View Full Version : Kamal-Ilayaraaja-Singeetham Rao-MUMBAI EXPRESS

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

26th December 2004, 09:00 AM
Topic started by gfn (@ 210.210.33.45) on Mon Nov 8 23:27:27 EST 2004.

Kamal’s new film announced!

By Moviebuzz
Monday, 08 November , 2004, 09:37

Kamal Haasan celebrated his birthday with a lot of fanfare and announced the launch of his new film. He started his day by lighting a lamp in front of his parents' photograph, in his office.
Kamal announced that his home production Raj Kamal’s next film will be Mumbai Express in Tamil and Hindi. Singeetam Srinivasa Rao will direct the film and the cast will also have Nassar, Pasupathi and Vayyapuri. The Hindi version will have Mahesh Manjrekar, Om Puri and Shourab Shukla. Music will be composed by Ilaiyaraaja.

Says Kamal: “It will be launched in ten days time and will be released in April next year (probably will clash with Chandramukhi?). It will be a hilarious film and my character's name is Avinasi, a real funny man. As this film is a breezy comedy with sentiment and action I think it is in the safe hands of Singeetam Srinivasa Rao, who has done some great rib ticklers with me".

The search for the heroine is continuing as Kamal is trying to get the dates of a busy Mumbai heroine. If the English title will cause resentment among Tamil politicians who are against English titles Kamal commented: “Some English words have become colloquial and part of our daily sayings”.

Kamal Haasan distributed the prizes to the winners of Annai Rajalakshmi Memorial elocution contest for college students. Apart from this, he also handed nearly Rs. 1.25 lakhs to various other organisations and individuals who have done social service.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13606512

100% this will be biggg hit......from name itself we can guess

Vandhuttangayyaaaaaa vandhuttangayya

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html (http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html

Wonder, how did "M.B.B.S" in Vasool Raja...escaped??

Vandhuttangayyaaaaaa vandhuttangayya

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html (http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11345.html

Wonder, how did "M.B.B.S" in Vasool Raja...escaped??

How much Kamal pay these guys for making noise? See, these days people are under the impression creating furore is better than putting good that effort in making a good movie. Culture- a maathiteegnaley. Velaya parunga pasungala. stop the noise, i say. switch off the fan hey you. laaaats of noise.

If kamal & Ilaiyaraaja are working on a hindi bilingual could this mean we will hear SPB Bala render songs for Kamal?? and if that is the case then this could mean SPB Bala Sirs come back to hindi Cinema.......EXCELLENT.

But the other option could be that..Kamal insists on singing all his songs in both tamil and hindi..meaning we end up with a really crappy music albumn......What do u think guys?

it is absolutely true. kamal songs has lost all its sheen and he is singularly responsible. only spb can do justice to kamal and only songs sung by spb for kamal will stay in history.

http://autofeed.msn.co.in/pandorav3/output/Cinema/081d9b81-24fb-442c-afc7-d2c015c83ecb.aspx (http://autofeed.msn.co.in/pandorav3/output/Cinema/081d9b81-24fb-442c-afc7-d2c015c83ecb.aspx

Kamal finally finds his heroine
After a long search, Kamal Haasan has finally zeroed in on the 'heroine of his dreams' - KAJOL !

Sorry i think the heroine is Manisha and not Kajol

Yesterday TOI Bangalore said it is Manisha
Todays Dinamani says it is kajol.

No clue who?

Dear friends,

Its Manisha only

Kamal Hassan's Mumbai Express

[Pic : hindu.com]

After the comical Vasool Raja MBBS, it's Kamal's turn to care for a movie for himself. And this formula of one-mass-movie-one-class-movie has been continuing for some time now[except for Panchathanthiram following PKS]. Expectedly, Kamal Hassan pens the story/screenplay and packs bag to board Mumbai Express.

Mumbai express is said to be a family entertainer and will be directed by the veteran Singeetham Sreeenivasa Rao. As remarked by Kamal himself Singeetham and Kamal Hassan, though generations apart by age, have a great chemistry between them that makes this duo an interesting combo. As Kamal is tight-lipped about the story line, it makes me speculate that the movie could be of the genre of Anbe Sivam where the classy theme was mixed in propotion with the comedy.

When the bi-lingual Mumbai Express was announced publicly on his birthday, there weren't many details to decipher the feel of the movie. Now with Kamal Hassan engaging Manisha Koirala on the lead role and having illayaraja to tune it's getting a lot clearer. The tamil train will include Nasser, Ramesh Aravind and Pasupathi while the Hindi express will have Om Puri and Mahesh Manjirekar.

Here's the link to Hindu's article on this. BTW, who comes to your mind after you see this new makeover of Kamal Hassan ? It reminds me of Bally Sagoo.

http://www.lazygeek.net/ (http://www.lazygeek.net/

http://www.hindu.com/lf/2004/11/22/stories/2004112210140200.htm

Ramesh Aravind to do a guest role in Kamal’s film!

By Moviebuzz
Monday, 22 November , 2004, 11:09

The gentleman actor of Kannada film, Ramesh Aravind has agreed to play a guest role in Kamal Hasan’s new film ‘Mumbai Express’. This comedy film will be directed by Singeetham Srinivasa Rao and is a bilingual in Hindi and Tamil.
Music maestro Ialayaraja scores the music and Siddarth is the cameraman. Ramesh Aravind dons a different look for the film with an additional clip to his teeth and thick spectacles.

Ramesh and Kamal were together in ‘Sathi Leelavathi’ and ‘Panchatantram’. And recently for Diwali, Ramesh interviewed Kamal for Jaya TV a leading Tamil satellite channel

Is it true IR recorded music for Mumbai Express in US?

trailer! or is it more of a teaser?
http://www.kumudam.com/lightsonline/traliers/trailermain.php

Good and funny trailer :-)
BTW audio blurred when manisha was introducing herself. Her name is Arya or aaya?????

I heard Ahalya.

I too agree that the music was a bit too loud.

Mumbai Express photo gallery:

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/moviegallery/7354.html (http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/moviegallery/7354.html

Dear Kamal Fans,
Please follow the link to learn more about kamal's next directorial venture..

http://www.fff.se/katalog/katalogfilm_eng.asp?ID=355

"BTW audio blurred when manisha was introducing herself"...

besh.. besh!!! already people have started reviewing the music... konjam porungappa, padam release aagattum!!

Babu ,
Kamal has indeed bought rights for this film ....but this is not mumbai Express !!!

Cho,
Audio does not always mean music. Who was reviewing the music?

I am not able to place the actors playing the characters in the hindi/tamil versions.While Kamal&Manisha are the constants,Om puri is most likely to play Nasser's role.But who will play Pasupathi's,Kovai Sarala's,Hritik Deena's(Sarala's husband in the film),Vyapuri's&Ramesh Aravind's roles?We have only Mahesh Manjrekar,Vijai Raj&Sharat Saxena to choose from.Will Sarala do the role in Hindi too,very unlikely.Is Saurabh Shukla a part of both the versions or only Hindi?I don't think the casting has been completed&Kamal has done the photo session with the actors he had on hand.By the way can anybody give me gist of the trailor.

THIS WILL ANSWER UR QUESTION!

http://www.indiafm.com/scoop/04/nov/2511kamal/index.shtml (http://www.indiafm.com/scoop/04/nov/2511kamal/index.shtml

South superstar and talent-house Kamal Hassan will be back on the Bollywood screen next year. Hassan's last Hindi film was Abhay in 2001 after which he reigned high on the Southern arena with films like Anbe Sivam, Virumaandi and the recent Vasoolraja MBBS. Now he has teamed up with director Singeetham Srinivasa Rao (with whom he had earlier given entertainers like Pushpak and Appu Raja) and the duo are working together on the Hindi-Tamil bilingual titled Mumbai Xpress. Manisha Koirala is paired opposite Kamal Hassan in the film. (Earlier Hassan has Tabu in mind for the role). The film also stars Om Puri, Vijay Raaz, Dinesh Lamba and Kannada film star Ramesh Arvind. Bharat Shah is presenting the venture that has dialogues by Sourabh Shukla and music by Illayaraja.
Manisha Koirala The shooting for the film has already commenced from November 22 on different locations in Mumbai with a start-to-finish schedule. The film is slated for an April 2005 release.

cho,

I was referring to the audio quality of the file, they had uploaded onto Kumudham site. Music pathi naan edhuvum sollalai.

Cinefan,
Download the trailor from http://www.kumudam.com/lightsonline/traliers/clips/mumbai-exp.swf and open it in Internet Explorer, but keep the window small, don't maximize it

Why is Pasupathi missing from the trailer?

Thanks Paran&Kanna.BTW,what slang of tamil was Kamal using?

Mnt,
Even i was wondering about it.maybe he was busy shooting for some other film&was not able to give time for this trailor.

