4. Jealous of Indra
5. Curse Of Indra
6. Lust, Anger & Greed
7. The Music Messiah
8. Omnipresence
9. Sacrament
10. Musical Redemption

Few text which will be inside the CD booklet

The MUSIC MESSIAH - It was the worst of times, and God was deeply concerned. As He sat in high heaven, all He could hear were the sounds of conflict and violence erupting everywhere on Earth below. In fact, the awful music of discord could be heard spreading, infecting surrounding worlds and all creatures of the universe. It was time, decided God, to let flow His infinite pity and save Earth from impending doom. But wait! What was it that had caused this crisis? Why had humans forsaken unity and love? What could have possibly led them to embrace conflict and hatred, and set them upon a path of self destruction? It was all Indra’s doing. Arrogant Indra had always considered .................................more in CD booklet

Copyright & Publishing 2006 Raja Music Universals/ Exclusive Licensee & Sub Publisher Agi Music, 32B, Jalan BP 6/13, Bandar Bukit Puchong, 47100 Puchong, Malaysia/ T: +60380614121 F: 60380614122/ e:info@agimusic.com /www.agimusic.com All Music composed, Arranged and Produced by Ilaiyaraaja Conductor – Purushothaman/ Sound Engineers - Sethu, Prabakar and Sekhar/ Recorded and Mixed at Prasad Studio, Chennai, India/ Mastered by Boy Radge at Fame Studio, Malaysia/ Story by Agilan Lechaman (Malaysia)/ English translation by Indra Ayyar (USA)/ English courtesy by Shaji, Chennai (india) & Indra/ Ayyar (USA)/ Album Design and concept by Neels at Sumeru Design (Dubai, UEA) ur email here
Project Supervisors Sree & Sivakumar (Shanti Tailoring, Chennai)/ Special Thanks to Prasad Gopal [/tscii:e75496dbaa]

Nitya
20th December 2006, 12:54 PM
I'm sorry, but this sounds blasphemous.

20th December 2006, 12:55 PM
I dunt get it...is it a faux topic or is there such a album by IR? :confused2:

kameshratnam
20th December 2006, 01:09 PM
its an album by IR..previously we used to call it as Moods of Ir...

Vkrish
20th December 2006, 01:45 PM
But "Moods of IR" - was an album with collection of some old songs !!!

Shankar
20th December 2006, 02:47 PM
No Moods of IR is a fresh album. I had a chance to listen to portions of it an year and a half ago. I loved the snippets that I heard.
Kamesh,
Bless you, if this news were true.

Shankar
20th December 2006, 02:48 PM
Nitya,
What's blasphemous ?

Shankar
20th December 2006, 04:33 PM
Can someone post the contact number of shanti tailoring ? I googled and tried the number I got but the number isn't in use it seems.

20th December 2006, 08:41 PM
http://www.agimusic.com/upcoming%20releases/upcoming.html

20th December 2006, 10:01 PM
:bluejump: :redjump: :bluejump:

When when when is it gonna get released :boo:
and from where did you get these texts????

20th December 2006, 10:13 PM
WAY WAY TO GO IR!

it is precisely such conceptual stuff that HCIR Fans like me have ALWAYS been FERVENTLY looking forward to!

Guys, not many know/understand the most subtlest and sublimest of all our philosophical traditions - in an age torn by grief and strife, we need more such ventures which without sounding 'preachy' will, to some extent awaken the dormant faculties in us

btw, is it "Jealous of Indra" or "JealousY of Indra" ? and which Indra ? the Indra we all know as 'varuna' bhagawan or the Indra/ Ayyar who has contributed to the English version :D :-P ;)

Shankar
21st December 2006, 08:54 AM
>>>>>>
the Indra we all know as 'varuna' bhagawan
<<<<<<

Ooops....Indra was NEVER known as varuna bhagawan :-)

Indra - KIng of Devas
Varuna - The lord of wind
Agni - The fire Lord

22nd December 2006, 12:50 AM
Shankar - thanks for the correction! musta got carried away with the news!

Shankar
22nd December 2006, 10:39 AM
Here we go...The samples are promising.

http://www.boxmusiq.com/about.html

I had listened to the 2'nd and 3'rd pieces a coupla years back.

Shankar
22nd December 2006, 10:49 AM
I think the piece called "The music messiah" had Prasanna playing the electric guitar.

Shankar
22nd December 2006, 11:04 AM
Track 10, I think would be worth the money. Sounds very interesting. synth konjam koRaichirundhA nanna irundhirukkum

22nd December 2006, 11:21 AM
:D thalai apdiye 1st symphonyum release pannitta jenmasaabalyam adaivom :victory:

jagannn2210
22nd December 2006, 12:31 PM
Shankar : Thanks a lot for the mp3 sample links !

The publicity is hopeless and god knows as to why they are hiding to advertise..

I only hope he should have used live strings..

Track 5 reminds me of the music used for the introductory session of IR's live concert for jaya TV .

Any news on when the album is released ?

teja
22nd December 2006, 02:14 PM
Thanks Shankar.

Track 1, Track 2 and Track 10 are very similar (with minor variations) to the theme tracks from Guru (Malayalam).
Is this a new album or did they just rename Guru's OST as 'the music messiah'?

Shankar
22nd December 2006, 02:38 PM
Teja,
I don't have GURU's score, so I can't comment. To me it looks like a fresh album. Guru definitely didn't have (a bit fast) blues kind of score (track #8) or a feel of Jazz (those Jazz piano work in track 5 accompanied by violins).

I don't think this is GURU's score.

kameshratnam
22nd December 2006, 03:14 PM
Yes 1 st track is like guru title music

The credits music bgm of IR's andrum indrum endrum show is also there

One is where it shows the musicians performing and the track 6 is the ending episode music of IR s show in jaya tv..(episode 2 end music)

22nd December 2006, 03:23 PM
I think jayatv took it from IR's album....first track needs to be listened again...:D

Vkrish
22nd December 2006, 05:53 PM
I enquired AGL music, chennai ph: 044-42658131 and heard that the album is launching on 7th Jan and will be available in all retail outlets :)

As jagann as pointed out, the publicity is absolutely hopeless !!! :(

22nd December 2006, 09:50 PM
Some of the music pieces seems to be heard before :(
May be as this was composed long back in the late 90's he used some of the bits here and there in movies and now though the album is new the music it contains may turn out to be nothing new. Lets wait and see!

22nd December 2006, 09:51 PM
I just listened to the track samples - some of them suck IMHO! at least keeping in mind the titles of the tracks, I expected some really sublime stuff without any of the synth stuff - there are some lengthy interesting portions, but pieces like "Jealousy of indra" and "curse of Indra" suck bigtime - at least the portions that have been uploaded as samples - perhaps, they should not have named the tracks - by naming them as they have, gave me expectations! probably because, am listening to lots of conceptual stuff from Philip Glass, the motion picture soundtracks of John Williams, John Barry, Jerry Goldsmith, Alan Sylvestri (the socre for "Abyss" is brilliant - if you have seen the actual movie, u will understand), Bernard Hermann (his "Psycho" suite is mind-blowing! the high-pitched screaming of the strings is absolutely original trend-setting stuff which later even inspired the likes of John Williams!), Danny Elfman and Gabriel Yared - Yared is a very interesting self-taught composer like IR and some of his works are very innovative but take time to grow

so what I expected from IR was something of such standards - the use of synth and that too in such puzzling combos sounds odd to me - and to top it all the naming of the tracks gives one an impression of something really hifi and at least the samples uploaded didnt match my expectations

22nd December 2006, 10:04 PM
listening to the tracks again carefully -

"Curse of Indra" sounds like a poor cousin of Mumbai Xpress Theme Music - what is Jazz doing with Indra's curse ?

"Jealousy of Indra" - the way it sounds it should have been named "the baffoonery of Indra" - thats the kind of music IR usually gives for a Goundamani-Senthil comedy situation in movies! why is this track named thus ?

"Sacrament" - it is a rite that mediates divine grace, constituting a sacred mystery. The root meaning of the Latin word sacramentum is to "make sacred" (which I reckon would be the equivalent of our kovil "prasadam") - that being the case, this track should have been the equivalent of "musical prasadham" (a la some of the tracks from India 24hrs or the challenging melodies of Composer's breath from IR's Nothing But Wind, or even better, the stunning twists of any of the tracks from How To Name it? )- the track with this name hardly gives (at least me) the deeper subtler meaning of sacrament!

22nd December 2006, 10:13 PM
The last track is the kind of stuff I HAVE ALWAYS EXPECTED IR TO COME UP WITH! the humming followed by the most softest of strings section ! wow - why couldn't the whole album have been like this, using strings to express the deeper meaning of all the titles given ?

for a HCIRF, his music has always been a metaphor for so many things inexplicable! even when he has given mediocre (by his standards of course) score, the metaphorical element is palpable in its musical expression

remember the piece which starts with the flute and then expands into a vast orchestral score with strings et al., and then interspersed with a nadhaswaram in "How To Name It" ? or the interludes of "thai maavin thanalil" from "YAATRA MOZHI" ? those pieces always invokes in me, the beauty of the lush green countryside in S.India (be it Kerala or Tamil Nadu)! such musical metaphors of IR are splattered throughout his musical output, something parallel to the kind of van Gogh's mad genius!

How I wish someone from TFM DF sits with IR and then perhaps inspire him to do scores like these ?

23rd December 2006, 07:55 AM
Whilst we can lament the continuuing poor publicity to IR albums, including one for the latest Music Messiah, which is an instrumental album releasing after India 24 hrs, we should at least be glad that such albums are at least getting to see the light of the day. Viral marketing, anyone?

I find the samples to be very promising. Yes, some of these tracks appear to be further exploration of the Guru (Malayalam) theme, however they are not exactly the same. Looks like Budapest Symphony Orchestra played the score.

Hope this initiative gets the support and reaches to the masses.

23rd December 2006, 08:13 AM
ir123 sir...i do understand your fustration for expecting a western classical bonanza from IR after proving himself in thiruvasagam...but i think you must take very strong note that IR is not just limited to WCM.

Why cant jazz be used to implement for the curse of indra...WCM is not the only musical form that can express emotions..any other music as well...remember that IR is no musician who only knows one genre...he is a mass experimenter with specialisation in various music genres....perhaps the synth is glaring on the ears but the orchestration makes it up for it.

