View Full Version : MY POEMS AND WRITINGS....Some food for thought .!!

Hemant Trived1
9th April 2005, 10:34 AM
Chief among my interest in earlier years had been writing and reading. Poetry was and is still my passion. I would post some works as and when I can . Hope it would goad me into writing more.

Hemant Trived1
9th April 2005, 11:22 AM
Our Forum is like a Banyan tree
Where people come and feel free
To sit and talk of future unknown
Talk of time which's coming or gone.

They talk of God and ways to reach,
Holy men bring up gospels and preach.
Some come from far and some from near
Everyone finds a sympahthatic ear.

Their hopes are high and spirits low,
Everyone's eager to be happy and grow.
Here is the place where they'll surly find,
People, friends and kins who are kind.

Some may want to learn and earn,
some may want their bad times to turn.
Some may be laughing and some may cry,
But people never cease to try.

Here they'll find a friend or a guide,
A hope for their times to turn a tide.
A helping hand and a welcome smile,
Will greet you my friend, sit here a while.

This is our great Banyan tree my friend,
Don't worry,be happy come near and stand,
Give us your hand, together we will stand,
To weather the storms holding hand in hand.

-Hemant

9th April 2005, 02:07 PM
Very true! Nice poem!

Hemant Trived1
9th April 2005, 03:27 PM
Thanks PP,

coming from the master of English Language, I feel honoured.

Hemant Trived1
10th April 2005, 11:16 AM
Sun is setting slowly.
The evening air is laden with
The remnants of scattered sounds
of children running
around the corridors
of nearby school.
Those are the happy sounds.
Much opposite of the ones
when they walked in the school.

The soul , is now able
to feel approaching
Freedom for myself.
The load of the baggage carried
all my life
Is being thrown away soon.
Journey to unknown
is what I am looking for
with eager heart.
Soon the hospital bed will be vacant
The waves in the monitor
will soon be a straight line.
Let it be after the sunset.
O lord..!!

Hemant Trived1
11th April 2005, 01:08 PM
Dear friends,
Some of my Haikus are being posted today.

LONLINESS

My lonliness stays in this
Room made of nothingness whose walls are
Guarded by crowd of memories.

DEATH OF A GIRL CHILD

Tearful mother crushed small mouth
Firmly to her milk oozing breast and
The girl child was dead

INNOCENCE

where did my innocence go
When I came to know the difference
Between the right and wrong?

11th April 2005, 02:36 PM
Wonderful Haiku's..!

11th April 2005, 03:11 PM
Deep & soul-stirring!

Hemant Trived1
11th April 2005, 06:44 PM
Dear RR and PP,

I would reply your kind words with a haiku.

MY POEMS ARE.......

Every moment of unbearable pain
assumes the body of words of anguish
with torrents of silent tears

11th April 2005, 07:44 PM
Is this real tragic expression( may God forbid!) or poetic imaginary expression? :?

Hemant Trived1
11th April 2005, 10:17 PM
Hello PP,

If you have felt the pains,
If you have experienced
A catch in your throat
After reading my poetry,
Then you would know
That my poems
Have been written
In a torrent of expressions
Not easy to bear.
Because they speak of
Eons of pains
This soul has suffered
Seeing tormented world
All around .

Pain is pain,
I suffer or someone suffers.
How can I seperate "I" from "you"?

Hemant Trived1
11th April 2005, 10:39 PM
DEATH OF WOMANHOOD

The velts on the battered body
Were crimson red.
Tears had dried down.
Cracked lips no more did
Tremble out of fear and pain.

For the body no more knew pain.
Other than the hunger
which burned her innards.
Parched throat could only
Utter hoarse sounds of plea.

Now she constantly pleaded
Not for freedom , but
For food and water.
The locked dark silent room
Was witness to her gradual"Breaking"

She had resisted
All threats, punishment
And sleeplessness till now.
But the hunger broke her will.

When the door opened this time
She traded her womanhood
For a glass of water
And a plate of food.

And another prostitute
was created by men.

Hemant Trivedi

12th April 2005, 12:59 PM
Really tragic!

12th April 2005, 05:27 PM
My heart doth now become leaden
With aches and pains gets laden
When hearing news that are sordid
Evil deeds of creatures too horrid
Demons and monsters in stories read
Come alive to wreck lives unhindered
With their fangs and claws so hideous
And wicked to harm in ways insidious

When heavy sadness fills my heart
To some pleasant memories I resort
The happy carefree childhood days
Of fun, frolic and friendly plays
Beaches, flowers, hills and dales
Any scenery that my heart regales
Little favours that life brings
And a lot of my favourite things

Those little acts of my kindness
Deeds of tact and thoughtfulness
That brightened a worried face
And emboldened to run the race
Unflinching always in my duty
Guarding the kin with loyalty
To gather knowledge my thirst
And to share it was I first

Let the ugly face of life recede
Let me only the bright spots heed
Unknown are the ways of Providence
In its kindness have I confidence
A branch is not destined to carry
Fruit bunches that are too heavy
No grudges and ill-will I keep
A soft pillow I have to sleep

Hemant Trived1
12th April 2005, 08:26 PM
Dear PP,
Very nice poem.
The reality, however is very over powering.
My thoughts on what you wrote are expressed in following Haiku.

"How far can you run
In the face of stark reality that
Holds truth in its jaws ??"

Hemant

Deep_Secrets
13th April 2005, 11:55 AM
:cry: ..they are so beautiful, Mr. Trivedi

13th April 2005, 12:32 PM
As I have seen Life
--------------------

Life in all its splendour appears to me like a stream!
People are no people. they are Salmons it might seem.
Everyday the flow is upward while the stream flows down
Someone else's challenge today is tomorrow our own.

Seen someone lose their way and fall prey to their fears.
Seen someone who rather appear calm like the old seers.
Seen someone who cling on to the rocks tired to continue.
Seen someone who take the plunge and come up as New.

Early days were fun and frolic making a huge splash.
Sad that those days didn't last, having gone by in a flash.
Present days are spent in planning for the next (water)fall
Because it is the words of the wise that guides one and all.

Tears and sweats of toil have rolled on but none can see.
spears of hunters(thieves) and nets of fishermen(cheats) evaded to be free.
Friends have given up saying this journey(through life) is of no use.
There exists a calmer water upstream, my progeny shall tell the news!

Deep_Secrets
13th April 2005, 12:52 PM
Did you write that, JG? :) Very insightful...

It is very true what it says. What I gathered is that humanity is going in the wrong direction and coming face to face with sufferings and challenges that they are no match for,.. because of their own mistakes... the result is giving up on life... :) Some fight back, some don't and those ones lose.

13th April 2005, 01:47 PM
Thanks DS!
I managed to write it after some effort !! :D
The original inspiration for some portions of the poem is a novel by Richard Bach.

Hemant Trived1
13th April 2005, 02:44 PM
wonderful effort Jaiganesh, Salmon and Humans ....very fine portrayal of efforts to preserve continuity of the race.

I think best way to present the 2nd verse is,

Seen some lose their way and fall prey to their fears.
Seen some who rather appear calm like the old seers.
Seen some who cling on to the rocks too tired to continue.
Seen some who take the plunge and come up as New.

Just my though perhaps.

Plese post some more.

Hemant

13th April 2005, 03:00 PM
Thanks Trivediji!
It does sound better with your suggestion.
I will try to post as often as possible. BTW your poem on the hub was very good. I enjoyed it and felt very much the same about the hub.

Hemant Trived1
13th April 2005, 03:11 PM
Dear Friends,

People think that I am a tragic poet, let me hasten to
tell you that I am made of a lot of different stuff.
Let me present you all with something very different.

GOD'S GIFT

God took the crimson hue
Of rising sun From the Horizon,
And put the shyness of
A fawn on her cheeks'

He took the twinkle of stars
Of which dreams are made,
And Bright bolt of lightening to
Put in her long lashed eyes.

Next he took the crests of
Playful and snow white
Warm summer sea waves
To adorn her innocent bosom.

He stole the heady musk
From the deer and
Sheen of shining pearls
And anointed her body.

God then borrowed the
Sound of tinkling bells
And mixed with some mischief
And put it in Her laughter.

He took the pink colour of roses
And a little kohl
He mixed it with honey
And smeared it on her lips.

Last he took a little dark secret
From his creation of universe
And lovingly hid it under her belly.
For the mother of future.

