View Full Version : IT Professionals

31st May 2005, 07:57 PM
Dear All,

If any of you are in the I.T/Software/Hardware/Project Management Fields, we can discuss, programming languages like C++, C#, SQL+, T-SQL, Oracle, SQL Server,.net,VB,Visual Studio,etc.

Please post your questions in any of the above so that we can have increase our knowledge in these areas, thanks

If any of you actually work with MS SQL Server 2000/ Oracle 11i and VB please let me know, as I have few questions to ask.

thanks

31st May 2005, 08:51 PM
No we are not software engineers but software THIEVES who spend 1 hr downloading songs, 1 hr on cricinfo, 1 hr on dinathanthi, 1 hr on tfmpage, and 1 hr driving out Mandakkai. Remaining 30min is spent in closing windows and pressing Alt-Tab when managers and tech leads like JG, cinefan, scorpio approach our seat.(ignore eating time, fruit juice time and phone time with girlfriends)

For useful learning go to http://groups-beta.google.com/group/linux.kernel?hl=en

Put "visual basic", ".net", "linux" in the first box, hit search and u will get more groups with genuinely interested people who will take time to answer ur queries, not ask a question and disappear without saying thanks like indian programmers do.

31st May 2005, 08:54 PM
yes sir raghu!
I am an IT professional.
hIT man for hire.
shoot your questions, somebody will answer it.
Let us make this forum another mini google groups or serverside.com.
This way you can help us browse the "hub" officially.
If my PM asks, I can reply"I am looking answer for the unresolved DB issue or something. He may pat me on the back and I may even get a rise!!!!
Thanks Raghu!!! :rotfl:

NM
1st June 2005, 06:34 AM
..... spend 1 hr downloading songs, 1 hr on cricinfo, 1 hr on dinathanthi, 1 hr on tfmpage, and 1 hr driving out Mandakkai. Remaining 30min is spent in closing windows and pressing Alt-Tab when managers and tech leads like JG, cinefan, scorpio approach our seat.(ignore eating time, fruit juice time and phone time with girlfriends)
Sorry Raghu, IT and I are too far apart but if IT means what hehehe has said (in bold above), then yes, I am very very close to IT. :lol: :lol:
Sorry for digression Pa! :wink:

Akash
1st June 2005, 10:10 AM
Yea i am starting with the questions...

actually i am in systems side s/w Engg, so i dunno any thing related to DB. One of my proj. requirement is like i have to store a mass of data and retrieve it to compute it for the results. The computation involves more complex algorithms, So no other go, i am going to work with the Big Mama - ('C')...

And as i need UI as well, i planned to do it in VC, so that i can include MFC components for GUI, as well as my algorithms in C for computing. SO WHAT DB Can i use? i just need to store and retrieve the data, suggest some DB.. that will go easyly with VC.

oracle/mysql/... some thing :?

(hey the main thing is, its not my official work, its for my personal work... so i have to get the DB by myself... so cost too matters)

1st June 2005, 03:16 PM
..... spend 1 hr downloading songs, 1 hr on cricinfo, 1 hr on dinathanthi, 1 hr on tfmpage, and 1 hr driving out Mandakkai. Remaining 30min is spent in closing windows and pressing Alt-Tab when managers and tech leads like JG, cinefan, scorpio approach our seat.(ignore eating time, fruit juice time and phone time with girlfriends)
Sorry Raghu, IT and I are too far apart but if IT means what hehehe has said (in bold above), then yes, I am very very close to IT. :lol: :lol:
Sorry for digression Pa! :wink:

NM akka, neenghaluma, naa ninaichen neengha romba nalla akka-nu :wink: :lol:

1st June 2005, 03:18 PM
HHW,

Thanks for that link Dude :D

JG anNe,

Naanum apadi thaan ninaichen aiya :LOL:

Akash,

Tell me Exactly what you are trying to do?

1st June 2005, 03:22 PM
Ok, Lets get serious now.

IN SQL SERVER 2005, I have created a DTS Packages, which Migrates data from one server to another (including database Objects & data), but occasionaly it fails with an error message saying

'[SQL-DMO]The BUlk Copy Execution Has Failed'

I looked it up on google, but they still don't tell me how this can be resolved, any ideas?

Akash
1st June 2005, 03:27 PM
Akash,

suggest some DB.. that will go easyly with VC.
that is less in cost, i just need to store and retrieve data through VC!!

1st June 2005, 03:35 PM
Akash,

suggest some DB.. that will go easyly with VC.
that is less in cost, i just need to store and retrieve data through VC!!

Get your self an SQL Sever 7(borrow it from some one) this will be cheaper than Oracle, or MS ACCESS (will be far more chaeper and easier to create a database) and then YOU can use ODBC(Open Database Connections) in your Control Panel (If using XP, it would be in Administrative tools) to connect to VC

Akash
1st June 2005, 03:41 PM
Get your self an SQL Sever 7(borrow it from some one) this will be cheaper than Oracle, or MS ACCESS (will be far more chaeper and easier to create a database) and then YOU can use ODBC(Open Database Connections) in your Control Panel (If using XP, it would be in Administrative tools) to connect to VC

if i gonna borrow ;) any thing will be cheaper :D!! think i will go with Ms-access if it not works well then i will go for SQL server!!

1st June 2005, 03:46 PM
Akash ji

be careful, MS access is NOT part of any MS office Packages, they only include MS word, MS Excel and Power point, so u will have to buy MS access seperatly, just borrow it from some one man, NO BODY EVER Buys SOFTWARES :lol: :lol:

Akash
1st June 2005, 03:53 PM
NO BODY EVER Buys SOFTWARES :lol: :lol:

1st June 2005, 08:15 PM
Any one good at Coding in Aspx using VC#??

pls respond asap, if any of you are

thanks

ziaxxxxx
2nd June 2005, 04:12 AM
can anyone give me any gud links or names of any buks...which will help me in learning web desiging / graphic designing on my own??

or is it imp for a person to attending classes / have a tutor , for learning such courses??

2nd June 2005, 04:36 AM
Any one good at Coding in Aspx using VC#??

pls respond asap, if any of you are

thanks

Though I wont say that am good in that.. juz post ur question.. i ll give it a shot.. I juz completed a project in aspx webforms using C#.Net..

okay i gotta question: has anybody worked with Java Media Framework?? (JMF) Plz respond.. i tried my luck in sun java forums but i m not getting what I need..

Thanks guys..

2nd June 2005, 04:39 AM
:fishgrin:

3rd June 2005, 05:24 PM
No we are not software engineers but software THIEVES who spend 1 hr downloading songs, 1 hr on cricinfo, 1 hr on dinathanthi, 1 hr on tfmpage, and 1 hr driving out Mandakkai. Remaining 30min is spent in closing windows and pressing Alt-Tab when managers and tech leads like JG, cinefan, scorpio approach our seat.(ignore eating time, fruit juice time and phone time with girlfriends)

:rotfl: :notworthy: :rotfl:
Yen naan panradhu ellam veliya solreenga? Dilbert la vara character Wally madhiri enna feel panna vechiteenga :)

People, sorry for the digression but that post was just too good!

ziaxxxxx
3rd June 2005, 07:37 PM
thanx fer replying kasi_sce

the thing is...i;m pretty ignorant when it cums to computers..i relay hav no idea which softwares are even included in graphic / web design...all i kno is photoshop n flash are included in them....so.... :? ..

if u can give me links ( if possible ) where i can learn them frum basic to advanced stage...it wud really help ..

i did C++ a Looooong time back..u tink it'l help???

so sorry fer so many queries.....

3rd June 2005, 09:00 PM
thanx fer replying kasi_sce

the thing is...i;m pretty ignorant when it cums to computers..i relay hav no idea which softwares are even included in graphic / web design...all i kno is photoshop n flash are included in them....so.... :? ..

if u can give me links ( if possible ) where i can learn them frum basic to advanced stage...it wud really help ..

i did C++ a Looooong time back..u tink it'l help???

so sorry fer so many queries.....

hello there

Webdesign most conists of Asp, Aspx, HTml coding with java Scripts, HTML is quite easy to lear, way easier then C++, which is similar to Java, as both of them uses, Obejects, Classes, functions..etc

try this

www.planetsourcecode.com

3rd June 2005, 10:55 PM
:fishgrin:

ziaxxxxx
4th June 2005, 02:51 AM
thankyou SOOO much fer your replies Raghu and kasi_sce !!!!! i'l chk these sites and let you kno how far i hav progressed :) :)

thanxx

13th June 2005, 10:04 PM
Ok, here is a question,

I am migrating databases from One server to another server, the migration is done through DTS packages(Migrate, classes, objects, data, users, roles,logins,..etc) one of the database failed with an error message saying 'Bulk Copy execution has failed', does any one know what this is?, is this SQL time out error?

I have tried the restore method, in which I took the back up from the old server and tried to restore it on the new server, but this also failed, it says, I need to use the 'WITH MOVE' to move the LDF & MDf files, I don't want to do that, cos that will mean take the databases off line!

any other suggestions??

thanks a lot

15th June 2005, 08:20 PM
dudes

Found a way to copy databases across servers, what u do is backup the Source database, copy the .bak file across to new server, either FTP it or just copy it, then restore it from there by using the following T-SQL command

RESTORE DATABASE TestDB
FROM DISK='d:\testDB.BAK'
WITH MOVE
'TestDB' TO 'D:\data\TestDB.MDF',
'TestDB_log' TO 'D:\data\TestDB_Log.LDF'

15th June 2005, 10:47 PM
What is a batadase?

16th June 2005, 02:33 PM
What is a batadase?

HHW anne

I don't know what a batadase is, perhaps other intellectuals can enlighten me :lol: , but I do know what a database is :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

j.chenkalvarayan
17th June 2005, 01:53 PM
has anyone worked with mesa on a linux machine. i need some help.

17th June 2005, 02:16 PM

nope sorry :(

SSathiya
18th June 2005, 05:26 AM
HEY ziaXXXXX,
which programs are you interested in?
For things like HTML, Java , PHP you can learn it easily on the net. But if you want to learn the other programs ( UNIX etc) its better to take classes. In university i had classes in Java, php etc but i learned better on my own by looking at stuff on the net.
Let me know waht your looking to learn, and i can give you some links.

can anyone give me any gud links or names of any buks...which will help me in learning web desiging / graphic designing on my own??

or is it imp for a person to attending classes / have a tutor , for learning such courses??

j.chenkalvarayan
18th June 2005, 06:55 AM

I just don't understand how you can answer on behalf of all.

18th June 2005, 08:33 AM

I just don't understand how you can answer on behalf of all.

JC you are showing your rudeness in this thread too??? :twisted:

okay, even i havent worked in mesa on a linux machine :D

j.chenkalvarayan
18th June 2005, 10:43 AM
kasi , i am not at all rude. well, if i don't know the answer to a particular problem i leave it to others. there will be others who are more knowledgeable than me. i just can't simply assume that since i don't know ,others don't know too. look at raghu's reply. it simlpy means that no one else has worked with mesa. well if this sounds rude i can't help it.

18th June 2005, 02:57 PM
kasi , i am not at all rude. well, if i don't know the answer to a particular problem i leave it to others. there will be others who are more knowledgeable than me. i just can't simply assume that since i don't know ,others don't know too. look at raghu's reply. it simlpy means that no one else has worked with mesa. well if this sounds rude i can't help it.

Iswara

thanks for calling my reply rude, you are the first one to call me this in this hub, any way, all i said was, I did not know anything about that subject, sorry I am not very literate in English, hence i did not see the word 'Any', sorry, ok

19th July 2005, 04:10 PM
Hi folks!

Is there anyone with eclipse plug-in development experience around? If so please visit my blog for details related to some opportunities in India. My blog is http://silencerocks.blogspot.com

kelly
23rd July 2005, 11:01 AM
Hai,
Is the anyone working on data mining and neural network. I'm a student doing research on this area. I'm using Matlab for coding.

kelly
23rd July 2005, 11:01 AM
Hai,
Is the anyone working on data mining and neural network. I'm a student doing research on this area. I'm using Matlab for coding.

kelly
23rd July 2005, 11:02 AM
Hai,

24th July 2005, 12:25 AM
Hai,

ASP.Net
VB.Net

friends

23rd August 2005, 08:19 AM
Anyone here knows anything about ajax technology?? (Asynchronous Javascript and XML). My next project is on that :(

For those who want to know what ajax can do, check this out:

http://www.google.com/webhp?complete=1&hl=en

23rd August 2005, 09:26 AM
Urupadiyana thread :D :D

I was in Java for the past 1.5 yrs and i was in Linux for the past 1 month...Now i m shifting to Peoplesoft...Has anybody here working in peoplesoft? I have some doubts

23rd August 2005, 10:36 AM
Hai,

Hello

What do u want 2 know abt Data mining, I am an SQl server 2000/ Oracle database Developer.

ziaxxxxx
4th September 2005, 12:08 AM
i would like to know if anyone has done the courses like CMA ( certified management accountant ) from USA or ORACLE in finance.

i woudl liek to know how you people find these courses as I have heard it is pretty difficult for those students who have studied indian sylabus i.e. indian accoutnig in their B.Com. kindly get back to me asap wit any info regarding ANYONE who is currently doing these course or hav already cmpleted them.

4th September 2005, 11:52 AM
I would like to know the job oppourtunities for "Linux kernel development / device driver development" in abroad especially in U.S. I am learning kernel for the past 1.5 years. So, any one in abroad plz clarify more on this.

