View Full Version : Tamil Cinema Box Office

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

16th June 2015, 10:03 AM
http://www.tamilcinemaboxoffice.com/home/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/tnbo-logo.jpg

1. Enthiran (2010) - ₹256 crore (US$41 million)

2. Ai (2015) - ₹239.35 crore (US$38 million)

3. Vishwaroopam (2013) - ₹220 crore (US$35 million)

4. Dasavathaaram (2008) - ₹200 crore (US$32 million)

5. Lingaa (2014) - ₹148.75 crore (US$24 million)

6. Kanchana 2 (2015) - ₹144 crore (US$23 million)

7. Arrambam (2013) - ₹135 crore (US$21 million)

8. Veeram (2014) - ₹130 crore (US$21 million)

8. Kaththi (2014) - ₹130 crore (US$21 million)

10. Thuppakki (2012) - ₹125 crore (US$20 million)

source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_highest-grossing_Tamil_films

faithiu11
16th June 2015, 10:14 AM
Nov sir wikipedia LA irunthu copy panni potrukar....someone plz put the top 10 highest collected movies in correct order from tamilboxoffice1 or andhra boxoffice

16th June 2015, 10:42 AM

but this one seems to be supported with figures?

16th June 2015, 10:56 AM
NOV Bro,

Why this new thread when the old thread had more reliable data collected from sources like Rentrak and BOMojo than the easily editable source like wikipedia? Couple of films in the list had me in splits.

16th June 2015, 11:12 AM
That one reached 100 pages. 8-)

anyway, there are no real authentic sources, and anyone can be in splits, depending on which side you are on. :p

16th June 2015, 11:25 AM
You used to post the Malaysia numbers. They were reliable since it was the numbers from BO Mojo. And in TN, the numbers were from Behindwoods and Sify. Rentrak numbers were used for all other overseas markets. The top 10 charts in the old BO thread was updated accordingly with these numbers only.

If Wikipedia numbers are going to be used here henceforth, then all it takes is one jobless fan to edit it and make his favorite actor's films enter the list.

16th June 2015, 11:29 AM
Even the Malaysia numbers were incomplete.... only the BO of the chains like TGV and GSC were used, while the local Indian players of Lotus and Five Star were not included.

Behindwoods only talk about Chennai figures but it excites people like it's reflective of entire BO. ;)

Anyway, this is just a starting point... everyone can contribute. There is nothing to say that only Wiki can be used. Why restrict yourself?

16th June 2015, 12:10 PM
That one reached 100 pages. 8-)

Old thread crossed 100 pages more than a month ago. Why so late ? Is there any process followed in Hub like once in a month threads will be audited and new threads will be opened for the existing ones which crossed 100 pages ?

Never noticed such activity. Just asking so that next time when I see a thread crossing page limit I can help mods/admins by opening new thread.

16th June 2015, 02:16 PM
forum hub wants more posts from us .. NOV sir, is unhappy with the dip in activity..

16th June 2015, 02:38 PM
Where is Shivaji the "LOSS" in da list ? :lol2: istart da mujik :yessir:

16th June 2015, 02:45 PM
Where is Shivaji the "LOSS" in da list ? :lol2: istart da mujik :yessir:
it did make loss for its distributors in TN .. Enthiran too .. thats the fact .. over pricing and cheating naive distributors ..

nowadays the popular cheats have started forgery .. FIR ellaam potturukkaangappa..

16th June 2015, 02:50 PM
it did make loss for its distributors in TN .. Enthiran too .. thats the fact .. over pricing and cheating naive distributors ..

nowadays the popular cheats have started forgery .. FIR ellaam potturukkaangappa..
Naan ethir paartha reaction , inaikku office la bore adikathau :)

CEDYBLUE
16th June 2015, 03:15 PM
http://www.tamilcinemaboxoffice.com/home/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/tnbo-logo.jpg

1. Enthiran (2010) - ₹256 crore (US$41 million)

2. Ai (2015) - ₹239.35 crore (US$38 million)

3. Vishwaroopam (2013) - ₹220 crore (US$35 million)

6. Kanchana 2 (2015) - ₹144 crore (US$23 million)

7. Arrambam (2013) - ₹135 crore (US$21 million)

8. Veeram (2014) - ₹130 crore (US$21 million)

10. Thuppakki (2012) - ₹125 crore (US$20 million)

Nov Anna :notworthy:

Since there is no source listed to the table above, i am assuming this is your wish-list :)

Fascinating exercise.

Here is my WISH LIST

[Disclaimer: Some of the movies and their corresponding box office numbers in the table below might be accurate, some I have deliberately tweaked/manipulated, because it's my wish list any ways :)]

1. Enthiran (2010) - ₹271 crore (US$41 million)

2. Ai (2015) - ₹256.45 crore (US$38 million)

3. Vishwaroopam (2013) - ₹233 crore (US$35 million)

6. 13 am Number Veedu (1990) - ₹144 crore (US$23 million)**

7. Sura (2010) - ₹135 crore (US$21 million)**

8. Kuruvi (2008) - ₹130 crore (US$21 million)**

10. Thuppakki (2012) - ₹125 crore (US$20 million)[/QUOTE]

** The numbers are subjected to change when honesty and common sense prevails.

Cheers :)

16th June 2015, 04:07 PM
Naradarin Kalagam Nanmaiyil mudiyum ..... Narayana Naryana :yessir:

16th June 2015, 04:44 PM
நன்றி... நன்றி... நன்றி... நெகிழ்ந்த ஜுலியட் - Webulagam

லக்ஷ்மண் இயக்கத்தில் ஜெயம் ரவி, ஹன்சிகா நடித்த ரோமியோ ஜுலியட் சென்ற வெள்ளிக்கிழமை வெளியானது. டண்டணக்கா பாடல் மூலம் ஏற்கனவே படம் ரசிகர்களிடம் அறிமுகமாகியிருந்ததால் படத்துக்கு நல்ல ஓபனிங். சென்னையில் முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் முக்கால் கோடி அளவுக்கு வசூலித்து முதலிடத்தைப் பிடித்தது. மற்ற நகரங்களிலும் படத்துக்கு நல்ல வரவேற்பு.
இந்த வெற்றி ஹன்சிகாவை நெகிழ்ச்சியடைய வைத்துள்ளது. ரசிகர்கள், பத்திரிகையாளர்கள், வாய்ப்பு தந்த லக்ஷ்மண், உடன் நடித்த ரோமியோ ஜெயம் ரவி, தயாரிப்பாளர் நந்தகோபால், தொழில்நுட்பக் கலைஞர்கள் என ஒருவர் பாக்கியில்லாமல் அனைவருக்கும் நன்றி தெரிவித்துள்ளார்.

ஹன்சிகா சமீபத்தில் நடித்ததில் ஆம்பளை தவிர்த்து அனைத்துப் படங்களும் நல்ல லாபத்தைப் பெற்றது குறிப்பிடத்தக்கது.

16th June 2015, 04:45 PM
ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்டின் உலக வசூல் சாதனை - ஒரு பார்வை

கடந்த வெள்ளிக்கிழமை வெளியான ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்ட் உலக அளவில் சில வசூல் சாதனைகளை புரிந்துள்ளது. முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் இப்படம் உலகம் முழுவதும் 3280 கோடிகளை வசூல் செய்து, முதல் மூன்று தின ஓபனிங் வசூலில் உலக அளவில் முதலிடத்தைப் பிடித்துள்ளது.

ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்ட் யுஎஸ்ஸில் கடந்த வெள்ளிக்கிழமை 4,274 திரையரங்குகளில் வெளியானது. முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் யுஎஸ்ஸில் மட்டும் 204 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை இப்படம் வசூலித்தது. நேற்று திங்கள்கிழமை, படத்தின் யுஎஸ் வசூல் 204 அல்ல 208.8 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள் என அதிகாரப்பூர்வமாக அறிவித்துள்ளனர்.

த அவெஞ்சர்ஸ் படம் முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் 207.4 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள் வசூல் செய்ததே இதுவரை யுஎஸ்ஸின் சிறந்த ஓபனிங் வீக் எண்ட் வசூலாக இருந்தது. அதனை இப்படம் முறியடித்து முதலிடத்தைப் பிடித்துள்ளது.
யுஎஸ் தவிர்த்த பிற நாடுகளில் முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் இப்படம் 315.6 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை வசூல் செய்துள்ளது. யுஎஸ் தவிர்த்த பிற நாடுகளில் ஓபனிங் வீக் எண்ட் சாதனையுடன் முதலிடத்தில், ஹாரிபாட்டர் அண்ட் தி டெத்லி ஹாலோஸ் பார்ட் 2 படம் இருந்தது. 314 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள் என்ற அதன் வசூல் சாதனையை ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்ட் (315.6) முறியடித்துள்ளது.

மொத்தமாக உலக அளவில் இப்படம் முதல் மூன்று தினங்களில் 500 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை கடந்து வசூலித்துள்ளது. உலக சரித்திரத்தில் ஒரு படம் மூன்று தினங்களில் 500 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை கடந்தது இதுவே முதல்முறை.
இந்த பிரமாண்ட வசூல் காரணமாக, உலக அளவில் அதிகம் வசூல் செய்து முதலிடத்தில் இருக்கும் அவதாரின் சாதனையை ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்ட் முறியடிக்குமா என்ற கேள்வி எழுந்துள்ளது.

2009 -இல் வெளியான அவதார் யுஎஸ்ஸில் மட்டும் 760.5 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை வசூலித்தது. யுஎஸ் தவிர்த்து பிற நாடுகளில் 2,027.5 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள். மொத்தம் 2,788 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள். அதாவது இரண்டே முக்கால் பில்லியன்கள்.

இதற்கு அடுத்த இடத்திலும் ஜேம்ஸ் கேமரூனின் டைட்டானிக் படமே உள்ளது. உலக அளவில் இப்படம் 2,186.8 மில்லியன் டாலர்களை வசூலித்துள்ளது.
மூன்றாவது இடத்தில் உள்ள த அவெஞ்சர்ஸ் இவற்றைவிட மிகக்குறைவாகவே - 1,518.6 மில்லியன் டாலர்கள் - வசூலித்துள்ளது. அதனால் அவதாரையோ இல்லை டைட்டானிக்கையோ ஜுராஸிக் வேர்ல்ட் எட்டிப் பிடிப்பது எளிதல்ல. ஒருவேளை அப்படி நடந்தால் அது மகத்தான வெற்றியாக இருக்கும்.

16th June 2015, 05:25 PM
forum hub wants more posts from us .. NOV sir, is unhappy with the dip in activity..:lol:
more accurately, I am dismayed to find BO comparisons in many unrelated threads... so it's better to keep them at one place.

Since there is no source listed to the table above, i am assuming this is your wish-list :)Hardly Cedric, if it was my wishlist, except for Viswaroopam, none of the others will feature in the list. :p

Source was https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_highest-grossing_Tamil_films

Adox
16th June 2015, 07:28 PM
more accurately, I am dismayed to find BO comparisons in many unrelated threads... so it's better to keep them at one place.

Hardly Cedric, if it was my wishlist, except for Viswaroopam, none of the others will feature in the list. :p

Source was https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_highest-grossing_Tamil_films

This is an acceptable list by NOV since it provides ample references. If folks do not trust this, please feel free to dispute its claims by posting alternative proofs. Simply saying this is false and easily editable is not a valid argument ..

Vijay fans have no need to be upset. Two of his movies are in this list ..

16th June 2015, 07:49 PM
Don't you know for what we are upset :lol: ? Kaththi and Thuppaki shudn't be below Kanchana 2.

16th June 2015, 08:03 PM
This is an acceptable list by NOV since it provides ample references. If folks do not trust this, please feel free to dispute its claims by posting alternative proofs. Simply saying this is false and easily editable is not a valid argument ..

I seriously have no interest in Box office results, as I don't invest in them :) , but having read all these numerous websites since the release Shivaji the "LOSS", it was listed amongst the top 3, now it appears now where in the list, and how did the so called "Ultimate Flop" Linga by the "Ultimate FLOP star" appear in the top ten list ? :lol2:

16th June 2015, 08:04 PM
and surely Annan Surya's one film should be in the list right ?

Adox
16th June 2015, 08:08 PM
Don't you know for what we are upset :lol: ? Kaththi and Thuppaki shudn't be below Kanchana 2.

Yeah Kanchana 2 is an odd ball ... neither have I seen it nor followed its BO. Not sure. Sun Pictures better marketing ? It didn't seem to take a big run in the US as much as I know.

Adox
16th June 2015, 08:15 PM
I seriously have no interest in Box office results, as I don't invest in them :) , but having read all these numerous websites since the release Shivaji the "LOSS", it was listed amongst the top 3, now it appears now where in the list, and how did the so called "Ultimate Flop" Linga by the "Ultimate FLOP star" appear in the top ten list ? :lol2:

Params,

which year is Shivaji ? 2007. The movies listed are past 2010 except Dasa. Don't you think later day movies have had more scope of making more money ? If I remember right, Shivaji probably made less than the #10 listed although it was big hit then. So was Chandramuki. In the US its still in the top 10 or even 5. (endiran, I, VR, linga, dasa, shivaji ..)

16th June 2015, 08:34 PM
Yeah Kanchana 2 is an odd ball ... neither have I seen it nor followed its BO. Not sure. Sun Pictures better marketing ? It didn't seem to take a big run in the US as much as I know.

I hope you would have followed Katthi and Veeram :).

16th June 2015, 08:35 PM
and surely Annan Surya's one film should be in the list right ?

Mass will come in the list when it completes it run. I have heard all three versions (Tamil, Telugu and English) are running well.

Adox
16th June 2015, 08:38 PM
I hope you would have followed Katthi and Veeram :).

Yes. I was thinking Kaththi > Veeram but they got their references ..

16th June 2015, 08:46 PM
Yeppa saamy reelu andhu pochu !!!

CEDYBLUE
16th June 2015, 08:48 PM

http://s15.postimg.org/z53wgg2vf/Picture2.png

The same link you had posted in February 2015.

Things have changed ever since, Thuppakki has been downgraded.

Again references.

Adox
16th June 2015, 08:54 PM

Again references.

