Gopi Amarnath

Editing by
Leo John Paul

Produced by
C. V. Kumar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iINt_KX0JzY

19th October 2012, 03:05 PM
looks like i am giving the first review of this movie here in hub..

fantastic thriller...definitely movie of the year..not willing to talk about this now...please do watch this awesome flick..

19th October 2012, 03:13 PM
went to this one with nothing in mind...trailer kuda gavanichu paakala..mighty surprised...the response in sathyam was also great..very happy to see new talents doing a very good job..

19th October 2012, 03:22 PM
Trailer does look good! Is this a thriller or horror ?

19th October 2012, 03:28 PM
its not completely a horror...lot of creepy moments througout..very unpredictable..

19th October 2012, 03:39 PM
its not completely a horror...lot of creepy moments througout..very unpredictable..

Ok thanks will certainly watch it!

19th October 2012, 03:59 PM
Finally the 'PIZZA' day has come.... We have presented our team's whole hearted effort on screen to entertain you for the time and money you are spending on us.Please watch the film in theatres and give a verdict, that will open colorful doors for us into the Film industry.... Please watch the film in theatres and after watching the film KINDLY DO NOT REVEAL THE STORY TO ANYONE, as 'PIZZA" will taste bit less tastier if you know its ingredients already... :) JUST sit back and enjoy the 'PIZZA - RIDE'
- Karthik Subbaraj in fb

19th October 2012, 04:06 PM
http://i49.tinypic.com/2ewffxs.jpg

http://i49.tinypic.com/2817hnl.jpg

very creative and attractive marketing

even their FB page is like that

Kalyasi
19th October 2012, 07:50 PM
http://www.sify.com/movies/tamil/review.php?id=15010682&ctid=5&cid=2429

On the whole it is a film which is entertaining and at the same time different in its approach. Grab a slice of Pizza, it’s yummy.

Verdict – Delicious

Kalyasi
19th October 2012, 07:54 PM
Raghav BGM, Music ellam epdi irunthuchu??

Kalyasi
19th October 2012, 08:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wac5JFIikI

One more trailer...

Kalyasi
20th October 2012, 01:07 AM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-reviews/reviews-2/oct-12-03/pizza-review.html

Go buy a ticket and enjoy the ride!

Verdict: Pizza – Place your order and prepare to be thrilled!

20th October 2012, 08:54 AM
Kalyan
bgm really good..blended with the story...not loud at all..ringtone song onnu varum..:shaking:

srimal
20th October 2012, 08:55 AM
hmm.. ticket irukkaanu pakkalam :)

20th October 2012, 09:05 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7h08rGyJevM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

easygoer
20th October 2012, 02:39 PM
Absolutely fantastic movie. 2 hrs of thrill ride. Awesome narration and a brilliant screenplay.The screenplay has got lot of surprises. New directors are doing a great job than established directors....

20th October 2012, 05:52 PM
One of the best in 2012. Happy to see lot of new talents in the industry. Kalaignar, knowingly or unknowingly has done something good for TFI.

20th October 2012, 05:59 PM
Not released in Malaysia :(
Bharath's Thiruthani has been released instead :banghead:

Sid_316
20th October 2012, 07:36 PM
Nalla irunduchu.. could have been better.climax pudikala. BGM was jarring at places.. Or inox screen seri illayo :curse:

20th October 2012, 07:55 PM
One of the best in 2012. Happy to see lot of new talents in the industry. Kalaignar, knowingly or unknowingly has done something good for TFI.
??
very refreshing to see new talents like Karthik subbaraj,santhosh,vijay sethupathy and co doing well...had enough of these so called big names in the industry,who have gone flat this year..

Sid_316
20th October 2012, 08:04 PM
Karthik subburaj was a part of nalaya iyyakunar?

20th October 2012, 08:32 PM
http://www.moviecrow.com/News/1494/movie-review---pizza-is-deliciously-spooky

22nd October 2012, 12:51 AM
mahaaa kuppai ..

anybody can make a manipulative horror movie with dark scenes, sudden surprise shots and loud bgm .. the movie is a total farce.. waste of our valuable time.. but, i know ppl will praise .. Engeyum Eppothum padame nallaa irukkunu sollra ulagam ithu .. :banghead:

22nd October 2012, 04:19 AM
ringtone song onnu varum..:shaking:

Thats a french song : Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien sung by Edith Piaf & composed in 1956.
The same song was used in Inception too; Christopher Nolan had explained why he used this song in the movie. (if you are interested to know, watch inception with directors commentory or backstage interviews)

But this the 1st time I hearing the "Creepy" version.

22nd October 2012, 04:32 AM
Pizza

A good effort from the team to give us a wholesome suspense, mystery and horror, without any kind of gore or artificial jumping moments. A neatly packed story narrated in a simple way without missing (much) logic.

A one night stand of a Pizza delivery guy who is caught between reality and imagination. The fear of ghost and its existances drives him further more into the dark hole where his whole realm of reality becomes a big question. What is the base of his fears, what really happened that night and how he comes out of it forms the crux of the story with some beautifully woven twists.

+ Vijay Sethupathi : He's got skills. His expressive eyes, body language and (local slang) voice blends good with the Character as a Pizza guy
+ Casting / Characterisation
+ Creepy enviornment
+ Karthik Subbaraj (Welcome. Hats off for a quite original presentation)

- Do not wish to discourage the team, but just to make them improve : more concentration needed in Art, music & camera work. Could have avoided beating around the bush for about 30 mins inside the house, instead could have made this 30 mins a bit more interesting. On the whole they have done a good job.

Overall, its one big delicious Pizza having the taste of all varieties of pizzas.

Watch it, you wont be disappointed.

22nd October 2012, 04:41 AM
mahaaa kuppai ..

anybody can make a manipulative horror movie with dark scenes, sudden surprise shots and loud bgm .. the movie is a total farce.. waste of our valuable time.. but, i know ppl will praise .. Engeyum Eppothum padame nallaa irukkunu sollra ulagam ithu .. :banghead:

Agree : Engeyum Eppothum was over rated.
Disagree : Pizza = mahaaa kuppai

Kalyasi
22nd October 2012, 05:40 AM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/videos/37331.html

22nd October 2012, 07:44 AM
who is this remya nembeesan ... koot figure.. but Vijay sethupathi-kku iva heroine-aa ?? :lol: seriously, her performance in the climax :rotfl:

Vijay sethupathi acted decently though..

22nd October 2012, 08:49 AM
Thats a french song : Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien sung by Edith Piaf & composed in 1956.
The same song was used in Inception too; Christopher Nolan had explained why he used this song in the movie. (if you are interested to know, watch inception with directors commentory or backstage interviews)

oh yea...remember..the kick song in inception rite?..

22nd October 2012, 08:55 AM
heard that Karthik subbaraj,vj sethubathy,the specs guy,simha(vj pooja's husband),sound engineers are all from nalaya iyakunar.

22nd October 2012, 08:59 AM
Not as kick. But as a warning song that the dreamers are going to be woken up.

22nd October 2012, 09:02 AM
http://i50.tinypic.com/358sx39.jpg

22nd October 2012, 09:05 AM
Not as kick. But as a warning song that the dreamers are going to be woken up.yea..adhan got it..romba naal achu pathu..so couldn recognize it..
pm amchennu nenaikiren..chk it pls..

22nd October 2012, 11:14 AM
Naanum reply nethe anuppittennu ninaikkiren. Check pls., :)

22nd October 2012, 03:02 PM
DVD not available here, guess i have to wait a while :|

23rd October 2012, 11:25 AM
Naanum reply nethe anuppittennu ninaikkiren. Check pls., :)

varala Bro

23rd October 2012, 11:34 AM
Adhu yaarunnu andha threadlaye Sakala postittaar.

23rd October 2012, 01:22 PM
indha padathoda hero & suntharapandiyan villain.. both are same actors?

23rd October 2012, 01:42 PM
Yup. Vijay Sethupathi. He was the lead actor in Thenmerkku Paruvakaatru too.

23rd October 2012, 04:09 PM
makkale..
definitely, this movie is creepy and thrilling ... have no doubts about that..

just that, it uses all the cheap and easy techniques known for ages to create that horror feel.. but still horror thaan .. story kodumai.. climax paarunga.. Mangaatha range-kku vetti scene..

there is nothing thrilling in the story ..

Ambuli for ex.. no loud BGMs.. no sudden surprise shocks.. no pei veedu comedy.. Ambuli padathula, everything is leaked by the other characters.. all spoilers.. just that we are adamant like the lead characters in not believing what people are telling.. and hence the movie is a great thrill ride.. horror/thrill is in the stroy and screenplay... antha padathoda writers :clap:

Pizza antha level ellaam illainga.. chumma, "ippidi kaami.. appidi sound vidu .. makkal bayanthuruvaanga .. " type horror padam ..

24th October 2012, 08:30 AM
Adhu yaarunnu andha threadlaye Sakala postittaar.adhoda seththu oru 4-5 kelvu kettene...enna kalaikiringala? :evil:

24th October 2012, 08:32 AM
Debutant director Karthik Subbaraj’s Pizza has turned hot. The romantic thriller has been getting rave reviews and WOM (word of mouth) is strong.

After an average opening, the film has picked up from Monday and is sure to be a hit due to holidays ahead.

Actor Siddharth who saw the film at a Chennai multiplex tweeted – “Karthik Subbaraj , take a bow! Your film is a genre bending piece of tongue in cheek bravado. A well-made Pizza, and it’s a new Tamil film.”

Pizza has Vijay Sethupathi and Remya Nambeesan in the lead and has music by Santhosh Narayanan.

Udhayanidhi Stalin and his Red Giants are distributing the film and he has tweeted: “More than 30 screens will be added for Pizza from this weekend! Number of shows increased in all multiplexes.”

http://www.sify.com/movies/pizza-gets-hot-in-multiplexes-news-tamil-mkxlI7cafea.html

24th October 2012, 08:44 AM
Week : 1
Total collections in Chennai : Rs. 28,02,308
Verdict: Average Opening
No. Shows in Chennai (Weekend): 150
Average Theatre Occupancy (Weekend): 75%
Collection in Chennai (Weekend): Rs. 28,02,308

Trade Talk
Opening wasn’t particularly extraordinary but since the reviews and word of mouth are fantastic, the movie has every scope to make it big.
Public Talk
Be very scared!

http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies/pizza/pizza-box-office-oct-21.html

povAferdeack
24th October 2012, 10:09 PM
makkale..

just that, it uses all the cheap and easy techniques known for ages to create that horror feel.. but still horror thaan .. story kodumai.. climax paarunga.. Mangaatha range-kku vetti scene..

Ambuli for ex.. no loud BGMs.. no sudden surprise shocks.. no pei veedu comedy.. Ambuli padathula, everything is leaked by the other characters.. all spoilers.. just that we are adamant like the lead characters in not believing what people are telling.. and hence the movie is a great thrill ride.. horror/thrill is in the stroy and screenplay... antha padathoda writers :clap:

Pizza antha level ellaam illainga.. chumma, "ippidi kaami.. appidi sound vidu .. makkal bayanthuruvaanga .. " type horror padam ..

Spot on, it is a good entertainer, nobody will get bored.
The thrill is in the story telling, not in the story. I found the sequence in the "ghost house" too long and most of it was unnecessary to the story.
Excellent screenplay and direction. The director will do wonders if he can get a better script.

26th October 2012, 02:20 PM
Is this better than Prashanth film "Shock" ?? or Maddy's Yaavarum nalam ??

LihDacRurdy
26th October 2012, 06:08 PM

Param yn id better than this... W:???:hat you found wrong on that one??

LihDacRurdy
26th October 2012, 06:13 PM
Watched this today, good make .... I will say this the mve next to naan E (public opinion)

LihDacRurdy
26th October 2012, 06:14 PM
Param i went that shock mve on.... release .... Big headache.....

26th October 2012, 07:14 PM

maddy's yavarum nalam is a decent movie.

26th October 2012, 07:16 PM
maddy's yavarum nalam is a decent movie.

Yeah, I liked that. Kind of watched it with the volume turned down :shaking: :oops:

Liked Shock too

26th October 2012, 07:50 PM
yaavarum nalam is much much better.. Shock rejetted..

26th October 2012, 09:15 PM
Shock rejetted..

Y dis kola veri? is it because of Prashanth :lol:

26th October 2012, 09:24 PM
Y dis kola veri? is it because of Prashanth :lol:
i am not a fan of audio/visual based horror.. chumma sound vittu, light off panni, sudden-a pei moonjiya kaamikrathu..

27th October 2012, 11:03 AM
Liked it. Director has used every single horror film cliche to a good effect. It's kinda justified at the end, but I didn't like the way everything was explained in the climax. Just as the climax starts, everything falls in its place, but the director didn't want to leave anything to our imagination. Quite predictable at times, but that's ok. Audience loved the film and in few scenes the whole theater was screaming :lol:

kubrick
28th October 2012, 07:53 PM
Brilliant entertainer. Except for the last scene loved everything about the film. Have gotten hooked to the songs. inception like end credits was cool. Cinematography, merattal.

30th October 2012, 04:22 PM
Audience loved the film and in few scenes the whole theater was screaming :lol:

avalavu Bayamava irunthuchu ? :shaking:

30th October 2012, 04:23 PM
i am not a fan of audio/visual based horror.. chumma sound vittu, light off panni, sudden-a pei moonjiya kaamikrathu..

Yeah I guess it is the "Old formula" !

4th November 2012, 07:33 PM
Watched it in AVM Rajeshwari last evening, amidst an unbelievably rude and undisciplined crowd which never stopped booing and hooting in the entire 127 mins. sigh!
Excellent stuff! Better than Yavarum Nalam, Naan. :thumbsup: to Karthik Subburaj for making a movie which switches genres at least thrice. Opens as a found-footage film, changes to a romantic story involving a young couple in a live-in relationship. The horror element gradually starts creeping in and the next 1 hour or so is pure edge-of-the-seat stuff. Paranormal activities, hallucinations. There are too many twists. The ending (spoiler) : - When you think that one key character might just be a figment of imagination of the protagonist (as in Shutter Island, Beautiful Mind or Fight Club), comes a surprise. Gives you the satisfaction of reading very well-written novel. The scene before climax, where the entire plot is revealed, reminded me of an old James Hadley Chase novel - cant recollect the name now.

srimal
8th November 2012, 07:19 PM
... had enough thrills and twists to keep us engaged.... well thoughtout plot and good cast...

antha ringtone !!! does anyone have link to that ??

8th November 2012, 07:25 PM
paaththaachu... only playing in one cinema in Malaysia!

PIZZA IS THE BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!
do not miss it!

8th November 2012, 07:36 PM
and for once, all my predictions on the end went haywire :lol:

a big :bow: to the director
and the hero? what an awesome acting yaa... present day heroes need to take classes... enna oru body language, enna oru subtlety! :clap:

8th November 2012, 10:02 PM
makkale..

yaruya un id'a hack pannadhu...
is it the first time???

8th November 2012, 10:55 PM
neenge thaane hack panneenga saar..

9th November 2012, 12:38 AM
antha ringtone !!! does anyone have link to that ??

There are many reprise/version in youtube if you are interested. The link is to the Original song Live [I always prefer the Live performance to studio recorded ones - Ex. Ref : Illayaraja NEPV performace or MTV Ar. Rehman Unplugged]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzy2wZSg5ZM

9th November 2012, 12:40 AM
and the hero? what an awesome acting yaa... present day heroes need to take classes... enna oru body language, enna oru subtlety! :clap:

True.
Waiting for Naduvula Kocham Pakatha Kanom ...
I call him the "Innachi" Guy !

9th November 2012, 06:19 AM
Pizza (Tamil)
Michael Karthikeyan, a pizza delivery boy lives with his partner, Anu, an aspiring novelist writing and researching a ghost story. However, Michael is sceptical of this. In the meantime, he comes to know that his boss Shanmugam's daughter is possessed by a spirit. One day, while delivering pizza to a customer named Smitha, Michael runs out of change, but when Smitha goes down to the first floor to ask for change, she is murdered. To make matters worse, the door locks automatically, with Michael inside. When the murdered woman's husband, Bobby, comes in search of her, he also gets killed by the spirit. Reeling in shock, Michael calls Anu to tell her what has happened. She pacifies him by promising to call for help and true to her words, the police arrive on the spot in 20 minutes, only to deliver yet shocking news to Michael: four people have been killed in the house thus far and one of them is his partner Anu. They also disclose that he is a suspect and want to arrest him...Just becos the couple live in and the girl gets pregnant before marriage, they made them christian :lol:

9th November 2012, 08:22 AM
Just becos the couple live in and the girl gets pregnant before marriage, they made them christian :lol:
oh! ithu veraya :lol:

9th November 2012, 08:29 AM
aamaam joe... andha kaalaththula club dancer/steno pEr ellaam stella, mary appadinu irukkum...
seriously, film makers must get over these kind of stereotyping...

9th November 2012, 08:50 AM
aamaam joe... andha kaalaththula club dancer/steno pEr ellaam stella, mary appadinu irukkum...

Yes
தமிழ் நாட்டு கிறித்துவர்களுக்கு- தமிழ் பேச தெரியாது ..ஆங்கிலோ இந்தியன் போல பேசுவாங்க (சாலமன் பாப்பையா , வலம்புரி ஜான் , லியோணி ,ஜேம்ஸ் வசந்தன் இவிங்கள்லாம் ஜப்பான் காரங்க)
- கல்யாணத்துக்கு மணப்பெண் வெள்ளை கவுண் போட்டுகிட்டு மோதிரம் மட்டும் தான் மாத்துவாங்க.
- பாதிரியார் பைபிளும் கையுமா எப்போ பார்த்தாலும் அங்கி போட்டுகிட்டு கோவில்ல உக்கார்ந்து ஜெபம் பண்ணிட்டே இருப்பாரு .. யாரை பார்த்தாலும் "காட் ப்ளஸ் யூ மை சைல்ட்" -ம்பாரு :lol:

9th November 2012, 09:27 AM
Ithellaam oru padam .. saw it again , to see if i was wrong in my judgement. No.. Never..

