View Full Version : Mrs.Mano's Tamilnadu Delicacies - Part 2

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

Mrs.Mano
1st January 2006, 09:42 PM
Recipe Index
[list]
IDIYAPPAM WITH RICE BATTER
FRUIT RICE
Layered Parotta (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&start=0)
CHICKEN CHUKKA
HYDERABAD CHICKEN (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15)
PONGAL KUZHAMBU
SARKKARAI PONGAL
VEN PONGAL (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30)
TOMATO CHICKEN GRAVY (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45)
CHILLI GARLIC PRAWN MASALA[CHINESE STYLE]
MALABAR PRAWN CURRY
HORSEGRAM(KOLLU) MASIYAL
HORSEGRAM RASAM (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=60)
BRINJAL CHUTNEY
PEERKANGAI THUKAIYAL
CHOW CHOW THUKAIYAL
PARUPPU THUKAIYAL
GREEN CHILLI PICKLE
KOTHAMALLI THOKKU [CORIANDER THOKKU]
PEANUT PUNNAKKU CHUTNEY
RED CHUTNEY
TOMATO ONION CHUTNEY [RED CHUTNEY]
TOMATO ONION CHUTNEY
TOMATO PICKLE
TOMATO THOKKU-1
TOMATO THOKKU-2
TOMATO COCONUT KUZHAMBU
DHANIYA TOMATO CHUTNEY
PEERKANGAI [RIDGE GOURD] KOTHSU
LADIES FINGER CHUTNEY
RADISH CHUTNEY
CABBAGE CHUTNEY
KATHTHARIKKAI AND POTATO KOTHSU
KATHTHARIKKAI AND TOMATO KOTHSU
CHICKEN MARINADE
FISH MARINADE
--- Curry/Kulambu/Masala ---
ALOO GOBI MASALA
ARAITHTHU VITTA SAMBAR
BABY CORN AND PALAK MASALA
BUTTER CHICKEN
CAULIFLOWER SOUP
CHETTINADU CHICKEN GRAVY
CHETTINADU CHICKEN VARUVAL
CHETTI NADU SUNDAKKA CURRY
CHETTINADU CHICKEN
CHETTINADU CHICKEN GRAVY
CHETTINADU POTATO CUURY
CHICKEN MASALA
CHICKEN RASAM
THENGAIPAL RASAM [COCONUT MILK RASAM]
CRAB LEGS SOUP
DHALCHA
EGG BALLS CURRY:[ muttai paniyaara kuzhambu]
ENNAI KATHTHARIKAI CURRY
INJI KUZHAMBU
JEERAKA RASAM
JEERAKA RASAM. [CUMMIN RASAM]
KADAPPA-gren gram
KAIMAH THOKKU:[MINCED MUTTON THOKKU
KARAMANI KARA KUZHAMBU [Chettinadu style]
KEERAI KUZHAMBU
KEERAI SAMBAR
LAMB CURRY WITH BRUSSEL SPROUTS
MAMBAZHA MORKUZHAMBU
MILAGU KUZHAMBU-III
MURUNGAIKKAI RASAM
MUSHROOM CURRY
MUSHROOM CURRY -2
MUSHROOM MASALA
MUTTER PANEER
NAVARATHNA KURUMA
PALAK DHAL
PALAKKAI KURMA
PAPPAYA TOMATO CURRY
PARUPPU URUNDAI KUZHAMBU
PARUPPU RASAM
PEPPER CHICKEN-II
PONGAL KUZHAMBU
GARLIC RASAM
PORITHTHA KUZHAMBU:[chettinadu style]
PORITHTHA KUZHAMBU-II
POTATO MASALA
POTATO MASALA CURRY
URULAIKKIZHANGU PAAL CURRY
PULIYITTA KEERAI
GARLIC SAMBAR[SALEM SAMBAR]
SAMBAR
SIMPLE RASAM
SOYA BALLS VEGETABLE MASALA
SPICY EGG CURRY
SPINACH SOUP
STEW ISTU CURRY
THANNEER KUZHAMBU
THAKKALI KUZHAMBU:{Tomato kuzhambu}
TOMATO MASALA
TOMATO SOUP
ULUNTHU KUZHAMBU
VADAI CURRY
VATHAL KUZHAMBU
VATHTHAL KUZHAMBU-III
VEGETABLE KURUMA
VENTHAYA RASAM [FENUGREEK RASAM]
VEPPAMPOO RASAM: [Neem flower rasam]
HANDI CHICKEN
CHICKEN CHUKKA
HYDERABAD CHICKEN
TOMATO CHICKEN GRAVY
TOMATO PICKLE
PARUPPU PODI TOMATO RICE
PARUPPU PODI DOSAI
Idli
Kollu Chutney (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=75)
IDLI SAMBAR (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=90)
FILTER COFFEE
TEA
MYSORE RASAM (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=105)
VENGHAYA CHUTNEY-I
VENGHAYA CHUTNEY-II (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=120)
Links to download Mrs.Mano's recipes (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=135)
BLACK EYE BEANS KURMA
MILKY GREEN GRAM GRAVY
SPROUTED MOONG AND CASHEW NUT MASALA
GREEN GRAM KADAIYAL
GOBI MANCHURIAN (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=150)
PAAL PAAYASAM (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=165)
EGG FRIED RICE (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=180)
RICE PURI
TOMATO CORIANDER CHUTNEY
COCONUT CORIANDER CHUTNEY (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=195)
CABBAGE TOMATO PROYAL
CHICKEN PARUPPU SOUP
RADISH MASALA CURRY
RADISH CHUTNEY (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=210)
THENKUZHAL
VIVIKA
SEMOLINA HALWA (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=225)
WHEAT APPAM
Vazhaippoo cutlet
FISH CUTLET
BISI BELE BATH (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=240)
BOTTLE GOURD(suraikkai) BAJJI
SURAKKAI PAAL KOOTU
Meetha Chawal (Sweet Rice)
ZARDA (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=255)
MOR RASAM
CHICKEN KUZHAMBU-II: (Malabar Chicken Kuzhambu) (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=270)
VANGHI BATH [BRINJAL RICE]
MORKUZHAMBU
MUSHROOM FRIED RICE
PORICHA RASAM
THAVALAI VADAI (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=285)
RAGI KOOZH
ALOO BHUJIYA (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=300)
MANGO THOKKU
VENGKAYA THOKKU [ONION THOKKU]
SWEET LIME PICKLE
TOMATO PICKLE
GREEN GRAM SOUP
TAMARIND ADAI (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=315)
CHETTI NADU ADAI DOSAI
TOMATO OOTHTHAPPAM
KADALAIPARUPPU PAYASAM
MASALA PEANUTS (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=330)
ADHIRASAM
Lime-Ginger Rasam (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=360)
DATE GINGER RASAM
WHEAT HALWA (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=375)
EGG ADAI
RAW BANANA MANCHURIAN (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=390)
BRINJAL PACHADI
ONION TOMATO CUCUMBER PACHADI (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=405)
VELLAI APPAM (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=420)
TOMATO MUTTON GRAVY
Soft Idlies
SATHTHU MAAVU
SATHTHU MAAVU [FOR CHILDREN]
For a cup of tasty tea
Akkaravadisal
Thengai paal (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=435)
KAMARKAT
CAPSICUM PULAU
IDLI PODI (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=450)
CHILLI PAROTTA
CHETTINADU CHICKEN FRY (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=465)
MICROWAVE KEERAI SAMBAR
MICROWAVE EGG PORIYAL (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=480)
GUTTI VANKAYA KURA
MICROWAVE TOMATO CHICKEN
KOFTHA PULAO (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=495)
GARLIC RICE-I
GARLIC RICE-II
TOMATO EGG CURRY
EGG CUTLET KUZHAMBU (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=510)
SEPPANKIZHANGU PULI KUZHAMBU
AATTUKKAAL PAAYA
MUTTON PODIMAAS (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=525)
KARUVEPPILAI THOKKU [CURRY LEAVES THOKKU] (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=540)
RAW JACKFRUIT KOFTA PULAO
CHICKEN KOFTA PULAO
Coconut milk prepared for the aadi pandikai
VEGETABLE CUTLET
MUTTON PODIMAAS [KARIPPODI] (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=555)
Thayir roti (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=570)

Mrs.Mano
1st January 2006, 09:45 PM
Dear Pr!

Here is the procedure for making idiyappams with the batter.

IDIYAPPAM WITH RICE BATTER:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- 1 cup
Par boiled rice- 1 cup
Enough salt
Oil- 1 tsp

Procedure:

Soak the rice varieties in enough water for 3 hours. Then grind them with a little salt to a fine batter. The batter must be a little thinner than the idli batter. Mix in the oil. Pour the batter in idli plates and steam them for 15 minutes. When they are still hot, cut them into halves, and pass them through the idiyappam press. This will not be very soft and flexible like the ones we make with the rice flour.

[tscii:7ca81825ac]I am starting the New Year with a sweet again. This time, it is a rice variety.

FRUIT RICE:

Ingredients:

Briyani rice- 1 cup
Thick coconut milk- 1 cup
Pomegranate juice- 1 1/2 cup
Orange juice- 1 tbsp
Cashew nuts- 1 tbsp
Raisins- 1 tbsp
Saffron- a pinch
Cardamom- 4
Salt to taste
Shredded carrot- 1 tbsp
Chopped pineapple- 1 tbsp
Chopped dates- 3 tbsp
Diced apple- 1
Ghee- 1/4 cup

Procedure:

Heat a small vessel and pour the ghee. Add the cardamoms, and cashew nuts. Fry them to a golden colour. Add the raisins along with the apple, dates, pineapple and the carrot and fry for a few seconds. Add the remaining ingredients with the rice and a little salt. Cook on medium fire until the rice is 3/4th cooked and all the water is evaporated. Keep the rice in ‘Dhum’ either in the gas oven or by manual method for 20 minutes.
[/tscii:7ca81825ac]

Mrs.Mano
1st January 2006, 09:52 PM
[tscii:94918a7c0d]Dear Suganthi!

Thank you very much for the feedback on ‘CURD CUCUMBER SEMIYA’. If we add low fat curd and milk, then it is a healthy dish really.
[/tscii:94918a7c0d]

Mrs.Mano
1st January 2006, 09:52 PM
Dear Pushpa!

You can eat a handful of raw groundnuts. If they are oily groundnuts, then it will cause stomach ache. You can use it to make some snacks and sweets and also add in tamarind rice, pulao varieties etc. You can boil them in lots of water with enough salt.

di
2nd January 2006, 11:50 PM
hi,
can anyone plz post the page number in which 'Curd Cucumber Semiya' recipe by Mrs Mano is posted? thanks

dev
3rd January 2006, 06:42 AM
Pls check the index on page 1

gvb
3rd January 2006, 08:39 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano and Hubbers
Wish you all a happy new year.

Mrs.Mano ur " idli podi" was simply excellent in taste, the way my mom makes it!!Thanks for yet another of your golden recipe.

Hope to see lots more in 2006.

Best wishes,
Suganthi.

rsankar
3rd January 2006, 02:53 PM
Hello Mrs. Mano,

Could you give the dry chicken chukka recipe and chicken hydhrabadi (not sure the spelling) ?

rsankar.

rajshank
4th January 2006, 08:02 AM
Hello Mrs. Mano,

In your recipe collection, i saw the "Layered Parotta" recipe. But that calls for eggs & we do not have eggs since we are vegetarians. Can i try the parotta without adding the eggs. Or is there anything that i can substitute instead of that. I would love to make Parotta & Kurma in the coming weekend, as my husband just loves it!!!

For anyone who lives in Chennai, there is a Brilliant tutorials lane in T Nagar, behind the "Poo Kadai" lane opposite Naidu Hall. Once u enter that lane,u find a "thattu kadai" or the so called "kai yendhi bhavan". If u taste the parotta-kurma there...u'll just fall in love with it....yummmyyy!!!!

Thanks a lot
Rajshank

Sowmya
4th January 2006, 08:35 AM
For anyone who lives in Chennai, there is a Brilliant tutorials lane in T Nagar, behind the "Poo Kadai" lane opposite Naidu Hall. Once u enter that lane,u find a "thattu kadai" or the so called "kai yendhi bhavan". If u taste the parotta-kurma there...u'll just fall in love with it....yummmyyy!!!!

Thanks a lot
Rajshank

Hi Rajshank
I totally agree with you.. :D The parotta kurma there tastes awesome.. In fact I have always felt that the top notch restuarants in Chennai have not matched this "kai yendhi bhavan's" taste so far :roll:

Regds
Sowmya :D

kritica
5th January 2006, 12:06 AM
Hi Mrs.Mano
I wanted the recipe for rava idly.
thanks
Kritica

malinibalaguru
5th January 2006, 07:28 PM
Hi Rajshank,

I don't see the 'Layered Parotta' recipe in the index. Can you plz let me know where it is? or can u cut & paste it here for me?

Malini

rajshank
6th January 2006, 02:13 AM
[tscii:c20b2c9307]Hi Malini,

Its from the recipe collection of Mrs. Mano. Here is the recipe for it...

Layered Parotta (By Mrs Mano)

Sieve 1kg plain flour. Add 1 egg, ¼ cup oil, 2tbsp sugar, ¼ cup milk and ¼ cup ghee to the flour and mix well. Knead to a smooth dough by adding enough water. Keep covered for three hours. Pat and knead well again till the dough becomes very smooth and elastic in nature. Make orange sized balls from the dough and roll out in to thin chappathi. In hotels, the professional cooks will make it flip in the air to a very big transparent circular layer and then they will fold it and roll into round balls again. We could do like that only if we are trained in it. So we can fold the chappathi like saree pleats and then make it into a ball again. Spread ½ to 1sp oil on the ball and keep them covered for some time. Then pat the ball gently on top and flatten into thick parottas using the hands. Heat the tawa and cook the parotta on both sides. After removing it from the tawa , press and pat on the sides to loosen the layers with a neat white thin towel when it is hot.

If u do not have the recipe collecton of Mrs.Mano, u can also checkout the below links...

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/contribs/mrs.mano/Tamilnadu_delicacies.doc

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/contribs/mrs.mano/corrected_recipes_of_Mrs_Mano.doc

Hope this helps...

Rajshank

[/tscii:c20b2c9307]

pr
6th January 2006, 03:33 AM
Dear Mrs Mano
Hope you are doin good . Are there any equipments to get uniform shape for cutlets ?? When i prepare it in hand uniformity is not there . Please let me know whenever you find time
Thanks and Regards
Pr

dev
6th January 2006, 06:57 AM
pr,

ever tried a cookie cutter?... might help...

malinibalaguru
6th January 2006, 08:12 PM
RajShank, thanks for your reply :)

Malini

pr
6th January 2006, 10:06 PM
Thanks for the idea Dev

tomato
8th January 2006, 03:25 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
I have a lot of seedless dates, could u suggest some uses for it.
regds,
tomato.

pr
9th January 2006, 10:33 AM
Dear friends
Can anyone pls let me know Mrs.R's email id ..
pr

Mrs.Mano
9th January 2006, 08:16 PM
Dear RSankar!

Here are the recipes you have asked.

CHICKEN CHUKKA:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1/2 kilo
Shredded coconut- a handful
Coriander seeds-3 tsp
Red chillies- 10
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Peppercorns- 2 tsp
Cinnamon- 2 pieces
Cloves-2
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Finely chopped onion-3
Finely chopped tomato- 1 cup
Ginger paste-1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Enough oil and salt

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and pour 1tsp of oil. Add the shredded coconut and fry it on slow fire to a golden brown colour. Take them away and again fry the remaining spices in a little oil. Grind the fried ingredients to a paste. Add the turmeric powder, the ground paste and enough salt to the chicken pieces and mix well. Heat a pan and pour 5 to 6 tbsp of oil. Add the onion with the ginger and garlic pastes .Fry them well. Add the tomato pieces and fry them until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the chicken and cook on medium fire until they are well cooked and become dry.

HYDERABAD CHICKEN:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1 kilo
Finely chopped tomatoes- 2 cups
Onion-2
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Red chillies-10
Poppy seeds- 2 tsp
Fennel seeds-1 tsp
Curry eaves- 1 arc
Cinnamon- 1 piece
Cardamom-3
Shredded coconut- 2 cups
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Enough salt

Procedure:

Grill the onions and remove the skins. Fry all the spices and the coconut in ghee to a golden brown colour and then grind them with the onions to a fine paste. Cook the chicken pieces with the tomatoes, turmeric powder, 1 cup of water and enough salt. When the chicken pieces are half cooked, add the ground paste and cook the chicken until they are fully cooked and the gravy is thickened.

Mrs.Mano
9th January 2006, 08:18 PM
Dear Suganthi!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on IDLI PODI.

Mrs.Mano
9th January 2006, 08:20 PM
Dear Pr!

Dev's suggestion is correct. You can try cookie cutters for vaious shapes when making cutlets.

Ivete
9th January 2006, 08:58 PM
Hi, Mrs. Mano,
How are you?
When you mention poppy seeds in yr recipes do you mean the white ones or black ones? I have both.
Best regards!

RedPepper
10th January 2006, 12:37 AM
Ivete, I guess it should be white poppy seeds.

Mrs.Mano, may I know the use of black poppy seeds? I have a box of it and don't know what to do with it.

Thank you.

rsankar
10th January 2006, 01:11 PM
Hello Mrs. Mano,
Thanks for the recipes.

rsankar.

Ivete
10th January 2006, 05:28 PM
Hi, Red Pepper,
Thank you for the reply. I have both.
I just visited yr blog and some of the pictures don't have the correspondent recipe. Could you add those? They look so good, it's such a pity not knowing how to prepare them.
Bye!

Mrs.Mano
10th January 2006, 08:29 PM
Dear Ivete!

Glad to see yr posting in the forum hub after a long time. Hope you would have received my mail.
It is surprising that there are black poppy seeds also! I have not known about it. I have mentioned about white poppy seeds only. In fact, in U.A.E, the use of poppy seeds is banned. So I can use it in India only.

minir
10th January 2006, 08:42 PM
Hello redpepper,

Just saw your blogspot...Its awesome and very delicious to see..Is there any way to get the recipes???I feel when hungry,i just have to look at the pictures....Very nice....

Mini

Ivete
10th January 2006, 10:30 PM
Hi, Mrs. Mano,
You're right! It's been a long time!
The black poppy seeds are the same size as mustard seeds and the colour is dark grey. Very dark. They have a nutty flavour very delicate. The white ones I have are very tiny, very cute.
It's a pity I cannot send you the black ones for you to taste.
Maybe when you go to India.
Ivete

Kasthuri
10th January 2006, 11:03 PM
Dear Mano,

I am Kasthuri and new to this thread. I just got your link while searching the recipe for "neer urundai". I am basically from Kumbakonam but now in USA for past 3 years for work. Nice to know that you are also from Tanjavore.

I am very happy to see your tamilnadu recipies link and really admire your selfless service.

I tired your "meenkulambu", "egg curry" and "Potato - 65" recipes and they came out very nice.

Hats off to you!!!!!!!!!!!!

As pongal is approaching , could you send me the recipe for Ven pongal, Sarkaari pongal and the veg kostu?

Thanks in Advance.

pr
11th January 2006, 07:53 AM
Dear Mrs Mano
I dont how i missed the recipe for idiyappam with batter posted by you . Today when i was goin thru ur thread i found that u have given the recipe . Thank u very much for the recipe . i will try and let u know the results ..
Pr

kavim10
12th January 2006, 06:20 AM
Hi Mrs. Mano,
I am new to this forum and i am just amazed at how much u have contributed. I tried a few dishes from this forum and it came out wonderful. I can only wish if i had found out before. I would love to have the recipe for Hyderabad biryani, if u have it please post it.

rain
12th January 2006, 11:52 PM
hello mrs.mano,

hope u had a lovely beginning to the new year.
tried the ragi dosa.it was a nice change .quite filling too.and also found the bread-idli batter combo a really tasty way to use up leftover batter.thanks again !

regards,
rain

deviraja
13th January 2006, 06:23 AM
HI Mrs.mano Happy new year to u and ur family!! do u know the recipe of cauliflower roast dosai that we get in restaurants in salem ,coimbatore ,if so pls let me know it srivari2000@yahoo.com

Mrs.Mano
13th January 2006, 11:27 AM
[tscii:b13271850a]Dear Kasthuri!

A warm Welcome to the forumhub as well as this Tamilnadu delicacies thread!!!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on potato-65, meen kuzhambu and egg curry. The recipes you have asked had already been posted in this thread. I am again re-posting them here for you with a few corrections.

PONGAL KUZHAMBU:

Pressure cook 3 handfuls of lentils. Soak a small orange size of tamarind in warm water. Extract the juice after ½ hour. Roast a handful of boiled rice, 1 tbsp of raw rice, 1sp of cumin seeds, 1sp of peppercorns and 1sp of aniseeds in a dry pan to a nice brown colour. Grind them to a nice powder. For this kuzhambu, 6 important vegetables are needed. Add a handful of chopped tomatoes, a handful of avaraikkai[cut into 1” pieces], a handful of red pumpkin pieces[cut into 1” pieces], 2 handfuls of sweet potatoes[cut into 1” pieces], a handful of brinjal pieces[cut into medium pieces], 2 raw bananas[cut into cubes] and most importantly 2 cups of mochaikkai in a cooking vessel and add enough water to cover it. Cook them with enough salt and 1 tsp of turmeric powder. When the vegetables are half done, add the tamarind juice, 2tbsps of chilli powder and 1 tbsp of coriander powder. After cooking them for some minutes add the dhal and mix well. Again cook for a few minutes. Now add the powder and mix well. Add 1 cup of shredded coconut and mix well. Cook under slow fire for 5 minutes. Garnish with curry leaves.

SARKKARAI PONGAL:

Fry 1/4 cup of split green gram dhal in a kadai in 1sp ghee to a light brown colour or until a nice aroma floats on the air. Soak this dhal with 1 cup of raw rice in water for 1 hour. Soak 2tbsps of almonds in hot water and then remove the skins. Slice them nicely. Fry the almond slices, 2tbsps of split cashew nuts, and 2tbsps of seedless raisins separately in ghee. Fry 2tbsps of shredded coconut in a tbsp of ghee. Soak a pinch of saffron in ¼ cup of warm milk. Powder 2 cups of jaggery. Pour enough water to cover the jaggery. Let it boil. Make thin syrup of it and put off the fire. Pour 3 cups of water and 2 cups of milk [full cream] in a cooking vessel. Let it simmer on heat. When it starts to simmer, add the rice and the dhal. Cook under medium flame. When they are almost cooked, add the jaggery syrup and mix well. Again cook for a few minutes. Now add all the remaining ingredients and 1/4 cup of ghee. Mix well and cook until the pongal is set well.

VEN PONGAL:

Soak 1 cup of raw rice for /2 hour. Boil 3 cups of water and 2 cups of full cream milk in a cooking vessel. When it starts simmering, add the rice to it and cook on a medium flame until the rice is almost cooked. Add 1 cup of shredded coconut and a little salt. Mix well and cook until it is done.
[This ven pongal is eaten with sweet thick curd which is prepared from cow’s milk. In villages, the remaining pongal is immersed in water and kept overnight in the same mud vessel. In the morning it will be a heavenly taste to eat this with sweet curd and one day old pongal kuzhambu. ]

[/tscii:b13271850a]

Mrs.Mano
13th January 2006, 11:30 AM
DEAR FRIENDS!

WISH YOU ALL A VERY HAPPY PONGAL!!!

Mrs.Mano
14th January 2006, 11:21 PM
Dear friends!

I am now touring Tamilnadu on some urgent business. I will come back to this thread after 10 days.

gvb
15th January 2006, 03:02 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano
Wish you and your family a happy pongal.
Good Luck touring Tamil nadu!!

Suganthi.

Kasthuri
17th January 2006, 03:34 AM
Dear Mano,

Thanks a lot for your recipe. You made my Pongal day with your delicious recipes. I tried Sarkarai ponga, ven pongal and Pongal kozhambu for the first time and it came out very nice. Got appreciation from my husband and friends.

Wish you a very happy and Safe hourney.

Jonu
17th January 2006, 04:23 AM
Hello Mrs Manno ,

How are you ? I am Sonia and am new to this site and am really amazed to view all your Recipes and the response you have got from everyone , But I would really apperciate if you could send me Recipe of ' PRAWN CURRY ' I looked In Old Response But Its not available my email is , ' Jonu_monu@hotmail.com ' thanks a lot for sharing your recipes .

Bye Sonia

arrecipes
19th January 2006, 07:04 AM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
I would like to make chicken gravy without the trace of the onion eventhough we use it like the one which we used to get at the restaurants. The output which i am expecting is something thick liquid in which we have the chicken pieces. I don't know how to express it fully. Hope u understand me and let me know a recipe in that regard.

dev
19th January 2006, 07:30 AM
arrecipes,

ever tried grinding the masala mixture & then cooking chicken in it... I mean the oinion,tomato,masala powders after being sauteed in oil-let it cool & grind it to a paste... to this add the chicken pieces & cook as usual... I do this foe channa masala & a few veggie side-dishes...

dev
19th January 2006, 07:44 AM
Mrs.Mano,

Tried ur sambar powder & made sambar(using capscicum) the way U've mentioned... it turned out to be yummy...

I roasted all the ingredients together in a dry pan until it gave a nice flavour-is this right or should I roast each ingredient sepeately?...& does a spoon mean a flat spoon or a heaped spoon?... I used the flat spoon measure...When I ground the powder,I felt the coriander flavour is too strong & my sambar is gonna turn out like kolambu... But when I added the powder to the dhal-veg mixture, it turned out to be a perfect sambar in taste... but the flavour was very mild... is there anything I can do to make the flavour even stronger without changing the taste much?... & is there any specific variety of chilli to be used in the recipe... I used the round variety(I guess it's called guntur milagai)... Since it's a hot variety,I used less of it & so the sambar didn't turn orangish... it was very much yellowish(had to add an extra pinch of turmeric to give some colour)...Should I be using the long variety of chilli to give a nice colour to the sambar?...

Anyways, I finally suceeded in making a sambar powder to our taste & have decided to make my own sambar powder from now on... good-bye to all store bought sambar powders... Thanks a ton for the recipe,Mrs.Mano... It was so easy to make...U'll be remembered forever in my house whenever I make sambar...:)

arrecipes
19th January 2006, 10:31 PM
Dev,
I have tried the chicken curry by grinding all the onion, tomato etc. it does not give the flavour like the one we used to get in the restaurant, I am not sure of what i am missing.

RedPepper
20th January 2006, 12:33 AM
Dev,
I too tried your technique of grinding onion masala mixture and cooking chicken in it. I liked the outcome. I have the picture I will post it sometime soon.

Suja Rajkumar
21st January 2006, 07:31 PM
Mrs. Mano,
I tried your pepper chicken last night. The taste was simply great. Thanks so much for the recipe.

Suja

TJ
24th January 2006, 06:10 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano

I am a new hubber and now a regular visitor to your topic. Yesterday I had guests at home and I prepared your Chettinad Chicken gravy. they all liked it very much and the credit goes to you!! I like your recipes and want to try more of them!
Thanks a lot!

cynthia_a02
25th January 2006, 11:55 PM
hai Mrs.Mano,
i need some healthy and delicious and easily digestible receipes for my 1 yr old kid.kindly post them soon.i'm giving ur sathu mavoo to him.he likes it very much.thanks in advance.

dev
26th January 2006, 06:54 AM
cynthia,

Mrs.Mano is on a trip to India... She can post replies only after she's back... U can try looking into the Baby foods thread if U need recipes urgently...

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:20 PM
Hello Rain!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on ragi dosai as well as the bread&idli batter combo.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:23 PM
Hello Sonia!

Thanks for the greetings. I do not have the knowledge about the cauliflower roast dosai which is being prepared in the restaurants of salem and coimbatore.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:24 PM
Dear Kasthuri!

Thank you very much for the feedback on pongal varieties and the pongal kuzhambu. I felt very happy to know that you got nice appreciation from your husband and yr friends for preparing them deliciously!

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:29 PM
I have mentioned as Sonia instead of Deviraja when I posted my reply to a query of Deviraja. I regret for the mistake really.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:29 PM
Hello Sonia!

Thanks a lot for the nice appreciation. It is difficult for me to send recipes to anybody by emails. If you still want the prawn curry, it can be posted here for you. Write to me about it.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:37 PM
Dear Arrecipes!

Here is a chicken gravy recipe which has no onion in it.

TOMATO CHICKEN GRAVY:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1 kilo
Peppercorns- 1 tsp
Red chillies- 12
Garlic flakes-8
Shredded coconut- 1 cup
Fennel seeds- 2 tsp
Cardamom-2
Cinnamon- 1 piece
Cloves-2
Curry leaves- a handful
Oil- 1/4 cup
Salt to taste
Red chilli powder-2 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chopped tomatoes- 3 cups

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and pour a table spoon of oil. Fry 1 tsp of fennel seeds, peppercorns, red chillies, garlic flakes, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, and the shredded coconut to a golden brown colour. Then grind them to a fine paste. Again heat the kadai and pour the remaining oil. Add the remaining fennel seeds with the curry leaves and fry them for a few seconds. Then add the tomato pieces with the turmeric powder. Fry them until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Then add the chicken pieces with the chilli powder and the ground paste. Cook the chicken well until you get the desired consistency.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:39 PM
Hello Dev!

First I wish to express my heartiest thanks for the nice feedback on my sambar podi as well as the sambar.
You can use the flat spoon measurement. The red coloured -long type of fleshy red chillies are more suitable for the sambar powder. In Tamilnadu, saathoor milakai is suitable. There is no need to roast the ingredients separately. You can combine all the ingredients and fry them for a few seconds-just warming them is enough. Do not lessen the measurement of red chillies. Then the taste and the flavour will not be delicious.
This sambar is an all time favourite recipe for my family and the friends around me. Also I wish to give a tip on it. Ladies finger, carrot, peerkangai and drumstick will always double the flavour of the sambar. Brinjal, and radish will lesson the taste.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:40 PM
Hello Suja!

Thank you very much for the feedback on PEPPER CHICKEN.

Mrs.Mano
27th January 2006, 10:41 PM
Dear TJ!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on chettinadu chicken gravy

kavim10
28th January 2006, 02:20 AM
Mrs. Mano,
I tried ur sambar sadham, it was so very delicious. Thanks for ur great recipe.

dev
28th January 2006, 10:59 AM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

Thanks a lot for clarifying my doubts & for the special tips... Will try out the sambar podi again once I buy the long chillies... Thanks again...:)

Thattai
1st February 2006, 04:26 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

Finally got the chance to try the avarakkai poriyal recipe that you had provided. Made it along with your poondu vengayam kuzhambu. Both were very well appreciated. I am currently at my sister's place for a while and she has also been introduced to the phenomena of Mrs. Mano!!

Anyways, just wanted to let you know that both turned out very well, and they were both very simple to make as well, which is always a bonus.

thattai

Jonu
1st February 2006, 09:57 PM
Dear Mrs Mano ,

Thanks for replying , How are you doing ?

Mrs Mano I did try your recipes ' Chicken Chukka ' and Chettinadu Chicken Biryani ' they turned out to be so yummy My hubby Just loved it thanks for sharing your recipes and I would apperciate If you could post 'Prawn Curry ' Recipe here Its fine with me . Take care now .

Regards ,
Sonia .

cynthia_a02
2nd February 2006, 07:37 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano and Thattai,
Thanks to thattai i tried the poondu kulambu.it is very very nice.
thanks a lot.bye.take care.

cynthia_a02
5th February 2006, 07:16 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I'm having a doubt.I want to know how many min needed to pressure cook the idlies to get soft idlies.bye.thanks in advance.

Mrs.Mano
5th February 2006, 10:42 PM
[tscii:1b4d76d19e]Dear Kavim10!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on sambar sadham. Here is a link for the recipe, ‘Hyderabad briyani’.
http://www.geetham.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4170

[/tscii:1b4d76d19e]

Mrs.Mano
5th February 2006, 10:56 PM
Dear Sonia!

Thank you very much for the feedback on chettinadu chicken briyani and chicken chukka. It has really made me very happy to know that you got appreciation for cooking them. Here I am posting a few different recipes on prawns for you.

CHILLI GARLIC PRAWN MASALA[CHINESE STYLE]

Ingredients:

Prawns [cleaned and washed] - 3 cups
Chopped spring onions- 1 cup
Diced capsicum- 1/2 cup
Slit green chillies-2
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Ajinomoto-1/4 tsp
Crushed tomato-1 cup
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Enough oil

Procedure:

Pour 2 tbsp of oil in a pan. Add the spring onion with the green chillies and the turmeric powder and fry well. Then add the pastes and fry for a few minutes.
Add the tomatoes with the chilli powder, prawns, salt, capsicum and the aji-no-moto and cook for some minutes until the gravy is thickened and the prawns are cooked well.

MALABAR PRAWN CURRY:

Ingredients:

Prawns- 1/2 kilo
Shredded ginger- 1/2 cup[fried in a little oil to golden brown colour]
Chopped onion-2
Crushed tomato- 1 cup
Salt to taste
Enough oil
Grind the following ingredients to a fine paste:
Green chillies-2
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Chilli powder- 2 ts
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Sambar onions-8

Procedure:

Marinate the prawns with the paste and enough salt for 30 minutes.
Then shallow fry them in enough oil. Keep them away.
Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the onion and fry well for a few minutes. Then add the tomatoes and fry them for a few minutes until they are mashed well.
Add the fried prawns and the fried coconut and cook for a few seconds.

Mrs.Mano
5th February 2006, 11:04 PM
[tscii:262bb792d4]Recently I have tried the following recipes which I have learnt from my friend. They turned out deliciously. I wish to share them with all of you. First, I am posting here the “Horsegram masiyal” [KOLLU MASIYAL]. This can be eaten as a side dish. We can mix this with hot rice and ghee. This will be delicious to eat.

HORSEGRAM MASIYAL:

Ingredients:

HORSEGRAM- 1 CUP
Chopped tomato-1/2 cup
Green chillies-2
Coriander seeds- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds-1/2 tsp
Red chillies-1
Chopped sambar onions- 1/2 cup
Crushed tomatoes- 2 cups
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Oil- 4 tbsps
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Pressure cook the horsegram with chopped tomatoes, green chillies, coriander seeds, cumin seeds, red chilli, turmeric powder and 3 cups of water.
Drain the water and mash the cooked horsegram well to a coarse paste. Heat a pan and pour the oil. Add the onions with the tomatoes and cook well until they are mashed well. Add this to the kollu masiyal and mix well. Add chopped coriander leaves.

KORSEGRAM RASAM:

Soak a lime-sized tamarind in a cup of water for 1 hour and then extract its juice. Mix this to the drain kollu water. The rasam should be measured to 5 cups.
Add 1 cup of mashed tomatoes, 1/2 tsp of turmeric powder and enough salt to the kollu water. Pour the rasam in a pan and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Then add 1/2 tsp of sambar powder, an arc of curry leaves and a handful of chopped coriander leaves. Let the rasam simmer again for 2 minutes. Heat a small kadai and pour 2 tsp of gingelly oil. Add 1 tsp of mustard seeds. When they splutter, add a small piece of asafoida and pour this tempering in the rasam.
[/tscii:262bb792d4]

Mrs.Mano
5th February 2006, 11:12 PM
Dear Cynthia!

Thanks for the feedback on Poondu vengkaya kuzhambu.
Regarding yr query on idli-Do not pressure cook them. The idlies will be flattened due to the pressure. Just steam them for 12 minutes

Mrs.Mano
5th February 2006, 11:15 PM
Dear Thattai!

Thank you very much for yr heart warming feedback on avaraikkai poriyal and poondu vengkaayak kuzhambu

manjusiva
7th February 2006, 04:15 PM
Dear Mrs Mano,

I am trying many of ur recipes and they turn out really too good. :D
u are doing a very great job. thanks a lot. ur response is too good and very prompt and i am going through this thread for the past one month and found it to be very interesting.

recently i tried the coconut burfi. though i put off the fire, only when i was able to make a small ball out of it , the burfi remains soft and sticky. it never gets dry. i followed the same proportion of milk, shredded coconut and sugar. though the taste is very good, i do not get the burfi in proper shape. :(

please let me know where i would have gone wrong.

thanks

cynthia_a02
7th February 2006, 08:16 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thank u very much for ur reply.i've cooked idlies for 12 min and get soft idlies.thanks a lot again. since we r living here , i cann't make a call to my mother to clarify my doubts.appidiyae call pannalum micha kathaiyellam pesittu kekka nenachathai marathudivein.u r doing a great job.thanks a lot.bye.

cynthia_a02
7th February 2006, 10:05 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i'm having a lot of parrupu podi(bought from india).what to do with this?shall i use it in vegetables.pleasegive some suggestions.thanks in advance.bye.take care.

Jonu
8th February 2006, 05:09 AM
Dear Mrs Mano ,

How are you ? Thanks a lot for the Prawn recipes will make it next week .

Mrs Mano apperciation goes to you for sharing all your yummy and wonderful recipes with us , If not for you wont be able to cook yummy food for my family . This week I made Hyderabad Chicken and Kerala Spicy chicken masala and It turned out to be very spicy and yummy as we eat spicy food thanks once again for your wonderful recipes .

Mrs Mano I also want to make Idlis and Dosas , but my batter never comes out to be fine and Idlis dont turn out to be soft , Nor Dosas turn out to be crispy or golden , I use the measurment of 2 Cups Rice and 1 Cup Urad dal for Idli and same amount for Dosa with 1tsp Fenugreek seeds to soak with Rice and yet results are not good , Please let me know the right amount of Rice and Dal and the time to cook the Idlis . We are staying in Panama City Central America and we have heavy rains for 9 to 10 months of the year .

Thanks a lot ,
Regards ,

Sonia .

rajshank
10th February 2006, 04:27 AM
Hi Mrs. Mano,

I have a question that always occurs to me when i have to use coconut milk for any recipe. For me its more convenient to use canned coconut milk, which is very thick. But when a recipe calls for seperate 1st, 2nd and even 3rd extracts, how do i get that consistency with canned coconut milk. Here i even have the option of "Lite Coconut milk", which is not as thick as regular canned coconut milk. I have been postponing quite a few recipies just because of all that additional work.

Hope you had a wonderful trip to India!!!

Thanks a million
Rajshank

dev
10th February 2006, 12:01 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

I made my new batch of sambar powder today... this time it was using long chillies... measure as U've mentioned... This time the powder has a beautiful colour & the flavour too is differnt from what I made the previous time... The coriander smell isn't that dominating this time... The only concern is tht I'm not able to make a fine powder using my mixie... it's a bit coarse but still it tasted great last time...:) Thanks a lot for clarifying all my doubts... Will make sambar tomorrow & let U know how it turned out...

Also, thanks a lot for sharing the kollu masiyal recipe... We usually make kollu chutney & kollu rasam using horsegram... Masiyal is something new to me...:)

Noodles
11th February 2006, 01:44 PM
[tscii:cd7c70d5ed]
=== Mrs. Mano ===

Chutneys/Thuhaiyals

BRINJAL CHUTNEY:

Grill one big brinjal well until the outer skin is changed into black. Then peel it and keep the flesh. Soak a small gooseberry sized tamarind in quarter cup of water. Heat a kadai and pour 4tbsp gingelly oil. Add 1 cup of chopped onion, 6 red chillies, and 2 cups of chopped tomatoes. Fry them until the vegetables are well mashed and the oil comes on the surface. Grind them with the brinjal flesh, tamarind and enough salt to a slightly coarse mixture. Temper with mustard seeds, a few curry leaves and asafoetida powder.

PEERKANGAI THUKAIYAL:
Ingredients:

Peerkangai- 250 gms, 2 tbsp black gram, 2tbsps Bengal gram, asafotida- a pea sized, red chillies-3, green chillies-3, tamarind- a gooseberry sized, oil- 3tbsp, salt to taste

Procedure:
Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Fry the asafotida, and the dals to a golden brown colour. Then add the chillies and the peerkangai pieces and fry till the vegetable becomes soft. When cooled, grind the fried ingredients with the tamarind and enough salt to a coarse paste.

CHOW CHOW THUKAIYAL:

Ingredients:
Chow chow- 1 [medium sized], chopped tomatoes- ½ cup, lentils- 2 tbsp, black gram- 1 tbsp, asafotida- a pea-sized, tamarind- a marble sized, red chillies-3, green chillies-2, oil- 2 tbsp, salt to taste

Procedure:
Cut the chow chow in to small pieces. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the dals and the asafotida. Fry them to a golden brown colour. Then add the chow chow pieces with the chillies and fry till the vegetable become soft. When cooled, grind all the ingredients with the tamarind and enough salt to a coarse paste.

PARUPPU THUKAIYAL:

Ingredients:
½ cup lentils, 1 cup- shredded coconut, peppercorns- ¼ tsp, red chillies-3, garlic flakes-3, salt to taste, 3 tbsp- oil

Procedure:
Fry the lentils in the oil to a golden brown colour. At the last stage add the peppercorns and the red chilies and fry for a minute. When cooled, grind the fried ingredients with the shredded coconut, garlic flakes and enough salt to a coarse paste.

GREEN CHILLI PICKLE:

Ingredients:

Green chillies- 100gms
Tamarind- a big lemon size
Fenugreek seeds- 1 tsp
White sesame seeds [ellu] - 1 tsp
Asafetida- a marble-sized piece
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Enough gingelly oil
Powdered Jaggerry- 1 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp

Procedure:

Slit all the green chillies slightly at the tail ends. Soak the tamarind in enough water for 30 minutes and then extract its juice.
Heat a kadai and roast the sesame seeds, fenugreek seeds and asofetida in a little oil and then powder them finely when cooled. Again pour the gingelly oil in the kadai and heat it. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the green chillies and fry them well on medium fire until they change their colour. Add the tamarind extract with the turmeric powder and enough salt. Cook the pickle until all the water is evaporated and is thickened like gravy. Now add the fried powder with the jaggery and cook for a few more minutes on a very slow fire.

KOTHAMALLI THOKKU.[CORIANDER THOKKU]

Ingredients:

Coriander leaves- 2 big handfuls.
Red chillies: 15nos.
Split black gram- 3/4 cup[150 gram]
Asafoetida- a small piece
Tamarind- a small lemon size
Gingely oil
Enough salt.

METHOD:

Remove the big stems and wash the coriander leaves well. Coriander leaves with short stems will give more delicious taste. If so, there is no need to leave away the stems. Dry the leaves on a paper or a cloth.
In a kadai, pour 1sp of gingely oil and fry the asafotida piece. Then fry the red chillies for a few seconds. Take away the red chillies. In the same oil, fry the black gram on slow fire to a golden brown colour. This thokku is especially prepared in a ural. But we couldn't get that nowadays. So we can make this in a mixie. Powder the fried ingredients. Take away the powder.
In the mixie, put the tamarind pieces and pour 2 tsp of gingely oil. Run the mixie in high speed for a minute. Open it and see whether the tamarind has been crushed. If not, add one or two spoons of gingelly oil and again grind for a minute. Now add the powder and again run the mixie for a minute. Then add the coriander leaves and run the mixie for 2 minutes. Then open it and add enough salt. Again run the mixie for a minute. Now Kothamalli thokku is ready to serve.

PEANUT PUNNAKKU CHUTNEY

Heat 2 Tbsp. oil in a pan. Add 6 dry red chillies, 1 Tbsp. urad dal and 1/4 tsp. asafoetida powder and fry a little. Then add 1/2 cup of peanut punnakku, 2 pods garlic, 2 Tbsp. grated coconut, then finally add little curry leaves, coriander leaves, salt, small gooseberry size tamarind. Fry a little , remove from stove . When cool grind to a fine paste, chutney is ready.

RED CHUTNEY:

Fry 3tbsp Bengal gram, 2tbsps black gram, 6 dry chillies in oil to LIGHT BROWN COLOUR. Grind them with a small gooseberry-sized tamarind, 5 peppercorns, 2tbsps shredded coconut, and 2tbsps chopped coriander leaves. Mix butter to the chutney in 8tbsps:50gms ratio.

TOMATO ONION CHUTNEY [RED CHUTNEY]:

Grind 2 onions, with 5 medium tomatoes, 1/2sp aniseed, 8 red chillies and enough salt to a fine paste. In a kadai, pour 4 tbsp of gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the ground masala. Cook it on a medium fire until all the water in it is evaporated and the oil comes on the surface. Pour a tsp of gingelly oil and mix well. Put off the fire.

TOMATO ONION CHUTNEY:

In 2tbsps oil, fry 2 handfuls of small onions and 1sp asafoetida powder nicely. Add 2 cups of crushed tomato and fry well. Fry separately one handful of black gram, one handful of Bengal gram and one handful of red chillies nicely. Grind these all with 1/2 coconut [shredded], gooseberry size tamarind and enough salt.

TOMATO PICKLE

Ingredients:
Ripe Tomatoes 1 kg
Tamarind 80 grms
Chilli Powder 70 grms
Mustard 2 tbsps
Fenugreek 2 tbsps
Asfoetida 1 teasp
Salt 2 tbsps - or to taste
Oil 250 ml - or 1 cup gingly oil
Mustard 1 teasp - for tampering

METHOD OF PREPARATION

Wash and wipe dry the tomatoes. Put them in a deep bowl, and steam it in a steamer, till the skin shrinks.
Remove the bowl from the steamer.
Remove the tomatoes with a perforated spoon.
When the tomatoes become cold, remove the skins and blend it in a blender.
There will be tomato juice in the bowl.
Soak the tamarind in the juice. (add little hot water if the juice is not enough )
Make a thick extract,remove all fibres and scum.
Roast the funugreek and mustard , and powder it.
Take a kadai , pour the oil and put mustard on low flame. When mustard starts to crackle, add the asfoetida, the tomato pulp, and the tamarind extract.
Let it boil, till the water evoparates.
Keep stirring all the time.
Now add the chillie , mustard, and fenugreek powders, and also the salt.
Stir till the oil starts leaving.
Remove it and let it cool. When cold, fill up in a clean bottle.
It keeps well in a fridge for about 2 months.

TOMATO THOKKU-1:

Fry 1sp fenugreek seeds and a pea-sized asafoetida in a tsp of oil to a golden brown colour and then powder them finely. Grind 4 big tomatoes with a gooseberry-sized tamarind and 7 red chillies to a fine paste. Pour this in a pan and heat it. Add 1sp turmeric powder and mix well. Cook until all the water is evaporated. Then heat a kadai and pour 6tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil become hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add 1 arc curry leaves, and 10 chopped garlic flakes and fry them on a slow fire for a few seconds. The colour of the garlic flakes should not be changed. Then add the cooked tomato paste and enough salt. Cook on slow fire for some minutes until the oil floats on the surface. Add the fried powder and mix well. Cook for a few minutes and then put off the fire.

TOMATO THOKKU-2:

Soak a big lime-sized tamarind in a cup of water for 1 hour and then extract its thick juice. Fry 1sp fenugreek seeds and a pea-sized asafoetida in a sp of oil to a golden brown colour and then powder them finely. Heat a kadai and add 6 to 7 tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add 1 and half cup of crushed tomatoes and 1 cup of finely chopped small onions with 1sp turmeric powder. Cook them until they are thickened. Then add the tamarind juice and mix well. Again cook until the paste is thickened. Add 2sp chilli powder, the fried powder and enough salt. Mix well and cook the thokku for 10 minutes on slow fire.

TOMATO COCONUT KUZHAMBU:

Heat 2tbsps of oil. Add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add 1cup of chopped onion and 1 cup of chopped tomato. Fry well until they are mashed and oil floats on the top. Add 2sps chilli powder, 1sp coriander powder and 1sp turmeric powder and fry for a few minutes. Grind 1 cup of shredded coconut with 1sp ginger to a fine paste. Add this to the masala with 1 cup of water and enough salt. Cook until it is well blended.