Cedy, dont remember what I posted. Thuppakki downgraded because of what ? Kanchana2 and I ? For someone to prove otherwise, we need an exhaustive list from several sources to prove our claim! Just one or two links may not suffice. When I had to prove VR's box office, I posted about 7-8 links with numbers varying from 220-245 crs .. Its not straight forward if two movies are close to each other.

Dammy R
16th June 2015, 08:57 PM
As someone said earlier, anyone with an account can make a list to suit their needs in Wikipedia these days.

Having said that, here is another list which is directly from IMDb which is mostly used by all movie lovers to check for movie ratings etc. Again, I am not saying that this is also 100% genuine or to prove anything but just wanted to share another perspective. You will find many such examples all over the internet. Rentrak was being used to track overseas collections so that list am sure is genuine and has been shared in the previous box office thread. It is only the TN collections which no one knows the truth about. Few websites do track box office numbers but again, they can always be questioned depending on what side you are on.

Top Grossing Tamil Movies of all time

No. Movie Name
1 Enthiran
2 Ai
3 Kaththi
4 Thuppaki
5 Vishwaroopam
6 Lingaa
7 Singam 2
8 Sivaji
9 Aarambam
10 Kanchana 2

Source : IMDb
Link : http://www.imdb.com/list/ls050231721/

16th June 2015, 09:01 PM
Cedy, dont remember what I posted. Thuppakki downgraded because of what ? Kanchana2 and I ? For someone to prove otherwise, we need an exhaustive list from several sources to prove our claim! Just one or two links may not suffice. When I had to prove VR's box office, I posted about 7-8 links with numbers varying from 220-245 crs .. Its not straight forward if two movies are close to each other.

Boss, Then Thuppaki collection was mentioned as 180cr but now its mentioned as 125cr. same link. We are saying that wikipedia can be edited with whatever references suit your needs.

Thats what thread starter has also done. He posted the list which fulfils his wish. So Cedy posted a list for us.

CEDYBLUE
16th June 2015, 09:04 PM

Billu Ji,

Here is a link to your post

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?7767-Box-Office-Collections&p=1205534#post1205534

The same wiki link.

How can Thuppakki downgrade from 187 crore in the same link you provided and now to 125 crore in the same link after a few months?

The link has been edited and references have been considered on convenience.

Lot's of media report a lot of numbers. For some movies, the highest figure and for some movies, the lowest figure is considered in that wiki page.

Convenience based table and purely based on the whim's and fancies of the individual who maintains the page.

16th June 2015, 09:05 PM
Mass will come in the list when it completes it run. I have heard all three versions (Tamil, Telugu and English) are running well.

:shock: Anglo Saxons will watch this ?

CEDYBLUE
16th June 2015, 09:06 PM
As someone said earlier, anyone with an account can make a list to suit their needs in Wikipedia these days.

Having said that, here is another list which is directly from IMDb which is mostly used by all movie lovers to check for movie ratings etc. Again, I am not saying that this is also 100% genuine or to prove anything but just wanted to share another perspective. You will find many such examples all over the internet. Rentrak was being used to track overseas collections so that list am sure is genuine and has been shared in the previous box office thread. It is only the TN collections which no one knows the truth about. Few websites do track box office numbers but again, they can always be questioned depending on what side you are on.

Top Grossing Tamil Movies of all time

No. Movie Name
1 Enthiran
2 Ai
3 Kaththi
4 Thuppaki
5 Vishwaroopam
6 Lingaa
7 Singam 2
8 Sivaji
9 Aarambam
10 Kanchana 2

Source : IMDb
Link : http://www.imdb.com/list/ls050231721/

We don't have the luxury to post this in the first page of the thread, don't we?

Wiki is now the toast of the town :)

16th June 2015, 09:07 PM
English version of Masss? Idhu eppo?

Adox
16th June 2015, 09:08 PM
Dammy ..

couple of things. The site you quoted has no other references other than their own making their case a little weak. Just check the references and links provided by wiki from independent sources ...

Moreover no offense but Kaththi and Thuppakki did not gross more than VR which was in excess of 220c.

16th June 2015, 09:12 PM
:shock: Anglo Saxons will watch this ?

No report on that dude.

English version of Masss? Idhu eppo?

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?11245-Surya-in-Mass-s&p=1231866&viewfull=1#post1231866

Adox
16th June 2015, 09:12 PM
Ok guys understand. Need some time to dig up Thuppakki details ... 180 to 120 is not really that accurate :)

16th June 2015, 09:19 PM
Ok guys understand. Need some time to dig up Thuppakki details ... 180 to 120 is not really that accurate :)

Eros International announced the release of financial results for the quarter ending 31st December, 2012. As per the announcement made by Eros, Thuppakki made a total box office collection of Rs. 180 crore (domestic) to become the fourth film to join the 100 crore club in Tamil films.

http://content.icicidirect.com/mailimages/IDirect_ErosIntl_Q3FY13.pdf

Certainly a better source than wikipedia or fanboy owned sites

Dammy R
16th June 2015, 09:25 PM
Dammy ..

couple of things. The site you quoted has no other references other than their own making their case a little weak. Just check the references and links provided by wiki from independent sources ...

Moreover no offense but Kaththi and Thuppakki did not gross more than VR which was in excess of 220c.

Bill4u... They do reference "indianmoviestats.com" in those ratings and rankings. Not arguing here but even the links provided in Wikipedia are independent sources and we don't know where they get their information from.
This is an endless discussion because there is no transparency as far as box office numbers are considered for Tamil movies.. within India.

Personally, I think the best way to judge or gauge is how a particular star movie is treated by trade during his next release...i.e. area wise distribution rights, TV rights, or any other pre-release business factors. I mean the speed at which a movie business gets done prior to release and not the amounts paid etc..cos that again is questionable.

Adox
16th June 2015, 10:52 PM
Eros International announced the release of financial results for the quarter ending 31st December, 2012. As per the announcement made by Eros, Thuppakki made a total box office collection of Rs. 180 crore (domestic) to become the fourth film to join the 100 crore club in Tamil films.

http://content.icicidirect.com/mailimages/IDirect_ErosIntl_Q3FY13.pdf

Certainly a better source than wikipedia or fanboy owned sites

Maybe true in this case but most movies may not have that producer announcement luxury for fear of taxes. There's really not an easy way out .. One way is to unbiasedly produce all reports high or low from various quarters and average them out. That'll need a lot of time and patience .. Overseas reports are mostly authentic (US/UK/Malaysia etc.) In general most will agree on a block buster/super hit vs. average/below average. Its that finer level of sorting that gets to be an issue.

Adox
16th June 2015, 11:00 PM
This is an endless discussion because there is no transparency as far as box office numbers are considered for Tamil movies.. within India.

Personally, I think the best way to judge or gauge is how a particular star movie is treated by trade during his next release...i.e. area wise distribution rights, TV rights, or any other pre-release business factors. I mean the speed at which a movie business gets done prior to release and not the amounts paid etc..cos that again is questionable.

Agree mostly. When it comes to stars close to each other, they tend to have similar business profiles eg. Vijay and Ajith.

elsaen11
16th June 2015, 11:49 PM

Again references.

Semma Cedy :clap: ...first page la edit panni pottu irukanga pola :lol:

Russellvzp
17th June 2015, 12:25 AM
-deleted with warning-

Adox
17th June 2015, 12:33 AM
nice try..:razz:

huh ? .. what the heck are you talking about ? If you want to contribute and debate meaningfully to discussions, please do.

17th June 2015, 04:12 PM
Vithagan,

But what about our "Talentless lucky start "' 's 100th Film Shree Raghavendra ?? I heard it ran for 100 days , was it BB or hit ?

vithagan
17th June 2015, 04:22 PM
Vithagan,

But what about our "Talentless lucky start "' 's 100th Film Shree Raghavendra ?? I heard it ran for 100 days , was it BB or hit ?

As far as I know It didn't do well at BO..

Raajjaa
17th June 2015, 06:50 PM
Vithagan,

Very good title for Rajini.

BTW Shree Raghavendra was an utter flop movie.

Raajjaa
17th June 2015, 07:15 PM
சிவாஜி,தசாவதாரம்,சிங்கம்,எந்திரன்,விஸ்வரூபம், ஐ, காஞ்சனா படங்கள் தான் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்து இருக்க முடியும். அந்த படங்கள் எல்லாமே தமிழ்,தெலுங்கு இரண்டிலும் பெரிய வெற்றி பெற்றது. வெளி நாடுகளிலும் நன்றாக ஓடியது. தமிழில் மட்டும் ஓடிய விஜய் படம் எப்படி லிஸ்டில் வருகிறது? அஜித் படங்கள் ஆரம்பம்,வீரம் எல்லாம் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்தது என்று சொல்வது உச்ச கட்ட காமெடி.

vithagan
17th June 2015, 07:26 PM
Raajjaa[/B];1232348]சிவாஜி,தசாவதாரம்,சிங்கம்,எந்திரன்,விஸ்வரூபம், ஐ, காஞ்சனா படங்கள் தான் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்து இருக்க முடியும். அந்த படங்கள் எல்லாமே தமிழ்,தெலுங்கு இரண்டிலும் பெரிய வெற்றி பெற்றது. வெளி நாடுகளிலும் நன்றாக ஓடியது. தமிழில் மட்டும் ஓடிய விஜய் படம் எப்படி லிஸ்டில் வருகிறது? அஜித் படங்கள் ஆரம்பம்,வீரம் எல்லாம் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்தது என்று சொல்வது உச்ச கட்ட காமெடி.

அண்ணன் உதிர்த்த இந்த வார்த்தைகள்(just bolded ones) கல்வெட்டில் பொரிக்க வேண்டியவை :)

Raajjaa
17th June 2015, 07:32 PM
சிவாஜி,எந்திரன் இரண்டுமே ரஜினி படங்கள் என்று கூற முடியாது. ஷங்கர் + ரஜினியின் கூட்டணியில் வந்த படங்கள்.

vithagan
17th June 2015, 07:52 PM
Very good title for Rajini.

BTW Shree Raghavendra was an utter flop movie.

True.. like Raajaparvai..:-D

17th June 2015, 07:59 PM
அண்ணன் உதிர்த்த இந்த வார்த்தைகள்(just bolded ones) கல்வெட்டில் பொரிக்க வேண்டியவை :)

ithu ummaku thevaiya ? :sigh2:

Adox
17th June 2015, 08:01 PM
சிவாஜி,தசாவதாரம்,சிங்கம்,எந்திரன்,விஸ்வரூபம், ஐ, காஞ்சனா படங்கள் தான் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்து இருக்க முடியும். அந்த படங்கள் எல்லாமே தமிழ்,தெலுங்கு இரண்டிலும் பெரிய வெற்றி பெற்றது. வெளி நாடுகளிலும் நன்றாக ஓடியது. தமிழில் மட்டும் ஓடிய விஜய் படம் எப்படி லிஸ்டில் வருகிறது? அஜித் படங்கள் ஆரம்பம்,வீரம் எல்லாம் 100 கோடி வசூல் செய்தது என்று சொல்வது உச்ச கட்ட காமெடி.

Raaja sir - do not fully agree. The movies you mention may have had a bigger haul because of the effects of Telugu market. But what really is the %% of telugu to the overall tally ? 10-15 % maybe ? Most of rest comes from TN imo.

Couple of Vijay and Ajith movies certainly may have crossed 100c and they have done well overseas as well.

Adox
17th June 2015, 08:36 PM

Atleast RaajaPaarvai had Madhavi :)

17th June 2015, 08:42 PM
Couple of Vijay and Ajith movies certainly may have crossed 100c and they have done well overseas as well.

Sir, Just by comparing with a hero who has given 2 100C movies doesn't mean that other actor's movie also crossed 100C. Adhum Veeram 100C nu vilundha edathulayae poralruinga paathingala :notworthy:. Your agenda is written all over your posts. Evalo maraika try pannalum kondaiya maraika mudila.

Adox
17th June 2015, 09:00 PM
Sir, Just by comparing with a hero who has given 2 100C movies doesn't mean that other actor's movie also crossed 100C. Adhum Veeram 100C nu vilundha edathulayae poralruinga paathingala :notworthy:. Your agenda is written all over your posts. Evalo maraika try pannalum kondaiya maraika mudila.

Oh! Now I see where you're coming from .. you're enraged at me putting Ajith and Vijay together .. Adhan indha chinna pasangaloda prechanayae ;) Summa Ajith, Vijay oru paechukku sonna adha yedho perusa oru microscopella pottu ... enna sir !

How many times have you seen me posting in favor of the other actor ? Check it out buddy .. My likes are only with Kamal and Rajini .. nobody else !! To me Ajith and Vijay are the next gen stars thats all. Whos' better than the other is up to you guys to decide, not me. If you think Vijay is the best, so be it payya!

Veeram and Aarambam was mentioned in that list put out by NOV. So does he also have an agenda of putting the other star with Vijay !! Come on man grow up ..

17th June 2015, 09:04 PM
Neutral character pola :thumbsup:.

BTW, Unga likes la orutharku vena naanga chinna paiyana irrukalam ... innorutharku mela eppovo poyaachu (Box officela) !!!

17th June 2015, 09:07 PM
BTW, Unga likes la orutharku vena naanga chinna pasangala irrukalam ... innorutharku mela eppovo poyaachu (Box officela) !!!

Ahaa , I see a can of worms being opened here :lol2:

All I can say when it comes to BO results is

"Makkal theerpE mahesan theerpu" :yessir:

vithagan
17th June 2015, 09:08 PM

Accepted.. ;) But Idhu enna comparison ;)

It reminds of Aboorva Sagadhorargal.. dialogue.. Annan Baniyan size 42 :)

17th June 2015, 09:10 PM

Another fan of "Madhavi pon mayilaal " :lol2:

bimmer
17th June 2015, 09:16 PM

Why is 100 Crore proprietary only for Vijay movies?, Please don't drag Veeram or Ajith into the conversation. There is one guy in your alliance that enjoys this kind of drama, Kozhandaya killi thottila attarathu.

17th June 2015, 09:22 PM
Have I ever said 100C is proprietary only for Vijay movies ? Its him who equated Vijay and Ajith movies and I responded to him. Discussion is about the list posted here. List has Veeram and Ajith was the hero of that movie. There is nothing wrong in talking about Veeram.

