View Full Version : IR's New albums - Ver 2007

Pages : [1] 2 3

Nakeeran
29th May 2007, 03:20 PM
Topic started by RAJAN (@ proxy-122.iap.bryant.webtv.net) on Thu Jan 22 22:20:06 EST 1998.

A new Ilayaraja album is a cause for celebration with many among us. Let everyone share in the revelry. Review, discuss or comment on new IR albums.

If you wish to post/discuss other news/tidbits on IR, Go to the "IR News and Tidbits" thread. (http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=8587)

[html:30dd70006f]
http://themelody.net/img/thumb1.jpg
http://img.indiaglitz.com/hindi/news/illaya180706_1.jpg
http://www.indiavarta.com/gallery/images/2005/oct/20/ra1.jpg[/html:30dd70006f]

<hr>

As the existing thread is approaching century, lets discuss about his new albums here. ( including Cheeni Kum ) 8-)

30th May 2007, 05:05 PM
Yes agreed .Hijacking krish44's comments

http://www.newindpress.com/NewsItems.asp?ID=IEE20070529120136&Page=E&Title=Startrek&Topic=-59

Surprisngly ,IR is cool in his interviews!

krish244
1st June 2007, 11:52 AM
How is the BGM of CK as someone pointed out that P.C.Sreeram talks very highly about it (in Kumudam ??).

Krishnan

raja_fan
3rd June 2007, 09:21 PM
CK advances to No.6 from last week's No.10 position in Zoom TV's "My Desi Top 20" :)

Seems to be the reflection of the movie's good going in BO.

venky_vinod
4th June 2007, 02:59 AM
The fresh Western orchestrations of the old Raaja songs in Cheeni Kum were very much pleasing to the ear.

But the 2 instrumental tracks of the album take the cake. What a contrast ? While the second one captures you in its swinging and swaggering flow, the first one is so soothing. The soft melody is so melodious and pleasant like the morning dew on green lawns in a hill station.

Great ones !

krish244
5th June 2007, 11:15 PM
I dont know if this Yahoo music (originally Glamsham) review of CK was posted before. Anyway, here it is:

http://in.movies.yahoo.com/070514/128/6frgu.html

A good review. On the whole, excepting rediff, all others have said positive things about the music.

Krishnan

6th June 2007, 03:00 PM
The jinxed 71/2 saturn period seems to never end for our dear IR in TF I heard the new ArvindKrishna starrer "NandaLala" film is dropped.

raja_fan
6th June 2007, 04:16 PM
thumburu,

ponaa pogattum vidunga ! Myskkin nalla director-nu nenaikkarom..adhanaala varutha padarom..but who knows ? Nalla nalla director ellaam IR kitta vandhaa mattum sodhapparaanunga ! Mayakkannaadi maadhiri aaga vendaam :)

8th June 2007, 05:49 PM
thumburu,

ponaa pogattum vidunga ! Myskkin nalla director-nu nenaikkarom..adhanaala varutha padarom..but who knows ? Nalla nalla director ellaam IR kitta vandhaa mattum sodhapparaanunga ! Mayakkannaadi maadhiri aaga vendaam :)

I disagree raja_fan. Myskkin is too good for his first effort compared to other directors. I hope Myskkin works with IR / YSR for his next film.

raja_fan
8th June 2007, 06:14 PM
MrJudge,

I too respect Myskkin. But I was just pointing in a lighter vein to some thing happening when good directors work with IR :)

raja_fan
8th June 2007, 06:24 PM
Seems Cheeni Kum is receiving good response !

http://www.hindu.com/mp/2007/06/07/stories/2007060750340100.htm

raja_fan
8th June 2007, 06:42 PM
An ordinary, but positive review on CK music

http://www.hindisong.com/content.asp?cID=2030

8th June 2007, 07:24 PM
MrJudge,

I too respect Myskkin. But I was just pointing in a lighter vein to some thing happening when good directors work with IR :)

OK :D

9th June 2007, 02:10 AM
http://www.variety.com/review/VE1117933846.html?categoryid=31&cs=1

Raja's score matches the movie's requirement...neat review...

raja_fan
9th June 2007, 09:14 AM
http://desi-galaxy.sabza.org/2007/05/27/hindi-movie-cheeni-kum/

raja_fan
9th June 2007, 11:24 AM
The giants may in fact join hands !!

http://www.tamilfilmratings.com/news/fullnews.asp?ref=521

One more month to break the suspense..

If it comes true, Let God bless Tamil Nadu with another "Mudal Mariyadhai" :)

K
9th June 2007, 01:57 PM
King Emporer Of Music Will never accept that poet to pen for his Tunes

raja_fan
9th June 2007, 02:27 PM
K,

Let him decide. We will wait and watch :)

raja_fan
9th June 2007, 05:44 PM
The Hindu analyses the success of Cheeni Kum.

http://www.hindu.com/mp/2007/06/09/stories/2007060951510200.htm

9th June 2007, 10:36 PM
Current Ananda Vikatan has article about Arya and "Naan Kadavul" with some info about music.

V. Good article :D

krish244
9th June 2007, 11:42 PM
Harris Jayaraj is reportedly remixing IR's "Pani vizhum malarvanam" song for Vaaranam Aayiram!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/31684.html

Curious to see how he remixes it.

Krishnan

raja_fan
10th June 2007, 12:35 AM
HJ-vukkum Gauthamukkum idhu vetkka kedu !

How can they touch IR's song without his consent ? If Srikanth Deva does, we can expect only that from the son of Deva..So no issues.

But what about HJ, who is ranked among the top MDs ?

IR once said "Ennoda paatu sivan sothu..." Adhu sariyaa thaan pochu :(

10th June 2007, 09:10 AM
the article says "yesteryear classic Ninaivellam Nithya" ?!?!?!

the songs were classics, but the movie is one of the worst ever in Tamil - watching Sridhar's movies is akin to watching G.R.Viswanath trying to make a comeback to the Indian cricket team at this age with his 'thoppai'

raja_fan
10th June 2007, 10:40 AM
Anyways, I feel like we as IR fans should condemn this vehemently !

How can Harris ( who never utters IR's name ) and Gautham ( "Ardent IR fan" in his own words ) do this attrocity ?

I feel it is time for IR to go strong on copy rights issue or remix his classics before somebody takes the credits..

10th June 2007, 04:30 PM
http://nowrunning.com/news/news.asp?it=10760

IR's Cheeni Kum top in Audio Chart

prabhudas
10th June 2007, 05:25 PM
Small Digression at relatively high traffic thread:

I have the complete 2 week 1 hr, Coffee with Anu program with SPB and Gangai Amaran, follow the link and explore for appropriate segments, it is split into 2 parts with 5 segments in each.
The program was good in total , lots of insider and original info about Mottai, SPB, BR, GA relationships in their early days, cool one, enjoy... exclusively for TFM fans
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_tEQHpigP4

Prabhudas

10th June 2007, 08:26 PM
Thanks a ton Prabhudas!
BTW, Part 1B seems to be missing?

raja_fan
10th June 2007, 08:52 PM
http://nowrunning.com/news/news.asp?it=10760

IR's Cheeni Kum top in Audio Chart

Thanks k_vanan !

This is the moment we were waiting for ! :2thumbsup:

First time in IR's career, his song is No.1 in North India

:victory:

raja_fan
10th June 2007, 08:58 PM
Same chart here

http://www.kalingatimes.com/entertainment_news/news/20070610_Cheeni_kum.htm

raja_fan
10th June 2007, 09:30 PM
Cheeni Kum ends up at the same No.6 position in Zoom TV's Top 20..

That wailing Himesh is still sticking to No.1..

ananth222
10th June 2007, 11:32 PM
I am in India for a month, and managed to catch Cheeni Kum in cinemax. I felt a little let down that hardly 30 seconds of each song were picturized (though it fit with the theme of the movie and was logically a correct choice, its sad to miss out on IR's music). The bgm was great, and the improvizations on the main theme were awesome (most of which don't show up on the track on the cd).

11th June 2007, 04:35 AM
Soft, romantic 'Cheeni kum' tops music charts
Comments 4 Comments

New Delhi, June 10 (IANS) The title song of 'Cheeni kum' has gradually grown on music lovers, managing to reach the top of the charts. Sung by Shreya Ghoshal, the track is a treat for her fans.

The top 10 songs for the week are:

1. 'Cheeni kum' - Film: 'Cheeni Kum'; Music Director: Ilaiyaraaja; Singer: Shreya Ghoshal. The soft, romantic number is ruling the charts. Shreya goes solo in this track and amazes everyone with her sweet, innocent and melodious voice.

2. 'In dino' - Film: 'Metro'; Music Director: Pritam; Singer: Soham. After staying on top of the chart, this romantic rock number has slid to number two this week. The song showcases Pritam's creativity.

3. 'Jhoom' - Film: 'Jhoom Barabar Jhoom'; Music: Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy; Singer: Shankar. Crooned by Shankar, the song surely makes its mark, featuring Amitabh Bachchan in a new get-up. Gulzar's lyrics are predominantly Punjabi, while Shankar adds a classical touch in between.

4. 'Ganpat' - Film: 'Shootout At Lokhandwala'; Music Director: Anand Raj Anand; Singer: Mika. The film's release has helped the track, which has moved quite a few notches up, landing on number four from the ninth position. The situational song, however, might not last long.

5. 'Woh Ajnabee' - Film: 'The Train'; Music Director: Mithoon; Singer: Shilpa Rao. Critics have panned the film but this dance number is doing well for itself. Mithoon's racy music and Shilpa's sensuous voice makes it a track worth listening.

6. 'Assalam walekum' - Film: 'Aap kaa Surroor'; Music Director: Himesh Reshammiya; Singer: Himesh Reshammiya. A pop number, the love song is dedicated to the protagonist's ladylove in the film.

7. 'Mayyaa' - Film: 'Guru'; Music Director: A.R. Rahman; Singers: Mayya Toller, Chinmayee and Keerthi. Featuring Mallika Sherawat, the song has a Middle East flavour and it continues to rock even months after the film's release.

8. 'Ta ra rum pum' - Film: 'Ta Ra Rum Pum'; Music Director: Vishal-Shekhar; Singers: Shaan, Mahalaxmi Iyer, Sneha Suresh and Shravan Suresh. It is a lively and peppy number, and consistent whistling makes this track vivacious. The lyrics, however, lack creativity.

9. 'Sajanaji vaari' - Film: 'Honeymoon Travels Pvt Ltd'; Music: Vishal-Shekhar; Singers: Sunidhi Chauhan and Shekhar Ravjiani. The film was a huge hit and the magic of this track, which has a folk touch, is intact. Sunidhi is at her best in the song that has amazing dance vibes.

10. 'It's rocking' - Film: 'Kya Love Story Hai'; Music Director: Pritam; Singer: Alisha Chinai. The film flopped but this item number that boasts of Indo-Western fusion is popular among the youth.

(Source: The Music Shop, Khan Market, New Delhi)

raja_fan
11th June 2007, 07:55 AM
If only Balki had allowed atleast the title track fully in the movie, the northies would have got a chance to remember the song for years. Now that chance is gone !

Yaaraavadhu sodhappanum-nu IR thalaiyil ezhudhiyirukku :(

raja_fan
11th June 2007, 10:28 PM
It is now confirmed ! IR for Balki's next 'Pa'

http://www.bollywood-stars.net/2007/06/04/senior-and-junior-bachchan-in-pa/

Again a big star cast. Golden opportunity for IR to prove again in a big way.

rooky
11th June 2007, 11:05 PM
http://www.indiafm.com/movies/cast/12784/index.html

http://www.indiafm.com/celebrities/filmography/3306/index.html

So, what is this movie "MUKHBIR" propping up in IRs' name.looks like this movie is almost complete and is due for release this year.

