View Full Version : Veyil : GV. Prakash Kumar

sullan
14th September 2006, 06:36 PM
AWSOME SONGS.. Runs in the family i guess :)

http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/movie/T0000922.html

Ooran Thottathula
Sreeram, Rakesh

Uruguthe Maruguthe
Shankar Mahadevan, Shriya Ghoshal

Veyillodu Vilaiyaadi
Kailash Kher, Jesli Kift, Tippu, Prasanna Rav

Kaadhal Neruppin
Karthik, Nithesh, Sinmayi

Iraivanai
Prashanthini

Chethavadam
Manicka Vinayagam

Aruva minuminuga
Karisal Karunanithi, Kootaiswami, Madurai Chandiran, Azhaguthai, Thillai Pannir, Jayabal

14th September 2006, 07:19 PM
What i am disappointed is that GV Prakash has the same rahman touch meaning it is not different from rahman's style of musicmaking. Rahman was different from IR so i thought GV Prakash might be different from Rahman but it seems too far fetched. Thats the only minus point for people who expect anything different. Other than that it is refreshing to hear rahman's magical touch in a folkish style by GV Prakash :clap:

arsaregama
14th September 2006, 09:31 PM
rocks pa tht deivathinai song is the best among the whole lot ... it keeps a superb feeling throughout sad tht its a bit song ... anyways gv prakash is far bter than harris and joshua..... gv in this age has mixed things very well..

rashid2raj
14th September 2006, 10:38 PM
rocks pa tht deivathinai song is the best among the whole lot ... it keeps a superb feeling throughout sad tht its a bit song ... anyways gv prakash is far bter than harris and joshua..... gv in this age has mixed things very well..

I feel HJ songs are better than this..

15th September 2006, 05:01 AM
for how long we will see this "ithu pona" IR and ARR family faces in tfm??? :cry:

16th September 2006, 12:46 AM
Veyillodu Vilaiyaadi
Kailash Kher, Jesli Kift, Tippu, Prasanna Rav

Kailash Kher :shock: I am curious about this song? How is it?

16th September 2006, 09:02 AM
here is my opinion

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2006/09/veyil-music-cool.html

16th September 2006, 11:41 AM
...and my 100 words!

http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2006/09/16/veyyil-tamil-gv-prakash/

19th September 2006, 10:43 PM
some how i feel virumaandi remains in this movie.. :roll:

unnavidaaa..
karumaathangakaatukul
etc

20th September 2006, 04:20 AM
heard all the songs....they are obvously good but i dont see any 1992 or 1976 happening here......

this guy had a very gud oppurtunity and scope with a folk album for his first album but has wasted it somewhere......but this guy is so Rahmanish, doubt whether he will survive in the industry.....only kathal neruppin was different to ARR's style.....i tell this cos there are already a lot of Rahman clones in TFM......and TFM in general still hasnt come out of Rahman trend yet.......infact ARR himself has changed his sound and become different from the others.......

GV Prakash - will he trouble HJ or YSR needs to be seen

21st September 2006, 10:45 AM
nice songs :thumbsup: :thumbsup: g.v .p tfmla 1 round varuvaru :clap: rahman touch illatha md innaikku yaaru irukka tfmla??

21st September 2006, 07:48 PM
nice songs :thumbsup: :thumbsup: g.v .p tfmla 1 round varuvaru :clap: rahman touch illatha md innaikku yaaru irukka tfmla??

Vijay Anthony....

24th September 2006, 03:36 PM
songs can be listened and downloaded at
www.Tamilmp3tracks.com

music man
26th September 2006, 07:23 AM
Just now heard the songs!!! Wow...This guy is here to stay..Particularly the song "Uruguthe".. A mature composition from this guy..Most of his compositions remind me of the old vintage ARR style..Soft melodies emphasis given to bass guitar in all songs..Nice orchestration..Simple and appealing...Prakash!!!! U r welcome..U r here to stay..

kameshratnam
26th September 2006, 06:17 PM
Welcome G V Prakash to the world of TFM. We wish you all the very best and may god shower his blessings on you.

reagan87
1st October 2006, 11:32 AM
For an unconventional styles of music composing, then i suggest listening to Kizhakku Kadarkarai Salai, by Paul Jacob. Nothin groundbreaking but unearths a fresh approach. Kanjapennae is the pick of the lot.

2nd October 2006, 05:18 PM
For an unconventional styles of music composing, then i suggest listening to Kizhakku Kadarkarai Salai, by Paul Jacob. Nothin groundbreaking but unearths a fresh approach. Kanjapennae is the pick of the lot.etho oru amateur album feeling than theriyuthu :roll: cinema song mathiri illai,veyil is better album :thumbsup:

akumar
1st November 2006, 09:48 PM
Veyyil Trailer

http://image1.indiaglitz.com/playerV2/vplayerV71.asp?vid=23448&category=5029

The background score is very good

2nd November 2006, 04:24 AM
BG score is excellent :clap: :clap: .....this guy is an exciting prospect indeed...... :D

akumar
4th November 2006, 12:08 AM
Veyil web site is amazing

http://spictures.org/veyil/index.html

checkout the games... :cool2:

4th November 2006, 10:02 AM
Yes BGM is good but HJish?

4th November 2006, 12:53 PM
Looks interesting. Shankar the producer seems to be making even better decisions than Shankar the director these days.We need more such production houses like that of Shankar,Prakashraj etc. which actually aim for something besides just moolah

11th November 2006, 10:31 PM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=14328822

GV Prakash bags Kireedom ahead of YSR...... :D .........sure the race is hotting up......if GVP can come up with a good score in Kireedom, it will be one heck of a cat fight betn YSR,HJ and GVP........he mite bcome a competetion for his "maama" only...... :lol:

Renault
12th November 2006, 01:32 PM
good joke MADDY.. Well tried.

12th November 2006, 01:55 PM
i seriously think YSR is not in the race anymore.... i dun see he gets a HIT like wut HJ gets.... seriously...just imagine is there any YSR song that was a craze among the makkals like Suttum VIzhi or Manjal Veyil.... dont bring 7G songs in...coz it was during 2004...i mean since last year untill now...i think the only hit song from YSR i heard so far is Loose Penne - Vallavan....correct me ya!

sad part is ARR songs too had those craze in the begining,but the movie that releases later will somehow pulls the fame down along with its flop fate.... except SOK i think,the songs r still a craze along with VV's songs....Vallavan isnt a hit like SOK or VV.. on the other hand GF,i really never heard it beeing played in Radio or TV here in Malaysia ! its like GF NEVER existed.... :(

16th November 2006, 01:15 AM
[tscii:bc8a516176]http://www.musicindiaonline.com/ar/i/music_director/415/3/general/5/

Anu Malik's interview......but he says he was replaced by GVP for some Sajid Nadiadwala's movie......as usual his words are very confusing.....can someone explain wat he is trying to tell:

Isn’t that what versatility is about? Look, Shirish seconded Sajid’s choice of me as the composer of the film, but like Ram Gopal Varma, with whom I had recorded three songs for a film called Nayak before it was shelved, he told me then, he wanted my tunes in a new packaging. For some reason, his choice was G.V.Prakash Kumar, which has changed the sound of the music. But while the insinuations are that G.V.Prakash Kumar stepped in because I could not deliver, facts speak for themselves, for Shirish has rejected even his background score and got it re-done. Thus the film’s brochure has the credit for the background music to him but not in the film. Obviously Shirish had problems either with him or me.

[/tscii:bc8a516176]

bulb_mani
16th November 2006, 01:26 AM
i seriously think YSR is not in the race anymore.... i dun see he gets a HIT like wut HJ gets.... seriously...just imagine is there any YSR song that was a craze among the makkals like Suttum VIzhi or Manjal Veyil.... dont bring 7G songs in...coz it was during 2004...i mean since last year untill now...i think the only hit song from YSR i heard so far is Loose Penne - Vallavan....correct me ya!

sad part is ARR songs too had those craze in the begining,but the movie that releases later will somehow pulls the fame down along with its flop fate.... except SOK i think,the songs r still a craze along with VV's songs....Vallavan isnt a hit like SOK or VV.. on the other hand GF,i really never heard it beeing played in Radio or TV here in Malaysia ! its like GF NEVER existed.... :(

Theepidikka song... :D

THats it i think...

aruvi
16th November 2006, 02:03 AM
Hit or not, YSR seems to be the popualar choice of youth these days, and the industry. Judging from his network of friends and rising stardom. Hmmm...

Not that I am a particular fan. I would rather real new talent come and show then spillovers. YSR or GVP.

16th November 2006, 02:24 AM
Hit or not, YSR seems to be the popualar choice of youth these days, and the industry. Judging from his network of friends and rising stardom. Hmmm...

but aruvi show me 1 YSR song which has been more popular than Suttum vizhi and Paartha Mudhal naal????? HJ is clearly winning the race........its just that our "HUB" doesent want to accept it.....

his growing network of frnds??? hmmm, he has rejected Kireedom and his fav Selvaraghavan opted for ARR in his hindi movie......that guy seems to have an attitude problem surely........

it may sound very biased from my side but trust me i respect ppl. whom i dont like also (if they are worth it).......i really respect YSR but dont think he is the Raja,Rahman material........

16th November 2006, 01:19 PM
The folk song in the album is too good that i dont think GVP should have composed this. He should have just recorded them from the original singers.
Otherwise the whole album is excellent and good for a first effort. Expecially the tune and orchestration of 'Veyillodu uravadi' gels well with the lyrics :thumbsup:

25th November 2006, 11:33 AM
GV Prakash is rising up fast

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/27178.html

Venki
26th November 2006, 01:16 PM
heard all the songs....they are obvously good but i dont see any 1992 or 1976 happening here......

this guy had a very gud oppurtunity and scope with a folk album for his first album but has wasted it somewhere......but this guy is so Rahmanish, doubt whether he will survive in the industry.....only kathal neruppin was different to ARR's style.....i tell this cos there are already a lot of Rahman clones in TFM......and TFM in general still hasnt come out of Rahman trend yet.......infact ARR himself has changed his sound and become different from the others.......

GV Prakash - will he trouble HJ or YSR needs to be seen

Good first effort and holds promise. Subsequent efforts will tell us if he will compete at the top or go the way of Srikant Deva and Iman.

Kathal Neruppin was good and may not have sounded Rahmanish, but sounded 'Murughavelish'. Murugavel who?

Compare it to 'Poi Sollalam' from 'Yeh nee romba azhaga irukka'.

http://www.musicindiaonline.com/music/tamil/s/movie_name.4474/

30th November 2006, 10:51 AM
the telugu version of this movie 'Vesavi'...was released days back...had an extra track...the Theme Music...it sounds very pleasing,knowing he is a debut.... not bad...though it sounds like a theme from Lion King :P

8th December 2006, 08:52 PM
[tscii:9753230f30]
A.R.Rahman’s nephew G.V.Prakash is the musical discovery of the year. He has given some memorable tunes with meaningful lyrics of Na Muthukumar. The superbly picturised Veyilodu Vilaiyaadi… and Uruguthey… stands out along with the rousing background score. Cinematographers Madhi and Azhagappan’s camera gives the film the feel and touch of rural Tamilnadu.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/review.php?id=14346719&ctid=5&cid=2429[/tscii:9753230f30]

9th December 2006, 01:34 AM
[tscii:d7f6e74057]
A.R.Rahman’s nephew G.V.Prakash is the musical discovery of the year. He has given some memorable tunes with meaningful lyrics of Na Muthukumar. The superbly picturised Veyilodu Vilaiyaadi… and Uruguthey… stands out along with the rousing background score. Cinematographers Madhi and Azhagappan’s camera gives the film the feel and touch of rural Tamilnadu.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/review.php?id=14346719&ctid=5&cid=2429[/tscii:d7f6e74057]

:bluejump: :bluejump: :thumbsup:

Encounter start aagidichu selva.... :lol:

9th December 2006, 11:35 AM
MADDY,

There is nothing to rejoice in the movie. The movie had some brilliant moments, had the screenplay been dealt properly this could've become a classic movie.
The BGM's were not too great though the songs are pleasant as standalone. the nativity of the scenes and the music that was played didn't gell well :(

9th December 2006, 01:37 PM
MADDY,

There is nothing to rejoice in the movie. The movie had some brilliant moments, had the screenplay been dealt properly this could've become a classic movie.
The BGM's were not too great though the songs are pleasant as standalone. the nativity of the scenes and the music that was played didn't gell well :(athane patten..arr familyla irunthu yaaru vanthalum kora solla unggala mattum than mudiyum sir :lol: :lol: puthu paiyan thane konjam oravanjanai pannama nalla parathungale sir, enna koranja pvingga!!!!

