View Full Version : Films of Mani Ratnam

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

1st September 2009, 03:19 PM
"Sundari kannal oru seidhi"
unseletted....maNdaiyin koNdaiyin :lol:

I like Anthimazhai Meegam (Nayagan). The pure sense of joy from the moment the nervous kid throws the colour thingy at Velu.

1st September 2009, 03:19 PM
Pachai Nirame :yes: Haven't seen a more colorful music video ever 8-)

1st September 2009, 03:22 PM
unseletted....maNdaiyin koNdaiyin

:lol: But I liked the general theme of the song, and the obvious nod to "Ran". The shifts in and out.

rAjA rAjAdhi rAjan indha
All songs in AN for that matter

Good choice.

Chinna chinna Aasai... trendsetter for eroini intros

more to come

That's the sad part.

1st September 2009, 03:23 PM

I like Anthimazhai Meegam (Nayagan). The pure sense of joy from the moment the nervous kid throws the colour thingy at Velu.

Yeah, mostly the "Holi" thingy (in context of Velu and Dharavi) aesthetically presented for mainstream audience.

Similarly, the "Bogi" song in case of Thalapathy.

1st September 2009, 03:24 PM
Thee Thee Thithikum Theee.... Whoa! 8-)

1st September 2009, 03:25 PM
His best music videos

1.Nee oru kadhal sangeetham

2.sundhari kanaal oru seidhi

3.chinna chinna aasai

4.nenjinile nenjinile

5.hello mr edhirkatchi

6.poovukkenna pootu kaatrukenna rootu

7.anjali anjali

8.vidai kodu engal nade

9.kadhal sadugudugudu

10.narumugaye narumugaye

1st September 2009, 03:26 PM

Pirasanth muzhangaila flute vaasippaarE andha pAttu dhaanE.. :lol2:

j/k I like that song too. But the energy level that Rahman managed in that song was just impossibly to picturize. Enna adi !

1st September 2009, 03:28 PM
Good list, Vivasaayi.

"hello mr edhirkatchi " - Lal's James Stewart(Vertigo-like) moment should be noted too.

His best music videos

5.hello mr edhirkatchi
9.kadhal sadugudugudu

Idhullelaam enna special-nu therinjukalaama? :twisted:

I would replace Nee oru to Nila adhu vaanathu mela!! :lol:

and also

andhi mazhai megam....pakka festival mood

1st September 2009, 03:29 PM
"Raja Rajadhi" (In spite of P.C Sir)
"Sundari Kannaal Oru Sedhi"
"Rakkamma Kayya Thattu"
All songs from Iruvar
"Kaadhal Sadugudu" (Inspired by Enigma's Return To Innocence video but superbly done nevertheless)
"Pachai Nirame"
"Chayya Chayya"
"Satrangi Re"

1st September 2009, 03:30 PM
I heard "Kaadhal Sadugudu" was shot in reverse. What exactly does that mean :oops:

1st September 2009, 03:31 PM

Yeah, mostly the "Holi" thingy (in context of Velu and Dharavi) aesthetically presented for mainstream audience.

But that's such a turn off because IMO its one of the worst songs composed by Raaja

1st September 2009, 03:32 PM
I heard "Kaadhal Sadugudu" was shot in reverse. What exactly does that mean :oops:

Shot forward (duh !) and played in reverse

Notice the scene where Shalini is wearing a horrible flower on her head and swinging her hair and skirt...you will notice the movement is off.

1st September 2009, 03:33 PM
We just see a rewound video... (are the lip movements in synch?)

Pirasanth muzhangaila flute vaasippaarE andha pAttu dhaanE.. :lol2:

j/k I like that song too. But the energy level that Rahman managed in that song was just impossibly to picturize. Enna adi !

Camera-va appadiye aerial view-la thooki andha drum beat mudiyum bodhu [2 times]...both clockwise and anticlockwise pogum...chanceless!! 8-)

But that's such a turn off because IMO its one of the worst songs composed by Raaja
You mean mArgazhi dhaan Odi pOchu or Andhi mazhai mEgam

I have to tune my level of kaNdanam accordingly

But that's such a turn off because IMO its one of the worst songs composed by RaajaWhich one, the Nayagan one? I'd agree on the Kaatukuyilu or even the Marghazhithan Oodipoochu in Talabathi.

1st September 2009, 03:34 PM
Pattai innuoru thadavai pakkanum. Thanks PR :D

1st September 2009, 03:35 PM
Not the whole song, only some small parts.
IIRC they don't bother lip-synching in some of the places :lol2:

Imagine the full lup-sync in sundari neeyum :bow:

1st September 2009, 03:35 PM
His best music videos

5.hello mr edhirkatchi
9.kadhal sadugudugudu

Idhullelaam enna special-nu therinjukalaama?

1.walking thru the gate of india,doves(?) walking into room while raining etc...enna..saranyaku badhila amala madichirundha innum soopera irundhirukkum

2.Hello Mr.edhirktchi sema choreography...cinamatography...daans,singing, and music

9.it is good....

1st September 2009, 03:36 PM

Notice the scene where Shalini is wearing a horrible flower on her head and swinging her hair and skirt...you will notice the movement is off.

Hah! :lol:

Adhukaaga andha video best-nu othukka mudiyaadhu!

1st September 2009, 03:36 PM

Naan gavanicha varaikkum, it was in synch. Infact only 2-3 such lines lip-synched by Madhavan in the whole song.

1st September 2009, 03:38 PM
His best music videos

5.hello mr edhirkatchi
9.kadhal sadugudugudu

Idhullelaam enna special-nu therinjukalaama?

1.walking thru the gate of india,doves(?) walking into room while raining etc.

Hello! :twisted:

1st September 2009, 03:40 PM
Ennuyie ennuyire

sharukh and manisha sila edathula paka comediya irundhalum overall :clap:

1st September 2009, 03:40 PM

Video rejetted dhaan...avar kEttAru adhukkaaga sonnEn

Shalini video-vai ellAm naan solluvenA avunga azhagu sundaram aachE

1st September 2009, 03:43 PM
uyire uyire from bombay

indha paatoda magathuvam romba naal kalichu tvla paakumbothuthaan therinjudhu...padam release aanappa naan chinna payyan

1st September 2009, 03:44 PM

Video rejetted dhaan...avar kEttAru adhukkaaga sonnEn

Shalini video-vai ellAm naan solluvenA avunga azhagu sundaram aachE

Marupadiyum :evil:

1st September 2009, 03:45 PM

You are referring the Andhimazhai megam song or Margazhi Than odi pochu?

In my non-Meesical opinion, the songs are good. Obviously livened up to maximum extent possible by Mani.

1st September 2009, 03:47 PM
uyire uyire from bombay

indha paatoda magathuvam romba naal kalichu tvla paakumbothuthaan therinjudhu...padam release aanappa naan chinna payyan

Chinna vayasula enakku "Arabikadaloram" pudichidhu...

Uyire ... Uyire paathutu appove pesuvom enga class-la :twisted:

1st September 2009, 03:48 PM
uyire uyire from bombay

I am reverse

Appo enakku uyire, kaNNalanE reNdumE pudikkum...ippo illai

Not the lasting freshness of Agni Natchathram

1st September 2009, 03:49 PM

...and songs from Anjali (bar that inter-space song) :wink:

uyire uyire from bombay

I am reverse

appo pidichirundha ippo innum jaasthi pidichirukanume!

hmmm... :lol:

Sonali Bendre vandhaa viLambaram kooda paarppEn.
Appo Chakra Gold brand-ai pick-up paNNadhu...

1st September 2009, 03:50 PM
Sonali Bendre vandhaa viLambaram kooda paarppEn.
Appo Chakra Gold brand-ai pick-up paNNadhu...

1st September 2009, 03:50 PM
Oh ! Viv, SS I am teeplight :oops:

1st September 2009, 03:51 PM
Uyire ... Uyire paathutu appove pesuvom enga class-la

enna classnu therinjukalama?

1st September 2009, 03:51 PM
"OhO mEgam vandhadhO" - oru dabaa (delhila irukkarachE) chitramalA-la vandhappO, the slickness in contrast with contemporary songs in other languages vechu regional pride kAttina nostalgiakkAga.
Revathy is over-rated in some sense and under-rated in many other ways.
S.Janaki's "zuzuzuzuzuzuzuzuzuzuzu zu"-vai prononuce paNNa try paNNi vaai suLukkina nostalgia also.

1st September 2009, 03:52 PM

nijamaave idhu dhaan class v mass debate

1st September 2009, 03:53 PM
pani vizhum iravu...starts beautifully with the taj,yamuna and the flute prelude..apdiye jillunnu...

1st September 2009, 03:53 PM

9th-nu nenaikiren...peslamgireengala?? :roll:

1st September 2009, 03:54 PM

9th illainna 10th-aa irukkum. Irundhaalum overdhaan :twisted:

1st September 2009, 03:55 PM
uyire uyire from bombay

I am reverse

appo pidichirundha ippo innum jaasthi pidichirukanume!

hmmm... :lol:

illainga avaru reverse evolution-ga. ippO pudikkaliyAmAm :lol:

1st September 2009, 03:56 PM
pani vizhum iravu...starts beautifully with the taj,yamuna and the flute prelude..apdiye jillunnu...
:x

John Babu (?) ---> unseletted
Always

1st September 2009, 03:56 PM

9th-nu nenaikiren...peslamgireengala?? :roll:

kandippa!...10th vera public exam..adhunala 9thlaye nalla enjoy pannikapaanuthaana ellarum solvanga

1st September 2009, 03:57 PM
:x

John Babu (?) ---> unseletted
Always

adhaan..starting sooper!

1st September 2009, 03:57 PM
But kala master(???) or a relative thereof and that future dance master male :arrggggghhh:

unseletted.

1st September 2009, 03:59 PM
But kala master(???) or a relative thereof and that future dance master male :arrggggghhh: :lol:

Exactly.
MR did to VM's lyrics what Gautam Menon did to Thamarai's Vaseegara.

1st September 2009, 04:01 PM
"Raja Rajadhi" (In spite of P.C Sir)

Effusive praise from PR notwithstanding, I'm tempted to agree.

"SatrangiRe" is a good pick!

1st September 2009, 04:01 PM
But the energy level that Rahman managed in that song was just impossibly to picturize.Enna adi !

thalaivar initially composed it for a detergent ad :lol:

1st September 2009, 04:02 PM
"poo maalaiyE thOL sEra vaa"

Ok, Murali was there.(thakkaLi pazhathula thAr oothinA maadhiri...). Nevertheless, pretty evocative picturisation.

(and what a song!)

1st September 2009, 04:03 PM

Just that jadhi part. Not the whole I think :roll:

1st September 2009, 04:03 PM
Lot of interesting choices.

I'd be damned if someone comes up with "Mayya Mayya"(Guru). :yessir:

1st September 2009, 04:04 PM
But the energy level that Rahman managed in that song was just impossibly to picturize.Enna adi !

:shock: nalla vElai vaangi thuvaichi thuNiyai kizhichiruppEn

The lyrics remain incomprehensible till date.
Some snatches I understand seem interesting. Any help ?

1st September 2009, 04:06 PM
nalla vElai vaangi thuvaichi thuNiyai kizhichiruppEn

What PR, you also like me started transliterating in mixed mode? :lol:

1st September 2009, 04:06 PM
Agni Natchathram didn't just happen to be loudly lit, it was pretty much the central to the overall stylization. It is difficult to like the movie much without liking that.