Arthi
23rd September 2005, 09:53 AM
Hi Friends,
Am also into IT, am in to Testing Field. I want to learn Automated testing tools. Cld anyoune help me out to get Winrunner/Load Runner?

ziaxxxxx
2nd October 2005, 05:25 PM
ii ouwld like to know whther anyone could give me any links for tutorials relating to Macromedia Freehand , where we are taught diff types of graphics ?

thnks alot

2nd October 2005, 05:41 PM
WOW!! i'v been here for a while, an only now i saw this topic. cool

am doing my degree in IT.. used to love it. but now that am in my 3rd year am starting hate it.... wat to do hav to finish it

if i have a problem i can ask u guys rite????

3rd October 2005, 12:56 PM
WOW!! i'v been here for a while, an only now i saw this topic. cool

am doing my degree in IT.. used to love it. but now that am in my 3rd year am starting hate it.... wat to do hav to finish it

if i have a problem i can ask u guys rite????

yes dude that was the whole point of this thread! :D

dev
3rd October 2005, 01:51 PM

Can anyone here let me know how to convert a .dat file into a .avi or .mpeg file coz I'm not able to play my wedding video(in WMP) which is in .dat format... :(
guess the files are corrupt & I would like to re-encode the video stream...Or is there any other way to fix this problem...Is virtualdub a good option to convert the files to .avi?...

3rd October 2005, 06:22 PM
Hi dev :)

Do you have VLC Media player installed on your PC? If not, I would suggest you to try playing that file with VLC

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

It plays vidoe files of almost all formats, even corrupted ones, sometimes!!

3rd October 2005, 07:16 PM
Kasi will it be a fair idea if we go thru the command prompt..Juz thru copy command
Say the file is marriage.dat

c:> copy marriage.dat marriage.mpeg Enter

Will it work? I think i did it before...Am not very sure

3rd October 2005, 07:56 PM

Can anyone here let me know how to convert a .dat file into a .avi or .mpeg file coz I'm not able to play my wedding video(in WMP) which is in .dat format... :(
guess the files are corrupt & I would like to re-encode the video stream...Or is there any other way to fix this problem...Is virtualdub a good option to convert the files to .avi?...

Hi dev,

Try this command at dos prompt,

click on start, then click on run and type 'cmd' and enter, then u will be in c:\Documents and settings\<profile name>\

now type rename <path of file location>\a.bat a.avi

but u should have some program which will open , files of extensions *.avi and *.mpeg

4th October 2005, 06:22 AM

I always thought that .avi, .mpeg, .dat etc.., use different encodings and just renaming a file does not change the encoding/compression of that file . hmm.. shall try that once!!

12th October 2005, 09:51 PM
[tscii:a1f1cb58c1]Good Site for Software Engineers http://software-engineer.org/

1 10 minute guide to lotus notes mail 4.5 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

2 10 minute guide to Microsoft exchange 5.0 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

3 10 minute guide to outlook 97 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

4 10 minute guide to schedule+ for windows 95 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

5 ActiveX programming unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

6 ActiveX programming unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

7 Advanced perl programming http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

8 Advanced PL/SQL programming with packages http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

9 Adventure in Prolog/AMZI www.oopweb.com

10 Algorithms CMSC251/Mount, David www.oopweb.com

11 Alison Balter's Mastering Access 95 development, premier ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

12 Apache : The definitive guide, 3rd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

13 Beej's guide to network programming/Hall, Brain www.oopweb.com

14 Beyond Linux from Scratch/BLFS Development Team http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/linux/Administration/Beyond_Linux_From_Scratch/

15 Borland C++ builder unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

16 Building an intranet with windows NT 4 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

17 Building an Intranet with Windows NT 4 http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

18 Building expert systems in prolog/AMZI www.oopweb.com

19 C programming language http://book.onairweb.net/computer/pl/C/The_C_Programming_Language_by_K&R/

20 C Programming/Holmes, Steven www.oopweb.com

21 C++ Annotations www.oopweb.com

22 CGI developer's guide http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

23 CGI manual of style http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

24 CGI manual of style online http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

25 CGI programming http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

26 CGI programming unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

27 CGI programming with Perl, 2nd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

28 Charlie Calvert's Borland C++ builder unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

29 Client/server computing, 2nd.ed. http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

30 Client-server computing, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

31 Common LISP, the language/Steele, Guy www.oopweb.com

32 Compilers and compiler generators : an introduction with C++/Terry, P.D. www.oopweb.com

33 Complete idiot's guide to creating HTML webpage http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

34 Computer graphics CMSC 427/Mount, David www.oopweb.com

35 Configuring and troubleshooting the windows NT/95 registry http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

36 Creating commercial websites http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

37 Creating web applets with Java http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

38 Crystal Reports.NET http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/Chapters.asp

39 Curious about the internet http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

40 Curious about the internet? http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

41 Dan appleman's developing activeX components with Visual Basic 5 http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

42 Dan appleman's developing activex components with Visual Basic 5.0 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

43 Data structures CMSC420/Mount, David www.oopweb.com

44 Database developer's guide with visual basic 4, 2nd.ed. http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

45 Database developer's guide with Visual Basic 4, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

46 Database developer's guide with Visual C++ 4, 2nd.ed. http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

47 Database developer's guide with Visual C++ 4, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

48 Design and analysis of computer algorithms CMSC451/Mount, David www.oopweb.com

49 Designing implementing Microsoft internet information server http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

50 Designing implementing Microsoft proxy server http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

51 Developing for netscape one http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

52 Developing intranet applications with java http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

53 Developing personal oracle 7 for windows 95 applications http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

54 Developing personal Oracle 7 for windows 95 applications http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

55 Developing professional java applets http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

56 Developing professional java applets http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

57 DNS and BIND http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

58 Doing objects with VB.NET and C# http://vbwire.com/nl?6814

59 EAI/BPM Evaluation Series: IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow v3.3.2 & EAI Suite by Middleware Technology Evaluation Series, Phong Tran & Jeffrey Gosper http://www.cmis.csiro.au/mte/reports/BPM_IBMwebsphereMQ332.htm

60 Effective AWK programming http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/shell/Effective_AWK_Programming/

61 Enterprise javabeans, 2nd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

62 Exploring java http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

63 GNOME/Sheets, John www.oopweb.com

64 Graph theory/Prof. Even www.oopweb.com

65 Hacking java http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

66 How intranets work http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

67 How intranets work http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

68 How to program visual basic 5.0 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

69 How to use HTML 3.2 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

70 Html : The definitive guide http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

71 HTML 3.2 & CGI unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

72 HTML 3.2 and CGI professional reference edition unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

73 HTML by example http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

74 Internet firewall http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

75 Intranets unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

76 Introduction to object-oriented programming using C++/Muller, Peter www.oopweb.com

77 Introduction to programming using Java/Eck, David www.oopweb.com

78 Introduction to socket programming http://book.onairweb.net/computer/network/An_Introduction_to_Socket_Programming/

79 Java 1.1 unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

80 Java 1.1 unleashed, 2nd.ed. http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

81 Java 1.1 unleashed, 3rd.ed. http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

82 Java 114 documentation http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

83 Java AWT reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

84 Java by example http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

85 Java developer's guide http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

86 Java developer's guide http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

87 Java developer's reference http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

88 Java developer's reference http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

89 Java Distributed computing http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

90 Java enterprise http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

91 Java enterprise in a nutshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

92 Java foundation classes in a nutshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

93 Java fundamental classes reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

94 Java in a nutshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

95 Java in a nutshell, 3rd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

96 Java language reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

97 Java security http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

98 Java servlet programming http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

99 Java unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

100 Java unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

101 Java, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

102 ___JavaScript : the definitive guide http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

103 ___Javascript manual of style http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

104 ___Javascript manual of style http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

105 Josh's GNU Linux Guide/Joshua http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/linux/Administration/Josh's_GNU_Linux_Guide/

106 Late night activex http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

107 Late night activeX http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

108 Laura lemay's 3D graphics in and VRML 2 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

109 Laura lemay's activex and ___VBScript http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

110 Laura lemay's graphics and web page design http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

111 Laura lemay's guide to sizzling websites design http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

112 Laura lemay's ___javascript 1.1 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

113 Laura lemay's web workshop activex and ___VBScript http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

114 Laura lemay's web workshop Graphics web page design http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

115 Laura lemay's web workshop ___javascript http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

116 Learning perl http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

117 Learning perl on win32 http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

118 Learning the kornshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

119 Learning unix http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

120 Learning vi http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

121 Linux from Scratch/Beekmans, Gerard http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/linux/Administration/Linux_From_Scratch/

122 Linux in a nutshell, 3rd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

123 Linux kernel/Rusling, David www.oopweb.com

124 Linux network administrator's guide/Dawson, Terry www.oopweb.com

125 Linux system administrator's survival guide http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

126 MAPI, SAPI and TAPI developer's guide http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

127 Mastering access 95 development http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

128 Microsoft access 97 quick reference http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

129 Microsoft access 97 quick reference http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

130 Microsoft backoffice 2 unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

131 Microsoft excel 97 quick reference http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

132 Microsoft excel 97 quick reference http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

133 Microsoft exchange server survival guide http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

134 Microsoft frontpage unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

135 Microsoft word 97 quick reference http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

136 Microsoft word 97 quick reference http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

137 Microsoft works 4.5 6-In-1 http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

138 More than 100 full-text e-books http://www.allfreetech.com/EBookCategory.asp

139 Ms backoffice administrator's survival guide http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

140 Ms backoffice unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

141 Mysql and msql http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

142 Netscape plug-ins developer's kit http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

143 Official gamelan java directory http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

144 Oracle built-in packages http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

145 Oracle PL/SQL built-in pocket reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

146 Oracle PL/SQL language pocket reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

147 Oracle PL/SQL programming guide to Oracle 8 features http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

148 Oracle PL/SQL programming, 2nd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

149 Oracle unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

150 Oracle unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

151 Oracle web applications PL/SQL developer's introduction http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

152 Patterns of enterprise application architecture/Fowler, Martin http://www.awprofessional.com/catalog/product.asp?product_id={574D77DF-6ED2-BC5-A6A8-02E59CA7482D}

153 PC week : the intranet advantage http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

154 Perl 5 by example http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

155 Perl 5 quick reference http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

156 Perl 5 unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

157 Perl 5.0 CGI web pages http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

158 Perl cookbook http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

159 Perl for system administration http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

160 Perl in a nutshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

161 Perl quick reference http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

162 Peter norton's complete guide to windows NT 4 workstations http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

163 Presenting activex http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

164 Presenting activex http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

165 Presenting javabeans http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

166 Presenting javabeans http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

167 Programming perl http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

168 Programming perl, 3rd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

169 Programming the Perl DBI http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

170 Red hat linux unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

171 Running a perfect intranet http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

172 Running Linux, 3rd.ed. http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

173 Sams teach yourself java 1.1 in 24 hours/ http://book.onairweb.net/computer/sams/Sams_Teach_Yourself_Java_1.1_Programming_in_24_Hou rs

174 Sams Teach yourself java in 21 days/Lemay, Laura http://book.onairweb.net/computer/sams/Sams_Teach_Yourself_Java_in_21_Days/

175 Sams teach yourself linux in 24 hours/Ball, Bill http://book.onairweb.net/computer/sams/Sams_Teach_Yourself_Linux_in_24%20Hours/

176 Sams teach yourself shell programming in 24 hours http://book.onairweb.net/computer/sams/Sams_Teach_Yourself_Shell_Programming_in_24_Hours/

177 Sams teach yourself TCP/IP in 14 days http://book.onairweb.net/computer/sams/Sams_Teach_Yourself_TCP-IP_in_14_Days(SE)/

178 Sed and awk http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

179 Sendmail http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

180 Sendmail desktop reference http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

181 Slackware linux unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

182 Special edition using java, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

183 Special edition using ___javascript http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

184 Special edition using ___javascript http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

185 Special edition using ___Jscript http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

186 Special edition using lotus notes and domino 4.5 http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

187 Special edition using Microsoft SQL server 6.5, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

188 Special edition using Microsoft visual Interdev http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

189 Special edition using perl 5 for web programming http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

190 Special edition using perl for web programming http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

191 Special edition using Visual Basic 4 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

192 TCP/IP http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

193 Teach yourself activex programming in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

194 Teach yourself C++ in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

195 Teach yourself C++ in 21 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

196 Teach yourself CGI programming with Perl 5 in a week http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

197 Teach yourself database programming with VB5 in 21 days, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

198 Teach yourself database programming with visual basic 5 in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

199 Teach yourself HTML 3.2 in 24 hours http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

200 Teach yourself HTML 3.2 in 24 hours http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

201 Teach yourself internet game programming with java in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

202 Teach yourself java 1.1 programming in 24 hours http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

203 Teach yourself jave in café in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.tm

204 Teach yourself Microsoft visual Interdev in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

205 Teach yourself Microsoft visual Interdev in 21 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

206 Teach yourself oracle 8 in 21 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

207 Teach yourself perl 5 in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

208 Teach yourself perl 5 in 21 days, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

209 Teach yourself SQL in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

210 Teach yourself SQL in 21 days, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

211 Teach yourself TCP/IP in 14 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

212 Teach yourself TCP/IP in 14 days, 2nd.ed. http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

213 Teach yourself the Internet in 24 hours http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

214 Teach yourself the internet in 24 hours http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

215 Teach yourself ___VBScript in 21 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

216 Teach yourself ___VBScript in 21 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

217 Teach yourself visual basic 5 in 24 hours http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

218 Teach yourself Visual Basic 5 in 24 hours http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

219 Teach yourself Visual J++ in 21 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

220 Teach yourself web publishing with HTML 3.2 in 14 days http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

221 Teach yourself web publishing with HTML in 14 days http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

222 Thinking in C++ http://www.mindview.net/Books

223 Thinking in C++/Eckel, Bruce - Vol.I, 2nd.ed. www.oopweb.com

224 Thinking in C++/Eckel, Bruce - Vol.II, 2nd.ed. www.oopweb.com

225 Thinking in Enterprise Java http://www.mindview.net/Books

226 Thinking in Java, 2nd.ed. www.oopweb.com

227 Thinking in Java, 3rd.ed. (pdf) http://www.mindview.net/Books

228 Tricks of the internet gurus http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

229 Tricks of the java programming gurus http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

230 Unix and internet security http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

231 Unix hints and hacks/Waingrow, Kirk http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/unix/Administration/UNIX_Hints_&_Hacks/19270001.htm

