View Full Version : Shahrukh Khan in & as DON: The Chase Begins Again !!!

Pages : [1] 2

14th August 2006, 08:11 AM
Guys, I happened to watch the trailer while I was watching KANK the other night ... I gotta mention, it was just mind-blowing !!! At first I thought, How could a remake of a 1978 movie become Superhit again? But just lookin at the way the movie is made, with all the graphics, and high-tech way of presentation, this movie might even become bigger than expected ... Here's the equivalent characters being played by the current actors !!

Amitabh - Shahrukh

Zeenat - Priyanka Chopra

Pran - Arjun Rampal

Helen - Kareena Kapoor !!

Some good webpages that give good reviews are as follows !!

http://don-movie.com/

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/article/24402.html

http://www.allbollywood.com/v2/bd/stc/mov/d/499.shtml

http://www.indiafm.com/movies/cast/12654/index.html

http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/30/6929

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

14th August 2006, 09:51 AM
DON is billa ..right?

Unicorn
14th August 2006, 09:52 AM
yup :D

DON is billa ..right?

14th August 2006, 10:51 AM
DON is billa ..right?

But the original was damn good compared to Billa :)

14th August 2006, 12:37 PM
DON is billa ..right?

But the original was damn good compared to Billa :)

Yeah...amitabh had that charisma....rajni has style more than charisma!

dunno how sharuk gonna deal with this movie!

14th August 2006, 01:41 PM
Morethan SRK we can expect something out of Farhan Akthar :thumbsup:

Unicorn
14th August 2006, 01:57 PM
:evil:

Anyway was the original directed by Farhans father :?

14th August 2006, 02:09 PM

Screenplay and Dialogue by Javed Akthar

14th August 2006, 09:02 PM
The movie was written by the master screenwriters Saleem-Javed :Salim Khan (father of Salman) and Javed Akthar.

They were hot material in the seventies, they wrote Sholay,Deewar and Zanjeer - the movies that boosted Amitabh. I think there last movie together was Shekar Kapur's Mr. India.

Don is Amitabh at his coolest. I am not sure if SRK can pull it off. We'll have to wait and watch. If he tries to play a baddie like in 'Duplicate' it will be awful. (Hmmph I think of the early 90s when he had performances like Anjaam). But cool +bad is gonna be tough. Only a few Amitabh,Rajini , Satyaraj have managed to pull it off convincingly. Let's see.

Unicorn
15th August 2006, 01:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dg2qk_3V1k&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww%2Eradiosargam%2Ecom%2Fnews%2 Fstories%2Faug2006%2F013g%2Ehtml
Im the DOn ..
Check out.
Its super cool :cool:

15th August 2006, 03:13 PM
huh !

Will Sharukh do justice to the 6+ foot DON character ??? :roll:

well his acting in Baazigar is commendable.... but will he repeat the same ...... ?

Be it A or R who did the movies n Hindi n Thamizh .... the characterization was perfect n both suited the role very much ............

Lets see how Shahrukh handles the same !

15th August 2006, 04:19 PM
i believe sharuk would do justice ...he has that star cast!...

if sharuk cant do that role in hindi now...noone can!..because its not the role abt acting...its abt the starcast and powerful look!...lets wait and see!

i dont like sharuk in many movies...but he would do good here i guess

15th August 2006, 04:27 PM
Viki !

I too feel the same ... he is a person who can even make his lips to act ! namma raghuvaran is also one such person !

for a long time he has been performing Romantic hero roles ... so probably ppl may initially find it difficult ... i feel !

Who else could do such a role :roll:

how about Sanjay Dutt ... he is a right choice to do it again ! what about Amitabh himself ... in a movie like DON 2 ~ :-)

15th August 2006, 05:28 PM
if sharuk cant do that role in hindi now...noone can!..because its not the role abt acting...its abt the starcast and powerful look!...lets wait and see!

:notthatway: who gets the chance first is more important there, nobody would have thought comedy with Sanju baba but he pulled of in Munna Bhai .

Sanjay Dutt :exactly:

Aamir Khan would have suited the role too :yes:

15th August 2006, 05:36 PM
:clap: Great machi ...

Yup... he did a great stuff comedy in MB ! awesome ...

well ya, he may suit this roll ...

but Aamir :roll:

15th August 2006, 05:42 PM
Rangeela and Sarfarosh are the two extremes he has potrayed 8-)

15th August 2006, 09:59 PM
I have always been WAITING for soooo long for SRK to break away from his Pyscho or Lover-boy image and perform some serious, action roles, to show his versatility more .... DON might be the answer !!! :thumbsup:

16th August 2006, 02:31 PM

:notthatway: who gets the chance first is more important there, nobody would have thought comedy with Sanju baba but he pulled of in Munna Bhai .

Sanjay Dutt :exactly:

Aamir Khan would have suited the role too :yes:

yeah sanjay dutt would be too good(more than sharuk) in the don role!

but the other innocent role.....i dont believe sanjay dutt could do justice to that role...aamir dont have that star cast!

18th August 2006, 05:56 AM
DON and Dhoom 2 with KANK !
Joginder Tuteja, IndiaGlitz [Friday, August 11, 2006]

So what if the expected face-off between 'DON' and 'Dhoom 2' couldn't happen this Diwali/Eid? The two would finally be clashing with each other, though in different continents as 'Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna' releases this Friday.

While it is a common news that the promos of 'Dhoom 2' would be shown along with KANK screening in India, not many are aware that the promos of 'DON' too would be shown along with the film, though only in the overseas segment.

UTV International, producer Ritesh Sidhwani and director Farhan Akhtar have worked overtime in getting a rocking 3-minute trailer of their SRK-starrer Don out to all the cinemas in the US & UK where KANK will be playing. If the initial response to the trailer is anything to go by, looks like SRK has another hit in hand! Meanwhile those who have already caught the promo of 'Dhoom 2' in the preview shows of KANK are already going gaga about it and are vouching it to be the next blockbuster in the making.
__________________________________________________ ___

Two more blockbusters on the way this Diwali !!! :thumbsup:

Sandeep
18th August 2006, 03:34 PM
Rediff Readers' Picks: Top Bollywood Actors

1. Aamir Khan (You are a good actor and you know its value)
2. Amitabh Bachchan (This man, God, what mold did you make him in)
3. Shah Rukh Khan (It's really tough at top, isnt it SRK? Go Aamir way and look for quality)
4. Hrithik Roshan (Boy you got it)
5. Salman Khan :curse:
6. Saif Ali Khan (He has really matured, cannot believe he was the Ole Ole guy)
7. Akshay Kumar (rediff is right is calling him the "Khan Killer")
8. Abhishek Bachchan :thumbsup: (Sure to go up)
9. Sanjay Dutt (Munna :))
10. Ajay Devgan (Keep up your excellent Acting for thats all you got)
11. John Abraham (Dont mess up your looks for thats all you got)

18th August 2006, 10:17 PM
10. Ajay Devgan (Keep up your excellent Acting for thats all you got)
11. John Abraham (Dont mess up your looks for thats all you got)

7. Akshay Kumar (rediff is right is calling him the "Khan Killer") He has gotten more and more enjoyable. Even duds like Deewane Huey Pagal and drabs like Khakhee are kept alive in parts by Akshay. I liked him even way back in Yeh Dillagi.But Khan killer is a little ambitious.

19th August 2006, 01:55 AM

Um, nope the original '70s Don was directed by Chandra Barot.

27th August 2006, 08:38 PM
http://in.rediff.com/movies/2006/aug/25don.htm

Morya Re song still

ramky
27th August 2006, 08:48 PM
Great : nice still 8-) reminds me of Amitabh singing "Khaike paan banaraswala" in the original DON :)

29th August 2006, 11:39 PM
Don songs are out !!!!!!!!!!!

30th August 2006, 09:14 PM
ok songs. not great songs :roll:

30th August 2006, 09:38 PM
er, I thought the DON was a 1995 Film of Legendary actor Mithun Chakaraborti ??

30th August 2006, 10:41 PM
ok songs. not great songs :roll:

No actually when i heard the song for the first time , i didnt liked it. Listen to it few more time you might like it. Remix done by SEL are pretty decent and moreover these songs are mass number picturisation will be make the difference.

Mystic
8th September 2006, 09:02 AM
since the original DON was hit, guess this one would also have a decent run ! :)

8th September 2006, 09:14 PM
since the original DON was hit, guess this one would also have a decent run ! :)

Or could be better than the original ! You never know what technology and trend can do !!! :P

imsai
9th September 2006, 12:06 AM
[tscii:b73bdc6c9e]Shah Rukh's reign: Is the end in sight? :shock: :?

Wednesday, September 06, 2006

Source: HindustanTimes.com
Image Source: SantaBanta.com

Keep an eye on the imminent release of superstar Shah Rukh Khan’s second film of the year, Farhan Akhtar’s ‘Don.’ More than anything else, it will probably deliver the answer to a question that has been dogging the more discerning among Mumbai movie industry observers for a while now: is King Khan’s reign nearing its end?

Shah Rukh fans might feel that this question is a tad premature because the star is still a saleable proposition. Indeed, that has always been Shahrukh’s strength. More a performer than an actor, he draws crowds to the movie theatres with his innate ability to provide unalloyed entertainment within a limited, predictable bandwidth.

Therein lies his greatest drawback. Shah Rukh has never showed evidence of an inclination to break
free from his established screen persona and get into the skin of a character. He has never been required to go beyond set patterns because his fans seem to be happy enough with the way he is. So whether he is a lover boy, an army man or a royal figure from the pages of history, Shah Rukh will always play Shah Rukh.

But it’s getting terribly tiresome. If his laboured performance in Karan Johar’s ‘Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna’ is any indication, fatigue seems to be catching up with him. Well, it makes perfect sense for a superstar to keep repeating himself as long as the tried and tested set of mannerisms appeals to the masses, but it is time for reinvention when it stops working.

Will ‘Don,’ a reworking of a monster hit of the 1970s, provide that much-needed injection of novelty into
Shah Rukh’s career? If it doesn’t and if Shah Rukh comes up short in the inevitable comparison with the original Amitabh Bachchan star turn, it could spell the beginning of the end of the Shah Rukh Khan era.

Surrounded by a new breed of male stars that have learnt how to downplay their established screen
personas in order to flesh out clearly defined characters, Shah Rukh does not have much room for complacency. For the likes of Aamir Khan, Hrithik Roshan (now preparing to play Akbar in Ashutosh Gowariker’s next film), Ajay Devgan, Saif Ali Khan, Abhishek Bachchan, substance has taken precedence over mere show in a series of recent films.

Shah Rukh has increasingly begun to look like a bit of an anachronism, a throwback to a past when it was enough for a star to play himself, no matter what the role.

Many superstars before Shah Rukh – Dev Anand, Rajendra Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan and Rajesh Khanna, to name the most prominent – have suffered much the same fate. Amitabh ruled Bollywood for close to two decades on the strength of his angry young man image, but by the late 1980s, that career-defining persona had outlived its utility. Therefore, when the biggest star Bollywood has ever seen sought to extend his run at the top with an ill-advised dependence on the image of the past, he came a cropper.

If the redoubtable Amitabh Bachchan is still a force to reckon with, it is because he has successfully made the transition from an all-conquering superstar peddling a saleable image to an actor of many parts taking on creative challenges.

Actors trapped in an image (notably Rajesh Khanna) are known to fade out completely once their fan support base erodes. Remember the last few films of Khanna’s career as a superstar? A slave to mannerisms, he let his persona overwhelm the actor in him. Audiences lost patience with his jaded style, and the one-time box office king lost ground quickly.

Shah Rukh Khan is pretty close to a situation where he seems to be acting merely from memory, not from any creative stimuli stemming from the assignment at hand. In ‘KANK,’ his pronounced mannerisms kill any possibility of the character he plays, a failed footballer turned coach, acquiring a life of its own.

Shah Rukh the superstar is in desperate need of resuscitation. ‘Don,’ therefore, will be one of the most important films of his career. It will tell us whether he is good enough for a new lease on life at the top.

http://content.msn.co.in/Entertainment/Bollywood/Bollywood_HindustanTimes_060906_341.htm[/tscii:b73bdc6c9e]

Unicorn
15th September 2006, 10:14 AM
rehash of the goofs b4 the release of Devdas :rotfl: Don will send the writer into hiding.
Whens the last time a typical SRK movie flopped :roll:
KANKs already a hit :cool: and has broke past the 45 cr mark :clap:
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/ with the best ever opening 4 an Indian film :cool:
I suppose that theyve 4gotten abt the last 2 movies of SRK.1 which made up to the oscars and another which gave him another filmfare :razz:

[tscii:115529d291]Shah Rukh's reign: Is the end in sight? :shock: :?

Wednesday, September 06, 2006

Source: HindustanTimes.com
Image Source: SantaBanta.com

Keep an eye on the imminent release of superstar Shah Rukh Khan’s second film of the year, Farhan Akhtar’s ‘Don.’ More than anything else, it will probably deliver the answer to a question that has been dogging the more discerning among Mumbai movie industry observers for a while now: is King Khan’s reign nearing its end?

Shah Rukh fans might feel that this question is a tad premature because the star is still a saleable proposition. Indeed, that has always been Shahrukh’s strength. More a performer than an actor, he draws crowds to the movie theatres with his innate ability to provide unalloyed entertainment within a limited, predictable bandwidth.