1st September 2009, 04:09 PM

Actually andha padam release aana po indha paatu pudikkave illa...
Pasanga were complaining "Enna paaduraaingane purila!" etc

1st September 2009, 04:10 PM
Dont remember perfectly but PAP was good too.
Theeram ThEdi from UNarU - natural and heartwarming. The matching flute prelude as Sabitha Anand and Lal Ettan hesitantly clasp hands(most likely composed first, and shots chosen aptly by Mani) to the Balu Mahendra-like picturisation in verdant Kerala sea shore locations. It must find a place in the poll for its uniqueness in the Manirathnam pantheon
(kid-glove, illainA, HUB gate-vaasalla dharNA dhaan solliputtEn :twisted: )

1st September 2009, 04:12 PM
Sabitha Anand-A eroini-yA ! :shock:

1st September 2009, 04:16 PM
Sabitha Anand-A eroini-yA ! :shock:

Eroini-num sollalAm, main female protagonist-num sollalAm. remba kevalamA-llAm illa. idhu nadandhadhu early 80's-la. konjam time-wrap paNNi imagine paNNikkOnga. namma Rambha-vellAm thAngi irukkOm. idhellAm India thaangikkum, thanngiyadhu :-)

1st September 2009, 04:19 PM
Ippo equanimus vandhu pallavi anupallavi pthi 4 words solluvAr.

1st September 2009, 04:21 PM
Plum-nga, naan count pannalaingo :yessir:

1st September 2009, 04:21 PM
Dont remember perfectly but PAP was good too.
Theeram ThEdi from UNarU - natural and heartwarming. The matching flute prelude as Sabitha Anand and Lal Ettan hesitantly clasp hands(most likely composed first, and shots chosen aptly by Mani) to the Balu Mahendra-like picturisation in verdant Kerala sea shore locations. It must find a place in the poll for its uniqueness in the Manirathnam pantheon

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Apx3Ya0RL4o

she is good looking in this song...super choice

1st September 2009, 04:28 PM
Vivs, yeah, I think she looks good in that song. But ingE already Meera Jasmine vagaila en reputation on "appreciation of feminine beauty" is pretty punctured. Adhukku mElum fuel add paNNa vENAmnu irundhEn. nInga add paNNa vechuttInga

1st September 2009, 04:29 PM
Vivs, yeah, I think she looks good in that song. But ingE already Meera Jasmine vagaila en reputation on "appreciation of feminine beauty" is pretty punctured. Adhukku mElum fuel add paNNa vENAmnu irundhEn. nInga add paNNa vechuttInga

Most of them are talking with "ye pulla karupayi" in mind..

she is good looking in this song

1st September 2009, 04:32 PM
ennamO pOnga

btw paattu picturization(um) sumaar

1st September 2009, 04:35 PM
ennamO pOnga

enaku romba pidichirundhuchu..

wonderful melody,gorgeous cinematography,beautiful location,subtle performances...

1st September 2009, 06:09 PM

Naan gavanicha varaikkum, it was in synch. Infact only 2-3 such lines lip-synched by Madhavan in the whole song.

Yep, u r rite... No prob with the lip-synch as the reverse thing was short from quite some distance... :)

1st September 2009, 06:13 PM
Nenjil Thil Thil from KM - very simple yet so touching (just alongside beach and open land )... Came work... :clap:

1st September 2009, 06:22 PM
ennamO pOnga

seri right, indha vishayathula namma twain shall never meet-nu vuttuduvom.

1st September 2009, 06:30 PM
You mean the song picturization would rank among MR's all time bests ??

For starters I watched it on mute (office)

Waves on waves footage, waves into crevices, sunsets, long shots of half cuddles: both standing and sitting varieties. The handclasp has been done to death..perhaps this one was 'ahead of its times back then' etc. Mohanlal's expression was impressive. But - sacrilege ahead - the hand trembling was better in 7G.

1st September 2009, 06:35 PM
You mean the song picturization would rank among MR's all time bests ??

For starters I watched it on mute (office)

Waves on waves footage, waves into crevices, sunsets, long shots of half cuddles: both standing and sitting varieties. The handclasp has been done to death..perhaps this one was 'ahead of its times back then' etc. Mohanlal's expression was impressive. But - sacrilege ahead - the hand trembling was better in 7G.

mute-A? Vaayya vaa, voottukku poi sound-Oda kELU. Apdiye namma BGM debate-um revisit paNNa vasadhiyA irukkum.

Yes, I prefer the simplicity here to the visual splendour of the post 80's Manirathnam. Notable that my choices in this thread(Mouna Raagam, Pagal Nilavu) are all in that direction. Twain shall never meet, PR, twain shall never meet.

7G? Sacrilege-pA. See the clasping of hands with Raja's flute capturing the hesitation. Yuvan Shankar 10 jenmam eduthAlum match paNNa mudiyadhu, ahkkaaang

1st September 2009, 06:43 PM
mute-A? Vaayya vaa, voottukku poi sound-Oda kELU. Apdiye namma BGM debate-um revisit paNNa vasadhiyA irukkum. :-) Will do. But twain meetAdhu meetaadhu dhaan.

See the clasping of hands with Raja's flute capturing the hesitation. Yuvan Shankar 10 jenmam eduthAlum match paNNa mudiyadhu, ahkkaaang

Plum, you are making my point then. If the music captured the hesitation in the moment it would only underline the lag in what we saw on screen. Crucial editing cut in handclasp moment too. :lol2:

Notable that my choices in this thread(Mouna Raagam, Pagal Nilavu) are all in that direction. I thought you were trying to make some statement about Revathi. adhukku mEla adhai perusA ninaikkale :lol2:

I don't remember anything in the poomalaiyE picturization being particularly impressive. I have trouble telling apart vaan mEgam and oho megam vandhadhO :oops:

1st September 2009, 06:55 PM
i cant vote for best picturised songs of mani - i strongly believe that most of Mani's song picturisation are the best in the industry and i'm equally amazed at all his picturisations.....let me try a hand in picking his worst:

1. September madham (one of very few least preferred thalaivar songs)
2. Fanah - Mani just couldnt match rahman
3. Tere bina (guru) - very ordinary
4. chandralekha - again rahman's work is far superior

dont have much qualms on picturisation of raaja songs under mani because i cant "feel" that much for them :lol:

1st September 2009, 06:58 PM
Except Idhayakovil, I think there is not much to complain about Mani's picturisations for Raja. Maybe Rakkamma Kaiya thattu...and one or two songs of Pagal Nilavu.

1st September 2009, 06:58 PM
dont have much qualms on picturisation of raaja songs under mani because i cant "feel" that much for them :lol:

1st September 2009, 07:06 PM
4. chandralekha - again rahman's work is far superior
Hey...this was a great looking song.
Whenever I drive past the dull Egmore museum I can't help wonder how MR managed to make this look so great.

Shot in the terrace with individual domes lit.
Shots from all over the place, from below the floor (must be a first).
That lone white incandescent light - shot from a distance.

PC Sriram :bow:

1st September 2009, 07:12 PM
Maybe Rakkamma Kaiya thattu
NammaLudhu mutual exclusive sets-nu ninaikkiREn :lol2:

Rajini atop going "mathaLachatham"....how does on top that for that line ??

The gunitha puruvumum lamp-girls became a trendsetter.
Shobana group dancing and the tunes mingling, Rajini and Shobana exchanging glances. Well done.

1st September 2009, 07:24 PM

i mean andha oor kaarainga(IR fans) dhaan sollanum :) ......best picturised raaja song from Mani - hmmm, i can point out sundari from thalabadhi......i dont think mani has done more grand picturisation for rahman songs too (dont need also)......

Whenever I drive past the dull Egmore museum I can't help wonder how MR managed to make this look so great.

enakku ennamo lightings ellam P.C.Sriram "hey look at me" solra madhiri dhaan irukkum......

1st September 2009, 07:31 PM
paattu appidingradhE oru fantasy. adhula "chandru look at me"-nnu sonnA enna thappu 'ngrEn :-)

I find Sundari kinda funny. The sappAn hairdo, ooty pasture-hills-la horse fight, fire basking,wounded Rajini slicing his thumb on a spear...all seemed very silly.

OTOH the lit temple and Shobana waiting were impressive.

1st September 2009, 07:35 PM
I like nenjil dhil dhil too. Simmi version was slightly better. Maddy was very rigid.

1st September 2009, 07:38 PM
mounarAgam - nice film with some irritations here & there. The worst one being the picturization of 'pani vizhum iravu':-( This was my most fav song when the album got released (nice vocal harmony and innovative orchestration at that time) and used to listen to in headphones in the night. (Recently a Boston radio found this to be worthy to air among many classics that fellow hubber irir123 recommended to them).

Never had a chance to see the movie during those days and was so irritated when I saw this atrocious picturization in a VCD full of songs. My opinion didn't change when I viewed the movie either. Should learn from malayALi directors on how to bring in such songs in a movie like this without irritability.

I'm not sure what came first nAyakan or MR. If nAyakan came later, then we can safely assume that Mani has improved by leaps and bounds by that time (on song picturizations).

This song can compete with 'mainA mainA mAman pudichcha mainA' of pagal nilavu for MR's WORST picturizations :-(

When people're discussing BEST - please, please, don't even mention "pani vizhum iravu" - horrible :-(

1st September 2009, 10:08 PM
Ennuyie ennuyire

sharukh and manisha sila edathula paka comediya irundhalum overall :clap:
Yeah, kadaisi pagudhi namakku thala valikkum/suthum, paavam andha Manisha ponnu :(

Aana, what ya picturization ma! Fantastic landscape (Leh/Ladhak), visuals almost managing to match Rahman's fantastic score.

1st September 2009, 10:10 PM
You mean mArgazhi dhaan Odi pOchu or Andhi mazhai mEgam

I have to tune my level of kaNdanam accordingly

I meant "Andhi Mazhai" :lol:

Margazhi Dhaan - is that the song sung by Arun Mozhi/Napolean, (which was cut in the film except the beginning? If yes, thats a wonderful song)

1st September 2009, 10:12 PM
When it comes to picturization (w.r.t IR-ARR), its a no contest IMO. Mani-ARR anyday....

complicateur
2nd September 2009, 01:16 AM
Anyone up for a "As Mani's visual's got better his screenwriting got worse" diskassan? :lol2: The apex of this parabola would of course be Iruvar.
kuzhanthaiya kiLLiyAchchu, yArAvathu vanthu thottila aatungappA!

2nd September 2009, 01:32 AM
Anyone up for a "As Mani's visual's got better his screenwriting got worse" diskassan? :lol2: The apex of this parabola would of course be Iruvar.

Do you expect someone to come and fight for 'pagal nilavu' as the best screenwriting by MR? I don't think so :-)

2nd September 2009, 01:49 AM
பகல் நிலவு Vs திருடா திருடா?

2nd September 2009, 11:15 AM

That said, it's more of a Full-wave Rectified Sine wave. So far the (two) peaks would be "Nayagan" and "Iruvar". 8-)

2nd September 2009, 11:40 AM
பகல் நிலவு Vs திருடா திருடா?
Neenga nallavaraa kettavaraa

I used to think the answer to this question is screaming obvious till Plum came along yesterday.

2nd September 2009, 12:11 PM
I used to think the answer to this question is screaming obvious till Plum came along yesterday.so Plum oru kuzhappavaadhinnu sollureengalaa? :?

2nd September 2009, 02:45 PM
I used to think the answer to this question is screaming obvious till Plum came along yesterday.so Plum oru kuzhappavaadhinnu sollureengalaa? :?

intellecjual theeviravaathi :lol:

2nd September 2009, 08:22 PM
Naan genuine-A kEttEn. Pagal nilavu sinna vayasula paathadhu. ThirudA thirudA ellAm Mani Ratnam list-la irukka koodAdhu. I like that film, it's pure fun but sila pala kaaraNathaala very ordinary (mostly prasanth).

TT and kizhakku seemaiyilE released on the same day. KS was a superhit while TT flopped. Two outstanding albums btw :clap:

2nd September 2009, 08:28 PM
Thiruda Thiruda song picturisations nalladhane irukkum :?

