View Full Version : Movies based on novels

24th February 2005, 09:24 AM
Topic suggested by RR on Tue Jan 12 02:37:28 .

To discuss tamil movies that were based on novels.

Sujatha's:
Gayatri
Priya (very loosely based)
Kareyellaam shenbagapoo
Poi mugangal
Nadodi thendral (inspired by 'Ratham ore niram')

Vikram came out as a thodarkathai and was simultaneously made into movie.
Uyire I heard is coming out as a novel.

Thi.Jaa:
Mogamul

Sivasankari:
Nandu
47 naatkal

There are many more..
Pls share if you have any interesting comments about movie version & original story.

1. Petra Manam - Mu Va
2. Vazhvu Engey -Akilan (came out as Kulamakal Rathai)
3. Pavai Vilakku- Akilan
4. Pen Manam by Lakshmi-came out as Iruvar Ullam
5. Kayal vizhi by akilan-came out as Maduraiyai Meettiya Sundara Pandiyan
6. Parthiban Kanavu -Kalki
7. Kalvanin Kathali-Kalki
8. Oru Nadigai Nadagam Parkiral- Jayakanthan
9. Sila NErangalil Sila Manitharkal-Jayakanthan
10. Unnai Pol Oruvan-Jayakanthan
11.Yarukkaka azhuthaan-Jayakanthan
12. Puvana Oru Kelvikkuri- Magtarshi
13. Badrakali-Maharishi
14.Thillana Moganambal- Kothamangalam Subbu
15. Kaleer Kaleer- Kothamangalam Subbu-came out as Adavantha deivam
16. Rangoon Radha- Novel by Anna and dialogue by Karunanithi
17. Oru Oothappoo Kan simittukirathu
18. Naan Adimai Illai
19. Natpu
20. Mouna Ithayangal
21.Kai Vilangu by Jayakanthan came out as Kaval Deivam
22. Karunayinaal Alla by Jayakanthan already produced as Krunai Ullam-yet to be released
23. Parisukku Po by Jayakanthan was produced for Tv as Nallathor Veenai

RR:

There is a movie by name 'Yen' by Ravichandran and jayalalitha. Thats based on the novel written by my granny. Her pen name is Krishna and she is a novelist(Pre 70's). Dont remember the novel name!!
Gimme some time! i will find out and post it!!

RS:

I used to read Krishna's stories with interest and would appreciate if you can post some of her titles here to stir my nostalgic memories.

Mr.Manisegaran:
Your list is very impressive.jayakanthan's Unnaippol oruvan and Yarukkaga Azhuthan are short stories rather than full length novels.
Malaikallan-(MGR starrer)was written by Kavignar Namakkal Ramalingam .
Rao Bahadur Singaram was written by Kothamangalam Subbu.
Unfortunately there are many excellent novels especially by Indra Parthasarathi and N.Parthasarathi which the moronic tamil film directors will never touch.
Ramamurthy

Manisekaran,
Maragatham (*sivaji) is based on a old novel. Do you recollect the title?

Thanks for reminding me of Maragatham . I think the name of the novel is "Kunrakkudi Kolai Vazhakku" or something like that. S. Balachander produced this thriller movie.

S. Ramamurthy
Thanks for the correction. Many of the Jayakanthans works are neither novels nor short stories. As soon as JK started to write, many prominent figures refused to accept his works as novels. The conventional writers believed that writing by tons would be the basis of qualification for novels. So they satrted to call JK's works as "KuRunovel". But Jayakanthan said they are full length novels. I do not know how to categorise them. Oo

Thanksfor reminding of Maragatham. If I am not wrong the name of the novel is "Kunrakkugai Kolai vazhakku" or something like that. Ihope someone else could help.

Maragatham was produced by Kovai Sri Ramulu's Pachirajan Movies and no by S Balachander. Balachander acted in it, along with Sivaji. Murasoli Maran wrote the dialogue in this 1959 movie. Is it "Karungkunra Kolai Vazhakku"?

one more:
meendum savithri came as a thodar in vikatan.

Maragatham was Karunkuyil Kunram Kolai Vazhakku.

Several of Annas works made it to the movies viz. Velaikkari, Oriravu etc. I am not sure whether Anna wrote them as plays or as novels.