Therein lies his greatest drawback. Shah Rukh has never showed evidence of an inclination to break
free from his established screen persona and get into the skin of a character. He has never been required to go beyond set patterns because his fans seem to be happy enough with the way he is. So whether he is a lover boy, an army man or a royal figure from the pages of history, Shah Rukh will always play Shah Rukh.

But it’s getting terribly tiresome. If his laboured performance in Karan Johar’s ‘Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna’ is any indication, fatigue seems to be catching up with him. Well, it makes perfect sense for a superstar to keep repeating himself as long as the tried and tested set of mannerisms appeals to the masses, but it is time for reinvention when it stops working.

Will ‘Don,’ a reworking of a monster hit of the 1970s, provide that much-needed injection of novelty into
Shah Rukh’s career? If it doesn’t and if Shah Rukh comes up short in the inevitable comparison with the original Amitabh Bachchan star turn, it could spell the beginning of the end of the Shah Rukh Khan era.

Surrounded by a new breed of male stars that have learnt how to downplay their established screen
personas in order to flesh out clearly defined characters, Shah Rukh does not have much room for complacency. For the likes of Aamir Khan, Hrithik Roshan (now preparing to play Akbar in Ashutosh Gowariker’s next film), Ajay Devgan, Saif Ali Khan, Abhishek Bachchan, substance has taken precedence over mere show in a series of recent films.

Shah Rukh has increasingly begun to look like a bit of an anachronism, a throwback to a past when it was enough for a star to play himself, no matter what the role.

Many superstars before Shah Rukh – Dev Anand, Rajendra Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan and Rajesh Khanna, to name the most prominent – have suffered much the same fate. Amitabh ruled Bollywood for close to two decades on the strength of his angry young man image, but by the late 1980s, that career-defining persona had outlived its utility. Therefore, when the biggest star Bollywood has ever seen sought to extend his run at the top with an ill-advised dependence on the image of the past, he came a cropper.

If the redoubtable Amitabh Bachchan is still a force to reckon with, it is because he has successfully made the transition from an all-conquering superstar peddling a saleable image to an actor of many parts taking on creative challenges.

Actors trapped in an image (notably Rajesh Khanna) are known to fade out completely once their fan support base erodes. Remember the last few films of Khanna’s career as a superstar? A slave to mannerisms, he let his persona overwhelm the actor in him. Audiences lost patience with his jaded style, and the one-time box office king lost ground quickly.

Shah Rukh Khan is pretty close to a situation where he seems to be acting merely from memory, not from any creative stimuli stemming from the assignment at hand. In ‘KANK,’ his pronounced mannerisms kill any possibility of the character he plays, a failed footballer turned coach, acquiring a life of its own.

Shah Rukh the superstar is in desperate need of resuscitation. ‘Don,’ therefore, will be one of the most important films of his career. It will tell us whether he is good enough for a new lease on life at the top.

http://content.msn.co.in/Entertainment/Bollywood/Bollywood_HindustanTimes_060906_341.htm[/tscii:115529d291]

20th September 2006, 08:48 PM
I watched DON trailor at PVR when we were there for watching VV couple of weeks back !

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

SRK himself says

DON

----------DON

----------------------------DON

eNNa kodumai idu saravanan ? :rotfl:

People who are tired of MBMBBS comedies and want to try something different to beat your stress.. Watch DON trailor

20th September 2006, 09:56 PM

20th September 2006, 10:36 PM

So can we just call it a SUPER-FLOP and close this thread ?? :lol: :lol:

20th September 2006, 10:49 PM

adhu solla mudiyadhu....kank super hit aagum bothu...idhu block buster kooda aagalam :lol: yarukku theriyum!

padathukku thevai neraya ladduu and a group dance...shaba shaba :lol:

romio
21st September 2006, 12:23 AM
Without johars and chopras srk is nothing .
As usual Media is giving Srk movie 'Don' Huge publicity :x
He is not an actor but an over actor ! kikiki kiraaaaannnnnnnn :lol:

this film will be insult to the original BigB's Don :twisted:

romio
21st September 2006, 12:25 AM
Selva machi Adhu :froggrin:

romio
21st September 2006, 12:41 AM
Whens the last time a typical SRK movie flopped

Paheli (2005) Flop :lol:
Silsiilay (2005) Flop :lol:
Kaal (2005) Flop :lol:
Yeh Lamhe Judaai Ke (2004) Flop :lol:
Chalte Chalte (2003) Flop :lol:
Shakti: The Power (2002) Flop :lol:
Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam (2002) flop :lol:
Asoka (2001) flop :lol:
One 2 Ka 4 (2001) flop :lol:
Gaja Gamini (2000) flop :lol:
Mohabbatein (2000) flop :lol:
Josh (2000) ? flop/average :huh:
Hey Ram (2000) flop :cry:
Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani (2000) flop :lol:
Baadshah (1999) flop :lol:
Dil Se.. (1998) flop :cry:
Duplicate (1998) flop :lol:
Koyla (1997) flop :lol:
Gudgudee (1997) flop
Dushman Duniya Ka (1996) flop :lol:
Army (1996) flop :lol:
Chaahat (1996) flop :lol:
English Babu Desi Mem (1996) :lol: flop
Guddu (1995) flop :lol:
Oh Darling Yeh Hai India (1995) flop :lol:
Trimurti (1995) flop :lol:
Zamaana Deewana (1995) :lol: flop

75 % of his films are flop List Ithu mattum pothuma iniyum konjam venama :P

21st September 2006, 06:41 AM
Johars and Chopras have sooo many kids in their families !!! Did they all become Superstars ??? :roll: :roll: :roll:

21st September 2006, 11:18 AM
Selva machi Adhu :froggrin:

:wink: :)
I agree with you machi ! I am not sure why media is exaggerating everything on SRK. Be it +ve or -ve. He is a good actor. Accepted. Infact, he reminds me Raghuvaran most of the time. Some of his movies are :thumbsup:
But I don't think DON will be his kind of movie.
As Great machi pointed out, people like SD will be able to play the role like chewing a gum !
The trailor is like this. Plus ! In the trailor, they portray some MATRIX stuffs ! :lol:

Let me pray that it won't spoil the awesome original which is known for BIG B's performance ! :thumbsup:

BOTTOMLINE IS:

"A DON'S EYES ALONE SHOULD BE ABLE TO PORTRAY THE CRUELTY. Their walk, style etc should be top class. Big B, RK (Baasha) can do justice to those kind of roles."

I am afraid whether DON will become a comedy ! No matter how much it collects !

21st September 2006, 11:21 AM

Bay, We don't want to spoil the entertainment that we are having here immediately ! :lol: :lol:

Unicorn
21st September 2006, 07:27 PM
Whens the last time a typical SRK movie flopped

Paheli (2005) Flop :lol: (not a typical SRK movie :notthatway: )
Silsiilay (2005) Flop :lol: (not an SRK movie :rotfl: )
Kaal (2005) Flop :lol: (not an SRK movie :rotfl: )
Yeh Lamhe Judaai Ke (2004) Flop :lol: (6 yrs in the making :D Cant be counted)
Chalte Chalte (2003) Flop :lol: (HIT :redjump: )
Shakti: The Power (2002) Flop :lol: (spl appearance )
Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam (2002) flop :lol: (A hit though it had Salman Khan :hammer: )
Asoka (2001) flop :lol: (Thx to the Villain :wink: )
One 2 Ka 4 (2001) flop :lol: (Accepted :cry: )
Gaja Gamini (2000) flop :lol: (Spl appearance )
Mohabbatein (2000) flop :lol: ( :rotfl: Twas a super Hit )
Josh (2000) ? flop/average :huh: Hit :smile:
Hey Ram (2000) flop :cry: Again was a Kamal film
Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani (2000) flop :lol: (accepted :cry: )
Baadshah (1999) flop :lol: AVERAGE ma
Dil Se.. (1998) flop :cry: ( :cry: Flop)
Duplicate (1998) flop :lol:
Koyla (1997) flop :lol: ( :hammer: Thanx to its pathetic director )
Gudgudee (1997) flop
Dushman Duniya Ka (1996) flop :lol:
Army (1996) flop :lol:
Chaahat (1996) flop :lol:
English Babu Desi Mem (1996) :lol: flop
Guddu (1995) flop :lol:
Oh Darling Yeh Hai India (1995) flop :lol:
Trimurti (1995) flop :lol:
Zamaana Deewana (1995) :lol: flop

75 % of his films are flop List Ithu mattum pothuma iniyum konjam venama :P
I dunno abt his movies b4 97
In the last 5 yrs only the following 4 were undeniable flops
Paheli(Made an Oscar entry :redjump: )
Swades(Got him a filmfare :thumbsup: )
Asoka(again SRK playin in a historical :clap: )
All 3 werent typical SRK movies,
All 3 were critically acclaimed,
All 3 recovered thier money overseas
75% of the films mentioned in this list arent flops :rotfl: :hammer: :hammer: and 25% werent SRK movies :rotfl: :rotfl:
SRK delivering FLopsaa :rotfl: velaya paaruppaa !
Better Luck Next Time :thumbsup:

imsai
22nd September 2006, 09:49 AM
Is it getting released on Diwali? I pity SRK :lol2:

Dhoom II is the winner by a mile :thumbsup:

23rd September 2006, 01:32 AM
:lol: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I watched DON trailor at PVR when we were there for watching VV couple of weeks back !

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

SRK himself says

DON

----------DON

----------------------------DON

eNNa kodumai idu saravanan ? :rotfl:

People who are tired of MBMBBS comedies and want to try something different to beat your stress.. Watch DON trailor

23rd September 2006, 08:51 PM
Humble request guys !!!!

If you guys dont like Shahrukh or this movie by any chance, and if you waana continue makin a mockery out of either, I suggest you could create a new thread like maybe, SHAHRUKH THE CLOWN or DON THE JOKE or whatver makes you feel happy, and continue havin fun there !!!

Spare this thread though, PLSSS !!

:oops: :cry: :oops:

23rd September 2006, 10:25 PM
Humble request guys !!!!

If you guys dont like Shahrukh or this movie by any chance, and if you waana continue makin a mockery out of either, I suggest you could create a new thread like maybe, SHAHRUKH THE CLOWN or DON THE JOKE or whatver makes you feel happy, and continue havin fun there !!!

Spare this thread though, PLSSS !!

:oops: :cry: :oops:

Absolutely. Shahrukh is a gud actor. Just that his recent films aren't upto that mark. But his movies like Baazigar, Dar, Swades, KKHH are unforgettable.
So guys plz spare this thread.

23rd September 2006, 10:30 PM
Songs are gud 8-)

yeh mera dil , kahiake bann banaraswala are from the original don ? :roll:

24th September 2006, 01:13 AM
Paheli (2005) Flop :lol:
Silsiilay (2005) Flop :lol:
Kaal (2005) Flop :lol:
Yeh Lamhe Judaai Ke (2004) Flop :lol:
Chalte Chalte (2003) Flop :lol:
Shakti: The Power (2002) Flop :lol:
Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam (2002) flop :lol:
Asoka (2001) flop :lol:
One 2 Ka 4 (2001) flop :lol:
Gaja Gamini (2000) flop :lol:
Mohabbatein (2000) flop :lol:
Josh (2000) ? flop/average :huh:

Silsila ... you meant arjun rampal movie.
Kaal , first of all its SRK production and this movie is a hit.
Yeh Lamhe was in production for many years , dud accepted.
Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam was not a flop.
Gaja Gamini was M.F.Hussain and Madhuri Dixit movie

Mohabbatein :shock: how can you put this movie in the flop list. :?

Yes villan both the songs are retained from the original.

26th September 2006, 02:56 AM
songs rockx.. esp the remix.. aye mere dil...

main hoon don is also super..

this movie is gonna be a blockbuster if not for shahrukh atleast for the director akthar..

watch promo.. mai hoon don

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPiuDgam9s4

theatrical trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Tn_bBKa3IQ

this is a specil movie for its effect and grandeous 8-) 8-)

26th September 2006, 03:30 AM
Thanks for the links KB !! Looks COOL !! 8-) 8-)

Unicorn
29th September 2006, 08:33 PM
20 days 2 go :redjump:
Here are the promos(In case some havent watched ) :bluejump:
Don trailers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xvUj4Iln-M :cool: Lux gr8 man
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaAoikarZUA
Main hoon Don :cool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezGr68gGBM8
Morya Re (better than the original :cool2: )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCiG8rt65dg
Yeh Mera Dil :oops:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z8E43jMQtM
Khaike paan banaras wala :razz:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8MPLJnrRQQ

30th September 2006, 06:38 AM
Is it confirmed that this and DHOOM II are releasing together?

30th September 2006, 07:46 AM

YESSSSSS !!!! :clap: :clap:

30th September 2006, 02:21 PM

YESSSSSS !!!! :clap: :clap:

hmm... Dhoom-2 music is not released till now :? ....... :roll:

romio
30th September 2006, 04:16 PM
YESSSSSS !!!!

