View Full Version : Is it correct to carry camera mobile phones?

8th February 2005, 10:56 AM
Hi all,

Cell phone to today's necessity. It is one electronic invention that is constantly improved with new features. Camera mobiles are catching up in India in a big way and thanks to pampering parents, most of the college students / HS students have cell phones.

The recent MMS scandal in Delhi and subsequent bans on camera mobiles by many colleges /schools have brought us to one question - Is it ethical to carry camera mobiles which gives us the liberty to take a snap of anyone without his /her knowledge and consent?

When cameras are banned in Indian airports /planes, what rule applies to carrying a camera cell phone?

If you alreday own a camera mobile, for what purpose do u use the camera?

8th February 2005, 11:00 AM
I use a camera phone, but I just use it to play around with friends. Send pics to each other, etc. Camera phones aren't a nessicity, but just fun.

Sandeep
8th February 2005, 01:00 PM
There is nothing unethical in carrying camera phone. But yes it makes taking snaps without permission easier. The point on airport and other secured areas is interesting. That is a risk that our security departments should be aware of.

aravindhan
9th February 2005, 12:21 AM
When cameras are banned in Indian airports /planes, what rule applies to carrying a camera cell phone?

Cameras are not banned; taking photos with a camera is. I expect the same applies to camera phones as well.

9th February 2005, 06:48 AM
Just because a few people misuse them, it's not right to ban camera phones all together! Crack down on the people that do like that pervert in Delhi! :x

Regards. 8)

blahblah
9th February 2005, 11:08 AM
Camera phones has nothing unethical about them.But I am of the opinion that it should not be allowed in schools or colleges.It is necessarily a distraction and students surely do not need it at school.Such a step should be taken in order to ensure discipline which is a vital part of education.

9th February 2005, 11:22 AM
Aravindhan,

I stand corrected.. The thing is, it is lot easier to just take a click with yr mobile as opposed to using camera in such prohibited places.

Anna University in Chennai has banned camera mobiles in their campus. Do you all think we should allow them in workplaces when there is a risk of we being photographed without knowledge?

If any of you use a camera mobile, can you tell for what purpose u use the camera?

lordstanher
11th February 2005, 12:46 PM
I've come across this topic even in msn groups....personally I feel tat camera phones r rather unnecessary in today's age of advanced dig. technology in cameras alone.....for eg. if u want cameras tat r convenient, u can get sum tat r small/light/easy to carry.....and in ne case, pics. in a 'normal' camera r always better than those in a mobile phone! w/ more facilities to adjust the image properties etc....!
But tat is one thing. The major prob. is tat in countries like ours, known 4 the harassment tat women face in public and seldom get ne justice thanks to our lax laws, guys who get such gadgets will usually feel free to misuse them against girls/women.....Hence I do agree w/ scorpio tat camera phones r popular 4 the simple reason tat it is easier and more discrete to click pics. w/ them in 'prohibited' places as opposed to taking out a camera in full public view, which gets u caught!
Otherwise, I've noticed tat over here in Singapore, camera phones had become popular even b4 they did in India, yet there hav been no public incidents of misuse, unlike tat ugly DPS one in our 'cultural' land! This is bcos the law over here is far more stringent, so such gadgets don't make ppl. paranoid here!

11th February 2005, 01:43 PM
Well, in that case, it is high time India has such laws in place to prevent misuse. As usual, it is the youth who get spoilt /addicted quickly. Indian girls, being little conservative by mind set may not also come out in public against such gadgets which are clear intrusions of privacy.

11th February 2005, 03:46 PM
//Is it ethical to carry camera mobiles which gives us the liberty to take a snap of anyone without his /her knowledge and consent?//

So many issues have become unethical. NOT BECAUSE of the invention or extensive usage. But because of the cultural influence it has on the society.

Taking a snap of anyone without knowledge is dangerous.
But there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING which we can do bout it.

With tech improvemnt of merging, and other image playing,
anyone can do anything with any photographs. Still, THERE IS
ABSOLUTELY NOTHING we can do bout it.

