View Full Version : Amazing Interludes by ARR

25th July 2007, 11:55 PM
ARRahmaniacs,

Let us discuss about the interludes of "Mozart of Madras" here.

I'll start with these:

1. Mellisaiye - Mr.Romeo (both interludes)
2. Strawberry Kanne - Minsaara Kanavu (second interlude)

Pls continue with your favorites, friends :D

prasana84
26th July 2007, 12:45 AM
athiradi,machakari,aiyoo pathikichu,urvasi etc-fast
en vettu thotathil,netru illatha matram,kadhal rojavae,pudhu vellai malaietc-slow
ennum neraiya irukku

26th July 2007, 07:40 AM
Orey Chori - Lagaan

esp the second interlude...air flute with the village feel.... just simply ARR!! :D

26th July 2007, 12:51 PM
Hai Rabba- Both the interludes
Strawberry Kanne- The second one
Newyork Nagaram- First Interlude
Adhiradi- Both
Anbae idhu Nijamthaana- First Interlude

Vaz
26th July 2007, 01:12 PM
Regarding interludes, I remember reading in an interview by ARR that he prefers not to concentrate on them as much as he did before. This was around Baba period I think...

I used to listen to ARR's songs just for their interludes... somehow feeling that nowadays
he's "simplifying" them.

Listen to Taal songs' interludes... Sangamam,
indian, Jeans, Uyire, Ratchagan, Kandukonden x 2, Pudhiya mugam, Minsara kanavu, En swase kaatre, Rythm, etc. Almost all the movies that came before Uyire... had those magical interludes!

26th July 2007, 03:11 PM
Kadhalar Dhinam - Enna Villai (1:38 - 2:31)

26th July 2007, 03:15 PM
I liked "Oodakkara Maarimuthu" funny type interludes

26th July 2007, 10:29 PM
iruvar -- kaNNai katti koLLAthE :clap:

Movies
27th July 2007, 06:00 AM
Anyone else recollect ARR mentioning that he doesnt concentrate on his interludes anymore?

Post Rythm, most ARR somgs lacked those haunting interludes, trademark ARR.

I always felt ARR's recent songs failed to reach the heights of his earlier songs because of his lack of effort on interludes and rythm. Now guys dont pounce on me by quoting one or 2 songs over the past few years.

If you notice, ARR in recent years fills in the interlude with an instrumental of the tune or fills in with some odd humming/chorus. Unlike his earlier years.

27th July 2007, 09:26 AM
Chikku Bukku Raiyile - Gentleman (Raju Sundaram part)

Bol Sajni - Doli Sajah Ke Rakhna (2nd Interlude)

Poovukkul olinthirukkum - Jeans (2nd Interlude - Aish dancing near the pyramids)

27th July 2007, 09:47 AM
Oh maria
Mana Madurai -the change of beats wow rocks
NYN :notworthy:

Dil Se

Mellisaiyea :musicsmile:

Velli Malarea- the change in the tune :D
Thamizha Thamizha Naalai Nam Naalea :clap: a master piece from the melody note to the puratchi kinda note

Vaz
27th July 2007, 05:20 PM
Anyone else recollect ARR mentioning that he doesnt concentrate on his interludes anymore?

Post Rythm, most ARR somgs lacked those haunting interludes, trademark ARR.

I always felt ARR's recent songs failed to reach the heights of his earlier songs because of his lack of effort on interludes and rythm. Now guys dont pounce on me by quoting one or 2 songs over the past few years.

If you notice, ARR in recent years fills in the interlude with an instrumental of the tune or fills in with some odd humming/chorus. Unlike his earlier years.

See my post a bit earlier... I also think the same. I think I also read somthing like that. Hope he changes his opinion on it as did for singing duets! Cannot imagine an Athiradee without ARR's voice!