I remember this director manishankar had used karthikraja earlier in his hindi movie "december16".

Does anyone have an idea about this new movie? is IR doing only BGM or songs too for this movie?

12th June 2007, 06:51 AM
[tscii:f4247624c2]http://www.business-standard.com/common/storypage.php?autono=287362&leftnm=5&subLeft=0&chkFlg=

And what could two Tamils talk about but Illayaraja, Kamal Haasan and Mani Ratnam, writes Shobhana Subramanian

Meanwhile, he’s working on his second script, Pa, with the Bachchan duo in mind. No prizes for guessing who’ll be scoring the music . “My biggest inspiration has been Illayaraja’s music, it was his music that got me interested in cinema in the first place[/tscii:f4247624c2]

raja_fan
12th June 2007, 07:34 AM
rooky,

AFAIK, Mukhbir's MD was earlier just KR.
Now they have added IR's name too..not sure why.

I read somewhere that the movie has just 2 songs.

12th June 2007, 07:58 AM
Whats this movie karuvellam pookkal which i have never heard before? :?

12th June 2007, 11:35 AM
I REMEMBER KARUVELLAM POOKAL HAS 1 WONDERFUL SONG STARTED WITH "KAALAIYELAY KONMULITCHU NAN SURIYANAI KANDUTHUILLAI" I THINK THIS WAS MOTHER'S SONGS. ONE OF BEST MOTHER SONGS FROM IR

12th June 2007, 11:42 AM
Whats this movie karuvellam pookkal which i have never heard before? :?

I guess, KP movie came before 8 years back with great songs and music by IR. Also another movie called "Kutti" came at that time and it has 2 nice songs ('Chinna maharaani' among the two). Nasser had acted in these two films. Sombody confirm it.

vem
13th June 2007, 04:08 AM
kutti was a good movie with a fantastic song "Thangachi thangachi enge pore"

IR, in addition to singing the songs, he also wrote the lyrics.

That movie was about child prostitution I believe.

13th June 2007, 10:06 PM
Rediff says CHEENI KUM is a major flop in BO

http://inhome.rediff.com/movies/2007/may/29box.htm

Shootout beats Sugar: "Cheeni Kum is a multiplex fim to which the multiplex audience does not seem to have taken fancy. While the film's performance just about passes muster in Mumbai, elsewhere it is a no go."

raja_fan
13th June 2007, 11:24 PM
Rediff is proving again that it is run by "nuts" :)

Vkrish
14th June 2007, 01:30 AM
This video says cheenikum grossed 6 crores... interesting clip

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/showbiz/06_2007/bachchan-vs-rajinikanth-superstar-battle-gets-bigger-42786.html

14th June 2007, 04:12 AM
why have someone like Cho to discuss this issue ??

rooky
14th June 2007, 12:21 PM
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/overseas_boxoffice/index.html

14th June 2007, 05:46 PM
Hi all,

I am back to normal. So, before starting with my usual music reviews, why not start with a post on Illayaraja's background score for the movie 'Kaadhalukku Mariyaadhai'. Actually, I wrote this three months before for TFM magazine but I decided to post it in my blog as a sign of my return. I hope RR will excuse me for that.

RR - I have made lot of changes in the article and posted in the blog along with the audio. Please forgive me. I will work on some other movie for the next issue of the magazine.

Here it is

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2007/06/kaadhalukku-mariyaadhai-background.html

Debates and Discussions on this awaited

14th June 2007, 05:49 PM
Vem,
You just gave away the ending :(. Kutti was definitely not about child prostitution, which was only hinted at during the last 5 minutes of the film. It's the story of a little girl, her dreams and her journey.

Based on a short story by novelist Sivasankari, it was an engrossing (debut) film by director Janaki Vishwanathan. The film was fast paced, with some very effortless performances (the little girl Shweta rocks; Vivek plays a cameo), and had a background music score to die for (Watch out for a sequence where the girl visits a shopping mall in the city).

Here's a review.

http://www.thenisai.com/tamil/movies/kutty.htm

raja_fan
14th June 2007, 09:54 PM
Heard that Rajni's next movie is for a group of producers including poor PA who suffered losses with Cheran's MK..

Is there any chance for IR to work with Rajni again ?

buggle
14th June 2007, 10:39 PM
PA had worked only with IR and his family..so i feeling is PA may bring back IR and RK together

raja_fan
14th June 2007, 11:35 PM
But PA is just one of the producers. KB seems to be another..

Anyways RK cannot go back to Deva now because Deva is no more in the front list of MDs..

His choices are just IR, Vidhya Sagar or ARR. But ARR will not come in easily .

Depends on who the director is !
May be Yuvan...who knows :)

btw..is it true that IR was initially approached for Shivaji ??

rooky
15th June 2007, 04:08 PM
The paper advertisements in bangalore for Chennikum, says "PCsriram and Ilayaraja create magic in HINDI" good to see due prominance given to IRs name.

rooky
15th June 2007, 04:09 PM
The paper advertisements in bangalore for Chennikum, says "PCsriram and Ilayaraja create magic in HINDI" good to see due prominance given to IRs name.

Nakeeran
15th June 2007, 04:13 PM
Heard that Rajni's next movie is for a group of producers including poor PA who suffered losses with Cheran's MK..

Is there any chance for IR to work with Rajni again ?

till date, nobody has given the kind of start to Rajini like PODHUVAGA EN MANASU .

If Panju Arunachalam is the producer, U can expect a patch up and IR will score :D

15th June 2007, 04:32 PM
But PA is just one of the producers. KB seems to be another..

Anyways RK cannot go back to Deva now because Deva is no more in the front list of MDs..

His choices are just IR, Vidhya Sagar or ARR. But ARR will not come in easily .

Depends on who the director is !
May be Yuvan...who knows :)

btw..is it true that IR was initially approached for Shivaji ??

I don't think that will happen. PA knows how to work with IR, if IR doesn't like anything, he will also reject simply. If PA wants to work with RK at any cost, IR will relieve himself from the project for sure and let him go to other MDs.

15th June 2007, 06:10 PM
Digression:
http://www.indiafm.com/features/2007/06/14/2761/

quite funny ad...

I think Balki being in the ad field has helped the movie in some areas (and for the same reason, the competitor to Lintas, Rediff, keeps writing bad about the movie as well...)
End-digression..

16th June 2007, 03:35 AM
The above article on IndiaFM also says, "This time Amul focuses on the recent hit sweet romantic comedy- Cheeni Kum- A Sugar Free Romance."

When everyone else is acknowledging Cheeni Kum's success, how come Rediff keeps saying it's a flop?

rooky
16th June 2007, 10:01 PM
If you see the hindi movies running in Bangalore today, CK plays in about 5 theatres with 17 shows per day compared to shootout - only one show, train - only one show and lofe in metro - 1 show.
Only JBJ which released today plays more shows than CK :)

Just an indication that this is a BO hit.Also, read somewhere that this is ABs' solo hit after quite sometime

rooky
16th June 2007, 10:04 PM
Also CK songs get more play time in Bangalore FMs.
Went to saloon today..heard "janae do naa" playing in Radiomirchi there and when i took my car out in the evening,switched to FM and heard this song played in Radiocity..cool :)

rooky
16th June 2007, 10:08 PM
CK claims top spot

http://www.indiafm.com/trade/top5/index.html

Nice to see IRs hindi movie doing well.I generally do not follow hindi movies and i went and watched this movie only for IR.Obivously saddened not to see atleast one complete song in the movie...

Hope Balki doesn't repeat this in "PA"

Renault
17th June 2007, 06:17 AM
http://ibosnetwork.com/asp/filmbodetails.asp?id=Cheeni+Kum

This answers all the queries.. CM has made profits in crores and Balki has started his Pa with Abhishek joining Amitabh as well.

All's well that ends well and I guess with this the speclations on CM's BO verdict should be over.

17th June 2007, 07:05 PM
ellAm saringO, why this ibos site is telling music composer - information unavailable? avanga enna kurudA alladhu sevidA? :-(

18th June 2007, 05:10 PM
In its 3rd week, Cheeni Kum has topped the box office charts. Source: Indiafm

India Box-Office Top 5 (Figures in Indian Rupees)

1 Cheeni Kum
2 Fool n Final
3 Shoot Out at Lokhandwala
4 The Train
5 Life in a... Metro

realactivex
18th June 2007, 05:27 PM
what are the earnings in rupees? I am unable to log on to india fm from here.

az_raja_fan
18th June 2007, 08:43 PM
I saw Sivaji yesterday. Rahman did a decent job. I was just thinking, his arrogance was the reason for IR's downfall. Even when one reads his biography/memoirs, he was not hesitant to break bridges with established names like GKV or SPB even during his difficult times.

Looks like he is a real arrogant man - he was not willing to kick out GV, KB, MR, Rajnikanth or even his thick friend of many years, Bharathiraja.

On the other hand, we must acknowledge the professionalism of ARR.

* Shankar dissed him post boys, but even them he had no qualms about working on Shivaji.
* Rajnikanth himself has had a fallout with ARR (and even criticized ARR in public speeches), but still Shivaji happened
* MR goes on record saying IR is a genius, suggesting IR is way superior to ARR, but still MR-ARR combo is yet to be broken.
* Even if KB wants to work with ARR tomorrow, that will happen.

In short: ARR is a thorough professional. He takes on a job for its merit and does not get caught in ego/personality issues. He tries hard. As an HCIRF, I still can't understand/appreciate Sivaji's music or any piece of music compared by ARR. But what the hell, he tries and gives his best.

IR's downfall (cmon, when was the last time since you heard a fully-satisfactory album of IR?) is purely because of his ego and immature/childish/arrogant attitude towards everybody.

First, I used to get hurt or even deeply disturbed that a genius like IR is not getting his due recognition, but again, he is also an idiot.

Again, I am an HCIRF forever, just sharing my observations, that is all.

buggle
18th June 2007, 09:19 PM
I saw Sivaji yesterday. Rahman did a decent job. I was just thinking, his arrogance was the reason for IR's downfall. Even when one reads his biography/memoirs, he was not hesitant to break bridges with established names like GKV or SPB even during his difficult times.

Looks like he is a real arrogant man - he was not willing to kick out GV, KB, MR, Rajnikanth or even his thick friend of many years, Bharathiraja.

On the other hand, we must acknowledge the professionalism of ARR.

* Shankar dissed him post boys, but even them he had no qualms about working on Shivaji.
* Rajnikanth himself has had a fallout with ARR (and even criticized ARR in public speeches), but still Shivaji happened
* MR goes on record saying IR is a genius, suggesting IR is way superior to ARR, but still MR-ARR combo is yet to be broken.
* Even if KB wants to work with ARR tomorrow, that will happen.

In short: ARR is a thorough professional. He takes on a job for its merit and does not get caught in ego/personality issues. He tries hard. As an HCIRF, I still can't understand/appreciate Sivaji's music or any piece of music compared by ARR. But what the hell, he tries and gives his best.

IR's downfall (cmon, when was the last time since you heard a fully-satisfactory album of IR?) is purely because of his ego and immature/childish/arrogant attitude towards everybody.

First, I used to get hurt or even deeply disturbed that a genius like IR is not getting his due recognition, but again, he is also an idiot.

Again, I am an HCIRF forever, just sharing my observations, that is all.
Dude, whatever u said here was not relevant..
first - what u mean by difficult times ? IR got no money left and he need to beg MR and RK to get a chance to work in their films?

Even though IR not working with MR, KB and RK film they still maintain a good rappot with each other - it's just IR who don't want to work with them and he wanted to respect his own decision made by himself - nothing wrong in that...

Maybe ARR don't care abt his previous rift with Shankar or VM and still wanted to work with them - once again it is his own decision - nothing wrong in that..

All said IR is still IR - he dont need MR or KB or RK to prove what he is..

rooky
18th June 2007, 09:23 PM
c'man man..There are lots to debate about shivaji, the movie itself.But coming to music, no one has unanimously agreed about music being good.infact majority of the reviews say BGM is not great and that it is noisier at some places.only ARR fans are saying that BGM is great.

I browsed thro' ARR-shivaji thread too.there also there is no unanimousity about music.And i saw one member quoting that "hospital scene BGM resembled sethu BGM piece :)

and by the way, when was the last time that ARR gave a completely satisfying album in Tamil? and what do u think could be the reasons...

U have ur own threads to rave about ,what u think, as great masterpiece from ARR and try to arrive at a unanimous decision atleast among urselves.

az_raja_fan
18th June 2007, 09:40 PM
Rooky and Buggle,
I am not raving about ARR. I appreciate his professionalism. In terms of international recognition and name and fame, ARR is far ahead of IR by any yardscale, even though he falls way short in talent. Why? ARR seems to be a professional.

If you really enjoy Mayakkannadi (which is real junk album, the synth arrangement is jarring to say the least) much more than Nayagan or Agni Nakshatram, I really don't have much to say.

Do you honestly believe none of his jalras would have atleast requested IR to get back to his old orchestration?? Do you think IR would even listen?

18th June 2007, 09:48 PM
az_raja_fan,

While your frustration as a fan could be understood (that Raja is not #1 and his not being there is not purely due to musical reasons but others), it doesn't automatically give you permission to call names on a genius who was also commercially successful for 2 decades:-(

If you carefully look at the 'varalAtRu suvadugaL', he had always been loyal to GKV / PA and such people to whom he owes gratitude. Panju ippO kooppittAlum OdippOi work paNNukiRAr...doesn't even care about the script, fate of the movie etc. GKV was never a force in TFM (which was MSV's domain before Raja captured it) and when he lost money in failed ventures, Raja took him to his fold, adhu theriyAdhA ungaLukku? Even though most of us considered MSV-IR as great rivals, IR respected him and even worked with him for a number of films...adhukkuppEru professionalism, humility illayA?

chummA professionalism'nu sollittu oru emotionum illAma irrukkanumnA, he has to be a machine and not man...we don't know what really transpired between him and the others whom you mentioned. (Neither do we know for sure what happened actually between ARR and those you mentioned, it would have been simply because ARR was too expensive, not available etc. that they chose to take others for a project or two. When things changed, they work together again. Possibly there would have been nothing else like distrust, verbal abuse, name calling, caste calling etc. which could have happened in IR's case with some of those whom you mentioned...veLiya solla mudiyAdhA kAraNaththAl it won't be known to you and me)

yArukkuththeriyum what actually happened between VM-IR? Without knowing that, chumma avarappidichchu arrogant appidi ippidinnu thittuvadhAl yArukkum use illa:-(

However one thing is sure, IR is not the "maRu kannaththaikkAttum" variety...and I don't expect many film people to be that way...

18th June 2007, 09:59 PM
BTW, I too saw Shivaji this weekend (in fact the first Thamizh movie I see in theater in USA...after 4 years)...One of my friends had a ticket and since family is in India, I accepted his offer:-)

It's superb! ARR's job is decent in BGM and excellent in songs (yes even sitting in 2nd row thus very high decibel levels on a noisy action film, not so great crowd management, 3rd grade theater etc., enakku thala vali varala...and I was 100% sober:-))

Art director - no words to describe...sahAna and vAji sets will be talked about for years...

Surprisingly, I never felt jealous that IR is not in this project...can be called maturity or acceptance of defeat? And I was happy that they chose to acknowledge seniors (Shivaji-KVM, MGR-MSV and Kamal-IR combo's got re-enacted beautifully by Rajini):-))

rooky
18th June 2007, 10:03 PM
International recognition...:) It is just a media hype,nothing more.
Do u think hollywood stars such as tomcruise,matt or production houses know his name atleast...It is all part of our media hype.

ARR getting any offer there is like dhina or sirpi getting a movie in tamil.International music fans do not rave about ARR (or IR for that matter).They have their own heroes and there are too many around there.

The output that ARR gives can be matched or overpowered by a tv episode MD there and u should appreciate the fact that there are MDs ,who score for TV episodes there,and way ahead of ur ARR in skills and presentation.

IR is unique that only he can give that soul touching music and no one else can..

And FYI,we do not rave about an average attempt from IR like Mayakannadi,but quite happy that he did not waste his gems on a junk movie.

To add, i do not think that any "so called fan" of an artist would call that artist an "IDIOT"

There is plenty of Music available throghout..Get ur number and enjoy

19th June 2007, 01:01 AM
"(Shivaji-KVM, MGR-MSV and Kamal-IR combo's got re-enacted beautifully by Rajini"

so would you elaborate on/explain the above pls ?

I havent seen "Shivaji" (the last RK movie I saw in theater was Thalapathi!)

19th June 2007, 02:26 AM
irir123:-)

perusA oNNum illeenga...

...first night scenela hero heroine kitta nAn eppadi nadandhukkaNumnu kEppAr...muzhikkiRa heroine kitta one-by-one mooNu options koduppAr...all three will be quick imaginations, a few lines of 'mayakkam enna, indha mounam enna', 'azhagiya thamizh magaL ivaL' and 'nEththu rAththiri yammA' will be reenacted by Rajini with the original movie's costumes and the original song in background...excellent reproduction by Rajini and it will be quite funny...kadasiyA idhellAm illa, enakku unga adhiradi dhAn vENum'nu solluvAnga...udanE oru 'adhiradi' song:-)

The 'acknowledgement' part is my assessment...

raja_fan
19th June 2007, 12:04 PM
Balki planning to do a tamil film after 'Pa'.

It may be Balki-IR-Kamal combo !

smss_engineer
19th June 2007, 01:12 PM
az_raja_fan
Looks like he is a real arrogant man - he was not willing to kick out GV, KB, MR, Rajnikanth or even his thick friend of many years, Bharathiraja...................................... ........

My Friend,
Don't make stupid statements!!

How did u come to a conculsion that a person arrogant?, If so, i will (may) say "You are an arrogant indeed" from your posts (i am not telling personally and i don't know Mr.az_raja_fan personally and this is not intended to be)

I Don;t mind if u have seen sivaji or not and ARR's music. Your post is 100 % not relevant to the thread. Do u know the real facts about the splits? He is not arrogant man, the other people worked with him are arrogant indeed!!! I will tell one by one.

1. What is the split between IR and GKV?. IR worked as guitarist and asst. with GKV for more than 100 films. When he got chance for Annakili (1976), he did out of GKV with blessings from GKV, to stand as MD on his own.

2. Who told you there is a split between IR and SPB?

3. Split between Kb and IR. is because of Kb is arrogance and ignorance, not the other way. You should know Puthu puthu arthangal story!

4. Even for Rajinikanth, rajini was shown arrogance, everybondy know about Veera, Don't you?

5. Professionalisnm?

IR worked with MSV for many films. they each showed their humanity and professionlism. this is called professionalism. They both respects each other!

If ARR will have to work with IR or MSV, He will not do, i am 100% confident. ARR is having ego man!.

6. IR is not giving chance for SPB. then what about ARR, he is giving regular chances? No, he goes for SPB whenever needed (specially for Rajini title song only)!

IR reduced not using SPB in late 80's and early 90's was due to the fact that in those times SPB was very busy in hindi and other languages. so IR reduced using him and freed SPB from overloading. Everybody knows this!

7. Don't u know ego clash between ARR and vairamuthu?

they both shown their non-professionalism, immatureness, ego!

8. And don;t believe some crap magazines and gossips.

For example a small story happened (really happened and i put imagination of magazines)

In a function ARR presented a ring (gold) to IR. IR was happy but he hasn't accepted because of his own reasons ,(one reason is he never wear gold and so).

This may be twisted by magazines and papers as follows,
headlines

1. IR rejected ARR's present.

2. IR insulted ARR.

like that............

If IR is having ego with rajini, BR, SPB, then how can they come together and talked as a one soul in concerts??

Ilaiyaraja's time (the time told for him) is over and he knows about himself and time. so he is adakki vasichufying. The reasons IR was not ddelivering songs and music as compared to his prime times are as follows.

1. He shown his musical geniusness in his prime times in the periods from 1978 to 1986. (more specifically in 1980-1984 periods) In these periods he was always experimenting and making mind-blowing compositions, even great MD's of india cannot think off!

2. But all his work was gone into dust. Because he was simply far ahead in terms of time and music!

3. Then he realised and he decided not to waste his geniusness, and so he became commercial in the late 80's, specifically in the periods 1987-1992. Even in these periods, he was churning out his geniusness over music whenever needed.

raja_fan
19th June 2007, 01:20 PM
" 4. Even for Rajinikanth, rajini was shown arrogance, everybondy know about Veera, Don't you? "

What is the story behind this ? Curious to know why RK-IR really split..

raja_fan
19th June 2007, 03:49 PM
Rk's next film by KSR or A.R.Murugadoss.

So no chance for IR..it could be ARR or HJ.

19th June 2007, 06:02 PM
I think IR has every right to be arrogant, who else can be in the tfm? His brain worked and imagined like anything else. I don't find any faults in it. I don't want him to work with Rajini/BR/VM. All I want from him is to go back to acoustic instruments. Then these mushrooms will go away from tfm.

K
19th June 2007, 06:12 PM
http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/18062007-1.shtml

raja_fan
19th June 2007, 07:30 PM
So what happened to BR's Kutraparambarai ?

popeye11
20th June 2007, 04:14 AM
Hope this news is true..
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/heroes/kamal_070619.html

buggle
20th June 2007, 06:02 AM
That's great news..last film IR worked with P.Vasu was Uzhaippali - i think...
Good to see IR back with Kamal

buggle
20th June 2007, 06:05 AM

or can be re-phrased as
"Good to see Isaignani back with Kalaignani"

popeye11
20th June 2007, 06:41 AM

or can be re-phrased as

Raja always gave his best for Vasu's movies.. It will be awesome if this project kick starts~!

Another Isaignani - Kalaignani Combo WooHoo

20th June 2007, 10:18 AM

or can be re-phrased as

Raja always gave his best for Vasu's movies.. It will be awesome if this project kick starts~!

Another Isaignani - Kalaignani Combo WooHoo

hmmm padam varathukku innum 2 varusham kuda agalam

20th June 2007, 10:24 AM
Only "Naan Kadavul" is the film with IR in Tamil?????

raja_fan
20th June 2007, 05:21 PM
Kamal is not on his good form now, even in literal meaning..What can we expect from PV + Kamal now ?

krish244
20th June 2007, 05:52 PM
IR's new telugu movie:

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/telugu/article/31881.html

Krishnan

rooky
20th June 2007, 06:41 PM
Only "Naan Kadavul" is the film with IR in Tamil?????

As you can find in this forum,
Tamil- Dhanam, Naan kadavul
Malayalam - Suryan, Pazhasiraja
Kannada - Anaatharu (remake of pithamagan)
Telugu - A new movie as given above, HOPE
Hindi - MUKHBIR? and PA

This is the list that i know

rooky
20th June 2007, 06:46 PM
Kamal is not on his good form now, even in literal meaning..What can we expect from PV + Kamal now ?

Kamal not in good form?- VV is his biggest hit after quite sometime.
To do away with ur illusion, He had MX before that, which didn't do well.Before that he had vasoolraja and virumandi,which were hits.
So, 3 hits out of last 4 is quite a form and we have DV to come too.

Not sure whether this is relevant to this thread :)

But a kamal-IR combo sure will have something to look forward to.

rooky
20th June 2007, 08:24 PM
interesting to see...

Anumanaspadam songs still in the top5 :) ..Checkout the latest top10 there

Renault
20th June 2007, 09:29 PM
Good news.. Raja and Vasu might have last worked for a film named Vasu, starring Arjun and Raveeena tandon.

