View Full Version : Tamil Nattukku vantha sOthanai!

17th February 2007, 07:18 PM
[tscii:59b4c75c3f]Vazakku pOttaaha, jeyichiputtaaha, two-wheeler-il pOkum pOthu reNdu pErum inimE helmet pOttukkaNumaam! Namma puthu kalaachaaram ennannaa poNNu purushanOda thodaiyila kaiyai vachikittu(majority), allathu vayiththai kavvikittu allathu thOLai paththikittu pOkaNum; chudithaar pOttavaLellaam reNdu pakkam kaalai pOttu Trisha style-il muthukOdu appikittu pOkaNum. kalyaaNam kaatchikku pOkum pOthu azakaa seevi singaarichi thalai niRaiya poo vachikkaNum. AppO helmet evvaLavu idainjsal? Aduththa theruvukku avasaramaa pOkaNumnaalum helmettai thEdaNum. PORa idamellaam kaippuLLa maathiri helmettai sumakkaNum. Allathu puthu carrier with locking system thaNdam azuvaNum. Namma ooru kasakasappula thalai muzukka vErththu naRanaRannu palla kadikkiRa aLavukku erichal varum; kaathu moodiyirukkum pOthu akkampakkaththu saththam adaipattu kavanakkuRaivu varum-muzu alertness irukkaathu. VaNdi OttuRathu oru thaNdanai maathiri irukkum; pinnaala utkaanthu payaNikkiRathum same! KEsa paraamarippu oru periya thalaivaliyaay maaRum. Saalai vipaththil maNdai udaivathu nisanthaan…athukkaaka thinam thinam….chinna chinna trip kooda…kaduppaana anupavamaa maaRaNumaa? Theoretical or practical? Police maamool vasool jarooraakum. EllOrum car vaanga mudiyumaa? Illa, cycle-kku thirumbalaamaa? 60 vayasukkappuRam eththanai kilometer pedal pOduRathu? Pinnaala utkaaRRa kizavikku kuRukku ennaakum?[/tscii:59b4c75c3f]

thimuru
17th February 2007, 07:32 PM
why dont u use light weighted helmets...without covering the face!

ladies poo vecha kondaya fit pandra helmet ..mmm...ini ellam flying hair than!

case potavan helmet kadakarana?....anyway for the good cause :clap:

17th February 2007, 07:36 PM
:sigh2:

thimuru
17th February 2007, 07:39 PM
sir..unga vayasu enna?

17th February 2007, 07:52 PM
teenage! :wink:

thimuru
17th February 2007, 07:55 PM

:lol: mudi kotidumonu yosikireengalo :lol:

17th February 2007, 08:05 PM
pinnE?

padmanabha
17th February 2007, 08:37 PM
ellorum autokku maarida vendiyathu thaan. naalu pera ethindu pona kasaum pannalam, helmetum vendam, enna sollarthu!l :wink:

:oops: eppadi aaveenga ennu theriyum, vera vazhi?

rocketboy
17th February 2007, 08:55 PM
Vazakku pOttaaha ... You could have written this either in Tamizh or English .Padikka evalavu kashtama irukku

17th February 2007, 09:03 PM

17th February 2007, 09:41 PM
interesting :clap:

temporary sori-Observer
17th February 2007, 09:44 PM
[tscii:792b1cd799]¸¡¾¢¦Ä §À¡ð¼ §Ä¡Äì ¾¡ý
¸¡Å¢Âõ À¡Î§¾.
¾¨Ä¢¦Ä §À¡ð¼ ¦†ø¦Á𠾡ý
«Æ¨¸Ôõ ¦¸Îì̧¾.

¦¿ò¾¢î ÍðÊ ¬Îõ ¯îºó¾¨Ä¢ø
¦†ø¦Áð ¦Å¡¦Ä, Å£ñ ¾¡¦É?

(sixth)
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/music/tamil/s/movie_name.4312/[/tscii:792b1cd799]

17th February 2007, 09:49 PM

temporary sori-Observer
17th February 2007, 09:51 PM
[tscii:daacd8352e]¦†ø¦Á𠾡ý ¾¨Ä¨Â ãÎÁ¡?
ÌÎÁ¢¾¡ý ¸¨ÄÔÁ¡?

(sixth)
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/music/tamil/s/movie_name.4312/[/tscii:daacd8352e]

17th February 2007, 09:54 PM

akil
18th February 2007, 06:31 AM
that was interesting to read PP!
whatever you say, i would support pro'helmet' movement, having seen the drastic consequences of not wearing a helmet in my college times. you may argue, it's related to high speed in risky roads, but you can't apply different rules to different people and situations.
with the change in culture and transport systems, we have to adapt to new requirements, and accidents have become one of the biggest reasons of mortality in India.
better to consider alternative choices, for short journeys (good to walk :-)) or when you have to dress up for ceremonies.
Ofcourse i do understand the difficulties especially under the midnoon sun, though I never rode a bike in my college times and have escaped without a helmet as a back seat passenger, always!

(PS: u have to give me kaayakalpam tips for me please, to go back to my teens! what an achievement!
pOttu udachathukku mannikkavum)

18th February 2007, 08:19 AM
akil :lol:
A doctor speaketh truly! :D

Turbaned Sikhs are exempted from the regulation! Their lives are not precious, eh? :huh: Another hypocritical double standard instance of our 'secular' government! :boo:

18th February 2007, 09:37 AM
why dont u use light weighted helmets...without covering the face!

ladies poo vecha kondaya fit pandra helmet ..mmm...ini ellam flying hair than!

case potavan helmet kadakarana?....anyway for the good cause :clap:
As a matter of fact ther r helmets tat dont cover the face...all the older helmets wer like tat....they r still available.....I hav one like this:

http://www.w650shop.de/Bodywork/helmet_Bandit_Lucky_Jet.jpg

Only if u want a visor in the front (wich is recommendable to shield ur eyes from dust, insects etc.) u may hav to pay extra...I wish I'd taken one while buying the helmet! :(

I've also seen sum ladies here (who drive 2-wheelers) wear the lighter, "half-helmets" tat u mention:

http://cgi.ebay.at/Helm-JIX-BLACK-ST-Leather-Harley-Solex-Quad-Vespa-de_W0QQitemZ140085015557QQihZ004QQcategoryZ14785QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosti ng

These r originally worn by bicycle riders in the west....

So this can be a very convenient option for hot/humid weather, esp. for ladies.....:)

Helemts hav been compulsory for 2-wheeler riders in AP since last feb....no rule for passengers/pillion riders so far tho...

18th February 2007, 12:38 PM
pazasa asai pOduthu manasu..

romba kaalaththukku munnaala..bike vaangkina puthusu..athu pOduRa saththaththa kettaalE bayam varum..cinemaakku athula pOnaa padam mudiyumunnaala manasila bayam vanthurum thirumba antha vaNdiyila eppadi pORathunnu.."methuvaa..methuvaa..vEkamaa Ottaatheenga"nnu sollikittE naan vara, "ithukku mEla methuvaa pOka mudiyaathu, paaru, thaaNdi pOravanellaam naama methuvaa oorkOlam pORatha paaththu sirikkiRaaynga"nnu ivaru kaduppu!

appuRam "pattaakaththi bairavan" Sivaji maathiri OttuRathula sokki mathurailErnthu viruthunagar kalyaaNa veettukku pattusElai kattikittu bike-la kiLambittEn..ivaru paattukku antha kaala speed bus-aana pachai colour state express bus-aiyellaam overtake paNNi paRakkuRaaru..kulai nadungki 'ippa neenga vEkaththa kuRaikkalEnnaa kuthichiduvEnnu' miratta 'intha sooopperaana NH7 rOttula ithaivida methuvaa Ottinaa asingam'nu azakaana bathil! thirumbi vantha piRaku 'unakku kuRukkula avvaLavu valuvaa?'nnu ammaa paattikitta dose vaangkinathu thani kathai!

aduthaappula karur posting-la aadi perukkukku maayanoor thiruvizaa paarkka kaveri karaiyila paRakka maRupadiyum 'speedai kuRaingka kuthichiruvEn' mirattal! 'nallaa speedometerai paaru, ethir kaaththula unakku speedaa pORa maathiri theriyuthu'.

aduththa thalaimuRai..thiruchikku puthu peNdaattiyOdu vantha makanukku thanjavoorukku bike-la savaari pOkaNumnu thudippu. marumakaLa nice-aa, 'muthuku valikkum'nu solli thadukka paaththEn..uhoom..onnum palikkala..kuthiraikku carrot-ai kaattuRa maathiri oru pepsi bottle-ai kaatti avaLa izuththukittu poyittaan!

paiyankaL car-ukku maaRivittaarkaL, aanal engkaLukku 'kaathalar vaakanaththai' kaivida manamillai! vayasu kaalaththilum vayasaana kaalaththilum saukariyamaayirukkum oru sangathikku ippadi oru sOthanai varaNumaa? :cry3:

18th February 2007, 02:43 PM
'ippa neenga vEkaththa kuRaikkalEnnaa kuthichiduvEnnu' miratta

'speedai kuRaingka kuthichiruvEn' mirattal! 'nallaa speedometerai paaru, ethir kaaththula unakku speedaa pORa maathiri theriyuthu'.

:rotfl2: :rotfl2:

Good reminiscence. Humourous too!

May be for ppl like us ( :oops: ) who threaten to jump off, HELMET IS a better alternative, EVEN IF WE JUMP out of fear :lol:

Could have written in english or in tamizh. Tanglish is difficult to read as a strong dose of continous paragraphs :(

Anyway I remember my dad having TVS 50 those days. I seriously was brave enough to go with him, from pazhavanthangal to st. mount or even till mount road.

With my uncle, I ve travelled on a lambretta, from nanganallore to Maangaadu!!!!

Initial 2 months of our marriage my husband had kawasaki bajaj(then we got a FIAT for ourselves). So, first 3 months of our marriage, I used to travel in motorbike with him.

Moped, scooter, motorbike HAD NEVER BEEN A PROBLEM till then.

These days, I GET SCARED TO THE CORE, to travel in a bike. Probably, after getting used to a four wheeler u dont feel safe to get back... or may be because of unruly traffic prevelant.

I generally cross my legs and sit on either side to safe guard the imbalance of weight!

I go with my friend occasionally on her scooty and all thro I would be a nonstop nuisance!

Our road is like going on a free joy ride.

" U LEAVE ME HERE... RIGHT NOWWW!! I would walk my way home...haiyoo... VITTIRU..!.. or I would jump off! :lol: "

My friend is a devil who would never listen to me. More I create noise, more she would remain stubborn.

"No I wont leave u, SIT THERE NOW... QUIETLY, chup...no noiSE, when are u gonna learn to be brave...... VEKKAMA ILLAI :roll: "

I would sit with my back so straight , strained like a NCC cadet and count my minutes to reach the destination.

I do not sit SO STRAINED AND TENSED if the road is smooth. I mean I am relatively relaxed if the road is well laid and traffic is manageable :oops:

Anyway GIVEN A CHANCE, I WOULD RATHER TAKE A PUBLIC BUS, AUTO, TAXI, CAR, ANY FOURWHEELER which has a roof, but never ever a bike :(

oN A serious note, I DO WELCOME this new rule.

A safer ride is MUCH better than a ride with intoxicating aroma of malligapoo or kondai despite of sticky sweats or small troubles we take to enforce this rule.

18th February 2007, 02:56 PM
"ithukku mEla methuvaa pOka mudiyaathu, paaru, thaaNdi pOravanellaam naama methuvaa oorkOlam pORatha paaththu sirikkiRaaynga"nnu ivaru kaduppu!

'nallaa speedometerai paaru, ethir kaaththula unakku speedaa pORa maathiri theriyuthu'.

:rotfl2: :rotfl2:

The more I read it, more I am laughing :lol:

My aunty once went with my dad (she is a phd doctor, so what! Education has nothing to do with INBORN FEAR. shez as timid as me :roll: )

She kept repeatedly telling my dad not to take sharp turns (it was in our local nangalore streets only :| ) Guess my dad did not heed much....

One fine afternoon, appa alone came back.

"engappa chitti?"

"varuvaa... innum 10 mins aagum... nadanthu varaa"

"en ethaanum shopping panraala" ( my mom asked)

"illa... bayama irunthuthunnu sollindE vanthaa.... dideernu satham kettu pinnadi partha... KUTHICHUTTA... athanaala nadanthu varaa"

Me and my mom were laughing nonstop for next one hour, picturising THE SCENE :rotfl2:

18th February 2007, 04:04 PM
paiyankaL car-ukku maaRivittaarkaL, aanal engkaLukku 'kaathalar vaakanaththai' kaivida manamillai! vayasu kaalaththilum vayasaana kaalaththilum saukariyamaayirukkum oru sangathikku ippadi oru sOthanai varaNumaa? :cry3:

18th February 2007, 07:58 PM
SP, your aunty story is really rib-tickling! :rotfl2:

My threats, on the contrary, were only out of sheer thrill! How many hits in cinema are bike songs, (just 2 latest to quote- VV, Kaadhal)? But in future helmet-wearing pairs singing in the same vein will not be convincing! :huh:

This new rule, honestly, encroaches on personal comfort & discretion! :yes:

18th February 2007, 11:03 PM
My threats, on the contrary, were only out of sheer thrill! How many hits in cinema are bike songs, (just 2 latest to quote- VV, Kaadhal)? But in future helmet-wearing pairs singing in the same vein will not be convincing! :huh:

This new rule, honestly, encroaches on personal comfort & discretion! :yes:

:lol: poga poga ellam seriya poividum :roll:

19th February 2007, 02:38 PM
Had tried to reply to this twice y'day but we kept on losing the net! :roll: :x

Turbaned Sikhs are exempted from the regulation! Their lives are not precious, eh? :huh: Another hypocritical double standard instance of our 'secular' government! :boo:
PP ma'm, I dont think it has nething to do w/ religious favouritism......Sikh men (esp. adults) usually wear enormous turbans tat wudnt make it possible for a helmet (or ne other headgear) to fit onto their heads & they cant take off the turbans now & then (altho they r allowed to hav it taken off permanantly & hav a 'normal' crop haircut......like our co-hubber Alan)......even the statement u've quoted states "Turbaned Sikhs".....not otherwise...:)
I rem. seeing a pic., in a book on Britain (forgot the name), dating from the late 60s/early 70s of 2 turbaned sikh guys on a lambretta ( :wink: ) being penalised by a London cop for not wearing a helmet (wich was made compulsory ther from the late 60s onwards I think)....

19th February 2007, 02:47 PM
With my uncle, I ve travelled on a lambretta, from nanganallore to Maangaadu!!!!
Woooooowwwwwwwwww!!! KK akka, LUCKY U!! :wink: :clap: :thumbsup: :redjump: 8-) :jealous:

Btw, yaen enaku ithu patthi munne eppuvume sollale? :roll: :P
Wat colour was it?? How long ago did he sell it? Cud u pm me these details? Tks! :)

A safer ride is MUCH better than a ride with intoxicating aroma of malligapoo or kondai despite of sticky sweats or small troubles we take to enforce this rule.
Hmm.....not displaying ur 'prejudice' against mallipoo/traditional hairstyles r u KK akka? :P :lol:
Altho jokes apart, I do agree tat if the rider has to wear a helmet then even the pillion deserves to....'cos both of them hav equal danger on falling off.... :oops: :(
But as I said, I've seen many lady (bike) motorists wearing the "half-cut" helmets tat dont interfere even w/ their wearing mallipoo etc...! So atleast I wont hav to worry! :wink: :lol:
And yea forgot to mention- :rotfl: @ ur aunt's story!

19th February 2007, 04:46 PM
REgarding the prob of helmets vs sikhs

May be helmet wont fit turbaned sikhs.

How bout manufacturing a big helmet?

They are protected doubly ! :rolll:

Shyam,

half cut helmet :roll: I wonder if such a helmet would solve the primary purpose !

Why not a helmet with a slot for mallipoo :roll:

Serious ONLY AVAILABLE alternative is,

TAKE UR MALLIPOO in ur handbag or pouch AND WEAR IT FRESH once u reach ur destination.

I would advice TAKING COMB too and a small mirror to adjust the hair do ! :roll:

I seriously dont think MANY DO WEAR poo these days :shaking:

before shyam expresses his grief about the said sentence, I AM OFF :yessir:

19th February 2007, 04:52 PM

Shyam,

half cut helmet :roll: I wonder if such a helmet would solve the primary purpose !

Why not a helmet with a slot for mallipoo :roll:

Serious ONLY AVAILABLE alternative is,

TAKE UR MALLIPOO in ur handbag or pouch AND WEAR IT FRESH once u reach ur destination.

I would advice TAKING COMB too and a small mirror to adjust the hair do ! :roll:

19th February 2007, 06:01 PM

(Seriously) I think their turban wud serve a far better purpose of protection (wud even give them a cushioned feel)....:huh:

Shyam,
Well, depends on wat u define as primary purpose- if it is jus to show tat ur following the authorities order, then it wud suffice......
But even otherwise IMO the half-cut is even better than the full-covered helmets tat cover ur ears & face as well, making u feel d*mn sweaty arnd ur ears.....no need to imagine the plight in madras climate! :oops: :roll: & also dont help in hearing too clearly....
The half-cut helmets wud still cover most part of the skull & even cover the forehead, wich r the most imp. part to be protected in a fall.....so it shudnt be an issue.....:huh:

Most ladies DO take all these w/ them in their handbags neways, whether u advice or not! :roll:

Yea rite, so sayeth the 'mod' femme'! :roll: :poke:

19th February 2007, 07:19 PM
I think the new rule is a boon for personal safety and privacy :mrgreen:

19th February 2007, 08:44 PM
Religious favouritism or not if one section of Indians can be exempted why not others who find it irksome? As TV said it is upto personal discretion to wear a helmet or not. Why make it mandatory? The newspaper article says there is a standard type of helmet prescribed-no half things- which needs replacement every 3 years. With the requirement of lakhs of helmets( price from Rs.500 to above Rs.1000) who benefits ultimately? The helmet industry & the police enforcing the law. :twisted: In the name of protecting a percentage of accident victims happy, innocent lakhs are going to be unwantedly victimised! :cry3:

19th February 2007, 11:07 PM
Also true....:(

Also here the traffic police conduct "safety checks" once in a while wich is more probable than not, w/ the intention of grabbing money on-the-spot from "offenders" they catch at random! :roll: :evil:

But IMO the more imp. point is our authorities shud not jus enforce laws but also see to it tat local helmet manufacturers also make helmets tat r convenient & suitable for the wearer in our Indian weather conditions!
So tat one can take into consideration personal safety W.OUT being caused personal discomfort/hindrance wich is equally undesirable! :)

19th February 2007, 11:13 PM
Privacy?? :confused2: :roll: In wat sence??

Is it by ne chance for being able to hatch emu eggs inside the helmets or sumthin like tat? :P :lol:

podalangai
19th February 2007, 11:22 PM
But IMO the more imp. point is our authorities shud not jus enforce laws but also see to it tat local helmet manufacturers also make helmets tat r convenient & suitable for the wearer in our Indian weather conditions!
Helmets with built-in AC?

19th February 2007, 11:34 PM
Helmets with built-in AC?
:notthatway: podalanna.....
I mean the design of the helmets shud be such tat they atleast give sum reasonable ventilation, esp. where they cover ur ears.....for eg. I wish my helmet had sum slit type openings on the sides, to let in air......cos tats where it feels most irksome!! All the worse if u get an itch ther WHILE DRIVING! :argh: :x

20th February 2007, 07:44 AM
Privacy?? :confused2: :roll: In wat sence?? bike'la figure'a ethittu pona, the figure no longer needs to use dhupatta to cover her face... :mrgreen:

20th February 2007, 07:49 AM
Privacy?? :confused2: :roll: In wat sence?? bike'la figure'a ethittu pona, the figure no longer needs to use dhupatta to cover her face... :mrgreen:

Donjenje! Paavam Pengal enna Precaution ellam edukka vendirukku paatheengala? :cry2:-

20th February 2007, 07:51 AM
idhellam oru reason-a, ellarum kandippa helmet podanum! Atleast in Chennai, Ellarukum periya flight otturadha nenappu(including young girls and aunties too)!

I am driving 50 Kms daily and I see atleast 3 accidents per week!

Last week engga veetu pakkathula oru ponnu oru lorry,auto-ku naduvula maatikittu bayathula skit aagi keezha vizhundhutta.Lorry thalai-la yeriduchu, Spot out!

Safety mukkiyama matha vishayangal mukkiyama??!!

Let us welcome a very good descision by the Government! :clap:

20th February 2007, 07:55 AM
Last week engga veetu pakkathula oru ponnu oru lorry,auto-ku naduvula maatikittu bayathula skit aagi keezha vizhundhutta.Lorry thalai-la yeriduchu, Spot out!

:shock: :shaking:

I think she would've died even if she was wearing a helmet..don't ya think? :huh:

But i see ur point. :)

20th February 2007, 07:56 AM
muttaalthanamaa OttuRavangalukkaaka maththavangaLum avathippadaNumaa? :twisted:

20th February 2007, 08:00 AM
may be! but who knows helmet pottrundha, thala mela yera lorry konjam kashta pattrukkum?!

But Friday\Saturday night thanni adichuttu ECR road-la evvalo speed-a poraanga theriyuma? 120 Km\Hr speed-la poranga, Bike-ellam easy-a skit aagum, keezha vizhudha manda thaan odayum!

Another advantage mobile pesitte(Thalaya saachukitte) vandi otturadhu korayum!!

20th February 2007, 08:02 AM
muttaalthanamaa OttuRavangalukkaaka maththavangaLum avathippadaNumaa? :twisted:

enna pannuradhu namma ozhungga irrundhaalum nammala suthi irrukuravanga muttala irrukaangale!! :(

neenga left orathula slow-a ponaalum, highspeed innum left-la overtake panni nammala bayamuruthi keezha uzha vaikiradhu ippo chennai-la fashion! :twisted:

Designer
20th February 2007, 08:16 AM
How much ever we are careful, we can be injured due to the carelessness of other indisciplined drivers. So wearing a Helmet will help lessen the injuries even if there's such an accident. So everyone must welcome this new rule of the TN Govt. :)

Aside : If ladies refuse to ride on two wheelers to avoid wearing helmets, its we men who will have to undergo some hardship. We would have to carry the License, RC Book (itharku yaarum mokkai pOda koodaathu, naan RC engira hubber pathi sollalai :evil: ), and other documents whenever we drive a two wheeler. Bcos, in Chennai if a female (any age) is the pillion rider, no policeman will stop you to ask for License, etc! :)

20th February 2007, 08:21 AM
You are absolutely right, SS! akalamaana main road-la pOkumpOthu kurukku santhulErnthu saLLunnu cycle-kaaran paanjsi vanthu mOthi madiyila thoongura kaikuzanthai-moonu pErum moththamaa vizunthu, onnum aakaama viruttenRu enthiruchchi vEkamaa vaNdiyila yERi paRanthuttom, veettukku pOy paarththaa en kaila iruntha costly wrist watch out. Watch-Oda pOchu. IvarOda moththa kavanamum intha maathiri kuRukka vaRRa mooLaikettavanukkaakaththaan irukkum- helmet is really a deterrent to our total alertness. Govt can step up control of drunken driving, overspeeding etc & bring such dare devils to their senses rather than imposing unnecessary irritation on everybody. What is the reason for head-on collisions on highways which happens every now & then sending countless innocents to their graves prematurely? Teaching our people better road sense, traffic rules & a sense of accountability will be a saner solution.

20th February 2007, 08:34 AM
idhu actual-a license kodukuradhula aarambikudhu, 8 potta license kodukura orey oor namma oor-a thaan irrukanum!! Yevan kandu pidichaane theriyalapa! adhuvum 8 podum podhu kaala keezhavaikka koodathaam, namma enna circus-a kaatrom?? thirumbum podhu balance-ku kaala keezha vacha thaan safe, adha vittutu vaikkama thirupanumaam!! :sigh2: ennangada rule idhu?!

Instead there should be a model ground in which there should be traffic signals,zebra crossings etc and the driver should drive the whole ground without any fault! Idhulaa naachum oru logic irrukku! :roll:

20th February 2007, 08:37 AM
Sridhar,

8 is necessary cause of bumpy, moon craters we have in our beautifully laid roads.

:?

20th February 2007, 08:39 AM
muttaalthanamaa OttuRavangalukkaaka maththavangaLum avathippadaNumaa? :twisted: PP madam, may be u are not aware of the precarious condition of indian traffic. Our lives are not in our hands... :roll: ... adhuvum bike'la poravangalukku sollavey vendaam.... road ellaam yemans.. :shaking:

You dont always have to be careless inorder to meet with an accident. there are mad lorry drivers, PTC drivers and SHARE AUTO ppl all over the place waiting to kill u :banghead:

Abt 6 months back, me and my friend were going in a bike, nice and smooth, in mount road. out of nowhere a van appeared and it crossed us, trying to overtake our bike. infact, he turned so abruptly that he hit the bike's handlebar. luckily, only the side view mirror got hit and it went flying ahead of us. avan innum oru inch close'a vandhirundha naanga close :skull: imagine an army of fast moving vehicles going over two bali gadas lying helplessly on the road.

20th February 2007, 08:41 AM
I completely agree with Sridhar and TV.

Two wheelers are the most dangerous way of commuting, esp without helmets.

Any amount of safety measures should be welcomed.

Even a single Life is priceless and precious than small discomforts many of us may face.

20th February 2007, 08:42 AM
Aside : If ladies refuse to ride on two wheelers to avoid wearing helmets, its we men who will have to undergo some hardship. We would have to carry the License, RC Book (itharku yaarum mokkai pOda koodaathu, naan RC engira hubber pathi sollalai :evil: ), and other documents whenever we drive a two wheeler. Bcos, in Chennai if a female (any age) is the pillion rider, no policeman will stop you to ask for License, etc! :) :lol:

20th February 2007, 08:44 AM
Sridhar,

8 is necessary cause of bumpy, moon craters we have in our beautifully laid roads.

:? 8 poduradhukkum craters'kkkum enna sambandam? :-?

20th February 2007, 08:45 AM
athu avoid paNNi ottanam illa :roll:

20th February 2007, 08:47 AM

appadiye vachupom! balance panna kaala keezha vaikkama thaan ootuveengala :lol2:

20th February 2007, 08:49 AM

appadiye vachupom! balance panna kaala keezha vaikkama thaan ootuveengala :lol2: illa neenga andha bumps'a suthi suthi ettu dhaan poda poreengala :lol2:

20th February 2007, 08:49 AM
8 m 7m podum bike
circus velai kaatutho
othungi bayanthu sellum pothu
safety measures kootutho
paLLam sila road ena
en pottaathu arasangam
kuttu vaikka thEdugindren
engE antha kraathagan
saalaiyin vithigaL nam thalaiyin mozhigaL

(to be sung in the tune of

valainthu nelinthu pogum paathai....

from senthaazham poovil song)

:roll: :P

:wave:

Designer
20th February 2007, 08:51 AM
ithai pathi appOvE Superstar paadittaarE, Baasha la : :smile2:

raa raa raa raamaiyaa
ettu vidha paLLam irukku raamaiyaa
ada raa raaraa raamaiyaa
naan takku takku vekka pOrEn kaalaiyaa

20th February 2007, 08:53 AM

Designer
20th February 2007, 09:08 AM
PL : "kuttu vaikka thEdugindren
engE antha kraathagan" :lol:

yaaru antha GRRaathagan ? :shock:
paadum kural Shoba avargaLudayathO? :P

20th February 2007, 01:18 PM
sp akka and des :lol: :rotfl:

20th February 2007, 03:15 PM
pp amma :lol:

20th February 2007, 03:20 PM
ajithfederer, neenga thodarnthu padichirunthaa akil eppovO pOttu udaichathai padichiruppeenga! :lol: naan Hub-in periya paatti! :lol:

20th February 2007, 03:30 PM
PP madam: neengaLe ippadi sollalama? helmet illama two wheeler-la pOrathu evvaLavu dangerous.... enakku therinju pathu varushathukku munnalayE NDDB campus in Anand had a rule that anyone in two wheelers (inclcuding cyclists) had to have a helmet on...

20th February 2007, 03:37 PM
Sorry, Anu! I can't digest it being made a govt rule to be implemented from June1st! :cry: It is true the two-wheeler is a yeman, that death stalks our highways, that reckless road users are a permanent danger to other law abiding people. Yet, think about the hazards aggravated by the multi-faceted inconvenience of wearing a helmet. It should be a matter for personal choice & discretion.

20th February 2007, 06:07 PM
PP madam, it has been a matter of personal choice and convenience, all these days, but how many helmets do u see on roads ?

Just to state how important a helmet is, I am quoting an incidence (accident :roll: ) . This was like 3 yrs back. one of my friends rammed into a drunken cyclist, headon. The cyclist got killed, our man flew off from his bike and landed on the road some 10 feet away. He didn break a single bone. But his skull cracked, started bleeding like anything and he became unconscious. Lucky few of my friends were arnd and they took him to hopsital. Imagine the case had he worn an helmet.

Quoting the above incidence, i recommend helmets for cyclists and pedestrians too :lol2:

20th February 2007, 06:20 PM
PP madam: I agree that it is not conveniant for Indian weather conditions... but then it should inspire someone to modify the helmet and make it suitable for us and still maintain the safety aspect! :)

I also think it is a matter of getting used to... same with seat belts... ask any tourist car drivers and they say it is a deterrant, but as a person who is used to wearing seat belts I cannot move my car even an inch without wearing my seat belt.... A few years ago we met with a very bad accident in India, I had three people from my family in the hospital for a while with broken nose & jaw, etc... This could have been avoided if all of us were wearing seat belts!

20th February 2007, 06:23 PM
[tscii:f3b65b2c1a]Thamizh: I would actually recommend fluorescent jackets or even just strips around the body like a belt for pedestrians…. specially on dark roads. Ofcourse the fact that our vehicles don't have lights is not going to be of any help …. [/tscii:f3b65b2c1a]

20th February 2007, 06:38 PM
Anou, regarding pedestrians, I was just kidding.... just to point out how dangerous city life is getting :roll:

dsath
20th February 2007, 07:02 PM
PP madam: I agree that it is not conveniant for Indian weather conditions... but then it should inspire someone to modify the helmet and make it suitable for us and still maintain the safety aspect! :)

Totally agree with this Anou. We should try and find solutions that would suit our weather conditions and culture. Not only for helmets, if we adopt this approach to other aspects, we will have our own thriving R&D and meaningful employment for many science graduates.

20th February 2007, 07:19 PM
My 85 year-old father-in-law is amused by the seat belts in his grandson's cars! "Plane-layaa pOrOm?"

Coming back to helmets, it is a common sight here to see the whole family of 4/5 members travelling in a bike! Children ranging from kids to teenage youth! Are the children expected to wear helmets too? What does the law say? Do they like turbaned Sikhs go break their skulls if that was their fate? Are helmets made in all sizes suiting the various sizes of heads?

1.An unsize helmet's distracting discomfort, 2.an overly perspiring person( all menopausal women do), entering an A/C office/bank/shop/theatre alighting from the bike with a soaked, sweaty head can suffer sinusitis, catarrh,3. partial shutting off of surrounding sounds laying open to unforeseen, lurking dangers-these are some of the main problems.

The best thing to do is to educate our people about road safety, traffic rules, consideration for fellow road users and the dangers of drunken/rash driving. Without such civic sense people tend to behave rashly, selfishly, senselessly. Strict surveillance of road discipline is the need of the hour.

Just like in the case of AIDS which has assumed epidemic proportions driving the authorities madly to fast, foolproof ways of checking the menace by advocating SAFE SEX, instead of checking immoral traffic, stressing the importance of personal morality, govt is resorting to helmet wearing law instead of controlling erring road users. Treating the syndromes alone can't be the true cure, go to the root cause & treat the disease should be the judicious move.

dsath
20th February 2007, 08:12 PM
Treating the syndromes alone can't be the true cure, go to the root cause & treat the disease should be the judicious move.
When u can get relief from headache by having a paracetamol, and then why not do it. OF course the root cause of the headache should be treated. But taking a 500mg paracetamol for reducing a headache is not going to harm anyone, is it? If wearing a helmet is not going to harm anyone then why not do it?

