View Full Version : Put ur Touching short stories 4m fwds etc

9th January 2006, 12:28 PM
friends, I know very well that this thread is a place for everyone to place their own creative short stories. But we also read a lot of stories online through farwards from our friends. Let's make this one a great place to share them and discuss about them
----------------------------------------------------------

Let me go with a story that I got from my friend through a fwd. I think most probably u people might have read this one already.

He met her on a party. She was so outstanding, many guys chasing
after her, while he so normal, nobody paid attention to him. At the end
of the party, he invited her to have coffee with him, she was surprised,
but due to being polite, she promised.

They sat in a nice coffee shop, he was too nervous to say
anything, she felt uncomfortable, she thought, please, let me go
home.... suddenly he asked the waiter. "would you please give me some
salt? I'd like to put it in my coffee." Everybody stared at him, so
strange! His face turned red, but still, he put the salt in his coffee
and drank it. She asked him curiously; why you have this hobby? He
replied: "when I was a little boy, I was living near the sea, I like
playing in the sea, I cou! ld feel the taste of the sea, just like the
taste of the salty coffee. Now every time I have the salty coffee, I
always think of my childhood, think of my hometown, I miss my hometown
so much, I miss my parents who are still living there". While saying
that tears filled his eyes. She was deeply touched.
That's his true feeling, from the bottom of his heart. A man who
can tell out his homesickness, he must be a man who loves home, cares
about home, has responsibility of home. Then she also started to speak,
spoke about her faraway hometown, her childhood, her family. That was a
really nice talk, also a beautiful beginning of their story.

They continued to date. She found that actually he was a man who
meets all her demands; he had tolerance, was kind hearted, warm,
careful. He was such a good person but she almost missed him! Thanks to
his salty coffee!

Then the story was just like every beautiful love story , the
princess married to the prince, then they were li! ving the happy
life... And, every time she made coffee for him, she put some salt in
the coffee e, as she knew that's the way he liked it.

After 40 years, he passed away, left her a letter which said:
"My dearest, please forgive me, forgive my whole life lie. This was the
only lie I said to you---the salty coffee. Remember the first time we
dated? I was so nervous at that time, actually I wanted some sugar, but
I said salt It was hard for me to change so I just went ahead.I never
thought that could be the start of our communication! I tried to tell
you the truth many times in my life, but I was too afraid to do that, as
I have promised not to lie to you for anything..
Now I'm dying, I afraid of nothing so I tell you the truth: I
don't like the salty coffee, what a strange bad taste.. But I have had
the salty coffee for my whole life! Since I knew you, I never feel sorry
for anything I do for you. Having you with me is my biggest happiness
for my whole life. If I can live! for the second time, still want to
know you and have you for my whole life,even though I have to drink the
salty coffee again".

Her tears made the letter totally wet.Someday, someone asked
her: what's the taste of salty coffee?
It's sweet. She replied.

9th January 2006, 02:56 PM
Have read the story before. Love is said to be blind, I'll add love is foolishly blind!

Sundar12345
9th January 2006, 05:44 PM
That was a good story. I will write another good one tommorow

10th January 2006, 02:39 PM
The Perfect Boss . .

There were about 70 scientists working on a very hectic project. All of them were really frustrated due to the pressure of work and the demands of their boss but everyone was loyal to him and did not think of quitting the job.

One day, one scientist came to his boss and told him - Sir, I have promised

to my children that I will take them to the exhibition going on in our township. So I want to leave the office at 5 30 pm.

His boss replied "OK, You're permitted to leave the office early today"

The Scientist started working. He continued his work after lunch. As usual he got involved to such an extent that he looked at his watch when he felt

he was close to completion. The time was 8.30 PM. Suddenly he remembered of the promise he had given to his children.

He looked for his boss, He was not there. Having told him in the morning itself, he closed everything and left for home.

Deep within himself, he was feeling guilty for having disappointed his children. He reached home. Children were not there. His wife alone was sitting in the hall and reading magazines.

The situation was explosive, any talk would boomerang on him. His wife asked him, "Would you like to have coffee or shall I straight away serve dinner if you are hungry.

The man replied "If you would like to have coffee, I too will have but what about Children??"
Wife replied "You don't know?? Your manager came here at 5.15 PM and has taken the children to the exhibition"

What had really happened was ... The boss who granted him permission was observing him working seriously at 5.00 PM. He thought to himself, this person will not leave the work, but if he has promised his children they should enjoy the visit to exhibition.

So he took the lead in taking them to exhibition. The boss does not have to do it everytime. But once it is done, loyalty is established.

That is why all the scientists at Thumba continued to work under their boss even though the stress was tremendous.

By the way, can you hazard a guess as to who the boss was..?

He was none other than Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, President of India . . .

10th January 2006, 03:47 PM
Again an already read story, but a very touchingly admirable story.

13th January 2006, 08:43 AM
Something Special in A Glass of Milk
One day, a poor boy who was selling magazines from door to door to pay his way through school, found he had only one thin dime left, and he was hungry.
He decided he would ask for a meal at the next house.
However, he lost his nerve when a lovely young woman opened the door.
Instead of a meal he asked for a drink of water. She thought he looked hungry so brought him a large glass of milk. He drank it slowly, and then asked, How much do I owe you?"

"You don't owe me anything," she replied. "My Mother has taught us never to accept pay for a kindness given."
He said..... "Then I thank you from my heart."
As Howard Kelly left that house, he not only felt stronger physically, but his faith in God and man was strong also. He had been ready to give up and quit.

Many years later that same young woman became critically ill. The local doctors were baffled. They finally sent her to the big city, where they called in specialists to study her rare disease.

Dr. Howard Kelly was called in for the consultation. When he heard the name of the town she came from, a strange light filled his eyes.

Immediately he rose and went down the hall of the hospital to her room.
Dressed in his doctor's gown he went in to see her. He recognized her at once.
He went back to the consultation room determined to do his best to save her life. From that day on he gave special attention to her case.

After a long struggle, the battle was won.
Dr. Kelly requested the business office to pass the final bill to him for approval. He looked at it, then wrote something on the edge and the bill was sent to her room. She feared to open it, for she was sure it would take the rest of her life to pay for it all. Finally she looked, and something caught her attention on the side of the bill. She read these words.....

"Paid in full with one glass of milk"
(Signed) Dr. Howard Kelly
Tears of joy flooded her eyes as her happy heart prayed: "Thank You, God, that Your love has spread broad through human hearts and hands."

There's a saying, which goes something like this: Bread cast on the waters comes back to you. The good deed you do today may benefit you or someone you love at the least expected time. If you never see the deed again at least you will have made the world a better place - And, after all, isn't that what life is all about?

Sundar12345
13th January 2006, 10:35 AM
here is another such story

Once in a hospital two men were admitted for certain reasons. It was in a small room that both that them were admitted.

There was only window opening thru which they could watch the outside world. But only one man was able to watch it as the other was very ill and had a spiral breakdown.

The man who could could see thru the window described the outside features so well that his partner felt that he was seeing every bit of it.

one day his partner got a negative thought in his mind."Why only he should enjoy the outside world why not me???" He tried to avoid this thought as much as possible but this came to his mind very often.

one day the man near the window went to a critical condition and coughed very badly and died in the end.

The other man asked the nurse to shift him to the bed near the window. It was done. This man with all his efforts and pains got up to see the outside world and saw a BLANK WALL facing the window. :cry:

Sundar12345
13th January 2006, 10:48 AM
Selvakumar .... this is such a wonderful thread where i wanted most of them to take part to put forward their stories.... anyway those who visit this thread will benefit.
Good Job.

15th January 2006, 08:58 AM
"A glass of milk" is excellent! Very touching! It is a boost to our spirits!

"Blank wall" already read!

17th January 2006, 07:42 PM
Nice forward

AMMA THE ONLY TRUTH IN THIS WORLD

My mom only had one eye. I hated her... she was such an embarrassment. She cooked for students & teachers to support the family.There was this one day during elementary school where my mom came to say hello to me. I was so embarrassed. How could she do this to me? I ignored her, threw her a hateful look and ran out.The next day at school one of my classmates said, "EEEE, your mom only has one eye!" I wanted to bury myself. I also wanted my mom to just disappear.So I confronted her that day and said, " If you're only gonna make me a laughing stock, why don't you just die?!!!"

My mom did not respond...

I didnt even stop to think for a second about what I had said, because I was full of anger. I was oblivious to her feelings. with her. I wanted out of that house, and have nothing to do with her. So I studied real hard, got a chance to go to Singapore to study. Then, I got married. I bought a house of my own. I had kids of my own. I was happy with my life, my kids and the comforts

Then one day, my mother came to visit me.

She hadn't seen me in years and she didn't even meet her grandchildren. When she stood by the door, my children laughed at her, and I yelled at her for coming over uninvited. I screamed at her, "How dare you come to my house and scare my children!" GET OUT OF HERE! NOW!!!" And to this, my mother quietly answered, "Oh, I'm so sorry. I may have gotten the wrong address," and she disappeared out of sight. And to this, my mother quietly answered, "Oh, I'm so sorry. I may have gotten the wrong address," and she disappeared out of sight.

One day, a letter regarding a school reunion came to my house in Singapore.

So I lied to my wife that I was going on a business trip. After the reunion, I went to the old shack just out of curiosity.

My neighbors said that she died.

I did not shed a single tear. They handed me a letter that she had wanted me to have.

"My dearest son, I think of you all the time. I'm sorry that I came to Singapore and scared your children. I was so glad when I heard you were coming for the reunion. But I may not be able to even get out of bed to see you. I'm sorry that I was a constant embarrassment to you when you were growing up. You see........when you were very little, you got into an accident, and lost your eye. As a mother, I couldn't stand watching you having to grow up with one eye. So I gave you mine. I was so proud of my son who was seeing a whole new world for me, in my place, with that eye. With my love to you,

YOUR MOTHER :cry: :cry:

17th January 2006, 08:41 PM
:(:(:(

17th January 2006, 09:17 PM
Very touching! Motherhood at its glorious best!

18th January 2006, 06:44 PM
Hi hi, :D
I did post this story (got as a fwd) in the misc. secn. b4.....but I guess it rightly belongs here! :)
Neways, as always, I find it very touching! :(

20th January 2006, 12:50 PM
A little girl and her father were crossing a flimsy bridge. The father was kind of scared so he asked his little daughter, "Sweetheart, please hold my hand so that you don't fall into the river."

The little girl said, "No, Dad. You hold my hand."

"What's the difference?" asked the puzzled father.

"There's a big difference," replied the little girl. "If I hold your hand and something happens to me, chances are that I may let your hand go. But if you hold my hand, I know for sure that no matter what happens, you will never let my hand go."

In any relationship, the essence of trust is not in its bind , age, caste or creed but in its bond.

So hold the hand of the person whom you love rather than expecting them to hold urs..

--

20th January 2006, 12:52 PM
Good!

20th January 2006, 01:20 PM
The story goes that some time ago, a man punished his 3-year-old daughter for wasting a roll of gold wrapping paper. Money was tight and he became infuriated when the child tried to decorate a box to put under the Christmas tree. Nevertheless, the little girl brought the gift to her father the next morning and said, 'This is for you, Daddy.'

The man was embarrassed by his earlier overreaction, but his anger flared again when he found out the box was empty. He yelled at her, stating, 'Don't you know, when you give someone a present, there is supposed to be something inside? The little girl looked up at him with tears in her eyes and cried, 'Oh, Daddy, it's not empty at all. I blew kisses into the box. They're all for you, Daddy.'

The father was crushed. He put his arms around his little girl, and he begged for her forgiveness.

Only a short time later, an accident took the life of the child. It is also told that her father kept that gold box by his bed for many years and, whenever he was discouraged, he would take out an imaginary kiss and remember the love of the child who had put it there.

In a very real sense, each one of us, as humans beings, have been given a gold container filled with unconditional love and kisses... from our children, family members, friends, and God. There is simply no other possession, anyone could hold, more precious than this.

20th January 2006, 02:43 PM
The abstract nature of love is very explicitly demonstrated. Concrete gifts can never equal the "feeling" of love.

20th January 2006, 06:11 PM
The abstract nature of love is very explicitly demonstrated. Concrete gifts can never equal the "feeling" of love.
Exactly! :D
Really moving story tho! :(

23rd January 2006, 09:02 AM
Subject: FW: One paragraph that explains Life......

One paragraph that explains Life......

Arthur Ashe, the legendary Wimbledon player was dying of CANCER. From
world over, he received letters from his fans, one of which conveyed:
"Why does GOD have to select you for such a bad disease"? To this
Arthur Ashe replied: The world over -- 5 crore children start playing
tennis, 50 lakh learn to play tennis, 5 lakh learn professional
tennis, 50,000 come to the circuit, 5000 reach the grand slam, 50
reach Wimbeldon, 4 to semi final, 2 to the finals, When I was holding
a cup I never asked GOD "Why me?". And today in pain I should not be
asking GOD "Why me?"

Happiness keeps u Sweet, Trials keep u Strong, Sorrow keeps u Human,
Failure Keeps u Humble, Success keeps u Glowing, But only God Keeps u
Going.....

23rd January 2006, 09:14 AM
Excellent!!!

23rd January 2006, 06:39 PM
Subject: FW: One paragraph that explains Life......

One paragraph that explains Life......

Arthur Ashe, the legendary Wimbledon player was dying of CANCER. From
world over, he received letters from his fans, one of which conveyed:
"Why does GOD have to select you for such a bad disease"? To this
Arthur Ashe replied: The world over -- 5 crore children start playing
tennis, 50 lakh learn to play tennis, 5 lakh learn professional
tennis, 50,000 come to the circuit, 5000 reach the grand slam, 50
reach Wimbeldon, 4 to semi final, 2 to the finals, When I was holding
a cup I never asked GOD "Why me?". And today in pain I should not be
asking GOD "Why me?"

Happiness keeps u Sweet, Trials keep u Strong, Sorrow keeps u Human,
Failure Keeps u Humble, Success keeps u Glowing, But only God Keeps u
Going.....

True he was an excellent soul and that is a great fwd.But just so since I am an avid tennis follower I couldnt help but notice a mistake in the FWD.
Authur Ashe died of AIDS.He was infected with the virus when he received condaminated blood during a blood transfusion.He was infected through no fault of his.A true victim of the dreaded virus.

24th January 2006, 07:35 AM
> When U Were Only 5 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U...

> U Asked Me: "What Is It?"

>

> When U Were 15 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U....

> U Blushed.. U Look Down And Smile..

>

> When U Were 20 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Put Ur Head On My Shoulder And

> Hold My Hand.. Afraid That I Might Dissapear..

>

> When U Were 25 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Prepare Breakfast And Serve It In

> Front Of Me, And Kiss My Forhead N

> Said : "U Better Be Quick, Is's Gonna Be Late.."

>

> When U Were 30 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Said: "If U Really Love Me, Please

> Come Back Early After Work.."

>

> When U Were 40 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Were Cleaning The Dining Table And

> Said: "Ok Dear, But It's Time For U To Help Our Child

> With His/Her Revision.."

>

> When U Were 50 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Were Knitting And U Laugh At Me..

>

> When U Were 60 Yrs Old, I Said I Love U..

> U Smile At Me..

>

> When U Were 70 Yrs Old. I Said I Love U..

> We Sitting On The Rocking Chair With Our Glasses On..

> I'm Reading Your Love Letter That U Sent To Me 50

> Yrs Ago..

> With Our Hand Crossing Together..

>

> When U Were 80 Yrs Old, U Said U Love Me!

> I Didn't Say Anything But Cried..

>

> That Day Must Be The Happiest Day Of My Life! Because

> U Said U Love Me!!!

> Please Appreciate Your Loved Ones.. Say "I Love You"

> To Them When U Have The Chance Now!!

24th January 2006, 07:42 AM
Thomas, an eight-year-old boy, sickly and partially deaf, was far behind his classmates in academics. The teachers were unhappy with him because he was slow to pick up the subjects and his classmates made fun of him.

Thomas lived in an unkind world. But he had a mother who was happy to be with him. A mother who would sit with him each evening at the kitchen counter and listen to how bad his day had been.

One day, Thomas came home with a letter from the headmaster of his school. He was expelled because his learning ability was too poor.

His mother did not fuss much about the letter. She knew he was slower than most others, but she believed Thomas could learn if lessons were taught to him with love.

She worked on teaching him herself at home. It began to work. Soon Thomas started inventing several new things, a lot of them were unworkable in the beginning.

When Thomas finally died, the whole nation of the United States of America honoured him by switching off the lights throughout the entire country for one minute.

This is the Thomas whom his headmaster expelled from school because his brain worked slower; the one whose classmates laughed at.

This Thomas was Thomas Alva Edison, inventor of the light bulb and phonograph. He was, in fact, one of the most prolific inventors of the 20th century holding a record 1,093 patents in his name.

The teasing classmates were part of those who honoured Edison when America turned its lights off to commemorate his death.

There is something beautiful about every creature of God, and particularly so about every human being. Who are we to criticise a person created in the image and likeness of God? Let us learn to discover beauty in every person we meet!

24th January 2006, 08:18 AM
Very good!

24th January 2006, 02:13 PM
"Cost of a Miracle "

An eight-year-old child heard her parents talking about her little brother.All she knew was that he was very sick and they had no money left. They were moving to a smaller house because they could not afford to stay in the present house after paying the doctor's bills. Only a very costly surgery could save him now and there was no one to loan them the money.

When she heard her daddy say to her tearful mother with whispered desperation, 'Only a miracle can save him now', the little girl went to her bedroom and pulled her piggy bank from its hiding place in the closet. She poured all the change out on the floor and counted it carefully.

Clutching the precious piggy bank tightly, she slipped out the back door and made her way six blocks to the local drugstore. She took a quarter from her bank and placed it on the glass counter.

"And what do you want?" asked the pharmacist. "It's for my little brother," the girl answered back. "He's really, really sick and I want to buy a miracle."

"I beg your pardon?" said the pharmacist.

"His name is Andrew and he has something bad growing inside his head and my daddy says only a miracle can save him. So how much does a miracle cost?"

"We don't sell miracles here, child. I'm sorry," the pharmacist said, smiling sadly at the little girl.

"Listen, I have the money to pay for it. If it isn't enough, I can try and get some more. Just tell me how much it costs."

In the shop was a well-dressed customer. He stooped down and asked the little girl, "What kind of a miracle does you brother need?"

"I don't know," she replied with her eyes welling up."He's really sick and mommy says he needs an operation. But my daddy can't pay for it, so I have brought my savings".

"How much do you have?" asked the man. "One dollar and eleven cents, but I can try and get some more", she answered barely audibly.

"Well, what a coincidence," smiled the man. "A dollar and eleven cents - the exact price of a miracle for little brothers."

He took her money in one hand and held her hand with the other. He said, "Take me to where you live. I want to see your brother and meet your parents. Let's see if I have the kind of miracle you need."

That well-dressed man was Dr Carlton Armstrong, a surgeon, specialising in neuro-surgery. The operation was completed without charge and it wasn't long before Andrew was home again and doing well.

"That surgery," her mom whispered, "was a real miracle. I wonder how much it would have cost?"

The little girl smiled. She knew exactly how much the miracle cost ... one dollar and eleven cents ... plus the faith of a little child.

Perseverance can make miracles happen!

24th January 2006, 02:21 PM
As I jumped off the building's 11th floor...........
10th floor

I saw the known loving couple in 10th floor is hitting each other

I saw the usually tough & strong Peter in 9th floor is crying

7th floor Dan is taking her daily anti-depression medicine

6th floor Heng still buys 7 newspaper to search for a job everyday

4th floor rose again fighting with the boyfriend

Old man in 3rd floor everyday hoping someone would come by and pay him a visit

2nd floor Lily still staring at the picture of her lost husband half-year ago

Before i jumped off from the building, I thought i was the most unlucky person

Now i just realised everyone has their own problems & worries....

After I had seen all these, I found out, in fact I wasn't that bad at all...

The people that I saw just now is looking at me now...

I think after they see me now, they might feel they are not that bad after all.............

24th January 2006, 03:25 PM
Excellent anjali,

thanx a lot for ur contribution in this thread.. Seems u have great collection of these kind of stories. all of them are of different kind. I like that gold box story.. 8-)

27th January 2006, 02:49 PM
A little boy went into a drug store, reached for a soda carton and pulled it over to the telephone. He climbed onto the carton so that he could reach the buttons on the phone and proceeded to punch in seven digits.
The store-owner observed and listened to the conversation: The boy asked, "Lady, Can you give me the job of cutting your lawn? The woman replied, "I already have someone to cut my lawn."
"Lady, I will cut your lawn for half the price of the person who cuts your lawn now." replied boy. The woman responded that she was very satisfied with the person who was presently cutting her lawn.
The little boy found more perseverance and offered, "Lady, I'll even sweep your curb and your sidewalk, so on Sunday you will have the prettiest lawn in all of Palm beach, Florida." Again the woman answered in the negative.
With a smile on his face, the little boy replaced the receiver. The store-owner, who was listening to all, walked over to the boy and said, "Son... I like your attitude; I like that positive spirit and would like to offer you a job."
The little boy replied, "No thanks, I was just checking my performance with the job I already have. I am the one who is working for that lady, I was talking to!"

29th January 2006, 03:58 PM
ahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! :P

30th January 2006, 11:32 AM
A Very Very Nice Story!!!!

My husband is an Engineer by profession, I love him for his steady nature, and I love the warm feeling when I lean against his broad shoulders.

Three years of courtship and now, two years into marriage, I would have to admit, that I am getting tired of it. The reasons of me loving him before has now transformed into the cause of all my restlessness. I am a sentimental woman and extremely sensitive when it comes to a relationship and my feelings, I yearn for the romantic moments, like a little girl yearning for candy. My husband is my complete opposite, his lack of sensitivity, and the inability of bringing romantic moments into our marriage has disheartened me about love.

One day, I finally decided to tell him my decision, that I wanted a divorce. "Why?" he asked, shocked. "I am tired, there are no reasons for everything in the world!" I answered.

He kept silent the whole night, seems to be in deep thought with a lighted cigarette at all times. My feeling of disappointment only increased, here was a man who can't even express his predicament, what else can I hope from him?

And finally he asked me:" What can I do to change your mind?" Somebody said it right, it's hard to change a person's personality, and I guess, I have started losing faith in him.

Looking deep into his eyes I slowly answered : "Here is the question, if you can answer and convince my heart, I will change my mind, Let's say, I want a flower located on the face of a mountain cliff, and we both are sure that picking the flower will cause your death, will you do it for me?" He said:" I will give you your answer tomorrow...." My hopes just sank by listening to his response.

I woke up the next morning to find him gone, and saw a piece of paper with his scratchy handwriting, underneath a milk glass, on the dining table near the front door, that goes....

My dear, "I would not pick that flower for you, but please allow me to explain the reasons further.." This first line was already breaking my heart. I continued reading..... "When you use the computer you always mess up the Software programs, and you cry in front of the screen, I have to save my fingers so that I can help to restore the programs. You always leave the house keys behind, thus I have to save my legs to rush home to open the door for you. You love traveling but always lose your way in a new city, I have to save my eyes to show you the way. You always have the cramps whenever your "good friend" approaches every month, I have to save my palms so that I can calm the cramps in your Tummy. You like to stay indoors, and I worry that you will be infected by infantile autism. I have to save my mouth to tell you jokes and stories to cure your boredom.

You always stare at the computer, and that will do nothing good for your eyes, I have to save my eyes so that when we grow old, I can help to clip your nails, and help to remove those annoying white hairs. So I can also hold your hand while strolling down the beach, as you enjoy the sunshine and the beautiful sand... and tell you the color of flowers, just like the color of the glow on your young face...

Thus, my dear, unless I am sure that there is someone who loves you more than I do... I could not pick that flower yet, and die.. "

My tears fell on the letter, and blurred the ink of his handwriting...and as I continue on reading...

"Now, that you have finished reading my answer, if you are satisfied, please open the front door for I am standing outside bringing your favorite bread and fresh milk...?

I rush to pull open the door, and saw his anxious face, clutching tightly with his hands, the milk bottle and loaf of bread.... Now I am very sure that no one will ever love me as much as he does, and I have decided to leave the flower alone... That's life, and love. When one is surrounded by love, the feeling of excitement fades away, and one tends to ignore the true love that lies in between the peace and dullness.

Love shows up in all forms, even very small and cheeky forms, it has never been a model, it could be the dullest and boring form.. . Flowers, and romantic moments are only used and appear on the surface of the relationship.

Under all this, the pillar of true love stands... and that's our life...Love, not words win arguments...

30th January 2006, 12:01 PM
Already read story!

30th January 2006, 06:33 PM
good story!

terminator
5th February 2006, 06:09 PM
Determination and Persistence
In 1883, a creative engineer named John Roebling was inspired by an
idea to build a spectacular bridge connecting New York with the Long
Island. However bridge building experts throughout the world thought
that this was an impossible feat and told Roebling to forget the
idea. It just could not be done. It was not practical. It had never
been done before.

Roebling could not ignore the vision he had in his mind of this
bridge. He thought about it all the time and he knew deep in his
heart that it could be done. He just had to share the dream with
someone else. After much discussion and persuasion he managed to
convince his son Washington, an up and coming engineer, that the
bridge in fact could be built.

Working together for the first time, the father and son developed
concepts of how it could be accomplished and how the obstacles could
be overcome. With great excitement and inspiration, and the headiness
of a wild challenge before them, they hired their crew and began to
build their dream bridge.

The project started well, but when it was only a few months underway
a tragic accident on the site took the life of John Roebling.
Washington was injured and left with a certain amount of brain
damage, which resulted in him not being able to walk or talk or even
move.

"We told them so."
"Crazy men and their crazy dreams."
"It`s foolish to chase wild visions."

Everyone had a negative comment to make and felt that the project
should be scrapped since the Roeblings were the only ones who knew
how the bridge could be built. In spite of his handicap Washington
was never discouraged and still had a burning desire to complete the
bridge and his mind was still as sharp as ever.

He tried to inspire and pass on his enthusiasm to some of his
friends, but they were too daunted by the task. As he lay on his bed
in his hospital room, with the sunlight streaming through the
windows, a gentle breeze blew the flimsy white curtains apart and he
was able to see the sky and the tops of the trees outside for just a
moment.

It seemed that there was a message for him not to give up. Suddenly
an idea hit him. All he could do was move one finger and he decided
to make the best use of it. By moving this, he slowly developed a
code of communication with his wife.

He touched his wife's arm with that finger, indicating to her that he
wanted her to call the engineers again. Then he used the same method
of tapping her arm to tell the engineers what to do. It seemed
foolish but the project was under way again.

For 13 years Washington tapped out his instructions with his finger
on his wife's arm, until the bridge was finally completed. Today the
spectacular Brooklyn Bridge stands in all its glory as a tribute to
the triumph of one man's indomitable spirit and his determination not
to be defeated by circumstances. It is also a tribute to the
engineers and their team work, and to their faith in a man who was
considered mad by half the world. It stands too as a tangible
monument to the love and devotion of his wife who for 13 long years
patiently decoded the messages of her husband and told the engineers
what to do.

Perhaps this is one of the best examples of a never-say-die attitude
that overcomes a terrible physical handicap and achieves an
impossible goal.

Often when we face obstacles in our day-to-day life, our hurdles seem
very small in comparison to what many others have to face. The
Brooklyn Bridge shows us that dreams that seem impossible can be
realised with determination and persistence, no matter what the odds
are.

terminator
5th February 2006, 06:12 PM
TRULY TOUCHING STORY:

Peter and Tina are sitting in the park doing nothing, but just gazing into the sky, while all their friends
are having fun with their beloved half.

Tina: I'm so bored. Just wish I have a boyfriend now to spend time with.

Peter: I guess we're the only leftovers. We're the only person who isn't with a date now. (both sigh n
silence for a while)

Tina: I think I have a good idea. Lets play a game Peter: Eh? What game?

Tina: Eem..It's quite simple. You be my boyfriend for 100 days and I'll be your girlfriend for 100 days.
what do you think?

Peter: Oookay..Anyway I don't have any plan for the next few months.

Tina: You sound like you aren't lookin g forward to it at all. Cheer up. Today will be our first day and our
first date. Where should we go?

Peter: What about a movie? I heard that there is a really great movie in theatre now.

Tina: Seems like I don't have any better idea than this. Lets move. (went to watch their movies and sent
each other home)

Day 2:
Peter and Tina went to a concert together, and Peter bought Tina a keychain with a star.

Day 3:
They went shopping together for a friend's birthday present. Share an ice-cream together and hugged each
other for the first time.

Day 7:
Peter drove Tina up onto a mountain and they watch the sunset together. When the night came and the moon
glowed, they said sat on the grass gazing at the stars together. A meteor passed by. Tina mumbled something.

Day 25:
Spend time at a themepark and got onto rollercoasters, and ate hot-dogs and cotton candy. Peter and Tina got
in the haunted house and Tina grabbed someone's hand instead of Peter's hand by accident. They laughed
together for a while.

Day 67:
They drove pass a circus and decided to get in to watch the show. The midget asked Tina to play a part
as his assistant in the magic show. Went around to see other entertainments around after the show. Came to a
fortune teller and she just said "Treasure every moment from now on" and a tear rolled down the fortune
teller's cheek.

Day 84:
Tina suggested that they go to the beach. The beach wasn't so crowded that day. They have their first kiss
with each other just as the sun is setting.

Day 99:
They decided to have a simple day and is deciding to have a wal k around the city. They sits down onto a
bench.

1:23 pm
Tina: I'm thirsty. Lets rest for a while first.

Peter: Wait here while I go buy some drinks. What would you like?

Tina: Eem...Apple juice will be just fine.

1:43 pm
Tina waiting for about 20 minutes and Peter haven't return. Then someone walked up to her.

Stranger: Is your name Tina?

Tina: Yes, and may I help you?

Stranger: Justnow down there on the street a drunk driver has crashed into a guy. I think its your
friend.

Tina ran over to the spot with the stranger and sees Peter lying on the floor with blood over his face and
her apple juice still in his hands. The ambulance came and she went to the hospital with Peter.
Tina sat outside the emergency room for five and a half hours. The doctor came out, and he sigh.

11:51 pm
Doctor: I'm sorry, but we did the best we could. He is still breathing now but God would take him away from
us very soon. We found this letter inside his pocket. The doctor hands over the letter to Tina and she goes
into the room to see Peter. He look weak but peaceful. Tina read the letter and then she burst into tears.
Here is what the letter said.

Tina, our 100 days is almost over. I had fun with you during all these days. Although you may be greedy
sometimes and less thoughtful, but these all brought happiness into my life. I have realise that you are a
really cute girl and blamed myself for never taken the time to knowing that. I have nothing much to ask for,
but I just wish that we can extend the day. I want to be your boyfriend forever and wish that you can be beside me all the time. Tina, I love you.

11:58
Tina: (sobbing) Peter. Did you know what was the wish I made on the night there was a meteor. I asked God to
let us last forever. We were suppose to last 100 days so Peter! You can't leave me! I LOVE YOU, but can you
come back to me now? I love you Peter. I LOVE YOU.

As the clock struck twelve, Peter's heart stopped beating. It was 100 days.

NOTE*
Tell the guy or girl that you love them before its too late. You never know whats going to happen tomorrow.
You never know who will be leaving you and never return.

6th February 2006, 12:42 PM
A Couple met with an accident.

When they woke up in the hospital, the boy lost his eyes.

Months passed...

the girl left the boy causeshe was discouragd having a blind boyfriend.

After a year, the boy died in despair.

The girl went to his burial, and saw a letter on top of his cabin.

The Letter was for her...

it said " Take care of my eyes, I love you so much"

Chappani
7th February 2006, 04:21 PM
Yenna Beckham Story remake-a??? I read a similar story in some thread which involved Mother and son :)...

8th February 2006, 10:44 AM
Yenna Beckham Story remake-a??? I read a similar story in some thread which involved Mother and son :)...
:o Really! Paravala adjust pannikonga :lol:

9th February 2006, 12:49 PM
A woman came out of her house and saw 3 old men with long white beards sitting in her front yard. She did not recognize them. She said "I don't think I know you, but you must be hungry. Please come in and have something to eat."

"Is the man of the house home?", they asked.

"No", she replied. "He's out."

"Then we cannot come in", they replied.

In the evening when her husband came home, she told him what had happened.

"Go tell them I am home and invite them in!"

The woman went out and invited the men in"

"We do not go into a House together," they replied.

"Why is that?" she asked.