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2004/11/26/stories/2004112602030100.htm (http://www.hindu.com/fr/2004/11/26/stories/2004112602030100.htm

Kamal talks about ME

Cinefan. For a second I thought Kamal had talked to you :-)
And after looking at lazygeek's site, I was abt to post the same link ;-)

Mumbai express is a definite flop! Look at Kamal, everytime when he talks about success he relates only two films. One is Sakalakala vallavan and the other is Devar Magan ... which means that only these two films made a decent profit. And Rajkamal films has the record of giving good number of flops... i think this guy will go bankrupt in another 2 years .... mostly he will come to street when the ultimate Marudanayagam comes!

x,
yennapa pesaringe ninge....

i thot IR single handedly can decide whether a movie should be a hit or a flop...so in that case......it's up to IR rite?

You may be right Mr.paran, but even though IR comes with some magic numbers, Kamal is capable of scr**ing it!

yennapa pesaringe....
if IR can make Ramarajan's movie super hit...why can't he make Kamal's movie super hit!....

rendu kaaka, 1 yaanai, 1 naai kutti vachi padam yeduthaalam...athukku IR isai potta pothum..padam velli vizhathaan naan ninachikittu irunthatellam poiya??!?!!?!?

"No Rajkamal production is complete without Ilaiyaraja's compositions. Only once did we make an exception ... for `Nala Damayanti.'-Kamal.....aapdi podu aruvale....

X,
The list of hits from RajKamal are Sathya,ApoorvaSahodarargal,Kadamai Kanniyam Kattupadu,Thevar Magan,Magalir Mattum,Kuruthippunal,Chachi 420&Virumaandi.The flops would be RajaPaarvai(Excellent film),Vikram(disaster)&Hey Ram(again an excellent film).Nala Damayanthi like the film was average at the BO.So on what basis do you say that RajKamal has a record of giving flops?

Ferrari :),that's why 'ME'(Mumbai Express)was in capitals.

Cinefan,
Sariyana badhiladi to people who don't know the facts about the hits from Rajkamal

Chachi 420 was an utter flop and Kuruthipunal, inspite of being a good movie, just managed to escape from loss.

Ferrari, curses,

Audio pathi chumma thamashukku sonnenppa, thappa eduthukkadheenga!

kuruthippunal, hey ram were 2 great movies from kamal but they didn't run well... but all Kamal's comedy movies have run well so far (except kathala kathala).. and I am sure this will run quite well... btw, who is writing the dialogues? Is it crazy mohan? I hope it's either him or Mouli.

Kamal's writing it himself.

Kamal's slang is tirunelveli one. Majority of dharavi tamilians are from tirunelveli. And crazy is in u s for next three months. So kamal is writing dialogues. Rumour mill says he is acting as a deaf guy. Not sure though!

kamal dont make films flop and say fault on pirated CDs bcoz its absolutely zero so try to find a new reason for ur ongoin flop OK

kamal dont make films flop and say fault on pirated CDs bcoz its absolutely zero so try to find a new reason for ur ongoing flop OK

kamal dont make films flop and say fault on pirated CDs bcoz its absolutely zero so try to find a new reason for ur ongoin flop OK

FLOP MACHI FLOP

Ennakku theringu Kamal has never blamed pirated cd's for the failure of his films. he has always held that it is a technological advancement&the film industry should think in terms of making use of it for it's benefits instead of cribbing.I think some people here like 61.1.204.235&Guess me are making comments in spite&they should be ignored.

Mr. Cinefan, what made you think that my comments should be ignored? And if you want to do that, you ignore my comments and dont order the others.

Cinefan,

I was going to respond to some of these allegations. But, since you've ORDERED me to ignore them, I am refraining :-)

pazhasu kanna pazhasu.......(in response to mr.KAMAL HASSAN....)

X

ha ha ha..........what man u r finance analyst i think ...what are u actually ?? donno if u really are right but u r damn convincing ha ha ha........

X

ha ha ha..........what man u r finance analyst i think ...what are u actually ?? donno if u really are right but u r damn convincing ha ha ha........

MUMBAI XPRESS FLOP?? i think it will be average hit....but anyway kamal usually wont care for flops.....he just makes films for his satisfaction.....i think he only is correct..........he is a happy man come what may............

look at rajni ....getting confused how to manipulate ....junping to AR ..again jumping to some one and feeling restless....neither hit nor satisfaction.....

Kamal is the guy born for creative arts.........

films which made hell a lot of money for rajkaml were devar magan and aboorva sagodharargal only full stop.

films that didn't burn rajkamal fingers were magalir mattum, kadamai kanniyam kattupadu and nala damayanthi.

films that burnt kamal's fingers were raajapaarvai, virumandi, heyram (nightmare to kamal till date), kurudhipunal, vikram, chachi 420, michael madhana... (if i'm correct its a rajkamal prdn)

don't forget marudanayagam ... kamal has spent more than 10 crores for just 25 minutes of the film ... which will be a definite flop but will go to the oscars.

other average & flop films from kamal...guna, mahanadhi, viradham, kadhala kadhala, maharasan, singaravelan, anbe sivam, pammal k sambandham, panchathanthiram etc etc

if i am correct the recent hits (past 5 yrs) for kamal are thenali (100 days), avvai shanmughi (150 days) and Indian (125 days).

i assume ME will be a definite flop ... just because singeetham - kamal combo will simply suck without crazy.

Virumaandi was not a flop..

I remember reading a news in the Hindu sometime back in July that Autograph and Gilli were block-bursters of this year with Peralagana nd Virumaandi proving the other profitable films.. All others bombed.

Now I think M.Kumaran, 7GRC, Vasool Raja will join this league as the profitable movies this year.

X wants to prove at any cost that Rajkamal gives only flops,why should we argue with him?let him/her be in a state of denial.Just becos X says the truth will not change right?Also get your facts correct-Micheal.... was not a Kamal production.Mumbai express has just started shooting&this fellow is already prouncing it as a flop,neenga enna Nostradamus-a? :)

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11703.html (http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/11703.html

Kamal plays a daredevil motobike stunt rider in 'ME'?

"Facts correct" should be "facts correctly"

This seems like another light hearted movie, i thought after VR MBBS, kamal could have worked with Gowtham.
Any news about the Gowtham-Kamal movie?

Cinefan, i didn't want to prove that Rajkamal gives only flops that too at any cost after all I am one of the kamal fanatics. It is just their track record ... what can we do?

Looks like VR MBBS is a definite flop. It is only in the 4th spot on Top 5, after only 100days:-)

----------------
Top Five Films
IndiaGlitz
Tuesday, November 30, 2004

1. Manmathan
Simbu finally has been vindicated. He shunned his usual brand of theatrics for this film. And what you have is a gripping thriller that is watchable.

2. Attagasam
Ajith's comeback vehicle moves with nice pace and poise. He seems to have put on weight. But there is nothing labored about his acting, though.

3. 7 G rainbow Colony
The film has given Ravi Krishna, the hero, a major break. The heroine Sonia Agarwal is also going places. Time for some champagne for the director Selvaraghavan who is proving to be a master in telling dark romances.

4 Vasool Raja MBBS
The doctor's prescription seems to be working well past the 100-day mark.

5 M Kumaran S/O Mahalakshmi
Mother sentiment is still the mother of all sentiments in Tamil movies. For proof, check the box office record of this movie.

Jacky,

I read yesterday on Indiaglitz that the Gowtham-Kamal movie will be produced by Kaja Mohideen and is slated to begin in March 2005.

That makes sense. If ME is an April release as it was touted to be, then Kamal should be able to start work on his next project in late March/early April.

Hello X,
Even if you mean Rajkamal's track record, it's VERY VERY GOOD COMPARED TO OTHERS. Don't try to act as if you are a fanatic

MNT,
VR Flop - Idhenna vanja pugazchiya??

Kanna,

http://216.65.197.170/kumudam/061204/pg7.php (http://216.65.197.170/kumudam/061204/pg7.php
-Mumbai Express music good

Kamal has started his hype:-(

Recording America ellAm irukkattum...pAdappORadhu yAru? SPB (or at least HH) illAvidil kashtam ayyA...

Hindi Audience will reject Mumbai Xpress music just like they did with Hey Ram and other IR music. He is fit for only folks songs in TN. So Kamal please keep IR for flops movies like Virumandi.

IR is atleast ok while ARR stumped so low that he is giving music to rotten movies like New to come up with a hit after a long time. sad state huh!

Multi,
Thanks for the info.

Mumbai Ramki or anyone who went thro' the Kumudam article,can you give a gist of what it says?

Cinefan,
The gist is this:
1) Veerapandian wants Kamal to change the title immediately, because he feels that 'Mumbai' is not tamil.
2) The above argument by Veera..is due to Kamal's claim that his next film title will be 50-50 English-Tamil
3) Veera..claims that Kamal's Tamil language service will be only an eye wash if he doesn't change the title to pure Tamil

Kanna,

Which artilce did you read? I don't see anything of that sort in the link Ramki provided.

MNT/Cinefan,
I was referring to the criticism by Suga Veerapandian on Kamal's film title. But, at the time of posting, I didn't realize that Mumbai Ramki's post is about "Attam Pattam Kondattam - Kamal's interview". Sorry for the digression...

Vazhipokkan, Listen to New and other IR junk songs. They are the worst. He should sit at work and do bhajan and not these worst songs. Kamal is paying him since he could not afford to release his symphony and now IR is literally begging all over the world for money. Money hungry person.

Genesis sorry Guest,

I filter out all the junks and listen to only good music scored by any MD. As far as ARR is concerned he is not at the same wavelenth as he was last heard in Kandukondain Kandukondain. Btw. Thanks for acknowledging New is Junk album.

test

Vazhipokkan:

I think Guest was refering New as New IR albums..Konjam gap vittu padikkanumnu nenaikkiren.

EYSME

zz,

Athu enakku theriyum chumma chumma ravusu!!!

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/03122004-3.shtml (http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/03122004-3.shtml

The film is likely to be released in Feb/March

Vazhippokkan:

Sorry...unga wittaa purinjikala...Now continue.

HI friends if you wanna
Largest Collection of Free Ringtones Latest Hindi Songs Latest Commercials English Songs
Free Polyphonic Tones
Latest Hindi Songs
Latest English Songs
latest Remix and Pop Songs
Latest Video Songs
Free SMS
Just Visit http://www.masti4india.com

For the information of our beloved fans,
Virumaandi,our last home production was a hit commercially.It was made on a tight budget compared to current productions and recovered costs in less than 50 days.only fly in the ointment was it didnt fare as well as we expected in kerala.Reason was most keralites couldnt grasp the language.The fims telugu version Pothuraju also endowed us with an overflow thus compensating the lacklustre perfomance in kerala.
Our next production Mumbai Express will be a lavish entertainer with no costs spared onshooting abroad,graphics etc.Isaignani has come up with scintillating musical score
truly
for Raajkamal films Intl
Chandrahaasan

"recovered costs in less than 50 days" ...I thought films are made for profit:-) If cost-recovery is considered commercial hit, the objective is unclear...(Is it only to pay salary to technicians and Govt. tax...in other words, is film making a charity?)

Come on Hasan sir, call a spade a spade...It would be nice if Indian movie producers disclose numbers honestly and pay taxes properly...

"thus compensating the lacklustre perfomance in kerala"...were the excess collections in AP paid to Kerala distributors to compensate?:-))

vambu ,
This is the terminology they use ....I think it refers to the distributors and not the producer !!!

Sir ,Is MumbaiExpress going to be released in April or in February ...Any info on the singers for teh film ?

"Our next production Mumbai Express will be a lavish entertainer with no costs spared onshooting abroad,graphics etc.Isaignani has come up with scintillating musical score "

Hmm..you do sound like a producer :-)

Chandrahaasan, when you meet your brother next tell him that hype is the root cause of all failures :-))

MumbaiRamki,
Is it the same person who distributes in Kerala as well as AP? If not, how will the Kerala disti recover his losses whether it runs well in TN or AP or Mumbai or abroad was my question...

If his loss remains, how can Mr Hasan use the word `compensate'? If he feels satisfied as a producer that `well mine ran well in A center, failed in B, profited in C etc...' does it give the B center fellow money? He would've been bankrupt anyway (regardless of the good run in A or C)...If a film creates bankrupt disti's, how can it be called a commercial hit?

Guys,
Don't sweat on it.
Some one is masquerading as Chandrahassan from raajkamal.co.in
Fake domain, fake message.

Vambu ,
FYI ,lot of producers have to return the money of the distributor makes loses .Kamalhassan is one of them .

Teja ,
It may not be ..we had tcs.co.in but it is not publicly accessible !!!!

possible... but I can't see why Raajkamal would block public access to their website?!

Teja ,
Iam a client side guy so not so strong in web ,...:)
Previously we had e-maila ddresses like ernet.co.in etc .....but that doe snot mean that there is asite called ernet.co.in ..also ,there is never a site called tcs.co.in ,it is only the mail server domain and not the www ....

Anyway one can never verify whether it was charu hassan himself !!!

If all teh songs are done in New York ,chances are high that most of the songs will be sung by kamal hassan

http://in.rediff.com/movies/2004/dec/08look.htm (http://in.rediff.com/movies/2004/dec/08look.htm

The article has nothing new to tell,i have posted it just for academic interest.

i think my posting was not properly understood by the readers.By 'compensating' I meant Andhra collections made up for the losses in kerala,Raajkamal themseleves are the distributors in Kerala and AP.About recovering costs,the film ran for another 35 days on average in almost all centres over and above its 50 days thus creating an overflow,including tamil speaking belts in kerala like Palakkad.
About our mail id its not a website,its used only for emails after strict screening.
Hope this will clarify your doubts to some extend
truly
Chandrahaasan

I have always wondered why Kamal who doesn't hesitate to welcome new technolgy,goes around with a lap-top to punch in his scripts,has imported a savvy computer from the US(written in Sujatha's weekly column in AV sometime back)does not have a website for either himself or his production company.Imagine a site with the complete list of films he has acted in&produced,rare photographs,anecdotes&info on his forthcoming movies with regular updates.It would be wonderful.He started a site(kamalhasan.co.net)during the release of 'Virumaandi'but it's not seen any updates from Feb.I don't know if the Chandrahaasan posting here is a original or fake but assuming you are the ONE,why don't you take this suggestion of mine seriously?

appu!!...intha aalu oru kepmari...namma kitte ye dakalti panraru...naane oru periya mudichavuki..en kitte va MR.CHANDRAHAASAN....namma thalaivar per kedukathappa..thangalada saami!!!!!

Sir ,
Can you share us some of the expereinces you had with Raaja sir ?We would like that very much !!!

makkale!

what if it is really Mr chandrahaasan..? Pl stop insulting and give him some respect.. (even if he is not Mr Chandrahaasan, nothing wrong in respecting him for the information he is providing)

Mr. Chandrahassan (assuming this is the real one!)

Can you please gives us updates regarding - the current status of the production of "marudhanAyagam"???

Is Jean claude carriere's french screenplay version - fetched any French production companies for that project?

Thanx :=)

Mr. Chandrahaasan

How has the songs of Mumbai express turned up. Has it been recorded.. Kaml in his interview has told that he has got more than what he wanted from Raaja.. Is it so.. Heard that recording is going to take place in New york.

Any news on this

thanks

Please insist on Raja to use SPB to sing for Kamal and let Kamal not spoil the songs by singing
Kamal is a terrific actor -))

i feel what i posted last was not properly understood by the readers.
by 'compensating' i meant AP collections made up for the losses in kerala.
Raajkamal themselves distribute their productions,even abroad.
The movie ran another 35 days on average in almost all centres over and
above the 50 days i mentioned thus resulting in an overflow,including tamil speaking belts
in kerala like Palakkad.
My email id is not a website,its stricly for communication.
I hope this will clear the waters a bit and thanks a lot for your
keen interest in our work,thiss what keeps us going even after so
many setbacks.
truly
Chandrahaasan

Mr Fake chandrahassan!

Thanx for genuinely establishing that you are a freaking fake!

;=)))))

http://www.newindpress.com/NewsItems.asp?ID=IEE20041218071255&Page=E&Title=Startrek&Topic=-59 (http://www.newindpress.com/NewsItems.asp?ID=IEE20041218071255&Page=E&Title=Startrek&Topic=-59

Kamal talks about 'Mumbai Express'

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/12089.html (http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/12089.html

Mumbai Xpress is being shot in digital mode.

http://www.indianexpress.com/full_story.php?content_id=60124 (http://www.indianexpress.com/full_story.php?content_id=60124

Another Kamal interview.

http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2004/dec/21sld1.htm (http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2004/dec/21sld1.htm

The top 10 Tamil films for the year 2004-Virumaandi was the best film says 'Rediff'.

About the Indian Express interview,

I am a little irked by the fact that Kamal refuses to give Vikram his well deserved due.

As a die hard Kamal fan, I have begun to begrudginly admit that Vikram is heir apparent. But, doesn't look like Kamal has come to terms with it.

Sivaji was magnanimous in accepting Kamal. Kamal should do the same to the likes of Vikram and Surya.

mnt ,
I don't agree with that .Vikram is a very good actor ,who gives his best ..but no way near kamal ..

1.Vikram is average when playing down to earth roles

2.Vikram's comedy is just ok ,no weher near kamal hassan

3.His mastery over tamil prononciation and dialogue deliver are agaian no where near Kamal ..

4.Kamal has multiple other skills and he excels in every aspect of it ....

5.Let us see anniyan - His capability to handle double roles ..If when there were 4 roles ,kamal excelled in Micheal madahana kama rajan .....

