View Full Version : KREEDAM by G.V.PRAKASH

nemesis786
31st March 2007, 08:54 PM
Kreedam is the remake of yesteryear national award winning classic with the same titled starring mohanlal and thilakan remade in tamil with ultimate star ajith and rajkiran.

Music is by the young sensation GVPrakash. Audio release is expected on april 14th :D

july
1st April 2007, 06:54 PM
lolz..this is remake movie ???
thanks for informing...i dunno this :p

anyway waiting for G.V Prakash latest tune..

nemesis786
1st April 2007, 08:36 PM
This movie is a big budgt film produced by the giant SUJATHA CINE ARTS and AMBANI's RELIANCE ADLABS!

GV Prakash is getting a salary of 25 lacs for this film which is a hike of almost 15-20 lacs from his previous!!

13th June 2007, 02:09 PM
MANY MORE HAPPY RETURNS OF THE DAY TO G.V.PRAKASH

Selvam_mayyam
13th June 2007, 02:12 PM
Kireedom.. I think will it will b a hit..bt plz ajith..don act lik ji,red,ajaneya.. plz give us mugavari, amarkalam, kk, asoka.. :D

Usher
17th June 2007, 12:38 PM
AKKAM PAKKAM SUNG BY SAADHANA SARGAM:

http://www.freewebs.com/shyamthalafan/link2.htm

VIZHIYIL UN VIZHIYIL song sung by SONU NIGAM and SWETHA

http://www.ajithfans.com/blog/2007/06/15/exclusive-vizhiyil-un-vizhiyil-kireedom-song/

GVP ROCKS 8-)

18th June 2007, 05:08 PM
oh mY.... the Vizhiyil song is amazing.... !!!!! :shock:

19th June 2007, 05:58 PM
Kireedam originally was made in Malayalam, *ing Mohanlal. Then it was remade in Hindi as Gardish (marking Priyadarshan's entry in Hindi) *ing Jackie Shroff. Now, after almost 10 years, it is making an entry in Tamil!

Mohanlal got his best actor National Award for the original Mal. version. It was fresh in Hindi - a decent storyline, powerful star cast and a good technical team. For Amrish Puri it was a career defining film as a character artist. Farida Jalal also benefited from it a lot. Since then, they got to play similar characters in film after film.

However I am not sure if this story will be relevant today (as dozens of movies based on the same theme have already been made over the decade). But who knows? Our junta loves aracha Maavu... It may end up being Ajit's best hit ever!

19th June 2007, 10:10 PM
I think kireedam was by Sibi Malayil...sensational movie...but the part 2 (by name "chengOl") wasn't good...(one of my friends who watched the movie with me remarked -'nalla kAlam, herOvakkonnu, ini part 3 uNdAvilla')...:-)

Raj Kiran in place of Thilakan looks like a perfect replacement...Let's see how Ajith fits in...In the original, the role for pArvathi was quite brief (ofcourse no song / dance business)...that area will definitely be compromised in Thamizh, means I can only watch on DVD where I can FF a lot:-))

19th June 2007, 11:15 PM
Kireedom was an exceptionally wonderful portrayal in Malayalam ..... by the great MOhan Lal ....

Ajith is set forth a real Challenge .... I am sure. .. he will do his best :clap: Kudos Thalai

20th June 2007, 06:27 AM
Kireedam originally was made in Malayalam, *ing Mohanlal. Then it was remade in Hindi as Gardish (marking Priyadarshan's entry in Hindi) *ing Jackie Shroff. Now, after almost 10 years, it is making an entry in Tamil!

Mohanlal got his best actor National Award for the original Mal. version. It was fresh in Hindi - a decent storyline, powerful star cast and a good technical team. For Amrish Puri it was a career defining film as a character artist. Farida Jalal also benefited from it a lot. Since then, they got to play similar characters in film after film.

However I am not sure if this story will be relevant today (as dozens of movies based on the same theme have already been made over the decade). But who knows? Our junta loves aracha Maavu... It may end up being Ajit's best hit ever!

Thanks for d info. I duno there is a Hindi Kireedam.
I think the story will be relevent to people at all times bcoz it's reveals around father-son relationship.
All matters now is the screenplay of the movie which shud be more suitable for the current generation. I'm sure A.LVijay has came up with some new ways of presenting his ideas throughout the movie.

26th June 2007, 07:03 AM
Three solid melodies make the cut. 100 words.

http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2007/06/26/kreedam-tamil-gvprakashkumar/

july
26th June 2007, 08:06 AM
wow...man..GVP back with bang..
SONG ARE WONDERFUL, I THOUGHT SONG NOT GONNA ROCKS..BUT ITS ROCKS..
Superb tune....
Another MD to watch out.

27th June 2007, 02:55 AM
Kreedom music review:

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-06/kreedom-music-review.html

27th June 2007, 02:39 PM
here is my opinion

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2007/06/kireedom-soundtrack.html

27th June 2007, 06:04 PM
Actually, beyond the obviously-pleasing Vizhiyil and Akkam pakkam, I'm tripping on Kanavellaam. The free flowing form is very catchy and the lyrics, endearing. Also, wonder why force that Vilayaadu hero intro song, its becoming terribly cliched nowadays. Here's my Tamil review...
http://senthaen.blogspot.com/2007/06/gv.html

...kutram kurai iruppin, therivikkavum!

Kreedam
28th June 2007, 10:06 PM
http://www.kollywoodtoday.com/events/kireedam-audio-launch-report/

Audio is mega hit

30th June 2007, 12:37 PM
Akkam Pakkam = Sneghidene + Vaseegara

the beats,music, arrangements, 1st & second interlude gives away its a Vaseegara and tune is pakka Sneghidene...

Vizhiyhil has a heavy Kandukoindain Kandukoindain song feel, which was sung by Hariharan & Mahalaxmi.... listenin to it gives me a pic of KKKK's picturisation.....

4th July 2007, 07:01 AM
ivarachum ethavathu puthusa pannu vaaru innu nenacha, :cry: srikanth deva,harris ellam minjiduvar pola copy-la :banghead: kojam kuda manasatchi-ye illama 'vasaegara'song-sa ippadi kaima panni irukkane intha paiyan!!!