If at all you feel anything is not related to this thread request you to report the post instead of asking not to talk about a movie/actor.

bimmer
17th June 2015, 09:53 PM
Have I ever said 100C is proprietary only for Vijay movies ? Its him who equated Vijay and Ajith movies and I responded to him. Discussion is about the list posted here. List has Veeram and Ajith was the hero of that movie. There is nothing wrong in talking about Veeram.

If at all you feel anything is not related to this thread request you to report the post instead of asking not to talk about a movie/actor.

If you wanna argue then so be it...ooh and let me help you here!!!, Kanchana is also on the list and so is Entiran and Lingaa. I am sure Kaththi and Thuppaki should not feature on this list since they are Classic's and It should be compared to Avatar and Dark Knight.

GSV
17th June 2015, 09:55 PM
Oh! Now I see where you're coming from .. you're enraged at me putting Ajith and Vijay together .. Adhan indha chinna pasangaloda prechanayae ;) Summa Ajith, Vijay oru paechukku sonna adha yedho perusa oru microscopella pottu ... enna sir !

How many times have you seen me posting in favor of the other actor ? Check it out buddy .. My likes are only with Kamal and Rajini .. nobody else !! To me Ajith and Vijay are the next gen stars thats all. Whos' better than the other is up to you guys to decide, not me. If you think Vijay is the best, so be it payya!

Veeram and Aarambam was mentioned in that list put out by NOV. So does he also have an agenda of putting the other star with Vijay !! Come on man grow up ..
Bill4u,
Yes for ur last line.. As Nov himself said, he seems to be satisfied with wiki list.. Hence he quoted here.. Just with my hub experience.. He likes surya, ajith than Vijay.. To me it s agenda driven...

17th June 2015, 09:59 PM
If you wanna argue then so be it...ooh and let me help you here!!!, Kanchana is also on the list and so is Entiran and Lingaa. I am sure Kaththi and Thuppaki should not feature on this list since they are Classic's and It should be compared to Avatar and Dark Knight.

Come on ... dint you read all the posts in the thread ? I have talked about Kanchana 2 here

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?11453-Tamil-Cinema-Box-Office&p=1232137&viewfull=1#post1232137

I have no issues with Enthiran and Linga details and positions given in the list.

And thanks for recognising Kaththi and Thuppaki :ty:.

bimmer
17th June 2015, 10:18 PM
Come on ... dint you read all the posts in the thread ? I have talked about Kanchana 2 here

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?11453-Tamil-Cinema-Box-Office&p=1232137&viewfull=1#post1232137

I have no issues with Enthiran and Linga details and positions given in the list.

And thanks for recognising Kaththi and Thuppaki :ty:.

Oh...Don't mention it!!! Birds of the same feather flock together!!!

Adox
17th June 2015, 11:14 PM
She was one of them I liked .. was hot in those movies - dusky with enchanting eyes :)

Adox
17th June 2015, 11:49 PM
Neutral character pola :thumbsup:.

BTW, Unga likes la orutharku vena naanga chinna paiyana irrukalam ... innorutharku mela eppovo poyaachu (Box officela) !!!

Romba overconfidence nalladhu illa sir .. avanga ellam paathavanga, indha vayasilayum demandlla irrukaanga. Avanga numberssa unga star innum touch seiyalla .. Ippo dhan unga star konjam stabilize aagirrukkar. So better to be modest ..

18th June 2015, 12:14 AM
That was not over confidence ..fact. Again when it comes to box office "avanga" doesnt sound good :).

Oruthar box office la vera level. Untouchable. Even his latest disasters had grand openings. Other one needs high profile movie for the openings chinna pasanga have been having for last so many years. It is as simple as that. Personally I dont like the vera level box office hero but I cannot deny the facts right.

Russellvzp
18th June 2015, 12:19 AM
That was not over confidence ..fact. Again when it comes to box office "avanga" doesnt sound good :).

Oruthar box office la vera level. Untouchable. Even his latest disasters had grand openings. Other one needs high profile movie for the openings chinna pasanga have been having for last so many years. It is as simple as that. Personally I dont like the vera level box office hero but I cannot deny the facts right.

இத தான் நானும் சொன்னேன். அட்மின் எதுக்கு deleted வித் வார்நிங்க்னு தெரில்ல..

Russellvzp
18th June 2015, 12:25 AM
மாதவி and பிந்து மாதவி both act with their eyes.. so well.

bimmer
18th June 2015, 12:27 AM

Neenga Yaara solla vareenga...All of Recent Shankar's Movies have been in the 100 C Elite club..Enthiran, Shivaji and I...Naduvula onnu mattum Missing...

Adox
18th June 2015, 12:40 AM
Neenga Yaara solla vareenga...All of Recent Shankar's Movies have been in the 100 C Elite club..Enthiran, Shivaji and I...Naduvula onnu mattum Missing...

He's talking about Kamal ! Somebody who can give a box office win simply changing the genre of his movies at his own disposal. He doesnt choose to and tries to provide some content thats all. Even Vijay will be embarassed to be compared with him .. Only our Vinod doesnt realize it, what to say ..

Adox
18th June 2015, 01:34 AM
Vinod,

this is what I'm trying to say .. both Kamal and Rajini have been around a lot longer than Vijay, seen it all, and still much in demand by the audience. And FYI, Kamal has seen way too many box office victories during his 30's and 40's in comparison. Have you forgotten his 80's era ?

Vijay might have a good opening now but what about 5 yrs. from now or lets say when he's 50+ ? Would he be able to sustain people's interest at the same level esp. with the same genre types that he's doing now ? Even SS is having issues and trying to adapt .. Dont know what happens tomorrow. Yet to be seen if Vijay can continue sustain.

Just a few years ago he was constantly giving flops .. he was so down that SAC was back in picture to lift him up by trying to remake SS movie. Somebody like SivaKarthikeyan suddenly came from nowhere and could be someone to contend with! Better to be level headed and not over confident.

faithiu11
18th June 2015, 07:06 AM
Vinod,

this is what I'm trying to say .. both Kamal and Rajini have been around a lot longer than Vijay, seen it all, and still much in demand by the audience. And FYI, Kamal has seen way too many box office victories during his 30's and 40's in comparison. Have you forgotten his 80's era ?

Vijay might have a good opening now but what about 5 yrs. from now or lets say when he's 50+ ? Would he be able to sustain people's interest at the same level esp. with the same genre types that he's doing now ? Even SS is having issues and trying to adapt .. Dont know what happens tomorrow. Yet to be seen if Vijay can continue sustain.

Just a few years ago he was constantly giving flops .. he was so down that SAC was back in picture to lift him up by trying to remake SS movie. Somebody like SivaKarthikeyan suddenly came from nowhere and could be someone to contend with! Better to be level headed and not over confident.
Wen is it happened..?aft he went out of picture good things started for vijay...vinod bro leave this topic...no comparison plz...vijay is in untouchable position wen comes to boxoffice colection and pre business among current generation...v will be happy with it...

pushpak
18th June 2015, 07:28 AM
Just because some one has grand stardom, it is not fair to expect grand opening if the movie is not a commercial one.
Any star for that matter, if keeps taking classic movies without typical commercial elements, the opening will not be comparable to mass movies.

elsaen11
18th June 2015, 10:07 AM
. Somebody like SivaKarthikeyan suddenly came from nowhere and could be someone to contend with! Better to be level headed and not over confident.
Billu4 ,

Neenga sollurathu eppadi irukuna oruthan 3 padam hit kudutha vijay ku contender 6 padam hit kudutha kamaluku contender Mari iruku :lol:...appuram unga wiki linkukum first page la irukira linkkum y difference nu dig pannigala :)

elsaen11
18th June 2015, 10:13 AM
Bill4u,
Yes for ur last line.. As Nov himself said, he seems to be satisfied with wiki list.. Hence he quoted here.. Just with my hub experience.. He likes surya, ajith than Vijay.. To me it s agenda driven...

Die hard surya fan aavar ... :notthatway: vijay list layei illa :mrgreen:

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 10:54 AM
When a Star like proven the power of BO pulling, no one ready to accept that. But Sivakarthigeyan oru 3 padam koduthathum they see him as a BO puller. I see double standard here only.

I am not surprised with Wiki link, as I can even show Sura collection more than Avengers, or Alwar as more than Avatar. And Suddenly we know why that link got shared here as well. even a dud like "Massu" was taken to peak by because of "you-know-who"

18th June 2015, 11:21 AM
Vinod,

Yedhukku yeppodhum molangaalukum muttikumae mudichu poduringa !!! If Australia is a cricket world champion now then they have to be called as world champion. I cannot say I wont call them world champion because they were not world champions four years ago and don't know what would be their position after four years. Never taken away any credits from Kamal's legendary in Tamil cinema. I said the current facts. If you agree or not I have been seeing Kamal's decline in box office from my college days. It's mainly because the type of movie he makes. Even though he emphasize on business in may of his interviews he doesn't want to compromise the quality by adding gimmick commercial elements. When it comes to the quality undoubtedly he is the number 1 but box office wise he has been struggling for almost a decade now.

You can come up with the links and references to prove me wrong. I don't mind. I said what I am seeing. None of my friends who have watched his latest movie said a bad review but the movie did not do wonders in box office. It may be his fate. Audience wants him to be there for industry good but look for stars for entertainment (Rahul Dravid maari).

Appuram "siryorai siyor endru igalvadhum tahvarae".

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 11:54 AM
Same Genre? Sustainability? WTH??!!

To be honest 30 years back the Field was not same as today. And 30 years after, it will be more tougher to competition.
There is no doubt on the legends like Rajni or Kamal. But when it comes to BO, If Kamal has proven 100, then Rajni has proved 1000.
I am not saying Kamal is weaker than Rajni in acting, but entertaining yes Rajni is far better. Its black and white.

We just arguing for fan sake.

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 12:15 PM
Raaja sir - do not fully agree. The movies you mention may have had a bigger haul because of the effects of Telugu market. But what really is the %% of telugu to the overall tally ? 10-15 % maybe ? Most of rest comes from TN imo.

அங்கே தான் பிரச்சனையே. தசாவதாரம் மதுரையில் 6 திரை அரங்குகளில் திரையிடப்பட்டது. 5 திரை அரங்குகளில் 50 நாட்கள் ஓடியது. 4 திரை அரங்குகளில் 70 நாட்கள் ஓடியது. 2 திரை அரங்குகளில் 90 நாட்கள் வரையிலும் 1 திரை அரங்கில் 100 நாட்கள் ஒடியது. ஆனால் 4 வருடங்கள் கழித்து வெளி வந்த துப்பாக்கி மதுரையில் 4 or 5 திரை அரங்குகளில் திரையிடப் பட்டது. 4 வாரத்தில் எல்லா திரை அரங்கிலிருந்தும் படம் தூக்கப் பட்டது. இதே மாதிரி தான் தமிழ் நாட்டில் எல்லா ஊர்களிலும்.

டிக்கட் விலையில் மாற்றம் இல்லை. தினமும் 20 காட்சிகள் ஒடலை. ஆனால் தமிழிலில் மட்டும் 180 கோடி வசூல் செய்தது என்று கூறுகிறார்கள்.

சச்சின்,மதுர படங்களை எல்லாம் 200 நாட்கள் ஓட்டியது போல் இப்போது ஓட்ட முடியாது என்பதால் இப்போ இந்த மாதிரி கணக்கு காண்பிக்க விஜய் அன் கோ ஆரம்பித்து விட்டார்கள் என்று நினைக்கிறேன்.

காஞ்சனா-2 20+ கோடியும், ஐ 25+ கோடியும் தெலுங்கில் வசூல் செய்தது.

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 12:28 PM

But SR bombed worse than Raajapaarvai.

18th June 2015, 12:35 PM
அங்கே தான் பிரச்சனையே. தசாவதாரம் மதுரையில் 6 திரை அரங்குகளில் திரையிடப்பட்டது. 5 திரை அரங்குகளில் 50 நாட்கள் ஓடியது. 4 திரை அரங்குகளில் 70 நாட்கள் ஓடியது. 2 திரை அரங்குகளில் 90 நாட்கள் வரையிலும் 1 திரை அரங்கில் 100 நாட்கள் ஒடியது. ஆனால் 4 வருடங்கள் கழித்து வெளி வந்த துப்பாக்கி மதுரையில் 4 or 5 திரை அரங்குகளில் திரையிடப் பட்டது. 4 வாரத்தில் எல்லா திரை அரங்கிலிருந்தும் படம் தூக்கப் பட்டது. இதே மாதிரி தான் தமிழ் நாட்டில் எல்லா ஊர்களிலும்.

டிக்கட் விலையில் மாற்றம் இல்லை. தினமும் 20 காட்சிகள் ஒடலை. ஆனால் தமிழிலில் மட்டும் 180 கோடி வசூல் செய்தது என்று கூறுகிறார்கள்.

சச்சின்,மதுர படங்களை எல்லாம் 200 நாட்கள் ஓட்டியது போல் இப்போது ஓட்ட முடியாது என்பதால் இப்போ இந்த மாதிரி கணக்கு காண்பிக்க விஜய் அன் கோ ஆரம்பித்து விட்டார்கள் என்று நினைக்கிறேன்.

காஞ்சனா-2 20+ கோடியும், ஐ 25+ கோடியும் தெலுங்கில் வசூல் செய்தது.

Bro,

Do u honestly think that these days a movie's success is guaged by the total days of run? All it takes is the first 3,4 weeks to bring in the revenue. And after a month, new releases start to flow in. IIRC, Thuppakki breached the 100 C milestone on the 12th day of its release.

And dont assume that the film was lifted off all the screens in Tamilnadu on its 4th week. The film crossed 50 days in Nagercoil and also in Thanjavur. I am quoting these two places because i go there often. It also celebrated a 100 day run in the capital.

18th June 2015, 12:37 PM
Nanban 100 crores reach pannalainnu yaar yaarellam kavalaipaduradhunnu oru vevasthai illama pochu.. Anga 50 croreskke mukkudhaam.. :rotfl2:

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 12:41 PM
Bro,

Do u honestly think that these days a movie's success is guaged by the total days of run? All it takes is the first 3,4 weeks to bring in the revenue. And after a month, new releases start to flow in. IIRC, Thuppakki breached the 100 C milestone on the 12th day of its release.