2nd September 2009, 08:31 PM
Naan films-a pathi sonnEn. (Refer compli/a_e's posts in this page)

2nd September 2009, 08:37 PM
idhaya kovil songs kooda nalla irukkume (audio vise)

2nd September 2009, 08:38 PM
Naan films-a pathi sonnEn. (Refer compli/a_e's posts in this page)

Oh :oops:

2nd September 2009, 09:11 PM
TT is a fun fun film - Pirasanth is ignorable.
Written by RGV and MR.

PC Sriram pinniruppaaple - the rickety bus chasing Heera's re-abductors and fight... sky will be purple :lol:

andha BGM kaadhulayE olikkudhu...a rarity for me :clap:

A mini AN style climax fight in the tunnel.

The scenes in the temple. Great looking.
Sila frame ellAm thaNNi vittu kazhuvina maadhiri 'fresh-A' irukkum.

Too many great scenes. Heera crying and Anand consoling after the house burns down....Prasanth walking from behind and looking on :rotfl:

Malaysia : idhu jameen thambi :lol:

2nd September 2009, 09:59 PM
Raakkamma kaiyya thattu
NinnukOri varNam (Prabhu's expressions :thumbsup:)
Raja Rajathi Rajan
Pachai niRamE
All songs in Iruvar
Janagana Mana
oru theyvam thantha poovE (both versions)
Chaiyya chaiyyA

2nd September 2009, 10:31 PM
the best film of Mani ratnam that i would say is "Mouna Raagam". Everything in the movie was perfect. Revathi, Karthik, Mohan, the songs, the Bgms (particularly the Revathi-Karthik love theme), i dunno why, but when i hear that it just takes me somewhere else.... seriously, i just have no words to describe that BGM by words... Just simply heart melting...

the settings in the film was simple yet very very ahead of its time. I remember watching the movie just about few years ago but was surprised by the settings, esp Mohan's house. Very simple yet classy.

As usual, Mani's love movies goes in slow pace but very gripping.

After that i would say i enjoyed Thiruda Thiruda allot, then i liked Iruvar, then Alaipayuthey, then Kannathil Muttamittal then Aayitha Ezhutu. :)

As for song's picturisation, i dunno when u say Mani Ratnam i only remember Alaipayuthey's picturisations.. :) Guess i was too crazy over the movie back then made me think so.

btw, anyone have the Mouna Raagam BGM in mp3? please please share it with me :)... thank u...

2nd September 2009, 10:42 PM

Ellarume idha miss pannittome :shock: Attagaasama irukkum, especially Chinmayee version

2nd September 2009, 10:57 PM
I like Maddy's version too :notworthy:

2nd September 2009, 11:12 PM
I like Maddy's version too :notworthy:
I like it better.

Female version
Audio - I skip to get to Jayachandran
Video - impressive the first time but wears off when rewatching.

Madhavan-Keerthana : many moments, variety of visuals

AudazJay
3rd September 2009, 12:13 PM
I always liked the picturisation of Chinna Chinna Vanakuyil from Mouna Ragam. Very refreshing to look at, even today. Revathi was just :thumbsup:

Thaiya Thaiya and Nenjinile picturisation :notworthy:

As for song's picturisation, i dunno when u say Mani Ratnam i only remember Alaipayuthey's picturisations..
Me too, esp Pachai Nirame and Sneghithane. The sceneries for PN were just amazing! Wonder why other directors are wasting their money to go for overseas shooting when India is just so magnificent to look at!...Sneghithane settings :2thumbsup:

The other songs were just about ok I guess. I expected a lot for Evano Oruvan and Kadhal Sadugudu but Shalini's expressions just turn me off! :argh:

3rd September 2009, 12:15 PM
For me, it is Pudhu Vellai Mazhai and Kadhal Rojavae.. Vintage stuff..

3rd September 2009, 12:50 PM

Ellarume idha miss pannittome :shock: Attagaasama irukkum, especially Chinmayee version

:roll: AthAn, Nenjil Thil Thil-nu nAnum Nerd-um mention pannOmE... :)

3rd September 2009, 01:15 PM
I expected a lot for Evano Oruvan and Kadhal Sadugudu but Shalini's expressions just turn me off! :argh::thumbsup:

3rd September 2009, 01:40 PM
Janagana Mana

3rd September 2009, 01:55 PM
:roll: AthAn, Nenjil Thil Thil-nu nAnum Nerd-um mention pannOmE... :)
Oh, amaam illa? (aamaam-a illaya?)

3rd September 2009, 02:49 PM
I expected a lot for Evano Oruvan and Kadhal Sadugudu but Shalini's expressions just turn me off! :argh:

Yep... Jothika pAppA-vA irunthirunthA nallA panniruppApla... Mani sir is very bad in casting, I say... :twisted:

3rd September 2009, 03:38 PM

intellecjual theeviravaathi :lol:

ada-paavi! Have you ever seen me in 'weld movies' section? adhellAm weld movies section-la postaravanga dhaan int. theev.'s

3rd September 2009, 03:46 PM
Oh World movies section-la post panravangellam arivaaligal-a?! :lol2:

3rd September 2009, 04:18 PM
Plum, it was a complement. You have terrorized some of the widely prevalent views/reviews . Trust me. ;)

3rd September 2009, 04:21 PM
adhu purinjidhi irundhAlum enakku thannadakkam jaasthi illaiya ;-)

3rd September 2009, 04:39 PM

cinema paakuradhu kittathata oru "qualification" maadhiri aayiduchu!...

neenga enna pandreenga

naan software companila work pandren...neraya foriegn movieslam paapen..neenga?

3rd September 2009, 04:40 PM

cinema paakuradhu kittathata oru "qualification" maadhiri aayiduchu!...[not refering to plum's "kidding" post]

neenga enna pandreenga

3rd September 2009, 05:11 PM
kadhal rojave from roja - another unmentioned song.

3rd September 2009, 05:13 PM
How many of you think rojappoo aadi vandhadhu was pathetic?

3rd September 2009, 05:46 PM
Kuthumadhippa dhaan nyabagam irukku. gym paadi dhaane?
Anything remotely associated with Amala should never be described as pathetic, i say!

3rd September 2009, 05:55 PM
Anything remotely associated with Amala should never be described as pathetic, i say!

Naanum adha than SollavandhEn. :)

AravindMano
3rd September 2009, 06:11 PM
Happened to watch 'O, Priya Priya' from Idhayaththai thirudhaadhe. Nothing much to write about the picturisation. The idea that she saved his life (he is almost lifeless when he comes to her place) is a good idea. And there was a symbology (?) where heroine saves the hero from a puthaikuzhi.

Uchchakattam was, the heroine walking with the ottagam as if she is walking with her pet dog. Andha poNNu ollikuchchi, paavam, izhuththuttu poga mudila. :lol:

3rd September 2009, 06:31 PM

thoongatha vizhigal rendu kooda sollalam...oonjallaam katti,ennaiyellam oothi...kasakasanu

rojapoo aadi was decent

3rd September 2009, 06:59 PM
MR's best ever movie is the one with Vikram in the lead :roll:

3rd September 2009, 07:19 PM
Rojapoo...pretty good...kadaisila alEkkA thookkittu pOyi shutter open paNNaiyile appA kitta mAttikiradhu varaikkum...very good song. Unlike beachside obis.

ThoongAdha vizhigaL outdoor kaNNu koosum - naan lightinga sonnEn. And that's a good thing. Beach-la paattunnA ippidi irukkaNum.

Indoor oLi viLayAttu in slo-mo....oru poongAvanam.

Very talented young man got misled by terrorism.

3rd September 2009, 08:13 PM
I hate 'RukumaNiye rukkumaNiye' :oops:

3rd September 2009, 08:18 PM
Aravind Samy erangi oru step aaduvaaru paarunga......

3rd September 2009, 08:22 PM
Baba Sehgal version kEtturukkeengaLA :lol2:

AudazJay
4th September 2009, 03:07 PM
Aravind Samy erangi oru step aaduvaaru paarunga......

Anthe padathule aver aadine ore oru step aduthan :lol:

7th September 2009, 10:18 PM

cinema paakuradhu kittathata oru "qualification" maadhiri aayiduchu!...

neenga enna pandreenga

nan mikeset manimaran
sayandhram 6 mani aattathukku MGR Sivaji padam parkk poven :wink:

29th November 2009, 07:56 AM
looks like Mani's next is also a "HINDI" movie (http://lite.epaper.timesofindia.com/mobile.aspx?article=yes&pageid=32&edlabel=TOICH&mydateHid=29-11-2009&pubname=&edname=&articleid=Ar03200&format=&publabel=TOI)

i think it would be great if we move this thread to Indian Films section :P

Mani will start working on Azan. This film will portray Muslims in a positive light.

pretty much, the need of the hour :clap:

Appu s
29th November 2009, 01:43 PM
looks like Mani's next is also a "HINDI" movie (http://lite.epaper.timesofindia.com/mobile.aspx?article=yes&pageid=32&edlabel=TOICH&mydateHid=29-11-2009&pubname=&edname=&articleid=Ar03200&format=&publabel=TOI)

i think it would be great if we move this thread to Indian Films section :P

Mani will start working on Azan. This film will portray Muslims in a positive light.

pretty much, the need of the hour :clap:

ran beer hero pola.... :cry:

29th November 2009, 02:52 PM

i kinda find him impressive :oops:

30th November 2009, 07:21 AM

i kinda find him impressive :oops:

Why embarassed,he looks like a natural though it's very early to judge his range.

BTW,Mani's scripts are hardly leaked,so pro-muslim/anti-muslim are likely to be speculation.

2nd December 2009, 03:38 PM
[tscii:f6e067a1d1]
Mani’s Nayagan in the top 20!
By Moviebuzz | Wednesday, 02 December , 2009, 12:47

Three cheers to Mani Ratnam and Kamal Hassan, their celluloid classic Nayagan has been selected as one of the best among 20 films ever made in Indian cinema.

It was a part of the T 20 of Indian films at a contest organized by the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), in association with the Entertainment Society of Goa.

It is for the first time such a contest is being held at IFFI, and Nayagan is the only Tamil film chosen from different languages in the country.

Please note that there were about 1.9 million entries to the T 20 Films contest, and the jury had a tough time selecting the final list.

Among the 20, Bollywood films clearly have the edge. Take a look at the final 20 films- Mother India, Anand. Meghe Dhaka Tara, Charulata, Sholay, Do Bhiga Zamin, Guide, Mughal-e-Azam, Pyasa, Bhuvan Shome, Garam Hawa, Ghatashraddha, Elipathayam, Kagaz ke Phool, Pather Panchali, Sant Tukaram, Madhumati, Jane Bhi Do Yaro, and Nayagan

The views expressed in the article are the author's and not of Sify.com.

:clap: :clap: [/tscii:f6e067a1d1]

2nd December 2009, 06:08 PM
Mani's Nayagan?? :banghead:

2nd December 2009, 06:21 PM
Mani's Nayagan?? :banghead:

Sathyaraj: ennanga mani
Manivannan: ennadhu mani-ya
Sathyaraj: pinna, mani dhaane unga peru :lol2:

2nd December 2009, 06:23 PM
andha padathula appadi oru director irundhadhaagavO, vElai seinjadhaagavO, naanum maRandhurrEn...neengaLum marandhurunga

2nd December 2009, 08:24 PM
Adhu enna T20?? :twisted:

tamizharasan
2nd December 2009, 09:04 PM
andha padathula appadi oru director irundhadhaagavO, vElai seinjadhaagavO, naanum maRandhurrEn...neengaLum marandhurunga
En enRu kEtkalAmA?

tamizharasan
2nd December 2009, 11:46 PM
[tscii:e4b70f5024]
Mani’s Nayagan in the top 20!
By Moviebuzz | Wednesday, 02 December , 2009, 12:47

Three cheers to Mani Ratnam and Kamal Hassan, their celluloid classic Nayagan has been selected as one of the best among 20 films ever made in Indian cinema.

