2nd November 2008, 11:54 PM
Pick #712

Song: nAnA nAnA nAnA
Film: Ellaichaami
Music: S.A.Rajkumar
Singers: Mano, K.S.Chitra
Lyrics: ?
Year: 1992

Nice folkish song by SAR. "Ellaichaami" apparently starred Sarathkumar and Rupini and directed by K.Rangaraj who directed some great musicals in the 80s with various composers, such as Nenjamellaam Neeye(Shankar-Ganesh), Unnai Naan Sandhithen(IR), Unakkaagave Vaazhgiren(IR), Geethanjali(IR), Ponnu Pudichirukku(Chandrabose), and Uyire Unakkaaga(Lakshmikant-Pyarelal).

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/nana_nana_nana.rm

Meerakrishna
3rd November 2008, 06:32 PM
Neel D thanks for SJ amma's songs.

rajesnkl
4th November 2008, 03:34 PM
its nice to visit ur thread. i am not able to
visit it regularly. in future i will try it.
r u having shankar ganesh hit songs
from movie 'ETHIR VEETU JANNAL"

please try it.

thanks

Neel D
5th November 2008, 02:51 AM
Meerakrishna, you are welcome.
rajesnkl, thanks and welcome to the thread. I will look for those songs.

Neel D
5th November 2008, 02:53 AM
Pick #713

Song: nAn enna pAda
Film: Ullaththil Nalla Ullam
Music: Gangai Amaran
Singers: S.Janaki, S.P.Balasubramanyam
Lyrics: Gangai Amaran
Year: 1988

Ullaththil Nalla Ullam starred Vijaikant and Radha and was directed by Manivannan. I don't think that the film was a big hit. If you can tolerate Vijaikant and his pronunciation please go ahead and watch this film. Or, if you can tolerate one of those Manivannan's bottom-of-the-pile films please go ahead and watch it... Okay, don't watch it. If you have already watched it, I am so sorry.

But listen to the song. It is good.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/nan_enna_pada.rm

baroque
7th November 2008, 02:25 AM
Thanks for the song.
Neel, Manivannan... Gokulathi seethai(karthik's dad), Kadhal kottai(telephone booth owner), kandukonden kandukonden etc.. avaraidhaaney sollarel?
He is distinct, I like him. :)
vinatha.

Neel D
7th November 2008, 06:45 AM
baroque, you are welcome. I watched those films but don't remember if Manivannan was in those films. It is the same guy who acts in comedy roles and occasionally character roles since the 90s and doing a great job at it. He directed many good films and some really terrible films in the 80s.

Neel D
7th November 2008, 06:46 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/panchabootham.jpg
Pick #714

Song: en rAjAththi
Film: Panchabhootham
Music: Shankar-Ganesh
Singers: S.Janaki, P.Jayachandran
Year: 1979

Beautiful song. Very popular back in the days.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/en_rajaththi.rm

rajesnkl
7th November 2008, 03:31 PM
dear neel sir,

its rare one from panchabootham.

get more from shankar-ganesh songs.

there is no availability in net with SG songs.

rajesnkl

tvsankar
7th November 2008, 04:51 PM
Dear Neel,
En post enna achu.....

En school days song. So thanks for this one.
during my 10th std.
enga school ku bus stand ai kadandhu
dhan poga vendum.
Nanum en friend um pogum podhu matum,
oru bus il indha paatu padum... :D

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

gingerbeehk
7th November 2008, 07:26 PM
ஆஹா..ரொம்ப நன்றி தலைவா..தோண்ட...தோண்ட...புதையல் பூதம் சூப்பர் பாடல் வடிவில் கிடைக்கிறது, "பஞ்சபூதம்" பாட்டைத்தான் சொல்லுகிறேன். செம பாட்டு மாமு. இன்னும் நிறைய தோண்டுங்க...நிறைய பாட்டையும் தாங்க.

"செங்கரும்பு தங்கக்கட்டி" (அதை விட ரகசியம் படப்பாடல்) பாட்டு இருந்தால் போடுங்க பாஸ். சங்கர்-கணேஷ் இசையில் நான் ரொம்ப விரும்பிய பாடல்களில் இதுவும் ஒன்று.

நன்றியுடன்,
Jack

Naaz
7th November 2008, 10:25 PM
Neel D -
Bull's eye! This is an evergreen duet! So fresh even after so many years!
I think a S-G revival is on the cards!
I've already mentioned Senggarumbu...here are a few more:
Kalyaana Melangalae
Poovum Malarndhirukku
Malarmanjangal Makarandhangal
Ae, Maamaa Ponnu, Rosaappoovae
Machchaanae Achchaaram Podu
Unnai Azhaiththadhu Penn (or Kann?)
Maasimaadham Dhaan, Sollu Sollu
Nee Vennmalligai, Thaen Un Punnagai
Vanjikkodi, Ennappadi
Mazhaiyae En Meedhu
Vaaikkaa Varappukkulae, Paruvappullae
Poo Mugam Sivakka
Vayasupponnu Thaniyae Ninnu
Maanaamarudhaiyilae, Maanthoppu
Aayiram Malargal Paniyil Nanaindhu
Adho, Andha Thendral

I am getting carried away ! :-)

baroque
8th November 2008, 02:42 AM
andha films yellam Manivannan yerukka, Neel.
anyway...
I like Manivannan comedies... I am checking out his funny performance in some movie this weekend. :)

Good pick, Neel.

Naaz.. that's a nice list of S-G delights.
poo mugam sivakka... is a beauty, Wistful lullaby by Susheela.
Will go over the list when I am free. thanks.
love, vinatha.

Meerakrishna
9th November 2008, 01:46 PM
Dear Neel, thanks for both the SJ duet songs. Looking for more rare duets of SJ.

Neel D
9th November 2008, 03:00 PM
rajesnkl, thanks. I will feature some more S-G songs.

Usha, you are welcome. Sometimes posts disappear, I don't know why. It is like Halloween here all year long.

gingerbeehk, you are welcome.

Naaz, thanks for the list.

baroque, here are some good films directed by Manivannan in the 1980s -
Chinna Thambi Periya Thambi
Gopurangal Saaivathillai
Ilamai Kaalangal
Ingeyum Oru Gangai
Mudhal Vasantham
Nooravathu Naal
Palaivana Rojakkal

Meerakrishna, you are welcome.

Neel D
9th November 2008, 03:02 PM
Pick #715

Song: athO antha thenRal
Film: Poi Saatchi
Singers: Vani Jairam, Malaysia Vasudevan
Year: 1982

"Poi Saatchi" starred K.Bhagyaraj and Radhika. It must have been an average film because I don't remember the story or anything impressive about the film except for some good songs. Today's pick reminds of MGR songs.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/atho_antha.rm

9th November 2008, 06:01 PM
Hi Neel..

poi satchi padam pAkka pOyittu
nalla thoongittadhu ninaivirukku :mrgreen:
pAttu nalla irunthadhaal mattum appappO kEttadhuNdu..

BTW..

oru request..

"inru mudhal oru kAdhal kadhai kaNNan geethaiyAginRadhu",
from "oru kungumam kadhai solgiRadhu" by VJ ( kooda pAdinadhu yArnu ninaivillai.. or is it a solo ? :confused2:)

indha song irundha host seyyungaLEn :P

baroque
10th November 2008, 02:32 AM
Nice list, Neel.

Gopurangal Saaivathillai... Fantastic movie. Music by shri.Ilayaraaja. Love you so much IR. Arukkaani.. memorable character. Love Julie, thiru thiru Murali, S.V Sekar hitting on Suhasini, arai vaaguvaan avo kittey, poor fellow, who can forget Vinu chakravarthi! I like him too. I watched it during the film release.
Chinna Thambi Periya Thambi..... Very good movie. Nadhiya, Prabu, Satyaraj...Music by Gangai Amaran is memorable too. Paalaivana rojakkal too around 1986... paarthutten!
Thank you Manivannan Sir! :)

Naaz
10th November 2008, 10:27 AM
baroque -

You're welcome. A couple of songs in that list might not be by S-G...I am not sure who scored Apoorva Sagodharigal and Sparisam.

Neel D -
List-la irukkura paattaiellam vitttuttu, Bhagyaraj "interpreting" MGR in Poi Saatchi! I like this song just for that parody! :-) S-G also do a good job with the vaathiyaar vibe!

madhu -

'Indru Muthal Oru Kaadhal Kadhai..." is a fine duet! I think it was picturized on "Fatafat" Jayalakshmi and M.G. Sukumar (?)
Wow, the songs you guys remember! Thanks!:-)

10th November 2008, 07:03 PM
apporva sagodharigal MD bappi lahiri illaiyO ? :P

Naaz
11th November 2008, 12:01 AM
madhu -

Avaraa? :-) I always mix up AS and Thai Veedu! Thanks for the detail.

Neel D -

To add to your "Pudhaiyal Thondal"...

"Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswathi..." Punniya Nadhigal
"Idhuvarai Sivaraththiri..." Aadugal Nanaigindrana

If anybody can find these, it has got to be you!

baroque
11th November 2008, 12:55 AM
ADHO ANDHA THENDRAL..... :bluejump: :redjump: :swinghead: my favorite.

Neel D
11th November 2008, 01:24 AM
madhu & Naaz, I have not heard any of those songs. I will look for those.

baroque, thanks.

11th November 2008, 07:06 AM
madhu -

Avaraa? :-) I always mix up AS and Thai Veedu! Thanks for the detail.

:oops: enakkum adhE kuzhappam adikkadi varum :noteeth:

11th November 2008, 07:08 AM
Hi Neel...

yeah.. songs mentioned by bro Naaz are also nice...

nichayamA neenga kEttirupeenga..

it goes like..

"gangA.. yamunA.. saraswathi..
neengaL kuLitha moonRu nadhi
kadalil vizhum mun punidhathai izhanthadhu
kAraNam ungaL theeya madhi"

and the next one..

"idhu varai sivarAthiri..
ini en vAzhvil alankAra navarAthiri
inRu pudhu ANdu pudhu Edu.. pudhu kaNakku"

sweet VJ.. :musicsmile:

vengayam
11th November 2008, 12:59 PM
Naaz,
Sparisam MD is Ravi ( not BR Chopra's ravi) but the "munnal" newsreader Shibana 's husband. ( hence Shobana Ravi :)

Neel D
11th November 2008, 10:52 PM
madhu, you may be right. muthal variyai kEttavudan ninaivukku vanthAlum varum.

vengayam, welcome back.

Y'all, it is MSV today. S-G will return for the next song.

Neel D
11th November 2008, 10:54 PM
Pick #716

Song: isai pAdum paRavai
Film: Sumangali
Music: M.S.Viswanathan
Singer: Vani Jairam
Lyrics: Vaali
Year: 1983

"Sumangali" starred Sivaji Ganesan, Geeta, Sujata, Pushpalata, Prabhu, the absolutely hilarious :roll: Y.G.Mahendra and others. The story was borrowed from Hindi. Same old story that has been recycled thousands of times all across India in films of all languages. Don't know why they had to go to Mumbai to buy this tired old story, which I wouldn't bother to narrate. The beautiful and energetic Geeta and today's pick are the only good things in the film.

Today's pick was picturized on Geeta who plays a stage singer and dancer.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/isai_padum.rm

baroque
11th November 2008, 11:14 PM
thanks, Neel.

Naaz
12th November 2008, 12:19 AM
madhu -

You're the best! Thanks for those lyrics! :-)

vengayam -

I thought it might be Ravi. The only film he scored, yes? (S-Gvidamirindhu Drums set kadan :-))

Neel D -

Had forgotten this solo...thanks for bringing it back here!

Have you heard this SJ solo:
En Kanngal Endrum Un Meedhu...Un Kanngal Nooru Penn Meedhu, from Thirippura Sundari?
Very operatic!
Woke up this morning with this song in my head:
Poovae Unnai Naesiththaen, Pookkal Kondu Poojiththaen... SPB (with SJ)? Don't recall the film :-(

tvsankar
12th November 2008, 01:27 AM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the MSV Rare Gem.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

12th November 2008, 07:30 AM
naazji..

poove unnai nEsithEn... is from paruva rAgam ( ravichandran-kannada and juhi chawla film) md is amsalekha I think..

Neel...

one more request of SJ song from piriyAvidai..