I absolutely second Ramki's views! :=)

Versatility and bodylanguage are Kamal's forte; former exclusively his in indian cinema and the latter trait he "inherited" from Sivaji(and added much more credibilty and nuances to it!)

And the "Unfair advantage" that Kamal enjoys - is that he is basically a creator-writer! :=)

His performances add more dimensions and brings "layered" enactment of his roles.

Not just the Pronunciation and dialogue delivery - Kamal can imply deep and subtle things - and normal looking dialogues transform into lines which have deep import. This is where Kamal the creator - elevate Kamal the actor, which just cannot be expected to be done by other 'normal' actors!

His mastery over thamizh "dialects" - that is thamizh as spoken in various areas/region both inside thamizhnadu and also the eezham one with credibility is an exclusive asset to Kamal.

Vikram is a very good actor, but i dont think Vikram is even "heir apparent" to Kamal - in the notion that we talk of - Sivaji & Kamal!

I guess We have to wait a few more years for another extraordinary one as kamal!

But, i would like t opoint out one thing - that the enormous amount of inspiration that Kamal generates would definitely mould another actor like him; atleast another one who tries as hard and who's as brilliant - would come around.. i'm damn sure about it!

And one more thing - Kamal had been doing trend-setting and defining performances as a habitual stuff!

Right from 16 vayathinilE,
avaL appadithAn,
sigappu rOjAkkaL,
kalyAnarAman,
marO charithrA,
rAja pArvai,
moonRAm piRai,
Salangai oli,
sippikkuL muthu,
nAyagan,
pEsum padam,
aboorva sagOtharargaL,
michael M.K. rajan,
guNA,
thEvar magan,
nammavar,
mahAnadhi,
suba sankalpam(telugu),
kuruthippunal,
Indian,
avvai shanmughi,
hEy rAm,
thenAli,
ALavanthAn,
anbE sivam,
virumANdi

His versatility and path-breaking performances are mind-boggling!

He has raised the bar of the pole vault! Future (and current) - if they need to be "champions" in crossing that high a mark, need to clear it by clean jumping!

Hitting the bar and going under it by an inch - wont be enough!!

;=))

I second all the thoughts of Geno and Mumbai Ramki -

take this other aspect - Kamal's innate feel of music and its importance in a movie and his indepth knowledge of world cinema - he can discuss at length about Benigni, or, Hitchcock, or a Stanley Kubrick, or a Robert Altman or an Orson Welles as easily as he can talk about SS Vasan, Papanasam Sivam and Raj Kapoor et al - that is astounding stuff!

besides, I understand that he makes it a point to update himself on all aspects of science as well !!

There are still other dimensions of people like Kamal and IR that we do not know of - but then, that is the advantage creative artistes such as these have - the advantage of not being dogmatically restricted to and inhibited by a claustrophobic formal education system!!

I agree with all of the above.

But I still feel that Kamal feels queasy mentioning Vikram's name:-)

I know he is not Kamal. But, I feel he is the closest thing we have to Kamal.

Kamal in the past has mentioned the likes of Mathavan and Ajith as promising talents. I am a fan of Mathavan too, but can't say the same about Ajith.

Why doesn't he recognize the talent in Surya and Vickram and acknowledge it for what they are. I think it will go a long way in encouraging these youngsters to break out of the mold.

Just something to rant about on a cold winter morning in Toronto:-)

Mnt
Promising talent na does n't mean they hav3e acted well ..Kamal said ajith has tried something different ,but he never said he has acted well ....

Both Raaja and kamal have this in common ..unless they like them very much they will not praise ...His opnion on Madhavan ,ajith cannot be said as praise anyway ...

However in a function kamal did say that vikram deserved the award very much ....

ha ha ....what man...why tamilians make a big issue of that MUMBAI EXPRESS title....as if its bad word ....why they always want to be in closet..........when in india i used to think everyone knows HINDI....but after coming abroad and meeting tamilians from tamilnadu....i was shocked......all the TAMIL friends I got here cannot speak even the basic hindi....like 'KYA HUA....or KAISE HO ??..

Now again some one will shout ,,,is it necessary to speak....why we shud speak HINDI blah blah blah.........if its such then a they can never be openminded...

is it necessary to hate hindi to love tamil....

even in music too doing the same thing....now i understand why so many ppl in TFM - - to like IR , will hate AR and to like AR , will hate IR.....

can never say IR is great MD if HCARF....
can never say AR is great MD if HCIRF....

Kiran,

This hate for Hindi happened as Hindi was unjustly thrusted upon Tamil during Rajiv Gandhi period.

Your comment regarding, one can not be openminded if they can't have talk Hindi is really funny. Somebody can be open minded only when things were not conditionally thrusted on them. As greats say freedom opens the minds.

For your information, I know to read, write and speak fluent Hindi, eventhough I am from Tamil Nadu. But I learnt it by my own interest, not by thrust. If somebody thrust some language on you, probably you might have reacted much worser than Tamils.

This silly objection of Cine Titles in Tamil Nadu is just the manifestation of the reminence of thrust which was made on Tamils long ago. I too don't support such meaningless objections.

mnt,

Kamal might have talked high about Mathavan after Anbesivam movie, having got the opportunity to work with him.

Regarding Ajith, he often goes to Kamal for getting some advice.(For one of the movies where he had several different getups(I forgot the name), he approached Kamal for Hollywood makeupman's where abouts whom Kamal used in Indian). Kamal suggested the cheap alternative for that as using hollywood makeup man will not fit their bill. From this incident, Kamal might have known the sincerity and involvement of Ajith and hence some good about him.

Same thing might not have happened with Ajith and Surya. Once he happen to work with them, may be he will appreciate.

mnt,

Read "Same thing might not have happened with Ajith and Surya"

as
"Same thing might not have happened with Vikram and Surya"

26th December 2004, 12:23 PM
Both Kamal and illayraaja do not appreciate unless they find them worthy enough ....Though Kamal is less tringent in that ,he seldom appreciates them unless they are really really good ...

I think Kamal did appreciate Vikram for his Pithamagan National award ....

RR ,
This format is quite good ,though initially people will be a bit hesitant to use this ... :D

3rd January 2005, 10:37 AM
http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2004/dec/27slide1.htm

3rd January 2005, 11:12 AM
http://sify.com/entertainment/movies/specials/tamiltop10/info1/index.php

VR MBBS is at No 5& Virumaandi at No 9.

3rd January 2005, 08:39 PM
http://sify.com/entertainment/movies/specials/tamiltop10/info1/index.php

VR MBBS is at No 5& Virumaandi at No 9.

The funny thing is Giri listed at 7 and manmathan at 8.....What the heck ???

4th January 2005, 10:33 AM
I think the listing is more on BO receipts vis-a-vis cost of the film&in that aspect 'Giri'&'Manmathan'may have done better.Anyway 'Sify' has said that they have made the list based on feedback from the trade&there is no centralized system from where collection statistics can be procured.

4th January 2005, 11:00 AM
http://www.thatstamil.com/specials/cinema/awards/kamal-03.html

Kamal to be conferred doctorate on jan 17th.

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/03012005-5.shtml

Kamal's letter to journalists inviting them for the function. :D

4th January 2005, 03:50 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/12510.html

Kamal is the Tamil actor of 2004 8)

5th January 2005, 07:13 AM
I think the listing is more on BO receipts vis-a-vis cost of the film&in that aspect 'Giri'&'Manmathan'may have done better.Anyway 'Sify' has said that they have made the list based on feedback from the trade&there is no centralized system from where collection statistics can be procured.

Cinefan,

My question is "Manmadhan is doing much better than Giri", then why Giri was given no.7?

5th January 2005, 03:50 PM
Mr.Judge,Frankly I don't have an answer to your question but my guess is that Manmathan has costed more than Giri&so despite better collections it may lose out in the ratio of cost of film vis-vis collections.

http://sify.com/movies/bollywood/interview.php?id=13642497&cid=2398

Kamal talks to Subhash.K.Jha-it seems to be a repetition of an interview which appeared in The Indian Express sometime back with some new questions thrown in.

12th January 2005, 03:58 PM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/January/120105.asp

Ramadas&his gang are supposedly threatning distributors from buying 'Mumbai express'&'BF' :evil:

12th January 2005, 04:12 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/moviegallery/7354.html

Latest stills of 'Mumbai Express' 8)

18th January 2005, 10:28 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13650635

Kamal conferred with Doctorate. :wink:

18th January 2005, 11:15 AM
Kamal&Ilayaraja donate money to the CM's relief fund for Tsunami victims.

http://www.thatstamil.com/specials/cinema/news/kamal-17a.html

NagaS
18th January 2005, 12:04 PM
In this week's vikatan, Kamalhasan talks in detail about the first song in Mumbai Express, which IR is composing ...

NagaS

NagaS
18th January 2005, 12:07 PM
I thought IR is (or atleast was) in some financial trouble ... :-?

But His contribution to tsunami relief fund is more than some of the big stars in TFM :-O

NaaaraayaNa NaaraaayaNa ... :)

NagaS

18th January 2005, 03:49 PM
[quote="NagaS"]I thought IR is (or atleast was) in some financial trouble ... :-?

Financial trouble for IR :? Where did you get the news from :?

18th January 2005, 04:41 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/Events/7061.html

Doctorate for Kamal-Photo gallery

NagaS
18th January 2005, 05:02 PM
Cinefan,

it was discussed in tfmpage few months back, that IR lost some money on his own "Raja Audios", and his own recording studio, trying to earn fast and repay the debts !

May be it was a vathanthi !

NagaS

19th January 2005, 10:46 AM
NagaS,
i don't remember but neenga Sonna sari thaan.But i doubt if someone like Raja can be in debt just because he lost some money in a audio company&recording studio.All this is "sahajam"in the industry.

NagaS
19th January 2005, 11:54 AM
Cinefan,

Anyway, for somebody like raja, who doesn't have 'regular' income thesedays, 5 lakhs should be a big money ;) So we can safely assume, even if there were any financial troubles, he is out of them now !

NagaS

19th January 2005, 03:31 PM
aAma,
Kamal-e avarukku rendu padam kuduthhu(Virumaandi,ME),antha kadan-a adaikka udhavi pannittare :wink:

NagaS
19th January 2005, 05:27 PM
Cinefan,

I think except 'nala thamayanthi', all Raj kamal production movies had IR as MD ...

Reg., ME, I am eager to know who is the lyricst, Is it vaalee ? or newbies or kamalhasan / IR (cost saving measures ;)) ?

NagaS

20th January 2005, 10:38 AM
NagaS,
His other production 'Kuruthippunal'had Mahesh doing the background score.

With 'ME' ,apart from a few stills(that too from the Hindi version)not much is known about .Kamal released a trailor when he launched the film but even it does not say anything.From what i gather,a wrong boy gets kidnapped during a school day function&the story takes off from there.I am eagerly waiting to know the kind of music IR has given to a film like this.

http://www.thatstamil.com/specials/cinema/interview/kamal-19.html

Tirumavalavan is back with his threats :evil: Why can't someone shut up this guy&that Ramadas.

NagaS
20th January 2005, 12:03 PM
today I was listening to 'tik tik tik' ... I can't imagine how BR was able to use a song like 'poo nadamidum' in this kind of a thriller movie ... :-? ...

(Same way I feel when I listen to 'kuyilae kuyilae konjum thamizhae' from pulan visaaraNai !)

May be ME has such surprises for us :) Otherwise, IR would have asked kamal to use karthik raja instead :))

NagaS

20th January 2005, 03:48 PM
IR's&Kamal's challenge lies in making music which will suit the subject&at the same time endear itself to both Hindi&Tamil audiences.We all know that despite the unmistakable genius in both of them,they have not been able to attract Hindi audiences.So 'ME'might be their last shot in the language(considering their age).

NagaS
20th January 2005, 05:31 PM
Cinefan,

I don't want to look like a pesimist, But I think there is no way IR can impress the 'current' HFM which is too loud and ruled by remix generation (ofcourse, ARR is an exception, and he has already earned a name for himself in HFM - may be he has done more hindhi albums than tamil - I am not sure :-?)

NagaS

20th January 2005, 11:59 PM
IR's biggest challenge is removing the distinct south Indianish flavor in his songs to make a mark in HFM(that is, if he cares about making a mark in Hindi in the first place). If he composes the tunes just keeping the TFM audience in mind and does a mere dubbing to Hindi(like his earlier Aur Ek prem kahani) then I dont think it would work. Rahman's recent Swades with mostly earthy melodies seems to have done well sales-wise.He is clever in choosing ragas that can appeal to both segments of the audience. So TFM MDs still have scope in HFM as long as they are willing to change their presentation a bit.

natha1729
21st January 2005, 12:44 AM
IR original all 3 hindi movie - Sadma, Mahaadev, Kamagni did not have south Indian flavor, only dubbed movies. So, the challenge is for the audience where they have limited absorbing capacity. Pls. do not think it is IR who is deficient in the Hindi film world, all his original Hindi songs are beyond even the best standards of Hindi music.

In fact, Rahman's has punished (actually succeeded) them with true south Indian flavor, not IR. This is like Gandhiji please wear western clothes when you go abroad for negotiating. I am saying, what for are you going there? Where is the substance, that is the key, beyond sound abstruse. I hope you see the point. The audience cannot see the substance yet in IR' compositions only the extrinsics. I think IR cares less, since in course of time, the Hindi audience will catch up.

21st January 2005, 12:49 AM
Add 'HEYRAM' to that list Natha it was a compelling Indian album on the whole.

NagaS
21st January 2005, 11:14 AM
What are the direct hindhi songs of IR ? I thought all his hindhi songs went from tamil only :-? (like 'ye jindagi' from sadma = 'en vaazhvilae' from thambikku entha ooru')

NagaS

Shankar
21st January 2005, 02:34 PM
I thought sadma came before Thambikku endha ooru

21st January 2005, 06:26 PM
You are right shankar - sadma came before TEO - Interestingly the interlude of the song sequence 'poongatru puthithanadhu' got into 'Ye zindagi' in sadma and got repeated again in 'En Vazhvilae' in Thambikku....

22nd January 2005, 08:49 AM
NagaS,
For ur information Karthik Raaja had some part in Virumaandi ...But he is at his modesty best ..When asked about his part in Virumaandi ,he said he did not remember it !!!!

Infact i had my own doubt abt the trailer music of Mumbai Express ..It had KR stamp .....

Kamal has also said abt music - that the music is being recorded in Hungary ..SO you can expect some surprises ...

24th January 2005, 06:42 AM
"IR original all 3 hindi movie - Sadma, Mahaadev, Kamagni did not have south Indian flavor, only dubbed movies"

natha, you must be smoking some serious weed. Sadma had the hindi version of "kanne kalaimaane" which is as South Indianish as it gets. Some of the songs in the other films had a strong south Indian flavor too. That doesnt mean however, that the songs were of bad quality, but it means that they werent meant to cater to a larger audience. You need to choose appropriate ragas/scales and style to cater toboth Mumbai and Chennai audiences

NagaS
24th January 2005, 10:21 AM
Sorry for my remark abt sadma and TEO, I dicn't check which one came first :(

NagaS

eden
24th January 2005, 09:55 PM
Someone said Sadma was one of IR's Hindi originals...

Sadma was a remake of moondRAm piRai by Balu Mahendra retaining Kamal/ Sridevi/ IR.

It had kaNNE kalaimAnE with the same melody, same KJY, similar prelude / interludes and beats (though the instruments sounded more synthetic in Hindi...Tamil sounded a lot more natural). It was really popular, even today my next desk person was singing it (he is from Assam with absolutely no common musical inclinations / discussions with me)...I had also seen this song in a best of Hindi KJY with a couple of Malayali friends while in Kerala...In fact, when the original was released, my northie college mates used to sing the Tamil with spanish guitar - even in some programs...IMHO it had `all-india-appeal':-)

poongAtRu pudhidhanadhu was replaced with `Eh zindagi' (SPB?) - somewhat similar interludes but a different melody (which was reused in thambikku endha ooru as `en vAzhvilE varum anbE vA', a Kamal song reused for Rajini). To me poongAtRu was 100 times greater than Eh zindagi...it was innovative and imaginative...

Kamal-Sridevi narikkadhai was retained, though a lot slower in Hindi than the original and I didn't like it...may be language problem for me, but the original is one of my fav songs...

I don't know what happened to 'vAnengum thanga viNmeengaL' and 'ponmEni'...whether retained / replaced or removed. Neither do I know whether there were any original new ones...Whatever it was, I doubt whether they were popular in the north....

krish244
24th January 2005, 11:55 PM
eden, agree with you about "Kanne Kalaimane" song. It (Surumai Akhiyon mein) was very popular in Hindi aswell. Many many northies like the song. regarding "Ai Zindagi", I liked both the tamil version (Poongatre) and the hindi version equally. I have seen Suresh Wadkar sing this song as one of his favourite in many shows. Again, as you said, Poongatre is very innovative.

"Ponmeni" is retained in hindi aswell. The song is "Eh Babua" or something like that. Its the same tune and I think its sung by Asha Bhosle. This song was no so popular I guess.

As far as I know, from "Sadma", the song "Surumai Akhiyon mein" and "Ai Zindagi" were very popular (especially the latter one)

Krishnan

27th January 2005, 11:31 AM
http://ww.smashits.com/index.cfm?Page=Reviews&Subpage=bigarticle&ID=4193

Interview with Kamal

natha1729
27th January 2005, 11:08 PM
Cannot personally find a sufficient reason not to underscore the significance of this answer of Kamal. One of the few popular social people who want people to understand themselves and societal issues in an entertaining way thru his film-making.

