View Full Version : All Time Classics!!

3rd December 2005, 06:54 AM
Hi Guys! This thread is to discuss ur all time favs, and classics in Tamil Cinema. There are SOOOO many to name. Right now, I'm just naming the ones that come to mind.

Here's My List:

100/100
Starring: "Tamiz Naadu 007" Jai Shankar, Nagesh, Sri Vidhya, Sahasranamam, Lakshmi.
Director: K. Balachandar.
Year of Release: 1971
Box Office Result: Not Sure.

Thillanna Mohanabhal.
Starring: "Nadigar Thilagam" Shivaji, Padhmini, Balayya.
Director: Not Sure.
Year of Release: Not Sure.
Box Office Result: SUPER HIT!

Ayirathil Oruvan
Starring: "Makkal Thilagam" MGR :clap:, J. Jeyalalitha.
Box Office Result: SUPER DUPER MEGA BLOCKBUSTER HIT!! :clap:

Ulagam Suttrum Vaaliban
Starring: "Makkal Thilagam" MGR :clap:.

Tic Tic Tic
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Madhavi, "Thenga" Srinivasan, Thyagarajan.
Director: Bharathiraja
Year: 1981
Music: "Isaignyani" Ilayaraja.

16 Vayathinile
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Sridevi, "Superstar, Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth.
Year: 1977

Moondru Mudichu
Starring: "Superstar, Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth, "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Sridevi.
Director: K. Balachandar
Year: 1975
Music: Raja

Nallavanukku Nallavan
Starring: "SuperStar! Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth, Radhika, Karhick.
Year: 1984
Box Office Result: SUPER DUPER HIT!!! :clap:

Update more later! 8-)[/b]

Jay Rajakariar
3rd December 2005, 07:36 AM
Naadodi Mannan-MGR Films
Released in 1958. MGR, Bhanumathi,Sarojadevi

Box Office : Mega hit.

3rd December 2005, 09:39 AM
Hi Machi, :D
Wat abt Kathalikka Neramille?? I thot tats one all-time classic??
I liked Nagesh's acting in tat film much better than the 2 heroes' tho......!

3rd December 2005, 10:40 AM
nayagan
kamal(national award)
ilayaraja
pc sriram
maniratnam
thotta tharani

mega blockbuster hit

"one of the top 100 movies of world"-time magazine.

Justice
3rd December 2005, 10:42 AM
Kathal Kottai

Ajith's turning point No 1

Super Duper Mega BlockBuster

The real trend setter :P

Jay Rajakariar
3rd December 2005, 01:33 PM
Yes.

Without a doubt.

Enga Veetu Pillai is a definite contender.

Alien
3rd December 2005, 07:51 PM
Sagara Sangamam(Salangai Oli)
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamal Haasan, Jayapradha, Sarath babu, S.P.Sailaja
Director: K.Vishwanath
Year: 1983
Box Office Result: MEGA HIT!
Kamal won an Asian best actor award for this film !!

Thevar Magan
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamal Haasan, "Nadigar Thilagam" Sivaji Ganeshan, Gowthami, Revathi
Story, Screenplay, Dialogues : "Padhmasree" Kamal Haasan :clap:
Director: Bharathan
Production : Raaj Kamal films international
Year: 1992
Box Office Result: MEGA HIT!

3rd December 2005, 09:09 PM
Does it talk of only olden days movies?

IF no I would like to add some rare movies with good story which was were fair hits.

Bhagyaraj's movies are good entertainers, with reasonably interesting stories and gripping dialogues.

I liked....(I should say i am a fan of dir.bhagyaraj)

ITHU NAMMA AALU
CAST:bhagyaraj, shobhana.

SUNDARA GANDAM
Caste:bhagyaraj, BP, Some girl who resembled manjula!

3rd December 2005, 09:12 PM
aboorva sagodharargal

padhmasri kamal haasan
gouthami
nagesh
jaishankar
janagaraj

director :singeetham srinivasa rao

photography : p.c.sriram

music :isaignani ilayaraja

mega hit

"a classic example for a complete entertainer"

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 09:18 PM
sigappu rojakkal
kamal,sridevi
dir-bharathi raja
result-super hit

apoorva sahodararkal
kamal(double role)
result-super hit

mullum malarum
rajini
dir-mahendran
result-super hit

dalapathy
rajini,mammootty,aravind swamy,amrish puri,shobhana,bhanupriya,geetha
dir-mani ratnam
result-super hit

agni natchathiram
prabhu,karthik,amala,nirosha,vijayakumar
dir-mani ratnam
result-super hit

thillu mullu
rajini,madhavi
dir-kb
result-super hit

netrikkan
rajini(double role),saritha,lakshmi
dir-sp muthuraman
result-super hit

johny
rajini(double role),sridevi
dir-mahendran
result-super hit

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 09:20 PM
Kathal Kottai

Ajith's turning point No 1

Super Duper Mega BlockBuster

The real trend setter :P
kathal kottai among all time classics????
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Justice
3rd December 2005, 09:22 PM
what's wrong with that?

only after that, many films were made in 'love subject' and had 'kathal' in its title

I think you are out of luck :rotfl:

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 09:24 PM
kathal kottai may be a good film,but not a classic.u may call sethu,pithamagan,kakka kakka or anniyan a classic.but not kathal kottai

3rd December 2005, 09:25 PM
eh this talks bout... GREAT MOVIES ONLY IS IT?

I mean movies which would be remembered?

In that case REMOVE MY BHAGYARAJ'S movies too.

Justice
3rd December 2005, 09:26 PM
see, this thread was good till you came here now :evil:
why can't you just accept what others say? :evil:
I don't agree with some of your OPINIONS above and some of others, but did I say anything?

now you started 'spamming'

pithamagan a classic? :lol:
sethu a classic? :lol:
anniyan a classic? :lol:
kaaka kaaka a classic? :lol:

kathal kottai may be a good film,but not a classic.u may call sethu,pithamagan,kakka kakka or anniyan a classic.but not kathal kottai

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 09:28 PM
see, this thread was good till you came here now :evil:
why can't you just accept what others say? :evil:
I don't agree with some of your OPINIONS above and some of others, but did I say anything?

now you started 'spamming'

pithamagan a classic? :lol:
sethu a classic? :lol:
anniyan a classic? :lol:
kaaka kaaka a classic? :lol:

these movies r better than kathal kottai.if u call kathal kottai a classic,then these movies deserve to be called something else.

Justice
3rd December 2005, 09:32 PM
in what way sethu or pithamagan or kaaka kaaka or anniyan better than Kathal Kottai?

read the topic of this thread, "Classic". you know what it means? no atlas, no index, no calculator can help you, get a dictionary dude. :lol:

Kathal Kottai is a love subject and is way better than any of these action or performance oriented movies. they are good but in their own way only.

Kathal Kottai was better and it's not what we should be argueing. my point is Kathal Kottai is a classic, if you can't accept then eat a pot of rice :evil:

3rd December 2005, 09:35 PM
Justice !!

KAATHAL KOTTAI???????!?!?!

:evil: why do u always argue JUST BECAUSE U WANNA ARGUE?