Ezhai Padum Padu was from a novel by Suddhananda Bharatiyar. I believe it was either an inspiration/translation of Les Miserables.

Thayaga Bhoomi by Kalki was made into a movie starring MS and directed by K. Subrahmanyam.

Digambara Samiyar was a thriller by JR Rangaraju???

Recently Swarnamukhi was serialized in Vikatan.

Sirai was a short story written by Anuradha Ramanan.

Sorry for the digression:

Ramji: I am zapped that u know my granny krishna since it was pre 70's
some of the novels i remember are
1. kanakavilas
2. prema ganganam.

Other novels will post later.

RS, can u post more details on that movie 'YEN'. I am trying to trace up some early R chandran,Jay L movies and would like to know. thanks

hai... iam not sure if anyone of u would have heard about this movie "angalai nanbathey"... this movie is based on a novel by "stella bruss"... story came in vikatan... novel was a good one whereas the movie was a real horrible one....

I watched the movie "Athma" recently. It was a raguman, ramki, gouthami, kasturi starrer. Somehow i felt it has been copied from Irving Wallace novel titled "The Miracle". Though part of it had been altered to suit our indian taste, the main theme of God's appearance, bombing the temple seemed to have been extracted from the novel. Any one sharing my views on that?

gita: yes, Athma looked like inspired by "The Miracle". Pratap bothan's earlier movie Vetri Vizha was also an inspiration. The novel was "The Bourne Identity" (Robert Ludlum), at least till first half.

Digambara Samiyar was written by Vaduvur Duraisami Iyengar, not JR Rangaraju.

gita, RR: i guess if we start talking about movies based on english novels, things will overflow..makkal en pakkamlle irundhu neraiya padangal appadi:-))

bb: sure, the topic is just 'novels'.
As you recollected,
Makkal en pakkam - part of it is based on 'Rage of angels' (Sidney sheldon)

RR & bb,
BTW, makkaL en pakkam itself is remake of "rajavinda magan" *ing mohanlal.

1. "ithu saththiyam" was based on the novel by raa. ki. ranga raajan, with the same title.
2. "padiththaal mattum pOthumaa" was based on a bengaali novel which I dont remember, but I have read the translated version of tht novel in tamil, namely, "alla!" [meaning "NO!" as in the sentence, "avan alla"!]
3. Somebody told me tht "vEdham puthithu" movie is a "sumaar thazhuval" of Jayakaanthan's "brammaabathEsam"

Sollathan ninaikkiren-Maniyans novel
'ninaikka therindha manamae'(this story came as thodarkadhai in Idhayam pesugiradhu with Stills of Kamal,Sripriya)and 'idhaya malar'(*ing Kamal,Sujatha and VKumar)were also based on Maniyans thodarkadhais

'Avan aval adhu'(*ing Sivakumar, Lakshmi, Sripriya)was based on Sivashankaris novle(muyal something)

'sirai','oru malarin payanam',First part of
'oru veedu iru vaasal' and a kannada film by name 'Mithilae nagarathu seedhagal' were all based on Anuradha Ramanans novels and sirukadhais.

Moham Muppadhu Varusham & Idaya Veenai were two other movies based on Manian Novels.

was watching Priyamudan y'day. I think it's based on a story by Pattukkottai Prabakar. Anyone recollect ?
Incidentally, PK prabakar has penned the dialogues for this movie (also makes a brief appearance) but the story is credited to Vicent-Selva, the director.

Ramki, I smiled a big one at your 'muyal something'! It's 'Oru Singam MuyalAgiradhu'.

Hi
My contribution to the list:
Mullum Malarum published in Kalki in the sixties.
Writer : Umachandran ? (not sure)
Movie directed by Mahendran.

Ramasamy: Mullum Malarum was by Umachandran.

Dhikkatra Parvathi by Rajaji and Athaivida Ragasiyam by Kannadasan have been made into movies.

Santhi Nilayam seems to be based on the Novel 'Jane Eyre' by 'Emily Bronte'.

Ramanan: Santhi Nilayam is actually Sound of Music with a Jane Eyrish ending.

bhoorisravas thanks

S. Balachander's Nadu Iravil is loosely based on Agatha Christie's Ten Little Niggers.

...otherwise known as "and there were None"

Moodupani - Naragaththukku puthiyavan (Rajendrakumar)

oru oothappoo kan simittugirathu is by pushpa thangadurai
AVyil thodarkadhaiyAga vandhadhu

Sivashankaris 'aayul thandanai'(thodarkadhai in 'idhayam pesugiradhu')became 'kanneer pookal'(vijayan,Sripriya)

How about Mahendranin "uthiripuukkaL"
wasn't that inspired by a Puthumaipithan
short story..

sAsanam of mahendran is also based on a short story.

VanakaththukuRiya KadaliyE - Rajendrakumar

This movie has Sridevi doing dual role with Rajini,
Vijayakumar as jodies.

Andha Mazhaikala iravil based on Reena meena geetha by Pushpathangathurai - naan indha padam paathirukken.

uthiri pookal is based on a short story by pudhumaipithan titled chittrannai

Maharishi - Saindhadamma Saindhadu, Nadhiyai Thedi vandha kadal
Sujatha - Anitha iLam manaivi was made as movie with a diff. title *ing JaiS & Sridevi (it had one good song by KJY & SJ engum niraindha iyarkkayin....)

Ravy: it's 'Ithu eppadi irukku'

RC,
was it andru peitha mazhaiyil?

on which english novel anbe vaa, a film by mgr was based

Hi guys!
Is it true that uthiri pookkal is basesd on 'Chittrannai"(Puthumai Pithan's novel). I have seen this movie and also read that book. But they are same story.The only similarity is in both stories are about two kids.

Pathini Pen (*ing Rupini,Janakaraj&N.Ravi) is based on Thilagavathy's(IPS) novel which carries the same title.

sorry for the typing error. U.Pookkal & Chittrannai are not same stories.

Thillana moganambal-
based on Kothamanggalam suppu's novel

Ithaya Veenai-Manian's Ithaya Veenai.

i need some help please. book'MINNAL MARAI MOHINI' . I KNOW THIS has been showing on some TV channel in india as a serial. is this true?

Raju,
'udal porul aannandhi' came as a serial on DD. I'm not sure about 'minnal mazhai mohini'.

Hi..

Is any of Balakumaran's novel made as Movie ???

Thiyaga boomi (Kalki)
Kalvanin Kaathali(Kailki)
Gayathri (Sujatha)
Idu eppadi irukku (Sujatha original name is different)
Karaiyellam senbagappo(Sujatha)
Priya (Sujatha .Read and do not compare)
Paavai vilakku (Akilan)
Mullum malarum(This novel won the prize in kalki Magazine )

I missed few

Bhuvana oru kelvikkuri (maharishi)
Vattathukkul sathuram (maharishi)
Nandu (Sivasankari)

Oru Singam Muyalahirathu-AVAN AVAL ATHU
Ilavu Katha Killi-SOLLATHAN NINAIKIREN

from sujatha's stable/or should say table..er desk
1. gayathri
2. priya
3. vikram
4. roja
5. dilse
6. kkkk
7. ninaithale innikum

Siva shankari's 47 days siranjeevi, jaya pradha
jaya kaanthan's sila nerangalil sila manithargal
dircted by Laxmi

'ChiRai', an award-winning, controversial novel by Anuradha ramaNan was made into a film by the same name, by R. C. Shakti starring Lakshmi, Rajesh and an over-the-top stage actor Prasanna. It had an excellent song by MSV (VaNi Jayaram): 'NAn pAdikkoNdE iruppEn'.

24th February 2005, 11:06 AM
karaiyellaam shenbagappoo (is a novel based movie...dunno the novel name or author)

I wish SOMEONE TAKES PONNNNNNNNIYIN SELVAN :((

27th February 2005, 03:42 AM
How about that unforgettable Kutty....is it not based on a story furthermore the sad truth of so many lives... :cry:

27th February 2005, 05:21 AM
Kutty???? :?

Wait, is it the one with the little girl?

27th February 2005, 11:11 PM
yep yep

with that abhorrent witch :evil: argh it sickens me how whoever watched that movie with me could atleast identify one person who shared her character....it's just sick! :banghead:

28th February 2005, 10:23 PM
'indRu nee nAlai nAn' (Sivakumar/Lakshmi starrer with the song `pon vAnam panneer thoovudhu innEram') is based on a novel by Su Samuthiram (I think) that appeared on `malaimathi' (published by Kumudam on a monthly basis for a while as `idhu varai vandhirAdha pudhu novel')...I think the novel also had the same name...

28th February 2005, 10:52 PM
Hi !

of course "indru nee nalai nan" was published as "malaimadhi" monthly book.. But is the author "su.samuthiram"?

1st March 2005, 12:23 AM
Q,
Those people are common. I can identify many people like her too. :evil:

2nd March 2005, 11:21 AM
'indRu nee nAlai nAn' (Sivakumar/Lakshmi starrer with the song `pon vAnam panneer thoovudhu innEram') is based on a novel by Su Samuthiram (I think) that appeared on `malaimathi' (published by Kumudam on a monthly basis for a while as `idhu varai vandhirAdha pudhu novel')...I think the novel also had the same name...
CA Balan was the writer.

6th November 2005, 07:06 PM
1. Petra Manam - Mu Va
2. Vazhvu Engey -Akilan (came out as Kulamakal Rathai)
3. Pavai Vilakku- Akilan
4. Pen Manam by Lakshmi-came out as Iruvar Ullam
5. Kayal vizhi by akilan-came out as Maduraiyai Meettiya Sundara Pandiyan
6. Parthiban Kanavu -Kalki
7. Kalvanin Kathali-Kalki
8. Oru Nadigai Nadagam Parkiral- Jayakanthan
9. Sila NErangalil Sila Manitharkal-Jayakanthan
10. Unnai Pol Oruvan-Jayakanthan
11.Yarukkaka azhuthaan-Jayakanthan
12. Puvana Oru Kelvikkuri- Magtarshi
13. Badrakali-Maharishi
14.Thillana Moganambal- Kothamangalam Subbu
15. Kaleer Kaleer- Kothamangalam Subbu-came out as Adavantha deivam
16. Rangoon Radha- Novel by Anna and dialogue by Karunanithi
17. Oru Oothappoo Kan simittukirathu
18. Naan Adimai Illai
19. Natpu
20. Mouna Ithayangal
21.Kai Vilangu by Jayakanthan came out as Kaval Deivam
22. Karunayinaal Alla by Jayakanthan already produced as Krunai Ullam-yet to be released
23. Parisukku Po by Jayakanthan was produced for Tv as Nallathor Veenai

:( Ive not watched MANY of these.

Database to be kept by every tamizh movie freaks wwho wanna watch SENSIBLE movies. Thanks

25th June 2006, 11:53 AM
[html:f8a2c9a4e8]http://www.dinakaran.com/epaper/2006/jun/20/13_11.jpg[/html:f8a2c9a4e8]

25th June 2006, 12:17 PM
Sundara Ganamrutham
Geetha Rajasekhar - Carnatic classical
Apoorva Audios A-1, ACD

Thanjavur Sankara Iyer's contribution to Carnatic music is perhaps not as much sung as it deserves to be. A prolific composer of high calibre, a well recognised guru, a commendable performer who despite ill health has the mental strength to give a full-fledged concert, Sankara Iyer is an artiste who has earned appreciation and respect from the entire musical fraternity, the public and the media.

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2006/06/23/stories/2006062302810500.htm

sivaramakrishnanG
3rd September 2007, 09:54 PM
Thiru AP Nagarajan avarkalathu VijayalaksmiPictures thayaritha SARASWATHI SABHATHAM endra thiraipadathin kathai naan pallinaatkalil paditha oru Natagam pol irukkirathu,
Thiruvallikkeni yil iruntha STAR PUBLICATIONS velyitta Puthumai Pithanin oru natakam(VAAKKUM VAKKUM) ITHU POL THAAN IRUKKUM.
Athi yaar periyavar endru Lakshmikkum Saraswthikkum poraamayil pottivarum.(Kalvikkum Selvathukkummattum -Veeram patri antha drama bookkil illai - APN athai serthukkondarendru ninaikkiraen)
Ethanai per antha naatakaputhagathai padithiruppaarkalo?