Ultimately, entertainment matters and this is what Kamal has done positively without failing. Take Abhay or Kalaignan or SIgappu ROjakkal, Kamal sees to it that you are enjoying without being deluded!!!

Let us hope this movie is widely accepted. I am looking forward to it.

What's the story of the movie?

click for larger view

I won't tell you the story. You please watch it on the screen. However, I may briefly tell you that this is a comedy of error type. I want to entertain the viewers. I believe that one can give a message through entertainment only. So, it's a comedy. But I have not forcibly put comedy in it. It's natural. Many things happen in one's life that make others laugh. However, these things are serious for the one who passes through them. I shall therefore advise that those who have had appendicitis operation better avoid it. I am dead sure that their stitches might loosen, as it is full of laughter.

ahmedrockinblues
28th January 2005, 01:57 AM
IR composed a few songs for ram gopal varmas debut movie SHIVA.Though dubbed 'Aanando Brahma' sounds real good."meri qadar jaani" is another good one the mood was elevated by Majroohs superb lyrics,is that an original composition?? im not sure.After this Balu Mahendra directed a movie for Plus Channel.Amit Khanna wrote hindi lyrics for "pothi vecha mallika mottu' and a few other very popular tamil numbers.During this time hindi md duo Anand Milind started wholesale copying of Rajas songs and almost all of them were bumper hits like 'tu tu tu tu tu taara' in Bol Radha Bol,'Dhak dhak'in Beta,'Saathiya','my love','aaja aaja' in Love.Almost all agninatchatram songs were blatantly copied and released in 'vansh'.Keladi kanmani from Pudu Pudu arthangal appeared as "chandni Raat heh' and Raaja raajadi became tapori song which was a trademark salman khan number in every stage shows of his those days.Then there was Hey Raam,which i think came out better in the Hindi version.To conclude id say Raaja was virtually quiet active in hindi all along.

28th January 2005, 10:42 AM
http://sify.com/movies/bollywood/fullstory.php?id=13657794

Accident on the sets of 'Mumbai Xpress'

NagaS
28th January 2005, 11:26 AM
Keladi kanmani from Pudu Pudu arthangal appeared as "chandni Raat heh'

I thought 'keLadi kaNmaNi' had shades of 'so gaya ye jahan' from tezab

NagaS

30th January 2005, 10:25 AM
I happened to watch the preview of the ME on TV once. I like to see it again. Is it available online anywhere?

31st January 2005, 10:42 AM
Mr.Judge,
In which channel&when did you watch the preview?

31st January 2005, 03:56 PM
http://www.thatstamil.com/news/2005/01/31/kamal.html

Kamal thanks the Chief Minister for taking Ramadas&Thirumavalavan( :evil:) to task.Simple statement-no artificial praises,just a "Thanks".

http://sify.com/movies/bollywood/interview.php?id=13659682&cid=2398

Interview with Dr.Kamalhasan :)

31st January 2005, 04:50 PM
In which channel&when did you watch the preview?

To my surprise, it came on Pothigai (DD's tamil channel) once. During a TOP 10 movies programme, they showed it. He was sitting on top of the building in a slum and talking some funny lines. The movie is going to be different, that's what I felt.

31st January 2005, 04:56 PM
cinefan,

I think it came on last saturday morning....

NagaS
31st January 2005, 05:29 PM
He was sitting on top of the building in a slum and talking some funny lines. The movie is going to be different, that's what I felt.

It was available in kumudam.com sometime back, I had a downloaded copy, which I deleted two weeks back :(

NagaS

NagaS
31st January 2005, 05:40 PM
here it is ... (first trailer is Mumbai Exp)

NagaS

1st February 2005, 12:05 PM
This was the trailer which was released when the movie went on the floors on Nov 22nd.I was intrigued by the slang which Kamal uses&had asked someone to tell me about it in the old forum.Ferrari(where is he now?)had told that it was Nellai Tamil.

1st February 2005, 05:41 PM
here it is ... (first trailer is Mumbai Exp)

NagaS

Thanks NagaS. let me try to see it!

2nd February 2005, 04:13 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/13013.html

it seems Ramadas&Co are bent upon targetting Kamal :x

multinamatheyan
2nd February 2005, 11:38 PM
Trust me, I am the last person on the earth to give JJ any credit for anything, but I did like the way she came out swinging in this matter.

Especially the way she ridiculed 'daaktar Ramadas' about his name.

Someone should also ask Mr. Thirumavalavan, if Dalit is a Tamil word.

I think Kamal should come out and say that if 'daaktar Ramadas' wil change his name to 'vaithiyar iraaman adimai' or at least 'munaivar iraaman adimai' then he too would consider changing the title of the movie. :wink:

3rd February 2005, 09:04 AM
Trust me, I am the last person on the earth to give JJ any credit for anything, but I did like the way she came out swinging in this matter.

Since he is in the opposite camp and looks like he will not join her in the forthcoming assembly electons, no wonder she issued statements against him. If the same Ramadoss shows some interest to join her, then see what will happen. Politicians are same everywhere I think. It is better to ignore these guys and move on with our lives.

5th February 2005, 03:54 AM
multinamatheyan
Apadi podunga aruvala !!!!
See malayalam they do have English names - but the movies have strong mallu flavor !!!!

Tamizh valakarthuku yellorum neriya novel ,kavidhai padikanum - from that atleast 10% will read tamil literature !!

7th February 2005, 04:03 PM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13664241

Kamal signs Rakhi Sawant for an item number.According to the story Manisha is an ex-bar dancer in the film.Will this item number be picturised in a bar?

8th February 2005, 03:05 PM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/february/080205b.asp

Kamal gets another award but this one is not film related.

Vazhipokkan
9th February 2005, 12:25 AM
IR's salary is Rs 1.5 million. But for Mumbai Express Kamal has paid IR a whopping Rs 2.5 million.

http://www.dailythanthi.com/cn/cn_home.asp?issuedate=2/8/2005&secid=2

9th February 2005, 03:43 AM
Then we can expect some really good music :-)

NagaS
9th February 2005, 11:49 AM
may be that 1 million extra will go to karthik raja, who will be helping IR, like he did in virumaaNdi ;)

Ofcourse, this is my guess only and NOM for IR :)

NagaS

zz
9th February 2005, 05:44 PM
Why So less a Salary for IR?

I guess even YSR and VS might be getting anything close to Rs. 3.5 Million...

IN one recent Kunkumam issue, I saw the rates of several Music directors..

1.5 Million salary is equallent to the one Given to Dhinna now a days and imaan.

Bharathwaj would have got , if not more, Rs. 2.5 Million .

Kamal Making this salary rate a news has actually exposed IR.

raja_fan
9th February 2005, 06:24 PM
zz,

Hold on ! Know that IR is well known for his lesser salary !
He used to get only less even when he was on peak. His salary does not reflect his market.

As for this extra 10 lakhs for ME, I think that is for recording expenses in New York..not for special music !

9th February 2005, 08:57 PM
may be that 1 million extra will go to karthik raja, who will be helping IR, like he did in virumaaNdi Wink

Ofcourse, this is my guess only and NOM for IR Smile

NagaS

Yellam Ok ..aanna it should be assisting and not helping !!!!!

9th February 2005, 09:32 PM
IR is getting paid less because his products sell less. Kamal probably paid him higher for the New York recording expenses or probably he wanted the music to be grand as its being sold in HFM as well.

multinamatheyan
9th February 2005, 10:15 PM
probably he wanted the music to be grand as its being sold in HFM as well."

vijayr,

are you saying Hindi music is grand? romba thamaash panreenga:-)

9th February 2005, 10:49 PM
Ilan-kaathu veesudhE from Pithamagan was a pleasing number. If it had come from any other MD, it probably would have been praised highly. SandiyarE sandiyarE and Onna Vida were good ones from Virumandi, IMO. Hopefully IR will give half a dozen nice numbers in Mumbai Express. Anniyan, Mumbai Express, Godfather -- a good list of movies to expect good songs from. Can't wait.

9th February 2005, 11:09 PM
multinamatheyan, I am not saying HFM music is grand, but IR being a non-entity in HFM, his music better be grand if it has any chances of attracting customers and selling in Mumbai. You have slightly twisted my point :-) IR's style is outdated as far as both HFM/TFM is concerned. Only with orchestral majesty/freshness can he garner some attention and thats why all the extra expenses and all the New york recording etc. In fact this is not even a serious film like Hey Ram(to go to Hungary or NY),this is just a commercial fun movie. For IR to go all the way to NY to record a couple of songs, my guess is that all the hype and hoopla is because its a bi-lingual. Hope am clear now. IR needs one or two numbers like say Raakamma to generate some interest in HFM. If he makes something like Karagaatakaari or Konji pesalam even Chennaites wont buy it leave alone Mumbaiites :-)

zz
10th February 2005, 06:37 PM
From when did IR started charging less....