And dont assume that the film was lifted off all the screens in Tamilnadu on its 4th week. The film crossed 50 days in Nagercoil and also in Thanjavur. I am quoting these two places because i go there often. It also celebrated a 100 day run in the capital.

செல்லாது செல்லாது ... அவர் வீட்டு பின்னாடி இருக்குற தியட்டர்ல ஓடேல... ஆதலால் துப்பாக்கி தோல்வி படம்.

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 12:42 PM
Nanban 100 crores reach pannalainnu yaar yaarellam kavalaipaduradhunnu oru vevasthai illama pochu.. Anga 50 croreskke mukkudhaam.. :rotfl2:

That Benchmark moment... Nee SSLC fail and naan 8vathu Pass..!!

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 12:55 PM
bro,

do u honestly think that these days a movie's success is guaged by the total days of run? All it takes is the first 3,4 weeks to bring in the revenue. And after a month, new releases start to flow in. Iirc, thuppakki breached the 100 c milestone on the 12th day of its release.

And dont assume that the film was lifted off all the screens in tamilnadu on its 4th week. The film crossed 50 days in nagercoil and also in thanjavur. I am quoting these two places because i go there often. It also celebrated a 100 day run in the capital.

என்னுடைய சந்தேகம் உங்களுக்கு புரிகிறதா இல்லையா?.

தியேட்டரின் எண்ணிக்கை கூடலை. டிக்கட் விலை கூடலை. காட்சிகளின் எண்ணிக்கை கூடலை. வசூல் மட்டும் எப்படி கூடும்? யாராவது விவரமான விஜய் ரசிகர் விளக்கம் கூறினால் நன்றாக இருக்கும்.

Fyi தசாவதாரம் திருச்சி,நெல்லை,நாகர்கோவில்,தூத்துகுடி போன்ற ஊர்களில் 100 நாட்களுக்கு மேல் ஓடியது.

18th June 2015, 01:04 PM

தியேட்டரின் எண்ணிக்கை கூடலை. டிக்கட் விலை கூடலை. காட்சிகளின் எண்ணிக்கை கூடலை. வசூல் மட்டும் எப்படி கூடும்? யாராவது விவரமான விஜய் ரசிகர் விளக்கம் கூறினால் நன்றாக இருக்கும்.

Fyi தசாவதாரம் திருச்சி,நெல்லை,நாகர்கோவில்,தூத்துகுடி போன்ற ஊர்களில் 100 நாட்களுக்கு மேல் ஓடியது.

Ji,

The ticket prices havent increased only in Chennai where the cap is 120 rs. In B centres, the ticket rates have no cap. For any big hero's film they charge a minimum of 250 Rs in the first week and that reduces after the first week. It was already explained during the release of Kaththi. In Tirunelveli, the ticket rate in Ram theatre in the 2nd week was 200 rs and I had shared the bookmyshow/ticketnew screenshot of the same.

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 01:07 PM
People usually fight over hit movies... Ippa worse-la ethu better ennu vera..!!

18th June 2015, 01:10 PM

Your logic is perfect. No space for even a fly to go through it. Assuming you are a Kamal fan I guess you will have theatre counts and number of days of Vishwaroopam also handy. 2 doubts

1)Did Viswaroopam collect more than Dasavatharam? If so
2)Please share the theatre count and number of days like you compared with Thuppakki

Dasavatharam 2008
Viswaroopam 2013

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 01:26 PM

Bro, first 2 week this is applicable to all big heroes. not only for Vijay.

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 01:37 PM
Your logic is perfect. No space for even a fly to go through it. Assuming you are a Kamal fan I guess you will have theatre counts and number of days of Vishwaroopam also handy. 2 doubts

1)Did Viswaroopam collect more than Dasavatharam? If so
2)Please share the theatre count and number of days like you compared with Thuppakki

Dasavatharam 2008
Viswaroopam 2013

விவரமான விஜய் ரசிகர் வந்துட்டார்.

Definitely Dasa did better business than Viswa in Tamil and Telugu. In karnataka both movies did equal business.
But in Hindi Dasa bombed and Viswa was hit and collected 20+ crores.

18th June 2015, 01:53 PM
Bro, first 2 week this is applicable to all big heroes. not only for Vijay.

Did i deny that? It was my reply to your statement that the ticket prices havent increased.

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 02:22 PM
It seems 20+ is a standard number for any Kamal's outside TN BO. Ethu eduthaalum 20+

18th June 2015, 02:29 PM

agreed ...

18th June 2015, 02:30 PM
people are still responding to "Annan" posts ? :shock:

18th June 2015, 02:36 PM
She was one of them I liked .. was hot in those movies - dusky with enchanting eyes :)

Yes Killer eyes indeed, watch "raagangal 16" song from "thillu mullu", or watch her in "thambiku entha ooru" , beautiful women indeed !

http://www.filmibeat.com/celebs/madhavi.html

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 02:37 PM
people are still responding to "Annan" posts ? :shock:

அவர் தொடர்ந்தும் பதிலளித்தால் தானே ஒரு சுவாரிசம் இருக்கும்.

18th June 2015, 02:43 PM
அவர் தொடர்ந்தும் பதிலளித்தால் தானே ஒரு சுவாரிசம் இருக்கும்.

Lol, athuvum sari thaan ...

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 02:53 PM
Did i deny that? It was my reply to your statement that the ticket prices havent increased.

மறுபடியும் முதல்ல இருந்தா...

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 02:54 PM
It seems 20+ is a standard number for any Kamal's outside TN BO. Ethu eduthaalum 20+

அடுத்த புத்திசாலி விஜய் ரசிகர்.

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 02:56 PM
அடுத்த புத்திசாலி விஜய் ரசிகர்.

என்ன சொன்னாலும் உங்கள் அளவுக்கு இல்லை அண்ணே.. .. அறிவை அளந்தால் நீங்க என்ன விட 20+

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 03:02 PM
என்ன சொன்னாலும் உங்கள் அளவுக்கு இல்லை அண்ணே.. .. அறிவை அளந்தால் நீங்க என்ன விட 20+

inch or cm?

Russellmvr
18th June 2015, 03:18 PM
inch or cm?

உங்க ஊரு தியட்டர்ல கேட்டு தெரிஞ்சுக்குங்க... :lol2:

vithagan
18th June 2015, 03:57 PM
But SR bombed worse than Raajapaarvai.

From Actor/Producer KH:

“This is not the first time I am facing bankruptcy and it will not be the end of my cinematic journey. I went bankrupt when I produced Raja Paarvai (1981) and had to work seven to eight years to come out of the losses. I once again faced bankruptcy in 1986 because of my own doing. However, I have learnt to pick myself up and I will pick myself up again.”

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/will-have-to-seek-a-secular-state-for-my-stay/article4360501.ece.

Adox
18th June 2015, 04:31 PM
When a Star like proven the power of BO pulling, no one ready to accept that. But Sivakarthigeyan oru 3 padam koduthathum they see him as a BO puller. I see double standard here only.

I am not surprised with Wiki link, as I can even show Sura collection more than Avengers, or Alwar as more than Avatar. And Suddenly we know why that link got shared here as well. even a dud like "Massu" was taken to peak by because of "you-know-who"

You didnt follow my post .. Sivakarthikeyan was just an example of how suddenly things change .. Not to showcase a big performer or a box office king! On the same lines he could vanish like gramarajan as well. In your intoxication for your favorite star, you missed out on the logic :)

Adox
18th June 2015, 04:40 PM
When it comes to the quality undoubtedly he is the number 1 but box office wise he has been struggling for almost a decade now.

You can come up with the links and references to prove me wrong. I don't mind. I said what I am seeing. None of my friends who have watched his latest movie said a bad review but the movie did not do wonders in box office. It may be his fate. Audience wants him to be there for industry good but look for stars for entertainment (Rahul Dravid maari).

Appuram "siryorai siyor endru igalvadhum tahvarae".

Struggling for a decade ? He seems to be giving movies only once in 2 years ! His 'off', non entertainers have not made it .. but what about VR, Dasa, Tenali, VV, Virumandi etc. ? No need for any links but cant call that struggling. Just means he can give a boxoffice winner when he wants to.

Seri vidunga. Time to clear the pitch for Raaja Sir! Ellam nalla irrudha seri ..

18th June 2015, 06:07 PM
Why is 100 Crore proprietary only for Vijay movies?, Please don't drag Veeram or Ajith into the conversation. There is one guy in your alliance that enjoys this kind of drama, Kozhandaya killi thottila attarathu.

Absolutely true..not that no one is Provoking...but Holycow act by same guy.....

Authencity of WikiBO is left to conscience of People to believe but People following BO/Cinema close wont rattle as much like this.

Even for that not so credible WikiOffice,frustrations are pouring in big way by repacing with Sura,Kuruvi but seems saying Ajith with Vijay is sin.:(

Gone through Discussion wow Vera level future superstar.....is born

adangappa Veeram/Arrambam potadhu kola kutram pola.........pesaama 100 ruuvaa notela Gandhi ku badhil Vijaya dha podanum pola...

edhukku Endiran laam listla Sura/Kuruvi followed by Avatar,fastfurious7 nu potrundhadha try pannuna comedy mulumai adanju sirappa vandhurukkum...:lol2:

18th June 2015, 06:29 PM
I think majority of us will agree that Wiki is not a reliable source. But If Bill4u shows you that stock market link from Eros to prove the success of maatraan and the ARM movie, we can't deny it. Right? This is what bill4u is trying to say. He says don't say wiki is completely false. But our stand is that it is not a reliable source for most of the time.

Poor bill4u. He doesn't know the hub rules for being a neutral in the current generation. He should learn from holy cows who pretended as one 7 years ago and until recently.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

18th June 2015, 06:30 PM
And NOV's purpose of starting this thread is achieved.

18th June 2015, 06:36 PM
Naayagan was a BB at many places evenoutside TN and Manithan didnt have 100 days even in chennai. Their fans cheat by telling there was 9.45 AM show in AVM Rajeswari and it completed 100 days there. In reality there was no such show at all. Rajini had a habit of faking his 60/70 days movies as 100 days and so on. Even for baadshah in kovai tey made it force run for 365 days, but Indian which came next year, broke baashaa collection in kovai just in 192 days itself. But 100 ஆண்டுகளுக்குப்பின் வருபவர்களுக்கு 192 days விட 1 வருதம் தான் பெருசா தெரியும் ;))

In 80s Kamal had kind of bit less or inconsistent hits where rajni had more hits. Kamal had Absolute rockers like Aboorva SagotharargaL,Naayagan etc, though. but later, his experimental movies made a dent at his BO.

But even then, i wud say, in later years, when Rajini gave Baashaa, Kamal gave not one but 2 BB Indian and AvvaiShanmugi in just one single year! Then, when Rajni gave Padayappa kamal gave Tenaali(though not eq to padayap, its was a BB, KSR named kamal as UlagaNaayagan after its rocking business in overseas. He published districtwise collections in paper!)

Then, both kamal and rajini gave their share of flop, Aalavandhan and Baba

Fewyears later, both returned to BO Superhits with Chandramuki for rajini and VV for Kamal. Again, VV slight less but still very close to CM. Again, CM was draaaaagged till 800 days in producer's theater itself

Then both gave Industrys biggest BB Sivaji for rajini and Dasavatharam for kamal. Both were record breaking. THen Rajini gave Robo and kamal gave VR(though VR broke only Hindi collections of Robo and other lang remains still untouched) but still VR was a bigger thing at BO.

Now UV had a run and made money like what a movie like that will generally make. In a way, i find all is well and fare.

18th June 2015, 06:38 PM
Industry and media doesnt have the integrity to highlight Kamal's BO success and always portrays him for his performance and talent only. Same thing what MGR did on Sivaji, rajini and co, and media is doing on kamal. as simple as that.

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 07:07 PM
From Actor/Producer KH:

“This is not the first time I am facing bankruptcy and it will not be the end of my cinematic journey. I went bankrupt when I produced Raja Paarvai (1981) and had to work seven to eight years to come out of the losses. I once again faced bankruptcy in 1986 because of my own doing. However, I have learnt to pick myself up and I will pick myself up again.”

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/will-have-to-seek-a-secular-state-for-my-stay/article4360501.ece.

வித்தகன்,

அவர் சொல்லுறதை எல்லாம் serious-ஆ எடுத்துக்க வேணாம். ராஜ பார்வை ரிலீஸ் ஆகி 4 வருஷதுக்கு அப்புறம் 1 கோடி(?) செலவு பண்ணி விக்ரம் படம் எடுத்தாரே? அந்த பணம் எங்கே இருந்து வந்தது.
(சகலகலா வல்லவன் படத்திற்கு பிறகுதான் அவர் சம்பளம் 5 லட்சமாக உயர்ந்தது)
அபூர்வ சகோதரர்கள் படத்தின் மூலம் எனக்கு பெருசா லாபம் கிடைக்கலேனு சொன்னவர் அவர்.

vithagan
18th June 2015, 07:25 PM
வித்தகன்,

அவர் சொல்லுறதை எல்லாம் serious-ஆ எடுத்துக்க வேணாம். ராஜ பார்வை ரிலீஸ் ஆகி 4 வருஷதுக்கு அப்புறம் 1 கோடி(?) செலவு பண்ணி விக்ரம் படம் எடுத்தாரே? அந்த பணம் எங்கே இருந்து வந்தது.
(சகலகலா வல்லவன் படத்திற்கு பிறகுதான் அவர் சம்பளம் 5 லட்சமாக உயர்ந்தது)
அபூர்வ சகோதரர்கள் படத்தின் மூலம் எனக்கு பெருசா லாபம் கிடைக்கலேனு சொன்னவர் அவர்.

சரி இனி serious-ஆ எடுத்துக்கலை.. அவர் சொல்றதை மட்டுமில்லை நீங்க சொல்றதையும் :)

18th June 2015, 07:25 PM
And Naayagan his salary was 17 lakhs! not less than anybody, in 89 itself!

Raajjaa
18th June 2015, 07:30 PM
சரி இனி serious-ஆ எடுத்துக்கலை.. அவர் சொல்றதை மட்டுமில்லை நீங்க சொல்றதையும் :)

உங்களை மாதிரி நிறைய பேர் எனக்கு பதில் சொல்ல தெரியாமல் escape ஆகி இருக்காங்க.

18th June 2015, 07:43 PM
Ada .. Namma "Annan" Kamal ah purinchukitta alavukke, Kamal thanaiyE purinchukalla, what a great man , namma "Annan" !

Russellvzp
18th June 2015, 07:54 PM
kamal gave Tenaali(though not eq to padayap, its was a BB, KSR named kamal as UlagaNaayagan after its rocking business in overseas. He published districtwise collections in paper!)

thenali title card had 'Ulaga Nayagan' for KH, i presume KSR had a crystal ball to predict it's box office success in overseas?

bimmer
18th June 2015, 08:03 PM

Why...You talk about the Almighty BO power and 100 C, then why did not Nanban cross 100 C!!!, Vevasthai - Look who is talking?

18th June 2015, 08:12 PM
thenali title card had 'Ulaga Nayagan' for KH, i presume KSR had a crystal ball to predict it's box office success in overseas?

Any films with "Eezha Sentiments" will do well "overseas" , as the "Majority (85%) of Tamil population" , especially in USA/Canada and Europe are of "Eezha " diaspora , few more films which did well due to "Eezha sentiments " are the likes of KannathilE mutham ittal, 7am Arivu, and now MASSS, I am not sure how Captain Prabakaran did over seas (too young to understand these box office issues ), but I remember seeing loads of people standing outside the cinema to get the tickets (obviously these online booking did not exists that time ) even though the film had nothing to do with eezha struggle, the name it self made it a BB!

cm123
18th June 2015, 09:05 PM
Kamal movie tickets lower than all other big or lower or equal stars in all over TN except chennai where theatre owners yet to know how to cheat both people and government.

Adox
18th June 2015, 10:42 PM
I think majority of us will agree that Wiki is not a reliable source. But If Bill4u shows you that stock market link from Eros to prove the success of maatraan and the ARM movie, we can't deny it. Right? This is what bill4u is trying to say. He says don't say wiki is completely false. But our stand is that it is not a reliable source for most of the time.

Yeah about right ..

- Its true wiki is not reliable
- Its true wiki can be edited to suit ones needs

But the onus is on the disbeliever to provide adequate proofs from reliable sources (eg. producers, distributors) to discredit its claims. Thats where I'm coming from.

AB provided an EROS report and Cedy showed inconsistencies in it for Thuppakki ...

18th June 2015, 11:08 PM
Why...You talk about the Almighty BO power and 100 C, then why did not Nanban cross 100 C!!!

Reasons..

1. Nobody expected a comedy film like Nanban from Shankar. Someone like M Raja as director was more than enuf.

2. It was a remake which had a Shankar tag to it. And the original already had a glorious run across the globe.

3. Its not a commercial potboiler like Sivaji or Endhiran or Thuppakki and had nothing for the B,C centers

In spite of all these, the film managed to break even and also fetched the best price for satellite rights then.

Agreed that Vijay is still not in that capacity to make each of his film earn 100 crores. But at least he is there in the race and his recent successes has ensured that his films get sold even before the first schedule is over. So as a Vijay fan I wouldnt bother much about his potential in the BO. All i say is I would not worry about the paint getting peeled off in my neighbor's house when my house is in fire.

18th June 2015, 11:12 PM
And I dont know who Selva is referring to as holy cow or neutral. If it was me (assuming it is me because there are not many here who fit in that 7 year old hubber criteria). I dont know what gave him an impression that I am a neutral. Right from Day 1 in hub, i am a Vijay fan and every T,D and H know it. If people fail to see it, then it is their problem. Not mine. And Selva, you could've asked me directly in our whatsapp group or even PMed me to know which side i am on instead of name calling. Couldve saved this thread from a few posts.

18th June 2015, 11:17 PM

business means selling the movie, which happens b4 the release of movie!

18th June 2015, 11:19 PM
Any films with "Eezha Sentiments" will do well "overseas" , as the "Majority (85%) of Tamil population" , especially in USA/Canada and Europe are of "Eezha " diaspora , few more films which did well due to "Eezha sentiments " are the likes of KannathilE mutham ittal, 7am Arivu, and now MASSS, I am not sure how Captain Prabakaran did over sears (too young to understand these box office issues ), but I remember seeing loads of people standing outside the cinema to get the tickets (obviously these online booking did not exists that time ) even though the film had nothing to do with eezha struggle, the name it self made it a BB!

what eezha sentiments did Aboorva Sagotharargal or Indian had? Kamal had a real good overseas market which made those and Tenali a very big success overseas. nothing like eezha sentiment

18th June 2015, 11:29 PM
Kamal movie tickets lower than all other big or lower or equal stars in all over TN except chennai where theatre owners yet to know how to cheat both people and government.

Even in overseas kamal films have slight less rate tickets than, say rajini. But he has done records despite that. These kinda statements, like less ticket rates, movie sold for less price etc makes no sense. rajni inspite of having bigger rate and sale has still given 2 biggest flops. industry's biggest. Shankar has proven without rajini, in AI(though i never will like that film) but rajini cleverly rode on shankar & co for 2 times. also the image ppl have that he will never experiment and will always do commercial films only, will help. he kind of retains family and kids/lady audience with help of all the needed forces. kamal kinda lost it many times but he still is able to give commercial success when he attempts for that

bimmer
18th June 2015, 11:44 PM
Reasons..

1. Nobody expected a comedy film like Nanban from Shankar. Someone like M Raja as director was more than enuf.

2. It was a remake which had a Shankar tag to it. And the original already had a glorious run across the globe.

3. Its not a commercial potboiler like Sivaji or Endhiran or Thuppakki and had nothing for the B,C centers

In spite of all these, the film managed to break even and also fetched the best price for satellite rights then.

Agreed that Vijay is still not in that capacity to make each of his film earn 100 crores. But at least he is there in the race and his recent successes has ensured that his films get sold even before the first schedule is over. So as a Vijay fan I wouldnt bother much about his potential in the BO. All i say is I would not worry about the paint getting peeled off in my neighbor's house when my house is in fire.

Nice Try...As long as you don't complain that the paint peeled off due to the neighbors house's fire. Movie sold before the first schedule, Success meet 2nd day, Paint peeling 3rd day. Waiting for an announcement for ATlee's movie being sold before the first day of shoot.

18th June 2015, 11:49 PM
Not sure if Atlee film will be sold before the first day but I am sure the shooting will not be stalled because of insufficient funds. Thanu earned some good revenue because of his previous releases.

bimmer
19th June 2015, 12:34 AM
Not sure if Atlee film will be sold before the first day but I am sure the shooting will not be stalled because of insufficient funds. Thanu earned some good revenue because of his previous releases.

I know, Thanu earned a lot from Sachin...

19th June 2015, 01:38 AM
There are different kind of neutrals OR holy cows. I had a problem in seeing that 7 years ago. Not now. Thanks !

19th June 2015, 01:43 AM
Maatraan was loathed as a flop here. It has collected 90C overseas alone as per Eros. Does this mean the bar for a hit is 100c now? Then all the 100c films don't look odd if we go by that logic. I don't think KVA is bigger than Shankar

Adox
19th June 2015, 02:28 AM
Maatraan was loathed as a flop here. It has collected 90C overseas alone as per Eros. Does this mean the bar for a hit is 100c now? Then all the 100c films don't look odd if we go by that logic. I don't think KVA is bigger than Shankar

No, a lot of movies have been classified hits/superhits/blockbusters mainly on ROI. Movies that made 20c and costs were about 5c. If your movie cost 150c and you made 100c, then going by common wisdom, its a flop. So the criteria is primarily profitability. Then comes the collections .. movie in a 100c club need not be a hit. Going by what you said, Maatran lost money, so its a flop.

For sometime 'I' which is reported to have made 250c didnt break even.

19th June 2015, 05:19 AM
Bill4u, you didn't get my point. Has 100c become the new benchmark for a "hit" movie for popular stars? I am not talking movies made at 1c collecting 50c or 100c. Those will be Mega blockbusters.

19th June 2015, 05:21 AM
And if Maatraan lost money even after collecting 90c just in overseas, I wonder what amount it was sold

Adox
19th June 2015, 05:50 AM
Selva,

this 100c/200c/300c crossing business is propagated by bollywood. Even Aamir Khan spoke against it last year .. It really pays no attention to ROI or profitability or movie's quality .. the bench mark you're talking about is more a status symbol for big stars - how much business they're capable of achieving. Linga crossed 100c yet is classified a flop but 'maintains Rajini's status symbol. I dont think he's too happy about its failure.

No idea about Maatran .. 90c just overseas seems a heck of a lot of money!

19th June 2015, 08:02 AM
Bill - given that genuine box office records are missing in TFI, disclosing profitability is not going to happen ever.

19th June 2015, 02:24 PM
what eezha sentiments did Aboorva Sagotharargal or Indian had? Kamal had a real good overseas market which made those and Tenali a very big success overseas. nothing like eezha sentiment

I can't remember how Indian did over here, and I am not sure how late 80's and early 90's film did over here as well, IIRC Indian films screening here were limited to "Odeon " Cinemas, and not all Odeon Cinemas screened Indian films, but since the introduction of "Cineworld Cinema" Indian movies were screened a lot more than in the 90's

19th June 2015, 02:27 PM
Even in overseas kamal films have slight less rate tickets than, say rajini. But he has done records despite that. These kinda statements, like less ticket rates, movie sold for less price etc makes no sense.

Not sure about other European countries or N.America, but the ticket price for all the films ( except 3D / VIP lounge) regardless of "Actors" are the same price in UK.

Raajjaa
19th June 2015, 06:53 PM

சாருக்கு சொந்த ஊரு வாடிபட்டியா?

Russellvzp
19th June 2015, 07:46 PM
சாருக்கு சொந்த ஊரு வாடிபட்டியா?

இல்ல கொட்டாம்பட்டி

19th June 2015, 07:53 PM
No , it is "Ayyampettai" and his name is " ayyampettai arivudainambi kaliyaperumal chandran"

Russellvzp
19th June 2015, 07:56 PM
Even in overseas kamal films have slight less rate tickets than, say rajini. But he has done records despite that. These kinda statements, like less ticket rates, movie sold for less price etc makes no sense.

do you realize no matter how much the ticket price is for the first weekend when reporting to box office, they only show the actual ticket price for tax purposes but not the price they sold for? if you are actually counting 25$ full weekend price for endhiran/sivaji etc, it could easily touch say PK's collection in US.

even for latest massu movie i had paid 15 which is a norm for all recent blockbusters except for UV it was 11.. Most KH movies sell for regular ticket prices. anecdotal evidence does not a truth make. you don't make up stories based on what you hear. The so called flop Lingaa collected 3 times more than your above average UV (without considering inflated ticket price), do the math to find how much it actually could have collected.

dell_gt
19th June 2015, 08:07 PM
do you realize no matter how much the ticket price is for the first weekend when reporting to box office, they only show the actual ticket price for tax purposes but not the price they sold for? if you are actually counting 25$ full weekend price for endhiran/sivaji etc, it could easily touch say PK's collection in US.

even for latest massu movie i had paid 15 which is a norm for all recent blockbusters except for UV it was 11.. Most KH movies sell for regular ticket prices. anecdotal evidence does not a truth make. you don't make up stories based on what you hear. The so called flop Lingaa collected 3 times more than your above average UV (without considering inflated ticket price), do the math to find how much it actually could have collected.

less ticket price then Mass... and UV overall collection higher then MASS.. ok got it!
sir I think time to let go Lingga.. total damage been done to that movie.. ninga vera keep bringing up again!

Russellvzp
19th June 2015, 08:31 PM
less ticket price then Mass... and UV overall collection higher then MASS.. ok got it!
sir I think time to let go Lingga.. total damage been done to that movie.. ninga vera keep bringing up again!

neenga naan sonnatha purinchikave illannu nenaikiren.. for BO they only consider standard ticket prices not inflated ones. it could be true UV collected more than MASS means it sold more tickets at the counter than MASS.. (not necassarily the actual money to distributors)

Brought linga for comparison from the quoted post. He mentioned it's disaster so i responded accordingly.

Karikalen
19th June 2015, 11:43 PM
I can't remember how Indian did over here, and I am not sure how late 80's and early 90's film did over here as well, IIRC Indian films screening here were limited to "Odeon " Cinemas, and not all Odeon Cinemas screened Indian films, but since the introduction of "Cineworld Cinema" Indian movies were screened a lot more than in the 90's

I do not think the Eelam diaspora have the kind of impact on the box office like the Indians who migrated due to the IT revolution from the beginning of 2000 do. The Indians who came in after 2000 had the purchasing power and more importantly believe in entertainment mainly shopping, eating out and cinema. It is only after the arrival of the South Indians to London from 2000 onwards things changed in the 3 areas mentioned. You would have noticed how things changed over the last 16 years if you happen to live in London.I think it is the same in USA. The box office figures in UK, USA,Malaysia and lately Australia are mostly decided by the South Indians living in these areas.

I do not remember Tamil movies being screened in the eighties though thousands of Tamils from Sri Lanka lived in London. I had to watch Thevar Magan Guna and Thalapathy on video. But Tenali had a fantastic run in late 1999. That was purely due to the Eelam dispora. People did talk about Tenali's run. (In a way it was similar to Aboorva Sagothargal's run in KL in 1989; a trendsetter). The large scale migration from South India from 2000 changed things. The box office numbers of Sivaji and Dasa in the overseas market in 2007 and 2008 were largely due to this migration.

28th June 2015, 10:33 AM
Half-yearly report card Of Tamil Cinema

http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/02453/28CP-tradewinds2_j_2453794g.jpghttp://static.sify.com/cms/image/pepriwidaaifg_small.jpg

http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/archive/02453/top_grossers_j_2453849a.jpg

Top Nett box office collections worldwide in the first half of 2015

1. I (Tamil + Telugu + Hindi): 190 cr

2. Kanchana-2 (Tamil + Telugu): 98 cr

3. Yennai Arindhaal (Tamil + Telugu): 78 cr

4. Massu (Tamil + Telugu): 63 cr

5. Anegan (Tamil + Telugu): 49 cr

6. Kaaki Sattai (Tamil only): 47 cr

7. Uttama Villain (Tamil + Telugu): 38 cr

8. O Kadhal Kanmani (Tamil + Telugu): 33 cr

9. Komban (Tamil only): 31 cr

10. Romeo Juliet (Tamil Only): 22 cr.

All box office figures are approximate, but are adequately indicative of the box office performance of the film.