First of all .. they look far from being poor orphans.

Since they had grown up in an orphanage, there is a good chance for being Christian. But peter, dressing :lol:

9th November 2012, 09:28 AM
Yes
தமிழ் நாட்டு கிறித்துவர்களுக்கு- தமிழ் பேச தெரியாது ..ஆங்கிலோ இந்தியன் போல பேசுவாங்க (சாலமன் பாப்பையா , வலம்புரி ஜான் , லியோணி ,ஜேம்ஸ் வசந்தன் இவிங்கள்லாம் ஜப்பான் காரங்க)
- கல்யாணத்துக்கு மணப்பெண் வெள்ளை கவுண் போட்டுகிட்டு மோதிரம் மட்டும் தான் மாத்துவாங்க.
- பாதிரியார் பைபிளும் கையுமா எப்போ பார்த்தாலும் அங்கி போட்டுகிட்டு கோவில்ல உக்கார்ந்து ஜெபம் பண்ணிட்டே இருப்பாரு .. யாரை பார்த்தாலும் "காட் ப்ளஸ் யூ மை சைல்ட்" -ம்பாரு :lol:

Yes yes..

I think that Iyarkai was the most realistic movie in this aspect.

9th November 2012, 09:29 AM
idhellaam padam illenaa, appuram edha padam engiradhu?

I say it again - this is the best movie of the year!

p/s: how should orphans look like?

9th November 2012, 09:58 AM
Anban,

I have friends from Sivananda Gurukulam who dress well and speak better English than than Anu/Michael.

Besides Live-in/orphanage thing, another possible reason for showing them as Christians - most horror movies in Tamil have Christians as protagonists.

9th November 2012, 10:27 AM
On the cheap thrills, sudden sounds - Isn't thats what the movie is all about? Me posting anything more will potentially turn out to be a spoiler. Sigh!!

9th November 2012, 11:28 AM
I think that Iyarkai was the most realistic movie in this aspect.
Some scenes in Kushi also portray correctly ,but no wonder SJ surya is a catholic.
In this aspect , Malayalam movies are far better.

9th November 2012, 12:36 PM
Hitchcockians should love the movie... enna oru suspense, amazing climax... totally inspired by hitchcock

9th November 2012, 03:30 PM
Yes

:rotfl: very true! You missed one thing, any Orphan kids would "Always" be raised by the father ! :rotfl: This was very common in the 80's movies !

9th November 2012, 04:52 PM
On the cheap thrills, sudden sounds - Isn't thats what the movie is all about? Me posting anything more will potentially turn out to be a spoiler. Sigh!!

Going based on "first time" view, I dont find any Cheap thrills and sudden sounds in the movie. I would'nt call it thrills though - suspense maybe, a mystery - For eg. the missing Pizza pieces were really creepy. You are outiside. Get in and see - isolated house, closed windows, power cut ... all ingrdients for a good horror placement. A téléphone ringing in this atmosphere is not a sudden sound. I can go on, but I ask you to come back with scenes list that made you feel cheated with "cheap thrills and sudden sounds".

9th November 2012, 04:57 PM

Nov, Joe: good points & truth. Never gave a thought about this phenomena in (south) Indian Films.

9th November 2012, 04:58 PM
So apart from Anban /Ajay, every one seemed to like it !

9th November 2012, 05:21 PM
Hitchcockians should love the movie... enna oru suspense, amazing climax... totally inspired by hitchcock
sheer nonsense.. :banghead: please dont insult Hitchcock ... there is no suspense here.. all cheating work .. hitchcock does not resort to cheap tricks like noises and sudden camera shocks..

going by people's logic here, next time one can claim, a very well made porn movie as a great movie..

9th November 2012, 05:29 PM
karthi, I have been reading hitchcock since the last 30 years and have watched many of his movies.
you may have your own personal reasons for not liking the movie, but do not degenerate facts.
I suggest you start by watching Psycho, the original.

as for porn movies, that is not my speciality :poke:

9th November 2012, 05:40 PM
karthi, I have been reading hitchcock since the last 30 years and have watched many of his movies.
you may have your own personal reasons for not liking the movie, but do not degenerate facts.
I suggest you start by watching Psycho, the original.

as for porn movies, that is not my speciality :poke:nov, I have watched almost every movie of Hitchcock's 60 odd movies.. even some of his silent movies.. please, it is only my opinion .. but that opinion is, you are inflicting serious insult on Hitchcock..

9th November 2012, 05:48 PM
how can by I saying that this movie is inspired by hitchcock, be insulting to hitchcock?
opinionaa irundhaalum, indha maathiri mental acrobatics panna koodaadhu :p

btw, have you watched any of his tv series? :sigh2:

9th November 2012, 06:10 PM
When did I say that I disliked the movie? I stand by Nov annan'd claim - it is the best of 2012. The terms I used were coined by Anban. The movie made me wait with a fully loaded bladder for few nights.

9th November 2012, 06:35 PM
Hitchcockians should love the movie... enna oru suspense, amazing climax... totally inspired by hitchcock:banghead: :suicide:

9th November 2012, 06:42 PM
:banghead: :suicide:
:goodidea:
I am a hitchcockian and don't accept you as one :poke:

9th November 2012, 07:11 PM
:goodidea:
I am a hitchcockian and don't accept you as one :poke:
you always used to say that we have a common taste.. but now, you have started praising all movies that does not follow the usual commercial formula of songs, comedy, fight etc..

9th November 2012, 09:06 PM
When did I say that I disliked the movie? I stand by Nov annan'd claim - it is the best of 2012. The terms I used were coined by Anban. The movie made me wait with a fully loaded bladder for few nights.