27th July 2007, 06:35 PM
yea...lately his interlude hasnt be as powerful as it use to be, but nevertheless its not bad or low in any way, coz i remember he gave us an amazing interlude in Kalayil Dhinamum & Vellai Pookal....

but yea, THAT ARR who created amazing BGMs back in those days is sleeping or either he went away far far away.... :)

28th July 2007, 10:47 AM
Snegidhane - Alaipayuthey (1st interlude)

Hai Hai Dil Ke Baazi Laga - One two ka four (1st interlude)

Both interludes have the same instrument - Sarangi I guess. Can anybody clear my doubt?

rayan36
28th July 2007, 09:24 PM
Hai Hai Dil Ke Baazi Laga - One two ka four (1st interlude)

Both interludes have the same instrument - Sarangi I guess. Can anybody clear my doubt?

Khamoshiya is another one from the same movie (the flute is awesome)

29th July 2007, 04:00 AM
Enavalea 1st interlude woooooooooowwwwwwwwww the melody :clap: :clap: ketindea irukalaam

30th July 2007, 08:23 PM
Thillana Thillana - Muthu (2nd Interlude with mridangam) :thumbsup:

30th July 2007, 09:11 PM
lucy lucky , sonia sonia from ratchagan -the both
sneghithiye alaipayuthe -the both :notworthy:
nenjile from uyire- the both (beautiful) :notworthy: :thumbsup:
pudhu vellai from roja- the both
etc...

POST 2000

sakarai inikira sakarai, kalaiyil thinamum from new - the first
aha tamilzhamma from KKS-the second one(very stylish and new) :thumbsup:
sahana from sivaji-the first
nannare from guru - the first

30th July 2007, 09:48 PM
Was listening to Mr.Romeo a while ago. The album can be listened just for the Interludes.

Romeo Attam - Both interludes
Mellisaye- Both interludes
Thanneerai Kadhalikkum - Second interlude
Yaar athu - First interlude.

:notworthy: Stuff of a legend :notworthy:

Kumar2020
7th August 2007, 11:00 AM
may madham(minnale)...and etc....

7th August 2007, 12:20 PM
this is gonna sound lame.. but wats an Interlude?

8th August 2007, 12:08 AM
Lance,

Interlude is the piece of music which comes in between stanzas. Hope I'm clear :D

8th August 2007, 08:35 AM
Lance,

Interlude is the piece of music which comes in between stanzas. Hope I'm clear :D

Eveno Oruven Vaasikkiran - Alaipayuthey :thumbsup:

thineshan54321
30th August 2007, 07:36 AM
I just cant stop hearing the interludes from saanwariya (swades) both r fantastic. 2nd interlude is tooo subtle, yet simply striking. just phenomenol music.

30th August 2007, 08:58 AM
I just cant stop hearing the interludes from saanwariya (swades) both r fantastic. 2nd interlude is tooo subtle, yet simply striking. just phenomenol music.

30th August 2007, 02:22 PM
[quote=thineshan54321]I just cant stop hearing the interludes from saanwariya (swades) both r fantastic. 2nd interlude is tooo subtle, yet simply striking. just phenomenol music.

:notworthy:[/quote :yes: :yes: :yes: sawariya song one of my fav.number frm .namma boss :musicsmile: mindblowing melody..esp.the humming..tara..tara..tara...appdiye meditation panra feeling :cool2:

jangofett
24th November 2007, 03:54 PM
2 interludes that I like from Muthu:
I hated Koku Saiva Koku - what a wasted opportunity!!! I don't understand why the director wanted to picturize a song situation like this - Sarath Babu's wife to be think he wants to marry her and everyone in the household will be dancing and signing this track including an old woman (she wasn't really old!!!). But this song has one of the best interludes by ARR!!! I would rate this interlude in the Top 10. The interlude starts at 3:16 with strings, flutes and ARR himself doing superb folk vocals and ends at 3:56. 40 seconds of pure heaven!!! I also like the male background vocals after 3:56.

I think the most popular number from the movie is Thilana Thilana. The opening vocals was of course sampled from Deep Forest's Night Bird that was released in 1994. I like the groove in this song - it's like a Punjabi beat. Mano and Sujatha give excellent vocals. The interlude from 2:04 is nice and soothing. What has happened to Mano these days?

