Page 79 of 154 FirstFirst ... 2969777879808189129 ... LastLast

Thread: Hindi songs of Emotional Impact - nostalgic, favorites etc

Senior Member Seasoned Hubber Sunil_M88's Avatar
    O Saiyyan http://youtube.com/watch?v=fyx-NM0wZeY

Abhi Mujh Main Kahin http://youtube.com/watch?v=M9yL6eYfC3M

I have no words to describe the beauty of these two numbers...

Ajay-Atul, Roop Kumar Rathod, Sonu Nigam

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajraj's Avatar

More ankle bells

Here is a song from Phagun(1958):

Chun chun ghungroo bole.......

" I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

A variation of Darbari Kanada for a dance

Here is a dance by Vaijayantimala in Chhoti si Mulaqat(1967):

kam nahin paye jiya more piya........

It is Nayaki Kanada, a variation of Darbari Kanada.
    " I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

Kedar for the weekend

I opened one of our annuual musical evenings with 'thoomaNi maadathu' ( 9th verse of Thiruppaavai) in Hamir Kalyani, because it was the month of Margazhi. When I finished one of my north Indian friends,an expert in classical music, came to me and said that he was happy I started with Kedar. Kedar is the Hindustani equivalent of Hamir Kalyani with a slight difference.

Here is a song from Mughal E Azam(1960) in Kedar:

Beqas pe karam kijiye........

There are not that many compositions in Hamir kalyani in carnatic music. In addition to the thiruppaavai verse I like 'Purahara nandana' and 'ParimaLa ranganatham' by Dikshithar. Here is Purahara nandana...

Here is the Thiruppaavai verse 9 ( by Vedavalli, I think):

Have a good weekend!

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    Wow! Baiyon na dharo and Beqas ke prem. Where are hindi songs now? Million thanks raj sir for sharing these two beauties from Madan ji and Naushad ji. Thanks for the raaga information too.

A prayer in Kedar from Guddi

I thought I would post a song by Vani Jayaram. Here is a prayer from the movie Guddi(1971).

Humko manki shakthi dena............

You are welcome V_S! I like songs that bring out the ragas well. For some reason the songs of the 60s and earlier seem to do that. May be, I misssed everything from the 70s ! I will cover a few more ragas.

This song brings back memories of my school days when we started the day with a prayer and ended with 'vaazhiya senthamizh' by Bharathiyar
    Last edited by rajraj; 27th February 2012 at 07:43 AM.

Beautiful song raj sir and good to hear your childhood memories through this song.

Here is my pick in 70's. One of my often visited song. The first one was composed by legendry Salil Chowdhury in 60's for Gulzar's lyrics and sung by Sabita.

R D Burman ji used the same lyrics of Gulzar and composed entirely different tune sung by none other than Kishore ji which will haunt us for ever.

Jaane kya soch kar nahi guzra from Kinara (1977).

Yaman for the weekend

The song V_S posted appears to be in Yaman or a variation. I picked yaman for the weekend. Yaman is Kalyani in carnatic system.

Here is a song from Chhaya(1961):

ansu samajh ke....

There are many more movie songs in yaman/kalyani. I will post a few later. Here is a Tamil song in Kalyani:

mukathil mukam paarkkalaam......

A violin concert:

Nidhi chaala sukamaa........ ,a composition of Thyagaraja

In some other thread I read about Jazz being used in Tamil movies. Rag preceded Jazz. Scott Joplin is considered to be the pioneer of ragtime compositions .

My youngest son plays Scott Joplin on the piano whenever he comes home. The piano in the Hindi song reminded me of that. Here is 'Maple Leaf Rag' by Joplin:

Have a good weekend!

That was a great post raj sir, covering the same/similar raaga from different origins (from hindi film song to tamil to classical). First time hearing chayya songs. Thanks a lot for introducing all these classics. Salil chowdhury and Talat ji, beautiful combination! Very nice to hear about your son playing Scott Japlin. Congrats to him.

If you liked Miyan ki Malhar (raga)............

You will like this song too!

Bol re papi hara..... by Vani Jayaram in Guddi(1971)

Live performance:

One of our singers sang this in one of our annual musical evenings. I liked it and thought I should share it with you!

Thanks V_S. We will cover a few more ragas!