DHANIYA TOMATO CHUTNEY:

In 1tbsp of oil, fry one handful of coriander seeds and 6 red chillies. Take them away. Again, in 2sps of oil, fry 1 cup of crushed tomato, 1 spring curry leaves, 10 garlic flakes, 1sp ginger and 10 small onions. Grind them to a fine paste with enough salt.

PEERKANGAI [RIDGE GOURD] KOTHSU:

Soak a lemon sized tamarind for half an hour and extract the thick juice from it. Cook 1 cup pf split green gram dhal in a kadai. When it is almost done, add 1/2 kilo peerkankai which are chopped very finely. Add 1sp turmeric powder and 4 slit green chillies also. When they are well cooked put off the fire and mash them with a potato masher. Heat 2 tbsps of oil and add 1sp of mustard seeds. When they splutter, add one onion and three tomatoes which are finely chopped. Cook until they are well mashed. Add the Tamarind juice and 1/2 cup of water. When they simmer for a few minutes, add the green gram gravy. Mix well. Add enough salt and water. Add 2tbsps of chopped coriander leaves and cook for a few minutes.

LADIES FINGER CHUTNEY:

Cut 4 ladies fingers into small pieces and fry them nicely in a tbsp of oil. Take them out. Add 1sp cumin seeds, 1 onion and 1 tomato [which are chopped nicely], 4 green chillies and 7 garlic flakes and fry them well until all are mashed well. Grind them all coarsely with a marble sized tamarind and enough salt.

RADISH CHUTNEY:

In a tsp of oil, fry a pea sized asafoetida and 4sps of black gram to a light brown colour. Grind them coarsely with one handful of shredded coconut, two handfuls of nicely cut radish, 7 green chillies, a small gooseberry sized tamarind and enough salt.

CABBAGE CHUTNEY:

In 2tbsps oil, fry 1sp of black gram, 1sp of Bengal gram, 1 onion, 1 tomato, 1sp ginger, and 2 garlic flakes. Add 1 cup of shredded cabbage and fry for a few minutes. Grind them all with a marble sized tamarind, 1tbsp shredded coconut and enough salt.

KATHTHARIKKAI AND POTATO KOTHSU

Ingredients:

Small brinjals-3[finely chopped]
Potato-1[cut into cubes]
Chopped tomatoes-1 cup
Slit green chillies-4
Big onion-2[chopped]
Turmeric powder-1sp
Mustard seeds-1sp
A small piece asafotida
Chopped coriander and curry leaves
Red chillies-4
Salt to taste
Oil-3tbsp
salt to taste

METHOD:

Place the brinjals, potato, tomato, onions and green chillies in a bowl, add enough water to cover the vegetables and pressure cook them to 5 or 6 whistles.
Then take the bowl out, and drain the water into another bowl.
Mash well the vegetables with the help of a potato masher.
Then again add the cooked water to it with 1 sp turmeric powder and enough salt.
Heat a kadai, and pour the oil.

When the oil becomes hot add the mustard seeds, the asafoetida , red chillies and the chopped leaves.
Pour this tempering to the prepared kothsu and let it simmer.
If the kothsu is too thick then you can add 1/2 to 1 cup of water for the right consistency.
Just let it simmer for 5 minutes only.
If this kothsu is simmered for a long time then its taste will not be the same.

KATHTHARIKKAI AND TOMATO KOTHSU

Ingredients:

Small brinjals-4
Red chillies-4
Coriander seeds-1sp
Gram dal-2sp
Mustards-1sp
Asafoetida powder-1sp
Curry leaves-1 spring
Onion-1[finely chopped]
Tomatoes-2 cup [finely crushed]
Turmeric powder-1sp
Chopped coriander leaves-2tbsp
Enough oil
Salt to taste

Method:

Grill the brinjals on a gas fire until they are well cooked.
Then remove the outer cover and take out the flesh.
In a little oil, fry the red chillies, and the coriander seeds to a golden colour and powder them with the gram dal.
Again in 2 or 3tbsps oil, toss the mustard seeds, asafotida, and curry leaves. Then add the onion and tomatoes.
Cook them until they are mashed well and the oil comes on the top.
Now add the katharikkai flesh and toss them for some minutes.
Add 1 cup or 2 cups of water, the powder, 1sp turmeric powder and enough salt.
Let it simmer until the gravy is thickened. Add the chopped coriander leaves and mix well.

CHICKEN MARINADE:

At first marinate the chicken with a little meat tenderizer or ground pappaya and lemon juice for half an hour. Then add ground ginger paste, ginger paste, beaten curd, chilli powder, roasted cumin powder and turmeric powder and mix well. Marinate for 2 hours before grilling.
Variations:You can add a little garam masala powder or powdered aniseed. You can imagine new variations. Ginger paste, garlic paste and curd are the important things for any marinade. Sometimes vinegar is used instead of yogurt and lemon juice. Soya sauce, chilli sauce and Worcestershire sauce are also used in some Chinese recipes.

FISH MARINADE:

There is no need for yogurt for the marinade. Instead of it, you must add lime juice. Just use chilli powder, turmeric powder, ginger and garlic paste, a little pepper powder and fennel powder. You can add a few small onions when grinding ginger and garlic.

[/tscii:cd7c70d5ed]

Noodles
11th February 2006, 03:49 PM
[tscii:daecf0fb94]For all the Fellow Hubbers!
Enjoy Happy Cooking!

=== Mrs. Mano ===

--- Curry/Kulambu/Masala ---

ALOO GOBI MASALA:

Ingredients:

Diced potato- 2 cups
Cauliflower florets- 4 cups
Tomato juice- 1/2 cup
Chopped onion- 1/2 cup
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Coriander powder- 1 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Ginger paste-1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Green chillies- 2
Garam masala powder- 1/2 tsp
Butter- 2 tbsp
Oil- 2 tbsp enough salt

Procedure:

Steam the vegetables until they are cooked firmly. Grind coarsely the onion with the green chillies, garlic and the ginger pastes. Heat a kadaia nd pour the oil and add the butter. Add the paste and fry it for a few minutes on slow fire until it turns in to a golden brown colour. Add the cooked vegetables with all the powders, tomato juice and enough salt. Let the gravy cook for some minutes until every thing is blended well and you get the desired consistency.

ARAITHTHU VITTA SAMBAR:
Ingredients:

Lentils- 1/4 cup
Tamarind- a small lime size
Small onions- a handful
Chopped tomatoes- 1 to 2 cups
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Oil- 4 tbsp
Asafotida powder- 1 tsp
Salt to taste
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chopped coriander - 3 tbsp
Curry leaves- a handful

Roast the following ingredients in a spoon of oil and then grind them to a paste:

Red chillies-4, Bengal gram- 2 tsp, black gram- 1 tsp, coriander seeds- 3 tsp, fenugreek seeds- 1/2 tsp, shredded coconut- 3 tbsps

Procedure:

Pressure cook the lentils.
Soak the tamarind in enough water for an hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the sambar onions with the A.Powder and fry them well. Add the tomatoes with the turmeric powder and fry them until the oil floats on the surface. Add the tamarind extract and let it boil for a few minutes. Then add the ground paste with enough salt and the cooked lentils and allow the sambar simmer for some minutes. Add the chopped coriander leaves and the curry leaves.

BABY CORN AND PALAK MASALA:

Ingredients:

Bay corns- 1/2 kilo
Chopped palak- 2 cups
Crushed tomato-2 cups
Chopped onion- 1
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Chopped coriander leaves- 3 tbsp
Oil- 4 tbsp
Grind the following ingredients in to a fine paste:
Coriander powder-2 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1/2 tsp
Peppercorns- 10
Ginger- 1/2 tsp
Small garlic flakes-5

Procedure:

Blanch the spinach leaves in hot water. Remove, drain and puree in a food processor to a fine paste. Cut the baby corns into 1/2 inch pieces. Heat a pan and pour the oil. Saute the bay corns with the onion for a few minutes. Add the turmeric powder and the ground paste and fry for a few seconds. Then add the crushed tomatoes and fry for a few minutes. Add a little water and cook the bay corns until they become tender and the gravy is thickened. Add the ground palak with the coriander leaves. Cook the gravy until every thing is well blended.

BUTTER CHICKEN:

Ingredients: Chicken pieces- 1 kilo Curd- 1 cup Chilli powder- 2 tsp Garam masala powder- 1 1/2 sp Ginger paste- 1 tbsp Garlic paste- 1 tbsp Lime juice- 2 tbsp Butter- 8 tbsp Finely chopped onion- 1 cup Ginger paste- 1 tbsp Garlic paste- 1 tbsp Chilli powder- 2 tsp Tomato puree- 2 cups Garam masala powder- ½ sp Cream- 2tbsp Chopped coriander- 2tbsp Ginger juliennes- 1 tbsp Butter- 3 tbsp Procedure: Marinate the chicken pieces with the top 6 ingredients and enough salt for an hour. Then bake in a gas oven for 15 minutes at 150 deg. C. Heat a kadai and add the butter. Immediately add the onion and fry till brown. Then add the pastes and fry for a few minutes. Then add the tomato puree, and the chilli powder with the chicken and enough salt. Cook for some minutes. When the chicken is cooked well, keep the chicken gravy at low fire for 5 minutes. Pour the cream on it, and sprinkle the garam masala, ginger juliennes, and coriander leaves. Toss the butter in the center. Keep it on slow fire for 5 minutes again and put off the fire.

CAULIFLOWER SOUP:

Ingredients:

Cauliflower [chopped] - 250 kg
Plain flour- 2 tsp
Potato [chopped] - 1/2 cup
Milk- 1 1/2 cups
Chopped onion- 1/4 cup
Water- 2 cups
Butter- 1 tbsp
Sugar- 1 tsp
Pepper powder- 1/4 tsp
Grated cheese for garnishing
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Melt the butter in a pan over low heat. Add the onion and fry it for a few seconds. Add the flour and mix well. Add the vegetables and fry for a few seconds. Add the milk and water. Cook on medium fire till the vegetables are tender. Liquidize and pass through a sieve. Add the pepper powder, salt and the sugar to the soup. Add warm water if necessary. Garnish with cheese.

CHETTINADU CHICKEN GRAVY:

Powder finely 3 pieces chinnamon, 2 bay leaves, 2 coves and 2 cardamoms finely.
In a tsp of oil fry 2 red chillies, 1sp fennel seeds, 2sp poppy seeds, 1tbsp gram dal [pottukadalai] and a handful of shredded coconut to a golden brown color and then grind to a fine paste.

Heat a kadai and pour 4 to 5 tbsp oil.
When the oil becomes hot add 4 chopped onion and fry for a few minutes until it changes into a light brown colour.
Then add 4 big tomatoes, which are finely chopped with 10 red chillies, 1tbsp ginger paste, 1tbsp garlic paste, and 1sp turmeric powder, and fry well until the tomatoes are changed into a fine paste and the oil floats on the surface.
Add the pieces of 1 big chicken [1kg to 11/4kg], 3sp coriander powder, 3sp chilli powder, the ground paste, powder and enough salt with 1 cup of water.
Cook on medium fire until the chicken is well cooked.
Garnish with coriander leaves and curry leaves

CHETTINADU CHICKEN VARUVAL:

Add 8tbsp fresh curd, 2sp ginger paste, 2sp garlic paste, 1 1/2 tbsp pepper powder[coarsely ground], 2sp lime juice, 1sp cumin powder, 2sp fennel seed powder, 1sp turmeric powder, 1sp coriander powder and 1tbsp chilli powder to 1 1/2 kg chicken pieces, mix well and marinate them for 2 hours. In a big kadai, pour 6 tbsp oil. Add 6 finely chopped onions and fry well to a golden brown colour. Add 2tsp ginger paste and 2sp garlic paste and fry well. Add 4 big tomatoes [finely chopped] and fry until the oil floats on the top and the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the chicken and enough salt. Mix well. Cover with a lid and cook under medium fire. When the chicken is cooked and the gravy is thickened, add some chopped coriander leaves. Heat a small kadai and pour 2tbsp oil. Fry 5 red chillies, 1/4 cup curry leaves and 1tbsp coarse pepper powder for a few seconds. Pour this on the chicken. Cook for a few minutes.

CHETTI NADU SUNDAKKA CURRY

This is a famous recipe from Chettinad side...

1. Take a little oil in a kadai and add Mustard seeds and Urad dhal.
Let it splutter.
2. Add finely chopped onions (1 big onion) and garlic and stir till golden brown.
3. Add the sundakai (say 100gms, fresh ones without much seeds, cut them into 2 pieces) and keep stirring. (The raw smell should disappear).
4. Add turmeric powder and salt and keep stirring.
5. Then add thick tamarind juice (squeezed for lemon size tamarind).
6. Let the sundakai boil in the juice and get into a thick gravy.
7. Add dhaniya powder, sambar powder / chilli powder and mix the gravy.
8. Add nicely boiled and smashed toor dhal (1/4 cup for 100gms sundakai) and mix in the gravy.
9. Add asafoetida(hing) powder before putting off the stove.
The gravy should become like a thick pachadi.

This goes well with rice. You can also have it as a side dish by making it more thick

CHETTINADU CHICKEN

Here's the recipe for chettinadu chicken:
Wash 1 kg chicken and cut in to medium size pieces. Mince 20 cloves of garlic and 1 big piece of ginger. Powder 2 tsp of peppercorns, 2 tsp of cumin seeds, 2 tsp of fennel seeds together. Fry the powders lightly in 3 tsp of oil and keep aside. Season 6 cloves in 5 tsp of oil in a frying pan, add 4 nos of chopped onions and fry till they are transparent and then add minced ginger and garlic. Fry untill the raw smell goes off. Then add 4 nos of finely chopped tomatoes and fry till the tomatoes are well mashed and oil comes out. Now add 1 tsp of turmeric powder along with the chicken pieces and cook for 10 minutes. Add 3-4 tbsp of chilli powder( to your taste), 2 tbsp of coriander powder, required salt and mix well. Now pour 4 cups of water and boil. When the chicken is half cooked, add the half fried pepper, cumin and fennel seeds powder and mix well. When the gravy thickens to a paste, remove from fire.
Mrs.Mano, whenever you get time do try this recipe and let me know if you like it. Take care!

CHETTINADU CHICKEN GRAVY:

Powder finely 3 pieces chinnamon, 2 bay leaves, 2 coves and 2 cardamoms finely. In a tsp of oil fry 2 red chillies, 1sp fennel seeds, 2sp poppy seeds, 1tbsp puffed Bengal gram[pottukadalai] and a handful of shredded coconut to a golden brown color and then grind to a fine paste. Heat a kadai and pour 4 to 5 tbsp oil. When the oil becomes hot add 4 chopped onion and fry for a few minutes until it changes into a light brown colour. Then add 4 big tomatoes which are finely chopped with 10 red chillies, 1tbsp ginger paste, 1tbsp garlic paste, 1sp turmeric powder, and fry well until the tomatoes are changed into a fine paste and the oil floats on the surface. Add the pieces of 1 big chicken[1kg to 11/4kg] , 3sp coriander powder, 3sp chilli powder, the ground paste and enough salt with 1 cup of water. Cook on medium fire until the chicken is well cooked. Garnish with coriander leaves and curry leaves.

CHETTINADU POTATO CUURY:

INGREDIENTS

Potatoes 350 gms
Tomato 2 nos
Onion 1 medium sized
Garlic 2 to 3 pods
Ginger 1/2 " piece
Fennel seeds (sombu) 1 .5 spoon
Coriander seeds 1.5 spoons
Jeera 3/4 spoon
Black pepper 1/2 spoon
Red chillies 3 to 4 nos
Cloves 2 to 3 nos
Cinnamon stick 1 piece (1" size)
Bay leaf (optional) 1 no.
Coconut grating 2 spoons
Gingly oil 2 ladles

GARNISHING
Curry leaves, 1 sprig

METHOD OF PREPARATION

Dice potatoes and keep aside. Dry grind chillies, coriander seeds Fennel seeds, cumin seeds, and Black Pepper . Grind coconut, with ginger, slice onion and cut Garlic in small pieces.

Take the oil in a Kadai and add cloves and cinnamon. When cloves puff up, add sliced onion and Garlic. Fry till the onion turns brown. Remove from fire. When it turns slightly cooler , add the dry masala you have ground and turn briskly for about 1 minute. Add coconut and ginger paste and again slightly fry on a very low flame for another two minutes. Keep on turning the masala. Add diced tomatoes now and on a low flame. Add salt now and let it come to a boil. Ensure that the tomatos have left the juice. Set aside the masala. Pressure cook the potatoes to only 50% and add the semi cooked Potatoes to the kadai having the masala. Add little water and set the stove on a medium flame .cover the kadai and cook the curry till the potatoes are fully cooked. Garnish with curry leaves and you may decorate with long sliced Green chillies. If the tomatoes are not sour, you can add half a spoon of Tamarind extract after the potatoes are fully cooked. This curry is neither dry nor it is with gravy. Serve piping hot with rice or chappathi.

CHICKEN MASALA:

Clean and wash 2 kilo chicken pieces well. Marinate these chicken pieces with 8tbsp fresh curd, ginger paste 2sp, garlic paste 2sp, coarsely ground pepper powder-1 ½ tbsp, lime juice 2sp, cumin seeds powder-1sp, chilli powder-1tbsp, fennel seeds powder-3sp, coriander powder-2sp, salt and 1sp turmeric powder for 2 hours. Heat a big kadai and pour 6tbsp oil. When it becomes hot, add 3 cups of chopped onion and fry well until the color changes into golden brown. Then add 2sp ginger paste and 2sp garlic paste. Fry well for a few minutes. Then add 2 cups of finely crushed tomatoes with 1/2sp salt and cook well until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the top. Then add the chicken and cook until the chicken pieces are cooked and the gravy is thickened. Cook on medium fire and do not add any extra water. Heat a small Kadai and pour 2tbsp oil. When it becomes hot, add 6 red chillies, a handful of curry leaves and 1tbsp coarsely ground peppercorns. Pour this on the chicken masala and mix well. Cook for a few minutes and then put off the fire. Garnish with chopped coriander leaves

CHICKEN RASAM:

Heat a kadai and pour 1sp oil. Add 1 ½ sp fennel seeds, 1 sp cumin seeds, peppercorns1sp and 2 red chilies and fry them to a golden colour. When cooled down, grind the fried ingredients into a fine powder. Again heat the kadai and pour 2tbsp oil and 1sp ghee. Add 1sp cumin seeds and 1sp fennel seeds. Then add 20 chopped small onions, 1cup of chopped tomatoes and 1sp turmeric powder. Fry well until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add 8 garlic flakes and 2 handfuls of chopped chicken pieces. Fry on slow fire for a few minutes. Then pour 6 to 8 cups of water, add the fried powder and enough salt. Let the rasam simmer for 5 to 10 minutes. Add chopped coriander leaves and curry leaves. Then put off the fire. Add the juice of one small lime and mix well

THENGAIPAL RASAM [COCONUT MILK RASAM]

Extract 1 cup of thick coconut milk from1 cup of shredded coconut. Soak a lime-sized tamarind in water for half an hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and add 1tbsp ghee and 1tbsp oil. When it becomes hot, add half cup of crushed tomatoes, 2 slit green chillies, 5 garlic flakes, 2tbsp chopped coriander leaves, 1sp turmeric powder, a pinch of cinnamon powder, 1sp aniseed powder, 1sp pepper powder and 1sp cumin powder. Cook until the oil floats on the surface. Pour the tamarind extract with enough water and salt. Let the rasam simmer for 2 minutes. Then put off the fire and add the coconut milk. Mix well.

CRAB LEGS SOUP:

Ingredients:

Crab legs -8
Tamarind- a lime size
Crushed tomato-1/2 cup
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp
Fennel seeds- 2 tsp
Curry leaves- a handful
Red chillies-3
Peppercorns- 1/2 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1 tsp
Garlic flakes[small]- 8
Salt to tatse
Oil- 2 tbsp

Procedure:

Soak the tamarind in water and extract its juice. Mix water to it to make it as 4 to 5 cups. Grind coarsely the red chillies with the peppercorns, garlic flakes, cumin seeds, and 1 tsp of fennel seeds. Add this to the tamarind water with the turmeric powder, the crab legs and enough salt. Let it simmer for 10 minutes on medium fire. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the remaining fennel seeds and curry leaves. Fry them for a few seconds and add this to the simmering soup. Again let the soup simmers for another 5 minutes.

DHLACHA:

Ingredients:

Lentils- 200gms
Bengal gram- 2 tbsp
Mutton pieces with more bones- 250 gms
Finely chopped onion-1 cup
Finely chopped tomato-2 cups
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tbsp
Coriander powder- 1 tsp
Tamarind- a lime size
Diced brinjals- 2 cups
A big mango [ottu mango is very suitable]
Enough salt

Procedure:

Soak the tamarind in enough water for 30 minutes and then extract its juice.
Pressure cook the dals and the mutton pieces with the tomato, onion, ginger and garlic pastes separately. Then heat a kadai and pour the dals with the cooked mutton, powders and enough salt. Cook for a few minutes. Add the vegetables with the tamarind extract. Cook for more minutes until every thing is well cooked in the gravy.This dhalcha should not be thickened.

EGG BALLS CURRY:[ muttai paniyaara kuzhambu]Ingredients:

For the balls:
Small onions-3/4 cup
Green chillies-3
Shredded coconut- ½ cup
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds- ¼ tsp
Gram dal- 1 tbsp
Poppy seeds- 1 tsp
Eggs- 4
For gravy:
Onions-2 [chopped finely]
Tomatoes [chopped] - 1 cup
Green chillies-3
Curry leaves- a handful
Chilli powder- 1 tbsp
Pepper powder- 1/2 tsp
Cumin powder- 1/2 tsp
Coriander powder- 3 tbsp
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Shredded coconut- 1/2 cup
Oil- 4 tbsp
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Salt to taste
Procedure:Beat the eggs well. Grind all the ingredients for the balls and add the paste to the beaten eggs. Add enough salt and mix well. Heat a paniyara kal and pour 1/2 sp of oil in every kuzhi. Pour the mixture to the 3/4th of the kuzhi. Like this, fill all the kuzhis and cook them like paniyarams. Take them away.
Soak the tamarind in enough water for 1 hour and then extract its thick juice. Extract thick milk and then a thin milk from the shredded coconut.
Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When the oil becomes hot add the chopped onion and fry well to golden brown colour. Then add the tomatoes with the turmeric powder, slit green chillies and the curry leaves. Fry them until the oil floats on the surface and the tomatoes are mashed well. Add all the powers and fry for a few seconds. Then pour the tamarind juice and the light milk with enough salt. Let it simmer for a few minutes. Then add all the balls and let it simmer for a few seconds. Now pour the thick milk. Mix well. Put off the fire and pour in a serving dish.

ENNAI KATHTHARIKAI CURRY

ingredients:
groundnuts-2tbsp,
kuskus-1sp,
methi seeds[fenugreek seeds]-1/2sp,
white sesame seeds-1sp,
cummin seeds-3/4sp,
small sambar onions-15.
tomato pieces-11/2 cups,
garlic flakes-6,
coriander powder-11/2sp,
chilli powder-1 tbsp,
turmeric powder-1sp
kaththarikai-8 to 10[small size],
gingelly oil- 4tbsp,
mustard seeds-1sp,
peppercorns-1sp,
green chillies-5,[slit them lengthwise]
tamarind-a lime size
enough salt to taste.
Method:
Dry roast groundnuts,cummin seeds,kuskus, sesame seeds,fenugreeks seeds to a golden brown colour and grind them with onions, tomatoes and garlic without adding water.Add the turperic powder,chilli powder, and the coriander powder and mix well. Cut each brinjal in to 8 pieces lengthwise, add enough salt and the mixed masala to this,mix well and keep them covered for 1/2 hour.
Heat the oil in a kadai and add mustard seeds. When it splutters, add the green chillies and the peppercorns and fry for two minutes. Now add the brinjal with masasla and cook on a medium fire until the oil comes on the top. Extract a thick juice from the tamarind and add to the brinjal.When all the water is absorbed and the oil floats on the top,put off the fire.The gravy must be thick.