Then he opened the door
To send off her childhood
And let her Youth in.
Today she became sixteen

13th April 2005, 03:17 PM
Good one Trivedi ji!
I was reminded by a fatalist poem in thamizh on the same subject. True, that there exists two ways of looking at things, the serious and melancholic way (remember the solitary reaper?) and the cheerful way (Daffodils). A good poet is able to toggle between both these points of view to arrive at a proper context.

13th April 2005, 03:36 PM
On the beach I sit for hours entranced
Seeing how the world around me danced

A feast of cheerful sights and sounds
The spice of life's variety here abounds

Kids squealing in joyous laughter
The elders only happy to run after

Lovers are transported to paradise
The surroundings lost to their eyes

This thread is relly very inspiring and challenging to one's poetic inclination! Thanks to Hemant Trivedi!

Friends gathered to forget their care
Breathing in the freshness of salty air

Fun and entertainment for all ages
Even fortune-telling parrots in cages

The kaleidoscopic scenes make me wonder
Making my harrowed mind cease to ponder

Lost in a state of blissful reverie
A magic eraser rubs my memory

I feel not the fine sand in my palm
Dripping through in celestial calm

Hemant Trived1
13th April 2005, 04:09 PM
WOW , !!
Good one PP

13th April 2005, 04:17 PM
Good One PP madam!

13th April 2005, 06:31 PM
Thanx, HT & JG! :D

The uniqueness of salmon's spawning habit has been used as a clue to solving the mystery in one of Robin Cook's novels. Quite interestingly it has raised some philosophical thoughts here!

14th April 2005, 09:28 AM
Hi PP madam!
I have read that novel. I think it is "Acceptable Risk". The crux of the novel is about a scientific cure to longevity and stopping the old age from coming. It had an interesting premise.

14th April 2005, 01:01 PM
Yes, you are right, JG! Cook's novels invariably make me shudder at the callous acts he exposes happening in the name of research in ultra modern labs and hospitals. :?

14th April 2005, 02:17 PM
Of late his writings have lost their sheen. The last I read was "Abduction" and was clearly disappointed with it.

Hemant Trived1
14th April 2005, 02:36 PM
I am presenting you with THREE HAIKUS,

Punishment

Then God passed his sentence.
"You'll suffer imprisonment till your last breath ".
And thus "I" was born.

Sounds

Now scything sound of silence
And moments dashing against eternity of nothingness,
Torments my blissfully sleeping dreams.

Lonliness

My paper is now lonely,
As thoughts have gone out with feelings
On a long long picnic.

Hemant Trivedi

14th April 2005, 06:03 PM
Again you relapse into sadness, sir! :cry:

Hemant Trived1
14th April 2005, 08:24 PM
Hello PP Ma,

Only when incense burns itself,
And rose is crushed for its oil
The fragrence spreads all around

Hemant

14th April 2005, 09:43 PM
Softly do blossom flowers fair
And float fragrance in the air
Silently do the fruits ripen
No effort taken to happen
Happiness can here be born
wiyhout hearts getting torn

Hemant Trived1
14th April 2005, 11:17 PM
HAPPINESS

Happiness is a dewdrop
which can't quench your thirst.
It comes but does not last.
It glides off your life
Like a raindrop on a leaf.

Happiness is a straw in the wind,
No one knows where it will land.
Sometimes I feel that
Happiness is a curse.
All along you are without it
Like parched earth.
When it comes like rain,
It mucks you up.

Like a rainbow,after a storm it will come.
I will just see it without feeling it.
Why should I then wait for it?

To hell with everything
Still I will wait for it.!!

15th April 2005, 08:21 AM
Happy moments do fleet
Left memories so sweet
Can ever in glee drench
When miseries wrench
A ripe mellowed heart
Carry to a world apart

Hemant Trived1
15th April 2005, 06:04 PM
Dear Friends,
I have coined a new term today.
Any Haiku written about IT industry will be known as ITKU .

ITKU #1

"IT" is a problem !!

My computer is in Love
With an young, slim Notebook from Japan,
Refuses to take any input. :huh:

Hemant

temporary sori-Observer
16th April 2005, 05:39 AM
Hello PP Ma,

Only when incense burns itself,
And rose is crushed for its oil
The fragrence spreads all around

Hemant
Hemantji, :( :(

malligai
17th April 2005, 12:08 PM
//IT" is a problem !!

My computer is in Love
With an young, slim Notebook from Japan,
Refuses to take any input. // -----hahaha, Hemant, thats a cute one :D ..Keep going!!

Hemant Trived1
18th April 2005, 02:45 PM
Thanks Mallaigai,

I am posting another ITKU.

ITKU#2

My computer is slowly dying,
IT has lost all IT's inner Drives .
Only chants, RAM,RAM,RAM :cry:

Hemant

Hemant Trived1
21st April 2005, 07:24 PM
Hello Friends,
Today I am posting something which will make you really think.

Difference Between Heaven & Hell

"Before you are put in right place,
I will take you to Heaven and Hell."
God told me with mischief in his voice..

First to The Hell we went.

It was a beautiful garden
With lovely music touching the soul.
Beauty was everywhere.

I saw all beings there .
In front of them,
The plates were full
Of Heavenly Food and fruits,
Fit for Gods.
But they could not bend their hands
As there were rigid spoons
In place of Hands.

They were all fighting and angry.
They had sunken stomachs .
Everyone was crying
"Please feed me"
I am hungry,
I am thirsty.

I could not bear to hear their rants,
I told with sadness in heart.
"Let's go to Heaven and see.

It was a beautiful garden
With lovely music touching the soul.
Beauty was everywhere.

I saw all beings there.
In front of them,
The plates were full
Of Heavenly Food and fruits,
Fit for Gods.
But they could not bend their hands
As there were rigid spoons
In place of Hands.

Yet they were all Happy
And in state of bliss.
They had empty food plates in front of them.
I asked "God please tell me
The difference between Heaven and Hell,
You have given same things
To every being in Both places.

All beings in both places
Have wooden spoon in place of hands.
Still Beings in Heaven,
Are blissful and happy!!
And ones in the Hell are tormented!!

God said,
"Son, there is no difference
Between Heaven and Hell.
Beings in Hell are trying to eat
with the wooden spoon hands.
They can't put morsels in their own mouth,
And hence they are hungry since ages.

Where as Beings in Heaven
Are feeding each other.

If you live for yourself,
You go to Hell.
If you live for others,
You come to Heaven."

Hemant

21st April 2005, 08:46 PM
I have already read this somewhere! :D

Hemant Trived1
21st April 2005, 10:14 PM
Hello PP,

Yes, when I was about seven years old, I had read this story in a religious magazine published from Varanasi. Mostly it was known as Kalyan.

I remembered this story after many years and put it in simple format.

How profound is the meaning.!!

Hemant Trived1
23rd April 2005, 06:42 PM
Hello Friends,

I can't but help penning down what comes naturally in a torrent.

Wait For Freedom

Now I know that God has put
My life in tears.
with every cry and drops
Of life running down the cheeks,
My freedom seems very near.

Dark sun is spreading
Its unfathomable blackness
In front of my eyes.
Soul of my very being
Seems to be dangling like
A spider from its web.
My web, My own bondage.

I am just waiting
For that gust of icy wind
Harbinger of release.
Release ? Ney... Freedom.
I am waiting
To be free from myself.

The hope is stronger
Than Nihilistic truth.
I know that the icy wind will come.
Ah...That icy wind.
Till then, I will dangle
Like a question mark
On my web.

23rd April 2005, 07:24 PM
Sir, why do you harp on the same sad note?

Hemant Trived1
23rd April 2005, 07:59 PM
Hello PP madam,
I just composed my reply to your question.

WHY I AM SAD

People ask me why I am sad,
I can't tell them what I've had
In terms of what life had to offer,
Pains is what I have had to suffer.

My heart doth wish for happy things
But my fate is like a bird with broken wings.
I do want a life of Joy and love,
But I writhe in pain like an injured dove.

You ask me why I am always sad,
Now you know why death I do not dread ?

23rd April 2005, 08:47 PM
Sir, sorry if I hurt you more! I wish you all the best, good health & happiness!

