PDA

View Full Version : NAIVEDHYAM (Hemant's Cookery Corner)

Pages : [1] 2 3

Oldposts
22nd November 2004, 11:49 AM
Topic started by HEMANT (@ 63.109.250.131) on Tue Jan 23 03:14:55 .

As the Food Minister in Krishnan's Cabinet, I have started this corner.I have about 30 years experience in North, South and Western Indian cooking.This I would like to share with the Forum Hubbers on a day to day basis.
It would be my endevour to give you some of the best recipes which I have found SUPER in this section.All the lovers of GOOD FOOD and all the SAPPADU RAMAS are invited to join and benefit from me.
(LET ME NOT FORGET ALL THOSE WORKING WOMEN TOO!!)

Oldposts
Old responses (http://forumhub.com/southfood/16874.14464.03.14.55.html)

Oldposts
Hello Niche,

My father-in-law is wonderful cook and he had made Bhindi manchurian when he visited us last year. The dish you tasted could possibly be a variation of the same thing (based on the taste and the color you mentioned).

I was watching my f-i-l make this dish and this is what he did:

Wipe bhindi with a wet paper towel (did not wash it as it would become slimy). Air dried it completely. Then he cut them into 1" pieces. Again let them dry on a paper towel.

Mixed Bhindi with a little corn starch, chili powder, besan, cumin powder, aamchur, soy sauce and a pinch of ajino motto (you could leave out the msg if you are touchy about it) - I don't mind a little bit as we only us eit once in about 6 months. Note: The mixture was very dry.

Left this aside for about an hour. Then deep fried it.

Tasted yummy.

Enjoy.

- D

Oldposts
Hello Niche,
What D has described shows that her FIL has cooked bhendi the way it should be for crispy fried version.
You should try that out. Sounds Yummy.

Oldposts
Well, in a indo-chinese restaurant in Chicago(Hot wok), they serve Schezwan sauce. Which is similar to what yuo described.

Oldposts