Source: Compiled from conversations with producers, distributors and other trade sources, including tamilboxoffice1.com

Gross: Total amount from the theatrical ticket sales
Nett: Gross minus Entertainment Tax (various states have different rates)
Share: Nett minus the share given to theatre owners as per agreements

Article BY THE HINDU

30th June 2015, 03:17 PM
I do not think the Eelam diaspora have the kind of impact on the box office like the Indians who migrated due to the IT revolution from the beginning of 2000 do.

yes IT revolution did have an impact, but amongst Tamil Population in UK, 75% are Eezha diaspora

The Indians who came in after 2000 had the purchasing power

Ayngaran International founder/owner is Eezha Diaspora.
Lycatel and Lycamobile Groups of companies founder / owner is a Eezha diaspora

importantly believe in entertainment mainly shopping, eating out and cinema.

I agree on this since introduction South Indian Food, especially Dosa outlets like, Chennai dosa / Dosa and chutney

You would have noticed how things changed over the last 16 years if you happen to live in London.

I have been living here for nearly 27 years :)

1st July 2015, 02:54 PM
Is this the right time for Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan to retire?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53mNG3bC0Ms

pottaya oru podu..ummmah..!!!

1st July 2015, 03:10 PM
Is this the right time for Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan to retire?
None of the comments in the video applies to Kamalahassan. He neither acts as a youth nor has youthful heroines. And certainly no 3 fights 4 songs masala.

At present Kamalahassan is the only hope Tamil cinema has.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Chikatiloan
1st July 2015, 04:19 PM
None of the comments in the video applies to Kamalahassan. He neither acts as a youth nor has youthful heroines. And certainly no 3 fights 4 songs masala.

Exactly!! also compare this year movies like mass,kanchana,etc with uttama villain..Uttama Villain is far better than other movies though it didn't do well..
kamalhaasan selects scripts according to the age and acts and none of the comments in video applies to him..

faithiu11
1st July 2015, 04:34 PM

He is not the only hope...he also one of the hope of tamilcinema

1st July 2015, 04:54 PM
He is not the only hope...he also one of the hope of tamilcinemaThat may be your view, certainly not mine.

1st July 2015, 04:57 PM
They dont have to retire. While UV didnt taste success in BO terms, it was a good attempt and would've been great if Kamal himself had handled the direction. The script of Papanasam will suit his age and i am sure it will strike the chord with the masses.

Rajni on the other hand is quite reluctant to come out of his tried and tested formula of mass entertainers. But since the cinema going crowd these days is mostly in the age group of 20-40, his attempts dont draw the same attention as they used to. That is why his next film with Ranjith where he plays an ageing don is more expected than his film with Shankar. Rajni is a much much better actor than Big B and imagine him doing a Sarkar kind of role. He will hit it straight out of the park.

1st July 2015, 05:01 PM
That video though is nothing but Indiaglitz's attempt to improve the hit rates by instigating a quarrel between four groups. Nothing else

1st July 2015, 05:40 PM
Sabaa...

Marupadiyum muthala iruntha ???

1st July 2015, 05:52 PM
Rajni is a much much better actor than Big B and imagine him doing a Sarkar kind of role. He will hit it straight out of the park.

Big B is and has always been "Over hyped" IMHO, Of course our "Talent less Lucky star" is by far a better actor, if you see Big B earlier films, there were nothing to mention about his "acting skills", while our "Talent less lucky star(without the WIG) " proved a lot in late 70's and 80's , it is just that due to the sheer volume of pressure from his fan(atic)s , he is forced to do mass entertainers (of late , most of them tend to be mokkais).

There were far better actors than Big B those days like Mithun ( 3 times National award winner), Rajesh khanna, Jeetinder ... but some how Big B managed to get all the attention .

1st July 2015, 06:20 PM

Well Said Nov Sir..

1st July 2015, 06:21 PM
They dont have to retire. While UV didnt taste success in BO terms, it was a good attempt and would've been great if Kamal himself had handled the direction. The script of Papanasam will suit his age and i am sure it will strike the chord with the masses.

Rajni on the other hand is quite reluctant to come out of his tried and tested formula of mass entertainers. But since the cinema going crowd these days is mostly in the age group of 20-40, his attempts dont draw the same attention as they used to. That is why his next film with Ranjith where he plays an ageing don is more expected than his film with Shankar. Rajni is a much much better actor than Big B and imagine him doing a Sarkar kind of role. He will hit it straight out of the park.

+1.... good thoughts.

Adox
1st July 2015, 07:27 PM
Retirement will happen if the business for a star runs out .. If the market along the fan following continues to patronize the star, talking about retirement for someone else is rubbish!

Arvind Srinivasan
1st July 2015, 07:32 PM
The video just plays to the current scenario where both Rajini n Kamal are coming of losses, hardly making any valuable observations in the process. Rajini is guilty of never doing things out of the box. Agreed. But if the formula works who would not. It still works ( though I am not a fan of it at all) if done right. It's the writers n directors that Rajini's associated with that have gone astray n out of sync to changing times not the man himself. That being said, here is the opportunity for the man to push the envelope. He doesn't need to but he has that chance. I have yearned for the actor in him to come out for years but to no avail. The Pa Ranjith film could be that golden goose opportunity
And coming to Kamal , I am sort off bemused at how Kamal was just looped into the video oppukku chappaniya. You want the single source of inspiration to actors, writers, filmmakers and wannabes to stop making movies.
That being said , a welcome change should however be on the budget n how their movies are distributed. Quality ( even for a masala flick )should not be compromised. It should be their prerogative considering their over inflated budgets. I am at least happy that Kamal's Papanasam n Thoongavanam has a medium sized budget. Hope he continues this trend.
And finally to answer the question. Hell no

1st July 2015, 07:38 PM

no youthful heroines... enna sir solreenga .. pooja kumar aan, andreayavan .... idhellam youthful heroines illaya..:)

1st July 2015, 07:42 PM
Kamal hassan nambi onnum Tamil cinema illa..only hope ngrathellam cumma buildup..kamalle ottuka mattaru..kamal rajini thandi Tamil cinema ippa young director kailathan irukku..

1st July 2015, 07:46 PM
even though big B is hyped he did choose his movies well. at 90's he did Hum as big brother with other heros including Rajnikanth as his brother

no kamal or rajni will do that. they still want to be the only star in their movie.. they dont want to do mature roles.. kamal definitely is trying but then & there caught up in the commercial/business/box office crap

people dont jump on me. i'm not complaining kamal or rajini here. it's just a point. take it or leave it.

faithiu11
1st July 2015, 07:48 PM
Kamal hassan nambi onnum Tamil cinema illa..only hope ngrathellam cumma buildup..kamalle ottuka mattaru..kamal rajini thandi Tamil cinema ippa young director kailathan irukku..

+1..young directors making some brilliant movies

1st July 2015, 08:00 PM
no youthful heroines... enna sir solreenga .. pooja kumar aan, andreayavan .... idhellam youthful heroines illaya..:)Pooja Kumar is nearly 40. Andrea is not paired with young heroes - she is 30.

I repeat, Kamal is the only hope for Tamil cinema whether you agree or not. There is no other SINGLE person you can point out other than him.

1st July 2015, 08:17 PM
Why Kamal is the only hope ? He is in the top of hope list that's all!!! Haven’t we seen so many young directors giving good movies in last ten years. Pona vaaram thaanpa Kaaka Muttaiya aah ooh nu pugazhdhinga .. Producer CV Kumar kooda nalla choose panni thaan pannuraaru. Adhu seri naama thaan producerngala madhikkavae maatomae ... Give credits to these directors and producers also ...Tamil Cinema will be safe. Tamil Cinema’s big hope is the “Directors and Producers" who can make movies which can be both critically acclaimed and earn money. Reviewers-ku theeni podura maari mattumae padam edutha our kattathula dhuttu irrukaadhu padam edukka.

1st July 2015, 08:18 PM
no youthful heroines... enna sir solreenga .. pooja kumar aan, andreayavan .... idhellam youthful heroines illaya..:)

lol

Pooja kumar is nearly 40, Aishu was around late 30's in Endhiran
Andrea is around 30+ , so was Anuksha shetty in Linga, Sonakshi Sinha is almost 30

Kooti kazhiichu partha , kannakku sariya thaan varuthu :yessir:

Despite the Age factor, Pooja Kumar is one hell of an eye candy :p

1st July 2015, 08:21 PM
Why Kamal is the only hope ? He is in the top of hope list that's all!!! Haven’t we seen so many young directors giving good movies in last ten years. Pona vaaram thaanpa Kaaka Muttaiya aah ooh nu pugazhdhinga .. Producer CV Kumar kooda nalla choose panni thaan pannuraaru. Adhu seri naama thaan producerngala madhikkavae maatomae ... Give credits to these directors and producers also ...Tamil Cinema will be safe. Tamil Cinema’s big hope is the “Directors and Producers" who can make movies which can be both critically acclaimed and earn money. Reviewers-ku theeni podura maari mattumae padam edutha our kattathula dhuttu irrukaadhu padam edukka.

1st July 2015, 08:27 PM
Params,

Its not about the age of the heroines. Rajni films still have a duet with the heroine who are at least half his age. The man is already a grandfather of three. Do you honestly want a duet in his film? I am sure you dont. That is why i am saying neither Rajni nor his directors (Shankar included) want to break these stereotypes and do something fresh. The formulaic Rajni films of the 90s are beaten to pulp these days, not only by the next gen heroes but even Dhanush and Simbhu. So it is better that he moves on in a different direction.

1st July 2015, 08:28 PM
And after all these talks we were the guys wanted movies like Sura, Anjaan,Linga etc to succeed in the box office for our own agenda :notworthy:.

1st July 2015, 08:30 PM

Arumaiyaaga sonneer.. :clap:

Tamil cinema does have numerous talents who are brilliant in their own rights. Let us not discredit them.

1st July 2015, 08:32 PM
Params,

Its not about the age of the heroines. Rajni films still have a duet with the heroine who are at least half his age. The man is already a grandfather of three. Do you honestly want a duet in his film? I am sure you dont. That is why i am saying neither Rajni nor his directors (Shankar included) want to break these stereotypes and do something fresh. The formulaic Rajni films of the 90s are beaten to pulp these days, not only by the next gen heroes but even Dhanush and Simbhu. So it is better that he moves on in a different direction.

Ajay,

If you read my posts in Rajni's thread you will know, I did not want Rajni to play a young hero any more, I always wanted him to play a role to suit his age, in fact I have mentioned many times, it looks highly comical, it is high time they remove these duets from Tamil movies. :)

Russelljpv
1st July 2015, 08:36 PM
Well Said.

Pooja Kumar is nearly 40. Andrea is not paired with young heroes - she is 30.

I repeat, Kamal is the only hope for Tamil cinema whether you agree or not. There is no other SINGLE person you can point out other than him.

1st July 2015, 08:41 PM
but one must accept the fact Kamal has "Always" had better choice compared to Rajni , when it comes to heroine (except Aishu) ! :p

1st July 2015, 08:43 PM
but one must accept the fact Kamal has "Always" had better choice compared to Rajni , when it comes to heroine (except Aishu) ! :p

// Appo enna Anushka, Shreya, Nayanthara, Deepika padukone lam mokkaiyaa ? //

Adox
1st July 2015, 09:03 PM
Params - nothing like that! SS has always had equal or better looking heroines than KH all along ...

1st July 2015, 09:05 PM
True. Kamal has worked with relatively lesser known Pooja Kumar,Abirami and even Kovai Sarala

1st July 2015, 09:09 PM
pooja kumar 40yo .. trisha was very young compared to him.. jo was younger too..
youthful heroines na enna 16 vayasuy heroineaa. ippo apdi 16 20 ellam very clever. they dont want to do films with older heroes..

adhanala thaan people going back to meena simran etc ..

rajini duet with sriya saran.. one of the worst pairing was that.. sriya looks good but she is even younger to aishwarya rajnikanth....

Kamal only hopeellam chumma .. lot of young talent be it director or actor are there ... aana enna encourage pannavo continuousa direct pannavo thaan aal ila

1st July 2015, 09:11 PM
True. Kamal has worked with relatively lesser known Pooja Kumar,Abirami and even Kovai Sarala

give me 1 good reason why he would have chosen pooja kumar when she was introduced in tamil way back in kadhal rojave and fled the scene to USA and now doing something else there. definitely he might have met her for various reasons and would have offered a role.. when there are good talent here already.
chumma kan thudaippu .

1st July 2015, 09:12 PM
Directors come and go. Much hoped ones like Vasantha Balan and Balaji went into oblivion in a couple of years.

I can bet my one year salary that Kamalahassan will still be making excellent movies five years from now.

No one else can give that guarantee.

1st July 2015, 09:15 PM
Rajesh, are you arguing just for the sake of it?

Stop shifting goalposts.

Both Trisha and Jothika were second love after being widowed. He didn't dance duets with them.

1st July 2015, 09:23 PM
Directors come and go. Much hoped ones like Vasantha Balan and Balaji went into oblivion in a couple of years.

I can bet my one year salary that Kamalahassan will still be making excellent movies five years from now.

That's your hope on Kamal. It doesn't mean that if there is no Kamal then Tamil Cinema will not get good movies.

Adox
1st July 2015, 09:36 PM
give me 1 good reason why he would have chosen pooja kumar when she was introduced in tamil way back in kadhal rojave and fled the scene to USA and now doing something else there. definitely he might have met her for various reasons and would have offered a role.. when there are good talent here already.
chumma kan thudaippu .

Whats the problem there my friend ? He tries to choose the most appropriate (glamorous if needed) for a heroine. He chose Urvasi (least glamorous) for UV as needed for the role ! Likewise he probably felt US influenced Pooja may have been ideal for VR.

1st July 2015, 09:56 PM

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk :clap:

Mysskin, Bala can be added to the list ..

1st July 2015, 09:57 PM
NOV sir,

Balaji sakthivel is still here .. he is just very slow ..thats all .. he can make great movies ..

