's wedding anniversary....i remember this bcos my cousin sister's wedding also falls on the same day......12th march 1994......

can anyone confirm this for me?/

ansa400
13th March 2006, 05:55 PM
http://www.indiafm.com/news/2006/03/13/6812/index.html

A.R.Rahman still not paid fully for Mangal Pandey
By IndiaFM News Bureau, March 13, 2006 - 04:33 IST

A.R.Rahman has been making his presence felt since the last few months with the music of The Rising and Rang De Basanti being greatly appreciated. However, surprisingly, the musician has still not been fully paid for his work in The Rising. It seems that only 15% of the amount due has been paid to Rahman. He received 10 lakhs which was to be paid to the Prague Orchestra. Considering that it was a big film, Rahman left no stone unturned to ensure that the quality of music is good.

After the release of the film, producer Bobby Bedi had said in a television interview that he had recovered the entire money invested in the film. Rahman is extremely selective about the work that he does. And he does not want to get cheated on the few projects that he does. Producer Bobby Bedi was not aware that there was any amount due. He stated that a lot of money had already been paid.

15th March 2006, 12:33 PM
ARR's Cinthol AD

http://www.cinthol.com/advt/deoswami.swf

The voice is that of Rajeev Menon's.

Source: ARR YG.

16th March 2006, 07:45 AM
just like Sania, Rehman too missed out

http://www.ibnlive.com/article.php?id=6821&section_id=3&single=true

ARR misses out on being called a role model in our national textbooks ......i guess it must be the tax goofups recently.......hey u cant blame some auditor's mistake on ARR, isn't it??? :shock:

but its gud that he was considered .....

19th March 2006, 10:01 AM
Mandolin U Srinivas Interview & about ARR.

http://www.indianexpress.com/res/web/pIe/full_story.php?content_id=64245&pn=1

23rd March 2006, 11:59 AM
guys..they showed a interview with ARR in CNN..... this is only the second interview i hav seen of ARR....

he is amazing..the wey he talks is so beautiful..... he is simply a great man

23rd March 2006, 07:39 PM
[tscii:08d8284caa]AR Rahman, PC Sriram to join for a Telugu flick? March 23, 2006

If reports are true, A M Ratnam will be making a movie with Pawan Kalyan in the director’s chair. Pawan, basically a hero, is not new to direction . He has already worked on flicks like Johnny and Kutumba Shankar. Scripting the story himself, Pawan plans to bring P C Sriram behind the camera and A R Rahman to score the music. Rathnam, Pawan, Sriram and Rahman—the combination is deadly man!

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/mar-06-04/23-03-06-a.r.rahman.html[/tscii:08d8284caa]

29th March 2006, 11:14 AM
Rahman to be WorldSpace's brand ambassador

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1661208,001100050012.htm

ansa400
30th March 2006, 10:09 AM
http://www.indiafm.com/news/2006/03/30/6912/index.html

A R Rahman is WorldSpace's new Brand ambassador
By IndiaFM News Bureau, March 30, 2006 - 23:15 IST

WorldSpace, India's only digital satellite radio service has roped in A R Rahman as their brand ambassador. Rahman will now produce a WorldSpace promotional song and also endorse its products.

Says Shishir Lall, Managing Director of WorldSpace India that they are delighted to team up with a musical genius like Rahman who is world renowned for his works. On the other hand, Rahman is also very pleased to be associated with a service like WorldSpace which believes in providing extensive music of various genres to its audiences.

This will be the second time that A R Rahman is going to endorse a brand nationally. Prior to this, he had done a similar endorsement for Airtel. He had also produced a theme music for the brand. Let's hope that the man does that magic again but this time for WorldSpace.

31st March 2006, 08:15 PM
[tscii:a305509ed7]A R Rehman becomes ad model!

“Till 2001, I was not too keen on earning tons of money. Only after building my own studio did I get the desire to make money.”

A R Rehman who has been composing music for films and English stage plays is becoming a model, that too for a big company. There’s lot of money to be made from modeling for ads.

When director Shekar Kapoor introduced A R Rehman to Andrew Lloyd Weber, it brought about a turning point in Rehman’s career. He entered international circles after composing music for ‘Bombay Dreams’ and for a Chinese film.

Now music from his ‘Taal’ mixed with rap has come out as an album. His ‘thaiya thaiya’ from ‘Uyire’ even finds place in Spike Lee’s Hollywood film. Even as these milestones are happening, it was a matter of disappointment that his music for ‘Lord of the Rings’ did not go down favorably with the viewers. But this has in no way tarnished his reputation says a world famous company.

World Space Satellite Radio has signed on A R Rehman as their publicity model.

A R Rehman is to compose some special music for them. In connection with this, Shishir Lal of World Space Satellite Radio says, “Rehman’s music will help us reach music lovers across the globe.”

Sachin earns more money through his modeling assignments than through his game on the field. Now World Space Radio has opened the doors to riches and we heartily approve of Rehman agreeing to be their model.

This is a boon to music and heaven to music lovers!
[/tscii:a305509ed7]

rayan36
1st April 2006, 03:32 PM
Hollywood bowl for ARR :wink: at KCRW's World Festival

Bollywood Night: AR Rahman & Musafir
KCRW's World Festival SU2-HB

Sunday, July 16, 2006, 7:00 PM
Hollywood Bowl
2301 N. Highland Avenue
Hollywood, CA
(323) 850-2000

Artists:

AR Rahman
Musafir
Tom Schnabel, host

Program:

India's movie music and dance spectacular comes to the Bowl with the genre's premier composer and musical genius, AR Rahman. Infectious Hindi song, breathtaking dance, and colorful movie clips on the Bowl's side screens make for a night of wonder, surprise and spectacle.

http://www.hollywoodbowl.com/tix/performance_detail.cfm?id=2691&back=%2Ftix%2Fseries%5Fworld%2Ecfm%3B

3rd April 2006, 10:17 AM
Tidbits from ARR interview:

http://www.dailythanthi.com/muthucharam/Home/second_page.asp?secid=23&artid=2355&issuedate=3/25/2006

3rd April 2006, 07:54 PM
Can someone translate the interview into English?

rayan36
5th April 2006, 04:42 PM
[tscii:a1f7993fb2]Mentor’s magic words and AR Rahman’s hit songs

April 05, 2006

There is a story that before AR Rahman composed a hit song, he would visit his late guru Karimulla Kadri Khan in Ponneri and wait on him. His guru would go into meditation and then give him a word. If Rahman used the word in his song, it would become a big hit. That is how Rahman got words like Mustafaa Mustafaa, Muquabula Muquabula and Chaiya Chaiya. Well, the words still ring in his fans’ minds and now it has started ringing in Hollywood.
Filmmaker Spike Lee’s Inside Man, a Denzel Washington, Jodie Foster and Clive Owen starrer, features Rahman’s Chaiya, Chaiya song both in the opening and closing scenes.

The song, of course, has drawn critical notice. Digvijay Singh, a Los Angeles based Indian filmmaker feels it doesn’t gel with the movie. However, the song written by veteran Gulzar and the music composed by Rahman have touched a vibrant chord with mainstream American moviegoers.
One executive from a production company in Hollywood had asked his Indian assistant to get him a CD of the song right away. A senior journalist on the Wall Street has said that the influence of Indian movies on Hollywood is greatly increasing. It ought to for India, today, is the largest producer of films in the world and it has some of the finest filmmakers, directors and music directors. Is Rahman the vanguard?

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/apr-06-01/05-04-06-ar-rahman.html[/tscii:a1f7993fb2]

8th April 2006, 12:34 AM
http://www.viaindia.com/apps/calendar/details.aspx?ID=1072&MID=10&CAT=Shows

miindia.com advertises discount for the ARR show in Michigan next week...

8th April 2006, 12:37 AM
http://www.kumudam.com/kumudam/050406/pg11.php

'nAn neeril midhakkum eNNei'...

[html:6e9d895f73]
http://www.kumudam.com/kumudam/050406/pg11-t.jpg
[/html:6e9d895f73]

rashid2raj
9th April 2006, 09:51 PM
A.R. Rahman pleased with Thoothukoodi songs

Foubro Films is producing the film Thoothukoodi with debutant Harikumar as hero, Karthiga, Swetha, Meganathan, Sudhakar Vasanth, Naveen Balaji, Kannan, Suja, Jhansi and many others acting in this film. Praveen Mani, who worked under A.R. Rahman is the music director for this film. The final mixing for these songs was done in Momani Music Studio, Toronto, Canada. Praveen Mani played a demo of the songs to A.R. Rahman who was touring Canada. Rahman was really happy to hear the songs and he congratulated Praveen Mani and also wished that Thoothukoodi would make a turning point in his career. Story, Screenplay, Dialogue and Direction is by Sanjayram and Sunitha Hari is the producer for Thoothukoodi.

Source: Galatta.com

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/livewire/id/3239/news/arr.html

rayan36
11th April 2006, 05:33 PM
Indian composer mixes old with the new A.R. Rahman brings his winning style and other artists to EMU
Monday, April 10, 2006
BY KEVIN RANSOM
News Special Writer
As the world keeps turning, it keeps getting smaller. Still.