///If you alreday own a camera mobile, for what purpose do u use the camera? ///

1. Handy 2. carrying the same becomes easier. 3.TWO IN ONE
PURPOSE.

WEll, ages back, television was considered unethical.
Every invention was, and would be considered the same.
It is up to the society to misuse or not to misuse it.

What laws can u lay? To what extent can we prevent the
use of these?

May be usage of such mobiles can be banned in educational
instt alone.BUT PROBLEM WOULD NEVER END THERE.

Sandeep
11th February 2005, 04:21 PM

When was that :?

blahblah
11th February 2005, 06:55 PM

When was that :?
Stone age Pal!Have some knowledge about history too. :D

11th February 2005, 10:24 PM
//When was that //

//Stone age Pal!Have some knowledge about history too. //

Romba thaan ! X( ... :(

What I wanted to mention was, (mean was), when television
had dramas and movies telecasted on egular basis, ppl WERE cribbing, about women compering, the culture being lost...

Since movies were telecasted, elders were worried about children
watching it...etc. (Atlaest I remember my aunt who DID NTO WANT
MY COUSIN TO WATCH ...BOBBY(HINDI MOVIE)....and 'azhiyaatha kolangaL' when it was telecasted...she was complaining about how television has creeped into everyday living and some movies like this which SHOULD NOT be watched my children, are beign telecasted etc)

I WAS 15 MY COUSIN WAS 14...thats all. She let me watch, cause
my mom did nto believe in curbing all freedom, rather she tried to watch thigns with me, and enjoy and interpret the same with me.

So technology created fear at every era, (decade, generation)...how we approach matters...

PHEW...JUSTIFIED my statement SOMEHOW...:))

lordstanher
12th February 2005, 06:08 PM
As usual, it is the youth who get spoilt /addicted quickly.

Yup, tat's an eternal truth. :wink:
Aside tho, I've noticed tat whenever an advanced/convenient technology arrives in India, ppl. (youth or otherwise) tend to be very quick in putting it to wrong use first! :lol:
Look how popular Indian porn sites hav become within less than a decade of the net being a part of our society! Ne of these wiseguys ever thot of introducing online/dist. education nationwide as quickly for eg.??

Indian girls, being little conservative by mind set may not also come out in public against such gadgets which are clear intrusions of privacy.

Conservative??! Yea u cud've certainly called them tat in the 1970s/80s.....how many of them do u think r still like tat nowadays?? Atleast in the major cities? :lol:
OK jokes apart, I agree there still r girls like tat but many others r going bad to worse, like tat DPS schoolgirl! Shez equally- if not more- worthy of being condemned for tat shameful act! :evil:
If only she hadn't so much disregarded her virginity (and also her reputation, letting another guy take a pic. of her 'in action' to boot!), y wud she've been in the news 4 the wrong reason at all?!
Now I'm not trying to downplay the wrong acts of guys or nething but I wish to point out tat not all the girls in our society maintain tat good ol' pure & pristine image nemore, either! :(

Guyana
14th February 2005, 08:58 AM
Cameras in cell phones force followers/intruders to cover their eyes/faces. They no longer have much confidence in intruding/following. So cameras in cell phones work positively for some.

Guyana
14th February 2005, 09:12 AM
What a coincidence - the timing in the opening of this thread !! I shall always remember this.

Guyana
15th February 2005, 08:21 AM
Then to have an "air piece" to take conversation back instantaneously to the other side - as proof that job is done.

mandangi
15th February 2005, 02:02 PM
Gun can be used for self defence and also for murder. It is not possible to abolish gun licencing. Same applies to camera cell phones also.

18th February 2005, 01:57 PM
Mobiles with cameras: no-no in call centres ( The Economic Times, Feb 17,2005)

It is ironical that youth, among the biggest buyers mobile phones with fancy features like camera and video recorders, will not be able to use them. That is if they are employees of BPO and call centres.

To safeguard against possible data leakage, call centres and BPO firms that dot the Indian landscape have banned the use of mobile phones with camera in the work place. Many have gone a step ahead and banned the use of mobile phones — with or without camera — in the work spot.