4th July 2007, 07:05 AM
Actually, beyond the obviously-pleasing Vizhiyil and Akkam pakkam, I'm tripping on Kanavellaam. The free flowing form is very catchy and the lyrics, endearing. Also, wonder why force that Vilayaadu hero intro song, its becoming terribly cliched nowadays. Here's my Tamil review...
http://senthaen.blogspot.com/2007/06/gv.html

...kutram kurai iruppin, therivikkavum!unnga review-la kutrame illa sir!!!ayiram' porkasugall'kodukkalam :D

4th July 2007, 12:23 PM
Kireedom - Smart work
IndiaGlitz [Monday, July 02, 2007]

G V Prakash is one of the young and interesting music talents to emerge from this part of the country. He bowled over music lovers with a different sounds and feel in Veyyil. Nephew of A R Rahman, music seems to be present in Prakash's genes.

For Kireedom, the young Prakash has come up with five catchy numbers which are different from each other. Clarity in the sound, a good rhythm and orchestration fill the album. He has opted for right voices. His penchant for versatile music is also pretty much evident.

Keeping Ajith fans in mind, Prakash has come up with a peppy number rendered by 'energetic' Shankar Mahadevan.

On the whole, Kireedom is a crown in Prakash's head. Well done job.

Akkam Pakam (Sadhana Sargam)

A smart start. G V Prakash has infused the number with soft beats. Reminding one of Vassegara in Minnale, the song manages to touch our heart instantly. Sadhana Sargam is as usual at her best. Her diction of difficult Tamil words deserves a special mention. The young music composer provides a mystical effect using the flutes well. The tune floats and grabs your imagination because of the easy feel and the sweet lilt.

Kanavellam (Jayachandran, Karthik)

After a long gap, the versatile voice of Jayachandran makes a comeback. His blissful voice does the magic. The song begins in the form of opera and slowly gathers momentum with fast beats. The open-throated voice of Karthik is a delight to listen to. Prakash has proved his mastery in coming up with good orchestration. The lyric is about a proud father singing the achievements of his son.

Kaneer Thuliye (Vijay Yesudas)

A soft number which begins in a brisk note with a host of stringed instruments accompanying it. A pathos number, Vijay Yesudas has tried to imitate his father. Prakash has consciously avoided loud instruments and has allowed the lyrics to dominate. Reminds one of Rahman's orchestrations in between. The interludes are inspired by Hindustani classical music and can be relished.

Vilayadu (Shankar Mahadevan)

With Shankar Mahadevan around, there is no dearth for entertainment. Here the singer from Mumbai has sung with verve and vitality, which are all typical to him. The quick-paced music and the peppy acoustics accompanying it. The open-throated voice of Shankar is tantalizing. Sure to rock Ajith fans in the theatres.

Vizhiyil (Sonu Nigam, Swetha)

A romantic duet with a catchy musical score. The stylish manner in which Sonu Nigam has sung the duet makes it attractive. Prakash has tried a fusion between west and east. Smooth on the ears, the song describes the intimacy shared between a lover couples.

Prakash has developed a special liking for stringed instruments.

But, knows the knack of using them, when and where. Hats off to the young prodigy, for his splendid work.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/musicreview/8943.html

4th July 2007, 12:39 PM
G.V.Prakash's Galatta Chat Transcript
http://www.galatta.com/entertainment/halloffame/G-V-Prakash(29-06-07).asp

G V Prakash Says > : HI
raja Says > : Hi G.V
veyyil Says > : How r u?
Paapu Says > : Hai prakash! how are you
G V Prakash Says > : grt !
veyyil Says > : hi G.V?
Paapu Says > :
chinna > has joined the chat room
veyyil Says > : How is kridom music?
raja Says > : Nice to see u in Galatta chat
G V Prakash Says > : kreedam has com out grt neways listen to it
Paapu Says > : Really you are great to achieve this fame in a short period of time
veyyil Says > : u wont smile ah?
veyyil Says > : how did u got the opportunity in veyyil?
G V Prakash Says > : ok ?
veyyil Says > : thanks for a little smile
G V Prakash Says > : vasanthabalan had heard my show reel and passed it on to shankar sir

then got the project
veyyil Says > : very nice
chinna Says > : mr.prakash i heard kireedom music its super i want to about the rerecording

of the film its comes good
G V Prakash Says > : the rerecording is souding awesome u will enjoy it !
veyyil Says > : U will work hard or like a small guy chatting with frnds.... ?
Paapu Says > : What about your studies
raja Says > : how u acheive this peak in a short period??
veyyil Says > : u studied in D.G.Vaishnav college?
G V Prakash Says > : it jus cam up raja not planned .... very accidental
G V Prakash Says > : i never went to college only
pooja > has joined the chat room
G V Prakash Says > : i dropped from 11th chettinad vidhyashram
veyyil Says > : ohhhhhhhhhhhhh
pooja Says > : hi
veyyil Says > : y? u r a bad guy
pooja Says > : prakash
chinna > has logged out
G V Prakash Says > : hey !
veyyil Says > : Ur next project?
G V Prakash Says > : no not thrown out i chose music as my carrier
paddy > has joined the chat room
veyyil Says > : How u feel that work with Thala in kreedom?
raja Says > : is thr is any plan for marriage??
G V Prakash Says > : my next project is kaala !
veyyil Says > : age?
G V Prakash Says > : 21
veyyil Says > : How u feel that work with Thala in kreedom?
G V Prakash Says > : ajith sir is too gud a person v all lov him
paddy Says > : a.rehman's work you have been influenced by most
G V Prakash Says > : thats bcoz i worked with rahman for more than 1 and half year and im

from his school
veyyil Says > : which song u liked most in two films which u worked?
Appu > has joined the chat room
G V Prakash Says > : i like idhu enna maayam from orampo
veyyil Says > : veyyil and kreedom?
veyyil Says > : wat abt kreedom?
G V Prakash Says > : kreedom i lik vizhiyil
veyyil Says > : thats gud
paddy Says > : any plans to work in hindi
G V Prakash Says > : actually had got 2 offers but waiting for a grt script and team
Paapu Says > : Why you are looking so tired in chat
veyyil Says > : Any plan to combine work with A.R.Rehman?
G V Prakash Says > : i jus wok up 25 mins bck
G V Prakash Says > : definitely if given a chance
paddy Says > : do u work only in the night like your uncle?
Paapu Says > : ohh!!!! What's your decision to be in film industry or doing your higher studies
veyyil Says > : Any idea for u, like live concert?
G V Prakash Says > : it depends on the amount of wrk som times it goes even beyond