Sorry, mistook your earlier comment.
As for Anban's comment, Simple : he did not like the movie.

Myself, I disagree if anyone says this movie does not have suspense.
And yes, as a fan of Hitchcock films, [in the 80's there were many of suspense/thriller movies in tamil : which could easily be compared to Hicthcock works], this movie is a well made entertainer.

On a side note : Have anyone seen K Bhakaraj's Vidiyum Varai Kathiru ou Sarat Babu starrer Uchakattam ?

9th November 2012, 09:15 PM

Ok sorry for the misunderstanding ..

9th November 2012, 09:18 PM
Can anyone recommend few Hitchcock movies? The one I have watched is 'Strangers on a train'

9th November 2012, 09:31 PM
Pizza saapittirukken ..athu ennathu Hitchcock ? Nalla irukkuma ?

9th November 2012, 10:06 PM
Can anyone recommend few Hitchcock movies? The one I have watched is 'Strangers on a train'

I suppose you are aware that Muran is a adaption of Strangers on a train.
As mentioned by Nov, I recomend you to watch Psycho (1960) - the original. [comparison with Tamil film : Moodupani]

I will reach home and give you a list of Movies and Series by Hitchcock, that I feel you would enjoy.
On a side note, these movies/works are not fast paced, but have a lot of material and content in them.

9th November 2012, 10:28 PM
Have anyone seen K Bhakaraj's Vidiyum Varai Kathiru ou Sarat Babu starrer Uchakattam ?paaththirukkEn, adhuvum cinema-la
loved the first one, 2nd one was so-so

Pizza saapittirukken ..athu ennathu Hitchcock ? Nalla irukkuma ?indha pizza saapida mudiyaadhu...

9th November 2012, 10:34 PM
Ithu epadi irkku ??? ella pazhaya padangaliyum remake panrangappa :sigh2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-X6n2zBpLeA&feature=player_detailpage

9th November 2012, 11:07 PM
in the 80's there were many of suspense/thriller movies in tamil : which could easily be compared to Hicthcock works

Saavi (Sathyaraj, Saritha, Nizhalgal Ravi) - Remake of Hitchcock's classic "Dial M For Murder". As mappi said, Balu Mahendra's Moodupani was based on Psycho.
Even the basic premise of ManiChitraThazh is from "Vertigo" (Detective called by his old friend to investigate the his wife's strange "possession")

On a side note : Have anyone seen K Bhakaraj's Vidiyum Varai Kathiru ou Sarat Babu starrer Uchakattam ?
VVK - yes. very good thriller, except the climax. Uchakattam - I remember watching parts of this movie long back. Is it a good one?

9th November 2012, 11:46 PM
Ithu epadi irkku ??? ella pazhaya padangaliyum remake panrangappa :sigh2

No, its nowhere near VVK plot. It looks like a very bad remake of Wes Craven's Scream with RGV's Kaun twist.

9th November 2012, 11:54 PM
Saavi (Sathyaraj, Saritha, Nizhalgal Ravi) - Remake of Hitchcock's classic "Dial M For Murder". As mappi said, Balu Mahendra's Moodupani was based on Psycho.
Even the basic premise of ManiChitraThazh is from "Vertigo" (Detective called by his old friend to investigate the his wife's strange "possession")

VVK - yes. very good thriller, except the climax. Uchakattam - I remember watching parts of this movie long back. Is it a good one?

Yes to Saavi.

VVK : Our films are deeply concerned with the culture and soceity and that explains the climax. I think they had 2 climax, and after the 1st week they started screening the film with the alternate climax as there were many opposition to the original climax.

Uchakattam : 1980. A very deep and dark emotional movie showing the depths of relation, deception, revenge ... etc. etc. Imagine a Balachander Movie made on a darker note. And Like VVK, the "screwdriver climax" of Uchakattam may disappoint you, but I totally accepted and pited the principal character. Acting wise it was OK, but the tension in the narrative is what that clicks.

And lets not forget Bharathiraja's Red Rose and his 2 other recent thrillers - Kangalal Kaidhu Sei & Bommalattam. Even in Muthal Mariyathai there is a character with suspense element. Spl mention : Kaithiyin Dairy. [And for me Tik*3 was a good attempt, but a badly made movie. It has great suspense and a very good potray of a perver villan ... his glasses and his looks comes to my mind]

10th November 2012, 01:35 AM

I give you the list of Hitchcock's movie, along with some movie of other directors which I feel has a great influence of his works :

1. Brids - You are put in a state of question and you discover everything with the main character. The end could be quite confusing, but witha bit guidence you can relate to it.
1.1 Rosemary's Baby by Roman Polansky : A must Watch. But here too the ending is not clear and as the director does not wish to comment, there are still debats and discussion going on.

2. North By Nortwest - What if a Plane chases your everywhere you go ...
2.1 Duel by Steven Speilberg : His 1st full lenght feature film before creating Jaws. Watch the movie and then take a highway ... you will recollect the movie all the way ...

3. Marnie : An absolute mystery about a Young women who is a thief and also has Psy Problemes. One of my favorites as I am into "female" oriented subjects/plots. Based on the book by Winston Graham (just menton it if you read novels - excellent story teller)
3.1 Vertigo by Hitchcock : Similarity in the psycological point. Adapted from a famous French Novel
3.2 Rebecca by Hitchcock : Similarity to the couple characters + an excellent thriller

4. The Man who knew Too Much : What could go wrong during a vacation ...
4.1 Blow Out by Brain de Palma : Only here the character comes across some eveidence that he should not have

5. Movies thoses listed in few above posts Psycho & Dial M for Murder

If you are interested, let me know I can provide with another list.

10th November 2012, 03:26 AM
Thanks Mappi.

ecureuhapis
10th November 2012, 03:33 PM
Rope & Rear Window were pretty good too. set in single location. Rope was inspired from the famous Leopold and Loeb's perfect crime attempt.