NOOOOO !!! :(

Don - October 20, 2006

Dhoom 2 - November 24, 2006

1st October 2006, 11:27 AM
:cry:

Unicorn
14th October 2006, 12:47 PM
No :cool: D2 pozhachi pogattum..
Don is releasin this 20th along with Jaanemann :roll:
bad time for Salman/Akki :cry2:

Unicorn
14th October 2006, 12:52 PM
1 of my Bombay frnd is sayin that DDLJ is gonna be removed from Maratha Mandir theater this Diwali :cry2:
Well it means that DDLJ finishes its run after 11 yrs/4017 days/575 weeks of glory :D
An unparalleled and unrechable record that will stand out in the Guiness book of records for ever :thumbsup:
I was plannin to watch the movie this sem holidays when Ill be therein Bombay :cry2:

imsai
14th October 2006, 03:13 PM

thapichar remake Don :lol:

15th October 2006, 12:51 AM

thapichar remake Don :lol:

Egjaktly!! :rotfl:

15th October 2006, 04:32 AM
My dear Surya and Imsai, I will get back to you guys once DON becomes a Superhit OK !!!!!

:lol: :notworthy: :poke:

15th October 2006, 04:47 AM
oh so u wont getback :poke: :lol: :P

My dear Surya and Imsai, I will get back to you guys once DON becomes a Superhit OK !!!!!

15th October 2006, 07:18 AM
oh so u wont getback :poke: :lol: :P

Haha, We'll see !! MAIN HOON DON !!! :notworthy:

16th October 2006, 08:37 AM
MAIN HOON DON !!! :notworthy:

adha mathavanga sollanum.... neengale somma "naan DON , naan DON ; nu sollitu iruka koodathu....:rotfl:

16th October 2006, 05:04 PM
Yellarukkum theriyum intha hubbulae miga bayangaramana DON intha hougang chandrasehar thaan :angry2: :exactly:

Alright seriously...I have seen SRK movies and his acting is neither bad nor good..it is average..sometimes he just does not get his expressions right..more of a romantic boy than a actor of varied roles. Don will be a test to his acting skills as even acting as a Don your body language and emotions will have to be very good.

This movie will be half a hit for SRK's presence...whether it will be a good hit remains on SRK's impression of a Don.

17th October 2006, 12:23 AM
Yellarukkum theriyum intha hubbulae miga bayangaramana DON intha hougang chandrasehar thaan :angry2: :exactly:

Ivaru Vera Naduvule!! :lol: Self Gethule Vadiveluviyae Minjuduvaaru!! :poke:

17th October 2006, 04:54 AM
in less than 5 days... don don don....

don ko pakadna mushkil he nahi naa mumkin hain :shock:

Unicorn
17th October 2006, 08:52 PM
Booked Don FDFS in Sathyam(main screen) :redjump:
Chennaites thecinema.in .Few tics remain.Book it b4 izz 2 l8.
Advance bookin is terrific..I wudnt be surprised if Don opens bigger than even our Tamil Diwali releases here :eink:

17th October 2006, 08:57 PM
Advance bookin is terrific..I wudnt be surprised if Don opens bigger than even our Tamil Diwali releases here :eink:

Yay Baby !! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Cant wait to see it !! :D :D

17th October 2006, 08:57 PM

Ivaru Vera Naduvule!! :lol: Self Gethule Vadiveluviyae Minjuduvaaru!! :poke:

Surya !! :rotfl:

imsai
17th October 2006, 09:37 PM

Except maybe RK, nobody can challenge SRK but the fact is DhoomII will overtake :rotfl:

Unicorn
17th October 2006, 10:21 PM

Except maybe RK, nobody can challenge SRK but the fact is DhoomII will overtake :rotfl:
Nut kizhandukchaa :rotfl:
Idhula fact vera :cry:

imsai
18th October 2006, 04:48 AM
Nut kizhandukchaa :rotfl:
Idhula fact vera :cry:

machi, eppavO kazhandichu.. srk nadaiyai paarkala in don trailer? :rotfl:

Unicorn
18th October 2006, 10:17 AM
Don has better advance bookin in Sathyam than all the other Diwali releases here :redjump:
Booked for first 5 days :thumbsup:

imsai
18th October 2006, 10:32 AM
Yes NO tamil actors can exceed it except Rajini :redjump: :bluejump:

Unicorn
18th October 2006, 11:04 AM

imsai
18th October 2006, 01:08 PM
but all hindi actors can :poke:

19th October 2006, 06:01 AM

You guys are AWESOME !! Made my day !! :boo:

Unicorn
19th October 2006, 11:10 AM
24 hrs to go :redjump:

20th October 2006, 05:45 AM
Hope I match upto Amitabh in 'Don': Shahrukh

http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/009200610160335.htm

Jaipur, Oct. 16 (PTI): Bollywood superstar Shahrukh Khan, who essays the lead role in the remake of the 1978 blockbuster 'Don', Sunday said he has tried to do justice to the character immortalised by Amitabh Bachchan.

"I have tried my level best to do justice to the character I have played in the movie. I hope I can match up to the capabilities of Bachchan," he told reporters on reaching Gandhi Nagar railway station here.

He arrived from New Delhi on the 'Blue Billion Express' along with actress Priyanka to cheer the Indian team against England in their first Champions Trophy match at Sawai Man Singh Stadium.

He told those accompanying them on the train that the earlier version was "no doubt better" as it was the original one.
He lauded the performances of Bachchan, Zeenat Aman and others in the '70s hit and said Director Farhan Akhtar has changed the first half-hour and last half-hour of the remake "which I like the most" in the script.

20th October 2006, 05:51 AM
[tscii:68f7ea32b0]Jaaneman all set to be a bigger hit than Don

http://www.desifans.com/news/20061359

Salman Khan and Akshay Kumar, two of the biggest stars of bollywood are coming together again with Jaaneman. Jaaneman will be pitted against SRK’s Don which is interesting because Shahrukh Khan is the self proclaimed king of bollywood and has a fan following equal to Salman Khan ’s.

There is no doubt that Jaaneman is a fresh product while Don is just a rehash and Shahrukh is not very well accepted in action flicks. Shahrukh is limited in his range as an actor and while he can still get away with the romancing in the alps for a Yash Chopra or a Karan Johar film, He does not impress in a action flick.

Am quite sure the writer is a big-time Shahrukh hater !! :twisted: :lol: :roll: [/tscii:68f7ea32b0]

20th October 2006, 06:18 AM
Came across this interesting video in Youtube ... Shahrukh dancing with all the yesteryear heroines in the FILMFARE awards 2005 ... The most interesting part is when he's dancing with REKHA, they show Amitabh and Jaya in the audience !!

:omg: :swinghead: :musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1c8eYzOurEk&NR

20th October 2006, 06:41 AM
[tscii:927fa180a5]Check out the DON Press meet !!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/gallery/events/10703.html

This Diwali gear up for this special Feature on Farhan Akhtar’s ‘Don’ a remake of Chandra Barot’s original of 1978. IndiaGlitz brings exclusive interviews with the star cast of the film Priyanka Chopra, Arjun Rampal, Isha Koppikar and Boman Irani especially for you in this video. Stylish editing, crisp question and answer sessions and lots of excitement makes this Diwali Feature a treat for all our patrons spread all over the world. Happy Diwali. And have a safe Diwali…..Enjoy!

http://img.indiaglitz.com/playerV2/launchredirect.asp?vid=23323&category=5009
[/tscii:927fa180a5]

20th October 2006, 04:15 PM
Rediff thrashes DON with a lot of love and affection......confused read this.......please tell me wat reviewer is trying to tell...... :roll:

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2006/oct/20don.htm

Jaan-e-mann gets batter rating than DON..... :shock:

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2006/oct/20jaan.htm

romio
20th October 2006, 04:34 PM
GOT Horrible REVIEW FROM MY FRIEND WHO HAVE JUST SAID MOVIE IS TOTAL CRAP especialy climax the movie begins with a bang but ending is not that good.. :oops:

REDIFF REVIEW IS ALSO BAD

JANEMAN GETTING GOOD MOUTH PUBLICITY 8-)

20th October 2006, 05:20 PM
Rediff thrashes DON with a lot of love and affection......confused read this.......please tell me wat reviewer is trying to tell...... :roll:

Jaan-e-mann gets batter rating than DON..... :shock:

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2006/oct/20jaan.htm

MADDY, it's not tooo SHOCKING !!! Wait until you recieve such reviews from pretty much all webpages .... This is becoming way too usual for all Shahrukh movies these days !!! :cry: :oops:

BUT ..... We all know how the movie will do at the end !!! :notworthy:

romio
20th October 2006, 06:07 PM
Baymachi another sad news for you

The race begins
Don totters, Jaan-e-Mann sprints towards the finish
By: Sarita Tanwar
Mid-Day

Dawn of a new don: SRK in a still from the film Don. Preview
audiences found the film extremely lengthy.

Two of the biggest releases of the year, Don and Jaan-E-Mann, have
finally hit the screens today. The expectations are sky high and the
stakes are monumental. So what's really going to be the eventual
outcome of these two films at the box-office?

According to trade reports, though both films opened to full houses,
the Shah Rukh Khan-starrer, Don, definitely has an edge. Don had a
marginally better opening than Jaan-E-Mann, thus proving there's no
one to beat SRK when it comes to pulling in the initial crowds.

However, almost all those who've seen both the films agree that Sajid
Nadiadwala's Jaan-E-Mann, directed by first-timer Shirish Kunder, is
the movie to look out for. Last night's audiences at the paid preview
shows of Don went home disappointed. Farhan Akhtar's tiresome
narrative and the excessively long film will go against it.

On the other hand, Jaan-E-Mann has already received rave reviews from
preview audiences. Kunder's deft handling and stupendous performances
by Akshay Kumar and Salman Khan have left viewers spellbound.

20th October 2006, 06:17 PM

A big doubt at who can show that fierce don look that rajini gives in billa from bollywood. He has that powerful expressions and voice modulation which can overtake most of the bollywood cohort.

20th October 2006, 07:02 PM
Baymachi another sad news for you

Romio Machi !! Let's not give up tooo EASILY !! :P

20th October 2006, 07:03 PM
A big doubt at who can show that fierce don look that rajini gives in billa from bollywood. He has that powerful expressions and voice modulation which can overtake most of the bollywood cohort.

Hulku !!! :bluejump: :boo: :redjump:

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 08:24 PM
:omg: Its an absolute cracker of a movie :redjump:
Farhan is a genius.Except a few loopholers in the screenplay hes done his part to perfection :clap: Now I know why he chose to remake Don.. :thumbsup:
It isnt a film for the critics :notthatway: It is a film for the masses :cool:
If uve not watched the original ull like it..If u have watched the original ull lovee it!
And SRK :thumbsup: present him with a do or die situation and thats armageddon for his archrivals :poke:
Some thoughts id like 2 share..
First of all..all previous records will be shattered left right and center :yes:
Next its one of the most sophisticated indian movies and its presentation is of the slickest quality.Mohanans cinematography and the aesthetic locations make it an absolute treat :)
SRK :cool: No other git cudve pulled it out as convincingly :cool: He did the Don even better than the village bimp :)
Boman Irani was gr8.Arjun Rampal was :oops: Priya was good in her stunts and her actings improved a lot :) .Kareena :razz:
Songs are :victory: :shakehead: the pick bein Khaike again :cool2:
Climax :redjump: the whole theater went beserk :shock:
Farhan has done it again :redjump: The popularity of the original and the dual role have been exploited to the fullest..
A def. winner on hands :cool:
(hope i havent revealed any secrets :roll: )

20th October 2006, 08:32 PM
I was just waiting for your review all this time !!!

EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT !!

:bluejump: :boo: :redjump:

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 08:39 PM
:thumbsup: Ull love the movie bay :cool:
Critics go to hell :cool:

20th October 2006, 08:42 PM

Man, the best thing in your review is when you mentioned,

IT'S NOT FOR CRITICS, BUT FOR THE MASSES !!

Cos I've been dying to see Shahrukh in an action-packed non-comedy role with loads of style ... I know he's very capable of that, but he's been entrapped in that image thing of a lover-boy ... I'm so glad he broke it with this movie ... And you know how big of a MASSY fan I am !!

Would you now recommend Ilayathalapthy do the remake of BILLA in Tamil now ?? :P

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 08:45 PM
:D Stunts are awesome :) Especially the aeroplane sequence and the fight btw SRK n Priya :cool:

Man, the best thing in your review is when you mentioned,

IT'S NOT FOR CRITICS, BUT FOR THE MASSES !!

Cos I've been dying to see Shahrukh in an action-packed non-comedy role with loads of style ... I know he's very capable of that, but he's been entrapped in that image thing of a lover-boy ... I'm so glad he broke it with this movie ... And you know how big of a MASSY fan I am !!

Would you now recommend Ilayathalapthy do the remake of BILLA in Tamil now ?? :P
:notthatway: I wud recommend him to remake SRKs Don :redjump:

20th October 2006, 08:47 PM
:D Stunts are awesome :) Especially the aeroplane sequence and the fight btw SRK n Priya :cool:

Oh Wow !! :D

Dude, how is the audience response for Shahrukh in the theatre ?? :? :?