nights
G V Prakash Says > : studies is over as of now only music !
vetti > has joined the chat room
G V Prakash Says > : live concert i need more songs to my list
Guest > has joined the chat room
vetti Says > : hi prakash
Guest > has logged out
vetti Says > : how are you
Paapu Says > : Kutti Paiya!!!! Congrates! Really great music
vijay > has joined the chat room
Appu > has logged out
G V Prakash Says > : grt ! thnk u !
vetti Says > : what is your future projects
Paapu Says > : You can act too!
veyyil Says > : idea of making albums?
G V Prakash Says > : kaala , pollaadhavan , ullaasanga utsaahanga and lots more
vetti Says > : which is your natice
G V Prakash Says > : albums very soon may b by the end of next year
paddy Says > : was entering films easy ?
vetti Says > : i like your all songs
G V Prakash Says > : thnk u !
vetti Says > : which is your native
G V Prakash Says > : films definitely no it took 5 years till my first movie
veyyil Says > : How u think music for that Uruguthey... song from veyyil? any hardwork for

that song?
G V Prakash Says > : native im totally chennai
vetti Says > : you are looking as a young boy
G V Prakash Says > : i do allsongs with equal interest but it depends on the situation how

it becomes a hit
paddy Says > : you seem to be very inspired by rehamn's work. how do u manage to be

different from him?
Paapu Says > : Kutti Paiya! What a song Uruguthey!!! really such a superb song.
G V Prakash Says > : orampo definitely doesnt sound lik rehman sir ..... but rehmans

influence happens since from birth im listening to his music only
vetti Says > : entha schoolla padikkurenka
veyyil Says > : How long take to complete entire music portion for a film?
G V Prakash Says > : it takes 6 months for a movie
veyyil Says > : Home?
G V Prakash Says > : no at galatta office ! lol !
chinna > has joined the chat room
paddy Says > : how can you be so time bound. creativity can't have a time duration.
G V Prakash Says > : definitely i don deliver at exact given times as long as im not

satisfied
vetti Says > : do you know tamil
veyyil Says > : Abt jeeva Death?
G V Prakash Says > : but we hv to even look at the producers situation who put so much

money
G V Prakash Says > : jeeva sir is a very gud person i admire
G V Prakash Says > : i still cant digest it im so damn upset from the tim i heard it
G V Prakash Says > : i know him very well
veyyil Says > : idea to work with Superstar Movie?
Paapu Says > : What's your mother tongue
G V Prakash Says > : india has lost a grt technician
G V Prakash Says > : mother tounge tamil
G V Prakash Says > : superstar if given a chance definitely
Paapu Says > : konjuam siringapppa
G V Prakash Says > : lol !
G V Prakash Says > : so sorry guys jus wok up 30 mins bck
chinna Says > : what are ur future projects i want to here ur rap & western tunes in future
Paapu Says > : nice
raja Says > : now u r looking so cute with big smile
veyyil Says > : any remix song in ur film?
Paapu Says > : Prakash like village songs.... oru kuthu pattu compose panunga
G V Prakash Says > : remix i really don appreciate but wen they force i do as of now ive

not done remix
Paapu > has logged out
veyyil Says > : ur favourite music director?
pappu > has joined the chat room
G V Prakash Says > : definitely rahman sir ! abroad i lik craig david
G V Prakash Says > : and all tim favourite MJ
veyyil Says > : ur favourite song(humming)?
pappu Says > : If people wants you to act as hero means what would be your decision
G V Prakash Says > : actually i got about 2 offers as hero lol ! but really not interested
veyyil Says > : ur favourite song(humming)?
G V Prakash Says > : humming ?
veyyil Says > : song?
G V Prakash Says > : i lik new york nagaram from sillinu oru kaadhal
pappu Says > : any feed back from ajith about your music
Kumar > has joined the chat room
G V Prakash Says > : ajith sir likes vizhiyil
G V Prakash Says > : and akkam pakkam
pappu Says > : What is your hobby in free time
veyyil Says > : other languages to work?
G V Prakash Says > : telugu im doin one free tim i watch international movies
shivaji > has joined the chat room
madhavan > has joined the chat room
veyyil Says > : dream project?
madhavan Says > : Hi Prakash
G V Prakash Says > : i wud love to do hindi with som of my favourite directors lik sanjay

leela bansali , farhan akthar , amir
shivaji > has logged out
veyyil Says > : ur face is so dull.........
G V Prakash Says > : actually wen i wak up for 2 hours itl b dull !
veyyil Says > : wr is ur home?
G V Prakash Says > : lik i worked the whole night of yest
veyyil Says > : email id?
G V Prakash Says > : its in chennai t.nagar
raja Says > : do u have ORKUT profile??
G V Prakash Says > : yes i do
pappu Says > : fne yaru chellam neenga
veyyil Says > : drinking coffee?
G V Prakash Says > : ya !
G V Prakash Says > : friends chellam ! lol !
veyyil Says > : for me..................?
G V Prakash Says > : definitely
veyyil Says > : hey giv ur email id yar?
asha > has joined the chat room
pappu Says > : enaku oru chance kodunga.... nan nalla paduven
G V Prakash Says > : awakensoul105@yahoo.co.in in orkut
veyyil Says > : i will sing yar i need a chance in ur music...
asha Says > : hi prakash
vetti Says > : who is your role model
G V Prakash Says > : pass on ur demo to my assistants will hear it..... and i do giv chance

to new talents
pappu Says > : nan aluven if you dont give me a chance means
G V Prakash Says > : my role model definitely MJ , AR
pappu Says > : Anything interesting story during recording
archana > has joined the chat room
vetti Says > : dont tell lie i have checked your orkut now
raja Says > : prakash who is ur fav actor??
G V Prakash Says > : try awakensoul105 or jus awakensoul
veyyil Says > : i think u r getting angry?
G V Prakash Says > : no dudes these snapshots click at wrong time when u change

positions lol !
veyyil Says > : u saw chennai-600028? how is it
G V Prakash Says > : rocking i loved the movie ... as soon as i saw it i called the team

guys and wished them lol !
veyyil Says > : ur mobile number?
asha Says > : hi prakash
raja Says > : wat is the relation btw u and United States
veyyil Says > : tell me yar
asha Says > : how are you
G V Prakash Says > : i don carry mobile i can giv u my assistants no.l so even if u wanna

pass ur demos u can
G V Prakash Says > : grt asha !
veyyil Says > : ok send me
G V Prakash Says > : 9940390789 his name is surya
pappu Says > : Enaku music solli tharuvingala?
G V Prakash Says > : comedy panreengala !
asha Says > : the songs in vejil are great
G V Prakash Says > : do listen to kreedom
paddy > has logged out
asha Says > : what are you doing next
pappu Says > : Hey !!! I will learn music and i will be your competetor!!!!! wait and see
G V Prakash Says > : grt dude lot of musicians shud com to the industry then only itl b

healthy
veyyil Says > : ur family background?
G V Prakash Says > : kaala , kreedom , polladhavan , ullaasanga utsaahanga , vellithirai
vetti > has logged out
pappu Says > : ok kelambiten!!!!!!111
pappu Says > : Ur favourite comedian
G V Prakash Says > : i like santhanam
asha Says > : you looks very young how old are you
veyyil Says > : ur family background?
G V Prakash Says > : 21
G V Prakash Says > : dad is a business man , mom a singer
asha Says > : great in this age you can do music really great
veyyil Says > : sister r brother?
G V Prakash Says > : sister
G V Prakash Says > : hey guys gotta leave ... c ya all soon !
pappu Says > : Dont go please
G V Prakash Says > : do keep in tuch !
veyyil Says > : next meeting in galatta?
G V Prakash Says > : do mail me
G V Prakash Says > : very soon !
pappu Says > :
veyyil Says > : ok yar bye
G V Prakash Says > : bbye !
veyyil Says > :
raja Says > : bye

4th July 2007, 12:47 PM
[tscii:eca3fe7026]http://sify.com/movies/tamil/

`Kireedam` on July 20!
By Moviebuzz | Wednesday, 04 July , 2007, 07:54

The Ajit-Trisha starrer Kireedam has been postponed by a week from July 12 to July 20. The producers of the film Adlabs and Suresh Balaji, was forced to take the decision to get good theatres in Tamilnadu.

You can call it the Sivajieffect, as in many centres in Tamilnadu, the film is running in multiple screens, blocking the release of new films. The earliest that these extra screens can remove Sivaji is five weeks, which will give them a chance to recover the huge MG's that they have paid.

Added to that, all areas of Kireedam has been sold. The all important NSC area, has been purchased by Nemichand Jabak for a decent price. Says Hitesh Jabak, of Nemichand Jabak, and producer of the hit Njaan Avanillai: " Yes, I told the producers, that I want the films release to get postponed by a week, so that we get good theatres.”

In Pondicherry, a part of NSC area Sivaji is running in three out of the five theatres, and the theatre booked for Kireedam, say that they can play it only after they recover their investments.

Now that Jabak, has taken over NSC, all distribution woes of Kireedam are over. What matters the most is the film should entertain, have a basic story to say and our Thalaishould regain his form. Kireedam will be censored in the next two days and it will have no opposition till Bheema releases, sometime in September.[/tscii:eca3fe7026]

4th July 2007, 12:48 PM
[tscii:d0392f38b4]http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/32150.html

Japak gets Kireedom's distribution rights

IndiaGlitz [Wednesday, July 04, 2007]

Producer Nemichand Japak is a happy man. After his successful production venture Naan Avan Illai, he has now obtained the distribution rights for Ajith starrer Kireedom.

Japak will distribute Kireedom in North Arcot, South Arcot and Chengalpet areas.

Kireedom starring Ajith and Trisha and directed by debutant A L Vijay is all set for release later this month. A happy Japak says, “The movie has come really good. I am hopeful that Kireedom would go on to make it big”.

Japak had distributed movies like Ghajini, Sillunu Oru Kadhal and Ayuda Ezhuthu before.

Also the big news is that Japak will commence his next production venture very soon. It is tentatively titled Pandi and would star Ragava Larencce in the lead role.

Search is on for the rest of the cast.[/tscii:d0392f38b4]

4th July 2007, 01:59 PM
[tscii:769ff90b53]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-01/04-07-07-kreedom.html

Kreedom to be censored today

Kreedom, the next biggie in Kollywood, has been in the pipeline, waiting to hit the screens, for over a month now. And the grapevine has it that the movie will not hit the theatres on July 12th as expected but will grace the screens a week later on the 20th. Thanks to Sivaji, as the Kreedom distributors were unable to find a good theatre.

Kreedom, an action-family drama, to be censored today, is expected to be given a clean U certificate. So Ajith fans can be rest assured that the movie will reach the theatres on 20th, but as Sivaji is still drawing unprecedented crowds and the theatre owners trying to get the most out of this craze obtaining a good theatre even on 20th seems to be doubtful. And in case the movie cannot be accommodated in any of the good theatres then the release date might be postponed. So it’s all in the hands of The Boss.

Ajith, who is in Malaysia shooting for Billa is expected back in town the day after on a personal visit, to see his beloved wife Shalini. In his short visit of two days, the actor is expected to preview the censored version just before it hits the screens, sources say. [/tscii:769ff90b53]

4th July 2007, 03:46 PM
Kireedam offers great music

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2007/jul/03sskiree.htm

Saraswathy Srinivas

July 03, 2007 19:22 IST

Kireedam is a benchmark Tamil film. The Malayalam original earned National Awards for its star Mohanlal and singer M G Sreekumar for his poignant number Kannuneer Poovinte in 1990. Later, in 1993, came Gardish, director Priyadarshan's Hindi version of the same with Jackie Shroff in the lead role. Now, the much-awaited Tamil version, starring Ajith and Trisha, will release shortly.