Def pithamagan, sethu or kakka kakka as ranjit says DESERVES BETTER TREATMENt

Justice
3rd December 2005, 09:40 PM
:shock: what?

I'm not here to argue, my point was Kathal Kotai was classic but rangit wants an arguement here. plz read the previous page before jumping on me :evil:

what are we supposed to do here?

state OUR opinion right?

opinion differs

I gave my opinion as "Kathal kottai is classic". I didn't comment on other movies but rangit say how is it classic and others were better and or whatever.

I'm sure that was his opinion

Kathal Kottai is classic and it fetched agathiyan a national award for his treatment

I dont' care if anyone disagree with it.

3rd December 2005, 10:00 PM
ok ok relax. kathal kottai is a classic :smile:

Justice
3rd December 2005, 10:02 PM
you are saying it to cool me :wink: but I'm cool

I just want rangit to understand the point, he wants an arguement which I hate to have if opposition is a wuss

ok ok relax. kathal kottai is a classic :smile:

3rd December 2005, 10:11 PM
parAsakthi - My most fav b/w movie 8-)

3rd December 2005, 10:24 PM
hmmmmmmmmmm.....

antha naaL is a great classic. WODNERFUL THRILLER for an old timer

oru naaaL is it the mvoie which has this song "neeyum bommai naanum bommai ninaichu partha ellaam bommai"

Its a thriller again.

One more thriller had padmini's elder sis lalitha cast along awith nageswara rao. Forgot the movie name!

3rd December 2005, 10:29 PM
I thought neeyum bommai was from bommai. One of KJY's early songs.. or is that his first?? :roll:

sure andha naaL is a fantastic movie :thumbsup:

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 10:43 PM
Justice !!

thx shakthiprabha.u understood me

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 10:52 PM
:shock: what?

I'm not here to argue, my point was Kathal Kotai was classic but rangit wants an arguement here. plz read the previous page before jumping on me :evil:

what are we supposed to do here?

state OUR opinion right?
opinion differs

I gave my opinion as "Kathal kottai is classic". I didn't comment on other movies but rangit say how is it classic and others were better and or whatever.

I'm sure that was his opinion

Kathal Kottai is classic and it fetched agathiyan a national award for his treatment

I dont' care if anyone disagree with it.
wht will u do if someone says any vijay film is a classic?i am sure u will oppose.i dont consider kathal kottai as a classic.so i told my opinion.

karthik_sa2
3rd December 2005, 10:56 PM
my fav films r "moondram pirai","most of sivaji films",sarvar sundaram,"ethir neechal","devar magan","hey ram","anjali","kadhalku mariyadhai<mainly bcos of IR bgms>,kadhal kondain,7g rainbow colony,paesum padam....as of now this is my list.i liked baatsha too<though cannot be claimed as a classic>but still a very good entertainer.infact i wud put most of the rajini films in this category<best entertainer>

3rd December 2005, 11:07 PM
I thought neeyum bommai was from bommai. One of KJY's early songs.. or is that his first?? :roll:

sure andha naaL is a fantastic movie :thumbsup:

yeah first song. I heard him say in an interview, he was shocked about the rhythm and tempo of the song and thought his CAREER IS VANISHED INTO THIN AIR....

:smile:

3rd December 2005, 11:10 PM
johny

rajni
sridevi
suruli rajan

crew

isaignani ilayaraja
mahendran

result:big hit

]"a classic example for the right mixture of style,romance and action"

3rd December 2005, 11:16 PM
johny

"a classic example for the right mixture of style,romance and action"

Sometimes nilavu is right too :thumbsup:

3rd December 2005, 11:23 PM
johny

:evil:

Justice
3rd December 2005, 11:31 PM
what a moron you are :wink: :lol:

vijay's movies aren't classic so I'd oppose

what you mean in your post is you'd oppose my post just because I'd oppose yours :( . grow up man, Kathal Kottai is classic.
you're a very sad person. :(

wht will u do if someone says any vijay film is a classic?i am sure u will oppose.i dont consider kathal kottai as a classic.so i told my opinion.

tfmlover
3rd December 2005, 11:33 PM
[quote="Shakthiprabha"]

neeyum bommai from ..bommai
and thers no classic 'oru naal thriller ? its 'orru viral
antha naal' good one kasi i guess no songs ? in that movi

3rd December 2005, 11:35 PM
tfm...i dont understand ur post at all except the fact...
neeyum bommai is from movie bommai.

tfmlover
3rd December 2005, 11:39 PM
padagotti ?, adimai penn ?
bheemsingh sivaji ganeshan movies stars with 'p' most r good

Justice
3rd December 2005, 11:39 PM
Vasantha Maaligai :(

3rd December 2005, 11:41 PM
anbE vaaaaa (one of mgr's best movie)

3rd December 2005, 11:49 PM
tfm....orru viral?????nah...

Now i remember the padmini sis and nageswara rao's movie......

its

orr iravu....

so the thriller/classics are

ANTHA NAAL
ORR IRAVU
bommai.

karthik_sa2
3rd December 2005, 11:55 PM
veerapandiya kattabomman,karnan,kapalotiya tamizhan,deiva magan,babu,gowravam,vietnam veedu.most of the sivaji films r classics

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 11:56 PM
johny

very very very very rarely

ranjit_g
3rd December 2005, 11:59 PM
what a moron you are :wink: :lol:

vijay's movies aren't classic so I'd oppose

what you mean in your post is you'd oppose my post just because I'd oppose yours :( . grow up man, Kathal Kottai is classic.
you're a very sad person. :(

i am not opposing u because u wud oppose me.kathal kottai is not a classic.so i oppose.u said every person has the right to voice their opinion.then y do u wanna oppose if someone says any vijay movie is a classic.it is just his/her opinion.

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:02 AM
when I'm giving my opinion, you don't really need to oppose, if you want to. then I can go back and oppose every single film of RK, you've given :roll:

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:05 AM
is it a classic movie? :rotfl: :rotfl:

sigappu rojakkal

netrikkan
dir-sp muthuraman
result-super hit

tfmlover
4th December 2005, 12:19 AM
tfm....orru viral?????nah...

Now i remember the padmini sis and nageswara rao's movie......

its

orr iravu....

so the thriller/classics are

ANTHA NAAL
ORR IRAVU
bommai.

u mean..tk shanmugam lalitha movie? thunbam nergayil yaazheduthu nee..?

4th December 2005, 12:22 AM
yeah yeah yeah... sme movie

WAs not that nageswara rao and lalitha?

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:24 AM
is it a classic movie? :rotfl: :rotfl:

sigappu rojakkal

netrikkan
dir-sp muthuraman
result-super hit

both sigappu rojakkal and netrikkan r classic movies

tfmlover
4th December 2005, 12:24 AM
tk shanmugam..

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:25 AM
oh god, I know both were some kind of movies :roll: and you think they are classic :rotfl:

both sigappu rojakkal and netrikkan r classic movies

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:26 AM
i think they r classics

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:30 AM
which means you are a :roll: :rotfl:

they are not classic

i think they r classics

4th December 2005, 12:30 AM
justice...