9th December 2006, 02:05 PM
MADDY,

The BGM's were not too great though the songs are pleasant as standalone. the nativity of the scenes and the music that was played didn't gell well :(

RS, i'm not that much attached to GVP as of yet, its just i'm hoping that ARR-family and IR-family battle is as good as the ARR-IR battle that we had in the 90's..... :wink:

10th December 2006, 10:36 AM
Saw the movie. Very good movie. I read interview from shankar that MD did very well and can compare to the level of ARR and IR. Not really. BGM for a first timer is good, but probably 10 years away from ARR and 100 years from IR.

akumar
15th December 2006, 02:48 AM
[tscii:a6fc567d22]Veyil in NJ 2nd week (KIDS FREE)

Still you have a chance to watch a good movie in theater...

Movie : VEYIL
Location : CINEPLAZA@COLUMBIA PARK12, 3125 Kennedy Blvd, North Bergen, NJ 07047

Showtimes:
Friday, December 15, 2006 9:00 PM
Saturday, December 16, 2006 3:00 PM 6:30 PM 9:30 PM
Sunday, December 17, 2006 2:00 PM 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
Monday, December 18, 2006 8:30 PM
Tuesday, December 19, 2006 8:30 PM
Wednesday,December 20, 2006 8:30 PM
Thursday, December 21, 2006 8:30 PM

Online Tickets @ (***KIDS FREE ***)
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/showtimes.asp?mid=7921&vid=5005

CRITICS Review:
--------------
Gallata.com says:

Veyyil is realistic to a point and yet does not fail to entertain. It is a solid movie with a moral.
Veyyil is a wonderful movie worth seeing.

Nowrunning.com says:

If you want to watch one movie which can talk to you in form of emotions, feelings and touch your soul, here is a movie.
Veyyil is a beautiful movie with excellent star cast and great performance from Bharat and Pasupathy. The lyrics of the songs add to the beauty of the movie.

A realistic ending to a very powerful storyline. The movie was one of the best made movies recently and has a touch of class to it.
If you have a taste for good cinema, Veyyil is a must watch movie.

Splendid. Definitely award winning.

Sify.com says:

Bravo Shankar .. You have the guts. If you like good cinema, go and watch Veyil.
Verdict: Very Good

Hindu Says:

As soothing as the early Sun -- Veyil
A WORTHWHILE VENTURE: Veyil
With the story which deals with natural emotions, the screenplay that helps the film glide past without a trace of boredom, the songs so intelligently placed that they take the story forward, the dialogue, the dialect so native to the soil or the folks who look so real
A brilliant offering from director Vasanthabalan and a worthy feather in producer Shankar's cap!

Indiaglitz.com says:

Veyyil - Bright and bold
It was a soul-stirring deconstruction of love and its fallout in a particular milieu.

Rediff.com says:

Watch Veyil for its energy
Veyil is a film filled with energy from the word go. It keeps you engaged till the end with its alpha-male aggression tinged with dollops of sentimentality.

Behindwoods.com says:

Veyil, A sunny escapade in a man’s life.
When we come out of the theatres, the performance of all the actors stand out in our thoughts.
Veyil is an emotional epic. A must watch for all.

Cinesouth.com says:

How would it be to see sunshine in Chirapunjee? That's how one feels when watching 'Veyil' that portrays all facets of human emotions including romance in the most realistic manner.

The title means sunshine, but in many scenes the tears flow like the Chirapunjee rains and nothing can prevent that.

'Veyil' invokes emotions.

Review Links:
------------
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/review.php?id=14346719&ctid=5&cid=2429
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/review/7921.html
http://www.hindu.com/fr/2006/12/15/stories/2006121500510200.htm
http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/review/reviewnews/n/383/movie/Veyyil.html
http://tamil.cinesouth.com/scopes/reviews/new/veyil.shtml
http://www.rediff.com/movies/2006/dec/11veyil.htm
http://www.nowrunning.com/film/review.asp?movieNo=3248
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-05/veyil-review.html

Movie website:
-------------
http://www.spictures.org/veyil/index.html

[/tscii:a6fc567d22]

22nd December 2006, 06:22 PM
whats his next audio release eh?!!

22nd December 2006, 06:23 PM
Must be kireedom pa :exactly:

24th December 2006, 12:21 PM
I think there is another movie titled "Auto" starring Arya for GVP.

Veyil Songs are Ok. But GVP is very immature & inexperienced to handle a script like Veyil on BGMs. Shud have ignored and worked on a fresh youth based movie for a debutant.

kamarajc
27th December 2006, 01:03 AM
I think there is another movie titled "Auto" starring Arya for GVP.

Veyil Songs are Ok. But GVP is very immature & inexperienced to handle a script like Veyil on BGMs. Shud have ignored and worked on a fresh youth based movie for a debutant.

I think he did a pretty decent job in BGM. Definitely promising! Especially, fiftenn minutes before intermission.. awesome! I wonder how can a guy at such an young age comprehend such a difficult situation and score a music that was so apt! His uncle must be proud of him really!

27th December 2006, 06:25 PM
I think he did a pretty decent job in BGM. Definitely promising! Especially, fiftenn minutes before intermission.. awesome! I wonder how can a guy at such an young age comprehend such a difficult situation and score a music that was so apt! His uncle must be proud of him really!

Reflected my thought on this ! This guys did ap pretty good job in BGM. I am happy with the fact that he boldly went for a movie like this which will be too difficult for any new bee to handle.
After this, I was 100% confident that he will excel in KIREEDOM :)
But again, it is difficult to judge him with a single movie. Have to see atleast 10 movies before coming to conclusion. I think KIREEDOM is one of the important projects for him

kamarajc
27th December 2006, 07:25 PM
[quote=kamarajc]
it is difficult to judge him with a single movie.

A lesson we learnt from Joshua Sridhar I guess :)

27th December 2006, 07:36 PM
A lesson we learnt from Joshua Sridhar I guess :)

7th January 2007, 03:40 PM
auto audio released today! ANYONE LISTEN TO THESE SONGS?

7th January 2007, 03:41 PM
Movie: Oram Po (Auto) (2007)
Cast: Arya, Pooja, M.S. Bhasker
Direction: Pushkar & Gayathri
Production: V.Palanivel &A.C.Ananthan (A.P.Film Garden)
Music: G.V.Prakash

Gun Ganapathy : (Vijaya.T.Rajendhar)

Idu Enna Mayam : (Shankar Mahadevan & Alka Yagnik)

Jigu Jickan : (Manicka Vinayagam)

Kozhi Kalu : (Kailash Kher & Jassie Gift)

Oram Po (Auto Theme) : (Blaaze)

Yaar Iravinai : (Sunitha Sarathy & George Peter)

akumar
1st April 2007, 04:55 PM
Veyyil shines globally too

The hot news is that the movie has been selected for screening in the Tous les Cinemaz Du Mond section of the acclaimed Cannes Film Festival (19 May).

http://newstodaynet.com/talkies/0104tt3.htm

1st April 2007, 05:19 PM
Movie: Oram Po (Auto) (2007)
Cast: Arya, Pooja, M.S. Bhasker
Direction: Pushkar & Gayathri
Production: V.Palanivel &A.C.Ananthan (A.P.Film Garden)
Music: G.V.Prakash

Gun Ganapathy : (Vijaya.T.Rajendhar)

Idu Enna Mayam : (Shankar Mahadevan & Alka Yagnik)

Jigu Jickan : (Manicka Vinayagam)

Kozhi Kalu : (Kailash Kher & Jassie Gift)

Oram Po (Auto Theme) : (Blaaze)

Yaar Iravinai : (Sunitha Sarathy & George Peter)

bro,if im not mistaken, the audio was released during Jan.....

1st April 2007, 07:13 PM
yes , ...songs aren't as good as veyil :?