1st July 2015, 10:25 PM

Mysskin, Bala can be added to the list ..

are you sure? i simply love the movie Pissasu and watched multiple time...

For me, Bala is THE director among new comers....

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 10:31 PM
T
Rajni on the other hand is quite reluctant to come out of his tried and tested formula of mass entertainers. But since the cinema going crowd these days is mostly in the age group of 20-40, his attempts dont draw the same attention as they used to.

thank me for this, i helped correcting your statement for you :-D

Rajni on the other hand is quite reluctant to come out of his tried and tested formula of mass entertainers. But since the cinema going crowd these days is mostly in the age group of 20-40, his attempts dont draw the same attention as they used to in my opinion.

1st July 2015, 10:36 PM
Pooja Kumar is nearly 40. Andrea is not paired with young heroes - she is 30.

yesterday i was watching few comedy scenes in the movie "Valliyavan"... she acted opposite jai in the movie...anyway the movie was almost pathetic....

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 10:39 PM

Its the same empty rhetoric as always, thank you for sharing your wisdom with rest of us.

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 10:45 PM
Params,

let me help you little here, when you state your opinion you start saying "I think" "I believe" "I guess" and please note you don't represent anyone other than your own self. majority of the posts you talk as if there's a huge gang behind you supporting everything you say or try to represent general youth blah blah.. come on now. i think people could be mistaking your posts for figure of speech when you really mean to say what you say.

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 10:49 PM
chumma kan thudaippu .

agreed 100%.. lol on bolded text, care to share insider info or rumors around reasons?

1st July 2015, 10:55 PM
PR218,

Did i say anywhere that i am representing a group? I post my opinions and you post yours. Whats the problem here?

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 11:00 PM

anyone who worked on the movie making side of things or familiar with roles and responsibilities of film crew would know producers are the bread and butter of the films and their releases. they should be the master mind behind deciding who should be acting and who should be directing etc. TFI does this ulta, reverse engineered pretty much like many of us creating design from code. Here actor decides who's director and director and actor decides who's producer and there's no executive director. someone mentioned cv kumar if anyone says he's hope it's agreeable. if you mention one actor who stars in less than 1% of movies TFI releases yearly and call him the only hope of the whole movie industry this certainly doesn't look reasonable. in general while everyone come and go actors dont. rajni and kamal or rajkiran they have long legs compared to any other technician including heroins. if making "excellent" movies five years from now make someone "only hope" then there are so many people in TFI fit the bill as of today. I have nothing against kamal but in my opinion he's one of the most overrated actors in south. except quite a handful of movies most are based on foreign movies or copied. explain to me why is he not the producer for any of the "experimention" movies and if not 100%, 90% of his home productions are commercial pot boilers?

Russellvzp
1st July 2015, 11:02 PM
PR218,

Did i say anywhere that i am representing a group? I post my opinions and you post yours. Whats the problem here?

>>Rajni on the other hand is quite reluctant to come out of his tried and tested formula of mass entertainers. But since the cinema going crowd these days is mostly in the age group of 20-40, his attempts dont draw the same attention as they used to.

didn't sound like your opinion but more on the side of asserting and representing age group of 20-40 being no longer interested with Rajin's films.. :smile2:

1st July 2015, 11:10 PM
I belong to the group and many of my friends, family members are. My post was solely on my interactions with them. If you feel otherwise, feel free to post it. But don't educate others to add IMOs and I guess'es to their post. Thanks

Amarshiva
1st July 2015, 11:23 PM
He is not overrated.. your statements are certainly baised.. who is CV kumar... you are comparing a "No existing fellow" to kamal.. that shows .. who are you..

anyone who worked on the movie making side of things or familiar with roles and responsibilities of film crew would know producers are the bread and butter of the films and their releases. they should be the master mind behind deciding who should be acting and who should be directing etc. TFI does this ulta, reverse engineered pretty much like many of us creating design from code. Here actor decides who's director and director and actor decides who's producer and there's no executive director. someone mentioned cv kumar if anyone says he's hope it's agreeable. if you mention one actor who stars in less than 1% of movies TFI releases yearly and call him the only hope of the whole movie industry this certainly doesn't look reasonable. in general while everyone come and go actors dont. rajni and kamal or rajkiran they have long legs compared to any other technician including heroins. if making "excellent" movies five years from now make someone "only hope" then there are so many people in TFI fit the bill as of today. I have nothing against kamal but in my opinion he's one of the most overrated actors in south. except quite a handful of movies most are based on foreign movies or copied. explain to me why is he not the producer for any of the "experimention" movies and if not 100%, 90% of his home productions are commercial pot boilers?

Adox
1st July 2015, 11:24 PM
I have nothing against kamal but in my opinion he's one of the most overrated actors in south. except quite a handful of movies most are based on foreign movies or copied. explain to me why is he not the producer for any of the "experimention" movies and if not 100%, 90% of his home productions are commercial pot boilers?

Are you sure ? Over-rated by whom ? His non commercial movies dont do well .. Where is the question of being overrated ? In fact some of us feel he's under-rated by the media. Now dont bs me about using 'us'.

In the few that you posted, you've already been banned once and you continue provoking others rather than talk about the subject in question ..

Russellvzp
2nd July 2015, 12:12 AM
I belong to the group and many of my friends, family members are. My post was solely on my interactions with them. If you feel otherwise, feel free to post it. But don't educate others to add IMOs and I guess'es to their post. Thanks

you still didn't get my point, your "many" friends don't represent general 20-40 age group youth, so say it appropriately. if you post in public forum stating 20-40 age group don't go to certain movies you seem like trying to force your opinion as a fact which is not a fact.

Russellvzp
2nd July 2015, 12:19 AM
Are you sure ? Over-rated by whom ? His non commercial movies dont do well .. Where is the question of being overrated ? In fact some of us feel he's under-rated by the media. Now dont bs me about using 'us'.

In the few that you posted, you've already been banned once and you continue provoking others rather than talk about the subject in question ..

sir, calm down. no i haven't been banned yet or never been, am new to the forum. but an avid reader for several years. please read my post carefully and i stated it's my opinion that media always celebrates KH's movies and overrate him, didn't say it's a fact. But it's just my opinion. Also i'm not trying to provoke anyone there are quite a few KH movies i loved and enjoyed watching. But regarding him as the "only hope" etc is taking rest of the audience for granted which i believe is overrating. nobody is above the industry. this has been said few times that sachin was never bigger than cricket you apply the same logic for KH and TFI. he's good in what he does but not like someone who revolutionize the movie industry either technologically or otherwise. his sense of movie selections is top notch and does a good acting but nothing more than that. disclaimer: i watched UV and i absolutely loved it, never shared a negative feedback about the film's content if you have noticed it.

on a separate note, in the process of trying to provoke me you didn't answer the questions i raised in the quote you responsed for.

Adox
2nd July 2015, 01:26 AM
on a separate note, in the process of trying to provoke me you didn't answer the questions i raised in the quote you responsed for.

Me provoking you ?? Anyways, i only raised issues I had problems with ..

2nd July 2015, 02:40 AM
you still didn't get my point, your "many" friends don't represent general 20-40 age group youth, so say it appropriately. if you post in public forum stating 20-40 age group don't go to certain movies you seem like trying to force your opinion as a fact which is not a fact.
I can post something only on the world i see. If my opinion cannot be considered a fact, your opinion can neither be. And i didn't even project my opinion as a fact. Is it too hard to understand?

2nd July 2015, 02:43 AM
In another post of yours, you claim that your post on 'KH being over rated' is just your opinion and not a fact. When others do that to your fav star, you jump on them. எந்த ஊர் நியாயம் சார் இது?

And if you say that adding a mere IMO gives that freedom, any post on a public forum is the individual's opinion. Nobody has to add an IMO to every post of his..

faithiu11
2nd July 2015, 06:16 AM
Myskin going to start his next after his superhit pisasu...At present bala is the best director in Tamil cinema bcz he didn't copy or get inspired by the plots/scenes and all his movies are original

2nd July 2015, 02:23 PM
// Appo enna Anushka, Shreya, Nayanthara, Deepika padukone lam mokkaiyaa ? //
//
Anu looks like an Aunty, don't like Deepika, Nayan was good in Balle lakka song, but amongst these lot who can forget the "Va ji va ji va ji " shreya :p //

dell_gt
2nd July 2015, 02:28 PM
//
Anu looks like an Aunty, don't like Deepika, Nayan was good in Balle lakka song, but amongst these lot who can forget the "Va ji va ji va ji " shreya :p //

Paramu sir specially for u :)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CI5FpLXUEAAiOEJ.jpg:large

2nd July 2015, 02:29 PM
chumma kan thudaippu .

lol, Sathama pesaatheenga ithu Public forum :yessir:

2nd July 2015, 02:31 PM

Lol , intha "sir " nu address panatheenga please :)

lord_labakudoss
2nd July 2015, 06:39 PM
One thing I don't understand is: why is there a request/demand to retire?
I can understand in a scenario like cricket where the person is holding on to a spot and the selectors feel obligated because of the past record; stepping down allows a new comer to come in.

In a field like cinema, what good does a person retiring do for the field?

Regarding Rajini's contributions, he has concentrated on the commercial side and has done quite a lot- opened up new markets, made movie watching a team activity (which encourages theatre going) and so much more in terms of increasing the revenue stream.

By the same token, actors concentrating on non-commercial movies have failed miserably on the problem of how to make movies without popular appeal, financially viable. They still concentrate on how to increase viewership as a solution!

Criteria like "doing new things" are really for the individual fan debates, not for the quality of cinema. If one wants to see different stuff, just go see different stars/ directors!

2nd July 2015, 08:54 PM

papa chumma Nachunu irruku....

Russellvzp
2nd July 2015, 10:25 PM
I can post something only on the world i see. If my opinion cannot be considered a fact, your opinion can neither be. And i didn't even project my opinion as a fact. Is it too hard to understand?

haha your signature :-) now you stand corrected and you can say whatever you want to say and people won't take it seriously.. didn't want to write back (i might piss everyone off as i keep dragging this subject) anything since you still haven't understood the usage of IMO i'll offer my little help my friend.

1. FAN SAYS: This films is blockbuster - Not a fact, figure of speech, viewer's opinion
2. HATER SAYS: This film is utter flop, non sense - Not a fact, figure of speech, viewer's opinion. remember when MASS released, even before the movie was released elsewhere you were the first to say the movie is worser than ANJAAN - since it was your opinion nobody cared to dispute with you.
3. Gautami making a comback with Papanasam - Fact, don't warrant proof
4. Top ten movies in BO history - Nov's opening post in this thread, not a FACT, matter of dispute so he attached the sources from where he's inferring that information
5. Now the last one where you need IMO - you make a statement, a matter of dispute but you don't prefix saying "IMO" or provide "sufficient source" if you really meant to state that what you said, readers like me will mistake you for joking and being sarcastic etc.

so yes, adding an IMO gives you license to state your opinion freely. as far as other members in my quantified observation in this forum i haven't seen anyone else making authoritative claims on disputed matters like you, i can go thru your posts in last 2 weeks and could come up with many such posts but it's pointless. on one hand we have serious hubbers like "mappi" who really digs deep into subject matters and post meaningful posts.

my point is simple. you stated 20-40 youth group lost interest with rajni's movies (didn't say your friends or your observation). let me ask you this, what was the highest grossing movie or top 2-3 in TFI in 2014. leave hit or flop aside for a moment (that's considered based on return on investment). lingaa will be there in top 3, agreed? now you stated majority of movie goers fall under 20-40 age category and i agree to that. now without this group seeing the movie how can the movie be on the top 3? prove me wrong with proper sources etc or if it's your opinion just state it and continue having fun. i rest my case.

GSV
2nd July 2015, 10:57 PM
Dig..
Idhu edho pazhaya vaaikaa thagaraaruku ku pazhi theekara maari iruku IMO..
End dig..

2nd July 2015, 11:11 PM
PR, One doubt ...

Where does this post be placed in your categories ??

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?11145-PULI-Ilayathalapathy-VIJAY-Sruthi-Haasan-Sudeep-Chimbudevan-DSP&p=1230680&viewfull=1#post1230680

2nd July 2015, 11:49 PM
haha your signature :-) now you stand corrected and you can say whatever you want to say and people won't take it seriously.. didn't want to write back (i might piss everyone off as i keep dragging this subject) anything since you still haven't understood the usage of IMO i'll offer my little help my friend.

1. FAN SAYS: This films is blockbuster - Not a fact, figure of speech, viewer's opinion
2. HATER SAYS: This film is utter flop, non sense - Not a fact, figure of speech, viewer's opinion. remember when MASS released, even before the movie was released elsewhere you were the first to say the movie is worser than ANJAAN - since it was your opinion nobody cared to dispute with you.
4. Top ten movies in BO history - Nov's opening post in this thread, not a FACT, matter of dispute so he attached the sources from where he's inferring that information
5. Now the last one where you need IMO - you make a statement, a matter of dispute but you don't prefix saying "IMO" or provide "sufficient source" if you really meant to state that what you said, readers like me will mistake you for joking and being sarcastic etc.

so yes, adding an IMO gives you license to state your opinion freely. as far as other members in my quantified observation in this forum i haven't seen anyone else making authoritative claims on disputed matters like you, i can go thru your posts in last 2 weeks and could come up with many such posts but it's pointless. on one hand we have serious hubbers like "mappi" who really digs deep into subject matters and post meaningful posts.

my point is simple. you stated 20-40 youth group lost interest with rajni's movies (didn't say your friends or your observation). let me ask you this, what was the highest grossing movie or top 2-3 in TFI in 2014. leave hit or flop aside for a moment (that's considered based on return on investment). lingaa will be there in top 3, agreed? now you stated majority of movie goers fall under 20-40 age category and i agree to that. now without this group seeing the movie how can the movie be on the top 3? prove me wrong with proper sources etc or if it's your opinion just state it and continue having fun. i rest my case.

Well well well.. So thats the issue! Now I am getting it. How blind was I? :cry3:

Anyways coming to the last paragraph of your post. Let me repeat. Rajni's formulaic films these days dont draw the same amount of curiosity like they used to in the 90s. That doesnt mean the public have totally forgot Rajni and his films. For someone who is in the field for 35+ years, he would obviously draw crowds but the excitement level is obviously low. Reason: His masala films have the same old templates and people are bored. Good thing is that at least he realized that and moved on. And if you ask for sources, I can post plenty of links which say the same, assuming you consider links as creditable sources.