SIGAPPU ROJAKKAL atleast is a classic. (leave out the adult themes...) we are talkin of GOOD MOVIES HERE. (ADULT MOVIES OR 'U' cert movies IS NTO THE question here)

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:31 AM
Vaali is classic :P

4th December 2005, 12:35 AM
I accept that. vaali was good.

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:36 AM
finally, my point was taken :P

4th December 2005, 12:38 AM
I never said no ANYDAY FOR VAALI. Good mvoie

4th December 2005, 12:43 AM
yeah yeah yeah... sme movie

WAs not that nageswara rao and lalitha?

Or iravu (1951)

Cast:
K.R.Ramasami, Lalitha, A.Nageswara Rao,B.S.Saroja, T.S.Balaiah,T.P.Muthulakshmi and T.K.Shanmugam

Story and dialogue: C.N.ANNadurai (ANNA)

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:43 AM
even i agree vali is a gr8 movie.but kathal kottai is not a classic.sigappu rojakkal and netrikkan r far betetr movies.

Justice
4th December 2005, 12:47 AM
netrikan was a :oops:

Kathal Kotai and Vaali are classic :D

vijay and classic, oxymoron :lol:

even i agree vali is a gr8 movie.but kathal kottai is not a classic.sigappu rojakkal and netrikkan r far betetr movies.

4th December 2005, 01:04 AM
:grin: thanks raj.

4th December 2005, 01:06 AM
WOW!! I'm surpriced to see this thread go into it's 4th page in just one night! :D

Guys, this thread isn't to aruge on what is a classic or not. Most of the film mentioned are in fact classics!

Adding to my earlier list:

100/100
Starring: "Tamiz Naadu 007" Jai Shankar, Nagesh, Sri Vidhya, Sahasranamam, Lakshmi.
Director: K. Balachandar.
Year of Release: 1971
Box Office Result: Not Sure.

Thillanna Mohanabhal.
Starring: "Nadigar Thilagam" Shivaji, Padhmini, Balayya.
Year of Release: Not Sure.

Ayirathil Oruvan
Starring: "Makkal Thilagam" MGR :clap:, J. Jeyalalitha.

Ulagam Suttrum Vaaliban
Starring: "Makkal Thilagam" MGR :clap:.

Tic Tic Tic
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Madhavi, "Thenga" Srinivasan, Thyagarajan.
Year: 1981

16 Vayathinile
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Sridevi, "Superstar, Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth.
Year: 1977

Moondru Mudichu
Starring: "Superstar, Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth, "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Sridevi.
Director: K. Balachandar

Nallavanukku Nallavan
Starring: "SuperStar! Thanga Thalaivar" Rajinikanth, Radhika, Karhick.
Year: 1984
Box Office Result: SUPER DUPER HIT!!! :clap:

Anyways,

I think that Sigappu Rojakkal is an all time Classic! So is Nettrikkan. It had the perfect ingredients for a "Playboy" type Comedy! :D

Since we're talinga bout Playboy comedies, lets not forget:

" Manmadha Leelai "
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan
Director: K. Balahchandar.
Music: MSV

Other Classics:

Kan Simmittum Neram . :clap:
Genre: Thriller
Starring: Sarath Kumar, Karthik. (I don't remember the ladies.)
Music: VS Narasimhan
Box Office Result: Flop. :roll:

"Motor" Sundaram Pillai
Starring: Shivaji
Box Office Result: HIT!

Moondram Pirai :clap:
Director: Balu Mahendra
Starring: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Sridevi, Y Gee Mahendran
Music: Raja.
Songs: Kannadasan.

Moodu Panigal
Director: Balu Mahendra
Starring: Prathap, Don't know the names of the rest.

Coming to Contemperory Times:

Kannathil Muthamittal
Director: Mani Rathnam
Starring: "Chocolat Hero" Madhavan, Simmi, Parthiban's Daughter.
Music: AR Rehman
Box Office Result: Flop. :cry:

Hey! Ram
Starring: "Padhmashree" Kamala Haasan, Vasundra Das, SRK, Vaali, Raani Mukherjee.
Director: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan.
Year: 2000

Anbe Sivam
Cast: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Maddy, Kiran.
Director: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan.
Music: Vidhyasagar.

Virumaandi
Cast: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan, Abiraami, Paypathy, Nepoleon.
Director: "Padmashree" Kamala Haasan
BOx Office Result: SUPER HIT!

Pithamagan
Cast: "Chiyan" Vikram, "Perazhagan" Surya, Laila, Sangeetha, Karunas.
Director: Bala

Kaaka Kaaka After a LONG time, it was a neatly done masala-free Police Story.
Starring: "Perazhagan" Surya, Jo, Pandia.
Director: Gautham Menon
Music: "Harris" Jeyaraj.

Sethu
Cast: "Chiyan" Vikram. Don't know anyone else because CHIYAN stole the show!! :thumbsup:
Director: BALA

Anniyan
Starring: "Chiyan" Vikram, Sada, Vivek, Prakash Raj.
Director: Shankar
Music: "Harris" Jeyaraj.
Box Office Result: BLOCKBUSTER!

Amarkallam
Starring: "Thala" Ajith, Shalini, Raguvaran.
Director: ??

CHANDRAMUKHI - Different Subject. New to Tamil Cinema.
Starring: "SUPERSTAR, THANGA THALAIVAR" Rajinikanth, Jo, Prabhu, Nayanthaara.
Director: P. Vasu
Music: VIdhyasagar.
Box Office Result: SUPER DUPER MEGA HIT!!

Gajini - Slick Presnetation, Nice Screenplay, Exellent Acting b cast.
Starring: "Perazhagan" Surya, Asin, Nayantaara.
Director: AR MURUGADOSS
Box Office Result: BLOCKBUSTER!! :thumbsup:

To Be Continued... 8-)

4th December 2005, 01:25 AM
My List Of Classics::

1) Kaadhal Kottai

2) Vaalee

3) Anbe Sivam

4)Aboorva Sagotharargal

5) Anbe Sivam

6) Ramana

7)Kaadhalan

8)Indian

9)Thenali

10)Guru Sishyan( I liked Rajni at that period a lot)

11)Nayagan

12)Agni Natchathiram (Awesome Movie ...........I simply love it)

13)Kaadhal Kondein( Hats Off To Dhanush I really want him to do another movie of the same kind)

14)Poove Unakagha(Everything was good in that movie I would really like vijay to perform the same as he did on that movie in his forthcoming movies)

15)Captain Prabakaran

I can think of only a few now the rest i will update later

15)

Justice
4th December 2005, 03:19 AM
Vaali
Starring: Ajith+Ajith, Simran
Director: SJ Surya.
Year of Release: 1999.
Box Office Result: Super Duper Mega Block Buster :P !