A vast majority of employees that the fast spreading BPO industry employs are in their early or mid twenties. A significant portion of the attractive salary they earn is spent on clothes, food and electronic gizmos.

Around three lakh people are estimated to work in the Indian IT enabled industry, which earned export revenue of $3.6 billion last fiscal.

BPO firms treat protection of clients data as top priority. Mobile phones coming with sophisticated image capturing features therefore are perceived as a threat to data confidentiality and security.

Senior managers of BPO firms say that banning phones in the work place is not at the insistence of clients, but a proactive measure to protect from breach of vital information.
__________________________________________________ __

Thought this news is in line with the topic!

Sandeep
18th February 2005, 02:20 PM
Are they also going to ban pen, paper etc.

And dont these BPO's have internet connection.

My feeling is that the BPO's dont want the happenings inside the company to be taken in pictures and send out.

18th February 2005, 02:27 PM
"My feeling is that the BPO's dont want the happenings inside the company to be taken in pictures and send out."

Sandeep,

Possible! :lol:

Akash
18th February 2005, 04:16 PM
"My feeling is that the BPO's dont want the happenings inside the company to be taken in pictures and send out."

Yea there are soo much things happening in BPO/call center, better we don't know that!! Especially when the travel back home :wink:

18th February 2005, 04:28 PM
Akash,

Those 'so much' things can happen at any place at any time... even at home and in public buses :wink: It depends on the individual and not the place you work :wink:

Akash
18th February 2005, 04:32 PM
Roshan, It may even depend on the persons who gather in any place, matters rite??

18th February 2005, 04:34 PM
Didnt get you exactly :roll:

mandangi
18th February 2005, 05:13 PM
It is not possible to ban mobile camera phones. In some countries like Yemen they did not even ban using AK 47s. How is it possible to ban these utilities?

Akash
18th February 2005, 05:28 PM
IIn some countries like Yemen they did not even ban using AK 47s. How is it possible to ban these utilities?
I think we r not living in Yemen, When we can ban AK47 in India, does it mean we can Ban Mobile phones? By the way where is Yemen, i heard about HE MAN even Yeman(yema dharma raja).... little bit about OMEN too... but Not about Yemen :cry:

mandangi
18th February 2005, 05:32 PM
In India many types of weapons were banned including AK 47s. But banning camera cell phones is not possible.

mandangi
18th February 2005, 08:13 PM
Even internet technology is also misused for sex and violence oriented websites. Should internet technology be also banned? Why only banning cell phone camera's?

Thingazh
23rd February 2005, 08:49 AM
Hi replying to the main topic. I think that parents of schoolkids hv a good part to play in this. I mean why wld a school student need a camera phone for? Isn't it unfair for users who don abuse such utilities if a ban is put in place? Its really frustrating to note that everytime some useful gadgets or technology is introduced there are some idiots out there who are waiting to abuse it. I think these barbarians needs to put their brains to good use.

23rd February 2005, 08:54 AM
Thingazh,
The only way to stop that is sever punishment to the people who abuse it. Like that Delhi kid should have severe punishments. Many years in Prison, etc. :evil:

Regards. :D

mandangi
23rd February 2005, 09:38 AM
Andhra Pradesh government decided not to ban camera cell phones in any college or university.

lordstanher
23rd February 2005, 02:01 PM
Andhra Pradesh government decided not to ban camera cell phones in any college or university.

Huh?? Yendukata (why)??
I'm surprised to hear tat! :o

lordstanher
23rd February 2005, 02:11 PM
Hi replying to the main topic. I think that parents of schoolkids hv a good part to play in this. I mean why wld a school student need a camera phone for?