Hemant Trived1
24th April 2005, 08:42 PM
Dear Friends,
A poet understands all type of feelings more than a normal being can.
Some times a particular Feeling dominates over other feelings.
Just as there are seasons in nature, so are seasons in a poet's heart.
I am bringing something different today. This is what I wrote in the morning.

.........AND THE THE SPRING'S HERE

The sun from Horizon made a peep,
It was his duty, for, date he had to keep.
Golden rays like silken threads,
Tickled dewdrops on new grass blades.

The sonata of bird songs echoed around,
The silken sunrays had spread on ground.
The ever busy army of ants did raise,
Their antenne in salute and marched their ways.

From the yonder tree branch, a cuckoo cooed,
Honey bees flew to flowers that lured.
Sweet scent of roses was in the air
The world was waiting for that maiden fair.

Tinkling sound of anklets one could hear
When Soft padded feet of a maiden drew near.
There was a glow on her radient face,
Which put the brilliance of sun to daze.

The trees had sported a new hue of green,
The eastern sky was a crimson screen.
An unknown joy filled hearts of all,
For Spring had arrived with a clarion call.

-Hemant

24th April 2005, 09:21 PM
[tscii:963087aa18]Sir,
your verse pulsates with the throb of spring! I feel tempted to produce here a spring poem I wrote long ago!

The Curtain Rises
It has been for long an open secret-
Everybody knows it;
Never talked about aloud,
But always the main topic,
The central theme, the relished news,
Shared in hushed whispers,
Remembered with nostalgic pleasure,
Cherished with warm thoughts,
Awaited with bated suspense,
Hoped with eager joy,
This is brewing for quite some time.

Ready we are to receive the dear one,
Parted for so long, but never forgotten.
It is coming,
It is in the air,
The senses stand sharp to scent it.
The expectation, the thrill,
Stamps its foot in impatience.
Is it overdue?
Is it dallying?
Is it playing hide and seek?
No, it’s just round the corner;
The countdown has started;
The sigh of relief sits on the tip
Waiting to escape,
Hard to contain any longer.

All eyes on the conductor,
On the raised baton.
Ah! The golden moment has arrived!
At last he has waved the staff!
Joy to the world!
Thousand instruments play at once,
A grand feast of heavenly nature;
Pure mirth gushes out
In unending cascades;
Pleasure pierces out of every pore.
A host of holy notes roll out
In a symphony of ethereal beauty.

All that was still bristles-
Earth shakes off its white shroud;
Warm sun mops the frost off the air;
Happy birds hop and chirp;
Ice becomes gurgling streams;
Old and young giggle in jubilation;
All of a sudden the green unfurls
Like a magic carpet,
Dotted with myriad colours
Of teeming, fragrant flowers:
A pageantry bespeaking festivity.

An annual occurrence it is,
Repeated with unerring precision,
Prosaic in practical knowledge,
But poetic in personal experience.
Old as the world,
Young as the just born moment.
Everytime the winter curtain rises
There is ovation for the spring scene.
A special spring this sure is-
The first of a brave new millennium,
Heralding a million more springs.
Rejoice, ye brethren of the global village.

[/tscii:963087aa18]

Hemant Trived1
24th April 2005, 10:23 PM
Hello PP madam,

Only thing this man can say is,

"Simply wonderful" :clap:

I reply by three Haikus I composed now.

SPRING HAIKUS

ONE

Cocoons tear and fall aground

Butterfles spread riot of coloured wings

Thus, the spring is born

TWO

When seductively heady scented air,

Sends pain of longing in maiden's heart,

Spring is round the corner.

THREE

Inky nights of winter cold,

when they leave for the southern shores,

I get the spring fever.

-Hemant

malligai
25th April 2005, 01:26 AM
Hemant,

''DEATH OF WOMANHOOD'' is good...Yes, what u have said here is true...this is the plight of many women all over the world today...

Keep Going... :)

Hemant Trived1
26th April 2005, 11:45 AM
Death Of A Noble Soul

There was a deathly silence all around,
The speaker shed tears and said,
"What a noble soul we have lost,
All of us are orphaned now.
Who shall we look to for inspiration?

This orphange and other schools
will be Fatherless now.
He was a true father
Who showered fatherly love on you all.
So devoted was he,
To the cause of orphans,
That he never married."

So spake people one after another.

The crowd marched past the body
Of the departed servent
With wreaths in hands round
The casket which was gleaming mahogny.

There was a mound of flowers soon enough
Having shed tears
And bowing of heads
And folded hands.
The bigwigs left.

Slowly the crowd thinned,
The reporters packed their bags
And were departing last .

A girl , barely sixteen,
Inmate of the orphange
Stood at the gate with
A child in arms, looking
At people with vacant eyes.

A reporter asked the orphan girl,
"Is this your child?
She barely nodded.
"Yes"
"Who is the father who gave you
This child?"
Persisted the news man.
"He is in that room,
Dead........
Lying in the big casket."

-Hemant

26th April 2005, 11:47 AM
Oh boy!!! That was ironic!!!

Hemanthji: You are doing a wonderful job with the poems! Feeling tempted to try my hand at some too, if I could only find the time!

26th April 2005, 11:57 AM
And then there was a cloud that thought
In front of the sun I shall park, the whole world I shall make dark
But the sun shone from behind its edges
Making the cloud pretty, the subject of much poetry

26th April 2005, 12:48 PM
Wow, badri! This thread indeed is sparkling with gems of poetry! :D

Hemant Trived1
26th April 2005, 06:03 PM
Hello Badri,
Thanks for the words of encouragement. I am greatly influenced by Sharartchandra . I think my early exposure before the age of 13 to Bengali Literature has a lot to do with my poetry and stories.

Hello PP Madam,

You did not say anything towards Noble soul's demise.... :cry:

26th April 2005, 08:10 PM
Sorry, Sir! Somehow such themes dont attract me much. But I must tell you how sharply you have brought out the ignoble conduct of the "noble" soul!

Hemant Trived1
27th April 2005, 10:27 AM
Dear friends,

Due to spiritual reasons, I have renamed my food website

"NAIVEDHYAM"

And have also removed my name from that website.
This was decided last year itself.Due to the same reasons, I removed my name from all the astrology yahoo groups last year.
And I downed my astrology website for the same reasons too.

Same thing I want to do in the FORUMHUB.

The poetry author's name will be "NICHIRO"

I request moderator Mr. Raghavan to change the author's name as
" NICHIRO" in place of my name I know it might be difficult. But please do the needful.

I am withdrawing my membership with this name and also AVATAR.

Rgds

Nichiro
27th April 2005, 12:07 PM
Hello Friends,
This feels good.
Bondage of a name has been removed.
I feel lighter. :D

Nichiro

27th April 2005, 12:15 PM
Well, guess that is how the Gods must have felt after each "avatar"? :wink:

Anyway, welcome, Nichiro, and welcome back!! And continue to regale us with more cheerful poetry, now that the great burden is lifted off your shoulders!

27th April 2005, 12:17 PM
Names change, forms drop
The immortal soul journeys on
Call it this or call it that,
Does it to the name belong?

27th April 2005, 12:20 PM
The poet lives in his poetry
Does he live in his name?
His hand shall betray him each time
What can stifle his fame?

27th April 2005, 01:04 PM
[tscii:6a7b973476]Aha! A rose smells as sweet under any name, what’s in aname, asked Shakespeare, didn’t he?

But, I being not as “elite” as some, Nichiro, please tell me the meaning of this word!

Badri’s stanzas are trotting on with a good cadence and sense!
[/tscii:6a7b973476]

27th April 2005, 01:08 PM
Alas, Mrs PP that you should think
So highly of what I write
A noble heart it does seem
Praises even the trite!!!

Ouch! This habit is addictive! Hope I don't start sounding like T Rajendar and his eternally rhyming dialogues! :lol:

Nichiro
27th April 2005, 02:43 PM
Hello Badri,

I did not _stand ,

"His hand shall betray him each time
What can stifle his fame?" :?

27th April 2005, 03:30 PM
"his hand", I think, means the originality, the writer's peculiar character which is bound to show, be evident in his writings even when he writes under any other name, ie the readers shall identify the writer by his stamp, "muththtirai" and pay him his due appreciation. Let badri say if my explanation is correct.

28th April 2005, 05:00 AM
Could a professor of English ever be wrong? That is exactly what I meant. Like the hand of an artist...I actually thought of using "His Pen" but then, we don't exactly use a Pen to, ahem, "pen" our poems on the net...

