View Full Version : Cine quiz

19th December 2004, 09:31 AM
Topic suggested by Ramki on Sat Mar 20 14:09:32 .

Old responses (http://forumhub.com/tfilms/27250.23883.14.09.32.html)

nope Menaka wrong guess

#6-she did sowcar janakis role in hindi version of iru kodugal, she was(is?) a MP

#7-a popular tamil film comedian whos son is also a actor

6. jamuna
7. naagesh

Pal u r rite

Pal why dont you conduct the next quiz?

Here comes the quiz on so called 'Thazhuvi edukkapatta padangaL'

#1. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's 'OlangaL' based on
#2. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's 'Rettai vaal kuruvi' based on?
#3. Tell me the film on which sivaji's 'Uthama puthiran' based on?
#4. Tell me the film on which balachander's 'punnagai' based on?
#5. Tell me the film on which balachander's 'noolveli' based on?
#6. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's
'azhiyaadha kolangal' based on
#7. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's
'marupadiyum' based on
#8. Tell me the original of 'My dear maarthaandan'
#9. Tell me the original of 'Magalir mattum'
#10. Tell me the original of balumahendra's 'Sathi leelaavathi'.

#8. Telungu

3. man in the iron mask.
8. coming to america.
9. 9 to 5.
7. arth.

1)Mausam
5)ah nimisham

bb: all right
Ramki: 5 is right. Mausam copied from 'Olangal' It has a original

pal no mausam came before OlangaL(Rangeela Oormila did the kids role)

Ramki: I am sure Olangal came in 1982. and masoom came in 1983.

#1. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's 'OlangaL' based on (English film)
#2. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's 'Rettai vaal kuruvi' based on? (English film starriing Dudley Moore)
#4. Tell me the film on which balachander's 'punnagai' based on?(Hindi film by Hrishikesh Mukerji)
#6. Tell me the film on which balu mahendra's
'azhiyaadha kolangal' based on (English)
#10. Tell me the original of balumahendra's 'Sathi leelaavathi'.(english)

#6-stand by me?

#2 mickie minnie

#6 come september ?

#2 should be mickie and maudie

pal,
#2 should actually be micky and maude

4.Satyakam?
6.summer of 42
10.she devil

Yeap.. Chitra you are correct about 4.
Ramki... How are you?? I mail you later.

Ramki... There is a mistake in your Previous quiz.
Question:- 3)There were 2 debutants in 'azhagae unnai aaradhikkiren'-one is subhashini. Name the second.

sorry Indha padathila Shuhasini N-adikkalai. This film came much before Nenjathai KiLLadhE. Suhasini's first film was Nenjathai KiLLadhE.
AzhagE unnai aaradhikkeren was directed by Sridhar. Jai Ganesh, Latha & 2 new faces acted in that film.As you mentioned the male actor name Prakash-nuthaan N-inaikirEn. The Song "N-aanE N-aanaana"(Singnature tune of Vayalum vaazhvum) is sung by Vani Jayaram was a super hit that time.

What Enlgish movie is Mahanadi based on?

What English movie is Mahanadi based on?

prakash adhu Suhasini ille Subhashini-Jaisudha thangai.

Got ur mail will reply back

00M aka ranga: you are right. #2 is Micky & Maude
Chitra you are right on all 3

Final one 'Olangal' and 'Masoom' based on 'Man, Woman and a Child'.

Who is the Tamilian version of Bob Marley?

Reggaeman: Would that be "Thenisai thendral" Deva? :)

K...you´ve got that right. Good on you. Its derived from "Agila agila" song from the movie Nerakku near. Bob Marley's version was "Buffalo Soldier".

Reggaeman: Deva is actually a musical avatar...he is our own "version" of any famous musician you want him to be. Without doubt, he is the only person in India who can still derive the works of world musicians into his music. And I am sure you know as well as anybody else that "Buffalo soldier" is not the only song he has managed to derive! You should probably visit tfmpage.com where you can read tonnes of research postings about Deva's derivations by experts on the subject.

There was another song... like this..
Kalki-la vara bhoomi ponnu suththuthE... .