Yea I agree.....and I heard of yet a more recent incident of misuse by school kids- this time the offender happened to be a girl! Sumone told me it happened in a school hostel sumwhere in Gujarat...1 of the girls was taking a shower inside the girls' bathroom and another one took her pic. w/ a camera phone and SMS'd it to her boyfriend (who must've sent it to sum porno site).......they managed to catch her 4 tat and even dismissed her from the school but she apologised to the victim and was actually re-admitted into the school!
Ha! Wat losers! Y catch the offender red-handed and then forgive/exempt them from punishment! :evil: No wonder ppl. in India won't take even the ban seriously! :twisted:

Thingazh
23rd February 2005, 03:07 PM
Surya, agree with you. They need to be serverely punished which will also serve as a warning to others. So they will think twice about doing such things, especially youngsters who think such things are fun. Schools and parents need to distract them from such things and encourage them to make better use of their time in voluntary works and social service, and good pastimes such as reading and playing sports.

lordstanher, I'm really shocked reading the Gujarat school hostel incident. It is totally unacceptable that the offender's apology was accepted as its not a excusable at all. What she has done can never be undone. The traumatic experience of the victim cannot be erased. This is a case of outraging one's modesty. Such leniency will encourage others to do whatever they want and then get away with it.

mandangi
23rd February 2005, 07:00 PM
Huh?? Yendukata (why)??
I'm surprised to hear tat! :o
Meeru kooda telugu vara?
I read in news papers that AP government want to permit camera cell phones in colleges. May be AP government want to encourage cell phone campanies?

lordstanher
24th February 2005, 01:58 PM
Meeru kooda telugu vara?

Um...telugu vare-ani anukouchu! Actually I'm from Hyderabad! Neways, glad to meet sumone else from AP in this hub.... :)

I read in news papers that AP government want to permit camera cell phones in colleges. May be AP government want to encourage cell phone campanies?

Or tel. porno sites?? :lol:

mandangi
24th February 2005, 02:02 PM
Or tel. porno sites?? :lol:
I cannot desire encouraging porn sites any way.

lordstanher
24th February 2005, 02:18 PM
lordstanher, I'm really shocked reading the Gujarat school hostel incident. It is totally unacceptable that the offender's apology was accepted as its not a excusable at all. What she has done can never be undone. The traumatic experience of the victim cannot be erased. This is a case of outraging one's modesty. Such leniency will encourage others to do whatever they want and then get away with it.

Yea me too agree! Its even worse when a girl commits the outrage! :evil:
Oh, and btw, if u r shocked by this, a friend here tells me he once read in sum other forum abt a similar and worse incident, altho it wasn't related to camera phone but digital camera...
He didn't say which part of India this hap'd but it all started w/ this rich college girl who visited Dubai and bought a small, sophisticated digi. camera there.....she too hap'd to be staying in a hostel sharing a room w/ 2-3 other girls.....so she wud daily put the camera into 'video' mode and leave it sitting on her shelf from where it cud video the whole room......so whenever the girl's roommates were in the room, dressing/undressing/changing their clothes, the camera was always taking a live video of them......she'd thereafter transfer the saved videos into a PC and email them to all the well-known porn sites, 4 which she was getting paid regularly! :evil:
Until one fine day, she was finally caught & wud've been reported but pleaded w/ the other girls to let her go, promising to leave the hostel and the college itself, which she did!
But wat I'm pointing out is the storyz got the same ending- they caught her then let her go- jus maybe bcos she was a girl! :banghead:
And Imagine there must be god-know-how-many girls indulging in such a henious crime....so much 4 following our 'culture'! :twisted:

lordstanher
24th February 2005, 02:19 PM
I cannot desire encouraging porn sites any way.

Me neither, babu!

mandangi
24th February 2005, 09:00 PM
In Andhra Pradesh cell phones are allowed into colleges but not examination centers. There cases of doing mal practice by using cell phones in examinations. I dont think that there is need to ban camera cell phones. Small size spy cameras are avialable in market which can be also used for shooting video secretly. Those cameras are also used by TV channel reporters for shooting secrets. There are possibilities of misusing some useful techonologies. But banning those techonologies is not good.

arihantarihant007
24th February 2005, 10:18 PM
mobiles are necessary !!!!

it's part of da routine!

It keeps da friends n relatives connected [always] !!!

:lol: 8) :twisted: :P

25th February 2005, 10:37 AM
Arihant,

We are not refuting that mobile phone is a necessary evil. The question is about camera mobiles which intrude into others privacy without their knowledge.

mandangi
25th February 2005, 12:14 PM
I dont support intruding other's privacy with camera cell phones or other type of spy cameras. But banning them is not right way. They are also used for right purposes.

lordstanher
6th March 2005, 12:03 PM
Arihant,
We are not refuting that mobile phone is a necessary evil. The question is about camera mobiles which intrude into others privacy without their knowledge.

