View Full Version : Film Stats & Assorted queries

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

19th March 2010, 11:46 AM
Jai Hind

19th March 2010, 11:48 AM
Oh yeah Ajay. bayangara ushArA irukkInga.

19th March 2010, 11:50 AM
Ha...Ha..

Current heartthrob Ranjitha nadicha padamaache!!!

12th April 2010, 09:58 PM
- moved to other thread -

24th April 2010, 09:41 PM
where can i download hq tamil mp3 songs for my phone???? Anybody pls help me

cepark
27th April 2010, 01:45 AM
where can i download hq tamil mp3 songs for my phone???? Anybody pls help me

www.123musiq.com else try it in www.tamilmp3world.com.

cepark
27th April 2010, 01:46 AM

always moved to other thread.ore confusion.

appadi ennatha move panringaaa..... :think:

27th April 2010, 07:22 AM

always moved to other thread.ore confusion.

appadi ennatha move panringaaa..... :think:

moved to cine quiz thread

2nd May 2010, 04:53 PM
mano and spb serndu paadiya paadal edavadu ulladha?

3rd May 2010, 09:16 PM
Extremely rare, AFAIK.

There's one in jallikkattu (For Sathyaraj and Sivaji, IIRC) - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/albums/ALBIRR00220.html

5th May 2010, 03:01 PM
Extremely rare, AFAIK.

There's one in jallikkattu (For Sathyaraj and Sivaji, IIRC) - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/albums/ALBIRR00220.html

suber. eppadi ivlo vishayam gnabagam vechi irukkenga.

Sudarsh
20th May 2010, 04:44 AM
Can someone tell me the actor's name who comes as Karthik's friend in Paiyya the dude with the curly stylish hair :D

20th May 2010, 08:28 AM
If you mean the friend in Mumbai, its Jegan. If you mean the actress, its Sonia Deepti.

kameshratnam
21st May 2010, 10:33 AM
mano and spb serndu paadiya paadal edavadu ulladha

1. Hey Raja from jalli kattu

2. Sami varadu sami varadu - From Udan pirappu

3. Mano did the humming for Karava madu moonu - diyan diyan nu varum

23rd May 2010, 03:37 PM
small help guys... Where can i download hq hindi mp3 songs ??... I want koi mil gaya songs. . :D

23rd May 2010, 03:52 PM
Ilayapuyal,

Try 123musiq.com..

23rd May 2010, 04:12 PM
@ ajay

Its not there anna :D

Stiglitz
26th May 2010, 09:50 PM
What happened to Sultan? :?

Appu s
26th May 2010, 10:05 PM
small help guys... Where can i download hq hindi mp3 songs ??... I want koi mil gaya songs. . :D
Try songs.pk

26th May 2010, 10:32 PM
Try songs.pk

:ty:

27th May 2010, 10:12 AM
Who wrote the lyrics for the song Ellorum Sollum Paatu from the movie Marubadiyum?

27th May 2010, 11:41 AM
Who wrote the lyrics for the song Ellorum Sollum Paatu from the movie Marubadiyum?Vaali

29th May 2010, 06:58 PM
what does "theerthakkarai" mean? i have heard this word in many songs.

9th June 2010, 05:46 PM
inraya thEdhikku theater'la Odikittu irukkura 3 padangalOda peyar:

SINGAM
IRUMBU KOATTAI MURATTU SINGAM
PEN SINGAM

sometime in the early 2000, 3 films released at the same time & there was a similarity:

RAJJIYAM --- there was a song: thamizhan thamizhan
THAMIZHAN
THAMIZH

23rd June 2010, 01:31 PM
Podhu Arivu Vina: Was the movie Saa Boo Three released in theaters?

gurusaravanan
23rd June 2010, 06:04 PM
Podhu Arivu Vina: Was the movie Saa Boo Three released in theaters? s.

23rd June 2010, 08:55 PM
I remember the film being screened in some suburb theatres like Ambattur Rakki.

24th June 2010, 08:58 AM
Nandri guy

vithagan
1st July 2010, 08:59 PM
I was listening to the song "Unnai Thaane" from Nallavanukku Nallavan, was wondering the female voice.. googled and found its Manjula.. :roll:

I haven't heard this name before.. avanga vera edhachum paadi irukaangala?? :huh:

2nd July 2010, 10:29 AM
Is she the one who 'sings' the "Kanne thottukava" bit with Kamal in the intro of "Vanithamani"?

7th July 2010, 07:27 PM
many companies release original dvd's. Prominent among them are Ayngaran, Shrutilaya, Moser baer, Ayngaran blue ray, Lotus five star etc. I want to know which among them is best in terms of picture, audio, graphics ?? And which is the most economical among them ?? Suggestions pls :neutral:

7th July 2010, 07:30 PM
Ayngaran is the best... But its not available in India. 2nd comes AP International...

7th July 2010, 07:31 PM
inraya thEdhikku theater'la Odikittu irukkura 3 padangalOda peyar:

SINGAM
IRUMBU KOATTAI MURATTU SINGAM
PEN SINGAM

sometime in the early 2000, 3 films released at the same time & there was a similarity:

RAJJIYAM --- there was a song: thamizhan thamizhan
THAMIZHAN
THAMIZH

Gud observation hr. Watch out for ''Singam Puli'' starring jeeva. Movie coming soon.

7th July 2010, 07:34 PM
Ayngaran is the best... But its not available in India. 2nd comes AP International...

:ty: anna. Peraanmai's blue ray is available here. And also in some movies at the right bottom corner its written '' AYNGARAN DVD ''. But u say its not available here. And what is AP International ?? Not heard of it.

7th July 2010, 07:43 PM
Hope u r in India. U shud have seen the pirated version of Ayngaran DVDs. Ayngaran original dvds cost nearly 9 pounds if i am not wrong. In India, u can get the pirated one at 25 rs min.

AP International dvds cost 250 rs. The pic quality, sound quality are much better than the 99 rs Moser Baer dvds.

7th July 2010, 07:53 PM
Hope u r in India. U shud have seen the pirated version of Ayngaran DVDs. Ayngaran original dvds cost nearly 9 pounds if i am not wrong. In India, u can get the pirated one at 25 rs min.

AP International dvds cost 250 rs. The pic quality, sound quality are much better than the 99 rs Moser Baer dvds.

Ya. The pirated version had FBI notice and ayngaran's address and other details. I bought peraanmai blue ray pirated version @ 20 rs :oops: ... :ty: for info

VJerry
8th July 2010, 12:04 PM
What was the first film to re-use a movie title? Sathileelavathi?

8th July 2010, 12:54 PM
Apoorva Sahodharargal?

8th July 2010, 01:00 PM
Uthama puthiran-nu Pu chinnappa padame irukkulla?

8th July 2010, 01:04 PM
Uthama puthiran
PU chinnappa 1940
Sivaji ganesan 1958
now Dhanush going to use this title :shaking:

8th July 2010, 02:06 PM
Uthama puthiran
PU chinnappa 1940
Sivaji ganesan 1958
now Dhanush going to use this title :shaking: :lol:

VJerry
9th July 2010, 03:50 PM
Uthama puthiran
PU chinnappa 1940
Sivaji ganesan 1958

Appo ithu thaan 3 times use pannina title-a?

9th July 2010, 04:05 PM
billa, twice in tamil and once in telugu

Guru-V
12th July 2010, 02:28 PM
Uthama puthiran
PU chinnappa 1940
Sivaji ganesan 1958

Appo ithu thaan 3 times use pannina title-a?

4th timeukku oru 10-15 years wait pannunga..vanthudum :lol:

14th July 2010, 11:47 AM
What is the name of that Malayalam actor who acted as KH's father in Sathya?

complicateur
14th July 2010, 01:56 PM
Ajay,
I thinkhis name was Basheer.

14th July 2010, 02:29 PM
What is the name of that Malayalam actor who acted as KH's father in Sathya?2 days back kalaignar tv le padam paatheengala :lol2:

14th July 2010, 03:15 PM
No.. Saw ur post on the film in another thread and suddenly was wondering abt this..

Thanx Compli.. :-) I've seen him in CBI Diary Kurippu.

complicateur
14th July 2010, 04:10 PM
Aah Ajay, It is Bahadur. Slight memory fail.

14th July 2010, 04:13 PM
i have a doubt in goa..y is that vathiyar(initially) is seen in so many get ups..any reason? :huh: ..illena comedykka?...if its for fun..it didnt work out :?

14th July 2010, 05:20 PM
Probably a mock at dasa i guess.. Seriously no one knew what was in VP's mind.. Pudhusaa try panraaraamam!

14th July 2010, 07:29 PM
Probably a mock at dasa i guess.. Seriously no one knew what was in VP's mind.. Pudhusaa try panraaraamam!oh... :lol: :x ...semme gaandupa..andhe padam

Sudarsh
23rd July 2010, 01:29 AM
Probably a mock at dasa i guess.. Seriously no one knew what was in VP's mind.. Pudhusaa try panraaraamam!

dasavathaaram? :?:

27th July 2010, 09:00 PM
Was Selvaraghavan appeared in any scenes of Kaadhal Kondaen :roll: ?

VJerry
4th August 2010, 07:48 PM
Yuvan tweeted that he recorded a full hindi song and this is the first time for a tamil movie. Is it true?

4th August 2010, 07:49 PM
Yuvan tweeted that he recorded a full hindi song and this is the first time for a tamil movie. Is it true?
replace recorded with 'copied'

varunlss12
4th August 2010, 09:34 PM

S vinod in song Devadai kanden.. inside a bus he stood b4 dhanush... i think he wears a cap...

Riyazz
11th August 2010, 04:42 PM

S vinod in song Devadai kanden.. inside a bus he stood b4 dhanush... i think he wears a cap...ya its correct :evil:

Riyazz
11th August 2010, 04:46 PM
Silunu oru kadal film director krisna next film?

varunlss12
15th August 2010, 05:03 PM
Which is the highest grosser in tamil industry?

15th August 2010, 07:10 PM
Silunu oru kadal film director krisna next film?
yen ippadi mayakkinai?
http://tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2010/august/120810d.asp

varunlss12
18th August 2010, 11:17 AM
kamal ku entha padathu la Ulaga nayan nu potanga?

VJerry
18th August 2010, 11:26 AM
kamal ku entha padathu la Ulaga nayan nu potanga?

Tenali - I guess.

vithagan
18th August 2010, 09:21 PM
Which is the first solo song sung by Yuvan?

18th August 2010, 09:29 PM
Rishi :roll:

vithagan
18th August 2010, 10:56 PM
Rishi :roll:

Rishi'la enna paatu?? :think:

vithagan
18th August 2010, 11:05 PM
Which is the first solo song sung by Yuvan?

I think its Achudha Achudha from Velai.. but adhula Premjiyum paadi irukaan :roll:

Next I guess will be Thulluvadhoe Ilamai.. :confused2:

23rd August 2010, 12:29 AM
I have a doubt .. Is Bitrate of the songs be considered when downloading ??? I have seen 219, 188 kbps but some say there is 320 kbps also... Does this decide the quality of the song ?? :confused2:

23rd August 2010, 01:56 PM
not exactly a stat or a query...but

why hasn't maniratnam directed a movie about karunanidhi dynasty? the story is very much in his area of interest.

imagine...

prakashraj as karunanidhi
ranjitha as dayalu
revathi as rajathi
prabhu as azhagiri
karthik as stalin
gouthami as kanimozhi
arvind saami as dayanidi maran
prithiviraj as kalanidi maran
etc.. etc...

23rd August 2010, 02:14 PM
idea nallA thAn irukku (Iruvar Sequel) but avaru uyirOda irukkaradhu ungaLukku pudikkalayA? :roll:

27th August 2010, 07:28 PM

why hasn't maniratnam directed a movie about karunanidhi dynasty? the story is very much in his area of interest.

imagine...

ranjitha as dayalu
revathi as rajathi
prabhu as azhagiri
karthik as stalin
gouthami as kanimozhi
etc.. etc...but enne kadhai solluvaru :confused2: ,,

27th August 2010, 07:28 PM

imagine...

ranjitha as dayalu
revathi as rajathi
prabhu as azhagiri
karthik as stalin
gouthami as kanimozhi

kudumba kadhai thaan :lol:

Riyazz
27th August 2010, 08:09 PM

imagine...

ranjitha as dayalu
revathi as rajathi
prabhu as azhagiri
karthik as stalin
gouthami as kanimozhi

kudumba kadhai thaan :lol:solla arambica 3 hrs patade :lol:

28th August 2010, 05:30 AM
kadhaikka panjam. but ofcourse as usual mani will give an interview saying the story is no way related to karunanidhi family wars.

29th August 2010, 07:35 AM
i am trying to recollect an old movie (80s) - i think it has prathap pothan in it - but i could be wrong.

the main plot line is that a bank cashier decides to steal money from his bank. while he pockets the money, coincidentally a robber robs the bank at the same time. the bank cashier gets shot in the arm during the robbery but is unable to stop the robbery.

next day robber checks the newspaper to see that he has robbed Rs. X - he checks the amount he has robbed. It is far less than the reported amount.

robber is certain that the bank cashier has pocketed some money, so he goes to see him. the bank cashier has hidden the money in the toilet flush.............

any ideas on what movie this is? what happens next (i did not watch the ending)

Prabo
29th August 2010, 11:26 AM
kadhaikka panjam. but ofcourse as usual mani will give an interview saying the story is no way related to karunanidhi family wars.

Dont worry. Mani edukkalana kooda RGV kandippa eduppar....ithu RGV'ku yetha katha

29th August 2010, 10:57 PM
i am trying to recollect an old movie (80s) - i think it has prathap pothan in it - but i could be wrong.

the main plot line is that a bank cashier decides to steal money from his bank. while he pockets the money, coincidentally a robber robs the bank at the same time. the bank cashier gets shot in the arm during the robbery but is unable to stop the robbery.

next day robber checks the newspaper to see that he has robbed Rs. X - he checks the amount he has robbed. It is far less than the reported amount.

robber is certain that the bank cashier has pocketed some money, so he goes to see him. the bank cashier has hidden the money in the toilet flush.............

any ideas on what movie this is? what happens next (i did not watch the ending)

Movie name: solladhE yarum kEttaal

& u could see Prathap saying about this in "Thillu Mullu" climax chase

30th August 2010, 03:16 AM
thanks HR. micha kadayai konjam sollungalen - if you know...

30th August 2010, 07:36 PM
thanks HR. micha kadayai konjam sollungalen - if you know...

rombha varusathukku munnadi Raj TV'la parthadhu.. marandhuduchu

1st September 2010, 07:50 PM
came across this song from sathiyavan (IR music)

http://ilayaraja-mp3-songs.blogspot.com/2010/02/sathiyavan-1994_5.html

Eppavum naan thaanda song is a rehash of IR's good old 'chitira sevvanam sivakka kanden'

9th September 2010, 02:45 PM
Was 'Maaveeran' a remake? If yes, wat was the original?

9th September 2010, 03:29 PM
The original was Mard starring Bachchan senior

Puliyan_Biryani
9th September 2010, 04:13 PM
I didn't know where to post this question, so I am posting here :D

I generally find people referring to Rajini's character in Thillu Mullu as AAK Chandran (Aiyampettai Arivudainambi Kaliyaperumaal Chandran). But I vaguely remember a scene in Rajini's house where it is written/scribbled in the wall as IAK Chandran ('I' would stand for Iyyampettai which also seems right). Can anyone who has better memory of the movie confirm whether it is AAK or IAK?

9th September 2010, 04:17 PM
puli :lol2:

Puliyan_Biryani
9th September 2010, 05:08 PM
Sarna enna sirippu :argh:. It is a serious question.

20th September 2010, 02:27 PM
in those days, appavi characters pannaradukku bakyaraj or prathap pothan ivangala adichikka aale ille..

who would be their equivalents in this generation?

20th September 2010, 05:24 PM
in those days, appavi characters pannaradukku bakyaraj or prathap pothan ivangala adichikka aale ille..

who would be their equivalents in this generation?

danush ? :roll:

14th October 2010, 03:55 PM
There were some news about 6 months ago, that Prakash Raj was going to do a movie about Thalaivar Prabakaran. Has any one heard any news about this ?

printhan
24th December 2010, 08:03 PM
There were some news about 6 months ago, that Prakash Raj was going to do a movie about Thalaivar Prabakaran. Has any one heard any news about this ?

its still thr.. he s working on it... problem is how to gv a end to it.. :cry:

26th December 2010, 05:19 PM

its still thr.. he s working on it... problem is how to gv a end to it.. :cry:

Really, so is the film under production now :roll:

4th January 2011, 06:16 PM
coucou,

I just saw the Ra.one (Sarhuk movie) add ... with Ilayaraaja's name on it :shock: ... what does he do ? :huh:

4th January 2011, 06:58 PM
BGM?

4th January 2011, 07:11 PM
:notthatway: ... Had a look at wikipedia as well :

Music by Vishal-Shekhar
Ilaiyaraaja
Hans Zimmer (background)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ra.One

8th January 2011, 05:18 AM
small kostin ... i am watching telugu movies for some time now (with subtitles, that helps ;) )... i like ravi teja a lot, that guy is good :cool2: ... i just want to know, cos i don't understand anything ... what's the meening of "gaaru" and "baabu" ... telugu speeking guys, splease help :D

8th January 2011, 09:05 AM
Gaaru =ji
Baabu="thambi", not as in brother but as a general viLi or addressing someone who is your junior(on age or spirit or position). Also used by ramu kaka types to "chinna ejamaan"

8th January 2011, 04:13 PM
danks plum :D

11th January 2011, 10:31 AM
Anyone remembers who is the MD for Naan Adimai Illai (oru jeevanthaan song)?

Most websites list Vijay Anand or worse still, Ilaiyaraaja!

But I remember that it was by a NI MD, L-P, K-A etc?

Anyone knows for sure?

vithagan
12th January 2011, 08:05 AM
Anyone remembers who is the MD for Naan Adimai Illai (oru jeevanthaan song)?

Most websites list Vijay Anand or worse still, Ilaiyaraaja!

But I remember that it was by a NI MD, L-P, K-A etc?

Anyone knows for sure?

Its Vijay Anand.

12th January 2011, 11:12 AM
NOV, it is Vijay Anand

12th January 2011, 06:04 PM
Thanks Vithagan and Plum.
:confused2:

12th January 2011, 06:05 PM
NOV, it is Vijay Anand

saary, konjam late ...

vithagan
12th January 2011, 06:06 PM
Thanks Vithagan and Plum.
:confused2:

AaNa andha Vijay Anand yaarunnu sathiyama theriyadhu :)

12th January 2011, 06:08 PM
NOV, non-IR MDs for Rajini in 80's were not many
Chandrabose - Manidhan, Raja Chinna Roja, Viduthalai
MSV - Ranuva Veeran, Polladhavan, Billa
Shankar-Ganesh - Thai Veedu, Moondru Mugam
Vijay Anand - Nan Adimai Illai
Hamsalekha - nattukku oru nallavan(90s), kodi parakkudhu

Can't think of anyone else
If you need reference for Vijay Anand, I think he also did the music for Visu's Kavalan avan kOvalan

12th January 2011, 06:13 PM
I googled and the only Vijay Anand is a Director, whose MD is Kalyanji Anandji

Unless you really know, forget whats listed in the net.
I have a cassette stashed away somewhere, but am too lazy to look for it.

12th January 2011, 06:14 PM
Plum, I am quite positive that it is a NI MD. :think:

vithagan
12th January 2011, 06:15 PM
I googled and the only Vijay Anand is a Director, whose MD is Kalyanji Anandji

Unless you really know, forget whats listed in the net.
I have a cassette stashed away somewhere, but am too lazy to look for it.

Nov, I confirmed from the titles of the movie. Here it is, if you are interested

http://www.123tamiltv.com/naan-adimai-illai-rajani.html

12th January 2011, 06:16 PM
MD, Vijay Anand is a Kannada MD who scored for nAn adimai illai. I know this for sure. nAn solRadhellAm from memory dhAn. GoogleANdavarai TFM vishyathula rare-A dhAN consult paNdradhu.

Ok, here's where kalyanji-anandji might come in. Not unusually, nAn adimai illai owes its origin to a Telugu movie starring Krishna, scored by I think Chakravarthy, which was remade into pyaar juktha nahin, starring Mithun Chakraborthy. Maybe the hindi film had K-A. Wait, no, that was Bappi Lahiri.