The Tamil version is directed by debutant A L Vijay. Na Muthukumar's evocative lyrics have been set to tune by young and upcoming composer G V Prakashkumar. The five tracks in the album showcase the composer's mastery over his craft. Almost all the numbers start with an impressive instrumental prelude.

The opening track Vizhiyil vizhiyil is a romantic melody by Sonu Nigam [Images] and Swetha. The lyrics soaked in soft sentiments bring alive the dreams of the lovers about a resplendent future together. Sonu Nigam's chaste Tamil diction is praiseworthy. But what keeps you spellbound is the sublime instrumental interludes with sitar strains giving it a beguiling feel.

Kanavellam is a gem. Starting with a sustaining chorus, the track is replete with swaying rhythm. The instrumental stoppages fortified with pauses and excellent flute patterns make this an absorbing track. The lyrics are all about the hopes and aspirations of a father-son duo, with the father dreaming of his son going places in life and the son promising to fulfill those dreams. Singers Jayachandran and Karthik are very good here.

Sadhana Sargam's Akkam pakkam turns the clock back to her Snehithanae from Alaipayuthe. Her rendition in hushed tones, aided by good instrumentation with violin and flute spells and lively chorus, make it a delightful track. The lyrics are all about a girl in love fantasising about a life in a world in which only she and her lover are present. The number concludes with soft humming and guitar notes.

Vilayadu vilayadu with the loud vocals of Shankar Mahadevan [Images] follows koothu style. Vigorous drums gives it a martial touch in the beginning. With all its lively percussion and peppy beats ends up as just a routine number.

Vijay Jesudas's Kanneerthuliye follows next. The thumping of the drum in the prelude of Kanneerthuliye creates a sense of tragic foreboding in tune with the lyrics. Vijay with his mellow, soul-touching rendition successfully brings out the pain, grief, loss and longing of a beaten soul. His excellent tonal modulation traversing the highs and lows is another high point of this track. The lingering flute strains towards the conclusion add to the pathos.

The album comes to a close with an extended heavy instrumental arrangement as theme music. The ensemble piece starts with fast rhythm, vigorous but monotonous drum beats, then mellows down, again warms up with meditative pauses and ends on a poignant note. All perhaps symbolic of the turbulence in the tortured soul of the protagonist and others affected by his tragic fate.

An enjoyable album tempting you to press the rewind button.

STARS : 3 / 5

4th July 2007, 06:52 PM
[tscii:4c2bee113d]http://www.ayngaran.com/Ayngaran/Ayngaran_Home.html?id=music&name=Kireedom

Kireedom Music Review

Cast :Ajith,Trisha
Director :Vijay
Music :G.V.Prakash
Production :Adlabs and Sujatha Cine Arts

Kireedom starring Ajith and Trisha the long awaited movie had its audio launch yesterday; this film is directed by debutant Vijay produced by adlabs and sujatha cine arts.

The music is scored by the nephew of the expert A.R Rahman and veyil fame G. V Prakash,his music is sure to have the touch of his uncle. This album contains 6 songs with appropriate collection of melodies.

Vizhiyil
Beautiful melodies beginning which will be the next hit, This song is sung by sonu nigam and shwetha with simple classical touch and the song, the BGM is very well combined by string instruments that keep the flow going strong.

Kanavellam
A peppy and a strong dosage song with the lead singers being Jeyachandran and Karthik, an optimist song with influential lyrics, the song takes different levels as we hear it, the blend of the two voices is another plus.

Vilayau vilayadu
A music album is not complete with a meaningful and masala song, this is the one for the Ajith fans, fast paced and the strong voice of Shankar Mahadevan does the rest. Good use of percussions in the song with use of good chorus in between to break the monotony. This number is sure to rock the audience.

Akkam pakkam
A romantic song with saccharine voice of Sadhana Sargam, keeps the music at a low pace and the lead singer has used her high octane to make the song more soothing. This song will surely be amongst the next good romantic numbers.

Kanner thuliye
A gloomy number in this album with the intense voice of Vijay Yesudas that gives the song the right mood, the lyrics are very apologetic and the music and the tune reminds us of Uyire’s hit song Pookatrile sung by Yesudas, like father like son.
[/tscii:4c2bee113d]

4th July 2007, 06:58 PM
Kireedom Audio Review

http://dailykirukkal.blogspot.com/2007/06/kireedom-audio-review.html

Movie : Kireedom
Cast : Ajith, Trisha, Raj Kiran
Music : G.V.Prakash Kumar

Akkam Pakkam
Singer : Sadana Sargam
The initial bit is similar to Pudhu Vellai Mazhai from Roja. Other than that the music is quite compelling! Yet another melody from Sadana Sargam! The flute composition after the pallavi is outstanding! "Akkam pakkam" is truly a diamond stone on Ajith's Kireedom.

Vizhiyinil
Singers : Sonu Nigam, Swetha
Good mix of Violin and Veena. Lyrics are catchy, especially the pallavi! Another great melody and is sure to rock for many years!
Theme Music:
Rhythms quite well with movie's tempo. It is kind of lengthy(4:24), editing the middle part would have made it even more catchy! The initial part is mesmerizing!

Kanavellam
Singers : Karthik, Jeyachandran

Nothing new except for the lyrics. It sounds like a story narration, could have been a bit more racy!

Vilaiyadu Vilaiyadu
Singer : Shankar Mahadevan
Just another average song! I think lyricists should move beyond the age old "Thalaiyirukkum podhu vaal ada koodathu" monologue! Ajith is a star performer and he definitely deserves more than this!

Kanneer Thuliyile
Singer : Vijay Yesudas
Similar to Poongatrile from Uyire! This song captures pathos with good lyrics.

Plus : Melodies
Minus : Lacks a racy number, Greatly influenced by A.R.Rahman's music!

DailyKirukkal's Rating : ***

11th July 2007, 11:11 AM
Kireedam tops the charts

http://www.buzz18.com/features/music/rahmans-got-competition-at-home/2942/0

11th July 2007, 11:37 AM
http://nowrunning.com/news/news.asp?it=11078

Nephew overtakes uncle A.R. Rahman

Chennai, July 10 (IANS) After uncle, it is now the nephew's turn to make the audiences swing to the catchy scores. A.R. Rahman has always created waves with his albums, and now it is his nephew G.V. Prakash whose music has become a craze with youngsters.