That is what I meant Nichiro!

28th April 2005, 08:08 AM
Hi, badri! When did a humble housewife become an English professor? :D

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 08:48 AM
Hello PP madam,

I would reply instead of Badri as under,

METAMORPHOSIS

A worm built a cocoon,

Weathered hunger, isolation, and onlaught of seasons,

Turned into Butterfly,Like Pavalamani.

-Nichiro

28th April 2005, 09:17 AM
Well done, Nichiro!!!

To add

Does a name pin upon a person, the profession? For is not a professor she who professes knowledge, knowledge of which the humble housewife Mrs PP has in overabundance?

Thus though not a professor by profession, nevertheless, she is a professor by her own confession!

My god! What a terrible pun! What terrible rhyme!

Forgive me, they were both unintended!

Deep_Secrets
28th April 2005, 09:47 AM
PP is a living dictionary, :lol: ...Now I am thinking of keeping a thesaurus with me when I post :wink: :lol: ...

28th April 2005, 12:47 PM
My goodness! :shock: What has happened to you all! :? I thought my roasting was over! :lol: Dont make me blush! This is too much! Anyways, thanks, friends!

DS, I did want to ask you kids to keep a thesaurus also handy- a dictionary to improve your reading skills, a thesaurus to improve your writing skills! :wink:

28th April 2005, 12:49 PM
And once again, in her usual, inimitable way, the Madura Veeranganai...Mrs PP has showed her finesse!

In so gently pointing out the difference between a dictionary and a thesaurus !! :clap:

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 01:08 PM
Hi Badri,

Couldn't help but pull a fast one on you seeing your rhyming in limerics.
So I coined one for you just now.

LIMERIC DOWN UNDER

There is a boy from Tadapatri,
His name sounds like S(omething) Badri,
He now lives down under,trying poetry asunder
Though his rhymes end like Romans on a Tree.

Nichiro

28th April 2005, 01:11 PM
Hi Badri,
Couldn't help but pull a fast one on you seeing your rhyming in limerics.
So I coined one for you just now.

LIMERIC DOWN UNDER

There is a boy from Tadapatri,
His name sounds like something Badri,
He now lives down under,trying poetry asunder
Though his rhymes end like a roman on a Tree.

well Nichiro...wouldnt it sound better if it were "tearing poetry asunder" than trying??? Becos that is exactly what I am doing!!!! :lol:

Romans on a tree? :?:

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 01:21 PM
Hello Badri,

Yes, it can sound better but I thought asunder is on sides (your main job is I think Limerics :lol: )

Come on dear, I thought you will know about Romans on a Tree....!!!

Your Avtar of Obelix surely wants Romans spread on Trees or heaps instead on two legs . :twisted:

Nichiro

28th April 2005, 01:22 PM
I thought that is what you meant - about Obelix, I mean - only I wasn't sure! So few people in the Hub seemed to know about the Asterix Comics.

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 01:28 PM
Well I live on spicy food, sweets and a liberal dose of
Tom & Jerry, cartoon network and pogo.
Love Takeshita's castle .

For serious Telly, I see Discovery and Nat Geo.
Curse Kyunki/kekta serials.

Main hobby Food recipes/poetry/ prose .

28th April 2005, 01:44 PM
Wow, Nichiro! Wonderful menu you have for an enjoyable life! Not many with so discerning a palate, a pity though! :D

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 02:35 PM
Hello PP madam,

Like a schoolboy waiting for the master's words of encouragement,
I am waiting to hear from you your reaction to my Haiku on you. :lol:

Nichiro

28th April 2005, 03:36 PM
Nichiro! I like your poem very much! :D I feel flattered! :D I consider myself happy & lucky to have accomplished that metamorphosis which is in fact I desperately want all girls (in the chrysalis state)to nourish & cherish as their ambition. One of the children's tales-that of an ugly duckling( a swan mistakenly included in the brood of ducklings)which as it grows older becomes a splendidly beautiful swan. Men and women must age gracefully, fruitfully. Experiences must help to mellow them into dignified, fortified people, eager to be torchbearers to those coming behind. "Aim at the stars and you'll shoot at the tree". With my high aims I am content if I have achieved at least a little! :D Thanx, everybody for all the encouragement you give me! :D

Nichiro
28th April 2005, 07:45 PM
Hello PP madam,
I am honoured.

Nichiro.

So I will round off with a prayer,

PRAYER

God,"If I cannot move,

I'll ask for a capacity to dream,

Destination, then ,will be under my feet ."

Nichiro

Deep_Secrets
28th April 2005, 11:24 PM
My goodness! :shock: What has happened to you all! :? I thought my roasting was over! :lol: Dont make me blush! This is too much! Anyways, thanks, friends!

DS, I did want to ask you kids to keep a thesaurus also handy- a dictionary to improve your reading skills, a thesaurus to improve your writing skills! :wink:

Then change that to Thesaurus :lol: ...back when I hadn't heard of a thesaurus, I used to use a dictionary for my papers :D . Sorry I am off-topic HemantJi, ignore me and go on. Bye!

cooldude_123
1st May 2005, 10:39 AM
Death Of A Noble Soul

best poems will be found on this site...
click here http://www.earnmoneyindia.com/earn/idevaffiliate.php?id=935&curlad=&page=15

-Hemant

cooldude_123
1st May 2005, 10:45 AM
BEST POEMS OF ALL CLICK HERE (http://www.earnmoneyindia.com/earn/idevaffiliate.php?id=935&page=14)

Nichiro
1st May 2005, 08:06 PM
My pains , sadness and feelings arising out of experiences of past births, may be , flow in poetry.
Following is one penned today , written in one sitting .
Let's think.

Mother Died Young

Even in death,
Her old face looked stern.
She was considered a terror
Even by tough men
Who ran the redlight districts.
They would think twice
Before crossing her path.
It was said ,
Pimps who withheld her
Rightfully earned money
Had disappeared .

But

In "Ammijaan"as she was known
Every new victim found
A mother in her.
The girls would confide and trust her.
Her caresse on head
Or tired backs was enough
To bring instant relief and peace.

The girls felt naked
And without a friend
Now that she was dead.

"Open her Trunk" ordered the police
A trunk she would let no one touch.
For over fifty years,
She had kept this secret from all.

People and girls thought
That she had a cache
Of gold in the trunk.
People stood still
No one was breathing.
The lock gave way with
Pounding of heavy blows.

There was a bundle of clothes,
Carefully tied by a pink ribbon.
Gingerly the bundle was opened,
It contained,
Dark brown stained frock,
The stains of dried blood
Fifty year old.

It was wrapped around a
Wooden doll.
And a sepia photograph
Of a twelve year old girl
wearing the same frock,
Clutching the same doll,
Was all the trunk contained.

Nichiro

2nd May 2005, 06:46 AM
My pains , sadness and feelings arising out of experiences of past births, may be , flow in poetry.

Well Nichiro, as long as it is not the outpourings of present grief, we are relieved! For an instant, I actually thought your poems stemmed from whatever you were currently undergoing. I am sorry for being so blatant about it, but I really hoped and prayed nothing was wrong! Thanks, you have brought me peace!

But at the same time, I would also like to add that please please do not post such strongly traumatic poems on Monday mornings! Monday is when we begin our week, hoping, anticipating. Reading something like this pours a lot of cold water on our hopes and emotions. :cry:

Just a personal request. Do feel free to post more such thoughful and heart-wrenching poems on all other days of the week.

Thanks!

2nd May 2005, 07:24 AM
badri boy feels Monday blues, but PP granny grumbles on all days! :wink:

Nichiro
2nd May 2005, 08:46 AM
(Raaga- sound of Music ...
Tala..These are some of my favourite things)

Badri asked ,

Monday Blues

When its Monday my mind becomes fuzzy.
My thoughts are garbled and temper is tizzy,
I tried to drink a jug of strong black coffee.
Please Let me know what shall I do to be happy ?

Nichiro will reply after some time.

Nichiro
2nd May 2005, 06:49 PM
Dear Badri/PP Madam,

Making my statement.

SAILING ON SANDS

Your weekend results in weakened spirits,
You go on a binge and forget the limits.
When curtain of weekends falls for the week,
You look for Aspirins and pot'o coffee you seek.

On top of this you read Nichiro's poems,
They confront you like Red Indian totems.
The conscience refuses to sit down and think.
Nichiro has no work and is wasting his ink.