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 08:51 PM

Oh Wow !! :D

Dude, how is the audience response for Shahrukh in the theatre ?? :? :?
opening sequence and each n every punch lines got tremendous applause.
Khaikee and Morya re sent claps,whistles and roars in the air
And the climax and the finishing sequence :omg: theater exploded.Some ppl(especially ladies) were :cry2:

20th October 2006, 08:53 PM
And the climax and the finishing sequence :omg: theater exploded.Some ppl(especially ladies) were :cry2:

Yay Baby !! Cant wait to see it !! :D :D

Missing Madras and my College days !! :cry: :oops: :cry:

How was KAREENA btw ?? :wink: :P :wink:

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:01 PM

Yay Baby !! Cant wait to see it !! :D :D

Missing Madras and my College days !! :cry: :oops: :cry:

How was KAREENA btw ?? :wink: :P :wink:
Kareena :oops: Who did that song In hindhi Don(was it Zeenat).I dint watch Don(I watched Billa though).Some ppl applauded her death :oosp:
Another fact..Don extends SRKs diwali winnin streak to 6 in a row :D
DDLJ(1995)
DTPH(1997)
K2H2(1998)
MOhabattein(2000)
Veer Zaara(2004)

20th October 2006, 09:05 PM
Kareena :oops: Who did that song In hindhi Don(was it Zeenat).I dint watch Don(I watched Billa though).Some ppl applauded her death :oosp:
DDLJ(1995)
DTPH(1997)
K2H2(1998)
MOhabattein(2000)
Veer Zaara(2004)

Zeenat was the heroine ... The item number had HELEN, the same lady that came in BILLA for that song !! :)

So Kareena wasnt well accepted huh !! When I saw the trailer, I thought she was HOT though !! :P

You missed out Kal Ho Naa Ho (2003) in your list !! :thumbsup:

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:21 PM
No she was very well accepted (was red hot in the yeh mera dil no) :D
But she isnt popular with all ppl here :oops:
Was KHNH a diwali release :?

DDLJ(1995)
DTPH(1997)
K2H2(1998)
MOhabattein(2000)
Veer Zaara(2004)

Zeenat was the heroine ... The item number had HELEN, the same lady that came in BILLA for that song !! :)

So Kareena wasnt well accepted huh !! When I saw the trailer, I thought she was HOT though !! :P

You missed out Kal Ho Naa Ho (2003) in your list !! :thumbsup:

20th October 2006, 09:26 PM
No she was very well accepted (was red hot in the yeh mera dil no) :D
But she isnt popular with all ppl here :oops:
Was KHKN a diwali release :? I dont think so

Of course !! I saw it first day here !! :D :D

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:27 PM
DON v JAAN-E-MANN- The battle hots up.

Mumbai Circuit-Don has the edge due to bookings in Mumbai and especially Pune where it has a big lead.

Delhi/UP-Don has better advance in Delhi/NCR but Jaan-E-Mann has a massive print count in UP which may become a factor from Friday..

East Punjab-Don takes lead in A centres like Chandigarh, Ludhiana, Gurgaon and Faridabad but Akshay's popularity in B+C centres of the circuit could tell over the week.

West Bengal-Don has clear lead on bookings and should emerge winner here in first week at least.

Bihar-Jaan-E-Mann is clear winner but exhibitors are anxious about long run due to NRI/Urban theme of film.

CP Berar-Don shows better advance in Nagpur only. Jaan-E-Mann should emerge winner here.

CI-Indore gives Don the lead and it will be interesting to see if the other centres can turnaround this deficit.

Rajasthan-In Jaipur they are neck and neck but elsewhere Jaan-E-Mann has clear lead.

Nizam-Both films have seen 50% tickets go for the weekend in Hyderabad and any film could emerge winner.

Mysore-DOn is the clear winner.Bangalore sees record advance.

20th October 2006, 09:28 PM
Is JAAENEMAN released in Madras ?? :? :roll:

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:30 PM
yeah! garnerin lozz of +ve reviews :?

Is JAAENEMAN released in Madras ?? :?

20th October 2006, 09:32 PM

Wow, so this is HEAD-ON bet Shahrukh and Salman !! I'll be happy if both of them do well !! I like both !!! :D :D

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:38 PM
Me too :D

Wow, so this is HEAD-ON bet Shahrukh and Salman !! I'll be happy if both of them do well !! I like both !!! :D :D

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:40 PM
[tscii:4c48283b42]ON Breaking Records Already!
By MovieTalkies.com, 16 October 2006

UTV Motion Pictures, who hold the overseas distribution rights of Farhan Akhtar’s Don, will be releasing a record breaking 325 prints overseas across 28 countries, the most for any Hindi film. UTV also has an innovative marketing tie-up with Citibank for the overseas market across USA, UK, South East Asia, and the Middle East. UTV, known to be trendsetters in the industry, have once created a new milestone.[/tscii:4c48283b42]

20th October 2006, 09:43 PM
So this year had the following blockbusters in Hindi !!

* Rang De Basanti

* Fanaa

* Krrish

* Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna

The one to be added today to this list is DONNNN !!!!

:D :D :D

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:45 PM
U missed the biggest till now-Lage raho Munnabhai

So this year had the following blockbusters in Hindi !!

* Rang De Basanti

* Fanaa

* Krrish

* Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna

The one to be added today to this list is DONNNN !!!!

:D :D :D

20th October 2006, 09:46 PM

Oh Yeah, man how is that movie doin ?? :? :?

I made the list out of what I'm seein here in the US !!! Sorry if I missed MunnaBhai there !! You can fill it in !! :D

Unicorn
20th October 2006, 09:48 PM
Already bigger than Krrish.Still goin strong :)

20th October 2006, 09:49 PM
Already bigger than Krrish.Still goin strong :)

UNBELIEVABLE !! :roll: :P

21st October 2006, 06:20 AM
[tscii:d3c91175ce]Don - Worth a Chase

Faridoon Shahryar, IndiaGlitz [Friday, October 20, 2006]

I don’t think Remaking an iconic film is a good idea. For when the earlier film is so clearly etched in your mind, it gets difficult for the uber-cool-style-flick new version o erase the nostalgic quotient of the original.

That’s exactly what happens with Farhan Akhtar’s tribute to the original ‘Don’ co-written by his dad Javed Akhtar along with Salim Khan a good silver jubilee years ago. Comparisons are inevitable. No, Shahrukh Khan doesn’t match up to Amitabch Bachchan’s versatile performance. But yes, it’s great to see SRK enacting a negative character after a long time.

And trust me…He makes Bad look Cool…As for ‘Don’ then it’s most certainly not the best film made this year and yes it does have its high points, especially the climax. No baby, I can’t reveal that! Also…get ready for the announcement of the sequel…Soon….

Mr Malik was the surprise packet in Chandra Barot’s original while there’s some other ‘insider’ who completely zaps you this time around. I won’t reveal it for it will spoil the fun. Jasjit’s character had been immortalized by an old-n-haggard Pran sahib whereas here you have a younger Arjun Rampal doing the honors in a dignified manner.

Kareena Kapoor sizzles in the ‘Yeh Mera Dil’ number in Helen’s place. She looks gorgeous alright. Priyanka Chopra’s Roma is a tough chick who would do anything to avenge her brother Ramesh’s death from the evil Don. Chopra girl seems to have worked hard on learning the Charlie’s Angels martial-arts-chops and the effect shows. When she is not hunting with the men, she takes time out to scorch the dance floors with her ‘Aaj Ki Raat’ shake-a-leg number.

Boman Irani competently enters Iftiqar sahab’s DCP Desilva shoes. In fact his role has more to it than you’ve geared up for. So, stay put for a surprise. Isha Koppikar as Anita is wasted.

It’s left to Shahrukh Khan to drive the beauty cars, flirt with the damsels, kill as if he is poison, tinker with his designer watch to trigger a bomb somewhere and sound sinister when he is getting over confident. In the Vijay mould, he is good with his one-liners and then ‘Khaike Paan Banaraswala’ in Malaysia is like ice-in-the-bhang. Of course he can never speak Avadhi like Big B. But then SRK has his own style that he puts in with 100% energy in everything that he does with a hell lot of conviction.

A lean-mean-and-gym-toned physique makes him look a hunky dude that you’d love to watch. In fact, I would love to watch him in this baddie avatar as compared with all the sugary-romances that he has been doing oh-so-repetitively.

Farhan Akhtar’s direction carries a lot of polish. He is definitely one of the finest directors that we have today. His command over technique as well as storytelling is extremely-compelling. But where he flounders in ‘Don’ is the pace of the film. A pacy thriller is something one was looking forward to. Instead, the three hour plus length of the film is a let down. It can be trimmed by at least half an hour. A few of the dialogues carry a lot of punch while there are still others that sound archaic. At several junctures the technical tomfoolery extinguishes plausibility. I for one fail to understand even in the original Don’ as to why the boss has to personally go for a meager job as exchange of bags. Beats me!

Music by Shankar-Ehsan-Loy is praiseworthy for the retention of the retro feel on 1980s numbers in ‘Aaj Ki Raat’ and ‘Main Hoon Don’. The remixes of ‘Khaike Paan Banaraswala’ and ‘Yeh Mera Dil’ don’t really match the original although they are good attempts. The ‘Don’ theme track by Medieval Punditz is the highlight of the hip-n-happening background music score. Cinematography by Mohanan is spectacular in every sense of the word while special effects at Red Chillies EFX is first rate. Fight sequences have been choreographed in a stylish manner. It can match the best in the world.

‘Don’ is worth a watch for the younger remix-n-sms generation who love their bhelpuri with ice cream and who haven’t seen Big B’s original. You may not enjoy it in totality but still it’s a fun-fare in more ways than one. It’s not great cinema. And I guess Farhan never pretended that he had set out to make one. But coming from the maker of spectacular ‘Dil Chahta Hai’ ‘Don’ is a disappointment. Here’s hoping to something original and refreshingly different the next time around.

Rating: ***

[/tscii:d3c91175ce]

21st October 2006, 06:36 AM
Check out what people had to say abt the movie !!

http://www.nrilinks.com/entertainment/movies/reviews/BW1560.asp

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Unicorn
22nd October 2006, 11:58 AM
Looks like Dons gettin an even bigger opening than KANK :redjump:
20 cr business in 2 days world wide :clap:
SRK rox :cool:
Don Ke Dushman Ki Sabse Badi Galti Yahi Hai Ke Woh DON Ka Dushman Hai. :yes:

Unicorn
22nd October 2006, 12:19 PM
Don has recieved a 90% opening :cool:
In smaller centers which were so called Akshays fort Don is creating records.
With more than 1000 prints Don will easily surpass the opening of KANK :redjump:
KANK opened to 76% collections grossing 28 Cr in the opening week(record till now)..Don will make atleast 30 :yes: SRKs opening power in unmatched.
Kings back :cool:
Source: www.boxofficeindia.com

Unicorn
22nd October 2006, 07:08 PM
Seems like both SRK and Farhan have confirmed that Don 2 will be made in the near future :redjump:
(Rumour)

Unicorn
22nd October 2006, 09:16 PM
Khaikee paan banaaras wala :swinghead: :musicsmile:
Rocks :thumbsup:
Was the song in the original DON extremely popular :roll:
When SRK jus said the words 'tumka kya batayey bhaiiya' Sathyam theater exploded :cool:

23rd October 2006, 02:30 AM
it was a chart-buster :D

23rd October 2006, 05:42 AM
Don has recieved a 90% opening :cool:
In smaller centers which were so called Akshays fort Don is creating records.
With more than 1000 prints Don will easily surpass the opening of KANK :redjump:
KANK opened to 76% collections grossing 28 Cr in the opening week(record till now)..Don will make atleast 30 :yes: SRKs opening power in unmatched.
Kings back :cool:
Source: www.boxofficeindia.com

Good job dude !!! Keep up the work !! :thumbsup:

And your avtar looks ultra-cool !! :P :P

23rd October 2006, 05:42 AM
Khaikee paan banaaras wala :swinghead: :musicsmile:
Rocks :thumbsup:
When SRK jus said the words 'tumka kya batayey bhaiiya' Sathyam theater exploded :cool:

Of Course man !!! :smokesmirk:

23rd October 2006, 07:44 AM

Obviously thats why they have retained the song !!!

Unicorn
23rd October 2006, 10:01 AM
They have retained all the songs :roll:

Obviously thats why they have retained the song !!!

romio
23rd October 2006, 01:54 PM
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/masands-verdict-don-such-a-con/24412-8.html
Rating: * (Poor)

REVIEW: Don fails to impress
http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1825639,00110003.htm

23rd October 2006, 02:35 PM
They have retained all the songs :roll:

Only 2 songs.

23rd October 2006, 03:01 PM
kizhi kizhinu kilichitanuga padatha...padam flop-a

23rd October 2006, 07:48 PM
konja nanja flop illa.....super flop...... :lol: .......SRK has the worst fan base in India.... :twisted: .....they cant see him anything other than a lover boy....

23rd October 2006, 10:30 PM
konja nanja flop illa.....super flop...... :lol: .......SRK has the worst fan base in India.... :twisted: .....they cant see him anything other than a lover boy....

or he cant do other roles???? :roll:

actually aamir is the only guy i liked in bollywood... aahh yeah sanjay dutt and amitabh

23rd October 2006, 10:39 PM

athukulla verdict out-a :shock:

24th October 2006, 01:06 AM

:shock: :rotfl: :lol: :rotfl: :oops: :cry2: :cry3:

24th October 2006, 01:27 AM
Nilavu, go and watch

Dil se - scenes where he escapes from terrorists - amazing

Swades - i dont think there is anybody in India who can better him as Mohan Bharagav in Swades.....amazingly natural...

Kabhi haa Kabhi naa - another amazing performance

Hum Tumhare hain sanam - he equalled Raghuvaran's performance in Thotta Chinungi.......

Darr - u dont get scope to act in yash chopra movies but this guy did it there also......he was amazing as a psycopath.......