Prakash's "Kireedam" tops the charts in Tamil Nadu.

1. "Kireedam" (G.V. Prakash): The album is sure to make one listen to it over and over again. 'Kanavellam' sung by Jayachandran and Karthik is the pick of the songs.

2. "Satham Podaathay" (Yuvan Shankar Raja): Yuvan has assembled the best singers - Shankar Mahadevan, Shreya Ghosal and even Sudha Raghunathan - in the album. This one's definitely worth buying.

3. "Sivaji" (A.R. Rahman): The music of this album has appealed to one and all.

4. "Unnale Unnale" (Harris Jayaraj): With the sad demise of Jeeva, there is a renewed interest for the album and the film in the state.

5. "Chennai 600028" (Yuvan Shankar Raja): The songs of this album are becoming more and more popular with each passing day, "Sivaji" notwithstanding.

11th July 2007, 11:39 AM
Kireedam tops the charts

Rahman's got competition at home
Nephew beats the master composer at his own game

Believe it or not, AR Rahman has got competition from within his family. The master composer has been beaten at his own game by his nephew GV Prakash. Tamil film Kireedam, for which Prakash has composed the music, is topping the charts in Tamil Nadu. The album has become a huge rage amongst youngsters beating Rahman's Sivaji, which ranks number three.

A close second is Yuvan Shankar Raja's Satham Podaathay, which boasts of an impressive line-up of singers. With Shankar Mahadevan, Shreya Ghosal and Sudha Raghunathan lending their voices to Raja's tunes, this album is disappearing off the shelves just as quickly.

Jeeva's demise has renewed interest in Unnale Unnale and has catapulted the film's music to number four.

But the album to look out for seems to be Yuvan Shankar Raja's Chennai 600028. The young, peppy tracks are soon catching the fancy of the youth.

The top five albums in Tamil Nadu are:

1. Kireedam by GV Prakash
2. Satham Podaathay by Yuvan Shankar Raja
3. Sivaji by AR Rahman
4. Unnale Unnale by Harris Jayaraj
5. Chennai 600028 by Yuvan Shankar Raja

11th July 2007, 11:40 AM
[tscii:5c9a097223]http://www.ajithfans.com/news/2007/07/10/kireedam-press-meet-the-happenings/

Kireedam Press Meet - THE HAPPENINGS
July 10, 2007

Kireedam the mega venture from the table of reliance adlabs and Sujatha cine arts starring our THALA AJIT. The production team held a press meet today. Raj narayan, Suresh balaji, Mano Akiini, AL VIJAY, Na.Muthukumar, GV Prakash were all present.

Kanavellam and Akkam Pakkam songs were played and it seems both songs rocked with excellent cinema making, camera and editing! THala looked awesome it seems. Ad labs Team, Director Vijay and GV Prakash were all very very confident about the film and have said it’s really a surprise that a debutant director has churned out such a good movie.

Director Vijay contributed the completion of work with good quality to producers, next to casting and last but not least to Thala Ajit. He said shooting took 72 days while movie making in total took 6 months. He has done his best and if anything goes wrong no one should blame Ajit but only blame him because it was he who persuaded thala to do this movie.

GVP said he spent 32 days to score the BGM, and has done a pretty good job and said the movie rocks.

Director Vijay on a final note said main credit goes to Ajit and Rajkiran for having come up with stunning performances. He also said Ajit will have a new and natural body language in this movie and Ajit has worked on it himself without any guidance. The two songs played seems to have excellent camerawork and akkam pakkam starts when both families watch some RAJINI movie in theater together and editing is a highpoint along with exotic locales and mind blowing camera work.

Mano Akkini the co-producer and the team leader of the adlabs production team was full of smiles and she expressed her great confidence in the movie and said they used AJit’s mass as their launch pad in kollywood .

Na.Muthukumar said he was friend of AL VIJAY for 10 years and when vijay invited him to write dialogues along with him for the movie, he was thrilled and grabbed the opportunity. He also appreciated Ajit’s screen presence and Rajkiran’s acting. Mr.Suresh balaji said the film is yet to be censored and 20th is still not a confirmed date and he wished to release as soon as possible. He also expected a very good reaction from the fans and crowd for the climax scene where he reported Ajit’s acting and Rajkiran’s acting were scintillating and he had no words to appreciate Ajit’s tremendous screen presence and his hard work to act in the most natural way without any build up being a mass hero.

We think KREEDAM will indeed crown Ajit thats for sure, hope it crowns Ajit Fans too! Now it’s in your hands mates to give the film a bumper never seen before opening!

See the Exclusive Photo Coverage of Kireedam Press Meet Here:
[/tscii:5c9a097223]

11th July 2007, 01:32 PM
Kireedam tops the charts

Believe it or not, AR Rahman has got competition from within his family. The master composer has been beaten at his own game by his nephew GV Prakash. Tamil film Kireedam, for which Prakash has composed the music, is topping the charts in Tamil Nadu. The album has become a huge rage amongst youngsters beating Rahman's Sivaji, which ranks number three.

A close second is Yuvan Shankar Raja's Satham Podaathay, which boasts of an impressive line-up of singers. With Shankar Mahadevan, Shreya Ghosal and Sudha Raghunathan lending their voices to Raja's tunes, this album is disappearing off the shelves just as quickly.

Jeeva's demise has renewed interest in Unnale Unnale and has catapulted the film's music to number four.

But the album to look out for seems to be Yuvan Shankar Raja's Chennai 600028. The young, peppy tracks are soon catching the fancy of the youth.

3. Sivaji by AR Rahman

11th July 2007, 01:34 PM
Kireedam tops the charts

3. Sivaji by AR Rahman

11th July 2007, 02:08 PM
Dinesh,
ethukku :roll:

11th July 2007, 03:05 PM
[tscii:ad8204ab31]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-02/10-07-07-kreedom.html

A sneak peak at Kreedom’s visuals

By Behindwoods News Bureau.
July 10, 2007
As a overture to the awaiting extravaganza, the much-hyped Ajith movie Kreedom’s trailer release and screening of two songs were held at 6.30 p.m. in the Four Frames preview theatre owned by noted director Priyadarshan. A press meet was also organized by the producers Suresh Balaji’s Sujatha combines and Adlabs. The event was graced by the crew including director Vijay apart from the producers of the movie.

