PDA

View Full Version : PAAYA recipe plss

dew
28th February 2005, 10:58 PM
As we get excellent varieties of rice noodles in the chinese stores in US, it is very easy to make idiyappam. I used to make kurma or sambar as side dish. I was wondering if anyone can let me know the recipe for paaya which would go well with idiyappam. Thanks in advance.

bhargavi.raj
28th February 2005, 11:59 PM
Hi Dew,
which variety ( name & brand) of rice noodles is best for idiyappam recipe?
I am just learning southindian dishes,will be great if u specify the details.
Thanks

saji
1st March 2005, 01:42 AM
I found this paaya recipe by Pearl Subramaniam in Anglo Indian recipes thread. I hope this is what you are looking for.

Paya - with Green Masala - Goat's trotters
Ingredients
1 Dozen Goat s legs clean, wash & cook with tspn Turmeric powder; & a little salt for 1 hr. in a Pressure Cooker from the time the Cooker hiss s put the stopper, lower the flame & leave to cook for 1 hour. 1. Whole Spices: 1 pc of Pattai; 6-8 Cloves; Elakas 4-6 nos. Finely Mince & Keep:- 2 Onions; 2 green chillies, 8-10 mint leaves the balance of the bunch of coriander leaves (keep a tbspn for garnishing). 2 Tomatoes Grind to a smooth paste the following: 1 pc Ginger, 8-10 pods of Garlic; 2-3 Green Chillies; of bunch of Green Corriander leaves; 1 tspn. Broiled Sombu. Keep aside. Separately Grind to a smooth paste:- Scraped Coconut with 1 1 Tbspns. Kus Kus (soak kuskus in hot water for 15/20 mins drain off the water add the kuskus to the Coconut & grind to a smooth paste) - Keep aside. Other Ingredients: Oil 6-8 Tbspns; Lime Juice from 1 lime or to taste.

Method