View Full Version : What happened to these singers ?

3rd June 2005, 02:26 AM
I don't see any hit song of these guys in the past 1 year atleast ...May be 1-2 there ,but not as they were in 2001-2003

1.Unnikrishnan
2.Srinivas
3.Harish Raghvendra
4.Balram
5.Chinmayi
6.Mathangi
7.Anuradha Sriram(!)
8.SPb Charan
9.Yugendran

3rd June 2005, 08:36 AM
C'mon all these 1,4,5 ,8 and 9

all the others are still singing....

Chk out the latest releases....

nisha111
3rd June 2005, 09:40 AM
i really missed Unnikrishnan's voice

narcot
3rd June 2005, 10:14 AM
1. Busy with carnatic music concerts
2. After he intro'd karthik to music directors, ivarukke galta.. busy singing for adukgiran kannan and mangalyam, taali etc
3. Sorry, we need male singers for actors , not those sounds like 9.. so ivarukku galta!
4. Doing voice-overs and jingles in Mumbai
5. Busy blogging, writing for chennaionline etc
6. Trying hard to break into the adfilm world in Mumbai to sing for jingles, busy learning from hindustani teacher in Mumbai.
7. Waiting for the next 'PODU' song
8. Appa..chance kudukka sollungaapppaaa?
9. Busy with kolangal serial, playing villian...

3rd June 2005, 03:54 PM
nice one liners from narcot :) :) :)

NagaS
3rd June 2005, 06:21 PM
3. Sorry, we need male singers for actors , not those sounds like 9.. so ivarukku galta!

Come-on yaar, he himself is a hero now, acting in his second movie as hero "kaRpanai" - may be the only playback singer to act in two movies as a full time hero ;)

NagaS

Thiru
3rd June 2005, 11:44 PM
MR,

Didnt charan sing in Maayavi... 'kadavul thandha' song.. ??

jannurannu
4th June 2005, 01:32 PM
I miss Srinivas's voice.....I wish music directors make him sing all types of songs. What's wrong with him? He can sing both melody and gaana!!!

usha_pooja
5th June 2005, 01:59 AM
I miss Srinivas's voice.....I wish music directors make him sing all types of songs. What's wrong with him? He can sing both melody and gaana!!!

Srinivas did also sang 4 a lot of serials like:

Geetanjali
Saradha
Ambika
Theerkha Sumangali a serial which has been aired on sun tv very recently.
Before Theerkha Sumangali came he sang 4 another serial which came on da same time which Cheaten wos actin in.
Further he sang 4 a lot of serials n these r da ones which i can remember from da top of my head.

Also he does sometimes sing 4 some tamil songs but not as much as before.

Kumanan
5th June 2005, 12:25 PM
ARRahman used to be kind of a Mentor for Srinivas.

While Mentor went to do 'Lord of the Rings'(Play), Singer is hoping for the 'Return of the King'!

jannurannu
5th June 2005, 09:42 PM
Srinivas is indeed singing for serials....but not too many movies

jannurannu
5th June 2005, 09:47 PM
Srinivas is such a great singer. He deserves so many awards!!!

narcot
6th June 2005, 03:41 PM
...else you can find all these 'busy' singers judging Raga malika, saptaswarangal etc etc on television channels

premkumarpec
16th June 2005, 03:40 PM
Juz listen to Srini's latest "Kaalai Arumbi" from kanakandein..
once again he's done an excellent job with his sweet voice.
Brilliant melody

30th June 2005, 10:17 AM
it seems SPB crashes often :(

http://groups-beta.google.com/group/comp.databases.ibm-db2/browse_frm/thread/370b9387c42f04bb/9d60a6607de30d02?q=SPB&rnum=4&hl=en#9d60a6607de30d02

usha_pooja
16th July 2005, 12:16 AM
Srinivas is indeed singing for serials....but not too many movies

thats very true i agree with u

S.Balaji
17th July 2005, 04:52 PM
Srinivas was a judge in one recent programme in Sun TV and the way he was analyzing the participants ... were not encouraging..

