PDA

View Full Version : I am a newbie

Sunflower77
1st August 2005, 06:29 PM
Hi,

I am new to US and this forum. I just got married recently and moved from Delhi, and missing indian food. :cry: There aren't any indian grocery stores nearby. Does anybody know where I can shop online for indian grocery items?

Thanks
Rajalakshmi

hehehewalrus
2nd August 2005, 02:19 AM
Sunflower77,
welcome to the forum :) I am sure you will find several delicious recipes from here!!
in which city and state are u in? Let us know and we can tell some alternatives for u.

Sunflower77
2nd August 2005, 03:34 AM
We're in a small town just south of Louisville, Kentucky.

hehehewalrus
2nd August 2005, 05:42 AM
Hope this helps

India Spices
Louisville
4746 Bardstown Rd Kentucky (KY) Phone: (502) 499 6776

Shalimar Indian Grocery
Louisville
1834 S Hurstbourne Pkwy Kentucky (KY) Phone: (502) 499 9791

Sunflower77
2nd August 2005, 07:00 PM
Thanks, hehehewalrus. We'll make a trip to Louisville soon.

Also, is there any substitute available for Besan? I wanted to make pakoras and was wondering if there's anything available at Walmart that I can use instead of Besan.

Sunflower77
2nd August 2005, 08:27 PM
Can anybody suggest a good way of storing fruits and veggies fresh longer? I just threw away a carton of strawberries from the refrigerator and it hurts to see food go waste :(

My husband's friend gave us a bag full of corn on the cob, and there's no way we are going to finish it soon. He also gave us a bag full of potatoes from his farm. How can I store them so they stay fresh longer?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Sunflower77
P.S - I love this forum.

deepali128
2nd August 2005, 10:05 PM
Hi,

i don't use potatos much so i had to throw half the bag. but now i am storing them in freez and i can save it for more than 2 week.

about strawberries: if i have excess i will make their paste with milk and sugar and keep it in freezer in a tight container.

dev
2nd August 2005, 10:39 PM
Hi Sunflower,