My friend was telling me abt an article tat he read online abt how guys in India r misusing camera phones now in restaurants, since they're banned from using them in 'formal' places.....it seems they sit at a table & then zoom/focus the camera at the bosom of a woman/girl sitting even far away at another table and click their pic......man, this is downrite disgusting!! :evil: :banghead:
4 godssake, y don't the ******* authorities do sumthing abt this! I guess even the cops saw such guys misusing it on the street, they'd just look bored & turn a blind eye to it! :evil:

7th March 2005, 02:48 PM
My friend was telling me abt an article tat he read online abt how guys in India r misusing camera phones now in restaurants, since they're banned from using them in 'formal' places.....it seems they sit at a table & then zoom/focus the camera at the bosom of a woman/girl sitting even far away at another table and click their pic......man, this is downrite disgusting!!

How cheap and gross :banghead: !!

8th March 2005, 06:06 AM
I think we should pay attention to one important fact, which no doubt has been stressed upon repeatedly.

It is not the invention that matters, it is the usage of it that counts. And that brings us to the corrollary -- The fact that we are so quick to misuse than use these gizmos.

It is almost as though our brains work more on finding out methods of abuse & misuse than anything constructive. Now I wonder why that is so.

Is this natural? Or is this a sign of the times?

Would people have done these same things say 300 hundred years ago, if camera cell phones had been introduced then? Or is it a peculiar trend of this age?

To put it simply,

a) Have these new fangled inventions & technology made us more corrupt as a society

0r

b) Have we always been the same, and these new fangled inventions & technology are only letting our baser instincts find an outlet?

What do you all think?

lordstanher
8th March 2005, 12:16 PM
It is not the invention that matters, it is the usage of it that counts. And that brings us to the corrollary -- The fact that we are so quick to misuse than use these gizmos.

Tats true of course! :) And um....I think even I've said this in this thread b4....? :?

It is almost as though our brains work more on finding out methods of abuse & misuse than anything constructive. Now I wonder why that is so.

C'mon man, we know the main reason behind this- laxity of laws in our country. Period.
As I've said b4, here in Singapore, even tho u find every other girl/woman (locals as well as most foreigners) walking around in the lowest low-cut outfits :!: an there r so many guys w/ camera phones in my college itself, yet I never see ne of them posing their phones at ne girl in the college or even outside! Cos they know tat if the victim just calls up the police on her own phone, they're done 4 (heavy fine + 10 strokes of the cane!) :wink: And in countries like US I guess they can sue u in court 4 sumthing like this...... :wink:

Would people have done these same things say 300 hundred years ago, if camera cell phones had been introduced then? Or is it a peculiar trend of this age? What do you all think?

Well, tat most men in India tend to view ne girl/women in a wrong manner is infact sumthing of old & definitely not a 'sign of the times', believe me!
In fact, my friend (who found this article on misuse of camera phs. I mention earlier), tells me the article was in general abt the attitude of Indian men towards women in society......it said tat most Indian men (of various ages), when talking to women, usually tend to look at their bosoms first & then focus up at their faces! :evil: And it says this's been going on in India 4 ages, even in the days when girls/women were more conservative in their attire...! :evil:
I also rem. sum of my classmates from my schooldays who'd look at our teachers in this way but then I thot it was the effect of adolescence etc.....didn't know even 'grown' men behave in this way :evil: :evil:
And of course, since camera phones & such gadgets obv. didn't exist say 300 yrs ago, men certianly cudn't think of misusing them 4 their perverse hobbies!
Even I've begun to feel, y blame it on technology if its the ppl. who misuse them 4 a bad purpose?? Lets take cars 4 eg....they were invented 4 transportation....but then if sum bad guy uses a car 4 kidnapping sumone or running over sumone w/ it, wud u blame cars 4 this (& hav them banned) or the ppl. who misuse them??