It was demotivating.. IMO

jannurannu
17th July 2005, 11:44 PM
You may not like srinivas but saying that he pretends that he is big and he pretends to enjoy his singing is as though you claim to have divine powers.Are you personally angry with him over something

S.Balaji
18th July 2005, 11:01 AM
JR,

No, you are mistaken. I had seen him conducting music programmes and also being a Judge of Jaya tv music programme where he was very casual and was not supportive to the participants in his speech .

jannurannu
22nd July 2005, 06:53 PM
I know him personally as a friend, he's not like that!

jannurannu
22nd July 2005, 06:54 PM
Please dont not talk as though u know about him

jannurannu
22nd July 2005, 06:56 PM
U cant judge a book from its cover...Am i right?

jannurannu
22nd July 2005, 10:39 PM
Mr. Balaji, Im very sorry but he's a good person

S.Balaji
25th July 2005, 04:59 PM
By the wy, where is Sasi rekha ? She sang some songs for IR earlier but I am not seeing her . She is a contemprory of Jency etc etc

Also Deepan chakaravarthy and TL Magarajan .

What are they doing now

S.Balaji
25th July 2005, 05:03 PM
Even Jayachandran also is not to be seen now a days. Excellent voice and sweet sound.
Is he still in Malayalam movies now atleast ??

There was a guy - Jolly Abraham who is also missing

saradhaa_sn
25th July 2005, 06:37 PM
Hello Balaji...

Once there was a period, where TMS, PBS, Suseela, LRE, Vani..were survive for a long time...

But now day by day new faces (new tones...???) being introduced(especially after Rahman's arrival) and the previous ones are being neglected...

Thatswhy Deepan Chakravarthy, Maharajan, Jayachandran, S.N.Surendar etc got disappeared.

SPB and Jesudoss are exceptions, like 'kattumaram'. Even TSunami comes 'kattumaram' will be floating without any damage....

S.Balaji
25th July 2005, 06:44 PM
Hello Balaji...

Once there was a period, where TMS, PBS, Suseela, LRE, Vani..were survive for a long time...

But now day by day new faces (new tones...???) being introduced(especially after Rahman's arrival) and the previous ones are being neglected...

Thatswhy Deepan Chakravarthy, Maharajan, Jayachandran, S.N.Surendar etc got disappeared.

SPB and Jesudoss are exceptions, like 'kattumaram'. Even TSunami comes 'kattumaram' will be floating without any damage....

Hello Saradhaji,

I wonder why they are not being looked at now. Definitely they are better singers than the current lot.

The exception probably is - Unnikrishnan / Srinivas

Even the names could not be recognised after a year .

You know SPB himself commented in one programme that he is not able to remember the current singers' names as they are not focussed. He added that the old singers used to be recornised by their songs and thier unique voice. It seems the current lot either copies the old tones or not unique ??

27th July 2005, 10:02 PM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=199283&disdate=7/27/2005

All's not well with Harish Raghavendra:-(

S.Balaji
27th July 2005, 10:09 PM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=199283&disdate=7/27/2005

All's not well with Harish Raghavendra:-(

App,

Harish is one of the nice singers in the current scenario. I love Nirpadhuvay, nadapadhuvay song

I think he lost focus after he tried acting and all.

Movies
28th July 2005, 03:54 AM
I think Hris has a sweet voice, he had some massive hit songs like the one in barathi and esp the minnale song, and a blockbuster hit from shajahan and youth.

But Personally I think he is jus another singer sounding like Unni krishnan.

saradhaa_sn
28th July 2005, 12:49 PM
Hi Movies....

Previously also there were many singers, sounds like another:

Kovai Soundar rajan - like TMSounder rajan
Jayachandran - like KJYesudoss
Mano - like SPBalasubramaniyam.

S.Balaji
28th July 2005, 05:04 PM
Hi Movies....

Previously also there were many singers, sounds like another:

Kovai Soundar rajan - like TMSounder rajan
Jayachandran - like KJYesudoss
Mano - like SPBalasubramaniyam.

Also - Seergazhi's son absolutely copying his style . I feel thats the reason he could not succeed much.

I wish you replace Jolly Abraham - KJY

and not Jayachandran. He had somewhat different tone and style. Jolly was a photo copy of KJY.

Jayachandran's - Geetha sangeetha / Manjolai kilidhano / Manjal nilaavukku - these are distinct identities of him . Totally different from KJY style.

28th July 2005, 07:02 PM
There was a singer : Arunmozhi

Is he still singing.. as per my knowledge he doesnt in tamil films..

But what about other regional languages??

S.Balaji
28th July 2005, 07:17 PM
There was a singer : Arunmozhi

Is he still singing.. as per my knowledge he doesnt in tamil films..

But what about other regional languages??

I think he sang that song -

Naan enbadhu nee allavo deva devi. I am not sure .

He was another IR man. Sang a few songs .