[b]INJI KUZHAMBU:

In a tbsp gingelly oil, fry 1sp coriander seeds, 1sp fenugreek seeds, 1sp cumin seeds, 5 sambar onions, 1 handful of shredded coconut and 3tbsp shredded ginger to a light brown colour. [These must be fried under slow fire] Grind them with 2 spring curry leaves. Soak a lemon-sized tamarind in water and extract its juice. Mix the tamarind juice with the ground masala. Add 1sp turmeric powder and mix well. Pour 2tbsp gingelly oil in a kadai and heat it. Add 1sp mustard seeds and 8 red chillies. When they ssplutter add the prepared kuzhambu with enough salt and let it simmer for some minutes until it thickens to a desired consistency.

JEERAKA RASAM

Soak 1tbsp thuar dal in a cup of water for 1 hour. Soak a small lime-sized tamarind in water for 1/2 hour and then extract its juice. Grind the dal with 1 red chilli, 1sp cumin seeds, 1 1/2 cups of chopped tomatoes and a few curry leaves coarsely. Add the tamarind extract to this ground masala with enough water, salt and 1sp turmeric powder. Heat a kadai and pour 1sp ghee and 1sp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add 1 small piece of asafoetida and stir for a few seconds. Then add the prepared rasam and allow it to simmer for 4 minutes.

Soak 1tbsp of lentils in a cup of water for ½ hour. Soak a small lime-sized tamarind in water for ½ hour and then extract its juice. Grind the dal with 1 red chilli, 1sp cumin seeds, 1 ½ cups of chopped tomatoes and a few curry leaves coarsely. Add the tamarind extract to this ground masala with 5 to 6 cups of water, salt and 1sp turmeric powder. Heat a kadai and pour 1sp ghee and 1sp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add 1 small piece of asafoetida and stir for a few seconds. Then add the prepared rasam and allow it to simmer for 4 minutes.

KADAPPA:

Ingredients:

Green gram- 1/4 cup
Medium sized potato-2
Chopped onion- 1/2 cup
Chopped tomato- 2 cups
Cloves-2
Cardamom-2
Bay leaves-2
Slit green chillies-3
Salt to taste
Oil-4 tbsp
Green chillies-2
Fennel seeds-1 tsp
Shredded coconut- 2 tbsp
Cinnamon-1 piece

Procedure:

Cook the green gram and the potatoes in a pressure cooker and then mash finely. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the cardamom, bay leaves and the cloves and fry for a few minutes. Add the onion with the green chillies and the tomatoes and fry well until they are cooked and the oil floats on the surface. Add the mashed ingredients with the ground paste, salt and 2 cups of water. Let it simmer for some minutes until every thing is blended well and the gravy is slightly thickened.

KAIMAH THOKKU:[MINCED MUTTON THOKKU

Heat a kadai and add 500gms of minced mutton with 1sp turmeric powder, 1 cup of water, 1sp ginger paste, 1sp garlic paste, 8 finely chopped onions, 5 green chillies, 1/4sp pepper powder, 1tbsp chilli powder and enough salt to it. Close with a lid and cook under medium fire until the mutton is well cooked.
Heat another kadai and pour 4tbsp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 4 chopped tomatoes with ½ turmeric powder, 1/4sp cinnamon powder, 1/4sp cloves powder, 1/2sp cardamom powder, one handful of curry leaves, and one handful of chopped cashew nuts and fry for a few minutes. Then add the cooked mince and fry for some more minutes until all the things are blended well and the mince comes to a thokku consistency.

KARAMANI KARA KUZHAMBU [Chettinadu style]:

Ingredients:

Karamani paruppu- 1/2 cup
Tamarind- a big lime size
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1/2 tsp
Fenugreek seeds- 1/2 tsp
Garlic fales-5
Small onions- 1 cup
Finely chopped tomatoes- 3/4 cup
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Coriander powder- 2tsp
Drumstick pieces-8
Grind to a paste: shredded coconut-4tbsp, sambar onions-3, fennel seeds- 1/2 tsp
Enough gingelly oil
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Soak the Karamani paruppu for 4 hours and then drain the water.
Add 1 cup of fresh water and cook the karamani in a pressure cooker for 4 whistles. Soak the tamarind in water for half an hour and then extract its juice.
Heat a kadai and pour enough gingelly oil.
Add the mustards seeds and when they splutter add the cumin seeds, fenugreek seeds and the garlic flakes.
Then add the sambar onions with the tomatoes and cook under moderate fire until they are well mashed.
Pour the tamarind extract, with the turmeric powder, chilli powder, coriander powder, drumstick pieces and enough salt.
Let the kuzhambu simmer for 15 minutes.
Then add the ground paste to the kuzhambu and allow it to simmer for a few minutes.

KEERAI KUZHAMBU:

Cook 3 cups of finely chopped keerai in ½ cup of milk with ½ sp cumin seeds and a green chilli. Mash the keerai finely. Soak a small lime-sized tamarind for 1 hour and then extract its juice. In a sp of ghee fry 3 red chillies, 1sp coriander seeds, 1sp Bengal gram,4sp shredded coconut , 1 small piece of asafoetida, 1sp black gram and ½ sp peppercorns to a golden brown color and then powder them finely. Heat a kadai and pour 4 tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add ¼ cup of chopped onions and fry for a few seconds. Then add ½ cup of chopped tomatoes and 1sp turmeric powder. Cook well until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the tamarind extract and the powder with enough salt. Let the kuzhambu simmer for some minutes. Then add the mashed keerai and allow it to simmer for only a few minutes.

KEERAI SAMBAR:

Soak a lime sized tamarind for 1/2 hour and then extract the juice out of it. Cook three handful of lentils in a pressure cooker. Pour enough oil in a vessel and heat it. Add 1sp mustards and when they splutter add 1 cup of chopped sambar onions, a small piece of asafoetida and 4 slit green chillies. When they become slightly brown, add 1 or 2 cups of chopped tomatoes and 1sp turmeric powder. Cook until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the tamarind extract and allow it to simmer for some minutes. Then add the ooked dhal, finely chopped keerai with enough salt.Let the sambar simmer for a few minutes. Add 2tsp sambar podi and mix well. Turn the fire very low. Cook for a few minutes. Add curry leaves and chopped coriander leaves.the keerai should not change its green colour fully.
Sambar podi: Fry one handful of red chillies, 1tbsp Bengal gram, 2tbsp coriander seeds, 1sp fenugreek seeds, 8 peppercorn, 1/2 sp mustard seeds and 1 sp black gram for a few minutes to a light brown colour. When cooled, powder them.

LAMB CURRY WITH BRUSSEL SPROUTS

Ingredients:

Oil - 2 tbs
Large onions - 3-4 finely chopped
Tomato - 1 large chopped
Whole spices - 1 & 1/2 tbs
(cumin, fennel, bay leaves, peppercorns, cloves, cinnamon..you can use ground spices- about 1 tsp if you dont like picking out whole spices. But whole spices seem to work best for me)
Curd - 1 cup beaten
Ginger-garlic paste - 1 tbs
Chilly powder - 2 tsp
Coriander powder (Dhania) - 4 tsp
Turmeric powder - 2 tsp
Pepper - 1/2 tsp
Salt - 1.5 - 2 tbs (I never use a spoon!)
Lamb or Goat meat (the stew-size is best. I prefer with bones) - 3 lbs
Brussel sprouts - 15 nos

Preparation Method

Heat oil in a large saucepan. Fry the whole spices until a light brown and add onions and ginger garlic paste. Fry over medium until onion turns transparent. Add chopped tomato and add turmeric, chilly, pepper and coriander powder and fry till tomato turns mushy and oil separates.
Wash the meat and add to the masala along with salt and stir it in so meat is entirely coated with masala. Add half-a-cup water and close lid and let cook on medium for about 5 minutes. Add the beaten curd to the curry and stir it in and let cook again for 15 mins, stirring at regular intervals until meat is cooked, the gravy thick and oil separates. Add the brussel sprouts, whole and stir them in so they are coated in gravy. Close lid and cook for 5 minutes.

Note: Add the brussel sprouts at the very last because they tend to cook very quick and lose their flavor if cooked to mush. They can either be halved or added whole, as they absorb the flavor. All other English vegetables like carrots, peas, potato, cauliflower, Brocoli and turnips work just fine too. Also, while adding the whole spices, an extra tsp of cumin (jeera) can be added, for those who like it. This curry is thick and is great with rotis and rice!

MAMBAZHA MORKUZHAMBU:
Ingredients:

Mango pieces- 1 cup
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Shredded coconut- 1/4 cup
Cumin seeds- 1 tsp
Green chillies-6
Small garlic flakes-6
Coconut oil- 2tbsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Fenugreek seeds- 1/2 tsp
Red chillies-4
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Curd- 1 cup
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Cook the mango pieces with a little water, chilli powder, turmeric powder and enough salt. Grind the coconut with the green chillies, gralic and cumin seeds to a coarse paste and add this to the mango mixture and cook for a few minutes. Heat a small kadai and pour the coconut oil. When it becomes hot, add the mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the fenugreek seeds with the curry leaves and red chilies. Fry them for a few seconds and add this tempering to the mango mixture and mix well. Put off the fire and add the curd. Mix well.

MILAGU KUZHAMBU-III:

Soak a big lime-sized tamarind in water for 1 hour and then extract its thick juice. In a sp of gingelly oil, fry 2sp peppercorns, 1sp cumin seeds, 1/2sp fenugreek seeds and 5 red chillies to a golden brown color and then grind them with 5 garlic flakes, 1tbsp chopped coriander leaves, 1 spring curry leaves and 1sp chopped ginger to a fine paste. Heat a kadai and pour 4 or 5 tbsp gingelly il. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they splutter add ½ cup of small onions and ½ cup of tomatoes which are finely chopped. Cook them until they are well mashed and the oil comes on the surface. Now pour the tamarind extract with the ground masala, 1sp turmeric powder and enough salt. Let the kuzhambu simmer on a medium fire until it thickens.

MURUNGAIKKAI RASAM:

Pressure cook ¼ cup of thuar dal with 3 cups of water and small pieces of one Big murungaikkai. Soak a lime sized tamarind in water for 1 hour and then extract its juice. Boil this juice with 1 cup of water, 1 tbsp chopped coriander leaves, ½ cup of chopped tomatoes, 1sp rasam powder , 1sp turmeric powder, 1sp asafoetida powder and 1 cup of water for at least 5 minutes. Then add the cooked dal and enough salt. When the rasam starts to boil again, put off the fire. Heat a kadai and pour 1tbsp ghee. When the ghee becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they splutter add curry leaves and pour this in the rasam.

MASHROOM CURRY:

Ingredients:Mushrooms- 250 kg

Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Oil- 5 tbsp
Chopped onion-1 cup
Tomato juice- 3 tbsp
Chopped coriander- 2tbsp
Mint leaves-a handful
Coconut milk- 1/2 cup
Ground the following ingredients to a fine paste:
Shredded coconut- 1 cup
Green chilllies- 5
Cashew nuts-5
Almonds- 5
Poppy seeds- 1 tbsp
Fennel seeds-1 tsp
Garlic flakes-5
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Cinnamon-1 piece
Cardamom-4

Procedure:

Heat a pan and pour the oil. Add the onion and fry them until they become golden brown. Add the mushroom with the ground paste, tomato juice, turmeric powder and enough salt. Cook the mushroom until the masala is slightly thickened. Add the coconut milk with the greens. Cook for a few seconds.

MUSHROOM CURRY -2

Ingredients
10 large button mushrooms, quartered
1 teaspoon ginger-garlic paste
2 tablespoons onion paste
1 teaspoon tomato puree
1/4 teaspoon chilli powder
3 tablespoons curds
1/4 teaspoon garam masala
1 tablespoon oil
Salt to taste
For garnish
2 tablespoons chopped coriander

Method
1. Heat the oil in a pan, add the ginger-garlic paste and the onion paste and saute for some time.
2. Add the tomato puree and chilli powder and stir for some time.
3. Add the mushrooms and saute till they are tender.
4. Finally, add the curd, garam masala and salt. Mix well.
5. Garnish with coriander and serve hot with chapathi

Instead of onion paste,tomato paste & gin-gar paste i chopped everything & sauted onion,gin ,gar in 1 tsp oil...& then added tomatoes..cooked for a min...took off the flame & let cool...& the ground it with chilli powder & added back to the pan & let boil for a while with little water & proceeded as given in the recipe. This way we can reduce the consumption of oil.Remember not to cook for a long time afer adding the curd...just mix it & take off flame...

MASHROOM MASALA:

INGREDIENTS:

Mushroom- 250 gms
Coconut paste- 1/2 cup
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Oil- 3 tbsp
Salt to taste
Grind the following ingredients in to a fine paste:
Red chillies-6
Peppercorns- 1 tsp
Cardamom- 2
Cloves- 2
Cinnamon pieces-2
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Sambar onions- a handful
Garlic flakes- 6

Procedure:

Add the ground paste, turmeric powder and enough salt with the mushrooms and mix well. Pour the oil in a pan and heat it. Add the mushroom mixture and fry well on medium fire until they are cooked. At the final stage, add the coconut paste and mix well. Fry for a few seconds and put off the fire. Decorate with chopped coriander leaves.

MUTTER PANEER:
Ingredients:

Frozen peas- 2 cups
Mashed tomato- 2 cups
Diced paneer pieces- 1 ½ cups
Fresh curd-1/2 cup
Sugar- 1 tbsp
Ghee- 1 tbsp
Oil-3 tbsp
Corn flour- 1 tsp
Milk- 1/4 cup
Salt to taste
Grind the following ingredients to a paste:
Big onion- 1
Coriander seeds- 2 tbsp
Poppy seeds- 3 tsp
Red chillies- 6
Roasted shredded coconut- 1 tbsp
Garlic flakes- 6
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1tsp
Powder the following:
Peppercorns- 1/2 tsp
Cloves-4
Cinnamon pieces-3
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp

Procedure:

Fry the paneer pieces in oil under slow fire till they become brown and then take them away. Heat a kadai and pour the ghee and the oil. Add both the masalas and fry them until the oil floats on top. Again add the curd and fry for a few minutes. Then add the peas and fry for a few minutes. Add the tomatoes with enough salt and water. When it simmers for some minutes, add the paneer pieces, and the sugar. Mix the corn flour in the milk and pout it in the gravy. Let the gravy simmer for a few minutes. Garnish with chopped coriander leaves.

NAVARATHNA KURUMA:

Grind 2 big handfuls of shredded coconut with 1 onion, 2sp chopped ginger, 8 cloves of garlic, 3sp poppy seeds, 2tbsp coriander seeds, a pinch of cumin seeds, 10 red chillies to a fine paste. Powder 4 cinnamon pieces with 6 cloves, 6 cardamoms and 10 peppercorns. Heat a kadai and pour 3 to 5 tbsp ghee. Add the ground paste and fry it for some minutes. Then add the half of garam masala powder and fry for a few minutes. When the ghee comes on top, add 1 cup of beaten curd and fry until the masala is dry and the ghee comes on the surface. Add 1 cup of boiled and cubed potatoes, 1 cup of boiled peas, and 1 cup of boiled cauliflowers. Stir for a few minutes. Then add 2tbsp ground almonds, 1tbsp ground paste of cashew nuts with a pinch of saffron. Mix well and add enough warm water to have gravy of desired thickness. Add some fried cashew nuts and almonds with enough salt. Let the gravy simmer for a few minutes. Add ¼ cup of cream and the remaining garam masala powder to the gravy and cook for a few minutes on slow fire. Put off the fire and sprinkle a little lime juice and chopped coriander leaves.

PALAK DHAL:

Split moong dhal 1 cup
chpped spinach 4 cups

Pressure cook the above well. Chourn well.
Grind 4 ts coconut with 1 ts cumin seeds and 4 to 5 peppercorns.

Heat oil in a pan,when hot add 2 broken redchilli,few curry leaves. Then add ground mixtrue. Fry it for 30 sec. Add chourn mixture,required salt(less salt would be sufficient for this). Make it to boil for 2 to 3 mins. Put off fire. This is very easy to prepare yet very delicious.

PALAKKAI KURMA:

Ingredients:
Small tender jack fruit- 1
Bengal gram- a handful
Cinnamon- 2 pieces
Cloves-2
Chopped onions- 1 cup
Crushed tomatoes- 1 1/2 cups
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Oil- 5 tbsp+ 1 tsp
Coriander powder- 1 tsp
Chopped coriander leaves- 1/2 cup
Salt to taste
Fry the following ingredients in a tsp of oil to a light brown colour and then grind to a fine paste:
Coconut- 1/2 [shredded]
Green chillies- 4
Gram dal- 1 tsp
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Poppy seeds- 1 tsp
Small onions- 8
Cashew nut- 5
Small Garlic flakes-6
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Method:
Clean the tender jackfruit and cut into 1 inch cubes. Cook them with the Bengal gram. Drain the extra water completely. Heat a kadai and pour 5 tbsp oil. When it becomes hot, add the cloves and the cinnamon pieces and fry for a few minutes. Then add the chopped onion and fry them until they become brown. Now add the tomatoes with the turmeric powder and the coriander leaves and cook for a few more minutes until they are mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the vegetables, cooked Bengal gram, ground vegetables and the coriander powder with enough salt and 4 cups of water. Cook the kurma for some minutes until they are well blended.

PAPPAYA TOMATO CURRY:

Ingredients:
Papaya- 250 gms
Onion-1
Garlic- 6 flakes
Cinnamon-1 piece
Peppercorns- 1/2 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1/2 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Coconut- `1/2 cup
Roasted gram dal- 2 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Chopped tomato- 2 cups
Enough salt
Oil- 5 tbsp
Procedure:
Cut the papaya in to small pieces. Grind the ingredients from 2nd to 8th to a fine paste. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the ground paste with the turmeric paste and fry it on slow fire until it is well fried and the oil floats on the top. Add the papaya pieces with 1 cup of water, the chopped tomatoes and enough salt. Cook the curry on medium fire until it is well blended and the vegetable pieces are cooked well.

PARUPPU URUNDAI KUZHAMBU:

Soak a small orange sized tamarind for ½ hour and then extract the thick juice out of it. Soak 1 cup of lentils with a handful of Bengal gram for 2 hours and then grind with 1sp fennel seeds, 3 red chillies and 2 green chillies coarsely like we grind for ‘Masal vadai’. Add enough salt when grinding the dhals. Add 1 cup of chopped onions, 2tbsp chopped garlic flakes, curry leaves and ½ cup shredded coconut. Mix well. Make lime sized balls. In a deep vessel. pour gingelly oil. Add one cup of chopped sambar onions and 2 cups of crushed tomatoes. Cook on moderate fire until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Powder 1sp fennel seed and 1sp fenugreek seed coarsely. Add the powders and some curry leaves to the tomatoes and fry for a few minutes. Pour the tamarind extract. Add 1sp turmeric powder, 2tbsp chilli powder and 3tbsp coriander powder. Add enough salt. Let the kuzhambu simmer for a few minutes. Now add the balls 5 at a time and when they come on the surface, then add the balls again. Thus complete all the balls. When dropping the balls in the kuzhambu, the consistency of it must be watery. The fire should not be high. After completing the balls the kuzhambu must simmer for a few minutes. The kuzhambu will thicken when we finish the cooking. You can add pieces of drumstick and it will enhance the taste and the flavour. It must be added and cooked well before dropping the balls.

Soak 1tbsp thuar dal in a cup of water for 1 hour. Soak a small lime-sized tamarind in water for 1/2 hour and then extract its juice. Grind the dal with 1 red chilli, 1sp cumin seeds, 1 1/2 cups of chopped tomatoes and a few curry leaves coarsely. Add the tamarind extract to this ground masala with enough water, salt and 1sp turmeric powder. Heat a kadai and pour 1sp ghee and 1sp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add 1 small piece of asafoetida and stir for a few seconds. Then add the prepared rasam and allow it to simmer for 4 minutes.

PARUPPU RASAM:

Soak a big lime-sized tamarind in water for 1/2 hour and then extract its thick juice. Cook 2 to 3tbsp of thuar dal in the pressure cooker. Pour this cooked dal in a small bowl. Add 2 crushed tomatoes[1 cup], 5 crushed garlic flakes, 2 slit green chillies, a small piece of asafotida, 2tbsp chopped coriander leaves, 1sp turmeric powder and a few curry leaves to the dal and crush all these ingredients with yr fingers finely. Then add the tamarind extract with enough water and salt. Heat a kadai and pour 1tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter pour the prepared rasam. When the rasam begins to simmer, allow it to simmer only for a minute.
PEPPER CHICKEN-II:

Ingredients:
Chicken pieces-1 kilo
Chopped onion- 1 cup
Chopped tomatoes- 1/2 cup
Coarse pepper powder-1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Oil- 5tbsp+ 1 tsp
Chilli powder- 1 tbsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Curry leaves- a handful
Fry the following ingredients in a tsp of oil and then grind them to a fine paste:
Garlic flakes [small] - 10
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Peppercorns- 2 tsp
Cumin seeds- 1/2 tsp
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Powder the following:
Cinnamon pieces-1 tbsp,
Cardamom-5,
Cloves-5
Procedure:
Heat a kadai and pour the remaining oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the onion and the tomato. Fry them well until they are mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Then add the powders except pepper powder, ground masala and the chicken pieces with enough salt. Cook the chicken on medium fire until they are cooked well. At the last stage add the pepper powder and the curry leaves and cook for a few minutes.

PONGAL KUZHAMBU:

Cook 1 cup of red gram dhal in a cooker. Soak a small orange size of tamarind in warm water. Extract the juice after ½ hour. Dry fry 1 handful of boiled rice, 1 tbsp raw rice, 1sp cumin seeds, 1sp peppercorns and 1sp aniseeds to a nice brown colour. Grind them to a nice powder. For this kuzhambu, 6 important vegetables are needed. Add One handful of chopped tomatoes, one handful of avaraikkai[cut into 1” pieces], one handful of red pumpkin pieces[cut into 1” pieces], 2 handfuls of sweet potatoes[cut into 1” pieces], one handful of brinjal pieces[cut into medium pieces], 3 raw bananas[cut into cubes] and most importantly 2 cups of mochaikkai in a cooking vessel and add enough water to cover it. Cook them with enough salt and 11/2 sps turmeric powder. When the vegetables are half done, add the tamarind juice, 2tbsps chilli powder and 11/2 tbsp coriander powder. After cooking them for some minutes add the dhal and mix well. Again cook for a few minutes. Now add the powder and mix well. Add 1 cup of shredded coconut and mix well. Cook under slow fire for 5 minutes. Garnish with curry leaves

GARLIC RASAM:

Soak a lime-sized tamarind for half an hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and add 1sp oil. Fry 3 red chillies, quarter spoon fenugreek seeds, 1sp coriander seeds, 2sp thuar dal, 1sp peppercorns and a pea-sized asafoetida to a golden brown colour and then powder it. Again heat a kadai and add 2sp ghee and 1sp oil. Add 1sp Cummin seeds and some curry leaves. When they splutter add 25 small garlic flakes. Fry them on a slow fire until the garlic flakes become soft. Add the tamarind extract, 1sp turmeric powder, half cup of crushed tomatoes, the powder, enough salt and water. Let the rasam simmer for 2 minutes.

PORITHTHA KUZHAMBU:[chettinadu style]

Cook 1 cup of lentils in a pressure cooker. In a tbsp
oil fry 10 red chillies, 1 ½ sp black gram, 1 ½ sp
cumin seeds, and ½ shredded coconut to a brown colour
and then grind them to a fine paste. In a vessel cook
2 cups of diced peerkangai, 2 chopped onions and 1 cup
of chopped tomatoes with enough water, salt and 1sp
turmeric powder. When the vegetables are cooked add
the cook dhal, the ground paste and mix well. Cook for
a few minutes. In a small kadai pour 2tbsp oil and
add 1sp mustard seeds, curry leaves and 1sp black
gram. When the mustards splutter pour them in the
kuzhambu. Mix well and put off the fire. Cooked green
gram can be added instead of lentils.

