PDA

View Full Version : ALL MRIDANGAM STUDENTS

unni
12th July 2005, 07:48 AM
hi my name is Unni. i am a rising mridangam student. there is one aspect of the mridangam i just dont seem to understand...the math behind playing the mridangam. if there are 10 aksharams....such as in this lesson i learned

Na Thin Thin Na
NaKa Thin Thin Na
Kitathaka Thin Thin Na
Tha LanGu Thakathimi Nakathari Kitathaka

Na Thin Thin Na
NaKa Thin Thin Na

Tha LanGu Thom Tha Tham
Tha LanGu Thom Tha Tham

my teacher says it's 3 1/2 + 3 1/2 + 3 1/2..........all i get from that is 10 1/2..what does that mean? where does he get 3 1/2 from and whats with the addition? can someone help me?

Idiappam
12th July 2005, 08:15 AM
This is one of the initial lessons of Mirudamgam.

The lesson can be set to
8 atcharams - adithalam
14 atcharams - misra chappu 3 1/2 x4 = 14 .... insert a Karvai (pause) - after the first syllable 'Na'
10 atcharams - kandachappu 2 1/2 x 4 -10 .... play vilambam kalam - insert a karvai after the 3rd syllable!

Hope you understand. Else ask your teacher!

viggop
12th July 2005, 03:33 PM
Idiappam Sir
Are you a mridangam player? ;-)

unni
12th July 2005, 08:44 PM
but what are you counting when u say 3 1/2..and how do you know that it works..can you tell me step by step what's supposed to go through your head when you're counting?

Idiappam
12th July 2005, 11:01 PM
Idiappam Sir
Are you a mridangam player? ;-)

Yes, not an expert tough!. It has been a long time since I went on stage accompanying!

Idiappam
12th July 2005, 11:27 PM
but what are you counting when u say 3 1/2..and how do you know that it works..can you tell me step by step what's supposed to go through your head when you're counting?

3 1/2 beats, I am counting - misra chappu thalam, they call that. I count - 1231234 1231234....

That is said as
tha kki da | tha kka thi mi...
tha kki da | tha kka thi mi..... in mirudangam 'words'.