View Full Version : Charities in India and around the world..

11th June 2006, 07:11 PM
Hi friends, there are plenty of charities in India and around the world looking for our help. We can give our time, money, old clothes, etc.

Each one of us have a reason for supporting a charity... the ones close to my heart have always been the ones that help educate children, work for people with AIDS and ones that help old aged people.

I guess we can post here about different charities so if anyone is interested and has the time they can help.

11th June 2006, 07:11 PM
[tscii:8863d339e5]Dear Loving Hearts,
Stepping into this New Academic Year 2006-2007, we remember all the good hearted people who have come and volunteered their precious time with our children and all those generous heart’s which has helped us time and again in meeting the needs of our orphan children. We remain ever thankful to all of you for the love you have for our children and pray to God to bless you and all your dear ones very much. Eleven years back we started with 5 children and now we have grown many folds and at present we have over 130 children, and 3 old people. Plus we are employing 25 staff at our orphanage. So in the past 11 years we were able to care and serve for over 350 children, of which some of the children have got married and some are working. For all these to happen was possible only by your love for our children and your generous help. Presently we have our own piece of land and are constructing the building, 90% works done. The Dazzling stone school from KG – 5th grade is running fine and the older children go to outside schools. All the children are studying well and every one are fine and happy. Now we need helps for the food, cloths, uniform, etc, and there are some works to be completed on the orphanage building. We need individual volunteers or group of volunteers for one day to one year or more days for teaching, painting,gardening, playing with the children, construction works, extra-curricular activities, tailoring, cooking, carpentering works etc. We pray to God to meet our needs through His children and we kindly request you also to pray for us.
We are planning to construct school building, compound wall .There are ;more plans which we plan to accomplish one by one as per the will of God. Please see our web site for children pictures and dazzling stone orphanage in www.geocities.com/dazzorphanage.
Kindly please pray for us. We and children are praying for you all.
With Love,
Deva,Joy,Jobin,Dani,Staff and children,
Dazzling stone orphanage.
Sirukalathur,Kundrathur,
Chennai – 600069, South India.
Email : joydhas@eth.net or devadhas@yahoo.com or danidhas@yahoo.co.in.
WEB: www.geocities.com/dazzorphanage[/tscii:8863d339e5]

ramky
11th June 2006, 08:03 PM
SRI RAMAKRISHNA ATHMALAYAM

This is an orphanage ( and old age home ) on the outskirts of Chennai, providing food, clothing & shelter to about 300 inmates, consisting of orphaned children, destitute women, and old people left here by their offspring.

This orphanage is so much lacking in resources and in need of cash that they use whatever people can offer or donate, like old clothes, used vessels, furniture, old electrical items - anything. In fact, when they visited my house, they were glad to take away the old coconut shells and dried branches from our garden for using in place of firewood.

My family members and family friends have also visited this orphanage, and have verified that this orphanage is genuine and so are its needs.

The Orphanage also has a Sponsorship scheme which is as follows :
Rs.1,500 for Breakfast for a Single day, Rs.2,500 for Lunch, and Rs.1,700 for Dinner. These donations can also be made to Commemorate the Birthday of one's parents, spouse, relatives etc. Or also to Commemorate the memory of one's departed relative or friend or other person, on their Death day or Birthday. For such donations, the inmates offer prayers to the departed soul before partaking their food. Donors can also specify the dates on which these prayers must be said.

Donations are eligible for Income Tax Exemption under section 80G.

Donations ( in Indian Rupees ) may be sent in form of Cheques / Demand drafts in favour of "SRI RAMAKRISHNA ATHMALAYAM" to the following address :

SRI RAMAKRISHNA ATHMALAYAM
KAMMAWAR PALAYAM ROAD,
( behind Sholavaram Panchayat Office ),
SHOLAVARAM,
CHENNAI - 600 067
TAMIL NADU
INDIA.

Phone nos. +91 44 2633 1124, +91 44 2633 1125

( The orphanage doesn't have a website or email address ).

Those desiring to verify the credentials of the Orphanage or just to have a look at the place can visit it whenever its convenient for you - because the inmates are glad to see visitors and happy to spend time with outsiders.

You can also pm me or mail me for any related information.