Imagine...Salary for IR doesn't mean direct money into IR's pocket...he has to feed all his crew members, his recordist, give sal to his Studio workers...etc, etc..Now if IR wantedly charges less as compared to other MDs who salary is more or less decided by demands, won't these people who are working for IR try to seek job with other MD?...becasue there these artists and workers will get more from the share.....
So People like IR ARR, VS getting sal in millions doesn't mean, all the money go in their pocket...they have to pay out for all who are associated with them....

I just wanted to bring out the point by my question that Sal. for an MD is decided by his demand...producers should be conviced that if I pay this guy Rs. X, he will return me back Rs X multtiplied Y times..

Variable Y will probably is the deciding factor for X....Andhu dhaan business.

NagaS
10th February 2005, 06:51 PM
vijayr,

If he makes something like Karagaatakaari or Konji pesalam

:) Konji pesalaam had atleast two good number, 'ithuvarai naan oru pazaiya manithan' is one of the best songs IR has composed in last couple of years, ofcourse, IMO :)

NagaS

10th February 2005, 09:38 PM
Nagas, I liked "Idhuvarai" to a certain extent too, but like I said earlier commercially such songs might not be viable even in Chennai. Unnai thedi is another song I like and listen to, despite the rather average synth-heavy orchestration(which is a surprise).

ahmedrockinblues
11th February 2005, 01:47 AM
What a crap...Ilayaraja reportedly recieved 7.5 million from GV for his dalapathi songs.he has composed movies absolutely free many a times,ask G.N.Rangarajan or Santhana Bharati,man hes been around for last 3 decades..Find out how much he recieved for movies like Kannan Varuvaala and Ilaya Ragam..peanuts if i go for a cliche.He composed songs for telugu movie Sambu for free,heaven knows why,the movie including songs were already shot.Ilaiyaraja is saint...money means nothing to him..otherwise hed be wearing Armani and Gerrard-Perregaux since the day he composed machaana paathingala..

11th February 2005, 07:17 AM
OK ..joining the band ..Raaja sir charged 1/3 of his salary for the movie Kamarajar ...

16th February 2005, 11:00 AM
http://www.telugucinema.com/c/movies/mn_feb15051.shtml

Kamal's next after 'Mumbai Express'with Gautham 'Kakka Kakka,Minnale' Menon is reportedly an actioner budgeted at 16 crores.uuh!

vssathish
16th February 2005, 12:40 PM
The movie is titled "Sippai" and it is produced
by Roja combines. Music : Harris Jayaraj

16th February 2005, 01:48 PM
I Think Ranjit Barod - VIP Fame is scoring the music..

Not very sure..

16th February 2005, 03:39 PM
'Sippai' doesn't sound interesting.I hope they find a more catchy title.Harris in an interview to Ananda Vikatan a few months back had mentioned that he will be doing the music for Gautham's film with Kamal for Roja combines.I don't think Ranjit will come into the picture suddenly.

BTW Satish,where did you get the info about the title?

NagaS
16th February 2005, 04:16 PM
hmm ... sippaai sounds like a 1960s movie title :)

NagaS

16th February 2005, 04:29 PM
Naga,that's the reason why I asked Satish to name the source for his info.I can't believe Kamal&Gautham could have come up with a offputting title like that. :shock:

NagaS
16th February 2005, 04:55 PM
may be they are trying to teach Ramdoss and co a lesson ;)

If 'Sippaay' is not good, What about 'pattaaLaththaan' ? :)) Finally, they will end-up naming the movie as 'army man' :-*

NagaS

16th February 2005, 05:00 PM
Ayyyoo Naga ,Sippai,Pattalathan,Armyman- entha title-um sahikkalai.I hope Kamal&Gautham don't read your post&get inspired :D

NagaS
16th February 2005, 06:24 PM
oru manushanai creative-aa think paNNa vidamaatteengaLae !

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm !

"Chennaiyil oru mazaik kaalam" was a nice title, Can't they reuse it for this movie also ? :->

NagaS

17th February 2005, 03:29 PM
COMK-Romba romantic aana title,Kamalukku ippo othu varadu.Athuvum action padathukku sema misleading title.

17th February 2005, 03:42 PM
Appo Chennayil Oru Kuzhaayadik Kaalam nnu vechukkalama ???
Water problem based Action thriller.....
In Bhaarathi Raaja's voice...

Chennayil
Oru
Kuzhaayadik...
Kaalam.

Boom!!
Idhu eppadi irukku? :wink: :lol: :lol:

17th February 2005, 03:47 PM
Kamalukku bathil Rajni-ya herovaa pottukkalam,appo thaan poruthama irukkum.Magz-le rendu peru eppadi daily sandepottukkarangannu (at shooting spot)gossip yezudhuvaanga,padikkarthukku swarasyam :lol:

BTW Jai,have you watched 'Kadal'?If not watch it,real good film.

NagaS
17th February 2005, 04:32 PM
I found the best title for this movie ....

"Chennaiyil Oru Kolaik Kaalam"

;):):):):);)

NagaS

17th February 2005, 09:51 PM
'Kolaiyudhir Kaalam' was a title for one of the sujatha novels(later came as TV serial starring vivek as vasanth). I guess that would be a nice title too.

Cinefan, Indha saturday afternoon (after cricket) I have planned to go for Kaadhal. Lets c how it pans out. u are coming to the game this week right?

multinamatheyan
17th February 2005, 11:32 PM
Nagas,

One simaall problem with your title. It should be 'Mumbaayil oru kolai kaalam'

If Bharathiraja were to say it as per Jaiganes' wishes, it would be

'Mumbaayil oru Gholai Ghaalam'

18th February 2005, 03:25 PM
mnt(short for our name,that's how you were known in the old forum right?),

After reading your post :rotfl:

22nd February 2005, 10:33 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13676294

It says Bharat Shah has not committed himself on releasing the Hindi version on April 14th as there are 4 big releases that week&he might not find a good chain of theatres.Also ,in Tamilnadu the distributors/theatre owners seem to be preferring 'Chandramukhi' followed by 'Sachin'&so except in Chennai&Coimbatore Kamal may find it difficult to get good theatres.But he is determined to release it on that day&is marketing the film himself.

22nd February 2005, 02:34 PM
That's not a smart move. Kamal should have got into this BO war only if he's making a rural flick like Virumandi. I don't think ME will generate curiosity like Anniyan and Chandramukhi.

22nd February 2005, 03:33 PM
Jacky,
One week after release we will know whether Kamal made the right decision.I just hope the movie turns out to be worthwile fare.

http://www.telugucinema.com/c/movies/mn_feb2105.shtml

Telugu rights of 'ME'finalized.

23rd February 2005, 10:34 AM
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/22022005-2.shtml

I wonder from which site/magazine did 'Cinesouth'steal kamal's interview :evil:

23rd February 2005, 03:04 PM
I think this is yellow journalism at its peak!

25th February 2005, 04:15 PM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/february/250205.asp

The Abirami theatre complex in Chennai is India's first fully digital complex.'ME'is being shot digitally.

kiru
26th February 2005, 04:45 AM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/february/250205.asp

The Abirami theatre complex in Chennai is India's first fully digital complex.'ME'is being shot digitally.

Okay..so now we go to the theatre to watch DVDs on big screen :-)

28th February 2005, 11:25 AM
Kiru :lol:

http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/specials/cinema/specials/kamal7.html

Kamal on digital cinema&'ME' which is ready for release.IR has started the composing which he will finish in a week.

The buzz is he will play 3 roles in his next film with Gautham Menon.

fan_ir
28th February 2005, 11:43 PM
IR is really setting the treands :)

priya(1979) - 1st use of stereo
vikram(1987) - 1st use of computers
Now ME - all goes digital

kiru
1st March 2005, 03:48 AM
http://www.editorsguild.com/newsletter/JulAug02/digital_distribution.html

Read about it. Anybody who has used computers knows about resolution. I dont what product is going to be used. But even at 2056p. The resolution will be half that of film. I am thinking the one being used would do only 1028p, which is even going to show up in TVs in late 2005.
Maybe there is too much special effects in this movie, they thought it would be much more cost-efficient to doing the whole thing in digital.
My concern is - instead of seeing scratches we will see 'grainy' picture throughout the whole film.

fan_ir
1st March 2005, 11:24 AM
yes our TVs should also be in true digital.

raja_fan
1st March 2005, 04:48 PM
fan_ir,

"Now ME - all goes digital"

What is the part of IR in this..? Kamal speaks about the picture..not sound..

Also, I feel Kamal should stop these unnecessary hypes and concentrate on real work ! who cares whether it is digital or not ! Whether it is worth watching..?

1st March 2005, 05:22 PM
fan_ir,

"Now ME - all goes digital"

What is the part of IR in this..? Kamal speaks about the picture..not sound..