20th February 2007, 08:22 PM
thamizh: I wasn't kidding about pedestrians! :) I would actually prefer if they had something on their bodies... even a little flashing bulb run on batteries, it would help a lot!!!

pp madam: In a day and age where anyone can get a license without even being able to drive a vehicle (I've got my four wheeler and two wheeler license - I only drive four wheelers) how are we going to start educationg people to drive carefully.

Years ago when we used to drive long distances only truck drivers and rarely bus drivers used to drive on high beam and that too on the highway, now I see people in cities driving on high beam without consideration for other drivers! (The others don't seem to have their headlights on :lol: )

We don't have driving schools that teach proper driving! Most driving schools do 10 classes and then the driving test which most (read 99%) invariably pass! And loads of people learn driving from someone in their family....

It is interesting that most people who were driving regularly in India (including me) could not pass the driving test in Ireland the first time. This was because of the fact that the bad habits that we had learnt there were much more difficult to let go!

People who came here and learnt driving found it much easier to pass the driving test!

How are we going to educate the millions and millions of road users and make them unlearn their old habits and learn new ones?

dsath: I think we need more people who think on the same lines to get this idea going.. a lot of time all we seem to do is moaning instead of trying to find a solution! :)

20th February 2007, 08:27 PM
My 85 year-old father-in-law is amused by the seat belts in his grandson's cars! "Plane-layaa pOrOm?"
:lol: PP madam when I was a child if my Dad drove his car in 60 kmph it was a biiiiiiiiiiig deal! :) now the speed limit on the Bombay - Pune Expressway is 125kmph (5kmph more than the motorway here)... I guess this makes seat belts a neccesity :)

20th February 2007, 08:33 PM
thalaivali pOy thirukuvali vanthaa? :roll: Shortcuts are not always advisable! Wider, broader perspectives, longterm solutions are wiser!

20th February 2007, 09:00 PM
The solution is

*LESSER population

*DRIVING rules STRICTLY FOLLOWED else HEAVY PENALITY OR EVEN IMPRISONMENT
(including drink n drive, speed limit exceeding etc)

* HEAVY PENALITY FOR PEDESTRIANs WHO dont follow road roles (including trying to cross in the absense of zebra crossing or RUNNING when the red is on)

* ANY non- complaince of rule like, one way sneaking, etc LICENSE should be snatched.

For all this THERE SHOULD BE A 24 HOUR AUTOMATIC VIGILANCE and reporting in EVERY NOOK AND CORNER of even remotest the streets

That beign the solution I think, it would be IMPOSSIBLE to see any of these IN NEAR FUTURE (atleast until i live)

SO UNTIL THEN....

* atleast wear helmet, seatbelts etc :roll:

20th February 2007, 09:05 PM
I have a question.

A person X, is travelling with his wife, on a bike, to Y's house, which is in say, the next street of X's house. Both live in a remote residential street of Madhavaram.

Assuming BOTH X AND mrs X are not wearign helmet or atleast, X's wife is not wearing helmet, HOW ON EARTH could any cop identify such a crime which is happening in a remote place?

ksen
21st February 2007, 12:30 AM
I have a question.

A person X, is travelling with his wife, on a bike, to Y's house, which is in say, the next street of X's house. Both live in a remote residential street of Madhavaram.

Assuming BOTH X AND mrs X are not wearign helmet or atleast, X's wife is not wearing helmet, HOW ON EARTH could any cop identify such a crime which is happening in a remote place?

SP : puriyalla - what crime?

Anyway, earlier, when helmet rules were in force, I used to find that wearing a helmet gave me a false sense of security :) I used to speed like anything, without realising it. Edhavadhu oru naal, helmetai marandhu vechittu vandhittaal, driving was totally different,- bayandhu bayandhu kattai vandi speedla pOvEn :)

But, driving safely is not in our hands :( Last week, I saw one lady on a two wheeler with two boys on the pillion,- she was going at a normal speed, but in the middle of the road, which was nearly deserted. An auto driver overtook her at high speed, hit her handle bar or front wheel, and all three of them went flying and spinning on the road. It was sheer luck that there were no serious injuries! I almost rode over one of the boys who fell almost in front of my scooter! Idhe busy road with heavy trafficaaga irundhaal, kadhaiyE vera. Ippadi keezha vizhuradhu, skid aagi vizhuradhu - idhukkellam dhaan helmet is essential. Nothing can save you if a heavy vehicle runs over you or your head :)

21st February 2007, 01:45 AM
that was a very nice narration of ur bike experiences :lol:

ajithfederer, neenga thodarnthu padichirunthaa akil eppovO pOttu udaichathai padichiruppeenga! :lol: naan Hub-in periya paatti! :lol:

21st February 2007, 07:57 AM
It is heartening to read my opinions being echoed in the 'Letters to the Editor' in The Hindu! :D One letter precisely points out how helmet could be a torture to senior citizens & that it is a matter for discretion & not enforced law.

21st February 2007, 08:03 AM
mootha kudi magan\magal -gal vayasaana kaaluthula edhukku risk eduthu vandiyellam ottrueenga, auto,bus,car-la polaame :twisted:

makkal-ku nalladhu pannanum-nu oru sattam kondu vandhrukaanga adhu ungalukku illanaalum(infact ungalukkum thaan " :roll: ") atleast ungga magan\magal\peran\pethi uyir kaakum allava :huh:

Uyir-a vida makkal-ku mathathellam perusa pochu..ennamo ponga! :sigh2:

21st February 2007, 08:26 AM
uyirukkaakaththaan, SS!!! upaththiravaththai thalaiyila maattuRathaannu ketkuREn! upakaaram romba kammi. oruththar sonnathu pOla helmet can't always save -lorry nadu maarbila yERi iRantha kuzanthaiyai naan kaNNaala paaththirukkEn.

21st February 2007, 01:19 PM

21st February 2007, 01:48 PM
SP : puriyalla - what crime?

illa ksen, since helmet becomes MANDATORY now, suppose if we quietly roam around in remote streets, WHO IS THERE TO spot us ? nnu ketten :(

Anyway, earlier, when helmet rules were in force, I used to find that wearing a helmet gave me a false sense of security :) I used to speed like anything, without realising it. Edhavadhu oru naal, helmetai marandhu vechittu vandhittaal, driving was totally different,- bayandhu bayandhu kattai vandi speedla pOvEn :)

kewl ! :thumbsup: According to me, ANYBODY WHO CAN DRIVE is a brave person :oops: :ashamed:

But, driving safely is not in our hands :( Last week, I saw one lady on a two wheeler with two boys on the pillion,- she was going at a normal speed, but in the middle of the road, which was nearly deserted. An auto driver overtook her at high speed, hit her handle bar or front wheel, and all three of them went flying and spinning on the road. It was sheer luck that there were no serious injuries! I almost rode over one of the boys who fell almost in front of my scooter! Idhe busy road with heavy trafficaaga irundhaal, kadhaiyE vera. Ippadi keezha vizhuradhu, skid aagi vizhuradhu - idhukkellam dhaan helmet is essential. Nothing can save you if a heavy vehicle runs over you or your head :)

I AGREE WITH U 200 percent. :thumbsup:

I always feel, SUCH SAFETY MEASURES may and WILL save atleast 2 out of 10 serious mishaps.

thimuru
21st February 2007, 04:21 PM
saw sun tv sirappu paarvai!

plz buy correct sized helmets...no undersized or oversized!...very compulsory point !avoid medical effects

21st February 2007, 07:33 PM
pillaiyaar pidikka kurangaathaan mudiya pOkuthu! :roll:

21st February 2007, 08:51 PM
:exactly: :D

same with seat belts... ask any tourist car drivers and they say it is a deterrant, but as a person who is used to wearing seat belts I cannot move my car even an inch without wearing my seat belt.... A few years ago we met with a very bad accident in India, I had three people from my family in the hospital for a while with broken nose & jaw, etc... This could have been avoided if all of us were wearing seat belts!
Very much agree w/ u, Anou.......but then my qsn. is, is it as necessary in OLD cars as it is in newer ones??
My indignation is tat none (common ppl. as well as authorities) gives a thot b4 deciding on universal effectiveness of laws on this! Like here in AP seatbelts hav been made compulsory to wear (for front seat pasengers atleast) in cars since Feb. last yr.....but while this wud make sense for newer cars (<15 yrs old) wich neways hav factory-fitted seatbelts in them, wud it really be justifiable in case of older model cars, most of which r heavier & usually dont go to extreme speeds, ie. say above 55-60 km/h! esp. not in hyd. city traffic!
Altho nothing has been specifically said bout fitting of seatbelts, sum older car owners hav had to resort to fitting them for "namesake", lest they get penalised by the authorities.....
The reason tat I feel this is unadvisable is tat newer cars wud hav already been decided upon to hav seatbelts by the manufacturers, who fit them w/ respect to precision, effectiveness of the belts during accidents, conducting various safety-tests etc. b4 certifying them safe on their cars.....whereas older cars wich wer made b4 the concept of needing seatbelts had existed, so if the authorities insist on fitting belts inside them as well, the most tat cud be done is to get them fitted at sum local workshops/garages, wich obv. cudnt carry out the same advance testing procedures as manufacturers......fitting is usually done by "eye" precision.....
So HOW SAFE wud be these aftermarket fitted seatbelts, as opposed to the genuine/manufacturer-certified ones??
THIS is wher our authorities fail in effectiveness of laws!
Seatbelts wer made compulsory in cars in the US/UK way back in 1966-67, BUT cars tat wer made netime (EVEN 1 YR) BEFORE the said years wer exempted from the rule, for obvious reasons!

21st February 2007, 09:04 PM
thamizh: I wasn't kidding about pedestrians! :) I would actually prefer if they had something on their bodies... even a little flashing bulb run on batteries, it would help a lot!!!
Hmm....not opposing this thot anou, but then u'll almost at once find ppl. complaining tat sumthing like this wud cost them a lot long term, middle-class cudnt afford sumthin like these etc.....besides, I'm sure if such devices wer to be had in India, the quality/durability w/ wich they wer made wud obv. differ from wat u'd find abroad, asa u may know.....:)
I VAGUELY rem. sumtime ago seeing an ad bout a flourescent wristband for pedestrians safety while crossing dark streets......I dont rem. seeing ne available tho.....cant rem. wher I read bout it......:roll: :? neone knows bout these?

21st February 2007, 09:13 PM
*DIG

:lol: PP madam when I was a child if my Dad drove his car in 60 kmph it was a biiiiiiiiiiig deal! :)
Wich one??? Was is the Herald by ne chance??? :redjump: :D
Yea I understand most ppl. even then did think it was a biiiiiiiiiiig deal if a Herald or Fiat cud go tat fast, but to be honest, they do go tat fast........can say from my personal experience! :D
Btw, the amazing part bout these 2 cars is tat even if the engine begins to heat up, they go jus as fast- or sumtimes even faster! :lol: 8-)
PS- Anou, I thot u said u wer going to change ur avtaar to 1 of the herald pics. ur dad sent.....? :)

/DIG

21st February 2007, 09:24 PM
I have a question.

Good qsn. SP/KK akka! :)
IMHO wearing a helmet wudnt nec. be a crime if the distance is as short as the next street/corner etc, or as long as its WITHIN a neighbourhood/locality/colony, if Madhavaram is one.....not going out on a MAIN ROAD/ROADS w/ TRAFFIC SIGNALS, wich wud obv. be traffic-infested so more risky....:roll:
When in Vizag whenever I used to drive my scoot within a colony I'd take off my helmet........& occasionally on the beach rd there.....until I got caught by the traffic cops one evening! :oops: :(
But otherwise, while venturing out into the main city roads, I ALWAYS had my helmet on.

ksen
22nd February 2007, 12:04 AM

Anou : I remember one time when we were going at a good speed in a dark road (no street lights at all :)) on the outskirts of Bangalore, and the person driving suddenly swore and swerved - appuram dhaan therinjudhu,- a woman totally covered in a black burqa had just crossed the road, and nobody saw her :shock: Though this is an extreme case, such things do happen. But summa veliya vandhaa, fluorescent wristband ellaam pOttukka thOnumaa? HelmetukkE ivvalavu edhirppu irukkumpodhu, unga aasai ellaam four much :D

22nd February 2007, 03:43 PM
Very much agree w/ u, Anou.......but then my qsn. is, is it as necessary in OLD cars as it is in newer ones??
My indignation is tat none (common ppl. as well as authorities) gives a thot b4 deciding on universal effectiveness of laws on this! Like here in AP seatbelts hav been made compulsory to wear (for front seat pasengers atleast) in cars since Feb. last yr.....but while this wud make sense for newer cars (<15 yrs old) wich neways hav factory-fitted seatbelts in them, wud it really be justifiable in case of older model cars, most of which r heavier & usually dont go to extreme speeds, ie. say above 55-60 km/h! esp. not in hyd. city traffic!
Altho nothing has been specifically said bout fitting of seatbelts, sum older car owners hav had to resort to fitting them for "namesake", lest they get penalised by the authorities.....

Lamby: I will have to disagree on this one! The car in which we had the accident 6 years ago was a 1986 Ambassador. We (The Driver) were going at more than 100kmph! I agree that within city limits during peak hours it is difficult to drive fast, but at non-peak hours the cars can fly.... I nearly had a very bad accident in Calcutta (yes a place in which you can never drive fast) at 2 am because my friend was driving at full speed and crossed a junction without thinking and there was another guy who was driving at worse speed. Thankfully both the drivers were alert and both the cars had good brakes so my life was saved!

As for pedestrains, I think I am asking for four much (just like ksen said) but it would be a nice thing to have... As people who used to drive on highways on regular basis, I know how much of a risk it is when you are driving in the night!

And Lamby, yes, it was the Herald.... :)

22nd February 2007, 06:44 PM
Lamby: I will have to disagree on this one! The car in which we had the accident 6 years ago was a 1986 Ambassador. We (The Driver) were going at more than 100kmph! I agree that within city limits during peak hours it is difficult to drive fast, but at non-peak hours the cars can fly.... I nearly had a very bad accident in Calcutta (yes a place in which you can never drive fast) at 2 am because my friend was driving at full speed and crossed a junction without thinking and there was another guy who was driving at worse speed. Thankfully both the drivers were alert and both the cars had good brakes so my life was saved!
U've a right to ur point of view Anou....but I still feel (& so do many vintage/classic car owners) tat seatbelts r not nec. for older cars.....ok ,maybe I erred a bit when I said cars <15 yrs old.....I was actually having in mind cars tat r like from the 50s/60s, at the most early 70s.....they certainly dont accelerate to higher speeds as rapidly as more recently made cars.....it jus wudnt make sense to expect fitting seatbelts on a prehistoric car like a 1920s "baby" austin (http://www.dyna.co.za/cars/28_Austin-7.jpg) or sum 1940s Ford? How dangerously fast do u think these cars r likely to go? :lol2:
Tats wat I meant wen I said, the authorities shud be specific wen advocating the use of seatbelts in cars. AS I said, they didnt make the rule a general one in developed countries itself! :)
Ther r also so many other factors tat determine the safety in a car apart from seatbelts, like the rigidity of the body structure, the "crumple zone" etc....so IMO it wudnt be right to categorise seatbelts as an utmost general need......:)

1st June 2007, 10:10 AM
Implemented from today(June 01) :happy:

1st June 2007, 12:28 PM
:thumbsup: Good Show!

1st June 2007, 12:36 PM
:( :cry: :cry3:

1st June 2007, 03:51 PM
naan innum helmet vangalai :cry: :cry:

:ashamed:

1st June 2007, 09:04 PM
2-wheeler savaariyai vitrapOReengalaa, jollyaa fine katta pOReengalaa? :roll:

4th June 2007, 01:56 PM
:bluejump: :redjump: :bluejump: :redjump: :boo:

Pillion riders - women & children exempted from the rule!!!

4th June 2007, 02:01 PM

dev
4th June 2007, 02:28 PM

athukku en ivalo santhosam???... :? :roll:

4th June 2007, 02:37 PM
thats... SAD :(

4th June 2007, 02:37 PM
ippadi oru mudivai ethirpaarththu hubby enakku helmet vaangaamal irunthaar! naalu naaLaay engayum veLiyila pORa vElayum varalai. naaLaikku jollyaa kiLambiduvEn! enga ooru veyilukku summaa veLiyila pORathukkE aaRaay vErvai veLLam peruki Odum, athula kavasaththai maattikkiRathu kodumaiyilum kodumai. renDu naaLaikku munnaala akkam pakkaththu pombaLainga koodi pEsinathula oruththar veettu aambaLaikkum helmet pidikkalai-nnu purinjithu! kaNNum sariyaa theriyaathu, kaathum sariyaa kEtkaathu, sariyaana sOthanai pOra vaRRa idaththila kaila thookkikittu alaiyuRathu....appadinnu!

17th June 2007, 11:43 PM
PP ma'm, jus out of curioisty- unga hubby 'ta epovathu lambretta scooter irunthutha?? :D
(most 2-whlr owners of ur gen. did hav them)

18th June 2007, 12:21 AM

i dont get it? why exception for children and women? :roll:

18th June 2007, 07:21 AM
PP ma'm, jus out of curioisty- unga hubby 'ta epovathu lambretta scooter irunthutha?? :D
(most 2-whlr owners of ur gen. did hav them)

No, Lambretta! Our family members prefer bikes, always!

18th June 2007, 07:28 AM

i dont get it? why exception for children and women? :roll:

Looks like their lives are not precious, isn't it! :lol:
Our CM is being 'kind' to them by ruling out inconvenience to them! Now NOBODY wears it, men, women or children! Lot of politics behind all these stunts of the govt.

It is interesting to read daily letters to the editor in The Hindu speaking for & against the rule!

18th June 2007, 09:45 AM
yeah.....i felt that way to .....aint children's and women's life precious :roll:

Then its one among the rules, which is one the book but not in practice :?

MazhaiKuruvi
18th June 2007, 10:41 AM
It is all about votes ....Recently some newspaper office was bombed, two people lost their lives and the mayor of the city was at the gates, she was obviously one of the perpetrators, but the one that got arrested for this was some local rowdy. Many political leaders were charging into that newspaper office and were caught on camera, but who cares?

There was another incident in the North (allahabad?) where about 40 lawyers joined together and tonsured a 20 year old guy because he disrespected one of the lawyers. This too was caught on camera, was on NDTV, but who cares.

No one in TN is wearing helmets, be it the driver or the pillion riders. Who cares if someone cracks their head and loses their life, as long as the government gets the votes.

In that sense, thamizh naattukku vandha periya sOdhanai VOTE :)

18th June 2007, 10:58 AM
yethukku appuram epadi ellam oru sattadhai kondu vaaraanga, irukka sattangalaye ozhunga follow pannura vazhiya kaanom (sorry, if iam wrong :oops: )

18th June 2007, 11:42 AM
yethukku appuram epadi ellam oru sattadhai kondu vaaraanga, irukka sattangalaye ozhunga follow pannura vazhiya kaanom (sorry, if iam wrong :oops: )
No, ur right! :exactly:

MazhaiKuruvi
18th June 2007, 02:30 PM

May be they didn't expect this reaction, but once they realized the voters would rather lose their head than wear helmet, they decided to approve their decision to lose their heads :) Don't lose power at all costs.

The non-reaction from the media and the public to a) the tonsuring and b) the bombing of a newspaper office are both A - M - A - Z - I - N - G. it is as though these things never happened, the 21st century has not yet come to Tamilnadu for sure.

18th June 2007, 02:50 PM
haha...true :(