232 Unix in a nutshell http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

233 Unix kornshell quick reference http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/shell/Unix_KornShell_Quick_Reference/kornShell.html

234 Unix power tools http://www.hk8.org/old_web/

235 Unix shell guide http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/shell/The_UNIX_Shell_Guide/

236 Unix unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

237 Unix unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

238 Unix unleashed Internet Ed./Burk, Robin http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/unix/Administration/UNIX_Unleashed(Internet_Edition)/fm.htm

239 Unix unleashed, System administrator's Edition http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/unix/Administration/UNIX_Unleashed_System_Administrator's_Edition/toc.htm

240 Unix Unleashed/Sams Publication http://book.onairweb.net/computer/os/unix/Administration/UNIX_Unleashed/

241 Upgrading PCs illustrated http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

242 Using windows NT workstation 4.0 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

243 ___VBScript unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

244 ___Vbscript unleashed http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

245 Visual basic 4 in 12 easy lessons http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

246 Visual basic 4 unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

247 Visual Basic 5 night school http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

248 Visual basic programming in 12 easy lessons http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

249 Visual Basic programming in 12 easy lessons http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

250 Visual C++ 4 unleashed http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

251 Visual C++ programming in 12 easy lessons http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

252 Web database developer's guide with visual basic 5 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm

253 Web database developer's guide with visual basic 5 http://www.emu.edu.tr/english/facilitiesservices/computercenter/bookslib/

254 Web programming desktop reference 6-in-1 http://www.parsian.net/set1252/pages/books.htm [/tscii:a1f1cb58c1]

13th October 2005, 01:26 PM
Hi anouksha

Thanks a million for such links, it is really valuable for us guys, thanks a agin for taking such a pain to post it :thumbsup: :clap:

Arthi
13th October 2005, 02:05 PM
Thanx a lot for such good links.
I have been searching for Java Tutorial site long. Hope ur site will help me

13th October 2005, 04:23 PM
I got the links through a forward guys, I hope most if not all works!

Arthi here is another link for Java

http://www.studyjava.org/forums/

13th October 2005, 07:42 PM
Parashift C++ FAQ is a good site. Covers most of the C++ fundamentals.

http://www.parashift.com/c++-faq-lite/

FYI there are very good newsgroups like comp.std.c++ where C++ related stuff are discussed. You can join those groups and make use of it.

13th October 2005, 08:48 PM
I have a huge document that contains a collection of technical questions like DSA , C , OS and network. This might be useful for Eng students in 3rd/final year. If anyone is interested send me a pm!

13th October 2005, 08:50 PM
Data Structures

1.Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures:
http://www.nist.gov/dads/
This web site is hosted in part by the Software Quality Group of the Software Diagnostics and Conformance Testing Division, Information Technology Laboratory

2.Handbook of Algorithms and Data Structures (In Pascal and C)
http://www.dcc.uchile.cl/~rbaeza/handbook/expand.html

3.Source Code for Data Structures and Algorithm Analysis in C (Second Edition) by Florida International University
http://www.cs.fiu.edu/~weiss/dsaa_c2e/files.html

4.DSA by McGill University:Department of Computer Science
http://www.cs.mcgill.ca/~cs251/OldCourses/1997/topic1/

Other DSA Links

http://cgm.cs.mcgill.ca/~godfried/teaching/algorithms-web.html
http://www.brpreiss.com/books/opus4/
http://ww3.datastructures.net/

13th October 2005, 09:01 PM
A few links with interview questions.... interesting!

http://techinterview.org/
http://www.sellsbrothers.com/fun/msiview/default.aspx?content=question.htm
http://halcyon.usc.edu/~kiran/msqs.html

13th October 2005, 10:05 PM
C/C++ Interview Questions:
1. http://www.onesmartclick.com/interviews/interviews-programming.html
2. http://www.cpuniverse.com/newsite/archives/1999/mar/c++.html
3. http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Agora/3027/work/interviewQuestions.html
4. http://www.moskalyuk.com/jobs/cpp_5.htm
5. http://www.moskalyuk.com/jobs/java_1.htm
6. http://www.cs.unc.edu/~scheib/work/questions/
7. http://www.cis.temple.edu/~ingargio/cis307/assessment/interviews.html
8. http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Park/1512/cpuz_l1.html

C/C++ Notes for Interviews:
1. http://leepoint.net/notes/cpp/
2. http://www.parashift.com/c++-faq-lite/
3. http://cslibrary.stanford.edu/

Microsoft Interview Questions:
1. http://halcyon.usc.edu/~kiran/msqs.html
2. http://www.sellsbrothers.com/fun/msiview/default.aspx?content==question.htm
3. http://www.acetheinterview.com/qanda/microsoft_interview.html

Puzzles:
1. http://www.techinterview.org/archive/
2. http://puzzle.dse.nl/index_us.html
3. http://www.chlond.demon.co.uk/academic/puzzles.html
4. http://pub13.ezboard.com/fvisualbasicexplorerfrm44

Operating Systems Notes:
1. http://williamstallings.com/Extras/OS-Notes/notes.html
2. http://www.ibilce.unesp.br/courseware/opsys/ostart.htm
3. http://www.cs.wisc.edu/~solomon/cs537/notes.html
4. http://www.cs.wisc.edu/~bart/537/lecturenotes/titlepage.html

Win32 Tutorials:

1. http://www.winprog.org/tutorial/

Software Testing Notes:
1. http://louisa.levels.unisa.edu.au/se1/testing-notes/testing.htm
2. http://hebb.cis.uoguelph.ca/~dave/343/Lectures/testing.html
3. http://www.cee.hw.ac.uk/~air/se4/

Mathematical Puzzles
1. http://thinks.com/webguide/mathpuzzles.htm
2. http://www.syvum.com/teasers/
3. http://www.eduplace.com/math/brain/
4. http://www.brainbashers.com/
5. http://barryispuzzled.com/
6. http://www.braingle.com/

online books:

http://www.hk8.org/old%5Fweb/
http://www.llnl.gov/computing/tutorials/workshops/workshop/pthreads/MAIN.html#Mutexes
http://uhaweb.hartford.edu/nandigam/list.htm
http://pweb.netcom.com/~tjensen/ptr/pointers.htm
http://javafaq.nu/cgi-bin/url.cgi?name==http://www.scism.sbu.ac.uk/jfl/jflcontents.html
http://www.c-for-dummies.com/lessons/chapter.15/01/index.html
http://www.intelinfo.com/cat2-2.html#Critchie
http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial.html
http://www.cs.umd.edu/~mount/420/
http://www.nist.gov/dads/
http://www.intelinfo.com/free_java_training.html
http://web.utk.edu/~kna/copy-default.html
http://www.math.umd.edu/~lify/hotlink.html
http://www.javaskyline.com/
http://sepwww.stanford.edu/sep/josman/oop/oop4.htm
http://www.cs.cf.ac.uk/Dave/C/CE.html
http://www.holub.com/goodies/rules.html
http://beaskund.helloyou.ws/askbaba/dhyanavahini/dhyana10.html
http://www.intelinfo.com/cat2.html#UMLtut
http://users.actcom.co.il/~choo/lupg/tutorials/unix-memory/unix-memory.html
http://www.indobase.com/resumes/vcompsft.htm
http://www.wdvl.com/Authoring/____JavaScript/Tutorial/index.html
http://www.intelinfo.com/free_computer_books.html
http://www.intelinfo.com/cat2-3.html#Web66
http://www.intelinfo.com/cat6.html
http://www.intelinfo.com/cat2-5.html#oraclezone
http://www.intelinfo.com/newly_researched_free_training/C.html

www.bestebooksworld.com/digital/
Username : unix
Password : unixque

14th October 2005, 02:55 PM
Anoushka,
Mikka nandri hai!

Arthi
17th October 2005, 12:21 PM
Hi all,

If you have been in IT industry too long these are your symptoms:

1.) U use phrases like "No issues" and "Value addition" in everyday parlance. For e.g. When talking about your doodhwalla, U say, "His milk does zero value addition to my health but he is the only guy around so no issues"

2.) Ur prime source of entertainment is the forwards send to U by friends whose faces U cant remember.

3.) U drink more tea or coffee than water.

4.) U keep trying to shut down ur home computer by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del (used to lock office comps)

5.) When ur mobile rings at home, U rush outside to receive the call.

6.) When U make calls at home, U accidentally dial "0"to get an outside line.

7.) U haven't played Solitaire with real cards in years.

8.) Ur last crush was a girl in HR, ur current crush is the new girl in HR and all ur crushes in the future will be girls in HR.

9.) U spend the entire day reading forwards, smoking cigarettes, drinking tea/coffee and playing T.T. and then complain about the late working hours.

10.) Ur important 'meetings' usually comprise two or three people max, including yourself.

11) U secretly prepare for CAT only to find ur PL sitting behind you at the exam.

13.) U keep pressing Ctrl+Enter wondering why your gmail is not going.

14.) U email ur mate who works at the desk next to U.

15.) As U read this list, U r thinking of sending it to ur friends who are also in IT.

16.)U r too busy to notice there was no line no. 12

17.)U r not sure so u scroll back check it .

18.)And now u r smiling!!!!

Am sure u did steps 16 to 18.

Just for fun, ok start coding
Hi Anoushka
Thanx for ur links.

17th October 2005, 01:25 PM
Those were really nice, Arthi! :)

17th October 2005, 01:53 PM

That sure was uncanny!! Coz I did each and everyone of it@ Including the smile bit!!! :lol:

Arthi
18th October 2005, 11:33 AM
Names of our IT organizations! What do their names mean!

1. NIIT: Not Interested in IT

2. WIPRO: Weak Input, Poor & Rubbish Output

3. HCL: Hidden Costs & Losses

4. TCS: Totally Confusing Solutions

5. INFOSYS: Inferior Offline Systems

6. HUGHES: Highly Useless Graduates Hired for Eating and Sleeping

7. BAAN: Beggars Association and Nerds

8. IBM: Implicitly Boring Machines

9. SATYAM: Sad And Tired Yelling Away Madly

10. PARAM: Puzzled And Ridiculous Array of Microprocessors

11. C-DOT: Coffee During Office Timings

12. AT&T: All Troubles & Terrible

13. CMC: Coffee, Meals and Comfort

14. DEC: Drifting & Exhausted Computers

15. BFL: Brainwash First and Let them go

16. DELL: Deplorable Equipment & lackluster

17. PSI: Peculiar Symptoms of India.

18. ORACLE: On-line Romance And Chatting with Lady Employees

19. BOSCH: Badshahs Of Screaming Crying and Howling

Hi
scorpio, badri... hope u got the meaning of ur company ur working with hehehe

buddysathi
18th October 2005, 11:56 AM
4. TCS: Totally Confusing Solutions

Yeah..Very much true!! :?

18th October 2005, 12:18 PM
hahaha very funny arthi :lol:

18th October 2005, 01:22 PM
Arthi,

Unfortunately, my present employer is not there in yr list. Anyway, I got what my ex-employer meant-

SATYAM: Sad And Tired Yelling Away Madly

Arthi
18th October 2005, 01:48 PM
Arthi,

Unfortunately, my present employer is not there in yr list. Anyway, I got what my ex-employer meant-

SATYAM: Sad And Tired Yelling Away Madly

What to know abt ur present employer meaning.. no probs send it across to me... :roll:

1st November 2005, 06:45 PM
Dear all,

Can any one explain abt how SQL clustered servers work, please?

and how RAID0, RAID1, RAID5 are configured in SQL 2000 on windows 2003 OS?

thanks

29th December 2005, 09:50 PM
hello!

im an IT student in anna univ...

my OS mam have just started teaching OS..

she said that processor can perform only one operation at a time!...

so a doubt was asked..

in a single processor environment,how come we run two songs(one in media player and the other in real player)at the same time and both sounds can be heard if the processor can perform only one instruction at a time!

my mam said that things like media player are run by device driver...they doesnt need processor!....so it runs all the time...

my friend said another answer!..
he said the processor is so quick!..so it performs the action for first song(may be two seconds of the song) and then switches to second song run by real player....he said we are not hearing what is performed at that moment...we hear the sound which is already performed by the processor.....thats why hear some 1 second sound even after we close the media player as the processor have already finished that process!

which is correct!..... :?

29th December 2005, 09:53 PM
I wish yr mam is a hubber here :wink:

29th December 2005, 09:55 PM
I wish yr mam is a hubber here :wink:

no problem!..she is a good teacher

29th December 2005, 09:56 PM
U r lucky man :thumbsup:. Someone pls help him.

But it really helps to identify the lifted tracks by playing it both on diff media players simulataneously.

4th January 2006, 09:21 PM
heyy guys..plz clear this doubt!

whats the difference between threads(light weight processes) in unix and threads in windows!

5th January 2006, 07:33 AM
out of topic

FAMILY = FATHER AND MOTHER I LOVE YOU
very cute, Arthi...i like it... :)

dev
5th January 2006, 09:35 PM

Was wondering if one needs to get a work permit/ employment pass/H1 to work from home(outsourced accounting & tax prep work)... I'm interested in knowing the laws in this regard particularly in Singapore & the US...

5th January 2006, 09:58 PM

Was wondering if one needs to get a work permit/ employment pass/H1 to work from home(outsourced accounting & tax prep work)... I'm interested in knowing the laws in this regard particularly in Singapore & the US...

As far as I know in US if you wantto work and are getting paid for it then u have to have a valid work permit.Only way you can work without a permit is todo volunteer work(u probably wont get paid for it).

phil
7th January 2006, 09:02 AM
Any new hottest technologies in the market now. For instance, Java was hot before 4 or 5 years and just some time about one year before we knew SAP the talk of IT professionals.

phil
8th January 2006, 09:15 AM
These are some details that i would like to share.

Search hits for few technologies in Hotjobs.

Java: 9681 hits.
SAP: 7394 hits ( Wow)
Siebel: 1574
Mainframe: 3840
Peoplesoft: 1666
C++ : 7610 (always cool)

9th January 2006, 01:49 PM
For a person interested in multimedia (specially graphics/image-editing and animation oriented) presentations, jobs or careers.........

which do u think is a HIGH POTENTIAL career? Well paid career / A career with more scope?

Any suggestions about getting acquainted with 'MAYA'?

Which institutes here in bangalore IS RECOMMENDED for its training and pricing?

9th January 2006, 02:01 PM
hello!

im an IT student in anna univ...

my OS mam have just started teaching OS..

she said that processor can perform only one operation at a time!...

so a doubt was asked..

in a single processor environment,how come we run two songs(one in media player and the other in real player)at the same time and both sounds can be heard if the processor can perform only one instruction at a time!

my mam said that things like media player are run by device driver...they doesnt need processor!....so it runs all the time...

my friend said another answer!..
he said the processor is so quick!..so it performs the action for first song(may be two seconds of the song) and then switches to second song run by real player....he said we are not hearing what is performed at that moment...we hear the sound which is already performed by the processor.....thats why hear some 1 second sound even after we close the media player as the processor have already finished that process!

which is correct!..... :?

your friend is correct. The processor can finish an action within very small fraction of millisecond. The OS will handle multi threading and tasking.

If you play both of a movie and a song using a old, very low clock speed processor then the song will cry. :lol:

your mam? i think she is something correct?

dev
9th January 2006, 03:27 PM
Thanks for the reply sanjinika

9th January 2006, 04:47 PM
Sorry, Nilavu, I am unable to help u on this.

Dear all,

I am trying to set up an ODBC(Open Database Connection) to a SQL Server database, running on windows 2003, from my PC running Windows XP.

I want to connect to the database using 'Windows Authentication' rather than 'SQL Authentication' , it is generating this error, does any one know what this error means?

'can not generate SSPI context.'

help!!

9th January 2006, 06:04 PM
Nilavu,

//she said that processor can perform only one operation at a time!...//
she 100% true. a processor can perform only one task at a time.(OS level). But a processor can execute several instructions parallely through a concept called pipelining. At the OS level, playing a song is a task(process) and editing a file is also a process(task). BOth these things, are executed instruction by instruction by the processor. the OS assigns the processor to each process for a fixed time interval. we call this as timeslice. Once the time slice finishes, the OS removes the process from the processor and assigns some other process. The selection forms the basis of scheduler.

//in a single processor environment,how come we run two songs(one in media player and the other in real player)at the same time and both sounds can be heard if the processor can perform only one instruction at a time!//

The switching happens at nano or micro level based on the speed of ur processor. The OS will create an image to u as if it is executing multiple tasks.

//my mam said that things like media player are run by device driver...they doesnt need processor!....so it runs all the time...//

Your mam is wrong. I am not sure whether she said this one or u listened to her partially. Ofcourse media player and other things are handled through special OS routines called "DEVICE DRIVERS". the function of these modules is to act as an interface between the running processes and the actual devices(hardware). for eg, if I want the running process to get the recent key pressed by the user, it requests the device driver through the OS. the DD inturn deposits the key pressed in the application memory by reading it from keyboard buffer. I think this is enough.
DDs are also software modules. they need processor for their execution

//my friend said another answer!..
he said the processor is so quick!..so it performs the action for first song(may be two seconds of the song) and then switches to second song run by real player....he said we are not hearing what is performed at that moment...we hear the sound which is already performed by the processor.....thats why hear some 1 second sound even after we close the media player as the processor have already finished that process!//

Your friend is right. He has given a perfect answer which anyone can understand. Please go through Abraham silberschaatz and Design of operating systems & OS books by Andrew tanenbaum to get a better insight about it.

9th January 2006, 06:46 PM
heyy guys..plz clear this doubt!

whats the difference between threads(light weight processes) in unix and threads in windows!

Nilavu,

I think the main difference between the two is how they support applications to use the thread facilities.

For eg, In unix/linux, the OS does not support threads. OS treats each and every thread as a process only. Just like processes, unix kernel creates memory and other resources for threads. If applications wants to use thread facility the unix kernel doesnot provide any API for doing it except usual process creation functions like fork,exec,execv etc. so, application developers use libraries like POSIX library and other vendor libraries that provide thread creation API.This is just like using a function thread_create(eg). the library binary inturn creates a process for the thread requested in the kernel during execution.

In windows, the situation is very different. the OS itself supports threads. IN windows MFC, we have special classes for creating the threads. Also, switching and handling of threads are not done by any external libraries. IT is handled internally by the windows kernel itself. In windows, processes and threads are different. A number of threads work under a single process which in turn work under a large program(task). For threads created under WINDOWS, no process like resource like file descriptors, device bufferes are allocated. also, the windows kernel handles the thread switching and task switching. U can check these things in task manager. U can see tasks and processes.

If u have any other doubt, post it here.

Arthi
9th January 2006, 07:32 PM
out of topic

FAMILY = FATHER AND MOTHER I LOVE YOU
very cute, Arthi...i like it... :)

Hi Thank you so much :)

9th January 2006, 09:40 PM
thank u selva...

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

davie
10th January 2006, 06:43 AM
For a person interested in multimedia (specially graphics/image-editing and animation oriented) presentations, jobs or careers.........

which do u think is a HIGH POTENTIAL career? Well paid career / A career with more scope?

Which institutes here in bangalore IS RECOMMENDED for its training and pricing?

Well paid career
For a well paid career its best to start our own business (eg. consultancies).
If you dont want to do that, then outsourced MNC jobs are the ones that pay good.
While there are many many ways to become a millionaire, its all up to us to garner all of the idea and implement them.

which do u think is a HIGH POTENTIAL career? Well paid career

For me a high potential career is to get a PhD and become a prof at MIT :lol:

Ok let me be more serious. First let me give you an overview about the overall picture. If you will look at the global economy right now, you will find that jobs are being outsourced to India and China from the US. As a result of wallmart getting finished goods from china, majority of the manufacturing jobs in the US have been lost. Similarly, most of the services oriented jobs & programming jobs are outsourced to India just because Indians can speak better english and are technically adept. China is a loser here because their oral english skills are not great.

So, if you want to have a career in a MNC in India, then i will say just look at the market/trend in the US.
Get some 4 or 5 years of experience in US in finance oriented IT services. Aim for a CEO or something for a outsourcing location in India for a MNC. Simultaneously start your own consultancies etc. Anyways i am careful not to break all the secrets. I have many other done deal ideas.

BTW: My dad wanted me to be an officer in Indian Police Service. Hehe. For him that is the great job.

This question was even asked by my brother. I will do a google or job search in Naurki or something like Phil did. If i was very optimistic about a career in multimedia i would have already mentioned it to you.

11th January 2006, 11:27 AM
Dear friends,

I welcome you all to my software blog http://softwarefly.blogspot.com (75% for .net professionals)

11th January 2006, 11:37 AM
sanjeevi....there is famous english quote

"you dont love a girl as she is beautiful...she is so beautiful as u love her"

11th January 2006, 10:26 PM
ithu IT thread pa

davie
12th January 2006, 12:37 AM
ithu IT thread pa

Kamal who is right now scaring is going to boot yo off now.

12th January 2006, 08:46 AM
thx davie.
for takin pains to answer my post :smile:

davie
13th January 2006, 02:58 AM
Sure No probs.

30th January 2006, 05:39 PM
Dear all,

Can some one tell me EXACTLY what steps I need to do to Replicate an SQL server database(2000) across to another SQL server, so that if one fails, the other one still keeps on Going.

Both SQL Servers are RAID0, and RAID5. and both has IIS running on it.

thanks

2nd February 2006, 09:09 PM
help!!!!!!!! pls!!!!!!!!!

I have managed to Replicate a database on to it's own server, but repliacting across to different servers, I dont know how, some one pls help me

thanks in advance

8th February 2006, 05:26 PM
command based application starting......................

To run any of these apps go to Start > Run and type the executable name (ie charmap).

=========================================

1) Character Map = charmap.exe (very useful for finding unusual
characters)

2) Disk Cleanup = cleanmgr.exe

3) Clipboard Viewer = clipbrd.exe (views contents of Windows clipboard)

4) Dr Watson = drwtsn32.exe (Troubleshooting tool)

5) DirectX diagnosis = dxdiag.exe (Diagnose & test DirectX, video & sound cards)

6) Private character editor = eudcedit.exe (allows creation or modification of characters)

7) IExpress Wizard = iexpress.exe (Create self-extracting / self-installing package)

8) Microsoft Synchronizat! ion Manager = mobsync.exe (appears to allow synchronization of files on the network for when working offline.
Apparently undocumented).

9) Windows Media Player 5.1 = mplay32.exe (Retro version of Media Player, very basic).

10) ODBC Data Source Administrator = odbcad32.exe (something to do with
databases)

11) Object Packager = packager.exe (to do with packaging objects for insertion in files, appears to have comprehensive help files).

12) System Monitor = perfmon.exe (very useful, highly configurable tool, tells you everything you ever wanted to know about any aspect of PC performance, for uber-geeks only )

13) Program Manager = progman.exe (Legacy Windows 3.x desktop shell).

14) Remote Access phone book = rasphone.exe (documentation is virtually non-existant).

15) Registry Edito! r = regedt32.exe [also regedit.exe] (for hacking the Windows Registry).

16) Network shared folder wizard = shrpubw.exe (creates shared folders on network).

17) File siganture verification tool = sigverif.exe

18) Volume Contro = sndvol32.exe (I've included this for those people that lose it from the System Notification area).

19) System Configuration Editor = sysedit.exe (modify System.ini & Win.ini just like in Win98! ).

20) Syskey = syskey.exe (Secures XP Account database - use with care, it's virtually undocumented but it appears to encrypt all passwords, I'm not sure of the full implications).

21) Microsoft Telnet Client = telnet.exe

22) Driver Verifier Manager = verifier.exe (seems to be a utility for monitoring the actions of drivers, might be useful for people! having driver problems. Undocumented).

23) Windows for Workgroups Chat = winchat.exe (appears to be an old NT utility to allow chat sessions over a LAN, help files available).

24) System configuration = msconfig.exe (can use to control starup
programs)

25) gpedit.msc used to manage group policies, and permissions

8th February 2006, 05:36 PM
Raghu: Is your problem solved?

8th February 2006, 08:09 PM
Raghu: Is your problem solved?

hi, Nope :cry: , I had a look at this site though, http://support.microsoft.com/?id=321822#XSLTH3121121122120121120120

if u know of any other sites, pls upload them here.

thanks

8th February 2006, 08:25 PM
Raghu: Here are some links for you... I am not a SQL Server expert so can't help you directly...

http://www.devarticles.com/c/a/SQL-Server/Replication-SQL-Server-2000--Part-1/

http://www.sql-server-performance.com/replication_tuning.asp

FAQs

http://vyaskn.tripod.com/repl_ques.htm

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/community/chats/trans/sql/sql0610.mspx

http://www.mssqlcity.com/FAQ/Replic/Replic.htm

Maybe you can try posting in the mcse forum here

http://www.mcse.ms/forum95.html

malsi
8th February 2006, 09:00 PM
can i have the link to install a free software called LaTex?...

8th February 2006, 09:06 PM
Thanks a Mill Anouksha, Really appreciated, I Think I have figured it out, any way.. thanks again. :)

8th February 2006, 09:14 PM
:shock: Athu enna pearu?!

terminator
8th February 2006, 10:46 PM
It is used to prepare Maths thesis and projects.
LaTeX, MikTex etc.
It has editor, compiler etc...

9th February 2006, 03:04 PM
I want to know more about PMP certification. If anyone has completed it,pls contact me

9th February 2006, 03:11 PM

You can download it from

http://www.latex-project.org/lppl/

Other useful links

http://sciencesoft.at/index.jsp?link=latex&lang=en&wiki=1

http://www.latex-project.org/

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~dwilkins/LaTeXPrimer/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LaTeX

9th February 2006, 03:51 PM
It is used to prepare Maths thesis and projects.
LaTeX, MikTex etc.
It has editor, compiler etc...
Aiyoo Maths-aa?! :shock:
No wonder I never heard of it, Maths being my nemesis at school (& even later in life)! :lol:

malsi
9th February 2006, 08:32 PM
thanks a lot anoushka....and lambretta,yes..i need it for my maths project..to write my thesis...

pooja.shankar
10th February 2006, 12:40 AM
tell me how to get teh password for a yahoo account ...by mistake a sent a controversial mail to a frnd ...b4 the frnd returns for holiday ..i really want to delete tht mail i sent by mistake ......

its gonna be such a prob ..i knw he s nto read it yet ..or else i wud have a got a blast mail by now or an exploding phone call ....

infact i spoke to him yesterday ...he was fine ..i knw for sure ..hes not got online ...i am very sure abt ht

but someone help me PM me pls

dev
10th February 2006, 07:31 AM
YOU WANT THE PWD FOR HIS E-MAIL!!!!!...:shock: :shock: :shock:

Had I been U, I would have handled the blast mail or the exploding phone call than sneaking into his mail box...

10th February 2006, 08:27 AM
Pooja that is called Hacking! You want to hack someone's ID and you are saying that in public forum! Ennamo Ponga!

10th February 2006, 10:24 PM
tell me how to get teh password for a yahoo account ...by mistake a sent a controversial mail to a frnd ...b4 the frnd returns for holiday ..i really want to delete tht mail i sent by mistake ......

its gonna be such a prob ..i knw he s nto read it yet ..or else i wud have a got a blast mail by now or an exploding phone call ....

infact i spoke to him yesterday ...he was fine ..i knw for sure ..hes not got online ...i am very sure abt ht

but someone help me PM me pls

Do you know that person's postal(zip) code and DOB??

Can you guess the answer to his secret question??

If you can do that then his a/c is yours :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

I m saying this here because I want the e-mail users to be extremely cautious in choosing a secret question/answer so that people like pooja can not get into your mailbox :lol:

13th February 2006, 04:16 PM
come on ppl pls, dont make this thread another 'Joke of the day thread' :twisted: :banghead: :banghead:

malsi
13th February 2006, 06:48 PM
hahaha...

13th February 2006, 07:35 PM
U say it was 'by mistake'......then y feel afraid abt it?? Jus tell him asap (if poss' b4 he opens his email!) tat u sent him this email by mistake, if he sees it, jus delete it w.out opening/reading it as its not for him! Simple as tat! :roll:
Y fear if u've sent him a mail tat was Not meant for him neways?!

13th February 2006, 07:37 PM
come on ppl pls, dont make this thread another 'Joke of the day thread' :twisted: :banghead: :banghead:
Poor Raghu! Looks like he hasn't got over the torture tat I (inadvertently!) gave him by my digression in his fitness thread! :lol:

15th February 2006, 04:50 PM
Does any one know, what this error message means in SQL Server 2000 :

'MAPI Returned an error', I am aware this has something to do with SQL mail services, , and the Server which is running this SQL Server has not got MS Exchange 2003 server, so could this b the problem?

15th February 2006, 04:57 PM
Raghu check out this link

http://www.sqlnewsgroups.net/group/microsoft.public.sqlserver.server/topic10287.aspx

15th February 2006, 05:44 PM
Raghu check out this link

http://www.sqlnewsgroups.net/group/microsoft.public.sqlserver.server/topic10287.aspx

Thanks a mill Anoushka, I shall try as per the instructions given there?

thanks again

malsi
15th February 2006, 06:19 PM
i am still unable to install Latex software..can anyone plssssssss help me

15th February 2006, 06:49 PM
What sort of problems are you facing malsi? Can you tell where you are stuck?

malsi
15th February 2006, 07:20 PM
thanks anoushka.. i am not getting the right link to install the software...the given links above are not working right too..

15th February 2006, 08:36 PM
Malsi: Try this site http://www.tug.org/applications/

That has links to download the software...

7th March 2006, 04:11 PM
Does any one know how to start SQL Server Agent from Comand prompt??

Is it 'Net Start SQLSERVERAGENT' ?

thanks

8th March 2006, 08:58 PM
Has any worked with MYSQL???, it is some ancient silly ridiculous database,which is FREE and it is worse than MS ACCESS !!!!!!!!

Now can some one tell me, what the database extension is for MYSQL?, I mean for example,MSACCESS database would be *.mdb, or an SQL SERVER database would be *.MDF, etc etc

11th March 2006, 10:58 AM
I have a question about the ERP solution, SAP....

can anyone really learn all of SAP? is it possible? there are so many different modules and i don't believe anyone can learn it all...

what are the different opportunities to use the SAP application in the working world? i've used in my class for labs and still have little understanding of this application....

your comments/opinions are welcome....:)

Arthi
13th March 2006, 02:40 PM
If you have been in IT industry too long these are your symptoms:

1.) U use phrases like "No issues" and "Value addition" in everyday parlance. For e.g. When talking about your doodhwalla, U say, "His milk does zero value addition to my health but he is the only guy around so no issues"

2.) Ur prime source of entertainment is the forwards send to U by friends whose faces U cant remember.

3.) U drink more tea or coffee than water.

4.) U keep trying to shut down ur home computer by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del (used to lock office comps)

5.) When ur mobile rings at home, U rush outside to receive thecall.

6.) When U make calls at home, U accidentally dial "0"to get an outside line.

7.) U haven't played Solitaire with real cards in years.

8.) Ur last crush was a girl in HR, ur current crush is the new girl in HR and all ur crushes in the future willbe girls in HR.

9.) U spend the entire day reading forwards, smoking cigarettes, drinking tea/coffee and playing T.T. and then complain about the late working hours.

10.) Ur important 'meetings' usually comprise two or three people max, including yourself.

11) U secretly prepare for CAT only to find ur PL sitting behind you at the exam.

13.) U keep pressing Ctrl+Enter wondering why your gmail is not going.

14.) U email ur mate who works at the desk next to U.

15.) As U read this list, U r thinking of sending it to ur friends who are also in IT.

Am sure u did steps 16 to 18

14th March 2006, 01:16 PM

can anyone really learn all of SAP? is it possible? there are so many different modules and i don't believe anyone can learn it all...

what are the different opportunities to use the SAP application in the working world? i've used in my class for labs and still have little understanding of this application....

Hi Sindhiya,
I am in ERP family but i am not in SAP but in peoplesoft.Learning ERP is no way a big deal.But rather you can specialise in a single module than covering all.I dont have that much idea about SAP but planned to learn those things very soon.Working in Peoplesoft is full of fun! :D

14th March 2006, 02:43 PM

Tis not really ... i would say Practically possible to learn all the SAP modules ... If u ask SAP module experts ... they would say "even what they knew in their module is a drop in the ocean"

SAP is a ready made software ... tis been customized for the different industries, according to their needs n necessities ...

Used it in ur labs ???? i dont understand .........

Well, as such i dont visit this thread often, Arthi directed me here ...so PM me incase u need specific inputs .....

15th March 2006, 10:19 PM
Hi Sindhiya,
I am in ERP family but i am not in SAP but in peoplesoft.Learning ERP is no way a big deal.But rather you can specialise in a single module than covering all.I dont have that much idea about SAP but planned to learn those things very soon.Working in Peoplesoft is full of fun! :D
Thanks Beckham :)....yeah i've taken a course on Supply Chain Management and will be taking the Customer Relationship Management course....
I'm in the ERP stream....it's not difficult to understand, but not as interesting as I had hoped....

For PeopleSoft, are you specializeing in a certain area/module?

15th March 2006, 10:28 PM
Tis not really ... i would say Practically possible to learn all the SAP modules ... If u ask SAP module experts ... they would say "even what they knew in their module is a drop in the ocean"
exactly...i've heard that....

SAP is a ready made software ... tis been customized for the different industries, according to their needs n necessities ...

Used it in ur labs ???? i dont understand .........
For my lab assignments, I've used SAP....

Thanks for your input... Are there particular modules in SAP that you believe are used more frequently by companies than others? I suppose SCM (Supply Chain Management) and CRM are important...

I'm in the ERP stream and considering taking an additional course related to SAP....

davie
17th March 2006, 05:32 AM
Well, IT professional in a long run dont earn more money or reputation. So, probably its best to do a job that pertains to the major domain and minor IT right?

17th March 2006, 04:36 PM
Any pointers to materials on
a) Sun Certified Architect [J2EE]
b) Oracle Certified Associate/Professional DBA [9i/10g] ?

21st March 2006, 10:20 AM
REAL facts about Tandem Machine

1. These machines hold approximately " 87 % " of the entire data stored
in
this planet

2. The latest ones can support over 2,83,000 users

3. They can support devices spread all over the country

4. The size of the "basic" OS is about 4 GB but the system consists of 1024 processor which
in turn contains a seperate copy therefore = 2.3 GB * 1024

5. This machines is ever stopped since 1982 still running without any virus attack and failures

6. It takes ATLEAST 65 days to install and customize a basic tandem machine
OS
configuration

7. It takes around 8 full days for a tandem to get up and running

8. Each processor itself will cost around 1 crore

9. A full team of qualified system operators are always required to be
on
stand by to ensure successful operation - no need for tandem since it is fail safe

10. Seperate cooling system which maintains the temperature about 17 degrees

11. There is no way to hack these machines since it highly secure even share market prices and back bone
of all stock exchange , all most international banks are running with these ...

12. So far no virus has been attaked Tandem Machines since only HP provides these systems which costs
nearly 7 times a mainframe

13. Most of the peoples working on Tandem had never seen the
Tandem machine.

21st March 2006, 04:10 PM
Very good piece of info.............

An alternative keyboard in Windows

In case on your keyboard some keys stop working

Microsoft provides you with an alternative way to type in using the mouse

To work this tool go to

Start menu

Then

Select Run

Type in OSK

Press OK

A keyboard will appear that you can use both in Arabic and English

And to switch between Arabic and English just press the Shift key and choose the letter.

dev
21st March 2006, 04:20 PM

To work this tool go to

Start menu

Then

Select Run

Type in OSK

Press OK

And to switch between Arabic and English just press the Shift key and choose the letter.

How do I type OSK when the keyboard isn't working??? :?

21st March 2006, 04:39 PM
:D Freeya vidunga

22nd March 2006, 06:37 PM
Hi all,

Can some one tell me how to Backup a database from server 'A' to 'B', I tried mapping a Drive from server B to server A, and tried backing up, but it does not work, server A can only see it's physical drives not mapped drives.

at the moment, I am backing up the database on the same server and copying using the'xcopy' command in a batch file, and it takes about 20 mins, as this is a 7GB database!!!

Any other suggestions?

3rd April 2006, 12:26 PM
Any Peoplesoft Admin experts out here?

6th April 2006, 02:41 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Restoring A Lost Desktop
If you ever lose the Desktop but Explorer is still running with the Start Button,
you can do this to bring back your Desktop in a Windows box.

Click Start
Click Run
Type a period " . "
Then press Enter

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Creating A New E-Mail Shortcut
To create a shortcut that will open your default e-mail program starting a new e-mail,

Right click on an open area of the desktop
Select New / Shortcut
For the Command Line, enter mailto:
For the title enter something like New E-Mail
When you click on this your default e-mail program should start with a new e-mail form.

Creating 3D Window Effect
You can create a nice 3D effect for your windows

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Control Panel \ Colors
Make sure the following setting are there:
ButtonHilight=128 128 128
ButtonShadow=255 255 255

Creating Shutdown, Restart And Logoff Icons
To create the icons, create a shortcut on the desktop.

For Shutdown, the command is C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL.EXE user.exe,exitwindows
For Restart, the command is C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL.EXE user.exe,exitwindowsexec
For Logoff, the command is C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL.EXE shell32.dll,SHExitWindowsEx 0

Having Your Favorites And Start Menus Sort Alphabetically
If your Start Menu Program or Favorites are not sorting alphabetically, it is easy to fix this:

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Explorer/MenuOrder
Under here is are Favorites and Start Menu folders
In each there is a value called Order
Simply delete (or rename this) and restart Winodws
Your Favorites or Start Menus should now sort alphabetically

Increasing The Icon Cache
Run Regedit
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\explorer
Create a new string called Max Cached Icons
Give it a value of 10000
This will increase response time in windows and give the Shellicon cache file more elbow room.

Make Icons 256 Color 16-Bit
Open the Registry
Hit Ctrl+F
Type Shell Icon BPP
When found, right click the Shell Icon BPP icon
Click Modify
Change the value from 4 to 16
Click Ok
Close the registry
Restart your computer

Removing Shortcut Arrows
An easy way to remove those irritating arrows from your desktop shortcut icons and not change their properties

Right click the Desktop / Properties / Appearance tab
Select Item
Scroll for Icon
The default size is 32
Change this to 30
Clicking Apply

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adding The Control Panel To The Start Menu
Open up the Explorer
Go to \WINDOWS\Start Menu
Right click in the right-hand panel
Add a new folder
Name it Control Panel.{21ec2020-3aea-1069-a2dd-08002b30309d}
This makes getting to the Control Panel items a little easier

Making Desktop Changes Permanent
To make changes to the Desktop like window size, positon after rebooting:

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Policies\Explorer
Create a New Binary Value
Name it NoSaveSettings
Give it a value of 01 00 00 00

Easy Shortcuts On The Desktop
Here is an easy way to put shortcuts on the Desktop where they can easily be moved to other group icons.