PORITHTHA KUZHAMBU-II

Pressure cook ½ cup of lentils well. Cook 1 cup of
diced peerkangai, ½ cup of chopped tomatoes, and 1 cup
of diced avaraikkai, with enough water, 1sp turmeric
powder and enough salt. Grind ½ cup of shredded
coconut, 1sp peppercorns and ½ sp cumin seeds to a
fine paste. When the vegetables are cooked add the
cooked dhal, and the ground paste. Cook well. In a
small kadai pour 2tbsp oil and heat it. Add 1sp
mustard seeds and when they splutter add 1sp
asafoetida powder and curry leaves. Pour this on the
kuzhambu. Mix well.

POTATO MASALA:

Ingredients:

Potatoes- 1/2 kilo
Chopped onion- 2 cups
Chopped tomatoes- 1 cup
Green chillies- 4
Grated ginger- 1 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Frozen peas- 1/2 cup
Chopped coriander
Enough oil and salt

Procedure:

Pressure cook the potatoes for 5 whisitles. After taking them out, mash them immediately. Heat a kadai and pour 4 to 5 tbsps of oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the chopped onions and fry them until they become lightly golden brown. Grind the green chillies with the ginger to a paste and add this with the turmeric powder and fry well for a few minutes. Add the tomatoes and the peas. Cook until the tomatoes are mashed well and the peas are well-cooked. Add the Mashed potatoes with the coriander leaves and fry it on slow fire until every thing is combined well.

POTATO MASALA CURRY:
Ingredients:
Potato- 250 gms, Coconut- ½ , Red chillies- 10,Coriander seeds- 2 tsp,
Gram dal[ Pottukkadalai]- 1 tbsp, Sambar onions- 6,Fennel seeds- 1 tsp, Poppy seeds- 1 tsp, Cinnamon- 1 piece, Garlic flakes-10,Chopped ginger- ½ tsp, Chopped coriander - 1 tbsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp, Chopped onion- 1 cup, Crushed tomatoes- 1 cup
Turmeric powder- ½ tsp, Oil- 4 tbsp, Salt to taste
Procedure:
Boil the potatoes, then peel the outer skin and cut into cubes. Extract thick milk out of the coconut. Grind the red chillies with the coriander seeds, poppy seeds, fennels seeds, cinnamon, sambar onions, gram dal, garlic flakes, ginger, and coriander leaves to a fine paste. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. When the oil becomes hot, add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the chopped onions and the tomatoes with the turmeric powder. Cook them until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the ground masala and the potato pieces with enough salt. Cook for a few minutes till every thing is combined well. Then add the coconut milk. Cook for a few minutes.

URULAIKKIZHANGU PAAL CURRY:

Ingredients:

Cubed potatoes- 3 cups
Shredded coconut- 2 cups
Onion slices- 1/2 cup
Green chilli-3
Shredded ginger-1 tsp
Garlic flakes- 4
Fennel seeds- 1/2 tsp
Cinnamon- a small piece
Mashed tomatoes without skin-1/2 cup
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp [optional]
Salt to taste
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Curry leaves- a handful
Oil- 1 tbsp

Procedure:

Grind the onion with the ginger, garlic, cinnamon, green chillies, and fennel seeds coarsely. Extract thick and thin milk from the shredded coconut. Heat a pan and add the ghee and the oil. When they become hot, add the ground paste and fry well with the turmeric powder. Add the potatoes with enough water, salt and also the thin milk. Cook well till they are almost done. Add the tomato and cook until every thing is well blended and cooked well. Lastly, add the thick coconut milk with the greens. When the milk starts to simmer, put off the fire.

PULIYITTA KEERAI

I think that you are asking for puliyita keerai(that is how we use to say). My mother use to make just like other sambhars with mulai keerai or arai keerai, but here in US, since we dont get them, use to make with methi, palak even with lettuce leaves.

Season in gingelly oil with mustard, cumin seeds and fenugreek seeds. Add tamarind water, sambhar powder, salt, turmeric.

In the meantime, cook keerai with turmeric and mash them nicely. Add them to the sambhar, let it boil well. Now add cooked thoor dhal. Once it is thick, switch the gas off.

Serve with paruppu usili and it tastes really good. Can mix directly with rice or try with paruppu podi rice.

Modification: Some people fry onion and tomato for addl. taste after seasoning

SALEM SAMBAR-

GARLIC SAMBAR[SALEM SAMBAR]
Ingredients
Tur dal - 100gms
Sambar powder - 3 tsp [heaped]
Drumstick - 3 (cut into desired pieces)
Medium Onion - 2 (chopped finely]
Curry leaves - 1 spring
Coriander leaves - 2 table spoon (chopped)
Garlic - 1 teaspoon (chopped)
Dried red chilli - 2 [Cut into pieces]
Tomatoes - 3 (medium sized -cut into pieces)
Tarmarind - size of a lime soaked in 1/2 cup water
Methi Seeds - 1/4 tablespoon
Vegetable oil - 1 table spoon
Ghee-1tbsp
Asafoetidia (Optional) - 1 tablespoon
Mustard Seeds - 1 teaspoon
Turmeric powder-1sp
Enough salt
Preparation
Heat a deep kadai and pour the oil and the ghee. When they become hot, add the onions and the tomatoes with the turmeric powder. Cook well until the tomatoes are cooked and mashed well and the oil floats on the surface. Then pour the tamarind extract and add the drumstick pieces and enough salt. When the vegetable is cooked add the sambar powder and let the sambar simmer for just a few seconds. In another pan heat oil and add mustard seeds. When they stop spluttering add chopped garlic, methi seeds, dried red chilli pieces, Asafoetida and curry leaves. Fry for two minutes and then add to sambar and boil it for 1 minute. Finally add chopped coriander leaves on the top.

SAMBAR:

Soak a lime sized tamarind for ½ hour and then extract the juice out of it. Cook three handful of lentils in a pressure cooker. Pour enough oil in a vessel and heat it. Add 1sp mustards and when they splutter add 1 cup of chopped sambar onions, a small piece of asafoetida and 4 slit green chillies. When they become slightly brown, add 1 or 2 cups of chopped tomatoes and 1sp turmeric powder. Cook until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the tamarind extract and when it is simmering add the vegetables and enough salt. After the vegetables are being cooked, add the cooked dhal and a little salt. Let the sambar simmer for a few minutes. Add 2tsp sambar podi and mix well. Turn the fire very low. Cook for a few minutes. Add curry leaves and chopped coriander leaves.
Sambar podi: Fry one handful of red chillies, 1tbsp Bengal gram, 2tbsp coriander seeds, 1sp fenugreek seeds, 8 peppercorn, ½ sp mustard seeds and ½ sp black gram for a few minutes to a light brown colour. When cooled, powder them.

SIMPLE RASAM

Ingredients
garlic 2 cloves
green chilli 1 big
pepper 1/2 tsp
cumin 1/4 tsp
thalippu vadagam 1 tsp
tomato 1
termarind 5 to 10 gms
termaric powder 1/2 tsp
salt to taste
sugar little
cooked toor dhall water 100 ml
oil musturd
curry and coriander leaves

Microwave cut tomato in high power for 3 mins. pound garlic, chilli separatly, powder pepper and cumin. Get the juice from the microwaved tomato, add salt and sugar. add in dhall water. In a kadai heat oil. when the oil is hot add vadagam and let it fry for few second. add chilli, garlic fry well add pepper powder, termaric powder, fry. add in the tomato juice and dhall mixture and termarind juice 1 cup. if you want you can add more water. let it boil. add curry and coriander leaves. serve hot.

SOYA BALLS VEGETABLE MASALA:

Soak 1 cup of soya balls in hot water for 15 minutes. Then drain the water completely. Squeeze the water out of the soya balls with the help of yr fingers. Then pour cold water on it and again soak for 5 minutes. Then again drain the water completely and squeeze out the extra water. Heat a kadai and pour 4 or 5 tbsp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp cumin seeds, 1 cup of chopped onions, 2 cups of chopped tomatoes and 1sp turmeric powder. Fry the vegetables until the tomatoes are mashed finely and the oil oozes on the surface. Now add 1 cup of diced potato, 2 handfuls of diced cauliflower and the soya balls with 4 cups of water. Add enough salt to it. When the vegetables are half-cooked, grind 1 cup of shredded coconut with 1sp fennel seeds, 3 garlic flakes and 4 green chillies into a paste and add this to the masala. Also add 1sp chili powder and mix well. Let the gravy simmer until you get the desired consistency. Add 2tbsp chopped coriander leaves and mix well.

SPICY EGG CURRY:

Ingredients:
Eggs-2
Green gram- 1/2 cup
Onion-2 [finely chopped]
Chopped tomatoes- 1 cup
Chilli powder- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Chopped coriander leaves- 1/2 cup
Chopped green chillies- 2 tsp
Oil- 3 tbsp
Salt to taste
Procedure:
Wash the green gram in water and boil it with 4 cups of water and the turmeric powder. When the dal is cooked to its 3/4th, add the chopped onion, tomato, green chilies, chilli powder and the coriander leaves. Cook for 10 minutes on a medium fire. Heat a small kadai and pour the oil. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter add the fennel seeds. When they become lightly brown, add this to the vegetables. Add the shredded coconut and cook for a few more minutes. The curry should not be thick. It must be a little watery. Now break the eggs and add them to the curry one by one in a circular motion. Close with a lid and cook for 10 minutes on medium fire. Now mix the curry well and spicy egg curry is ready to serve.
You can see a fine explanation about Ricotta cheese in the following link. You can substitute soya bean curd [Tofu] which is fat-free and healthier.

SPINACH SOUP:

Ingredients:

Spinach [palak]- 1/2 kilo
Potato [medium size]-1
Butter- 2 tbsp
Corn flour- 3 tbsp
Nutmeg powder- a pinch
Pepper powder- a pinch
Milk- 2 cups
Cream- 3 tbsps
Chopped onion-1
Croutons- 1 cup
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and melt butter in it. Add the onion and fry it for a few minutes. Then add the palak leaves with 2 cups of water and enough salt. Let it cook till the palak is tender. Do not over cook the plak leaves. When cooled, liquidize the palak leaves and pass it through a sieve. Blend the corn flour and the milk finely and add it to the strained soup. Add the powders and mix well. Serve hot topped with a tbsp of cream and a few croutons in each cup.

STEW ITSU CURRY

My stew or istu curry is a bit different from what you mentioned, Pa!! But yes, it goes well with idiappam or puris.

Okay, your ingredients are simple : 3 extractions of 1/2 a coconut, few fresh green chillies (5), bombay onions (abt 2 ), a couple of potatoes(diced small), curry leaves and a bit of mustard seeds for tempering.

Boil the potatoes in the the 3rd extraction of coconut milk. Halfway, add the 2nd one and the bombay onions(diced) and chillies, slit lengthwise.

At last add the 1st, thick extraction of milk and separately done, the tempering in a small wok with curry leaves, added on.

Do not make it too watery, otherwise it normally turns out well.

THANNEER KUZHAMBU:

Pressure cook one handful of split green gram and one handful of Arhar dhal with enough water. Soak a gooseberry sized tamarind in water for ½ hour and then extract its thick juice. In a kadai, pour the cooked dhal with 1 chopped onion, 2 chopped tomatoes, 2 garlic flakes, ½ sp chilli powder, ½ sp coriander powder, 1sp turmeric powder, tamarind extract, and 2tbsp chopped coriander with enough salt. Add 2 cups of water to it. Let the kuzhambu simmer for some minutes. Then heat a small kadai and pour 2tbsp cooking oil. When it becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they sputter add 1sp asafoetida powder, 1sp black gram, 1sp fennel seeds, and 5 red chillies and fry for a few seconds. Pour this tampering into the kuzhambu. Mix well and put off the fire. This kuzhambu must be watery when it is prepared.

THAKKALI KUZHAMBU:{Tomato kuzhambu}

Soak a gooseberry sized tamarind in water for ½ hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour 3 or 4 tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add 1sp black gram, 1sp fenugreek seeds, 1sp Bengal gram, 3 red chillies and some curry leaves. When they change their colour slightly, add ½ cup of chopped sambar onions and fry for a few minutes. When they change into golden brown color, add 2 cups of crushed tomatoes and 10 garlic flakes. Fry well until the tomatoes are mashed well and the oil floats on top. Pour the tamarind extract, add 2tsp sambar powder, and 1sp turmeric powder with enough salt. Allow the kuzhambu simmer for some time until it is thickened.

TOMATO MASALA:

Ingredients:

Big ripe tomatoes-3
Chopped small onions- 1/2 cup
Red chillies-5
Coriander seeds- 1 tbsp
Bengal gram-1 tbsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Asafoetida- a pea-size
Fenugreek seeds- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Gingelly oil- 2 tbsp
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Chopped coriander leaves- 1 tbsp
Curry leaves- a few
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Salt to taste

Procedure:

In a tsp of oil, roast the coriander seeds, Bengal grams, black grams, fenugreek seeds, asafoetida and the red chillies to a golden brown colour and then powder them finely when they are cooled. Soak the tomatoes in hot water for 20 minutes and then remove the skins. Mash the tomatoes. Heat a kadai and pour the oil and the ghee. When the oil becomes hot, add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the small onions and fry for a few seconds until they become golden brown. Add the tomato with the turmeric powder and cook well until the gravy is thickened. Add the fried powder with the curry leaves, coriander leaves and salt to taste. Mix well and cook for a few minutes until the oil floats on top. This masala will be delicious with the rice.

TOMATO SOUP:

Ingredients:
Lentils[thuar dal]-1/2 cup, 10 green chillies, tomatoes-200 gms[finely crushed], chopped onion-1, a few curry leaves, coarsely ground cummin powder-1/2sp, coarsely ground fennel powder-1sp, ghee-2sp, cardamom-1, clove-1, small piece of cinnamon-1, bay leaf-1, star anise-1, a marble sized asafoetida-1 piece, half lime, turmeric powder-1sp, salt to tase.
Method:
Cook the dal in the pressure cooker. Then take away the dal and pour it in a vessel. Add the tomatoes, anion, gren chillies, curry leaves, turmeric powder and the powders to the dal with enough salt and 4 cups of water. Let it simmer for 5 minutes. The heat a small kadai and add the ghee. Add the spices and fry them for a few seconds. Add this to the soup and let it simmer for another 3 minutes. Put off the fire and add the lime juice.

ULUNTHU KUZHAMBU:

Heat a kadai and pour 1sp gingelly oil. Fry 1 handful of split blackgram to a light brown colour on medium fire. Then pressure cook it with 1 tsp turmeric powder and enough salt. Grind 5 red chillies, 1sp cumin seeds and 2tbsp shredded coconut to a fine paste. Again heat the kadai and pour 3tbsp gingelly oil. When it becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they splutter, add 1 spring curry leaves, and 10 small onions which are finely chopped. Stir well and cook until the onions brown slightly. Add the cooked dhal, ground paste and enough salt. Let the kuzhambu simmer for some minutes until it is slightly thickened.

VADAI CURRY

Ingredients:
Onions-3[nicely sliced]
Tomatoes-1/2 kilo [crushed]
Garlic flakes-12
Garlic paste-1sp
Ginger paste-1sp
Turmeric powder-1sp
Enough salt to taste
Shredded coconut-1 cup
Cardamom-1
Clove-1
Oil-3 or 4 tbsps

FOR VADAI:
Bengal gram-1/2 cup
Thur dal-1/2 cup
Red chillies-2
Green chillies-2
Aniseed-1/2 sp
Sliced onion-1 cup
Coriander leaves and curry leaves-1/4 cup

METHOD:
Soak the dhals for an hour and grind coarsely with the chillies, enough salt and the aniseeds. Do not add much water. The batter should be thick.
Mix the onions, curry leaves and the coriander leaves with the batter.
Pour the batter in an oil coated idli plate and steam them for 15 minutes. Let it cool for some time and then cut it into small, even pieces.
Grind the coconut with the cardamom, clove and 2 cups of water, and then extract the milk from it.
In a hot pan, pour the oil. When it is heated, add the onions, ginger and garlic pastes, garlic flakes and the tomatoes.
When they are cooked and the oil floats on the surface, add the coconut milk, turmeric powder, enough salt and 3 cups of water.
When the gravy is thickened slightly, add the vadai pieces and cook for some more minutes.

VATHTHAL KUZHAMBU-III:

Soak a big lime-sized tamarind in water for 1 hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour 4tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add1sp black gram, 4 red chillies, and 1 spring curry leaves and fry well. Then add 1 cup of small onions and 4 slit green chillies. Fry for a few minutes and when the onions become soft, add a handful of mixed vathals like sundaikkai, avaraikkai, manaththakkaali, katharikkai etc. and fry for a few seconds. Pour the tamarind extract and add 2tsp chillipowder, 1sp turmeric powder, 4sp coriander powder and enough salt. Mix well. Let the kuzhambu simmer for sometime until it thickens fairly. Add ¼ cup of cooked thuar dal and 1tbsp chopped coriander leaves to the kuzhambu and mix well. Put off the fire.

VATHAL KUZHAMBU:

Soak a big lime sized tamarind in water for 1 hr and then extracts its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour 2tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they are spluttering, add 1sp black grams, 2tbsp Bengal gram, 3 red chillies and some curry leaves. Fry for a few seconds and then pour the tamarind juice, half a spoon turmeric powder, 2tsp vathal kuzhambu podi and enough salt. Mix well and allow the kuzhambu to simmer for some minutes until the raw flavour disappears and the kuzhambu is slightly thickened.

VATHTHAL KUZHAMBU-III:

Soak a big lime-sized tamarind in water for 1 hour and then extract its thick juice. Heat a kadai and pour 4tbsp gingelly oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add1sp black gram, 4 red chillies, and 1 spring curry leaves and fry well. Then add 1 cup of small onions and 4 slit green chillies. Fry for a few minutes and when the onions become soft, add a handful of mixed vathals like sundaikkai, avaraikkai, manaththakkaali, katharikkai etc. and fry for a few seconds. Pour the tamarind extract and add 2tsp chillipowder, 1sp turmeric powder, 4sp coriander powder and enough salt. Mix well. Let the kuzhambu simmer for sometime until it thickens fairly. Add ¼ cup of cooked thuar dal and 1tbsp chopped coriander leaves to the kuzhambu and mix well. Put off the fire.

VEGETABLE KURUMA:

Heat a kadai and pour 5tbsp oil. When the oil becomes hot, add 1 cup of chopped onions and fry for a few minutes. Then add 1 cup of chopped tomatoes, 1sp turmeric power, a pinch of cardamom powder, a pinch of of cinnamon powder, a pinch of cloves powder, 1sp ginger paste, and 1sp garlic paste and fry well until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add 3 cups of water, 1 cup diced potaoes and 1cup peas. Grind 3tbsp shredded coconut with 1sp poppy seeds, 1sp aniseed, 3 cashew nuts, 1sp puffed Bengal gram [pottu kadalai] and 4 green chillies to a fine paste. When the vegetables are half-cooked, add the ground masala to the kuruma with 1sp coriander powder and enough salt. Mix well and let the kuruma simmer until you get the desired consistency. Add a cup of thick coconut milk and when the kuruma starts simmering again, put off the fire and then add 1sp lime juice, 1tbsp chopped coriander leaves, some curry leaves and mix well.

VENTHAYA RASAM [FENUGREEK RASAM]:

Soak a lime-sized tamarind in water for an hour and then extract its thick juice. In a sp of gingelly oil, fry 1/2sp fenugreek seeds, 2 red chillies, 10 peppercorns and 11/2sp shredded coconut to a golden brown colour and then powder them. Heat a kadai and pours 2sp gingelly oil and 1sp g

Noodles
11th February 2006, 03:55 PM
[tscii:060a37eb25]VENTHAYA RASAM [FENUGREEK RASAM]:

Soak a lime-sized tamarind in water for an hour and then extract its thick juice. In a sp of gingelly oil, fry 1/2sp fenugreek seeds, 2 red chillies, 10 peppercorns and 11/2sp shredded coconut to a golden brown colour and then powder them. Heat a kadai and pours 2sp gingelly oil and 1sp ghee. When it becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter add a pea-sized asafoetida, 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes, and 1sp turmeric power and fry well under medium fire until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the tamarind extract, the powder, 1tbsp chopped coriander, curry leaves, with enough salt and water. When the rasam starts simmering, put off the fire.

VEPPAMPOO RASAM: [Neem flower rasam]
Ingredients:

Tamarind-a lime size
Red chillies- 3
Cooked dal- ¼ cup
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Asafetida- a marble size
Veppampoo- 2 tbsp
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Chopped coriander leaves- 2 tbsp
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Mashed tomato- ½ cup
Rasam powder- 1 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Enough salt

Procedure:

Soak the tamarind in 2 cups of water for half an hour and then extract its juice. Pour it in a kadai with 2 more cups of water with enough salt, tomatoes, rasam powder turmeric powder and the cooked dal. Let it simmer for 3 minutes. Heat a small kadai and pour the ghee. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the red chillies, curry leaves and asafetida. Then add the veppampoo and fry to a brown colour and add these to the simmering rasam with the coriander leaves. Let the rasam simmer for a few minutes.

HANDI CHICKEN

Ingredients

Chicken pieces- 1 kilo
Green Chili paste- 2 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tbsp
Ginger paste- 1 tbsp
Lemon juice- 2 tsp
Sliced onion- 1 cup
Cashew nuts- 1/4 cup
Coriander leaves- 1 cup
Chilli powder- 1 1/2 tsp
Finely chopped tomatoes- 1 cup
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Freshly ground garam masala powder- 1 tsp
Bay leaves- 3
Bay Leaves-2
Curd- 3 tbsp
Ghee- 3 tbsp
Oil- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Marinate the chicken pieces with the pastes, lemon juice and enough salt for 30 minutes.

Fry the sliced onions in a little ghee to a brown colour and grind it with the curd, coconut and the cashew nuts to a fine paste.
Heat the ghee and the oil. Add the marinated chicken and cook in low flame for a few minutes. Add the ground paste with the powders and the tomatoes and cook on medium fire until the chicken is cooked well. Add the coriander leaves and sprinkle the garam masala powder. Cook for a few minutes on slow fire.

CHICKEN CHUKKA:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1/2 kilo
Coriander seeds-3 tsp
Red chillies- 10
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp
Peppercorns- 2 tsp
Cinnamon- 2 pieces
Cloves-2
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Finely chopped onion-3
Finely chopped tomato- 1 cup
Ginger paste-1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Enough oil and salt

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and pour 1tsp of oil. Add the shredded coconut and fry it on slow fire to a golden brown colour. Take them away and again fry the remaining spices in a little oil. Grind the fried ingredients to a paste. Add the turmeric powder, the ground paste and enough salt to the chicken pieces and mix well. Heat a pan and pour 5 to 6 tbsp of oil. Add the onion with the ginger and garlic pastes .Fry them well. Add the tomato pieces and fry them until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the chicken and cook on medium fire until they are well cooked and become dry.

HYDERABAD CHICKEN:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1 kilo
Finely chopped tomatoes- 2 cups
Onion-2
Ghee- 2 tbsp
Red chillies-10
Poppy seeds- 2 tsp
Fennel seeds-1 tsp
Curry eaves- 1 arc
Cinnamon- 1 piece
Cardamom-3
Shredded coconut- 2 cups
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Enough salt

Procedure:

Grill the onions and remove the skins. Fry all the spices and the coconut in ghee to a golden brown colour and then grind them with the onions to a fine paste. Cook the chicken pieces with the tomatoes, turmeric powder, 1 cup of water and enough salt. When the chicken pieces are half cooked, add the ground paste and cook the chicken until they are fully cooked and the gravy is thickened.

TOMATO CHICKEN GRAVY:

Ingredients:

Chicken pieces- 1 kilo
Peppercorns- 1 tsp
Red chillies- 12
Garlic flakes-8
Shredded coconut- 1 cup
Fennel seeds- 2 tsp
Cardamom-2
Cinnamon- 1 piece
Cloves-2
Curry leaves- a handful
Oil- 1/4 cup
Salt to taste
Red chilli powder-2 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chopped tomatoes- 3 cups

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and pour a table spoon of oil. Fry 1 tsp of fennel seeds, peppercorns, red chillies, garlic flakes, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, and the shredded coconut to a golden brown colour. Then grind them to a fine paste. Again heat the kadai and pour the remaining oil. Add the remaining fennel seeds with the curry leaves and fry them for a few seconds. Then add the tomato pieces with the turmeric powder. Fry them until they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Then add the chicken pieces with the chilli powder and the ground paste. Cook the chicken well until you get the desired consistency.

[/tscii:060a37eb25]

Kavitha Ravi
11th February 2006, 09:25 PM
[tscii:182c73086e]
Dear Noodles,
The recipe Tomato pickle was given by my late M.I.L. Mrs.Soma.
It was posted in the Tamilnadu Delicacies by my co- sister Indera Sitham 10th March 2004. Thanks. Kavitha Ravi

From: Indera Sitham (@ j55.jrc32.jaring.my) on: Wed Mar 10 02:40:26 EST 2004

TOMATO PICKLE
INGREDIENTS
Ripe Tomatoes 1 kg
Tamarind 80 grms
Chilli Powder 70 grms
Mustard 2 tbsps
Fenugreek 2 tbsps
Asfoetida 1 teasp
Salt 2 tbsps – or to taste
Oil 250 ml – or 1 cup gingly oil
Mustard 1 teasp - for tampering

METHOD OF PREPARATION

Wash and wipe dry the tomatoes. Put them in a deep bowl, and steam it in a steamer, till the skin shrinks.
Remove the bowl from the steamer.
Remove the tomatoes with a perforated spoon.
When the tomatoes become cold, remove the skins and blend it in a blender.
There will be tomato juice in the bowl.
Soak the tamarind in the juice. (add little hot water if the juice is not enough )
Make a thick extract,remove all fibres and scum.
Roast the funugreek and mustard , and powder it.
Take a kadai , pour the oil and put mustard on low flame. When mustard starts to crackle, add the asfoetida, the tomato pulp, and the tamarind extract.
Let it boil, till the water evoparates.
Keep stirring all the time.
Now add the chillie , mustard, and fenugreek powders, and also the salt.
Stir till the oil starts leaving.
Remove it and let it cool. When cold, fill up in a clean bottle.
It keeps well in a fridge for about 2 months.

This tomato pickle is very famous among our relatives
Our new friends after tasting, would definitely ask for the recipe.
Try it once. Goes well with anything.
Dear Manasi, try this tomato pickel,or thokku.

[/tscii:182c73086e]

cynthia_a02
11th February 2006, 10:30 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i tried ur idli sambar for rava idlies yesterday.it is very very nice.my husband likes it very much.thanks a lot for sharing very tasty receipes.bye.take care.

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:07 PM
Dear Kavim10!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on pepper chicken.

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:08 PM
Dear Manjusiva!

Thank you very much for the appreciation.

About the coconut burfi- At the final stage, the small portion you have taken in your hand must be shaped in a ball and it should not stick in yr hand. That is the correct stage for pouring the mixture on a greased plate. Many hubbers became successful in making this burfi. Hope you will get a successful result.

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:16 PM
[tscii:11d3715799]Dear Cynthia!

Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on idlis and idli sambar.

You can add paruppu podi in vegetables. You can sprinkle a little when making fried recipes, and add a little when grinding masala for the koottu varieties. I am posting here a few recipes using paruppu podi.

PARUPPU PODI TOMATO RICE:

Ingredients:

Cooked rice- 2 big cups
Paruppu podi- 4 heaped spoons
Chopped coriander leaves- ¼ cup
Chopped onion- 2
Chopped tomatoes- 1 cup
Mustard seeds 1 tsp
Split black gram- 1 tsp
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Asafoetida powder- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/ tsp
Enough salt
Oil- 2tbsp
Ghee- 2 tsp

Procedure:

Heat a pan and pour the oil. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter, add the black gram and curry leaves and fry for a few seconds. Then add the onion with the tomatoes and the coriander leaves and fry them till they are well mashed and the oil floats on the surface. Add the coconut with the asafoetida powder and turmeric power. Fry for a few minutes. Add the rice with the paruppu podi, enough salt and ghee. Mix them well on slow fire for a few minutes.

PARUPPU PODI DOSAI:

Ingredients:

Dosai batter-2 cups
Paruppu podi- 5 tsp
Finely chopped onion- a handful
Finely chopped coriander leaves- 2 tbsp
Red chillies-2
Garlic flakes-4
Enough salt

Procedure:

Fry the red chillies and the garlic flakes in a little gingelly oil for a few seconds. Do not allow the garlic flakes change its colour and then grind them to a fine paste. Add this paste with all the other ingredients to the dosai batter and mix well. You can prepare dosa immediately. This is like an instant adai.

[/tscii:11d3715799]

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:17 PM
Dear Sonia!

Thank you very much for the feedback on Hyderabad chicken as well as Kerala spicy chicken masala.

About Idli- the measurement for par boiled rice and black gram must be 5:1. Normally the fenugreek seeds are added when soaking the dal. But a friend of mine does not use fenugreek seeds for idli and her idli is always very soft. The black gram should be fresh and the whole white black gram must be used. Do not use iodized salt for the batter. Ordinary salt is enough. The batter should not be very thick. For dosai, use 4 cups of par boiled rice to one cup of black gram and also add 1 tsp of fenugreek seeds and 1/2 cup of raw rice when soaking. Mix well the batter and allow it to ferment for at least 10 hours.

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:18 PM
Hello Rajshank!

You can use lite coconut milk for the 2nd and 3rd extracts and tinned thick coconut milk for the 1st extract. I am also using these tinned varieties when I have to prepare something fast.
But using original and fresh coconut milk is always tastier and delicious compared to tinned and powdered coconut milk.
I am still in Tamilnadu enjoying its climate and visiting friends

Mrs.Mano
12th February 2006, 05:20 PM
Dear Dev!

I am glad that you got a spicy sambar powder and I hope that you will get a delicious sambar with it. Do post the recipe of yr kollu chutney here.

dev
12th February 2006, 07:32 PM
Hi Mrs.Mano,

made drumstick sambar Y'day... It turned out to be very tasty that we didn't spare a drop of the sambar... The vessel was wiped clean in minutes... Thank U one again for the wonderful recipe...:)

And here is the kollu recipe, Mrs.Mano...

Kollu Chutney:

Soak kollu(around 175 gms) overnight & cook until done... The excess water can be drained to make kollu rasam... Now heat some oil in a pan... add some jeera(1/2 tsp), coriander seeds(1/2 tsp), chopped onions(one medium onion), garlic(1 or 2), dry chillies(2-3) & curry leaves(10 leaves), asafotida(can add it now or cook along with dhal)... fry until the onions turn transparent...let cool... grind this along with the kollu mixture & salt to a bit coarse paste... the ground mixture should be of idli batter consistency...not too thick nor too watery... can use the water in which the dhal was cooked or plain water too...but it tastes better if the former is used) tastes heavenly with rice & a bit of coconut oil or ghee...ghee & coconut oil are optional)

Sorry, I don't have the exact measurements... pls adjust to taste...

kavithasenthil
13th February 2006, 12:23 AM
dev,
i wanted to ask this kollu recipe and mrs.mano asked and thanks for posting. my mouth is watering...have to try soon. its been yrs i tasted this back at home. also whats the english or hindi name for kollu. have to look in indian grocery. thanks again.

dev
13th February 2006, 05:47 AM
Englisg name- Horsegram dhal... This is how it's known in India... I'm not sure if it comes under the same name elsewhere... Good luck, Kavitha...:)

cynthia_a02
13th February 2006, 07:39 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thanks a lot for ur reply.i'll try the parrupu podi receipes and let u know the result.i tried ur meen kuzhambu yesterday.it is very very nice.enga amma seiyira mathiriyae iruthuchu.thanks a lot.after a long gap i ate a good meen kuzhambu.thanks again.bye.take care.

manjusiva
14th February 2006, 07:12 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

Thanks for ur reply. I will try the burfi once again and let u know the results.

Last week, I tried keerai paruppu kootu, chettinad chicken gravy and rava kitchadi.
Myself and my husband liked the taste very much.

Thanks for all the delicious recipes.

rsankar
14th February 2006, 02:22 PM
Hello Mrs. Mano,

I tried your KATHARIKKAI AND POTATO KOTHSU, TOMATO AND KATHARIKKAI KOTHSU, MEEN KUZHAMBU, CHETTINADU CHICKEN BRIYANI, IDLI SAMBAR, RED CHUTNEY: [Used for mysore masala dosa].......all were very tasty. especially the Chettinadu chicken briyani we liked very much.

Thanks for sharing
rsankar.

dev
14th February 2006, 04:19 PM
Hi Mrs.Mano,

U've become so very popular in our house that each time I make something new & if tastes good, S asks if it's ur recipe... Made apple kitchadi cake(I named it...hehehe) & he asked the same que again...:oops: :)

arrecipes
14th February 2006, 11:55 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
Tried the Chicken tomato gravy and it turned out to be yummy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

Jonu
15th February 2006, 04:58 AM
Dear Mrs Mano ,

How are you doing ? Thanks a lot for replying , I shall surely try to make Idli and Dosa and let you know the results .

Take care now will reply back soon thanks once again .

Regards ,
Sonia .

deviraja
15th February 2006, 11:07 PM
Hi!
Does anybody know the recipe for Mrs.mano''s IDLI SAMBAR?If so,please let me know at srivari2000@yahoo.com
Thanks in advance,
Deviraja

arrecipes
16th February 2006, 02:25 AM
[tscii:1cf0606e5d]Hi Deviraja,
This is Mrs.Mano's recipe of Idli Sambar

IDLI SAMBAR:
Ingredients:
Lentils- ½ cup
Chopped tomatoes- ¼ cup
Asafetida powder- 1 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1tsp
Chopped sambar onions- 1 cup
Crushed tomatoes-1 ½ cup
Turmeric powder- 1 tsp
Powdered jabbery- 1tsp
Enough gingelly oil
Salt to taste
Roast in a spoon of oil and then grind the following:
Tamarind- a lime size
Coriander seeds- 2 tsp
Cumin seeds- ½ tsp
Peppercorns- ½ tsp
Curry leaves- 2 tbsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Fenugreek seeds- ½ tsp
Bengal gram- 1 tsp
Shredded coconut- 2tbsp
Procedure:
Pressure cook the lentils with ¼ cup of chopped tomatoes and the asafoetida powder.
Soak the tamarind in water for ½ hour and then extract the juice.
In a kadai pour 4tbsp oil.
When it becomes hot, add 1sp mustard seeds and when they splutter add the chopped sambar onions and fry well.
Then add 1 ½ cup of chopped tomatoes with the of turmeric powder.
Fry until the tomatoes are mashed well and the oil floats on the top.
Then add the cooked dal[lentils] with enough water and salt.
Let the sambar simmer for a few minutes.
Then add the tamarind extract and the ground powder.
Mix well and again let the sambar simmer for a few minutes.
Add the powdered jaggery and 2sp gingelly oil.
Mix well and put off the fire.

[/tscii:1cf0606e5d]

cynthia_a02
16th February 2006, 07:52 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i tried ur parrupu podi tomato rice.its very nice.thanks a lot.bye.take care.

rsankar
16th February 2006, 07:56 PM
Hello Mrs. Mano,

Could you tell me, how to prepare aromatic Thanjavur filter coffee?

thanks
rsankar.

dev
17th February 2006, 07:02 AM
& also the recipe for making good tea please...;)

Shoba
17th February 2006, 02:51 PM
--deleted--

dev
17th February 2006, 09:02 PM
Hi Mrs.Mano,

Tried 'paruppu rasam' today... It turned out to be very yummy... was surprised that very limited ingredients could make such a delicious rasam... I couldn't wait until lunch & had a bowl of it as soup...Thanks a lot for the recipe...Smile

Also, could U post the recipe for mysore rasam, if u happen to have one...

Ishu
17th February 2006, 09:03 PM
Hi friends,
Iam new to this forum. Can any one send Mrs. Mano's Pepper Chicken Recipe? pls....

di
18th February 2006, 01:29 AM
hi Mrs Mano,
i made u'r Kadamba sadam for dinner last night- it tastes delicious! thank you for the recipe!

rajshank
19th February 2006, 10:42 PM
Thankyou very much Mrs. Mano..i will now make the stew using coconut milk. I've been craving this stew for sometime now...

Mrs.Mano
20th February 2006, 04:47 PM
Dear Cynthiya!

Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on meen kuzhambu as well as paruppu podi tomato rice.
Just I wish to give a few tips for a tasty meen kuzhambu. Use puthu puli[fresh tamarind] and Kashmir chilli powder for better results.

Mrs.Mano
20th February 2006, 04:48 PM
Dear Manjusiva!

Thank you very much for the feedback on keerai paruppu kootu, chettinad chicken gravy and rava kitchadi.

Mrs.Mano
20th February 2006, 04:52 PM
[tscii:0321fecba9]Dear rsankar!

About kalyana sambar-I will enquire the chefs here about it and If I succeed in it, I will post the recipe here.

Thanks a lot for the feedback on katharikkai and potato kothsu, tomato and katharikkai kothsu, meen kuzhambu, chettinadu chicken briyani, idli sambar, red chutney. About filter coffee-

FILTER COFFEE:

A first quality coffee powder is needed. Either coffee day or Narasus gives delicious coffee. For 250 gms of coffee powder, you must add 25gms of chicory. Mix well both powders and then fill in a glass jar. You must use 3 heaped spoons for a cup. Put the coffee powder in the filter and press tightly with the fingers. Pour 1/2 cup of simmering water in it and close with the lid. After 10 or 15 minutes, the thick first decoction will be stored under the filter. Again pour 1/2 cup of simmering water and again a slightly thin decoction will be stored. Mix both the decoctions. For milk, lots of options are there. You can use cow’s milk [pasumpal] or powdered milk. I am using EVERY DAY MILK POWDER. To me, this is the best milk powder till date. I am using 3 to 4 teaspoons according to the thickness. Put the milk powder in a cup and mix hot water [boiling water in it. Mix well and then strain it. The milk should be measured to ¾ cup. Add 2 tsps of sugar in it. Lastly add the decoction according to yr taste.

[/tscii:0321fecba9]

Mrs.Mano
20th February 2006, 04:52 PM
Dear arrecipes!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on Chicken tomato gravy.

Mrs.Mano
20th February 2006, 04:54 PM
[tscii:52cb243d65]Dear Dev!

Thank you very much for the feed back on paruppu rasam. I felt happy to know that it turned out very delicious for you.

For preparing delicious tea-

Add 1 tsp of tea powder for a cup of water. Pour the water in a bowl and let it simmer. Crush a pea-sized ginger and 2 cardamoms and add them to the water. When the water starts to simmer, reduce the fire and add the tea powder. Let it boil for 3 to 5 minutes. To ¾ cup of warm milk, add 2 tsp of sugar and add the tea decoction gradually according to the taste.

I will post the recipe for mysore rasam soon!

[/tscii:52cb243d65]

Alan
22nd February 2006, 02:10 PM
WOW! A nice cup of chai- I'm gonna try that today itself! :D Thanks a ton, Mano Mam!

kavim10
23rd February 2006, 10:02 PM
I found a lot of kothsu recipes in ur collection. Kothsu is something very new to me. I have never heard before. What category does it come like kulambu, poriyal, kootu etc., Mrs. Mano or somebody please throw some light on it.

rsankar
24th February 2006, 03:14 PM
Hello Mrs. Mano,

Thank you for your filter coffee....

Is good to use milk powder (everyday) ?

rsankar.

dev
24th February 2006, 06:16 PM
Hi Mrs.Mano, thanks for the tea recipe... Since my husb doesn't like ginger, I tried with the rest of the ingredients & it turned out good... But, without the spices, plain tea was just the same as I make... I use chakra gold tea... Not very satisfied with it though... Could you please suggest a good brand of tea?...

cynthia_a02
24th February 2006, 07:43 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thanks for ur tips on meen kulambhu.i'll try it soon and let u know.bye.

Mrs.Mano
26th February 2006, 04:43 PM
Dear Dev!

To my knowledge, Lipton is the best.

Thanks a lot for the kollu chutney recipe. Here is the recipe for Mysore rasam!

MYSORE RASAM:

Ingredients:

Lentils- a handful [cooked]
Tamarind- a lime size
Tomato- 1 cup [crushed]
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Coriander leaves- a handful
Salt to taste
Ghee and oil- 1 tbsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp

Fry the following ingredients in a spoon of ghee to a golden brown colour and then powder them coarsely:
Lentils- 1 tsp
Bengal gram- 1/2 tsp
Peppercorn- 1 tsp
Cumin seeds-1/2 tsp
Red chilli-1
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Shredded coconut-1 tbsp
Asafoetida- a pea-size

Procedure:

Soak the tamarind in a cup of water for an hour and then extract its juice. Add
enough water to make it to 5 cups. Add turmeric powder, tomato and enough salt to it and let it simmer for a few seconds. Add the cooked dal and the rasam powder and again allow it to simmer for 2 minutes. Heat a small pan and pour the oil and ghee. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter add this with the coriander leaves to the rasam. Use it after half an hour.

Mrs.Mano
26th February 2006, 04:54 PM
Dear Kavim10!

"kothsu" is a thickened gravy-type chutney. It is mostly suitable with dosai, idli and aappam varieties

Mrs.Mano
26th February 2006, 05:11 PM
Dear rsankar!

Nowadays "pasumpal" is always watery. I have tried other types of milks also but could not get a good coffee. I have also tried varieties of milk powders. But this is the best milk powder for a good coffee. There is no harm in using milk powders. If you use full cream milk powder in large quantities, then you have to watch for yr cholesterol level.

cynthia_a02
28th February 2006, 08:19 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i tried ur milagu kuzhambu third version. its very nice.actually we don't add tomatoes in milagu kuzhambu.this one is nice.and reg. carrot halwa in stead of milk powder can we add milk.if so please give the amount.bye.take care.

arrecipes
1st March 2006, 10:34 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
Can u post the recipe for Venghaya Chutney. Thanks in advance.

gayesh
2nd March 2006, 05:07 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I'm planning to celebrate my baby's second birthday at home.Can u suggest a good,complete vegetarian menu?

Rgds,
gayesh

cynthia_a02
5th March 2006, 06:17 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i tried ur lemon rasam yesterday.it's very nice.but i feel like the lemon taste is dominating.actually this is the first time i've tasted it.i want to know whether i've done any mistake or its the real taste of lemon rasam.thanks a lot.bye.

ramya_seema
7th March 2006, 01:20 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano

Could you please post the recipe for the MINI SAMOSAS which we get in Tamil Nadu. It has a very crispy shell and has onion fillings.

Thanks in advance

Noodles
7th March 2006, 09:54 AM
Can u pls post the recipe for BLACK EYED BEANS.

Noodles
7th March 2006, 10:18 AM
Dear Mrs. Mano

Can u pls. post the recipe for

GREEN GRAM /PASSI PAYARU (WHOLE)

Mrs.Mano
7th March 2006, 08:03 PM
Dear Di!

Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on kadhamba sadham.

Mrs.Mano
7th March 2006, 08:04 PM
[tscii:cea832e54f]Dear Cynthia!

Thank you very much for the feedback on Milagu kuzhambu.
Regarding Carrot Halwa- you can test with condensed milk or thickened milk. I have tried with milk earlier and I don’t think that it was tastier than this version with milk powder. So I have forgotten about that recipe and cannot pinpoint the correct quantity of milk.
About the lemon rasam- each and every lime or lemon is different from one another. Some has more juice and some has little juice. The sour taste also will be different according to the type of lemon. So you have to add the juice correctly to get the exact taste.
[/tscii:cea832e54f]

Mrs.Mano
7th March 2006, 08:10 PM
Dear arrecipes!

There are so many recipes on Venghaya chutney. I am giving here a few varieties.

VENGHAYA CHUTNEY-I

Ingredients:

Onion-2
Tomato[size of an onion]-1
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Sambar onions-10
Gingelly oil-3 tbsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Curry leaves- a handful
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Grind the onions with the tomato, tamarind and enough salt. Chop the sambar onions finely. Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter add the black grams, curry leaves and sambar onions and fry them well with a pinch of salt. Add this to the ground chutney.

VENGHAYA CHUTNEY-II

Ingredients:

Sambar onions- 1 cup
Black gram- 1/4 cup
Asafoetida-a pea size
Tamarind- a small gooseberry size
Red chillies-10
Salt to taste
Enough gingelly oil

Procedure:

Fry the asafoetida, black gram, sambar onions, red chillies separately in little oil and then grind all of them with the tamarind and enough salt to a coarse paste. Mix with a spoon of gingelly oil and serve.

Mrs.Mano
7th March 2006, 08:11 PM
[tscii:dc0e33e8ac]Dear Gayesh!

For yr baby’s second birthday party, you can combine the menu for the elders as well as the babies of the same age. Desserts, icecreams, and dals will suit both of them. Children will love always mild snacks like cutlets and also the food combined with the potatoes. You have to prepare the menu according to the age group. For the elders, you can go ahead with salads, veg.briyani, any paneer curry and a mixed vegetable masala.

[/tscii:dc0e33e8ac]

Noodles
8th March 2006, 03:32 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano

I prepared Sambar, Tomato Rice, Araithuviita Sambar all recipes turned out good.

I proud to say that Your recipes only giving us the promising results.

gayesh
12th March 2006, 11:34 AM
thanks Mrs.Mano.!!will follow ur suggestions.
can u pls give the recipe for making vegetable puffs?is it very difficult to make the outer covering?

rgds,
gayesh

cynthia_a02
13th March 2006, 07:36 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thanks for ur response.i tried out pakalkai podimas and this kathirikai-potato kothsu.they turned out really nice.this kothsu is really a superb sidedish for idly.i tried parruppu urundai kulambhu.but some urundais karanchu poidichu.please let me know where i've made mistake.thanks in advance and bye.

Kathy
14th March 2006, 03:16 AM
Can somebody email me all the collections of Mrs Mano. My id is kavitha_renganathan@yahoo.com

arrecipes
14th March 2006, 05:50 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I tried out the Venghaya Chutney(both versions)> It was awesome. Thanks for the recipe.

-arrecipes

arrecipes
14th March 2006, 05:53 AM
Kathy,
U can download Mrs. Mano using the following link

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/contribs/mrs.mano/Tamilnadu_delicacies.doc
http://forumhub.mayyam.com/contribs/mrs.mano/corrected_recipes_of_Mrs_Mano.doc

sangeetha_me
16th March 2006, 10:54 PM
hi arrecipies

Thanks a lot for the link. Are there more recipies to the collection? If so, can someone mail it to my id : sangeetha.venkat@gmail.com ?

sjeya
18th March 2006, 01:26 AM
Mrs. Mano:
How long should I soak kollu before cooking and also please tell me how long I should cook in a pressure cooker?
Also, reg your recipe for MALABAR PRAWN CURRY the second ingredient listed is shredded ginger - is it supposed to be shredded coconut? please clarify..
Thanks for your hard work.

apujittu
19th March 2006, 02:36 AM
Dear Mrs Mano,
After a long time I am back to this forum. I have tried your receipes earlier..always turned out good for me. I would like to know the receipe for making samosa...the outer cover I want it crispy and not soggy. Will be glad if you can post receipe for that. Thank you

Mrs.Mano
20th March 2006, 06:29 PM
Dear Noodles!

I regret for the delayed reply. I will soon post the recipes for black eye beans as well as whole green gram. And my heartiest thanks for the feedback on araiththu vitta sambar and tomato rice.

Mrs.Mano
20th March 2006, 06:29 PM
Dear arrecipes!

Thank you very much for the feedback on venghaya chutneys. I will post more recipes on venghaya chutney when I find enough time.

Mrs.Mano
20th March 2006, 06:49 PM
[tscii:6296dde7b7]Hello Jeya!

As I was away from my residence for a long time, I couldn’t reply to yr query immediately.

There is no need to soak kollu prior to cooking. Just fry it for a few minutes till its colour changes lightly. Then wash it and then cook in the pressure cooker with enough water to 4 whistles. But if you soak it for a few hours before cooking, the result will be good. There is no need to fry it if you soak for 3 or 4 hours.

I regret for my mistake in the MALABAR PRAWN CURRY. Yes, you are right. It should be corrected as ‘shredded coconut’ instead of ‘shredded ginger’. Thank you very much for pointing out the mistake.

[/tscii:6296dde7b7]

Mrs.Mano
20th March 2006, 07:03 PM
Dear Cynthia!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on palakkai podimas as well as katharikkai-potato kothsu.

Regarding the preparation of paruppu urundai- the urundai paste should be slightly coarse and firm. The kuzhambu must be watery. The vessel should be broad and deep. If you drop in 4 or 5 urundais, they should have sufficient place to be cooked and then come back to float on the surface. If you feel that the paste is not thick enough, then make balls, steams them for 15 minutes in a steamer or in an idli pot and then drop them in to the kuzhambu. But the taste of these balls will be secondary to those which are cooked directly.

sjeya
21st March 2006, 12:02 AM
Thanks Mrs.Mano for your reply - I will try the kollu rasam and the Malabar prawn curry soon and let you know.

kavithasenthil
21st March 2006, 09:42 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

Tried some of ur recipes this year 2006.

Poli with my own stuffing.
Carrot halwa
Sambar sadham
Egg fried rice
Kushkabriyani-without coconut milk
Pressure cooker briyani
Pavakai puli kuto
Sambar
Keerai sambar
Idli sambar
Ennai kathirikai curry
Tomato thokku
Potato podimas
Soya Fry
Aval Uppuma
Rice puttu

All are amazing and those will be in our daily cooking.

I earned 'good cook' title all becaz of u and others in this hub. I say thankyou from my heart. U are mother like figure for me and all others in this hub who became a good cook becaz of you and your recipes. Thankyou once again.

dev
22nd March 2006, 07:14 AM
Kavitha, what U've said is very true... My cooking has become more refined after I started visiting the hub... :)

cynthia_a02
22nd March 2006, 10:43 PM
i also agree with both of you.Mrs.Mano is doing a great job.She is also clarifying all our doubts.My heart wishes to her.

cynthia_a02
22nd March 2006, 10:43 PM
sorry hearty wishes to Mano mam.se3r4

Shoba
23rd March 2006, 08:43 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

I earned 'good cook' title all becaz of u and others in this hub. I say thankyou from my heart. U are mother like figure for me and all others in this hub who became a good cook becaz of you and your recipes. Thankyou once again.

Mrs Mano, I second what Kavitha wrote. When I'm bored with the regular cooking, I always pick out recipes from your thread to try out. I have never tasted many of the dishes you have on your list, so I follow your recipes accurately, and always get complimented by our Thamizhnaadu friends.

Thank you very much and God bless!

Shoba

Noodles
23rd March 2006, 01:53 PM
Thanks Mrs.Mano for ur reply. I am looking for ur recipes!

Noodles

sangeetha_me
24th March 2006, 09:46 PM
Dear Thattai

Thanks for sending me Mrs. Mano's recipe collection. :D

Mrs.Mano
24th March 2006, 10:31 PM
[tscii:1321d5ca29]Dear Kavitha, Dev, Shoba and Cynthia!

Let me thank you all for the affection you have showered on me. This kind of appreciation is the reward as well as the inspiration for my enthusiasm in cookery.
That is why I am taking my lap top with me whenever I travel outside just to share my knowledge with you all!! . Here I wish to convey my sincere thanks to NOV for letting me share my knowledge with all the food lovers through my thread’ TAMILANDU DELICACIES’!

[/tscii:1321d5ca29]

arrecipes
24th March 2006, 11:15 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
As our fellow hubbers said you are a mother like figure who is toning up our culinary skills. Thanks for the effort you are putting in to help others.

arrecipes
24th March 2006, 11:16 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,
I am looking forward for your Gobi Manchurian recipe. Thanks.

Mrs.Mano
25th March 2006, 12:05 AM
Dear apujittu!

For crispy outer cover for samosa, add ice cold water, a little oil and a little baking powder to the plain flour and make a stiff dough. You can fill any masala inside. Roll the outer cover very thinly.

Mrs.Mano
25th March 2006, 12:14 AM
Dear Noodles!

Here are a few recipes on whole green gram and black eye beans!

BLACK EYE BEANS KURMA:

INGREDIENTS:

Black eye beans- 2 cups

[soak over night, drain the water and then cook with enough fresh water in the pressure cooker for 3 or 4 whistles. If you sprout them, the taste will be delicious and there is no need to cook them in the pressure cooker. Just cook them with lots of water and salt to 3/4th. Then drain the water. ]

Chopped onions-1 cup
Crushed tomatoes- 2 cups
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Enough salt

Fry the following ingredients in 2 tsp of oil till they change to a golden brown colour:

Coriander seeds- 2 tsp
Shredded coconut- 2 cups
Green chillies-3
Red chillies-2
Cashew nuts-6
Gram dal- 2 tsp
Fennel seeds- 2 tsp
Poppy seeds- 2 tsp
Sambar onions-8
Shredded ginger-1 tsp
Garlic pearls-8

POWDER THE FOLLOWING INGREDIENTS COARSELY:

2 cardamoms, 2 cloves, 2 pieces of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of fennel seeds

PROCEDURE:

Heat a kadai and pour 5 or 6 tbsp of oil. When it becomes hot, add the ground powder and fry for a few seconds. Then add the onions with the tomatoes and the turmeric powder and fry them well until the oil floats on the top and the vegetables are cooked thoroughly. Grind the fried spices to a fine paste and add this with enough water, salt and the cooked black eye beans. Cook the gravy until it is thickened and add chopped coriander leaves finally.

MILKY GREEN GRAM GRAVY:

Ingredients:

Whole green gram- 2 cups

[soak in enough water for a few hours, then pressure cook them for 2 whistles.

Ghee- 2 tbsp
Oil-2 tbsp
Warm milk- 2 cup
Enough salt
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Lime juice- 1/2 tsp
Coriander leaves- 1 cup
Green chillies-5
Fresh coconut- 1/2 cup
Cardamom-1
Cinnamon-1 piece
Clove-1
Peppercorn-6
Garlic flakes-6
Sambar onions-6

PROCEDURE:

Heat a kadai and pour the oil and the ghee. Add the ground paste with the turmeric powder and fry it on slow fire for a few minutes until the oil floats on the surface. Add the green gram with a cup of water, enough salt and the milk. Cook the gravy until it is thickened. Add chopped coriander leaves and the lime juice finally and mix well.

SPROUTED MOONG AND CASHEW NUT MASALA:

Ingredients:

Sprouted and cooked whole green gram- 2 cups
Enough salt
Oil- 4 tbsp
Cashew nuts-1/2 cup
Thick coconut milk- 2 cups
Tomato juice-1/2 cup

Grind the following to a fine paste:

Green chillies-5
Coriander leaves-1/2 cup
Garlic flakes-5
Onion-1
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Coriander powder- 1 tbsp
Poppy seeds- 1 tbsp
Fennel seeds- 1 tsp

Grind the following in to a coarse powder:

2 cardamom, 2 cloves, cinnamon- 1 piece
Milk- 3 tbsp
Corn flour- 1 tbsp

Procedure:

Heat a kadai and pour the oil. Add the ground masala and fry it for a few minutes on slow fire until the oil floats on top. Add the green gram and the cashew nuts with the coconut milk, enough salt and the tomato juice. Cook until the gravy is slightly thickened. Then mix the corn flour with the milk and add this to the gravy. Mix well. Sprinkle the powder. Cook for a few minutes.

GREEN GRAM KADAIYAL:

Ingredients:

Whole green gram- 1 cup [cook in the pressure cooker with 2 cups of water.]
Garlic flakes-3
Red chillies-3
Cumin seeds- 1 tsp
Coriander seeds- 1 tsp
Sambar onions-8 [chop finely]
Chopped coriander leaves- 2 tbsp
Curry leaves- a few
Oil- 2 tbsp
Enough salt

Procedure:

Pour the oil in a kadai and heat it. Fry all the ingredients and then grind them coarsely. Again heat the same kadai and add the ground masala, cooked gram, 1 tsp of ghee and enough salt. Heat them and then put off the fire. Mash them with a masher. Eat it with hot rice and ghee.

dev
25th March 2006, 09:05 AM
Hi Mrs.Mano,

Tried red chutney & fell madly in love with it... It went very well with pesarattu & even puliyogare... Thanks a lot for the easy & delicious recipe...:)

Noodles
25th March 2006, 04:39 PM
Thanks for your recipes. I will try it out and let u know the result.

Noodles

apujittu
26th March 2006, 09:37 AM
Dear apujittu!

For crispy outer cover for samosa, add ice cold water, a little oil and a little baking powder to the plain flour and make a stiff dough. You can fill any masala inside. Roll the outer cover very thinly.

Thanks Mrs. Mano for your response..I have One more doubt should I add rice flour too, to plain flour or plain flour alone is sufficent to get the crispiness.

I really appreciate the time you spend to post receipes and respond to our queries.

Kathy
28th March 2006, 12:40 AM
Thank you very much for sending me the link !!

dsath
29th March 2006, 02:51 PM
Dear Mrs Mano,
I tried your chettinad chicken masala from your recipe collection and my husband loved it. Could you please post pal payasam recipe. I like pal payasam but couldn't make it up to a good standard.
Thanks a lot
DSath.

rain
30th March 2006, 05:44 AM
hello Mrs.mano,

hope u r fine.
could u please suggest some recipes with white radish when u find time ?white radish is well liked in my house so want to try out something other than chutney/paratha.

regards,
rain

Thattai
30th March 2006, 03:23 PM
[tscii:ede2a645eb]Dear Mrs. Mano,

How are you? I have started visiting the hub regularly over the last couple of weeks and am glad to see all the new recipes that you have posted. Unfortunately, at least the chicken recipes are out of reach what with the recent bird flu scare here in maharashtra... :)

I am back after a while as I was recovering after delivering a baby girl in early feb. Only recently, I have started having regular food, so I have been suggesting some of your recipes to my mom.

Could you please give some recipes using sorra if possible? Also, please suggest some quick and easy breakfast options that are low in oil. We tried your briyani no. 1 with mutton which was excellent as always.

Thanks and regards,

Thattai[/tscii:ede2a645eb]

Mrs.Mano
1st April 2006, 03:49 PM
[tscii:1192352b17]Dear arrecipes!

Here is the recipe of Gopi Manchurian for you!

GOBI MANCHURIAN

Ingredients

Cauliflower- 1
Finely ground ginger- 1 tsp
Finely ground garlic- 1 tsp
Corn flour- 1/2 cup
Plain flour- 2 tbsp
Soy Sauce- 2 Tbsp
Tomato Sauce- 2 Tbsp
Chilli sauce- 1 tbsp
Ajinomoto- 1/4 tsp
Green chillies cut into thin stripes-2
Chopped spring onion- 1 cup
Capsicum cut into thin stripes- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste
Oil- 2 tbsp

Procedure:

Cut cauliflower into florets and put it in a vessel.
Add half of the ginger and the garlic, half of green chillies and enough salt. Let them marinate for 15 minutes. Steam them for 15 minutes. Then allow them to cool down and add the corn flour and the plain flour to the florets, mix well and form small dumplings out of it. The mixture must be thick and sticky. If you want them a little spicy, you can add 1/4 tsp of chilli powder when making the dumplings. If necessary, you can add more corn flour according to the texture.
Fry these small dumplings in hot oil to golden brown.
Heat a kadai and pour 2 tbsp of oil. Add the remaining green chillies, garlic and the ginger.
Fry for some time. Then add the spring onion with the capsicum and the ajinomoto. Fry for a few minutes. Then add the fried dumplings to it.
Add all the sauces and1/4 ¼ cup of water. If you want gravy add 2 cups of water mixed with 1/4 cup of corn flour. Add salt as per the taste. In some restaurants, they do not make dumplings. They mix all the ingredients with the steamed cauliflower florets, and fry them directly. You can try in this procedure also.

[/tscii:1192352b17]

Mrs.Mano
1st April 2006, 03:49 PM
Hello Dev !

Thank you very much for the feedback on red chutney.

Mrs.Mano
1st April 2006, 03:50 PM
Dear apujittu!

There is no need to add rice flour for the crispness. Just plain flour is enough. Adding ice cold water helps to obtain the crispness.

Thattai
3rd April 2006, 05:48 PM
Dear mrs mano,

we tried your mutton urandai kuzhambu at home. Actually, I just read out the recipe and my mom made it. It was really good. We made it with 1/2 kg kheema which made enough for having two times.

Thanks for one more great recipe...

Thattai

arrecipes
4th April 2006, 06:03 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

We had a great weekend with Egg Fried Rice and Gobi Manchurian. Thanks for the recipe.

cynthia_a02
4th April 2006, 06:22 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I tried ur cauliflower tomato fry.its very very nice.can you suggest any receipes using green beans.thanks in advance.

yosh
5th April 2006, 08:25 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano.

I've cooked the Malabar Prawn curry and coriander thuvayal last nite. It's so yummy. My husband and kids love it.
Thank you Mrs.Mano.

Mrs.Mano
7th April 2006, 10:23 PM
Dear DSath.,

Thank you very much for the feedback on chettinadu chicken masala. Here is the recipe for paal payasam for you!

PAAL PAAYASAM:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- a handful
Milk- 2 liters
Saffron- a pinch
Cardamom powder- 1/4 tsp
Sugar to taste
Cashew nuts
Raisins
Ghee- 1 tbsp

Procedure:

Fry the raw rice in 1 tbsp of ghee on slow fire to a light golden colour. When cooled add it to the milk with the saffron and cardamom powder and pressure cook it for 3 whistles and then continue to pressure cook it on slow fire for 15 minutes. Then open it and pour the cooked rice in a kadai. Add sugar according to taste and allow it to cook to the desired consistency. Lastly add the fried cashew nuts and raisins.

Mrs.Mano
7th April 2006, 10:24 PM
Dear arrecipes!

Thanks a lot for the feedback on egg fried rice and gobi Manchurian. In which way you have fried the florets-either as dumplings or florets?

Mrs.Mano
7th April 2006, 10:25 PM
Dear yosh!

Thank you very much for the feedback on Malabar prawn curry and coriander thuvaiyal.

chamy
8th April 2006, 02:27 AM
Hello Everybody !
Can anyone repost Mrs.Mano's recipe for coriander thuvaiyal or tell me where it is ?Thanks in advance.
Regards Food Lover.

arrecipes
8th April 2006, 03:30 AM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

I tried the dumplings version of the Gobi Manchurian. Will give a try to the floret version and let you know the result.

yosh
10th April 2006, 06:15 AM
Dear Chamy,

KOTHAMALLI THOKKU.[CORIANDER THOKKU]

Ingredients:

Coriander leaves- 2 big handfuls.
Red chillies: 15nos.
Split black gram- 3/4 cup[150 gram]
Asafoetida- a small piece
Tamarind- a small lemon size
Gingely oil
Enough salt.

METHOD:

Remove the big stems and wash the coriander leaves well. Coriander leaves with short stems will give more delicious taste. If so, there is no need to leave away the stems. Dry the leaves on a paper or a cloth.
In a kadai, pour 1sp of gingely oil and fry the asafotida piece. Then fry the red chillies for a few seconds. Take away the red chillies. In the same oil, fry the black gram on slow fire to a golden brown colour. This thokku is especially prepared in a ural. But we couldn't get that nowadays. So we can make this in a mixie. Powder the fried ingredients. Take away the powder.
In the mixie, put the tamarind pieces and pour 2 tsp of gingely oil. Run the mixie in high speed for a minute. Open it and see whether the tamarind has been crushed. If not, add one or two spoons of gingelly oil and again grind for a minute. Now add the powder and again run the mixie for a minute. Then add the coriander leaves and run the mixie for 2 minutes. Then open it and add enough salt. Again run the mixie for a minute. Now Kothamalli thokku is ready to serve.

rajshank
10th April 2006, 08:52 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

Can you please tell me the meaning of "Alpakada pazham" (the spelling might be wrong). My mother-in-law keeps saying to have it for my morning sickness, but i do not know which fruit is that.

Thanks a lot for all the hard work you have been doing to give us all such wonderful recipies.

Rajshank

kavithasenthil
10th April 2006, 09:06 PM
Hello Dev,

Tried kollu chatney this weekend. it tasted just like my moms preparation. my husband loved it and said its like his mom's. Thanks a lot. Also can u tell me how u prepare kollu rasam. I tired just like normal rasam with kollu water but it doesn't taste like my mom's. Thanks in advance and big thanks for kollu chatney recipe.

vm
10th April 2006, 11:27 PM
Hi Rajshank,

The correct name is Alpakoda pazham. Its texture is like dates and tastes very sour and really better during morning sickness. I'm not sure if it is available in US. The best alternative is imli goli which is availabe in India stores.

dev
10th April 2006, 11:33 PM
Kavitha,

Thanks for trying...:D

I've posted kollu rasam somewhere... try a search pls coz I'm in a hurry now... else will post it after a week or so...

dsath
11th April 2006, 01:47 PM
Hello Mrs Mano,
Your Paal Payasam recipe was a delight. Its was very yummy. Frying the rice makes a lot of difference and using the cooker was a great idea.
Thank you very much.
dsath.

kavithasenthil
11th April 2006, 09:02 PM
dev, i have searched but couln't find it. but i am not in a hurry so post it whenever u find time.

rajshank
11th April 2006, 09:05 PM
Thankyou vm, for your immediate response. But do you know its english name? Till then i will try the jeera goli from the Indian store.

Thankyou once again.
Rajshank

vm
11th April 2006, 11:09 PM
Dear Rajshank,

I dont know the english name for alpakoda pazham. My mom sent it thru one of my friend when i was pregnant.

My Gyn advised me to eat crakers before brushing the teeth. I'm sure u will like Imli gooli.

Mrs.Mano
12th April 2006, 12:01 AM
Dear rajshank!

Here is a link about the details of 'aalpakoda pazham'.
http://arusuvai.com/fooditems/fruits/aalpakoda_295.html

Mrs.Mano
12th April 2006, 12:04 AM
Dear Dsath!

Thanks a lot for the detailed feedback on paalpayasam. Yes, you are right. Frying the rice in ghee makes the payasam in to a delicious one.

yosh
12th April 2006, 06:19 AM
Mrs. Mano.

I have tried Chettinad Chicken Varuval yesterday. It was so delicious, my mum likes it very much and my cousin who tastes it immediately asked for the recepie.
Thank you very much.

dev
12th April 2006, 09:19 AM
dev, i have searched but couln't find it. but i am not in a hurry so post it whenever u find time.

sure...will post it...

gayesh
12th April 2006, 11:25 AM
Hi All,
can somebody post the recipe for egg fried rice?
gayesh

arrecipes
12th April 2006, 06:37 PM
Hi Gayesh,
This is the recipe for Egg Fried Rice posted by Mrs. Mano

EGG FRIED RICE:

Ingredients:

Raw rice [which is cooked to its 3/4th with enough salt and drained] - 2 cups
Carrot [chopped finely] - 1/2 cup
Beans [chopped finely] - 1/2 cup
Frozen peas- 1/2 cup
Capsicum juliennes- 2 tbsp
Sliced onions- 1/2 cup
Ginger paste- 1 tsp
Garlic paste- 1 tsp
Eggs- 3
Sugar- 1 tsp
Pepper powder- 1/2 tsp
Ajinomoto- 1/2 tsp
Soya sauce- 1 tbsp
Spring onion [chopped finely] - 1/2 cup
Salt to taste
Oil- 3 tbsps

Procedure:

Beat the eggs well. Heat a wok and pour the oil. Add the sliced onions and fry well. Then add the pastes and fry them for a few minutes. Then add the carrot, beans and peas with a little salt. Fry them until they are cooked. Add the capsicum and fry for a few seconds. Add the beaten eggs and fry well until they are finely scrambled. Then add the cooked rice and fry for a few minutes. Now add the soya sauce, pepper powder, sugar and the ajinomoto. Mix well for a few seconds. Then add the spring onion and mix it with the rice for a few seconds. Put off the fire.

gayesh
13th April 2006, 04:02 AM
dear arrecipes,
thanks a lot!!

Mrs.Mano
13th April 2006, 06:31 PM
I wish all the friends here a ' VERY HAPPY TAMIL NEW YEAR!!!'

cynthia_a02
13th April 2006, 08:01 PM
WISH YOU THE SAME Mrs.Mano

chamy
14th April 2006, 12:46 AM
Dear Mrs.mano !
Ur mint chutney is a hit in our home.Thanks for the recipe.Could u post recipe for coriander chutney ?Thanks in advance.WISHING U A VERY HAPPY TAMIL NEW YEAR !
Regards Foodlover.

kavithasenthil
14th April 2006, 02:20 AM
Tamil puthandu Nalvazhthukkal!!! to Mrs.Mano and all forumhub friends.

arrecipes
14th April 2006, 04:01 AM
Vallai Nanbargal anaivarukkum Inniya Puthandu Nalvazthukkal!!

yosh
14th April 2006, 09:35 AM
Tamil Puthandhu valthugal to everyone

Mrs.Mano
14th April 2006, 08:44 PM
[tscii:a35f250420]Dear Thattai!

I regret for the delay in replying to you.

I am glad that you have got successful result with mutton urundai kuzhambu. Thanks for the feedback.

And congratulations for becoming a young mother!

Thinking about Maharashtra, I remember a sweet rice which is one of the favourite dishes of the Maharashtrian people. Do you know that recipe?

You have asked me the recipe on ‘sora’ fish. Usually puttu is prepared with that fish. I have already posted the meen puttu recipe for it. You can use any kind of fish including ‘sora’.

I have posted so many recipes on tiffen varieties other than idli, dosa, bread upma etc. You can try them.

Here I am posting a different recipe for you. I do not remember whether I have posted this before or not.

RICE PURI:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- 1 cup
Finely shredded coconut- a handful
Enough oil and salt

Procedure:

Soak the rice in enough water for 1 hour. Then drain the water, and dry the rice on a white cloth. Pound it to a fine powder and sieve it twice. Roast the flour on a slow fire until it changes its colour slightly. The flour must flow from yr fingers freely and you should be able to draw lines with it freely. That is the correct consistency. Allow it to cool down. Sieve it again. Then add the shredded coconut with enough salt to the flour. Make a soft dough using hot water. Heat the kadai and pour enough oil to deep fry. Make small balls out of the dough. Make slightly thick discs with the diameter of 3 inches with the help of the fingers on a plastic sheet. Immediately fry them one by one in hot oil. You can make one by one. Any chilli chutney is suitable for this.

[/tscii:a35f250420]

Mrs.Mano
14th April 2006, 08:47 PM
Dear Yosh!

I am happy that the chettinadu chicken varuval turned delicious for you. Thanks a lot fore the feed back.

Noodles
17th April 2006, 12:58 PM
Hi April,

I have deleted the jokes! :D

April
17th April 2006, 03:51 PM
I just dont understand why these jokes came in this topic !!!!!

sanravi
17th April 2006, 07:32 PM
hi all :)

i am new to this site

i am san,i am seeing all the recipes regularly for the past one week,and i would also like to join in your group.

regards
san

sanravi
17th April 2006, 08:07 PM

what are poppy seeds

san

Hi, Mrs. Mano,
How are you?
When you mention poppy seeds in yr recipes do you mean the white ones or black ones? I have both.
Best regards!

sanravi
17th April 2006, 08:12 PM
dear Mrs.Mano

can u pls send me the recipe for ragi dosai
i am new to this site and love to see so many dishes...sometimes i will be in a situation what to prepare for lunch...i am newly married and am in USA
so to prepare diferent varieties i used to browse and came to know abt this site..its nice!!!!!!
also one of my friend wants to know to recipe for kamarkat
if so pls send it to my mail..my id is sanravi_1970@sify.com

thanks and regards
san

hello mrs.mano,

hope u had a lovely beginning to the new year.
tried the ragi dosa.it was a nice change .quite filling too.and also found the bread-idli batter combo a really tasty way to use up leftover batter.thanks again !

regards,
rain

Mrs.Mano
20th April 2006, 07:25 PM
Dear Sanravi!

Welcome to this thread!
I have already posted the recipes for Ragi dosai. You can find them in the previous pages. Poppy seeds are 'Kuskus' in Hindi and 'kasa kasaa' in tamil.
Here is the recipe of Kamarkat in the follwoing link:
http://www.arusuvai.com/contest/karaikal/coconut_kamarcut.html

rain
22nd April 2006, 02:55 AM
hello Mrs.Mano,

can you post some mullangi recipes?had made an earlier request earlier but seems it missed you.will really appreciate if u can as mooli is well liked in my house.thanks in advance

regards,
rain

rain
22nd April 2006, 03:00 AM
hi sanravi,

scroll down this link for the ragi recipe mrs.mano posted.

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=465&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1290

cynthia_a02
23rd April 2006, 05:09 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
i tried ur potato capsicum fry.its very very nice.my hubby don't like the taste of capsicum.but he liked it a lot.thanks a lot for such a nice receipe.

Mrs.Mano
23rd April 2006, 08:27 PM
Dear Foodlover!

Here are a few recipes on coriander chutney for you.

TOMATO CORIANDER CHUTNEY:

Ingredients:

Chopped tomato- 1 cup
Chopped coriander- 1 1/2 cups
Fennel seeds- 1/2 tsp
Red chillies-4
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Garlic flakes-2
Salt to taste
Gingelly oil- 4 tbsp

Procedure:

Grind all the ingredients with salt. Heat a pan and add the ground paste. Cokk until all the water is evaporated. Then add the gingelly oil. Cook on slow fire until the chutney is blended with the gingelly oil well. If it is dry, you can add gingelly oil more.

COCONUT CORIANDER CHUTNEY:

Ingredients:

Chopped onion- 1/2 cup
Chopped tomato= 1 cup
Green chillies-7
Tamarind- a small goosdeberry size
Shredded ginger= 1 tsp
Shredded coconut- 2 handfuls
Chopped coriander - 3 handfuls
Bengal gram- 1 tsp
Black gram- 2 tsp
Salt to tatse
Enough oil to fry

Procedure:

Fry all the ingredients in little oil except tamarind and then grind them with the tamarind coarsely with enough salt

Mrs.Mano
23rd April 2006, 08:28 PM
Dear Rain!
I thought that I have posted a suitable reply for yr query earlier. I regret for the mistake.
Radish is usually used in salads, chutneys, koottu and sambar. Some people use it in Mutton kuzhambu. You have asked any different recipes other than these. If I come across any different recipe, I will post them for you. If you want recipes of chutney and koottu on radish, I can post them for you.

Mrs.Mano
23rd April 2006, 08:34 PM
[tscii:8a4d0ccbb5]Dear Cynthia!

I felt happy to know that the ‘POTATO CAPSICUM FRY’ you have tried became very successful and yr husband also liked it very much. Thanks a lot for the nice feedback.

[/tscii:8a4d0ccbb5]

Mrs.Mano
23rd April 2006, 08:44 PM
Here I am posting a few different recipes which I have tested and received compliments from every one.

CABBAGE TOMATO PROYAL:
[this is a very simple poriyal which I have learnt from a restaurant.]

Ingredients:

Cabbage [chopped finely]- 5 cups
Onion[chopped finely]-1
Tomato [chopped finely]- 1
Cumin seeds- 1/2 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1/2 tsp
Turmeric powder-1/2 tsp
Chilli powder- 1/2 tsp
Shredded coconut- 2 handfuls
Chopped coriander- 3 tbsp
Cooked Bengal gram- 3 tbsp
Oil- 3 tsp
Finely chopped ginger- 1/2 tsp
Asafotida powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste

Procedure:

Heat a pan and pour the oil. Add the mustards and the cumin seeds. When they splutter, add the asafetida powder and fry for a few seconds. Add the chopped onion with the ginger and fry for a few seconds. Then add the tomato with the turmeric powder and the chilli powder. Cook well until the tomato is mashed well. Add the cabbage and cook on slow fire. Sprinkle water in intervals if needed. When it is almost cooked add the coconut, Bengal gram and the coriander. Cook the poriyal until it is done. If the cabbage is cooked fully and has become soft and soggy, then the taste will decrease a little.

[b]CHICKEN PARUPPU SOUP:

Ingredients:

Finely chopped chicken- 1/2 cup
Ginger-garlic paste- 1/2 tsp
Garlic flakes-4
Sambar onions-5[chopped finely]
Slit green chilli=1
Chilli powder- 1/4 tsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Chopped Coriander leaves- a handful
Mashed tomatoes- 1 cup
Cooked lentils- 1/4 cup
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Mint leaves-a few
Salt to taste
Oil-2 tsp
Lime juice- 2 tsp
Ghee- 1 tsp

Fry the following ingredients in a spoon of ghee and then powder them finely:

2 cloves. 2 cinnamon pieces, 2 cardamoms, 1 tsp fennel seeds, 1/2 tsp cumin seeds, peppercorns- 1/2 tsp

Procedure:

Heat a pan and pour the ghee with the oil. Add the onion with the ginger -garlic paste and fry well. Add the tomatoes with the garlic flakes, turmeric powder, chicken and the chilli powder and cook them until the tomatoes are well mashed. Add the powder and fry for a few seconds. Add the cooked dal with 8 cups of water and the greens. Let it boil for 2 to 3 minutes. Put off the fire and add the lemon juice.

rain
24th April 2006, 11:16 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

thanks so much for replying to my query ! please post ur radish kootu and chutney dishes.i always look forward to all ur interesting recipes.

regards,
rain

anuu
25th April 2006, 05:27 AM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

A very big Hi to u.I should say u have an amazing collection tamilnadu recipes.U r indeed a knowledge treasure for our tamizh samaiyal.U really have inspired me to cook well.All ur recipes atleast as far as I tried has come so wonderful.I got married and moved to u.s last year and I was totally new to cooking.I slowly started learning recipes and for the past 2 months my cooking has improved to such a great extent cos of u.I became a member here just to say a very very big thank u to u.Im happy to be a part of this hub.I'm sure my skills will greatly improve with ur guidance.Ur postings r so very useful that sometimes I get so much reminded of my mom.Take Care. :D

25th April 2006, 09:08 AM
Hi all !

Mrs.Mano ! This is an awesome thread on the delicacies of TN ! From now on... am a regular visitor to ur thread !

Noodles
25th April 2006, 12:06 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano,

Can u please post KULAMPU PODI to make vegetarian kulampu.

Thanks in Advance!

jks11
25th April 2006, 02:38 PM
hi Mrs mano I am new to this site. Ur recipes are all wonderful.u r doing a wonderful job.i recently registered. I am staying in saudi.My husband is from tanjore. so ur recipes help me a lot.

thanks&regards

jks11
25th April 2006, 02:39 PM
hi i forgot to send my email id-jksundar11@sify.com plz do post me any new recipes

thanks

26th April 2006, 08:30 AM
Vanakkam ..... innikki enna special ?????

cynthia_a02
27th April 2006, 08:04 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I made thattai yesterday.it tastes good.but after sometime it becomes soft.mor mornu illai.can u please tell me where i went wrong.thanks in advance.

airavathi
28th April 2006, 12:56 AM
hello mrs. mano..

i'm a newbie posting here, but ive lurked for a while and enjoyed just reading the receipes.. i havent tried any recipes other than my mother's but today for the first time i tried my hand at rava upma using your rice upma recipe as a reference. i was really nervous and sceptical but it turned out GREAT! its a great gift you are passing onto others, really invaluable.. thank you for sharing your recipes with us.

looking fwd to try many more of your recipes :D

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 11:48 AM
Dear rain!

Here I am posting 2 different recipes on radish for you!

RADISH MASALA CURRY:

INGREDIENTS:

Radish- 250gms
Green gram-3 tbsp [cook it until it is almost cooked]
Sambar onions-10
Crushed tomato- 1/2 cup
Shredded coconut- 2 tbsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Curry leaves- a few
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Chopped coriander- 2 tbsp
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Chopped garlic- 1 tsp
Oil- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste

Dry roast these ingredients and grind them into a fine powder:

Red chillies-a handful, cinnamon- 3 pieces, fennel seeds- 2 tsp, poppy seeds- 2 tsp, cloves-10, cardamom-10, star anise- 1 , coriander seeds- 4 tbsp

Procedure:

Either shred or chop the radish finely. Steam them for 10 minutes. Squeeze out the excessive water. Heat a pan and pour the oil. Add the mustard seeds and the black gram. When they splutter add the chopped sambar onions and fry them until they change their colour lightly. Add the tomatoes with the garlic, turmeric powder and the ginger and fry them till they are well cooked. Add the radish and fry for a few minutes. Add the coconut, the greens, green gram and 1 tsp of ground masala powder. Cook the curry on slow fire until it is well done. You can reduce the quantity of masala powder according to yr taste.

RADISH CHUTNEY:

Ingredients:

Radish [diced finely] - 2 cups
Sambar onions- 10
Shredded coconut- 1 cup
Green chillies- 7
Black grams- 1/4 cup
Tamarind- a marble size
Enough oil and salt

Procedure:

In a little oil, fry the sambar onions, black gram and the green chillies. Then grind them coarsely with the tamarind, coconut and the radish.

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 10:21 PM
Dear Anuu!

I am pleased to know that my recipes help to improve yr culinary knowledge. This kind of appreciation always motivates me in this work. Thanks a lot for the nice feedback.

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 10:21 PM
Hello Bingleguy!

Welcome to this thread! I hope you would try and enjoy my recipes!

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 10:23 PM
Dear Noodles!

In some areas-especially in villages, the kuzambu podi is being used. With the usual red chillies, and coriander seeds, cumin seeds and Bengal gram are also added. But I have never used this podi. If I come across this recipe, I will post it for you!

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 10:37 PM
Dear jks11!

Welcome to this thread! I have just sent a mail for you with the links for my recipes.
You can always find new recipes here.

jks11
28th April 2006, 11:04 PM
thanks mrs mano,

you r doing a great job. 2day i did mysore pak, but it all became like podi :cry: . i did it by normal method. how to get that one string consistency correct?plz clarify.

cheers.

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 11:31 PM
Dear Cynthia!

Regarding thattai-make thin discs. If the fire is very high, then the thattai will be changed in colour very quickly-but it will be soft inside. In medium fire, when the thattai turns golden brown , it will be cooked inside also. In this way it will be crisp always.

Mrs.Mano
28th April 2006, 11:32 PM
Dear Airavathi!

I felt happy to know that yr rawa uppuma turned delicious for you! With dedication, enthusiasm and willingness to learn more and more, you too can become a great cook.
Thanks a lot for the compliments as well as the feedback.

Noodles
29th April 2006, 12:14 PM
Thanks Mrs Mano for ur Kind Reply.

cynthia_a02
29th April 2006, 10:35 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thanks a lot for ur reply.i'll try it soon and let u know the result.thanks again.bye.

anuu
30th April 2006, 12:43 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

I tried your cabbage tomato poriyal.It really came out very well.Thanks to u!!!!!Could you please tell me how to make thenkuzhal?Also I would like to know how to make apaam.I'm not sure whether I spelt it right.I just remeber its a sweet made of jaggery and wheat.I used to love eating that back at home but now Its been quite a while.Thanks a ton Mrs.Mano.

anuu
30th April 2006, 12:56 AM
Dear Mrs Mano,

I got to read your reply.Thanks a lot for your reply.You really deserve to be appreciated for your work.Infact when I first started cooking a lot of friends never used to share their recipes with me.I used to feel so sad.Y for that matter out of my personal experience not many people like to share their recipes with others.Whereas You have not only shared so many of your recipes but have also helped so many people cook with confidence,improved our tastebuds with ur awesome recipes and helped with queries.It truly takes a big heart to be so helpful and I truly mean it.Keep up the good work!!!!Hoping to learn more from you.

gayesh
5th May 2006, 07:17 AM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Can u pls give me the recipe for some now kind of sweet,that can be made quite easily at home?

Rgds,
gayesh

pr
8th May 2006, 10:08 PM
Dear Mrs Mano
I prepared cutlet as per ur recipe and it turned great . The cutlets when consumed after 2 or 3 hrs , it is soggy and not crisp like when its hot . Is there any way to avoid it .. And one more concern , the bread crumbs become a black powder and gets deposited in the oil and again deposits on the fresh batch of cutlets . How to get rid of this ?? Pleas take your time to reply me ..
Pr

Mrs.Mano
8th May 2006, 11:27 PM
Dear Jks11!

Regarding the consistency of sugar syrup-one thread consistency for Mysore pak- You can check this by feeling the sugar syrup between yr forefinger and the thumb. You will be able to pull it out like a thin thread.

Mrs.Mano
8th May 2006, 11:35 PM
[tscii:b048bd7719]Dear Anuu!

Thank you very much for the feedback on Cabbage Tomato poriyal Here is the recipe for ‘Thenkuzhal’. Please clarify whether you have asked for ‘aappam’ or appam’. Aappam is prepared with rice flour and eaten either as a breakfast dish or for dinner with the accompaniments like mutton kuzhambu, sodhi, stew, coconut milk with jaggery etc. Appam is a paniyaram-shaped sweet which is fried in oil. There are many varieties like wheat appam, rice appam, unni appam etc.

THENKUZHAL:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- 4 cups
Black gram- 1 cup
Butter- 1 tbsp
Cumin seeds- 2 tsp
White sesame seeds- 1 tsp
Enough salt and oil
Asafotida powder- 1 tsp

Procedure:

Soak the rice in plenty of water for 1 hour and then drain it in a colander. Then pound the rice into fine flour. Sieve it twice. Roast the rice flour on slow fire until it changes colour. If you try to draw lines with the flour, it must flow freely from yr fingers. That is the correct texture. When cooled sieve again. Roast the black gram on slow fire again on a dry pan to a light brown colour. When it is cooled, powder it finely. Sieve this flour also. The fried rice and black gram flours must be in the ratio of 4:1. Mix these flours and add all the ingredients in a bowl. Add enough warm water to make soft dough. Immediately make thenkuzhals with the help of murukku press.

[/b][/tscii:b048bd7719]

Mrs.Mano
8th May 2006, 11:42 PM
Dear Gayesh!

Here I am posting a few sweet recipes for you which can be prepared easily at home.

VIVIKA:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- 300gms
Coconut-1
Cardamom powder- 1/2 tsp
Soda bi carbonate- 1/2 tsp
Sugar- 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup
Salt- a pinch

Procedure:

Soak the rice in plenty of water for 1 hour and then drain it in a colander. Then pound the rice into fine flour. Sieve it twice. Take the left over coarse rice rawa in a bowl and add 1 or 2 cups of water. Mix well. Heat it in a pan. Let it cook until it changes like a kanji. Add this to the flour when it is still hot. Mix well. Keep it covered over night. In the morning add the sugar, shredded coconut, salt, sugar and c.powder and make a batter like idli batter. Pour the batter in idli moulds and steam them for 15 minutes.

SEMOLINA HALWA

Ingredients:

1 cup semolina
1 cup milk powder
1 cup sugar
Ghee- 1/2 cup

Procedure:

Mix the above three ingredients in a nonstick deep-bottomed pan.
Add the ghee to the semolina and mix well. Keep the pan on a medium flame and start roasting the mixture slowly, constantly stirring and making sure that it does not burn. Continue stirring and roasting till the mixture appears golden brown. Turn down to low flame. In another frying pan take some more oil/ghee/butter and roast nuts of your choice and add it to the golden brown mixture. Then add 1 full tin of sweetened condensed milk and stir well. Keep stirring on a low flame and add little water or milk (with saffron optional) and stir till the mixture begins to leave the sides of the pan. Grease a serving dish with oil/ghee and pour the mixture into it, allow the halwa to cool and cut into pieces.

Mrs.Mano
8th May 2006, 11:44 PM
Dear Pr!

I could not figure out which cutlet you have tried. Please post the recipe here so that it will be easy for me to clarify.

gayesh
10th May 2006, 10:48 AM
thanks for the recipes Mrs.Mano.they turned out really well!!

anuu
12th May 2006, 08:56 PM
Hi Mrs.Mano,

Thanks a lot for your thenkuzhal recipe.I tried out yday and it came out quite well for the first time.I think i need the recipe of the sweet appam which is made of wheat.

I have infact tried aappam and it was your recipe only.But I never knew it had so many accompaniments.I have a small problem everytime I make upma be it rawa or semiya it becomes very sticky.I dont know the water consistency.It would be of great help if u could help me with this.Thanks once again.

anuu
12th May 2006, 08:59 PM
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO ALL MOTHERS IN THE FORUM

Orange
13th May 2006, 11:19 AM
Hi Mrs.Mano

Need recipe for kothukari korma that goes well with parotta.Wanted to try this sunday.

plz do post the recipe for the same.

Thanks in Advance

Orange
15th May 2006, 06:52 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,

I tried your Layered Parotta.It really came out very well. Thanks to u!!!!! My family members enjoyed it . All their appreciation goes to u. :clap:
In addition to it I added dry yeast dissloved in hot water to the dough.

Can u post recipes for different variety of cutlets and patties.Waiting for ur recipe

cynthia_a02
17th May 2006, 06:43 PM
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I tried ur palgova receipe.it turns out great.thanks a lot for such a nice receipe.bye.

Mrs.Mano
19th May 2006, 08:46 PM
[tscii:3baf82b96a]Dear Anuu!

Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on ‘thenkuzhal’.

Regarding Rawa uppuma- add 2 cups of water to one cup of semolina. For semiya uppuma, add 1 1/2 cups of water to one cup of semiya. As semiya is having a sticky texture, it is better to sprinkle 2 or 3 tbsp of fine semolina when making semiya uppuma. Then it will not stick at the bottom.

Here is the recipe for wheat appam.

WHEAT APPAM:

Ingredients:

Wheat flour- 1 cup
Rice flour- 2 tbsp
Powdered jaggery- 1/4 cup
Small ripe banana-1
Cardamom powder- 1 tsp
Soda bi carbonate- 1/4 tsp
Salt- a pinch
Ghee to fry

Procedure:

Mix all the ingredients with enough water to make a smooth thick batter. Pour 1 cup of ghee in a pan. When it becomes hot, pour a big spoon of batter. When it is fried on one side, turn it on the other side and fry it to golden brown colour. The fire should not be high. Thus make all the appams.

[/tscii:3baf82b96a]

Mrs.Mano
19th May 2006, 08:47 PM
[tscii:dd0456e4cd]Dear Anuu!

Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on ‘thenkuzhal’.

Regarding Rawa uppuma- add 2 cups of water to one cup of semolina. For semiya uppuma, add 1 1/2 cups of water to one cup of semiya. As semiya is having a sticky texture, it is better to sprinkle 2 or 3 tbsp of fine semolina when making semiya uppuma. Then it will not stick at the bottom.

Here is the recipe for wheat appam.

WHEAT APPAM:

Ingredients:

Wheat flour- 1 cup
Rice flour- 2 tbsp
Powdered jaggery- 1/4 cup
Small ripe banana-1
Cardamom powder- 1 tsp
Soda bi carbonate- 1/4 tsp
Salt- a pinch
Ghee to fry

Procedure:

Mix all the ingredients with enough water to make a smooth thick batter. Pour 1 cup of ghee in a pan. When it becomes hot, pour a big spoon of batter. When it is fried on one side, turn it on the other side and fry it to golden brown colour. The fire should not be high. Thus make all the appams.

[/tscii:dd0456e4cd]

Mrs.Mano
19th May 2006, 08:54 PM
Dear Orange!

Thank you very much for the nice feedback on layered parotta. Here are a few recipes on cutlets for you!

Vazhaippoo cutlet:

Ingredients:

Vazhaipoo-1 [chop it finely, and steam it for 15 minutes]
Bengal gram- 1/2 cup
Boiled and mashed potato- 1 cup
Ginger paste- 1/2 tsp
Garlic paste- 1/2 tsp
Green chilli paste- 1 tsp
Onion- 2
mint leaves- a handful
Chopped coriander- 2 tbsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Enough oil to fry

Procedure:

Soak the Bengal gram for 2 hours and then grind it coarsely. Heat a pan and pour 2 tbsp of oil. Fry the onion till it turns to a golden colour. Then add all the pastes with the turmeric powder and fry well. Add these with the greens, mashed potato and the steamed vazhaippoo to the ground paste. Mix well with enough salt.Make small balls, flatten them and fry the cutlets in hot oil to a golden colour.

FISH CUTLET:

Ingredients:

Steamed and mashed fish- 5 cups
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Onion-3
Chopped coriander- 1/4 cup
Mashed tomato- 1/2 cup
Boiled and mashed potato- 1 cup
Salt to taste
Eggs-2
Fresh breadcrumbs- 2 cups
Enough oil to fry

Grind these ingredients coarsely with water:

2 tsp fennel seeds, 1 piece cinnamon, 8 garlic flakes, 1 tsp shredded ginger

Procedure:

Heat a pan and add 3 tbsp of oil. Add the onion and fry well. Then add the tomato with the turmeric powder and fry for a few minutes until the tomatoes are mashed well and the oil floats on top. Add the ground paste and fry for a few minutes. Add the mashed fish with enough salt and cook for sometime till every thing is blended well. Put off the fire. Add the coriander and the mashed potato. Mix well. Make small balls and flattened them. Dip them in to the beaten eggs and coat them finely with the fresh bread crumbs. Fry them in hot oil to golden brown colour.

Mrs.Mano
19th May 2006, 08:56 PM
Dear Cynthia!

Thank you very much for the nice feedback on palgova.

huldaashok
21st May 2006, 06:59 AM
Hi Mrs. Mano,

Your "Prawn Biryani" recipe was an instant hit with my family. My son especially wants to eat it almost everyday till it finishes. Even your "Ulunthu vada" turned out very crisp without absorbing oil. I now grind the dough and keep in the fridge and make vadas for tiffin.

I am gaining confidence with my cooking because of your recipes. I have taken a printout of all your recipes and bound it into a book. My husband keeps on teasing me by telling others that she is a fan of Mrs. Mano. Thank you once again for all the pain you taking to share the recipes with us.

One request is can you share the recipe for "Bisi belle bath", if possible.

Hulda

Mrs.Mano
26th May 2006, 11:11 AM
[tscii:6481ababf6]Dear Hulda!

Thanks a lot for the compliments as well as the feedback on ‘prawn briyani’.

The satisfaction is great when hubbers like you say that they are gaining confidence in their cooking because of my recipes. This kind of appreciation always initiates me to post more and more recipes for the hubbers like you.

Here I am posting the recipe of ‘Bisi Bele Bath for you! I have learnt this from one of my friend.

BISI BELE BATH:

Ingredients:

Raw rice- 2 cups
Lentils- 1 cup
Diced mixed vegetables [carrot, brinjal, potato, beans, and drumstick]- 2 cups
Curry leaves- 1 arc
Chopped coriander- 3 tbsp
Green chillies-2
Diced sambar onions- 1 cup
Crushed tomatoes- 2 cups
Tamarind- a lime size
Salt to taste
Ghee-3 tbsp
Oil- 2 tbsp
Turmeric powder- 1/2 tsp
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp

Roast the following ingredients in little oil and powder them finely:

Red chillies-6, coriander seeds-3 tsp, black gram- 1 tsp, Bengal gram- 1 tsp, fenugreek seeds- 1 tsp, fennel seeds- 1 tsp, cinnamon-1, cardamom-1, clove-1, maratti mokku-1, shredded coconut- 3 tbsp

Procedure:

Steam the vegetables. Soak the tamarind in enough water for 1 hour and then extract its juice. Wash the rice and the lentils and pressure cook them with enough salt. Heat a pan and add the ghee and the oil. Add the mustards and when they splutter, add the sambar onions, green chillies and the tomatoes. Fry well until the vegetables are cooked and the oil floats on the surface. Add the vegetables with enough salt, and the turmeric powder. Fry for a few minutes. Then add the tamarind extract and let it simmer for a few minutes. Add the ground powder and cook the gravy until it is thickened. Now add the cooked rice and lentils with the greens. Mix well and cook for a few minutes on slow fire until it is well blended. Pour some ghee on top.

[/tscii:6481ababf6]