7th April 2008, 07:20 AM
Both the interludes in Nenjamellam Kaadhal - Aayitha Ezhuthu. They rock :thumbsup:

2nd interlude in Thiruvallikeni Rani - Udhaya. Sarangi in a dance song. Wowww!!!! :notworthy:

thineshan54321
7th April 2008, 08:16 AM
jashne 1st interlude
man mohana 1st interlude (also 2nd)
kwaja (1st)

7th April 2008, 03:26 PM
maricham yaatho-fist interlude :omg: second aslam intery 'yaarithu unthal lkunthal'ahhaa [rahman thavira vera entha kombanaliyum panna mudiyathu] :notworthy:

valayapatti thavile intro-atm :thumbsup:

9th April 2008, 02:20 AM
maricham yaatho-fist interlude :omg: second aslam intery 'yaarithu unthal lkunthal'ahhaa [rahman thavira vera entha kombanaliyum panna mudiyathu] :notworthy:

valayapatti thavile intro-atm :thumbsup:

:yes: The first interlude is brilliant! I used to play it again and again! This song puts the listener in a trance!

15th April 2008, 02:05 AM
Azeem-O-Shah - Jodhaa Akbar. Interlude with sword rhythms. Only ARR can do this kinda stuff. Mindblowing!!!!!!

21st April 2008, 03:01 PM
Evano oruvan vaasikiraan

Kannalane [First interlude]

25th April 2008, 11:46 PM
Ennuyir Thozhiye & Hey Goodbye nanba - First Interlude

:omg: amazing... :swinghead:

4th March 2009, 04:35 AM
First interlude of Dil Gira Dafatan (Delhi 6). Best Interlude from ARR in the last 8 years :yes:

thineshan54321
4th March 2009, 08:17 AM
First interlude of Dil Gira Dafatan (Delhi 6). Best Interlude from ARR in the last 8 years :yes:

agreed!!!

4th March 2009, 11:40 AM

agreed!!!

chance-se illa! :clap: :clap:

4th March 2009, 12:41 PM
i disagree.
Best interlude of Rahman in last 8 years is Kannamoochi aenada.
Andha sitar varum paarunga - adhu dhaan chance e illai.

4th March 2009, 05:43 PM
Yeah definately a great interlude. It reminds me a little of the interludes of "Nathiye Nathiye" from Rhythm. I think its the use of similar instrumentation.

Actually when I first heard Dil Gira Dafatan, I thought, how am I ever gonna like this song? The melody was weird & all over the place! Now I can't get enough of it. This happens a lot with new ARR songs. Its like he rewires our ears/brain or something, so we hear things his way.

4th March 2009, 07:23 PM
i disagree.

Kandukondean Kandukondean was released in 2000. So 8 years-kku mela aayiduchu :P

4th March 2009, 07:51 PM
Actually when I first heard Dil Gira Dafatan, I thought, how am I ever gonna like this song? The melody was weird & all over the place! Now I can't get enough of it. .
Same here :)

15th March 2009, 02:21 AM
Thirakadha kaatukula - ESK

The second interlude!!! :clap: First a solo violin repeating the recurring theme, then a brief stanza of WCM orchestra followed by a Folksy yodelling of the previous theme... and none of these sounds out of place.

Epdi thaan ipdi ellaaam avaruku thonudho!

16th March 2009, 10:46 PM
First interlude of 'Thirakkadha Kaattukkulle' is equally good too :thumbsup:

17th March 2009, 07:51 AM
First interlude of Maskkali...

17th March 2009, 01:41 PM
First interlude of hey kalabandar dehli6

9th April 2009, 07:45 PM
Uyire... has two fantastic interludes. Unfortunately the second one has become more popular for "some other" reasons!
Manirathnam :twisted:

9th April 2009, 07:54 PM
Uyire... has two fantastic interludes. Unfortunately the second one has become more popular for "some other" reasons!
Manirathnam :twisted:

Which song?

9th April 2009, 07:59 PM
Mudhalla naanum confuse aayitten.

Ram,

SS refers to 'Uyire' from Bombay :D

9th April 2009, 08:18 PM

Ram,

Yeah Yeah...Enna LM Kekka vida paaka thaane umakku pidikkum? :twisted:

9th April 2009, 08:26 PM
The second interlude la appadi enna scenes iruku :roll:

9th April 2009, 08:36 PM

Ram,

That's my least favorite song in Bombay :|

9th April 2009, 08:43 PM
Rama,
Think simple pendulum.

LM,
adhe adhe for me also...

9th April 2009, 09:13 PM
SS :evil: ithu family audience varra idam :lol2:

9th April 2009, 11:12 PM
Yes.. the first interlude is one of my all time fav flute solo in ARR songs... I heard Arunmozhi played for that song.. is that true? :roll:

RK, super perfaarmans .. ellarum nambitOm :lol2:

Jyothsna
10th April 2009, 05:24 PM
Both interludes in 'Anjali Anjali' song, Duet.. Especially Chitra's humming :notworthy:

10th April 2009, 11:19 PM

naansense...ingga enna v.sekhar padama kaatraanga man? :twisted:

11th April 2009, 10:00 PM

naansense...ingga enna v.sekhar padama kaatraanga man? :twisted:

vandha kooda ennavaam - oru naal family illama okkaaruvaanga.......vaal akkade koochandi

last song - Delhi-6 title track.......thalaivar version of rock meesic :)

17th April 2009, 11:04 PM
i disagree.

Kandukondean Kandukondean was released in 2000. So 8 years-kku mela aayiduchu :P

Sonnalum ketpadhillai ludes ellam kanakula edukalaya? :twisted:

It is Godawesome!!!

1st April 2010, 01:04 AM
nenje neje second interlude :o

Rocky89
12th July 2010, 08:48 PM
kalvare 1st interlude :notworthy:

30th September 2010, 03:40 PM
The use of the acoustic guitar in the 1st interlude of Cry Cry :musicsmile:

13th October 2010, 04:45 PM
1st interlude of Urvasi. Soul touching interlude in a peppy song. ARR is something else.

13th October 2010, 07:37 PM
kathal anukkal prelude

do nishayan - jhs

13th October 2010, 07:58 PM
Saxaphone in Chikku Bukku Rayile and Flute in Pachai Nirame.

19th October 2010, 12:02 AM
Aayirathil naan oruvan. Both the interludes.

19th October 2010, 05:09 PM
kadhal anukal---second interlude... :musicsmile:

20th October 2010, 03:02 AM
Sonnalum Ketpadhilllai kanni manadhu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efds45hGp7Y

:cool2:

You got me listening to the whole album.

The prelude and second interlude of Vaa nila.. Great sax

20th October 2010, 08:41 AM
munbe va- sok
new york nagaram- sok
kodu potta-raavanan

AudazJay
20th October 2010, 10:12 AM

Ram,

That's my least favorite song in Bombay :|

It was my least favorite from the album too...that is until I discovered what a true gem it was. Phenomenal song- Good vocals from Hariharan but it was Chitra who practically took the song to such an elevated height with her amazing rendition. "adada adada indru kannerum thithikindrathe"- I couldn't think of anyone who could have nailed these lines as soulfully as she did. :notworthy:

And like SS said, both interludes are just magnificent!

7th November 2010, 09:10 PM
Flute used in Rahman sir Films - Some small Collection Listen and enjoy :)

http://www.4shared.com/file/ecmmjXbm/Flute_used_in_songs.html

12th November 2010, 05:09 AM
Prelude of Bhoola tujhe. :( Makes me very emotional.

2nd December 2010, 02:04 AM
Sax at the end of Vande Mataram (Revival)

3rd December 2010, 12:18 PM
Kandukonden * 2

Second interlude, just fantastic! 8-)

Beginning with double bass [Right?] as it goes, flute bit joins wow! Truly awesome!!

Abbas :lol2:

4th December 2010, 05:51 PM
Kandukonden * 2

Second interlude, just fantastic! 8-)

Beginning with double bass [Right?] as it goes, flute bit joins wow! Truly awesome!!

Abbas :lol2: :exactly: even the first interlude...that bass is amazing :clap:

19th December 2010, 12:16 AM
The first interlude of Mann Mohana. Gives me the chills all the time.

12th January 2011, 11:11 PM
The first interlude of Pam Pa Ra. Great to hear Sivamani back in the limelight. This song will lift the spirit of anyone who hears it.

16th January 2011, 12:34 AM
All the Nadaswaram interludes of Omana penne.

10th February 2011, 06:26 PM
Padayappa- Kicku Eruthey

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFgD0F3dv7I

Prelude - cheeky whistle
The first interlude - emotionally overwhelming sax and mandolin.
Second interlude - both female chanting and flute are thoroughly affectionate.

:musicsmile:

20th February 2011, 12:52 AM
The synthetic flute throughout the song is an emotional catalyst and Rahman ji has proved that even technology and digital sounds can make a listener reach Nirvana here on earth.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNEcfbaI66g

28th February 2011, 06:18 AM
prelude prior to oruvan from muthu true mass gives me goosebumps

21st March 2011, 02:32 AM
Ishq bina interlude of Kahin aag lage.

Jazz piano, low strings, Indian melody followed by flanged duffli and then Richa Sharma finishes the interlude by saying saiyaaaan.

Pure heaven...

1st April 2011, 05:20 PM
The mandolin of guzaarish.

WOW, so original and how? :)

1st April 2011, 05:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_uwXq24rcc

The flute at 1:26 :musicsmile:

tvsankar
1st April 2011, 07:50 PM
Sunil,
Thanks for the flute .....

12th April 2011, 03:43 AM
Thok de Killi - second interlude. :thumbsup:

Vintage Rahman stuff - Spirit of Rangeela to say the least.

23rd April 2011, 03:44 PM
First interlude of Columbus

31st May 2011, 07:27 AM
Both interludes of oh kaadhale. This song is enough to melt the heart of a rahman critic.

13th June 2011, 05:59 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tD06e0SycI

Love the telephone ringing sound in the first interlude and Qawwali alaap-ish synth lead. The humming in the postlude :clap: Rahman ji :bow:

This song, melisaiye and tu hi tu which is known as veesum thendral in t have a lot of similarities. :musicsmile:

tvsankar
13th June 2011, 01:27 PM
Sunil,
Thanks for the songs... neraiya thread la.. neraiya songs.. will listen.............

Thenmerku - Beautiful no of ARR.......... Mellisiayae - i love the song...............
Thanks for the picks Sunil..........

13th June 2011, 08:05 PM
Sunil excellent picks :clap:

15th June 2011, 03:45 PM
Vennilavin Theril Yeri - Duet

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gk10H794IIw

The high pitched strings at 2:43 and 3:37

WOW! :-o

15th June 2011, 03:51 PM
M.R - Romeo - Thaneerai Kadhalikum

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWiwA227l3U

The flanged voices that begin the song and the flute interlude 2:03 - 2:50 sounds like an enigmatic nature trail experience. :)

tvsankar
15th June 2011, 03:56 PM
Sunil,
Thanks for the picks..
Vennilavin theril yeri - i like this song......... lovely Orchestration..............

18th June 2011, 08:46 PM
ARRs alaap in sandai kozhi

19th June 2011, 07:18 PM
The post lude of jillendru oru kadhal - the cute cat meow :lol2:

21st June 2011, 10:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTktyRu_PVY

Another song from mr romeo, apart from a few lyrics this track is instrumental heaven

22nd June 2011, 04:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHNxw4pYj7Y

The interlude at 1.30. There couldn't of been a better interlude to set the mood of this song. :)

23rd August 2011, 01:19 PM
The 2nd IL of 'Azhage Sugama'. Only ARR possible.. :notworthy:

11th October 2011, 01:07 PM
Second interlude of Porale Ponnuthayi, love it :musicsmile:

21st November 2011, 08:10 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImYm7JwHw2U

Interlude @ 1:49

only rahman ji :clap: