PDA

View Full Version : Tamil Seemantham - components and significance

skchitharanj
27th April 2006, 05:38 AM
Hello everybody! This is my first time posting anything in a forum - ever - so please forgive me if I screw something up. :?
I am writing a final paper about Seemantham and am having difficulties finding extensive information on the topic. Much of the information that I have found is incomplete or conflicting. I was lucky enough to witness my cousin's Seemantham, however, that was 10 years ago and I was quite young and so was more interested in the food than the significance of the rituals that my family was performing. :(
I have no way to contact my family with enough time to receive a response and so was hoping that some of you would know the rituals and significance of those that are performed during a Tamil Seemantham. Any help would be immensely appreciated!

Thank you for your time and have a wonderful day!

pavalamani pragasam
27th April 2006, 07:36 AM
First "puberty" analysis thread, next "seemantham"! Good! Natural consequence!

skchitharanj! The richness of Indianness is its diversity. Any number of communities go to make this country one. Each community follows its own traditional, age-old customs.

skchitharanj
27th April 2006, 12:30 PM
Thanks for responding to my post!
I recognize that India is diverse in its communities, but I have heard many other Indians speak of specifically Tamil Seemanthams as though those Seemanthams have unique customs. However, I would be grateful for any Seemantham details, especially if the significance of the customs discussed are included...

pizzalot
9th July 2006, 10:57 PM
Someone here can confirm but having heard of the ritual, not witnessed one myself, this is what it must signify: