View Full Version : top 10 ever

19th April 2007, 03:23 PM
6. Visu
Visu can be terrific or annoying. His films can be thoughtful or plain irritating. Some of the good stuff he did, as an actor and director, are part of the best of the eighties.

groucho,

can you list out some of the movies of visu which are plain irritating. I have seen movies of Visu which were good.

19th April 2007, 03:49 PM
6. Visu
Visu can be terrific or annoying. His films can be thoughtful or plain irritating. Some of the good stuff he did, as an actor and director, are part of the best of the eighties.

groucho,

can you list out some of the movies of visu which are plain irritating. I have seen movies of Visu which were good.

Okay Leo. You put me on a spot. I am thinking about the latter movies where he is constantly playing, sittappa, periyappa, mama, etc, coming in and solving familiy problems. During the earlier films, there were clever, funny and really moving. Then, we see it again and again and it started to get on my nerve. I can't name names...because they are mostly alike, like Kanmani Aval Ponmani, or Thirumathi oru vegumathi, or Paruppu en Porruppu or something like that.

It begins to be formulaic, with Visu holding the court at the end, repeating some kind of punch dialogue. Add that the same repeated middle-class depression. Most of these times; I'd probably have yawned and hit my head on something hard that I had Visu-related amnesia.

But I list him there, because of his early films. They were damned good. His Gauvry Kalyanam was a great family drama that also functioned like a thriller - get the money before the wedding and how do you do it? Or Manal Kayiru, which was funny as hell.

So, I hope you don't mind me not listing his irritating movies. Visu is best explained in his role in Rajini's Mannan "Ippa theriyuthu yeen onnai adichaangga-nnu!"

19th April 2007, 03:57 PM
Paruppu en Porruppu

rami
19th April 2007, 04:25 PM
Visu is best explained in his role in Rajini's Mannan "Ippa theriyuthu yeen onnai adichaangga-nnu!"

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

19th April 2007, 06:53 PM
1. K Balachander
2. Kamal Hassen
3. Barathiraja
4. Balu Mahendra
5 Cheran
6 Fazil
7. Mahendran
8. Maniratnam
9. K Bagyaraj
10. R Parthiban

Roshan,
: How do you rate CHERAN above someone like Mahendran :| :?:

I agree that IT IS YOUR LIST ! :)

But IF you could elaborate more on this, I might get a different perception on cheran ! :)

It's not possible to make a comparison because both belong to different periods and their way of film making is also quite different. My rating is based on the impact the movies had created on me. In that way Cheran's movies have had a great level of impact than of Mahendran's.

IMO Cheran is more capable of handling human emotions and their complexities, without compromising for commercial compulsions. His characters are real life examples. Besides he is clever in giving a strong message with a gentle approach Eg : His debut movie - Barathi Kannamma and PoRkaalam. It took a couple of days for me to get over the effect - the climaxes of those two movies created. Similarly with Autograph, paaNdavar boomi and TT. His thEsiya geetham did not impress me much and I am yet to see Mayakkannadi. I am confident that he would have excelled in some aspect with the movie and thus it would be worth viewing.

19th April 2007, 09:07 PM
Oh.. Directors list, is it. Let me try :P

1. Mahendran
2. Bharathiraja
3. Balachandar
4. Mani Ratnam
5. Balu Mahandra
6. Bala
7. Ameer
8. Cheran
9. Selvaraghavan
10. Shankar

Not to forget the one film wonders:

S. Balachander - andha naaL (I don't know if he had directed other movies :oops: )

Rudraiah - avaL appadithAn (Have not seen his graamathu athiyaayam)

Balaji sakthivel - kAdhal (Samurai was an OK movie)

19th April 2007, 09:14 PM
S. Balachander - andha naaL (I don't know if he had directed other movies :oops: )

He also directed the film "Bommai" where the song "Neeyum bommai, naanum bommai" comes..

And that song is the first song for KJY in Tamil !

19th April 2007, 09:26 PM
Oh.. thanks TM.. Have you seen that movie? Is it any good ??

19th April 2007, 09:42 PM
Oh.. thanks TM.. Have you seen that movie? Is it any good ??

Yeah. Long Long Back. Dont remember much. :oops:

Story Revolves around a child. Definitely watchable :)

19th April 2007, 10:14 PM
8. A.P. Nagarajan
We all know him as a director, but he contributes strongly in many character roles. Guess who played Nakkeeran in the classic Thiruvilayadal

thats news to me!thkz grouch

20th April 2007, 06:33 AM
Nerd,
In one film wonder ,we can add 'ennai pol oruvan' from jayakanthan

20th April 2007, 06:34 AM
I am surprised that most of the people here missed one of the all time great Sridhar

20th April 2007, 09:22 AM
I am surprised that most of the people here missed one of the all time great Sridhar

That is what i was thought of mentioning yesterday.

Probably the first one for whom the movies were recognized as Director's movie.

Some of who had included some old director's name also missed him :roll:

20th April 2007, 09:28 AM

Kamalhassan
Balachandar
Shridhar
A P Nagarajan
Bheem singh
Faazil
Bharathiraja
Singeetham srinivasa Rao
Mani Ratnam
Cheran
Shankar
Prataap pothan

:huh:

Anyway, continuing my list...

I FELT IT WAS INCOMPLETE

without mentioning

R.Paarthipan
K.Bhagyaraj
Mahendran
Rudraiah
Visu

20th April 2007, 09:31 AM
Some of u have mentioned BALA

I am quite forgetful and this name, RINGS A BELL in me and reminds me of something I loved watching.

Can someone help me by mentioning some wellknown movie of BALA please?

20th April 2007, 09:33 AM
Are you joking, SP? Or you really don't know.

I think they are talking about the director of Sethu, Nandha and Pithamagan.

20th April 2007, 09:40 AM
OH THOSE TYPES...

Though I might love such stories in actual sense,

I would rather be careful NOT TO WATCH IT, since I get carried away to a dangerous extent :oops:

sorry... bala not my choice :oops:
I did not watch those movies for the fear of turning sullen and depressed for a week :roll:

I aint for movies which DISTURB ME :(

Jabroni
20th April 2007, 10:00 AM
Best actors
1. Mohan Lal
2. Sivaji
3. Kamal Haasan

Best directors
Bharathi raja
Mahendran
Kamal

Best MD
The Genius IR
Day light
The rest

thimuru
20th April 2007, 11:48 AM
OH THOSE TYPES...

Though I might love such stories in actual sense,

I would rather be careful NOT TO WATCH IT, since I get carried away to a dangerous extent :oops:

sorry... bala not my choice :oops:
I did not watch those movies for the fear of turning sullen and depressed for a week :roll:

I aint for movies which DISTURB ME :(

watch sethu...one of the best ever!first half is full of fun!

20th April 2007, 12:19 PM

I wuold cry nilavu :oops:

You dont know me, I carry the mood for long within me, it takes 3 to 4 days to let go the impact :oops:

next time parka try panren :|

thimuru
20th April 2007, 12:23 PM
but sethu is such a great movie :D

20th April 2007, 03:00 PM
Best actors
1. Mohan Lal
2. Sivaji
3. Kamal Haasan

Best directors
Bharathi raja
Mahendran
Kamal

Best MD
The Genius IR
Day light
The rest

?????

thimuru,sethu to me is a gret performance,not a great movie.pithamagan was both.nanda was either.

thimuru
20th April 2007, 03:03 PM
Best actors
1. Mohan Lal
2. Sivaji
3. Kamal Haasan

Best directors
Bharathi raja
Mahendran
Kamal

Best MD
The Genius IR
Day light
The rest

?????

thimuru,sethu to me is a gret performance,not a great movie.pithamagan was both.nanda was either.

pithamagan?

sethu is better than pithamagan imho... :D

21st April 2007, 09:21 AM
BEST DIRECTOR
mahendran
maniratnam
cheran
ameer[paritiveeran]

BEST CAMERAMAN
p.c sriram
rajive menon
ramji[parutiveeran]
nirav shah[pattiyal]

BEST LYRIC
kannadasan
vaali

BEST STUNT
vikram dharma
peter hyene

BEST MD
m.s viswanathan
illayaraja
a.r.rahman

BEST EDITING
lenin v.t vijayan
suresh urs
anthony

BEST ART DIRECTOR
shabu syiril
prabakaran

BEST COMEDIAN
m.r.radha
nagesh
gaudamani&senthil
vivek
vadivelu

RajaRam
21st April 2007, 04:34 PM
My favourite Top 10 actors in tamil cinema.
-----------------------------------------------------
1.MGR
2.Kamal
3.shivaji
5.Satyaraj
6.sivakumar

My favourite Top 10 Tamil movies(quality wise)
------------------------------------------------------------
1.Veerapandiya kattapomman
2.deiva mahan
3.16 vayadhinile
4.salangai oli
5.Nayagan
6.Guna
7.Mahanadi
8.Hey ram
9.Anbe sivam.

Top 10 Tamil movies(commercial wise)
---------------------------------------------------
1.Nadodi mannan
2.Kadhalikka Neramillai
3.Ulagam sutrum vaaliban
4.Sakalakalavallavan
5.Mundhanai mudichu
6.kakki chattai
7.Apoorva sahodararhal.
8.MMKR
9.Avvai shanmughi.

RajaRam
21st April 2007, 04:38 PM
My favourite comedians
------------------------------
1.Nagesh
2.Suruli rajan
3.Thanga velu
4.Chandra babu
5.vadivelu

RajaRam
21st April 2007, 04:40 PM
My favourite Top 10 heroienes
----------------------------------------
1.Savithri
2.Padmini
3.Saroja devi
4.Sridevi
5.Revathi
6.Simran

rockydeva
21st April 2007, 05:25 PM

22nd April 2007, 03:33 AM
Some of my fave movies....some are lesser known than others, but are all great films:

Pooveli - Karthik and Kousalya were superb in this movie and the story is excellent.

Aasaiyil Orr Kaditham - Prashanth's best film (apart from Jeans :D). Again, v.good storyline.

12B - Simran was just superb in this film, really felt sad for her at the end!

ABCD - Brilliant acting by Sneha, different kinda story.

Kandukondain Kandukondain - Different story for Tamil films....and who can forget Aishu!!! One of her few roles in Tamil. Excellent music byt the legend that is A. R. Rahman! I think this is the highest sellling audio cassette/ CD in Tamil Nadu.

Kaathalan, Jeans, Muthalvan (Hopefully Sivaji also to add to this list!) - Fave Shankar films, again Rahman's awesomeness shining through.

Minsara Kanavu - great story, great acting, great songs, great comedy, what more do you need?!

Padayappa - Neelambury Aunty (Ramyakrishnan) done it for me in this film :lol:

Vietnam Colony - One of the FUNNIEST movies i've seen. Priceless Goundamani jokes! Great Goundamani + Prabhu combo!

Ghajini - Asin's acting was just superb!

Anbe Sivam - Very emotional movie, Kamal Hassan's acting at its best.

Thenali - FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY! :lol:

Poovae Unakaga & Kushi - My favourite Vijay films...before he started doing all the mindless repetitive roles :(

Magalir Mattum - Very funny film! Funny even without any comedy actors!

Bombay - My fave Mani Ratnam film.

Kaathal Kottai & Vaali - Fave Ajith films.

Thats all I can think of at the moment, i'm sure there's lots more! :2thumbsup:

thimuru
22nd April 2007, 09:40 AM
-deleted-

Flavia
22nd April 2007, 10:05 AM
mudhalvan,kadhalkottai,vaali,magalir mattum,poove unakaga,kushi,anbe sivam and thenali - lesser known films?

eksi

He might have meant pooveli, aasaiyil oor kaditham and vietnam colony as non-famous ones :?

23rd April 2007, 03:47 AM
mudhalvan,kadhalkottai,vaali,magalir mattum,poove unakaga,kushi,anbe sivam and thenali - lesser known films?

eksi

He might have meant pooveli, aasaiyil oor kaditham and vietnam colony as non-famous ones :?

:ty: Flavia!

I did say SOME are lesser known films!

24th April 2007, 07:12 AM
MY FAV.BEST ACTOR
- SIVAJI GANESAN[ALL TIME]
- SURIYA
-R.MATHAVAN

MY FAV.BEST HEROINES
-SAVITRI
-BANUMATHI
-SIMRAN