Mr.GreyShirt
3rd July 2015, 12:03 AM

Are these all facts or your opinion? I am confused.

Russellvzp
3rd July 2015, 12:53 AM
PR, One doubt ...

Where does this post be placed in your categories ??

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?11145-PULI-Ilayathalapathy-VIJAY-Sruthi-Haasan-Sudeep-Chimbudevan-DSP&p=1230680&viewfull=1#post1230680

FACT. let me know if you need proof, tell me a movie that ran to 100 days post 2K.. not the ones made to run.:p

Russellvzp
3rd July 2015, 01:00 AM
Well well well.. So thats the issue! Now I am getting it. How blind was I? :cry3:

Anyways coming to the last paragraph of your post. Let me repeat. Rajni's formulaic films these days dont draw the same amount of curiosity like they used to in the 90s. That doesnt mean the public have totally forgot Rajni and his films. For someone who is in the field for 35+ years, he would obviously draw crowds but the excitement level is obviously low. Reason: His masala films have the same old templates and people are bored. Good thing is that at least he realized that and moved on. And if you ask for sources, I can post plenty of links which say the same, assuming you consider links as creditable sources.

thank you for dodging from my original accusation(?!) but instead taking on completely different matter.

>>>Reason: His masala films have the same old templates and people are bored.
it's evident that you still try to represent general public/people. i also fall under the same age bracket you put(may be younger) and in US it collected untouchable numbers in 2014 so yes people seems to be bored.

3rd July 2015, 01:21 AM
thank you for dodging from my original accusation(?!) but instead taking on completely different matter.

>>>Reason: His masala films have the same old templates and people are bored.
it's evident that you still try to represent general public/people. i also fall under the same age bracket you put(may be younger) and in US it collected untouchable numbers in 2014 so yes people seems to be bored.

It is my opinion and I stand by it. Its up to the readers to decide on whether to take it seriously or as a joke. But i am not going to rephrase it just to satisfy someone's ego. Lets agree to disagree and move on. It is already getting boring. Thanks for understanding.. :)

Russellvzp
3rd July 2015, 04:57 AM
It is my opinion and I stand by it. Its up to the readers to decide on whether to take it seriously or as a joke. But i am not going to rephrase it just to satisfy someone's ego. Lets agree to disagree and move on. It is already getting boring. Thanks for understanding.. :)

no buddy, i have no ego. i understood what you were trying to say but only made a suggestion.. no hard feelings, sorry don't mean to make any personal remark.

3rd July 2015, 02:16 PM
papa chumma Nachunu irruku....

yOv athu namma aalu ! :x :)

3rd July 2015, 02:22 PM
yOv athu namma aalu ! :x :)

Namma represents many...

3rd July 2015, 02:26 PM
Namma represents many...

Lol, I know, I meant mine just for joke :)

3rd July 2015, 02:42 PM
Ajay,

from what I know Rajni's films have "always " been the top grosser in N.America, followed by Kamal. Having said that I think Kathhi and thuppaki did better than Linga in UK, AFAIK Vijay has a bit more fans than Rajni in UK ( Based on my observation) and Vijay fans are mainly under 30's and are of Lankan background.. But for Rajni and Kamal it is mainly the IT crowd..

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 09:30 AM
Ajay,

from what I know Rajni's films have "always " been the top grosser in N.America, followed by Kamal. Having said that I think Kathhi and thuppaki did better than Linga in UK, AFAIK Vijay has a bit more fans than Rajni in UK ( Based on my observation) and Vijay fans are mainly under 30's and are of Lankan background.. But for Rajni and Kamal it is mainly the IT crowd..

sounds reasonable.. there's a trend in hollywood that bunch of movie plants always troll the blockbuster materials be it hero or a director or a movie.. it has become quite a fashion to badmouth most successful people and the trend is catching up now back home. we try to imitate be it in fashion industry or culture we're slow to absorb but once we do that we do it in full steam. what you're witnessing these twitter fights etc are the samples and scenes only will get worser going forward. a week or two ago salman khan openly warned fans that he'll leave twitter if his fans bad mouth SRK or amir khan fans honesly do any of the tamil stars have the big stomach to say such things? ajith is the only responsible gounded actor. rest are all made up stars in the current generation and need fans fight and die to be on the spot light and for many of the fans it's the hobby now a days to go to twitter and wage wars against other stars and fans. i was arguing with ajay on a different matter but his statement is true partially, stars only warrant good opening now a days and the sustainablity depends on the content. but in my opinion at least in US both rajni and kamal have default number of attendance regardless of the content and to some degree it's applicable to many parts in india. younger generation actors make money by their fans doing repeated viewings which the family audience typically dont do. also most actors are being very hushy pushy that when their films don't do well they work on settlemens behind the scenes and put an ad for blockbuster outside. it's not true many times but made it look like true to true to their fans..

Russellmvr
6th July 2015, 01:24 PM
PR218... unga mela oru doubt irunthichu.. but Last post-la neengle prrof pannitinga...!!

CEDYBLUE
6th July 2015, 01:32 PM
ajith is the only responsible gounded actor. rest are all made up stars in the current generation and need fans fight and die to be on the spot light

I don't see any 'In my Opinion' or 'I think' or 'I guess' or 'I believe' for this statement.

Having given a lecture, couple of days ago, it is very surprising you have made a loose statement which neither seems to represent your personal view or a well-known obvious fact. It looks like you are keen on forcing your opinion on others.

ajith is the only responsible gounded actor

How?

Why?

What do you mean by ‘grounded’?

Is this your opinion or do you represent any group?

How big is your group?

Do you have facts or sources to prove your statement?

If it's merely your opinion, why have you missed 'IMO'?

If you think what you state is a fact, how about proving it?

rest are all made up stars in the current generation

What do you mean by made-up stars?

Can you explain how they are 'made-up'?

Is this your observation or an observation of a group?

How big is your observation group?

and need fans fight

How do you know this?

How do you prove that other actors except your groundnut one seek ugly fan fight?

Any statement, quote, interviews, dialogues in movies, to be shown as a fact?

To me, when an actor says 'Enaku nanmabana eruka thaguthi vendam, ana ethiriya eruka thaguthi venum' in a movie and many more such unwarranted stuff in other movies (despite his press documented aversion to punch dialogues), I guess that's a direct provocation or message to fans to not respect competition.

See the ground rules for judging groundedness is different for you and different for me. Going by your protocol and the 5 scenario theory, this statement should have come with an IMO.

But why have you missed it?

Having given a lecture, you should do better than this, presuming you are just stating your opinion. If not, try showing some bone to conclusively prove it. I mean, proving without doubt.

and die to be on the spot light

What gave you an impression that all non-groundnut actors 'die' to be in the spotlight?

How do you authoritatively say that?

What is your criteria to judge dying and non-dying?

Despite not prescribing for an enforced IMO in every statement, I am still asking you here, because you played lord labbakudas last week. I would want to confirm if you still wear the lord cap or you have taken up a lesser avatar, this week.

You may be wondering why I have not included any ‘IMO’ to my statements despite you lecturing on 5 different scenarios on usage of it.

I see it this way.

The moment I read a post, I see the username and the profile picture on the left and I understand that the statement is owned by that respective poster. That is pretty plain obvious. If I need more clarification, I would urge the poster to elaborate or back his words, up with facts or sources or else I would not waste my time on it.

Dinesh84
6th July 2015, 02:05 PM
looks like some one has made a discovery and published his thesis :thumbsup: .

GSV
6th July 2015, 02:15 PM
Cedy.. Pinnitel..[emoji106] [emoji106]

GSV
6th July 2015, 03:12 PM
Ajith dissolved fans club is a good thing.. No doubt... But What difference does it make to fans?.. We see daily kolaa adi sanda in Twitter.. FB.. YT.. etc.. Nothing stops.. it grows exponentially in both sides.. Every actor needs fans support to survive long term.. In fact Ajith gets benefitted by dissolving fans club... That's all..

Russellmvr
6th July 2015, 03:28 PM
-deleted-

6th July 2015, 04:34 PM
enna namma Annan ah intha pakkam kaanOm ? :lol2:

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 08:30 PM
setup superstar fans een neeganale vanthu aajar aavuringa? no need to have doubts yes i meant only him :-).. if you read my lecture i provided few categories and you can include my posting under "haters" category.. statementa contextlarunthu eduthu thaniya pottu adhukku velakkam vera kekringa?

apram i don't retort to personal attacks on anyone and i try very hard to refrain from that, but if you need to call names or calling lordu labakkudas etc feel free to send me a PM and we'll gladly exchange abuses.. aaga mothathula oru urupadiyana explanationum kudukkala.. always dodging from accusations then immediately start bad mouthing people to divert topics. paapom, puli pammutha paayuthannu.. edhu epdi irunthalum avanga appa irukkaru settlement panni padatha blockbuster 100th day function celebrate panrathukku..last 3 movies la ARM apdingra periya brand irunthathu.. apram mohanlal UK/keralakku.. ippa paakalam.

6th July 2015, 08:45 PM
Setup superstar, thideer Mohanlal affection, ARM... I have seen this kondai somewhere.. :roll:

6th July 2015, 08:47 PM
SAC's son :think: ...?

GSV
6th July 2015, 08:47 PM
Poonai kutti veliya vandhuruchu... Avlo thaan...

6th July 2015, 08:53 PM
So many kondais these days. Why is it so ? Is it because of empty pocket on their side ? A well reputed reviewer in hub also was a kondai. They doesn't seem to be fan of some one they seem to be haters of Vijay thats all. When we talk current facts they go back to SAC, Sura , Kuruvi etc !!!

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 08:58 PM
Setup superstar, thideer Mohanlal affection, ARM... I have seen this kondai somewhere.. :roll:

kondaiya apdinna? konjam puriyira mathiri sonnela nannarukkum..

Dammy R
6th July 2015, 08:59 PM
Talking about looks, color, setup superstar, Mohanlal... Had to be some Vadivel with a huge bulging kondai. It is such a boring and silly strategy...start posing as a neutral...slowly start taking sides and then come out with your life's sole agenda of abusing Vijay. Aiyyyooo what a waste of time. But Ajay, one thing for sure...we missed him da. We love the frustration, don't we?

Continue da chellam..talking of sending PM and abusing..wow what a sweet threat da...On top of that " I don't make personal remarks" dialogue vera...phew

6th July 2015, 09:00 PM
So many kondais these days. Why is it so ? A well reputed reviewer in hub also was a kondai. They doesn't seem to be fan of some one they seem to be haters of Vijay thats all. When we talk current facts they go back to SAC, Sura , Kuruvi etc !!!

Had'nt Cedy come up with that post, we couldve seen the same person chatting with himself using different ids. As a long time hubber, I had the privilege of witnessing one such thing recently.

6th July 2015, 09:01 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-33406565

6th July 2015, 09:03 PM

I know who you are thinking of , but ivaru avanga illa :lol2:

6th July 2015, 09:05 PM
I know who you are thinking of , but ivaru avanga illa :lol2:

Neenga solravangalai naan ninaikkalaingov.. :)

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 09:05 PM
So many kondais these days. Why is it so ? Is it because of empty pocket on their side ? A well reputed reviewer in hub also was a kondai. They doesn't seem to be fan of some one they seem to be haters of Vijay thats all. When we talk current facts they go back to SAC, Sura , Kuruvi etc !!!

i swear, i am neutral when it comes to younger generation, except rajni & kamal no movies will usually make me go to a movie theater to watch a movie, when i hear positive talk i go to theater with my family.. but only few unreasonable fanboys with their attrocious comments get me to my nerve and make me hate their star. i'm not usually referring the forum as most except few obnoxious ones troll well (pretending to be nice and smart but have an hidden agenda) but also in general social media like FB and twitter.

also some member asked me if i'm the popular hubber tamiz, no i'm not may be it's the coincidence that she left and my id got approved but i swear i'm not her.

thidir mohanlal paasamellam kedayathu.. but avar one of the reasons why the movie did extremely well in UK/Kerala sector apdinnu sonna udane kondai mandainnu pesittu..

6th July 2015, 09:06 PM
Neenga solravangalai naan ninaikkalaingov.. :)

vOK :)

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 09:08 PM
Had'nt Cedy come up with that post, we couldve seen the same person chatting with himself using different ids. As a long time hubber, I had the privilege of witnessing one such thing recently.

cool story bro.

ok.. so your objective seems to be to getting me banned, well keep trying. is admin with the use of his tools at disposal on this site can't figure out that simple thing that you discovered, yes? ok you seem more smarter than this system.. i don't have much time to talk to myself using different ids, post the ids you think are talking to themselve and i'll gladly clarify.

6th July 2015, 09:11 PM
UK/Kerala sector apdinnu sonna udane kondai mandainnu pesittu..

May be in Kerala, but Mallu population in UK is relatively low compared to Tamilians, having said that I have seen mallus /telugus watching Tamil movies here, but what was more shocking to me was seeing considerate amount of Anglo Saxons and Persians watching Endhiran/Ling/I and Viswa .. :shock:

6th July 2015, 09:14 PM
cool story bro.

ok.. so your objective seems to be to getting me banned, well keep trying. is admin with the use of his tools at disposal on this site can't figure out that simple thing that you discovered, yes? ok you seem more smarter than this system.. i don't have much time to talk to myself using different ids, post the ids you think are talking to themselve and i'll gladly clarify.

I came across a fake id few months back. He kept on repeating that he is a genuine hubber. Asked him his FB profile link. Didnt see him again.. A simple method to find fake ids

Russellvzp
6th July 2015, 09:14 PM
May be in Kerala, but Mallu population in UK is relatively low compared to Tamilians, having said that I have seen mallus /telugus watching Tamil movies here, but what was more shocking to me was seeing considerate amount of Anglo Saxons and Persians watching Endhiran/Ling/I and Viswa .. :shock:

most write articles/reviews in various portals. i read somewhere that with the way .NET/ecommerce has grown in last decade it is really unbelivable that approximately 4 million portals talk about same news (most are copied/pasted and some are written by inhouse editors)