Using the Explorer, create a SHORTCUT to the \Windows\Desktop directory in your \Windows\SEND TO directory.
Now whenever you want to make a shortcut and move it to the desktop:
Just make the shortcut you want using Explorer
Right click on that shortcut
In the pop up menu select the Send To and Desktop shortcut.
Submitted by Jerry Airaudi

Changing A Folder's Icon
To change the icon of a Folder on desktop:

Using the Explorer, move the folder from the Desktop directory to another directory on the hard drive
Right click on the new folder and select "Create Shortcut"
Move the shortcut to the Desktop
Right click and select a new icon
Submitted by Kim Schmidt

Full Window Drag (Without Plus!)
Start Regedit
Open HKEY_CURRENT_USER /ControlPanel /Desktop /DragFullWindows
On "DragFullWindows" properties change 0 to 1

Fixing Corrupted Desktop Icons
Easier way to reset icons then deleting SHELLICONCACHE.

There's no need to exit Win95 and delete the SHELLICONCACHE file in order to reset icons that you may have changed (like Network Neighborhood).

Go to Control Panel, Display, Appearance Tab.
Select Icon from the Item drop down list.
Change the Size up or down one and apply.
Change the Size back to your original and apply.

If your Start Menu is slow or your icons are black for some reason, it means your Shelliconcache file is corrupt and should be deleted.
Delete the hidden file C:\WINDOWS\SHELLICONCACHE
It will be recreated the next time you start Win95

Getting Screen Shots
If you need to get a screen shot, and you do not have a screen capture program, try this:

Hit the Print Screen key. This copies a bitmap of the full screen into the Windows clipboard. Start up a graphics editor and paste it in.
Alt + Print Screen will capture only the active window.

Increasing The Size Of The Scroll Bar

How to adjust the width of the scroll bar:

Select Properties
Select the Appearance tab
Go to the item list and find scrollbar.
Increasing the value in the Size field will increase the scrollbar width.

Unable To Create Shortcuts On The Desktop
If you can't create shortcuts on your Desktop, you might have a corrupted registry.

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.lnk\ShellNew\Command
Make sure it has a value of:
RunDLL32 AppWiz.Cpl,NewLinkHere %1 if you don't have IE 4
or RunDLL32 AppWiz.Cpl,NewLinkHere %2 if you have IE 4.0 or IE 4.01

Removing The Inbox From The Desktop
A faster way to remove "Inbox" from the Deskop is to

Right mouse click on "Inbox"
Select delete
It will then tell you "you cannot store the inbox in the recycle bin. . .etc"
Click "Yes"
Wait 2 secs and it's gone.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Customizing Individual Folder Icons
To change a folder's icon:

Open Notepad and enter two lines,
[.ShellClassInfo]
IconFile=file name,number
(e.g. IconFile=C:\Icon\CustomFolder.ico,0)

Save the file as DESKTOP.INI in the folder you wish to change.
Click Start -> Run, type in the command line,
ATTRIB +S "folder name"
(e.g. ATTRIB +S "C:\Custom Folder")
Open Explorer or My Computer and refresh (press F5 key).
This tip only work Windows 95/NT 4.0 + IE 4.0 with shell integration, or Windows 98/NT 5.0.

Removing The Recycle Bin
To remove Recycle Bin from the desktop:

Run REGEDIT.
Find NAMESPACE key in left pane (HKEY_Local_Macine \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ Current Version \ Explorer \ Desktop \ Namespace)
Expand NAMESPACE (click '+' box)
Delete the value RECYCLE BIN in right pane

Adding Send To The Recycle Bin
Add a SHORTCUT TO THE RECYCLE BIN in your SEND TO folder.

That way you can just right click on a file you want to delete, and send it to the recycle bin without having to confirm each time.

Having Icons With No Name
Normally you have to have a name for an icon, just spaces are not allowed.
To create an icon with no name attached:

Make sure NumLock is on
Highlight the Icon you want to change
Right-Mouse click and select Rename
While holding down the Alt key, type 0160
Now the icon will have no name below it.
To Create Multiple Icons with No Name - From John R.

Follow directions detailed above
With the second icon simply add one space-bar character AFTER the 0160 number.
Each successive icon gets an additional space-bar character at the end (to prevent a duplicate naming error).

Moving The Start Button
How to move or close the start button!

Click on the Start button
Press the Esc key
Press the Alt and the - keys together
This will give you a menu, you can move or close
But if you move it you need to use the arrow keys and not the mouse.

Aligning Drop-Down Menus To The Right
All dropdown menus can be aligned to the right.
This features becomes useful when trying to access
menus with submenus that appear directly to the right.

Open the Registory editor (e.g. regedit.exe)
Goto \\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
Create a string entry called "MenuDropAlignment"
Set its value to 1
Reboot
Note: Will not work under NT 4.0.

Repositioning A Background Bitmap
Normally, you only options for displaying a background bitmap are tiled, centered, or stretch to fit (with the Plus Pack).
You can edit the registry and have a third option which is to place the bitmap anywhere on your screen by specifying the X and Y coordinates.

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER / Control Panel / Desktop
Create new Strings called WallpaperOriginX and WallpaperOriginY
Give them values to position them around your desktop
The bitmap must be smaller than your desktop size

Changing Drive Icons
To change a drive's icon when you open My Computer

Create a file called AUTORUN.INF on the root of your hard drive
Enter the lines
[autorun]
ICON=Name of the ICON file

For the name of the icon file you can either specify the path and name (e.g. ICON=C:\WINDOWS\ICONS\MY_ICON.ICO) or
a specific icon in a library (e.g. ICON=ICONFILE.DLL,2)

Adding Anyfolder And Mail To Sendto
Previous examples of adding items to the SendTo usually require editing the Registry.
An easy way around this is to use the following methods.

To Add Anyfolder:
Open the Explorer
Go to \Windows\SendTo
Right click in the right hand panel
Select New / Text Document
Name it anything with a .otherfolder extension
When you want to send files to another folder:

Select The Files With Explorer
Right Click
Select Send to and the name you just created
You them have the option of copying or moving the file to a folder of your choice
To add Mail:

Open The Explorer
Go to \Windows\SendTo
Right click in the right hand panel
Select New / Text Document
Name it anything with a .MapiMail extension (ignore any warnings about the file extension)
When you want to Mail files as attachments:

Select The Files With Explorer
Right Click
Select Send to and the Mail name you just created
This allows you to easily mail multiple files

Adding Shortcuts To Desktop Without "Shortcut To" Text
Start Regedit
Go to:HKEY_USERS \ .Default \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Explorer
Add binary value to Explorer:link="00,00,00,00"
Now You can make Shortcuts to desktop without Shortcut To" text.

Easier User Interface
Add a menu item named "Open THIS folder!" to each of your cascading menus off of the Start menu.
This makes it easier to put items wherever you want them!

Go to Windows \ Start Menu \ Programs \ (etc.) in the Explorer
Start right click/dragging folders to the desktop, one by one.
Rename them and left click/drag them back to the same folder.
It takes a little while, but when you are finished you have a much easier interface to work with.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Removing The Start Button
Click on the start menu button twice, so there is a dashed line around the button
Press Alt and the minus sign
Choose Close to make the start button disappear, or move to move it to the right!
Submitted by Justin Nachod

Note: - You have to re-boot to get it back again, or:

Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete
Highlight Explorer
Click on the End Task button
Select No to doing a full shutdown
Wait a few seconds and the click on the End Task button

Changing The Clock To 24-Hour Time
To change the display of the clock on the taskbar to 24-hour format:
Open the Control Panel
Double-click on the Regional Settings icon
Click on the Time tab
In the Time style section select H:mm:ss

Removing The Inbox And Recycle Bin Icons From The Desktop
To remove the InBox from your desktop, without needing to run the Policy Editor:

Start Regedit
Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ explorer \ Desktop \ NameSpace
Below that should be a few keys
Rename the key {00020D75-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}. I usually put another character before or after the curly braces.
Restart Windows and the InBox icon should be gone
You can do the same for any other items you don't to show such as the Recycle Bin or The Internet icons

Changing Or Removing The Start Menu Icons
Download Microangelo and install it.
Create a blank.ico file.
Put it in a directory (C:\Windows. Then double click on the Microangelo Engineer to run it.
When you get it up on the screen click on the "start" tab. You will see a list of all the icons in the start menu.
Highlight the first one (programs) and select "Change". It will bring up a dialog box - select "browse".
Go to the directory that contains the blank icon and select it. Hit OK until you get back to the main
Engineer window and do all the rest exactly the same way.
When you have finished changing them all to the blank icon, Hit "Apply".
Hit your start button and look to see if all the icons are invisible. (They should be.)
Close out Micro Engineer and you're finished.

Adding Drive To The Sendto List
I have recently found that if you want to send something from A: drive or from any where to any drive, you can just make a short cut of that drive in subdirectory SENDTO.
For example I have two hard drives, a Floppy Drive, and a CDROM
After I have make a copy of each of my drive I will be able to send a whole directory of E:\XXX from the CDROM drive to A: drive or any other drive that i have had made the short c t in the SENDTO subdir of WINDOWS.

Adding A Protected Briefcase
You can make your briefcase a shortcut on the on desktop so if you have multiple users on your PC and you don't want to have a password for your briefcase, you can at least protect it from inadvertent deletion by just making the briefcase a hidden file or in a different location other than \Windows\Desktop\My Briefcase, then send a copy or shortcut to the desktop.

Customizing The Start Button's Name And Icon
To change the name of the Start button:

Copy EXPLORER.EXE in your Windows directory to another directory
Start a hex editor (I've been using Diskedit from Norton)
Edit EXPLORER.EXE
Search for the string 53 00 74 00 61 00 72 00 74
This is the word Start with the letters separated by a null character
The section you are in should also have the words "There was an internal error..." also separated with the null character immediately following
Now just replace the Start letters with any of your choice (up to 5 characters only)
Exit Windows
Boot to DOS
Copy your new Explorer file over the original
To change the Start button icon:

Copy USER.EXE in your \WINDOWS\SYSTEM directory to another directory
Use an icon editor that can replace icons in executable files
Edit USER.EXE and replace the flag icons with the icon of your choice
Boot to DOS
Copy the new USER.EXE
The same can be done with NT 4.0, just the offset will be different but the location to just before "There was an internal error..." is the same.

Adding The Device Manager To Your Desktop
This allows you to quickly see all the devices attached to your computer.
I use it a lot to select Refresh when I add new external SCSI devices that were not
powered up at startup. This way you do not need to restart the computer. To add the Device Manager Icon:

Right click on an open area of your desktop
Select New / Shortcut
Type in C:\WINDOWS\CONTROL SYSDM.CPL, SYSTEM, 1
Replace C:\WINDOWS with whatever directory you installed Windows95
Click on the Next box
At the next dialog box type in Device Manager
Click on the Finish when you are done
Note: Replacing the 1 with a 3 will bring up the Performance Status

Adding Options To The Right-Click Of The Start Menu

To add an option to the Right-Click of the Start button:

Go to Control Panel, View, Options
Click on the File Types Tab
Scroll down until you see File Folder
Click on Edit
Click on New
Type in the Name you want to in the Action box
Type in the Application you want to use
A good option to add is an MS-DOS Prompt:

Try this c:\command.com /k cd %1
It also puts the shortcut on a regular folder.
This command will open a DOS window with that folder as the current directory.

How To Make The Task Bar Autohide
Click the right button on a blank area of the task bar
Select Properties
Select Autohide
Click OK
This will make the task bar slide off the screen when the cursor moves away from it,
and it will slide back on when the cursor is moved near it again.

The same can be done for the MS Office task bar. The "sliding" effect is nice, and can free up some desktop space.

More Removing Shortcut Arrows
'lnkfile', 'piffle' and 'internetshortcut' are the three places
that I have seen the isshortcut arrow.
The best way to deal with this is to rename the 'isshortcut' to
'isshortcutbak' by right clicking on the 'isshortcut' then
select rename and add 'bak' to the end.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Closing Nested Folders
If you have several nested folders (folders within folders) and want to close them all,
simply, hold the Shift key while closing the last folder
This will close all previous ones as well.

Changing Application Icons
To have a wider choice of application icons:

Right click on the icon shortcut
Chose Properties
Click on the Program tab
Chose Change icon
Click on Browse
Select Files of type All Files
Browse to the directory where your icon files are kept
You can even use some bitmap files for you icons

Moving and Resizing the Taskbar
You can move the taskbar by pointing on a corner panel and dragging it
It is easier to move if you close all your windows first

You can also resize it by moving the mouse to the edge and dragging it larger or smaller.

Correcting Corrupted Fonts
If you have a problem with your non-true type fonts, here's what you do:

Open the Control Panel
Double click on Fonts
Search for the "Monotype Sorts" font
Delete this Font

Changing Desktop Folders - With No Registry Changes
>From the Explorer, create a folder somewhere OTHER than the desktop, and call it something like "Desktop Folders."
Move all your desktop folders into that folder.
Create shortcuts to all of those folders on your desktop.
Now, you are free to change the icons of each shortcut individually, to anything you like!

Updating The Desktop
If you want to update the desktop, for example after you've been changing the registry.

Right-Click anywhere on the desktop
Press F5

Adding The Desktop To Your Start Menu
Create a shortcut to the Explorer on your Desktop

Right click on the Start button
Choose Open
Go into the Programs Folder
Drag the Windows Explorer Icon on your Desktop using the RIGHT Mouse button
Choose copy here
Change the command line switch

Right click on the Shortcut you created
Choose Properties
Choose Shortcut
Type in following command line as target:
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE /n, /root,
The last "," is vital!
If you want the two pane Explorer view ad the switch ,/e
Then rename the Shortcut to "Desktop" or whatever you choose and drag the icon onto the start button.

Removing Shortcut Arrows
One problem when removing shortcut arrows is that
if you delete a desktop item, it will remove it.
If it is a shortcut it will just remove the icon.
If it is not a shortcut, then it will remove the program.
Having the little icon arrow is one way to tell the difference

Getting Rid Of Click Here To Continue
Start the Registry Editor
Open HKEY_CURRENT_USER / Software / Microsoft / Windows / CurrentVersion / Policies / Explorer
Create a binary value and call it NoStartBanner
Double-click on it and give it a value of 01 00 00 00
You will need to repeat the same steps for HKEY_USERS / .Default / Software / Microsoft / Windows / CurrentVersion / Policies / Explorer

Changing The Desktop And Explorer Folder Icons
The following steps will change the icon that is displayed as the default Folder icon.

Start the Registry Editor.
Search for "Shell Icons".
This will bring you to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / SOFTWARE / Microsoft / Windows / CurrentVersion / explorer / Shell Icons.
Double-click on the one has the value name of "3" in the right pane.
Type in the new icon you want to use.
If you have a DLL file specified, you need to count for the location of the particular icon you want to use, starting at 0.
To reset the icon cache, use a program such as Tweak with comes with the PowerToys from Microsoft.
Note: I haven't experimented with too many of the other icon changes possible.

Adding Control Panel Icons To The Desktop
This is an easy one..

Simply open up the Control Panel.
Right Click and Drag the icon you want to your desktop or folder.
This will create a shortcut for that icon.
It could come in handy if there are always certain items you need to get to quickly.

Create A Control Panel Menu Directly Below The Start Button
Click the Start Button once with your right mouse button. You should see a right-button menu (called a context menu because it offers different choices in different contexts).
You should see the items Open, Explore, and Find on the context menu. Click Explore with your left mouse button.
An Explorer file management window should open. A directory tree should appear in the left pane, with the right pane displaying the contents of the Start Menu folder.
Right-click any empty space within the right pane. A context menu should appear. Click New and then Folder.
The Explorer will create a highlighted icon called New Folder. Type in the following string, all on one line, replacing the words New Folder with this new line. You must type the period, the curly braces, all four hyphens, and the hexadecimal numbers exactly as shown. After the closing curly brace, press Enter.
Control Panel.{21EC2020-3AEA-1069-A2DD-08002B30309D}
Other Folders can be added following the same instructions.

Dial-Up Networking.{992CFFA0-F557-101A-88EC-00DD010CCC48}
Printers.{2227A280-3AEA-1069-A2DE-08002B30309D}
Inbox.{208D2C60-3AEA-1069-A2D7-08002B30309D}
My Computer.{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}
Recycle Bin.{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}
Network Neighborhood.{208D2C60-3AEA-1069-A2D7-08002B30309D}
Desktop.{00021400-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
Briefcase.{85BBD920-42A0-1069-A2E4-08002B30309D}
Fonts.{BD84B380-8CA2-1069-AB1D-08000948F534}

Minimizing All Windows
To minimize all windows:

Press Ctrl-ESC ESC to bring up the Task Bar
Right Mouse Click on an open area of the Task Bar
Select Minimize all Windows
This makes it a lot easier to minimize windows when all your open applications are full screen.

With the Microsoft Keyboard, you can accomplish the same thing by pressing the Window-M key.

Removing The Shortcut Icon Arrows
Open REGEDIT.EXE
Open the Key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
Open the Key LNKFILE
Delete the value IsShortcut
Open the next Key PIFFILE
Delete the value IsShortcut
Restart the Win95

Turning On Autoarrange For Folders
To make all folders keep AutoArrange turned on:

Open up an existing folder
Select View / Arrange
Arrange the Icons the way you would like, (e.g. Name, Size,etc.)
Select View / Arrange again
Select AutoArrange
Press the Ctrl-key while you close the window.
This folder should now have AutoArrange always selected.
This should allow you to create new folders that have AutoArrange selected by default.
You only need to specify by Name, Size, etc. if you want to change it from the default you set above.
Note: I have only tested this on a few computers. Please give me feedback regarding any problems.

Creating Document Scraps
If you are using Microsoft Word 7.0,
you can highlight a section of the document then drag and drop the highlighted area to
your desktop. Windows will create a file for you with a name something like
"Document Scrap From..." followed by the first few words you selected

Quick Access To Your Desktop
How do you access your darn desktop when you have a ton of applications open?
Well you could right click on the taskbar and do a minimize all, but that can be slow.
Instead:

Open a browser window (double-click on "My Computer")
If there is no toolbar, select View from the menu and select Toolbar.
Then from the dropdown list-box in the toolbar select desktop.
Now minimize it and forget about it.
The next time you want to access your desktop just click the desktop window on the taskbar.
As long as you don't close the window when you shutdown, it will reopen when you start windows again.

Additional Note: You can also drag the Desktop folder to the start menu.
Then you just press Ctrl-ESC and click on Desktop

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Restoring Corrupted Icons
If you use a graphic Card and you change the resolution, sometimes the icons are bad.
End Win95 and restart. When you see the starting message press F8 then type standard.
After this start of Win95 exit and restart.
Change back to your Resolution and restart.
The icons should be corrected.

Turn Off Window Animation
You can shut off the animation displayed when you minimize and maximize windows.
This tip makes navigating Windows 95 a lot faster especially for those that don't have
super fast video cards.

Open Regedit
HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Control panel
Desktop
WindowMetrics
Right Mouse Click an empty space in the right pane.
Select new/string value.
Name the new value MinAnimate.
Doubleclick on the new string value (MinAnimate) and click on "Modify"
Enter a value of 0 for Off or 1 for On then hit
Close Regedit and all programs then reboot.

Renaming The Recycle Bin
Start the Registry Editor
Type Ctrl-F to bring up the Find Menu
In the Find What box type Recycle
Double click on the Recycle Bin in the right pane
Type in the new name under Value Data
Restart Win95

Turning Off Desktop Icons
If you want to turn off all the icons on your desktop:

Start the System Policy Editor
Select File / Open Registry
Select Local User
Select Shell / Restrictions
Select Hide all items on Desktop
All Icons will now be hidden.

Note: One side effect is the your CD will no longer automatically play when it is inserted.

Adding In Old Windows Groups
If you are setup to dual boot between your old Win 3.x and want to add in the old groups, just click on the *.GRP file in your old windows directory. The programs will be added to your list under Programs in the task bar.

Note: Any DLL's the programs require will need to be copied.

To Speed Up The Start Menu
Start the REGEDIT program
Search for the word desktop
This should be in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT / CLSID / {00021400...
Right Click on the right panel
Pick NEW / String Value.
Name it MenuShowDelay, all one word.
Select a value from 1-10, 1 being the fastest.
Exit REGEDIT
Restart Windows

To Change The My Computer Or Recycle Bin Icon
Open Regedit
Find My Computer or Recycle Bin
Tab to the left panel
Double click on the highlighted line
Double click on DefaultIcon in the left panel
Double click on DefaultIcon right panel
Type in the value for the new icon
Note: DLL files can be used. Specify the location of the new icon with the filename,#

Remove The Tildes In Short Filenames
Open Regedit
Go to Hkey_Local_Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\FileSystem
Right Click on the Right pane
Select New / Hex
Add the value NameNumericTail= 0

To Remove The Network Neighborhood Icon
Start POLEDIT. It is on the CD in \Admin\Apptools\Poledit
Open Registry
Select LocalUser
Select Shell
Select Restrictions
Select Hide Network Neighborhood

To Change The Startup And Logoff Screens
Startup Screen
Create a 320x400 bitmap in the root directory and name it LOGO.SYS
You can use LOGOW.SYS file in the Windows directory as a starter
Logoff Screens
There are several files called LOGOX.SYS
They are actually bitmaps 320x400 that just have a different extension
The hidden one in the root directory LOGO.SYS is the startup logo.
There are two files in the Windows directory.
LOGOW.SYS is the Wait while Shutting down ... screen
LOGOS.SYS is the You may now shut-off or Reboot screen
To edit them, rename them with a BMP extension and use your favorite graphic editor
You can edit these files or create you own
They just need to be the same size

Arthi
6th April 2006, 03:35 PM
Create a folder on Desktop Rename it to "Notepad". Open an Internet Explorer->View->Source( it will open the folder "Notepad" on desktop. :roll:

6th April 2006, 03:44 PM
Arthi: I think we discussed this in the Technology thread already! :)

Arthi
6th April 2006, 03:50 PM
:huh: I didn't notice that :huh:

6th April 2006, 05:44 PM
:huh: I didn't notice that :huh:

But anou has noticed that :D

10th May 2006, 03:58 PM
Red Hat Scholarships 2006-2007

http://in.redhat.com/community/rhscholarship.php

10th May 2006, 05:07 PM
guys ...

can somebody answer this que !

1. Can many servers can exist and run on the same machine?

2. Can many clients can exist and run on the same machine?

PM me with answers ! This question is in the context of Internetworking !

16th May 2006, 07:23 PM
guys ...

as far as I know, the answer is NO, cos one PC will have only 1 IP address, but I have feeling u can , create a new pipe id, ie. if ur ip address is someting like 123.33.45.1, then u can add 123.33.45.1:20, u c the last digit(20) is the pipe ID

, again I dont think so.

16th May 2006, 07:27 PM
Right, I tried updating values in a table called 'Syslogins' i the master database within SQL server, but I am getting an error saying 'Update or insert of view or function 'syslogins' failed because it contains a derived or constant field.
'

does this mean system tables within the master atabase are non updateable??

16th May 2006, 07:51 PM
as far as I know, the answer is NO, cos one PC will have only 1 IP address, but I have feeling u can , create a new pipe id, ie. if ur ip address is someting like 123.33.45.1, then u can add 123.33.45.1:20, u c the last digit(20) is the pipe ID

Raghu,
I think a machine can have one or more IP Addresses. I have done that also. IT depends on how many ETHERNET Interfaces you have. Am I right ? :roll:

16th May 2006, 08:00 PM
:oops: :oops: :oops: , aiyo, how could I have forgotten that syslogins is a view not a table :oops: :oops: :oops:

16th May 2006, 08:18 PM
Raghu,
I think a machine can have one or more IP Addresses. I have done that also. IT depends on how many ETHERNET Interfaces you have. Am I right ? :roll:

Selva ,

R u saying, 4 eg, if u have 2-3 PCI Ethernet Cards, that PC can have three IP address, I think u r right :roll:

16th May 2006, 09:16 PM
Oh well, I found the right table, it is called sysxlogins, but still I am unable to update values in their, this time, I get a new error message.

'Ad Hoc updates to System catalogs are not enabled'

4th July 2006, 08:07 PM
Does any one know, what are 'Return Codes' within DTS in SQL Server 2000/ 2005?

thanks

16th July 2006, 06:54 PM
Is there anyway to stop the Macros pop-out completely when we open a word document?
I know that Tools -> Macro -> Security -> Security level (Low)
might help me! But i want to completely get out of this problem? Anybody can help me?

Thanks..

16th July 2006, 06:56 PM
F.Y.I OS is non-xp!

rami
17th July 2006, 01:10 PM
Sridhar, U can use a Word Viewer if u r jus going to view the documents. Its available in the MS website for a free download.

U can choose to open documents in Winword only if you want to edit them...

17th July 2006, 01:46 PM

Raghu,

one can configure a machine with an alternate configuration, one dynamic which would be the default and another static, which would serve as the alternate config in the absence of a DHCP. but to have two IP addresses workig simultaneously for the same machine, one needs more than one NIC's as Selva said.

And Raghu, you are talking abt port numbers rite? that shud also help.

17th July 2006, 02:03 PM
guys ...

Depends on ur definition of a server. A server is basically a machine that provides services. In that case if the same machine can provide DNS, DHCP, RRAS or File server services, we can call it as "more than one server" . So the same machine acts as DNS server, DHCP server, File server and so on. Actually i dont see any other interpretation of ur question BG. so tell me if i am off the mark.

I think the same machine can be a member of more than one domain. In that case we can say more than one client running on the same machine.

17th July 2006, 05:26 PM
Sridhar, U can use a Word Viewer if u r jus going to view the documents. Its available in the MS website for a free download.

U can choose to open documents in Winword only if you want to edit them...

Thanks Rami,but this is related to my project! the output is in a form of word document it will open it automatically and goes for printing.It is a virtual process such that no users will be there to click 'Enable' or 'Disable' macros.

Anyway i got a solution from Anjali.If the document type is 'Rich Text Format' you can avoid this hitch! Macros pop-out wont come!

Thanks again for your help

Sridhar!

28th July 2006, 03:09 PM

To work this tool go to

Start menu

Then

Select Run

Type in OSK

Press OK

How do I type OSK when the keyboard isn't working??? :?

:rotfl: :rotfl: Actually you can access (without keyboard) the same from Start--->Program Files--->Accesories--->Accessibility--->On-Screen Keyboard (thats the secret behind the keyword "OSK" :lol2:)

And SS, I think the real intent was to help impaired people... dont ask me how :P, but thats wat it is supposed to be for :roll: .