Ditto for the rest of tracks....btw...the mumbai jazz theme is not really original...kamal was once listening to a "unreleased track" that had this jazz theme and he asked IR to put this for the movie...so you can see where this unreleased track came from :D

23rd December 2006, 08:15 AM
:D thalai apdiye 1st symphonyum release pannitta jenmasaabalyam adaivom :victory:

If he does that i dunt care whether he does any more film albums..ithu veichiyey naanga avaroda ninaivugaloda irukkulaam..when john scott described the symphony..i was expecting a very emotional based symphony with various instrumentations in different formats...:D

kameshratnam
23rd December 2006, 09:08 AM
1. Moods of Ir is ready since 1999..the release was delayed known only to the people of the one way website

2. I was told that the producers of the album has to deal with the different moods of IR as usual...

3. The cost of Rs 350 is definitely high..no wonder mp3 versions wud be out soon.

4. Publicity as usual is a waste..its only we the fans of ir who spread this message

How many times shd i tell people to make use the music exhibition in sankara hall..Its falling on deaf ears..

5. Live in italy cd cud have been sold at music outlets in chennai and i dont know why it was nt done

crvenky
23rd December 2006, 10:31 AM
I heard the samples. Its slightly disappointing as 90% of it is rescored from Guru BGMs. I could not notice any extensive rework on the theme/score. However, the samples are too short to decide anything. Lets hope that the full album offers something new to enjoy. As irir mentioned, the names does not match with the music.

23rd December 2006, 11:43 AM
2. I was told that the producers of the album has to deal with the different moods of IR as usual...

An apt name for the album indeed.

kameshratnam
23rd December 2006, 04:20 PM
Vijay r ..yes its an apt name

As CRV said all these are Guru remakes..so good hear it

Shankar
23rd December 2006, 07:12 PM
>>>>>>
The last track is the kind of stuff I HAVE ALWAYS EXPECTED IR TO COME UP WITH! the humming followed by the most softest of strings section ! wow - why couldn't the whole album have been like this, using strings to express the deeper meaning of all the titles given ?
<<<<<<

Well, I too have a lot expectation from this piece...However, I just wish Raja showed more of his Blues and Jazz skills in those numbers I had mentioned earlier than WCM....Jazz numbers can be equally expressive. Try and listen to Miles davis' brilliant works.

Shankar
23rd December 2006, 07:12 PM
Can someone provide me the GURU BG Score ?

Shankar
23rd December 2006, 07:17 PM
One problem in Raja's WC scores I find is that he has a huge set of brilliant motifs but never develops it to a complete theme (I attribute this to the limited scope of 3-4 minutes in a song or a scene). This probably is the reason why WCM experts won't give credit to Raja if his albums are played to them.

To tap the full potential of his brilliant patterns, Raja should expand them to a full score in an album such as this. I just hope Raja has done this with GURU score in this album. However, at least 2-3 pieces in this album don't seem to be inspired by the guru score.

IMO, the only piece where he did this is Mozart I love you from NBW. That, IMO, is the best instrumental score Raja has done.

23rd December 2006, 11:15 PM
talking of orchestral scores, Jurassic Park had a terrific orchestral score by John Williams! as Shankar has mentioned, it is time IR develops some of his brilliant motifs into complete themes

Shankar
24th December 2006, 12:47 AM
irir123,
The fugue (birthday Sunday) in Jurassic park is a superb case in point ! Fantastic film work in the Baroque mould. JW has a nice balance...His scores are classical but liked by general listener bcos he doesn't take his themes beyond the average listener.

Philip Glass on the other hand is an opposite of JW. His style is minimal but effective music. One of the living legends, this man. His classical works are brilliant.

crvenky
24th December 2006, 10:20 AM
Shankar, I have teh Guru BGMs uploaded in Maestromagic@gmail.com (the access password is 'irbgms').

kameshratnam
25th December 2006, 08:50 AM
A lot of people from the US have come for their holidays to india.especially tamilnadu and chennai..

Can this release happen before Jan 7th ....??

Shankar
26th December 2006, 10:34 AM
crvenky,
It says the passwd is wrong. Can you pls pm me ?

crvenky
26th December 2006, 03:05 PM
Shankar, the password is same: irbgms
Gmail a/c are maestromagic@gmail.com and maestromagic2@gmail.com.

kiru
26th December 2006, 03:37 PM
One problem in Raja's WC scores I find is that he has a huge set of brilliant motifs but never develops it to a complete theme (I attribute this to the limited scope of 3-4 minutes in a song or a scene). This probably is the reason why WCM experts won't give credit to Raja if his albums are played to them.

Right, probably this is the definition of classical music. I dont know why IR does not do this. Even thiruvaasagam was a disappointment for me in this aspect. For eg. if you listened to say, Beethovens 5th' even anywhere in the middle, you would recognize it. Thats how 'strong' the theme is or how expertly developed are the variations.
Maybe IR is a popular musician by heart, who knows the fundamentals of classical music and how to manipulate it, but gets the thrill out of entertaining the big crowd.