SRK is one of the finest actors in India wasted by his poor/dumb fans......i hate esp his female fans who dont even know what is NASA..... :evil:

24th October 2006, 02:36 AM
SRK is one of the finest actors in India wasted by his poor/dumb fans......i hate esp his female fans who dont even know what is NASA..... :evil:

:? Is there some story behind this that I'm not aware of....or is it just a random thing u used to show taht they're stupid...:?

24th October 2006, 04:06 AM

:? Is there some story behind this that I'm not aware of....or is it just a random thing u used to show taht they're stupid...:?

welll there was a girl in my building who after watching swades asked me what they do at NASA??? :lol: ......she thought it was some missile/rocket producing company...

and FYI she was a engineer from Mumbai university who had scored more marks than me..... :cry:

24th October 2006, 04:20 AM
welll there was a girl in my building who after watching swades asked me what they do at NASA??? :lol: ......she thought it was some missile/rocket producing company...

and FYI she was a engineer from Mumbai university who had scored more marks than me..... :cry:

:rotfl: :lol: Okay..gotcha..

24th October 2006, 04:28 AM
unna paathu antha kelviaya epidi ketkalaam :lol:

24th October 2006, 10:38 AM
unna paathu antha kelviaya epidi ketkalaam :lol:

24th October 2006, 05:22 PM
[tscii:e72dbf70b9]Don Shahrukh Khan bowls out Pakistan Team

http://www.desifans.com/news/20061401

The King of Bollywood, Shahrukh Khan, after making millions of fans in the country has now captivated the Pakistan Cricket Team in his mesmerizing aura. Team Pakistan was in all praises about Badshah Khan and confessed that they are all his great fans.

This is indeed a positive feature for Shahrukh, who has successfully carved out a niche for him in the hearts of the people of our neighboring country.

Captain of Pakistan Cricket team-Younis Khan seemed to share a personal relationship with Sharukh Khan, as the parents of both were in good terms. Younis Khan, when asked about the latest SRK film said, ‘I watched the movie Don and liked it very much’. Again, Waqar Younis, the bowling coach of the team showered high praises on Shahrukh Khan. He said, ‘Shahrukh is a great actor. The whole team watched Shahrukh’s movie ‘Don’ and liked it very much. It’s a good movie and he is very impressive. He is a great actor, no doubt about that’.

The Pakistan Team is now at Chandigarh where they will play their next match with New Zealand. On Tuesday morning, the team went to a mosque in Chandigarh to offer the special Namaj of Eid. People thronged the campus of the mosque to catch a glimpse of the cricketing stars.

On the other hand, speaking to a Television News Channel, Shahrukh Khan was also found to air satisfaction over the smooth take-off of his film Don. He felt that the time of the release of Don during the festive season of Diwali and Eid has given it an upper hand in the box-office. The King Khan said that all those who were unable to watch Don due to the holy month of Ramjan, could now see the film. When asked about his plans to celebrate Eid, Shahrukh replied that he would prefer to spend Eid at his home with his family and a few close friends. [/tscii:e72dbf70b9]

24th October 2006, 05:24 PM
[tscii:efbf176556]Shahrukh Khan entertains you in the new Don

http://www.desifans.com/news/20061395

Well you must have read a few reviews and now that you have lowered your expectation, Don is a great watch.

The new Don is a remake of the older Don and remakes have to follow the same storyline and so it has to be within certain constaints. And Shahrukh Khan and Don is an entertainingly new version of the older Don. Never before Shah Rukh looked so sleek and stylish in an action movie. One reviewer commented that Shahrukh should just do romantic movies !! Why ? Shahrukh is surprisingly good in this new action avatar.

Farhan Akhtar takes liberty with the script and added a few twists to the story including one really killer twist. Watch out for it and you will get clues all along the movie. Priyanka Chopra does justice to the role and looks good in the action sequences. Kareena Kapoor looks very awkward in “Yeh Mera Dil”, a guest appearance. Arjun Rampal’s story moves parallely while Boman Irani is convincing.

Shahrukh Khan is now 41 and looks old in a few sequences. But if you think of Don and Shahrukh’s performances in action movies till now, Don is a refreshing and entertaining movie with a really good performance from SRK. As for those who complained that this movie is emotion-less, well for a change this movie has no romantic songs and no romantic sequences … well thats what a DON does !!! You cannot expect a DON to run around trees.

But yes, a few more light hearted reliefs would have helped. Maybe the sequel will take care of it !!
[/tscii:efbf176556]

Unicorn
25th October 2006, 06:10 PM
Diwali 2006- A one horse race

Diwali turned out be a one horse race at the box office but the jury is still out whether that horse can finish the race. On Saturday when the opening figures of Jaan-E-Mann were doing the rounds it left the industry stunned and shocked. There was a hope of a pick up and there is still today, but it's a longshot. The film started at around 40% and saw a jump to 60-70% on Sunday but was down to 50% on Monday again. The only plus is that collections have held at low levels and not fallen under 40% in big cities. At smaller centres the film has faced rejection and only a miracle can save it from being a loser here. The other release Don saw a great start of around 90% especially in Mumbai, East Punjab, West Bengal and Mysore where it was bumper, the next day collections fell due to Diwali but it had its best days on Sunday and Monday all over with 95%+ collections. The film has seen a drop in collections this morning in some circuits but it is not alarming. Overall if the film can sustain collections at this rate until Monday it will be at least a hit, an alarming fall in the next few days will see it settle as a commission to overflow fare.

No stopping the horse :cool:

Unicorn
25th October 2006, 08:05 PM
[tscii]DON: 6 Days, 1 Million Dollars!
By IndiaFM News Bureau, October 25, 2006 - 12:11 IST
Within 6 days of its release on 19th October, the much-hyped DON has grossed approximately £536,000; more than $1 mill, from 74 engagements across the UK according to a press release issued by UTV.

The takings on Eid on 24th October alone were to the tune of about £139,000.

According to pundits, Week 1 of DON in the UK is likely to end on Friday morning at nearly $1.1 mill. With no Bollywood title releasing this coming weekend, DON is set to enjoy another strong weekend and hit the $2 mill mark by the end of Week 2.

Trade sources attribute the unprecedented success of DON in the UK to the robust marketing by the UK division of UTV, the film's overseas distributor.

romio
25th October 2006, 10:51 PM
People think I'm gay: Shah Rukh ! :lol:
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/people-think-that-im-gay-srk/24482-8.html

imsai
25th October 2006, 11:22 PM

nisamaa? :lol:
:poke: :poke: :poke: :poke: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :lol: :lol: :lol: :poke: :poke: :poke: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :poke: :poke: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

26th October 2006, 01:34 AM

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

27th October 2006, 12:05 AM
Come on Guys !!! Ppl think DIFFERENT things abt DIFFERENT stars !!! Does that affect their BO run ?? :roll:

Vaaznthaalum Yesum Thaalnthaalum Yesum !! Vayyagam Ithu thaanada !! :cry: :oops: :cry:

27th October 2006, 12:06 AM
Diwali 2006- A one horse race

No stopping the horse :cool:

Thalaivar's dialgoue in THEE !!

10 kuthirai race-la odunaalum, jeika porathu Oru Kuthira thaan !!

:smokesmirk:

27th October 2006, 12:07 AM
[tscii]DON: 6 Days, 1 Million Dollars!
By IndiaFM News Bureau, October 25, 2006 - 12:11 IST
Within 6 days of its release on 19th October, the much-hyped DON has grossed approximately £536,000; more than $1 mill, from 74 engagements across the UK according to a press release issued by UTV.

It was expected dude !! A typical Shahrukh love-story would gross a lot more overseas ... This action-entertainer was typically aimed for the masses in India !! No WONDER !!

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 12:30 AM
[tscii:bb0264b2a3]http://www.indiafm.com/features/2006/10/26/1743/index.html

:redjump:
5 Reasons to watch 'DON'
By IndiaFM News Bureau, October 26, 2006 - 09:50 IST

Don has released. And it has released with a bang. With record shattering collections behind it, Don is a tremendous hit. But the big question, Is the new Don worth watching? Well yes it is definitely worth a watch. And not just once, the film is so good that you can watch it over and over again without getting bored and without feeling even once that this film is a remake. It is a film definitely up to the mark of the old Don. We tell you 5 reasons out of the many we thought as to why you should watch Don.

Shahrukh Khan

The new 'Don' starring Shahrukh Khan in the lead role is a modern and stylized version of the old one. Once again, viewers will be enthralled by King Khan's performance. It is definitely fair to say that SRK has done justice to Big B's character in the 1970's classic. Sharukh has given one of the most stylish performances of his entire career and this role played by Shahrukh will go down as one of his better roles essayed. The energy Shahrukh puts in the role makes the new Don a movie not only to be enjoyed but to fall in love with again. Hats off to him. If you thought he could only play romantic leads, watch Don for him as an action hero. He is just perfect. No other actor could have played Don so well after Amitabh Bachchan. It would not be wrong to say that Don could not be Don without Shahrukh.

The reasons to watch Don are plenty but the bottom line is that Farhan Akhtar's 'Don' produced by Ritesh Sidhwani is a must see film, and is thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining for both audiences – those who have seen Chandra Barot's 'Don', and also those who have not. If you miss out on this, you will definitely miss out on something worthwhile. WATCH IT NOW.[/tscii:bb0264b2a3]

27th October 2006, 12:36 AM
[tscii:59bbea6fb3]http://www.indiafm.com/features/2006/10/26/1743/index.html

:redjump:
5 Reasons to watch 'DON'
By IndiaFM News Bureau, October 26, 2006 - 09:50 IST

[/tscii:59bbea6fb3]

Makes TOTAL SENSE to me !!! Let's wait to see what our friend Surya has to say !! :P :P :P

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 12:56 AM
Bay,Watched Don :huh:
If not..when ?

27th October 2006, 12:57 AM
If not..when ?

Once you send me the links dude !!! Man, what can I do ??? I'm HELPLESS here !!

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 12:59 AM
:rotfl: no indian Cinema in Iowa :huh:
anyway the links are out :wink:

If not..when ?

Once you send me the links dude !!! Man, what can I do ??? I'm HELPLESS here !!

27th October 2006, 01:25 AM
:rotfl: no indian Cinema in Iowa :huh:
anyway the links are out :wink:

We were planning to drive for abt 2 hours to some theatre that screens Indian movies once a week ... PRAYING that it would be DON this weekend !! :lol: :lol:

Now I dont have to do that, because a KIND-HEARTED friend of mine just emailed me some good stuff !!

27th October 2006, 01:49 AM
Saw DON last night. But unfortunately had to leave exactly at the climax since it was one of my friends birthday. Whats the ending ?? I heard that it does not end the same way as billA ended :?

27th October 2006, 01:51 AM
Saw DON last night. But unfortunately had to leave exactly at the climax since it was one of my friends birthday. Whats the ending ?? I heard that it does not end the same way as billA ended :?

Nerd, Your friend's birthday is better than watching DON climax man ?? :hammer:

Hehe, JK !!

Anyways, Yeah, I dont think it's the same ending as BILLA !!! I will watch it pretty soon ... I'm expecting a REVIEW from you bud !! :thumbsup:

27th October 2006, 01:57 AM
NO way dude.. Then you ll be DISAPPOINTED. Actually I was pressing my friends to go watch Nolan's The Prestige, but a die-hard fan of SRK took me to Don. And apparently it was her birthday, thought the movie would end b4 12, it dint. We had to drag her out of the theatre :lol:

But I was not disappointed with the movie. But Rajini was way way better 8-)

27th October 2006, 02:05 AM
NO way dude.. Then you ll be DISAPPOINTED. Actually I was pressing my friends to go watch Nolan's The Prestige, but a die-hard fan of SRK took me to Don. And apparently it was her birthday, thought the movie would end b4 12, it dint. We had to drag her out of the theatre :lol:

But I was not disappointed with the movie. But Rajini was way way better 8-)

Of Course man !! You cant compare !! :thumbsup:

But since you dont like Shahrukh as much, I will FORGIVE you this time !! :P :lol:

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 02:22 AM
SPOILER
Don and Vijay wudve interchanged places during the hospital.Its Vijay who gets killed :cry2: Farhan made it very convincing :thumbsup:
A sequel is possible :)

27th October 2006, 02:24 AM
SPOILER
Don and Vijay wudve interchanged places during the hospital.Its Vijay who gets killed :cry2: Farhan made it very convincing :thumbsup:

AREEEE YOUUUUUU SERIOUSSSSS ????? :o :shock: :o

Why in the world did you tell me before I could see it ??? :hammer:

27th October 2006, 02:25 AM
:shock: :shock: What was the PUNCH dialog to mark that :P

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 02:26 AM
Spoiler alert was tagged :cry2:
Jus replied to Nerds ques :wink:
:sorry: Bay!

SPOILER

AREEEE YOUUUUUU SERIOUSSSSS ????? :o :shock: :o

Why in the world did you tell me before I could see it ??? :hammer:

27th October 2006, 02:27 AM

Hehe, it's ok man !! I'm just MESSING !! It doesnt matter to me ... I will still watch it five times !!! :lol:

I am still expecting your pm !!! Eager to read your opinion !! :notworthy:

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 02:28 AM
The dialogue he says to Priyanak when he first meets her :D
Film ends with "don ko pakadna mushkil hi nahi na mumkin hai...I am the king"

:shock: :shock: What was the PUNCH dialog to mark that :P

Unicorn
27th October 2006, 02:29 AM
:D ll send it !

Hehe, it's ok man !! I'm just MESSING !! It doesnt matter to me ... I will still watch it five times !!! :lol:

I am still expecting your pm !!! Eager to read your opinion !! :notworthy:

27th October 2006, 02:30 AM
Oh OK, Thanks a lot !!

27th October 2006, 02:36 AM
The dialogue he says to Priyanak when he first meets her :D
Film ends with "don ko pakadna mushkil hi nahi na mumkin hai...I am the king"

:smokesmirk: :smokesmirk: :smokesmirk:

27th October 2006, 02:53 AM
i saw don..

superb slick movie.. but ofcouse since i saw the first version.. predictable..

which ever new changes akthar made was really gud..
i wish he would have the characters alone and made a new script.. then it would be a treat..
i am waiting for don II

sharukh was gud as don but not that fierce as amitab..
how would it be in abhishek has done it.. :roll:

chases and fights were superb.. sharukh while palying golf was adorable..
i wish shivaji is like this in picturisation.. adi dhooool

27th October 2006, 02:55 AM
KB !!! DHOOL review !!!

27th October 2006, 09:18 PM
Saw the movie.
I should say one thing that this SRK movie is better than KANK.
But again, even this movie is not impressive. Too predictable.Technically good but Billa was way better.
Here in Bangalore, the response for the movie isn't good. Today for an afternoon show the theatre was just 50-60% full. This is unusual for an hindi film because hindi films do better in Bangalore.

28th October 2006, 06:28 AM
Mad, hot and... Khan, the film has everything

27 October 2006

http://www.kilburntimes.co.uk/content/camden/kilburntimes/whatson/story.aspx?brand=KLBTOnline&category=masalamix&tBrand=northlondon24&tCategory=whatsonklbt&itemid=WeED27%20Oct%202006%2011%3A33%3A15%3A600

The thrills come mad, hot and wicked sweet in Don, the movie to beat this winter in the race to push your pulse rate past the danger zone. And please don't ask if the plot makes sense.

It does, and it did the last time too with Mr Bachchan in it. But here's what counts: ShahRukh Khan is back and surprisingly from the first scene of the film he takes it to the limit - running, jumping, punching and kicking with an intensity that could cut steel.

You should also know that it was a welcome break to see Khan in an all action film rather than him sitting on a park bench next to the beautiful actress and sobbing. Having said that, the true star of Don is director Farhan Akhtar. He takes to feature directing like the tabloids take to Khan. He's all over it. This is one director who does more than keep the actors from bumping into each other as they wear disguises and play dare-devils. Going way beyond the call of action flick duty, Farhan Akhtar gives each character moments that resonate.

The year is 2006. The drug trade is booming. Trafficking between Asia and Europe is at an all time high.

It is at this time that the Malaysian intelligence and anti-narcotic department are called upon for assistance by their Indian counterparts. The cartel is based in Kuala Lumpur headed by the dreaded Singhania, but what many people do not know, is that the business is truly managed by his trusted lieutenant Don (ShahRukh Khan).

A man who lives life on the edge, Don is constantly expanding the size of his empire while evading arrest or death at the hands of his enemies, both within and outside the law.

Fearless, cunning and ruthless, he is unstoppable in his pursuit of absolute power. Not once, not twice but several times the slick Don reminds the audience that he cannot be caught and that one line - Don ko pakadna mushkil hi nahin, namumkin hain is the benchmark of the film. His chief pursuer is DCP DeSilva (Boman Irani).

He is a man who has sworn to put an end to this nexus of evil and knows that in capturing Don lies the key to unlock the puzzle. And one day, he succeeds. Don is captured and DeSilva puts his plan into action. That's when the actual pace of the film starts or should I say - the chase begins?

Unknown to even his own department, Desilva has recruited and trained a man who is a spitting image of Don. His name is Vijay (ShahRukh Khan again!). Vijay infiltrates the cartel and manages to give DeSilva all the information he needs to bring it down. But in a bizarre twist of fate, DeSilva is killed and the secret that Don is in fact, Vijay, a police informer, is buried with him.

Then, Vijay is captured and immediately in the next couple of scenes he escapes, not from the prison, but from the aircraft, and that's where the biggest flaw of the film comes. Agreed that DeSilva taught Vijay to dress, walk, talk and kill like the original Don. But did he actually teach him skydiving?

Vijay is now on the lookout for the one last piece of evidence that can get him out from this mess. Helping him on this quest are two people. Roma (Priyanka Chopra) and Jasjit (Arjun Rampal). What happens next will take you by surprise. So, go and catch...oops! Watch Don.

Don is loaded with fancy gadgetry and intimidating jargon but its most amusing conceit is Don's occasional habit of hiding behind an actual mask of another character. Didn't get it? You will once you see the film.

For ShahRukh Khan, the Don, each new challenge has the urgency of a do or die initiation rite into the next level of manhood. Sexy without being sexual, he doesn't know the meaning of the word 'relaxation'. He is too busy proving himself as a master technician in the game of life to take time out for a leisure and pleasure.

On the rare occasions that he does sidle up to Kamini (Kareena Kapoor), love becomes yet another dutiful test of skill executed with grace under pressure. Don is so thoroughly dominated by its star cast that its subsidiary characters like Om Puri and Isha Koppikar register only fleetingly.

One exception is Narang (Pawan Malhotra). The story certainly has enough twists and surprises to keep audiences guessing until the last minute. The music is not the typical Shankar - Ehsaan - Loy type but the one which stands out in lyrics, choreography and cinematography is the title track Don.

Boman is brilliant, Arjun gets a little scope, Priyanka looks and acts strong. Don cannily hoards its flashiest action - adventure moments until the very end, then unleashes them in a delirious rush that is brief but still worth the wait. ShahRukh Khan and Don are definitely incomparable and catapults you into the wildest movie ride of the year.

RATING: ****

:yes: :musicsmile: :swinghead: :smokesmirk: :boo:

Unicorn
29th October 2006, 11:13 AM
Opening week domestic gross of Don's about 25 crores :redjump:
Thats much more than the total gross of both DCH and Lakshaya :D

Unicorn
29th October 2006, 08:31 PM
http://www.indiafm.com/news/2006/10/28/8110/index.html

Highest collection for Don with Rs 75 crores worldwide till date Click here to add this article to My Clips
By IndiaFM News Bureau, October 28, 2006 - 04:14 IST
According to a latest press release, Don is slated to become one of the Top 3 grossers of all time in Hindi cinema overseas with the highest opening weekend ever for a Diwali release.

In just the first weekend of its release, Don has notched up some staggering numbers.

* In the UK, the film grossed an incredible GBP 5, 37,000 (a little more than USD 1 million) in the opening 5 days along with the preview, which is the highest Diwali opening weekend ever for a Hindi film.

* In the US, the film grossed USD 1.2 million USD in the opening 5 days

* In the period of just 9 days, Don has grossed above 3.45 million Dirham in Gulf which is highest ever for a Hindi film.

* In Australia and South Africa, the weeks collections were the highest ever for a Hindi film.

The worldwide collections for Don in the first week sum up to Rs 75 crores, which includes exploitation of all rights for the film.
SRK rulz :thumbsup:

29th October 2006, 09:50 PM
Don makes waves at the box office

Geetanjali Prasad

http://www.ndtvmovies.com/newstory.asp?section=Movies&id=5517

Sunday, October 29, 2006: (Mumbai):

Farhaan Akhtar's much awaited remake of Don has stormed the box office.

Though the film may have got mixed reviews the cash registers just haven't stopped ringing.

"Being a critic of Don is not only difficult but impossible," said Shahrukh Khan.

That was badshah Khan's way of telling his critics to lay off.

However, well or poorly they might have reviewed the film, audiences across the world are lapping up Shah Rukh's latest avtaar as the gizmo, savy, suave, marfioso. Overseas collections have been tremendous.

"The response has been tremendous. We've grossed a total Rs 75 crores worldwide, which is phenomenal. Right from small towns in Bihar to cities in New York, the distributors have made their money," said Ritesh Sidhwani, Producer.

"In London, we got 840,000 pounds, Dubai 3.2 million Dirhams and highest in Australia. Total overseas collection is Rs 18 crores," he added.

There's good news after the phenomenal worldwide response, a Los Angeles production house has now offered to buy the rights to the movie for a Hollywood remake.

"We have been approached by a well renowned LA production house who wants to buy the rights of the film to make Don in English, a Hollywood version. I am quite excited and looking forward to the deal," said Sidhwani.

And though critics have been lukewarm at best Sidhwani is quick to retaliate.

"It's extremely unfare on part of the critics to write such reviews they've gone to the extent of advising the public not to watch the film which is shocking. They have no right to do so," said Sidhwani.

So for the moment it looks like nobody can beat Don.

As always for any Shahrukh movie, no matter how much ppl LOVE to HATE it and CRITICIZE it, somehow it ends up becoming the BLOCKBUSTER no matter what !!!

:notworthy: :smokesmirk: :smokesmile: :bluejump: :boo: :redjump:

VillageGimp
30th October 2006, 05:34 PM
I watched Don it was very plastic compared to the older version. They've slashed the money and changed locations but really a
poor attempt. I hope this would encourage producers not to fiddle with old classics and if they cannot think of a new storyline they can very well pack the bags.

These days the hype created by the movie carries it and reap the investment in the first 20 days are so. Hindi movies are like that and Don is no exception.

30th October 2006, 06:16 PM
[tscii:fa973502cc]http://content.msn.co.in/Entertainment/Bollywood/Bollywood_Glamsham_301006_1217.htm

Post Eid celebrations, ‘Jaan-e-Mann’ has been playing to packed cinemas globally, with Dubai showing a 100 per cent jump at the ticket window and Jodhpur a 130 per cent jump.

Traditionally, in the UK, the seventh day of a film's release is likely to be the lowest grossing day.

However, in the case of ‘Jaan-E-Mann’ the film grossed approximately £ 35,000, in just two days. This phenomenon is rarely seen in the UK, and highlights an anomalous, yet positive trend.

Pranab Kapadia, the Business Head of Adlabs, the UK distributor of ‘Jaan-E-Mann,’ attributes the success of the film to its 'feel-good-factor' storyline.

‘Jaan-E-Mann’s figures have picked up dramatically in Britain. Although the film grossed a mere £ 18,000 on its opening day, the film has experienced a remarkable upswing, grossing £ 40,000 on
Monday and £ 60,000 on Tuesday. The audience and critics reception has been overwhelming."

‘Jaan-E-Mann’ is a musical, which has broken the mould of a conventional Hindi film with its innovative, out of the box approach to storytelling.

On the surface, it appears to be a conventional love triangle between Salman Khan, Akshay Kumar and Preity Zinta. We all know how it goes: two boys meet a girl and fall in love with her, and in the end, one of them goes home empty-handed.

However, the tongue-in-cheek humour, the situations, and the inventive way of incorporating little Bollywood quirks we take for granted, has made ‘Jaan-E-Mann’ an extremely enjoyable film and has won it rave reviews internationally.

Everyone who has seen the film is unanimous that ‘Jaan-E-Mann’ is a visual treat, with the story told in an unusual manner. Each facet of the film, be it the backing of an organisation like Adlabs, or the fact that enterprising producer Sajid Nadiadwala is at the helm, or that ‘Jaan-E-Mann’ stars the solid trio of Salman Khan, Akshay Kumar and Preity Zinta or that the film is directed by editor turned director Shirish Kunder, makes it a front runner.

[/tscii:fa973502cc]

Unicorn
30th October 2006, 06:25 PM
Jaane mann was good :D
Akshay was :noteeth:

30th October 2006, 06:27 PM
How about the songs in jaan-e-mann???

Unicorn
30th October 2006, 07:46 PM
Typically Anu Malik :cool:
Not as good as a Baazigar
Musics as good as Main Hoon Na :razz:
The director is farah Khans hubby rite :roll:

30th October 2006, 08:12 PM
The director is farah Khans hubby rite :roll:

31st October 2006, 07:07 AM
[tscii:ba88738f19]BigB, Shahrukh and Sachin enjoys Don together !

http://www.desifans.com/news/20061365

So how different is the new DON ? Is it just a remixed version of the old Don ? The stars are new but what about the story..

According to reports, Don is a refreshingly new approach to the older storyline. The original story has been rehashed into newer locales and circumstances with a contemporary theme. And the story has a twist .. which will shock and surprise all viewers.

Farhan Akhtar’s ‘Don’ stars Shah Rukh Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Arjun Rampal and Issha Koppikar. According to reports, the movie has already been screened to a list of big celebrities including the Bachchan family and Sachin Tendulkar on Monday. The original Don, Amitabh Bachchan and the new Don, Shahrukh Khan watched the screening together. And the initial reaction has been overwhelming !!

:yes: :cool2: :smokesmirk: [/tscii:ba88738f19]

1st November 2006, 08:22 AM
[tscii:1e66fba155]Don leads the way while Jaanemann follows

http://www.bollywoodmantra.com/1371_don-leads-the-way-while-jaanemann-follows.html

Both the films released with a bang during the Diwali/Eid week and while Don took off at break neck pace, Jaanemann followed at a slightly slower pace. However while the critics may have given SRK’s Don a medium response, overseas the SRK starrer seems to be doing great. Just a week into the film and the overseas collections are hitting an all time high with Don. In fact it is being said that the first week collections of Don may make it one of the top three grosser’s in Hindi Cinema Overseas. However as for Jaanemann, the film began to slowly and surely rise post the Eid period.

According to sources in the UK, Don’s collection for the first week has been a little more than USD 1 million which is the highest ever Diwali opening for any film, in the US the film had made an approximate of USD 1.2 million. And in the Gulf countries the collection for Don is 3.45 million Dirham again the highest for a Hindi film ever. Finally even in Australia and South Africa, Don film collections were pegged as the highest record for a Hindi film.

So the verdict of Don overseas has been phenomenal. SRK’s NRI popularity has always been great and one of the highest as compared to any other bollywood hero, but this time what clinched the deal were the Diwali/Eid celebrations which lifted the collections up further. The final figure that Don has managed to make overseas is an amazing 75 crores. Shahrukh also recently launched Don’s mobile game which is India's first ever Multiplayer Online game along with Hungama Mobile and Excel Entertainment. The gaming portal www.gaminghungama.com can be visited by one and all.

Salman’s Jaanemann has not received favourable responses from media critics; nonetheless it is the box-office collections which give the best results. The film began with a very mediocre response but post Eid celebrations the film has picked up tremendously. A large section of the actors fans were following the fasting ritual where they abstain from watching films etc and also on Eid and a day later people generally prefer to spend time bonding with the family rather than catching up on a movie. But now with Jaanemann in its second week, the film is gradually picking up and showing a steady climb. The advance bookings for the second week are full and the film is safely making it to the hit status. Salman Khan is no doubt the USP of the film; the songs too are catching on with audiences.

So while Don can be called the clear winner in terms of box-office success, Jaanemann too is definitely a hit with the masses in India.

:bluejump: :boo: :redjump: [/tscii:1e66fba155]

1st November 2006, 04:03 PM
Viki !

I too feel the same ... he is a person who can even make his lips to act ! namma raghuvaran is also one such person !

:bluejump: :redjump: :boo: :clap: :2thumbsup: :victory: :cool2: :exactly: :yes:

1st November 2006, 09:55 PM
After long time i saw SRK movie in big screen. The movie is technically good , Moriyarae picturisation was good :thumbsup: . The chase sequence was good . I dont know why only chase sequence was shot in India .

The major drawback of this movie is the story predictable except for one or two characters(I dont want to reveal the char) and the last 20 mins :thumbsups: .

SRK has done a decent job as don :thumbsup: .

Some dialogues are used from the original don. The BGM ,except for last 15 mins , is a complete let down :(

Unicorn
1st November 2006, 10:51 PM
After long time i saw SRK movie in big screen. The movie is technically good , Moriyarae picturisation was good :thumbsup: . The chase sequence was good . I dont know why only chase sequence was shot in India .

The major drawback of this movie is the story predictable except for one or two characters(I dont want to reveal the char) and the last 20 mins :thumbsups: .

Some dialogues are used from the original don. The BGM ,except for last 15 mins , is a complete let down :(
Crazy frog,MI remix :hammer:

Unicorn
1st November 2006, 10:56 PM
If Farhan had modified the entire story the climax wudnt have been as thrilling :roll:
the last scene produces a 'sixth sense effect'..
Many of my frnz cudnt resist watchin the movie for the 2nd time though they dont like SRK.

1st November 2006, 11:04 PM
If Farhan had modified the entire story the climax wudnt have been as thrilling :roll:
Many of my frnz cudnt resist watchin the movie for the 2nd time though they dont like SRK.

Why remake ? instead Farhan could have started DON with the climax and could have made a sequel . The climax was good one photography was awesome :thumbsup:

Out of the 3 version SRK, Amitabh and Rajini. My pick would be Amitabh version .

2nd November 2006, 04:08 AM
Out of the 3 version SRK, Amitabh and Rajini. My pick would be Amitabh version .

Even after the so called "Tecnical Brilliance" of this one? :huh:

The reason I saw So called is because I haven't seen it yet...:)

2nd November 2006, 05:03 AM
:roll: :?

2nd November 2006, 05:42 PM
rajni's billa is not that good really!

dunno abt amitabh!

but sharukh's version said to have some twists which are good!

Unicorn
2nd November 2006, 06:41 PM
Sequel is on its way :D
Both SRK and Farhan seem to have hinted the same!

Why remake ? instead Farhan could have started DON with the climax and could have made a sequel . The climax was good one photography was awesome :thumbsup:

2nd November 2006, 07:06 PM
Even after the so called "Tecnical Brilliance" of this one? :huh:

The reason I saw So called is because I haven't seen it yet...:)

I have seen the original amitabh Don quite a few times. Its a complete a entertainer and the starcast was perfect and every enacted their role very well,its not the case with new version something is missing :? . Though the movie is technically good but there wont be any repeat audience for sure :) .

Graphics was good in this movie :o the parachute sequence :)

Unicorn
2nd November 2006, 07:31 PM
Amitabhs Don movie dl links kidaikkumaa :?

2nd November 2006, 07:32 PM

try in torrent else i would try. Last week also they showed in SET MAX

Unicorn
2nd November 2006, 07:37 PM
Nest time show panna alert post pannungo :D
Watched Lakshaya yesterday @ Sahara 1 :D

try in torrent else i would try. Last week also they showed in SET MAX

2nd November 2006, 07:41 PM
okie done , i would do that.

Yeah thats really a gud movie. Unfortunately it bombed. I liked the music :thumbsup:

Unicorn
4th November 2006, 11:22 AM
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/comp.htm
SRK rulz :redjump:

Unicorn
4th November 2006, 11:54 AM
Don thrice as big as Krrish overseas :)
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/overseas_boxoffice/index.html

Unicorn
4th November 2006, 11:55 AM
Don remains stable @ week 2.. :redjump:
http://www.indiafm.com/trade/domestic_boxoffice/index.html

Unicorn
4th November 2006, 06:10 PM
Don sustains pretty well in second week. The film which was on the lower side in Delhi/UP in the first week has done extremely well there in the second week. Overall the film is a Hit in every circuit of India with a couple of circuits heading for Superhit status. The second week business is around the 12-13 crore mark. West Bengal and Mysore are extraordinary.

5th November 2006, 12:21 AM
Navin,
In the Orkut DON Community, everyone is saying htat it's only average. :) U might wanna clear some doubts there...or maybe they might clear some of urs! :wink: :P

Ramky, (If u can hear me :P )

Any ideas of when DON DVD comes out? :)

Unicorn
5th November 2006, 12:24 AM
surya check out some sites :lol2:
All that I posted were taken from some sites..
Don is an all center hit :cool:
check out indiafm :cool:

5th November 2006, 12:27 AM
I wasn't questioning Don's Sucess dude! :)

I was just saying that u might wanna put ur links there as well..

5th November 2006, 01:54 AM
Saw it last Sat.

Pure greatness. There's a twist. Just go to my sig for the review. No more shall be said :)

Unicorn
5th November 2006, 07:29 PM
Gr8 scene from 1 of my mooost favori movies :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h64V31hD20M
SRK :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Kajol :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Johar :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Jatin-Lalit :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
SRK-Kajol pair rock :) Best bollywood pair in last 2 decades :wink:

Unicorn
8th November 2006, 10:35 AM
Trade Talk-6th November 19.00 IST

http://www.boxofficeindia.com/

The second week collections of Don were a big surprise for the trade as many believed it had crashed badly on its second Monday. Most trade papers which had labelled the film an average fare or commission earner are coming around now as the film set new second week highs in major centres like Ahmedabad(94 lakhs), Kolkata(90 lakhs), Hyderabad(72 lakhs) and Bangalore(44 lakhs). The third weekend also saw healthy collections and at many places was better than the new release Umrao Jaan.

Don
week1-25 cr
week2-13.5 cr
Total as fo now=38.5 cr.
Will finish with around 55 cr domestic gross.
Overseas collections will be around 35 cr.
All set to become biggest grosser of 2006 :thumbsup:

10th November 2006, 06:53 AM
[tscii:215ef93936]Don Turns 41…
Faridoon Shahryar, IndiaGlitz [Thursday, November 02, 2006]

Shahrukh ‘Don’ Khan turns 41 today. And he is basking in the glorious success of Farhan Akhtar’s ‘Don’ that has been a runaway success all over the world. Alright the critics response has been a mixed one, but then Khan has an answer to that: ‘Don Ke Critic Ki Sabse Badi Galti Yeh Hai Ki Woh Don Ka Critic Hai…Public verdict…..Super Hit’.

Shahrukh Khan continues to thrive at the top. “I am amazingly competitive,” he had said in a television interview recently. Salman Khan also said recently that SRK’s streak for being the best emanates from the fact that he is the only earning member of the family and he must stay afloat which is very praiseworthy for he puts in a hell lot of work as well.

This year has been a mixed one for Shahrukh Khan. Firstly there were reports of the cold war between him and Big B. It was substantiated by the fact that he ended up promoting several brands which were earlier endorsed by Mr Bachchan. There were also reports of his alleged differences with Karan Johar and Yash Chopra camp. King Khan refuted all of them and in the midst of the storm and retained his sense of humour. I personally witnessed it during the music launch of ‘Don’ at a suburban mall in Mumbai where he regaled the young crowd by interacting with them in a jovial manner. The manner in which his fans were eager to break all cordons was unprecedented and I haven’t seen something of this sort ever.

On the professional front, friend Karan Johar’s ‘Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna’ didn’t earn him too many good marks from the critics. And although it was a huge hit abroad, its fate within the country was average. With ‘Don’ he has cemented his position as a solo hero of great promise yet again. And he is eagerly looking forward to Yashraj’s ‘Chak De India’ and Farah Khan’s ‘Om Shanti Om’ which is being helmed by himself as a producer. It has also been learnt from reliable sources that SRK wants to make a sequel to ‘Don’. He is also listening to lots of film scripts and is excited about signing a few of them on the dotted lines soon.

I for one am very happy with SRK turning negative with ‘Don’ for he makes ‘bad’ look ‘cool’ on screen. Another film that is highly endearing is ‘Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa’ while the youth respect him for doing ‘Swades’.

IndiaGlitz wishes Shahrukh Khan heartiest birthday wishes. May he continue to entertain his fans the world over.

Happy B'day DON !!! :P :D :P [/tscii:215ef93936]

12th November 2006, 05:35 AM
Shahrukh Khan is a selfless actor- Ishaa Koppikar

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Swati R Chaudhary, Bollywood Trade News Network

Praises galore for SRK! No it's not Kareena Kapoor...This time around its Ishaa Koppikar who seems smitten by 'The Baadshah of Bollywood'- Shahrukh Khan.

Koppikar is completely in awe of King Khan after working with him in DON. The damsel is still reeling from the DON hangover. "I'm elated. DON has truly been an entertaining and fulfilling experience. Shahrukh is a great guy and a selfless actor. He's not just concerned with his performance but he's bothered about everyone on sets. He has a great sense of humour and is very young at heart. Even Farhan Akhtar is full of life," says an ecstatic Ishaa.

So here's another Shahrukh Khan fan in his already huge repertoire of admirers!

Ishaa has an interesting line up of upcoming films including SALAAM-E-ISHQ, SHABRI and DARLING.

http://www.glamsham.com/movies/scoops/06/nov/11_ishaa_koppikar_shahrukh_khan_don.asp

:smokesmirk: :notworthy: :yes: :exactly:

12th November 2006, 05:43 AM
http://www.ibnlive.com/videos/24990/queer-clothing-makes-don-a-dud.html

:banghead: :banghead: :curse:

12th November 2006, 06:09 AM
http://www.ibnlive.com/videos/24990/queer-clothing-makes-don-a-dud.html

:banghead: :banghead: :curse:

Man, what an interpretation !!! :banghead:

I thought all those shirts were the craze of the 70s !!! :? :?

KB, btw ... In your Signature ... Could you make it more obvious by who you mean by Prince and King??? :? :oops: :?

15th November 2006, 06:48 AM
'Movie Review: Don

http://desicritics.org/2006/11/09/121507.php

Tis the season of remakes. Taking a break from its well-established habit of cannibalizing Hollywood for plot ideas and sequences, the Hindi film industry has decided, almost en masse, to seek inspiration from its own rich celluloid heritage: with a remake of Don and Umrao Jaan playing in the theatres and a remake of Sholay in the works.

Remakes aren't necessarily a bad idea (as long as proper acknowledgment is given and copyrights being respected ) especially for movies from earlier eras that have "aged" thematically and/or technically and could do with an effective re-packaging for a new generation of movie-goers.

Which is what Farhan Akhtar attempts in Don (2006). Taking a typical 70s style Bollywood potboiler, he scissors out the "dated" psychedelic colors, over-sized bow ties, bell-bottoms and tacky tiger masks (remember the one AB comes out wearing in the song "Main Hoon Don"?) while retaining the legendary, oft-repeated lines of the original. On top of that, he layers in novel characterizations, several plot twists and most importantly, oodles of camera-angles, split screens, greenish hues, breath-taking locales, stunning set-pieces and Hong Kong-style choreographed fights (as opposed to what in the 70s used to be referred to as "Thrills").

What emerges is an extremely contemporary, cool-looking escapist fantasy that can compete stylistically with the Bonds and Mission Impossibles of the world.

