View Full Version : K.B.Sundarambal

26th February 2005, 11:51 AM
Alphabetical list:

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/lyrsort.php?t=2198

Topic started by muthax (@ client209-42-213-78.intrex.net) on Wed Aug 19 13:08:36 EDT 1998.

Hi guys,

iam collecting some songs of K.B.Sundarambhal.
can anyone help me out in giving me a list or a place where i can get a list of her songs.
does ppp has KBS in it?
i dont have anjal to check that.

Also can anyone tell me the name of the one and only, KBS starred social movie. Iam trying to findout this movie for quite sometime.

I'm sure you already have the list of her popular songs from Thiruvilaiyaadal. (Jeans ninaivukku varuthaa? :-)))

She also acted in the movie Thirumalai Deivam as Narayanamma and sung two songs in that movie:

Naallellaam unthan thirunaalaam

Eizhumazhai irukka namakkenna manakavalei

She has sung a couple of social songs and these include:

Arithu arithu maanidanaai pirappathu arithu

Thappiththu sendraanammaa

On another note, I tend to confuse between AR Ramani Ammal and KB Sunderambal. Anyone else do this? :-))

Vaazhkai ennum odam, vazhangukindra paadam In poompuhar. She comes as Kavundhi adigal

Nov:

I also sometimes am confused about KBS,ARRA and Kollangudi Karupaiyee's koovals.

Dont see your posts nowadays !

Raja M - But that's sacreligious!! :-))

Oh, my posts are aplenty. Please see Paattukku paatu. :-)))

another interesting thing about KBS is she acted as nandanar (for whom thenandi gave way for dharshan).
Yesterday's avvai shanmugan(m) ;-)) , got 1 lakh rupees as her sal for that movie.
One of the calculations made by an unknown (to me)person ,says ,today that amount is worth 13 crores.(mind u ,Rajnikanth gets a meagre 1.25 crores when compared to this).
sorry for the digression.

please read "thenandi" as " the Nandi (bull) "

Some more KBS songs:

* sendRu vA mahanE - mahA kavi kALidAs.
* kAlathi azhiyAdha kAviyam - ""
* onRanavan uruvil - ThiruvilaiyAdal
* pazham neeyappA - ""

KBS was born in 1907 in a place called "paaNdi kodumudi", a place near
Karur. Her family was extremely poor. Looking at her exceptional talent
for singing (even at an age of 5), the Karur DSP, Mr RS Krishnaswamy
got her into a drama troupe at an early age. KBS became a very famous
drama actress at a very young age. At the same period, SG Kittappa was
considered as the best drama actor. They got a chance to act together
in stage, in Sri Lanka, in the 1920's. Right from that first meeting,
it was instant love between them. They got married and became an inseparable
acting pair. aanaal, vidhi yaarai vittadhu? SGK died in 1933. KBS was
completely shattered by this, took to the traditional widow costume,
and vowed not to act with any hero after that. She also started concentrating
only on devotional themes after that. The famous freedom fighter,
Sathyamurthy convinced her to come back to acting. She acted as
'Nandhanar' in 1935. She was paid a staggering 1 lakh for acting in
this movie (equivalent to several crores of today, as Shankar pointed out).
KBS was well known for singing in high pitches. She acted as
'Manimekalai' in 1940, as `Avvaiyaar` (Gemini productions) in 1953,
as kaundhi adigaL in 'Poompuhar' in 1964, as Avvaiyaar in 'Thiruvilaiyadal'
in 1965, as an old lady in 'Mahakavi Kalidas' in 1966, as Avvaiyaar
in 'Kandhan Karunai' in 1967, in 'Uyir Mel Asai' in 1967, in 'Thunaivan'
in 1969, in 'Karaikkaal Ammaiyaar' in 1973, and, finally, in 'Thirumalai
Dheivam' in 1973. These were the only 11 movies in which KBS acted. KBS
passed away in September 1980.

A List of Movie Songs by KBS:

Nandhanar:
1. vazhi maRaiththirukkudhE
2. piththam theLiya marundhondrirukkudhu

Manimekalai:
1. manam kalanguvadhEn
2. maasindri
3. paavi En piRandhEn

Avvaiyaar:
1. ayyanE anbarkku meyyanE
2. poRumai ennum nagai aNindhu
3. koodi nadandhukoLLa vENdum
4. veNNilaavE veNNilaavE
5. kanni thamizh naattil (PunnaagavarALi, kAnadA)
6. aalai palaavaakkalaamO (Kalyani)
7. vElanE senthamizh viththagaa (Shanmugapriya)

Poompuhar:
1. vaazhkkai enum Odam
2. thappiththu vandhaanammaa

Thiruvilayadal:
1. njaanap pazhaththaip pizhindhu (Kambodhi, Saveri, Mohanam, Kanada)
2. pazham neeyappaa (Shanmugapriya)
3. ondraanavan

Mahakavi Kalidas:
1. kaalaththil azhiyaadha
2. sendru vaa maganE

Kandhan Karunai:
1. ariyadhu periyadhu

Uyir Mel Asai:
1. kELu paappaa, kELvigaL aayiram kELu paappaa

Thunaivan:
1. pazhani malai meedhinilE

Kaaraikkaal Ammaiyaar:
1. Odungaal Odi
2. kEtta varam

Thirumalai Dheivam:
1. Ezhumalai irukka
2. naaLellaam

kbs was the first artist to get a 6 figure salary
in the history of tamil cinema

I like to a share an experience on kbs:
It was 1993, Adi masam - we had light music program for a temple in Mannadi near madras. We started to practice "Pazam nee appa" song, I tried to get the scores for that song, Due to the hi-pitch of kbs the entire song was in the 5th octave of my keyb, at times it went out to 6th - which was not there in the keyb, I use to transpose the ocatave and then play it, no other singer until today I know have reached so hi pitching.Seergazi goes hi but not has high as kbs
Srikanth

srikanth

did u live near mannadi

sorry for the digression makkale

Reva! thanx a ton for the valuable input u had given me.

Can we download KBS songs where we can download please if any one having the collections please send me the details.

Sivakumar:

http://www.angelfire.com/pa3/ppp/kbs.html (http://www.angelfire.com/pa3/ppp/kbs.html

She also acted in Sakthi Leelai in an untitled character singing a couple songs. Must have been late 60s - early 70s.

check up - some kbs songs and thiyagarajah bahavathar songs....

http://yuvan-yarl.tripod.com

whenever i hear KB's name only "sutta pazham" and "sudatha pazham" comes to my mind.....what about u guys????

I want more details abut s.g.kittappa. Can anybody
mail me please?????

Yes, KBS got Rs.1 lac for acting as Nandanaar, but the money was given to congress for freedom struggle. (KBS demanded that money to act as a male character)

22nd June 2006, 10:13 PM
Song #1.

Movie: Kaaraikkaal ammaiyaar
Lyrics: kaNNadhaasan
Cast: KBS

Odungaal Odi uLLam urugi isai
paadungaal paada vandhen paramporuLe
aadungaaL eduthu nadamiduvaai iRaivaa
un thamizh amudhai paditha naan paadumpadi

thaka thaka thakavena aadavaa siva
sakthi sakthi sakthiyodu aadavaa
aalakaalane aalankaattil aadidum naayakane
neelakaNtane vedhanaayakaa neethiyin kaavalane
thaaLa vagaikaLodu meLa thunthupikaL muzhangida Or kaName
kaalai thookkiye aanantha thaaNdavam aaduga mannavane

muthukkodi sakthik kulamagaL
vithukkoru veLLandhathuNaiyena
bakthik kodi padarum nenjinil viLaiyaada
thiththippadhu iRaivan peyarena
patrundharum paraman thuNaiyena
sutrathodu manidhar kulamoru isai paada
katruth tharum oruvagai arivinil
mutrum therivadhupol manidhargaL
vetrup pugazh peruvaar avargaLum uRavaada

thikkup pala thimi thimi thimi ena
thakka thuNai thaka thaka thakavena
thattak kadal alaiyena natamidu ulagaada
immaikkum yezhezhu piRavikkum patraagi
ezhilodu emaiyaaLavaa

iyal isai naatakam muthamizh thannile
iyangiye ulagaaLavaa

ammaikkum naaykaa appane iyyane
arasane natamaadavaa
aadugira kaalzhagil kaadu podiyaagavena
ammaiyudan nee aadavaa

sirippukkuL neruppondru varachcheydha nee
neruppukkuL neerondru thara cheydha nee
karuppaikkuL iruppukkum uyir thandha nee
kaLippukkuL ulagangaL natamaada vaa

ulagathu neethiye samayathup poruLe
idhayathu aRive iruLukkuL oLiye

aadavaa- nata
maadavaa- viLai
yaadavaa-ula
gaadavaa

naadha geetha bodha bhaava raaga thaaLamodu
adiyavar thiru mudi vaNangida
kodi uyarndhida padai nadungida (thaka thaka.......)

mr_karthik
23rd November 2006, 03:57 PM
Song # 2

"தப்பித்து வந்தானம்மா"

படம் : பூம்புகார்
பாடல்: கவிஞர் மாயவநாதன்
இசை : ஆர். சுதர்சனம்

தப்பித்து வந்தானம்மா
பாவம் தனியாக நின்றானம்மா
காலம் கற்பித்த பாடத்தின்
அடிதாங்க முடியாமல்
தப்பித்து வந்தானம்மா
பாவம் தனியாக நின்றானம்மா

கிளை விட்டு கிளைதாவி குடி வைத்துக் கொண்டவன்
முறிபட்டு நின்றானம்மா.. இன்று
மனம் கெட்டு மதி கெட்டு நிதி கெட்டு, நெறி கெட்டு
நிலைகெட்டு வந்தானம்மா
இங்கு நேராக வந்தானம்மா

தப்பித்து வந்தானம்மா
பாவம் தனியாக நின்றானம்மா

பொய் நெல்லை குத்தியே பொங்க நினைத்தவன்
கைநெல்லும் விட்டானம்மா
பள்ளத்தில் வீழ்ந்து எழுந்தபின்
பல்லக்கை தேடி நடந்தானம்மா.. இன்று
தேடி நடந்தானம்மா

இவன் போட்ட கணக்கொன்று அவள் போட்ட கணக்கொன்று
இரண்டுமே தவறானது
யார் போட்ட புதிருக்கோ இருவரும் விடையாகி
நின்றதே முடிவானது

மனித குலத்துக்கே கதையானது

tfmlover
28th February 2014, 10:55 PM
http://i871.photobucket.com/albums/ab272/1tfml/KBS/KBS_zpse628195e.jpghttp://i871.photobucket.com/albums/ab272/1tfml/KBS/kbs1_zpsce5cfda6.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF90960A0CEBF6025

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1dKCGYixn_o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtBdZDu82IE