CEDYBLUE
11th November 2012, 07:40 PM
Watched Pizza and honestly very good movie!
Thrilling up until the climax and though the climax was kind of intelligent, it felt a little flat considering the movie had a ghost plot throughout. Overall, very good!

11th November 2012, 11:30 PM
2. North By Nortwest - What if a Plane chases your everywhere you go ...
2.1 Duel by Steven Speilberg : His 1st full lenght feature film before creating Jaws. Watch the movie and then take a highway ... you will recollect the movie all the way ...
3.1 Vertigo by Hitchcock : Similarity in the psycological point. Adapted from a famous French Novel
3.2 Rebecca by Hitchcock : Similarity to the couple characters + an excellent thriller

These are my favourites too. Duel is one movie I would recommend to anyone. The climax of Rebecca was quite similar (just the story, not screenplay or acting) to NT's Pudhiya Paravai.

btw, never knew Uchchakattam was by KB.

12th November 2012, 05:41 AM
Uchakkattam is NOT by KB...

how many here have watched Adhe Kangal?

RC
12th November 2012, 08:31 AM
ucchakattam was directed by RajBarath. He also directed chinna muL periya muL, I think. RajBarath later married actress Sudha (pEr adhu thaanaa theriyalai) who acted with Karthik in en jIvan paaduthu (katti vechukkO endhan anbu manasa)

12th November 2012, 09:12 AM
Uchakkattam is NOT by KB...

how many here have watched Adhe Kangal?

Adhe kangal ellam regular in tv channels.. most people might have seen it..

13th November 2012, 12:50 AM
btw, never knew Uchchakattam was by KB.

You have mistaken my comparison. I said "Imagine a KB movie made on a darker note".
RC gave the details. Thanks RC [I myself did not know who the director was]

13th November 2012, 01:08 AM
Adhe kangal ellam regular in tv channels.. most people might have seen it..
True.
The whole naration (minus songs) is in the syle of Agatha Christie : ambience, character, explications etc. And Ravichandran replaces Hercule Poirot.
Reason : adapted from Gumnam hindi movie which is an adaptation of "And then there were none" by Agatha Christie.

Talking about Ravichandran, OOmai Vizhigal comes to mind. It has relation to the title Adhae Kangal (black rose) : [Chariot scene is unforgetable + that old lady character + the manson + the rocking chair + the Gate] .. dhigila irrukum.

14th November 2012, 08:47 PM
Good movie but climax :banghead: That house episode was like 1408.

14th November 2012, 08:49 PM
u seem to have just finished a movie marathon...
whats up bud?

14th November 2012, 08:49 PM
Talking about Ravichandran, OOmai Vizhigal comes to mind. It has relation to the title Adhae Kangal (black rose) : [Chariot scene is unforgetable + that old lady character + the manson + the rocking chair + the Gate] .. dhigila irrukum.

One of my Fav film!

14th November 2012, 08:50 PM
:lol: Watched those two diwali movies today, back to back! But Pizza munnadiye paathuten, inga post panna neram koodi varala. How are you?

14th November 2012, 08:52 PM
am as good as ever...

i watched the first half and becos of some amaanushya sakthis could not continue with the rest...
will do it soon...

15th November 2012, 07:46 AM
Good movie but climax :banghead: the climax made the movie for me... otherwise it would have been another horror movie.
but the idiot in the theatre where I was watching opened the exit door indicating that the movie was going to finish

If I am in the academy, I will give the lead actor best actor award, just for the scene after he takes a piss... his body language was awesome and you know that something was going to be revealed then!

25th November 2012, 02:10 AM
Pizza

Could have avoided beating around the bush for about 30 mins inside the house, instead could have made this 30 mins a bit more interesting.

this is the major -ve for me

25th November 2012, 02:28 AM
Karthik subburaj was a part of nalaya iyyakunar?

Petti Case by Karthik Subburaj starring Vijay Sethupathi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VeG3J2fl_Eg

Good, eventhough it reminds you of Azhagar Samiyin Kuthurai

25th November 2012, 02:46 AM
It also has the 'Paranjodhi' of Sundarapandian as the saamiyar.

25th November 2012, 03:28 AM
Watched it yesterday. Good movie. The house portion started well but dragged for almost 30-40 mins. Climax is the best part of the movie. The movie wouldn't be success without this climax.

25th November 2012, 04:57 AM
pizza was ultimate experience in theatre watching in lap u wil mis half the movie

26th November 2012, 05:14 PM
pizza - good...
nice performances, suspense and twists..
the last 15 minutes were redundant and spoon feeding, after the suspense was broken already... underestimating the viewers?

26th November 2012, 05:36 PM
pizza - good...
nice performances, suspense and twists..
the last 15 minutes were redundant and spoon feeding, after the suspense was broken already... underestimating the viewers?

True, the 5-10 mins before the climax could have been avoided. Underestimated-a? No way. Spoonfeeding is still a necessity for Box office. :-)

faithiu11
26th November 2012, 05:37 PM
pizza was ultimate experience in theatre watching in lap u wil mis half the movie+1111 should/strictly watch it in theatres

26th November 2012, 07:22 PM
i agree that there are surprising twists in the film.. but neenga ellam solra madhiri bayandhuruppenanu kEtta.. illainuthan solluven..
pizza deliver panna pora hero.. power cut.. mela pora pombalai.. easy to guess something will happen..
but the opening scene & the final twist.. all good.. for a moment i thought about Anu... like it was said by that dhadi samiyar..
my friend watched in theater (couple of weeks back) after i told him the response in hub.. he told.. "okay.. onnum perusa ellam illai"..
may be.. views & taste differ.. some might like pizza.. some might like idly-dosa :p :)

faithiu11
26th November 2012, 07:44 PM
i agree that there are surprising twists in the film.. but neenga ellam solra madhiri bayandhuruppenanu kEtta.. illainuthan solluven..
pizza deliver panna pora hero.. power cut.. mela pora pombalai.. easy to guess something will happen..
but the opening scene & the final twist.. all good.. for a moment i thought about Anu... like it was said by that dhadi samiyar..
my friend watched in theater (couple of weeks back) after i told him the response in hub.. he told.. "okay.. onnum perusa ellam illai"..
may be.. views & taste differ.. some might like pizza.. some might like idly-dosa :p :)ya view differs...i feel it certainly gives better feel (especially horror/thriller films) wen watch it in theatre with the crowd response

26th November 2012, 07:55 PM
ya view differs...i feel it certainly gives better feel (especially horror/thriller films) wen watch it in theatre with the crowd response

For me, watching Pizza in theatre was a gr8 experience(AVM Rajeshwari). But crowd response was pathetic.

faithiu11
26th November 2012, 08:02 PM
For me, watching Pizza in theatre was a gr8 experience(AVM Rajeshwari). But crowd response was pathetic. so experience also differs :-D

26th November 2012, 08:32 PM
For me, watching Pizza in theatre was a gr8 experience(AVM Rajeshwari). But crowd response was pathetic.

These kinds of horror movies should be watched alone in Cinemas on 3D to get the maximum impact, unfortunately, these kind of low budget Tamil movies don't get released in mainstream UK cinemas.

27th November 2012, 12:13 AM
When the movie began with a found footage scene, one fellow from the crowd shouted, 'dei ivingale pei maadhiri thaan irukkaanga da'. Adhukku oru pathu per whistle. This crowd was booing and shouting throughout the movie. Ennatha solla? IMO, either a good theatre or DVD print+Headphones+lights off would be the best for horror/thrillers.

27th November 2012, 02:56 AM
Pizza - wellmade, and ready to deliver...

Hats off to Karthick Subburaj, making a daring debute with a horror movie. Vijay Sethupathy does really well in the scenes in the haunted house. Ramya Nambeesan must be appreciated to act in tamil movie, when some malayali actresses think tamil movie makers are trying to make them expose their bodies. I like the slapping scene particularly. Aadukalam Narein also good as supportingcast, clear voice modulation and fits well as the boss with dirty hands.

BGM and SFX a major asset to the movie.

27th November 2012, 10:35 PM
DVD print+Headphones+lights off would be the best for horror/thrillers.

here it is.. & from 12 midnight to 2 am .. in between regular 1 hour power cut.. TN special

Srimannarayanan
27th November 2012, 11:37 PM
here it is.. & from 12 midnight to 2 am .. in between regular 1 hour power cut.. TN special
Every other hour power cut between 18:00 P.M to 6:00 A.M

30th November 2012, 01:37 PM
Pizza Hindi remake rights sold for Rs 1.5 cr- times of IndiaWe'd recently reported that the remake of rights of Pizza (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Pizza) were hot in the market, with the Kannada rights being sold for Rs 35 lakh and the Telugu rights for Rs 72 lakh. The latest is that the Hindi and other North Indian language rights for the film have been snapped up by director (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/director) Bejoy (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Bejoy) Nambiar, reportedly for Rs 1.5 crore. The film was made on a budget of about Rs 1.5 core and the makers are said to have spent about Rs 2 crore on its publicity.

When contacted, director Bejoy Nambiar says, "Yes, it's true that I've bought the remake rights of Pizza. I wouldn't like to go into the business details of the deal. We'll be finalizing the cast and director for the Hindi (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/director-for-the-Hindi) remake soon." Superstar Rajinikanth (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Rajinikanth) is said to have enjoyed the movie and called up its director, Karthik Subburaj (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Karthik-Subburaj), to congratulate him.

30th November 2012, 03:47 PM
I dont know why they would go for a remake. Pizza movie is not only a new concept, but the new faces add value to the product. This would click in North India too. Rather than including half naked women in the hindi version [Majority of Hindi Horror/Thriller movies are stuffed with sex content/material and they pull the crowd using posters], this movie could be a direct release.

One point would be the "pey otra scenes". Maybe it would be a bit southish. In Hindi Movies, Northy samiyars use a bit darker Safron Kavi Color and usually come with blood shot eyes and look up the sky anytime they are idle.

I do not wish to get to this subject, but the hero's Tamil complexion may trouble the viewers. They except SRK with curly dark hair and eating noodles with yogurt to potray authentic tamil culture & style.

Any way all the best to the remake team.

On a side note : Bejoy Nambiar's Shaitan is a OK movie if you are into psy genre. Actress Kalki Koechlin did a decent job.

30th November 2012, 04:06 PM
mappi... there are two parallel movie worlds in hindi... hope u r aware of it...

30th November 2012, 04:10 PM
Softsword, elaborate please

30th November 2012, 04:19 PM
i mean the parallel bollywood where the movies like GoW, Shanghai, Shagird, etc come...

30th November 2012, 04:45 PM
Oh yes. [I did not get "parallel" initially (I thought you were talking about mafia involvement ... lol)].
Anurag Kashyap is a film maker/producer to look out for (but he also gave us Aiyyaa). In a recent interview he openly admited his admiration towards Tamil movies and he gets inspirations from Bala and Ameer works.

Some others are : Shimit Aminn (ab tak chapan), Sudhir Mishra (yeh sali zindagi), Dibakar Banerjee (Love Sex aur Dhokha)

Doesn't every film industry have a parallels (including Iranian, Korean and Braziallian). But for sure Hollywood / Bollywood and South Indian Films do have a visibly opposed tracks.

PS 1 : Shagrid Climax was a bit let down. But Nana was excellent as usual. Heard they are filming Ab Tak Chapan 2.
PS 2 : Prosenjit Chatterjee (Shangai) is at present one of the finest actors in India. Try to watch the bengali movie Baishe Srabon. It is co stared by Parambrata Chatterjee (the cop in Kahani)

30th November 2012, 04:49 PM
thats exactly wat i mean...

17th December 2012, 11:34 AM
‘I was rejected even for the role of a junior artist’

Vijay Sethupathi, the man who got noticed with the recent hits Pizza and Naduvula Konjam Pakkatha Kanom may earn in lakhs after his success. But ` 250 was his first salary in films. Vijay tells us his story.