"ennuyirE.. ponnoLiyE.. en kAdhal mannA..
unai kaNdadhum nenjam neruppAnadhE..
enna seivEn...
vArAyO pAlootRi aNaikka..

vengayam
12th November 2008, 12:28 PM
probably this is the tamil equivalent of "seesha ho yaa dil ho aakhir... toot jaatha hai!"

yes it is indeed pathetic that "asha " had to be borrowed! But in a moment of madness Aasha became athumping hit and so people naturally had to remake it!

For all it is worth they may have named it Lorry driver Rajakannu part II.

MSV was valiant here as he was in Amara kaviyam but it was a lost battle , a lost cause.
As an MSV admirer I would rather not go into his 80s efforts for every gem you uneaarth you will find 10 so so songs ( hits maybe for other composers but not for mellisai mannar)

Naaz
12th November 2008, 08:36 PM
madhu -

To borrow LRE's words, "Enakku (m) Ji Pottaa Joram Varum!" :-)
Paruva Raagam..."dubbing" padam? Why did I get into that loop, I wonder! Thanks for the detail!

Pramila endha padaththil vandhaalum, enakku koodavae oru chinna bayam varum...Vaazhaiyadi Vaazhai-odu aarambiththa bayam, innaal varaikkum...But I must also say this: She was a fine performer who took on the so-called "negative" roles and turned in memorable portrayals. She was excellent in Vaazhai, Arangaetram, Thangappadhakkam, Sadhurangam...
Piriyaavidai...eppadaa theatre-ai vittu pirivom-nnu...you get my drift. :-)
"Rajaa Paarunga..." was a nice duet (Dhaekho Dhaekho-ji...hindi-il.) I have not heard the SJ solo you mention in years.

"Maanai Thaedudhu Maanvizhi..." Any details on this?

vengayam -

Sumangali = Aasha? Oh my, is all I can summon. :-) And I agree that MSV's star was on the decline from the mid-80s.

12th November 2008, 09:18 PM
Hi Naaz

I think "oru mAnai thEdudhu mAnvizhi.." sung by SJ and a singer called Ashok ( not sure) from the film "vEli illA mAmaram"

padam veLiliyila vandhuchO ? :roll:

Naaz
13th November 2008, 10:08 AM
madhu -

I am truly amazed by your memory! For some weird reason, I am always searching to fill in these data gaps, for I only remember odd tunes here and there...
It is great to have such a resource at TFMpage! Thanks!

(Don't ask why I get into loops of songs from unreleased films! :-))

vengayam -

I think a judicious assessment would be that MSV stayed true to his talent; it is the sound and groove of a generation that really changed.

Neel D
13th November 2008, 06:56 PM
baroque, Naaz & Usha, you are welcome.

madhu, I remember ennuyirE ponnoLiyE. I will look for it.

vengayam, I agree with you as well as Naaz. The change in the trend may be the reason. However, Andha 7 Naatkal, Janani, and Kanne Kaniyamudhe are some of his films that had many good songs.

Neel D
13th November 2008, 06:59 PM
Pick #717

Song: iLangkuyilE
Film: Anbulla Rajinikanth
Music: Ilaiyaraja
Year: 1984

Happy Children's Day! :bluejump: :redjump:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/ilangkuyile.rm

gingerbeehk
13th November 2008, 07:05 PM
நான் ரொம்ப நாளாக ஒரு பாடலை தேடி கொண்டு இருக்கிறேன். நண்பர் NeelD தந்து உதவுங்களேன்..ப்ளீஸ். அந்த பாடல்:

"வீணை சிரிப்பு" என்று தொடங்கும் "நூல்வேலி" படப்பாடல். எஸ்.பி.பாலசுப்பிரமணியம், வாணி ஜெயராம் குரலில் மெல்லிசை மன்னர் இசைவடிவில் அமைந்த பாடல் அது. சீக்கிரமே இந்த பகுதியில் அந்த பாடலை எதிர்ப்பார்க்கிறேன்.

அன்புடன்,
Jack

vengayam
15th November 2008, 01:01 AM
NeelD,
I just stumbled upon Ilaigal midhum from kulir kaala meghangal. On hearing the song I was instantly bowled over.
I feel that CVS would have made amusic director of me too if he had so desired.What a man!!
My q is do you have an index of all the pick of the week or do I have to browse through all the pages to find asong i like.

Neel D
15th November 2008, 01:48 AM
Jack, I will try.

vengayam, here is the index. Usually updated once a week to include the latest picks.
http://mayyam.com/wiki/index.php/POW

baroque
15th November 2008, 02:58 AM
ANBULLA RAJINIKANTH has some memorable songs, Neel.
muthumani sudarey..... Rajini Uncle naan ingayerukken..inga inga..haa hahaha... Yesudas & chorus.
Kadavul ullamey....Latha Rajini
Then poovey... Lover boy with Janaki.
Wish you happy.... Vasu.
seri... naan poren, Vinatha.

Naaz
15th November 2008, 05:46 AM
Neel D -

Koyamuththur must be one jolly town!
Thanks for featuring this solo. I think it would be fair to say that instead of the scale pacing VJ, it is VJ that paces the scale! Thaen Poovae Poovae Vaa is a nice duet from the same film.

vengayam -

"Chinna idaiyaith thaedum, idhazhaith thaedum, manivizhi neelam..." is a lovely line from Ilaigal Meedhum...
Vaanam, Sevvaanam also lingers.

gingerbeehk
15th November 2008, 08:04 AM
Jack, I will try.

vengayam, here is the index. Usually updated once a week to include the latest picks.
http://mayyam.com/wiki/index.php/POW

நன்றி NeelD.., நீங்கள் முயற்சித்தால் முடித்து விடுவீர்கள் என்று தெரியும். நம்பிக்கையுடன் எதிர்ப்பார்த்துக்கொண்டிருக்கிறேன்.

அன்புடன்,
Jack

Neel D
15th November 2008, 08:21 AM
baroque, thanks.
Jack, you are welcome.
Naaz, Koyamuththur sure is a jolly town. :D

A quiz for all:
There is one thing common between the films "Sumangali" and "Anbulla Rajinikanth". Well, there are more than one. But I am looking for a cute one. Please post your answers.

natha1729
15th November 2008, 08:50 AM
ir's the king in these type of perfectly tuned fast paced foottappers like ilankuyile, eg aadi maasam kathadikka, vettu vaddippom paattu padippom.

vengayam
15th November 2008, 11:23 PM
Neel D,
Thanks!
Naaz,
I liked the whole song not the idai "idai" :)

Naaz
16th November 2008, 07:17 AM
vengayam -

Here's the not so weird part: S-G seem to riff on one of their own orginals. Doesn't Ilaigal have something of Paadu Thendralae in it?

Neel D
16th November 2008, 04:53 PM
natha1729, thanks.
vengayam, you are welcome.

Neel D
16th November 2008, 04:54 PM
Pick #718

Song: siththar kUda
Film: Uchakattam
Singer: S.P.Balasubramanyam
Year: 1980

Shankar-Ganesh hit the jackpot with this song. Not to mention the support of the lyricist and SPB.

"Uchakattam" was a thriller directed by Rajbharath starring Sarathbabu and Sunitha. The film received great reviews and was more than moderately successful at the box office. Rajbharath went on make a few more not-so-successful thrillers and then disappeared.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/siththar_kuda.rm

16th November 2008, 08:02 PM
Hi Neel..

thats a real nice one..
hearing after a verrrrry loooong time..

"idhazhil thenpANdi muthukkaL" is another popular song from the film.

gingerbeehk
16th November 2008, 08:11 PM
செம துள்ளல் பாடு தந்த NeelDக்கு ஒரு ஜே. கலக்கல் பாட்டுப்பா..சும்மா சொல்லக்கூடாது, எஸ்.பி.பி எவ்வளவு உற்சாகத்துடன் குரலை இழைத்துள்ளார்..யப்பா, தூள். ராஜ்பரத் படங்களில் பொதுவாகவே 2 பாடல்கள்தான் இருக்கும். எனக்கு தெரிந்து அவர் இயக்கிய படங்கள் "உச்சகட்டம்" , "சொல்லாதே யாரும் கேட்டால்" மட்டும் தான் ஞாபகத்தில் உள்ளது. இரண்டுமே த்ரில்லர் படம்தான், இரண்டுக்குமே சங்கர்-கணேஷ் தான் இசை. பின்னணி இசை படத்தில் அட்டகாசமாக இருக்கும். வேறு ஏதும் படங்கள் ராஜ்பரத் இயக்கியுள்ளாரா? தெரிந்தவர்கள் சொல்லுங்களேன்..இந்த படத்தில் இன்னொரு சூப்பர் பாட்டு உண்டு.."இதழில் தென்பாண்டி முத்துக்கள்" என்று தொடங்கும் அந்த பாடலும் சும்மா...நச்சுனு இருக்கும். அந்த பாட்டும் இருந்தால் கொடுங்களேன்...ப்ளீஸ்.

அன்புடன்,
Jack

Naaz
16th November 2008, 09:13 PM
Neel D -

Another lively one! Thanks for featuring this solo!

gingerbeehk:

"Chinna Mul, Periya Mul" was by Raj Bharath. And there was another called "Thottaal Sudum."

madhu -

Naan Aadaadha Maedai Illai Ulagaththilae
Naan Aattivechcha Aadaadha Manidhar Illae...

Any details? I think it is a SJ solo...

tvsankar
16th November 2008, 09:38 PM
Dear Neel,
Unmaiyana Thanks for this song Neel.
During my 8th std indha padam ooty il
parthen.

Mana nilai sari illadha hospital il
mana nilai sari iladhavargal padhuvadhu
pola paatu idhu.

But Beautiful Lyrics and tune.

SPB rendition - Only One SPB...

Neenda varudangalaga thedi kondu
irudha paadal idhu.
"Ipadi oru paatu - ennoda imagination a
irukumo" nu konjam thought vandhu
paatai ninaikaradhai niruthiten....

But I am getting Sweet surprise from your post
Neel... Thank you.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

vengayam
16th November 2008, 10:02 PM
neel D, don't tell me Meena is cute!
naaz,
blame it on my age ... paadu thenrale doesn't ring a bell... more lines ... movie name to jog my memory. not that mohan -radha movie where mohan is a pianist?

Naaz
16th November 2008, 10:17 PM
vengayam -

Paadu Thendralae Pudhu Manam Vandhadhu
Aadu Thogaiyae Pudhu Isai Vandhadhu...
Kaadhalenum Poomazhaiyai Paadiduvaai Kavidhaiyilae...Nenjamae
Viraivinilae Manjamae
Idhu Avan Thandha Pudhu Sangamae....

from Nellikani....Sripriya! (Now that memory should be running a marathon! :-))

baroque
17th November 2008, 12:40 AM
:bluejump: :redjump: :bluejump: :redjump: :musicsmile:

Neel,
Yesterday I was watching THIRUMATHI ORU VEGUMATHI again after decades + with my friends. I have seen this movie when I was young with my amma. :)
Remember the solo Paarthu sirikkudhu.... very serene , emotional composition by Vani lingers in my ears forever.
My favorite valarpirai enbadhum....Yesudas enchanting musical with appealing lyrics.
Lilting Aavadhum pennaley....with a catchy jadhi & mood. Good visuals for the meaningful songs.

Paarthu sirikkudhu... IS LOVELY. :musicsmile: :musicsmile: :ty:

Naaz, naan oru koyil.... is lovely composition in that movie. My favorite.
Unnil ennai naan kanden.. unnal ingu vaazhgindren.. melts your heart.
Some S-G songs always have special place in our heart. :ty:

Hey Ramki has hosted the heart warming naan oru... :musicsmile:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/naan_nk.rm

:ty::ty::ty: I am dedicating to my family friend and his wife for more than 16yrs unconditional love & support, prayers & good will.
Thank you, anna & manni.

love, Vinatha. :musicsmile:

Neel D
17th November 2008, 02:39 AM
madhu & baroque, thanks.
Jack, thanks. At the moment I don't have "ithazil thenpANdi muththukkaL". I will search for it.
Naaz, you are welcome. Nellikkani starred Sivakumar and Swapna.
Usha, you are welcome. Glad to bring back a bit of the past.
vengayam, that is outrageous. Baby Meena is cute. Selvi Meena is even cuter.

17th November 2008, 05:17 AM
Naaz...

is "pAdu thenRalE" for sripriya ?

I thought its for sivachandran and swapna.
of course, I hvnt watched the movie :(

RC
17th November 2008, 05:46 AM
NeelD: Listening to siththar kUda after a long time. BTW, Welcome to Meena's club ;)

nI varum naaL varai - SJ-in armayanaa kuralil azhagaana paadal. I listened to it non stop!

Naaz: I dont think Sripriya was in Nellikkani.

Naaz
17th November 2008, 06:18 AM
Neel D, madhu, RC -
Thanks for the correction! Swapna- was she in Pournami Nilavil? I have not seen NK either :-), guess I must be thinking of some other one with Sri.

Vengayam, sorry-pa :-)

There's this song from Mattravai Naeril that I am trying to recall...SJ / SPB duet?

And this one: Kaalangal Mazhaikkaalangal, Pudhukkolangal...Naangal Kalaimaangal Pookkal...(?)

(don't trust my lyric recall!)

vengayam
17th November 2008, 09:56 AM
Naaz, so you are also getting on:lol:

But as Vinatha said Nellikani instantly reminds me of" Naan oru kovil " - we discussed it during a thread I started on male duets right here--- and Swapna's two piece bikini!

I was really perturbed initially sripriya padam enakku theriyamal ( it is another matter that I have not seen many of her movies but in some corner of my memory it is all filed for future reference...)

So the others' replies came as a relief..

NeelD Baby meena is awe... not some...ful!
Selvi Meena looks cute except so long as she keeps her mouth shut (otherwise her teeth protrude... )
But it is free country to every man his taste :D

17th November 2008, 12:28 PM
"Kadavul ullamey....Latha Rajini
Then poovey... Lover boy with Janaki.
Wish you happy.... Vasu.
seri... naan poren, Vinatha."

Did Anbulla Rajinikanth have a song by Vinatha - "seri naan porane" :-)

17th November 2008, 07:14 PM
There's this song from Mattravai Naeril that I am trying to recall...SJ / SPB duet?

And this one: Kaalangal Mazhaikkaalangal, Pudhukkolangal...Naangal Kalaimaangal Pookkal...(?)

(don't trust my lyric recall!)

Naaz...

I remember that "ninaithirunthadhu nadanthu vittadhu.. inRu Adi mAdha kAtRu vandhu mOdhum" by SPB and Kausalya. and "radhA krishnA.., vizhigaLil Anandham" by SJ.

kAlangaL mazhai kALangaL.. is from "idhayathil Or idam" by MV and SJ

thats a nice duet :P

Naaz
17th November 2008, 08:45 PM
madhu -

Yes, it is that "Ninaiththirundhadhu Nadandhu Vittadhu..." Does this come in the last quarter of the film? Quite a brisk song...if I remember correctly. MD: Shyam?
Thanks for giving me the words!!
Idhayaththil Or Idam...featuring?

It all started for me with that song from Indru Mudhal Oru Kaadhal Kadhai...
Ellam Neenga Aarambiththadhu! :-)

One more kani song came to mind with all that Nellikani buzz:

Pani Vizhum Poo Nilavil...
Paavai Pol ...(don't know the following lines of pallavi)...

Uravugal Dhaan Malara, Oorilae Penn Pirandhaal
Kaniyae, Kannvizhiyae
Valarvaai Thamizh Pol Nee (?)

(lyric warning in effect! :-))

18th November 2008, 07:25 AM
Hi Naaz..

"pani vizhum poo nilavil" MV and SPS :musicsmile:

thats from the famous (?) film "thai pongal"
with nice songs like "theertha karaithanilE" and "kaN malargaLin azhaipidhazh"

Naaz
18th November 2008, 10:09 AM
madhu -

Another famous film I missed! "Thai Pongal" ai paarkavillai :(
I had no idea that Pani Vizhum Poo was from that film. Radha?
Kann Malargalin Azhapidhazh is a beautiful tune too! Haven't heard that one in ages. Early IR still rocks! :-)

Neel D
18th November 2008, 06:35 PM
Pick #719

Song: akkA akkA
Film: Aayiram Muththangal
Singer: S.Janaki
Lyrics: One of (Pulamaipithan, Vairamuthu, Poonguyilan)

"Aayiram Muththangal" starring Sivakumar and Radha had a forward story that addressed a psychiatric issue. The film was produced by Thiruppur Mani(Vivekananda Pictures) who also produced some other good films such as Vandi Chakkaram, Aaniver and Rosaappoo Ravikkaikkaari. For "Aayiram Muththangal" Shankar-Ganesh scored today's fun song and another really creative song "sElai kudai pidikka" which was already featured here. There is also a unique SPB solo "vanthAL ganggai vanthAL" and a nice VJ solo "vAsalil pUmaram".

Who did not enjoy those catchy phrases like "akkA akkA mAmAvappAru, sokkA pOtta mAppiLLa pAru", "thillA tAnggu tAnggu, nI thiruppippOttu vAnggu", "bEkku rAmu bEkku", "mAmA mAmA makku mAmA", etc.! Please add any more such phrases you may remember.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/akka_akka.rm

RC
18th November 2008, 10:03 PM
thai pongal - Chakravarthy, Radhika in the cast. kaN malargaLin azhaippidazh and thIrththakarai thanilE are available in youtube.

RC
19th November 2008, 05:25 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qu6xwjdjujQ - Theerththa karai thanilE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XaMf9Hze_Q - kaN malargaLin azhaippidazh

Naaz
19th November 2008, 06:52 AM
RC -
Thanks for sharing! Great to have these tunes in my head after a long time!

rajesnkl
19th November 2008, 07:30 PM
hi neel,

good one from rajbharath film.

in chinna mul periya mul k j jesudoss

super song "kettathu kidaithathu kodi

kanakkil, pottathu mulaithathu kothu kothai

poothathu, naan intha nattile innum rajathan"

try this please,

thanks

rajes

gingerbeehk
19th November 2008, 08:19 PM
ராஜேஷ், நீங்கள் குறிப்பிட்ட "கேட்டது கிடைத்தது கோடி கணக்கில்" பாடல் சங்கர்-கணேஷ் இசையில் நல்ல ஒரு துடிப்பான பாடல், ஆனால் அந்த பாடல் "சொல்லாதே யாரும் கேட்டால்" என்ற படத்தில் உள்ள பாடல். "சின்ன முள் பெரிய முள்" படத்தில் இல்லை. அதே சமயம், "சின்ன முள் பெரிய முள்" படத்தில் எஸ்.ஜானகி பாடிய "இரு விழிகள் பிறந்ததம்மா உலகை காணவே" அருமையான ஒரு பாடல் உள்ளது.

இசையுடன் இணைவோம்.
ஜாக்

Neel D
20th November 2008, 07:02 PM
rajesnkl, thanks. I will look for "kEttathu kidaiththathu".

Neel D
20th November 2008, 07:03 PM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/avragasiyam.jpg
Pick #720

Song: sengkarumbu thanggakkatti
Film: Adhaivida Ragasiyam
Singers: S.Janaki, Malaysia Vasudevan
Year: 1978

Today's pick is a nEyar (Naaz & Jack) viruppam.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/sengkarumbu.rm

aanaa
20th November 2008, 07:47 PM

aanaa
20th November 2008, 07:47 PM

baroque
21st November 2008, 12:19 AM
:bluejump: :redjump:

vinatha.

Naaz
21st November 2008, 07:02 AM
Neel D -

Thanks ! Super Paattu! :-)

natha1729
21st November 2008, 09:50 AM
good old dappanguthu

gingerbeehk
21st November 2008, 06:58 PM
நன்றி..நன்றி...நன்றி..மிக்க நன்றி. நீண்ட நாட்களாக தேடி,தேடி கிடைக்காமல் இன்று கண்டெடுத்தேன் உங்கள் தயவால். நேயர்கள் விருப்பத்தை பூர்த்தி செய்வதில் உங்களை மிஞ்ச ஆள் இல்லை NeelD . சூப்பர் (டப்பாங்)குத்து பாட்டு. பக்கா சங்கர்-கணேஷ் ஸ்டைல். தூள் கிளப்புங்க தலைவா.
அந்த.."நூல்வேலி" பாட்டையும் கொஞ்சம் சிரமம் பார்க்காம போட்டு விடுங்களேன்...ப்ளீஸ்

பிரியமுடன்,
ஜாக்

Neel D
23rd November 2008, 06:20 AM
aanaa, baroque & natha1729, thanks.
Naaz & Jack, you are welcome.
Jack, I will post it soon.
madhu, I thought you made a post. But I don't see it now. :huh:

Neel D
23rd November 2008, 06:27 AM
Pick #721

Song: kanavil ninRa thirumugam
Film: Teacheramma
Music: T.R.Pappa
Singer: T.M.Sounderarajan
Lyrics: Kannadasan
Year: 1968

What a beautiful song! This is one of my favorite TMS solos. :swinghead: All songs from "Teacheramma" are wonderful. T.R.Pappa's contribution to Tamil film music may be limited but the quality is all purity and serenity. And beautiful lyrics by Kannadasan.

Other songs from the film are:
ammA enbathu thamiz vArththai - PS
sUdi koduththavaL nAn thOzi - PS
isaiyOdu theivam vanthu - PS

The film starred Jaisankar, Vijayakumari, Vanisri, Muthuraman and others. Directed by S.R.Puttanna.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/kanavil_ninra.rm

baroque
23rd November 2008, 09:38 AM
thanks, Neel.

Two fine compositions by T.R.Papa, I adore are :swinghead: :musicsmile:

Sirikindraal indru sirikindraal sindhiya kanneer maariyadhaaley..... is a lovely musical by Dr.S.S.G with Susheela in my Dr.S.S.G collection. :musicsmile:

Varuven naan unadhu maaligaiyin vaasalukkey... A.M.Rajah with Susheela... haunting pathos in my A.M.Rajah collection. :musicsmile:

love, vinatha.

tvsankar
23rd November 2008, 11:24 AM
Dear Neel,
Thanks a lot for the nice song.

T.R.Paapa - Nalla Music Director.
Ivaroda collections ellam host pannina
romba sandhosha paduven Neel.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

gingerbeehk
24th November 2008, 07:51 AM
aanaa, baroque & natha1729, thanks.
Naaz & Jack, you are welcome.
Jack, I will post it soon.
madhu, I thought you made a post. But I don't see it now. :huh:

நீங்கள் கண்டிப்பாக கண்டெடுத்து விடுவீர்கள் என்று எனக்கு பெரிய நம்பிக்கை இருக்கிறது. நீண்ட நாட்களாக தேடித்திரியும் அந்த பாடல் கிடைத்தால், அந்த வீணையின் சிரிப்போடு நானும் ரொம்ப சந்தோசப்படுவேன்.

அன்புடன்,
ஜாக்

Naaz
24th November 2008, 12:23 PM
Neel D -

Inspired pick! I hope you'll feature more of these goldies!

rajesnkl
24th November 2008, 03:18 PM
hi neel,

i am also having some rare collection.

if i want to send some songs to you how

can i send?

thanks

rajes

Neel D
25th November 2008, 09:34 AM
baroque & Usha, you are welcome.
Naaz, thanks.
rajesnkl, thanks. Please check your pm.
Jack, here comes... :)

Neel D
25th November 2008, 09:39 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/noolveli.jpg

Pick #722

Song: vINai sirippu
Film: Noolveli
Singers: S.P.Balasubramanyam, Vani Jairam

Song in high demand. The recording quality is not that great. Hope y'all can still enjoy it.

Thanks to yvsmani for sending the song and to Priya for helping clean up the recording.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/vinai_sirippu.rm

tvsankar
25th November 2008, 09:52 AM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the Rare GEM of MSV.

Jack, kettadhail irundhu padalai
ninaithu parkiren. Ninaivil varavilai.

So. Audio quality sariya illai enralum,

Padalai ketta sandhosham peridhu dhan.......

Thanks to Jack, yvsmani, Priya and Neel...

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

gingerbeehk
26th November 2008, 06:29 PM
ஆஹா...அற்புதம். NeelD உங்களுக்கு எப்படி நன்றி சொல்லுறதுன்னே தெரியவில்லை. நானும் எல்லா வலைப்பகுதிகளிலும் தேடிப்பார்த்து கிடைக்காமல் போன பாடல். நீங்கள் சாதித்துவிட்டீர்கள் நண்பா. இந்த பாடல் இங்கு இடம்பெற உதவிய yvமணி,பிரியா அனைத்து நண்பர்களுக்கும் சேர்த்து மேலும் ஒரு நன்றி.

நட்புடன்,
ஜாக்

Neel D
27th November 2008, 10:08 PM
Usha & Jack, you are welcome.

Neel D
27th November 2008, 10:13 PM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/mnvaazhga.jpg
Pick #723

Song: eththanai mugamO
Film: Magane Nee Vaazhga
Singer: P.Susheela
Year: 1969

In spite of all the imperfections of the world we live in, there is still so much to be thankful for. One of those being the great music we grew up with.

Peace!

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/eththanai_mugamo.rm

tvsankar
28th November 2008, 01:24 AM
Dear Neel,
Thanks a lot for the starting of T.R. Paapa
collections...

Indha paatai ipodhu dhan mudhal murai
ketkiren.

Nice tune.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

tfmlover
28th November 2008, 10:11 AM
exactly NeelDJ , Peace !
realizing that we have much in our life to be grateful for!
recuperative powers of good songs & good music ,
you just reminded me of Jikki's 'thullaadha manamum thullum '
nice choice of enticing PS , merci
Happy Thanksgiving !
regards

Neel D
1st December 2008, 03:34 AM
Usha & tfmlover, thank you.

Y'all,

I have edited the posts linked below by adding pictures of the record sleeves. Please check them out.

Thanks to tfmlover for sending the rare pictures.

http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1613171#1613171
http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1609271#1609271
http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1594130#1594130
http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1578366#1578366

Neel D
1st December 2008, 03:35 AM
Pick #724

Song: mAveduththu pUkkOlam
Film: Karaiyai Thodaatha Alaigal
Music: Chandrabose
Lyrics: One of (Vaali, Muthulingam, Karaikkudi Narayanan)
Year: 1985

Karaiyai Thodatha Alaigal is a nice love story combined with family drama. Chandrabose and the lyricists came up with some memorable songs. SPB does a fine job rendering today's pick. Not sure who does the humming in the background.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/maveduththu.rm

Naaz
1st December 2008, 09:50 AM
Neel D -
All fine picks in the last little while! Keep it up!
Too bad that a stellar tune like Veenai Sirippu does not have any good MP3 transfers. A tragedy.
Loved all the TRP selections.
Maaveduthtu...have no heard this since the film came out! Your tentacles reach real far!! :-)

baroque
1st December 2008, 11:11 AM
SWEET visual treats, :ty: tfmlover!
I love Ramki-Neel's pow thread.
feeling nostalgic or happy or excited or sad or in loving mood whatever... I come here, listen music, reminisce...
Today your album covers doubled the pleasure.

:bluejump: :musicsmile: Mr.Neel!
Vinatha.

tvsankar
1st December 2008, 07:32 PM
Dear Neel,
Chandrabose song ku poiteengala... sari.

En friend ku piditha song idhu.

Aval ninaivu dhan vandhadhu indha paatai
kettadhum.

Thanks for the song....

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Neel D
2nd December 2008, 09:35 AM
Naaz, baroque & Usha, thank you. I will post more TRP songs next week.

Y'all,
Check out more pictures from tfmlover.
http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1573289#1573289
http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1615294#1615294

tvsankar
2nd December 2008, 09:59 AM
Dear tfmlover and Neel,
THanks for pics of the flims.

Andha period kae pona madhiri oru feelings.
Adhuvum indha mor la pakkum podhu,
really it reminds my childhood days .
Think of the "Andha naal nyabagam"

Thanks a lot.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Naaz
2nd December 2008, 10:04 PM
tfmlover -

Those visuals are a memory kick! Thanks!

Neel D -

Has this song been featured: Kaadhal Radhiyae, Gangai Nadhiyae, En Nenjil Thondrum Sorkamae...
Any detalis? I think it is SJ & SPB?...madhu?

priya32
2nd December 2008, 11:41 PM
Naaz,

Did you mean?

'காதல் ரதியே கங்கை நதியே
கால்தட்டில் காணும் ஜதியே
எங்கும் மலர்ந்த பூவாசம்
என்னை அழைக்கும் உன் நேசம்'?

'அந்தரங்கம் ஊமையானது' படத்தில் இடம்பெற்றது!

எஸ்.பி.பாலசுப்ரமணியம்...எஸ்.ஜானகியுடன் இணைந்து பாடிய...காதல் ரசம் ஒழுகும் (throughout the whole song) அழகிய பாடல்!

Naaz
3rd December 2008, 12:34 AM
priya32 -

That's the song! The En Nenjil bit must be my own memory mix and match!:-)
I am glad you remember it too!
Azhagiya Paadal Dhaan!
MD?

priya32
3rd December 2008, 12:55 AM
MD? I'm not sure...is it Raveendran?

raagadevan
3rd December 2008, 06:28 AM
The music director for "kaadhal rathiyE gangai nadhiyE..." (ANDHARANGAM OOMAIYAANADHU) was K.J. Joy.

Neel D
3rd December 2008, 07:14 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/ktalaigal.jpg
Pick #725

Song: pU paRikkum nEraththilE

Another nice song. Thanks to tfmlover for the image.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/pu_parikkum.rm

tfmlover
3rd December 2008, 09:01 AM
hi :)
Karaiyai Thodatha Alaigal -P Madhavan directed movie
with K R Vijaya's guest role , Manorama ,VKR ,Ganga ,
Arun , Devisri & Ilavaasi acted but
Gowndar ! who steals the show(for me ) , ended up marrying Ilavarasi :D
lyrics credits to Vaali ,Muthulingam &
Kaaraikkudi Narayanan who wrote screenplay + dialogue too
regards

rajesnkl
3rd December 2008, 03:11 PM
dear neel d,

both songs from karaiyai thodatha alaigal

very super and very very rare.

after a very long time i hear the song

because of you.

try this song from chandra bose

"oru thottil sabatham - poon chittu kuruvigala"

thanks

rajes

Naaz
3rd December 2008, 09:45 PM
Neel D -

The SPB I really like! Soft, caressing, lingering...thanks for this selection!

raagadevan -

Thanks for the K.J. Joy detail. I remember his "Sippiyin Ullae, Muththaadum Seidhi, Sollaamal Unnidamae, Maraiththaalo Devi" from Yaarukku Yaar Kaaval?
PS / SPB duet - lovely!

Neel D -
The duet from Krodham came back to me:
"Paavai Idhazh Thaen Maadhulai, Kannangalo Sendhaamarai...Mayakkam Varum."

SJ and PJC (or KJY?), and a S-G tune!

baroque
4th December 2008, 01:33 AM
:musicsmile: Neel.
:ty: tfmlover for the nostalgia you are invoking with your visuals.
love, vinatha.

Neel D
4th December 2008, 07:02 PM
tfmlover, rajesknl, Naaz & baroque, thank you.
rajesknl, I will look for oru thottil sabatham song.
Naaz, I will look for pAvai idhaz.

Neel D
4th December 2008, 07:03 PM
Pick #726

Song: vaNNakkolu pAru

We will round off the week with one more nice and rare song from Karaiyai Thodatha Alaigal. The film has two more songs that I won't be featuring.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/vannakkolu.rm

gingerbeehk
4th December 2008, 08:22 PM
சூப்பர் NeelD. "கரையை தொடாத அலைகள்" என் மனதை தொட்டுவிட்டது. இந்த படத்தின் பாடல்களை இதுவரை கேட்டதே இல்லை. உங்கள் புண்ணியத்தில் கலக்கல் பாட்டெல்லாம் கேட்கும் வாய்ப்பு எங்களுக்கு. தூள் கெளப்புங்க....

நன்றியுடன்
ஜாக்

baroque
5th December 2008, 02:28 AM
yeah, Neel you are doing great. :ty:

one more time POO PARIKKUM NERATHILEY..... for this lunch hr, OKvaa? :) :musicsmile:
love, vinatha. :) :musicsmile:

Neel D
7th December 2008, 03:55 AM
Jack & baroque, thank you.

Neel D
7th December 2008, 03:57 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/tmkthaali.jpg
Pick #727

Song: Adi varum Adaga
Film: Thaai Magalukku Kattiya Thaali
Singers: Seerkazhi Govindarajan, S.Janaki
Lyrics: One of (Udmualai Narayana Kavi, Maruthakasi, K.D.Santhanam, Kannadasan)
Year: 1959

A beautiful and pleasant love song by T.R.Pappa. The masculine voice of Seerkazhi against the delicate voice of a young S.Janaki, complementing each other to make a perfect blend of romance. The song was picturized on a young Jamuna with her carved features and a somewhat young MGR. This song predates SJ's first big hit "singgAra vElanE". One of the other songs in the film has LRE doing lead vocal. Kudos to T.R.Pappa for having faith in SJ and LRE to do the lead vocals during their up and coming days.

The film starred MGR, Jamuna, Kannamba, Rajasulochana, and others. Arignar Anna wrote the story and Rama.Arangannal wrote the dialogs.

Thanks to tfmlover for the image. The hearts are her handiwork. :)

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/adi_varum.rm

tvsankar
7th December 2008, 12:31 PM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the song of T.R.Paapa.

Beautiful voice of Seergazhi and SJ.

Beautiful tune.

One more Raaga malaika...

Thanks a lot Neel.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

tvsankar
7th December 2008, 08:08 PM
Dear tfmlover,
Thanks for ur Special work in the pic.Ippo
dhan gavnichen. Sorry for the delayed reply.

with Love,
Usha Sankar.

tfmlover
8th December 2008, 10:25 PM
wonderful choice NeelDJ
SJ so guileless
இந்த* சிந்தனையெல்லாம் உனக்கு தேவையே இல்லை !
very reassuring SG :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
K D Sandhanam wrote this song i believe
Usha Sankar :)
regards

Meerakrishna
9th December 2008, 02:57 PM
Oh my god this song is too good. I love this type of rare songs of SJ amma. SGV voice is also too good.

Thanks to Neel and tfmlover.

regards
Meerakrishna

Neel D
9th December 2008, 09:08 PM
Usha, tfmlover & Meerakrishna, thank you.

Neel D
9th December 2008, 09:11 PM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/draagangal.jpg
Pick #728

Song: pAvai nI malligai
Film: Deiveega Raagangal
Singers: Vani Jairam, Jayachandran

Lovely song. Appropriate for the time. mAdhamO kArththigai... :musicsmile:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/pavai_ni.rm

tvsankar
9th December 2008, 10:27 PM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the rare GEM of MSV.

Very nice Melody.
maadhomo karthigai - nalla rasanai.

Thanks for ur selection Neel.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Naaz
9th December 2008, 11:11 PM
Neel D -

Wonderful pick! Just have to love the "kai" "gai" play in the song!
(I hear a bit of "Thaedinaen Vandhadhu.." in this tune...)

SJ and SGR took me back to a pure and innocent time with that song from TMKT! Precious, indeed!

Has Amman Alangaaram been featured?

Neel D
10th December 2008, 09:27 AM
Usha & Naaz, thank you.
Naaz, amman alanggAram has not been featured yet. I will do it soon.

rajesnkl
10th December 2008, 04:49 PM
hi neel,

i am no words to thank for you.

5 years back i seen this song in tv.

i am searching the song from the day.

today i will sleep well.

thanks for your song.

rajes

Neel D
11th December 2008, 11:23 PM
rajesnkl, you are welcome.

Neel D
11th December 2008, 11:28 PM
Pick #729

Song: thanjAvUru bommai
Film: Thaai Magalukku Kattiya Thaali
Singers: Seerkazhi Govindarajan, T.M.Sounderarajan, P.Susheela, L.R.Eswari
Lyrics: One of (Udmualai Narayana Kavi, Maruthakasi, K.D.Santhanam, Kannadasan)
Year: 1959

Today's pick is one of LRE's early songs. Though her part is short she holds her own against the other three singers who had already established themselves in the industry. She was credited as Rajeswari in the titles. This song predates her first big hit "vArAi en thOzi". LRE also sang "UrAr uRanggaiyilE" for the film Naalu veli Nilam and "oRRumaiyAi vAzvathAlE" for Bagappirivinai, both in 1959. And may be a very few other songs in 1959 and 1958. Once vArAi en thOzi hit the airwaves there was no stopping her. She climbed to the top faster than most of the other singers.

The song shows that boys and girls teasing each other can be clean, reformative and fun. But it was a different time when there was still some innocence in the art of film. One might disagree that innocence or the loss of it is just perception. Who knows, they could be right.:huh: Because the all so innocent sounding LRE (in today's song) transformed into probably the sexiest singer ever in TFM within the next five years and sang some of the raunchiest lyrics. So, what is all this innocence we are talking about? May be it was just a shell. And it broke when the time came. May be the innocence was never there to be lost later. Just that the lack of innocence was uncovered at some point. Or, something like that. That is enough contemplation for today.:lol:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/thanjavuru.rm

tvsankar
12th December 2008, 09:54 AM
Dear Neel,
THanks for the song.
First time aga indha song ai ketkiren.

Seerkazhi - therindhadhu.

TMS - Young voice.

LRE - Sonnal dhan therindhadhu.

PS - So young.

ANdha kalathilum indha Girl boy ragalai
irundhu iruka??? very nice.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

12th December 2008, 06:54 PM
wow Neel..

thats a nice song.. hearing after sooo many years.

:ty:

Neel D
12th December 2008, 10:23 PM
Usha & madhu, you are welcome.
madhu, enggE romba nALA unggaLai kANaliyE!

Naaz
13th December 2008, 01:13 AM
Neel D -

I mention "innocence", and you take off on a foreword / afterword ! :-)
This is a lovely pick! Four legends forever!

I have a few year end requests!:-)

Yaaradhu Manmadhan
Odaiththanneeril Meenaada
Iru Kannil Meenaatchiyo
Muththamizh Sandhangal
Bhoomi Kattalai Ittadhu

Any or all welcome! :-)

baroque
13th December 2008, 03:31 AM
POPULAR paavai nee malligai..... :bluejump: :redjump: :musicsmile:
:ty:

tfmlover, thanks for the visual treats.
You have expressed your heart :) in your ART. :swinghead:

யாரது
மன்மதன்
ஏனிது
மந்திரம்
யாரது
மன்மதன்
ஏனிது
மந்திரம்

அர்த்த ராத்திரி சரசமோ
ஆசைக் கொள்வதென்ன விரசமோ
அன்பு மன்னவனின் உருவமோ..
Very enchanting musical, I vaguley remember.
அர்த்த ராத்திரி சரசமோ
ஆசைக் கொள்வதென்ன விரசமோ
அன்பு மன்னவனின் உருவமோ..
அழகு தேவதையின் பருவமோ
Neel & Naaz ஆசையா இருக்கே! :swinghead:

13th December 2008, 04:54 AM
aaha.. apdiye innum oru request.

'malargaL soriyum poomarangaL.. kaniyum mAmarangaL'

KJY in "manmadha radhangaL"

kEttu romba naaLAchu :(

meeNdum kEttAl... :redjump:

Naaz
13th December 2008, 05:46 AM
madhu -

That's a fine KJY solo! Neel note!
I'd also like to hear Malaichaaralil Ilam Poonguyil...has it made POTW?
I don't recall the name of the film, but it starred Muthuraman and Nanditha Bose?

The two songs I'd really be thrilled to find here:

Kannan Enna Sonnaan, Siru Pillaiyae, Kanneer Vara Kaaranamae...
PS / BSS?

And:

Oru Kaadhal Dhaevadhai, Iru Kannil Poomazhai
Ival Raaja Vamsamo
Radhidevi Amsamo

PS / SPB

Have looked high and low for these, but.

Saaindhaadamma Saaindhaadu padaththil idam petravai...early IR!

baroque
13th December 2008, 07:20 AM
Naaz,

ORU KAADHAL DEVADHAI.....EARLY RAAJA TREASURE.

http://www.divshare.com/download/6072199-992

Remember you shared aayiram vaasal idhayam... maharani unaiththedi.... long time ago... when it was a long lost gem, I was elated that day, :) I NEVER FORGET THAT DAY OR YOU, YOU REUNITED ME AFTER 2 DECADES +.. :D
vinatha.

Neel D
13th December 2008, 08:52 AM
Naaz,

I have some of your requests and will host them soon.
iru kaNNil by VJ and MV from Ematrathe Emarathe. Music by Chandrabose. It is from the 80s but it is like a late 60s to early 70s song.
malaichAralil is from oru Kudumbathin Kathai by Shankar-Ganesh. Great song. Not that rare though.

madhu,

I will look for that KJY solo. It is a tough one.

baroque,

nInggaL Asaippadum pAdal kUdiya viraivil varum.

Naaz
13th December 2008, 09:44 PM
baroque -

At the speed of lightning (or almost)! Thanks for the link to the song. I heard it after decades! Early IR has something special...and I love all the PS / IR collaborations: Orae Idam, En Kannmani, Unna Nambi Neththiyilae, Sugamo Aayiram, Nilavu Naeram, Engaeyo Aedho, Vizhiyil, Un Vizhiyil...
and this duet!

Neel D -

Oru Kudumbaththin Kadhai it is!

I have not seen Aemaatraadhae, Aemaaraadhae, but I remember Iru Kannil distinctly. Don't ask why.

Iru Kannil Meenaatchiyo
Idhazh Konjum Thaenaatchiyo
Silai Nenjil Nee Aagalaam
Siru Vizhigalil Sedhukkidalaam

Would be great to listen to full track here sometime!

baroque
14th December 2008, 01:16 AM
[tscii:1aac71a9cb]thanks Neel, will wait.

:bluejump: :redjump: Naaz, those are evergreen compositions we never outgrow.

couple of more my favorites - Susheela with Ilayaraja's boys.
thaaalaattu....Achchaani
Pesakkoodadhu....Aduththa varisu
kaadhodu poovurasa.... & Nadhiyoram naanal.....
Raaja is amazingly romantic.
Thennamarathula....Lilting folkish duet with Raaja himself.

Digression

Speaking of EARLY ILAYARAJA, I enjoyed few malayalam treasures for the past week, YOU LOVE THE LIST.

mizhiyil meen pidanju....sandhyakku virinja poovu
manju kulirum....Sandhayakku virinja poovu
Ee neelimathan chaaruthayil....Aa Raathri
veene veene....aalolam...janaki
Alliyilam poovo...Mangalam Nerunnu
poovayi virinju....Atharvam
yamune ninnude....Yathra.
unarume gaanam...Moonampakkam
vaalitezhuthiya...onnanu nammal
Thazhvaaram...Jackpot
poomkaatinodum....poomukhapadiyil Ninneyum Kaathu

Laaalalalaaa…laaalalalaaa...
Varumini janmangal thorum nin koode njaan
Tharum manam choodunna varnnangal annum njaan
Ee neelima than chaaruthayil .... :musicsmile: :swinghead:

Good old Ilayaraja's humming, emotive violin, soothing flutes, continuous guitar strumming.. every song honey soaked melodies with amazing mood!
VERY SPECIAL.

End [/tscii:1aac71a9cb]

Neel D
14th December 2008, 10:04 AM
madhu, Santa ate your post? :)

Neel D
14th December 2008, 10:07 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/pnvaazhga.jpg
Pick #730

Song: pollAtha punsirippu
Film: Penne Nee Vaazhga
Music: K.V.Mahadevan
Singers: T.M.Sounderarajan, P.Susheela
Year: 1967

"Penne Nee Vaazhga" starred Jaisankar and K.R.Vijaya. Directed by P.Madhavan. Today's pick is rarely heard these days though it was once very popular.

Thanks to tfmlover for sending the song.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/pollatha_pnv.rm

tvsankar
14th December 2008, 12:06 PM
Dear Neel,
Very many thanks for the beautiful song.

Pona jenmathil ketta madhiri oru feelings.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

14th December 2008, 09:38 PM
Hi Neel..

cho chweet ! :P

I can remember the face of that kutti pappa 1

BTW.. who acted as the brother of Jai and sister of KRV ?

"uyir nee unakkoru udal naan" is another sweet solo of PS.

Neel D
15th December 2008, 01:15 AM
Usha, you are welcome.

Sorry madhu, :( I have not seen the film and don't know who the actors are. (tfmlover, have you seen it?)

baroque
16th December 2008, 12:13 AM
Familiar song, Neel. :ty:
Yenunga maapillai.... Lover boy Rules
Thoongadha kann endru ondru..... What a romantic musical!
RAKTHA THILAKAM... pasumai niraindha...What a nostalgic composition.
Orey muraidhaan unnodu.... susheela and TMS duet is beautiful.
maanallavo kangal thandhadhu... is a lilting musical.
I don't know the movies but listen to them often in my collection.
medhuvaa medhuvaa.... mesmerizing susheela, vetkkam ippodhu varalaama...
Who can forget the veena prelude of mayakkamenna.... vasantha maaligai.... I have seen this movie when I was young.
Manapparai maadukatti... maadu pattu, COOL!
poivaa nadhialaiye... , sorgaththin thirappu vizha & enna sugam enna sugam unnidam naan kanda sugam....ENCHANTING YESUDAS with Susheela, Vani and Kala... romantic musicals.
Seri... ran around in 101N with Late K.V.M's ever green beauties in this rainy, cold, dark evening. :)
:bluejump: :redjump: Vinatha.

Neel D
16th December 2008, 09:43 AM
baroque, you are welcome.

Neel D
16th December 2008, 09:48 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/tdeivam.jpg
Pick #731

Song: nIlaniRa mEgam
Film: Thirumalai Deivam
Music: Kunnakkudi Vaidyanathan
Singer: S.Varalakshmi
Year: 1973

Let us ring in the month of mArgazi with this wonderful Kannan song. This is the song that turned me into an S.Varalakshmi fan.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/nilanira_megam.rm

tvsankar
16th December 2008, 12:11 PM
Dear Neel,
Thank you for ur good selection.

S.Varalakshmi - enakum favourite singer

dhan.

"Vellli malai mannava vedham nee allava"

idhula dhan ivanga voice ai therindhu
konden.

Ivanga padina padalil enaku
migavum piditha song

"Indha pachai kilikoru
Chevanthi poovilnil
thottilai katti vaithen."

romba nalla padi irupanga.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

tfmlover
16th December 2008, 08:34 PM
good one , TMS romba nondhu pOyirukaar
arumayaa paadi irukkaar
tender sluggish voice
விரக்தி ஆவல் எல்லாமே அளவா சேர்த்து..'மங்கையரை பார்த்ததுண்டு.. '..appropriately expressed
just remember seeing those song sequences only NeelDJ
KRV carrying a baby while Jai try create conversation with this song
more songs like Bramachaari bramachaari vazukki vizalaamaa PS TMS chrs
uyir nee unakkoru udal naan PS
Kannu mayangi mayangy thavichaa .TMS yahoo with chrs
good songs KVM had scored for some Jai + KRV movies like
Pennai vaaza vidungkal
Ponnaana Vaazhvu
PennE nee Vaazhga
Mugurtha Naal
...might be more

Thirumalai Deivam !
rare S.Varalakshmi DJ
lots of good songs KBS TRM paattum irukku
5/6 lyricists
jammed with stars
(MGR Sivaji Jaishankar matum thaan illai :lol: )
thanks
regards

16th December 2008, 08:43 PM
Dear Neel..

thes story of peNNE nee vAzhga goes like..

enakku ninaivil irukkum varaiyil..
Jaishankar and KRV are in same college. KRV loves him but somehow Jai avoids her and went back to his village.
KRV comes with a child and appeals to all that its the "vArisu"
of the family. Jaishankar vehemently denies.

she stays there and at last they found out that its the child of the brother of Jai and sister of KRV. ( akka sethu pOnadhAla andha kuzhandhaiyai adhan appA kitta sErka vandha KRV adhu Jai veedu enRu therinjadhum, konjam kuzhappi adhu jaikkum thanakkum piRandha kuzhandhai enbadhu pOla nadippAr)

At last, of course, subham :P

baroque
17th December 2008, 01:59 AM
Her lullaby to MGR in Neethikku thalai vanangu...indha pachai
kilikku.....her pride and joy. What a musical! :musicsmile:

I loved her in Poova thalaiyaa, Savale Samali and Adutha vaarisu.