I had different expectations for this album. The word 'Mood' conjured up images of melodies of eera vizhi kaaviyangal etc. Ofcourse, I expected them with a WCM treatment. This racy, rhythm driven synth stuff is, er..frankly, a disappointment. Hope the complete tracks do atleast a little better.

kiru
26th December 2006, 03:44 PM
Recently, I was listening to a lot of Rahman songs selectively from my computer/music streaming device on my main audio system. I was really having fun. The sounds were novel, the rhythms catchy, the melodies have good 'decorations' etc.
The moment I switched to an IR song, the difference was stark. I think, the song was, 'andha naaL naabagam' from adhu oru kanaa kaalam. The starting bit/prelude in this song sets the 'nostalgic' mood for the rest of the song. The focus of IR's music seems to be the 'emotional impact'. (whereas Rahman seems to go for the 'sonic impact' - novel fresh etc. and I think this sells better :-))

Now if this 'emotional impact' is delivered to you like a gentle breeze with a mass of violins...wow..yes, I am just echoing some of the same wishes you guys have expressed..orchestral score with melodic/emotional impact but well developed like say, 'a full meals' instead of a quick lunch or variety rice. that is what I want too..

26th December 2006, 11:09 PM
Guys I recently listened to a great solo pianist's debut CD "Transcendent Voyage" and it has the following list of tracks:

1. Free Spirit
2. Dance of Enchantment
3. Beach Walking
4. Tropical Afternoon
5. Joy
6. Candlelight Fantasy
7. Irish Sailor
8. Elfin Melody
9. I'll Be Bach
10. Unity
11. Forest Echoes
12. Two Journey Within

Each track is aptly/perfectly named - the track Forest Echoes gives you the perfect ambience of a mist-filled forest with amazinf motifs developed on the piano, WITHOUT any tacky usage of forest-like sounds from a keyboard!

Thats the kind of stuff that I expect from IR - especially at this stage/age! is there noone at all, who can take these things across to him - (

26th December 2006, 11:12 PM
[tscii:c913978de5]and here is a description of the pianist composer's (name is Silvard)style:

"The style of Silvard’s original compositions has been called neo-classical, contemporary adult and New Age. But then some of his music is played on “smooth jazz” radio stations. Perhaps it is easier to describe his style by doing what the critics have already done: comparing it to the music of present-day greats such as George Winston, David Lanz, Enya, and Yanni. Most of his pieces “could have been written” by any of these composers. Some compositions, however, have a more playful, upbeat character, in a style akin to Jim Brickman’s; others sound like they could have been written by Rogers & Hammerstein. A few compositions by Silvard have a truly classical flavor (and rightfully bear titles such as “Mozartasia” and “I’ll be Bach”). And finally, very different yet, he has composed a ragtime piece named after a genus of (what else?) marine, intertidal gastropod: the “Littorina Rag!”"

IR needs this kind of publicity and exposure!
[/tscii:c913978de5]

krish244
29th December 2006, 05:47 PM
http://www.hindu.com/2006/12/29/stories/2006122915930200.htm

Says "THE MUSIC MESSIAH" will be released on Jan 7th.

Krishnan

29th December 2006, 09:24 PM
Hope this album is well received, despite its low profile release. Word of mouth publicity can definitely help.

Being mastered in Malaysia, the recording quality must be very good and I am looking forward to buying the CD when it releases in January.

I guess copycats like Joshua Sridhar must also be eagerly awaiting its release... and soon we may hear these tracks in some Tamil movies as BGM score.

Shankar
2nd January 2007, 10:22 AM
>>>>
I guess copycats like Joshua Sridhar must also be eagerly awaiting its release...
<<<<

Ooops...When did this guy join the long list of copycats ? :-)

2nd January 2007, 05:26 PM
Don't get me wrong here guys - This album no way matches with the previous non-filmi albums ..Not from the perspective of music ,but the effect the other non-filmi IR albums had was so spiritual/calm/soothing that i can't accept this ..

But it does create some excitement ,though

2nd January 2007, 11:30 PM
MumbaiRamki,

Have you listened to the full album?

Shankar
3rd January 2007, 10:03 AM
>>>>>
This album no way matches with the previous non-filmi albums ..Not from the perspective of music ,but the effect the other non-filmi IR albums had was so spiritual/calm/soothing that i can't accept this ..
<<<<<

While I too feel the same, I will reserve my comments till I listen to the album completely. If the numbers 10, 2 & 3 live up to their promise, it will be an album worth buying.

3rd January 2007, 11:07 AM
Raja bhai ,
NO - i have not listened ..from the samples ,i got this feeling ..If this is a rip from GURU score ,i don't expect it to be like NBW -as far as the spiritual feeling is considered.

4th January 2007, 07:15 AM
[tscii]http://www.hindu.com/2006/12/29/stories/2006122915930200.htm

It is about how the sounds of crisis give way to harmonious melody. The age-old story about restoration of unity and love by pushing away the conflicts and discord comes in a compact disc. The music is by maestro Ilaiyaraaja.

`The Music Messiah' will be released on January 7 at the South Indian Film Chamber of Commerce by Malaysia-based Agi Music. Based on western musical terms, the album is a smooth blend of two categories — soundtrack and world music. It has 10 tracks complete with a storyline.

The company has also signed a publishing deal with the composer in order to protect the intellectual property rights of his entire musical work. The new album will be available in India, Singapore, Malaysia, Canada and Dubai. For audio samples and details, log onto www.boxmusiq.com or www.agimusic.com

Agilan Lechaman
Agi Music Sdn Bhd

4th January 2007, 07:34 AM
I wanted to post the invitation card here, but for some reason, my photobucket is painfully slow. :roll:
so, here it is...

The Music Messiah
A Musical Album by ILAIYARAAJA

Album Launching Function

Date: 07/01/2007 (Sunday)
Time: 6.00 pm
Venue: Film Chamber, 605 Annasalai, Chennai-6

Album launched by: Balu Mahendra
Received by: Pandiarajan (ma foi)
Special guests: Nasser, Cheran, Saran, Na Muthukumar
Compering by: Hema Sinha

4th January 2007, 07:45 AM
[html:74f76fcf1d] http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h42/N_O_V/themessiahwebinvite.jpg [/html:74f76fcf1d]

4th January 2007, 07:52 AM
[tscii:d765a2bece]
Copyright & Publishing 2006 Raja Music Universals/
Exclusive Licensee & Sub Publisher Agi Music, 32B, Jalan BP 6/13, Bandar Bukit Puchong, 47100 Puchong, Malaysia/
T: +60380614121 F: 60380614122/ e:info@agimusic.com /www.agimusic.com
All Music composed, Arranged and Produced by Ilaiyaraaja Conductor – Purushothaman/
Sound Engineers - Sethu, Prabakar and Sekhar/
Recorded and Mixed at Prasad Studio, Chennai, India/
Mastered by Boy Radge at Fame Studio, Malaysia/
Story by Agilan Lechaman (Malaysia)/
English translation by Indra Ayyar (USA)/
English courtesy by Shaji, Chennai (india) & Indra/ Ayyar (USA)/
Album Design and concept by Neels at Sumeru Design (Dubai, UEA)
Project Supervisors Sree & Sivakumar (Shanti Tailoring, Chennai)/
Special Thanks to Prasad Gopal :clap:

you can see many familiar names in the list above...
familiar as in past and current TFM page participants. :D[/tscii:d765a2bece]

Shankar
4th January 2007, 09:42 AM
NOV,
Gopal Prasad thavira vEra "namma" kAla DFers YAru ?

4th January 2007, 10:03 AM
Gopal Prasad thavira vEra "namma" kAla DFers YAru ?Sree is vagulabhaskaran, my one time net thambi and fellow perumal piththan. :D
Sivakumar is PS
neels, sollavE vEndaam
and agilan.... :redjump:

4th January 2007, 11:28 AM
I recognized most of the names there. Although Sree was actively involved in raajangahm I dont think he was a regular poster here. Neels = Neels D? Has been missing for a while.

PS is a genuine surprise. I thought he was still in US.

Indra Ayyar (along with Hari Govindan) have been regular contributors to IR-related writeups even in the past

NOV, do you happen to know what their role was as "project supervisors"?

4th January 2007, 12:14 PM
Although Sree was actively involved in raajangahm I dont think he was a regular poster here. :notthatway:
he was a subdued poster of the 1997s/1998s. no outlandish or controversial remarks from him. I wouldnt have known Sree if not for TFM pages.
in fact agilan came looking for me after having spoken to Sree. :lol:

NOV, do you happen to know what their role was as "project supervisors"? no sorry.

4th January 2007, 02:15 PM
I think Neels and NeelD are different persons. NeelD is very much active in VJ and TFM Pick of the week threads. Neels is an IR fan where as NeelD is a VJ fan

Shankar
4th January 2007, 02:48 PM
>>>>
Sivakumar is PS
<<<<

NOV,
I am 100% sure it is not PS !!! PS is in the US (chicago and I chat with him almost everyday) .

I think this sivakumar is MSK (But I think, MSK is also in the US. Doesn't MSK post with a different name in the forum these days ?).

I dont' know Indra Ayyar. Don't remember reading his/her posts.

Shankar
4th January 2007, 02:49 PM
Dig:
Nov,
Has sree moved back to India from Canada ?

rooky
4th January 2007, 10:25 PM
About Music messaiah release

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/jan-07-01/04-01-07-music.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/28246.html

5th January 2007, 12:55 AM
"Project Supervisors Sree & Sivakumar (Shanti Tailoring, Chennai)" - if the Sree and Sivakumar are the SREE and SIVAKUMAR that I am aware of, then this is my take: I thought guys in the IT sector were doing well in (even though they might have come back from the US) in India! since when did qualified hitech guys take to tailoring as a profession, unless of course they are doing it as a hobby!

writeface
6th January 2007, 04:16 AM
Shankar:

Sree did move back to India shortly after Prasad Gopal moved to India.

As far as I know MSK is no longer part of Raaja.com. I don't think MSK is the Sivakumar mentioned in the credits.

In one of the links posted for this project I found a credit to the poet Manushya Puthiran. I am surprised to see his involvement in a project like this. I wonder what he did for this project.

I hate the title music messiah. I wish it is retitled with a sense of modesty.

Wf.

kameshratnam
6th January 2007, 11:57 AM
I hope the album comes out well and reaches the audience

I hope no one call this project
Idu enna Mess ayyah

Vysar
6th January 2007, 09:22 PM
self proclaimed title to counter awarded "mozart" of asia. Modesty is a virtue and we cannot expect that from Mess Iah!!!!

raja_fan
6th January 2007, 10:10 PM
Vyasar ayyaa,

Romba nallaa sollitteenga..Poiyi paduthu thoongunga.

7th January 2007, 06:52 AM
These days album titles are usually given by the music labels and those who are packaging it. In this case, the title seems to hold the story/ theme together. I don't think IR is referred to the Music Messiah here.

7th January 2007, 08:26 AM
:exactly: SVN sir...the music messiah title has to do with the storyline of how music elevates melancholy and a supposedly troubled atmosphere in that story..thus named as music messiah. People just love to bash IR without even looking at proper sources or with proper understanding :lol2:

raja_fan
7th January 2007, 11:11 AM
A pop music sound specialist is called the "Mozart of Chennai". Only God knows what Mozart has to do with pop music or what this guy has to do with Mozart :)

Such is the pathetic condition of music appreciation in this country ! So it is not a big fault if someone calls IR "music messiah" because he is truly a messiah for music to crores of people in South India atleast.

7th January 2007, 01:42 PM
Raja_fan let us not bring ARR into the context..vysar did not even see the album and its storyline properly and deduced that this had something to do with IR...ARR neva calls himself mozart of chennai...it is called by his fans and the press...i think he is called mozart because of the way he has taken india and the abit globally by storm :D

7th January 2007, 08:54 PM
Raja_fan let us not bring ARR into the context..vysar did not even see the album and its storyline properly and deduced that this had something to do with IR...ARR neva calls himself mozart of chennai...it is called by his fans and the press...i think he is called mozart because of the way he has taken india and the abit globally by storm :D

Amen.

BTW Y'Day was ARR birthday. Birthday wishes to ARR from IR fans.

7th January 2007, 11:48 PM
[tscii:cdb2193e9b]I just read this interesting article on an upcoming composer Alexandre Desplat, who has composed for movies like “Syriana” “The Queen” and “The Painted Veil” and is being touted as a potential "Oscar nominee"!

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/07/movies/07burl.html?_r=1&ref=awardsseason&oref=slogin

there are a couple of things that come to my attention here:

1.The way/manner in which music compositions/scores are described/commented upon by film critics in the West is COMPLETELY different from what our critics are capable of!

2. Even though IR is miles ahead of anyone else in the Indian context (and perhaps several other composers in the West too) in the score department, the DISTINCT LACK of critics knowledgeable enough to understand his contribtuions and articulate enough to comment on them, has been a big drag! - IMHO, the one person who is both articulate, talented and knowledgeable enough to carry the 'take-home' message that IR is someone special in the music score department, is one Mr.Kamal Hassan!

3. Just look at the way Desplat's scores are described -
QUOTE: "He wrote and recorded the score for “The Queen” in just three weeks, after Stephen Frears, the film’s director, decided another composer’s score wouldn’t work. “The first thing I said to Stephen was, ‘It’s very tricky,’ ” Mr. Desplat said on a recent visit to Los Angeles. “You can’t go too dark, too suspenseful, too funny or too sweet. What I felt was necessary was music with some grandeur and elegance, but still wit. It’s a witty movie.”-UNQUOTE

doesnt that sound very familiar! I mean dont we know that IR has been doing similar stuff for more than 20 years![/tscii:cdb2193e9b]

rooky
8th January 2007, 01:51 PM
Music messaiah Released

http://www.hindu.com/2007/01/08/stories/2007010817440200.htm

8th January 2007, 02:14 PM
Anyone heard the full album ???

vigneshram
8th January 2007, 02:31 PM
CDs will be available in music stores from tuesday.
I Called AgiMusic and confirmed that they have the CDs ready for those preordered. So, Will be getting a copy this evening.

itsmuls
8th January 2007, 03:26 PM
The Music Messiah launched
IndiaGlitz [Monday, January 08, 2007]

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/28309.html

Fliflo
8th January 2007, 11:34 PM
Music Messiah Album Launch Gallery

http://www.kollywoodtoday.com/gallery/categories.php?cat_id=454

Shankar
9th January 2007, 09:42 AM
self proclaimed title to counter awarded "mozart" of asia. Modesty is a virtue and we cannot expect that from Mess Iah!!!!

Definitely more modest than the guy who shamelessly accepted the title Mozart....Since serious WCM listeners don't attach much importance to these titles, he's left alone....Had he been called "thiagayyar of T Nagar" or something like that our society wud've risen crying "blasphemy!!"

BTW, who awarded this "mozart" thing ?? Bharatbala ??

10th January 2007, 10:58 AM
The Mozart thing is just something the press created as a catchy nickname. You never see it in movie credits or anything. No need to overthink it.

kameshratnam
10th January 2007, 11:25 AM
the funniest thing is that he was given it for the
album bombay dreams. BD by itself as was not an original album. He reused many of his songs and took over 6 months to a year to make it happen....

Shankar
10th January 2007, 12:31 PM
sari vudunga indha kuppayai indha thread En kiLara vENdum...oru smart**s vambukku izhuththAr, respond paNNiyAchu...Mozart, moLgabajji ellAm avarOda jAlrAs vecha pEru num ellArukkum therinjadhu thAnE...arr Oda composing thiranai pArAttaradhOdu niRuthittu Raja Oda album kku vecha pErai nakkaladikkAmal than vElaiyai avar pAthuNdu irundhirundhAl problem edhuvum vandhirukkAdhu.

10th January 2007, 07:53 PM
Any reviews for this CD? Any pointers to where the CD is sold in U.S.?

10th January 2007, 08:04 PM
I believe four of the tracks are adaptations from guru soundtrack..i have a specific interest in omnipresence track..the latin guitar has abit of a huanting feel in that track..quite interesting :D

The publicity for the album is at a all time low...and theres no online site to view the songs without downloading.

crvenky
10th January 2007, 09:50 PM
I bought my personaly copy of this album and heard it two times so far. In layman terms, this is nothing but the full BGM of Guru released as an album. But Maestro has made embellishments in many places. Only technical gurus can discuss about this. Sound quality is good but I feel this as more electronic sounds than acoustic. I feel it has dark and eerie mood also.

As Hulkster said, there are some good guitar bits in one of the tracks (sorry, the tracks names have not yet registered in mind) - which is the only new addition. Also I am yet to hear it with the CD's storyline in mind. So upto now, it takes me to the relevant scenes in the movie Guru.

Overall, this is a very good album for Raja fans.

Vkrish
11th January 2007, 11:36 AM
So, Can we expect similar albums with Original Sound tracks of Hey Ram, Kaalapani, PM, MX ... as part 2, 3 etc :)

11th January 2007, 01:32 PM
Any idea where we can listen to the songs?

Shankar
12th January 2007, 12:27 PM
crvenky,
Is the CD available in Bangalore (in case you know) ?? ...Can someone from Blr tell me where to get this ?

Vysar
13th January 2007, 04:47 AM
ARR songs have been nominated for Oscars but IR songs never even nominated for RASBERRY. Before TIS released there were lot of talks about Grammy then it fizzled. Proabably IR called Grammy and Oscar commitee like he did for our own National Award and requested not to nominate him may be.

13th January 2007, 08:12 AM
Vysar...ARR songs were sent for submission by the indian board committee...if the indian board committee wished they could have sent many of IR's old gems but they did not..but thats out of the point and its a delightful matter that ARR is also in the run for the nominations for the oscars.

May i know why your suddenly making trouble? Please refrain from making such comments unless you have real interest in them. Perhaps they may say grammy but IR has long said this album is not being aimed for a award. The biggest recognition here is renowned technicians like richard mixing the songs and stephen schwartz writing the lyrics..thats shows the respect the western world has for IR as well. :D

buddysathi
13th January 2007, 11:37 AM
seruppadi + saaniadi.

rooky
13th January 2007, 01:51 PM
ARR songs have been nominated for Oscars but IR songs never even nominated for RASBERRY. Before TIS released there were lot of talks about Grammy then it fizzled. Proabably IR called Grammy and Oscar commitee like he did for our own National Award and requested not to nominate him may be.

May be ARR has the influence to get himself nominated there :)

13th January 2007, 06:26 PM
May i know why your suddenly making trouble?

Vyasar used to be HC IR fan. After he heard few TIS incidents he went anti IR. Its okay. We have may Vyasar here and dont bother to answer them.

I keep saying it again and again and will say one more time (for vyasars) that nomination, award everything is an evolution. MSV didnt get even a national award, but Vidyasagar got NA, does it make MSV worst than VS? Think about it, you have more media, more awareness and the reason why more nomination and if you are the lucky winner, more awards.

Vysar
14th January 2007, 04:37 AM
Perhaps they may say grammy but IR has long said this album is not being aimed for a award. The biggest recognition here is renowned technicians like richard mixing the songs and stephen schwartz writing the lyrics..thats shows the respect the western world has for IR as well. :D

It is not respect buddy, we as fans raised dollars to fullfil one mans ego. If you would remember those days I still remember someone still asking for funds to pay those richards and stephen schwartzs. Even if I go with money any one will write a lyrics and mix music for me. Again it is not for respect it is money.

14th January 2007, 01:13 PM
Vysar May i know who came asking for funds?..If stephen schwartz and richard were not paid then how come there was no sound?..you will believe a person who just randomly comes here and makes noise saying he needs funds to pay and bla bla but you wunt believe the people who were actually involved...intha mathiri na vaazhkaiyil nambikkai veikka kashtam pa...:D

Shankar
16th January 2007, 11:03 AM
Did anyone listen to the MM ? Any reviews ??

eagle
16th January 2007, 04:29 PM
Jaya TV again going to telecast the "andrum indrum" show by today evening 6'0 clock. If any one is having the facility to record it pls do it as Jaya TV is unlikely to bring the DVD version.

cry_sandiego
21st January 2007, 09:42 AM
Shankar/NOV/Kiru et al,

This is MSK - you are right, I am not the sivakumar mentioned in the newsclip. yes. I am still here in the US( San Diego )I wish i could be involved with raaja.com and its activities, but i am not due to time and other travel constraints.

Sree and Prasad Gopal ( PG ) are still very involved. The last i talked to Sree ( maybe a year or so ago ) he was living in Chennai. Met PG in Chennai a year and a half back.

Incidentally i was in Chennai/Bangalore last week and did enquire abt this CD at landmark/Music World/Planet M and they said they have not received it. In fact some of them were not even aware of the album.

I did like the mp3 samples though and looking fwd to the CD.

Kiru, Your description of "Antha Naal Nyabagam" exactly echoed my thoughts. Within a few seconds of the track beginning, IR instills a VERY NOSTALGIC mood which is the theme of the song. I have never heard music that evoked emotions so strongly.

Someone else pointed out the ""being in a Green/lush ambience" feeling when you listen to Thai Maavin Thanalil in Yathra Mozhi. Exactly true. Wov.. Wnats me go back and listen to Yathramozhi again. its been a while. A similar emotion packed song is "Varna Vrinthavaanam" in Kaliyoonjal

Another thing i still remeber is when i watched the kamal movie " Enakkul Oruvan, When the flash back takes u back to Nepal or Simla ( some mountain range in the north ), the bgm in those visuals give a very chilly/shivering feeling. I probably saw the movie about 20 or mor years ago and i still remember the feeling when the flashback started.

It's been a while since i visited TFM, glad to see revived interest in a IR album.

Any news on Maaya Kanaadi? by Cheran

Cheers
MSK

teja
30th January 2007, 04:20 AM
Do any of you have contacts with BoxMusiq site owners?
If so, can you ask them to remove email address column from this page?

http://www.boxmusiq.com/php/fetPub.php

It's highly irresponsible on their part to publicly display customer's email addresses like that.

I've sent them an email before... haven't received a response yet.

1st February 2007, 08:57 AM
I got the CD from Music World, Spencers, Chennai. And here is my initial thoughts/ramblings on Music Messiah

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2007/02/illayaraja-music-messiah.html

K
22nd July 2007, 10:14 PM
mp3 available in cooltoad tamil instrumental section

23rd July 2007, 09:21 PM
K - on initial hearing, so much of synth use is irritating, plus even the use of the synth is so naive and early 1980s style! IR - please no synth and pls give us a full-fledged classical guitar album pls

24th July 2007, 11:26 PM
Guys, I found a rare gem from IR on the web! the song's highpoint is the prelude, the first interlude and the latter portion of the second interlude, the overall tune and the bass line, how I miss that IR! absolutely fabulous! the first interlude is the icing on this song cake!

http://musicmazaa.com/telugu/audiosongs/movie/Keechu+Raallu.html

listen to the song "mogali poove" - thats the one am talking about!

also the taalam for this song is vintage IR - can anyone confirm if it is the unusual stuff IR emplyoyed in songs like "meendum meendum vaa" (from "Vikram")?

ananth222
25th July 2007, 07:59 PM
wow, awesome song irir123!
If IR remixes it in "Pa" I'm sure it'll be a big hit in bollywood.

26th July 2007, 10:00 PM
wow, awesome song irir123!
If IR remixes it in "Pa" I'm sure it'll be a big hit in bollywood.

Nothing great about this song and definitely not something IR should "export" to Pa.

Some of the songs I am thinking for Pa are...

Madai thiranthu - Could be a peppy song for Abishek.
Ponvaanam paneer thoovuthu - Specially if it has some nice lyrics and has Shreya Goshal singing

Vegam Vegam from Anjali - with male voice for Amitabh - specially a song that he sing for his children (may be a flashback song) or his grandchile
Kaadhal oviam (alaigal paivathillai)
Pani Vizhul malar vanam
Ilangathu veesuthu
Raja Raja Chozan naan

Probaly a lot more n my mind...

raja_fan
27th July 2007, 04:42 PM
njv,

For "Pa", I have already opened a thread "Songs that can be remixed for IR's next album".

You are most welcome there :)

btw.., Amitabh-kku pudhu kadhaiye ready pannitteenga polirukku ? :)

27th July 2007, 10:21 PM
raja_fan: Amitabh is busy embroiled in all sorts of controversies - follow these links:

http://outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20070730&fname=Bachchans+%28F%29&sid=1
http://outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20070730&fname=Bachchans+%28F%29&sid=2

IMHO, it is better IR does not get too much involved with the Bachans - Bachan is more of a con-politician/businessman a la the late GV (Mani Ratnam's brother) than a true artist and I sincerely doubt if he is capable of understanding/ appreciating the genius of IR.

I know IR might get some popularity scoring for Bachan movies - but thats the popularity IMHO, IR can do without!

27th July 2007, 11:04 PM
irir123,

If you dig around like this, most producers / stars / artists who worked with IR would have involved in some controversy or other. IR's profession is music alone and not getting involved in other affairs of the people he works with...If they don't bother him, why should he care? Obviously GV's case was much different from this -first of all he was not a publicly known personality / artist. There again, IR chose to stay away because GV bothered him on non-music platform. Here too, as long as AB or for that matter anyone does not bother IR (either on music or non-music issues that directly deals with IR), why should he care?

If IR decides to work with only Harischandra's, he'll be jobless:-))