NormalMan
20th June 2007, 09:44 PM
"Ponnu Veetukaaran" or "Kaakai Chiraginile" was the last movie IR did for P.Vasu. Both had good numbers incidently.

20th June 2007, 10:19 PM
1.I really wonder if KH would work with PV! in terms of artistic abilities, they are like chalk and cheese - but considering that KH's comfort level with KSR is OK, they might work together

2.by all means, if KH and IR get together, with PV as the 'director', KH and IR for sure rock, as far as the choice of music, genre, style etc are concerned - in the actual film-making dept, PV would just do as he is told (by you-know-who!)

3.overall, what we would get is a rocking masala entertainer that is likely to do well at all centers

4.most importantly, we will get to hear some special stuff that IR always keeps reserved for KH! since it will be targeted at all audiences, KH-IR will make sure that it has nos like "pottu vaithha"(singaravelan), a "singari sarakku/annathai aduraar" , "raja kaiya vecha" type nos!

raja_fan
20th June 2007, 10:21 PM
Renault,

That movie was 'Sadhu', not Vasu.

NormalMan,

'Kaakai Chiraginile' was the last IR-PV film.

21st June 2007, 09:24 AM
I guess the last movie in IR-PV combo was 'Seenu' *ing karthik..

But one thing which I don't like here is KH with PV(sentiment semmal).. ivar kamal vachu enna panna porar :?

but atleast for IR-KH, this movie shud come...

Vkrish
21st June 2007, 09:32 AM
4.most importantly, we will get to hear some special stuff that IR always keeps reserved for KH!

But KH should not demand that he will sing all songs sparing one or two to IR :twisted:

Cmon, what is SPB doing...

az_raja_fan
21st June 2007, 10:05 AM
raajarasigan,
"Seenu", the remake of the malayalam movie "Bharathan" had Deva(!!)'s music.

Kamal's singing is irrritating these days. I hope SPB sings atleast most of the songs.

raja_fan
21st June 2007, 11:48 AM
Whether it is Kamal IR or Vasu

if you do not have anything fresh to offer, better take rest and come back when you have something !

21st June 2007, 06:02 PM

Kamal not in good form?- VV is his biggest hit after quite sometime.
To do away with ur illusion, He had MX before that, which didn't do well.Before that he had vasoolraja and virumandi,which were hits.
So, 3 hits out of last 4 is quite a form and we have DV to come too.

Not sure whether this is relevant to this thread :)

But a kamal-IR combo sure will have something to look forward to.

You forgot to add 'Rama Shama Bhama'in Kannada which was huge hit.Released in Dec 2005.

22nd June 2007, 01:41 AM
http://www.kumudam.com/magazine/Kumudam/2007-06-20/pg4.php

Conspiracy to trap a successful person:-)

22nd June 2007, 02:01 AM
The moment I read BR telling 'keLangu', I'm reminded of a MalayALi friend frequently using the word 'keLangan' (meaning fool)...pAvam, konjam commercially successfullA irukka Ameerai oZhikka sadhi...

In any case, IR shouldn't involve in any BR venture at this time. I haven't seen PV, but from seeing a song on youtube can very well tell that adhil maNNum maNamum onnum perisA illa, just slickly packaged...(well, only then it can succeed today)...There'll be a lot of clash of interests, too many cooks problem etc...This koottaNi can probably opt for YSR...

Raja should focus more on other language ventures in movies (to keep making money, no prob if he does a lot of recycling there) and giving music form to Thamizh literary classics, for channeling his creativity, IMHO...

23rd June 2007, 11:36 AM
http://www.kumudam.com/magazine/Kumudam/2007-06-20/pg4.php

Conspiracy to trap a successful person:-)

A Brief of the article pls,if you don't mind.

raja_fan
23rd June 2007, 01:21 PM
Cinefan,

1. BR is going to direct a film which involves Cheran, Amir and IR.

2. The story seems to be by Amir.

3. BR talks hopefully that he, IR and VM may soon work together some day ! ( He does not talk about VM for this particular project )

4. He talks about his family and daughter-in-law etc which are of no interest to us.

raja_fan
24th June 2007, 03:24 PM
"Sakalakala Vallavan" again. Now by P.Vasu - Kamal - IR !

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tamil/exclusive/kamal-190607.html

raja_fan
24th June 2007, 04:19 PM
This shows IR does not have issues with Vasu.

Then , what stopped IR and Vasu working together for Chandramukhi, despite the fact that it was from IR's closest Shivaji productions ?

Was it Rajni ? or Rajni's closeness with Vairamuthu ( Rajni always includes VM in his story discussions ) ?

Dear IR, its high time you shed off your adamant nature !!
Please forgive and forget !

raja_fan
24th June 2007, 10:15 PM
Friends,

Today when I was humming "Oru koodai sunlight" from Shivaji, somehow "D-I-S-C-O Disco..Vaa Vaa Pakkam Vaa.." from Thanga Magan came to my mind !

Not sure whether these two tunes have something similar :)

If in future IR decides to work with RK, this songs surely can be remixed in a grand manner !

25th June 2007, 03:08 PM
raja_fan,

Thumba Santhosha :)

When i was humming 'Sahana Pookal' my mind raced back to 'Penmaane sangeetham paadivaa' :wink:
Raja intha tunesa ellam erkanave explore pannittaru pola :)

25th June 2007, 03:53 PM
Also in BGM ARR reminded IR. When i was seeing Sivaji scenes in SUN TV at Rajni scenes, the BGM remembered me famous Dalapathy BGM as a soft verson.

raja_fan
25th June 2007, 04:14 PM
Rajasaranam,

Good catch :)

Way back , when Minsara kanavu was a hit, whenever I heard "Oooh la la laa.." my mind would go back to "Vaan megam..." from Punnagai Mannan :wink:

dho.., varaanunga..varaanunga..naan escape aayidaren :)

25th June 2007, 05:16 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/janaki_070624.html

There is no IR.

SJ-kum IR-kum naduvula enna pirachanai?? :sad:

25th June 2007, 05:24 PM
Whenever i am listening to anyone of the following 3 songs, i suddenly remembers other two songs.

1) Oh ho megam vanthatho - MR
2) Vaan megam - PM
3) Aathadi ammadi - IT

Clearly I don't know why? propably because the similarity in tune or orchestration or situation.

K
25th June 2007, 06:17 PM
do anyone have The Music Messaiah MP3?

25th June 2007, 06:28 PM
rs,
Somebody discussed in the 'copied songs' thread that 'sahAnA' is reworked off of 'orE nAL unai nAn'...I think so too...it's not uncommon for current MD's to pick some old popular tune, chop it at some phrase / repeat part of it twice / add some vocal harmony / add some 'hairu-keeru' kind of sounds and create another number...In a way, IR himself had similar inspirations from older sources...now, he is the "older source":-) That's all:-))

Nakeeran
25th June 2007, 07:07 PM
Whenever i am listening to anyone of the following 3 songs, i suddenly remembers other two songs.

1) Oh ho megam vanthatho - MR
2) Vaan megam - PM
3) Aathadi ammadi - IT

Clearly I don't know why? propably because the similarity in tune or orchestration or situation.

Very simple. Its the situation which is same :D

All are rain songs !

besides, I think 1 and 2 were composed during the same period ? Seniors pl confirm .

raja_fan
25th June 2007, 08:16 PM
Yes Nakeeran.

Both Mouna ragam and Punnagai Mannan came in the year 1986, though I remember MR was released before PM ( Not very sure..whether MR was actually released in 1985 )

Idhayathai thirudaathe was 1989 release.

btw.., You have made me go on a nostalgia trip !

I can still remember the excitement the songs of Agni Natchachiram created :) particularly the "Raja Rajadhi.." song.

No Satellite TV channels, no internet , no CDs, no big sophisticated music systems...

Just one DD channel, just one "Oliyum oliyum", not all middle class families had even a TV set..if at all mostly a B/W set..You can hear songs only on Vividh bharati played on transistor, or Sharp/Panasonic cassette players or tea shops or marriage halls !!!

How I miss that golden childhood days...:(

teja
25th June 2007, 08:43 PM
IR has signed yet another Telugu film - "Mothers day"
http://www.totaltollywood.com/news/ttnews1418.html

25th June 2007, 09:09 PM
r_f, MR wasn't a 1985 product...may be 86...(85 was the year of mudhal mariyAdhai & sindhu bhairavi, I think)...

27th June 2007, 08:35 PM
OK, IR had a decent year so far, with at least two successes in other languages - vinOdha yAthra & cheeni kum...(both movies & songs are successes)...
http://edition.cnn.com/2007/SHOWBIZ/Movies/06/27/india.bollywood.reut/

What next? pazhassi rAjA is not expected till Dec...anything else coming up in the near future? Or should we open a thread 'IR's old albums'?:-)

28th June 2007, 10:14 AM
sooriyan in Malayalam will come in near future!
one of my cine friends said that KJY may receive a national award for a song from this movie.
the fate of Naan Kadavul is what Iam eager upon. A friend of mine who is a side actor in the movie says " for some specific scenes the shooting starts after Raja's music is played in high decibels and every actor gets into a transcendental state." the movie is again a dark on delving upon the lives of 'Dead Body Eaters' living along the banks of ganges. :twisted:
in his own words he said " Antha music kaathala pottu vitta odane udambu murukerri mudi ellam silirthuttu nikkum apram enna nadakthunne kon ja neram puriyathu 'Bala' solra madhri camera munnadi poi nadikka aarambichiduvom."

Hmmmm Padatha sikiram edutha mudingappa engalukkum antha anubavam kediakattum :cry:

raja_fan
28th June 2007, 11:53 AM
"the movie is again a dark "

Bala urupadara vazhi-yaa theriyale..:)

Anyways some one has to show the darh side too, but the problem with Bala is his obsession with a high degree of violence and mental disturbance :(

btw..Rajasaranam , pls ask your friend when audio for Suriyan releases..

28th June 2007, 03:06 PM
இளையராஜாவின் 'எஸ்.எம்.எஸ்'

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/illaiyaraja_070628.html

I think, after a long gap, IR is scoring for a thriller movie which has good scope for BGM .

realactivex
28th June 2007, 04:29 PM
Actually, Anumanaspadam in Telugu was supposedly a thriller.

28th June 2007, 05:55 PM
Actually, Anumanaspadam in Telugu was supposedly a thriller.

Oops! :wink:

28th June 2007, 07:01 PM
anumanaspadam sucked bigtime as a movie - for the song "ninu vethiki" the opening scene was a bulldozer rolling with the heroine operating it! some creativity/aesthetic sense - IR is musically wholesome, but in his choice of movies and judgement of quality in directors, he falls short of his musical genius! in other words, musically he is a genius, not in his choice of movies, plus, he is handicapped by his 'choice' quarrels with filmmakers with whom he could have had amazing collaborations!

IR's career chart is funny! while most professionals always think of taking the next higher step, IR just stays where he is without bothering much about any of his hard-built reputation ! thats what baffles me the most, IR will always be an enigma!

raja_fan
28th June 2007, 08:37 PM
"funny" ?!

Hmm.. well, that is what people in this "professional" era call the qualities like honesty, straight-forwardness and modesty etc..

Kali kaalam..Appadi thaan irukkum.. :sigh2:

28th June 2007, 09:36 PM
raja_fan: IMHO, even yesteryear good filmmakers like Vamsi have lost the plot somewhere, at least w.r.to doing justice to IR's music - that IR continues to work with them, without realizing (or) caring for, what they are 'doing' to his music visually, is what I find funny.

I never for a moment doubted his honesty etc -

by all means, there are now only a handful who can UNDERSTAND IR's music and translate the same on-screen

raja_fan
28th June 2007, 10:26 PM
irir123,

Ok :)

29th June 2007, 02:16 PM
irir123, you posted my thoughts exactly. I hope some well wisher/music lover sincerely says "stop film music" to IR so that his music could be channelised for higher purpose.
I missed what Big B had to say about IR in "Hasini" times in Jaya TV yesterday. Could anybody post what he had to say?
I caught Suhasini praising the bgm and the theme music of "Cheeni Kum". She said Charuhasan used to say this "During the 80's ,when most of the film people were complacent with mediocrity, Raja alone excelled in his work"

raja_fan
29th June 2007, 02:53 PM
I wish Suhasini somehow bridges the gap between Maniratnam and IR.

In present film scenarion, only Mani can again bring out the giant in IR and make people notice.

btw.., I was shocked to read in this week's AV that director Jeeva is dead !!

Also Rajni is planning to do his next with KSR again..
With both Rajni and Kamal rallying behind KSR, IR misses the oppotunities to work with these two stars..

MusicIsLife
29th June 2007, 04:18 PM
Rajni with KSR?
Can he not choose somebody else?

Nakeeran
29th June 2007, 04:21 PM
I think SS next movie is Sultan , directed by his daughter ?? :roll:

MusicIsLife
29th June 2007, 04:22 PM
I am biased and have a certain opinion about IR music. When one works around a certain norm, IR broke the certain norm, the almost certain thing about IR was the uncertainity of how he is going to break the norm, especially in BGM. Consider Sivapu rojakkal, Kali, Nadodi Thendral, (i can keep on going), you can see the certain classical difference in a composer, the "silent" interludes serene and powerful. IR is master of his own domain.
Inspiration is always a good thing, IR is a "musicopedia", the pages never end.

raja_fan
29th June 2007, 05:34 PM
Nakeeran,

I wonder why people say Sultan as Rajni's next ?

It is an animated Rajni, Rajni is not going to act in it..

29th June 2007, 05:48 PM
Nakeeran,

I wonder why people say Sultan as Rajni's next ?

It is an animated Rajni, Rajni is not going to act in it..

but he will give his voice 8-)

29th June 2007, 09:13 PM
With both Rajni and Kamal rallying behind KSR, IR misses the oppotunities to work with these two stars..

Dont worry. Next Kamal movie has IR-KH=PVasu combo

IR-Rajni = Will most likely not happen at all. If Rajni has any idea about joining with IR, he must have done this for Chandramukhi (PVasu!) or atleast for Sultan!!!

Regarding Mani - I dont think he can bring out anything from IR either. Right now Bala and KH are the only two who can "take" the best out of IR. Mani, just like Shankar, is out of ideas and most likely the former will only come with a historic movie (or movie based on true story) and the later will make another movie with same subject. We have seen Mudhalvan, Gentlemen, Indian, Anniyan and Shivaji all with same theme. Enough.

rooky
29th June 2007, 11:42 PM
hey, just watched shivaji..man such a junk movie devoid of any logic..

I know there are people (and plenty in number) to support this movie..but please do not complain about movies like thirupachi also.you cannot improve the state of indian cinema.

I just remembered these lines from chandrababu,"vetri petra manithar ellam buthisaali illai;buthi ulla manidhar ellam vetri petrathillai"...suits perfectly for shivaji (the movie,director and its music).

30th June 2007, 01:39 AM
rooky,
logikku pAththA 99.99% Thamizh padam junk listukku poyirum:-) unga uththEsam puriyala:-)) indhakkAlaththu sakala kalA vallavan'nu nenachchukkanga...appa IR, ippa ARR...similarly SPM -> Shankar...

30th June 2007, 03:02 AM
even Iran makes better movies than we do - close to 800 movies a year in India, and hardly a handful that are worth mentioning!

worser, established stars (from both Bollywood and other 'woods') are so shabby and sick, in their understanding of cinema, especially global cinema, I wonder how they could put up with their own mediocrity!

to an extent, KH stands out from all these run-of-the-mill mediocrities, but his kind are very few

30th June 2007, 04:28 AM
konjam kooda yOsichchA, indha spidermEnu, supermEnukaL, james bAndukaL ellAm romba logikkO?

buddysathi
30th June 2007, 04:58 AM
Why do we want to make Global Cinema when we want to entertain our own people? Whom do we want to satisfy out of this? Namma kuppanum, suppanum paathu rasikka padam edunga plz!
Let us not lose our identity by removing songs in our cinema and calling it global appeal!

IMHO,

Our movies have the variety which no others can match! If we want to make realistic movies with logic, arithmetics, mathematics etc.. then I shud say we r overriding our culture and stepping into someone's shoes. Do we want to do that?

I can take a realistic movie for 2 hrs showing a man's life from morning 7-9 AM.
Imagine a film like this, the movie title I have given is "Good Morning"!!

7:00 AM, He gets up
pallu theikarathu + bathroom porathu + dress change panrathu +kelambi office porathu + then bus travel for 30 mins + etc etc..Finally he comes to office and says to his Boss
9:00 AM "Good Morning" .
End of movie!!

Is this a original story??

BTW, I am jus kidding!! plz ennai loosu-nu nenichiratheenga!! :-)

30th June 2007, 06:07 AM
buddysathi - do you genuinely think movies like Shivaji, Thirupachi and their likes are qualitatively measurable ? forget about pleasing the world audience, has our cinema evolved, or is it evolving?

I find some of our better commercial movies like MR's GURU contrived and dumbly presented at different levels. is it because, we dont have talented filmmakers dedicated to the profession, or is it coz, our people cant accept change and our cinema to evolve

The Spidermans, Batmans and Supermans dont have logic true - but have you ever read the way movies are 'diagnosed' by critics abroad ? they dont spare trashy work

30th June 2007, 06:30 AM
OK, if you can spend some time, may be 30 minutes, please go through this classic video series..the first one is here:
http://www.kumudam.com/interviews.php?id=2&strid=345&stream=1

Rabi Bernard meets Mahendran...excellent discussion about the (digressed) topic here..."quality of TF"

A couple of tidbits from this:
-picturisation of 'senthAzham poovil' was sponsored by Kamal when the producer refused...
-Mahendran's films never had "direct" duets...(may be background songs, never direct song / dance duets)...

Very interesting interview...

30th June 2007, 06:39 AM
i am not able to login

30th June 2007, 04:17 PM
irir123, try going from kumudam.com home page...you still need to login, but the registration is free...

thilak4life
30th June 2007, 07:38 PM
sooriyan in Malayalam will come in near future!
one of my cine friends said that KJY may receive a national award for a song from this movie.
the fate of Naan Kadavul is what Iam eager upon. A friend of mine who is a side actor in the movie says " for some specific scenes the shooting starts after Raja's music is played in high decibels and every actor gets into a transcendental state." the movie is again a dark on delving upon the lives of 'Dead Body Eaters' living along the banks of ganges. :twisted:
in his own words he said " Antha music kaathala pottu vitta odane udambu murukerri mudi ellam silirthuttu nikkum apram enna nadakthunne kon ja neram puriyathu 'Bala' solra madhri camera munnadi poi nadikka aarambichiduvom."

Hmmmm Padatha sikiram edutha mudingappa engalukkum antha anubavam kediakattum :cry:

Ahaaaa!!!! I can't wait for it! Not for bala, but for Raaja! :notworthy:

30th June 2007, 10:26 PM
app_engine: THANKS A MILLION!! Mahendran called a spade a spade - shame on all the Shankars and their likes who make trashbags like Shivaji etc

30th June 2007, 10:44 PM
and the interview also proves something else: Kamal as an artist, as a dedicated professional, and lastly as a great human being (this is one thing that is never attributed to him) comes out so well!!

can anyone imagine MULLUM MALARUM without 'senthazham poovil' ?! that Kamal sponsored the shooting of that song, against all odds, even though he was not the producer, says oodles of this great artist!

but for Kamal, even RK wouldn't have got accolodes!

raja_fan
30th June 2007, 10:46 PM
Today in Jaya TV's "Ennodu paattu paadungal" , SPB was all praise for IR.

One contestant sang "Iravu Nilavu" from Anjali. SPB's comment was "This is also a modern song. But see how Raja has made it. Indha paatukkum mattha paatu paadineengale..adhukkum evvalavu vithiyaasam..This song should be maintained like a text book for young singers to tone up their skill." He went on to appreciate Vaali, SJ and Maniratnam.

Another contestant sang "Oh Vasandha raja..", the charanam.
SPB was visibly moved.. After the song his comments were "Indha maadhiri song andha raakshasan munnaale paaduvadhu evvalavu kashtam. Innum evvalavu paadal indha maadhiri avan kitte irundhu vandhikkute irukku. Eppadi panraan..? "
Manobala intercepted "Police kitte report panlaamaa ?"

SPB : "Aamaam. Naamale avanai namma idhayathula arrest panni vachirukkom..Indha paatu paada naan punniyam senjirukkanum..nammalai eppadi kolraan Ilaiyaraja "

He also added some comments when another sang "pothi vacha malligai mottu."

30th June 2007, 11:00 PM
Today in Jaya TV's "Ennodu paattu paadungal" , SPB was all praise for IR.

One contestant sang "Iravu Nilavu" from Anjali. SPB's comment was "This is also a modern song. But see how Raja has made it. Indha paatukkum mattha paatu paadineengale..adhukkum evvalavu vithiyaasam..This song should be maintained like a text book for young singers to tone up their skill." He went on to appreciate Vaali, SJ and Maniratnam.

Another contestant sang "Oh Vasandha raja..", the charanam.
SPB was visibly moved.. After the song his comments were "Indha maadhiri song andha raakshasan munnaale paaduvadhu evvalavu kashtam. Innum evvalavu paadal indha maadhiri avan kitte irundhu vandhikkute irukku. Eppadi panraan..? "
Manobala intercepted "Police kitte report panlaamaa ?"

SPB : "Aamaam. Naamale avanai namma idhayathula arrest panni vachirukkom..Indha paatu paada naan punniyam senjirukkanum..nammalai eppadi kolraan Ilaiyaraja "

He also added some comments when another sang "pothi vacha malligai mottu."

I saw it. one of my fav. programme in TVs. Mainly i watch this programme for SPB's comments and info after each n every song. Always he is praising IR (and MSV, ARR also)

:thumbsup: :clap: to SPB

Another one in the same programme,

Manobala : (after listening SPB's music explanation) "Naanga ellorum oru isaignani agivittom"
SPB : (after few seconds) Isaignani avurathu avvalavu easy-ya enna. Avan avanthan :)

:thumbsup: :clap: to IR

thilak4life
30th June 2007, 11:13 PM
Will watch this show from now on for SPB - :clap:

and obviously to know more about our :notworthy:

raja_fan
30th June 2007, 11:25 PM
Happened to catch another dance programme on ETV Telugu ( luckily when changing channel ) :)

Almost all the dance couples performed for some IR song only ( I have not heard these songs before, but could easily spot out our Raja's song )

This is the power of legends like IR, MSV etc ! No matter how their market is, their songs will not stop making rounds :clap:

30th June 2007, 11:35 PM
raja_fan and others: can you upload that show on youtube or somewhere ? thanks in advance

prabhudas
30th June 2007, 11:51 PM
Hi Ap_Eng,
That was really cool... ( Sivaji ... style le ille pa), the link for Mahendran's interview. Eppadi pudikkireenga idhu maadhiri online le , and the "Mullum Malarum" news was probably told first time ever I think. Great director and excellent interview, except that our hosts ( R Bernard, though is one of the best) should learn not to interrupt the persons while they are still continuing to talk ( a big problem with most of our interviewing hosts in almost all Tamil channels). I wonder why Kamal nevel worked with Mahendran, another unfulfilled dream of mine.

By the way saw Sivaji ( OC ticket kidaichadaale ...16$ is not worth for even retards ), I would say it is not a crap movie but one of the many crap movies.
Shankar is yet to give one decent movie like what his assistants have achieved in their initial movies like Kaadhal and Veyyil. Brahmandam..tech savvy, graphics , freeze shots appadi ippadinnu Same nonsense, no plot , no script , poor picturisation of songs
( no innvoation). TN le Chandramukhi 800 +days odunna adhuleye theriyaleya...the average movie watching person's IQ is ....

sudhakarg
1st July 2007, 04:40 AM
[tscii:0c97f4e522]I too watch "ennOdu paattu paadungaL" mainly for SPB, and the way he appreciates music - especially IRs and MSVs. And, I'm also amazed that when people decide to exhibit their skills in music, they choose IRs or MSVs songs!

raja_fan, I was also moved by that comment on "rakshasan" Raja. It seemed to come straight from his heart.

BTW, finally I heard Cheeni Kum songs paying £2.00 for an audio cassette!! (The guy sensed that I was kind of desperate). And boy, it was worth every penny!. I don't mind if IR scores for only one movie every year, and its all like Cheeni Kum![/tscii:0c97f4e522]

raja_fan
1st July 2007, 09:05 AM
"And, I'm also amazed that when people decide to exhibit their skills in music, they choose IRs or MSVs songs! "

No Surprise.
But what surprises me most is this : We all know that Deva inspite of his numerous copied tunes did gave a lot of good melodies to enjoy. We know his songs of Minsara Kannaa, Prasanth, Ajit movies etc. But still, I find that people almost never sing his songs in any TV show.
Do people reject clones/duplicates even unconsciously ? :)

btw..Cheeni Kum title track has definitely captivated the northies it seems..Atleast in Bangalore , I see that it is still making rounds in radio.

raja_fan
1st July 2007, 09:09 AM
irir123,

Sorry, I do not have any recording facility to record the programme..
But don't worry ! Keep watching the programme every week at 8 PM Saturday Jaya TV. SPB will have more to say about IR :)

2nd July 2007, 12:07 PM
irir123,

Sorry, I do not have any recording facility to record the programme..
But don't worry ! Keep watching the programme every week at 8 PM Saturday Jaya TV. SPB will have more to say about IR :)

The re-telecast of this program is at 11 PM sunday. Stay tuned if you miss this on saturday..

with very less ads on Sunday show since it is a re-telecast

Nagu.

raaja_rasigan
4th July 2007, 12:41 PM
[tscii:a5f8c9c45a]‘உயிர்’ சங்கீதா ரெட்லைட் ஏரியா பெண்ணாக நடிக்கும் ‘தனம்’ படத்திற்கு இளையராஜா இசையமைக்கிறார். ‘இசைஞானி’, ‘மேஸ்ட்ரோ’ பட்டத்தோடு இந்தப் படத்தின் மூலம் இன்னொரு பட்டமும் டைட்டில் கார்டில் போட்டிருக்கிறார்கள். அது ‘இளையராஜா சுவாமிகள்’ (பொருத்தம்தான்)

:kumudam:[/tscii:a5f8c9c45a]

4th July 2007, 03:59 PM
I feel there was a sort of balance between pucca commercial movies and offbeat movies in the 80's. There were atleast few rare instances like "salangai oli" or "sippikkuL muthu" among many craps like sakalakalavallavan's and the critics never failed to fail or trash movies like "sakalakalavallavan" or "murattukaaLai".
What irks me most is the double standards adopted by our noted film critics like madhan etc who soft pedal when reviewing films from top brass guys like Rajni or MR or Vijay or Shankar . Infact these established bigwigs should be hauled up and severely criticized for failing to raise our Tamil Film standards to higher, loftier planes of Artistry when they have ample money and resources at their disposal . Shame on Shankar and Rajni for squandering another golden opportunity

4th July 2007, 10:25 PM
thumburu - you hit the nail on the head - time and again, I have been telling my friends and foes alike, as to how someone like Rajini, instead of raising the standards of Tamil Cinema, is actually helping it stagnate! he knows that whatever he does, people are gonna watch it - so why the heck does not he at least ask some good screenwriters to come up with something that is creative and artistically elevating ? the reason is very simple: greed, lazyness and most importantly, an absolute lack of passion for cinema.

Kamal may be wrong on a few counts/fronts, but his passion for cinema is reflected in his quest to break artistic barriers - IMHO, IR did the right thing by not collaborating with RK any longer

raja_fan
4th July 2007, 10:48 PM
Guys,

I don't know why you take RK and Shankar so seriously and "expect" from them ? :)

A performer in Rajni has long back died. There was a performer in him when he did Gayathri, Mullum malarum, Padikkaadhavan even till Dharma dhurai. After that he became a komaali. He made himself a komali.
Even today, I am not able to digest how people could enjoy craps like Veera and Muthu :)

Shankar..., he is just giving what he has decided as his style. One social issue, one village connection some where, high tech and colourful visualization and songs which will have no situational need.. just dreams and fun :)

raaja_rasigan
5th July 2007, 10:00 AM
Guys,

I don't know why you take RK and Shankar so seriously and "expect" from them ? :)

A performer in Rajni has long back died. There was a performer in him when he did Gayathri, Mullum malarum, Padikkaadhavan even till Dharma dhurai. After that he became a komaali. He made himself a komali.
Even today, I am not able to digest how people could enjoy craps like Veera and Muthu :)

Shankar..., he is just giving what he has decided as his style. One social issue, one village connection some where, high tech and colourful visualization and songs which will have no situational need.. just dreams and fun :)
8-)

how this post is not yet deleted

If this is posted in sivaji thread, immediately it will be deleted

5th July 2007, 08:10 PM
Guys,

A performer in Rajni has long back died.

how this post is not yet deleted

If this is posted in sivaji thread, immediately it will be deleted

Nothing wrong. Exact word from Madan in Vijay TV in Madan's Thiraiparvai. I am really curious to see Mandan's review. If its not for Shankar and RK, he would give 2 for this movie, but I am hoping he will give 3 considering RK and Shankar and not more than 3, since its really not worth getting 4.

raja_fan
6th July 2007, 08:30 AM
Balki's interview.

http://www.naachgaana.com/2007/06/07/sandys-interview-with-r-balki/

Says the cutting of the sound tracks in the movie was pre-planned. Also the interviewer seems to be upset about this.

And "Pa" will go on floors next year only ! Six or eight months to wait :(

NormalMan
7th July 2007, 01:56 AM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-01/06-07-07-kamal.html

rooky
9th July 2007, 07:16 PM
Get ready for IRs' next release

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/malayalam/article/32247.html

10th July 2007, 12:03 PM
A complete Classical Based album after a long time! Eagerly awaiting the release :)

raja_fan
10th July 2007, 01:05 PM
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/n/i/malayalam/2367/

Kamal evlo padam plan panraaru ? :confused2:

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/n/i/malayalam/2366/

Four films in Mallu by IR ? Suryan, Pazhassi Raja, SMS and ?

10th July 2007, 02:07 PM
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/n/i/malayalam/2367/

Kamal evlo padam plan panraaru ? :confused2:

Kamal plan pannala.. He is "living" Dasavatharam for now... Its the media which is speculating... :)

rooky
10th July 2007, 02:51 PM
Cheenikum still in Top3 :)

http://content.msn.co.in/Entertainment/Bollywood/BollywoodIANS_090707_0908.htm

11th July 2007, 11:19 AM
'Jhoom' takes over 'Cheeni Kum' on the charts

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/n/i/top_stories/2298/

11th July 2007, 05:13 PM
Cheeni Kum BGM has the bhajan, "Vaishnava Janato" with the Pallavi and the first charanam beautifully rendered by a male and female (Shreya and Vijay Prakash?) Does anyone have it ripped as an MP3 file? Wish they had included it in the CD. In any case the duration of most songs in the film was the same as this track. :(

crvenky
14th July 2007, 11:15 AM
SVN, The song you wanted:

Vaishnava Janato from Cheeni Kum:
http://rapidshare.com/files/42806835/Vaishnava_janatho.mp3.html

15th July 2007, 06:17 PM
Hi Venky,
Many thanks.
I am unable to download from the Rapidshare site. Any other option?

16th July 2007, 05:44 AM
The comments of a young Hindi composer...

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?NewsID=1109721

17th July 2007, 01:32 AM
"vaishnava" from CK - isnt the tune the original tune of "vaishnava" ?

18th July 2007, 04:40 PM
Fazil is going to direct a Tamil film with Prithiviraj...

We can expect another IR-Fazil album soon....

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32426.html

18th July 2007, 05:43 PM
Pazhassi Raja will hit on Christmas

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/palasiraja_070718.html

18th July 2007, 07:04 PM
Raja_fan: Naan, enna pathi sonnen sir, about that Bangalore. Neengalum namma oor dhaana?

If I had got the CD, I could have ripped the tracks and posted online. However, I did a search and there are at least 2 torrent sites where Suryan mp3s are available. The usual caveat - download mp3s, but also buy original tapes/ CDs stays.

http://indianmp3.org/
and
http://www.keralam360.com/

I believe both require a simple registration-login process t get onto the forums where mp3s are posted. I'm not sure how strong the seed/leech ratio or the audio quality is, though.

Strangely, my search also threw up a Rediff page that hosts malayalam ringtones and Suryan songs are already listed! Check out this page, ring tone numbers - 44810 - 44815!

http://sms.rediff.com/cgi-bin/web/ringdisp.pl?sv=1&alpha=&category=64/72&ctr=16&pg=2&start=0&end=4

raja_fan
18th July 2007, 08:08 PM
Thanks inetk !

Fazil is going to direct a Tamil film with Prithiviraj...
We can expect another IR-Fazil album soon....

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32426.html

Producer is Priyadarshan ? Good, he also has a good music taste !
But atleast this time Fazil should relax and come up with a fresh theme unlike ONOK in which he tried to repeat a KM..

19th July 2007, 12:26 AM
Fazil shouldn't do any Thamizh original. He should do remake of a successful (& youthful) Malayalam movie, which he is typically good at.

Both his original Thamizh ventures (kannukkuL nilavu & ONOK) bombed while his remakes have been mostly very successful. He is one of the very few who can make correct chemical changes to a Malayalam hit to work for Thamizh audience with minimum distortion. poovE poochchooda vA is an excellent example while others like varusham 16 & KM were tolerable...
(A typical example of murdering a decent Malayalam movie when remade into Thamizh is TK to muthu)...

ganspb
19th July 2007, 03:26 AM
What about CM? Another Murderous attempt.
Except it was hillarious when watched in LolluSabha.

raja_fan
19th July 2007, 07:57 AM
When I watched Manichithrathaazh, years before the release of CM, I wondered why Fazil was not remaking it in Tamil yet..

Then PV did all that and remade that classic thriller in to a cheap comedy in tamil :)

19th July 2007, 10:09 AM
that cheap comedy went on to break box-office records in TN!! namma makkalodu rasanaiya enga poi solla ?!

NagaS
19th July 2007, 12:45 PM
[tscii:f343aa025a]‘எனையென்ன செய்தாய் வேய்ங் குழலே?” பாடலை ஓடவிட்டேன். துளி கணம்தான். கண்களை −றுக்கமூடிக் விரல்களால் நெற்றியில் தாளமிட்டுக்
கொண்டே உள்ளே விழுந்துவிட்டார். பாடல் முடியும்போது −மை திறந்து வெளியேறினார்!

“அவன் −ருக்கான் பாரு...! கிராதகன்! என்னமா பண்ணியிருக்கான்! −து அவ னால மட்டுமே முடியும்!” என்று என் −சையராஜாவைச் சிலாகித்தார்.

