View Full Version : the top six modern tamil writers

12th December 2004, 08:33 AM
Topic started by vengayam (@ 203.200.84.66) on Wed Jun 12 01:45:29 .

let us talk about the writers who have the maximum impact on the language & their contribution . let us talk of writers who are active now.(i.e we won't talk about manikodi writers whose contribution has been well established)
my choice would be
1.asokamitran
2.sundara ramasamy
3. vanna nilavan
4.indra parthasarathy
5.prabhanjan
6. sujatha
balakumaran, raja narayanan,sivasankari? are people i've left out after considerable thought.
nila padmanabhan may be shouls appear in place of prabhanjan.
any how i've set the ball in motion let us have a discussion wherin we can discuss whys & why nots of various writers.( Do the writers by any chance visit this page)

well i think ra.murugan, pa.ragahavan can be included in this list.this in case if we are talking about short stories alone.
and again i dont think indra parthasarathy is a valid in this list!!

radhika,
Idra arthasartathi has been consistantly giving good work. kurudhipunal, mayamaan vettai would stand the test of time. i do not know why u do not consider him good.
where can i read ra murugan,pa raghavan. publishers titles pls.

it should read Indra not Idra. in the previous post.typo sorry

Radhika where are u? I am still waiting to know about ra.murugan, pa.ragahavan .

I say:
Ramani Chandran
Indra
Balakumaran
Sujatha
asokamitran
Luxmi

vengayam :

sujatha as i said is more on the commercial side.
indira parthasarathy is good.

Sa Kandasamy,La sa Ramaamirtham are notable absentees from your list.
Have you read "saayavanam" ??
Or short stories of La Sa Ra ??

I will give my best six shortly...

Yes it is a bloomer. La SA Ravai eppadi maranthen enru theriyavillai. ok i'll throw sujatha out tyo accomodate La Sa Ra. About kandasamy he may not make it to my top six.

my top six would be

sundara ramasamy
asokamithran
la sa ramamirdham
sa kandasamy
vanna nilavan
ki rajanarayanan

in that order ...

What happened to T Janakiraman.
Sarithira kathai Nayakan Sandilyan.

How about guys churning out "pudhu kavithai"s
Top six as usual
1) Aathmanaam
2) Gnanakoothan
3) Vikramaadityan
4) kalapriya
5) pasuvayya ( think its su. ramasamy )
6) kalyaanji

Ra,
Thi Ja is in the past. may be just after the manikodi writers.We have also not mentioned puthumai pithan, akilan for same reason.
Re Chandilyan you are joking isn't it. He had maximum impact on circulation . he is the munnodi of present day Rajesh kumar, p prabhakaran et al.( of course his nadai was breezy but can he find aplace alongside people mentioned here. no way!
Ayya Srini poothu kavithai is only second in my hit list after ayyokoo(haiku) u can call me gnana suniyam but mostly they are high pitch alaral or madly in love syndrome. 99% setril senthamarai theda ennakku thraani illai.
By the way isn't Barathi the munnodi here with Paanchaali sabatham?

Sorry mate

I cant accept
<< high pitch alaral or love syndrome >>

Try reading the names that i have mentioned in your free time. You will find them more intriguing and satisfying at the same time.

<< setril senthamarai theda thraani illai>>
avid readers do search for senthamarai.

By the way where do you find haiku's prevalent in tamil or even indian literature. sujatha says not all written as "haiku" in tamil are actually "haikus" . :-)

It is sujatha's words against the other vithagargall.

what abt Jayamohan?? none of u mentioned him!

I too find Janakiraman,ki,rajanarayan,sundara ramasamy,jayakanthan to be good!

MMC :

Vengayam started this of with living greats.
So Thi Ja Ra is out .

Yes jeyamohan is there. But another restriction is to choose only top Six. If it was top 10 or fifteen then i would have added
jeyamohan,vanna daasan,naanjil naadan and others..

By the way MMC sir how do you highlight and iconize your posts ??

MMC,
the idea was to get to know more about other authors I might have missed & to discuss the merits of the others listed.
Srini,
i plead ignorance to Naanjil naadan. can you tell his books, publisher etc so that i can get to read him please.

Vengayam

NN is one of the healthy contributors.
I would recommend you to read
"midhavai" and "sathuranga kuthirai" .

I am not sure about the publishers.
Cre-A (publishers) might have printed his works.

Thanks srini for the info

Hi
Nanjil Naadan has many novels, short story collections to his credit.
1.Enbilathanai veyil kaayum
2.sthuranga kuthirai
3.thalaikiz vigithangal

now the reprints are available and they are from Vijaya pathippagam, Coimbatore.
If u are outside india, u can contact Dilip Kumar books they can arrange to send them to u. The email id
ddkbooks@hotmail.com, dilipbooks@eth.net

Vannadasan ??!!

tagore.s english rendering thou art the ruler of the minds of all peopel
disponser of india,s destiny
thy name rouses the hearts of punjab sind
gujarat and maratha
of the dravida in the hills of the
vindyas and himalayas ,
mingler in the music of
jumuna and ganges and is chanted
by the waves of the indian sea
they pray for thy blessing
and sing thy praise
the saving of all people waits in thy hand
thou dispenser of india,s destiny
victory victory victory of thee

tagore.s english rendering
thou art the ruler of the minds of all peopel
gujarat and maratha
vindyas and himalayas ,
mingler in the music of
and sing thy praise

tagore.s english rendering
thou art the ruler of the minds of all peopel
gujarat and maratha
vindyas and himalayas ,
mingler in the music of
and sing thy praise

madaswamy vendam engalluku Mettukudi magan.(Tagore) ydo u want to end the topic by janagana mana?

Guys ,
Please consider the Writers who write thinking about the Soceity in their mind and who are young atleast below 40.
1. Jayamohan
2. Sundara Ramaswamy
3. Nanjil Nadan
4. Balakumaran

I would consider Sujatha for writing " Thalaimai Seyalagam ". He is really nice in rendering most modern Items like Gene mapping in Tamil.
Other Modern Writers would be:
Prabanjan.

I am not familiar with the current crop of writers. I can cite two writers: thi. jAnakirAman and jayakAnthan

http://www.geocities.com/hadeen_ncr/abedmain.html

avalavuthanna! mella ini tamizh saagathu. vegamaaga saagumo?

My top six selection:
1)Bama
2)Konanki
3)S Ramakrishnan
4)Charu nivedida
5)Jaya mohan
6)Tamil selvan

Kavi.

Charuniveditha is doing good work in Vikatan websitte. He has introduced many modern writers in Konal pages.

why six...?

Vaasanthi ' kku oru idam illaya...

what about melanmai ponnusamy

1. La.sa.ra
2. Jayakanthan
3. T.Janakiraman
4. Asokamithran
5. VannaNilavan
6. Jayamohan

This is my best six

vannanilavan,pa.singaram.jayakanthan,ashokamithran nanjil nadan and sujatha.my top six. vizzy from bangalore

[tscii:25bfbf8bb5]how about Dr. Mu. Varatharaasan[/tscii:25bfbf8bb5]

[tscii:a4f02c6b38]hi
I am sri .i say
ramani chandhran
rajesh kumar
manimala r
vidhya subramaniyam
&
indhra sowndhrarajan[/tscii:a4f02c6b38]

[tscii:da167fcede]well
i like ki.rajanarayan,sundararamasay,and may be thi.ja. in that order. cannt get the funda of surrrrrrealism....long time since i saw kaalachuvadu.has anyone read english translation of contemporary tamil stories by manas publishers? superb. [/tscii:da167fcede]

[tscii:aa2635c788]Whole buncha borring lot, dah, these writters![/tscii:aa2635c788]

[tscii:650d0d0a9b]Kalkiyai vittutteengaLEdaa ! His style was like a modern writer. Charu Niveditha yaaraiyO copy adichuttaannu kELvi pattEn. Indha lakshmi, indumadhi, vaasanthi, sivasankari ellaam modern-um ille, poodern-um ille.
Pa. Singaram, Ra. Murugan, Naanjil Naadan I have not read these authors. Sujatha maadhiriyE Ravichandrannu oruthan ezhudhinaan. But avan copy adichuttaannu avanaiyum pidichuttaanga!
Subra Bharathi MaNiyannu oruthan nallaa dhaan ezhudhaRaan...naan kadhai padichu pala varusham aachu :-([/tscii:650d0d0a9b]

[tscii:9ac245a541]Well my votes goes to:-
i) Ramani Chandran
ii) Lakshmi
iii) Anuradha Ramanan
iv)Vidhya Supramanyam [/tscii:9ac245a541]

[tscii:37b799ee6e]hai nith
I am supporting you[/tscii:37b799ee6e]

[tscii:6507a9d566]Sri,
Why not include PT Samy, Padudhalam Sugumaran,
Tamilvanan, devibala, Rajeshkumar and other pocket novel stupids???
These people's novels are not even worth to be read once...Ramani Chandran....Do you know one thing..?? She is related with the owner of Dinathandi or some newspaper.. Hence she became a Novel writer.. One of the worst possible writers in Tamil country....
She has come up just becos of the contacts... [/tscii:6507a9d566]

Hello! anybody knows about the writer MALARMATHI ?

[tscii:17409a7c5a]Hi,

I am Muthukumar from bangalore. I have been visiting this site to refresh my lit taste and it
it is really doing well.

I would like to have friendship with people who all being long term readers of Balakumaran.

even i would like to form an e-group also.

kindly keep in touch with me at the earliest.

S.Muthukumar
Bangalore

[/tscii:17409a7c5a]

[tscii:efcf760322]
i will include these authers

yuma vasuki
lakshmana perumaal
azakiya periyvan
kanmani kunasekaran
su venugobal
sutradari
baskar sakthi
uma mahesvari
ji. murukan

all are young authers

k[/tscii:efcf760322]

[tscii:e08014ccbe]hi TamilNattan / SO,

reg. Charu nivedita, it was published in http://www.pathivukal.com/ long back.

i Definitely agree SO, pocket novel writers are stupids ...

i read one Pattukottai Prabahakar's novel (just for a change, but i've learnt "Epdi novel elutha koodathu nu"), the preface was written by RajeshKumar, then the author gave thanks to him, there he mentioned Rajeshkumar had written nearly 1000 novels !!! Athil Ethanay ubayogam nu theriyala !!!!

k follg. are my top authors.

Ashokamithiran
Prabanjan
Neela Padmanabhan
Jaya mohan

i've heard a lot abt of LaSaRa, Sundara Ramaswamy, Ti Ja, Na Paarthasarathy, Ki Rajanarayanan, Saa Kandasamy, Su Samuthiram, etc, etc ... but have a not started reading any of their writings ... so my list may include any of these authors later ...

thanks and cu again.

cheers
Sathanga[/tscii:e08014ccbe]

[tscii:1d18ecb2c7]1. kalki
2.na. parthasarathi
3.ku.pa.ra
4.puthumai pithan
5.asoga mithran
6.jayakanthan
7.sujatha[/tscii:1d18ecb2c7]

Hai,

Pls. Note this Mail Address

1 Puthumai pithan
2 Ku Alagiri samy
3 Nagil nadan
4 Samuthram
5 Thi janakiraman
6 Sujatha [Siru kathaikal matum]

[tscii:1cc21b50c2]It really is a pity that none of you have mentioned the "writer's writer" NAKULAN (T.K. Doraiswami) whose work is far more modern and far ahead of the work of any of these people whose names have been mentioned. Today Nakula still remains in exile in Trivandrum, Kerala.I have personally known him and others know what he has achieved as an artist but they choose to ignore him. He is however the most modern of Tamil writers,ignored and exiled perhaps, but still the greatest writer and his modernism is well mixed with the deepest Tamil wisdom of the ancients. I wish this man Nakulan would get the honour he deserves, but then sometimes the truly great must die unrecognised.[/tscii:1cc21b50c2]

[tscii:c526f1cbed]how you all are coviniently forget the, great love and soul wrighter of ku.pa.ra.?
[/tscii:c526f1cbed]

all the above writers are very good in my knowledge

[tscii:02a09be925]buy all of above author's work at

www.udumalai.com[/tscii:02a09be925]