He talks of young girls and childhood they lost,
Of women whose boats are too far from coast.
He speaks of tears and the happiness not felt,
How can such things not let hearts to melt?

We try to forget our pains and our woes,
For people at work are always on their toes.
Bosses are bossy and the collegues not kind
All these results in getting people in bind.

But we live only for self and not for others,
Our pains , our problems we think only as ours.
Like ostrich which bury their heads in sands,
We lock the conscience and never open till end.

Out there are those girls and women who have,
No hopes for future, no love and who crave,
For freedom from hell in which they find,
Their wings are cut off and legs in a bind.

I am not a preacher, and I am not a saint
I am a person who writes their complaint.
If you want to do something, lend them your hand
Write, think and spread this message my friend

3rd May 2005, 12:18 AM
Dear Nichiro,

I have learned a lesson quite oddly today..for the time i spent studying away for finals i have learnt more so just sitting here and reading this most precious thread...Only now have i learnt of your transformation and more so the worthiness of your words of inspiration (hmm sorry really didn't mean to rhyme) I too have come upon such a sad new article...which saddened me more because i may only read of it after all that unmentionable horrible damage has been done... :cry: hence my vicious try at my last poem...

Nichiro, Madame PP, Badri et al....how wonderful your poems...i thought i'd quote the first couple then found then i would have to quote them all....every single one....let me atleast share in this prayer:

PRAYER

God,"If I cannot move,

I'll ask for a capacity to dream,

Destination, then ,will be under my feet ."

3rd May 2005, 06:16 AM
Dear Nichiro: Here's my answer

A Choice
The world is built on duality
Two appearing as one reality
Joy and Sorrow, Light and Gloom
Pain and Pleasure, Life and Doom.

Sorry is the man that wishes to see
Darkness in light and sadness in glee
For true bliss lies in our own choice
You can see the good and you can rejoice

Two eyes God gave to all creatures on Earth
One head and one heart alone, at birth
Twin eyes to see the twos of all things
One head and heart to enjoy what life brings

Rejoicing yet there is a duty to do
Which is why He gave us hands too
See the sorrows but sorrow not yourself
Help instead to fill the delf

This would be my option, sir
To dwell on joy and not on care
Hope you'd this choice too make
And the royal happy road take

3rd May 2005, 08:37 AM
[tscii:901e761293]What a wonderful thread this one of Nichiro’s continues to be! :D A perfect blend of metaphysics, poetic imagination, worldly wisdom and hopeful human aspirations. With all the wise words spoken here, let me repost 2 old poems of mine :

Two-faced
Is life a gentle, caressing breeze
Weaving through the leaves of trees?
Or a tumultuous gale with malice
Tossing the boat in rough seas?

Is life a baby’s cherubic smile,
Utterly void of craft and guile?
Or a wicked grin born in wile,
Filled with cruel venom and bile.

Is life an uplifting wind blown,
Bent on bestowing the winning crown?
Or a deadly mire pulling down,
With definite design to drown?

Does life bring joys in bundles,
Where only easy jobs one handles?
Or a bitter race of non-stop hurdles;
And a hateful animosity, it kindles?

Is life a sweet bed of roses,
Which never a harm poses?
Or a game one always loses
And every exit to escape closes?

Is life a rare delicacy
Spiced with endless variety?
Or a path of unfathomable mystery
Thorned with merciless treachery?

Life indeed is a Janus-
With a face , fair and wondrous,
And another, freakish and callous.
Oh!Lord! hide the second from us!

Life
Blooms there a bright flower-
But alas, after a short hour
Begins to droop and whither;
A turtle might for years prosper.

Whimsical as a wind passing by,
Life’s truths in deep mystery lie,
No one knows why newborns die
Or old bones for euthanasia cry.

No life on earth is without reason-
How long is not the criterion,
How well be the spirit to go on;
Be a meteor in history’s horizon.

Uncertainty is life’s certain quality,
Some want to eat, drink and be merry,
Some like birds chirp without a worry,
Some like bees build order for posterity.

Realise life’s not a yoke to bear;
Take time to stand and stare;
Drink in the goodness everywhere;
Fill your heart with joie de vivre.

Poise and benevolence in viewing
Make life a curse or blessing-
Nature holds joy for the asking:
Let love and innocence fill our being.

What a wonderful thread this one of Nichiro’s continues to be! A perfect blend of metaphysics, poetic imagination, worldly wisdom and hopeful human aspirations. With all the wise words spoken here, let me repost 2 old poems of mine :

Two-faced
Is life a gentle, caressing breeze
Weaving through the leaves of trees?
Or a tumultuous gale with malice
Tossing the boat in rough seas?

Is life a baby’s cherubic smile,
Utterly void of craft and guile?
Or a wicked grin born in wile,
Filled with cruel venom and bile.

Is life an uplifting wind blown,
Bent on bestowing the winning crown?
Or a deadly mire pulling down,
With definite design to drown?

Does life bring joys in bundles,
Where only easy jobs one handles?
Or a bitter race of non-stop hurdles;
And a hateful animosity, it kindles?

Is life a sweet bed of roses,
Which never a harm poses?
Or a game one always loses
And every exit to escape closes?

Is life a rare delicacy
Spiced with endless variety?
Or a path of unfathomable mystery
Thorned with merciless treachery?

Life indeed is a Janus-
Oh!Lord! hide the second from us!

Life
Blooms there a bright flower-
But alas, after a short hour
Begins to droop and whither;
A turtle might for years prosper.

Whimsical as a wind passing by,
Life’s truths in deep mystery lie,
No one knows why newborns die
Or old bones for euthanasia cry.

Uncertainty is life’s certain quality,
Some want to eat, drink and be merry,
Some like birds chirp without a worry,
Some like bees build order for posterity.

Realise life’s not a yoke to bear;
Take time to stand and stare;
Drink in the goodness everywhere;
Fill your heart with joie de vivre.

Poise and benevolence in viewing
Make life a curse or blessing-
Nature holds joy for the asking:
Let love and innocence fill our being.

[/tscii:901e761293]

Nichiro
3rd May 2005, 06:37 PM
Dear Friends,
From today, My New Avatar is depicted.
I have chosen the symbol as per following Haiku.

MY NEW AVATAR

I have not yet understood,
Who Am I and what am I .
I , therefor ask you God.

Nichiro :?:

malligai
4th May 2005, 05:27 AM
//Life indeed is a Janus-
Oh!Lord! hide the second from us! //--Janus??--Goddess/God??

Nichiro
4th May 2005, 02:48 PM
Hello PP Madam,

LIFE

Life....
Life is a bundle of
The unexpected
Bound together by
A single thin thread
Called
Uncertainity.

Life is
Laughter of a child
It is Sparkle in a maiden's eyes.

Life is
That Lovely burden
Of a pregnent woman.
It is shade of crimson
On eastern Horizon.

Life is a widow's tears
It is Emptiness of
Childless home.
Life is flowers on a grave,
Also blood spalttered on the road.

Life is insatiable hunger
Of name and fame.
Life is in wild
And also in tame.

Life is everywhere
It is in everything.
Life is life
In whatever way you see.

4th May 2005, 05:11 PM
Nichiro, you have depicted well the gamut of life!

Nichiro
4th May 2005, 05:59 PM
Hello Madam Coral Radience,

Compared to you, I am still a "Chinna Payyan" in composing poetry.

I just put my random view of what life is.
Your dissection of life is so thorough.

I am glad I got a spark which ignited my dormant poetry after coming to this section.
Badri Q are all great guys with such a different view points .
Thank God , I am here.

5th May 2005, 05:12 AM
[tscii:7d95ec28c9]

Life is a bundle of
The unexpected
Bound together by
A single thin thread
Called
Uncertainity.

hmm to tell you the truth i've been spending some time trying to articulate how awed i am at these lines..all i come up with is wow...[/tscii:7d95ec28c9]

Nichiro
5th May 2005, 01:49 PM
Hello Q,

Following Haiku in reply to your good words.

LIFE

Life can be summed up,
In a single word as you wrote.
A "WOW" explains it all !!

How is it ?

5th May 2005, 08:38 PM
very cute :D

as for your candyman....just shudder to think how this is a true scenario somewhere... :cry:

Nichiro
8th May 2005, 06:15 PM
Dear Friends,

This is my first ever try at Tamiz Poem,
I do not write Tamiz, I can't write.
I write what I speak in Engllish.
If I make a mistake, please have a large heart and forgive me.

