PDA

View Full Version : New Tamil generations who can't read or don't speak Tamil ?

Soomy
8th February 2006, 07:08 PM
What are the reasons of this failure ?

Lambretta
8th February 2006, 07:28 PM
Well, my reason is tat I've never lived in TN in my whole life so far! :)
And bcos I've lived in other places, I had other languages to learn, I didn't find it feasible or relevant to learn how to read Tamil.....I can speak it bcos tats wat we speak at home....:)

ssanjinika
8th February 2006, 08:03 PM
I studied in a convent where my second lang was Hindi.Though my mom tried to teach me to read tamil,I just viewed it as one more thing to study and never tried to properly learn it.I can read it very slowly by the time finish one para of a story / article I loose interest :D.

Lambretta
8th February 2006, 08:48 PM
I studied in a convent where my second lang was Hindi.Though my mom tried to teach me to read tamil,I just viewed it as one more thing to study and never tried to properly learn it.I can read it very slowly by the time finish one para of a story / article I loose interest :D.
Wow! First time I'm coming across a Tamil who was raised in TN yet can't read Tamil! :D 'guess I don't hav to feel like an odd-one outt in this regard afterall! :lol:

Anoushka
8th February 2006, 08:55 PM
Lamby, a few of my cousins who studied in Madras can't read Tamizh because they took Hindi as second langauge in school and my aunts/uncles never insisted that they learn the language :(

ssanjinika
8th February 2006, 08:57 PM
Why do you say that Lamby?Lots of tamilians dont put their children to learning tamil coz they feel they can themselves teach the children language whereas it wounldt be the case with hindi.Neways now a days I think theres no option coz most schools have come out with the third language thing.

Lambretta
8th February 2006, 09:07 PM