What were you doing before Pizza happened?
"I was a junior artist before my debut. I was part of the 'atmosphere' in crowded scenes. You can spot me in the crowd in M Kumaran S/O Mahalakshmi in the boxing sequence. Later, I did a small role in Pudhupettai. I have played the role of the hero's friend in a few films. All I wanted was to just be a part of the shoot. My father is a civil engineer. I knew nobody in films. I was a below-average student right from school. I was not interested in either sports or extra-curricular activities. I didn't know what I was going to do. After working as an accountant for three years, I got bored with that job. I wanted to try films then. I have been in films since 2004."

With no background in films, you must have struggled...
Nothing is easy in cinema. I used to leave my photos with production companies. Even assistant directors didn't receive them. I was even rejected for the role of a junior artist in a film. I was replaced by somebody else at the last moment in many roles. But nothing stopped me from trying for an opportunity. I was determined to become a hero at least in serials. After repeated trials, I got my first opportunity as a hero in Thenmerku Paruvakkatru.

How did Pizza happen?
I used to regularly leave my photographs in the film institute. I got to work with Karthik Subburaj in many of his short films and then he approached me for Pizza.

What transformation have your recent hits brought in?
I am able to listen to stories. Earlier, I didn't have this freedom... of knowing the script. But now I can. Now the audience has come to know that there is hero called Vijay Sethupathi in Tamil films. My dream is to work on interesting films which can later be termed as a Vijay Sethupathi collection.

There are rumours about you demanding a big sum now...
I demand stories not money. I was paid reasonably for Pizza and NKPK. But for such brilliant scripts I didn't expect money.

What kept you going during your early struggle?
The photographs that were clicked by Balu Mahendra. I like posing for photographs. Once, I approached the legendary director to take some photographs. He did it despite me being a nobody at that time. Those pictures kept reminding me that I can become a hero one day.

mabiqukaumo
17th December 2012, 06:25 PM
superb thriller :smile2:

20th December 2012, 03:24 PM
Pranitha to replace Ramya Nambeesan

Vijay Sethupathi and Ramya Nambeesan played the lead roles in the original version, which was directed by Karthik Subburaj. The film won the appreciation of many, including Superstar Rajinikanth. Pranitha, the 'Saguni' girl has been roped in to play the heroine of the Kannada remake of 'Pizza', which will hit the floors soon.

Titled 'Whistle, the movie will have Chiranjeevi Sarja in the lead role and will be helmed by Prashanth Raj. The director seems to happy to handle such a great script.

"We will start the shoot from January. We bagged the remake rights after facing stiff competition. I am sure that the film will impress Sandalwood audience," said the director.

'Pizza', actually opened to lukewarm response but gradually picked up business through word of mouth.

19th February 2013, 06:08 PM
'Pizza' Movie - Full Talk, Nil Collections

It appears that the bad patch of the Tamil flicks getting dubbed into Telugu still continues. Of course, the recent string of Tamil movies which came to Telugu didn’t have worthy material to score a hit but in this process even those films which are good enough have not been received well.

The latest in that group is the movie ‘Pizza’. The film was a major hit in Tamil Nadu and it stirred the curiosity of even the Bollywood people. The dubbed version released in AP and the talk is also good, even the reviews also came good but reports say the collections are not there and it is showing dull theatre occupancy.

The trade analysts say the film is suffering due to lack of publicity among the B, C center audience and most importantly it doesn’t have any recognizable stars. The other reason is, the title is confusing many conventional film audiences as they are not sure what genre of a film this is. Let’s see things will change in the coming days.

6th March 2013, 03:07 PM
Vaibhav to star in Pizza 2The Producers of Pizza, Thiru Kumaran Entertainment are busy making Soodhu Kavvum, in between producer CV Kumaran has announced the banners next project Pizza 2: The Villa. The sequel to Pizza will be directed by Deepan Chakravarthy and will feature Vaibhav and Sancitha Shetty in the lead roles.Vaibhav has confirmed the same that he will be doing the lead role in Pizza 2: The Villa and also expressed his excitement and happiness of being a part of the project. While the editing would be by Leo John Paul and music by Santhosh, the rest of the cast & crew are being finalised. The sequel to the successful film is set to go on floors by April.Vaibhav is know for his roles in films like Goa, Saroja and Mankatha, while Sancitha Shetty is know for playin the role a Tamannaah's sister in Thillalangadi and is also playing the female lead in Vijay Sethupathi starrer upcoming film Soodhu Kavvum.

18th April 2013, 03:53 PM
Pizza director's next film with Siddharth

Director Karthik Subbaraj struck gold in his debut film Pizza last year. Now, he is game for his next for which he has roped in a star. Well, he will be directing Siddharth in his forthcoming film.
"Karthik will direct Siddharth in a mega budget project, which will be simultaneously made in Tamil and Telugu. The rest of the cast is yet to be finalised," said a statement from the production house.
Kathiresan, known for producing Tamil films such as Polladhavan and National Award winning film Aadukalam, will produce the film under his home banner Five Star Movies. "I'm not in a position to discuss the story of the film, but all I can say at the moment is that it will be a blend of action and drama," Karthik told IANS.
He added that the film will go on floors soon. Meanwhile, Siddharth is busy wrapping up upcoming Tamil comedy Theeya Velai Seiyyanum Kumaru
Karthik's debut film Pizza is currently being remade in Hindi. The remake rights have been bought by filmmaker Bejoy Nambiar

12th May 2013, 04:38 AM
Could anyone decipher Ninaikkudhe/Dhinakkudha song please ?
What does Dhinakkudha mean ? Plus posting the lyrics of this song is much appreciated.
I feel that the words are a bit jumbled for a reason, and I am finding it hard to understand its motive and meaning.

[cold night + dark rum + dim lights + ninaikkudhe...manam adhe = Heaven]

Santosh Narayanan + Gana Bala + Karthik + lyrist : cheers

13th May 2013, 03:08 PM
hUp hUp ... atleast someone give me the meaning of Dhinakkudha, please, I will try to make out the others.

In compliment I offer you this song :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmfeKUNDDYs