PDA

View Full Version : Microwave cooking good or bad?

Mini
31st August 2005, 02:11 PM
Hello all,
I always have a doubt if microwave cooking causes any harm. though it saves a lot of oil, i've heard that it changes the actual properties of the veggies. is this true???

dev
31st August 2005, 02:37 PM
Hi Minni,

I've read a lot of articles abt the ill-effects of microwave cooking... I am not sure how far it's true but I limit the use of microwave to reheating & roasting pappads...& sometimes for emergency cooking... the reason being,I find a difference in the taste of the dish when cooked in microwave... It might be partly coz I'm not very experienced at using microwave oven..,I sometimes feel that it's better to go back to the age old tradition of using 'viragu aduppu' & 'mann chatti'... :wink: :)

Mini
31st August 2005, 02:47 PM
that definitely tastes much better for sure.
unfortunately, we have no access to these :(
the problem is that i tried googling about this, but found just equal no of sites for the good and the bad effects.

by the way, i'm Mini not Minni

dev
31st August 2005, 02:57 PM
"hat definitely tastes much better for sure.
unfortunately, we have no access to these Sad
the problem is that i tried googling about this, but found just equal no of sites for the good and the bad effects."

Yep, That's true... The same happenes with canola oil...U can find equal no of sites for the good and the bad effects of it... I once bought tht oil & ended up throwing the whole can without even opening it after reading articles abt it... Better to be on the safer side by minimising the use of these unconcluded miseries... :wink:

Hey,sry...that was a typo...

binal142001
31st August 2005, 09:01 PM
Hi dev,
So do u think canola oil bad for health?(but i read in so many articles that its very good for health....)
if yes...
then what oil do u use for indian cooking??

Thanks

dev
31st August 2005, 09:30 PM
Hi binal,