However Farhan Akhtar has a challenge that Steven Soderbergh didn't have to deal with when he redid Ocean's Eleven on similar lines (which incidentally is an excellent example of a remake that totally reinvented the original). That challenge being the success of his movie will be critically measured by how well the actor playing the title character can match up to the sheer aura and presence of India's biggest ever superstar, Amitabh the Big B Bachchan who played Don in the original.

Which is quite impossible---the B cannot be replaced.

People who are expecting a performance from Shahrukh Khan that supplants Amitabh's will be disappointed with the new Don. They will be seen coming out of the theatre shaking their heads saying "Shahrukh Khan is no match for Amitabh Bachchan". Absolutely true. He is not. He does not have Bachchan's machismo, his raw screen presence and his amazing dialogue delivery skills.

And here's the thing. He does not need to. Shahrukh Khan is his own Don---in a way totally different from the role Amitabh essayed in the original. If Amitabh represents the hirsute caveman masculinity of the Sean Connery school of sexiness, Shahrukh Khan epitomizes the more modern David Beckham-Pierce Brosnan ideal of the well-groomed, somewhat wimpy meterosexual for whom a broken nose is preferable to a poorly-ironed suit. Essaying the role of the over-the-top mega-villain in a movie where believability is of no concern, Shahrukh Khan's lip snarls, goat laugh and quivering eyes do not appear out-of-place for once and actually help him in forging a distinct identity for his character, independent of the towering shadow of the Big B.

This also explains why the weakest part of the movie is during the two song sequences where Farhan Akhtar tries to slavishly follow the original ---the "Yeh Mera Dil" sequence where Kareena Kapoor totally flops out compared to the command performance from dance-legend Helen and the "Khaike Pan Banaras Wala" where Shahrukh looks like the biggest fraud Banarasi Babu ever. (that song was ideal for the Bachchan version of the Don but not for the SRK one) If only Farhan Akthar had bothered to re-adapt these two songs like he did with the "Main Hoon Don" song, then he would have had a much stronger product.

In conclusion, I have to say that I went in with very low expectations for Don, fearful that I would have to start my review with "Don dekhna mushkil hi naheen namumkin hain". However I was pleasantly surprised by Farhan Akhtar's clever direction and deft re-characterizations which while not elevating Don to anywhere near the level of a masterpiece still manages to make it deliver on its promise of non-stop, brainless, totally low-brow entertainment.

Which is more than what I can say for the other big budget releases of this year.

:bluejump: :boo: :redjump: :thumbsup: :clap: :notworthy:

15th November 2006, 11:11 AM
Bay , DOn paathacha, pothum innum evlov review post panna poreenga. :P :lol:

19th November 2006, 06:21 AM
Bay , DOn paathacha, pothum innum evlov review post panna poreenga. :P :lol:

24th November 2006, 08:55 PM
Who is the MD for KKHH and DDLJ

24th November 2006, 10:07 PM
Jatin-Lalit :)

25th November 2006, 04:21 AM

Also did Fanaa! :thumbsup: I dont' understand why they don't get them for more movies..:?

25th November 2006, 10:54 AM

Also did Fanaa! :thumbsup: I dont' understand why they don't get them for more movies..:?

Jatin and Lalit are brothers they wont be working together anymore . :(

Unicorn
25th November 2006, 04:06 PM
jatin-Lalit :D
My all time favori!
They also composed for other SRK movies like Darr,K3G,Chalte Chalte,Mohabattein,DTPH ,Yes Boss :redjump:
theyve now split up :cry2:

bulb_mani
26th November 2006, 07:05 PM
Amitab Bachchan out, Sharukh Khan in
Nov 26, 2006

The most popular game show Kaun Banega Crorepathi (KBC) is making its way back and this time with a bang. Bollywood’s king, Sharukh Khan is to host the KBC – 3 which will go on air from January 2007. Earlier it was Amitab Bachchan who played the host for the first two editions of KBC. It is well known that KBC was one of the turning points in the financially troubled stages of the big B. The second edition had to be stopped owing to the illness of Amitab.
The question now is can Sharukh carry on the charm and interest that Amitab had created. Many believe that Sharukh will go one step ahead and recreate the KBC magic in his own style. Siddharth Basu, the producer of KBC was very happy to cache in on Sharukh Khan as a replacement to Amitab Bachchan.

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/nov-06-04/26-11-06-amitab.html

Unicorn
26th November 2006, 10:41 PM
:cool2: im gonna get Star Plus subscription jus for this :D

Unicorn
27th November 2006, 02:23 PM
http://bollywood.apunkachoice.com/scoop/bollywood/20060703-1.html
SRks the highest paid actor of bollywood
Takes a pay cheque of 12 cr :cool:
Some silly rumours abt some silly actors are jus silly :wink:

27th November 2006, 08:42 PM
My all time favori!
They also composed for other SRK movies like Darr,K3G,Chalte Chalte,Mohabattein,DTPH ,Yes Boss :redjump:

Sangarsh
Sarfarosh
Raju chacha * Tune Muje pehchana nahi :thumbsup:
Ghulam
Pyar kiya to darna kya -- famous O O jaane jaana

28th November 2006, 12:45 AM

That was July...:rotfl:...Hrithik became the highest paid actor only a couple months ago! 8-) So un Dubakoor Velai inge selladhu! :poke: :rotfl:

Unicorn
29th November 2006, 02:38 PM
Don has done 50 cr domestic business :)
Overseas its the second biggest hit this ayr after KANK :)
Will end up as the 3rd or 4th biggest hit this yr :)
After KANK/LRMB :)

Unicorn
29th November 2006, 02:41 PM
35 cr for 3 films.
12 for 1 :cool:
Which is bigger :)
And stop comparing Hrithik to the man whos ruled bollywood for 13 yrs :hammer: :hammer: :hammer:
That kid hasnt done even 10% of King Khan :evil:
Hrithik himself is an SRK fan :poke:

That was July...:rotfl:...Hrithik became the highest paid actor only a couple months ago! 8-) So un Dubakoor Velai inge selladhu! :poke: :rotfl:

30th November 2006, 12:31 AM
All the sites have said that Hrithik is the highest paid actor...the site that u've given is the only one which says anything different. :rotfl: Bollywood's Sify? :huh: :?

Appadiye Paatha Kooda....

Hrithik Roshan = 11.6 Crores Per Movie (Acting For 6 Years roughtly)

SRK = 12 Crores Per Movie (Acting for 13 Years Roughly)

The Only difference in their salary is .4 Crores! :lol:

What took SRK 13 years to Achieve, took Hrithik 6 Years! :rotfl:

This says A LOT of things about the Difference between SRK and Hrithik! :lol:

PS: Hrithik is still the HIGHEST Paid Actor in Bollywoood. 8-)

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 03:07 AM
Stop comparing a kid with a king :cool:
Hrithiks total career is jus half the run of the legendary DDLJ :cool:
BTW Its still bein played at Maratha Mandir theater :D
Over 12 yrs :omg:

30th November 2006, 03:41 AM
Yet Their Salaries Are Identical! :omg: :lol: 8-)

Looks like someone has accomplished a lot more in a shorter span even though the other person's movie has been runnng for 12 years..:lol2:

Tia
30th November 2006, 05:28 AM
seriuoslyyyyyyyy shah ruh khans muscles were turning into flab in this movie :oops: :hammer: :eww:

30th November 2006, 05:39 AM

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 10:01 AM
Amitabhs salary is jus 2 cr now :lol2:
Vitta Hrithik> Amitnu solliruvinga :D
SRK has been the highest paid actor since 1997-2006 :exactly:
When an avg movie like KANK can do better total business than the overhyped Krrish :poke:
When a movie like Don which was written off by critics managed to do over 75 cr business :)
U know his BO power :thumbsup:
Its been a long time since a typical SRK movie came to screens.
Wait for Om Shanti Om :)
All CLowns will be sent into hiding :shaking:

Yet Their Salaries Are Identical! :omg: :lol: 8-)

Looks like someone has accomplished a lot more in a shorter span even though the other person's movie has been runnng for 12 years..:lol2:

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 10:01 AM
:hammer: :hammer:

seriuoslyyyyyyyy shah ruh khans muscles were turning into flab in this movie :oops: :hammer: :eww:

romio
30th November 2006, 10:39 AM
Highest paid actor is HRITHIK 2nd amir khan & akshay kumar :)

without media hype srk is nothing srk flopstar !

romio
30th November 2006, 10:41 AM
BTW Its still bein played at Maratha Mandir theater

:lol: its yash chopra family theatre just like chandramukhi playing NoonShow in chennai theatre :lol:

romio
30th November 2006, 10:45 AM
SRK = 12 Crores Per Movie (Acting for 13 Years Roughly)

reliable source pls :lol:

kabhi alvidha is average hit because of big B & Junior B :lol:
Krrish is all time blockbuster nly because of Hrithik Roshan ...

Dhoom2 is Blockbuster because of Hrithik Roshan deadly screen presence 8-)

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 11:11 AM
Athukkunu entha padatthayum 11-12 yrs laam otta maataanga :notthatway:
I watched it 3 yrs back durin my Bombay visit :)
The weekend show was over 60% full :victory:

BTW Its still bein played at Maratha Mandir theater

:lol: its yash chopra family theatre just like chandramukhi playing NoonShow in chennai theatre :lol:

imsai
30th November 2006, 03:29 PM
When an avg movie like KANK can do better total business than the overhyped Krrish :poke:

what joker

srk highest paid actor.. don't show some crappy source plz.. when all sites wrote hrithik's 35 croroes deal they clearly said, Hrithik is the highest paid actor :thumbsup:

srk total waste :rotfl:

kank did better job :rotfl:
Krish made a sapaati out of overhyped movie kank.. which had co stars like two B and many actresses :rotfl:

bulb_mani
30th November 2006, 03:47 PM
I think sharukh khan is as old as Vikram :?

30th November 2006, 04:10 PM

Navin, Now only people are believing on ur stats. But this one will make them reconsider their conclusion on u !

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 06:19 PM
Well take a look at this :ty:
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/2006.htm
Domestic gross
Krrish:64,86,00,000
KANK:46,40,00,000

http://www.boxofficeindia.com/overseas.htm
Overseas Gross:
Krrish:18,50,00,000
KANK:44,50,00,000

Total it plz :D
When an avg SRK movie can gross much more than Hrithiks biggest blockbuster,imagine what will be the result of a DDLJ/K2H2 today :omg:
SRK rulz :thumbsup:

Navin, Now only people are believing on ur stats. But this one will make them reconsider their conclusion on u !

imsai
30th November 2006, 06:28 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: you can't find better source than that? :rotfl: :rotfl:

If a normal movie of Hrithik can outdo a over-hyped stars studded movie of SRK+Big B, Junior B, so much of actresses, then even my high school sexy English teacher will :rotfl:

Hrithik :thumbsup:
SRK :rotfl:

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 06:30 PM
Thats an authorised compilation of distributor reports :rotfl:
Check out indiafm BO reports and Total weekly collections :rotfl:
Ull start :cry2:

:rotfl: :rotfl: you can't find better source than that? :rotfl: :rotfl:

HRITHIK's movie can outdo a movie of SRK+BIG B, + so much of actreesses :rotfl:

Hrithik :thumbsup:
SRK :rotfl:

imsai
30th November 2006, 06:34 PM

Sanjay Dutt and Hrithik Roshan :notworthy: dumped SRK's biggest movie in to dustbin just like that :rotfl:

imsai
30th November 2006, 06:36 PM
I think it's disgusting to talk about a multi talented star in a can't-emote-actor's thread :rotfl: hence let's not bring Hrithik's name here

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 06:48 PM
:mad:
Im tired of talkin to kids :evil:
Wont u ever grow up :huh:
Still the same old countering arguments with wits :hammer:

Unicorn
30th November 2006, 07:26 PM
Jus listenin to JJWS songs :cool2:
Pehla Naasha rocks :redjump:
Gettin addicted!
One of my favourite AK movies :D

My all time favori!

Sangarsh
Sarfarosh
Raju chacha * Tune Muje pehchana nahi :thumbsup:
Ghulam
Pyar kiya to darna kya -- famous O O jaane jaana

1st December 2006, 12:40 AM
:mad:
Im tired of talkin to kids :evil:
Wont u ever grow up :huh:
Still the same old countering arguments with wits :hammer:

Dho da! Kollu Thaatha pesuraaru! :rotfl:

1st December 2006, 12:43 AM
Don is not up to the hype quality or BO wise! :exactly:

KRRISH, DHOOM II, Lage Raho Munnabhai, Fanaa, RDB, Pyar Ki Side Effects all made a lot more money! :rotfl:

Apparom Enna? :huh:

Unicorn
1st December 2006, 03:01 PM
nice joke :rotfl:
I think u havent watched many movies of SRK :D
Watch Swades/Devdas,ull eat back ur words :)
Stop comparing the acting abilities of a macho-jerk with a 6 time filmfare best actor award winner :cool: + 2 filmfares for the best villain !

I think it's disgusting to talk about a multi talented star in a can't-emote-actor's thread :rotfl: hence let's not bring Hrithik's name here

Unicorn
1st December 2006, 03:02 PM
ur insane :cool:
Check out facts in figures!
Dons done better total business than RDB/Fanaa :cool:
Only KANK/Krrish/LRMB were bigger!

Don is not up to the hype quality or BO wise! :exactly:

KRRISH, DHOOM II, Lage Raho Munnabhai, Fanaa, RDB, Pyar Ki Side Effects all made a lot more money! :rotfl:

Apparom Enna? :huh: