View Full Version : How to Read and Write Posts in Thamizh Script ?

7th November 2004, 09:36 AM
[tscii:c90f59ef99]

Topic started by neo_morpheus (@ ppp-219.65.97.61.chn.vsnl.net.in) on Tue Jun 24 19:38:32 .

This has been a source of concern for many of the friends here. Some of them have already found out how to read and write thamizh scripts, and also are aware of the tools and fonts which are needed for that purpose.

I'm giving the necessary info regarding this issue, which various people have provided in other threads here.(Special mention : punnahai and madurai veeran)

A lot of people have used 'Murasu Anjal' to compose and post in thamizh script prior to this. But, it is quite a cumbersome process to do it using Murasu's Thamizh text editor.

There is a new, exciting tool which enables us, hassle-free, to write in thamizh script - called
'e-kalappai'. This tool is a free-to-download tool, created by the generous volunteer work of thamizh techno-geeks under the aegis of www.tamil.net , created by Bala Pillai and Muthu Nedumaran.

================================================== =====

If you want to just READ webpages which have thamizh scripts/content in it, all you need is a single font -'TSC_Avarangal' - and you can download that fontfile(.ttf) from here :

http://www.tamil.net/tscii/tools.html

In that link, just download that TSC_Avarangal font file(.ttf) from the 'Fonts' link.

It would be better if you could download and install all other 'TSC'(TSCII standard) fonts from that link in addition to 'TSC_Avarangal'.

================================================== ====

If you want to WRITE/POST thamizh script/content here, you may want to download and install the
'e-kalappai' tool from here :

Just look in that page under 'Keyboard drivers' link.

The 'e-kalappai' tool let's you to directly 'type' in thamizh scripts in the response box. All you need to do is:

* After downloading that tool, re-start your system, so that the system's registry gets updated.

* Configure your IE browser by choosing 'View' from the Browser menubar, under that 'Encoding' option - make it 'User-defined'.

You can use 'e-kalappai' to compose thamizh script/content in :

* notepad

* word document

* discussion group response-boxes etc..
==========================================

Remember :
==========

If you want to just READ thamizh scripts, 'TSC_Avarangal' font is enough.

If you need to WRITE, start the e-kalappai tool and run it in background. Press ALt + 2 for beginning to write in thamizh, and if you want to revert back to normal english typing - Press ALT + 1. simple!.

=================================================

I thought of adding one more link, which was provided by 'punnahai' elsewhere. In addition to the fonts/tools i have mentioned, you can check out this tool too :

>>
Check this link for typing in Tamil.

I think if you cut and paste you might be able to read too. You dont need any fonts.

http://www24.brinkster.com/umarthambi/db/mail.asp
>>

================================================== ==

I request our friends here to update/add any new info regarding reading/writing thamizh scripts. People can post the queries here to get their doubts cleared.

" ¾Á¢ú ±í¸û ¯Â÷×ìÌ Å¡ý - þýÀò
¾Á¢ú ±í¸û «º¾¢ìÌî ͼ÷¾ó¾ §¾ý "

- À¡§Åó¾÷ À¡Ã¾¢¾¡ºÉ¡÷.

P.S :

TSCII - Thamizh Standard Code for Information Interchange.

[/tscii:c90f59ef99]

NanbargaLE!

Thamizh script-il uLLa 'Post' padippathil uLLa siramam kuRiththO allathu, thamizh scriopt-il 'post' ezuthuvathu kuRiththO, ungaLukku aiyangaL iruppin - allathu aiyangaLukku theervugaL iruppinum - athai ingu 'post' seyyungaL.

Let us make as many people as possible, who visit this forum - to make their posts in thamizh script.

Neo,

i already have e-kalappai and also know how to type in tamil...i can write in tamil..but i cannot read tamil fonts straight from any posting..i normally copy and paste it in notepad to read it...can u tell me what i shd do to read it straight away??

malligai!

hi! thanks for responding.

Probably your browser needs to be re-configured. If your browser is IE, try this :

In the browser menubar -click on 'view' and under it - click on 'Encoding'; you would see a lot of encoding options there like arabic,chinese,japanese et al. In that, find the option 'User-defined'. It would be listed if you clicked 'More' under that 'Encoding' option.

Select 'User-defined' and then 'Refresh' the page. you'd probably get to read thamizh scripts on the page directly, if you did this.