One of the old men explained: "His name is Wealth," he said pointing to one of his friends, and said pointing to another one, "He is Success, and I am Love." Then he added, "Now go in and discuss with your husband which one of us you want in your home."

The woman went in and told her husband what was said. Her husband was overjoyed. "How nice!!", he said. "Since that is the case, let us invite Wealth. Let him come and fill our home with wealth!"

His wife disagreed. "My dear, why don't we invite Success?"

Their daughter-in-law was listening from the other corner of the house. She jumped in with her own suggestion: "Would it not be better to invite Love? Our home will then be filled with love!"

"Let us heed our daughter-in-law's advice," said the husband to his wife.

"Go out and invite Love to be our guest."

The woman went out and asked the 3 old men, "Which one of you is Love? Please come in and be our guest."

Love got up and started walking toward the house. The other 2 also got up and followed him. Surprised, the lady asked Wealth and Success: "I only invited Love, Why are you coming in?"

The old men replied together: "If you had invited Wealth or Success, the other two of us would've stayed out, but since you invited Love, wherever He goes, we go with him. Wherever there is Love, there is also Wealth and Success!!!!!!"

9th February 2006, 02:19 PM
wish they came to my home :!:

10th February 2006, 02:17 PM
Selva, this was already posted in the misc. section b4......but I think it equally deserves to be here! :D

13th February 2006, 09:10 AM
i hope this forward was not posted earlier... :)

There was once this guy who is very much in love with his girl. This romantic guy folded 1,000 pieces of paper cranes as a gift to his girl.

Although, at that time he was just a small fry in his company, his future didn't seem too bright, they were very happy together.
Until one day, his girl told him she was going to Paris and will never come back. She also told him that she cannot visualize any future for the both of them, so they went their own ways there and then...

Heartbroken, the guy agreed. But when he regained his confidence, he worked hard day and night, slogging his body and mind just to make something out of himself.

Finally with all the hard work and the help of friends, this guy had set up his own company .

You never fail until you stop trying. One rainy day, while this guy was driving, he saw an elderly couple sharing an umbrella in the rain walk ing to some destination. Even with the umbrella, they were still drenched. It didn't take him long to realize they were his girl's parents.

With a heart in getting back at them, he drove slowly beside the couple, wanting them to spot him in his luxury sedan. He wanted them to know that he wasn't the same any more; he had his own company, car, condo, etc. He made it! What he saw next confused him, the couple was walking towards a cemetery, and so he got out of his car and followed...and he saw his girl, a photograph of her smiling sweetly as ever at him from her tombstone and he saw his paper cranes right beside her...

Her parents saw him. He asked them why this had happened. They explained, she did not leave for France at all. She was ill with cancer. She had believed that he will make it someday, but she did not want to be his obstacle... therefore she had chosen to leave him.
Just because someone doesn't love you the way you want them to, doesn't mean they don't love you with all they have. She had wanted her parents to put his paper cranes beside her, because, if the day comes when fate brings him to her again...he can take some of those back with him...

Once you have loved, you will always love. For what's in your mind may escape but what's in your heart will remain forever.

The guy just wept...The worst way to miss someone is to be sitting right beside her knowing you can't have her, see her or be with her ever again.........hope you understand.

Find time to realize that there is one person who means so much to you, for you might wake up one morning losing that person who you thought meant nothing to you.

13th February 2006, 09:13 AM
One day, a poor boy who was selling goods from door to door to pay his way through school, found he had only one thin dime left, and he was hungry. He decided he would ask for a meal at the next house. However, he lost his nerve when a lovely young woman opened the door. Instead of a meal he asked for a drink of water. She thought he looked hungry so brought him a large glass of milk. He drank it slowly, and
then asked, "How much do I owe you?"

"You don't owe me anything," she replied "Mother has taught us never to accept payment for a kindness." He said... "Then I thank you from my heart."

As Howard Kelly left that house, he not only felt; stronger physically, but his faith in God and man was strong also. He had been ready to give up and quit.

Years later that young woman became critically ill. The local doctors were baffled. They finally sent her to the big city, where they called in specialists to study her rare disease. Dr. Howard Kelly was called in for the consultation. When he heard the name of the town she came from, a strange light filled his eyes. Immediately he rose and went down the hall of the hospital to her room. Dressed in his doctor's gown he we nt in to see her. He recognized her at once. He went back to the consultation room determined to do his best to save her life. From that day he gave special attention to the case.

After a long struggle, the battle was won. Dr. Kelly requested the business office to pass the final bill to him for approval. He looked at it, then wrote something on the edge and the bill was sent to her room. She feared to open it, for she was sure it would take the rest of her life to pay for it all. Finally, she looked, and something caught ; her attention on the side as She read these words.....

"Paid in full with one glass of milk." (Signed) Dr. Howard Kelly.

Tears of joy flooded her eyes as her happy heart prayed: "Thank You, GOD, that Your love has spread abroad through human hearts and hands."

13th February 2006, 09:57 AM
Sinthu,
wow... the previous one I have read already.. but the last one was fantastic.. And one more request to u, don't worry about whether a particular story has been posted already or not.. continue with ur posts.. :D

I think kollywood will soon copy these stories :lol:

13th February 2006, 10:09 AM
Sinthu,
wow... the previous one I have read already.. but the last one was fantastic.. And one more request to u, don't worry about whether a particular story has been posted already or not.. continue with ur posts.. :D

Selva, thanks! :)

:lol: ...it could happen...who do you see starring in these movies? :P

13th February 2006, 12:19 PM
Sinthu,

Selva, thanks! :)

:lol: ...it could happen...who do you see starring in these movies? :P

<digression> sinthu, I would prefer MADDY to play that cancer love story.. The heroine can be any latest girl who can act well.. It can be a repeat of MINNALE(though the climax is a bit tragic)..
</digression>

13th February 2006, 12:42 PM
I am sure this one doesnot fall under STORIES.. but found it funny. So, I am posting it here.

Dear Tech Support Team:

Last year I upgraded from Girlfriend 5.0 to Wife 1.0.

I soon noticed that the new program began unexpected child-processes that took up a lot of space and valuable resources.

In addition, Wife 1.0 installed itself into all other programs and now monitors all other system activities.

Applications such as BachelorNights 10.3, Cricket 5.0, BeerWithBuddies 7.5, and Outings 3.6 no longer runs, crashing the system whenever selected. I can't seem to keep Wife 1.0 in the background while attempting to run my favorite applications.

I'm thinking about going back to Girlfriend 5.0 , but the 'uninstall' doesn't work on Wife 1.0.

Please help!

"A Troubled User"

REPLY:

Dear Troubled User:

This is a very common problem that people complain about.

Many people upgrade from Girlfriend 5.0 to Wife 1.0, thinking that it is just a Utilities and Entertainment program.

Wife 1.0 is an OPERATING SYSTEM and is designed by its Creator to run EVERYTHING!!!

It is also impossible to delete Wife 1.0 and to return to Girlfriend 5.0.

It is impossible to uninstall, or purge the program files from the system once installed.

You cannot go back to Girlfriend 5.0 because Wife 1.0 is designed not to allow this. (Look in your Wife 1.0 Manual under Warnings-Alimony-Child Support) .

I recommend that you keep Wife1.0 and work on improving the environment.

I suggest installing the background application "Yes Dear" to alleviate software augmentation.

The best course of action is to enter the command C:\APOLOGIZE because ultimately you will have to give the APOLOGIZE command before the system will return to normal anyway.

Wife 1.0 is a great program, but it tends to be very high maintenance. Wife 1.0 comes with several support programs, such as Clean 2.5, Sweep 3.0, Cook 1.5 and DoLaundry 4.2. However, be very careful how you use these programs. Improper use will cause the system to launch the program NagNag 9.5 . Once this happens, the only way to improve the performance of Wife 1.0 is to purchase additional software. I recommend Sarees 2.1 and Jewellery 5.0

WARNING: DO NOT, under any circumstances, install SecretaryWithShortSkirt 3.3. This application is not supported by Wife 1.0 and will cause irreversible damage to the operating system.

Best of luck,

Tech Support

13th February 2006, 12:58 PM
Dada,
Hav read this one b4.....but good tat u posted here in the Hub! :D
Say, y not u post it in the jokes therad??

13th February 2006, 03:02 PM
Dada,
Hav read this one b4.....but good tat u posted here in the Hub! :D
Say, y not u post it in the jokes therad??

simple.. :lol: this is my thread.. :D that's it.. I found it somehow relevant to the thread title.. Anyhow, I will also post in under JOKES thread :D

13th February 2006, 05:43 PM
A true, touching love story that happened in the Jamu & Kashmir(border) areas. The headman of a big tribe had a beautiful daughter, who fell in love with a boy who was an ordinary poor person. When the people of the tribe came to know about their love, they did not like it at all, and so began to protest about it. Now it happened that the two lovers left their homes for a happy future.

The people of the tribe started searching for the two lovers but they could not find them. At last,they accepted their love and asked them in newspaper to come back.The people said that if u both come back we will marry u, we acceptthat u loved each other truly. So in this way their love won and the age old attitude of the tribe took a beating. The couple went to the city for shopping for the wedding. He was wearing a white traditional dress, and was crossing the road when a car came and hit him and he died on the spot. The girl lost her senses. After a long time she recovered and accepted that her love has died.

One night she was sleeping in her home with her family. Her mother had dream in which she saw a fairy. That fairy asked her mother to wash the blood spots of the guy from her daughter's clothes as soon as possible. But her mother ignored the dream.

Next night the father saw the same dream, he also ignored it. Then when the girl had the same dream the next night, she woke up and told her mother about the dream.

Her mother asked her to wash the clothes on which there were blood spots. She washed the spots but some remained. Next night she again had the same dream she again washed the spots but some still remained. Next night she again had the same dream and this time that fairy gave her last warning to

wash the blood spots, else something terrible will happen. This time the girl tried her best to wash the spots, the clothes tore, but some spots still remained.

In the evening on same day when she was alone, someone knocked the door, when she opened the door she saw the fairy at the door.

She got very scared and fainted. The fairy woke her up..., and gave her an object, That awe-struck girl asked "what is this..? to which

the fairy replied :

......"Athan SURF Excel irukkulla ...Inimae karaingura paechukkae idam kidayaathu"

I know what u are feeling now...

13th February 2006, 08:03 PM
ayyoda!!!!!!!!!!!!

14th February 2006, 07:29 PM
Scars of Love

Some years ago on a hot summer day in southFlorida a
little boy decided to go for a swim in the old
swimming hole behind his house.

In a hurry to dive into the cool water, he ran out the
back door, leaving behind shoes, socks, and shirt as
he went. He flew into the water, not realizing that as
he swam toward the middle of the lake, an alligator
was swimming toward the shore.

His mother, in the house, was looking out the window
and saw the two as they got closer and closer
together. In utter fear, she ran toward the water,
yelling to her son as loudly as she could. Hearing her
voice, the little boy became alarmed and made a U-turn
to swim to his mother.

It was too late. Just as he reached her, the alligator
reached him. From the dock, the m! other grabbed her
little boy by the arms just as the alligator snatched
his legs. That began an incredible tug-of-war between
the two.

The alligator was much stronger than the mother, but
the mother was much too passionate to let go.

A farmer happened to drive by, heard her screams,
raced from his truck, took aim and shot the alligator.
Remarkably, after weeks and weeks in the hospital, the
little boy survived.

His legs were extremely scarred by the vicious attack
of the animal. And, on his arms, were deep scratches
where his mother's fingernails dug into his flesh in
her effort to hang on to the son she loved.

The newspaper reporter who interviewed the boy after
the trauma, asked if he would show him his scars. The
boy lifted his pant legs; and then, with obvious
pride, he said to the reporter, "But look at my arms.
I have great scars on my arms, too. I have them
because my mom wouldn't let go."

You ! and I can identify with that little boy. We have
scars, too.

No, not from an alligator, or anything quite so
dramatic. But, the scars of a painful past. Some of
those scars are unsightly and have caused us deep
regret. But, some wounds, my friend, are because God
has refused to let go. In the midst of your struggle,
He's been there holding on to you.

The Scripture teaches that God loves you. But
sometimes we foolishly wade into dangerous situations.
The swimming hole of life is filled with peril - and
we forget that the enemy is waiting to attack. That's
when the tug-o-war begins - and if you have the scars
of His love on your arms, be very, very grateful. He
did not - and will not ?

Forget u...

14th February 2006, 07:52 PM
[tscii:79a2fa19bb]You have two choices
--------------------
Jerry is the manager of a restaurant. He is always in a good mood.

When someone would ask him how he was doing, he would always reply,

"If I were any better, I would be twins!"
Many of the waiters at his restaurant quit their jobs when he changed jobs,
so they could follow him around from restaurant to restaurant

Why
Because
Jerry was a natural motivator.

If an employee was having a bad day,

Jerry was always there, telling the employee how to look on the positive side of the situation.
Seeing this style really made me curious, so one day I went up to Jerry and asked him:
"I don't get it! No one can be a positive person all of the time. How do you do it?"

Jerry replied, "Each morning I wake up and say to myself, I have two choices today. I can choose to be in a good mood or I can choose to be in a bad mood.

I always choose to be in a good mood.

Each time something bad happens, I can choose to be victim or I can choose to learn from it. I always choose to learn from it.
Every time someone comes to me complaining, I can choose to accept their complaining or I can point out the positive side of life. I always choose the positive side of life."
"But it's not always that easy,“ I protested.
"Yes it is," Jerry said.

"Life is all about choices. When you cut away all the junk every situation is a choice.

You choose how you react to situations.
You choose how people will affect your mood.
You choose to be in a good mood or bad mood.
It's your choice how you live your life."
Several years later,

I heard that Jerry accidentally did something you are never supposed to do in the restaurant business.
He left the back door of his restaurant open

And then ???

In the morning,

he was robbed by three armed men.

They want?
#123*+!@$%&*~

While Jerry trying to open the safe box,

his hand, shaking from nervousness, slipped off the combination.

The robbers panicked and shot him.

Luckily, Jerry was found quickly and rushed to the hospital.

After 18 hours of surgery

and

weeks of intensive care,

Jerry was released from the hospital with fragments of the bullets still in his body.

I saw Jerry about six months after the accident.

When I asked him how he was,

he replied, "If I were any better, I'd be twins. Want to see my scars?"

I declined to see his wounds, but did ask him what had gone through his mind as the robbery took place.
"The first thing that went through my mind was that I should have locked the back door," Jerry replied.
"Then, after they shot me, as I lay on the floor, I remembered that I had two choices: I could choose to live or could choose to die. I chose to live."

"Weren't you scared“

I asked?

Jerry continued, "The paramedics were great. They kept telling me I was going to be fine.

But when they wheeled me into the Emergency Room and I saw the expression on the faces of the doctors and nurses, I got really scared.

In their eyes, I read 'He's a dead man.'

I knew I needed to take action."

"What did you do?" I asked.

"Well, there was a big nurse shouting questions at me," said Jerry. "She asked if I was allergic to anything."

'Yes,' I replied.

The doctors and nurses stopped working as they waited for my reply.

I took a deep breath

and yelled, 'Bullets!'

Over their laughter, I told them,

'I am choosing to live. Please operate on me as if I am alive, not dead'.

"Jerry lived thanks to the skill of his doctors, but also because of his amazing attitude.

I learned from him that

every day you have the choice to either enjoy your life or to hate it.

The only thing that is truly yours -- that no one can control or take from you-

is your attitude,

so if you can take care of that, everything else in life becomes much easier.[/tscii:79a2fa19bb]

15th February 2006, 10:17 AM
Attack ??

A man sees a woman getting chased by a dog. When the dog is about to bite the woman, the man intervenes and kicks the dog.

A reporter was seeing all this.
He said "That was great. I'll definitely publish this in newspaper. Tomorrow the headline will be 'LOCAL HERO SAVES LADY FROM A DOG'."

The man replied "Thank you, but I'm not from here. I am from US". Reporter " OK. Then the headline will be US CITIZEN SAVES WOMAN FROM A DOG".

Man: Actually, I live in US but I'm not a US citizen. I'm a Pakistani national".
Next day, the headline in the paper read

"TERRORIST ATTACKS A LOCAL DOG."

trisha_krish
15th February 2006, 03:10 PM
this is not a touching story though....

A little boy is telling his Grandma how everything is going wrong. School, family problems, severe health problems, etc.

Meanwhile, Grandma is baking a cake. She asks her grandson if he would like a snack, which, of course, he does.

"Here, have some cooking oil."

"Yuck" says the boy.

"How about a couple raw eggs?"

"Gross, Grandma!"

"Would you like some flour then? Or maybe baking soda?"

"Grandma, those are all yucky!"

To which Grandma replies: "Yes, all those things seem bad all by themselves. But when they are put together in the right way, they make a wonderfully delicious cake!

God works the same way. Many times we wonder why he would let us go through such bad and difficult times. But God knows that when He puts these things all in His order, they always work for good!

We just have to trust Him and, eventually, they will all make something wonderful!

Hope your day is a "piece of cake!"

15th February 2006, 05:46 PM
Year 2005

He and She are engaged. Both are working in Bangalore, while their
parents are at Chennai. They are going by the same train to Chennai.
Incidentally, the first time they are traveling together.

Time 10:00 PM

She: Ivlo seekram station vandaachu. Naan usual aa 10.45 train kku,
10.30 kku dhaan varuven
He: Naan direct aa cantonment la dhaan eruven
She: He he
He: Seri adha vidu. Water bottle vaangindu varen
She: Seri
He comes back in 2 minutes, catching his breath
She: Yaen ippadi odi vare? Porumaya varalaam la?
He: Illai ma. Nee thaniya irukke illa. Adhaan
She: Ayye. Idhaan first time naan yaar koodayavadhu poren. Usually naan
thaniya dhaan varuven
He: Hmmmm
She: Seri train la yeralaam vaa
They get into the train
She: Side upper, side lower aa book panne?
He: Aaamam. So that we can talk for sometime. Matha berth la yerina
udane ellarum thoongiduvaanga
She: Adhuvum seri dhaan
Train starts
She: Adutha varusham, idhe neram we will be going to Chennai for our
first pongal after marriage He holds She's hand tightly, and gives her
one Cadburys temptation chocolate
She: So sweet.
She splits the chocolate into smaller bits, and feeds he the first bit

He: You know what? Naan nenachi kooda paakale. That I will fall head
over heels for someone.
She: Same here da
By this time, almost all passengers are asleep. And someone tells He to
talk slowly since he is too loud
He: vaa. Door kitta polaam
He and she are the door. He opens the door, and they sit at the steps
She: Yappa. Kulurarudhu.
He puts his hand over she's shoulder. After some sweet nothings for some
1 hr, they get in and sleep(Ofcourse at their respective berths)

Year 2006.

He and She are married for 9 months by now He and she get into the
train.
She: Endha berth?
He: Rendume upper berth. No disturbance
She: Hmmmm
He: Seri. Thanni bottle kodu
She: Station la vaangikalaam nu kelambachaye sonnen la
He: Munnadiye solla vendiyadhu dhaane! Ippo paar train kelamba innum 5
nimisham dhaan irukku
She: masa masa nnu pesinda irundha andha 5 nimisham kooda irukaadhu
He: cha!
He runs and gets the water bottle, just when the train starts She yawns
and says
She: Seri. Naan thoonga poren.
He: Ok
After the TTR checks the tickets, he also gets into his berth and tries
to sleep. He is not able to sleep after a while, due to some
conversation happening below.
He turns towards the couple in the side-upper and side-lower berth
He: Excuse me. If you don't mind, konjam medhuva pesareengaLa. We all
are sleeping here!
The side-upper & side lower couple walk towards the door.

15th February 2006, 09:21 PM
He and She are engaged. Both are working in Bangalore while their parents are at Chennai.
South-le intha mathiri background ippo ellam very common, ille? :)
Btw, Bangalore le enge, etho SW company le thaane?? :D
Ithum ippo romba common ayidchu! :lol:

He: Illai ma. Nee thaniya irukke illa. Adhaan
She: Ayye. Idhaan first time naan yaar koodayavadhu poren. Usually naan thaniya dhaan varuven.
Abba! She doesn't even care abt acknowledging the fact tat he cares for her/wants 2 be w/ her! Seriyana ponnu thaan! :roll:

Neways, kalyanam ayi 9 months leye rendu perum ovvatar-ode bore-aitangla? Ayyo pavame.....! :(
Enna selva, intha kathai onnu avolo nalla iruntha mathiri thonalle! Nothing like ur Kishore/Janani story! :wink: :thumbsup:

16th February 2006, 11:08 AM
Forwards....Thanks for all forwards...

My heartfelt appreciation goes out to all of you who have taken the time and trouble to send me "forwards" over the past 12 months. Thank you for making me feel safe, secure, blessed and healthy:

Extra thanks to whoever sent me the email about rat crap in the glue on envelopes because I now have to go get a wet towel every time I need to seal an envelope. I also,scrub the top of every can I open for the same reason. Because of your genuine concern, I no longer drink Coca Cola because it I know it can remove toilet stains, which is not exactly an appealing characteristic.

I no longer check the coin return on pay phones because I could be pricked with a needle infected with AIDS.

I no longer use cancer-causing deodorants, even though I smell like a water buffalo on a hot day.

I no longer go to shopping malls because someone might drug me with a perfume sample and rob me.

I no longer eat KFC because their "chickens" are actually horrible mutant freaks with no eyes or feathers.

I no longer worry about my soul because at last count, I have 363,214 angels looking out for me.

Thanks to you, I have learned that God only answers my prayers if I forward an e-mail to seven of my friends and make a wish within five minutes.

I no longer have any savings because I gave it to a sick girl on the inter net who is about to die in the hospital (for the 1,387,258th time).

I no longer have any money at all in fact - but that will change once I receive the $15,000 that Microsoft and AOL are sending me for participating in their special on-line email program.

Yes, I want to thank you all so much for looking out for me that I will now return the favour!

If you don't send this e-mail to at least 144,000 people in the next 7 minutes, a large pigeon with a wicked case of diarrhoea will land on your head at 5:00 PM (EST) this afternoon!!!!!

I know this will occur, because it actually happened to a friend of a friend of my next door neighbour's ex-mother-in-law's second husband's cousin's beautician.

Too many forwards these days...Am scared to read them...

16th February 2006, 12:07 PM
South-le intha mathiri background ippo ellam very common, ille? :)
Btw, Bangalore le enge, etho SW company le thaane?? :D
Ithum ippo romba common ayidchu! :lol:

I must ask my friend who sent me this story. It is not my story. Your prediction could be right. Nowadays, everything has become common in Bangalore.

Neways, kalyanam ayi 9 months leye rendu perum ovvatar-ode bore-aitangla? Ayyo pavame.....! :(
Enna selva, intha kathai onnu avolo nalla iruntha mathiri thonalle! Nothing like ur Kishore/Janani story! :wink: :thumbsup:[/quote]

Thanks for ur compliments on my earlier story Lambretta.. This is not my story. I got this one as a farward from my friend. I am also searching for the author. :roll:

P.S: To ur information, I am writing one more story(which u know already !! :sad:)

16th February 2006, 02:49 PM
Oops! Sorry Selva! :oops: didn't know it was sumone else's story....my bad! :)
Everything has become common in B'lore, huh? Hmm.....

Yes I think I know wat ur next story is.....sorry to hear abt it again! :(

17th February 2006, 02:27 PM
THIS IS DEFINITELY THE BEST EMAIL OF THE YEAR!!

A man was sick and tired of going to work every day while his wife stayed home. He wanted her to see what he went through so he prayed: "Dear Lord: I go to work every day and put in 8 hours while my wife merely stays at home. I want her to know what I go through, so please allow her body to switch with mine for a day. Amen.

God, in his infinite wisdom, granted the man's wish. The next morning, sure enough, the man awoke as a woman. He arose, cooked breakfast for his mate, awakened the kids, Set out their school clothes, fed them breakfast, packed their lunches, Drove them to school, and stopped at the bank to make a deposit, went grocery shopping, Then drove home to put away the groceries, Paid the bills and balanced the checkbook.

Then it was already 1 P.M. and he hurried to make the beds, do the laundry, vacuum, dust, and sweep and mop the kitchen floor. Ran to the school to pick up the kids and got into an argument with them on the way home.

Set out milk and cookies and got the kids organized to do their homework. Then set up the ironing board and watched TV while he did the ironing. At 4:30 he began peeling potatoes and washing vegetables for salad, bread the chops and snapped fresh beans for dinner. After dinner, he cleaned the kitchen, ran the dishwasher, folded laundry, bathed the kids, and put them to bed. At 9 P.M. he was exhausted and, though his daily chores weren't finished, he went to bed where he was expected to make love, which he managed to get through without complaint.

The next morning, he awoke and immediately knelt by the bed and said, "Lord, I don't know what I was thinking. I was so wrong to envy my wife's being able to stay home all day. Please, oh please, let us trade back." The Lord, in his infinite wisdom, replied, "My son, I feel you have learned your lesson and I will be happy to change things back to the way they were.
You'll just have to wait nine months, though. You got pregnant last night." Voted Women's Favorite Email of the Year

17th February 2006, 03:00 PM
:rotfl: Recalls the "house husband" discussion in another thread!

17th February 2006, 03:43 PM
Wow Selva! Now this was a gud one! :thumbsup: :D
PP ma'm, I was hoping u'd come across this! :D

17th February 2006, 05:03 PM
Wow Selva! Now this was a gud one! :thumbsup: :D
PP ma'm, I was hoping u'd come across this! :D

Thanx Lambretta..I enjoyed it a lot. esp towards the end.. wow.. kudos to the author.

20th February 2006, 03:57 PM
A junior manager, a senior manager and their boss are on their way to a meeting. On their way through a park, they come across a wonder lamp.

They rub the lamp and a ghost appears. The ghost says, "Normally, one is
granted three wishes but as you are three, I will allow one wish each"

So the eager senior manager shouted, I want the first wish. I want to be
in the Bahamas, on a fast boat and have no worries.
"Pfufffff, and he was gone.

Now the junior manager could not keep quiet and shouted "I want to be in
Florida with beautiful girls, plenty of food and cocktails.
"Pfufffff, and he was also gone.

The boss calmly said," I want these two idiots back in the office after lunch at 12.35pm"

Moral : "Always allow the boss to speak first"

20th February 2006, 05:28 PM
"Always allow the boss to speak first"
ahaaaaaaaaaaa!

20th February 2006, 05:40 PM
:lol: Nice one again, selva! Can out this in the jokes thread too! :lol:

20th February 2006, 05:49 PM
:lol: Nice one again, selva! Can out this in the jokes thread too! :lol:

ya.. :rotfl: I have posted it under JOKES thread Lambretta.

20th February 2006, 11:29 PM
A junior manager, a senior manager and their boss are on their way to a meeting. On their way through a park, they come across a wonder lamp.

granted three wishes but as you are three, I will allow one wish each"

So the eager senior manager shouted, I want the first wish. I want to be
in the Bahamas, on a fast boat and have no worries.
"Pfufffff, and he was gone.

Now the junior manager could not keep quiet and shouted "I want to be in
Florida with beautiful girls, plenty of food and cocktails.
"Pfufffff, and he was also gone.

The boss calmly said," I want these two idiots back in the office after lunch at 12.35pm"

Moral : "Always allow the boss to speak first"

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good one Selva :thumbsup:

22nd February 2006, 07:37 PM
When I Whine

~~~~~~~

Today, upon a bus, I saw a girl with golden hair

I looked at her and sighed and wished I was as fair.

When suddenly she rose to leave,

I saw her hobble down the aisle.

She had one leg and used a crutch

But as she passed, she passed a smile.

Oh, God, forgive me when I whine

I have 2 legs, the world is mine.

~~~

I stopped to buy some candy

The lad who sold it had such charm

I talked with him a while, he seemed so very glad

If I were late, it'd do no harm.

And as I left, he said to me,

"I thank you, you've been so kind.

It's nice to talk with folks like you.

You see," he said, "I'm blind."

Oh, God, forgive me when I whine.

I have 2 eyes, the world is mine.

~~~

Later while walking down the street,

I saw a child with eyes of blue

He stood and watched the others play

He did not know what to do.

I stopped a moment and then I said,

"Why don't you join the others, dear?"

He looked ahead without a word.

And then I knew, he couldn't hear.

I have 2 ears, the world is mine.

~~~

With feet to take me where I'd go.

With eyes to see the sunset's glow.

With ears to hear what I would know.

I've been blessed indeed, The world is mine.

MORAL : YOU ARE ALWAYS BLESSED WITH ALL U NEED. MAKE USE OF IT RATHER THAN COMPLAINING TO GOD FOR EVERYTHING

22nd February 2006, 07:42 PM

23rd February 2006, 02:04 PM
Got this fwd, not sure about the last part if it was an actual one or the student was really our President.

An atheist professor of philosophy speaks to his class on the problem science has with God, The Almighty. He asks one of his new students to stand and.....

Prof: So you believe in God?
Student: Absolutely, sir.
Prof : Is God good?
Student: Sure.
Prof: Is God all-powerful?
Student : Yes.
Prof: My brother died of cancer even though he prayed to God to healhim.
Most of us would attempt to help others who are ill. But God didn't. How is this God good then? Hmm?(Student is silent.)
Prof: You can't answer, can you? Let's start again, young fella. Is God good?
Student: Yes.
Prof: Is Satan good?
Student : No.
Prof: Where does Satan come from?
Student: From...God...
Prof: That's right. Tell me son, is there evil in this world?
Prof: Evil is everywhere, isn't it? And God did make everything. Correct?
Prof: So who created evil?(Student does not answer.)
Prof: Is there sickness? Immorality? Hatred? Ugliness? All these terrible things exist in the world, don't they?
Student: Yes, sir.
Prof: So, who created them? (Student has no answer.)
Prof: Science says you have 5 senses you use to identify and observe the world around you. Tell me, son...Have you ever seen God?
Student: No, sir.
Prof: Tell us if you have ever heard your God?
Student: No, sir.
Prof: Have you ever felt your God, tasted your God, smelt your God?Have you ever had any sensory perception of God for that matter?
Student: No, sir. I'm afraid I haven't.
Prof: Yet you still believe in Him?
Prof: According to empirical, testable, demonstrable protocol, science says your GOD doesn't exist.
What do you say to that, son?
Student: Nothing. I only have my faith.
Prof: Yes. Faith. And that is the problem science has.
Student: Professor, is there such a thing as heat?
Prof: Yes.
Student: And is there such a thing as cold?
Prof: Yes.
Student: No sir. There isn't.(The lecture theatre becomes very quiet with this turn of events.)
Student : Sir, you can have lots of heat, even more heat, superheat, mega heat, white heat, a little heat or no heat. But we don't have anything called cold. We can hit 458 degrees below zero which is no heat, but we can't go any further after that. There is no such thing as cold . Cold is only a word we use to describe the absence of heat . We cannot measure cold. Heat is energy . Cold is not the opposite of heat, sir, just the absence of it.(There is pin-drop silence in the lecture theatre.)
Student: What about darkness, Professor? Is there such a thing as darkness?
Prof: Yes. What is night if there isn't darkness?
Student : You're wrong again, sir. Darkness is the absence of something. You can have low light, normal light, bright light, flashing light....But if you have no light constantly, you have nothing and it's called darkness, isn't it? In reality, darkness isn't. If it were you would be able to make darkness darker, wouldn't you?
Prof: So what is the point you are making, young man?
Student: Sir, my point is your philosophical premise is flawed.
Prof: Flawed? Can you explain how?
Student: Sir, you are working on the premise of duality. You argue there is life and then there is death, a good God and a bad God. You are viewing the concept of God as something finite, something we can measure. Sir, science can't even explain a thought. It uses electricity and magnetism, but has never seen, much less fully understood either one.To view death as the opposite of life is to be ignorant of the fact that death cannot exist as a substantive thing. Death is not the opposite of life: just the absence of it.
Now tell me, Professor.Do you teach your students that they evolved from a monkey?

Prof: If you are referring to the natural evolutionary process, yes, of course, I do.
Student: Have you ever observed evolution with your own eyes, sir?
(The Professor shakes his head with a smile, beginning to realize where the argument is going.)
Student: Since no one has ever observed the process of evolution at work and cannot even prove that this process is an on-going endeavor, are you not teaching your opinion, sir? Are you not a scientist but a preacher? (The class is in uproar.)
Student: Is there anyone in the class who has ever seen the Professor's brain?
(The class breaks out into laughter.)
Student : Is there anyone here who has ever heard the Professor's brain, felt it, touched or smelt it? No one appears to have done so. So, according to the established rules of empirical, stable, demonstrable protocol, science says that you have no brain,sir. With all due respect, sir, how do we then trust your lectures, sir? The room is silent. The professor stares at the student, his face unfathomable.)

Prof: I guess you'll have to take them on faith, son.
Student: That is it sir... The link between man & god is FAITH . That is all that keeps things moving & alive.

I believe you have enjoyed the conversation...and if so...you'll probably want your friends/colleagues to enjoy the same...won't you?....

This is a true story, and the student was none other than.........APJ
Abdul Kalam , the present president of India.

23rd February 2006, 06:54 PM

shakthi
25th February 2006, 09:08 AM
Good one, Selva!

1st March 2006, 11:25 AM
True Promise
=============

"How long will you be poring over that newspaper? Will you come here right away and make your darling daughter eat her food?"

I tossed the paper away and rushed to the scene. My only daughter Sindu looked frightened. Tears were welling up in her eyes. In front of her was a bowl filled to its brim with Curd Rice.

Sindu is a nice child, quite intelligent for her age. She has just turned eight. She particularly detested Curd Rice.
My mother and my wife are orthodox and believe firmly in the 'cooling effects' of Curd Rice. I cleared my throat and picked up the bowl.

"Sindu, darling, why don't you take a few mouthful of this Curd Rice? Just for Dad's sake, dear. If you don't, your Mom will shout at me."

I could sense my wife's scowl behind my back. Sindu softened a bit and wiped her tears with the back of her hands. "OK, Dad.
I will eat not just a few mouthfuls, but the whole lot of this.
But, you should..." Sindu hesitated. "Dad, if I eat this entire Curd Rice, will you give me whatever I ask for?"
"Oh sure, darling."

"Promise?"

"Promise."

I covered the pink soft hand extended by my daughter with mine and clinched the deal.

"Ask Mom also to give a similar promise," my daughter insisted.
My wife slapped her hand on Sindu's muttering "Promise,"
without any emotion.

Now I became a bit anxious. "Sindu, you shouldn't insist on getting a computer or any such expensive items. Dad does not have that kind of money right now. OK?"

"No, Dad. I do not want anything expensive."

Slowly and painfully, she finished eating the whole quantity.
I was silently angry with my wife and my mother for forcing my child to eat something that she detested.

After the ordeal was through, Sindu came to me with her eyes wide with expectation. All of our attention was on her.

"Dad, I want to have my head shaved off this Sunday,"
was her demand!

"Atrocious!" shouted my wife, "a girl child having her head shaved off? Impossible!"

"Never in our family!" my mother rasped. "She has been watching too much of television. Our culture is getting totally spoiled with these TV programs!"

"Sindu, why don't you ask for something else? We will be sad seeing you with a clean-shaven head."

"No, Dad. I do not want anything else," Sindu said with finality.

"Please Sindu, why don't you try to understand our feelings?"
I tried to plead with her.

"Dad, you saw how difficult it was for me to eat that Curd Rice," Sindu was in tears. "And you promised to grant me whatever I ask for. Now, you are going back on your words.
Was it not you who told me the story of King Harishchandra and its moral that we should honor our promises no matter what?"

It was time for me to call the shots.
"Our promise must be kept."

"Are you out your mind?" chorused my mother and wife.

"No. If we go back on our promises, she will never learn to honour her own. Sindu, your wish will be fulfilled."

With her head clean-shaven, Sindu had a round-face, and her eyes looked big and beautiful.

On Monday morning, I dropped her at her school. It was a sight to watch my hairless Sindu walking towards her classroom.
She turned around and waved.

I waved back with a smile. Just then, a boy alighted from a car, and shouted, "Sinduja, please wait for me!"

What struck me was the hairless head of that boy.
"Maybe that is the `in' stuff," I thought.

"Sir, your daughter Sinduja is great indeed!"
Without introducing herself, a lady got out of the car, and continued, "That boy who is walking along with your daughter is my son Harish. He is suffering from leukemia."

She paused to muffle her sobs. "Harish could not attend the school for the whole of the last month. He lost all of his hair due to the side effects of the chemotherapy. He refused to come back to school fearing the unintentional but cruel teasing of the schoolmates.

"Sinduja visited him last week and promised him that she will take care of the teasing issue. But I never imagined she would sacrifice her lovely hair for the sake of my son! Sir, you and your wife are blessed to have such a noble soul as your daughter."

I stood transfixed. And then, I wept.

"My little Angel, will you teach me what love is?"

1st March 2006, 01:17 PM
:clap: :clap: :clap:
Very very touching & teaching!
Oh! the pure, sublime innocence & nobility of childhood, depth of love, sympathy, idealistic perspective of life, undemanding , wholehearted offer of affection! Why should we humans lose it all as we grow into adulthood??? :cry:

1st March 2006, 06:16 PM
wow.. What a story ? :clap: Superb :whistle: :D

2nd March 2006, 03:07 PM
[tscii:323a1d0ad9]Inference
A Management Story

It's a fine sunny day in the forest and a lion is sitting outside his cave, lying lazily in the sun. Along comes a fox, out on a walk.

Fox: "Do you know the time, because my watch is broken"

Lion: "Oh, I can easily fix the watch for you"

Fox: "Hmm... But it's a very complicated mechanism, and your big claws will only destroy it even more"

Lion: "Oh no, give it to me, and it will be fixed"

Fox: "That's ridiculous! Any fool knows that lazy lions with great claws cannot fix complicated watches"

Lion: "Sure they do, give it to me and it will be fixed"
The lion disappears into his cave, and after a while he comes back with the watch which is running perfectly. The fox is impressed, and the lion continues to lie lazily in the sun, looking very pleased with himself.

Soon a wolf comes along and stops to watch the lazy lion in the sun.

Wolf: "Can I come and watch TV tonight with you, because mine is broken"

Lion: "Oh, I can easily fix your TV for you"
Wolf: "You don't expect me to believe such rubbish, do you? There is no way that a lazy lion with big claws can fix a complicated TV“

Lion: "No problem. Do you want to try it?"

The lion goes into his cave, and after a while comes back with a perfectly fixed TV. The wolf goes away happily and amazed.
Scene : Inside the lion's cave. In one corner are half a dozen small and intelligent looking rabbits who are busily doing very complicated work with very detailed instruments. In the other corner lies a huge lion looking very pleased with himself.

Moral :

IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHY A MANAGER IS FAMOUS; LOOK AT THE WORK OF HIS SUBORDINATES.

Management Lesson
In the context of the working world :

IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHY SOMEONE UNDESERVED IS PROMOTED; LOOK AT THE WORK OF HIS SUBORDINATES.

Story 2 :

It's a fine sunny day in the forest and a rabbit is sitting outside his burrow, tippy-tapping on his typewriter. Along comes a fox, out for a walk.

Fox: "What are you working on?"
Rabbit: "My thesis."
Fox: "Hmm... What is it about?"
Rabbit: "Oh, I'm writing about how rabbits eat foxes."

Fox: "That's ridiculous ! Any fool knows that rabbits don't eat foxes!"
Rabbit: "Come with me and I'll show you!"

They both disappear into the rabbit's burrow. After few minutes, gnawing on a fox bone, the rabbit returns to his typewriter and resumes typing.

Soon a wolf comes along and stops to watch the hardworking rabbit.
Wolf: "What's that you are writing?"
Rabbit: "I'm doing a thesis on how rabbits eat wolves."

Wolf: "you don't expect to get such rubbish published, do you?"

Rabbit: "No problem. Do you want to see why?"

The rabbit and the wolf go into the burrow and again the rabbit returns by himself, after a few minutes, and goes back to typing.

Finally a bear comes along and asks, "What are you doing?

Rabbit: "I'm doing a thesis on how rabbits eat bears."

Bear: "Well that's absurd ! "

Rabbit: "Come into my home and I'll show you"

Scene : As they enter the burrow, the rabbit introduces the bear to the lion.

Moral:

IT DOESN'T MATTER HOW SILLY YOUR THESIS TOPIC IS; WHAT MATTERS IS WHOM YOU HAVE AS A SUPERVISOR.

Management Lesson
In the context of the working world:

IT DOESN'T MATTER HOW BAD YOUR PERFORMANCE IS; WHAT MATTERS IS WHETHER YOUR BOSS LIKES YOU OR NOT.
[/tscii:323a1d0ad9]

2nd March 2006, 05:54 PM
There was a contest in to write a fictional story for 500 words max which wud start with the line "On a dark and foggy night, a small figure lay huddled on the railway tracks leading to the Bangalore station"

This is the award winning story !!!!!

On a dark and foggy night, a small figure lay huddled on the railway tracks leading to the Bangalore station. At once I was held back to see someone in that position during midnight with no one around. With curiosity taking the front seat, I went near the body and tried to investigate it. There was blood all over the body which was lying face down. It seemed that a ruthless blow by the last train could have caused the end of this body which seemed to be that of a guy of around my age. Amidst the gory blood flow, I could see a folded white envelope which was fluttering in the midnight wind. Carefully I took the blood stained envelope and was surprised to see the phrase "appraisal letter" on it. With curiosity rising every moment, I wasted no time in opening the envelope to see if I can find some details about the dead guy. The tag around the body's neck and the jazzy appraisal cover gave me the hint that he might be a software engineer. I opened the envelope to find a shining paper on which the appraisal details where typed in flying colours. Thunders broke into my ears and lightening struck my heart when I saw the appraisal amount of the dead guy!!!!! My God, it was not even, as much as the cost of the letter on which the appraisal details were printed.... My heart poured out for the guy and huge calls were heard inside my mind saying "no wonder, this guy died such a miserable death"... As a fellow worker in the same industry , I thought I should mourn for him for the sake of respect and stood there with a heavy heart thinking of the shock that he would have experienced when his manager had placed the appraisal letter in his hand. I am sure his heart would have stopped and eyes would have gone blank for few seconds looking at the near to nothing increment in his salary.

While I mourned for him, for a second my hands froze to see the employee's name in the appraisal letter... hey, what a strange co-incidence, this guy's name is same as mine, including the initials. This was interesting. With some mental strength, I turned the body upside down and found myself fainted for a second. The guy not only had my name, but also looked exactly like me. Same looks, same built, same name.... it was me who was dead there!!!!!!!! While I was lost in that shock, I felt someone patting on my shoulders. My heart stopped completely, I could not breathe and sprung in fear to see who was behind......... splash!!! Went the glass of water on my laptop screen as I came out of my wild dream to see my manager standing behind my chair patting on my shoulder saying, "wake up man. Come to meeting room number two. I have your appraisal letter ready

2nd March 2006, 06:01 PM
Hey selva ....

Good Management stub ! Keep it goin ...

2nd March 2006, 06:06 PM
Hey selva ....

Good Management stub ! Keep it goin ...

Thanks !! If I get more forwards on that, I will post them Vasanth :)

2nd March 2006, 08:31 PM
Yea, good one, Dada! :thumbsup: :D

7th March 2006, 09:20 AM
Animated Story..

Love & Time

http://www.touchninspire.com/time.html

7th March 2006, 09:31 AM
Good One ....

10th March 2006, 09:09 PM
A man is working on the buses in the US collecting tickets.

He rings the bell for the driver to set off when there's a woman half getting on the bus. The driver sets off, the woman falls from the bus and is killed. At the trial the man is sent down for murder and seeing as it's Texas he's sent to the electric chair. On the day of his execution he's sat in the chair and the executioner grants him a final wish.

"Well" says the man, "is that your packed lunch over there?" "Yes" answers the executioner. "Can I have that green banana?"

The executioner gives the man his green banana and waits till he's eaten it. When the man's finished, the executioner flips the switch sending hundreds of thousands of volts through the man. When the smoke clears the man is still alive. The executioner can't believe it.

"Can I go?" the man asks. "I suppose so" says the executioner, "that's never happened before."

The man leaves and eventually gets a job back on the buses selling tickets. Again he rings the bell for the driver to go when people are still getting on. A man falls under the wheels and is killed. The bloke is sent down for murder again and sent to the electric chair. The executioner is determined to do it right this time so rigs the chair up to the electric supply for the whole of Texas.

The bloke is again sat in the chair. "What is your final wish?" asks the executioner. "Can I have that green banana in your packed lunch ?" says the condemned man. The executioner sighs and reluctantly gives up his banana. The bloke eats the banana all up and the executioner flips the switch. Millions of volts course through the chair blacking out Texas. When the smoke clears the man is still sat there smiling in the
chair. The executioner can't believe it and lets the man go.

Well, would you believe, the bloke gets his job back on the buses. Once again he rings the bell whilst passengers are still getting on, this
time killing three of them. He is sent to the electric chair again. The executioner rigs up all United States electricity supply to The chair, determined to get his man this time. The man sits down in the chair smiling.

"What's your final wish ?" asks the executioner. "Well" says the man, "Can I have that green banana out of your packed lunch.?" The executioner hands over his banana and the man eats it all, skin included. The executioner pulls the handle and a brazillion volts go through the chair. When the smoke rises the man is still sat there alive without even a burn mark.

"I give up" says the executioner, "I don't understand how you
can still be alive after all that?". He stroked his chin. "It's something to do with that green banana isn't it" he asked.

Nahh" said the bloke,

"I'm just a really bad conductor"

-------------

thanks to NOV :)

12th March 2006, 11:21 PM
[quote="
"I give up" says the executioner, "I don't understand how you
can still be alive after all that?". He stroked his chin. "It's something to do with that green banana isn't it" he asked.

Nahh" said the bloke,

"I'm just a really bad conductor" :)[/quote]

i don't get it!

17th March 2006, 05:29 PM
I have reached !!

A man checked into a hotel. There was a computer in his room, so he decided to send an e-mail to his wife. However, he accidentally typed a wrong e-mail address, and without realizing his error, he sent the e-mail.

Meanwhile....Somewhere in Houston, a widow had just returned from her husband's funeral. The widow decided to check her e-mail, expecting condolence messages from relatives and friends. After reading the 1st message, she fainted.

The widow's son rushed into the room found his mother on the floor and saw the computer screen which read:

To: My Loving Wife
Subject: I've reached
Date: August 3, 2005

I know you're surprised to hear from me.
They have computers here; we are allowed to send e-mails to loved ones.
I've just reached and have been checked in.
I see that everything has been prepared for your arrival tomorrow.
Looking forward to seeing you TOMORROW!

Your loving Hubby,

17th March 2006, 08:12 PM

12th April 2006, 08:32 AM
The first day of school our professor introduced himself and challenged us
to get to know someone we didn't already know.

I stood up to look around when a gentle hand touched my shoulder. I turned
around to find a wrinkled, little old lady beaming up at me with a smile
that lit up her entire being.

She said, "Hi handsome. My name is Rose. I'm eighty-seven years old. Can I
give you a hug?"I laughed and enthusiastically responded, "Of course you may!" and she gave
me a giant squeeze.

"Why are you in college at such a young, innocent age?" I asked.

She jokingly replied, "I'm here to meet a rich husband, get married, have a
couple of kids.." !

"No seriously," I asked. I was curious what may have motivated her to be
taking on this challenge at her age.

"I always dreamed of having a college education and now I'm getting one!"
she told me.

After class we walked to the student union building and shared a chocolate
milkshake. We became instant friends. Every day for the next three months we
would leave class together and talk nonstop. I was always mesmerized
listening to this "time machine" as she shared her wisdom and experience
with me.

Over the course of the year, Rose became a campus icon and she easily made
friends wherever she went. She loved to dress up and she reveled in the
attention bestowed upon her from the other students. She was living it up.

At the end of the semester we invited Rose to speak at our football banquet.
I'll never forget what she taught us. She was introduced and stepped up to
the podium! .

As she began to deliver her prepared speech, she dropped her three by five
cards on the floor. Frustrated and a little embarrassed she leaned into the
microphone and simply said, "I'm sorry I'm so jittery. I gave up beer for
Lent and this whiskey is killing me! I'll never get my speech back in order
so let me just tell you what I know."

As we laughed she cleared her throat and began, "We do not stop playing
because we are old; we grow old because we stop playing. There are only four
secrets to staying young, being happy, and achieving success. You have to
laugh and find humor every day. You've got to have a dream. When you lose
your dreams, you die. We have so many people walking around who are dead and
don't even know it!

There is a huge difference between growing older and growing up. If you are
nineteen years old and lie in bed for one full year and don't do one
productive thing, you will turn twenty years old.

If I am eighty-seven years old and stay in bed for a year and never do
anything I will turn ! eighty-eight. Anybody can grow older. That doesn't
take any talent or ability. The idea is to grow up by always finding the
opportunity in change. Have no regrets. The elderly usuall! y don't have
regrets for what we did, but rather for things we did not do. The only
people who fear death are those with regrets."

She concluded her speech by courageously singing "The Rose."

She challenged each of us to study the lyrics and live them out in our daily
lives. At the year's end Rose finished the college degree she had begun all
those years ago. One week after graduation Rose died peacefully in her
sleep. Over two thousand college students attended her funeral in tribute to
the wonderful woman who taught by example that it's never too late to be all
you can possibly be.

REMEMBER, GROWING OLDER IS MANDATORY. GROWING UP IS OPTIONAL . . .

12th April 2006, 08:39 AM
-An episode in reverse psychology :clap:

Dr. Arun Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and founder of the

M.K.Gandhi Institute for Non-violence, in his June 9 lecture at the

University of Puerto Rico, shared the following story as an example

of "non-violence in parenting":

"I was 16 years old and living with my parents at the institute my

grandfather had founded 18 miles outside of Durban, South Africa, in

the middle of the sugar plantations. We were deep in the country and

had no neighbors, so my two sisters and I would always look forward

to going to town to visit friends or go to the movies.

One day, my father asked me to drive him to town for an all-day

conference, and I jumped at the chance. Since I was going to town, my

mother gave me a list of groceries she needed and, since I had all

day in town, my father ask me to take care of several pending

chores, such as getting the car serviced. When I dropped my father

off that morning, he said, 'I will meet you here at 5:00 p.m., and we

will go home together.'

After hurriedly completing my chores, I went straight to the nearest

movie theatre. I got so engrossed in a John Wayne double-feature that

I forgot the time. It was 5:30 before I remembered. By the time I ran

to the garage and got the car and hurried to where my father was

waiting for me, it was almost 6:00. He anxiously asked me, 'Why were

you late?' I was so ashamed of telling him I was watching a John

Waynewestern movie that I said, 'The car wasn't ready, so I had to

wait,' not realizing that he had already called the garage. When he

caught me in the lie, he said: 'There's something wrong in the way I

brought you up that didn't give you the confidence to tell me the

truth. In order to figure out where I went wrong with you, I'm going

to walk home 18 miles and think about it.'

So, dressed in his suit and dress shoes, he began to walk home in the

dark on mostly unpaved, unlit roads. I couldn't leave him, so for

five-and-a-half hours I drove behind him, watching my father go

through this agony for a stupid lie that I uttered.

I decided then and there that I was never going to lie again. I often

think about that episode and wonder, if he had punished me the way we

punish our children, whether I would have learned a lesson at all. I

don't think so. I would have suffered the punishment and gone on

doing the same thing. But this single non-violent action was so

powerful that it is still as if it happened yesterday. That is the

Sonata
23rd April 2006, 10:28 PM
Good one... :clap: :clap:

Sonata
23rd April 2006, 11:23 PM
Hi all,

The forward is not a new one.. may be many of you would have read it allready but still for the ones who have not read it............

Lessons on Life

There was a man who had four sons. He wanted his sons to learn not to judge
things too quickly. So he sent them each on a quest, in turn, to go and look
at a pear tree that was a great distance away.

The first son went in the winter, the second in the spring, the third in
summer, and the youngest son in the fall.

When they had all gone and come back, he called them together to describe
what they had seen.

The first son said that the tree was ugly, bent, and twisted. The second son
said no it was covered with green buds and full of promise.

The third son disagreed; he said it was laden with blossoms that smelled so
sweet and looked so beautiful, it was the most graceful thing he had ever seen.

The last son disagreed with all of them; he said it was ripe and drooping
with fruit, full of life and fulfillment.

The man then explained to his sons that they were all right, because they
had each seen but only one season in the tree's life.

He told them that you cannot judge a tree, or a person, by only one season,
and that the essence of who they are and the pleasure, joy, and love that come
from that life can only be measured at the end, when all the seasons are up.

If you give up when it's winter, you will miss the promise of your spring,
the beauty of your summer, fulfillment of your fall.

Moral:

Don't let the pain of one season destroy the joy of all the rest.
Don't judge life by one difficult season.
Persevere through the difficult patches
and better times are sure to come some time or later

4th May 2006, 12:15 PM
She/He...And a love story

Friend: Happy birthday!
She : Haan...tha......nk yo....u...was just getting up from the bed.

Friend : Oh! That means I am the first to wish you!
She : Naa! He has already wished me at 12 in the night.

Friend : Who???
She : Come on, who else, Nitin.

Friend : Oh, ok. So, what's the plan for today?
She : Nitin told me that he has a surprise gift for me for my
Birthday. And also we are going to Flower Show today. I am excited! I
have never seen the flower show that happens in Lal Baug. Actually
that itself is the most wonderful gift for me.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friend : "Did you go to Palace grounds all the way from Basavanagudi,
to see Bryan Adam's show!!! Who accompanied you?"
She : Nitin

Friend : By the way, who referred your CV in SoCrates? I mean you
don't know anyone there, right?
She : No, he forwarded my CV to one of his friends there.

Friend : I heard that the HR round interview went on till 8pm in the
night. I think you faced difficulty in returning to your room.
She : No, he had come to pick me up. He came from his office, dropped
me to my room and he returned to his room at around 11pm. He didn't
have dinner also. I asked him to have at my room. Poor Nitin.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friend : If you are supposed to go home tomorrow itself then what
about reservation?
She : I have told him, he will go to Majestic and would get it done,
and he told he has some work in Majestic. That's why I am relaxed a bit.

Friend : How was your written test in Philips?
She : I failed yaar. The day before the test I had prepared perfectly.
Nitin had come to our room. He taught me the basics of embedded
programming concepts. I was very confident only because of him. But
something else was in store for me.

Friend : Then, what did you do on Sunday?
She : We had gone to see "Lakshya". He doesn't see Hindi movies. But
as I was upset after failing in the Philips written test, he took me
for movie. I was very happy and surprised that he himself decided for
a Hindi movie, and he was very happy that I enjoyed the movie. And you
know; we had dinner in Pizza hut. It was his belated B'day treat!

Friend : And, what was your belated gift ;-)
She : Gift!! I had given the gift on his B'day itself. I was the first
to call him at 12 in the night, he was busy throughout the day, and
somehow we could meet in the evening and I gifted him with a cute time
piece with a nice quote on it. He doesn't have time sense, so my time
piece must always remind him of this. That day he didn't give me any
treat as he had to go back to office. Yesterday I had a fight over
this, you know! Poor kid.

Friend : Hello...what about our sari shopping program in Malleshwaram?
She : Listen, I will call you later.

Friend : You didn't call me back in the morning, so I called now.
She : Yeah, when you called I was in Koramangala, with Nitin. He was
very upset in the morning. He had a fight with his elder brother. So,
it wouldn't have been fair on my part to leave him alone. If I am with
him in such situation very soon he comes back to normalcy. So I
postponed the Malleshwaram program.

Friend : Hey! What happened? You seem to be very happy today.
She : Why not? You know today is one of the most happiest days for
me. Nitin got an onsite assignment in UK, for 6 months! That's why I
am very happy. All of his hard work paid today. He had been waiting
for this opportunity since long. He'll be leaving next month.

Friend : You will miss him.
She : Badly. I am so much dependent on him. I must thank Sanju,
through him only I got to know Nitin. Without Nitin it would have been
very difficult for me to stay in this alien city with no friends,
relatives and on top of all, no job. He has been so caring friend all
through my tough times in this city, he is so mature, so
understanding, so trustworthy...a true friend.

Friend : He loves you yaar.
She : I know.

Friend : And you? Don't you love him?
She : I don't want to.

Friend : Don't tell me. You also feel for him.
She : I know yaar. He has everything that I expect in my
dream-life-partner. I know I can never get a true life partner like
him. But I don't want to commit.

Friend : What is stopping you? I really don't understand. When
Miya-beevi are razi kya karega kazi?
She : Please...don't say like that. I never told him that I love him
or something like that.

Friend : Is he a fool not to understand your feelings which are so
clear from outside only? Poor fellow, don't leave him alone.
She : I have told him everything about my family. He knows how
orthodox my parents are. They can never expect me marrying a guy from
a different caste. They trust me. Come what may, I will not hurt my
parent's feelings. I cannot imagine also. Now they are happily
searching a guy for me in my native place.

Friend : Hmm, I don't understand at all.

She : This Saturday I have to go home, a guy is coming to see me.
Friend : Oh! Is it? Good news yaar. Your first interview! Wish you all
the best.

Friend : Any guesses, who is he?
She : Please yaar. I am least bothered and least interested. For the
sake of my parents' happiness I have agreed for this.

Friend : What about the interview, I was expecting your call actually?
She : Nothing so special. I didn't like the guy's attitude. I told my
parents clearly. My parents are very understanding and so they too
told me that they won't go ahead with this matter.

Friend : But still you should have analyzed properly.
She : I shared my views with Nitin. He had called me the next day. He
didn't suggest me anything. He didn't tell me to say "yes" or "no", he
didn't preach what is right or what is wrong. But after talking to him
I was satisfied that whatever decision I took was right.

Friend : Yesterday your mobile was engaged for more than half an hour.
I kept trying, but I slept after 11pm.
She : Yeah, I was talking to Nitin. He is very much worried about my
marriage. He is concerned whether I would get a guy of my choice or
not, whether I would be happy with him or not. I was very sad to know
this. But I am helpless. I pacified him and convinced that whatever my
parents do, that will be the best for me, so no need to worry.

Friend : How Nitin will feel after you get married? Will he not be
upset all the time?
She : Time will change everything. He will start living again. Was he
not leading a normal life before I came into his life? It's all matter
of time. Even I can't do anything other than pacifying him and myself
with these philosophical statements.

Finally " She" got engaged with a guy of her parent's choice (with her
"yes" of course). She is in touch with both Nitin and the new "him"
regularly through chatting in Yahoo Messenger.

Finally " She" got happily married to "him", very soon converting
Nitin into memories, but deleting the memories was slow and almost
impossible for Nitin.

Why do girls do like this?

She needs him when she is new to the city.
She needs his help in finding out a PG or hostel for her
She makes him prepare a good-format-CV for her
She needs him to drop her to the venue of a walk-in interview
She expects him to collect all the consultants' mail ids
She needs him while preparing for the interviews
She needs his help in identifying HER skill sets, strengths and weakness!
She wants him to conduct a mock-interview for her!
She gives her yahoo mail id password so that he can forward her CV to
consultants through internet in his office (in office hours!)
She needs him for boosting her confidence when she fails in the 1 st
written test in her life
She wants him to take her to M.G Road , Brigade Road, Forum and Big bazaar
She needs his company while visiting all the temples in Malleshwaram
on Vijayadashami, though he is not a believer of God.
She asks his opinions on importance of marriage
She wants him to be a shoulder to cry when her parents force her for
marriage
She needs his help in preparing her mind for the first interview with
a guy
She needs his help in deciding about the marriage proposal
She loves to share her happiness with him when she gets engaged
She expects him to attend her marriage (Come on guys, he is a true
friend of her!)

The guy does all this honestly, without saying a single "No".

He loves her.
He cares for her.
Whatever he is today; it is only because of her entry in to his life.
He treats her as his life.
She changed him.
It is only because of her, he is smiling.
It is only because of her, he has forgotten the past bitter experiences.
She is the first person in his life to influence him so much.
He was the " bhatka hua musafir" and she came as his "manzil".
He threw the cigarette in the dust-bin because of her.
He has cultivated a positive attitude towards marriage and family
because of her.
She is the perfect Indian woman he has ever seen.
He keeps a photo of Lord Krishna in his purse now; only because of her
(also it is her favorite deity!).
Weekends come and go without his notice; it is only because of her.
He stopped going to office on Weekends; it is only because of her.
Onsite project was his dream; he puts all his efforts now, not to get
an onsite assignment but to get a job for her in Bangalore.

The girl depends on the guy as if she never lived and can never live
without him. Guy behaves as if he has taken birth on this earth only
to care for that lady. She treats him as a shoulder to cry and he
treats her as a puppy in a rain storm. She loves to depend and he
loves to take care, finally they fall in so called "love", ultimately
adding an unnecessary trauma to life. Girls want a perfect life
partner but they don't want to hurt their parents' feelings, guys know
that they can't get her but still they want to care for her(because
they want her to be happy wherever she is and with whoever she
is).Great! Or shall I say crap!

Or I think no need to be so serious about it.

She gets engaged, life goes on...
Long lasting phone calls become short and sweet, life goes on...
A heart which was used to "Good morning" SMSs learns to be happy with
just the "Happy weekend" SMSs, life goes on...
No more "Unread messages" in the yahoo mail, life goes on...
No one to share coffee at "Barista" at the end of a tiring working
day, life goes on...
No more consultants' calls to be diverted and life goes on...
He starts smoking again, life goes on...
He is still living in flashback, and no looking back for her, but life
goes on...
He gets promoted, he is a manager, she is mother of two kids, and life
goes on...
He is in his late twenties, happily married to a beautiful,
understanding, mature, caring, broad minded wife! Anyway life goes on...

Who knows, among these "Nitin"s someone will come up as "Cheran"
(ace Tamil film director)and make a wonderful movie "My autograph"
telling us of his unsuccessful love stories, or someone will come up
as "Sudeep"( Kannada film actor turned director) who goes to his
flashback after seeing this movie and then decides remaking this movie
in Kannada, giving common people an opportunity to relive their past
love-life at least for 3 hours, that too with their spouses, without
any problem! Because there is " She" in every wife and there is Nitin
in every husband (most of the times!). There are dumb spectators like
" Friend" who are puzzled to see the whole episode between "She" and
Nitin and just ask themselves " WHAT IT IS???" .

17th May 2006, 09:22 AM
Forwards....but not touching....

Winnie the Pooh....

A group of kindergartners were trying very hard to become accustomed to the first grade The biggest hurdle they faced was that the teacher insisted on NO baby talk! "You need to use 'Big People' words," she was always reminding them.

She asked Chris what he had done over the weekend? "I went to visit my Nana." "No, you went to visit your GRANDMOTHER. Use 'Big People' words!"

She then asked Mitchell what he had done "I took a ride on a choo-choo." She said "No, you took a ride on a TRAIN. You must remember to use 'Big People' words."

She then asked little Alec what he had done? "I read a book," he replied."That's WONDERFUL!" the teacher said. "What book did you read?" [I love this...]

Alec thought real hard about it, then puffed out his chest with great pride, and said, "Winnie the S**T"

17th May 2006, 09:28 AM
A Doctor was addressing a large audience in Tampa.

"The material we put into our stomachs is enough to have killed most of us sitting here, years ago. Red meat is awful. Soft drinks corrode your stomach lining. Chinese food is loaded with MSG. High fat diets can be disastrous, and none of us realizes the long-term harm caused by the germs in our drinking water. But there is one thing that is the most dangerous of all and we all have, or will, eat it. Can anyone here tell me what food it is that causes the most grief and suffering for years after eating it?"

After several seconds of quiet, a 75-year-old man in the front row raised his hand, and softly said, "Wedding Cake."

:rotfl:....

17th May 2006, 09:31 AM
*PEOPLE COME INTO YOUR LIFE FOR A REASON *

* People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime. When you know which one it is, you will know what to do for that person. When someone is in your life for a REASON, it is usually to meet a need you have expressed. They have come to assist you through a difficulty, to provide you with guidance and support, to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually. They may seem like a godsend and they are. They are there for the reason you need them to be. Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time, this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end. Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away. Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand. What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled, their work is done. The prayer you sent up has been
answered and now it is time to move on. *

* Some people come into your life for a SEASON, because your turn has come to share, grow or learn. They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh. They may teach you something you have never done. They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy. Believe it, it is real. But only for a season.! *

* LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons, things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation. Your job is to accept the **lesson, love the person and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.* *It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant **.*

* Thank you for being a part of my life, whether you were a reason, a season or a lifetime.

:)...

23rd May 2006, 01:11 PM
CHECK THIS COOL,FUNNY ONE:

Saddam Hussein was sitting in his office wondering whom to invade next when
his telephone rang.

"Hallo, Mr. Hussein!" a heavily accented voice said, "This is Gurmukh from
Phagwara, District Kapurthala, Punjab. I am ringing to inform you that we
are officially declaring the war on you!"

"Well, Gurmukh," Saddam replied, "This is indeed important news! How big is
your army"

"Right now," said Gurmukh, after a moment's calculation, "there is myself,
my cousin Sukhdev, my next door neighbour Bhagat, and the entire kabaddi
team from the gurudwara. That makes eight"

Saddam paused. "I must tell you, Gurmukh that I have one million men in my
army waiting to move on my command."

"Arrey O! Main kya.." said Gurmukh. "I'll have to ring you back!"

Sure enough, the next day, Gurmukh called again.

"Mr. Hussein, it is Gurmukh, I'm call ing from Phagwara STD, the war is
still on! We have managed to acquire some infantry equipment!"

"And what equipment would that be, Gurmukh" Saddam asked.

"Well, we have two combines, a donkey and Amrik's tractor."

Saddam sighed. "I must tell you, Gurmukh, that I have 16,000 tanks and
14,000 armoured personnel carriers. Also, I've increased my army to 1-1/2
million since we last spoke."

"Oh teri ...." said Gurmukh. "I'll have to get back to you."

Sure enough, Gurmukh rang again the next day.

"Mr. Hussein, the war is still on! We have managed to get ourselves
airborne...... We've modified Amrik's tractor by adding a couple of
shotguns, sticking on some wings and the pind's generator. Four school pass
boys from Malpur have joined us as well!"

Saddam was silent for a minute and then cleared his throat. "I must tell
you, Gurmukh, that I have 10,000 bombers and 20,000 fighter planes. My
military complex is surro unded by laser-guided, surface-to-air missile
sites. And since we last spoke, I've increased my army to TWO MILLION!"

"Tera pala hove...." said Gurmuk, "I'll have to ring you back."

Sure enough, Gurmukh called again the next day.

"Kiddan, Mr. Hussein! I am sorry to tell you that we have had to call off
the war."

"I'm sorry to hear that," said Saddam. "Why the sudden change of heart"

"Well," said Gurmukh, "we've all had a long chat over a couple of lassi's,
and decided there's no way we can feed two million prisoners of wars!

19th June 2006, 06:39 PM
Love story......

There was a blind girl who used to hate everyone except his Boyfriend........she always used to say that I"ll marry you if i could see!!

Suddenly one day someone donated her eyes.......and then when she saw her Boyfriend......she was astonished to see that her Boyfriend was also blind........

Her boyfriend then asked...WILL YOU MARRY ME NOW? She simply refused..........
Her Boyfriend went away saying................... JUST TAKE CARE OF MY EYES!!

20th June 2006, 09:40 AM
nice forward Anjali.... :)

22nd June 2006, 05:25 PM
Who knows, among these "Nitin"s someone will come up as "Cheran"
(ace Tamil film director)and make a wonderful movie "My autograph"
telling us of his unsuccessful love stories. There are dumb spectators like
" Friend" who are puzzled to see the whole episode between "She" and
Nitin and just ask themselves " WHAT IT IS???" .

:lol: :) :clap: :thumbsup:

cancer
23rd June 2006, 05:24 PM
KB nice :)

but the climax is not acceptable... :D

23rd June 2006, 07:55 PM
Kb Machan !
:rotfl: :wink:
so, Overall NITIN proves to be a KENAYAN :lol:

Actually He must process "SO MANY 'SHEs'" so that no one will think that those shes have made him a poor soul rather than feeling as if Nithin has cheated them :lol:

Come on , We should not be like NITIN rather we should be like THOSE SHEs.

Just reminds me Vivek's dialogue

"Pick up , Drop, Escape" :lol:

20th July 2006, 09:56 PM
[tscii:210b685a3b]Fairy Tale...........Gud short Story

A married couple in their early 60s (man-62yr old, woman 60 yr old) were out celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary in a quiet, romantic little restaurant. Suddenly, a tiny, yet beautiful fairy appeared on their table and said, "For being such an exemplary married couple and for being faithful to each other for all this time, I will grant you each a wish."

"Oh, I want to travel around the world with my darling husband" said the wife. The fairy waved her magic wand and - poof! Two tickets for the Queen Mary II luxury liner appeared in her hands. Then it was the husband's turn. He thought for a moment and said: "Well, this is all very romantic, but an opportunity like this will never come again. I'm sorry my love, but my wish is to have a wife 30 years younger than me."

The wife, and the fairy, were deeply disappointed, but a wish is a wish...So the fairy waved her magic wand and - poof! The husband became 92 years old.

.Scroll down for the moral of the story…..

.Morals of the story :

1) One should remember...fairies are female.

2) One should think of all the possible consequences before making any statement.
[/tscii:210b685a3b]

21st July 2006, 12:56 AM
Kb Machan !
:rotfl: :wink:
so, Overall NITIN proves to be a KENAYAN :lol:

Actually He must process "SO MANY 'SHEs'" so that no one will think that those shes have made him a poor soul rather than feeling as if Nithin has cheated them :lol:

Come on , We should not be like NITIN rather we should be like THOSE SHEs.

Just reminds me Vivek's dialogue

"Pick up , Drop, Escape" :lol:

selva machi..
namba paarangal maathiri ethana thaati azha vanthu namba mela adichaalum.. thaangikka mudiyum..
aana ninachi paaru.. paarangalla oru adi adicha avangalaala thaangikka mudiyuma.. :cry:
ellathaiyum padacha aandavan emaathura vithai-ya girls-kum emaatratha thaangikira shakthi-yum boys kuduthurukaan..

PS: amma-gala akka-gala sandaiki varaatheenga.. just for fun

21st July 2006, 04:49 AM
PP akka !

husband 61.. wife 60..

he asked for 30 year younger wife..

if husband becomes 92.. wife is 32 years younger illaiya ? ( female fairy-kku kaNakku sariya theriyaliya ? illatti 2 years extra koduthucha ? :lol: )

21st July 2006, 09:05 AM
husbandukku 62 years enru kathai solluthu, avarai vida 30 vayasu kurainjsa ponnunnaa avrukku 30 vayasu koottanum, sarithaanE?

21st July 2006, 11:25 AM
Where comes any mathematical discrepancy ?:roll: The wife's wish is granted first, without that wish being altered, adding the husband's wish for a wife 30 years younger than himself can be accomodated only by making him 30 years older! :boo: The fairy was very fair, wasn't she? :bluejump: Serves the jollu husband right! :redjump:

21st July 2006, 12:45 PM
PP amma :lol: :lol: :lol: :rotfl: :rotfl:

moral: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

21st July 2006, 12:56 PM
:smokesmirk:

23rd July 2006, 09:49 PM
A scene took place on a BA (British Airway) flight between
Johannesburg and London. A white woman, about 50 years old, was seated
next to a black man. Obviously disturbed by this, she called the air
Hostess. "Madam, what is the matter?" the hostess asked. "You
obviously do not see it then?" She responded. "You placed me next to a
black man. I do not agree to sit next to someone from such a repugnant
group. Give me an alternative seat." "Be calm please," the hostess
replied. "Almost all the places on this flight are taken. I will go to
see if another place is available." The hostess went away and then
came back a few minutes later.

"Madam, just as I thought, there are no other available seats in the
economy class. I spoke to the captain and he informed me that there is
one seat in the business class. All the same, we also have one seat in
the first class." Before the woman could say anything, the hostess
continued: "It is unusual for our company to permit someone from the
economy class to sit in the first class. However, given the
circumstances, the captain feels that it would be scandalous to make
someone sit next to someone so disgusting."

She then turned to the black guy, and said, "Therefore, sir, if you
would like to, please collect your hand luggage, a seat awaits you in
first class."

At the moment, the other passengers who were shocked by what they had
just witnessed stood up and applauded. This is a true story. IF you
are against racism, please send this message to all your friends;
please do not delete it without sending it to at least one person

23rd July 2006, 09:56 PM

24th July 2006, 02:41 PM
It was the day of my son's XII results and I was so tensed. I sat beside him
While he logged on the website with his registration no.

" Ma" , he screamed in excitement," I scored 1191, with centum in 4
Subjects. I cant believe it. "

I kinda became numb in my excitement. My eyes became wet.

I kissed him on his forehead and smiled. My husband had gone out of
Station on some business trip and my son immediately called him on his cell
And told him of the news.

Soon we realized that he stood first in the state. Oh, my joy knew no bounds
When Reporters and media persons soon swamped my house for interviews and
Photos. I was so honored to join him in the snaps.

I wanted to call my " wrong-number-friend to tell him the news......I was so
Excited.

He was someone whom I have known for more than 20 years.

I still do not remember when we became friends, but certainly cannot forget
The first day he called me when I blasted him for giving me so many wrong
Calls.....after that he had called up a week later asking apology, for he
Had now got the right no of his friend whom he wanted to talk to .We spoke
For an hour that day...even without knowing each other's names. Though he
Kept pestering me to reveal my name I never did and so he kept a
Name...Sweety. I used to get so shy whenever he called me ' Sweety'. I was
Doing first year of BSc. Maths then, and he was a Computer Engineering
Student.

From then he used to call me very often. We almost discussed everything..
By the final year of my college, we probably we were in love, but I had been
Cautious. I was in a dilemma whether to tell him. But what if he was of a
Different religion? Do I have the courage to talk to my parents about it?

........all these questions ran through my mind.

I decided I'll not talk to him thereafter. When he called next time I told a lie to him I that I was going to Karachi for my studies.

He gave me his office number and asked me to ring him up once I reach there.

I never called.......

A couple of months later my marriage got fixed with a guy of my parent's
Choice. I was not happy but I did not complain; rather accepted it as an
Obedient daughter. At times I felt I missed my wrong- number- friend.......

My hubby was a moody person; I have hardly spent any good time with him- but
He was genuine indeed and never bothered my personal space. After 2 years we
Had a boy...Yet, I was not very happy with my married life...One day I
Happened to browse through my diary and found I still had my old friend's
Office phone no that he had given me. I dialed it and spoke with him.

He said he was married and got a kid too. I was happy for him though in the
Bottom of the heart I felt bad that I could not marry him.

From then I used to occasionally call him on that number. I never gave him
Mine as I felt that would put me in trouble...

And till today I almost shared everything with him including my relationship
With my hubby.....today I was so happy and I wanted to call him.

Just then I got a call.
" Your husband met with an accident and died on the spot"

I banged the phone down. I broke. I did not call my friend.....I somehow
Started feeling guilty. I have never tried to talk to him properly when he
Was alive or moved close with him....

I felt I had been a bad wife........

A couple of years passed and one day my son brought home a Bengali girl and
Said they wanted to get married. I got them married as I did not want my son
To go through what I did.

I decided to give my son his father's room and started clearing it. There
Was a phone book. I gently opened it to find, " Wrong No: Sweety -XXXX XXXX "

ramky
30th July 2006, 10:29 PM
Anjali : :-| very touching story !
sometimes in life one gets what we want, but are not able to recognise as the very thing we wanted :exactly:

31st July 2006, 12:09 AM
Anjali....

....wow....sad....:(.....

ab_123
31st July 2006, 08:32 AM
Interesting story Anjali!

:clap: :clap:

31st July 2006, 12:44 PM
anjali :cry:

gentlebreeze
31st July 2006, 03:22 PM
A junior manager, a senior manager and their boss are on their way to a
meeting. On their way through a park, they come across a wonder lamp.
granted three wishes but as you are three, I will allow one wish each" So the
eager senior manager shouted, I want the first wish. I want to be in the
Bahamas,on a fast boat and have no worries. "Pfufffff, and he was gone. Now the junior manager could not keep quiet and shouted " I want to be in Florida
with beautiful girls, plenty of food and cocktails. "Pfufffff, and he was
also gone. The boss calmly said,
"I want these two idiots back in the office after lunch"
Lesson V - "Always allow the bosses to speak first

Thread:
Which of the 2 is best - Old songs Lyrics / New Song lyrics -
Link: http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=7558&highlight=

maxi
4th August 2006, 06:44 PM
The woods were lovely dark and deep. Walking slowly beside her, in the damp mud road, was her husband whom she barely knew. He was very relaxed, happily watching a group of kids playing at a distance.

Her "mehandi" was still dark and smelling fresh, reminding of the excitements and tension 2 days back. "It cant work this way mom...please stop this", she kept telling her mother till the last
moment,who wouldnt listen but carry on with beautifying her.She had been crying all night and her make-up had to be patched up twice or thrice to hide her awkwardly swollen face.

It was too late now.She had to get married "NOW" to the guy...The guy whom she had seen once and talked thrice.The guy about whom she knew nothing at all but for his name and work.Everything happened in a hurry and everthing was over before she could breathe again... here was she with this guy, all alone in this hill station... how can anybody send their daughter such a long distance with a stranger???

"Hey look at that....!!!" he shouted in excitement... she shrugged and looked where his finger pointed...Bright colored balloons dotted the sky. Children were jumping in joy and he seemed to be completely absorbed into it...colors are always exciting...but not now.She was not with her friends, not with her team mates, not even with her parents. This was not a 3 day tour or team building trip.This was her life and she has been forced to start off with this person.

Loneliness and discomfort with this stranger was sickening...She
looked at him in wonder... does he even realize that he has married
me?Does he understand that he has to love me,protect me,care for me,a new girl,a stranger,all his life?

The marriage morning started like a daylight nightmare for her.The first time in life she felt she should have fallen in love and then married somebody. some man who she would have felt more comfortable with, someone whom she could call by name and introduce to friends,someone whom she could trust. But marriage morning was obviously not the time to think all these.

Her parents would never have said "no" if she had declared that she was in love.But she was not emotionally attached to anybody she met,especially guys.She was very friendly,playing,teasing, but never had second thought for any man around her.That brought the entire responsibility of looking for a groom on her parents' shoulders.Her parents had had a very bad time with this entire process.They started their groom search with unending "&" operation. The concatenation of "Horoscope matching" & "Decent family" & "Good looking" & "Good pay" & "same cast" & so on... that always gave 0 output.Now after all that 8 months hunt,they were not ready to hear her "ifs" and "buts" for this 'good guy'.

She had explained to her father.She does not feel anything for this person.He is nothing more to me than any other software professional.Like list of names she sees in the chat rooms. Distant
and usual...Her father asked her to talk to him and even meet him and discuss their likes and dislikes.That meeting started like the induction programme self introduction and ended like a 3 hour seminar.She was waiting to get away from that place."So did you talk with him?"."yes"."was he polite and decent"."yes"."Oh he got that special flavoured tri-color icecream...!!!".OK.All her family and
relatives discussed...She was given the chance to "understand her life partner" and that they have understood each other "well" and she is ready for the marriage now.

All arrangements geared up and it was 24 days after her first meeting that she was getting married to her man... perfect match as everybody else described.Marriage hall was full with excited people, kids got the chance to play,ladies got the chance to wear the silk saree.The smell of rose and jasmine filled the hall.Different poses for the photographer and atrificial smiles for the videos.The moment he had tied the sacred thread was unexplainable vaccum in the head.It was over.She was his wife.Accepted by the society and law.Her proud parents were relaxed.This was their duty they had been planning to fulfill since she was born.All this crowd will fade away,leaving her to explore her new world...

He pulled her hand gently to sit on the stone bench.The bench was wet and the chillness was indeed enjoyable."So what are you thinking about?"... that was an unexpected ball.should she reply?should she be silent?She remembered the two hour presentation she had taken last month.Bold and confident, she kept answering all the queries with a broad smile.Now she remained silent."Do you know honey... I was not for this marriage too..." Oh my God... what did i hear??? did HE tell that or did i think aloud? what does he mean?didnt he like me?was he forced into this? He must have noticed the quizzical look on my face...with a gentle smile he continued..."I wanted to look for a girl myself,buy her everything,care for her,argue with her,laugh and cry
with her,then get married to her... Anything otherwise would be a
drama. Traditional drama and i was not for it anytime. But my love for my work and also my stress would not give me time and mind to search that girl...When your parents talked to me 2 weeks before our marriage, about your fear of getting married,to a stranger, i could completely understand your mind. I could see myself in you and that was the moment i decided i will marry you.There was no time to prove myself to you,make you trust me,everything happened in a hurry.But there was the entire life before me, to please you,to love you, to make you trust me.This is no less than what i had dreamt,the girl i was waiting for,is you.Now tell me... will you love me???" Tears came down her cheek.Her parents had done more than their duty.They had
found her the perfect guy. Thank you Mom!!! Thank you Dad!!!

His question remained unanswered yet both knew the answer....

4th August 2006, 08:17 PM
Lovely! :clap:

ab_123
11th August 2006, 08:17 AM
sweet story, Maxi.

13th August 2006, 05:53 PM
He pulled her hand gently to sit on the stone bench.The bench was wet and the chillness was indeed enjoyable."So what are you thinking about?"... that was an unexpected ball.should she reply?should she be silent?She remembered the two hour presentation she had taken last month.Bold and confident, she kept answering all the queries with a broad smile.Now she remained silent."Do you know honey... I was not for this marriage too..." Oh my God... what did i hear??? did HE tell that or did i think aloud? what does he mean?didnt he like me?was he forced into this? He must have noticed the quizzical look on my face...with a gentle smile he continued..."I wanted to look for a girl myself,buy her everything,care for her,argue with her,laugh and cry
with her,then get married to her... Anything otherwise would be a
drama. Traditional drama and i was not for it anytime. But my love for my work and also my stress would not give me time and mind to search that girl...When your parents talked to me 2 weeks before our marriage, about your fear of getting married,to a stranger, i could completely understand your mind. I could see myself in you and that was the moment i decided i will marry you.There was no time to prove myself to you,make you trust me,everything happened in a hurry.But there was the entire life before me, to please you,to love you, to make you trust me.This is no less than what i had dreamt,the girl i was waiting for,is you.Now tell me... will you love me???" Tears came down her cheek.Her parents had done more than their duty.They had
found her the perfect guy. Thank you Mom!!! Thank you Dad!!!

His question remained unanswered yet both knew the answer....

:clap: :clap: nice :)

malsi
15th August 2006, 08:29 PM
wonderful..how i wish i would get someone like that..hmmm... :smile2:

16th August 2006, 05:43 PM
Once upon a time, there lived a King who, despite his luxurious lifestyle, was neither happy nor content.

One day, the King came upon a servant who was singing happily while he worked. This fascinated the King; why was he, the Supreme Ruler of the Land, unhappy and gloomy, while A lowly servant had so much joy. The King asked the servant, "Why are you so happy?"

The man replied, "Your Majesty, I am nothing but a servant, but my family and I don't need too much - just a roof over our heads and warm food to fill our tummies."

The king was not satisfied with that reply. Later in the day, he sought the advice of his most trusted advisor. After hearing the King's woes and the servant's story, the advisor said, "Your Majesty, I believe that the servant has not been made part of The 99 Club."

"The 99 Club? And what exactly is that?" the King inquired.

The advisor replied, "Your Majesty, to truly know what The 99 Club is, place 99 Gold coins in a bag and leave it at this servant's doorstep."

When the servant saw the bag, he took it into his house. When he opened the bag, he let out a great shout of joy... So many gold coins! He began to count them. After several counts, he was at last convinced that there were 99 coins. He wondered, "What could've happened to that last gold coin? Surely, no one would leave 99 coins!" He looked everywhere he could, but that final coin was elusive. Finally, exhausted, he decided that he was going to have to work harder than ever to earn that gold coin and complete his collection.

From that day, the servant's life was changed. He was overworked, horribly grumpy, and castigated his family for not helping him make that 100th gold coin. He stopped singing while he worked.

Witnessing this drastic transformation, the King was puzzled. When he sought his advisor's help, the advisor said, "Your Majesty, the servant has now officially joined The 99 Club." He continued, "The 99 Club is a name given to those people who have enough to be happy but are never contented, because they're always yearning and striving for that extra 1 telling to themselves: "Let me get that one final thing and then I will be happy for life."

We can be happy, even with very little in our lives, but the minute we're given something bigger and better, we want even more! We lose our sleep, our happiness, we hurt the people around us; all these as a price for our growing needs and desires. That's what joining The 99 Club is all about."

16th August 2006, 08:24 PM
:) :clap:

ramky
18th August 2006, 10:52 AM
PP madam : :clap: will be useful for those who spend their lives trying to keep up with the Joneses - if they try to understand the meaning. :yes:

ramky
25th August 2006, 05:00 AM
The Four Wives

There was a rich merchant who had 4 wives. He loved the 4th wife the most and adorned her with rich robes and treated her to delicacies. He took great care of her and gave her nothing but the best.

He also loved the 3rd wife very much. He's very proud of her and always wanted to show off her to his friends. However, the merchant is always in great fear that she might run away with some other men.

He too, loved his 2nd wife. She is a very considerate person, always patient and in fact is the merchant's confidante. Whenever the merchant faced some problems, he always turned to his 2nd wife and she would always help him out and tide him through difficult times.

Now, the merchant's 1st wife is a very loyal partner and has made great contributions in maintaining his wealth and business as well as taking care of the household. However, the merchant did not love the first wife and although she loved him deeply, he hardly took notice of her.

One day, the merchant fell ill. Before long, he knew that he was going to die soon. He thought of his luxurious life and told himself, "Now I have 4 wives with me. But when I die, I'll be alone. How lonely I'll be!"

Thus, he asked the 4th wife, "I loved you most, endowed you with the finest clothing and showered great care over you. Now that I'm dying, will you follow me and keep me company?" "No way!" replied the 4th wife and she walked away without another word.

The answer cut like a sharp knife right into the merchant's heart. The sad merchant then asked the 3rd wife, "I have loved you so much for all my life. Now that I'm dying, will you follow me and keep me company?" "No!" replied the 3rd wife. "Life is so good over here! I'm going to remarry when you die!" The merchant's heart sank and turned cold.

He then asked the 2nd wife, "I always turned to you for help and you've always helped me out. Now I need your help again. When I die, will you follow me and keep me company?" "I'm sorry, I can't help you out this time!" replied the 2nd wife. "At the very most, I can only send you to your grave." The answer came like a bolt of thunder and the merchant was devastated.

Then a voice called out : "I'll leave with you. I'll follow you no matter where you go." The merchant looked up and there was his first wife. She was so skinny, almost like she suffered from malnutrition. Greatly grieved, the merchant said, "I should have taken much better care of you while I could have !"

Actually, we all have 4 wives in our lives

a. The 4th wife is our body. No matter how much time and effort we lavish in making it look good, it'll leave us when we die.

b. Our 3rd wife ? Our possessions, status and wealth. When we die, they all go to others.

c. The 2nd wife is our family and friends. No matter how close they had been there for us when we're alive, the furthest they can stay by us is up to the grave.

d. The 1st wife is in fact our soul, often neglected in our pursuit of material, wealth and sensual pleasure.

Guess what? It is actually the only thing that follows us wherever we go. Perhaps it's a good idea to cultivate and strengthen it now rather than to wait until we're on our deathbed to lament

25th August 2006, 01:00 PM
:clap: A beautiful allegory!

26th August 2006, 01:09 PM
d. The 1st wife is in fact our soul, often neglected in our pursuit of material, wealth and sensual pleasure.

Guess what? It is actually the only thing that follows us wherever we go. Perhaps it's a good idea to cultivate and strengthen it now rather than to wait until we're on our deathbed to lament

:clap: :clap:

seagull
27th August 2006, 10:18 PM

30th August 2006, 03:41 PM
What is the difference between Rich/ Poor People?

One day, the father of a very wealthy family took his son on a trip to

The country with the express purpose of showing him how poor people live,

Therefore, they spent a couple of days and nights on the farm of what

Would be considered a very poor family

On their return from their trip, the father asked his son, " How was the trip ?"

"It was great, Dad."

"Did you see how poor people live?" the father asked.

"Oh yeah," said the son.

"So, tell me, what you learned from the trip?" asked the father.

The son answered:

"I saw that we have one dog and they had four.

We have a pool that reaches to the middle of our garden and they have

a creek that has no end.

We have imported lanterns in our garden and they have the stars at night.

Our patio reaches to the front yard and they have the whole horizon.

We have a small piece of land to live on and they have fields that go beyond

our sight.

We have servants who serve us, but they serve others.

We buy our food, but they grow theirs.

We have walls around our property to protect us, they have friends to protect them."

The boy's father was speechless.

Then his son added, "Thanks Dad for showing me how poor we are."

Is not perspective a wonderful thing? Makes you wonder what would happen

if we all gave thanks for everything we have, instead of worrying about what

we don't have.

Try to appreciate every single thing you have, especially your friends!

Pass this on to friends and acquaintances and help them refresh their

Perspective and appreciation

"Life is too short and friends are too few."

31st August 2006, 10:29 AM
:)....

1st September 2006, 01:15 PM
One day while walking down the street a highly successful
Human Resources Manager was tragically hit by a bus and she died. Her soul arrived up in heaven where she was met at the Pearly Gates by St. Peter himself.

"Welcome to Heaven," said St. Peter. "Before you get settled
in though, it seems we have a problem. You see, strangely enough, we've never once had a Human Resources Manager make it this far and we're not really sure what to do with you."

"No problem, just let me in," said the woman.

"Well, I'd like to, but I have higher orders. What we're
going to do is let you have a day in Hell and a day in Heaven and then you can choose whichever one you want to spend an eternity in."

"Actually, I think I've made up my mind, I prefer to stay in
Heaven", said the woman

"Sorry, we have rules..."

And with that St. Peter put the executive in an elevator and
it went down-down-down to hell.

The doors opened and she found herself stepping out onto the
putting green of a beautiful golf course. In the distance was a country club and standing in front of her were all her friends - fellow executives that she had worked with and they were well dressed in evening gowns and cheering for her. They ran up and kissed her on both cheeks and they talked about old
times. They played an excellent round of golf and at night
went to the country club where she enjoyed an excellent steak and lobster dinner.

She met the Devil who was actually a really nice guy (kind
of cute) and she had a great time telling jokes and dancing. She was having such a good time that before she knew it, it was time to leave. Everybody shook her hand and waved goodbye as she got on the elevator.

The elevator went up-up-up and opened back up at the Pearly
Gates and found St. Peter waiting for her.

"Now it's time to spend a day in heaven," he said. So she
spent the next 24 hours lounging around on clouds and playing the harp and singing. She had great time and before she knew it her 24 hours were up and St. Peter came and got her.

"So, you've spent a day in hell and you've spent a day in
heaven. Now you must choose your eternity,"

The woman paused for a second and then replied, "Well, I
never thought I'd say this, I mean, Heaven has been really great and all, but I think I had a better time in Hell."

So St. Peter escorted her to the elevator and again she went
down-down-down back to Hell.

When the doors of the elevator opened she found herself
standing in a desolate wasteland covered in garbage and filth. She saw her friends were dressed in rags and were picking up the garbage and putting it in sacks.

The Devil came up to her and put his arm around her.

"I don't understand," stammered the woman, "yesterday I was
here and there was a golf course and a country club and we ate lobster and we danced and had a great time. Now all there is a wasteland of garbage and all my friends look miserable."

The Devil looked at her smiled and told...
"Yesterday we were recruiting you, today you're an
Employee"

seagull
1st September 2006, 11:53 PM
Anjali, both the forwards are good :thumbsup:

The saying at the end of the first one "Life is too short and friends are too few." is very true :-|

And the second one was quite funny :lol:

ramky
6th September 2006, 05:40 AM
Two frogs

A group of frogs were travelling through the woods, and two of them fell into a deep pit. When the other frogs saw how deep the pit was, they told the two frogs that they were as good as dead. The two frogs ignored the comments and tried to jump up out of the pit with all their might. The other frogs kept telling them to stop, that they were as good as dead. Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs were saying and gave up. He fell down and died.

The other frog continued to jump as hard as he could. Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop the pain and just die. He jumped even harder and finally made it out. When he got out, the other frogs said, "Did you not hear us?" The frog explained to them that he was deaf. He thought they were encouraging him the entire time.

This story teaches two lessons:

1. There is power of life and death in the tongue. An encouraging word to someone who is down can lift them up and help them make it through the day.

2. A destructive word to someone who is down can be what it takes to kill them.

Be careful of what you say. Speak life to those who cross your path. The power of words... it is sometimes hard to understand that an encouraging word can go such a long way. Anyone can speak words that tend to rob another of the spirit to continue in difficult times. Special is the individual who will take the time to encourage another.

6th September 2006, 08:37 AM

ramky
9th September 2006, 06:07 AM
thnx PP madam :)

10th September 2006, 12:21 AM
anjali and ramky :) :clap:

Sonata
15th September 2006, 12:47 AM
Some Quotes:

(On September 17, 1994, Alabama's Heather Whitestone was selected as Miss America 1995.)

Question: If you could live forever, would you and why?

Answer: "I would not live forever, because we should not
live forever, because if we were supposed to live forever,
then we would live forever, but we cannot live forever,
which is why I would not live forever," :roll: :roll:

--Miss Alabama in the 1994 Miss USA contest.

``````````````````````````````````

"Whenever I watch TV and see those poor starving kids
all over the world, I can't help but cry. I mean I'd love
to be skinny like that, but not with all those flies and
death and stuff."
--Mariah Carey

````````````

"Smoking kills. If you're killed, you've lost a very important part of your life,"

--Brooke Shields, during an interview to become
Spokesperson for federal anti-smoking campaign .

hmmmm..... I always thought that we lose our life once we were killed :) :)

`````````````````````````````````````````````````

"I've never had major knee surgery on any other part
of my body,"
--Winston Bennett,
University of Kentucky basketball forward.

`````````````````````````````````````````````

"Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the
lowest crime rates in the country,"
--Mayor Marion Barry, Washington, DC.

`````````````````````````````````````````````````` ``

"That lowdown scoundrel deserves to be kicked to death
by a jackass, and I'm just the one to do it,"
--A congressional candidate in Texas.

````````````````````````````

"Half this game is ninety percent mental."
--Philadelphia Phillies manager, Danny Ozark

``````````````````````````````````

"I love California. I practically grew up in Phoenix." --Dan Quayle

``````````

"We've got to pause and ask ourselves: How much
clean air do we need?"

--Lee Iacocca

```````````

"The word "genius" isn't applicable in football. A
genius is a guy like Norman Einstein." -
--Joe Theisman, NFL football quarterback & sports analyst.

Norman Einstein.??:confused2:

````````````````````````````````````````````

"We don't necessarily discriminate. We simply exclude certain types of people."
--Colonel Gerald Wellman, ROTC Instrutor.

````````````````

"Traditionally, most of Australia's imports come from overseas."
--Keppel Enderbery

````````````````

"Your food stamps will be stopped effective March 1992 because we received notice that you passed away. May God bless you. You may reapply if there is a change in your circumstances."
--Department of Social Services, Greenville, South Carolina

````````````````````````````````````````````

"If somebody has a bad heart, they can plug this jack
in at night as they go to bed and it will monitor their
heart throughout the night. And the next morning, when
they wake up dead, there'll be a record." :) :)
--Mark S. Fowler, FCC Chairman

15th September 2006, 07:43 AM
Good Jokes! But wrong thread?

ramky
15th September 2006, 11:55 PM
thnx Crazy :)

ramky
16th September 2006, 09:10 PM
Time never goes back

Once upon a time, a teacher and his student were sitting down under a big tree in the park adjoining the school. The student who had been pondering deeply over something, asked the teacher :

Student : Teacher, I'm confused how can I find my soul mate ? Can you please help me?

The teacher was silent for a few seconds, and then he answered, "Well, it's pretty hard and easy question. To get the answer, I want you to do something. Go to the grassland there, and just walk straight ahead without looking back. On your way, try to find a beautiful grass and pick it up then give it to me. But just one. However if you dont find the one you like, you should not walk back, but must go further ahead to find the better one.

Student : Well, ok teacher.
He walks straight ahead to the grass field. A few minutes later the student comes back.

Student : I'm back....

Teacher : Hmm well I don't see any beautiful grass on your hand.

Student : On my journey, I found few beautiful grass, but I thought that I would find a better one, so I didn't pick it up. But I didn't realize that I've reached the end of the field, and I hadn't pick any. Because you told me not to go back, I didn't go back. So now I dont have even a single grass with me.

Teacher : Now that's what happens in real life too, when you search for a soul mate. The grass are the people around you. Beautiful Grass are the people that attract you. And the Grass Field is Time. In looking for your soul mate, once you have found someone, don't always compare and hope that there will be a better one. By doing so, you'll waste your lifetime in searching for the better one. And will also lose the soul mate you already have. Because remember "Time Never Goes Back".... So try to accept what he or she is.

16th September 2006, 09:15 PM
have heard it before...............but good to read it again :)