It was a part of the T 20 of Indian films at a contest organized by the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), in association with the Entertainment Society of Goa.

It is for the first time such a contest is being held at IFFI, and Nayagan is the only Tamil film chosen from different languages in the country.

Please note that there were about 1.9 million entries to the T 20 Films contest, and the jury had a tough time selecting the final list.

Among the 20, Bollywood films clearly have the edge. Take a look at the final 20 films- Mother India, Anand. Meghe Dhaka Tara, Charulata, Sholay, Do Bhiga Zamin, Guide, Mughal-e-Azam, Pyasa, Bhuvan Shome, Garam Hawa, Ghatashraddha, Elipathayam, Kagaz ke Phool, Pather Panchali, Sant Tukaram, Madhumati, Jane Bhi Do Yaro, and Nayagan

The views expressed in the article are the author's and not of Sify.com.

:clap: :clap: [/tscii:e4b70f5024]

There are several non-hindi movies better than these.

3rd December 2009, 02:02 PM
En enRu kEtkalAmA?

Anban tensan aanaarEnnu sonnEn.

To be read in the same tone as GM to Jayachitra in maaman magaL.

3rd December 2009, 02:11 PM
mani's nayagan :2thumbsup: :cheer: :happydance: :thumbsup: :cool2:

ethana peru puthusu puthusa vanthalum unna minja ennoruthan poranthu-than varanum thalaiva! :notworthy:

3rd December 2009, 02:55 PM
ethana peru puthusu puthusa vanthalum unna minja ennoruthan poranthu-than varanum thalaiva! :notworthy:

the direction tamil movies are going, it looks unlikely that another maniratnam will ever come....... :D

3rd December 2009, 03:12 PM

the direction tamil movies are going, it looks unlikely that another maniratnam will ever come....... :D i hope not...

Mysskin shall show the way ...

we dont want another marketing machine..

3rd December 2009, 03:27 PM
i hope not...

its win-win situation - all are happy :D

Mysskin shall show the way ...

kamal, IR already showed him their way in couple of functions.... :lol2:

we dont want another marketing machine..

yes, we want someone who can travel in bus without holding to railings and make enlightening films on society, culture, childhood love, north madurai, south madurai, east madurai, west madurai, south-west madurai, north-east madurai etc etc

3rd December 2009, 03:29 PM
we want someone who can travel in bus without holding to railings
Plum/PR,
Ungalukkulla mudivu pannittu Maddy kitta rights kaasu vaangikkunga :razz:

3rd December 2009, 03:59 PM
Madurai naeam total damage.
Atleast idhukkAgavAvadhu oru aruvaal illAdha Maduraippadam ezhudaNum

3rd December 2009, 08:55 PM
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/03122009-2.shtml

Madhavan might be in the Tamil version of Azan :)

3rd December 2009, 09:05 PM
[tscii:d320a6d024]

Choosy actor has only one film in his kitty
picture: Viral Bhayani

Ranbir Kapoor, who has always been choosy and picky about his films, has now refused Mani Ratnam’s “Azaan”.

His rejection spree has left him with just one film in his kitty as of now.

When Mani Ratnam narrated the script of “Azaan”, Ranbir politely declined the offer because he found the subject too dark.

Mani obviously was left disappointed as he wanted a young hero for the film. He has very few choices at his disposal. He feels that the only actors who can play the character are Ranbir, Shahid or Imran. With Ranbir refusing, he will now turn to Shahid or Imran.

Ranbir earlier said no to Zoya Akhtar, who wanted to cast him in her film. Even though Ranbir liked the story, he wasn’t sure about the screenplay.
http://www.masala.com/16942-ranbir-now-says-no-to-mani-ratnam

Remba overu thambi :x [/tscii:d320a6d024]

tamizharasan
3rd December 2009, 09:20 PM
[yes, we want someone who can travel in bus without holding to railings and make enlightening films on society, culture, childhood love, north madurai, south madurai, east madurai, west madurai, south-west madurai, north-east madurai etc etc

edhukku madurai mela indha kolai veri. the oldest city in south india and one of the oldest cities of the world. It is widely considered as cultural capital for tamilnadu and it played very vital role in the development of Tamil.

3rd December 2009, 10:11 PM
illa MADDY, we want movies from a director who infuses westernized emotions into a tamil movie with artificiality written all over it, appealing to a particular section of the society who are more brand conscious than others..

Aalavanthan
3rd December 2009, 10:15 PM

the direction tamil movies are going, it looks unlikely that another maniratnam will ever come....... :D

Its the market that dominates more. If a tamil movie is released, it doesnt even go to Karnataka for release but when a hindi movie is released, leave alone India, its being released in our neighbouring states, a huge stack in the western countries. Obviously its the Madras talkies who are producing .. arent they :)

3rd December 2009, 10:50 PM

Its the market that dominates more. If a tamil movie is released, it doesnt even go to Karnataka for release but when a hindi movie is released, leave alone India, its being released in our neighbouring states, a huge stack in the western countries. Obviously its the Madras talkies who are producing .. arent they :)

i was not talking abt the market dynamics and why mani went to hindi - i meant the level of objective filmmaking and visual story telling that mani gives will be missed.......i dont see any young director in tamil who strives to follow mani's approach to filmmaking :D

edhukku madurai mela indha kolai veri. the oldest city in south india and one of the oldest cities of the world. It is widely considered as cultural capital for tamilnadu and it played very vital role in the development of Tamil.

no - i just wished for more films on madurai.......

Aalavanthan
3rd December 2009, 10:55 PM
True.. But I was talking about the marketing here :)

He still maintains his record for not shooting outside India. Raavana I think is going to be a visual treat and the way you want it. We still have no idea about the story, yet we believe

4th December 2009, 06:56 AM
Bollywood myth will be broken soon.
Maniratnam is a Tamil director.

4th December 2009, 02:02 PM
- i meant the level of objective filmmaking and visual story telling that mani gives will be missed.......i dont see any young director in tamil who strives to follow mani's approach to filmmaking :D

Regarding visual story telling - I think Bala and selva both are awesome in this aspect.

7G rainbow colony - I found the total movie to be boring and irritating..but the image in the climax where kadhir runs with the mat and pillow on which the dead body of anitha was placed - :clap:

In pithamagan Vikram looking at the skull of surya in the grave yard and sithan(who was accustomed to it) being unable to watch it- visually conveyed a lot.

The climax scene of Sethu where vikram gets ready to get inti the van and turns back ... there are lots of scenes.

regarding "objective film making" - ennanu purila.I take it as not being subjective in story telling or charecterization - as charu asks to velu nayakkar "naan pandradhu ungalukku thappunnu padudhilla..neenga pandradhu oorukke thappa padudheppa"

[GM : "ungalukkellam 50 vayasukku apram edhukuda vela..kammunaati pasangala....adhaan panam kudukurangalla vangitu poga vendiyadhuthana"]

I think selva was extraordinary in that aspect - especially in pudhupettai....dhanush hugging the villain and crying after killing the him...:clap:

infact its better that wannabe maniratnams are not there in TN - it may result in many gowtham menons...

4th December 2009, 02:10 PM

I dont think there is any such myth - I think he is still considered as a Tamil director working in Bollywood.

4th December 2009, 02:43 PM
How about a poll on Mani Sir's best film and album?

4th December 2009, 03:12 PM
Regarding visual story telling - I think Bala and selva both are awesome in this aspect.

i meant, Maniratnam moves a story with visuals and minimal dialogues........u can hardly pick a scene in maniratnams' movie, where accident takes place and there is a dialogue "accident aaiduchhu" ......obviously we have seen the accident and we dont need someone to say that again.......emotions are more powerful than dialogues is the general theme of his movies........but watever dialogues come out, they are blistering - naa adichha sethhuduva, surya sir orasadhinga etc etc

reg objectivity, maniratnam is very clear that he is just a filmmaker and is not here to judge someone or prove anything......how tough it is to make a dual-hero subject like agni natchithram and be non-judgemental abt the characters

now see, if Bala and selva can match mani in this.........to be fair, i havent seen bala, selva movies more than once.......i remember reading a stunning piece written by Equanimus in his blog where he compares how maniratnam takes only 30 mins to establish ruthlessness of inba in AE whereas Selva takes 3 hrs for that in PP(or something close to that)......reminds me of "chinna pasanga" dialogue in VV

4th December 2009, 03:18 PM

great idea 8-) .....but i dread if thalapathi, nayagan lead Anjali, AN, Ayidha ezhuthu and Uyire in best albums poll :P

lets start with best film - Naygan, Uyire, Alaipauthey for me 8-)

4th December 2009, 03:28 PM
i meant, Maniratnam moves a story with visuals and minimal dialogues.......

adhathaan naanunjoneen..effectively conveying things visually...the scenes that I have mentioned conveys a lot using the visuals...

reg objectivity, maniratnam is very clear that he is just a filmmaker and is not here to judge someone or prove anything......how tough it is to make a dual-hero subject like agni natchithram and be non-judgemental abt the characters

Thats what I have also mentioned I guess.

Regarding how effectively mani eshtablished the brutality of Inba in 30 minutes and it took a full movie for selva to eshtablish..I think the comparison itself is sort of absurd...

further,Inba somehow looked like a guy who takes chaaya at coffee day honestly...MADDY was good..but again it was like listening to a pettai rowdy who passed his course in "pettai rowdism" at oxford with honours...

well..It may be due to image of maddy created in our minds by his movies prior to AE..

4th December 2009, 03:31 PM
FILM

Nayagan,Iruvar,Mouna ragam.

Music

Thalapathy,Uyire,Mouna Raagam...kashtam..ella padamum musically :notworthy:

4th December 2009, 03:35 PM

i meant, Maniratnam moves a story with visuals and minimal dialogues........u can hardly pick a scene in maniratnams' movie, where accident takes place and there is a dialogue "accident aaiduchhu" ......obviously we have seen the accident and we dont need someone to say that again.......emotions are more powerful than dialogues is the general theme of his movies........but watever dialogues come out, they are blistering - naa adichha sethhuduva, surya sir orasadhinga etc etc

now see, if Bala and selva can match mani in this.........to be fair, i havent seen bala, selva movies more than once.......i remember reading a stunning piece written by Equanimus in his blog where he compares how maniratnam takes only 30 mins to establish ruthlessness of inba in AE whereas Selva takes 3 hrs for that in PP(or something close to that)......reminds me of "chinna pasanga" dialogue in VV

maddy :clap: you have clearly put it......

wonder how Ravana/Ashokavanam has shaped up......

and to add one more thing.....maniratnam movies have BGM where and when needed....it is not there through out the whole movie unnecessarily....

take examples of Mouna Ragam and Anjali....BGM follows the visual treat....mostly...

4th December 2009, 03:40 PM
well..It may be due to image of maddy created in our minds by his movies prior to AE..

well, likely so bcause a coffee day guy doesent talk abt k*su of jail inmates u see(madhavan's intro scene) :lol: .......

i have lot of reservations on PP - it was extremely slow and predictable......

4th December 2009, 03:45 PM
I still don't understand why was Maddy given a role of rowdy in AE. It could have been given to some other genuine good actor in villain portrayal...

couldn't digest myself seeing maddy in rough and tough role....and that too bald, he could easily done the role as Michael....it would have been great....

anyways padam flop-pu.....whats the use talking now...