28th July 2006, 04:46 PM
Depends on ur definition of a server. A server is basically a machine that provides services. In that case if the same machine can provide DNS, DHCP, RRAS or File server services, we can call it as "more than one server" . So the same machine acts as DNS server, DHCP server, File server and so on. Actually i dont see any other interpretation of ur question BG. so tell me if i am off the mark.

A server is any process or system that provides a set of services. It need not be machine alone. e.g Database servers, (Oracle), Application servers (websphere, weblogic), WebServers (Apache TOMCAT, IIs) ETC.

Yes.. A single machine can host serveral servers like Database, application and web.. For e.g., if we run a website, the end machine might run a webserver(apache), Application server (for business logic e.g. websphere) and Database server (like SQL Server or Oracle)

But existence of several servers on a single machine, DEPENDS ON MEMORY, Processors , Scalability and performance of the applciation in question.

I think the same machine can be a member of more than one domain. In that case we can say more than one client running on the same machine.

Yes.. we can run serveral clients on the same machine. I mean.. We can run SEVERAL DATABASE CLIENTS, X-CLIENTS(in linux) in the same machine. To be precise, each and every window that we open in LINUX is a CLIENT that uses the services of the X-SERVER (GUI Server)

28th July 2006, 05:01 PM
:D thanx dada for pointing out the discrepancy in my "definition". yes, i didn intend to say machine but rather a process. Otherwise we seem to be saying the same thing :) .

28th July 2006, 05:18 PM
:D thanx dada for pointing out the discrepancy in my "definition". yes, i didn intend to say machine but rather a process. Otherwise we seem to be saying the same thing :) .

:wink: :D

28th September 2006, 06:40 PM
http://www.pdfchm.com - Free Tech books

18th October 2006, 01:03 AM
One of my queries in the BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION AND MANAGEMENT THREAD !!!

When you are in a IT project as a Business Analyst, and after you have finished with all your Discovery sessions in the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) with the Subject Matter Experts (SMEs), how would you transfer all that feedback you obtained from those sessions into actual REQUIREMENTS ??

It'll be very helpful if somebody could shed some light on this !! Thanks !! :D

19th October 2006, 05:05 PM
BayArea: I don't understand your question... But I would have thought that you have standard templates to do your requirement documents, which includes system requirements, general overview of the system, and tech arch.... which have to be filled out, sent for review (both internally and to the customer) and a sign off obtained before proceeding to the next step...

Please tell me if my answer is not what you were expecting!

19th October 2006, 06:49 PM
Anouksha, Your answer is perfect, provided I have all the information necessary to input on the templates of ReqPro, etc ...

I am at a different scenario altogether now ... It just changed yesterday ... So we might as well ignore that previous question of mine ... So here's the latest !!

We are working on a migration project from one system to another ... It's not really a 100% migration, but only about 85% to the enterprise system and the remaining 15% is said to be retained in the legacy system itself ... I was working on the Requirements gathering on the enterprise side till yesterday ... But from today, I have to be working on the legacy side, with all the changes that's gonna happen on it, due to this conversion ...

This is a banking/financial domain, and in the kickoff meeting, they only said about 8 to 9 aspects in the legacy need modification, and so the requirements are gonna be written for those aspects .. Now my understanding on how to proceed with this process is ...

* Get as much documentation as possible abt the Legacy System ..

* Understand the Legacy system, the interfaces, it's future interface with the enterprise system ..

* Identify the functional areas that need modification ...

* Understand those functional areas in and out and study the AS-IS processes ...

* Come up with some open ended questions for each of those areas that might include System overview, the current processes, the interface design etc etc ..

* Identify the Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) for each of those functional areas ...

* Conduct the discovery sessions based on those questions with the respective SMEs ...

* Rough Draft the answers, and later put them into a form that might help better in requirements ...

* Upload that version into Requisite Pro as real requirements ...

* Make the BRDs and the SRSs ....

Does this process make any sense to you ??? Please explain if I'm missing something, or if something could be done better !! Thanks a lot .... :D :D :D

19th October 2006, 07:23 PM
That looks perfect bayarea :)

What you can do when you talk to SMEs is that for those 9 aspects that require change, during your discovery sessions, clearly document the current system and what you think the new system is going to be - preferably in diagrams (pictures say a lot)!

At any point of time, get the latest documentation, most systems have an AS-IS documentation based on when the system was first implemented, there are constant changes to the system which are not documented always. Keep that in mind when asking for documentation, always remember to ask if any changes have been made since the document was released.

Good luck :)

19th October 2006, 07:42 PM
That looks perfect bayarea :)

Good luck :)

Excellent !! Will do !! :thumbsup:

26th October 2006, 04:52 PM
Dear all,

WHen a database is in 'Suspect' mode, what does it mean?

26th October 2006, 05:26 PM
Is it SQL Server?

Check your log file for a start, any thing to say that there was a problem with the database?

26th October 2006, 05:28 PM
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/custcosw/ps1001/products_tech_note09186a008014df61.shtml
http://www.thescripts.com/forum/thread78969.html

26th October 2006, 11:50 PM
Could somebody suggest a good TEXT BOOK for Business/Systems Analysis please ?? Thanks !!

27th October 2006, 02:03 AM
Dear all,

WHen a database is in 'Suspect' mode, what does it mean?

In one of the interviews that I attended, the same question was asked :lol: But I was not applying for a DBA postion :hammer:

AFAIK, if that is a SQL Database its in suspect mode because,
- The database resources might be unavailable or the OS cant access it
- The DB files might have been corrupt

There is a stored procedure (forgot the name, sp_reset or something) that would recover the DB for you, after you fix the errors :)

27th October 2006, 01:16 PM
Could somebody suggest a good TEXT BOOK for Business/Systems Analysis please ?? Thanks !!

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbnInquiry.asp?z=y&endeca=1&isbn=0131454552&itm=3

Bay: this book by Kendall is a good one, at least that is what I have heard, I have'nt read any so far!

27th October 2006, 06:46 PM

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/booksearch/isbnInquiry.asp?z=y&endeca=1&isbn=0131454552&itm=3

Bay: this book by Kendall is a good one, at least that is what I have heard, I have'nt read any so far!

Thanks Anoushka !!! That surely will help !! :thumbsup:

Braandan
28th October 2006, 05:36 AM
m_23_bayarea,
what about the "creation" and "sustenance" part of your management, for the problem given in the management/business admin thread?

28th October 2006, 08:52 AM
m_23_bayarea,
what about the "creation" and "sustenance" part of your management, for the problem given in the management/business admin thread?

Braandan, I read through it ... Lemme post my perspective over the weekend ok !! :thumbsup:

29th October 2006, 07:17 PM

Anoushka, this might sound funny !!! I was all prepared to buy this book yesterday, and my roomie and I were driving to Barnes and Noble ... We lost our way, and could only see this BOOKS board from a long distance ... So we thought, maybe the storekeepers might know where B & N exactly was ... But it happened to be a HALF-PRICE store with books on all fields .. So we thought, why not stop by and have a look at the aisles .. :P

So we go to Management Aisle, and there was a shelf for Project Management/Consulting ... At that point, I was praying that I should atleast see ONE book in Business Systems Analysis ... And guess what, there was ONE book called MODERN SYSTEMS ANALYSIS & DESIGN ... I ended up buying that used book for $8 when the original price is actually $142 !! :wink:

http://www.amazon.com/Modern-Systems-Analysis-Design-2nd/dp/0201338416/sr=1-1/qid=1162129579/ref=sr_1_1/102-5151903-6124167?ie=UTF8&s=books

The book ROCKS btw !! :thumbsup:

29th October 2006, 07:23 PM
I ended up buying that used book for $8 when the original price is actually $142 !! :lol: come to India, you can buy some of those books for a couple of dollars :lol: if they are available :roll:

31st October 2006, 04:05 AM
Bayarea: thanks for letting us know :)

31st October 2006, 09:28 AM
I'm looking for a fixer-upper with a solid foundation. Am willing to tear down walls, build bridges, and light fires. I have great experience, lots of energy, a bit of that "vision thing" and I'm not afraid to start from the beginning

Go this one from Apple CEO Steve Jobs' resume
Read his complete resume here friends!
http://homepage.mac.com/steve/Resume.html

and here is one more :lol:

Apple ignited the personal computer revolution with "insanely great" products such as the Apple II

Arthi
1st November 2006, 11:28 AM
Can anybody help me, How to find out C++ Version in AIX box?
I want to know the command to find out the version

Please its urgent

1st November 2006, 12:50 PM
May be you can find some info here :roll:
http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/abstracts/sg245674.html

P.S: I have absolutely no idea about AIX OS :)

Arthi
1st November 2006, 01:00 PM
Will Chk it out & let u know tamizh.
Nandri :)

Arthi
1st November 2006, 03:24 PM
can anybody help me for my above Query?

1st November 2006, 03:35 PM
Arthi: I don't know anything about either AIX or C++ but will try and find out, in the mean time are there any forums for AIX or C++ that you can try and ask questions in? :)

1st November 2006, 03:37 PM
http://www.ncsa.uiuc.edu/UserInfo/Resources/Hardware/IBMp690/IBM/usr/vacpp/pdf/en_US/getstart.pdf

http://www-306.ibm.com/software/awdtools/vacpp/features/index.html

Don't know if these are of any help to you.... check them anyway!

1st November 2006, 05:19 PM
Anou please add this

http://www.techenclave.com/forums/

Very useful!

nagaraj15
1st December 2006, 04:24 PM
Hi All, I am interested in having topics on Primavera Project Planner ver 5 (e/c) anybody interested. Please start shooting questions in to it.

My first question how to make the userdefined field appear in a layout

rocketboy
4th January 2007, 03:15 PM
Can someone suggest nice tool(s) for code structure analysis i.e a tool which takes up undocumented code and sorts it out showing the flow of the program by means of UML diagrams.

4th January 2007, 04:58 PM
Can someone suggest nice tool(s) for code structure analysis i.e a tool which takes up undocumented code and sorts it out showing the flow of the program by means of UML diagrams.

There is a softweare called Rational Rose, which is used 4 UML diagrams

25th January 2007, 03:58 PM
Does any1 know any software which will scan all the SQLserver.exe on Given Network domain?, if so please help, it's URGENT thanks

26th January 2007, 04:31 PM
FYI guys,

Found out the way to do it.

at Command prompt type in

osql -L

27th February 2007, 02:33 PM
Hacks to Beat Rapidshare Download Limits and Waiting Time

Here is the article on the same (http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/869/rapidshare_hacks_beat_download_limits_waiting_time )

Enjoy Downloading a lot !

dev
2nd March 2007, 04:25 PM
Hey guys,

I tried reinstalling my PC & changed all the partitions too... I'm using win XP now(previously too, it was XP)... after reinstalling, the DVD-RW is now shown as CD-RW... it reads CDs & VCDs fine... but it isn't reading any DVDs... I tried reinstalling the driver too... but doesn't work... any ideas???!!!...

2nd March 2007, 04:34 PM
Hi my office has websence. How to cheat this?The message looks like the following...................

Your organization's Internet use policy restricts access to this web page at this time.

Reason:
The Websense category "Message Boards and Clubs" is filtered.

URL: ......

2nd March 2007, 05:54 PM
Devuda,

You can check from the BIOS, as the PC boots up, press F2 as it boots up, and it would tell you, whether your DVD driver is enabled or disable.

Dear all,

Can some1 tell me what this means 'Can not generate SSPI context in MS SQl server is, this happens when I try to regiser a SQL Server...

dev
3rd March 2007, 06:55 AM
Raghu,

DVD/CD RW is not detected in the BIOS!!!... I can see the bluetooth & other stuffs enabled... but DVD-aa patthi ethuvume kaanom!!!...

6th March 2007, 04:12 AM
Raghu: I guess you would have checked the Microsoft site

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811889

18th March 2007, 05:05 PM
friends, anybody have experience with

Microsoft Virutual Server / PC

I want to know the best or good way to create a Virual Server (virtual hard disk) from an existing running installed Server

19th March 2007, 05:09 PM
Raghu: I guess you would have checked the Microsoft site

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811889

Hi Anouksha,

I have checked this, but I dont get, what ever is said there, :confused2:

never mind

rami
11th April 2007, 04:48 PM
Hi All,

I have a PHP page which gives and error "Internal Error" the first time its loaded. But when the page is refreshed, it works fine from then on. Can you help me to overcome this error ..

Soomy
19th July 2007, 08:15 AM
India's GDP is growing faster thanks to their Outsourcing compagnies. But indian workers want their wage to rise and their working condition to be improved better, that is caused a lot of turnover in India. But they cannot have free time to occupy family and hobbies, and must work more than 50 hours per week. Outsourcing compagnies from abroad treat them like animals :evil: and if they can succeed on big projets, they would turn to China which would be surpassing India in the next decade, according to experts.

19th July 2007, 09:09 AM
India's GDP is growing faster thanks to their Outsourcing compagnies. But indian workers want their wage to rise and their working condition to be improved better, that is caused a lot of turnover in India. But they cannot have free time to occupy family and hobbies, and must work more than 50 hours per week. Outsourcing compagnies from abroad treat them like animals :evil: and if they can succeed on big projets, they would turn to China which would be surpassing India in the next decade, according to experts.

It might happen. They need Profit. That's all. We need wages or else there will be nothing. Either you should earn or you should sit idle at home here. Sometimes, these things will take a backseat if you consider the primary things. IMO. This is happening for ages. We can't blame outsourcing companies. If you make a difference out of outsourcing companies and our own Indian companies, you will feel that OS companies are much better in providing employee satisfaction (not just with salary alone) :)