Indeed, due to such varied forces as the Internet, digital technology and continued cross-cultural pollination, more Americans are grooving to world-music styles today than they were 10 years ago. Or even five years ago.

One form that has burrowed into the American pop-culture consciousness in the last couple of years is Indian music. And, within the broader Indian-music scene, one sub-genre getting attention is the fusion of classical Indian music with modern rhythms

Perhaps the most accomplished of these fusionists is A.R. Rahman, who began his career as a writer of commercial jingles and went on to become India's most popular composer of film scores.

Until the last year, Rahman's biggest claim to fame was his collaboration with Andrew Lloyd Webber on the London and Broadway productions of "Bombay Dreams'' in 2002 and 2004, respectively. Webber produced, Rahman composed the music.

But Rahman's profile got even higher when he struck the seeming unlikely collaboration with the Finnish folk group Varttina to compose the music for the $23 million, four-hour-long stage production of "Lord of the Rings,'' which opened in Toronto on March 23.

Rahman's unique synthesis of traditional Indian music with more contemporary rhythms inspired Sidney Fallon, wife of Eastern Michigan University president John Fallon III, to seek out a meeting with Rahman during a recent trip to India. Rahman and the Fallons had a mutual Indian acquaintance, and the three parties began discussing ways for young Americans to learn more about Indian culture.

They decided on a pair of benefit concerts by Rahman and fellow Indian artists Sekar, Kalish Kher and Vasundhara Das. The first concert will be at the EMU Convocation Center on Saturday, the second in Dayton, Ohio on April 22.

The show, "Wake Up! A.R. Rahman with 150 All Stars,'' will bring together Rahman's works on stage through colorful costumes and set designs, along with Indian and American singers and dancers. Rahman also will perform with the Global Rhythm All Stars, a group of more than 150 American artists that have performed with numerous Grammy-winning artists.

Joining Rahman on stage will be cellist V.R. Sekar, founder of the Madras String Quartet; singer/actress Vasundhara Das; and singer/actor Kailash Kher.

"I love his music,'' said Sidney Fallon. "I like that it's a wonderful fusion, which has a basic foundation in Indian music and then brings together a lot of different rhythms. Many of the songs he'll perform will be in Indian languages.''

Fallon said that 70 percent of the funds raised by ticket sales will go to the creation of an endowment for a program that will "help our young people to gain a greater understanding of the world by studying Indian music, and culture.''

Three filmmakers are also expected to be in town for the event, Fallon said. Rakeysh Mehra, director of "Rang da Basanti,'' will show the movie and talk to students, and music from the film will be performed at the concert. Ramkumar Ganeshan also plans to meet with students and faculty. And Swedish filmmaker Niclas Ribbarp expects to make a documentary about the project.

In India, Rahman has come to be known as the "Mozart of Madras,'' and, according to the BBC, he's sold between 100 million and 150 million CDs.

He's also collaborated with a range of artists, from Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan to Michael Jackson to David Byrne to Sarah Brightman.

But Rahman started out amidst much more modest circumstances. Following the death of his father when Rahman was just 9 years old, he turned to music and developed his instrumental skills. Then, at age 17, he took a job writing music for TV commercials before leaving India to earn a degree in Western classical music from Oxford University.

Still in his early 20s, Rahman had a fateful meeting at a party held to celebrate an award he won for writing a TV jingle. One reveler was Mani Ratnam, a leading Indian filmmaker. One thing led to another, and, in 1992, at age 25, Rahman composed the score for Ratman's film, "Roja,'' in the Tamil language. The score won acclaim in India for its fusion of classical and modern Indian music, and Rahman was on his way.

Rahman's next several projects were also Tamil-language films, and he became known as India's leading Tamil film-music composer. From there, he turned to India's more commercial and cross-cultural Bollywood movie biz, composing the score to Ramgopal Varma's "Rangeela.''

In 1997, Rahman found a global springboard for his talents when he signed with Sony Masterworks and released "Vande Mataram,'' a re-creation of India's national song that became an anthem of sorts among Indian youth. Sony released the record in 28 different countries.

Fast-forward to 2004, when "Bombay Dreams'' made it to Broadway. The success of that project led Rahman to broaden his horizons once again. This time, it was in China, where he composed the score for the Chinese epic film "Warriors of Heaven and Earth,'' which Sony Pictures distributed on a worldwide basis.

Fallon is looking forward to Rahman's upcoming EMU show for more reasons than one.

"I really do think one of the best ways of bringing peace and harmony to the world is to learn about other cultures, and music is probably the most powerful of all,'' said Fallon. Then, with a laugh, she added: "I'm also learning Hindi, so listening to this music is a great way to pick up the language.''

http://www.mlive.com/entertainment/aanews/index.ssf?/base/features-1/1144680116196230.xml&coll=2

muzammil84
12th April 2006, 12:35 AM
Arr Music Rocking in whole world :)
woooooow cool thx rayan for this info :)

rayan36
13th April 2006, 09:48 AM
Glad u liked it brother :wave:

16th April 2006, 06:54 PM
Talk Asia Interview

http://edition.cnn.com/2006/WORLD/asiapcf/04/12/talkasia.rahman.script/index.html

A MUST READ

AR: I see two kinds of things happening. One is a step forward, and one is a step backwards also. Because people are seeing loads of things on satellite TV and stuff. They know that nobody can bullshit them now -- nobody can copy anything or rip anything off because now they know it bang on that this is something. So that's all good. And I think there are two things, one kind of filmmakers are avoiding songs -- saying that its going to break, and another filmmaker is going full fledged with songs: 'this is the music I'm really proud of' --that sort of thing. I'm getting associated with both of them.

18th April 2006, 07:22 PM
http://www.dinakaran.com/epaper/2006/Apr/18/13_8.jpg

19th April 2006, 03:12 PM
[tscii:2015a0d60f]A R Rehman composes music for Chinese film
The music for the stage production of ‘Lord of the Rings” is quite different from Tamil film songs. According to its composer A R Rehman, Canadian fans seem to like it immensely. Rehman has fans all over the world but his Hong Kong fans are rather special. Maybe that’s the reason he has composed music for yet another Chinese film.

“I have been listening to Chinese music for the past 15 years. It’s really beautiful.” Rehman has composed music for ‘Between Heaven and Earth.’ In Tamil, the music for ‘Jillendru Oru Kaadhal’ and ‘Sivaji’ are his only latest, because ‘Godfather’ music is already old hat by now.

Compared to Tamil, the Hindi scene seems to be much better. He is composing music for ‘London Dreams’ directed by Rajkumar Santoshi, ‘Jodha Akbar’ and for ‘Guru’ directed by Mani Ratnam featuring Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai. There are also discussions about composing music for some other films.

After the isai puyal’s re-mix in ‘New,’ many other re-mix songs have been released in Tamil. As the person who started the re-mix trend here, he was asked if re-mixing was right or wrong and his stand was half way.

“There’s nothing wrong in re-mixing old songs, but one should see to it that the soul of the original song is not lost.”

If there was soul, this question would not have been necessary!

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/19042006-2.shtml[/tscii:2015a0d60f]

19th April 2006, 04:29 PM
Dinesh,
Good translation by cinesouth :D (Hope you saw the dinakaran item above)

20th April 2006, 11:25 PM
அமெரிக்க பல்கலைக்கழகத்தில் ஏ.ஆர். ரஹ்மான் படம்

http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/20042006-1.shtml

20th April 2006, 11:47 PM
[tscii:9d525b925d]Indian film screened at American university
Here’s another example of Indian cinema getting international exposure. ‘Rang De Basanti’ is a film about 5 young men who protest against low quality spare parts for planes that result in many fatal crashes.

A R Rehman’s music gives life to this film which encourages patriotism as well as social awareness among the youth, so it is being screened in American universities. :clap:

For 3 days from April 16th, the film was screened at East Michigan University. For this purpose, the film’s director Rakeysh Mehra and music composer A R Rehman had already gone to the US. After the screening, there was interaction between the director and university students.

The American youth are impressed by the acting of Aamir Khan, Kunal Kapoor, Siddarth, Atul Kulkarni and Madhavan and the music of Rehman. “Plane accidents are happening everywhere in the world. That’s why ‘Rang de Basanti’ is not for India alone but has a universal message,” says Rakeysh Mehra explaining his reasons for screening the film in American universities.

After the East Michigan University screening, ‘Rang de Basanti’ will be screened at some other universities too. Earlier, Indians were in awe of Hollywood. Now it’s Hollywood’s turn to look at India in appreciation.

When will a Tamil film perform such a feat?

http://cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/20042006-1.shtml

When will a Tamil film perform such a feat?

1.when they stop remaking from eng/telugu/malayalam movies
2.when they stop giving masala crap ...
3.when they give story the HERO role
4.when they give importance to QUALITY MUSIC!![/tscii:9d525b925d]

aruvi
21st April 2006, 01:33 AM
Dinesh,

Agree with you in portions. But Rang De Basanthi is a film that became a hit on 2 grounds. One, because of the excessive hype giving to it by the media, and I mean, the international and national indian media. Second, absolutely no other major star's film was competing and was a threat for media bias.

The music won't even afford a spot in my top 10 arr list.

Agree with everything you said about tamil films. Include music (tamil) scene in there as well.

21st April 2006, 06:40 AM
EMUconcert newsa appadiye marachitthanga!!!!

21st April 2006, 08:54 AM
Dinesh,

Agree with you in portions. But Rang De Basanthi is a film that became a hit on 2 grounds. One, because of the excessive hype giving to it by the media, and I mean, the international and national indian media. Second, absolutely no other major star's film was competing and was a threat for media bias.

The music won't even afford a spot in my top 10 arr list.

Agree with everything you said about tamil films. Include music (tamil) scene in there as well.

leave it aruvi, RDbasanti is beyond present gen-tamilians imagination.......

21st April 2006, 09:10 AM
RR,

Thks for that article and my next avatar will be that pic. Stunning :D. Dinesh cant read tamil properly.

Bet. Heaven and Earth is b/wd version of WOHE. He has not signed for any new chinese movie. Many are confused here!

29th April 2006, 05:37 PM
Rahman joins hands with Nokia
Friday, 28 April , 2006, 18:08

Nokia today joined hands with music maestro A R Rahman for the initiative " Pray For Me", under which a series of events and activities would be conducted and the proceeds given to the poverty alleviation programmes of the United Nations.

As part of this, Nokia today presented Indias first N91 music smartphone to the musician.

A R Rahman has composed and sung a song "Pray for Me" along with singer Blaaze, who has written the song. "The goal to eradicate poverty, is the mission waiting to be fulfilled, raising awareness and creating solutions through the song," Rahman said.

To support the "Pray For Me" music initiative, Nokia N-Series will be conducting a series of events and activities across the country. The proceeds generated from the activities and the sale of the album will be donated to the United Nations charity towards poverty alleviation.

Gautam Advani, Director, Multimedia, Nokia India, said the company has launched two N Series phones in India apart from this one and two more are expected to be launched soon, he said.

Responding to a query, Rahman said the music industry was almost destroyed by piracy in the last three years adding that devices like the Nokia N91 could revive the industry.

The N91 provides a 4 GB Storage space, can store upto 3,000 songs, apart from a host of other advanced functionalities. It is priced at Rs 33,000.

Advani said the phone has a Digital Right Management System which would prevent any kind of piracy to happen through such devices.

30th April 2006, 03:50 AM
9) Yelelo

Cast - Parthiban
Director - Parthiban
Producer - Parthiban [Bioscope Film Framers]

- 10 songs
- title song by Sudha Raghunandhan
- As per unconfirmed reports, 4 songs are over. Also that a song "Vaanam Vaanam" sung by Karthik has been recorded. "Its a stunning song with tap dancing percussion, with a unique blend of Tamil folk music".

- Former TN Chief minister and poet Dr.M.Karunanidhi is penning the lyrics for one song. The song is apparently based on the Pongal festival.

- Speaking at the launch function of the film, Rahman said that director Parthiban had narrated two stories to him. He felt that there was ample scope for folk music in the second story, which he had accepted and is titled "Yelelo". Rahman said that for this movie he has decided to blend the local folk music elements with Irish folk music songs. He hoped that this experiment will present these styles in a new light.

- Director Parthiban talking about his latest film "Yelelo" said that the movie had a rural theme and was going to be shot entirely in one village. Since around 6 to 7 songs were going to be picturized in the same set in the village, he had insisted on all the songs being ready before the shooting could begin. Parthiban is glad that Rahman has taken special interest in this film and has high expectations from the film.

CURRENT STATUS - Still in pre-production stages. No idea when this film will go on the floors

30th April 2006, 10:57 AM
Baba,
This is an old story.Even Parthiban wud have forgotten this.Why r u posting this now?

30th April 2006, 08:43 PM
Date: Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:55 pm
Subject: T.L. Maharajan on ARR- A great story! mmparthi2003
Send IM
Send Email

Hey guys
I was watching the Raagamaalika show on Jaya Tv and the judge for today was T.L Maharajan (Not sure of the initials).
Anyways for the second round there is a duet round. So one of the singers chose the song "Nee Kattum Selai Madipilai" from Pudiya Mannargal. This song was originally sung by T.L Maharajan(TLM) himself and Sujatha.
So after the song was sung he mentioned an incident he will never forget in his life regarding this song. This is how it goes:

After he sang this song for Rahman and after leaving the recording studio he felt that this song wasnt challenging at all and thought well why did Rahman give such an easy and not very exciting song to him. Maybe he didnt like him or something. And he felt a bit dissapointed.

Then later after the movie and songs were released and all, Maharajan had a show in Singapore. So while in singapore one day he just had his lunch or somethgin and thought of going for a walk on the streets. While walking, there was a Barrota(Paratha) shop and the guy who was making the Barotha was hitting the dough on the surface for a tune. For every beat on the song that was playing this guy was hitting the dough on the surface. So TLM was bit curious to knwo what this song was and why is it so special that this guy whos making the Barotha is enjoying himself and forgetting the whole world around him simply listening to this song.

When he went closer he realised that this was his very own song he sang and disliked which was "Nee Kattum Selai Madipilai". He was simply amazed and he went and asked the person do u like this song and all and the person had said: "this is the most amazing song of the year and a big hit and when I listen to this song I simply forget my self and my sorrows and I could make loads of Barothas without knowing that I am getting tired.. Its simply a Classic!"

He said he couldnt beleive what he was hearing and finally he told the Barotha making person that he had sung this song and eventually got free Barotha and a big respect from the people in that shop. And he said I am always thankful for Rahman for giving him such an incredible song and showcased his talent for the younger generation. And this incident is an evergreen memory in his mind!

Isnt this simply amazing guys! When I heard this story I was like wow! This one of those stories you hear from your Grandparents which make an everalsting effect on you. Thats how this felt.

Rahman is a genius!

Parthiban

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/65219

rashid2raj
30th April 2006, 10:47 PM
Date: Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:55 pm
Subject: T.L. Maharajan on ARR- A great story! mmparthi2003
Send IM
Send Email

Hey guys
I was watching the Raagamaalika show on Jaya Tv and the judge for today was T.L Maharajan (Not sure of the initials).
Anyways for the second round there is a duet round. So one of the singers chose the song "Nee Kattum Selai Madipilai" from Pudiya Mannargal. This song was originally sung by T.L Maharajan(TLM) himself and Sujatha.
So after the song was sung he mentioned an incident he will never forget in his life regarding this song. This is how it goes:

After he sang this song for Rahman and after leaving the recording studio he felt that this song wasnt challenging at all and thought well why did Rahman give such an easy and not very exciting song to him. Maybe he didnt like him or something. And he felt a bit dissapointed.

Then later after the movie and songs were released and all, Maharajan had a show in Singapore. So while in singapore one day he just had his lunch or somethgin and thought of going for a walk on the streets. While walking, there was a Barrota(Paratha) shop and the guy who was making the Barotha was hitting the dough on the surface for a tune. For every beat on the song that was playing this guy was hitting the dough on the surface. So TLM was bit curious to knwo what this song was and why is it so special that this guy whos making the Barotha is enjoying himself and forgetting the whole world around him simply listening to this song.

When he went closer he realised that this was his very own song he sang and disliked which was "Nee Kattum Selai Madipilai". He was simply amazed and he went and asked the person do u like this song and all and the person had said: "this is the most amazing song of the year and a big hit and when I listen to this song I simply forget my self and my sorrows and I could make loads of Barothas without knowing that I am getting tired.. Its simply a Classic!"

He said he couldnt beleive what he was hearing and finally he told the Barotha making person that he had sung this song and eventually got free Barotha and a big respect from the people in that shop. And he said I am always thankful for Rahman for giving him such an incredible song and showcased his talent for the younger generation. And this incident is an evergreen memory in his mind!

Isnt this simply amazing guys! When I heard this story I was like wow! This one of those stories you hear from your Grandparents which make an everalsting effect on you. Thats how this felt.

Rahman is a genius!

Parthiban

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/65219

That's RAHMAN... :) thx. for sharing Dinesh..

30th April 2006, 11:28 PM
If this is posted, appologies. Found this in a spanish forum

http://www.myspace.com/lacaution

Listened to the Pilots Automatiques ...

Dinesh

YOu must love this. Let me know how you felt listening to it.

1st May 2006, 12:39 AM

Dinesh

superoooo superrrrr.....
i wonder if ARR knows about this????
can he take leagel action if he finds out??? (am sure he wont...but still) am jus wondering...

may be the band who did told him about it....hehe

never the less....very nicely done

1st May 2006, 01:00 AM

Dinesh

cool man.... whats the happy part...tamil song is beein remix instead of hindi!! 8-) great find man...thanks allot!!

2nd May 2006, 06:09 AM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/Events/1/9607.html

The highlight on the occasion was AR Rehman, who was spotted in a jovial mood interacting with the guests.

Rehman further said, 'I have composed three songs for Rajini starrer Sivaji and three more would be recorded soon.'

On recent controversies involving Ilayaraja's musical symphony on Thiruvasagam, Rehman said, 'Ilayaraja is a musical genius and no doubt his Symphonic Oratoria on Thiruvasagam is a master piece. The controversies over his work is needless and uncalled for'.

Rehman has been assigned to composed music for English movie to be directed by Shekar Kapur soon.

2nd May 2006, 07:24 AM

Dinesh

cool man.... whats the happy part...tamil song is beein remix instead of hindi!! 8-) great find man...thanks allot!!

thats not spanish its french

2nd May 2006, 10:53 PM

Dinesh

Awesome :clap: :clap: :clap:

2nd May 2006, 11:02 PM
[tscii:5105fe2e4d]Rahman: Humble and respects seniors

A.R.Rahman is someone who can’t be missed out at any function. The moment he enters the atmosphere is charged though he himself is real cool. Such are his talents and his efficiency as a music director. He dropped in for the launch of Sakkarakatti. This film is to be a mixture of two generation film folks. K. Bhagyaraj’s son, Shantanu, makes his debut as hero while the director is Prabu, son of noted producer Thanu. Kalaippuli Thanu is the producer. Rahman said that he had known both Bhagyaraj and Thanu and was excited to be part of the project. Rahman had not worked much in the Tamil film world recently. When asked about it he said that the banner and the director were the most important part in a film. He was happy working on Jillendru Oru kadhal, Sivaji and Sakkarakatti. He is also on plans to start working on his devotional album that would be produced and marketed by KM Music. When he was asked about the Thiruvasagam argument, he said that there was nothing to blame the maestro and the symphony bore Ilayaraja’s stamp. That is Rahman, simple and humble.[/tscii:5105fe2e4d]

3rd May 2006, 05:18 AM

Dinesh

thats not spanish its french

nambalukku ellam onnuthaan samiow

3rd May 2006, 07:59 AM
"nambalukku ellam onnuthaan samiow" - thats the samething i say about some MDs songs which are repetitive :P

3rd May 2006, 11:56 AM
GOSH! Now I'm hooked to this Pilotes Automatiques!
Damn whoever said his music has no universal appeal!

3rd May 2006, 06:52 PM
"nambalukku ellam onnuthaan samiow" - thats the samething i say about some MDs songs which are repetitive :P
Do you mean ARR? Watch it. I have been keeping quite, but if some sick ppl want to have a war, I am all set for that. I dont know why I even post here. I am EXTREMELY SORRY.

NO MORE POST IN ARR THREAD.

Djpak
3rd May 2006, 08:57 PM
Do you mean ARR? Watch it. I have been keeping quite, but if some sick ppl want to have a war, I am all set for that. I dont know why I even post here. I am EXTREMELY SORRY.

NO MORE POST IN ARR THREAD.

rayan36
3rd May 2006, 09:58 PM
Everyone saying that rahman composing in 2001/02 was medicore but i kinda liked it........Kathal vedukili (parasuram), kettimelam (udhaya), Kadhal Virus .still stirs the soul :wink: :wink:

3rd May 2006, 10:06 PM
I liked Parasuram and Udhaya to some extent.But not Parasuram.
I am damn sure he composed Parasuram during the day time. :lol2:

rashid2raj
3rd May 2006, 10:17 PM
Everyone saying that rahman composing in 2001/02 was medicore but i kinda liked it........Kathal vedukili (parasuram), kettimelam (udhaya), Kadhal Virus .still stirs the soul :wink: :wink:

How about Udhaya Udhaya.. :wink: Such a superb song. Sadhanas voice along with Hariharan are amazing in this song ! Beautyfull song! I love this sooong.. :)

4th May 2006, 02:48 AM
http://www.ibnlive.com/features/tamilpolls/index.php

vote for ARR here guys...just click on "who is tamilnadu's biggest icon?" and vote for our ARR here...

rayan36
4th May 2006, 03:34 PM

How about Udhaya Udhaya.. :wink: Such a superb song. Sadhanas voice along with Hariharan are amazing in this song ! Beautyfull song! I love this sooong.. :)

Yeah that too , it will be long list if mentioned all the songs :wink:

4th May 2006, 07:10 PM
[tscii:2698ab4191]Watch A R Rahman open up!

Watch the media shy Rahman opening up on CNN-IBN, a news channel, on May 7th at 9.30pm IST with a repeat telecast on May 11th at 11 am IST. Back with a bang with Rang De Basanthi, Rahman is today the most celebrated music director, both in the East and the West. An article on Time carried the title: That old feeling: Isn’t it Rahmantic? The magazine had listed Roja on its Top 10 movie sound track of all time. Rahman turns forty this year and the Entertainment Editor of CNN-IBN catches up with the musical whiz kid on the night of May 7th.[/tscii:2698ab4191]

5th May 2006, 08:59 PM
Headlines today channel showed a small part of ARR's interview where he was asked about Rajinikanth.
He spoke very highly of Rajini saying that he is amazing, he is an icon andso on.

5th May 2006, 09:03 PM
He also said that there was no politics in the movie Shivaji.

5th May 2006, 09:26 PM
For full interview, tune into Headlines today on Saturday at 6pm.Repeat telecast on sunday at 2pm and 7pm

5th May 2006, 10:25 PM
Headlines today channel showed a small part of ARR's interview where he was asked about Rajinikanth.
He spoke very highly of Rajini saying that he is amazing, he is an icon andso on.

Gurnaathar speaking high of Thalaivar !!!! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Ram, You made my day !! :thumbsup:

5th May 2006, 11:01 PM
Friends,
Watch and listen to this,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMBY67WRBFQ&search=tamil%20songs

This is the song composed by ARR for Tsunami

5th May 2006, 11:16 PM
This is from an ARR interview in Suntv where he sings Jana Gana Mana
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAjql0dULIE&search=arrahman

5th May 2006, 11:39 PM
Here are the excerpts from CNN-IBN interview
http://www.indiantelevision.com/release/y2k6/may/mayrel4.htm

rashid2raj
6th May 2006, 01:04 AM
This is from an ARR interview in Suntv where he sings Jana Gana Mana
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAjql0dULIE&search=arrahman

Oh my god, oh my god.. here in Europe we don't have chance 2 watch sun TV... Thanks a TON.. :) :) .. Just too cooooool man 8-) The way he plays the piano, Jana Gana Mana in Blues version.. THANKS..

6th May 2006, 02:23 PM
Check out Rang De Basanti BGM in this website
http://ww.alldesimp3.tk/
Click on AR Rahman hits to download them

6th May 2006, 07:06 PM
I was shocked when ARR said that he can't speak Hindi.
He said he can only read and sing hindi but cannot speak in Hindi.

6th May 2006, 07:20 PM
ARR said that he will sing for Rajini in Shivaji :clap: :thumbsup:

6th May 2006, 11:36 PM
better rename this to Ramakrishna thread.... :lol: gr8 work man keep it up...

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1675505,001100030003.htm

read this link....it says that ARR's Doli Saja ke rakhna tunes will be used for a kannada movie....... :? ......gud that i'll be able to listen to ARR's song in my mother tongue...

7th May 2006, 12:40 AM
This is ARR on TB and Poverty

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTsBSE9Gih4&search=Rahman

7th May 2006, 12:47 AM
Even Swadws BGM is available in the following website.
http://www.alldesimp3.tk/

For both Swades and Rang de Basanti BGMs, click on AR Rahman hits on the left side.

7th May 2006, 11:14 AM
http://rapidshare.de/files/17988858/New_track_2.mp3.html

Friends,
This one contains the remix of Kaatril song from Godfather.Just go the link, scroll down and click free, download and enjoy

7th May 2006, 11:39 AM
[tscii:b8f728a15a]Big B in Rajiv’s movie

Rajiv Menon is planning to start playing with his camera again in a directorial venture starring none other than Amitabh Bachchan! This movie in Hindi is named Fiddler in the Roof. The shooting of this movie will start in the year end, as Rajiv is busy assisting Mani Ratnam with his movie Guru now. Yesterday Rajiv attended the press meet to announce his new project.

------------------------------------------------------------

I believe this Rajiv's movie also has ARR's music[/tscii:b8f728a15a]

7th May 2006, 03:16 PM
Kalam, Rajnikant, A R Rahman Tamil Nadu's top icons
New Delhi, May 06: President A P J Abdul Kalam, Kollywood superstar Rajnikant and young music composer A R Rahman have been voted the 'biggest icons' of Tamil Nadu in a media survey.

The trio, who were chosen from a list of six eminent personalities from the state, bagged 18 per cent votes each out of the over 5,000 polled in the on-line survey conducted jointly by a private TV channel and a newspaper.

The other bigwigs who included in the list were versatile actor Kamal Hassan, chess legend Vishwanathan Anand and cancer specialist and Magsaysay Award winner V Shantha.

Anand and Shantha received 16 per cent votes each, while Kamal Hassan got the nod from 15 per cent of the respondents.

7th May 2006, 10:10 PM
I have just come back from another interview of ARR in CNN-IBN.
This guy is amazing.
Everytime i watch him speak or listen to him sing or listen to any sing of his, my love for this person keeps on increasing.
He is simply superb.He is such a humble and down-to-earth person.
He is simply simply amazing
:clap: :clap: :thumbsup:

7th May 2006, 10:19 PM
Friends,
I am very disappointed to say that ARR is the second best tamil icon together with Rajini whereas our honourable president APJ Abdul Kalam came first.
I voted for ARR and KamalHaasan 25 times each.But yet................

7th May 2006, 10:52 PM
[tscii:86ea6d215e]interview: Sound of Rahman
Rajeev Masand
CNN-IBN

He is considered India's most respected musicians. He has been credited with giving Indian film music a global, a more original, more unique sound. He is also one of the highest selling artists in the world, having sold more than 50 million albums in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi and English. He has also made a very successful crossover to the West, while his roots, his first love, continues to be Indian music. He is A R Rahman.

In an exclusive interview with CNN-IBN’s Entertainment Editor Rajeev Masand, A R Rahman talks about Rang De Basanti, his music and some of his outstanding works.

Rajeev Masand: The most obvious question first: Where did the dreadlocks go?

A R Rahman: I went for Haj, so I had to get them off. Or you can say, to washed my sins, I got my hair chopped off.

Rajeev Masand:That was your most marked characteristic. Do you miss them?

A R Rahman: I know, but my wife likes me better now.

Rajeev Masand:Rang De Basanti, your most recent work, is a film which really marked a milestone. Isn’t it? Apart from the fact that it has great music and it’s a great album, it is one of those rare soundtracks where the theme is blended perfectly with the music. Your earlier work Bombay and Taal were also examples of that. Do you agree?

A R Rahman: Yes, I think so. The process with Rang De Basanti started when Rakeysh (Rakeysh Om Prakash Mehra, the film’s director) told me the story, which had freedom fighters in it. I was working on Legend of Bhagat Singh with Santoshji at that time. So, I said that I would not do another film like this. Of course Rang De Basanti happened four years later.

When I started on this film last year, what we decided to do was not to have anything which is preachy and going to bring people down. We wanted to go abstract and go counter-point, like people and children are dying there and we have a happy soundtrack, which is Ru Ba Ru and going to the light and there is more positivity rather than going along with the film.

In fact, everything is in opposites -- like the song Khalbali, which has the word ‘ziddi (stubborn)’, and it came because of the tune. And then the way after the song was recorded, which Rakeysh used in the film, when Bhagat Singh refuses to take any food and becomes ‘ziddi’. Now that is the stroke of a genius. And that's how things should be done, more interactively, not by having a per se idea and defining it. If you want to break and go on to the next level, you need to take a chance. Sometimes, it works out this way. And in this film, it all worked out, I guess.

Rajeev Masand: One of my favourite songs in Rang De Basanti soundtrack is Lukka Chhupi. I have read a fair bit of criticism about the song, largely perhaps because it is a collaboration with Lata Mangeshkar. I could be wrong, but I guess the reason should have been Lata Mangeshkar. The song is really a mother’s call and a mother’s song.

A R Rahman: See, the song was not designed to be in the film at all. I was doing the film and I was doing Ru Ba Ru and Khalbali and Pathshaala. I felt it was all upbeat and modern. What was the film about? It is about a call of a mother. It is how the characters in the film change. I was actually hearing a song from Born On The Fourth Of July soundtrack and there is a song, which goes this way: ‘Where have you been my blue-eyed son’.

I thought why not do a similar song for the film. It is very abstract, it takes the inner feeling of the film into a soundtrack. So I was telling Zaria, and Rakeysh was saying, “Mmm... OK.” And Prasoon, of course, said it won’t work. We then came up with Lukka Chhupi. I said why don't we have an answer for the mother who calls. And in a way, I was trying to do a duet with Lata Mangeshkar, which I had wanted to do for a long time, because whenever I had approached, it never happened. The plan got cancelled for almost six times, until it finally happened.

So, in which scene will this song fit in is the next question, right? When we tried to spot the scenes, it fitted exactly with Waheedaji and the death. But then the reverberation of the song is within the film and outside the film also. So, I feel doing a song is taking me from the cliché' of situation which films have. And working outside it and then fitting it in. So all these things fitted in.[/tscii:86ea6d215e]

8th May 2006, 11:05 AM
Here is the link,

http://www.ibnlive.com/article.php?id=9722&section_id=3

Rahman speaks about his hair (Maddy), chaiya chaiya (done an year b4 which Mani picked like Humma, Tamizha etc..) Lukka Chuppi's inspiration, Mr. Bedi's unsettlement, Why he sings?. Overall Good One! Loved that pic :clap:

Main page,
http://www.ibnlive.com/features/rahman/index.php

Interesting Quiz Section.
http://www.ibnlive.com/features/rahman/quiz.php

I have scored 100% "perfectly tuned" hehe Yeah!..... Tell me which all were actually wrong by ibn.

8th May 2006, 06:29 PM
Rajeev Menon's next venture in hindi

http://www.newstodaynet.com/04may/fl1.htm

8th May 2006, 06:53 PM
thnx scale for d link :D .....going by his interview it seems that he was more than a musician for RDBasanti......he had suggested changes to Raykesh itself.......yabba namma aalu periya thillalangadi pola irukku :lol:

8th May 2006, 06:57 PM
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/interview-sound-of-rahman/9722/comments.html#83566

read the responses esp dis one:

ARR is the best......................
He is the most tallented among today's musicians.
I would like to tell ARR that I have a cassete of BOSE,THE FORGOTTEN HERO........The AZADI track is fantastic.
Besides this I have cassetes of all ARR's hindi films.I am a MAHARASHTRAIAN still I have a collection of ARR's tamil & telagu films.
I am always waiting for his music to be released.
His composition include all Idian,western instruments.
Flute by NAVIN is fantastic.It makes the trak more melodious.
Meeting ARR is my only dream.

aana angeyum vaitherichal IR fans are spoiling it.... :twisted:

8th May 2006, 09:47 PM
Thanks for the ARR-CNN interview link. Good one there. I wish we had more such interviews with other musicians in TFM/IFM. Most tamil magazines ask the same stereotypical questions for which we can guess the answer in advance.

Shankar
10th May 2006, 10:39 AM
A very Nice interview. Arr - as humble as he always is.

thnx scale for d link :D .....going by his interview it seems that he was more than a musician for RDBasanti......he had suggested changes to Raykesh itself.......yabba namma aalu periya thillalangadi pola irukku :lol:

So Mangal-pandey-is-a-BIG-HIT-Maddy,
Do you now agree MP is a flop ?? I hope you believe arr's words than bobby bedi's words :-)

10th May 2006, 01:14 PM
shankar, MP is a FLOP in a music director's perspective, but is a hit from a producers' perspective.... :lol: :lol: ....bobby bedi recovered his costs, but i dunt think ARR and aamir wud call it success as they set very high standards......

but do u have any doubt abt RDB being the biggest hit of recent times??? :lol:

Shankar
10th May 2006, 02:37 PM
shankar, MP is a FLOP in a music director's perspective, but is a hit from a producers' perspective.... :lol: :lol: ....bobby bedi recovered his costs, but i dunt think ARR and aamir wud call it success as they set very high standards......

but do u have any doubt abt RDB being the biggest hit of recent times??? :lol:

RDB is a hit...no doubt. But I wud still maintain that bobby bedi is lying :-)...Why wud he not pay arr when he knows he has to get him for his next production venture ? Whatever standards you take MP is a Flop with a capital F

10th May 2006, 03:37 PM
agreed shankar....MP did not meet anyone's xpectations....though i liked it, it did not succeed 25% of my xpectation...

10th May 2006, 04:34 PM
Aiyaa Shankara....cheri paa....MP big flop..... neenge kaasu podhuleithaane...aparam yen ungalakku intha kashtam?? :lol: MP flop'po illai hit'to.... ungalakku loss illai thaane....athevaraikum apriciate pannungo :lol:

14th May 2006, 11:37 AM
[tscii:4a4f4c17e9]
http://chennaispy.blogspot.com/

Guess what out Maestro A.R.Rahman had to say about the occasion of Mother's Day?

My wife allows me to enjoy the best of both words. She takes care of my family when I am travelling and when I return, she takes care of me. And she never cribs or complains about managing the show when I am not here, and as far as my work is concerned, she is my main critic.

But whatever I am today, it’s because of the disciplined way in which my mother brought us up after I lost my father when I was just seven.

You knew the secret of A.R.Rahman! Now follow the words of your guru for a better future of tomorrow.
[/tscii:4a4f4c17e9]

ansa400
15th May 2006, 02:44 PM
http://www.google.com/trends?q=a+r+rahman

Just searched for ARR in google trends. Follow the link for results. Surprisingly Trivandrum tops the list who search for ARR, well ahead of chennai.

15th May 2006, 03:33 PM
Interesting! :) But why do ppl in chennai need a search for a r r.

Aus more than US,UK :?

I tried Ilayaraja, To my surprise the peak-level is exactly during the release of TIS (Jun"05").

http://www.google.com/trends?q=Ilayaraja&ctab=0&geo=all&date=all

try googlefight.com

ansa400
15th May 2006, 04:11 PM
Cool one Scale.. There is another service by Google, Orkut.com. This is an online community which is connected to ppl all over the world. When I joined this 7 months ago ARR had some 10,000 fans all over the world. Now he has over 21,000 fans. He beats Sharukh, sachin, aishwarya rai, aamir khan by some good margin. Amazing!!!! Any orkut members here?

15th May 2006, 04:33 PM
yes guys ARR community is one of the biggest with around 23300 members.......and u'll get to see all kinds of ARR fans there(orkut)......ARR is indeed a huge name in web media...

15th May 2006, 08:23 PM
Cool one Scale.. There is another service by Google, Orkut.com. This is an online community which is connected to ppl all over the world. When I joined this 7 months ago ARR had some 10,000 fans all over the world. Now he has over 21,000 fans. He beats Sharukh, sachin, aishwarya rai, aamir khan by some good margin. Amazing!!!! Any orkut members here?

ansa...please send me an invitation to orkut.com

ansa400
15th May 2006, 08:46 PM
ansa...please send me an invitation to orkut.com

Whats ur Gmail ID?

rayan36
16th May 2006, 02:09 PM
Rehman is in full swing
IndiaGlitz [Monday, May 15, 2006]

A R Rehman, tipped as Moazart of Madras by the Time Magazin, is currently busy with a musical album Pray For Me, Brother being brought out as part of United Nations TB Millennium Campaign.

Leaving his mark in international musical arena, Rahman is also busy in Tamil with many offers including the much awaited Sivaji starring Rajinikanth.

Rahman also has several plans up his sleeve. It includes a religious musical album on the poems of Karaikudi Mastan Saheb. Rahman has commenced works with his music guru Dakshinamoorthy for completing this album.

Also, Rahman is keen on composing a symphony in the future.

Keep up the good work, Rahman.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/22445.html

rashid2raj
16th May 2006, 02:15 PM
http://www.dr.dk/musik/asien/artikel/030804_bollywood.asp

A.R.Rahman featured on an danish website, mentioned that he is Bollywood's leading music composer.. 8-)

Thanks 2 Djpak who discovered this one.. :wink:

16th May 2006, 11:59 PM
Friends,
Here is the link for the video of the two interviews of our boss in CNN-IBN and Headlines Today.

http://rahmanonline.net/forum/index.php?s=419b57c83b03853a791a8d9b240f0661&showtopic=126

http://rahmanonline.net/forum/index.php?s=419b57c83b03853a791a8d9b240f0661&showtopic=127

But u need to register before downloading.Registration is very simple.No need to wait for any activation.After registering u can straight away login and download.

rayan36
17th May 2006, 02:53 PM
Guy's check this out COMPLETE BIOGRAPY!!!!!!

http://www.seneschal.bravejournal.com/

21st May 2006, 11:31 AM
[tscii:ecdfdc37d4]After Patriotism, it is brotherhood: A R Rahman.

When was it we had an album from A R Rahman? It was long back, his Vande Mataram. For Rahman’s fans who are looking for yet another album from the wizard, here is good news. Rahman and Bharath Bala, the guy who produced Vande Mataram, are coming together once again for another album entitled Pray for me brother. “It is a simple song but the concept is unique,” says Rahman who has been working on this for some time now.
“The message is brotherhood. Preserve humanity,” adds Bharath Bala. Rahman who is known for his own style of going about with his work has just completed Mani Rathnam’s Guru. Can we expect another Roja? Rahman smiles and says: “Insha Allah.” Rahman is also working for Bollywood projects such as Ashutosh Gowarikar’s Akbar Jodha, Rajkumar Santhoshi’s London Dreams and Shekar Kapoor’s Golden Age. Rahman is simply floored by the respect that is shown to him both in West and the East. Singer Himesh Reshammiya had said if he wanted to sing for one composer, it would be Rahman. Rahman, however, feels that it is all God’s Will and he is humbled by the accolades given to him[/tscii:ecdfdc37d4]

21st May 2006, 09:05 PM
http://www.dinakaran.com/epaper/2006/may/21/13_5.jpg

narayanan
21st May 2006, 09:24 PM
Donno if it is already mentioned. The Bombay movie theme is a BGM in the Nicholas Cage starrer movie 'Lord of War'.

21st May 2006, 11:50 PM
Donno if it is already mentioned. The Bombay movie theme is a BGM in the Nicholas Cage starrer movie 'Lord of War'.

old news brother... old news

22nd May 2006, 12:58 AM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000BFH4OO/qid=1148225717/sr=1-18/ref=sr_1_18/103-0168579-8013426?s=music&v=glance&n=5174

rahman makes it on this musical compilation of best musical songs

23rd May 2006, 10:27 AM
ARR: I'm at my best when I'm in control

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/nmirror/mmpaper.asp?sectid=10&articleid=522200622494878522200622493393

24th May 2006, 11:07 AM
Video of Rahman singing Fanaa

http://www.foresee.in/arrahman.asp#

24th May 2006, 11:10 AM
Vandemataram - II, Jana Gana Mana Video 35+artists playing in ladakh. U can watch ARR from 0.54 Great One! :thumbsup:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7399792002477900458

25th May 2006, 04:48 PM
(crosspost)

Interview planned with Naresh Iyer - post your questions!

http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=578302#578302

28th May 2006, 05:24 PM
http://www.kumudam.com/interviews.php?id=2&strid=14
ARR video interview in Kumudam.Register to watch it.

30th May 2006, 11:23 AM
MR.RAMAKRISHNA,ARR INTERVIEW IN KUMUDAM KONJAM DOWNLOAD PANNI THARA MUDIYUMA SIR??REGISTER PANNA SARIYA VARALA.KONJAM HELP PANNUNGA SIR..PUNNIYAMA POGUM UNNGALUKKU..PART 1 ALLREADY SAVE IN MY COMPUTER.I WANT PART 2.

30th May 2006, 02:04 PM
MR.RAMAKRISHNA,ARR INTERVIEW IN KUMUDAM KONJAM DOWNLOAD PANNI THARA MUDIYUMA SIR??REGISTER PANNA SARIYA VARALA.KONJAM HELP PANNUNGA SIR..PUNNIYAMA POGUM UNNGALUKKU..PART 1 ALLREADY SAVE IN MY COMPUTER.I WANT PART 2.

why???Have u registered?If u have registered, u have to login

First u have to login before doing anything.Then click on interviews on the right side.Then below that u will have two links
1st link is the first part.2nd link is the second part.U just have to click on one

Otherwise after logging in click on the links below.U will get it even if u open this in a seperate window and u have logged in a seperate window
http://www.kumudam.com/interviews.php?id=2&strid=14

http://www.kumudam.com/interviews.php?id=2&strid=34

rashid2raj
30th May 2006, 03:56 PM

30th May 2006, 04:42 PM
ROMBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA,NANDRI RAMA SIR.. :thumbsup: :clap: :wave: :lol2: :lol: :lol: :clap: :clap:

31st May 2006, 09:38 PM
AH aah movie basic story line from this movie:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0338013/

??????? :?

rashid2raj
31st May 2006, 09:47 PM
AH aah movie basic story line from this movie:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0338013/

??????? :?

AIJO AIJO.. S.J.Surya advertised the movie as something totally NEW with a new storyline.. crap!
Tamil cinema Thirundhaada jenmam.. !!!

rayan36
1st June 2006, 11:06 AM
I've seen this movie, kinda kinky/erotic at times, but it's a funny movie. But I never watched Ah Ahh, after this maybe never :wink:

1st June 2006, 01:28 PM
rashid2raj,

nalla gavanichu paarunga... Tamil cinema vil oru NEW attempt nu sollirupaar.... he wudnt have said in the whole world this is the first and new attempt

ithu varaikkum ethanaiyo movie story lines copy pannirupanga hollywood la irunthu.... but ithu pondra oru storyline yaarume copy pannirukka maatanga...this is a NEW attempt - ithu than avar sonnathoda nija artham ;)

1st June 2006, 02:05 PM
r u guys telling me that Ah Aah is a copy of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ... OMG....

thats like one of the best movies ever.... best of Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet...

if this is true.. i will never see the movie Ah Aah... coz am affraid SJS would have eaten up an amazing movie....

rashid2raj
1st June 2006, 03:07 PM
rashid2raj,

nalla gavanichu paarunga... Tamil cinema vil oru NEW attempt nu sollirupaar.... he wudnt have said in the whole world this is the first and new attempt

ithu varaikkum ethanaiyo movie story lines copy pannirupanga hollywood la irunthu.... but ithu pondra oru storyline yaarume copy pannirukka maatanga...this is a NEW attempt - ithu than avar sonnathoda nija artham ;)

Hehe.. appadiyaa,.. :D So it was a NEW attempt in copying.. :lol: ! I see.. between i loved the movie.. was very funny.. !!!

1st June 2006, 06:38 PM
r u guys telling me that Ah Aah is a copy of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ... OMG....

thats like one of the best movies ever.... best of Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet...

if this is true.. i will never see the movie Ah Aah... coz am affraid SJS would have eaten up an amazing movie....

Yup ah aah is a copy of eternal sunshine of the spotless mind !!!

1st June 2006, 06:49 PM

Yup ah aah is a copy of eternal sunshine of the spotless mind !!!

holy cow!!!! thats not at all good

MusicIsLife
1st June 2006, 07:33 PM
Aa Aah was decent movie catering something complex to a generally unsophisticated tamil audience. At times it was irritating with SJS acting, but overall the feel of the movie was good. I liked the first song and some pieces of BGM here and there. I have not watched Eternal Sunshine, knowing the talent of Jim Carrey, it is totally different audience segment.

2nd June 2006, 08:24 PM
ARR interview on Headlines today channel.
ARR on Rajini
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiaKC-cuvw0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsVI-YreJ8U

ramky
3rd June 2006, 01:49 PM
Aa Aah was decent movie catering something complex to a generally unsophisticated tamil audience. At times it was irritating with SJS acting, but overall the feel of the movie was good. I liked the first song and some pieces of BGM here and there. I have not watched Eternal Sunshine, knowing the talent of Jim Carrey, it is totally different audience segment.

SJS may have lifted the story from hollywood, but it was an essential movie for the tamil audience, esp for the present generation & also the youth of today - those in love, those about to get married & also newly married couples. the storyline emphasis how important Trust is when two people love each other. not many ppl would have seen the original english movie, even if it was dubbed and released in india. ( unless it had some uncensored "scenes" ).

rayan36
5th June 2006, 08:46 AM

It's very very true, the think that i always didn't understand these people can take english movies but not the tamil one's for eg; imagine titanic in tamil, will it be a BO success?????.........NOOO

THe funny thing is hollywood movies that did badly in other part of the world was a success in TN :lol: :lol: (van helsing, hellboy)

5th June 2006, 10:05 AM
Post only ARR newsbits in this thread. Continue your Ah Aah discussions here: http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=1046

6th June 2006, 10:32 AM
Check this out, ARR Youtube Videos formed by ARRYG, As of now 165 videos

http://www.youtube.com/groups_videos?name=arrahmanfans

7th June 2006, 08:56 AM
Wacth out arr's interview in kumudam.com part3 :thumbsup:

8th June 2006, 01:41 AM
Listen to this:

http://rapidshare.de/files/22479294/ARRahman.mp3.html

(alternative link)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JGD64QH2

9th June 2006, 04:33 PM
[tscii:db12a9789d] Rahman's Panchathan now AM Studios
June 09, 2006

A R Rahman is one musician who is constantly experimenting and innovating. His latest is the refurbishment of his studio, formerly known as Panchathan, and now christened A M Studios. The studio is spacious at 3,000 square feet and has taken three years for completion.

Much like his music, the studio has an amalgamation of international and local elements, from the Studio 440 Architecture & Acoustics from Hollywood, California who have contributed towards the acoustic design and architectural plans of the studio, to the Sound Wizard Audio Design and Consultancy of Auroville, Tamil Nadu, that has helped with project management and acoustics consultation. Not to forget the state-of-the-art equipment for the studio from Daxco Digital in Singapore, while actual designing and construction of the studio was done by a firm in Chennai.
The highlights of the studio are the control room, spaced out at 380 square feet, and the space where the recording and mixing will take place, spread out at 1,300 square feet. Each area is planned and executed with care, with importance given to bringing out the maximum output. The recording studio for instance, is equipped with variable acoustics that will complement the recording process. The control room, on the other hand, is designed with a large window that gives a comprehensive view of the big screen used for the mixing stage. The recording studio also makes room for the mixing stage and can actually house up to 30 musicians! Apart from all this, there are two extra booths, completely segregated from the main areas, with massive, glass sliding doors.

But, perhaps the best feature of this high-class studio, is the bass system in the recording studio/mixing stage that comes with four self-powered Bag End INFRAsub-18 PRO subwoofer systems, courtesy Daxco Digital. In layman terms, these systems will help in enhancing clarity and providing maximum control for surround sound applications. What's more, these systems are powered with Bag End's INFRA internal 400-watt amplifier and controlled by the company's internal and unique dual integrator.

Rahman however, is presently busy recording for the $27 million Lord of the Rings musical that is scheduled for a world premiere in Toronto in early 2007, along with the celebrated Finnish folk band, Värttinä.[/tscii:db12a9789d]

9th June 2006, 04:45 PM
[tscii:e90cefb70c]
Rahman however, is presently busy recording for the $27 million Lord of the Rings musical that is scheduled for a world premiere in Toronto in early 2007, along with the celebrated Finnish folk band, Värttinä.

isnt LOTR already relesed???
if then this studio must have been built a while back.
you know what that means. ARR must have used this studio for his JOK and Sivaji... wow

:D[/tscii:e90cefb70c]

Vysar
10th June 2006, 12:22 AM
More about Rahman's AM studio

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/june-06-01/09-06-06-ar-rahman.html

vjrag_ind
11th June 2006, 10:26 PM
Well sorry for the digression. But i was watching the movie Kokki (dont ask me why)...but throught the movie Dhina has used the song from "Warriors of Heaven and Earth" as the bgm... has anybody else noticed this?

13th June 2006, 11:08 AM
Well sorry for the digression. But i was watching the movie Kokki (dont ask me why)...but throught the movie Dhina has used the song from "Warriors of Heaven and Earth" as the bgm... has anybody else noticed this?

yup i did too.....nuthin new, even niru used it in kalaba kadhalan :D

rayan36
16th June 2006, 08:00 AM

He's just living n learning :wink:

rayan36
16th June 2006, 08:01 AM
RHYTHMIC BEATS Sivamani and U. Shrinivas catch up during their visit to Hyderabad.

Both are maestros in their field of music. If one is into Carnatic classical music, the other drums up a different rhythm of funky contemporary stuff. But that hasn't stopped Padma Shri Mandolin U. Shrinivas and percussionist A. Sivamani from creating a bond that is enduring.
From being a child prodigy to being the youngest to win the Padma Shri, Shrinivas's life has been an interesting concoction of music.
The soft-spoken 37-year-old has played along with some of the greats in both Carnatic and Fusion music. As has Sivamani, who is a personal favourite for many music directors, including A. R. Rahman. Zakir Hussain once described him as a phenomenon that walks through this planet, once or twice in a century.
In town to perform at the bi-centenary celebration of Secunderabad, the two sat down for a chat after a lively practice session along with Vijay Ghate, Uma Shankar and legends Padma Vibhushan Pandit Hari Prasad Chaurasia and Pandit Jasraj, as Mangala Ramamoorthy listens in before they struck their chords and rhythm.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sivamani: I must start by saying that I am really proud to be playing at this concert in Hyderabad, mainly because of two reasons: Firstly, it is the concept of Panchatatva that has been conceived for this concert and secondly, because I am playing along with you, Shrinivas, a person about whom the whole world in talking about. It is really amazing. (Holding hands)

Shrinivas: Thanks a lot. And believe me, it is the same with me as well. It is always nice to have Shivaanna along. People think that I know him only now, but that's not true. My western guru, S. Vasu Rao, used to take me around for recordings of various musicians and that's where I first met anna at the age of 10. Since then we have been meeting and playing regularly.

Sivamani: You know I always had this dream of playing along with you. I remember, every time I met you at the airports, I would ask when and how I would get to play with you. The issue was that you played classical and I am more oriented to western and fusion, and we didn't know how to bring the two together. I think it was a dream comes true through Shakti Foundation.

Shrinivas: Definitely, it was they who bought the band Shraddha together, along with you, me, Shankar Mahadevan and Louis Banks.

Sivamani: And I feel that the very first concert we played together was magic. There's some power when I am playing with you on the stage, Srinu. I would say it is divine.

Shrinivas: I am telling this not just because you with me, but I would tell this even otherwise. But I admire you not just as a good musician, but as a very good human being as well. There are many things I can learn from you, especially the way you take care of everyone who's playing along with you. (After a pause) When playing together, the most important thing is coordination. I think it comes to us naturally. We never have to say anything to each other. (Sivamani nods in agreement) The best percussionist is one who doesn't think about himself but gels with the music of the main player.
Anna is just like that. But when your chance to play solo comes, you are a completely transformed person. You are so spontaneous that I don't think you know what you are exactly playing. Do you? If someone asks you how you played, you wouldn't even know.

Sivamani: Yeah that's true. I really don't know what I am doing. I think it is a gift that I am able to play this way.

Shrinivas: But it's really fun watching you perform like this. But, I think we enjoy performing together more because we don't move around like musicians. We are more like brothers or may be more than that.

Sivamani: Because of this there's lot more energy on the stage. (Suddenly) Anna I always wanted to ask this, what is the best combination to have along with gongura and rice?

Shrinivas: (Smiles) I think the best combination is onion.

Sivamani: I am asking this because when I was in Washington, I was eating gongura, as usual, mixed with rice and sambar and I was told that gongura is best had with onion and ghee. I even had it in Chennai recently and want to take some for my home in Mumbai as well.

Shrinivas: Other than music, one more passion that we share together I think is food. I am as much a foodie as you. I love spicy food, though I don't eat them much now.
If you love Andhra food, I have my favourites in Tamil cuisine as well like veta kozhyambu, rasam and mor molaga.

Sivamani: Talking of vengaya veta kozhyambu, I love having it at Vikumama (Vikku Vinayakam's) house. (Shrinivas goes wow)
Ok, food apart, there's one particular piece you played for Shraddha, Madhuvanti. Wow, what a piece you composed? Can you tell me how the feel of that raga was?

Shrinivas: Actually, when Shakti Foundation asked me to come with something new, this raga suddenly came to my mind. And I thought it would be nice and I tried it at home. But I sincerely feel that the piece gets more colour and life when I play it with you.
Now, let me also ask you one question. You have played with so many great musicians like A. R. Rahman and Illayaraja. How was the experience like?

Sivamani: Every stage is an experience. The plate is one, but there's a lot of variety. With Rahman, it will be full of energy and rhythm, but with Illayaraja as a percussionist, it's more of organising yourself with other.
During my early days, I used to go overboard with my music when playing along with other musicians.
That's when I observed Zakir and the way he moves along with others' music. It's from then that I learned how to play with a control when with others and have a blast when playing solo.

Shrinivas: There's one thing I have noticed about you.
You are a shopaholic. You cannot even imagine the way he shops. Not that I don't shop, but not the way he does. (Sivamani laughs)

Sivamani: Ok, I agree I shop a lot. But there are times when you have done some shopping for me as well. It was really nice of you to get the instrument

Shrinivas: Anyway I am glad, we have a lot to look forward in the future with the number of projects we are doing together.

source : http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/mp/2006/06/13/stories/2006061300940100.htm

17th June 2006, 03:13 PM
There is an excellent interview of ARR available in Kumudam.com :) Interviewed by Rabi Bernard
ARR talks about his family and his philosophical orientations spirituality and many other things
A must watch...there are four clips available here
http://www.kumudam.com/interviews.php?id=2
I yearned for more of this interview as its only in bits and pieces and gets cut abruptly at times

aruvi
18th June 2006, 10:16 AM
Actually, the content of that interview is old. I have read it many years back from another interview. I was surprised that so much of the same questions were asked. It was in Rahmanonline, which has not been online for some years now.

Rahman's latest interview in hindu is in Thiruvananthapuram Metropolis (Thursday's issue)

ArulprakasH
18th June 2006, 03:09 PM
Article on AR Rahman - Wednesday, June 14, 2006 at 06:39

An idol for millions all over the world A.R.Rahman needs no introduction. But, if you are one among the few unfortunate souls who are a stranger to him and his soulful music ,then read on...

Allah Rakha Rahman was born to a musical affluent family as A.S. Dileep Kumar on 6th of January, 1966 in Chennai. Rahman started learning piano at the age of 4, he joined Ilayaraja's troupe as a keyboard player at the age of 11. Dropped out of school Rahman travelled all around the world. He studied Western Classical music at the Trinity College of music.

At an advertising function, Rahman met the ace movie director Mani Ratnam who was on look out for a new music composer for his film. Mani Ratnam signed A.R Rahman for a new movie "Roja" produced by veteran Tamil director K.Balachander. The music of this film was a phenomenal success that revolutionised modern day Indian film music. This movie fetched him the "National Film Awards" in 1992 and created history.

His inspirational, infectious songs won him alot of praise in India. He scored music for a lot of films namely - "Pudhiya Mugam", "Gentleman", "Kadalan", "Bombay", "Indian", "Mutbu Kadal Desam", " Love Birds", "Jeans", "Oke Okkadu", "Minsara Kanavu", "Rangeela" and latest "Rang De Basanti".

Today A.R.Rahman is the heart throb of the music world and all time great music director in this field. When asked if he wants his children too to become music directors like him? he says, "You cant say what they would become. But I want them to grow up in an ambience of music. They are now undergoing training under Ghulam Mustafa Khan saab. In fact, I would like to spend a lot of time with them."

As an individual, A.R.Rahman leads an extremely religious life and credits all his musical inspirations to Allah. He says, "Music speaks, statements don't and none can completely be original because the notes are already there: from the notes we form a rag and from rag a tune. It's the methodology. As far as I can, to my conscience, I try to be original. Music is international only cultures are different".

Amidst all this heady success, Rahman remains unchanged. He is humble,modest, shy and down to earth. We hope he touches greater heights and magnetise people with his blissful music.
Source: http://www.kollywoodtoday.com/cinenews/news_item.asp?NewsID=123

19th June 2006, 12:22 AM
Here are the 4 clips of the interview I found in Kumudam.com enjoy :) http://rapidshare.de/files/23305741/ARR-Interview-Kumudam.rar.html

Guess_Me
19th June 2006, 01:04 AM
Thanks for the clips, rs. What happened to the other clips?

rayan36
19th June 2006, 01:12 PM
[tscii:c5cc792221]Salman Khan to work with Subhash Ghai

Renowned film director has confirmed in an Internet chat session that he has signed Bollywood heartthrob Salman Khan for his next production.
The film is as of yet untitled, and Subhash will not be directing it, but it will feature Salman Khan’s best performance to date.

Ghai has also said that he will very soon be taking up the director’s chair again, and is hoping to lure Shah Rukh Khan to star. AR Rahman will pen the music. However, he still has to decide on the right script, and production on this may not be soon.
[/tscii:c5cc792221]

19th June 2006, 02:12 PM
guessme,

There were only four clips in the site...That was why i said i wanted more of this interview in the previous post :( Probably they will upload it later. If then I'll capture the video and upload it soon :)

rashid2raj
21st June 2006, 11:54 PM
* deleted *

Mod msg: Post only relevant stuff.

rayan36
26th June 2006, 12:34 PM
I've just listen to a song named ekam satyam FOR THE 1st TIME :o Is it from any album??

krish244
27th June 2006, 04:36 PM
Is this true? The below article says Himesh Reshammiya could be replacing A.R.Rahman for Dasavatharam!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/23337.html

Krishnan

krish244
27th June 2006, 06:10 PM
This link says music is by Himesh Reshammiya!

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-02/27-06-06-kamal.html

Krishnan

rashid2raj
27th June 2006, 07:15 PM
I've just listen to a song named ekam satyam FOR THE 1st TIME :o Is it from any album??

Rayan, i think the song was supposed to be featured on Michael Jacksons "Invincible" album, but unfortunately it didn't - i think it was dropped in last minute.. Where did you got the song from.. ?? I've also heard a song called Ekam Satyam (The one truth), but i'm not sure wheter it's the one from ARR-MJ combo.. :?

I remember that ARR-MJ & Prabudeva performed the song in Munich (Germany), also that MJ got some injury with some crane and went to hospital afterwards.. :roll:

rashid2raj
27th June 2006, 07:17 PM
-post deleted-

rashid2raj
27th June 2006, 07:17 PM
Found this:

Lyrics - A.R.Parthasarathy (Sanskrit), Kanika Myer (English)
Choreographer - Raju Sundaram
Singers - A.R.Rahman (Sanskrit), Michael Jackson (English)
Audio Rights - SONY MUSIC

* On stage at Munich - A.R.Rahman, Michael Jackson, Prabhu Deva, Shobhana and 30 German dancers.
- The song was recorded with MJ in September 1999.
- Performed at "Michael Jackson & Friends" concert in Munich, Germany on June 1999.
- Michael Jackson appeared on stage with folded hands wearing a white outfit designed by Indian fashion designer Manish Malhotra.
- The concert proceeds went to charities and aid agencies and a children's fund set up by former South African President Nelson Mandela.
CURRENT STATUS - No idea regarding the fate of this one, especially after Michael Jackson's split with Sony Music last year. We can only keep our fingers crossed and hope that we will get to hear the song soon.

http://groups.msn.com/mytamilteens/international.msnw

rayan36
29th June 2006, 06:50 AM
i'll try to upload it in a couple of days, see whether we're talking about the same song :wink:

Djpak
29th June 2006, 10:37 PM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=MQuxWDHbAXQ&mode=related&search=a.r%20rahman

FAANA - AY
With some whiteguy dance

rashid2raj
29th June 2006, 11:03 PM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=MQuxWDHbAXQ&mode=related&search=a.r%20rahman

FAANA - AY
With some whiteguy dance

This is too funny & stupidity at it's best... :lol: :lol: :lol: hehe..

rashid2raj
30th June 2006, 01:11 AM
rayan, tjeck Scales post here: http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=635067#635067