12th January 2011, 06:17 PM
Note that the producers are Dwarkish Chitra. From the name looks like a Kannada film production company

12th January 2011, 06:19 PM
Nov, I confirmed from the titles of the movie. Here it is, if you are interested:bow:
:bow:

Thanks Vithagan. I was perfectly wrong. :oops2:

12th January 2011, 06:20 PM
MD, Vijay Anand is a Kannada MD who scored for nAn adimai illai. I know this for sure. nAn solRadhellAm from memory dhAn. GoogleANdavarai TFM vishyathula rare-A dhAN consult paNdradhu.:ty: Plum.

Bappi scored for Aboorva Sagotharigal only no?

12th January 2011, 06:31 PM
MD, Vijay Anand is a Kannada MD who scored for nAn adimai illai. I know this for sure. nAn solRadhellAm from memory dhAn. GoogleANdavarai TFM vishyathula rare-A dhAN consult paNdradhu.:ty: Plum.

Bappi scored for Aboorva Sagotharigal only no?

shabba ... nalla paakaatha-thaala oru second remba payanthu poitten :shock:

varunlss12
6th February 2011, 06:18 PM
Wats karthi's Nxt movie?

Krillin
25th February 2011, 10:38 PM
***Got this as a forward****

Hi, I'm asking you for a favour and it's to update the archives for the South Indian Filmfare Awards from over the years.

The official Filmfare company have let us down and say they have lost records!!, so we're trying to collate information from actors and actresses from the period in hope they may have any information.

We were wondering if you remember any of the winners from any category from your memory, and if you could help us complete incomplete lists at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Filmfare_Awards_South

So please could you reply back with suggestions like this:
eg. 1992 - Revathy - Best actress (Tamil)- Thevar Magan

Thanks, your help is much appreciated.

30th April 2011, 06:28 PM
can any one shed some light on the actress who went by the name 'zeenath'

she acted in siragadikka aasai (sivakumar movie) and few other tamil movies (i think she was in pudhiya mannargal - but i am not sure whether it was zeenath or subashree in this movie?).

she acted in malayalam and telugu movies too - however i am not able to find any details of her thro' wikipedia / google. May be she went by a different name?

vithagan
21st July 2011, 12:19 AM
I'm looking for a song from movie Krishna - prashanth Kasthuri, I think music by S.A.Rajkumar. I used to like one song but can't remember it.. ippa kaekardhukku mokkaiya kooda irukkalam but just want to listen to that song..

Anyone have any clue about that song??

21st July 2011, 12:59 AM
is it this song... "idhu nee irukkum nenjamadi kanmani"?

vithagan
21st July 2011, 02:04 AM
is it this song... "idhu nee irukkum nenjamadi kanmani"?

Exactly the same.. Thanks HR.. found the youtube link too..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlXVbvxVwH4

21st July 2011, 11:37 AM
can any one shed some light on the actress who went by the name 'zeenath'

she acted in siragadikka aasai (sivakumar movie) and few other tamil movies (i think she was in pudhiya mannargal - but i am not sure whether it was zeenath or subashree in this movie?).

she acted in malayalam and telugu movies too - however i am not able to find any details of her thro' wikipedia / google. May be she went by a different name?

No.. She did Pudiya Mannargal, Siragadikka Aasai and few mallu films and then quit.

jinju
21st July 2011, 11:53 AM
No.. She did Pudiya Mannargal, Siragadikka Aasai and few mallu films and then quit.
AB, is that the girl who acted in Fazil's Pappayude Swantham Appoos in malayalam?

21st July 2011, 02:28 PM
Yup. Also in IV Sasi's Nilagiri.

25th July 2011, 01:13 AM
// whr is Vasanathukku Vasanam thread ... searched but could not find it

26th July 2011, 10:13 PM
since VV thread is missing & no body replied.. i'll start a new thread when i feel like asking a vasanam

satissh_r
16th September 2011, 10:43 AM
http://www.imdb.com/list/-vrlQwkSUhY/

List of Tamil films inspired from world movies

KV
2nd February 2012, 01:42 PM
I've asked this before, but I will again... what's with Ameer Sultan and Aadhi Bhagavan? Why is taking lightyears for him to wind up this flim? PV was back in 2007! So much promise in that flim, but it's been disappointing to see no flims from him after that. Even the so called snail-speed Bala has given two films in this time span. Ivaru ennnana hero-va nadichuttaaru, item song la guest appearance nu timepass pannitrikkaaru! (even Ravi had 2 to 3 flims in this perid, right). mai thadavi paathu edhaachu sollunga pa.

2nd February 2012, 02:07 PM
http://i.indiaglitz.com/tamil/news/directors300112_1.jpg

A press meet was organized yesterday (January 29) by the Directors' Union who announced their new wage structure. The meet was headed by Ameer who is the secretary of the union, in the presence of other union members.

As per the new structure if a film is stalled the director should be paid his salary of Rs 10 lakh and work right after signing a deal with the film's producer.

According to the new wage structure a director should be paid Rs 1000 and Rs 1200 if he is working within the city and outside the city respectively. For joint directors its Rs 500 and Rs 600 and for assistant directors its Rs 400 and Rs 500 depending on whether the work is within or outside the city.

Ameer currently has work on 'Aadhi Bhagavan' pending where he has Jayam Ravi and Neetu Chandra in the lead. As an actor, he has rural entertainer 'Annakodiyum Kodiveeranum' with ace director Bharathiraja.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/77316.html

aanaa
5th February 2012, 09:35 PM
நமது திரைப்பட கலைஞர்கள், சினிமாவுக்கு வருவதற்கு முன் பலர். பல்வேறு தொழில்களில், பணிகளில் ஈடுப்பட்டிருக்கிறார்கள்.யார் யார் எந்தெந்த தொழிலில் ஈடுபட்டிருந்தார்கள்.

http://newyarl.com/fullview.php?id=NzY1Nw%3D%3D (http://newyarl.com/fullview.php?id=NzY1Nw%3D%3D)

ஜெமினி கணேசன்

போட்டோ உதவி பேராசிரியர்

ஸ்ரீகாந்த் (மூத்த நடிகர்)

அமெரிக்க து£தரக அலுவலக அதிகாரி

ஏ.வி.மெய்யப்பன்

சைக்கிள் கடை

வி.எஸ்.ராகவன்

பத்திரிகையாளர்

ராகவன்

சுங்க இலாகா அதிகாரி

ஆனந்தராஜ்

சாராய வியாபாரம்

சிவக்குமார்

ஓவியர்

ரஜினிகாந்த்

பஸ் கண்டக்டர்

ஜெய்கணேஷ்

காய்கறி வியாபாரம்

நாகேஷ்

ரயில்வே குமாஸ்தா

கே.ஆர்.ஜி.

சிட்பண்ட்ஸ்

பாண்டியன்

வளையல் கடை

விஜயகாந்த்

அரிசி கடை

ராஜேஷ்

பள்ளி ஆசிரியர்

ஆர்.சுந்தர் ராஜன்

-பேக்கிரி கடை

பீட்டர் செல்வக்குமார்

ரயில்வே அதிகாரி

பாக்யராஜ்

ஜவுளிக்கடை

அஜீத்

டூ வீலர் மெக்கானிக்

ரகுவரன்

உணவு விடுதி

பூர்ணம் விஸ்வநாதன்

வானொலி அறிவிப்பாளர்

அமோகா

ஹோட்டல் போட்டோசப்ஷனிஸ்ட்

பாரதிராஜா

மலேரியா ஒழிப்பு இன்ஸ்பெக்டர்

டெல்லி கணேஷ்

ராணுவ வீரர்

மேஜர் சுந்தர்ராஜன்

அக்கவுண்டென்ட்

பாலச்சந்தர்

அக்கவுண்டென்ட்

புலவர் புலமைப்பித்தன்

பள்ளி தலைமையாசிரியர்

கே.விஜயன்

ரயில்வே ஒர்க்ஷாப் ஊழியர்

சாருஹாசன்

வக்கீல்

விசு

டி.வி.எஸ்.பணியாளர்

தலைவாசல் விஜய்

ஓட்டல் பணியாளர்

மோகன்

வங்கி ஊழியர்

ராஜீவ்

ஓட்டல் கேட்டரிங்

எஸ்.வி.சேகர்

மேடை நாடக ஒலி அமைப்பாளர்

தியாகராஜன்

இசைத்தட்டு விநியோக பிரதிநிதி

பாண்டியராஜன்

பார்க்காத வேலை,தொழில் இல்லை

ஏ.எஸ்.பிரகாசம்

போட்டோ பேராசிரியர்

பெரியார்தாசன்

போட்டோ பேராசிரியர்

கவிஞர் வைரமுத்து

சட்ட மொழிபெயர்ப்பு துறையில் மொழி பெயர்ப்பாளர்

முக்தா சீனிவாசன்

அலுவலக டைப்பிஸ்ட்

நடிகை காஞ்சனா

ஏர் ஹோஸ்டஸ்

கமலாகாமேஷ்

மெல்லிசை பாடகி

வடிவுக்கரசி

ஹோட்டல் போட்டோசப்னிஸ்ட்

சுஹாசினி

உதவி ஒளிப்பதிவாளர்

சரத்குமார்

பத்திரிகை அலுவலக நிர்வாகம்

இந்து

தொலைக்காட்சி அறிவிப்பாளர்

ஃபாத்திமா பாபு

தொலைக்காட்சி அறிவிப்பாளர்

டைரக்டர் வசந்த்

குமுதம் பத்திரிகை நிருபர்

டைரக்டர் கார்வண்ணன்

ஆட்டோ டிரைவர்

தயாரிப்பாளர் கே.டி.குஞ்சுமோன்

லேடீஸ் ஹாஸ்டல் வாட்ச்மேன்

டைரக்டர் சேரன்

தொழிலாளி (சிம்சன்)

தயாரிப்பாளர் ஏ.எம்.ரத்தினம்

விஜயசாந்தியின் மேக்கப்மேன்

தயாரிப்பாளர் சிவசக்தி பாண்டியன்

இங்கிலிஸ் எலக்ட்ரிகல் வாட்ச்மேன்

பாடலாசிரியர் பழனிபாரதி

ஆனந்தவிகடன் போட்டோப்போர்ட்டர்

3rd March 2012, 08:54 PM
edho oru thread miss aagara madhiri irukku

5th March 2012, 12:06 AM
so, both Funny things & Shocking Things threads were closed / moved out of hub..
hmm.. i save 10 mins per log in

ilekani
26th March 2012, 03:32 PM
In the opening credits of Aangalai Nambathe, the story is credited to Stella Bruce and the direction to KS Ravikumar.

In the final shot of the movie, the story/screenplay/dir is credited to "T. Alex Pandian".

Why?

26th March 2012, 07:33 PM
one question..

tune for words | words for tune

from musician pov,
composing a tune for already written verses is easier no?

bala/others, pls come in...
pr/others pls give the song writer pov, if writing for tune or writing without tune is easier...

26th March 2012, 09:03 PM
SS,
Interesting question.

Since I've written kavidhai's once upon a time, let me try to explain why it's better to have mettu first, for great listening pleasure :-)

Though the kavingar can have a lot more creativity in subject matter / uvamai / words etc when he is not restricted by an existing melody, he/she is STILL restricted by rules relating to timing / sandham / structure, if it had to have music added to it (and not totally free form, like pudhukkavidhai / vasana kavidhai etc). On top of this, there are always grammatical restrictions, linguistic restrictions etc that limit the permuations / combinations in word play anyways. (For example, you cannot write 'pAtti vadai sutta kadhai' as 'pAtti vadai sutta nari' or 'pAtti kAkkA sutta vadai' etc :lol:)

So, adding an "additional constraint" of an existing melody need not totally cripple his imagination. OTOH, though there are some restrictions in melody making also (certain arrangements of notes - even though musical notes - will be called 'noise' and not mettu), the permuations / combinations are infinite :-) To give a poem and ask the MD to fit in a melody will severely restrict creativity (though at times it can be circumvented by stretching a syllable here and there or adding la-la-lA kind of humming etc).

My vote is always for mettu first & pAttu next :-)

26th March 2012, 09:05 PM
For a lyricist, no tune means he/she can let their imagination run wild
Ditto for a musician.

26th March 2012, 09:12 PM
has been proven again and again that writing tunes for lyrics brings forth the best in songs.
of course in the hands of a reasonably capable lyricist.

writing lyrics to tune will result in maane thEne, naanE veenE kind of insipid songs :lol:

26th March 2012, 09:19 PM
app,
i agree on the tune first, words next...
pls write on tune for already existing words...

:lol: on paatti sytta medhuvadai

nerd..
i agree a musician will hav freedom to create when the paper is white...
like he can come up with different tunes in different ragas, etc.,
which is easy? - is my question..

26th March 2012, 09:22 PM
has been proven again and again that writing tunes for lyrics brings forth the best in songs.

writing lyrics to tune will result in maane thEne, naanE veenE kind of insipid songs :lol:

yes but not all songs can be balanced on tune and words right...
a song can be tune heavy or word heavy based on the situation....
if u take a 'namdhanamdha namdhanamdham... namdhanamdham' or 'nivedhaa' song, aint they beautiful?

26th March 2012, 09:37 PM
are you donning solomon papiah role here vadivel? :think:

26th March 2012, 09:49 PM
are you donning solomon papiah role here vadivel? :think:

visayam therinjukkalaamnu dhaan topic start panen nov...
namakku thonuradha sonna dhanae adhu sari thappunu naalu peru edutthu solluvaanga... apdi ennoda abiprayattha sonen... thappa illayanu neenga dhana sollanum...

26th March 2012, 10:32 PM
For a lyricist, no tune means he/she can let their imagination run wild
Ditto for a musician.

Like I tried to explain in my post, a musician can let the imagination a lot more wilder : 7+5 notes per octave (7 white keys sa-ri-ga-ma-pa-dha-ni and 5 black keys, the sharp / flats of the keyboard, per octave) and at least 5 ocatves within vocal range - means the mettu can use for each next note "factorial 60" possibilities :shock: Ofcourse, all the combinations won't be music; but, even if we throw a lot of them away as noise, still it's a staggering asura eN! And, you don't have ANY kind of restrictions as to "how many notes should be there for the first bar" (unless you're hell-bent on creating a melody on a specific rAgA). e.g. supercalifragilisticexpialidocious :-)

Lyricist, as explained by 'vadai sutta pAtti', cannot outrun the wildness of musician, by any stretch of imagination :-) His limitations are imposed by the language grammar and thALakkattu etc (even if there's no pre-existing melody).

26th March 2012, 10:56 PM

"matterukku meter & meterukku matter" (phrase used by MSV-Kavingar combo) both have brought great songs, when the lyricist & MD are capable. So, if you go by past history of TFM, one cannot prove either one is better.

What is definitely true is creativity will be max if music is not required to have words at all (e.g. symphony & other instrumental forms) and poem is not required to have music at all (countless literature) :-)

The moment one of them has to fit to the other, there'll be limits / restrictions imposed and one way or other need not be absolutely better or absolutely mAnE thEnE :-) It will be decided by the creativity of the artist(s), level of colloboration, particular day's frame of mind, other external factors / compulsions etc.

The ideal situation could be when both can sit together and work on a song - each making modifications / amendments to what they originally came up in the spurt of the moment and keep making continuous improvement refining the final product...

26th March 2012, 10:56 PM
But taking both in *absolute* terms, just given a situation
-A lyricist on white paper can imagine to use all the words that may fit. If he was given a tune - iLaiya nilaa pozhigiRadhE, for the first word he can only think of a 2-3 letter word which should also confine to the grammar of the tune with all that kuRil/nedil/thEmaa/puLimaa stuff.
-A musician given a white paper, like you said can come up with so many things. One advantage the musician has over the lyricst is a song is not just about the main melody. Backing instruments / ludes ellaam pugunthu viLaiyaadalaam.

And my vote is for music and then lyrics too simply because I am not a lyrical.

Softu, to answer your question, I d think composing tune to already written lyrics will be tougher than composing music on a white paper.

26th March 2012, 11:15 PM
I d think composing tune to already written lyrics will be tougher than composing music on a white paper.

Actually, the mechanical process itself will be "easier" (than creating one from emptiness) but to make it "catchy" may be the tougher part :-)

For e.g., give any Bharathiyar song or kuRAL or silambu to a capable composer, they will come up with 4/5 melodies for each verse in a matter of minutes. (On occasions, this was demonstrated by music directors like MSV / IR in public even). However, whether the outcome is as catchy as what they came up purely with musical notes (and no poem) is doubtful.

I've mentioned about this competition that used to run in our college Thamizh mag (http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8541-The-Golden-Era-of-Dr.IR-and-Dr.SPB&p=718724&viewfull=1#post718724) (interestingly, that too had the name 'thenRal', like the popular Thamizh mag in NA) where a poem will be published and students were asked to come up with melody for it. I had seen non-composers, engg students with absolutely no musical background, coming up with very interesting musical patterns at the hostel corridor. It should be a cake-walk for KVM-MSV-Raja-Rahman to put together a "tune" for any pre-written poem.

26th March 2012, 11:20 PM
What's more - nAnE "andheeee mazhai -huhhA -pozhikeeRadhu-huhhA- ovvoru- thuLiyeeelum -unmugam - therikeeeRadhu -aaAH-aaAH-aaAH-aaAh-dhik-dhikkum-dhikkum-dhik-dhikkum-dhikkum-dhik-dhikkum-dhikkum-dhik-dhikkum" appadeennu oru tune pOttuppAdi irukkEn...and many seemed to like it at hostel :mrgreen:

26th March 2012, 11:47 PM
Actually, the mechanical process itself will be "easier" (than creating one from emptiness) but to make it "catchy" may be the tougher part :-)

For e.g., give any Bharathiyar song or kuRAL or silambu to a capable composer, they will come up with 4/5 melodies for each verse in a matter of minutes. (On occasions, this was demonstrated by music directors like MSV / IR in public even). However, whether the outcome is as catchy as what they came up purely with musical notes (and no poem) is doubtful.

I've mentioned about this competition that used to run in our college Thamizh mag (http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8541-The-Golden-Era-of-Dr.IR-and-Dr.SPB&p=718724&viewfull=1#post718724) (interestingly, that too had the name 'thenRal', like the popular Thamizh mag in NA) where a poem will be published and students were asked to come up with melody for it. I had seen non-composers, engg students with absolutely no musical background, coming up with very interesting musical patterns at the hostel corridor. It should be a cake-walk for KVM-MSV-Raja-Rahman to put together a "tune" for any pre-written poem.

you caught exactly wat was in my mind when i asked that question...
thats why i stressed on the term easier... that even ppl who dont hav much of music knowledge could come up with a naive mettu....
to say exact, Rahmans tune for 'thottaal poo malarum' could hav been much painless than the original tune... (i am not comparing here, mind it)

26th March 2012, 11:54 PM
But taking both in *absolute* terms, just given a situation
-A lyricist on white paper can imagine to use all the words that may fit. If he was given a tune - iLaiya nilaa pozhigiRadhE, for the first word he can only think of a 2-3 letter word which should also confine to the grammar of the tune with all that kuRil/nedil/thEmaa/puLimaa stuff.
-A musician given a white paper, like you said can come up with so many things. One advantage the musician has over the lyricst is a song is not just about the main melody. Backing instruments / ludes ellaam pugunthu viLaiyaadalaam.

And my vote is for music and then lyrics too simply because I am not a lyrical.

Softu, to answer your question, I d think composing tune to already written lyrics will be tougher than composing music on a white paper.

i understand... that musician has more scope for creativity... he can even collaborate with other musicians while bringing the music...
but while writing lyrics, most of the times it will be an individual process... ofcourse some director/md's suggestions would take place...
also, the lyricist will be restricted to not use some controversial words, topics in his music... and he need to write related to the situation(ideally) whereas the musician can experiment...

for ur last line, refer my opinion above...

27th March 2012, 01:22 AM
Andhi mazhaiyai vechikittE ivLavu easynaa, adhu kooda illainaa? thaana naana thaana naanaaa thana naanaa nu pOttalE pudhu mettu dhaanE :mrgreen:

27th March 2012, 02:31 AM
Andhi mazhaiyai vechikittE ivLavu easynaa, adhu kooda illainaa? thaana naana thaana naanaaa thana naanaa nu pOttalE pudhu mettu dhaanE :mrgreen:

adhu correct dhAn...because there are so many patterns possible, mettu can come just like that. The tricky part is 'catchiness' 'being likeable to many' etc. That way, having a pre-written lyric limits options to catchiness but free-form gives more freedom to get catchiness (including "senRiduveer ettuththikkum") :-)

27th March 2012, 07:11 AM
"matterukku meter & meterukku matter" (phrase used by MSV-Kavingar combo) both have brought great songs, when the lyricist & MD are capable. So, if you go by past history of TFM, one cannot prove either one is better..It can ... becos less than 5% of songs were written with tune first.

Softu, to answer your question, I d think composing tune to already written lyrics will be tougher than composing music on a white paper.agreed 100%
that is why you have boys in their late teens like anirudh and GSV starting to compose tunes. :lol:

Take ARR for instance. kannukku mai azhagu was pre-written... how beautiful the song is!

27th March 2012, 08:42 PM
It can ... becos less than 5% of songs were written with tune first.

Well, if you have such firm statistics, nothing to argue about :-)

We're glad to have someone who was with every composer-lyricist duo of TFM - from 'mahAkavi kALidAs' to 'kAdhalil sodhappuvadhu eppadi' in the song making sessions :notworthy:

Let's accept the fact :wink:

27th March 2012, 08:51 PM
ae, one doesnt have to be together to know things. ;)
btw, even 5% is too much... do you know the evolution of TFM .... I mean since the very beginning. just a sincere question, not being sarcastic. :)

27th March 2012, 09:28 PM
do you know the evolution of TFM

illeenga :oops:

My theory and limited knowledge :

-initially, the existing 'keerthanai's and such classical stuff were widely used (could be either pAttukku mettu or mettukkuppAttu, since all these were done by one individual who did both lines & mettu)
-lot of imports from stage plays, bhaktippAdalkal, folk songs etc whose origins have not been properly documented (could be either pAttukku mettu or mettukkuppAttu, since origins unknown)
-film composers arranging mettu for existing literature (definite case of pAttukku mettu, no dispute here, but this % in the overall TFM cannot be very high, even if one limits to a last date of 1975 for great songs of TFM :wink:)
-every film song written by Bharathidasan was pAttukku mettu ( he was angry with MSV when he requested him to write a song for a great mettu, 'seruppukku nAn kAlai vetta mudiyAthu' and walked out)
-most songs composed by KVM were pAttukku mettu (per whatever I read here, this seemed to be his preferred method)
-most songs composed by copy cats, like Veda / Shankar-Ganesh, were mettukkuppAttu (source was indhi films, western music etc and not own compositions)

Other than the above, I fail to see how one can conclude for sure whether the song was pAttukku mettu or mettukkuppAttu :confused: Especially those numbers that were built by the formidable kavingar - mellisai mannar combo?

Simply because MSV is a humble man and doesn't talk / write much does not automatically mean that he did servitude to kavingar most of the time. From whatever I read in the hub and elsewhere, they BOTH participated in many song making sessions and all three cases below are possible :
-pAttukku mettu
-mettukkuppAttu
-reNdum getting developed together, with changes / modifications / adjustments etc (I think this should be the max % for this combo)

So, even if we limit to the period upto 1975, we cannot be 100% sure about how many of those great songs were of each category. Even if we take on the face value the statements made by associates (director, producer etc), does anyone have a COMPLETE CATALOG today and has come to an arithematical conclusion / statistics of %?

I'll be glad to view such document and concede - that is for the pre-IR period, where I can be very objective :wink:

28th March 2012, 04:10 AM
So NOV what you are saying is that Rahman, Thaman,GVP etc's output is inferior to old songs (60s and 50s)adhaanE? Agreed :lol: (avalai ninaichchu uralai idithth kadhai )

28th March 2012, 04:14 AM
I'd be happy to see a technical discussion on mettukkupaattu vs viceversa. Not "my daddy is bigger" stuff with dubious stats.

28th March 2012, 04:18 AM
There was an excellent discussion in Brangan's blog years ago on this. Googlemaasters can try to retrieve it - worthwhile than going into a number game and hypothesis without backing logic.

28th March 2012, 07:11 AM
ap, nothing to ashamed of as we are always learning. I asked becos many of the times you have said that you are listening to a popular IR song for the first time. that being the case I was wondering whether you would be aware of the period before IR.
what you have posted above is just a scratch off the surface. I dont think you should come to any conclusion based on it.

anyway, when I asked about the evolution I meant from the period when the songs were recorded live at the shooting spot, with the music troupe following but careful not to appear in the camera.

secondly, are you aware of the scathing remarks made by kannadhasan when asked to write mettukku paattu by MSV for a movie in the 80s? he wrote insipidly but inspite of that the song went on to become a hit? :lol:

in conclusion my vote is always for pAttu first & mettu next :)

28th March 2012, 09:29 AM
I dont think you should come to any conclusion based on it.

That's exactly what I did - i.e. without actual data base, I don't want to conclude one way or other. Since you believe in one to be a fact, the burden to show proof is on you :-)

I agree each of us can have a "preferred way" but that need not be the one that had been proved to be historically, factually, the best way :-)

p.s.
During the recent IR Jaya TV concert in Chennai, rAsA talked about how kavingar instantly wrote lines for his mettu. Which is opposite to his "scathing remarks to MSV" that you referred in your post...just shows that kavingar wasn't consistent in his behaviour :-) So, IMHO, it's not factual to conclude that all his best numbers were automatically 'pAttukku mettu' (or the other way around).

28th March 2012, 09:49 AM
You are assuming too many things ae.
from my "scathing remarks to MSV" and your "kavingar instantly wrote lines for his mettu" you have come to the conclusion " kavingar wasn't consistent in his behaviour"
adhu eppadi konjam kooda logic illaama?

anyway, if you dont wish to know things, its not my loss. :)

28th March 2012, 10:31 AM
adhu eppadi konjam kooda logic illaama?

On one occasion, kavingar hits out against writing mettukkuppAttu.

On another, he showers poem for pre-composed mettu like the flow of a river (Ayiram malarkaLE malarungaL amudha geetham pAdungaL).

Isn't that statistically "inconsistent" behaviour, strictly w.r.t. the topic under discussion (as to what was the "actual" working method of kavingar, not the "preferred method") :-)

I'm looking at this phenomenon purely from a statistical angle...and not straying from logic there :confused:

To me, pAttukku mettu or mettukkuppAttu resulting in a great song had been a random occurence (and not a consistent occurence), influenced more by the people involved rather than the process :-)

Unless hard numbers / data can be shown, we cannot increase the probability of either-ngREn...avvaLavE :-)

28th March 2012, 10:36 AM
And, we're not even talking about another jAmbavAn Valee here who wrote tons of songs for mettu :-)

Though can never be considered equal to kavingar on quality, Mr Rangarajan did have much bigger quantity in TFM history and not all of them were mAnE thEnE stuff only...

28th March 2012, 11:58 AM
Burden of proof lies with you NOV. You are theorising and presenting the last statement of the theorem without any attempt to explain the steps by which you arrived at that. Maybe you are like Ramanujan who scribbled equations just like that in margins of 40 pakka note book and peopole are still trying to prove those. If so, proud to be a member of a forum moderated by you. PiRkAlathula ungaLa paththi interview koduththu sambAdichukuven ;-)

28th March 2012, 03:00 PM
So NOV what you are saying is that Rahman, Thaman,GVP etc's output is inferior to old songs (60s and 50s)adhaanE? Agreed :lol: (avalai ninaichchu uralai idithth kadhai )

epdi kattam kattunaar paattheengalaa...
note pannikkiraen... :lol2:

28th March 2012, 04:47 PM
Plum, edhukku? ae is not interested. I was waiting for him to ask the pertinent questions, but he is only interested in putting his point across.
Sometimes ppl do not listen becos they only want to argue. no loss for me. ;)

I am out of here. :)

28th March 2012, 05:27 PM
nov, apdi ellaam poga koodadhu...
neengal ellaam sollaam #ilayathalaimurai epdi palasa therinjukkradhu?

28th March 2012, 08:07 PM
ok, the cat won't be around...so one more "mouse play"...

In art / creative fields, most often the person is the more influential factor, than the process.

Give even the best poems of the world to a below-average musician, you cannot get classics.

Similarly, below-average poet cannot make a song classic, even if the melody given to him by the composer happens to be at the level of Mozart's symphony.

The above statements are just my opinions and NOT necessarily FACTS.

In case of solid data / stats otherwise, I will be happy to change my humble opinions :-)

It's for readers to decide whether I'm simbly interested in arguing / putting a point across etc and not willing to listen :-)

28th March 2012, 08:22 PM
App - you have been humble all along and not claimed your opinion as a theorem(without proof). Ridiculous that you are being accused as not open to mARRu karuththu. Nov, sorry to say you are the one insisting that your word is fact and maarru karuthu is nonsense

28th March 2012, 08:45 PM
App
Good posts-nga. Just a small disagreement - The marriage of a great tune and a great poem is the ultimate but I don't agree that a great musical composition can be rendered mediocre by bad lyrics. To me, oru composition la mukkiyaamana vishayangal music-saarndhadhu, but lyric is not the biggest aani. Great lyrics are obviously super tohave but not primary. Mozhiyin sandhathula kachidhama ukkaandha podhumaanadhu

Mere "vaarthaigalukku melody" as the definition and even objective of music is outright ridiculous. Music is beyond words and need not be bound by words. Apparam Bach, Mozart ellaam vizhundhu vizhundhu sirippaa!

28th March 2012, 09:03 PM
When I listen to IR's music, I don't concentrate much on the lyrics. I always feel IR's ludes overshadow the lyrics :)

28th March 2012, 09:06 PM
most of the times yes.
but if music is the only important factor for a song, then we need not worry for the diction as long as the song is pitch perfect. illaya?

28th March 2012, 10:02 PM
Softsword
Like I said (speaking for myself), mozhiyin sandham enakku mukkiyam, and hence diction. Adhu illenna I see it as a sell out, laziness or even a compromise of integrity (of course unless it is by design, for the situation)

28th March 2012, 10:06 PM
mozhiyin sandhatthayum naan pitch perfect kulla sertthuttaen...
indhi musiclaam rasikkirappo ennattha mozhi ennattha diction...
but i get what i say.

28th March 2012, 10:26 PM
Some tunes are simple/staccato sandhams but fitting the language - you can't write great lyrics for those. Where does the composer take the song from that tune? Is itby intention or inability?
Simple "trivial" tune, fantastic orchestration
Simple touching tune, minimalistic orch
Complex complex
Complex minimalistic
Ippadi palveru possibilities irukku. Composeroda function idhellaam dhaane?
Why should diction be compromised just because one values compositional qualities like this?

28th March 2012, 10:30 PM
Indhi music rasikkarathukkum idhukkum enna sammandham? :shock:
Though there are universal tunes obviously, indhi kaagave irukkakoodiya tune-a thamizhukku pottaadhaane problem? Illa thiruppugazha indhi/Urdu la podalaamnu solreengala?

29th March 2012, 02:21 AM
I don't agree that a great musical composition can be rendered mediocre by bad lyrics. To me, oru composition la mukkiyaamana vishayangal music-saarndhadhu, but lyric is not the biggest aani. Great lyrics are obviously super tohave but not primary. Mozhiyin sandhathula kachidhama ukkaandha podhumaanadhu

Mere "vaarthaigalukku melody" as the definition and even objective of music is outright ridiculous. Music is beyond words and need not be bound by words. Apparam Bach, Mozart ellaam vizhundhu vizhundhu sirippaa!

Me too agree.
(What was I thinking when I posted that a symphony can be brought down by mediocre poet, even if it was purely in the TFM context :oops:)

29th March 2012, 05:34 AM
Indhi music rasikkarathukkum idhukkum enna sammandham? :shock:
Though there are universal tunes obviously, indhi kaagave irukkakoodiya tune-a thamizhukku pottaadhaane problem? Illa thiruppugazha indhi/Urdu la podalaamnu solreengala?

bala... miscommunication there... or i din put it clearly...
diction compromise'nu naan sonnadhu la, na in place or La, Na...
gavanamaa kaetta thappa padradhu theriyum aana musica kekrapo avlo problema irukkadhu...
adhukkaga dhaan indhiya ilutthaen...
mozhi, ezhutthu edhum theriyaama roobuthera masdhana'nu rasichu paadra madhiri...

14th May 2012, 10:38 AM
Has udit narayan sung in ilayaraja's music?

14th May 2012, 09:34 PM
Yes. In Namma Preethiya Ramu(Kannada version of Kasi).

14th May 2012, 11:48 PM
i) other than "kaatukuyilu manasukkulle" is there any other song together by KJ-SPB

ii) can i know the no. of male duets sung by KJ...... i know spb has sung quite a few with IR, Mano(?), MV

15th May 2012, 08:31 PM
i) other than "kaatukuyilu manasukkulle" is there any other song together by KJ-SPB

google says
"song - irandu kaigal naankanal, film - thrisoolam"
"song - Angayil Iruva (kannada?), film - Pithamaha"

19th May 2012, 02:00 PM
mexico..
thanks for the information .. :)

19th May 2012, 05:23 PM

ii) can i know the no. of male duets sung by KJ...... i know spb has sung quite a few with IR, Mano(?), MV

I think the movie's name is unakkAka nAn (Sivaji & Gemini G), there's a KJY-TMS song :

TMS : Ramu I love you
KJY : Raja I love you

30th May 2012, 02:14 PM
can someone explain me this line

Thoongaamani Vilakkae Thoongaama Thoongu Kannae..

from the song 'aararro aariraro' from the movie siruthai.

does that line have any internal meaning or is it the usual "maane thene" lines added without any special meaning

14th June 2012, 06:03 PM
are there other songs like 'poomalaye thol serava' by IR where the male and female voices alternate throughout the song?

17th June 2012, 12:50 PM
indha padathil innum ethanai get-up change bakki irukku.. :roll:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ITbZ1OrVaTQ/Tvym6cuST6I/AAAAAAAAOlE/Y8jF25DxVjM/s1600/rajapattai+ARV.jpg

30th June 2012, 02:21 PM
rakkamma kayya thattu
rakkamuthu rakku
rakkamma rakku rakku
adi ennadi rakkamma
rakkamma rakkamma poo mudicha rakkamma

are all super hit songs. are there other songs with the word 'rakka' or 'rakku'

2nd July 2012, 11:26 AM
Is Dr.Ramadoss,producer of the Jiiva starrer 'Endrendrum Punnagai',our maruththuvar aiyaa? Because the other producer is the son of GK Mani.

4th August 2012, 08:21 AM
Aboorva sagotharargal-techniques used for short kamal
http://sadeshnehru.blogspot.com.au/2007/12/aboorva-sagotharargal-techniques-used.html

kameshratnam
10th September 2012, 12:41 PM
Has Janakaraj acted in the direction of K Bhagyaraj?

I thought both came from the same school and i dont know Bhagyaraj did not utilise Janagaraj?

10th September 2012, 12:52 PM
Has Janakaraj acted in the direction of K Bhagyaraj?

I thought both came from the same school and i dont know Bhagyaraj did not utilise Janagaraj?

I remember this movie named 'Amma vanthachu'.... It had Kushboo as well

kameshratnam
10th September 2012, 12:55 PM
I remember this movie named 'Amma anthachu'.... It had Kushboo as well

Amma Vantachu

Who directed Veetla Visheshamnga?

10th September 2012, 01:13 PM
Amma Vantachu

Who directed Veetla Visheshamnga?

:) It was a typo ... I have corrected it

VV was directed by Bhagyaraj as well

4th July 2013, 09:46 AM
Question....

In movie poove unakaaga... the end title said singers CHITRA

which song did she sing any idea?
Sollamale.machinichi was Sujatha
sunantha sang anantham anandham
appo chitra edhu??

4th July 2013, 02:35 PM
here is ur answer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poove_Unakkaga

5th July 2013, 08:24 AM
here is ur answer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poove_Unakkaga

I dont think it is right... trying listening to sollamale... it is definitely Sujatha.. and also the heroine singing in stage is not chitra

15th July 2013, 07:09 AM
http://sphotos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/q71/s720x720/993323_10200355159550123_570602162_n.jpg

Bipolar
17th July 2013, 04:47 AM
BTW - does anyone know the name of the actor who played Inspector Khelkat in "Nayagan"? And where is he these days?

13th August 2013, 10:08 PM
Oru question......

Does any one find a resemblance of KaadhalKonden (Nenjodu song) tune in Yaar Indha Saalaioram interludes... or is it only me..

16th August 2013, 06:36 PM
i've a question..

like we have TMS, who sings for mass heroes in Kannada & Telugu... singer with ganeer kural...
i know PBS is used to sing in all 3 languages (tamil, kannada, telugu).. mostly melody.. other than him who else?

narayanan
16th August 2013, 08:59 PM

Aruvi Kooda Jathi Illamal from Gowri Manohari is a KJY-SPB male duet. There is one other KJY-SPB duet in some less known movie, don't quite remember. That said, there aren't many male-male duets to speak of, atleast we would find a good number of female-female duets.

Mouname Nenjil Naalum from Urangatha Ninaivugal can't be categorized as a duet. IR starts off the song, but its more of a KJY solo

i've a question..

like we have TMS, who sings for mass heroes in Kannada & Telugu... singer with ganeer kural...
i know PBS is used to sing in all 3 languages (tamil, kannada, telugu).. mostly melody.. other than him who else?

Are you asking if a singer has sung and been popular in 3 languages or specifically Tamil, Telugu, Kannada?

16th August 2013, 09:03 PM
Are you asking if a singer has sung and been popular in 3 languages or specifically Tamil, Telugu, Kannada?

No..
i'm asking who was doing the job of TMS in kannada & telugu

once SPB came.. he did it in all 3 languages..

Bipolar
28th August 2013, 01:43 AM
Curious... which was the first film to have scenes filmed abroad (i.e. outside India)?

Also curious - which was/were the first film(s) to have scenes filmed in Europe?

Also - any specific reason why - in the late 1990's - they started a trend of filming (especially songs) in Switzerland? I'm assuming it started to become cheaper around that time?

Just curious...

28th August 2013, 11:36 AM
Mouname Nenjil Naalum from Urangatha Ninaivugal can't be categorized as a duet. IR starts off the song, but its more of a KJY solokadalOram KadalOram uppu kadalOram was a male duet having KJY-IR

narayanan
28th August 2013, 01:05 PM
Curious... which was the first film to have scenes filmed abroad (i.e. outside India)?

Also curious - which was/were the first film(s) to have scenes filmed in Europe?

Also - any specific reason why - in the late 1990's - they started a trend of filming (especially songs) in Switzerland? I'm assuming it started to become cheaper around that time?

Just curious...

Interesting! I can recall Ullasa Paravaigal, 47 Natkal being filmed in Europe, both are filmed around 1980-81. I remember 80s had a flurry of movies that were filmed in Singapore and Malaysia: Ninaithale Inikkum, Priya, Thai Mookambigai (first few mins), Ooru Vittu Ooru Vandhu, Enakkul Oruvan.

I'd guess the reasons would be lot of Tamil diaspora settlement which would also mean availability of local manpower and resources, ease of permissions etc. Thats why you'd still see lots of Canada, Switzerland,Malaysia being filmed.

28th August 2013, 02:38 PM
In complement with Narayanan's reply :

Which was the first film to have scenes filmed abroad (i.e. outside India) :
Sivandha Mann (1969) was the first Tamil film made outside India. Then you have Ulagam Suttrum Valiban (1973). After that a series of films mentioned above by Narayanan.

which was/were the first film(s) to have scenes filmed in Europe :
Again Sivandha Mann made in France

Any specific reason why - in the late 1990's :
Thats a complicated question. There are many as in none to get a specific reason. The late 60s, notably early 70s, there were many European countries like France who had brought up several plans to uplift several industries in the upcoming nations. The frontiers were made accesible for the betterment of cultural interchange. The producers and the film makers saw it as a oppurtunity and add in the technology cinema-scope that permitted them exploit this technology and film processing, i.e. outdoor filming. When its out door the most exclusive locations are foriegn locals. Why : because the actors of this period really wanted to entertain their locals who really do not have any mean to explore it themselves.

Coming to the 90s : Thats the mass effect of globalisation. Manpower was shared in the name of promotion that drastically downed the production cost. Also it helped it doing various other buisness notable providing backstage artist for foreign film. Now agents were up front in strategically planning various shoots and share the same resource for a given specific time peroid. It landed up to be an advantageous + profitable venture. By opening several teritories, the entry to the countries were made more flexible permitting a whole unit to travel to the country with group visas. Plus, the tourism and the cultural departement of certain countries were favorable too.

they started a trend of filming (especially songs) in Switzerland :
Swiss is a beautiful part, you got to visit it to experience yourself. But after a while, it did happen that a song was filmed there (thats until the Kuthu Song took its place ... LoL - but some Kuthu Song are made in Swiss).

I'm assuming it started to become cheaper around that time :
I will not coin it as cheaper. It depends on so many factors to call it cheaper or profitable, but surely the accessability was the main reason.

28th August 2013, 02:57 PM
^ Mappi- Neenga oru information Godown!! Narayanan too has provided some useful info... Thanks..

narayanan
28th August 2013, 05:43 PM
mappi, thanks for Sivantha Mann. got this link via Sivantha Mann wiki: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/features/business-of-bollywood/france-attracts-hollywood-bollywood/articleshow/3638478.cms . This explains why the movies I mentioned were filmed in France, I guess even Tik Tik Tik was filmed in France (not sure!). Its not just Switzerland, there are quite a few movies that show Canada as well especially showing the horse shoe of Niagra from the Canadian side. Very few Indian movies are made in US, I can recollect only Jeans, Vettayadu Vilayadu and Vishwaroopam in Tamil (Kamal has 2 of them, no wonder they pulled his leg in Tamil Padam :P). Telugu had Padamati Sandhya Ragam made as early as 1987, this was one movie most Telugu guys mentioned when I was a student.

28th August 2013, 05:56 PM
Very few Indian movies are made in US, I can recollect only Jeans, Vettayadu Vilayadu and Vishwaroopam in Tamil (Kamal has 2 of them, much more Narayanan... Dasavatharam, Achamundu Achamundu, 180, Meiporul, Talam, etc...

narayanan
28th August 2013, 06:03 PM
much more Narayanan... Dasavatharam, Achamundu Achamundu, 180, Meiporul, Talam, etc...

Oops...even forgot Vinnaithandi Varuvaya and Anandha Thandavam

28th August 2013, 06:10 PM
Oops...even forgot Vinnaithandi Varuvaya and Anandha Thandavam
also Vaaranam Aayiram and Sillunu Oru Kaadhal :lol:

28th August 2013, 06:27 PM
guest appearance: Sivaji, Indian

narayanan
28th August 2013, 06:48 PM
guest appearance: Sivaji, Indian

Indian was in Australia IIRC. Especially Telephone Manipol is Sydney I think.

also Vaaranam Aayiram and Sillunu Oru Kaadhal :lol:

Varanam Aayiram yes, but Sillunu oru Kadhal no

28th August 2013, 06:52 PM
Indian was in Australia IIRC. Especially Telephone Manipol is Sydney I think.

Varanam Aayiram yes, but Sillunu oru Kadhal noIn Indian, after the climax (Flight blast), Kamal escaped and call Nedu Mudi Venu from US (I believe so).. koopidra thoorathula thAn irukken :-)

Silunnu Oru Kaadhal - New York Nagaram urangum neram...

28th August 2013, 07:56 PM
Yes, quite a few movies were made in US of A. Many may disagree, but on an artistic sense on filmings the new found land is a mix of classic and modern architecture. Where as Europe has still intact its history. Plus the country side around European countries is quite beatiful and varied during all 4 seasons. Countries like Autralia has its own charm, and more than that its original, but too far in miles. To make a film in US of A, it should be assosiated to the story or a rare song of a person in love with "New York Nagaram urangum neram" else it will not work. How long can we see all the neon lights, logos and ads of marks that we can see in our everyday life in India. And there will surely be the McDonald guy doing a bit or giving flowers.

For the rest anytime a song below Eiffel tower or in the gardens of Lourve or on the alps or at the banks Venice or ariel shots over Sweden or the crooked English streets or fun loving Belgians at the platform or colorfully decorated Madrid during a festival or beside Edinburg castle ... well the list goes on is really wonderful to shoot.

Talking about France, I have already said the the making of Asal was shown on the National news. It was shot entirely at Lyon and Prabhu gave an interview in English.

Bipolar
30th August 2013, 02:54 AM
Dasavatharam was made in the U.S.? I thought the scenes were actually filmed in Malaysia/Singapore? I guess I was wrong...

Thanks for telling me about Sivandha Mann... I'll try and watch this film if/when it's shown on TV... I didn't know about it...

Also, yes, as Narayanan mentioned, there were indeed several Tamil films in the 1980's filmed partly in Malaysia/Singapore, but this was followed by a long period when almost no Tamil films were filmed abroad, right? I mean, aside from "Sivandha Mann" (which I haven't seen), if I remember correctly, the first Tamil films that I know of that had songs filmed in Switzerland were in 1999 - I'm thinking of films like "Rojavanam" (with Karthik, Laila, and Malavika) and "Minsara Kanna" (with Vijay, Khushboo, Monicka, Rambha) - in 1999. Of course, "Indhiyan" in 1996 - had a song filmed in Sydney, were there any others immediately before that?

I guess a simple way of asking the question would be - between "Sivandha Mann" in '69 and "Minsara Kanna" in '99, were there any other Tamil movie songs filmed in the Alps?

30th August 2013, 03:48 AM
1969 to 1999, 30 years is a large time span eventhough we can assume that only few movies were filmed around Alps. Going through the list of films itself would take a while and the missing enclyclopedia of a thorough registration of the history of TFI adds only to the joy. Well, we now basically are much inclined to narrow it down through various inputs of films and songs those which we could recollect. From my ends, I can come up with a strategy to narrow the serach (don't try google, it just ditched me)

Year : 1969 - 1999

Country with keyword Mountain : West of France, South Italy, Swiss, Liechtenstein, Germany, East Austria, Slovenia east also and South of Monaco

General Knowledge : Alps runs for 1200 kms across 8 European countries with its crown mountain Mont Blanc on the French side.

Narrowing : we could eye Mont Blanc, Swiss and Italy parts.

And Google did not completely ditch me - my sweet little google - I came across a site which may interest you. Someone is trying to construct a similar database just like you :

http://www.wherewasitshot.com/browse_by_movies_tamil/

Went through some samples, its quite impressive. Not complete though, I think people are slowly submiting infos.

Brianengab
30th August 2013, 04:39 PM

Went through some samples, its quite impressive. Not complete though, I think people are slowly submiting infos.

wow.. superb link mappi... :thumbsup:

ajipdhej
27th September 2013, 03:26 PM

Yes ... really good one...

2nd October 2013, 09:20 PM
i am after a song that goes like "alavudeenu alavudeenu santhegam venaam naan gentle manu" or something like that... i have a feeling that it was sung by devan ekambaram but i could be wrong

3rd October 2013, 02:38 PM
i was way off... its is alaudin alama alaudin song from the movie chanakya - vadivelu song

Bipolar
12th October 2013, 03:48 AM
By the way, does anyone know - which was the earliest example of "punch dialogue" in Tamil Cinema?

If I'm not mistaken, T Rajendar was the first to start that trend, right? Followed by Liaqat Ali Khan, right?

12th October 2013, 08:36 PM
By the way, does anyone know - which was the earliest example of "punch dialogue" in Tamil Cinema?

If I'm not mistaken, T Rajendar was the first to start that trend, right? Followed by Liaqat Ali Khan, right?

i think many black & white films also had punch dialogues... it depends on the the way you take each dialogue...
i consider Raththakanneer dialogues as punch dialogues...
parasakthi, manohara dialogues.. many of MGR's duel with villains..
if u ask about 1970's.. "idhu eppadi irukku" is also a punch dialogue

12th October 2013, 10:36 PM
[QUOTE=one hero used derogatory language (which cannot be posted here) while referring to the media during the 'Bhuvaneshwari saga' and had to apologize for his actions. He was sure that his career itself was in a jeopardy if he didnt oblige.[/QUOTE]

one hero used derogatory language???

Bipolar
29th October 2013, 03:02 AM
Also been wondering... where's music director SA Rajkumar these days? And music director Sirpi?

29th October 2013, 12:10 PM
Also been wondering... where's music director SA Rajkumar these days? And music director Sirpi?

Few month back seen him @ skywalk in Tshirt & shorts

shankarbharath
30th October 2013, 02:51 PM
SAR is in Kannada industry. Sirpi theriyala

30th October 2013, 04:52 PM
Prabhu Deva’s brother Vishnu Deva

Desi girl Priyanka Chopra has left her fans spellbound with her sensuous dance number “Ram Chahe Leela” in Ram-Leela. Priyanka Chopra comes out in an unbuttoned blouse and a dhoti, drying her hair as the song begins and starts dancing as if no one’s watching.

The number choreographed by Prabhu Deva’s brother Vishnu Deva has already garnered more than 2.7 million views on YouTube within nine days of its release.

Ram-Leela actor who is the sole audience of Priyanka’s modern mujra can’t stop praising the actress and just says, “Can you believe it, I can’t believe it.”

About her item song, Priyanka says, “The composition of the song is very very nice and this will be my favourite song for long long time. It was hard. My feet are cut, my knees are bruised, my thighs are bruised. The song required a lot of discipline, balance and grace.”

Sanjay Leela Bhansali is very particular about each and every step and all Priyanka did was sit and watch Vishnu and Sanjay discuss completely different things together. While Priyanka hopes to live to Vishnu’s expectations, Vishnu Deva confirms Priyanka is a wonderful dancer who catches every step very quickly.

31st October 2013, 02:34 AM
Prabhu Deva’s brother Vishnu Deva

Desi girl Priyanka Chopra has left her fans spellbound with her sensuous dance number “Ram Chahe Leela” in Ram-Leela. Priyanka Chopra comes out in an unbuttoned blouse and a dhoti, drying her hair as the song begins and starts dancing as if no one’s watching.

The number choreographed by Prabhu Deva’s brother Vishnu Deva has already garnered more than 2.7 million views on YouTube within nine days of its release.

Ram-Leela actor who is the sole audience of Priyanka’s modern mujra can’t stop praising the actress and just says, “Can you believe it, I can’t believe it.”

About her item song, Priyanka says, “The composition of the song is very very nice and this will be my favourite song for long long time. It was hard. My feet are cut, my knees are bruised, my thighs are bruised. The song required a lot of discipline, balance and grace.”

Sanjay Leela Bhansali is very particular about each and every step and all Priyanka did was sit and watch Vishnu and Sanjay discuss completely different things together. While Priyanka hopes to live to Vishnu’s expectations, Vishnu Deva confirms Priyanka is a wonderful dancer who catches every step very quickly.

Who is this Vishnu Deva (namakku theriyatha Prabhu deva thambi??

31st October 2013, 03:14 AM
Who is this Vishnu Deva (namakku theriyatha Prabhu deva thambi??

i dont think he is prabhudea's bro. he assisted PD

http://www.prabhudeva.com.sg/wbn/slot/u344/faculty.htm

Bipolar
24th December 2013, 10:39 PM

Does anyone know - who was the oldest actress to play a "youthful" romantic lead in a Tamil film?

e.g. Has any actress played a heroine role beyond the age of 35? (I know Sridevi played the heroine in Devaraagam when she was 33)

Our heroes can play "youthful" roles even when they are over the age of 50 in real life... of course...

I'm just curious, which actress had the longest gap between her first and last "heroine" roles?

Bipolar
25th December 2013, 12:16 AM

I mean... some actors (cough cough coughhhh...) who were playing hero roles in the 1970's are still playing hero roles today...

Any actress from back then who are still playing heroine roles? In fact any actress from 2000-2010 who is still playing a heroine today?

25th December 2013, 01:04 AM

Does anyone know - who was the oldest actress to play a "youthful" romantic lead in a Tamil film?

e.g. Has any actress played a heroine role beyond the age of 35? (I know Sridevi played the heroine in Devaraagam when she was 33)

Our heroes can play "youthful" roles even when they are over the age of 50 in real life... of course...

I'm just curious, which actress had the longest gap between her first and last "heroine" roles?

i've read Ananda vikatan review for "naan vazhaveippen" ... & their comment on lead pair's "youthfulness.." esp. about the heroine..
Sivaji - KR Vijaya ... & the film is produced by KR Vijaya

25th December 2013, 01:05 AM

I mean... some actors (cough cough coughhhh...) who were playing hero roles in the 1970's are still playing hero roles today...

Any actress from back then who are still playing heroine roles? In fact any actress from 2000-2010 who is still playing a heroine today?

trisha ... long lasting.. first lead role, somewhere in 2002-2003.. but appeared in Jodi (1999)... & she had a release last friday

Bipolar
25th December 2013, 05:30 AM
i've read Ananda vikatan review for "naan vazhaveippen" ... & their comment on lead pair's "youthfulness.." esp. about the heroine..
Sivaji - KR Vijaya ... & the film is produced by KR Vijaya

Haven't seen that film... But what sort of roles were they playing? I mean was it like "Thanga Pathakkam" where they were the "lead" roles, but they were not intended to be "youthful" roles?

25th December 2013, 10:31 AM
Haven't seen that film... But what sort of roles were they playing? I mean was it like "Thanga Pathakkam" where they were the "lead" roles, but they were not intended to be "youthful" roles?youth young lovers...
Rajini does a cameo in this
later I will share YouTube video for their love duet

not able to find video .. but got this image.. just see how youthful KR Vijaya is :lol2:

http://i922.photobucket.com/albums/ad67/pulavar/NaanVaazhaVaippen.jpg

geno
29th December 2013, 12:38 AM
ஆகாயம் மேலே பாதாளம் கீழே

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=VRXLD18r8h4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=VRXLD18r8h4)

Movie:Naan VazhaVaippen
Music:Ilayaraja
Singer:Kj Yesudas

geno
29th December 2013, 12:43 AM

Sridevi must have been born 1962. She was atleast 35 when she played Devaraagam(1996).

Bhanumathi was over 35 when she played lead actor role in many of the MGR and Sivaji ganesan movies between 1960 and 63. (she was born in 1925)

Bipolar
29th December 2013, 01:11 AM

So I'm curious...

I wonder how much longer e.g. Shriya Saran and Trisha Krishnan will be on the scene (they're both the same age as me)?

I wish them both very good luck, and I hope to see them around for some time yet.

It will be interesting if we can see some intellingent, sensitive, mature romance films (in Tamil) about thirty-somethings...

Bipolar
14th January 2014, 03:19 AM

Longest Tamil film? (i.e. film with the longest runtime)

Bipolar
14th January 2014, 03:26 AM

Most films by an actor in a leading role in one year? (I heard somewhere that Rajnikanth at one point made 19 films in a year - is that true? If true, were they all lead roles? Anyone surpassed that?)

14th January 2014, 11:32 AM

So I'm curious...

I wonder how much longer e.g. Shriya Saran and Trisha Krishnan will be on the scene (they're both the same age as me)?

I wish them both very good luck, and I hope to see them around for some time yet.

It will be interesting if we can see some intellingent, sensitive, mature romance films (in Tamil) about thirty-somethings...

shriya - almost field out..
trish - will soon join shriya's list..

14th January 2014, 11:41 AM

Most films by an actor in a leading role in one year? (I heard somewhere that Rajnikanth at one point made 19 films in a year - is that true? If true, were they all lead roles? Anyone surpassed that?)

vijayakanth had 18 releases in 1984, all in tamil, & i read it was a record...
i have list.. will share it here
others can confirm for other actors

i have the list for his first 100 films...
serial no. is the film order.. for eg: nooravathu naaL is his 25th film

14th January 2014, 11:49 AM
Longest Tamil film? (i.e. film with the longest runtime)
i don't know.. but i want to share this here..
i've seen a lot of films, but i felt watching "uzhavan" film was tiresome, nothing can beat this (my experience).. recent example is "irandam ulagam"

Bipolar
14th January 2014, 03:56 PM

shriya - almost field out..
trish - will soon join shriya's list..

Shame...

I feel that sometimes women in their late twenties or early thirties can look even more beautiful than in their early twenties... certainly that's the case with Nayanthara (maybe it's just the fact that she's lost some weight in recent years) - I find her more attractive in her recent films - beautiful curves, better make-up, better hair-styling, etc. I would say much the same with Trisha and Shreya actually, in recent films they look more attractive...

Or maybe it's just that in recent years make-up and styling technicians in Kollywood have become more skilled...

I mean in "Chandramukhi", Nayanthara didn't look very attractive at all... same for Trisha in "Saamy"...

Bipolar
14th January 2014, 04:01 PM

vijayakanth had 18 releases in 1984, all in tamil, & i read it was a record...
i have list.. will share it here
others can confirm for other actors

i have the list for his first 100 films...
serial no. is the film order.. for eg: nooravathu naaL is his 25th film

Wow...

So how did they do it back then?

I mean he must have been working on three or four films at the same time... Was that common at the time?

Is it common these days?

14th January 2014, 06:28 PM
Shame...

I feel that sometimes women in their late twenties or early thirties can look even more beautiful than in their early twenties... certainly that's the case with Nayanthara (maybe it's just the fact that she's lost some weight in recent years) - I find her more attractive in her recent films - beautiful curves, better make-up, better hair-styling, etc. I would say much the same with Trisha and Shreya actually, in recent films they look more attractive...

Or maybe it's just that in recent years make-up and styling technicians in Kollywood have become more skilled...

I mean in "Chandramukhi", Nayanthara didn't look very attractive at all... same for Trisha in "Saamy"...

i agree with you on this...
shriya looks more beautiful in recent times, may be in last 4 years unlike the E 20 U 18, mazhai days..
same goes with Trisha.. i too don't like lesa lesa, saamy trish.. but liked mounam pesiyathey trish (exception)..

Nayanthara has become aunty.. she was good in BEB but not in Aarambam

14th January 2014, 06:33 PM

Wow...

So how did they do it back then?

I mean he must have been working on three or four films at the same time... Was that common at the time?

Is it common these days?

it was very common those days.. but not now..
during this time, vijayakanth had a motorbike & used to go to different locations one after the other with very little rest.. almost worked round the clock.. [read from a magazine]..

Bipolar
19th January 2014, 06:40 PM

I am also curious about camera technology in Kollywood, shall we say particularly starting from 1975...

Would anyone be able to give information/details on how this has been evolving/progressing over the years? Especially differences in cost, time taken, etc.

E.g. is film completely out these days? Is digital cheaper? Is it quicker? Size of cameras and associated equipment, etc.?

Bipolar
19th January 2014, 08:02 PM

Does anyone know how film production costs work in Kollywood?

I'm particularly curious to know how costs have changed over the years...

I was born in 1982, so I'm most interested in the history of Tamil Cinema starting from 1980... but why not go back just a few more years... so I'd like to start with trends from 1975...

So, what were the costs for camera work and film processing?

How long did film processing take? Was there any change between 1975 and 2005 (i.e. did processing become quicker/cheaper)?

Would be nice if someone could provide details...

Bipolar
19th January 2014, 08:24 PM

Just wondering if there have been any cinema/theatrical releases in South India of movies made on mobile phones (or "cellular" phones)? If not, then is that likely to happen any time soon?

Also, what's the smallest camera that has been used for cinema/T.V. purposes in Tamil Nadu?

I mean, I was wondering what the production costs would be like for a movie made on a mobile phone camera/hand-held digital video camera with "post-production" done on a laptop...

Another point - for a separate discussion - I feel, as production costs go down, the variety of movies made will be greater, and probably the quality will improve overall, as directors/producers can experiment with scripts which may not appear to have much "commercial" potential (as financial risks will be less severe) - agree or disagree?

Bipolar
22nd January 2014, 03:53 AM

BTW, what's the situation with "Marudhanaayagam"? And I don't fully understand why KH is apparently unable to complete this film while he goes on making other films... The last time I heard him say anything about that particular "project" was when he made a brief passing reference to it in a recent televised interview, stating he had significant financial problems shortly after launching production, but he made no comment on his current intentions, i.e. whether he intends to resume production, etc. Someone stated a long while ago that KH considered the project to be of great "artistic importance" to him, and that all his other projects were primarily intended to shore himself up financially - but it's been in cold storage now for 17 years!

kubrick
25th January 2014, 04:02 PM
I have directed a short film and it is available in Youtube now. Is it possible for me to share it with you guys here? Last time I posted a teaser and someone said it was inappropriate to do so. I really want you guys to watch it and let me know your comments. Possible?

Bipolar
26th January 2014, 09:30 PM

I have directed a short film and it is available in Youtube now. Is it possible for me to share it with you guys here? Last time I posted a teaser and someone said it was inappropriate to do so. I really want you guys to watch it and let me know your comments. Possible?

Go here (http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?10705-My-first-short-film).