Slightly resemble SPB. Unfortunately faded out soon.

saradhaa_sn
28th July 2005, 07:36 PM
When you mentioned about Arunmozhi, I remember his two excellent songs:

"Vennilavukku vaanaththai pidikkalaiyaa"... from (thaalaattu paadavaa)

"Varaadhu vandha naayagan"....( same movie).

His voice perfectly match for actor Parthiban.

S.Balaji
28th July 2005, 07:40 PM
When you mentioned about Arunmozhi, I remember his two excellent songs:

"Vennilavukku vaanaththai pidikkalaiyaa"... from (thaalaattu paadavaa)

"Varaadhu vandha naayagan"....( same movie).

His voice perfectly match for actor Parthiban.

Yes yes, Infact I had a bigfight with my wife one day on the song - Varadhu vandha nayagan. I thought it was SPB but she was emphatic, it was Arunmozhi. Finally, after hearing it again minutely , I realised that its Arun.

probably his resemblence with SPB did not do good for him as there was Mano already in the field.

But that song varadhu vandha nayagan was a nice pick . Again its IR there !!

Kumanan
28th July 2005, 10:36 PM
Ithukellam Wife kooda sandai poduvaankala?! :banghead:

Nice song off Arunmozhi: "Naan enpathu Nee allavo theva thevi....."

28th July 2005, 11:17 PM
Arunmozhi IR troopil kuzhaloodhum kaNNan...(i.e.plays flute...also sings once in a while)

28th July 2005, 11:17 PM
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/009200507281114.htm

Asha interview...praises Sadhana and Shreya

29th July 2005, 12:48 AM
"probably his resemblence with SPB did not do good for him as there was Mano already in the field. "

Resemblance with SPB? Puhleeze..Even in the wildest of my dreams I cannot imagine confusing Arunmozhi's voice with that of SPB's. Poles apart.

As for his rendition of "naan enbadhu nee allavo" - I'll have to :banghead:

S.Balaji
29th July 2005, 11:17 AM
Ithukellam Wife kooda sandai poduvaankala?! :banghead:

Nice song off Arunmozhi: "Naan enpathu Nee allavo theva thevi....."

Ayya Thiru kumanan avargalay,

Atharku peyar anbu chandai only !!

S.Balaji

S.Balaji
29th July 2005, 11:27 AM
Dear Friends,

Wish to share with you all about Jency. I am not sure whether any thread was already there earlier on this singer .

She was introduced by IR in the late 70s and she is basically from Kerala.
IR's famous hits in the late 70s will include Jency and Jayachandran . THere is a big list of songs which were hits :

kaathal oviyam pesum kaaviyam
unakkena thaane inneramaa
mayile mayile - kadavul amaitha medai
Devan thiruchabai malargalae(with Vasantha) - Avar enakke sondham
Paniyum neeye malarum naane(with SPB) - Pani malar(Shankar ganesh)
en vaanile ore vennila..
aayiram malargalE
Iru paravaigal malai muzhuvathum
thamthana..nanthana
idhayam pOguthE
Naan naan aadanum poo naan paadanum - poondhalir
Deiveega raagam thevittadha paadal - ullasa paravaigal
vaada en raajaa kannaa vaadadha roja poove - rishimoolam
adi pennae ponnoonjal aadum ilamai - mullum malarum
poo malarnthida nadamidum ponmayile - tik tik tik
Ennuir neethane.......(yesu and jency) - Priya
kalyaanam thannai mudikka - Metti
geetha sangeetha - Anbe angeethaa
theertha karai thanile - thai pongal
meenkodi theril - karumbu vil

Her voice was very melodius and all her songs were very popular in the late 70s but only IR was giving her opportunities.
I remember she sang some songs for Shankar Ganesh also but mostly for IR only.
By the beginning of the 80s she slowly faded away.

I recently saw her programme appearing as a Judge in Jaya TV programme being conducted by Vijay Adhi Raj. I am stunned to see her old golden voice still intact. Probaly its God's gift.
Also , Tamil film industry's loss that we could not hear her songs more now a days.

TO conclude, IR's golden period was shared with - SPB/KJY/Malaysia Vasudeven / Jency/ Sasirekha / Shailaja/ Jayachandran.

saradhaa_sn
29th July 2005, 12:16 PM
Dear Balaji....

I also watched that programme, "Raaga Maaliga" in Jaya TV. Jency started that programme with one of her famous number:

"Melam kotta neram varum poonkodiye"... from the movie 'Lakshmi' (this song is missing in your list). Till that time I never saw her face in any programme, or in any magazine. When I saw her in Raaga Maaliga, I was so happy...."ooh, this is that great singer Jency...!!!!" (thanks to Jaya tv).

I like all of her song for her differenciated voice. In fact 'Dheiveega Raagam' from Ullaasa Paravaigal is one of the favourite of my husband.

(His other favourites are: "En ullil engo"..by VJ in Rasapoo Ravikkaikaari, "Hey...Oraayiram."..'meendul kokila etc, because he is the great fan of actress Deepa).

S.Balaji
29th July 2005, 12:29 PM
Dear Balaji....

I also watched that programme, "Raaga Maaliga" in Jaya TV. Jency started that programme with one of her famous number:

"Melam kotta neram varum poonkodiye"... from the movie 'Lakshmi' (this song is missing in your list). Till that time I never saw her face in any programme, or in any magazine. When I saw her in Raaga Maaliga, I was so happy...."ooh, this is that great singer Jency...!!!!" (thanks to Jaya tv).

I like all of her song for her differenciated voice. In fact 'Dheiveega Raagam' from Ullaasa Paravaigal is one of the favourite of my husband.

Dear Sharadhajii,

Melam kotta neram varum - is a lovely lovely song she sang . Sorry I missed it somehow. Which movie is it ??. I distinctly recollect IR also poking his voice somewhere inbetween .
It was a solid song - Unjency like. I mean most of her songs were mild and gentle but this one is exceptional.

I see, your hubby is a big fan of Deepa. Pl ask him about - Johnny , whether he like - Seno rita I love you ? where his favourite Deepa appears there also .

Coming back to Jency, my favourite is -

1. Geetha sangeetha - lovely duet with Jaya chandran
( you want to know who were the pairs in the movie - It was Jai Ganesh and Chittiii Radhika ( now Selvi ) !!! )

2. Meenkodi theril

3. Nee illatha pothu engum nenjam - Malaysia with Jency in Ilamai kolam

I consider myself to be fortunate to be part of the golden period of IR / BR / KB / SPB / KJY / SJ / Jency / Malaysia / Shailaja / KB / Mahendran / Balu mahendra

(His other favourites are: "En ullil engo"..by VJ in Rasapoo Ravikkaikaari, "Hey...Oraayiram."..'meendul kokila etc, because he is the great fan of actress Deepa).

17th August 2005, 07:03 PM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=204150&disdate=8/17/2005

Harish Raghavendar....

S.Balaji
25th August 2005, 01:40 PM
In Rajini's film Kazugu... there will be a song...

KAADHAL ENNUM KOVIL... KATTI VAITHEN NENJIL.....

Nice song... by IR......

The guy who sang that song was.... Sulamangalam Murali.....

Any other song of him is there ?

It was a nice song and he sang well also... Wonder why he could not succeed

25th August 2005, 05:01 PM
where is S.Janaki now....

7th September 2005, 12:03 AM
http://www.dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=208204&disdate=9/6/2005

...sad end...

7th September 2005, 08:23 PM
s janaki's music career is not over i heard a recent malayala song with her in raaga.

saradhaa_sn
21st September 2005, 02:20 PM
Can anybody tell, what happened to singer 'Minmini' and where is now?.

We want to hear some more, like 'chinna chinna aasai'.

S.Balaji
21st September 2005, 02:34 PM

Saradhajiii,

I think Chinnai chinna aasai was by Sujatha ??

Shankar
21st September 2005, 02:35 PM
It was by minmini

mr_karthik
21st September 2005, 05:55 PM

Saradhajiii,

'Chinna chinna Asai' by Minmini.
'Poo pookum Osai adhai ketkathAn Asai' by SujAtha.

Balaji sir, reNdu Asaiyum ungaLai confuse panniduchunnu ninakirEn :D :D

S.Balaji
21st September 2005, 06:04 PM

Saradhajiii,

'Chinna chinna Asai' by Minmini.
'Poo pookum Osai adhai ketkathAn Asai' by SujAtha.

Balaji sir, reNdu Asaiyum ungaLai confuse panniduchunnu ninakirEn :D :D

Dear Karthik,

Probably age is catching up :oops:

WHen the original posting came from a veteran like Saradhajiii, I should not have doubted it :o

21st September 2005, 10:08 PM
I read somewhere that Minmini had some strange issue with her throat and couldn't sing for years...