Jannal Oruma.......

Moodi vittu kadhavugal,
Mudaindhuvittu kadhaigal,
Ennodu ninaivugal..
Ellam Artham Illadhu vin pechi.

Jannal valiyaghu varum katril,
Ippoddhu Vasanai illai.
Jadhi Malli chadi
Kanji pochhu.

Aaghayathil udhikkum Vennila
Oru magghi pona
panji urundai matrum dhaan.
Chanda Mama oru Shakuniya Mari vittar

Oru nodiyil
Ulaghame mari pocchuda.
Naan dhan oru paithiyum,
Indhu Jannal orama
Katrii Irukkirain.

9th May 2005, 04:25 AM
oh Nichiro must your tamil poetry be so melancholy as well?
nevertheless you have expressed yourself well
clever to use such a image of waiting at the window,
these lines are quite striking for me amongst the rest:

Jannal valiyaghu varum katril,
Ippoddhu Vasanai illai.
Jadhi Malli chadi
Kanji pochhu

9th May 2005, 06:52 AM
"oh Nichiro must your tamil poetry be so melancholy as well? "

I ask the same question Q asked :(

NM
9th May 2005, 09:04 AM
Moodi vittu kadhavugal,
Mudaindhuvittu kadhaigal,
Ennodu ninaivugal..
Ellam Artham Illadhu vin pechi
N....
Arumaiyaane beginning....... :thumbsup:
Aanaal, rombe thaan sOgum!!! :( :(
Why Pa?? :?:
Anyway, keep it up.......!

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 12:06 PM
Hello Friends,
My first ever Haiku in Tamiz is as follows.
My vocabulary in Tamiz is very limited and also my language poor.
Please correctme/help me in choosing the right words.

Tamiz Haiku #1

Uppin Vilai

Kadavul kanniril matrum uppu veithar'
Kodi Kodi yugangalil pengal vitta kanneer dhaan
Ippodhu Ezhu kadalaaga maRi vittadhu .

9th May 2005, 12:09 PM
Hello Friends,
My first ever Haiku in Tamiz is as follows.
My vocabulary in Tamiz is very limited and also my language poor.
Please correctme/help me in choosing the right words.

Tamiz Haiku #1

Uppin Vilai

Kadavul verum kanniril uppu sumaindhar,
Kodi kodi yugangalil pengal vittu kannir dhan
Ippodudhu ezu Kadala mari vittudhu.

Nichiro

Just a small suggestion:

Kodi Kodi yugangalil pengal vitta kanneer dhaan
Ippodhu Ezhu kadalaaga maRi vittadhu

Spelling and words, that is all.

So now venturing forth into Tamizh haikus too!

congrats!

9th May 2005, 12:10 PM
By the way in Kadavul verum kanniril uppu sumaindhar, what do u mean by Uppu sumaindhar?

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 12:17 PM
Hi Badri That was quick.
What I want to convey is that
God put salt only in tears.
How do you put it correctly?
Thanks for your help.
Look forward to corrected Haiku

9th May 2005, 12:46 PM
Looks like you have corrected it already and made it "veithar"

But then, kaneer is not the only thing with Uppu, dear sir!! :lol:

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 01:32 PM
If you think deeply taking the meaning of the heading, you would realise the purpose.
Agreed to your arguement,but source is one.

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 01:33 PM
If you think deeply taking the meaning of the heading, you would realise the purpose.
Agreed to your arguement,but source is one.

9th May 2005, 01:52 PM
Nichiro! Taking God to your side to see pain in the world(mainly woman's) only? :? Well, if it is your plan to submerge us in a sea of salty tears, let me warn you when the salt gets saturated it will become a Dead Sea where we cant drown! :wink:

9th May 2005, 03:20 PM
Nichiro,

Ungal kavithai miga nandraga irunthathu. Aayinum pala naatkal munnae paditha 'haikku' kaana variaarigal en nyabagathil irunthu

moondru varigalil amaiya vaendum
muthal iru varigalukku aazhntha thodarbu irukka vaendum
moondram vari mutrum thodarbatru irukka vaendum allathu oru thirupam irukka vaendum
mothamai paarkayil moondru varigalum etho oru thodarbu kondirukka vaendum

satendru thodriya oru 'haikku'

'un kannathil
en parkalin adaiyaalam
nilavil vadu'

i googled and found this page. may be iam wrong but iam giving the link anyway
http://www.toyomasu.com/haiku/#whatishaiku

sorry if i have intervened in your thread :?

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 04:09 PM
Hello Rajasaranam Avl,

Haiku which is a Japanese form of telling a lot in minimum words is a form of poetry
which is generally
5 letters
7 letters
5 letters.
These letteres were Konji form of writing which means, a single letter could convey many things apart from what it was supposed to mean.
This usage of just 5 letters of Konji script was enough.
We cannot translate the same rule in English as single word may have over ten letters.
Same thing holds true in other Indian languages.
Hence during early 60.s Gujarati poets who started Haiku movement in Gujarat, started off with 5,7,5 words usage.
I was a part of that movement in my school days where I tried both 5,7,5 letters and words forms.
Thanks for the link,
Also thanks for your kind words about my poetry which I know is very primitive.
You are most welcome any time to enter this thread.
Ellam Inba Mayam.

Nichiro

9th May 2005, 04:19 PM
thanks for welcoming me :)

i just found out there are more haiku lovers in this HUB :oops:

RR and sooriyavizhi are wriitng haiku's in other threads.
continue with your nice works :thumbsup:

Nichiro
9th May 2005, 04:48 PM
RR composes in English ?

9th May 2005, 05:16 PM
dont know:? but he composes haiku in Tamizh :)

Nichiro
19th May 2005, 07:33 PM
Hello Friends,
A poem for today's "Superman"

CONQUEROR

Standing among the dead bodies of questions
His reason of being is waiting.
Two questions have refused to die.
He has not let any sanity
Come anywhere near himself.
A wall of vaccume has
Imprisoned the conscience.

For it was taught
"Be Ruthless and Thou shalt win."
"Be alone and Thou shalt go far"
He has refused to belong,
For, relationship are dead weight.
That's what he had learnt.

Now he has only one aim,
To conquer Time.
"Will he?" "won't he ?" are the only
Two questions, he has not been
Able to kill.

Nichiro
21st May 2005, 09:27 PM
.Dear Hubbers,
A poem for child labour activists.

...And they said, children's fingers make best products

In a dingy room
Rows of children...
Very young children,
Weave coffin cloths for
their childhood ......

A childhood,
which died before they were born.
And people call them Carpets.

Same nimble fingers have
Lost sense of touch
And mechanically, now,
They roll tendu leaves
They do not fill tobacco
But each leaf roll is filled with
Their childhood.

A childhood,
Which died before they were born.
And people call them Beedies.

In an isolated factory hall,
Rows upon rows of children,
Wearly roll papers,
And fill them with
Their childhood.

A childhood,
Which died before they were born
And people call them Fireworks.

Come, let's give back their childhood,
And freedom to play and dream.

Give up with determination,
Smoke, carpets and crackers.
Each one , teach one.

Nichiro
24th May 2005, 02:40 PM
Dear Friends,
This is my first contribution in Urdu to a laudable effort in bringing people of India and Pakistan under single platform in the form of
www.chowk.com.

An artificial wall of politics is between these two nations's people.

I hope I do my mite in destroying this wall.

DEEWAR.....A poem I composed today

DEEWAR

Log kehte they ki Deewar ke oospaar,
Anjaan log rehte hain,
Bade khufnaak log hain woh.
Pith pe waar karte hain.

Ek din humein tak mili,
Diwar kudkar hum gaye oospaar.
To hamne dekha,
Ki wahan hamare jaisa hi ghar hai.

Wahi aangan,wahi khet, wahi khaliyan.
Wahi Ma, Wahi Bahan aur wahi Dost.
Wahi geet, wahi sangeet.
Wahi gham the aur wahi Khushiyan.

Ek sakhsh ko ghar ke baahar dekha.
Dekha to woh main hi tha.
Main hi dono aur rehta tha.!
To phir yeh deewar ka wazood kya tha?

Us deewar ki dono aur
woh khaufnaak santari Kaun the ?
Ek hi jaat thi magar Uniform alag the.!
Aur us deewar pe siyasat kyon karte the ?

Kuch logon ko jinhe
Hamne Mantri banaaye,
Wohi log aaj santari ban baithe hain,
Diwar ko khuda banakar.

Khudh unke bande ban firte hain,
Yeh diwar bhi badi badsurat bala hai,
Jaan khaati hai logon ki,
Khoon piti hai pyaas buzaane.

Diwar ke thekedaaron ne,Sab ke,
Jeene marne ka intezaam kar rakha hai.
Santari sab Insaaniyat kha chuke hain,
Aur Diwar Insaano ko khati hai.

Koi muze batao,o mere humdum,
In darindo ka kya karen?
Jinhon ne Diwar ke naam par
Siyasat ki kilein gaadi hui hai?

Khud to diwar ke naam par Apana aashiyana
Banate hain,aur dono aur se Main,
Is khun ki pyasi Diwar mein
Dhire dhire Jinda chuna jaata hun.

Nichiro

Nichiro
25th May 2005, 05:06 PM
Dear Friends,

I have chosen to be dormant from now on.

Nichiro

Nichiro
6th January 2006, 03:23 PM
Dear friends,
I am doing a new experiment today.
I have composed Bi-Lingual poem using Haiku meter. Hope you would give your frank opinion.
The Tamiz language used here is colloquial.

"STILL BORN"

She brought forth her child
With last heave to her tired womb.
"Indhu saniyan pombale pulle petthiiruukka" Achi cried.

The shout rang in darkness,
Tearful eyes wanted to see first newborn
And sing her first lulleby.

Her thighs were still quivering
Blood soaked,child with her umbellical chord
Hung upside down dripping blood.

"Itthe enna cheiyaunum?chollu Ma "
"Indhaa aiyinoor rupa," Achi said with contempt
seiya vendidhu sei...puranjadha?"

Midwife, gave the last look,
Pressed the struggling newborn's nose and mouth
Soon the feeble movements ceased.

A shallow pit was dug.
Bundle of flesh who was a girl,
Was buried. Declared "still born"

Nichiro

6th January 2006, 06:24 PM
Like college students & many educated people carrying on conversation in Tanglish? Sounds natural, but wonder what "purists" have to say?

Nichiro
6th January 2006, 06:38 PM
Like college students & many educated people carrying on conversation in Tanglish? Sounds natural, but wonder what "purists" have to say?

I am least concerned about "Purists".
You tell me PP madam., what are your reactions ??

6th January 2006, 06:59 PM
A poem poignant with your characteristic anger at such injustices poured in your characteristic style!

Nichiro
6th January 2006, 08:13 PM
A poem poignant with your characteristic anger at such injustices poured in your characteristic style!

Mitka Nandri !!

shambhavi
8th January 2006, 05:28 PM
[tscii:60fa6f87c7]respected hubbers may i post a poem of mine on the divine mother-
The curse of being Infallible

Have you ever felt a longing that leaves you breathless?

Have you felt a craving that drains your core?

Have you felt the pain of separation slicing you like a saber?

Have you endured the misery of being surrounded by everyone yet being

alone?

Have you wandered like a lost traveler, stumbling, knowing only your

destination but not the way to it?

Have you experienced a self loathing so great, that eats away your soul

when you realize how worthless you are?

Have you ever experienced the travails of birth and of this fearful

existence that hands you pain and pleasure like blows, leaving you

confused?

O Mother when you who are beyond all embodiment have experienced

none of my suffering perhaps that is why you don’t hasten to engulf me
[/tscii:60fa6f87c7]

8th January 2006, 05:51 PM
shambhavi, you can start a new thread and post your poems in it. Your command of the language is great & the feelings strong!

shambhavi
8th January 2006, 06:50 PM
thank you maam the only thing is that most of my poems are on the divine mother, so is it ok if i post them? reading some of the truly breathtaking poetry of the others i was inspired to write another hope you enjoy it-
MISERY
I look around to find a friend all that I see are a thousand corpses
I yearn to hold a hand pulsating with warmth all that I see is my own decayed to the bone
I look upto the skies hoping to be overwhelmed by a blue so beautiful
The sky has darkened and threatens to erupt like a long dormant volcano
And then the rains lash out, I seek protection but refuge is nowhere in sight.
Despair, agony and fear vie for supremacy; to feel so alone
This I fear is my vision of universal misery

8th January 2006, 09:14 PM
Of course, you do write excellently. Still, whatever your theme, topic, let them be same or various, you will be better appreciated if you continue a thread of your one like eveybody else. This thread you have chosen is Nichiro's(aka Hemant Trivedi). If you like interaction you can continue from the last word of "kavithaikku kavithai..." thread regardless of whatever theme the last writer as written about.

Nichiro
8th January 2006, 09:57 PM
Shambhavi,
Your subject matter and language are excellent.
Try using less words and convey more.
Mother, Motherhood and Girl child along with infanticide(Girls only) are my themes and they come out of deepest corner of my heart.
You are a woman hence you should be able to do a good justice to Divine Mother subject.
After all, You are,
"Shambhavi, Shardaradhya Sharvani Sharma Dayini"
Nichiro

shambhavi
9th January 2006, 12:21 AM
thank you all so much, as nichiro sd these words are all that i feel, i dont understand what thread means as i am new pls explain. and i write about the divine mother as i feel most for her. i also think that i feel strongly about pain for its most potent to the person suffering the rest of the people can only compare to it but never truly understand how searing it is, i really like nichiro's haiku they are very thought provoking. i hope i am making sense :)

shambhavi
9th January 2006, 12:24 AM
here is another poem that i wrote 2 days back i know my hteme is repetitive its just that i feel that all my words are transformed when i talk about Her like iron in contact with the philosophers stone
MAY I SEE ONLY YOU IN AL MY HAPPINESS AND IN ALL MY SADNESS,
You are my mother when my heart chooses to play in the garden of life.
You are all that I do, untouched by the mire of life; You alone are my innumerable foibles making a rogue out of a saint.
You alone are responsible for the penury I face; the virtues that I lack. The few that I possess are Yours giving life to this mannequin.
When all that is seen within is without and vice versa;
When the seer and seen are indistinguishable then like a droplet swallowed by the ocean whole shall I be

i haven been able to give it a title pls suggest,thx

9th January 2006, 08:29 AM
A thread is a page you can use to post your poems, thoughts, separate from the postings of others, exclusively yors where others can give their comments. To start a new thread for yourself go to "Poems/Kavidhaigal" section, click "new topic" on the top left corner, give an appropriate title & start posting & continue posting.

Nichiro
10th January 2006, 04:43 PM
Dear Friends,
A lot of people are talking of female versus male ratio and female infanticide/female foeticide.
I am posting my frank opinion as under.
Please post your comments.

STILL BORN II

Dear Girl child,
The biggest irony is,
People talk about ,
People read about ,
People discuss about ,
People debate about
The need
To prevent female Foeticide
As dinner discussion.

You come in,
When all have left
To collect the empty plates.
And clean the mess.

Tomorrow,
There will be another day,
Another discussion.
More beer glasses,
More empty plates.

And your subject,
My dear child,
Will be discarded
Like The empty
Sucked out bone,
Left for the dogs.

-Nichiro

shambhavi
10th January 2006, 07:19 PM
i definitely agree with you but i feel that we have this attitude towards most things for example any tragedy around the world may garner our heartfelt sympathy but rarely do we do anything,rather very few people really do something about it.

10th January 2006, 10:16 PM
The need of the hour is to create an awareness about the extent of damage that such a trend can do to our race. Related evils like dowry & lack of respect for womanhood should be eradicated first for tackling the problem of declining sex ratio.

Nichiro's despair & anger are well brought out. If good sense cant prevail, if sincere warnings go unheeded cajoling an insensitive population can well be replaced by cudgelling with strict, dreadful law! Fear is more powerful than wisdom!

Nichiro
11th January 2006, 10:19 PM
Hello PP Madam,
It is with great anguish I write this.
I have seen a lot of discussions taking place about female infanticide and foeticide. I posted a lot of poems in Hindi, Urdu in different fora but people just read and get along. They do not even post a comment.
It is not that they do not respond to my poetry, but it is just theat their senses are immune to hidden cry of those unborn girls.
Really it makes me so sick.

The insensitivity is so much that it one another forum, I posted some poems with this message, even though maximum participants are women, not even a single one responded.
It is pure shame that we are doing what we are doing and it seems we will continue doing it untill a miracle takes place.

I think KALKI AVATAR will not be a male but a female.
And it will not be KALKI AVATAR but KALIKA AVATAR.

Nichiro

shambhavi
11th January 2006, 11:16 PM
awareness is realy the answer to this problem buti think that we have stopped caring about anythinh that does not directly affect our happiness, i really enjoy all your poems and hope it reaches many more people. if the avatar is kalika then we shall be doubly blessed as not only will she remove our ignorance but also remove our fear and bless

12th January 2006, 08:47 AM
Yes, as shambhavi says there is a general indifference in the minds of both men & women in this materialistic age people becoming increasingly selfish & insensitive. A sort of lethargy induced by the new physical comforts. Only what directly affects them & their family seems to matter. This must change. Whoever it is, whether Kalki or Kalika, let him/her come soon!

Nichiro
18th January 2006, 08:40 PM
Dear friends,
I am on a vortex of time and space now.Following is born out of it.

MY SKY

I have carried
The weight of my sky
All along .
Now I feel
That the sky
And me are both
Alone in our company.

My Past, present
And future, bound
By a silken snake
Is adding on
To the burden.

My sky
Has refused to share
Its space with
My hopes and Aspirations.
And it has closed
All the directions.

My innerself
Is now impatient
To sever its bond
With this body
And merge with
My sky.

Let me find myself
An iota of space
Where my sky is not there,
To let go
Of my baggage.

Can I ? Will I?

Nichiro

18th January 2006, 08:51 PM
thuliyum kadalum vevERO? kaatRu adangkik kidakkaathu, adaikka mudiyaathu. parantha veliyil paraman madiyil onraakip pOkum anubavam inbamO, thunbamO aRikilEn! thaayin madi sukam, itham,Shanthi! amaithi amaithi amaithi! aarpparikkum alaikalin Osai marainthu pOkum ninaivil amaithi mattumE!

Nichiro
18th January 2006, 10:44 PM
thuliyum kadalum vevERO? kaatRu adangkik kidakkaathu, adaikka mudiyaathu. parantha veliyil paraman madiyil onraakip pOkum anubavam inbamO, thunbamO aRikilEn! thaayin madi sukam, itham,Shanthi! amaithi amaithi amaithi! aarpparikkum alaikalin Osai marainthu pOkum ninaivil amaithi mattumE!

PP madam,
How I wish I could understand Ilakkiya Tamiz. Sorry, I can't follow your writing.
Nichiro

Can you translate it please?

stranger
18th January 2006, 11:23 PM
nichiro!

your poem sounds too I-ish as if one is left alone and has nobody including the God.

Death becomes a nightmare if one is so scared of it and isolate oneself from the world and the God.

I always thought *trust or belief in God* helps one not being alone, not thinking too I-ish and not being afraid of death which is of course part of the life for EVERYONE.

Your poem and the hero's nightmare of death suggests me that I am living with a wrong notion (*trust or belief in God* helps one) ! :cool:

19th January 2006, 08:37 AM
Nichiro what stranger says is correct! Implicit faith in God, belief that he is your wellwisher must be a boost to a person's spirits giving strength to bear with grit, nay resignation, even relief & happiness anything & everything that comes along, including death!

As for my previous posting, here is the translation:
"Are the drop & the ocean different? Wind does not stay confined, cannot be confined. I dont know whether the experience of mingling with the universe, coming to rest in Father's lap is blissful or painful. Mother's lap is bliss, comfort, rest. Peace, peace, peace.Peace prevails when the din of boisterous waves fade away from consciousness."

Nichiro, this is my concept of death. I expect to feel, light, bright, hopeful, contented, relieved when the time comes for jeevaathma to unite with the paramaathmaa. Matter is indestructible, soul is eternal, memories & footprints left behind shall live on for ever!

BTW, why such black brooding about the END? I can never forget my grandma's words of comfort when I was getting for my first delivery with a lot of trepidation. She said, "It will happen as smoothly as a full ripe fruit easily coming away from the twig". And it did! I want it to be the same with my soul parting the body! If we can interpret the rustles & crackles of dried leaves under the tree we might hear their celebration, jubilation of their painless parting from the tree!

Nichiro
20th January 2006, 09:39 PM
To Be Born or Not ?

Who is afraid of Death ?
It is the life which frightens me.
If only I could choose.

-Nichiro

20th January 2006, 09:44 PM
Nichiro, excuse me for asking, are your poems personal by any chance? God forbid!

Nichiro
23rd January 2006, 07:49 PM
Nichiro, excuse me for asking, are your poems personal by any chance? God forbid!

Dear friends,
I am asking a simple question thro' my following poem.
Will people reply ?

MY SUN IS BURIED

They start their hunt
Even before I am born,
I am marked for death
From the womb I am torn.
My grave is never marked
My journey
Is of just minutes,
From womb to tomb

If they let me live,
First They remove my path
From under my feet.
Then They destroy
My destination.
My feet have nowhere to go,
I will never reach anywhere
Because I will never
Start for anywhere.

My day will never start
As they have buried my sun.
My eyes will have nothing to see
As my Sun will never light up.
And my Rainbow will have
only black colour.
What's my fault O Lord,
Are all God men ?
Why am I made
unwritten history ?
Is it because I am
just a girl child ?

Nichiro

23rd January 2006, 08:01 PM
Nichiro, Your crusade against female infanticide is admirable! But your vehement war against the culprits gives one the illusion as if the WHOLE WORLD/ALL HUMANITY is against the fair gender. There are millions of fathers & mothers who simply ADORE their girl child/children.

Nichiro
23rd January 2006, 08:31 PM
Nichiro, Your crusade against female infanticide is admirable! But your vehement war against the culprits gives one the illusion as if the WHOLE WORLD/ALL HUMANITY is against the fair gender. There are millions of fathers & mothers who simply ADORE their girl child/children.

PP madam,
In Punjab/Haryana, there are only 83 females per 100 males and yet they kill female foetuses.
I hear their silent screams and can't help but cry on their behalf.
I give sound to their screams. I want to unearth their Sun and fill colours in their rainbows in my own humble way.
Time has robbed me of my strength and many more things..A lot of pain and bitterness is left . But there is some more strength left in me to write about issues of worse pain than mine. I will keep writing . Some day, people will read what I and concerned people like me have written and do something positive.
So help me God. !!

Nichiro

23rd January 2006, 10:25 PM
Nichiro, please do continue your crusade & create the necessary awareness. No amount of strict legislations will stop this cruel practice. Only true awareness can. Even today I read in the newspaper with pain & outrage about NRI women coming from UK to India to abort their female foetuses, even after the safe period. The newspaper described horribly the crude method of the procedure under unhygeinic conditions at high risk. This is atrocious. It hurts me beyond description because I believe in the greatness of womanhood & MOTHERHOOD. This continuing trend is senseless & unbelievable & unpardonable.

shambhavi
30th January 2006, 09:41 PM
sir your poetry is truly awesome for the depth of emotion that you feel

Nichiro
31st January 2006, 01:10 PM
Shambhavi Ma,
Purpose of a poem is to touch your heart. It should carry a message and it should be easy to understand and easier still to digest.
Thanks for the good words.
Hope more people read this.
Nichiro

Nichiro
5th February 2006, 10:51 PM
Friends,
An incident that happens everyday is being depicted in my poem in the series of crimes against women.

CRIME AND PUNISHMENT

A glass door seperated
Him and the power.
The ruler And the slave.
Minister
And the civil servant.

He was called,
"A three in one monkey because
He was Not talking, Not seeing
And Not speaking.
He was a survivor.

He knew all the signs.
Every month at least once,
When a deal was finalised,
It was time for the hunter
To go on a hunt.

Very soon, a command will be heard,
"Hey old man, give me "THAT" mobile.
That was the command
He dreaded most.
His old eyes had seen it all.

There will be a brief conversation.
A van with dark glasses,
will arrive at the back gate,
At un Godly hours.

Next day, the motuary will have
Dead body of a kidnapped young girl.
A tag with just a number
will adorn her naked,ravaged body.

Her crime was, that she was a girl,
Her punishment was gangrape and murder.

-Nichiro

Edited to remove caste identity of the secretary.