View Full Version : Was ARR really no.1 in Bollywood?

29th July 2005, 03:23 PM
ARR was no.1 in TFM from 1992-2000, we know that. All along I was forced to believe that ARR was no.1 in HFM too by the media .. but this morning I was checking out boxofficeindia.com for music sales from 1994-2005. Only one year ARR's album tied the top spot with Humraaz in 2002. Every year somebody else's album was at no.1 spot. What was the true picture there in North INdia? I may be wrong but please prove me with sales record. You can see the stats at:

http://www.boxofficeindia.com/musicsales.htm

MADDY are you listeing?

29th July 2005, 03:34 PM
wow,great data!! wonder y they dont do this for Tamil...but the thing is...the wierd thing i see Rangeela,which only it seems sold for 35,00,000 won awards,and same goes to Dil se 40,00,000 and ovetook KKHH...does that mean this data is wrong???

29th July 2005, 05:20 PM
yup they r wrong...........filmfare considered ARR as the 6th most powerful man in Bollywood ahead of Hrithik roshan and Ajay Devgan.......

heck i'm not getting the link....i'll post it once i get it......

29th July 2005, 05:25 PM
[tscii:b4ff45683f]Maddy,is it this :????

http://www.filmfare.com//articleshow/331646.cms?&right=1&fright=1&botlink=1

6. A R Rahman
He picks his projects, they don’t pick him. He commands top fees, but once his name’s on a project, the soundtrack fetches top money too. His standing at the Hindi box office does not need the added cachet of his international success. But the industry takes pride in his having struck gold on the London stage with apna naach gaana.
[/tscii:b4ff45683f]

29th July 2005, 05:32 PM
Nattama,

Engeyum arambichuttengala unga panchayatha? :lol:

29th July 2005, 05:35 PM
yup bbc and indiainfo.com confirm it....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/film/3256378.stm

http://members.tripod.com/gopalhome/arrbio.html

29th July 2005, 06:11 PM
I am not asking whether he chooses his project or his cousin does/he is powerful to do his laundry in chennai instead of Mumbai. My question is why the sales figures of his albums are not upto the hype media creates? if he is no.1 in bollywood as their fans claim to be, shouldn't his albums be on top of others? I think tfm has responded him well in 92-00 and not hfm.

What do you say Maddy?

29th July 2005, 07:00 PM
my judge,thats not based on what arr chooses,its based on his popularity my dear dear frend! if his sales r as low they show in that website,he couldnt be in top 10 as no 6.....besides,he is the only musican there,where is Jatin-Latit who scored the highest selling like KKHH & DDLJ????

Arjuna
29th July 2005, 09:57 PM
thats utter rubbish since Bombay was the highest sold ever in the history of Indian music!!

Arjuna
29th July 2005, 09:59 PM
and what rubbish is that Raja Hindustani selling more cassettes!! ho maybe they put some offer - Buy one cassette and get 10 cassettes free :) - lol

29th July 2005, 11:08 PM
mr.judge....he is in the list of most powerful ppl. in bollywood...he has been placed ahead of hrithik and ajay devgan........his bombay and taal are all chartbusters.....

one more thing, in hindi audio sales r decided by star value and not by music quality/.,...so still ARR albums manage to compete with SRK's albums which is in itself a gr8 achievement.......meenaxi was no.1 in coundowns inspite of kal ho naa ho........

alias
30th July 2005, 02:32 AM
This is total rubbish... Everyone knows that after Hum Aapke Hain kaun, Bombay holds the record for hightest selling audios but this one insist that Bombay collected 22,000 which is beyond truth and also Taal has sold highest number of Cds.

This is total bogus and ARR fans, please ignore this crap.

30th July 2005, 09:07 AM
hey i think this figures did not take into account the sale outside of India where ARR shines.......
also Mr.judge, u know there were articles of ARR's hair-style change in our papers........he is a star here......he has star value and the only musician having so........his audio ensures a good opening which producers want......a marathi magazine here reported that ARR took Rs.2crores for Mangal Pandey......tell me y wud a producer give so much money for a MD who hasn't topped the charts.........

30th July 2005, 10:13 AM
Mr. Judge,

I think this was discussed earlier in ARRYG too. I will get you the link soon

Apart from Bombay, Dilse, Just 1 point I remember in the discussion is

Did Hamraaz sold more than saathiya & devdas in 2002???

Arjuna
30th July 2005, 12:47 PM
I think the site is maintained by Nadeem Shravan - LOL :)

30th July 2005, 01:56 PM
Got it!

Reg. Lagaan & Taal,
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/46053

Tarzan the wonder car sold more than Meenaxi.. in another article of same boxoffice :lol:
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/46194

I will get u the appropriate link soon which has got the clear cut figures on sales and boxoffice comparison.

Mr. Judge :lol: :rotfl: Oct 2004 la discuss panni kuppayila pottatha vandhu ippa (recycle) inga scene kaatra. Like ARR we ARR fans (YG 6000+ members) are ahead of yr times and if u do expect some descency from us, pls dont post rubbish in this forums.

Better u concentrate to bring more fans to YSR in Current topics.. check my signature

Thiru! poota mattunga :lol:

30th July 2005, 02:24 PM
[tscii:5c045fbc66]His 1995 soundtrack for Bombay crossed 5 million units and Rahman arrived as the “King of Indian Pop" with sales of more than 40 million albums over a period of 3 years.

http://www.indiaplaza.com/content/audiocds/artistrahman.shtml

http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/32/3474/
Even Swades for which they showed poor sales figures has a diff story.