Also, I feel Kamal should stop these unnecessary hypes and concentrate on real work ! who cares whether it is digital or not ! Whether it is worth watching..?

He was talking about digital cinema during a demonstration to the media in Sathyam theatre.All his talk was quite relevant.It was not a press conference where he was hyping up the film.

kiru
2nd March 2005, 01:03 AM
My feelings are similar to that of raja_fan. Technology has its place, but you have to get your priorities right. Even though, will spend all the money on recording/equipment, he will not talk about technology. (Read Manisekaran's writeup on IR. IR was so keen on buying the latest equipment in Singapore).

Somehow, I feel, some creative people are trying to use technology as their crutches (fine example, would be Spielberg, even though I feel he is a very good director, in the sense, I consider him the best Masala director, eg. Jurassic park - combination of child/parent sentiments mixed with horror/intrigue)

raja_fan
2nd March 2005, 09:47 AM
"It was not a press conference where he was hyping up the film."

I agree.

But with one month left for the release, I am sure that you will soon see Kamal talking all blah..blah.. on ME , like he did for Virumandi..He will occupy every TV channel..etc..etc..

2nd March 2005, 10:47 AM
But with one month left for the release, I am sure that you will soon see Kamal talking all blah..blah.. on ME , like he did for Virumandi..He will occupy every TV channel..etc..etc..

What is wrong with that,he has a product which needs to be advertized.Whether it is liked by the people or not will be decided on April 14th but the interest to savour the product has to be generated right?A few fans like me might follow what's happening with 'ME'&know all the details but what about a common man?It's only thro the channel of media interviews,promos&print ad's can Kamal reach out to them.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13683819

Kamal's film gets the least priority in the April/may race between CM,Sachin,Anniyan&ME which means he doesn't get the best theatres in towns&no theatres at all in B stations :( .Also the producer(Oscar Ravichandran) of 'Anniyan'wants to release the movie in May in Sathyam which has signed up for 'ME'.As there is only a few weeks gap between the release of both films,Kamal will not agree to shift his film out of Sathyam(esp if it does well)&Ravi wants only Sathyam&not the other theatres like Santham etc :evil:

tmrrmt
2nd March 2005, 11:16 AM
I second Cinefan: Marketing (a.k.a. hyping) is the order of the day in Hollywood, with Jerry Bruckheimer, topping the list of overhypers and producing absolute trash - what is wrong in Kamal hyping his products, which anyway are way ahead of the others, at least in India ? look at how a sc*mbag like Subash Ghai hypes his worthless products -

krish244
2nd March 2005, 01:01 PM
Have one question somewhat related to this, although its about audio. Why does the audio signal coming through our cable operator is MONO? Is there anything that can be done to achieve stereo output from cable?

Is it MONO output (from cable channels) everywhere across the world aswell?

thanks

Krishnan

2nd March 2005, 03:34 PM
Have one question somewhat related to this, although its about audio. Why does the audio signal coming through our cable operator is MONO? Is there anything that can be done to achieve stereo output from cable?

Is it MONO output (from cable channels) everywhere across the world aswell?

thanks

Krishnan

All channels coming thro the DTH(Direct to Home)system are digitised.

krish244
2nd March 2005, 04:01 PM
All channels coming thro the DTH(Direct to Home)system are digitised.

Thanks Cinefan! Is DTH provided by Doordarshan? Is it the same as Set Top Boxes? "Digitised" holds good only for audio or both audio and video.

thanks

Krishnan

3rd March 2005, 11:07 AM
Thanks Cinefan! Is DTH provided by Doordarshan? Is it the same as Set Top Boxes? "Digitised" holds good only for audio or both audio and video.

thanks

Krishnan

Doordarshan is providing it.It's somewhat similar to Set-top boxes.I think both audio/video is digitised.

3rd March 2005, 04:55 PM
http://www.glamsham.com/movies/scoops/05/mar/02sahara.asp

Sahara One has acquired the distribution rights of 'Mumbai xpress'.They will also in association with Rajkamal films have an overseas premier of the Tamil version of the movie in Toronto,Canada.

http://www.telugucinema.com/c/movies/mn_mexpress.shtml

Telugu version launched.

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/04032005-1.shtml

Info on Kamal's next with Gautham Menon.

http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/04032005-5.shtml

A rip off from Kamal's interview to 'Ananda vikatan'.

RajaRam
7th March 2005, 03:30 PM
Mumbai Xpress audio comes this week or next week.?

7th March 2005, 04:38 PM
Mumbai Xpress audio comes this week or next week.?

There is no info on this but I think Kamal will launch it between March 12th and 15th.

8th March 2005, 02:09 AM
well here's some not-so-good report on Kamal :-)
http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/livewire.asp?n=bipasha26.txt

8th March 2005, 11:40 AM
well here's some not-so-good report on Kamal :-)
http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/livewire.asp?n=bipasha26.txt

Kamal has been quoted as saying in the latest issue of 'Kumudam'that Bips wanted the age of the child(to whom she had to play mother) to be reduced from 10yrs(the age of the boy who is acting as manisha's son in the movie)&so she dropped out.I would rather believe that than what this gossip column tells us. :evil:

vssathish
9th March 2005, 09:26 AM
Hi

Kamal is flying off to Mumbai today to finalize the audio rights sale for Hindi version of Mumbai Express. The cassette is expected to be released in the 2nd or 3rd week of March.

9th March 2005, 12:02 PM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13689151

Kamal says he will not change the title of 'ME'at any cost. :clap:&also hits out at the archaic censor laws.

http://www.teakada.com/archives/kamal_on_censorship_in_india.html

More of what he spoke on censor laws.

Vkrish
10th March 2005, 12:52 PM
Is all songs in ME is sung by KAMAL :roll: ??? Its frightening.

Chandramuki has got two songs sung by SPB for Rajni. Will ME too will have SPB singing for Kamal.... :wink:

NagaS
10th March 2005, 01:17 PM
vaalee's name was there in the ME Ad I saw, So kamal is not trying to save money by writing lyrics, Hope he doesn't do it in singing department also :)

NagaS

raja_fan
10th March 2005, 01:47 PM
Nagas,

"Hope he doesn't do it in singing..."

That is our prayer, not just hope :D

NagaS
10th March 2005, 02:52 PM
the first song in ME is supposed to be a 'duet' between two sisters - peraasai and kaamam ... any guesses on who will be the singers ?

Asha Bhonsle and Sadhana Sargam ? ;)

NagaS

krish244
10th March 2005, 03:56 PM
one song by Kamal is ok, but not all :-). Also, I was wondering if IR has ever used some of the talented male singers like Sonu Nigam or Udit for any of his hindi movies. Udit may have sung some dubbed version of a tamil or telegu movie. I vaguely remember hearing his voice for a chiranjeevi dubbed telugu movie. I really wish to see Sonu singing for IR. I guess IR will most likely use Hariharan, Asha Bhonsle, Sadhana Sargam and maybe Shreya. I have never seen IR using Alka. Has he used Lata for any of his Hindi movies? His choice of singers for hindi films are pretty less I guess.

I guess this will be IR's first comedy movie in Hindi. Really curious to listen to the album.

Krishnan

Godfather
10th March 2005, 04:49 PM
IR used Lata for the song "Kaun dagar" in "Lajja". It was an amazing pathos song.

Hope people still remember the magic created by Lata with IR when she rendered her voice for "valayosai" in Satya.

krish244
10th March 2005, 04:53 PM
Oh yes Godfather ! Thanks ! somehow totally forgot Lajja :-)

Krishnan

raja_fan
10th March 2005, 05:59 PM
the first song in ME is supposed to be a 'duet' between two sisters - peraasai and kaamam ... any guesses on who will be the singers ?

Asha Bhonsle and Sadhana Sargam ? ;)

NagaS

Nagas,

what ?? peraasai, kaamam....? Is it ME or BABA..??

NagaS
10th March 2005, 06:28 PM
raja_fan,

ME-thaan, but konjam gujaal-aa solliyirukkaar kamal ;) (you didn't see those fotos with kamal with two sisters in araikuRai(?) costumes ? antha paattuthaan ithu ;))

NagaS

multinamatheyan
10th March 2005, 06:44 PM
"vaalee's name was there in the ME Ad I saw, So kamal is not trying to save money by writing lyrics"

Kamal is quite a good lyricist. The same cannot be said for Valee. Valee's good songs are exceptions not the rule.

Kamal's last offering in the lyrics department, onna vida from Virumaandi, was second to none that is being passed around today.

Valee recently blabbed at Chandramukhi audio release that Tamil for Mukhi is Moonji. Muham comes to mind as an apt Tamil word. Such is the extent of this great man's stupidity.

If Kamal is using Valee, it is probably for a song like 'coca cola ponnu, pepsi cola kannu'. Only Valee can write songs that make absolutly no sense.