I have already opened a similar thread to this one in the Miscellaneous section.

http://forumhub.com/expr/25227.16.18.02.html#last

you can also visit it for any updated info there regarding this same issue of Reading/Posting
in thamizh.

Neo,

nanri..."Select 'User-defined' and then 'Refresh' the page"--i have tried this a before and it dint work...i will try once again and let u know..

malligai,

once set it to user-defined, u may have to restart the computer also.

Kajan,
nNot necessary to restart the computer once you select user defined.

When setting the encoding to "User Defined" , also uncheck "Auto-Select" in the same menu. You dont have to restart.

it depends on OS and related ddl files. It happened to me for one of my friend's computer when I was installing e-kallapai not for my one. if ddl files don't work properly it is compulsary to restart. this is common to many software installations.

oooooops not ddl it must be read as dll

malligai,

is it working now? plz post ur feedback. There are a lot of our friends who are willing to help, as u could see!

we can help as many ppl. s we can to enable them read/ write thamizh script! :)

Malligai,

You need to install TSC..fonts in your computer
(any font starting with the letters TSC...)
Then in your IE browser, Tools-->Internet Options--> Fonts-->Choose User Defined in Lang Script-->
and choose TSC..fonts in the two Font selection windows..Click ok twice...
You should be able to read pages where TSC fonts are used. Your settings in the Browser are the ones which will determine if you can read Tamil directly or not.

[tscii:e33e75712e]
Neo,

Thanksss...i can read anything in tamil now straight from the page...i think i dint uncheck 'Auto-select' while choosing user-defined..i hope i will be able to type straight away too..i will try and let u know..

Govin/ kajan/ Pas,

«¨ÉÅÕìÌõ ¿ýÈ¢!!!
(heyyy, this works too...thanks!!)

[/tscii:e33e75712e]

[tscii:f0fa6635f9]
ÁøÄ¢¨¸!

±ÉìÌõ Á¸¢ú§Â! ¦¾¡¼÷óÐ ¯í¸û À¨¼ôÒì¸¨Ç ¾Á¢Æ¢ø ¾Ã ÓÂÖí¸û..«ôÀʧ ÀÄ ¿ñÀ÷¸ÙìÌõ ¾Á¢Æ¢ø ±ØÐÅÐ ÀüÈ¢ ¦¾Ã¢Å¢Ôí¸û. (about e-kalappai too)

[/tscii:f0fa6635f9]

[tscii:f53ca2ba1d]
Neo, helpppp....

þíÌ ÁðÎõ¾¡ý ±ýÉ¡ø ¾Á¢ú font ÀÊì¸ Óʸ¢ÈÐ...but i can't in other yahoo pages...±ýÉ ¦ºöÅÐ?...¯í¸û ¯¾Å¢ìÌ ¿ýÈ¢!

ÁøÄ¢¨¸

[/tscii:f53ca2ba1d]

malligai,

Do you have 'murasu anjal 2000' installed in ur system? if not install from - www.murasu.com

And keep murasu anjal running in background when u r reading thamizh web-pages.

If it does not work out, try this :

1. Copy the 'junk lookin' thamizh scripts on the web-page, & paste it onto a notepad's 'new document'.

2. select notepad's current font from it's font option, and make the current font as 'TSC_Avarangal'

Now u should be able to see the copied & pasted thamizh text.

===========================================

If that too did not work , then :

1. make sure you have 'murasu anjal' running in background.

2. select all lines of those thamizh script in the note pad that u see as 'junk'

3. you will see in the menubar of notepad - a menu called 'murasu+' - click that option.

4. in that option you will have lots of options - choose 'convert selected text' from there.

5. you would get a dialog box - one asking u to identify the source of the selcted text's font..you will have a drop-down box there- try 'Bamini' font option as the source's font and

6. for the destination(to be converted into) file - select TSCII 1.7 font option - in the second dialog box, and then press convert command button.

now u will have the converted text in the notepad!
( i hope so!)

A step missed!
====================

4. in that option you will have lots of options - choose 'convert selected text' from there

after this

4a. you will be shown a list of encoding schemes that you want to the selected text to be converted into...like anjal, TSCII 1.7 et al..choose TSCII 1.7 here

test

[tscii:c35dccac24]
Òýɨ¸ ÁüÚõ ¿¢¦Â¡ Å¢üÌ ±ý ¿ýÈ¢

°ÁÕ ¾õÀ¢Â¢ý þ¨½ ãÄõ ±Øи¢¦Èý

[/tscii:c35dccac24]

[tscii:74faf6cb84]
Òýɨ¸ ÁüÚõ ¿¢¦Â¡ Å¢üÌ ±ý ¿ýÈ¢

°ÁÕ ¾õÀ¢Â¢ý þ¨½ ãÄõ ±Øи¢¦Èý

[/tscii:74faf6cb84]

[tscii:448c9e8888]
Å¡úòÐì¸û ºì¾¢!

¯í¸û ¸Å¢¨¾¸¨ÇÔõ þÉ¢ ¾Á¢Æ¢§Ä§Â ±Ø¾Ä¡õ! :-)

[/tscii:448c9e8888]

Additional info for people who installed e-kalappai but could not 'Write' in thamizh :)

1. After installing e-kalappai you SHOULD re-start the system

2. After re-starting - now run the 'e-kalappai' application again.

You would notice a new icon in your system tray - which would be of 'Tauveltesoft Keyman' - which is the keyboard software which is bundled with e-kalappai

(this tray icon would look like a square with a slight slant)

3. right-click on that icon - you would get a list of options to be chosen.

4. From those - choose 'Keyman Configuration'

5. You would get a configuration box - which will have 2 tabs

i) keyboards
ii) options

In the 'keyboards' tab - there would be a 'Installed Keyboards' list. Most probably you would have only - 'TSCIIANJAL' listed there.

6. check the box near 'TSCIIANJAL' (put a tick)

7. And in the same 'keyboards' tab - see the other section called 'keyboard details'

you would notice 3 check boxes for 'Ctrl', 'shift' and 'Alt' and also a drop down box containing some options.

8. CHECK only the ALT box ,and from the drop-down list select 2.

(this effectively means that you can switch to 'thamizh writing' mode when you press ALT+2, when e-kalappai has been started and running in the background.)

9. Now go to the other tab - "Options"

There you would have 3 check boxes under "Keyman Off Hotkey"

Select/check/put a tick ONLY in the box near ALT.

And again, there would be a drop-down list near it;from there, choose 1.

(which effectively mean that - from thamizh mode if you want to switch back to normal "english typing" mode, you have to press ALT+1).

10. There will be another Section in the same "options" tab - called "General"

From there check the box near "Start Language indicator with keyman" (put a tick on that box).

11. Now - click on "Apply" and then on "ok".

=====================================

When you run e-kalappai in the background and press ALt+2 again you would notice that the tray icon - changes to '«' ( 'a' in thamizh script).

That means you can start typing in thamizh!

Friends please carefully follow the steps - and give a feedback if it properly works now.

Now - regarding 'Configuring' the Internet Explore browser - to be able to 'READ' thamizh scripts - please note the following points :

* If your browser is IE, try this :

In the browser menubar -click on 'view' and under it - click on 'Encoding'; you would see a lot of encoding options there like arabic,chinese,japanese et al.

Among those options - find the option 'User-defined'.

It would be listed if you clicked 'More' under that 'Encoding' option.

* Select 'User-defined' and then 'Refresh' the page. you'd probably get to read thamizh scripts on the page directly, if you did this.

* When setting the encoding to "User Defined" , also uncheck "Auto-Select" in the same menu. You dont have to restart.

* Then in your IE browser :

Choose 'Tools' from menubar.

Tools-->Internet Options--> Fonts-->

Choose "User Defined" in Language Script list-box of options.

Now in the section below that - You'd find a list of fonts.

From that - choose TSC..fonts in the two Font selection windows..Click Ok twice...

* You should now be able to read pages where TSC fonts are used. Your settings in the Browser are the ones which will determine if you can read Tamil directly or not.

(thanks for all the friends who have generously contributed info regarding this)

I thought of adding one more link, which was provided by 'punnahai' elsewhere. In addition to the fonts/tools i have mentioned, you can check out this tool too :

>>
Check this link for typing in Tamil.

I think if you cut and paste you might be able to read too. You dont need any fonts.

http://www24.brinkster.com/umarthambi/db/mail.asp
>>

People who want to find out information for Using thamizh fonts to READ and tools to WRITE in thamizh - can find them here.

Please post your queries and i would be glad to help you out.

Moreover many friends here in this hub - would be more than ready to help you out.

There is one more page in the miscellaneous section of the hub - which gives you info on using thamizh fonts

http://forumhub.com/expr/25227.16.18.02.html#last (http://forumhub.com/expr/25227.16.18.02.html#last

Please see both this thread and the other thread and go thru all the pages.

[tscii:2d6e491e3b]
¿ñÀ÷¸§Ç!

¾¨ÂÜ÷óÐ ¾Á¢Æ¢ø ±Øи¢ÈÅ÷¸Ç¢ý ±ñ½¢ì¨¸¨Â «¾¢¸Ã¢ì¸î ¦ºö ¿õÁ¡ø ¬É ÓÂüº¢¨Â ¦ºö§Å¡õ ±ýÚ §ÅñÊ즸¡û¸¢§Èý!

:=)

[/tscii:2d6e491e3b]

I have recently shifted to Linux OS. I am finding it difficult to view/write in Tamil. Can someone guide me? I will be thankful.

Lord of the kings,

There is an excellent site which addresses Thamizh usage in Linux OS.

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Tamil-Linux-HOWTO/ (http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Tamil-Linux-HOWTO/

Please go thru all the links provided in that FAQ like page.

They have given some links for downloading Linux based software for thamizh.

More info reg. UNIX/Linux based thamizh s/w :

1. XFCe4 Tamil

XFce is a freedesktop.org standard compliant, lightweight desktop environment for unix-like operating systems. It is fast and lightweight, aesthetic and highly usable. More information about XFce..

Tamil is a part of the official XFce4 (thanks to the great work of Dinesh Nadarajah). More information is available in the official homepage of Tamil XFce4.

http://www.tamillinux.org/?q=node/view/11 (http://www.tamillinux.org/?q=node/view/11

-------------------------------------------------

2. This tamil linux page has lots of links to ongoing projects to create thamizh s/w in open source environments :

http://www.tamillinux.org/?q=node/view/51 (http://www.tamillinux.org/?q=node/view/51

Go thru these links in the home page of the site.

-------------------------------------------

3. "Zha kanini"

This site talks about projects that sounds cool!

Zha kanini is an effort to provide a tamil desktop consisting of tamil open source applications. The objective of zhakanini is to enable any Tamil user to use a computer even without English proficiency/knowledge .

http://www.zhakanini.org/English/index.php (http://www.zhakanini.org/English/index.php

-----------------------------------------------------

4. This site has TSCII tools for thamizh

http://www.tamil.net/tscii/tools.html (http://www.tamil.net/tscii/tools.html

You can download :

"Xkb" - which is a Linux o/s based thamizh keymap.

But inorder to access this site you must sign up for the yahoo group 'TSCII' - which takes only a few mins anyway. Once you join that TSCII yahoo group u can access and download all TSCII based s/w from that site - or as files - from that group.

-----------------------------------------------------

5. Excellent resources & info are available from yahoo group on linux (u have to join this group) :

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/tamilinix/ (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/tamilinix/

Additional links for info :

* http://www.bigwebmaster.com/General/Howtos/Tamil-Linux-HOWTO/ (http://www.bigwebmaster.com/General/Howtos/Tamil-Linux-HOWTO/

* http://www.geocities.com/vanbu/

Another link :

* TSCII (Tamil) HOWTO for Unix/Linux (good FAQ) :

http://www.ee.vt.edu/~anbumani/tamilfaq.html (http://www.ee.vt.edu/~anbumani/tamilfaq.html

* Unix/Linux fonts can be freely downloaded from :

geno,

Really GREAT you are!!

Roshan!

thanx. But i am absolutely disappointed with all these people who wouldnt even think about making posts in thamizh script.

Its alright if one does not have the facility to install e-kalappai tool.

But i seriously dont believe that installing a font - "TSC_Avarangal" - is that much of difficult job!

And i think posting thamizh kavithaikaL in english and expecting people to appreciate it - is a bit asking for too much - if they can try a bit and find a way to post in thamizh.

And most people - even if provided help - dont give a damn to try it out and see - if they can atleast - READ thamizh scripts here - which is very sad

-----------------------

Anyway - here are some more tools! :

1. umarthambi's tool for writing in thamizh script and send e-mail in thamizh

http://www24.brinkster.com/umarthambi/db/mail.asp (http://www24.brinkster.com/umarthambi/db/mail.asp

2. "Suratha Font Converter" - Convert any thamizh font to any other thamizh font format - and also convert TSCII to Unicode and vice-versa (absolutely cool!) :

http://www.jaffnalibrary.com/tools/tamilconverter.htm

Other Recommended Tools / Softwares / Websites for
Tamil Unicode Usage :

* Murasu Anjal -

http://www.murasu.com

* Tamil Unicode Help Page & TSCII font downloads -

http://www.ezilnila.com/

* Puthuvai Tamil Writer -

http://www.jaffnalibrary.com/tools/Unicode.htm

* eKalappai 1.0 -

http://www.tamil.net/newtamil/ekalappai_1.html

* eKalappai 2.0(beta) -

http://www.developer.thamizha.com/ekalappai/

* LedLineIT 1.3 -

ftp://ftp.sophists.com/Pub/LedLineIt/3.1-PreRelease

You can now download TSC_Avarangal font and a thamizh transliteration tool(english to thamizh & vice versa) - from the yahoo group 'santhavasantham.

Just join the group and download these files from the files section of that group.

1 TSC_Avarangal font ('TSCAVA.ttf')

2. Tool to 'transliterate' all thamizh content to english and all english content to thamizh - "TAMIZ1.exe"

link :

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/santhavasantham/files/

Another reminder for e-kalappai link :

http://www.tamil.net/newtamil

http://www.suratha.com/reader.htm

Help for Installing e-kalappai and configuring the browser - and also links to download e-kalappai, TSCII and Unicode fonts :

http://www.gbizg.com/Tamilfonts/ekalappai.htm

Help for using e-kalappai to write in thamizh in wordpad, MS-Word etc and also to configure outlook express and other e-mail programs to Read/Write thamizh scripts :

http://www.gbizg.com/tamil/Using_ekalappai.htm

test

info is ok

just to prevent from getting into archives...:-)

what has happened to our threads?

* Check out this page for writing UNICODE tamil :

http://forumhub.com/tamil/

On that page, you can type tamil in romanized script (e.g. "thamizh") and get it automatically converted to tamil script.

You WILL NOT NEED any software or fonts - Both for typing and viewing!

Only requirement is: you need Windows 2000 or XP and IE 5.* or above.

Windows 98/ME users read this :

In case you cannot see the tamil text :- In IE, go to View->Encoding and select 'Unicode(UTF-8)'.

You can simply copy & paste the tamil text created in this input box in this page - to post in tamil, in response boxes in tfm forums.

Always Remember that - IE should be set to View-> Encoding => 'Unicode(UTF-8)' for Using unicode.

* For - How To Read & Write in Unicode Tamil & get UNICODE fonts - help is provided here :

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/help/howto.htm

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/software.htm

* Good FAQ on reading/writing Tamil UNICODE :

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/help/faq.htm (http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/help/faq.htm

* Additional Info regarding Tamil UNICODE fonts, why do we need them & How to get help, fonts & software is here :

http://www.ezilnila.com/

http://www.e-sangamam.com/unicode.htm

also use the font coverter in this page for converting UNICODE font text into TSCII and read it :

http://www.suratha.com/reader.htm

For thos who still cant Read the UNICODE content, please download & install just this single font in your system :

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/downloads/aava1.ttf (http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/downloads/aava1.ttf

(aAvarangal - true type UNICODE font)

Other UNICODE fonts like - latha, sooriyan, TheeneeUnitx et al can be downloaded from here :

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/downloads (http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/downloads

and here :

http://www.pathcom.com/~u1037916/software.htm

test

test

test

t

t

You can download and install the thamizh-script editor software - "e-kalappai" - which would allow you to type and post in thamizh scripts, from these pages.

* For Help for Installing e-kalappai and configuring the browser - and also links to download e-kalappai, TSCII and Unicode fonts, see here :

http://www.gbizg.com/Tamilfonts/ekalappai.htm

* Help for using e-kalappai to write in thamizh in wordpad, MS-Word etc and also to configure outlook express and other e-mail programs to Read/Write thamizh scripts :

http://www.gbizg.com/tamil/Using_ekalappai.htm

* Another site for downloading e-kalappai:

http://www.developer.thamizha.com/ekalappai/