I think the site is definetly anti rahman. Whatever be the case, Judge will have his own verdict.
[/tscii:5c045fbc66]

30th July 2005, 02:30 PM
Yennai Sutthi Oru Kootam Sirikkindra Podhum,
Unnai Pathi En Uthadu Voyamal Pesum

amazing song...one of ARR's best!!! Oru Nal Oru Pozhuthu - Anthimanthirai

30th July 2005, 02:37 PM
Yennai Sutthi Oru Kootam Sirikkindra Podhum,
Unnai Pathi En Uthadu Voyamal Pesum

amazing song...one of ARR's best!!! Oru Nal Oru Pozhuthu - Anthimanthirai

30th July 2005, 02:52 PM
In terms of sales, Rahman is already bigger than the biggest. His music has already sold over 200 million cassettes. That's more than Madonna and Britney Spears put together.
http://www.rediff.com/money/2002/sep/21bizsp.htm

30th July 2005, 03:03 PM
nattamai enga kaanam......vethhala paaku vaanga poirrukar pola :D ...........

30th July 2005, 03:06 PM
nattamai enga kaanam......vethhala paaku vaanga poirrukar pola :D ...........

yaarukku appavukka illa mavanukka... :lol:

Movies
30th July 2005, 10:16 PM
What a stupid topic!

Dear ARR fans,

Rahman is known as THE man from bollywood outside india, Isnt that enough to show if hes ruling bollywood or not.

Wasnt rahman in the top 10 most powerful personalities of india/ north india? And i beleive rahman was the only MD.

Nope discussion over, Close the Thread!

alias
1st August 2005, 09:25 PM
One visil for Scale... Excellent Scale.. The reason this guy bringing up this topic, we messed up his joy with OKK. But dude, OKK deserved that treatment :-)

1st August 2005, 09:34 PM
One visil for Scale... Excellent Scale.. The reason this guy bringing up this topic, we messed up his joy with OKK. But dude, OKK deserved that treatment :-)

alias! better u save your energy(visil :lol: ) when u watch "The Rising" & "Aa Aah" on screen & its response.

Is this thread still active? :twisted: :evil:

1st August 2005, 11:08 PM
deleted by mod...

alias
1st August 2005, 11:42 PM
Mr Judge, you look like a racist guy to me.. what is thundubhai fans? I think probably decency is not a word in your dictionary but it is with others. So start respecting other people and u will respected. Do not take any thing personal dude

2nd August 2005, 03:07 PM
Got it!

Reg. Lagaan & Taal,
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/46053

Tarzan the wonder car sold more than Meenaxi.. in another article of same boxoffice :lol:
http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/46194

I have read the messages but no concrete figures in them. Is there any other concrete data/source available?

2nd August 2005, 03:13 PM
[tscii]His 1995 soundtrack for Bombay crossed 5 million units and Rahman arrived as the “King of Indian Pop" with sales of more than 40 million albums over a period of 3 years.

http://www.indiaplaza.com/content/audiocds/artistrahman.shtml

http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/32/3474/
Even Swades for which they showed poor sales figures has a diff story.

Jacky, I was expecting/still expecting something more than the above links. None has any data closer to boxofficeindia.com site. Going by website countdowns is no way to determine actual sales of albums. I have written to boxofficeindia.com about their figures, lets see what their reply is. BTW, in their page they have this fineprinting:

"Due the many emails regarding that the music countdowns are different than our charts a sector chart has been created.Most countdown shows are Mumbai based so they go by Mumbai city popularity which is a very small segment of the market.This new chart may help to understand All India sales."

2nd August 2005, 03:41 PM
"I have written to boxofficeindia.com about their figures, lets see what their reply is. " ithuthaan full-time velaiya??!!??!!

ade pavi

2nd August 2005, 05:02 PM
hey nattamai,answer these questiona first:
1.obviously, even if u get a reply from boxoffice india that they r correct, who is gonna believe u and them?????
2.wat if that website is developed by a anu-malik fan or IR fan????if i start such a website then i wud obviously put ARR's albums 1-10.....who will believe me????
3.even if we go according to that site then there is no MD who is takng pole position,as top selling albums feature a diff MD every year......
4.y dunt u apply the same to TFM where IR has lost hands down to ARR then on basis of audio sales..................

2nd August 2005, 05:14 PM
and i went thru that page given by nattamai again....

roja,rangeela,bombay released on the same year-1995?????wat idiots yaar...they shuld have known things better.....

how come bombay and sapnay sold exactly the same 22,00,000 units???? it shuld have been easier for copy-paste..... :D

all the top albums r t-series releases....so guys, do u smell a rat now???

it is totally ridiculous just like the person who started this tpic....

2nd August 2005, 05:54 PM
I dont know why we have this topic. HFM his "hit" album sells more than MJ. His HIT album sale figures are

Tamil - 5 million
Telugu - 7 million
Hindi - 12 Million

ARR is THE numero uno in terms of sales.

alias
2nd August 2005, 08:11 PM
I just read the boxoffice.com and it says OKK has sold less than 10 albums and all those were brought by Mr Judge and Aa Aaha is currently hitting 1 lakh :-)

Arjuna
3rd August 2005, 01:24 AM
wow alias - what a coincidence - I just wrote the same thing in OKK thread and came here and u have written the same - great minds think alike :) - check the thread!! wow!

alias
3rd August 2005, 03:18 AM
yes dude.. that why we like the great ARR :-)

3rd August 2005, 10:46 AM
alias! yethavadhu vivek padam paarthuttu vandheenghalae. short & sweet comments everywhere.

:hammer: (Asinghamppa idhu, oru judge hammerla ippadi adi vaangurathu).. :lol: :lol:

Have 2 wait for another 3-4 days for his next amusing post....