4th December 2009, 03:47 PM

MR hasn't forgotten his Tamil roots...so whatever movie he gives in Hindi, simultaneously there will be a movie in Tamil

4th December 2009, 03:49 PM
I still don't understand why was Maddy given a role of rowdy in AE. It could have been given to some other genuine good actor in villain portrayal...

couldn't digest myself seeing maddy in rough and tough role....and that too bald, he could easily done the role as Michael....it would have been great....

ajith would have been perfect in that role.

4th December 2009, 04:01 PM

nalla vela, Ajith career thappichadhu :P

4th December 2009, 04:02 PM

why? :roll:

Aalavanthan
4th December 2009, 05:01 PM

great idea 8-) .....but i dread if thalapathi, nayagan lead Anjali, AN, Ayidha ezhuthu and Uyire in best albums poll :P

:shock: Kannathil Muthamitaal :yes:

Mouna Raagam should be there as well.. Its a normal story and I remember seeing a scene when Mohan visits Revathi... seri idhugappuram thaan padam paathutomaennu I wanted to change the channel, but couldnt . Movie is soo involving that you dont tend to leave it half handed

AE one of my favourites. for Maddy and Surya .. Surya was again ausum.. I think first ever movie without a musch. saga hubbergal will correct me if not.

PS: Nayagan the best ever for the same reasons for Mounaa. but with a huge difference in the name of "screenplay" and "Kamal"

4th December 2009, 05:04 PM

why? is it because a thala fan spoke this. anyways I don't want to see ajith either in that role.

I didn't like that role in itself. :(

Aalavanthan
4th December 2009, 05:05 PM

why? :roll:

I think Ajith did a "Inba" kind of getup in the form of "Red" and we all know the outcome.

complicateur
4th December 2009, 05:47 PM
"சொல்றதையே வித்யாசமா சொல்றது பாலசந்தர் ஸ்டைல். சொல்றத சொல்லாம சொல்றது மணி சார் ஸ்டைல்!" - Maddy in an interview after PaarthAlE Paravasam.

Anyways favorite movies diskassan needs to happen - Iruvar, Agni Nathchathiram and Kannathil MuthamittAl-Mouna RAgam tie.

Aalavanthan
4th December 2009, 06:08 PM
ohh yes Iruvar should definitely be given a pat in the back. BUT, I would have wanted to see more of dialogues rather than the BGM from ARR. I wish if this movie was taken after Kalaignar's "period", I guess pre-censors of the movie would have been less with more of meaningful dialogues !

paavam Mani sir, he had to show the full print to both the parties just to know that more of his dialogues are going to be cut before even the movie was sent to censors :cry:

4th December 2009, 07:20 PM
Best Film:
------------
Nayagan
Kannathil Muthamittal

Best Album:
--------------
Anjali
Idhaya Kovil
Agni Natchathiram

4th December 2009, 07:30 PM

maddy :clap: you have clearly put it......

wonder how Ravana/Ashokavanam has shaped up......

and to add one more thing.....maniratnam movies have BGM where and when needed....it is not there through out the whole movie unnecessarily....

take examples of Mouna Ragam and Anjali....BGM follows the visual treat....mostly...

The best example is not inba for minimalism. The best example of how compressed, yet poignant mani can get is the Sharanya - Kamal love track in Nayagan. It expands on the cute 30 min love track of Karthik and Revathy in mouna raagam and brings a lot more poignancy and 'character' into picture. Very little, but meaningful dialogues (Thanks to Balakumaran). and no unnecessary 'explanation', 'exposition' of love between two people who have no law to walk by or follow. The instant 'kalyanam' was a shocker to me when i first saw it - after the 3rd or fourth viweing, it was very natural and the only way it could have happened when you have a character like Velu in play. The same notions, motives apply to Inba too. The character arc developments are very subtle, unlike Bala whose sole aim is to sensationalise - not just shock. Mani has a restraint (thanks to his target audience) while Bala has none. However their underlying sympathies are for the characters 'forsaken' or outside the mainstream - That is why you have Mani's protoganists being the odd ones out too in most cases..
Be it Divya the uncompromising young girl who always struggles to fit into normal stereotype
Be it Velu who always has broken stereotype of a dada, tamil youngster in alien mumbai
Be it Anjali who is the odd one out in an apartment community
Be it Thalabadhi or AE or AlaiPAyudhe or Bombay where the protagonists never take the easy way of 'abiding elders diktats', and other norms that we generally expect from hero figures'.
No wonder he has taken the fascination for 'Raavan' the best antihero indian literature has ever witnessed. My only fear is for the Rams and sitas who run the risk of ending up as caricatures in the glowing tribute to the 'odd guy' out in the crowd.

4th December 2009, 07:58 PM
The best example is not inba for minimalism. The best example of how compressed, yet poignant mani can get is the Sharanya - Kamal love track in Nayagan. It expands on the cute 30 min love track of Karthik and Revathy in mouna raagam and brings a lot more poignancy and 'character' into picture. Very little, but meaningful dialogues (Thanks to Balakumaran). and no unnecessary 'explanation', 'exposition' of love between two people who have no law to walk by or follow. The instant 'kalyanam' was a shocker to me when i first saw it - after the 3rd or fourth viweing, it was very natural and the only way it could have happened when you have a character like Velu in play. The same notions, motives apply to Inba too. The character arc developments are very subtle, unlike Bala whose sole aim is to sensationalise - not just shock. Mani has a restraint (thanks to his target audience) while Bala has none. However their underlying sympathies are for the characters 'forsaken' or outside the mainstream - That is why you have Mani's protoganists being the odd ones out too in most cases..
Be it Divya the uncompromising young girl who always struggles to fit into normal stereotype
Be it Velu who always has broken stereotype of a dada, tamil youngster in alien mumbai
Be it Anjali who is the odd one out in an apartment community
Be it Thalabadhi or AE or AlaiPAyudhe or Bombay where the protagonists never take the easy way of 'abiding elders diktats', and other norms that we generally expect from hero figures'.
No wonder he has taken the fascination for 'Raavan' the best antihero indian literature has ever witnessed.

4th December 2009, 08:36 PM
Films
Mouna Ragam
Nayagan
Thalapathi

Iruvar

Albums
Thalapathi
Agni Natchathiram
Anjali
Mouna Ragam

Dil Se/Uyire
Thiruda Thiruda

4th December 2009, 08:52 PM
Films
Mouna Ragam
Nayagan
Thalapathi

Iruvar

Albums
Thalapathi
Agni Natchathiram
Anjali
Mouna Ragam

Dil Se/Uyire
Thiruda Thiruda

why the gap in nominations? :lol2:

Aalavanthan
4th December 2009, 08:54 PM
generation gap :P

equanimus
5th December 2009, 12:10 AM
The character arc developments are very subtle, unlike Bala whose sole aim is to sensationalise - not just shock. Mani has a restraint (thanks to his target audience) while Bala has none.
Eh? (Or were you perhaps being sarcastic?)

And isn't Divya a fairly "normal" girl in mouna rAgam? Or Karthik/Shakti from alai pAyuthE for that matter. What does a "normal stereotype" even mean? To show "normal" characters (if one is to understand this as the kind most of us meet in our day-to-day lives) as they are, a storyteller ought to shake off the easily understood stereotypes and platitudes. And, I'd think, this is what Mani Ratnam did so well in these films.

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 12:42 AM
Movies

Nayagan
Mouna Raagam
Iruvar
Kannaththil Muththamittaal
Anjali
Thalapathy(only for Rajini acting and Ilaiyaraja Music)

Album

Thalapathy
Roja
Idhaya Koyil
Mouna Raagam
Kannaththil Muththamittal.

5th December 2009, 12:47 AM
Album

Idhaya Koyil

Oh yeah (forgot about it)

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 12:53 AM

This time it can happen naturally also. Best movie is Nayagan and best album is thalapathy. But don't worry I will try to support ARR album because this is his era. I was so happy to know that ARR is nominated for grammy. ARR achieved something, which was never achieved by any other indian music directors. His music has the ability to cross the barrier easily. First he easily crossed south barrier to go north and then india to international. Hats off to him.

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 12:58 AM
Album

Idhaya Koyil

It was definitely one of my IR's favorites and MR's first movie in taemil. Movie was piece of crap but the songs were great.

5th December 2009, 01:01 AM
Updated my nomination to include Idhaya Kovil. Song of the year thread la Om Sivoham marandhen, inga idha marandhen :oops:

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 01:03 AM
Updated my nomination to include Idhaya Kovil. Song of the year thread la Om Sivoham marandhen, inga idha marandhen :oops:

Ithu paravaayillai. Polla close panrathukku munnaadi vote poda maRakkaama irundha sari. :lol: :lol:

omega
5th December 2009, 01:03 AM
Album

Idhaya Koyil

It was definitely one of my IR's favorites and MR's first movie in taemil. Movie was piece of crap but the songs were great.

His first movie is tamil was Pagal Nilavu (Murali, Revathy & Satyaraj)

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 01:06 AM
Album

Idhaya Koyil

His first movie is tamil was Pagal Nilavu (Murali, Revathy & Satyaraj)

Ok. I thought it was IK.

5th December 2009, 01:23 AM
But don't worry I will try to support ARR album because this is his era

instead u can vote for the album u really like and u really think is the best....... :D

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 01:30 AM

instead u can vote for the album u really like and u really think is the best....... :D

ok done. Purely on merit basis for both movie and album.

5th December 2009, 01:38 AM
இன்னோரு தேர்தலா? சரி, பார்க்கலாம் :-)

Movies - among those I watched...well, actually all of them except pagal nilavu & bombay, namely :

mouna rAgam
nAyakan
dhaLapathi
anjali
alai pAyudhE

(I haven't seen the rest of his movies)

Music albums :

agni natchathiram
alai pAyudhE
thirudA thirudA
dhaLapathi
uyirE
anjali
bombay
mouna rAgam
nAyakan (slightly lower than others but it has that 'then pANdichcheemaiyilE', the best among any song for a MR film IMO)
rOjA
idhayakkOyil (with some struggle)
pagal nilavu (poo mAlaiyE effect)

5th December 2009, 01:48 AM

i meant, it can be a IR album too :D

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 01:50 AM

i meant, it can be a IR album too :D

I know. if you see my nominations, there are many IR albums. BTW what are your choices for albums.

5th December 2009, 01:59 AM
The character arc developments are very subtle, unlike Bala whose sole aim is to sensationalise - not just shock. Mani has a restraint (thanks to his target audience) while Bala has none.
Eh? (Or were you perhaps being sarcastic?)

And isn't Divya a fairly "normal" girl in mouna rAgam? Or Karthik/Shakti from alai pAyuthE for that matter. What does a "normal stereotype" even mean? To show "normal" characters (if one is to understand this as the kind most of us meet in our day-to-day lives) as they are, a storyteller ought to shake off the easily understood stereotypes and platitudes. And, I'd think, this is what Mani Ratnam did so well in these films.

no sarcasm intended - they are both my fave film makers and Naan KAdavul in my opinion is the best in the current decade. Both have the same knack of creating protagonists. They go about creating a world of 'normal' or what is creatively 'same' people - people who blend in and then they introduce the protagonists who have difficulty 'fitting in'. So my word 'normal' need not be construed as 'a girl bold enough to have an affair and elope and then be bold enough to stand up to her husband and say the famous kambili poochchi dialogue'. This restlessness of the central character is what they focus and bring out so much as subtexts or as implied meanings influencing the audience significantly.
In Bombay, Shekar's restlessness with an equally restless society forms the story . In Kannathil, Amudha's restlessness to fitin with her family after the knowledge of her biological origins is the thrust that propels the screenplay. Essentially it is not 'fate', not 'someone else' or something else that is the basis of these screenplays. Yet very little has been discussed about the character oriented nature of Mani's films - more focus is on the camera angles, songs, music, visualization etc., There is a load of hefty writing on the character and my point is that right from his first film, the protagonist is always a 'restless' person always betting on his/her own choices that usually (sometimes expectedly) run against the 'stereotyped choices'.

5th December 2009, 02:03 AM
I know. if you see my nominations, there are many IR albums. BTW what are your choices for albums.

ah, MR-ARR albums i dont know which one to leave out :D .....they are all great albums......

IR albums - Anjali, thalapathi and Agni natchithram........i can say for sure, Agni is my fav in their combo...... :D

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 02:33 AM

ah, MR-ARR albums i dont know which one to leave out :D .....they are all great albums......

IR albums - Anjali, thalapathi and Agni natchithram........i can say for sure, Agni is my fav in their combo...... :D

I think Aayutha ezhuthu may be the weakest one in the ARR-MR combination. BTW who is going to start the poll and when? any idea.

5th December 2009, 02:43 AM
There is a load of hefty writing on the character and my point is that right from his first film, the protagonist is always a 'restless' person always betting on his/her own choices that usually (sometimes expectedly) run against the 'stereotyped choices'.

great observations Jai :clap: ......ive always felt mani plays the "devil's advocate" in his movies.....and this advocate is not too vocal or tries to thrust opinions.......getting the perspective of a kashmiri terrorist, north-east extremist, failings of a love marriage, mu.ka's perspective as opposed to the greatest "perceived" protaganist of our times -MGR, and even in his lesser works like Guru, he tries to bring the perspective of not-so-ethical-entrepreneurship........

5th December 2009, 02:48 AM
I think Aayutha ezhuthu may be the weakest one in the ARR-MR combination. BTW who is going to start the poll and when? any idea.

no way :shock: .......fanaa, good bye nanba, nenjamellam, dol dol, jana gana mana - how can this be a weak album :D

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 02:58 AM

no way :shock: .......fanaa, good bye nanba, nenjamellam, dol dol, jana gana mana - how can this be a weak album :D

When compared with others I thought it was weaker. Anyway movie might have had an effect on album also for me.

5th December 2009, 03:17 AM
Mani album rate panradhuromba kashtam.
Oru padathula kaetta sound innoru padathula irukkaadhu. So only way to rate is through the impact of a mani album

1. Thirudaa Thirudaa
2. Thalabadhi
3. mouna Raagam
4. Anjali
5. Agni Nakshathram
6. Naayagan
7. Bombay
8. Alai paayudhe
9. Idhaya koyil
10. Iruvar
11. Kannaththil Muthamittaal.

Mani filmsunnu vandhaal
1. Nayagan (idhai minja oru padam innum varalai - even excluding the amazing act of Kamal - this one was a revealation)
2. Anjali
3. Mouna Raagam
4. Kannathil muththamittaal
5. Roja
6. Agni Nakshathram
7. Iruvar
8. Alai Paayudhe
9. Bombay
10. Pagal Nilavu

excluding telugu, kannada, malayaalam and hindi pilims.

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 03:28 AM
[tscii:3fa31ed89e]

US Premiere • New 35mm Print
NAYAKAN (Hero)
(1987) Directed by Mani Rathnam

Chosen by Time magazine as one of the world’s 100 best films, Mani Rathnam’s career-making thriller has aged amazingly well, due in large part to Kamal Haasan’s nuanced dramatic acting in the title role. This godfather look-alike was based on the career of real-life Tamil-born boss-of-bosses Varadarajan Mudaliar, who ruled Bombay’s Dharavi slums in the 1970s. Kamal Haasan plays the lightly fictionalized Velu, the son of a murdered union leader who becomes a smuggler and then a lordly mob boss who sticks up for the downtrodden. Rathnam carefully preserves the dignity and the credibility of his gang lord anti-hero by never asking him to synch to playback; the de rigueur musical duties are always justified by narrative context (a floor show in a brothel) or handed off to a high spirited side-kick (Janakaraj). When Velu does kick up his heels during a festival celebration, in a moment of personal triumph, he kicks them up in character.

Producer/Screenwriter: M. Rathnam. Cinematographer: P.C. Sriram. Music Director: Ilaiyaraja. Lyricists: Ilaiyaraja, Pulamai Pithan. With: Kamal Haasan, Saranya, M.V. Vasudeva Rao, Janakaraj. 35mm, in Tamil with English subtitles, 155 min.

http://www.international.ucla.edu/calendar/showevent.asp?eventid=3700[/tscii:3fa31ed89e]

tamizharasan
5th December 2009, 03:30 AM
I am not really sure whether Nayakan is the best movie ever in Tamil or not. But I would definitely rate it one of the five best movies ever made in Tamil.

5th December 2009, 07:12 AM
Idhayattai Thirudathey anyone? :lol:

My take.

Mouna Ragam
Nayagan
Talabathi
Aytha Ezhuttu.

Could have been great:
Iruvar (reasons-ai Joe virivaaga peesuvar).

5th December 2009, 06:33 PM
Oops, missed IT in the albums :-(

However, the movie wasn't good.

5th December 2009, 08:31 PM
Movie - Nayagan
Album - Agni Natchathram - idhukku edhirppu vandhaa, musicals kitta kooda mOdha thayaar aayittEn. One of the best albums of all time.

5th December 2009, 08:38 PM
ingreyum oru list'ah.....

MR.. story - screenplay mattum irundha OK va :P

sari sari.. list podunga.. vandhu vote mattum panrEn

5th December 2009, 09:33 PM

nee sathriyanai ulle kondu varaththaan rules relaxation kekarannu englakku theriyumdi

6th December 2009, 01:20 PM

nee sathriyanai ulle kondu varaththaan rules relaxation kekarannu englakku theriyumdi

Movie: Nayagan / Iruvar (Can't really decide between the two)
Music: Thiruda Thiruda (if allowed) illainA alaipAyuthE (Forgiving september mAdham)

7th December 2009, 10:04 PM
About asokavanam...

I hope Mani consults with the kamban kazhagam scholars on the psychological battle that was played between Sita and Ravana. There is a siege every minute Sita remained on Ashokavanam on her mind and heart. I am expecting an arresting film that brings this out visually as a part of this has already been touched by RC Sakthi in 80s and by Vasanth in recent times with his 'Saththam podaadhe'.

AudazJay
8th December 2009, 01:23 PM
Movies:

1) Mouna Raagam
2) Nayagan
3) Thalapathy
4) Roja
5) Bombay (despite the hard-to-believe climax, this film remains as one of my personal favourite)
6) Kannathil Muthammital

Albums:

1) Mouna Raagam
2) Agni Natchathiram
3) Thalapathy
4) Roja
5) Thiruda Thiruda
6) Kannathil Muthammital

8th December 2009, 01:37 PM
Movies:

Pallavi Anu Pallavi(Kannada)-Left a lasting impression on me in the early 80's.

Mouna ragam

Nayagan

Agni........

Anjali

Roja

TT

Iruvar

Kannathil.....

Albums

Pallavi Anu Pallavi-Haunting songs

Mouna ragam

Agni.......

Geethanjali

Dalapathy

Roja

TT

Iruvar

Dil Se

AudazJay
8th December 2009, 01:57 PM

Completely agree with you on the point of objectivity...

But what strikes me as the best attribute of Mani is his feat of making even the impossible to seem possible.

Would a high profile Dada like Devaraj form an everlasting friendship with a small time thug like Surya merely on the latter's justifications on the crime committed?

Would a husband be indifferent to his wife's tantrums and attitude, and blindly agrees to a divorce after a week of marriage?

Would a mere civilian like Rishi/Amarnath be able to change the mindset and ideals of a hard-core terrorist like Liaqat/Meghna?

Would parents who dot on their only daughter be "ruthless" enough to tell that she's adopted...and that too on her birthday?

The situations stated above are unlikely to happen in real life but Mani manages to make it possible and even makes the audience believe it's possible through his flow of scenes and choice of words in the dialogues. He doesn't justify the characters' traits and attitude. He merely mold the characters to make them believable and that they are a part of us.

There were many characters in his film that I believed in and many a times, I hoped that they really exist in real life too.

I loved Githanjali of Idhayathai Thirudathey...I mean, how many of us would go around dancing in the rain and poking fun on others if we were to know that our life is coming to an end? Maybe none...but while watching the film, I had wanted to be someone like her...optimistic, care-free and lovable. Today, i might dismiss the character as too "filmy" and unbelievable but at that point of time, Githa seem real to me and I wished that I had her positive traits in me as well.

Surya of Thalapathy was yet another character that inspired me. The character has all the quality that a thug would not have had...yet throughout the film, I believed that Surya existed. That he's among us.

In fact, Bala tried to portray "thugs-can-be-good-too" in Nanda, and I believe that there many other directors who tried to do the same, including Sasi in Subramaniapuram, nevertheless, none could re-produce the magic and impact that Mani created through a character like Surya.

equanimus
9th December 2009, 02:40 PM
But what strikes me as the best attribute of Mani is his feat of making even the impossible to seem possible.
AudazJay,
Not responding to you here, but just a general rant on something that often enrages me: critics who judge if a film is "logical" or not and sometimes imply implicitly that a film is good if it's "logical" (whatever that means!). :)

In a theoretical sense, the audience's suspension of disbelief when watching something is directly linked to how plausible it seems, not how probable it is in a general sense. After all, we all know it is not happening. (Talk about stating the obvious!) So, stretching this point, this is really what writing is all about. As the audience, one needs to discern between oddity/eccentricity and what strikes as, well, "just wrong." While the former is about what actually happens, the latter is often a matter of execution. If written/realised well enough, the oddest of things would seem very well plausible. In short, in the sense AudazJay uses "possible/impossible" here, just about anything is possible.

Appu s
10th December 2009, 03:58 PM
[tscii:e3f27d1449]Mani Ratnam to launch Karthik’s son

Ace director Mani Ratnam will launch actor Karthik's son Goutham in his upcoming project. Sources say that Mani Ratnam will be working simultaneously on a Hindi and Tamil project after Raavan. And the buzz is that Goutham will be playing the lead in the Tamil version and Ranbir Kapoor in the Hindi version. The delightful news was announced by none other than the yesteryear heartthrob Karthik at the press meet of Arun Vijay's Maanja Velu where he also added that he himself was ready to act in good supporting roles. “I will definitely act further if I get good roles like Maanja Velu,” he answered dynamically.

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/id/Mani_Ratnam_to_launch_Karthik%E2%80%99s_son_33321. html[/tscii:e3f27d1449]

tamizharasan
11th December 2009, 12:21 AM
Where is the poll?

15th December 2009, 10:00 PM
taken from kamal section

(முஸ்லிம்களைத் தொடர்ந்து குற்றவாளிகளாக சித்தரிப்பது தவறானது மணிரத்னத்தின் தன்னை மாற்றிக்கொள்ள வேண்டும் என்று கமல்ஹாசன் பம்பாய் படம் குறித்து பேட்டியளித்திருந்தார்

oh showing muslims retaliating in Bombay was the problem?? hmmm, i thot mani clearly establishes the babri masjid demoliton up front and then starts the riots scenes.......he clearly shows hindus as the provokers ex: nasseer asking for bricks printed "ram" from basheer and the "ram" rally that happen on market when manisha is out to post a letter.....i think Mani must have depicted muslim characters like "vaapa" in nayagan or the nagesh character in padikkadhavan movie - u know the good ones only :D

btw, anyone has seen "black friday" by Anurag kashyap here?? its a great piece of cinema which talks abt the "business" behind mumbai attacks.......i wonder what would be these guys' reactions if they had seen this movie :D

AravindMano
18th December 2009, 08:59 PM
Vikatan says, Mani's next film in Tamil will introduce Actor Karthik's son Gautham as hero!

20th December 2009, 11:01 PM
few scenes of Nayagan in Adithya channel

Two nice minor moments in the movie

The first one depicts the charecterization of velu nayakkar .velunayakar comes out of charus home and looks for the lift.He then takes step instead of waiting few seconds for the lift - inspite of being an old man :) .