(From R Parthiban's Article On Subbudu - http://www.kalkiweekly.com/thisweekissue/page4.asp)[/tscii:f343aa025a]

19th July 2007, 04:42 PM
I guess the only man who got appreciation from Subbudu was Ilaiyaraja.

buggle
19th July 2007, 10:33 PM
Saw a news article in today's Tamil Murasu (dinakaran evening edition) - IR scoring music for next Velu Prabhakaran film titled Manaiviku Nadantha Thirumanam.
Article also say his previous movie Kadhal Arangam still not released due to censor.
Not sure why IR continue to work with Velu Prabhakaran..
Having said that can we do a real quick count of movies supposed to be released with IR music(in tamil)..

Naan Kadavul - (shooting in progress)
Dhanam - (shooting in progress)
P.Vasu movie with Kamal in lead - (still not titled)
Rajkiran movie - (still not titled)
Fazil movie with Prithviraj in lead - (still not titled)
Velu Prabhakaran movie - Manaiviku Nadantha Thirumanam

Any more i missed?? feel free to correct me..
Also Fazil supposed to start a movie with Madhavan in lead, not sure what happened to that...

19th July 2007, 11:10 PM
IR scoring music for next Velu Prabhakaran film titled Manaiviku Nadantha Thirumanam.

20th July 2007, 01:35 AM
indha Velu P yedhaavadhu IRukku sokkuppodi potturikkaaro ?? his use of a HTNI piece for his KAADHAL ARANGAM trailer itself was/is highly objectionable - donno how and why IR continues to work with him

raaja_rasigan
20th July 2007, 10:07 AM
indha Velu P yedhaavadhu IRukku sokkuppodi potturikkaaro ?? his use of a HTNI piece for his KAADHAL ARANGAM trailer itself was/is highly objectionable - donno how and why IR continues to work with him

what does it means :?:

20th July 2007, 10:38 AM
raaja_rasigan,

VP has used one of the pieces from How To Name It in the trailer...

rooky
20th July 2007, 11:25 PM
One more movie by IR,that too in rerecording stage now :).

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/kannada/article/32449.html

K
22nd July 2007, 10:17 PM
THE MUSIC MESSAIAH mp3 available in cooltoad tamil instrumental section

23rd July 2007, 08:13 AM
K - on initial hearing, so much of synth use is irritating, plus even the use of the synth is so naive and early 1980s style! IR - please no synth and pls give us a full-fledged classical guitar album pls

24th July 2007, 08:58 PM
Guys, I found a rare gem from IR on the web! the song's highpoint is the prelude, the first interlude and the latter portion of the second interlude, the overall tune and the bass line, how I miss that IR! absolutely fabulous! the first interlude is the icing on this song cake!

http://musicmazaa.com/telugu/audiosongs/movie/Keechu+Raallu.html

listen to the song "mogali poove" - thats the one am talking about!

24th July 2007, 09:00 PM
also the taalam for this song is vintage IR - can anyone confirm if it is the unusual stuff IR emplyoyed in songs like "meendum meendum vaa" (from "Vikram")

25th July 2007, 12:23 PM
IR in small screen composing music for Nam Kudumbam

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32557.html

raja_fan
25th July 2007, 12:28 PM
Sun TV has roped in ARR for Music Band contest, giving him the right kind of honour !

While Kalaignar TV has roped in IR for some thing that degrades his image !

Enna kodumai sir idhu :(

Kavignar Abdul Rahman solvadhu pol "Ammi kottha sirpi edharkku ??"

25th July 2007, 08:18 PM
http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=713a5a78-9db4-492c-a9f6-931f5e4e5303&&Headline=Ram+Gopal+Varma+EMke%2fEM+dragons

Read what he says about his influence.

raja_fan
25th July 2007, 08:54 PM
Also read what he says about ARR and also what the site has highlighted in blue on the right :)

25th July 2007, 09:33 PM
Sun TV has roped in ARR for Music Band contest, giving him the right kind of honour !

While Kalaignar TV has roped in IR for some thing that degrades his image !

Enna kodumai sir idhu :(

Kavignar Abdul Rahman solvadhu pol "Ammi kottha sirpi edharkku ??"

Ilaiyaraajave ithukku bathil solli irukaar oru interview'la "Ammi kottha theriyathavan sirpiya irukka mudiyathu"nnu :wink:

raja_fan
25th July 2007, 09:56 PM
Rajasaranam,

Avare thaan sonnaar "Naan full meals poda thayaaraaga irukkiren, idhu varai pottadhu appalamum oorugaayum thaan" endru.
Ippozhudhu avar kodukka iruppadhu adhai vida kevalam..oru tumbler thanneer..
nalla munnetram :wink:

25th July 2007, 11:01 PM
guys don't think this is degradation to IR. Just he is doing music for a TV programme. thats all

Renault
26th July 2007, 12:05 AM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-04/25-07-07-rajini.html

Watch out for IR-Rajini combo back if Panchu succeeds in getting Rajini's nod.

But if 6-7 producers are involved.. then this could only be a distant reality.

raja_fan
26th July 2007, 07:16 AM
Ranault,

This news is old..

KB and RMV are in the list of producers. Panchu is a poor and humble guy. He will not be able to stress his choice here :)

So I don't think it will come out as a IR-RK combo.

rajarahmanfan
26th July 2007, 06:32 PM
hi .. new to the hub..
digression:
Have anybody listened to poonjolai (gangai amaran : dir , md : raja) ? there was this song "ganakuyile" which was repeated 3 times in the cassette. Whenever I hear a raja version of any song for that matter, it is easy to conclude that there is something special. Guess he must have liked the tune so much that there are 3 versions : SPB, raja, Unnikrishnan. When I heard that, i thought it will be a sure fire hit. but i guess the movie never released. (wondering how many songs we have missed because of a movie never getting released).

K
26th July 2007, 10:04 PM
yes I got the cassette released by pyramid audio, excellent song the movie had VenkatPrabu and Rasika(sangeetha) in lead, MDs were Raja and Gangaiamaran, only Spb version of the song was available in cooltoad

26th July 2007, 11:19 PM
hi - can you send me the cooltoad link for THAT song? thx

NormalMan
26th July 2007, 11:24 PM
yes I got the cassette released by pyramid audio, excellent song the movie had VenkatPrabu and Rasika(sangeetha) in lead, MDs were Raja and Gangaiamaran, only Spb version of the song was available in cooltoad

Though its like 10 years since I last heard it, I still remember that song !! Also there was one another nice song in the album .... "un peyarai kettale ..."

26th July 2007, 11:38 PM
guys, yaarukavathu Kadhal Jaathi pattu gnabagam irukka

Kathae en kathae - what a lovely song

rajarahmanfan
27th July 2007, 01:16 AM
i saw the review for this album in IR albums review page . I have not heard about this album. where can i listen to it on the internet?

raja_fan
27th July 2007, 10:18 AM
BR's next film with director Amir as hero is titled "Yogi" and the shooting is to start shortly. ( Source : JV )

27th July 2007, 11:14 AM
Kathal Jaathi, Poonjolai - all movies did not hit the silver screen.

Moreover there are so many songs did not picturised at all
1) Putham puthu kaalai (Alaigal Ooyvathillai)
2) Sollividu velli nilavae (Amaithipadai)
3) Vennilavin perai (Ramana)
4) Azakadalil thediya muthu (Sattam en kaiyil)
5) Malarkalae Nathaswarangal (Kizhakae pogum rail)

continue guys if you have data

raja_fan
27th July 2007, 11:22 AM
6. "Devanin Koil..." from Aruvadai Naal. One of the forgotten best classics of Raja !

Btw.., this is "IR's new Albums" thread.
If people are interested , we can open another thread for discussing further on this.

27th July 2007, 11:25 AM
yes i feel the same :)

rajarahmanfan
27th July 2007, 06:27 PM
"If people are interested , we can open another thread for discussing further on this."

i am in!

27th July 2007, 07:58 PM
Inimae Naangathan audio is releasing tomorrow :bluejump:

DeepTrance
27th July 2007, 09:39 PM
Can't see the other thread yet.

Was the song "Puththam pudhu poo pooththadho" in Dhalapathy ever picturised?

6. "Devanin Koil..." from Aruvadai Naal. One of the forgotten best classics of Raja !

Btw.., this is "IR's new Albums" thread.
If people are interested , we can open another thread for discussing further on this.

K
27th July 2007, 10:12 PM
Singer MAHATHY got her first song in KaadhalJaathi "Enna Maranthalum"

raja_fan
27th July 2007, 10:35 PM
Can't see the other thread yet.

Was the song "Puththam pudhu poo pooththadho" in Dhalapathy ever picturised?

I have just now created a new thread "IR's unreleased films and unpicturized songs".

DeepTrance, I have answered you there.

Sanjeevi, Rajarahmanfan, K and others, please join me there :)

vem
28th July 2007, 09:14 PM
IR, Kamal, KB and a few other big shots in Bommalattam audio release function
http://www.behindwoods.com/image-gallery-stills/photos-3/bommalattam/bommalattam-01.html

Is IR the music director for the movie ?

raaja_rasigan
28th July 2007, 09:42 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/image-gallery-stills/photos-3/bommalattam/bommalattam-04.html

raja_fan
28th July 2007, 10:41 PM
Hmm..IR and BR have again come so close that IR is attending audio launch of a album not done by himself or his sons.

Also he seems to share some lighter moments with KB at his side. Ellaam nallapadiyaa nandandhaa sari thaan :)

http://www.behindwoods.com/image-gallery-stills/photos-3/bommalattam/bommalattam-20.html

raja_fan
28th July 2007, 10:52 PM
http://bollywoodpoint.com/Bollywood/Bollywood-News/Balki-says-I-haven%92t-roped-in-Kamal.html

Balki says "I have not approached Kamal"

29th July 2007, 01:02 PM
Oh God!
IR+KB+BR :)

K
29th July 2007, 09:42 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/specials/bharathiraja_070729.html

raja_fan
30th July 2007, 11:31 AM
So nobody talked about music in that function !

Natpai patri pesaraanga. Kandanam therivikkiraanga..aaga mottham function-ukku sambandhamillaamal pesaraanga. Arasiyal vaadhigalukkum ivargalukkum romba vithiyaasam illai :)

30th July 2007, 03:26 PM
http://sify.com/movies/malayalam/review.php?id=14501785&ctid=5&cid=2428

torture

raja_fan
30th July 2007, 05:51 PM
"Ilayaraja must have lent his name as the composer, as there is not even one hummable number in the film. "

Idhellaam romba over !

This itself shows the review is biased ! Sify follows Rediff..,it seems.

smith1
31st July 2007, 09:45 PM
[tscii:341fabb7c5]I read this news in the net :

"Ilayaraja’s claim of having composed symphony for the London Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in 1993 was false and a senior western classical music teacher Mr.R.Venketesan had established it with evidences including a reply from London Royal London Philharmonic Orchestra."

Is it true?

Can anybody throw light on this?[/tscii:341fabb7c5]

1st August 2007, 01:17 AM
smith1 - the site which gave that info is a junk pro-Christian site, which is hellbent on denigrating anything that is not pro-christian! ignore it

dakaltiz
1st August 2007, 01:28 AM
smith...

you may want to check this....
http://webhome.idirect.com/~rlevy/current_question.html

also ...can u let us know the link from where u got that info?

smith1
1st August 2007, 05:20 PM
as U said, I read it in a christian site. Don't remember the link though.

But in that case, why has it been released as yet?

Any specific reason?

smith1
1st August 2007, 05:23 PM
Got it.

http://www.ephesians-511.net/thiruvasagam.html

1st August 2007, 05:58 PM
IR's new Album for 'Uliyin Osai' ... it is based on the novel in the same name written by Kalaignar....

IR composed 7 songs at a single stretch spanning only 27 hours... :D :o

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/aug-07-01/01-08-07-uliyin-osai.html

1st August 2007, 07:09 PM
IR's new Album for 'Uliyin Osai' ... it is based on the novel in the same name written by Kalaignar....