11th June 2006, 08:52 PM
Good thread :thumbsup:

11th June 2006, 10:25 PM
iam not in any charities, but i am in The Red Cross in Norway!
i always wanted to work for red cross.
once i finish my studies i might have more time to spend on such charities, i hope :)

12th June 2006, 03:02 PM
Vasavi: You can put in details of the Red Cross with any projects that they are doing at the moment, links to their site, contact details, etc! :)

gaddeswarup
12th June 2006, 05:42 PM
There was an article in EPW by Srivtsava and Tandon last year which saps that there are about 1.2 million Non Profit organizations in India with 19.2 million people working for them and the work compares favourably with the work in other countries (http://www.epw.org.in/showIndex.php, May 7th). Here is alist from a Telugu site where I posted last year:
http://www.byrrajufoundation.org/aboutus.htm
http://www.aidindia.org/
http://www.mvfindia.org/index.asp
http://www.ddsindia.com/activities.htm
http://www.spreadindia.org/
http://www.loksatta.org/

A couple working mostly in the North are:
http://www.cseindia.org/
(Sunita Narayan of CSE won several awards)
http://www.ashanet.org/
The following contains the names of several organizations working in India:
http://www.gopio.net/india_development/best_pratices.htm
http://www.siliconindia.com/charity/Mored2.asp?sno=148
By googling one can find about the activities of these organizations and then some local contacts may help to assess the activities better. I myself am contributing a bit to one called ANKURAM in the Twin Cities, which gives shelter to young absused girls.
There are also a number of bogus organizations but it should not be difficult to find one in the sort of activity and region that you are interested in. I uaually enquire through old friends in the area.
Swarup

13th June 2006, 01:13 PM
The mail below is from a friend Deepak, who I've known through a mailing list for a good few years now..... He has organised several blood donation camps and raised money for different charities over the years... please read on.
----------------

Dear All

Namaskar

01 As usual this year also we "YUVASHAKTI" are planning to give
education aid to needy students of Okha Port. Now we have been receiving request from other towns like Surajkaradi, Aramda and Bet-Dwarka as well. We provide the education help to students, normally who are either orphaned, coming from very poor family backgroud but are still willing to study.

We provide edu aid to all sections of students irrespective of caste and religion. We also display the names of the Hon. Donors in the certificate to whom edu aid has been provided. We also provide the donor with the list of the students and what amount has been provided as edu help to the students.

Last year 2005-06 we provided edu help to 23 students from all sections of the society.

At this juncture, I also take an opportunity to thank wholeheartedly some of the members of Nukkad (http://www.mumbai-central.com)for providing financial and moral support to our cause.

02 Another project of our academic strategy is to offer old and
used computers to English Medium school managed by Okha Gram Panchayat.
Perhaphs OGPEM is the only english medium school in gujarat managed by Gram Panchayat, but it does not run on grant / aid by government. The salary and infrastructure maintenance expenses is self managed by the Gram Panchayat from taxes paid by the people.

Okha Gram Panchayat English Medium School (OGPEM) was started with class LKG few years back and now we have got permission to start class X, and will be going in first time for Board Examinations.
Today in education, Computers are very much required, but due to stretched financial position of Gram Panchayat, we are not able to pursue for purchase of new / old computers right now.

If anyone is able to put us to the source, where old / used / junk Pentium or Celeron PC are available as donation or at cheap prices, we shall be very grateful.

I would like to request the members to please come forward with whatever they can offer or donate, which will be of great help to our needy students.

We appreciate you for your kind interest in above programme, and anticipate your kind help.

Till then bye

Jai Hind, Jai Hind Ki Sena
-Deepak D Karelia
Bharat Mata Ki Jai
094272 24993

dev
13th June 2006, 02:45 PM
I guess many would be knowing abt this charity organi called Udavum Karangal... http://www.udavumkarangal.org/

Help can be in the form of cash or kind... ne can sponsor for education, health, food or for other amenities... PPl can also help them by being volunteers... But they have some strict rules for it...

Another org of interest is http://www.saathii.org/about_saathii/current_programs.html

SAATHI- Solidarity & Action Against The HIV Infection in India
http://www.saathii.org/about_saathii/current_programs.html

skanthan
20th June 2006, 05:24 AM
Some charitable association assciated with SMVA Trust in Andhra Pradesh.

Sri Karunamayi Free School and Sri Karunamayi Hopital are a couple of the several charitable organizations.