The second moment : Police surrounds him at the place where he informs them to come for arresting him.He gets out of the water....walks casually and stands before them.Suddenly realises that the person who stands before him is his son-in-law - and puts a vanakkam pretty formally.

maniratnam kamal :clap:

This movie always looks fresh.

20th December 2009, 11:26 PM
movie - Naayagan

Album - Thalapathi

21st December 2009, 06:47 AM
movie- nayagan
album - idhaya kovil

21st December 2009, 07:06 AM
ipdi oru panchayathu nadandhukittirukkA?

Movies - Mouna Raagam (Biased opinion - one of the earliest movies I had a fascination for. Manohar was everything an introverted, timid schoolboy wished to be, and Divya - confession mode - was everything a teenager wished for in a girlfriend. The one film which made me a life-long fan of Revathy, a state which refuses to go away despite some incontrovertible evidence that she *may not* be all that that schoolboy thought she was - like, the best freaking actress ever in the history of cinema, for instance :-).

Subsequent viewings have been enriched by ability to 'receive' Mr. Mottai's contribution in BGM. One of the best ever for Raja in terms of BGM.
Album - Very difficult. Is it Geetanjali? Mouna Raagam? Idhaya Kovil? Thalapathy?.....(*after a brief fight and win against Raja bias*) Dil Se?

Even pagal nilavu stakes claim. enna seyya. Case adjourned :-)

21st December 2009, 07:07 AM
Note - the one absentee in the albums' list above might be the dark horse.

21st December 2009, 09:21 AM
ARR vs IR in a mani movie

similar situation and different scores.

mani movie musicnala post pandren.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9VQ0Aa_c6U

complicateur
21st December 2009, 12:16 PM
Lovely editing by Yowan. What stands out to me is how Maniratnam chooses to depict the intimacy between his characters, even within the boundary conditions imposed by the Indian Censor Board.

Roja
The phrase 'a long cold winter' has come to signify, if anything, a lack of passion. But turning the tables on the analogy can make just as much sense. The honeymoon period of a marriage might well be akin to the cover of snow. Passion, just as ice, has this ephemeral tendency to melt away. If what remains after it has melted away is fertile land then you've got it made. Otherwise you are in for a rocky road ahead.

Mani does just this - use the cold to signify heat. This trip to Kashmir is ROjA's first unbiased time alone with her man. Much like the solid precipitation and new age background music, it is new to her. And in the larger sense much like the expansive nature of what lies before her eyes, it seems like her future is limitless and full of hope. The passion while good, at that time, only seems like it can get better. That entire song signifies hope - a hope for a life that will become worth fighting for in the near future.

Mouna RAgam
The Taj Mahal has been represented countless times in Indian film, often as a symbol of love. But these foolishly romantic notions cloud another very important feeling it symbolizes - loss.

Loss is also the feeling Divya allows herself to be defined by. She is different from Roja in that she isn't led to what she sees. She walks up to it independent of Chandrakumar. What does this building signify to someone who has lost but must live on? Her past? Or her future? The somber choral background may even be alluding to this confusion. Then follows the analogy from before - the cold becoming a gateway to heat.The questionable dance moves apart, what becomes immediately obvious is the need for Divya to heal. The wounds of the past will only be mollified by the passion in her future.

21st December 2009, 02:58 PM
compli :clap: .

Pudhu vellai mazhai - something never seen, never heard before, swerving away from anything that existed.

to me, the closest they sounded similar in a mani movie was this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5mkvcEsK_c&feature=related
Ay hairathe from Guru

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ujEThowuX0&feature=related
Nee oru kaadhal sangeetham from Nayagan

21st December 2009, 05:04 PM
ARR vs IR in a mani movie

similar situation and different scores.

mani movie musicnala post pandren.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9VQ0Aa_c6U matter ennanaa, mani just rehashes his scenes..

21st December 2009, 06:34 PM
Compli :thumbsup:

The questionable dance moves apart
[/quote]
:lol: yeah, sick!

21st December 2009, 08:18 PM
Adhellam vidunga...

Can we say unanimously(?)... THIRUDA THIRUDA is the mokkiest of Mani's films in tamizh...

innum nan andha padam parthadhillai... nEthu kadaisi oru 20 mins parthEn... ayyoo samee.. thangalai...

oru visayam parkka nalla irundhadhu.. 2 playback singers together in a scene (SPB & malaysiya vasudevan)

21st December 2009, 08:22 PM
Adhellam vidunga...

Can we say unanimously(?)... THIRUDA THIRUDA is the mokkiest of Mani's films in tamizh...

I will watch Thiruda Thiruda anyday when aalaipayuthe or kannathil muthamitaal are given as other options.

21st December 2009, 08:24 PM
TT is :thumbsup:
music wise, probably the best of any MR film :2thumbsup:

21st December 2009, 08:52 PM
TT is :thumbsup:
music wise, probably the best of any MR film :2thumbsup:

ARR-Maniratnam is a ceaseless downpour until Guru happened. cant really pick a best out of these gems. i dont know where to place Roja - i cant think of a life if Roja hadnt happened :P

mokkiest Mani film has to be idhaya kovil. closely followed by idhayathai thirudaadhe. i heard mani was completely hand-tied while shooting idhaya kovil. ironically, thats the only koundar-mani movie we will ever have. Idhayathai thirudaadhe - ive never seen mani getting stuck at a point without knowing how to move forward. shocking

21st December 2009, 09:00 PM
Maddy, pagal nilavu had probably the worst gounder track ever so idhayakovil has company as a mani-kounder movie.
As I never tire of quoting "aaLukku oru vettu vettiyAl gningaL adayALam theriyAmal pOvum" :lol:

21st December 2009, 09:03 PM
Actually Mani did not write IK's script so he is pardonable on that account. Mokkaiest mani movie IMO is pagal nilavu closely followed by thirudA thirudA. I thought Dil Se was the mokkaiest until I revisited it last year.

Idhayaththai thirudaadhE is my most favorite Mani-Romaans film. To me its the most quintenssential Mani film - has all the ingridients.

21st December 2009, 09:35 PM
சிறந்த படைப்பு என்று தனியாக குறிப்பிடமுடியாததால்

சிறந்த காட்சி:

க.முத்தமிட்டால் : சிறுமி அமுதா (கீர்த்தனா) தன்னைப் பெற்ற அம்மாவிடம் (னந்திதா தாஸ்) கேள்விகளை கேட்டு பதில் வாங்குவது.

சிறந்த இசைப் பாடல்கள் தொகுப்பு:

இருவர் : நறுமுகையே நறுமுகையே, பூ கொடியின் புன்னகை, கண்ணைக் கட்டி கொள்ளாதே, ஆயிரத்தில் நான் ஒருவன், உன்னோடு நானிருந்த, உடல் மண்ணுக்கு

தனது படத்தில் வரும் காட்சிகளின் தரத்தைப் போல, பாடல் வரிகளும் தரமானதாக இருக்கவேண்டும் என்ற சிரத்தை இருக்கிறதே அந்த ஒரு காரணத்திற்காகவே, மணிரத்னத்தை மற்ற சக படைப்பாளிகளுக்கு மத்தியில் உச்சத்தில் வைக்கிறேன்.

எடிட்டிங், இசை, வசனம், ஒலிப்பதிவு, ஒளிப்பதிவு, பாடலுக்கான கவிதை என எல்லா கலைகளுக்கான கலைஞர்களையும் மக்களிடம் முன்னெடுத்து சென்று விழிப்புணர்வை ஏற்படுத்தியவர். அந்த விதத்தில், மணிரத்னம் ஒரு ஆலமரம். அவரிடத்தில் பணியாற்றும் சிறு விழுதுக்குக் கூட அதற்கான கௌரவத்தையும் வெகுமதியையும் வாங்கிகொடுக்கும் வெளியை ஏற்படுத்திக் கொடுக்கும் சிறந்த படைப்பாளி.

தமிழ் சினிமா இல்லையில்லை.. இந்திய சினிமாவின் அகராதியிலேயே "மாற்றம்" என்றால் அதற்கான அருஞ்சொற்பொருள் மனிரத்னமாகவே இருக்கும்.

21st December 2009, 09:58 PM
//Indian Prime Minister while giving away "Indian of the year award" to ARRahman on CNN-IBN stage, recited lyrics from Dil se song - sitaro se aage jahan bi hain.

goosebumps*infinity since this is a song not know to many people. Mr. Prime minister should be a keen follower of Rahman and Mani for sure... A great honour for thalaivar and again we, fans feel proud abt it :D //

21st December 2009, 10:02 PM
//Indian Prime Minister while giving away "Indian of the year award" to ARRahman on CNN-IBN stage, recited lyrics from Dil se song - sitaro se aage jahan bi hain.

goosebumps*infinity since this is a song not know to many people. Mr. Prime minister should be a keen follower of Rahman and Mani for sure... A great honour for thalaivar and again we, fans feel proud abt it :D //

Indian of the year winning over all other winners... nethiyadi!

21st December 2009, 11:22 PM

Rahman must appoint someone on a full time basis just to collect rewardu... :razz:

22nd December 2009, 10:01 AM

Rahman must appoint someone on a full time basis just to collect rewardu... :razz: :lol: You mean awardsu?

22nd December 2009, 09:56 PM

Rahman must appoint someone on a full time basis just to collect rewardu... :razz: :lol: You mean awardsu?

rendum onnuthanunga... kozhappureengale

30th December 2009, 05:07 PM
[tscii:198552c875][/tscii:198552c875]Old interview of Mani Ratnam. A good read (http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/fr/2002/04/12/stories/2002041201050100.htm)

His recent honest endeavour, "Kannathil Muthamittal", has not received the kind of response it deserves. But Mani Ratnam takes it in his stride, as he reveals in this unusual interview with GOWRI RAMNARAYAN, wherein he answers queries from celebrities in the film world.

MANI RATNAM has no film school training. But he is acclaimed for his individual style, social awareness and original treatment of themes from the explosive ("Bombay", "Dalapati") to the tender ("Alaipayudhey"). He brought Western sophistication and tempo to deal with essentially Indian themes. He is one of the few mainstream filmmakers who has centrestaged the child ("Anjali", "Kannathil Mutthamittal"). Critics fault him for commercialising serious issues in the popular mould, but cannot deny that he has brought national recognition to Tamil cinema.

The Hindu: What is your reaction to the charge that in your attempt to be visually savvy, you sacrifice the story and replace smooth narration with episodic structure?

To make a film visually interesting is not a sin! That's what everybody should be doing. I can't be blamed if others don't use the visual in the same way! The idea is not to make the visual dominant, but to craft a suitable visual form for your story. Look at how this makes a ``Nayakan'' different from an ``Agni Nakshatram''. A senior director once said that Bharatiraja's ``16 Vayadhinilae'' scored because it was made in colour. As if colour alone was responsible for the total impact! The charge you mention is just as ridiculous. I feel that in Tamil cinema there's a wrong kind of emphasis on the story. To me the story is merely a vehicle for the theme it underlines, along with many other elements, an excuse to make what you want to make. The less story you have the better. Some themes even demand a documentary style of piling incident upon incident. Pieces of life put together can become lyrical. In ``Udhiri Pookkal'' the scattered images made fantastic poetry...

Shyam Benegal: You were accomplished in cinematic grammar from the start. How did you get the Tamil audiences (habituated to theatricality, histrionics and rhetoric) to transcend conventional ways of looking at cinema?

The credit for weaning the audience away from theatricality goes to predecessors like Sridhar, K. Balachander, Bharatiraja and Mahendran. Balu Mahendra broke new ground with his sense of composition, movement, balance and aesthetics. To see ``Mullum Malarum'' (shot by him) was to realise how zooms can be caressing, how vital composition and lensing can be, how shooting 35mm with a slightly reduced form can give the film a wide screen impact. I remember one sequence in Balachander's ``Apoorva Ragangal''. The shadow of the woman upstairs drying her hair falls across the path of the rebellious young man sneaking out of the house. It is enough to stop him. This scene could have been dramatic, with lot of dialogue. Instead you get a silent visual. Such moments have gone unnoticed because they have been part of other things.

Also, parallel cinema's minute attention to authenticity and detailing — in visual, sound, cinematography, art, costume, lighting, character, realistic performance — have had a tremendous impact on mainstream cinema. When I first made a period film I knew there was a ``Bhumika'' before me, a benchmark.

K. Balachander: In present day mainstream productions music has taken away the credibility of cinema and the genuineness of the medium. Is music an inevitable evil in Indian cinema? Who is responsible for the extreme use and abuse of music?

In Indian cinema the music comes from the same oral tradition which inspires all our arts. It may seem forced to a Westerner but we have all grown up with it. I don't think we are using or misusing music more than we have done before. I decided that I'd not be ashamed of song sequences but use them to my advantage. I do them to entertain myself as much as the audience. You have to build these sequences into your screenplay, and at a point where it will give you the pause you want, lift a moment or emotion, provide a link or a leap. It's a licence to transcend dramatic logic, use abstraction. Don't you do that in literature? If using songs makes it easier for people to grasp what I'm doing I don't mind using that language. Think of it as a compromise — or as a method of communicating.

Sreekar Prasad: When you first came on the scene what you produced was so new that it was really experimental cinema, which was also commercially successful. But now are you taking enough risks to be creative, or do you play it safe? What are your current goals — I mean, what next Mr. Mani Ratnam?

(Laughs) At first all you want is to make a film. You have something to say. If it happens to be something new and different, fine. But going to Cannes is not my goal. Commercial success is not a bad word! If I'm dealing with a serious issue I must do it in a language that is understood by the people around me. What I'd like to do — whether I'll achieve it or not I don't know — is to communicate and still retain sensitivity. Fantastic films are being made in the world. You get inspired and say the limit is THERE! Take two steps in that direction and you are happy. But you want to do that taking the people along with you.

``Iruvar'' was really about idealism when you are young and fresh, you have nothing, and nothing to lose; you get corrupted as you become successful. At some point you switch off and ask, what happened to my idealism? You move on but you have to constantly look back to see where you want to go. Is this the kind of film I want to do? I'm trying to grow. To be very honest with you the film I shot last was as tough to shoot as the first. Then I was struggling to find a way to bring the qualities I appreciated in the films I had seen into my work. I still struggle, I still don't know how to do it, I grope, I try to do it better.

I don't know whether my fear of failure is greater now. I want to ensure we have a chance to make better films. You try something different. It fails. That stops not only you but others too from attempting something different. So what you do has to be positive, push film-making in that direction. If you're making a slightly sensitive film it should bring in more sensitive cinema into the field. I shouldn't close the doors — to myself and to others!!

Vairamuthu: What is the role of the lyric in your film?

The lyric need not replicate the emotion or situation. I want it to be a lateral extension, a counterpoint to the visual and dialogue, or an abstract form of what the visual is saying, and vice versa.

Mammootty: In the present day climate of magnifying everything to reach the masses, do you feel you need not just technical excellence but technical terrorism? And can you make a film on violence without showing even a trace of violence?

(Laughing heartily) If you read a book and say the English is good, it doesn't say much about it. Technique is just one element in film-making, along with the screenplay, music, rhythm, symbolism and performance. If the film is interesting enough people forget the technique and watch it. The crucial thing is to create that magic. Avoiding violence is not my objective in making a film. Look at the newspaper or TV, you have violence everywhere, why shy away from it in cinema?

Buddhadeb Dasgupta: Indian cinema has given us great masters. Why did Tamil cinema have to wait so long to get a Mani Ratnam for national recognition? Also, isn't it time to do something more lasting, bring more sensitivity to your images?

National recognition has nothing to do with what we do here but with what people see. The fact that they were not open to seeing ``16 Vayadhinilae'' can't be held against the maker of the film.

It's just that ``Roja'' and ``Bombay'' dealt with issues closer to them ... got translated into Hindi. If I get anywhere near what Mahendran did in ``Udhiri Pookkal'' I'll be a happy man. Sensitive images...? I'm trying...all the time... Let me see if one day...

Adoor Gopalakrishnan: I expect a lot more from you. After all, you got the best performance from Mohanlal to date. What I miss in your films is the feel of something essentially Tamil. Why, when you start off with the real thing, do you get straitjacketed into the routine?

I'm trying to do something better while staying within mainstream cinema, between the two worlds. You ask me why I can't step out and do something different. Maybe I can. I don't know how well I can do it. Some day I'll try. (Reflectively) Coming to think of it I didn't know how well I could handle popular cinema when I started...(chuckling) I still don't know how well I'll do whatever I do next.

Bala: With ``Kannathil Mutthamittal'' for the first time you have made a sincere, honest film. How do you feel when it is rejected by the same masses, which applauded those films in which you had made compromises?

True, ``Kannathil Mutthamittal'' has the least amount of balancing. I thought its emotional track was enough for communication. That doesn't mean there's no honesty behind ``Bombay'' or ``Roja"! Nor do I think this is better cinema because there's less compromise here in your terms. I don't want to do something relevant to our times just to feel I have made good cinema. It's much more satisfying to share that emotion with the common man. If I have not done that very well this time or any other time then I should improve.

Sujata: How do you feel when some films are criticised just because you are Mani Ratnam, without acknowledging their true merits?

When I go to see Balachander's work I have expectations that I wont have with a newcomer. Audiences will have the same attitude when they I come to see my work now. I'm not saying that it is easy to take criticism. The ideal thing is to make your film and get away! But if the critic is knowledgeable and unprejudiced, then it's always an input. With emails and websites the number of critics has grown enormously. Everyone who sees the film can criticise it. You are a lot more accessible now, people can reach you and say you've made an excellent or a terrible film. You learn to cope with both.

Manisha Koirala: How do you work on your characters and their relationships? Where does the sensitivity come from?

You do it in stages, involving the writer, actor, director and editor. The idea of a story comes with a glimpse of the characters. There's more clarity when you write the dialogue. But a character takes shape only with a person performing at a certain space. Ilaiyaraja has the score perfectly conceived — it merely needs execution. Rahman has a sketch, he guides performers through it, and gets something extra from them. He treats everyone as an artiste. Creativity can be anywhere in that spectrum. I'm somewhere in between! Sensitivity? If it's not in the seed it can't be in the tree. It's based on your value system, background, the people around you, what moves you in life, literature, cinema... You pick things out of anywhere, unconsciously, it takes a certain form in a particular characterisation.

Karan Johar: I loved ``Dil Se'' immensely but do you think that the language was a deterrent to its commercial success? Would you attempt mainstream Hindi cinema again?

The mistake was in the script, not in the language. It was as easy or as difficult to make that film as any other film. If you don't know the language you trust the actors a bit more... which is probably all for the better. I will definitely make another film in Hindi if I have something, which I think will work well in that language.

30th December 2009, 06:17 PM
Nalla intree :clap:

30th December 2009, 06:23 PM
Nice answer to buddhadeb's ignorance.
Chappai questions from vm, garan jogar.
Good question from adoor and well answered too.

30th December 2009, 06:38 PM
this article never bores u - very insightful of Maniratnam, the master's vision of filmmaking and peep into who his masters were really:

To make a film visually interesting is not a sin! That's what everybody should be doing. I can't be blamed if others don't use the visual in the same way! The idea is not to make the visual dominant, but to craft a suitable visual form for your story. Look at how this makes a ``Nayakan'' different from an ``Agni Nakshatram''.

I feel that in Tamil cinema there's a wrong kind of emphasis on the story. To me the story is merely a vehicle for the theme it underlines, along with many other elements, an excuse to make what you want to make. The less story you have the better. Some themes even demand a documentary style of piling incident upon incident. Pieces of life put together can become lyrical. In ``Udhiri Pookkal'' the scattered images made fantastic poetry...

brilliant answer!

The fact that they were not open to seeing ``16 Vayadhinilae'' can't be held against the maker of the film. If I get anywhere near what Mahendran did in ``Udhiri Pookkal'' I'll be a happy man. Sensitive images...? I'm trying...all the time... Let me see if one day...

infact it was this interview that made me watch a lot of BR films again......and look at his admiration for Mahendran :bow: .......

Adoor Gopalakrishnan: I expect a lot more from you. After all, you got the best performance from Mohanlal to date. What I miss in your films is the feel of something essentially Tamil. Why, when you start off with the real thing, do you get straitjacketed into the routine?

apram enna paa - panjayathhu over.....Adoor-e sollittaaru......

Bala: With ``Kannathil Mutthamittal'' for the first time you have made a sincere, honest film. How do you feel when it is rejected by the same masses, which applauded those films in which you had made compromises?

i dont know if it was put across by Hindu improperly or Bala himself told this

That doesn't mean there's no honesty behind ``Bombay'' or ``Roja"! Nor do I think this is better cinema because there's less compromise here in your terms. I don't want to do something relevant to our times just to feel I have made good cinema. It's much more satisfying to share that emotion with the common man. If I have not done that very well this time or any other time then I should improve.

nethhi adi :clap:

30th December 2009, 06:59 PM
Nice to re-read. Thanks LM.
Agni Natchathram paththi innum konjam pEsirukkalaam.

Was watching some parts of Yuva yesterday. It is my humble submission that AE was better. The performances are far better.

Devgn (the artist formerly known as Devgan) was the definition of bland -with cool aspirations. Surya edhirpALargaL idhai oru thadvai paathuttu uNdiyalai kudunga.

Enough and more has been written about 'Lallan'. It's no great shakes. IMO Madhavan was more impressive.

Two scenes:
Trilok asks his sister to stand in the election
Minister meets Michael scene.
Michael and co. threaten Lallan's brother
"infininitely dense matter" scene

It was as if a good scenes from an original had been remade by a lesser director. Edgy acting, timing miss, quite unimpressive.

Most important grouse was that Om Puri was not a patch on BR.

"naan dhaan selvanaayahem...amaicharu" :clap:

31st December 2009, 09:30 AM
Devgn (the artist formerly known as Devgan) was the definition of bland -with cool aspirations. Surya edhirpALargaL idhai oru thadvai paathuttu uNdiyalai kudunga.

i love pasta with mushroom sauce, do you? :wink:

It was as if a good scenes from an original had been remade by a lesser director. Edgy acting, timing miss, quite unimpressive.

hmm, need to revisit yaa.......Yuva dialogues were written by Kashyapji and he is no less to Sujatha IMO.........but i do understand what you are hinting at - i felt the same after watching Saathiya......

31st December 2009, 09:38 AM
PR, naan erkanave solliyirukken, AE is better than Yuva-nu. You are right on all counts there, including one on Surya. I agree Surya is waaaaayyyy better than whatsisname.

31st December 2009, 09:41 AM
Rakesh, here's wishing you a much much better 2010 :cheer:

31st December 2009, 09:43 AM
Thanks, NOV. Same to you. Athan, angga wish panniyache :D Thanks anyway.

31st December 2009, 09:45 AM
PR, naan erkanave solliyirukken, AE is better than Yuva-nu. You are right on all counts there, including one on Surya. I agree Surya is waaaaayyyy better than whatsisname.

indha criteria-la paatha, all tamil actors including jai akash are better than all indhi actors including Irfan Khan.....im sure there is a urge to see "tamil acting" in indhi actors which leaves you disappointed.....im not saying, indhi actors are by default good or that is the right way to acting but i just feel we tend to read them with our own criterias....