IR composed 7 songs at a single stretch spanning only 27 hours... :D :o

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/aug-07-01/01-08-07-uliyin-osai.html

another wasted attempt and BTW the news seems hyped up!!! Raaja doesn't work in nights is what i've heard - he is there in recording studio from 6am till 9 pm after which he promptly goes home and takes rest.
and reading the article and knowing that its 'ilavenil' who is going to direct the film its highly doubtful that the movie will see the limelight

Kupps
1st August 2007, 08:11 PM
[tscii:6d1cfdaa34]
another wasted attempt and BTW the news seems hyped up

IR said engitta vandha eththanayO kuppaigaLukku isai amaithirukkirEn -- hmm....seems nowadays IR has to say ipallaam kuppaigaLukku mattumE isai amaikkirEn, adhuvum pala nErangaLLa kuppayaagavE isai amaikkirEn. The only fortunate thing is his non-thamizh albums are at the least listenable, even if some are rehash (because of new orchestration). :(

I read this news in the net :

"Ilayaraja’s claim of having composed symphony for the London Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in 1993 was false and a senior western classical music teacher Mr.R.Venketesan had established it with evidences including a reply from London Royal London Philharmonic Orchestra."

Is it true?

Can anybody throw light on this?

hmm...interesting. let me get a website and write that IR never did music for annakkiLi and Madurai koolavaNigar seethalai saaththanaar has proved so.
[/tscii:6d1cfdaa34]

raja_fan
1st August 2007, 08:49 PM
Historical subject, Raja Raja cholan, sculptures etc evoke interest..Rerecording will be the best.

But who is this Ilavenil ?

"7 songs in 27 hours.."

Indha maadhiri pala dhadavai kettu kettu pulichu pochu..

1st August 2007, 09:09 PM
Historical subject, Raja Raja cholan, sculptures etc evoke interest..Rerecording will be the best.

But who is this Ilavenil ?

"7 songs in 27 hours.."

Indha maadhiri pala dhadavai kettu kettu pulichu pochu..

Ilavenil is a dravidian-communist thinker-philosopher-writer. His writings are very powerful and evoke the reader with thinking and energy to get into action for the change of society. Nevertheless most of the progressive literatures from dravidian think-tank or communist think-tank are like this only! and 'Ilavenil' is one of this kind.
Leaving apart his political and ideological leanings my grouse over him directing is none of writers/thinkers have succeded in making movies wherein the entire thought process has to be shifted from words to visuals. most of them have failed including Jayakanthan!
moreover the amount of money to be poured in for such historical ventures should be very huge and i doubt over these over enthusiastic producers :(
there are a couple of projects where Raaja has already scored for 'uppuma' companies and the songs are lying somewhere in the recording theaters. the list i had been following recent years are
'Atrai thingal annilavil' 'maanidan' 'saaral' 'Kalaignar' .... and it may become endless if i think hard. Iam sure there are couple of good numbers in those movies given the themes of those movies announced at the time of pooja, which were very different. its high time raaja should rethink about the offers he is getting nowadays.

1st August 2007, 10:16 PM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=352892&disdate=8/1/2007

கஷ்ட காலம்...சோளப்பொரி மட்டும் தான் இந்த யானைக்கு இப்போது...

2nd August 2007, 11:03 AM
yesterday i checked "Inimae Naangathan" CD in Spenzer Plaza. But it was not available there. But nearly 5 days completed after the audio release paper advt showed "From today....". பிறகு எதுக்கு பேப்பர் விளம்பரம் கொடுக்குறாங்க. :banghead:

IR-kunu vanthu vaikkurannunga

kameshratnam
2nd August 2007, 12:12 PM
this is very bad and every time it happens to IR albums..this happened with cheeni kum and now with inime naangathan

raja_fan
2nd August 2007, 03:05 PM
Audio companies are not respecting IR. This can be due to IR's lack of knowledge of present trends ( marketing trends, not music ).

All his albums go to some unpopular companies like AGI Music, Welgate etc. who don't have the capacity or aggressiveness to market the products.

On the other hand, take ARR. Some how he gets in to deals with good companies..

kameshratnam
2nd August 2007, 07:44 PM
Even some of his fans who are fanatics always want us to buy orignals only. But no one is getting the message to IR that this music for a lot of films is not available at all. Its only there in mp3 format.

Some PR guy has to come in and do the job for IR else lot of his work will go unrecognised.

Even agi can have a stall and make a sale inside MW or landmark in chennai. Unfortunately i have been telling these ideas and its falling on deaf ears

vem
4th August 2007, 10:14 PM
IR signed for a English movie

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/aug-07-01/04-08-07-ilayaraja.html

sgmsin
6th August 2007, 02:28 PM
Source: Thatstamil.com

'குற்றப் பரம்பரை'க்குத் தயாராகும் 'ராஜா'க்கள்!

தமிழ் சினிமாவின் பிதாமகன்களான இளையராஜாவும் பாரதிராஜாவும் ஒரு நீண்ட இடைவெளிக்குப் பிறகு மீண்டும் இணைகிறார்கள், 'குற்றப் பரம்பரை'க்காக.

பாரதியும் ராஜாவும் பெயரைப் போலவே, நகமும் சதையுமாய், கதையும் இசையுமாய் தமிழ்த் திரையுலகில் வெற்றிக் கொடி நாட்டியவர்கள். எழுபதுகளின் மத்தியில் தங்கள் திரைப் பயணத்தைத் துவங்கிய இந்த ராஜாக்கள், 24 ஆண்டுகள் தமிழ் ரசிகர்களின் இதயங்களில் சிம்மாசனம் போட்டு தனி ராஜாங்கமே நடத்தினர்.

14 வயதினிலே படம் முதல் பல படங்களில் இருவரும் இணைந்து மயக்கினர்.

'வேதம் புதிது' படம் இந்த இமயங்களின் பாதை புதிது என்று காட்டியது. இருவரும் பிரிய ஒரு காரணமாயும் அமைந்தது.

அதைத் தொடர்ந்து மூன்று படங்களில் வெளி இசையமைப்பாளர்களுடன் பணியாற்றிய பாரதியால், ராஜாவின் இடத்தை நிரப்பவே முடியவில்லை. இதையடுத்து 'என் உயிர்த் தோழ'னில், தன்னுயிர் தோழனோடு மீண்டும் இணைந்தார் பாரதி.

தொடர்ந்து 'புது நெல்லு புது நாத்து', 'நாடோடி தென்றல்' என தொடர்ந்தவர்கள், ஒரு கட்டத்தில் மீண்டும் பிரிந்தார்கள். தமிழ் சினிமாவில் அப்போதுதான் வீசத் தொடங்கியிருந்த புதிய புயல் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மானுடன் பாரதி கை குலுக்க, ராஜா மட்டும் தன் வழக்கமான ராஜபாட்டையில் இசைப் பயணத்தைத் தொடர்ந்தார்.

ஆனால் இருவராலுமே மீண்டும் அந்த பழைய 'மாஜிக்'கை நிகழ்த்த முடியாமல் போனது தமிழ் ரசிகர்களின் துரதிருஷ்டம்!

'இந்த இரு சிகரங்களும் இனி இணையவே மாட்டாகளோ...' என ரசிகர்கள் ஏங்கிக் கொண்டிருந்த நேரத்தில்தான், பாரதி தானாகவே முன்வந்து, 'ராஜாவின் இசையின்றி தன் படங்கள் முழுமை பெறாது' என்பதை பகிரங்கமாய் அறிவித்தார். அதுவும் இன்னொருவர் (ஹிமேஷ் ரேஷம்மையா ) இசையமைத்த தனது 'பொம்மலாட்டம்' பட பாடல் வெளியீட்டு விழாவில்.

இந்த விழாவில் இளையராஜாவும், தனது நட்பு குறித்து உருகினார். இப்படி இவர் பேசியதே இல்லை என்று கூட கலந்து கொண்ட கலைஞானி கமல்ஹாசனே வியப்பாக கூறும் அளவுக்கு இளையராஜாவின் பேச்சு இருந்தது.

இந் நிலையில் இரு ராஜாக்களும் மீண்டும் இணைகின்றனர். தமிழ் சினிமாவுக்கு புதிய ராஜகோபுரம் கட்டப்படவுள்ளது. பாரதிராஜாவின் கனவுப் படமான 'குற்றப் பரம்பரை'க்கு இசையமைக்க இளையராஜா ஒப்புக் கொண்டுள்ளார்.

வெள்ளையர் ஆட்சிக் காலத்தில் மதுரை மற்றும் தேனி மாவட்டங்களில் வாழ்ந்த பிரமலைக் கள்ளர் இன மக்கள் பிறப்பாலேயே குற்றவாளிகளாகக் கருதப்பட்டனர். இம்மக்களின் கைரேகைகளைப் பதிந்து கொண்ட போலீசார், தினசரி மாலையானதும் ஆண்களை மட்டும் ஒட்டுமொத்தமாக அள்ளிக் கொண்டு போய் விடுவார்களாம். காரணம் இரவுகளில் திருடுவது இவர்களில் சிலருக்கு தொழிலாக இருந்ததால்.

இந்த நிலையிலிருந்து பிரமலைக் கள்ளர் இனம் எப்படி மீண்டது என்பதை மதுரை மண்ணின் ஈரமும் வீரமும் மணக்க மணக்கச் சொல்லும் படம்தான் 'குற்றப் பரம்பரை'.

இது குறித்து 'தட்ஸ்தமிழ்' செய்தியாளரிடம் பேசிய பாரதிராஜா,

"இந்தப் படத்தை எனது 30 ஆண்டு கால திரையுலகப் பயணத்தில் மற்றுமொரு புதிய பரிமாணமாகப் பார்க்கிறேன். தமிழக வரலாற்றில் ஒரு முக்கியப் பதிவாக இந்தப் படம் அமையும். இளையராஜா மட்டுமல்ல, இன்னும் சில இனிய ஆச்சர்யங்களும் படத்தில் உண்டு" என்றார்.

அது என்ன ஆச்சரியம் என்று வியந்து போய் நாம் புலனாய்ந்து பார்த்தபோது, பாரதிராஜாவையும் இளையராஜாவையும் பெரிதும் நேசிக்கும் இயக்குநர்கள் சேரன், அமீர் இருவருமே இப்படத்தில் முக்கியப் பாத்திரங்களில் நடிக்கிறார்கள் என்று தெரிய வந்தது.

இதில் கமல்ஹாசனும் இருக்கிறார் என்பது இன்னொரு ஆச்சர்யம். மன மாச்சரியங்கள் மாய்ந்து போகும்போது ஆச்சரியங்களுக்கு வாய்ப்புகள் அதிகம்தான்.

இரு ராஜாக்களும் இணைந்து படைக்கப் போகும் இந்த குற்றப் பரம்பரை, இன்னும் பல பரம்பரைகளுக்கு மறக்க முடியாத வரலாற்றுப் பெட்டகமாக இருக்கப் போவது நிச்சயம்.

raja_fan
6th August 2007, 04:59 PM
Confusion here !

Is this the movie in which Amir is going to be the hero ?
But BR told the story is by Amir..?

Are there two movies by BR with Amir as hero ?

6th August 2007, 06:09 PM
Confusion here !

Is this the movie in which Amir is going to be the hero ?
But BR told the story is by Amir..?

Are there two movies by BR with Amir as hero ?

I think,

1. Kuttra Parambarai is BR's script having Cheran & Amir, even KH(not sure)

2. Another script by Amir but direction will be by BR.. same combo.. Cheran, Amir & BR

These two have musical scores by IR....

Apart from this, a separate movie 'Yogi' having Amir in the lead by bhupathi pandiyan.. not sure abt the MD..

raja_fan
6th August 2007, 08:28 PM
rajarasigan,

Confused again :)
I read in JV that Yogi with Amir as hero is directed by BR..