Yeppavo at the streets of TRICHY during festival time loud speaker ley poduvaaley, appo kettadhu :)
Vinatha.

17th December 2008, 05:29 AM
the youthful voice of S Varalakshmi..

"kAdhalAginEn.. evar Edhu sonnapOdhum naan"

from 1000 thalai vAngiya apoorva sinthAmaNi :musicsmile:

Neel D
18th December 2008, 08:08 AM
Usha, you are welcome. intha pachai kilikkoru is of course one of SV classics along with Rajaraja Chozhan, Veerapandiya Kattabomman, Sivagangai Seemai, Kandhan Karunai, etc.

tfmlover, thanks for the details.

baroque, thanks.

madhu, thanks for the story. I don't think I have heard kAdhalAginEn.

Neel D
18th December 2008, 08:10 AM
Pick #732

Song: iru kaNNil mIn AtchiyO
Film: Ematrathe Emarathe

Today's lovely pick is a nEyar(Naaz) viruppam. :musicsmile: :swinghead:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/iru_kannil.rm

baroque
18th December 2008, 08:46 AM
WOW! :musicsmile: :ty: Naaz for reminding us the long lost gem and Neel :ty:

tvsankar
18th December 2008, 07:39 PM
Dear Neel and Naaz,
Thank you for nice song.

VJ voice is so sweet.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Naaz
18th December 2008, 09:36 PM
Neel D -

Nice! Thanks for featuring!

"Mugil Pinnal En Maarbilae, Ini Manadhinil Mazhai Varumo"

Delightful metaphor!

baroque / tvsankar -

I just have to think up lost and obscure songs, and leave the rest to Neel! :)

This song brought to mind another CB tune:

Adho Vaanilae Nila Oorvalam
Idho Bhoomiyil Malar Thoranam (?)
Vizhigalil Naalum Vizha Kaanalaam

(Lyric warning!!)

A soft duet by SJ / SPB from Natpu? Nandri? Aedho oru Na padam! :)

tvsankar
19th December 2008, 12:49 AM
Naaz,
Paattu tune nyabagam vara madhiri iruku.
ana illai.

en thookam pochu ipo...

Think of the tune...

Nichayam Neel solliduvar.
With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Neel D
19th December 2008, 01:42 AM
baroque, Usha & Naaz, you are welcome.
Naaz & Usha, adhO vAnilE is a good song. If I have it I will host it some day.

priya32
19th December 2008, 01:42 AM
Naaz,

'adhO vaanile nilA Urvalam
idhO bUmiyil malar thOraNam'

is a duet sung by SPB & S.Janaki from the movie thaNdanai!

priya32
19th December 2008, 01:54 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/draagangal.jpg
Pick #728

Song: pAvai nI malligai
Film: Deiveega Raagangal

Lovely song. Appropriate for the time. mAdhamO kArththigai... :musicsmile:

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/pavai_ni.rm

Neel,

Thanks for posting this rare one!

I enjoyed listening to it over and over again! I can't get enough of it!

You're doing a GOOD job on selecting the songs to host! :)

baroque
19th December 2008, 05:04 AM
Naaz,
Adho vaaniley... is a memorable, romantic song.
I listen to it often.
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/TPplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGCHB0042%27
:musicsmile:
GOOD PEOPLE of THIRAIPAADAL.COM.. romba love for these folks :)

Neel, RR எங்கே?

Naaz
19th December 2008, 08:35 AM
tvshankar -

You'll wake up to the tune.

priya32 -

I was half on the right track! One word title!:-)
Thanks for the detail.

baroque -

Good people at TFMpage.com. I romba love these folks! :-) I don't usually visit other sites for my TFM! :-)
Thanks for the link. But I do enjoy sending Neel D on these treasure hunts! :-)

Neel D
19th December 2008, 09:18 PM
Priya, thank you.

baroque, have you tried sending RR a pm?

Naaz, one word title-aa? nallaa samaaLikkiReenga! :)

Y'all, next two weeks will be holiday specials. With pictures from tfmlover.

baroque
20th December 2008, 02:07 AM
me too, Naaz.
LOVE LOVE LOVE to Ramki & Neel for treating us with fine treasures.

ok, we wait for Neel to host the song and enjoy :bluejump:
Same time good people of Thiraipaadal.com, MIO, Raaga, Oosai etc.. are there to take care of our musical needs generously. :musicsmile: :ty:

Neel, just checking, thinking about him :)

vinatha.

20th December 2008, 05:11 AM
holiday specials :redjump:

thanks Neel and tfml !

tvsankar
20th December 2008, 09:59 AM
Naaz,
Ipo dhan kekka mudinjadhu.
Thank you.

Baroque,
thank you for the link,

Neel D
21st December 2008, 09:13 AM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/nandri.jpg
Pick #733

Song: vA vA en thalaivA
Film: Nandri
Year: 1984

Our holiday specials begin today. There will be four songs this week and four songs next week from six different films.

"Nandri" starred Karthik, Nalini, Arjun and Mahalakshmi(aka Sri). The film directed by Rama.Narayanan was produced by AVM.Rajan to promote his beautiful daughter Mahalakshmi who wasn't getting very many offers in Tamil films. This is debut film for "Action King" Arjun. In his opening scene he shows off his martial arts skills and his perfectly sculpted body. Twenty four years later he is still a beefcake. Got to admire the discipline it takes to maintain a physique like that. The film launched a successful career for Arjun but not so much for Mahalakshmi.

Shankar-Ganesh give us this beautiful light classical in the lovely voices of Vani Jairam and Jayachandran.

Let the celebration begin!

vA vA en thalaivA (http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/va_va_en.rm)

baroque
21st December 2008, 10:01 AM
Wonderful tfmlover.
Beautiful composition like unadhu vizhiyil...
paal nilavu neram...
naan iravil ezhudhum..... etc.. from Shankar Ganesh.
Let the festival time happy spirit begin!
thanks, Neel.

:musicsmile:

Great, you checked out the link, Usha!

All my favorite non IR musicals during glorious 80s Ilayaraja tsunami.:swinghead:

Vinatha.

Punnaimaran
21st December 2008, 09:39 PM
Neel,

You are doing a fantastic job. Though I go through your thread regularly, I didn't want to give my regular comment, " Nice Song"(may be because I had most of the songs) and also I'm not knowledgeable in those films for any worthy contribution. Infact I wanted to comment for the song "pAvai nee malligai" which I loved during those days.

But this holidays' special made me to atleast appreciate you for your efforts. I had really forgotten the existence of this song. Thanks for reminding this one.

Keep it up !!

Punnaimaran

22nd December 2008, 04:00 AM
Hi Neel..

yes.. Its not regularly aired in radio..
Like this song, some good numbers are not popular.

Thanks for reminding me about this song..
( I forgot the lyrics, though I remember the tune! :oops:)

suvai
22nd December 2008, 06:11 AM
Vanakam Neel!!!
Super super selection of all the songs that you & others have posted.........what a joy it brings to the heart & mind, besides being nostalgic....thanks once again for your kind efforts!!
Suvai.....:-)
ipo thaan page 15 vanthu iruken......lol

Neel D
22nd December 2008, 06:38 PM
baroque, you are welcome.
Punnaimaran, thank you very much.
madhu, you are welcome.
suvai, vaNakkam and welcome to the thread.

Neel D
22nd December 2008, 06:42 PM
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/sangamam.gif

Pick #734

Song: kaNNanidam kEttirunthEn
Film: Sangamam
Music: T.K.Ramamoorthi
Year: 1970

"Sangamam" starring Gemini Ganesh and K.R.Vijaya was directed by Dadamirasee. T.K.Ramamoorthi composed many beautiful songs for this film.

kaNNanidam kEttirunthEn (http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/kannanidam.rm)

22nd December 2008, 06:46 PM
wow !

PS kural evLO inimai... !!!

TKR thaniya pOtta music-la indha padathu songs nalla irukkum..
"oru pAttukku pala rAgam", "thannanthaniyAga nee vandhabOdhu"
ellAme nice songs.

indha song-la vara ellA bommaiyum enakku pidikkum..

adhuvum iduppai vaLaichu Adura doll :redjump:

:ty: Neel..

Naaz
23rd December 2008, 02:10 AM
Neel D -

I think that one word title thing was prescient....Nandri! :)
VJ is pitch perfect (and what a pitch at that! phew!) PJC also dazzles. S-G, surprising guys? :)

Was "Madhurai Nagarinilae, Meenaal Ninaivinilae..." from Natpu? :) (I think it might be Chidambara Ragasiyam too!! Orae Kuzhappam!)

Best of the season to all!

tfmlover
23rd December 2008, 09:21 AM
chiming choice PS so sweet
TKR , composer with great unrecognized talents
he could have done more :(
Sangamam , really enjoyable album with variety of tunes
and his 'Oru paattukku pala raagam !
once heard , keep bouncing around in my braincase kind of song
thanks DJ
regards

Neel D
23rd December 2008, 06:55 PM
bommaipriyar madhu, you are welcome.
Naaz, you are welcome. "madhurai nagarinilE' is also from Nandri.
tfmlover, you are welcome. oru pAttukku pala rasigargaL. athil nAnum oruvan.

Neel D
23rd December 2008, 06:58 PM
[html:3634c2f198]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="#cc9966">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/pmpozhuthu.jpg
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/salil.jpg

Pick #735

Song: en manam vaNdO

Film: Ponmaalai Pozhuthu

Music: Salil Chowdhury

Singer: Jayachandran

"Ponmaalai Pozhuthu" starred Kamalahasan, Lakshmi and others. The film was dubbed from Malayalam. The song is a very Salil composition.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/en_manam_vando.rm">en manam vaNdO - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:3634c2f198]

tvsankar
23rd December 2008, 08:55 PM
Dear Neel,
Salil Chowdhury and Jayachandran

Indha Rendu perum Special dhan.

Thank you for the pick ....

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Neel D
24th December 2008, 09:33 PM
Usha, you are welcome.

Neel D
24th December 2008, 09:36 PM
[html:f0ee35c74a]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="maroon">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/ooruththi.gif

Pick #736

Song: adi AththAdi

Film: Oruvanukku Oruththi

Music: V.Kumar

Year: 1977

Merry Christmas!

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/adi_aththadi.rm">adi AththAdi - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:f0ee35c74a]

24th December 2008, 09:46 PM
Merry Merry Christmas !! :redjump:

Hi Neel..

eppavO kEttadji...
I almost forgot this song..
anyway its not of my fav :P

baroque
25th December 2008, 02:29 AM
WISHING YOU ALL A GREAT HOLIDAY SEASON, HAVE A SAFE JOURNEY
IF YOU ARE DRIVING OR FLYING AND IMMERSE IN THE SPIRIT OF THE HOLIDAY SEASON WITH YOUR FRIENDS & FAMILY
Vinatha. :)

tfmlover
27th December 2008, 12:20 AM
[tscii:994976a7ba]J'espère que vous avez passé un bon Noël ,NeelDJ :)

thanks for all your songs DJ
Boxing day special enna ? busy shopping ? enjoy :)
regards[/tscii:994976a7ba]

Neel D
27th December 2008, 01:58 AM
madhu & baroque, thanks!
tfmlover, I did. Hope you did too. No specials for Boxing day. :(
I will return with the next set of four on Sunday. :D

vel1970
27th December 2008, 06:40 PM
Hello Neel... after a long time... thanks for the good songs.

I remember seeing the song sequence "Adi aaththaadi", filmed on M.S.Vasanthi (acted in Pancha kalyani and Sankar saleem simon???). Lakshmi and Jai paired as leads.

Happy holidays Neel and friends :-)

Neel D
28th December 2008, 05:33 AM
vel1970, thanks and welcome back.

Neel D
28th December 2008, 05:36 AM
[html:0fb1403bc6]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="crimson">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/ovuruvagirathu.gif

Pick #737

Song: amman alanggAram

Film: Oru Varisu Uruvagirathu

Singers: S.P.Balasubramaniam, Vani Jairam

"Oru Varisu Uruvagirathu" directed by Mouli starred Pratap, Sripriya and others. Mouli and his films got a lot of publicity in the early 80s right along with Visu, S.V.Sekar and

other stage artistes who made their entrance into films during that period, give or take a few years. He had moderate success as a writer/director in Tamil films and then

disappeared. Don't know where he is now. Pratap, who always looked like he needed a fitness trainer and... hmmm... detoxification, was still around doing some acting in the 90s.