Information about these charities can be found at the following website.

www.karunamayi.org

gaddeswarup
28th June 2006, 03:52 PM
Pl. check this link:
http://www.whatisindia.com/issues/nongovto/index.html

28th June 2006, 04:17 PM
I guess many would be knowing abt this charity organi called Udavum Karangal... http://www.udavumkarangal.org/

Help can be in the form of cash or kind... ne can sponsor for education, health, food or for other amenities... PPl can also help them by being volunteers... But they have some strict rules for it...

Another org of interest is http://www.saathii.org/about_saathii/current_programs.html

SAATHI- Solidarity & Action Against The HIV Infection in India
http://www.saathii.org/about_saathii/current_programs.html
Dev, tat reminds me- how is the organisation "Sahaya Hastha" run by ur friends doing? :)

vramesh
28th June 2006, 07:03 PM
-Deepak D Karelia
Bharat Mata Ki Jai
094272 24993

Sounds like a political party. I'm sceptical if funds will be properly utilised.

dev
29th June 2006, 07:08 AM
Dev, tat reminds me- how is the organisation "Sahaya Hastha" run by ur friends doing? :)

Sahayahastha's progress is bit slow as my friend is doing his Phd... He's very busy with it... Hopefully, things will be rekindled soon... :roll:

30th June 2006, 12:59 AM

Sahayahastha's progress is bit slow as my friend is doing his Phd... He's very busy with it... Hopefully, things will be rekindled soon... :roll:
Ohh.....!
Yea, hope it picks up soon!

30th June 2006, 01:14 PM
-Deepak D Karelia
Bharat Mata Ki Jai
094272 24993

Sounds like a political party. I'm sceptical if funds will be properly utilised.

Ramesh: I do know this guy... he is a bit into all his patriotism and politics but I do know that the funds are being utilised properly...

vramesh
4th July 2006, 11:28 PM
Looking at the slogan, he doesn't seem to be much of an civilized or educated guy. Does it sound like someone who treats all affected Indians equally and fairly? Sounds more like he will help only those who will be of benefit to his party leader.

Educated people should not be fooled by such newly sprouted mushrooms who use patriotic or emotional blackmail to win support. Let us help reputed and responsible organizations like CRY, Disha, Redcross, Infosys Foundation etc who have a proven record. Only professionally run NGOs can fulfil the purpose.

5th July 2006, 09:30 PM
Ramesh: When did education become the requirement for someone who wants to help people? :) As I said, I know him for years together now and I know he is a guy who fights for the rights of the people who lives in his area/town.

Ramesh coming to the point of helping only reputed organisations, I have to say something. I've supported many organisations by volunteering time and fundraising including udhavum karangal (http://www.udavumkarangal.org/), Asha (http://www.ashanet.org/), APA (http://www.apa.ie/), Special Olympics (www.specialolympics.ie/), Concern (http://www.concern.net/), Ireland vinayaka Temple (http://www.ivt.ie), etc...

A few months ago my mother made me realise that all the above have enough people supporting them, what about the hard working tailor in the end of the street who can't send his children to school or even feed them three square meals a day? Sometimes all these big organisations don't even look at people who want to work hard but needs that tiny bit of extra push to keep them going. People like Deepak are the ones who do that.

Today I spend on the education of a few children in and around home... I have my own way of doing things, I might end each of my sentences with vaazhga vaLamudan or hari om or whatever, does that mean that I am uneducated, or does that mean my intention to help others is not right and I am emotionally blackmailing people!

I have thousand different things to argue with Deepak, I do not agree with whatever he says and I would be one of the first to fight with him if he says something that I feel is not right, but I know him in this case and I know he is not on the wrong here.

Ramesh, I agree that there are loads of organisations that have mushroomed and some of them are not doing what they claim to be doing. and you are right in the fact that we should check where the money is going before spending on something like this. And I guess you didn't exactly mean your words to come out the way it did, but please don't just write off people and organisation that you do not know.

Infact I would suggest, if you know of small organisations that want to go out and help, then go and support them. Most of these small organisations have very little or no overheads and whatever money/support that they get goes to the right people directly.

And last but not the least, I would like to add that if someone has a slogan like Deepak, it doesn't mean that they are not civilized! Every year we have a great laugh when we go to the Indian Ambassador's house for flag hoisting.... There are a few Indian friends of ours who will get all patriotic and shout slogans like Mahatma Gandhi ki jai, ..... (fill in all the Indian leaders here) till the ambassador ask them to stop.... and these are software engineers, doctors, business men who have lived here for nearly 10 years or more!

Do you mean to say that these people are not civilized or educated? They beleive in certain things and are passionate about it that is all, that does not stop them doing what they do perfectly well :)

22nd September 2006, 03:14 PM
Vanavil is the continuation of the efforts that a large group of people started as volunteers in the Tsunami relief. They have a trust of five people but the actual pillars of vanavil are many more.

For more info Check out http://www.vanavil.org/story.html

blahblah
24th September 2006, 04:47 PM
Anoushka,one of the seroius threads I have seen in Forumhub for a long time.

I hope politics do not rule this thread too.

Since I live in Northern India,I have already decided to buy some greeting cards from CRY and Help Age India.

24th September 2006, 06:00 PM
Thanks Blahblah :)

For those who are interested, as blahblah said, greeting cards for the upcoming festive season should be available from loads of different charities. Ask your favourite charity if they have and buy it from them, a good way of helping :)

krishnan
27th September 2006, 06:52 AM
A few of us - friends and collegues are doing projects for a while now. Our organization is named as Help TN. For more links to genuine NGO's in India visit

http://www.helptn.org/directory.aspx

29th September 2006, 06:55 PM
http://nestforall.com/

NEST - is it just a shelter for Crows, Sparrows or Cuckoos which is built on? Is it Strong enough? Here, below you will find the answers for all this, and more... YES, NEST is the answer to many problems that face destitute and the unfortunates all over this country.

Live and Let Live with Equality of rights - NEST believes in these policies and has struggled in this mission from the year 2000- the millennium year.

Formerly known as AGRUTHI, this voluntary organization was the vision of few people, whose main aim was to support the Hapless. Activities involved visits to orphanages, donating books and clothes to the needy children

29th September 2006, 06:59 PM
Krishnan, Anandha Vikatan seems to be doing a write up on a charity org each week. Why don't you get them to plug for you? The reach would be much wider :)

rocketboy
3rd January 2007, 09:33 PM
Revathi, a 16 year old girl , student of govt, Hr Secondary School Kodambakkam, Chennai - 24 is diagnosed to have acute Myeloid leukaemia. She will need high dose chemotherapy to cure her condition. The cost of the therapy will be about Rs 8 lakhs. Since she is from a poor family, she(her parents) finds it difficult to mobilize such a huge fund. Kindly contribute whatever you can to help her in getting the life saving procedure.

All financial assistance can be made in the form of cheques in favor of Apollo Speciality Hospital - For Revathy Ref No: 109990

P.S. Even if it is a little contribution it would mean a lot to the poor guys. I don't know this girl personally but you can have my word for the genuinity of this appeal. Let me also add that I am no way related to this person lest it sets some tongues wagging.

RP
3rd January 2007, 11:10 PM
In Bangalore......Project Moksh is a "quiet NGO" working steadily for "preventable blindness".....but also focus on RETINITIS PIGMENTOSA or night blindness....!!

31st March 2008, 08:06 PM
There was this article in Anandha Vikatan this week about Gandhiji Maruvazhvu mayyam (siruvar adharavu illam)... If any one is interested in contributing to them here are the contact details

Mr.Vaanarasan
Gandhiji Maruvazhvu mayyam (siruvar adharavu illam)
603, Trunk road
(opposite Sundar Hospital)
Ponamalee
Madras 600058
ph: 9840931530.

31st March 2008, 08:50 PM
anou akka
iam lokking for the charity for kids ...cant exactly remember their name..sth karam? i think they r based in chennai..not sure :(

dev
31st March 2008, 09:34 PM
Crazy, I guess u r looking for "Udhavum Karangal"...

31st March 2008, 09:53 PM
yes akka :)

2nd April 2008, 07:41 PM
Vasavi: as dev pointed out, it is udhavum karangaL http://www.udavumkarangal.org/

2nd April 2008, 10:22 PM
thanks akkas ... :ty:

4th May 2008, 05:54 PM
If you have a function/party at your home in India and food gets wasted , don't hesitate to

call 1098

(only in India ) - child helpline.

They will come and collect the food

-- This is from a forwarded mail and I hope the information is right. Thanks.