Aaasai
Starring: Ajith, Suvalaxmy, PrakashRaj
Director: Vasanth :roll:
Year of Release: 1993

Kathal Kottai
Starring: Ajith, devyani
Director: agathiyan
Year of Release: 1996
Box Office Result: Super Duper Mega Block Buster :P

Citizen
Starring: Ajith, vasundra das
Director: saravana subbiah
Year of Release 2001
Box Office Result: SuperHit :P

Amarkalam
Starring: Ajith, Shalini, Raguvaran
Director: Saran
Year of Release: 1999

Dheena
Starring: Ajith, Laila, Suresh Kobi
Director: AR Murugados
Year of Release: 2001
Box Office Result: Mega Hit :P

4th December 2005, 09:48 AM
johny

unlike u....who is always wrong....not correct even rarely! :rotfl:

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:10 PM
johny

kamal is a very very very good actor

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:12 PM
Vaali
Starring: Ajith+Ajith, Simran
Director: SJ Surya.
Year of Release: 1999.

Aaasai
Starring: Ajith, Suvalaxmy, PrakashRaj
Director: Vasanth :roll:
Year of Release: 1993

Kathal Kottai
Starring: Ajith, devyani
Director: agathiyan
Year of Release: 1996
Box Office Result: Super Duper Mega Block Buster :P

Citizen
Starring: Ajith, vasundra das
Director: saravana subbiah
Year of Release 2001

Amarkalam
Starring: Ajith, Shalini, Raguvaran
Director: Saran
Year of Release: 1999

Dheena
Starring: Ajith, Laila, Suresh Kobi
Director: AR Murugados
Year of Release: 2001
Box Office Result: Mega Hit :P
u can include the remaining ajith movies as well.y dont u include red,aanjaneya,ji,attahasam,jana,raja,ppovellam unvasam etc

4th December 2005, 12:12 PM
johny

first time u r correct!.....keep it up! :lol:

sonna udane thirundhunadhukku thanks :D

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 12:21 PM
johny

first time u r correct!.....keep it up! :lol:

sonna udane thirundhunadhukku thanks :D
in one of my previous posts,i appreciated kamal when he appreciated surya after watching ghajini.u think i was wrong?may be he shudnt have been appreciated.i appreciated ajith for his performances in vaali and villain.u think i was wrong?may be he shudnt have been appreciated.when someone said that ajith is above sivaji,mgr,rajini and kamal,i disagreed.do u think i shudve agreed?do u think ajith is better than kamal?

4th December 2005, 12:25 PM
didnt notice...so this ur 4th correct post is it?

sorry!....counting mistake!

Alien
4th December 2005, 12:28 PM
guys too much spamming !! Don't feel obliged to reply to everyone's post :wink: kind request 8-)

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 01:08 PM

kamailai patri ethavathu nalla pesinal udane athu correct post.mathathu ellam wrong postaa?

4th December 2005, 01:13 PM

kamailai patri ethavathu nalla pesinal udane athu correct post.mathathu ellam wrong postaa?

yes....u r correct!

we shall stop spamming!

so here is the related post!

film : navarathiri

shivaji ganesan
saavithiri
nagesh

result:hit

comment : "a perfect example for versatility in a single movie".... a must see .

Avenger
4th December 2005, 01:17 PM
Vijay's evergreen epics:

1) Poove Unnakaaga
2) Kaadhalukku Mariadhai
3) Thullatha Manamum Thullum
4) Love Today

4th December 2005, 01:46 PM
Why did u leave out KUSHI? What movie it was!
Tht was the movie which It turned me into VIJAY FAN. I loved kushi.

Alien
4th December 2005, 01:49 PM
Kaadhalukku mariyaathai very well deserves to be called an all time classic , and undoubtedly Vijay's best film ever !

Avenger
4th December 2005, 01:55 PM
Kushi is one of the gr8est entertainers of coz.But it is somethin short of a classic.I dint like the mumtaj episode and it dint have a very powerful script as the others!!!
But if the title is all time enetertainers.Ghilli,Kushi and Friends will top my list.

Justice
4th December 2005, 07:34 PM
:evil: :evil: shame

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 07:38 PM
superb movie.i too loved it.kushi is the movie which ive watched maximum times in theatre

Justice
4th December 2005, 07:41 PM
what a taste

4th December 2005, 07:48 PM
Hmm......when I first noticed the name of this thread, I thot it was only abt old movies.....! :(

ranjit_g
4th December 2005, 08:11 PM
what a taste
certainly beter than urs

4th December 2005, 10:32 PM
Hmm......when I first noticed the name of this thread, I thot it was only abt old movies.....! :(

lambretta..are u lord stanher?....

i ask this becoz..since i have started amitabh thread.....stanher is not there and only u come!

4th December 2005, 10:33 PM
nilavu not at all. :rotfl: haven't u noticed his sign....... :D

There were rumours everywhere that BB2 is badboy. :lol:

4th December 2005, 10:36 PM
nilavu not at all. :rotfl: haven't u noticed his sign....... :D

There were rumours everywhere that BB2 is badboy. :lol:

come to chat thread!

Alien
5th December 2005, 03:58 AM
BB2=bebeto is indeed bad boy ! He himself has admitted it in the "Moderator" thread...... :P I always find his posts interesting...his posts r some, I enjoy reading here......

5th December 2005, 05:36 AM
Here's a list of Thalaiver movies that I consider classics...

Bhuvana Oru Kelvikuri,
Arril irunthu arubathy varai,
Moondru Mudichi,
Mullum Malaraum,
Johny,
Thee,
Netrikkan,
Moondru Mugam,
Nallavanuku Nallavan,
Padikkathavan,
Dharmadurai,
Thalapathy,
Annamalai,
Baasha,
Padayappa,
Chandramukhi and
SIVAJI .....

5th December 2005, 06:39 AM

Lord Machi!!!
It's ALL TIME classics!! :D

tfmlover
5th December 2005, 07:00 AM
[quote="m_23_bayarea"]Here's a list of Thalaiver movies that I consider classics...

what about 'kaali' ?

5th December 2005, 04:54 PM
Nayagan

Unnal Mudiyum Thambi

Parasakthi

Paar Magale Paar

Thalapathy

Thevar Magan

Mouna Raagam

5th December 2005, 05:52 PM
How can any one 4get

Karnan ??? :shock: :shock: :shock:

malligai
5th December 2005, 09:58 PM
Raghu,

yesss..how can anyone forget KARNAN.. :roll: ..my all time favorite.. :)

esp the song "ullathil nall ullam urankaadhu enbadhu..."...such an awesome song...I also like :en uyir thozhi.." and "iravum nilavum..".. :)

5th December 2005, 10:09 PM
[quote=m_23_bayarea]Here's a list of Thalaiver movies that I consider classics...

what about 'kaali' ?

I thought it was just a normal masala movie !!

5th December 2005, 10:29 PM
Raghu,

yesss..how can anyone forget KARNAN.. :roll: ..my all time favorite.. :)

esp the song "ullathil nall ullam urankaadhu enbadhu..."...such an awesome song...I also like :en uyir thozhi.." and "iravum nilavum..".. :)

Yes Yes, "ullathil nall ullam urankaadhu enbadhu..."... sends shivers down my spine, and makes me all philosophical, I also love 'Aayiram karangha koope' and that song by Dr.PBS, which goes like this 'Natrporulai thedichivanthathu gnaniyar kaanghal', some thing like that, the scene is when Karnan gives out all his material things to his subjects, like gold, diamond, ,..etc, what was that song, pls?

a BIG Lakalakalaklakala to the GREATEST actor that INDIA had EVER produced 'Nadikar Thilakam Dr.Shivaji Ganeshan'

5th December 2005, 10:34 PM
Thanga Padhakkam
Navarathri
Thillu Mullu
6-il irundhu 60 varai
Veera Paandiya Katta Bomman
Thiruvilayadal
Guna
Nammavar

5th December 2005, 11:35 PM
I think I can never forget these movies.They are definitely classics

Thillana Mohanambal - amazing acting by the lead pair even though they were not exactly young they(only they) could carry it off.
Thiruvilayadal - Another one of sivajis classics IMHO
Navarathri - 9 characters..that too when the kind of technology available today was unimaginable then..

Yaar Nee - Great movie..first of its kind in tamil.Amazing tempo...
100/100 - One of KBs best..definitely different.

Nayagan - Mani's best
Raja Parvai - though I dont like this movie much you gotto appreciate KH for daring to try a movie where the hero is blind!!

Mulum malarum - One of rajini's best..I think it was the first anti hero I saw.
Thillu Mullu - :lol:..just thinking about this picture puts a smile to my face..not many movies can boast of this.

malligai
5th December 2005, 11:41 PM
what about "nooravadhu naal" acted by Sathyaraj??..it was one of the best thrillers in the tamil industry ever...

lovedeva_pj
22nd April 2007, 02:29 PM
all time hit for me

PaalumPalamum
Anbevaa
Thangapathakam
Vasanthamaligai
Alayamani
Kalyanaparisu
Ithayakani

nemesis786
22nd April 2007, 08:28 PM
Justice !!

In that case as you said he is arguing just for the sake of it, i guess you are calling those movies as classic just because some reviewers called them as master pieces or calling kushi , TMT n LT juz coz ur a vijay fan?Did Ajith Fans Question it? Kindly note these are all opinions just there "God" and "no God" people 8-)

Ok my opinions on classics :

* Thillu Mullu
* Nayagan
* Anbe Sivam
* Mouna Ragam
* Kaadhalika neramillai
* Engal Veetu Pillai
* Nilagiri Express
* Indian
* Mudhalvan
* Vaali
* Varalaru
* Baasha
* Amarkalam
* Devar Magan
* Mugavari
* Citizen

ArulprakasH
22nd April 2007, 08:36 PM
Nayagan

Thalapathi

Anbe Sivam

Mugavari

Amarkkalam

Virumandi

Mouna Ragam

Bombay

Ayutha Ezuthu

Kannathil Muthamittal

Guru

Vaali

and lot more in my list..

Flavia
22nd April 2007, 08:54 PM
Not sure how to brand some movie as a classic. Anyhow below are some movies I think are special in someway.

NAyagan
Anbe Sivam
Devar Magan
Mullum Malarum
Thillu Mullu
Michael Madhana KAmarAjan
KAdhalukku MariyAdhai
Mouna RAgam
Kannaththil MuthamittAl
Sethu
Indian

Can't think of anymore as of now :confused2:

23rd April 2007, 11:11 AM
for me - all time classics:

1. Enga Veettu pillai
2. Bale Paandiya
3. Kaadhalikka neramillai
4. 1000-il oruvan
5. Nayagan - all time best :clap:
6. Punngai Mannan
7. 16 vaidhunile
8. Mudhal Mariyadhai
9. Alaipauthey
10. Mudhalvan
11. Kandukondein*2

still i think i missed a few :roll:

23rd April 2007, 11:19 AM
1.Kadhalikka Neramillai
2.Pudhiya paravai
3.Ayirathil Oruvan
4.Aarilurundhu arubadhu varai..
5.Moondraam pirai
6.Agni Natchathiram
7.Unnal mudiyum thambi
8.Naayagan
9.Devar Magan
10.Roja
11.Baasha
12.Sethu
13.Paruthi Veeran

23rd April 2007, 11:39 AM
After gone through all choices ,I really confused with what is meant by 'Class' ..there were many ordinary movies are termed as 'Class' ,but real classes like 'Uthiri Pookkal' ,uththama puththiran,kuruthipunal,maha nathi,Guna has no place :roll:

23rd April 2007, 11:41 AM
Some yesteryear movies

Aduthu vettu pen - what a humour
Sabapathi - classic comedy
Athey Kangal - thriller
Moonreluthu - suspence
Thunive Thunai - tamil 007

thilak4life
23rd April 2007, 12:53 PM
Classics:

Mahanadhi
Moondram pirai
Hey ram
Varumayin nirum sivappu
Aval appidi thaan
Aaru mudhal aruvadhu varai
Mudhal mariyadai
16 Vayadhinile
Anbe Sivam
Pesum padam
Salangai oli

In comedies : Indru poi nallai vaa, Singaravelan, MMKR, Thillu mullu

'Old' movies need not always be a 'classic'.

Some of the movies you guys pasted are outdated already. They are overblown and naive IMO. Anyways, it's your choice...

Nice entertainers from the past: Adhe kangal (nice thriller), Makkal thilagam (he is much better than the current masala crap from Rajini).

NT movies are overblown with a stage-drama feel, I like them a lot.

For its time, Sigappu Rojakkal was damn bold and minus the stereotype side roles, funny coloured garments and sets, it's a very good movie.

Moondru mudichu, Mullum mallarum - rendum sumaaranu padam..Add Avargal and nizhal nijamagiradu.. all these films had powerful performances by both KH and Rajini.

Anda naal was ahead of its time and fantastic in its own way.

Nayagan, Thevar magan and Apoorva Sagodargal were good mainsteam movies.. Mani ratnam is a good commercial director.

23rd April 2007, 01:01 PM
Classics:

Mahanadhi
Moondram pirai
Hey ram
Varumayin nirum sivappu
Aval appidi thaan
Aaru mudhal aruvadhu varai
Mudhal mariyadai
16 Vayadhinile
Anbe Sivam
Pesum padam
Salangai oli

In comedies : Indru poi nallai vaa, Singaravelan, MMKR, Thillu mullu

'Old' movies need not always be a 'classic'.

Some of the movies you guys pasted are outdated already. They are overblown and naive IMO. Anyways, it's your choice...

Nice entertainers from the past: Adhe kangal (nice thriller), Makkal thilagam (he is much better than the current masala crap from Rajini).

NT movies are overblown with a stage-drama feel, I like them a lot.

For its time, Sigappu Rojakkal was damn bold and minus the stereotype side roles, funny coloured garments and sets, it's a very good movie.

Moondru mudichu, Mullum mallarum - rendum sumaaranu padam..Add Avargal and nizhal nijamagiradu.. all these films had powerful performances by both KH and Rajini.

Anda naal was ahead of its time and fantastic in its own way.

Nayagan, Thevar magan and Apoorva Sagodargal were good mainsteam movies.. Mani ratnam is a good commercial director.

A typical Kamal Fan's post... :D :D

23rd April 2007, 01:03 PM
Kamal is just awesome because i really love the likes of UMT, TTT & Virumandi which you have not included i really cant think of anyone who has given us so many classics like Kamal did... :notworthy:

23rd April 2007, 02:04 PM

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :x :x :x :x :lol: :lol: :o :o
WHAT THE HELL IS THIS!

23rd April 2007, 02:04 PM
My Pick of Classics
----------------
Parasakthi
MalaiKallan
AnTha NaaL
Naadodi Mannan
Uththama Puththiran
Ayirathil Oruvan
Kaathalikka Neramillai
Karnan
ThiruVilayadal
Vietnam Veedu
Gowrawam
VP Kattabomman
Thillana Mohanambal
Deiva Magan
Nava Rathiri
16 vayathinile
Mullum Malarum
Uthiri pookal
AvaL appadi thaan
Nayagan
Devar Magan
salaingai Oli
Kuruthi punal
maha Nathi
Guna
Thillu Mullu
Anbe Sivam
Mutal Mariyathai
Sethu
Azhagi
Azhagan
Autograph

23rd April 2007, 02:18 PM
Joe, I agree with all the titles except the last four. Otherwise, the rest would be in my list too. Replacing the four will be MMKR, Agni Natchattiram, Talabathi and Amaithi Padai,

23rd April 2007, 02:24 PM
Joe, I agree with all the titles except the last four. Otherwise, the rest would be in my list too. Replacing the four will be MMKR, Agni Natchattiram, Talabathi and Amaithi Padai,

Your list of replacement also very good .Infact I thought of adding amaithi padai ...How come I missed MMKR? :cry:

Btw,I liked azhagan very much mostly because of Mamooty and his different tamil :) .

Don't you like azhagi? I liked it for the village part,potrayed very well.

23rd April 2007, 02:36 PM
Azhagi was okay. Nice. Not classic material.

As for you to miss MMKR...that is karma for you reminding me that I missed Tillu Mullu in the comedy thread.

23rd April 2007, 03:42 PM
My Pick of Classics
----------------
Parasakthi
MalaiKallan
AnTha NaaL
Naadodi Mannan
Uththama Puththiran
Ayirathil Oruvan
Kaathalikka Neramillai
Karnan
ThiruVilayadal
Vietnam Veedu
Gowrawam
VP Kattabomman
Thillana Mohanambal
Deiva Magan
Nava Rathiri
16 vayathinile
Mullum Malarum
Uthiri pookal
AvaL appadi thaan
Nayagan
Devar Magan
salaingai Oli
Kuruthi punal
maha Nathi
Guna
Thillu Mullu
Anbe Sivam
Mutal Mariyathai
Sethu
Azhagi
Azhagan
Autograph

:shock: .....not even a single movie where ***** is scored by ******** :wink:

23rd April 2007, 04:10 PM
Well, unfortunate for ********, he came into period when Tamil film industry got dull. I am sure classics are coming. Some films I felt like including are ****** and *********. Hey, why can't I say ******'s movies. What's happening to my keyboard....

23rd April 2007, 04:32 PM
Well, unfortunate for ********, he came into period when Tamil film industry got dull. I am sure classics are coming. Some films I felt like including are ****** and *********. Hey, why can't I say ******'s movies. What's happening to my keyboard....

:lol: good one......

thilak4life
23rd April 2007, 04:40 PM
@Ajaybaskar,
Aamam pa..vera yaarum sollikara madiri illa..Tamil cinema's only saving grace is Kamal Haasan. Others have strayed and decayed enough. Adhu daan yenoda poduvana karuthu.. I just hope your perspective was much wider and little more nuanced to appreciate him.

@Raikkonen
I missed Guna because I had few problems with
it. But It's a movie which moves people easily. So it deserves its place. One of the best example is when Kamal tries to show 'Abhirami' his excitement in Kanmani song or the sad moment when his birds die. Although those were moments where people question the 'over-the-top'ness, I just wonder how else would a retard act. Dance and laugh with excitement. :D: It's not among my favorites but could see why its in some of the lists.

Virumandi's climax should have been better. Other than that, the script was exemplary. Don't know whether anyone could have made the movie! The multi-narrative of the same incident through Pasupathy and Kamal Haasan were amazing.

UMT nyabagam illai.. Don't know much about TTT..pathadu illai..

I left out many good movies like Punnagai mannan, Raja Paarvai, etc..I can go on listing Kamal films..they are anyday better than some of the so-called "classics" from recent years.

BTW missed a couple of good Satyaraj movies Kadamai Ganiyam Katupaadu (signs of Santhana Bharathi's prospect in the later years with KH) and Kadalora kavidaigal. In fact, many Fazil movies were pretty neat as well.

And my mind can't cook how KB's Apoorva Ragangal was like..It's a distant shadow as I saw very few scenes..It's a bold subject though.

Few other yesteryear movies:
Major chandrakant, Server Sundram and Ethir neechel from Nagesh..

@Maddy,
Apidi illa pa..Most of the quality filmmakers worked with Isai gnani Maestro 'yengal kadaval' IR.. While ARR had to satisfy Commercial directors like Mani Rathnam and Shankhar..And his stint with already aged K.B, who has clearly gone out of ideas.. Such movies may not be classics but it will atleast sell out....

If you take K.B-ARR, the best they came out was Duet. And that is no way near his lesser efforts (than what he is capable of) like Azhagan with IR...Same with Mani, he couldn't help but to compose for films which was worried about 'price tag' rather than the 'quality'. It has all the aesthetics but seldom does it has class. One good exception was Iruvar. It was the best Mani-ARR movie by mile..

23rd April 2007, 05:07 PM
yea cant complain much here :) .........i think he came at the fag end of BR/KB era and came too early for GM,Selvaraghavan,Ameer.........so i think his movies will always remain those average-class movies........

and in case of his works with Mani, after 1992 , mani had bcome a national name and had to cater to a wider taste which always dilutes the class.......ofcourse, movies like RDB are exceptions.......Iruvar and KMuthhamittal could have come into my list but both had falsification of facts, which doesent let me accept its gr8ness........ :cry:

i had lots of hope on Rajeev Menon, where is he now?? :cry:

thilak4life
23rd April 2007, 05:12 PM

Aammam..

Mani Rathnam is a pioneer of 'falsification of facts'..

Syrupy preachy stuff which please Northies, I believe..

23rd April 2007, 05:41 PM
no thilak, i cant buy the fact that he always has falsified facts.......these 2 instances - and that too in KM just one dialogue with Maddy and Prakash raj.........yea, we could have dismissed it as a view as well.......

he is the first director in the world (probably) to have identified terrorism as villain.........his "bombay" was very true to real life........though the ending was a bit sore, it actually happened, but a few years later, in reality.........he is probably the first indian director to have made movie on entrepeneur.......... 8-) .......but yea, sometimes he does twist facts to please some people or gives a unneccesary viewpoint..... :wink:

thimuru
23rd April 2007, 06:18 PM

sethu and azhagi are any day better than agni natchathiram i believe!

they are definitely classics

23rd April 2007, 07:11 PM
Rajini classics 8-)

1. muLLum malarum (one of the best tamil films ever made)
2. avaL appadithAn (ditto)
3. 16 vayathinilE (ditto)
4. moonRu mudichu
5. avargaL (One of KB's best)
6. johnny
7. thilllu mullu
8. netRikkaN
9. engEyO kEtta kural
10. ThaLapathi
11. 6 to 60 (I don't like his performance very much in this one though )

23rd April 2007, 10:12 PM
Here is mine:

1) Andha Naal
1954 ! Unbelievable. Taut script by Javer Seetharaman, way ahead of its time. Stylish direction by S.Balachandar. Sivaji's second best performance ever.

2) ThillAna MohanambAl

The greatest musical, which had all of three songs. The finest assemblage of talents, nearly all clocking their personal best. A timeless entertainer

3) 16 VayathinilE

The single most important Tamil film made. 'nuff said.

4) Veedu

Balu Mahendra at his storytelling best. The all-surface simplicity haunts long and hard.

5) Nayagan

Maniratnam's finest and he isn't going to better this. Art is short, life is long

6) Michaelmadanakamarajan

The finest comedy ever made. Singeetham,Kamal and Crazy at their finest. They are condemned to fail miserably when every single future work of theirs is judged against this brutal yardstick forever.

7) ThEvar Magan

This movie has more perfect scenes than even the best Tamil's writers/directors can boast of in their entire career. Nearly every scene starts,proceeds and ends with great finesse. Top it with great performances headed by Sivaji's : the finest by anyone in any role in Tamil.

Early signs of Kamal's didacticism.

8) Mahanadhi

Didactic in theme but aesthetically advanced in execution. The finest writer gets busy burying symbols,lines and dark humour that will be the defining character of his writing.

9) Hey ! Ram
A classic, which will hopefully be celebrated down the line. The writer,director,actor explodes with all his talent even providing grounds for accusation of overkill. Ilayaraja is pretty much the co-writer of the film and does a Sergei Bubka one last time.

23rd April 2007, 10:24 PM
5) Nayagan
Maniratnam's finest and he isn't going to better this. Art is short, life is long

:rotfl: :rotfl: - PR, ur gross underestimating of Maniratnam continues............keep dreaming......Maniratnam and *** are 2 folks who have been consistently doing things which others can just dream off and still guys are underestimating them so much.......i guess its time, i ignore such "biased" comments........ :D

23rd April 2007, 10:42 PM
5) Nayagan

:rotfl: :rotfl: - PR, ur gross underestimating of Maniratnam continues............keep dreaming......Maniratnam and *** are 2 folks who have been consistently doing things which others can just dream off and still guys are underestimating them so much.......i guess its time, i ignore such "biased" comments........ :D

Maddy this was a list of all time classics. I didn't even list 10 film because if I tried adding a 10th one it would be a weak partner the 9 listed above.

There are many films and filmmakers I enjoy a lot who aren't here. Most notable would be the absence of Sridhar and KB whose contributions to Tamil filmmaking are immense, but I could single no films by them, as all-time classics comparable with the ones I listed.

Similarly there are several films of MR that I enjoy a lot. Hope you'd remember the several instances at the Hub where I have consistently argued that MR has raised the standards of what we get to see on screen today. But even the best have their best.
If you read I have made similar comments in my post about MMKR and IR (Hey Ram).Perhaps I should have not stopped with " 'nuff said " and added the same comment as MR's after BR's PathinAru vayathinilE too.

It is my opinion that Nayagan was MR's pinnacle. Are you disagreeing because you feel he has made a better film. Name it and we can discuss, perhaps in the MR thread. Or do you disagree with me because you think my conclusion is hasty, i.e. he may still make a film in the future, better than Nayagan. In which case, I'd be glad to be proved wrong.

24th April 2007, 12:26 AM
It is my opinion that Nayagan was MR's pinnacle. Are you disagreeing because you feel he has made a better film. Name it and we can discuss, perhaps in the MR thread. Or do you disagree with me because you think my conclusion is hasty, i.e. he may still make a film in the future, better than Nayagan. In which case, I'd be glad to be proved wrong.

well, he did cross Nayagan with his KM and Iruvar at some places but as i said, all time classic means evrything shuld be class where KM and Iruvar failed somewhere...... :roll:

yes i term ur comment hasty bcos he has "Lajjo" with Aamir Khan - just wait and watch....... 8-) .......no more comments :wink:

24th April 2007, 06:50 AM
What determines a film as a Classic?

As can be seen by the list given by Prabhu, it is mostly Nostalgia. (sorry PR, just using it as an example.) :)

For instance I revisited MMKR recently and it was not such a classic comedy that I had all the while imagined it to be. Yes, it is a good slapstick and has its moments, but can never be categorised as a classic. Even Avvai Shanmughi was good. And then there was Kadhalikka Nerammillai.

There have been several movies throughout TF period when singularly outstanding moments have stood out in some films, but on no account can those alone make those films classics.

For instance Navarathri had Sivaji in 9 roles, USV had MGR going across continents, 16V changed the fabric of TF, etc. They may have been innovative at that time but should just end there.

We need to be strict and stringent to shortlist our classics and not list good films as classics.

24th April 2007, 06:53 AM
Nov,
ethu classic illainnu solliteenga ..aana ethu classic-nnu sollave illa :oops:

24th April 2007, 06:55 AM
Nov,
Among kamal's comedy movies ,seems PR choice is MMKR and yours is Avvai Shanmuki ,but my choice is Sathi Leelavathi. :)

24th April 2007, 06:58 AM
maddy, all of us have favourites. when we choose the best of the best, we need to be blind to the people behind them. criteria should be quality and not personality.
One person alone cannot guarantee the quality of a film. We all know - although we hardly acknowledge - that behind each film there is a whole team who must get their act togather.

ARR has indeed MDed some very good movies right from his first Roja. Don't worry. :D

24th April 2007, 07:00 AM
Nov I took great pains to keep nostalgia under check. And I still believe I have been largely succesful. I searched hard for a tenth movie that would share the space with these. Uthama Puthiran,Mullum Malarum, AvargaL etc. Much as I like them, I am was reluctant to bunch them with those I listed. All the movies I have listed , IMO, stands head and shoulders above the next.

For instance I revisited MMKR recently and it was not such a classic comedy that I had all the while imagined it to be. Yes, it is a good slapstick and has its moments, but can never be categorised as a classic. Even Avvai Shanmughi bettered it. And then there was Kadhalikka Nerammillai. :omg: This travesty shall be addressed at length. Can't do it today, will do soon. Or perhaps, hopefully someone abler than me will do it.

24th April 2007, 07:00 AM
ARR has indeed MDed some very good movies right from his first Roja. Don't worry. :D

IMO,the best movie with ARR as MD is Kannaththil Muththamittal.

24th April 2007, 07:01 AM
ethu classic illainnu solliteenga ..aana ethu classic-nnu sollave illa :oops::lol: while good films are relative, depending on individual tastes, a classic would be accepted by most people.

as an example, would you agree to Raththa Kanneer?

24th April 2007, 07:03 AM
ethu classic illainnu solliteenga ..aana ethu classic-nnu sollave illa :oops::lol: while good films are relative, depending on individual tastes, a classic would be accepted by most people.

Ayyayo..How come I missed Rathakaneer :cry: ,one of my all time favourites :thumbsup:

24th April 2007, 07:04 AM
Among kamal's comedy movies ,seems PR choice is MMKR and yours is Avvai Shanmuki ,but my choice is Sathi Leelavathi. :)PR pobably dismissed the last two because of the obvious copies from Hollywood. :lol:

heck, I loved VR MBBS to the core. incorrigible I am. :P

24th April 2007, 07:09 AM
All the movies I have listed , IMO, stands head and shoulders above the next.Sure PR. I only used your list as an example. It is not easy to transgress personal likes/dislikes, but overcome them we must. :lol:
There are at least two films in your list that I cannot deny the status of being classics. :thumbsup:

This travesty shall be addressed at length. Can't do it today, will do soon. Or perhaps, hopefully someone abler than me will do it. :lol: I am sorry. I edited my post soon after reading it as "bettering" is very subjective. Please see my post again. ;)

24th April 2007, 07:09 AM
a classic would be accepted by most people.

In that case ,movies like Moontram Pirai,Apoorva Sagotharagal accepted by most ,but not mentioned by many :roll:

24th April 2007, 07:13 AM
IMO,the best movie with ARR as MD is Kannaththil Muththamittal.also Iruvar. And while at it why not Bombay too?

But Classics? :notthatway:

24th April 2007, 07:14 AM
IMO,the best movie with ARR as MD is Kannaththil Muththamittal.also Iruvar. And while at it why not Bombay too?

But Classics? :notthatway:

Iruvar is sothappal movie .Bombay is just a masala movie :x

24th April 2007, 07:15 AM
In that case ,movies like Moontram Pirai,Apoorva Sagotharagal accepted by most ,but not mentioned by many :roll: :shock: :shock: :shock:

pls dont confuse innovation and good story telling with classics.
ivlO generosity koodaadhu!

24th April 2007, 07:16 AM
Other good movies(with ARR as MD) are Kizhakku cheemaiyile and Karuththamma. :)

24th April 2007, 07:16 AM
Iruvar is sothappal movie .Bombay is just a masala movie :x:rotfl:

ok, ok, let's get back to Classics.

24th April 2007, 07:19 AM
NOV,
Theriyama thaan keekuren ..Many people mentioned 'Enga veetu Pillai' as classic ..Can you justify that? So that I can get some idea about classic :oops:

24th April 2007, 07:29 AM
No, I cant Joe. :)
and neither can I justify Navarathri. ;)

24th April 2007, 07:49 AM
NOV,
appo unga claasic list kodunga..naana therinjukkiren :)

24th April 2007, 07:59 AM
thandanai idhu!

24th April 2007, 07:59 AM
MMKR is unparalleled in its density. i.e. laughs per minute of screen time. Some parts of Sathi Leelavathi come close but none else in the Kamal-Crazy combo.

Let me give one of the several possible examples from MMKR.

Scene: Tiruppu is trying to commit suicide and is searching for elipAshANam and Kameswaran is trying to stop her and amidst all her sobbing and she is opening box after box in search of poison.
T: onnu therinjukkungO aambaLe kettA verum adhyAyam dhAn..pombale kattA pusthakamE pOttuduvA
K: Ei..ennadhidhu keduthuttEnnu aabaashamA ellAm pEsindirukkAi..adhu gaali

The quick 'adhu gaali' observation made in passing is something I didn't catch until very late. This is just one of several such instances in that film, where you blink and you miss. The wide variety between the Kameswaran's comedy, Raju's style, the Michael-Bhimboy slapstick and of course Nagesh-SN.Lakshmi sequences. This movie seemed to be written by several people rather than by just two. That is why I consider it a magic they are doomed to fall short of, each time.

thilak4life
24th April 2007, 02:22 PM

A classic(in arts, movies, etc) is excellence personified and stands out from the rest. in short a Yeduthu kaatu

24th April 2007, 02:48 PM
MMKR is unparalleled in its density. i.e. laughs per minute of screen time. Some parts of Sathi Leelavathi come close but none else in the Kamal-Crazy combo.

Let me give one of the several possible examples from MMKR.

Scene: Tiruppu is trying to commit suicide and is searching for elipAshANam and Kameswaran is trying to stop her and amidst all her sobbing and she is opening box after box in search of poison.
T: onnu therinjukkungO aambaLe kettA verum adhyAyam dhAn..pombale kattA pusthakamE pOttuduvA
K: Ei..ennadhidhu keduthuttEnnu aabaashamA ellAm pEsindirukkAi..adhu gaali

The quick 'adhu gaali' observation made in passing is something I didn't catch until very late. This is just one of several such instances in that film, where you blink and you miss. The wide variety between the Kameswaran's comedy, Raju's style, the Michael-Bhimboy slapstick and of course Nagesh-SN.Lakshmi sequences. This movie seemed to be written by several people rather than by just two. That is why I consider it a magic they are doomed to fall short of, each time.

I agree PR. MMKR ranks in the same book as Bale Pandiya, Kathalikka Neeramillai and Adutta Veetu Penn.

Since we are now discussing the definition of classic and the committee has not come up with a proper one, I shall use the word 'important'.

MMKR is certainly a very important film as far as scriptwriting and performance is concerned.

I must have watched it more than 25 times, and I am not exaggerating. And I still find something new. Brilliant, brilliant freakin' movie.

thilak4life
24th April 2007, 03:31 PM
MMKR is a classic comedy.. Like PR said, there are various themes. The dialogues and characters were abso-fuckin-lutely great!

thimuru
24th April 2007, 06:08 PM
Among kamal's comedy movies ,seems PR choice is MMKR and yours is Avvai Shanmuki ,but my choice is Sathi Leelavathi. :)PR pobably dismissed the last two because of the obvious copies from Hollywood. :lol:

heck, I loved VR MBBS to the core. incorrigible I am. :P

better u get the exact meaning of copy :lol2:

thimuru
24th April 2007, 06:11 PM
MMKR - :thumbsup:

lotus_303
25th April 2007, 12:51 AM
my all time classic

Thangapathakam
Palumpalamum
Vasanthamaligai
Ulagamsutamvaliban
Bhartza
Indian
Padakotti
Puthiyaparavai

Please also visit the web site for oldies

http://www.goldentamilcinema.com

Amarshiva
1st May 2007, 08:57 PM
my all time classic

Thangapathakam
Palumpalamum
Vasanthamaligai
Ulagamsutamvaliban
Bhartza
Indian
Padakotti
Puthiyaparavai

Please also visit the web site for oldies

http://www.goldentamilcinema.com

Chandralekha
Vanchikottai Valiban
Mahadevi
Nadodi manan
Parasakthi
Uthamaputhiran
Adimai pen
Ulagum Sutram Valiban
Sakalakala Vallavan
Vazvehmayam
Thillumullu
Billa

this list for the older to current older generation

raagadevan
9th March 2014, 04:19 AM
Kadhalikka Neramillai turns 50!

The three heroines of the film and co-writer ‘Chitralaya’ Gopu go back in time to regale Ramya Kannan with stories from behind the scenes.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/chennai/kadhalikka-neramillai-turns-50/article5765005.ece?homepage=true