Don't know what else he is upto. Sripriya was in a comedy series on TV few years ago and still makes public appearances in film industry related events. That is my "Where are

they now?". I am sure some of you have more updated information.

"amman alanggAram" is a beautiful song with early 80s MSV flavor all over it. SPB and VJ as good as always.

Thanks to sk for sending this song. Today's pick is a nEyar(Naaz) viruppam.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/amman_ovu.rm">amman alanggAram - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:0fb1403bc6]

28th December 2008, 11:03 AM
Hi Neel..

thats really a nice but forgotten number.. as "endhan poovanathil" is always lingering in my mind whenever I heard the name of the film :P

thanks..

tvsankar
28th December 2008, 12:18 PM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for MSV and SPB Vani combo.

MSV in indha style - migavum pidikum. Oru majestic composition. Nice to hear.

SPB and Vani jayaram - Rare combo with sweet rendition.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Veeru
28th December 2008, 08:18 PM
Around 95-97 India trip, I remember watching a duet by Sangeetha and Vijaykanth, I don't remember the lyrics or movie, adhu yenna pattu nnu yaaravadhu sollarelaa? :D :oops:

i hardly log in to tfm portal.. and i happend to go thru this thread now.. dont know , by this time whether you have got the answer for your query.. anyways here it is..

THe song is Nathiyoram veesum thendral from Alexander , composed by KarthikRaja.

Neel D
29th December 2008, 04:14 AM
madhu & Usha, thanks.
Veeru, welcome to the thread. Hope you will stay and enjoy.

Neel D
29th December 2008, 04:16 AM
[html:e7fc25ce9d]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="purple">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/sangamam.jpg

Pick #738

Song: oru pAttukku pala rAgam

Singers: T.M.Sounderarajan, L.R.Eswari

A favorite to many, today's pick from "Sangamam" is just too good to pass up. What a lovely humming LRE begins the song with, and then throughout the song! The haunting effect that TKR has brought into the song makes the song so attractive. TMS sings his heart out and has his own hummings too. Listening to this song is a unique experience.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/oru_pattukku.rm">oru pAttukku - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:e7fc25ce9d]

tvsankar
29th December 2008, 01:08 PM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for the Rare Gem.

RAdio vil ketta naal ninaivil varugiradhu.
Computer lum ketpen enru kanavilum
ninaithadhilai Neel.

Excellent audio Quailty. Thanks a lot.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

Neel D
30th December 2008, 05:31 AM
Usha, you are welcome.

Neel D
30th December 2008, 05:32 AM
[html:26ea5661e5]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="olive">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/akalyanam.jpg

Pick #739

Song: pArththAl murugan mugam

Film: Avasara Kalyanam

Year: 1972

"Avasara Kalyanam" starred Jaisankar, Vanisri, Nagesh and Ramaprabha. There is something about Vanisri. She always looked so classy in all her films I have seen.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/parththal_ak.rm">pArththAl murugan mugam - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:26ea5661e5]

tfmlover
30th December 2008, 08:43 AM
Song: oru pAttukku pala rAgam

Singers: T.M.Sounderarajan, L.R.Eswari

utterly captivating song , an applaudable motif
especially LRE's Morricone influenced spaghetti Western kind of humming , effortlessly cool :)
thanks for all your good , better & best choices DJ

regards

natha1729
30th December 2008, 09:34 AM
[quote="Neel D"]

quote]

one of my favorite "old is everlasting gold". What a charming and heart melting melody from T R Pappa? IS it possible to include this song "Aayiram Mutham Tharuven" from Avan Pithana? This is another of those treasures. I hope these 2 songs were not Hindi songs originally

SN23
30th December 2008, 09:36 AM
Neel: Is Sangamam song for GG and Nirmala? LRE is fantastic in this song.

There is TMS-LRE climax song for Jai & KRV in the film Vayaadi. I don't remember the opening line, but it was out-n-out LRE song. Though KRV's style was bit out of sync, I liked simply just because of LRE's dashing style of singing. Please share if you have (requesting TMFL also).

Neel D
31st December 2008, 05:11 AM
tfmlover, you are welcome and I appreciate your contribution very much too.

natha1729, thanks. I will look for the Avan Pithana song. I don't have it now.

SN23, enggE ivLO nALA kANOm. Welcome back. I don't have the Vayadi song either. I will try to find it. I think oru pAttukku is GG and KRV, not VAN. But I have not been sure since you raised the question. :confused2:

Neel D
31st December 2008, 05:12 AM
[html:886ef10225]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="salmon">
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/nsnsirippen.gif

Pick #740

Song: iravum pagalum

Film: Nee Sirithaal Naan Sirippen

Music: Shyam

Lyrics: Melathur Visvanathan

HAPPY
NEW
YEAR !

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/iravum_pagalum.rm">iravum pagalum - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:886ef10225]

Meerakrishna
31st December 2008, 01:27 PM
NeelD, U R the Best. NEW YEAR gift is very cute. Shyam's this tune is very femiliar becoz there is one song is kannada also, but I forgot the song. anywayz
inda pudiya varasham paattukkaga miga nanri.(sorry for my bad tamil)

HAPPY NEW YEAR.

regards
Meera

tfmlover
1st January 2009, 02:39 AM
i just know 3 songs from vayaadi SN23 :)
Ponnaa idhu..kanna -TMS
Manjalum kungumam kondathE..aaddu ennudan aadu -LRE
Oh my fair lady TMS LRE

(Oru paattukku pala raagam for GG & KRV )

our DJ come up with rare New Year gift , sweet SJ thanks
Wishing everyone a Happy New Year !
regards

1st January 2009, 05:51 AM
Hi..

Happy New year to all !!

Neel.. thanks for this song.. kEtta tune mAdhiri irukku.. but vArthaigal ninaivula varala..:P

tfml..

LRE sings.. "vAda pudikkiRa vAthiyArE "...idhu enna padathula ?
vAyAdi or thirudi ( romba conpeesan :mrgreen: )

SN23
1st January 2009, 10:09 AM
Happy new year to all our friends here..

TFML: That song I was referring was from Thirudi not VAyAdi. IppO sollunga pAkkalAm :-) Jai and KRV pAduvArgal. A.Sakunthala (with gOra kaNNAdi) and Kum.Padmini AduvAnga :-)

tfmlover
1st January 2009, 12:09 PM
hi :)
SJ -Enn paadal thangam perum
PS SPB -Nilavu vandhu vaanathaiyE
PS -pOga mudindhaal pOgalaam
TMS LRE -kElungal ! ilagiya mangaiyin kadhai.
.haa..aadikku pinvarum aavani maadham..

regards

tfmlover
2nd January 2009, 05:43 AM

"Avasara Kalyanam" starred Jaisankar, Vanisri, Nagesh and Ramaprabha.
There is something about Vanisri.
She always looked so classy in all her films I have seen

'Paarthaal murugam mugam paarkka vEndum..Kannadasan's holy of holies
murugan ,valli ,devaanai ,kannaa mani ,ponnar thirumEni nandhavanam , kandhan who else ..
pillaiyaar mattum En varala ?
(BTW nandavanathil irunthadhu aandiyaa kandhanaa ?)
just imagining the same lyric in APN KVM movie
TMS & PS ! head over heels in love ,
meandering T.R.Pappa 's , soothing shehnai
and your Vanisri haa haa DJ
her hairdo s , looks , style ..voice ..
quite a Lady indeed !
Avasarak Kalyanam Nagesh's show handsomely done
thanks
regards

Neel D
2nd January 2009, 10:29 PM
Meerakrishna, Psst! Next song is by SJ also. Because you said I am the best. I will post it on Sunday. Don't tell anyone. :shhh:

madhu & SN23, thanks.

tfmlover, thanks for the details.

priya32
2nd January 2009, 10:46 PM
'Happy New Year' Neel and POTW folks! :)

Neel...do you want me to say that 'you're the best too'? Then get me this song 'inRu veNNilA IramAnadhE...Udal koNdadhAl nEramAnadhE' from the movie 'kAval kaidhigaL' sung by S.P.Shylaja along with either Krishna Chander or Deepan Chakravarthi!

I'm just kidding...You sure are the 'BEST'!...this is my kind request to host that song for me if you have it...thanks!

Neel D
3rd January 2009, 02:21 AM
Priya, :)
I will look for that song. I am not sure if I have it.

3rd January 2009, 06:56 AM
:yes: Neel is the best :redjump:

Neel D
4th January 2009, 05:32 AM
madhu, :)

Neel D
4th January 2009, 05:34 AM
Pick #741

Song: sollAmal theriya
Film: Vilaiyaattu Pillai
Music: K.V.Mahadevan

"Vilaiyaattu Pillai" directed by A.P.Nagarajan starred Sivaji Ganesan and Padmini. Today's pick is a lovely song in the pre-IR voice of SJ, innocently expressing her crush on the man she likes.

The lyrics capture the feelings of developing love so clearly and completely. It seems like the lyricist simply nails it in just the pallavi. No decoration, no ornamentaion, no embellishment... straight to the point... yet so beautiful.

sollAmal theriya vENdumE
sollavum thanimai vENdumE
kaN jAdai puriya vENdumE
yArum kANAmal sirikka vENdumE

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/sollamal.rm

4th January 2009, 10:50 AM
Hi..

"viLaiyAttu piLLai" is the film based on the novel written by kothamangalam subbu I think.. "Rao bahadur singaram"

and this song is for kanchana ( or for someone else.. I forgot :oops:)

nice lyrcis.. "mounam.. sammadham.. matRenna solvadhu ? :P"

ShankarV69
4th January 2009, 01:50 PM
Can you also post the song "Unnai Padaithathum" from "Nee Sirithaal Naan Sirippen" please?

bobgalee
4th January 2009, 08:03 PM
I think vilaiyaattu pillai is the same movie where eeru perusa intha ooru perusaa song featured.

Neel D
6th January 2009, 07:22 AM
madhu & bobgalee, thanks.
ShankarV69, I will look for that song. Don't have it at the moment.

Neel D
6th January 2009, 07:24 AM
Pick #742

Song: kaNgaL thEduthu
Film: Pesu Maname Pesu
Music: M.L.Srikanth
Singer: M.L.Srikanth
Year: 197X

Today's pick is a rare M.L.Srikanth song. Like all of his other (very few) songs I have heard, this is a very good song too. Pardon the audio quality.

Could not find any details on the film "Pesu Maname Pesu". I have made the assumption that the music for the film is by MLS. And of course the year has to be somewhere in the 1970s. Wish MLS had composed many more film songs. But he didn't.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/kangal_theduthu.rm

tvsankar
6th January 2009, 10:05 AM
Dear Neel,
Thanks for sollamal theriya vendumae..

Ethanai varudangalaga kathu irukiren - indha padalai
ketka....

Kanagal thedudhu oli engae - Eppodho ketta padal.

Haunting tune.

Dhievamae unnai naan sandhipeno............

Enna azhagana varthai........

Thank you Neel.

With Love,
USha Sankar.

Neel D
8th January 2009, 06:45 AM
Usha, you are welcome.
tfmlover, thanks for the details and the lyrics.

Neel D
8th January 2009, 06:58 AM
[html:a1a862f5d6]http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow07/images/thirukkalyanam.jpg[/html:a1a862f5d6]
Pick #743

Song: thAli onRu
Film: Thirukkalyaanam
Music: Ilaiyaraja
Year: 1978

Why do we feel the need to love? Why do we feel the need to be loved? Hard to explain. Or, may be there is no explanation. The reason why one chooses a particular person to love is just as unexplainable. This woman is in love with a man who is married to another woman. What is she to do? It is possible to distance herself from her lover. But, is it possible to erase the love? They say, once you fall in love [with someone] you never fall out. Love is never erased. Love never evaporates. Love never disappears. Love is only sacrificed.

