PDA

View Full Version : IR as a singer

S.Balaji
17th October 2005, 11:33 PM
Shall we discuss here the various songs which IR sang ...

My favourite will be Siruponmani asayum.... from kallukkul eeram....

I also feel that IR was a better singer compared to other MDs...

alwarpet_andavan
18th October 2005, 09:05 PM
My all time favorite song with IR as the singer would be "Polla Vinayen".

From the filmi domain, i would rate "Janani Janani" as his best.

Of course it doesn't end there and i'm just getting started :)

ananth222
18th October 2005, 09:27 PM
I think three things (among other thigns) determine how good a singer is:

1. Shruthi: Is the singing musically correct? i.e. is it in pitch and incorporates the right embellishments?
2. Power and tone of voice: Is the voice stable and strong? Or is it weak and breaks down in parts?
3. Expression and emotion: Does the voice modulate to portray the right emotion in the song? (bhaavam)

While IR is not the epitome of these properties, I think he is highly underrated as a singer. I also think that IR is in control of 1 and 2, and his main strength is in 3.

songs like "janani janani", "thenpandi seemayilae", "valli valli ena vanthaan", the TiS songs etc. portray the levels of these aspects in IRs voice very well.

app_engine
18th October 2005, 10:11 PM
Some of the best Raja songs were duets...especially those with SJ...siRupon maNi is ofcourse a good number. So are the following ones:

-nAn thEdum sevvandhippoovidhu
-poomAlaiyE thOL sEra vA
-kaN malargaLin azhaippidhazh
-ponnOvium kaNdEnammA engengum
-vaLLi vaLLi ena
-chinnappoNNu sEla

I think he did well with other female voices too...

-sAmakkOzhi (SPS)
-kAdhal Ovium (Jency)
-mEghangarukkayilE (UR)
-vizhiyil vizhundhu (BSS)
-thenna maraththula (PS)
-oru jeevan azhaiththadhu, thuLLi ezhundhadhu pAttu, indha mAn
(KSC)

app_engine
18th October 2005, 10:18 PM
Some more IR duets:

-dharisanam kidaikkAdhA (SJ)
-sangaththil pAdadha kavidhai (SJ)
-metti oli kAtROdu (SJ)