In the film Dance With Me, same music used in the song "yE, yE,...". However Dance With Me came after Kalki. ivanga endha Spanish song-la irundhu copy adichaangaLo theriyalai

Here is the quiz.. Is it totally differen???

1.Who was the cameraman for C.V.Sridhar's Directorial Debut Film "Kalyaana Parisu".

2. Who is the camaraman for "Varumaiyin Niram Sigappu".

3. Which is the First Eastman Color Film in Tamil?

4. We knew that K.Bhagyaraj first acted in 16 Vayadheenile as N-aattu vaidhthiyar. He also appeared in a song in that movie. What is that song?

5. What is the charecter Name of Sujatha in "AvaL oru Thodar kadhai"?

6. Besides "Venniraadai" Nirmala & Murthy 2 others introduced in that film who are they?

7. A famous Telugu hero did the dupe for Gemini Ganesh in the film "Missiyamma". Who was he?

8. Which was Kamal's first double role film?

9. Which is the first Tamil film, which was rejected to give a censor certificate.? This film was banned to screen. Still this film is available only in Pune Film Institute for teaching.

10. Who wrote the story "Thillanaa MohanambaaL"

3)Alibabavum 40 thirudargalum
4)Manja kuLichu
5)Anu
6)Srikanth,Jailalitha
7)NTR
8)parthal pasi theerum
10)Javar seetharaman??

Ramki
4,6,7,8 correct...

3. thappu.. Alibabavum 40 ThirdargaLum was the first color film. I am talking about First Eastman Color. Yosi..

5. Thappu.. Nee sonnadhu AvargaL Sujatha peru.

Ramki
4,6,7,8 correct...

3. thappu.. Alibabavum 40 ThirdargaLum was the first color film. I am talking about First Eastman Color. Yosi..

5. Thappu.. Nee sonnadhu AvargaL-la Sujatha peru.

3. naadodi mannan ??? second half only..
5. kavitha.... kavithaa oru ratchasi...
9. Is it sollu kannaa sollu ???
10. jaavar seethaaraman ???

10. kothamangalam subbu

3. raaja raaja chozhan?

Ranga,
5 correct.

pg
10. Correct.

Clue for 3 idhula 2 pudhumugagaL Nadichirukkanga. C.V.Sridhar Padam. Muthuraaman Nadichirukkar. Idhukku mEla kulu ellam kudukka mudiyadhu.

Clue for 1. He is very famous Cameraman. His sons are also very famous now.

Clue for 2. ivar KByoda asthaana cameraman. Ivar initial 'B'.

Clue for 9. It is a very famous novel. indha padam eppo eduththadhunu sonna ellorum kaNdu pidichuduvEEnga. Konjam try paNNunga.. Theriyalainaa innum clue tharEn..

3. kaathalikka neramillai ?
2. loknath ?

1. vincent (who kalakkified in Nenjil Or Aalayam)

1.Vincent
2.Is it by any chance B.Kannan or Raghunath Reddy?
3.Kadhalikka Neramillai ????
Hrishikesh

#9-idhu kalki ezhudhina novela??British people ban panninangannu keLvi patten..'punya boomi' ??

Yes you are correct on 3,2,1.
Hrishkesh
you are correct in 1 & 3.

Ramki..
Second half correct.. First half thappu.. !!!
OK.. N-aanE sollidarEn..
Ans. For 9 is "Thiyaga Bhoomi".

Ok.. Indhanga adutha Quiz..

1.What is the real name of the Famous Vasanakartha Aarur Das. Iver C.V.Sridhar-oda pala padangaLukku vasanam ezhuthi irukkar. Vidhikku kuda ivarthan vasanam ezhuthi irukkar.

2. Srikanth N-adikka varaththukku Munnadi enga vElai paarththar?

3.Jayalalithavoda amma Sandya oru actressnu theriyum. Avanga chiththiyum oru N-adigai. Avanga peru enna?

4. Oru Nadigar K.Balachandaroda ArangEtram mudhal Nool Veli varai ella padathilaiyum N-adichirukkar. Atleast oru katchi-laiyavadhu vanduvaar. Yaar avar?

5. Director Kadhir direction paNNaradhukku munnadi Cinemala vera thuraila work paNNi irukkar. adhu enna?

2. American embassy (consulate) - Madras.
4. kamala haasan ??

5.I think he had something to do with posters or publicity .
Bye

1.Yesudass

Bye

Ranga,
Both of your answers are correct.

Hrishikesh,
Yes.. Your answer for 1 is also correct.
5 kitta thatta vishayaththukku vandhuteenga.. This not related to publicity. Indha thurai-la Tamil aaL oruthar (Not Kathir) 2 or 3 times Award vaangi irukkar.

enna 3.-yaarum try paNNala. Sari chinna clue... avanga peru Saraswathi-yoda innoru peru.

5.May be Art Direction or costume designing ??

Hrishikesh,

Yes... He was an Art Director. adhuthan Kadhir padathila ellam rich-aana sets.

enna yaarum Q3kku answer sollala??

Question 1: Who starred in the famous movie called "Kuninjaal Kuthappadam"?

Here is the answer for my Question 3..
3.Jayalalithavoda amma Sandya oru actressnu theriyum. Avanga chiththiyum oru N-adigai. Avanga peru enna?

Ans:-Vidya

Reggaeman - Neengalaa:-)))

An easy one:

Gautami -> Gentleman
Kushboo -> ?
Sonu Walia -> ?
Simran -> ?
Roja -> ?
Nishanthi -> ?
Shilpa Shetty -> ?
Sushmita Sen -> ?
Rambha -> ?
Karisma kapoor -> ?
Radha -> ?
Devyani -> ?
Ahaana -> ?
Ishwarya -> ?
Banupriya -> ?
Mink -> ?
Mumtaz -> ?
Pooja batra -> ?
Ramya Krishnan -> ?
Viji -> ?
Yuvarani -> ?

(There are two or more answers for some actresses. Any one is ok.)

khushboo - indu?
sonu walia = thalapathy
roja - kathal kavithai
sushmita sen - mudalvan
ishwarya - makkal atchi
mink - en swasa katre?
pooja batra - aasai (shock adikuthu sona)
ramya krishnan - thirunelveli
viji - suryan
yuvarani - karna?
devyani - * satyaraj, prabhu (forgot the name)?

chitra: good start. All guesses are correct. 10 points!

Remaining: (some movies are unreleased yet)

Simran -> ?
Nishanthi -> ?
Shilpa Shetty -> ?
Rambha -> ?
Karisma kapoor -> ?
Radha -> ?
Devyani -> ?
Ahaana -> ?
Banupriya -> ?
Mumtaz -> ?

shilpa setty - kushi (macarena2)
KARISHMA KAPOOR - kodiswaran
mumtaz - unaka ellam unakaga
simran - anthapuram, thothe 2 (movie?)

simran - anthapuram
shilpa sheety - kushi (macreena)
karishma - kodieswaran
mumtaz - unakaga ellam unakaga

rambha - kathalar dinam
radha - dhavani kanavugal

pramila: Right. Simran's other appearance is in 'Ethirum Puthirum'.
chitra: your guesses are also right.

Remaining:

Nishanthi (oru hi-tech director-oda padam)
Devyani (hero: prabhu)
Ahaana (md: aadityan)
Banupriya (kidnap)

Nishanthi :- Anjali
Devyani - Siva Sakthi

Thalaivaa.. :) (unakku appuram oru mail podaren)

Answers for the remaining two:
Ahaana - Seevalaperi paandi
Banupriya - vaaname ellai

5 Music Directors involved in a Song.
one MD wrote the Lyrics.
another MD did the Music, Third one acted in that song. forth MD did the play back for the 3rd one.

Who are they?

Clue.. padathoda director Alagappan. Hero in that film Ramarajan & Heroine Rekha (Kadalorak KavidhaigaL).

Prakash,

Is it from the film 'Namma Ooru Nalla Ooru'

Yes... I guss...:):):)...

I want the MDs names.

MD of the film : Rajesh Kanna
Lyricist : Gangai Amaran ???
Actor : (Shankar) Ganesh ??
Playback singer : Chandrabose ???

Oops ! sorry I got confused with Namma ooru nayakan !

MD : Gangai Amaran
Playback singer : MSV ??
Actor : (Shankar) Ganesh ??
Lyricist : ???

This was the same film that had the song "Singaara kaathu..." sung by Chithra...

MD & Lyricist should be Ilayaraja & Gangai Amaran. (easy guess)
Singer: SPB ? Actor: Ganesh ?

singer: MSV
actor: Ganesh

RR,
I know the MD was Gangai Amaran. So, he is not the lyricist...
Hmmm... this sounds like some analytical puzzle... :-)

Ok... Here are the answer.

Actor :- (Sankar)Ganesh
Singer :- MSV
MD :- Gangai Amaran
Lyrics :- T.Rajendar (ivarum oru music director thaanga)

Sorry-nga.. indha quiz kuduththaniyE maranthuttEn.

VS you are correct about the other song in that movie. Sathiyama andha padathoda peru ninaivil illai.

sari innoru quiz...

the songs and films are as follows.. Find out the director of these film
Song:- "Raman ethatanai ramanadi". Film:-Lakshmi KalyaanaM.
Song:- "Ammaadi poNNukku thanga manasu" Film:- Raman Eththanai Ramanadi
Song:- "thEn sinthuthE vaanam" Film:- poNNukku thanga manasu.
There is a film "thEn sinduthE vaanam". Same directed that film also.

Who is he? Further clue will come if no one find him out.

prakash are you sure Lyrics are by TR??Illappa
'singaara kathu nenjodu nethu pannaadha koothu'ezhudhinadhu kaaLidasan and other songs were by GA

Ramki,
I got this from Rekha's interview in DD.
May be the Lyrics by GA and Music by TR. I am sure TR involved in this film.

Enna ellorum romba Busy-aa???
The answer for my question is
Mr.P.Madhavan (Who directed most of Sivaji Ganesan films).

In his interview in DD he said he only directed MGR in Pattikattu Ponnaiya. But if I am correct he also directed Dhivath Thaai. Any one clarify this.

How many times did Balumahendra receive National Award for Cinematography?

500050 times!! No just joking i really don't know

i have two good qns here.:

1) How did the name Kodampakkam originate ?

2) Why Mr.Vasan named his studio " Gemini" ?

thanks
jay

Jay...

I think "Gemini" is the birth sign of Mr.Vasan:):):)

Balumahendra's awards...

1. Sangraparanam - Camaraman
2. Kokila (Kannada)
3. Veedu
4. another Archana movie in Tamil
5. Marupadiyum ??

So, he might have won 5 to 6 times.

Prakash: long time, sowkyamaa? will send you a mail tomorrow (my sat morning)..

Prakash- thank u.

what do they all have in common??

moondram pirai
sippikkul muthu
kalyanaraman
guna
meendum oru kaathal kadhai

In all the movies
1. Hero or heroine : Mentally disturbed
2. MD : Ilayaraji

can any1 send 'thaniyea thananthaniye' fr rhythm

PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ............................... .......

Hero : Rajini
Music : MSV
Direction : Durai

Movie?

I went throgh your web page today. It's amazing. Congrats!

what was the role played by vk ramaswamy in veerapandya kattabomman?

ragavan, "Iraivan Kodutha Varam"?

Kumar, ettappan

1) Roja 2) Revathi 3) Sujatha 4) Kavitha 5) Indhu Who is the outstanding actress in the list above? why?

Thank u ssk for the response on my query about veerapandiakattabomman I think Revathi is the best since she has a homely look and performs well

Kumar, half of your answer is correct! sujatha also has a homely look and performs well! that is not the answer i want! Please check the list again.

Hero : Rajini Music : MSV Direction : Durai Movie is "Aayiram Jenmangkal" Sorry for the delay.

OK, i'll give a clue for my question 1) Roja 2) Revathi 3) Sujatha 4) Kavitha 5) Indhu This is a list of actress. At the same time it is a list of movie titles!!! Now can you find out who is the outstanding actress in the that list.

ssk if you say Revathi then you are wrong..there was a movie called 'REvathy' with Revathy,Suresh and Sujatha. This was the remake of a telugu film 'shravanthi'(with suhasini)

Movies and Heroines 1) Roja -->Madhubala 2) Revathi -->Revathi 3) Sujatha -->Saritha 4) Kavitha -->Raja sulochana 5) Indhu -->Roja Revathi is the only actress who acted in a movie which the title is her own name!

In which K Balachandar film Shivaji acted as Judge

Kumar: It is 'ethiroli'(echo)

who was the azhagi in Baghdad Perazhagi

Which is the movie in which MGR and Sivaji acted together?

kuundu kili

it is perazhagi vaijayanthimala

There is something wrong with Lakshmi's answer, I think. VijayanthiMala was in Bagdad Thirudan.But not sure whether she was in the abovementioned movie. the other question is whether there was such a movie in the first place?????

sorry jj

sorry it ios JJ.

1. Who played Revathy's brother and sister in Mouna Ragam?
2. With which hero did did Sumalata pair with in her debut film?
3. Who played Poornima Jayaram's girl friend in movies such as PayaNangaL Mudivathillai?
4. In which film did Kamal play the role of a speech-impaired? Who was his heroine?
5. Who are the heroines of the films, 'Vaa Intha pakkam', 'VAnga Tea SAppidalAm' (believe me these are real titles)
6. Which film did Rohini and Shobhana act together? (clue: the film had a unique record)
7. Which film did YG Mahendran make his debut in?
8. Which is Vijaykanth's debut film? Who directed it?
9. What is Karthik's 2nd Tamil film? Which film did he act with Shivaji?
10. We all know the famous TiruviLayAdal episode where Shivaji playing God confronted Nakkeeran, played by the Late NAgayya.. But which film had Shivaji playing the role of Nakkeeran?
11. What is common factor in the following movies (apart from the fact that they are Rajni films?)? Why?
Mullum Malarum
Dharma Yuddham
Moondru Mugam

poornimas friend is rajini.
uma is vaa intha pakkam movies heroine.
10.nakkeran is APNagarajan

1)Bhaskar and sonya
2)Sarath babu
4)uyarndhavargaL-sujatha
6)Bhakta dhuruvaasar
7)navagraham?
8)sattam oru iruttaRai-SAChandrashekar
9)anjaadha nenjangaL-Raaja mariyadhai

Lakshmi 3 is right.
5. Uma is the right answer for vA intha pakkam. Clue for the 2nd part: she debuted with the guy in Q.1.

Ramki,
1,2,4 and 7 are right. Ever since that movie YGM has specialized in playing himself: that of an 'arai kiRukku' ;)

6 is Bhakta Dhruva MArkandeya.. a film full of only child artists and directed by Dr. Bhanumati Ramakrishna.
9. You are right about Raja Mariyathai. But the 2nd film of Karthik is ILanjOdigaL *ing Radha, Suresh and Vijay Shanti.

Ramki: 6
Lakshmi: 2.5

Do you need more clues for the remaining answers?

Neels i think 'iLanjodigal' was Karthiks third or 4th movie. AlaigaL oyvadhillai and anjaadha nenjangaL was released in 1981, iLanjodigaL was released in 1982
(you can refer to tamilcinema.com)

Ramki, thanks for pointing out. I recall reading Karthik's interview where he mentioned that he started working on ILanjodigaL soon after his debut film. Probably it got released later.
Any guesses on the remaining questions?
Vijayakanth (Vijayaraj)'s film had him playing a small role.
10. ?
11. Clue: it's to do with his lady co-stars

8-is it agal viLakku?or dhoorathu idi muzhakkam?

11)muLLum malarum-shobha
dharma yudham-lakshmisree
moondru mugam-silk smitha

all these 3 actresses commited suicide

Ramki,
You are Right on Dot on Q.11.
In fact add to this list, the talented 'Fatafat' Jayalakshmi, who played Rajni's lady love and Shobha's aNNi in 'MuLLum Malarum' also committed suicide.
What a quirky coincidence?
8. Vijayakanth's first film was 'Inikkum ILamai', directed by M. A. Kaja. It was a small role that he did before getting a lead-role on Dhoorathu Idimuzhakkam.

The answer for 10 is: 'nAn petra selvam'. Shivaji played the role of Nakkeeran in this film.

24th December 2004, 05:49 AM
Who's got the next quiz?

All posts from this topic have been archived here: http://www.mayyam.com/hub/archives/Tamil_Films/t862_Cine_quiz.html