The woman decides to stay in love. But to keep away from the lover. She would experience the love in her imagination. But she would sacrifice the expression of love. Because, she does not want to interfere in his marriage. She will not be a homewrecker. She is better than that. She even reveres her lover's wife. She would not do anything to hurt her. So, she decides to live and experience her love in her own heart and mind, but not by sharing a life with her lover. She is choosing a life of fantasy. But that is the only way her love can live on. Possibly that is the only way she can live on too.

thAli onRu thEvai enna mAnasIga vAzvil
tharmam ennun sannithiyil kAthal onRu pOthumadi

Every time I listen to VJ sing, at her pitch, full-throatedly, with the force of a wild river but with the clarity of a mountain stream, it brings tears to my eyes... especially the second charanam. VJ sings the first two lines with intensity.

sinthanaiyil vAznthirunthAl theiva sugam kOdi varum
sErAtha vAzvinilum kaNNiril kavithai varum

For the next two lines VJ brings down the intensity and softens the tone as though she is embracing her deity who lives in her heart.

uLLirukkum kOvililE Or iRaivan kudiyirukka
UrArkku kAtchi enna uNmaikku sAtchi enna

Sacrifice is divine. Sorrow becomes art.
Her love is her own secret and there is no need for proclamation.
The truth... is it her love? or is it the existence of divinity? or is it both?... the truth... needs no proof!
Wow! Where are you Kannadasan? Here is a big kiss for you!

Great tune and orchestration from the early Ilaiyaraja.

VJ gives nothing but a stellar performance every time IR gives her a composition.

Thanks to Vinoth for sending the song.

http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/thali_onru.rm

tvsankar
8th January 2009, 11:14 AM
Dear Neel,
Beautiful write up came from you...

Your Words about Love is very nice and true...

"
Love is never erased. Love never evaporates. Love never disappears. Love is only sacrificed. "

True True True....

Indha paatai patri kelvi pattu iruken.
Mudhal muraiyaga ipodhu dhan ketkiren...

Thank you Neel.

With Love,
Usha Sankar.

SN23
8th January 2009, 02:31 PM
Vijayakumar and SR.Vijaya couple; Srividya forming the third corner of the triangle. Hundreds of films with the same storyline... aluththu pOna aracha mAvu :-(

This powerful song is for Srividya, who gave very good performance in front of wooden faced Vijayakumar (these days VK is totally reversed). Guhanathan directed this movie, I guess. This film came almost after the success of GN's Madhura geetham.

Neel D
9th January 2009, 09:40 PM
Usha, thank you very much.
SN23, thanks for the details.
Next week we will have Pongal specials y'all ! :bluejump:

10th January 2009, 04:44 AM
Usha, thank you very much.
SN23, thanks for the details.
Next week we will have Pongal specials y'all ! :bluejump:

:redjump:

I want more cashewnuts, raisins, jaggery and ghee !! :slurp:

Neel D
11th January 2009, 11:22 PM
[html:bd6b31a375]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="orange">

Pick #744

Song: ezil jOthi vAnavA

Film: Ezhaiyin Aasthi

Music: T.A.Kalyanam-G.Natarajan

Singers: A.M.Raja, Rohini

Year: 1955

Our Pongal presentation begins today. There will be five songs this week. We will begin praising the sun.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/ezil_jothi.rm">ezil jOthi vAnavA - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:bd6b31a375]

baroque
12th January 2009, 11:54 AM
Raaga Pahadi ambience is flooding my manasu.

Ezhil jothi... is the same tune of IDHAYA VAANIN....A.M.RAAJA AND SUSHEELA DUET FROM PAARTHIBAN KANAVU - OLD

aaja tujhko pukaare mera pyar ....Ravi's Classic.
mounamaana neram...Ilayaraaja....what a ullam kavar kalvan!
naadu....Glorious M.S.V
kannukku kulamedhu....Power and Pathos ..M.S.V packed is devastating.
Orey naal .....Romance in the air... IR RULES FOREVER
Kabhi kabhi.....Khayyam's pahadi is always Elegant.
kora kagaz... Aaradhana... Breezy song.
Pahadi ambience ...too many compositions all WONDERFUL FROM THEIR MUSICAL HEARTS TO OURS.
VINATHA.

Neel D
13th January 2009, 01:39 AM
baroque, thanks.

Neel D
13th January 2009, 01:41 AM
[html:c2eba6f9ea]
<tr><td bgcolor="purple">

Pick #745

Song: samaiyalukkum maiyalukkum

Film: Pennai Vaazha Vidungal

Music: S.M.S

Year: 1969

"Pennai Vaazha Vidungal" starred Jaisankar, K.R.Vijaya, Sheela and others. The music is credited to S.M.S. I am guessing
that is S.M.Subbaiah Naidu.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/samaiyalukkum.rm">samaiyalukkum maiyalukkum - Listen<A>

</td></tr>
[/html:c2eba6f9ea]

13th January 2009, 04:41 AM
mm..

இந்த பாட்டு எதுக்கு வந்துச்சு ? :confused2:
enakku purinju pOchu !! :redjump:

purushanukku manaivithAnE sakkara pongal ? :mrgreen:

13th January 2009, 05:44 AM

ippodhaan gnaanodhayam vandhuchchaa? :lol:

SN23
13th January 2009, 10:33 AM
Lyrics for Samayalukkmum is romantic... Kannadasan-na summavA? Nice song except some iraichal interludes between lines.

Ellorukkum iniya Thai pongal nal vazhththukkaL :-)

13th January 2009, 05:58 PM

ippodhaan gnaanodhayam vandhuchchaa? :lol:

adutha variyai gavaninga..

pongal pOlEy inikkum peNgaL ethanai pEru ? :huh:

Neel D
14th January 2009, 12:03 AM
madhu, rajraj & SN23, thanks.
madhu, vambai vilai koduththu vAnggaRIngga! :)

Neel D
14th January 2009, 12:09 AM
[html:03e223db84]
<tr>
<td bgcolor="red">

Pick #746

Song: chellammA chinnammA

Film: Anichamalar

Lyrics: One of (Mu.Mehta, Pulamaipithan)

Year: 1981

Happy Pongal!

"Anichamalar" starred Raja Bahadur (son of P.U.Chinnappa) and Lakshmikala in the lead. It was debut film for both actors. Today's pick picturized on the two lead actors is a lovely folk song shot on picturesque green farming lands.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/chellamma.rm">chellammA chinnammA - Listen<A>

</td></tr>
[/html:03e223db84]

priya32
14th January 2009, 12:16 AM
very peppy song! It kindles my mind to bring back the memories! :bluejump:

Thanks Neel...Happy Pongal! :)

tvsankar
14th January 2009, 01:43 AM
Dear Neel,
Samaiyalukum maiyalukum - indha paatai
ennoda chinna vayasulae - enga veetuku
kite irundha theatre la dhan kettadhu.
apprm ipo dhan kekaren.
MGR kana song nu nenachu irundhen ithanai naala.
hmmmmm . Jai ka....

chellama chinnama - sandhoshamana school
days. color color half saree pottunda
deepavali and pongal pandigai with my friends
ivai ellam nyabagam varadhu...

Thanks a lot Neel.
With Love,
Usha Sankar.

14th January 2009, 08:23 AM
:redjump: pongalO pongal :bluejump:

baroque
14th January 2009, 10:04 AM
:bluejump: :redjump: :musicsmile:
Vocal Exuberance in Vasu's vocals... aahaa!

:ty: Shri.Ilayaraja for bringing the robust vocalist for our listening pleasure. forever addicted to his romantic poetic singing with honey soaked resonance and the laya brilliance, soft konjal touches.

Balu & Vasu RULE! :)

HAPPY PONGAL & SANKRANTI!

Vinatha.

Neel D
15th January 2009, 01:04 AM
Priya, Usha, madhu & baroque, thank you.

Neel D
15th January 2009, 01:08 AM
[html:3a1fc134d5]<tr><td bgcolor="olive">

Pick #747

Song: oru thai mAsam

Film: Vandichakkaram

"Vandichakkaram" directed by K.Vijayan starring Sivakumar, Saritha, Vinu Chakravarthi, Smita and others was a big hit. Smita got her "Silk" from this film. Shankar-Ganesh tuned many good songs for the film.

We have two more days of Pongal, don't we? That means there will be one more song tomorrow. Yay!

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/oru_thai_masam.rm">oru thai mAsam - Listen<A>

</td></tr>[/html:3a1fc134d5]

baroque
15th January 2009, 01:24 AM
Very nice, Neel.

DEVI VANDHA NERAM.... delicious hameerkalyani bhaavam is a mesmerizing duet by Lover boy and Vani. Let me treat myself to that beauty too this lunch hr. good old days.. :musicsmile: :ty:

tfmlover
15th January 2009, 04:14 AM
Pick #744
Song: ezil jOthi vAnavA
Film: Ezhaiyin Aasthi
Music: T.A.Kalyanam-G.Natarajan
Singers: A.M.Raja, Rohini
Year: 1955
Our Pongal presentation begins today. There will be five songs this week. We will begin praising the sun.

எழில் ஜோதி வானவா
எழில் ஜோதி வானவா ஆத*வா
அருணோதய தேவா
தொழுதிடுவோம் அருள் தாராய்
புவியின் இருள் நீங்க வாராய்

வ*னங்க*ள் உன் பொன் நிற*ம் கொண்டாடி
ம*ல*ரும் இள*ங்காலை
வாழி கூறி உயர் வானில் பறவைகள்
பாடும் இவ்வேளை
ஆவினங்கள் பால் சுரந்திட*
கன்றை அழைத்திடும் வேளை
தொழுதிடுவோம் அருள் தாராய்
புவியின் இருள் நீங்க வாராய்

வானின் வண்ணம் போலே எண்ணம்
மலர்ந்திடவே நீ வா வா
அருணோதய ஒளியாகவே
ஞால*ம்தனில் நிறைந்தே வா
பலன் எண்ணாமல் பணிகள் செய்யவே
வரம் தந்தெனை காவாய்

உலகினிலே உயர்ந்திட நானே
உவந்தருள்வாய் தேவா
தெளிவோடு நெஞ்சில்
திடம் கொள்ள வாழ்வில்
தேவன் நிலை தர வா

எழில் ஜோதி வானவா ஆத*வா
அருணோதய தேவா !

who wrote this song ?
soft worship voice and music ,how tranquil!
had always thought of this as M S Rajeswary with AMR
Rohini ? rare singer
wonderful DJ thanks

Nama Suryaya Santaya Sarvaroga Nivarine |
Ayu rarogya maisvairyam dehi devah jagatpate

Happy Thai Pongal all :)
regards

Neel D
16th January 2009, 12:36 AM
baroque, thanks.
tfmlover, thanks for the lyrics.

Neel D
16th January 2009, 12:39 AM
[html:4375094218]

<tr>

<td bgcolor="crimson">

Pick #748

Song: katti thangga rAjAvukku

Film: Maniyosai

Music: Viswanathan-Ramamoorthi

Singers: K.Jamunarani, L.R.Eswari

Year: 1963

"Maniyosai" directed by P.Madhavan starred Kalyankumar, Vijayakumari, Pushpalata and others. The film has several good songs. Today's pick is a rare one especially because of the singers that have been paired up. K.Jamunarani and L.R.Eswari popularized the style of singing with a carefree attitude. Though some other singers have done it these two excelled in it during their times. And in this song the two singers come together, actually to sing rather modestly. But their natural style still seeps through, just the right amount, to bring out the joyous mood of the song, without going overboard, because a wedding is a dignified occasion. MSV-TKR duo's lively tune, the beautiful shehnai, and the voices suited for the occasion will bring extra joy to those looking forward to this wedding season.

<A href="http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow07/katti_thangga.rm">katti thangga rAjAvukku - Listen<A>

</td>

</tr>

[/html:4375094218]

baroque
16th January 2009, 02:51 AM
thanks. brindhavana saranga as in ponnondru kanden...., naadhaswara oosaiyiley...,soundara rajam bhajey....dikshitar, poongaatre.....speedy Janaki with IR, maadaththiley kanni... Veera.

Susheela and L.R.E duets are bloody good too, Neel.

another female duet from MANIOSAI....PAAYUTHU PAAYUTHU is a good one.
Native purity of vocals with rollicking flute, piano, strings very pleasing song. that's my favorite.
Devan .... Seergazhi delight, I have in my collection.