Kreedom

Kreedom’s director as is known to all took his apprenticeship in movies under the auspices of the veteran Malayalam director Priyadarshan. He is now testing waters with his debut Kreedom banking on the story of a cult Malayalam Mohanlal hit. The movie is being wrapped up at a jet pace and is expected to hit the screens soon.
Kreedom Addressing the media, director Vijay expressed his gratitude towards his crew. “The crew I’m associated with is one of the best any director could get, especially for his debut movie,” noted Vijay. On a bolder note, he stated that he would carry the whole responsibility if the movie fails to make a mark at the box office. “I have given my body and soul for the movie and had put in the best of my efforts. However, if for any unfortunate reason the movie did not pull it off, I would take up the responsibility for the same,” he affirmed with an air of confidence.

However, judging by the credentials of the two songs and the trailers that were screened, Vijay would have the least of chances to attempt shouldering any responsibility of failure. His directorial competence was apparently conspicuous in the songs, which awed the shutterbugs present in the event.

Kanavellam

The solo Kanavellam is a mellow number enacted by Rajkiran and Ajith. The lyrics and visuals narrate a father’s dreams to make his son enter into the police force. The song throws light at Ajith’s journey to fulfill his father’s dreams. As an obliging son, the actor prepares intensively for the Inspector training program and in the end writes the exam. This touching song lingers long after it ends in the screen and the emotional bondage shown - in no doubt - fills one’s eyes.

Akkam Pakkam

The second song to be shown at the event was the sugary melodious number yet again a solo enacted by Ajith and Trisha in the backwaters of Kerala. Enough reason for the cameraman Thiru to unleash his creativity. His camera does a classy job and enlivens the entire mood of the song. Ajith and Trisha’s love song is sure to strike a chord as soon as the movie is released. If not for anything, Akkam Pakkam will be remembered for its stunning picturisation in the backdrop of Kerala’s backwaters, boats, sunset, and moon. [/tscii:ad8204ab31]

11th July 2007, 03:06 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-slide-shows/movie-1/top-ten-songs/tamil-cinema-topten-song-kreedom.html

No.2
Album: Kreedom

Song: Vizhiyil

Music director: G.V.Prakash

Singer(s): Sonu Nigam, Swetha

G.V. Prakash, just three films old, is back with his music for one of the superstars of Kollywood, Ajith. Vizhiyil, sung by Sonu Nigam & Swetha vouches for a pleasant hear. The song has every potential to become one of the best tracks dished out for an Ajith starrer. The album has come up with interesting instrument usage, which is just a sign of what to expect from this youngster in the future. Look out for this album, bigger things expected once the movie releases.

NormalMan
13th July 2007, 04:25 AM
So here is the recipe to make reviewers go gaga over a song,

1. Make sure the bass loops run through the song
2. Have the interludes (one in veena & another in violin) and make them totally irrelevant to the flow of the song
3. Show no creativity at all when compared to what has been done in the last 15 years of TFM

For sure the reviewing critics will love and eat the music. Will they remember the song after 6.33 months? Nay ....

Movies
15th July 2007, 01:04 AM
Ive been very careful not to review without careful listening. Here is what I feel:

Honestly, Kreedom is just another album. With the FM revolution in Tamil Nadu, you will surely hear a couple of these songs played over and over again on radios.
Even Veyil had that one haunting melody ( Uruguthai), thats it!

The media has been trying to dethrone ARR for ages now. They feel ARR fans back GVP, perfect oppurtunity for them to raise the kid sky high, and "maybe" eventually dethrone ARR. I am not trying to be harsh on the kid but so far he is just like an average joe. But to his merit he seems to take his works seriously, so watch out.

15th July 2007, 09:46 AM
Movies,

GVP has to go really a long long way to be mentioned along with ARR and contemporaries, let alone dethroning him.

He definitely shows signs of talent, but still has to prove himself. I expected Kireedam album a lot, but it didn't live upto my expectations.

That said, the songs are good to hear, no doubt about it.

15th July 2007, 01:09 PM
"vizhiyil" is certainly a soft and melodious number !

of course Sonu nigam is better than Udit Narayan in pronounciation !

16th July 2007, 08:12 AM
"vizhiyil" is certainly a soft and melodious number !

of course Sonu nigam is better than Udit Narayan in pronounciation !

16th July 2007, 10:15 AM
Vizhiyil is indeed beautiful. The interludes, however, are ripoffs from his uncle's numbers. For example, the first interlude is strongly reminiscent of SwAsamE SwAsamE (Thenali). Kanavellam is superb too starting wonderfully well and reaching a crescendo with en vaanilE oru natchathiram ... A delightful number indeed. I guess Akkam Pakkam will appeal after repeated listenings. The inspiration from SnehithanE + Vaseegara is unmistakeable. I listened to Vijay Yesudas number only once and no comments. I did not listen to the SM number yet. Definitely three good songs. Welcome GVP. Enjoy your ride in TFM.

16th July 2007, 06:26 PM
Vizhiyil is just tooo adictive :)... been listenin to it atleast 2-3 times a day....

Kreedam
16th July 2007, 09:01 PM
KANAVELLAM IS MY FAVOURITE SONG GVP HAS DONE A GREAT JOB AND BEINGA DIE HARD AJIT THALA FAN I LOVE VILAYADU TOO 8-)

17th July 2007, 05:13 PM
Even "urugudhey" from "veyyil" sounds like a cheap Vidhyasagar imitation . Just because a song is a melody it doesnt qualify under a gud composition. There are many jingles which are more melodious than what the current MDs are dishing out in the name of "melody".

17th July 2007, 05:24 PM
I loved KANNEER THULIGAL song a lot ! Got addicted to that ! 8-)
Apart from that, VIZHIYIL :notworthy:
& being a THALA fan, I love Velayaadu ! Kalakkal lyrics (provides a +ve feel & motivates ||| to a MGR song )

18th July 2007, 06:56 PM
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/Kolathur.jpg

Special Show in Golathur Kanga

18th July 2007, 06:59 PM
Kireedom Overseas Release

UK - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/UK.jpg

Germany - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/Germany.jpg

Srilanka - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/Srilanka.jpg
paris - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/Paris.jpg
Holland - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/ajith-fans-eyakkam/Holland.jpg

Melbourne :
KIREEDOM TICKET AVAILABLE IN MELBOURNE

MONASH UNIVERSITY, CLAYTON
20/7/07---------------- FRIDAY- 6PM & 9 PM,
21/7/07---------------- SATURDAY 12(NOON), 3PM, 6PM, 9PM,
22/07/07-------------- SUNDAY4PM & 7PM.

CHINA TOWN (CITY)
200, BOURKE ST
22/07/07 SUNDAY 12 (NOON SHOW)....

TICKETS AVAILABLE IN ALL MAJOR GROCERY STORES IN MELBOURNE, BISMI'S
GOLDAN FORK(CITY) & BISMI BRUNSWICK AND BISMI MINI MART BRUNSWICK.
TELEPHONE BOOKINGS INVITED.

PLS CONTACT :

MR. SHAIK : 041 350 8702
MS MAHESH : 0415 733 776

Dubai :

Dubai ( Galleria Theater )
Coming 19 Thursday onwards ,
TICKET RATE (30 dhs)

Courtesy : AFE

18th July 2007, 07:00 PM
[tscii:5711299b99] Trisha's role in Kreedom

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-03/18-07-07-trisha.html

July 18, 2007
During an exclusive interview to behindwoods.com, Vijay, director of Kreedom, candidly spoke about Trisha’s role in the movie. In an interview sometime earlier Vijay said that Trisha’s performance will be something similar to that of Revathy’s in Mouna Raagam. When asked about it, the director admitted that Trisha has given one of the most memorable performances of her career in his film.

Kreedom
Kreedom being a serious movie, Trisha will provide a comical relief. She plays a bubbly young girl and along with Santhanam and Vivek is expected to bring the house down.
To get more information on Kreedom watch the exclusive interview of director Vijay now.[/tscii:5711299b99]

18th July 2007, 07:36 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/features/Interviews/interview-5/vijay/vijay.html

Director Vijay talks about Kireedom

18th July 2007, 07:39 PM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=14494540

Thalai takes on Boss!

By Moviebuzz | Wednesday, 18 July , 2007, 09:02

Ajit's Kireedam is releasing on Friday, July 20 worldwide, with around 185 prints.It is only one third, the number of prints deployed for Rajnikanth's Sivaji! Still trade pundits are saying it is the first big film, to take on the behemoth and everybody is saying a silent prayer for its success.

The battle is basically confined to Tamilnadu, as Kireedam has no Telugu dubbed version, and is not releasing in Kerala and has limited release overseas and five prints in Mumbai multiplexes. Ajit better known as "King of opening" is taking on Rajnikanth, the "Sultan of box-office", who is going great guns in his sixth week!

In Chennai city, it is not a level playing field. KIreedam is opening in only five screens- Santham, Inox, Sangam,Jayaprada, Agasthya with a combined seating capacity of approximately 4100 seats. Sivaji in its sixth weekend will still have 14 screens, and three times more capacity and definitely better gross collections!

Clearly Thalaivan rules, and Thalai will not be able to get the Kireedam (Crown) at the Chennai Box-Office (CBO), in the opening week. In NSC area,Thalai has a better chance of getting the crown, as Kireedam is releasing in 31 screens and in some complexes like Chrompet Vetri, it is releasing in the bigger screen.

Kireedam is also releasing in NSC border theatres like Kasi in Jaffarkhanpet, Jyanthi in Thiruvanmayoor, SSR Pankajam in Saligramam,and Rohini in Koyambedu, which are all part of greater Chennai.

Meanwhile Kireedam overseas prints have left Adlabs in Chennai on Monday evening. The advance booking which opened on Tuesday in Chennai city has been brisk, and the weather forecast for this weekend July 20 to 22, is sunny though cloudy. Thalai needs the crown badly, for his own survival at the top.

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 01:05 PM
i wish this movie does well and its nice to see ajith competing with rajini.. it will just be great ..

karthik_sa2
20th July 2007, 01:07 PM
just 4100 seats???am afraid there is going to be lot of tickets sold in black and for huge amount

20th July 2007, 03:05 PM
[tscii:8ba12113b2]
Review
Moviebuzz

Kireedam

Movie
Kireedam
Director
Vijay
Producer
Adlabs & Suresh Balaje
Music
G.V.Prakash
Cast
Ajit, Raj Kiran, Trisha, Saranya, Vivek, Ajay

By Moviebuzz

For once a Tamil remake of a Malayalam classic, lives up to our expectations. Kireedam is quality cinema, one that is daringly different from the run-of-the mill superstar films that are dished out in the name of mass movies.
High on adrenaline as well as human emotions, it turns out to be a well-packaged family entertainer. It is not your typical Ajit film as there is no larger-than-life hero bashing up a dozen men at one go or a vigilante trying to clean up the society. It is about real people and their anxieties that you can relate to ?a loving father, a sincere policeman whose dream is to see his son wear the police uniform before he retires from service.

There are many scenes and moments that touch your heart. This film wouldn't be half the film it is if it weren't for the remarkable performance of Raj Kiran and Ajit who play father and son. It has an intelligent screenplay, sometimes humorous, sometimes poignant and gripping which leaves a lump in your throat.

Click here for Kireedam - Official website

Rajarajan (Raj Kiran), a policeman, is a doting father and upright head constable posted at a Tiruchi police station. Sakthivel (Ajit), his eldest son, is the apple of his eye who is waiting for his selection to the police force. Rajarajan is a policeman who follows the book and believes that policemen are guardians of the society and should do good for the public.

He has a large family of a loving wife (Saranya), two daughters with one of them married to a good-for-nothing guy (Vivek), and two sons. Meanwhile Sakthi meets Divya (Trisha) a college student and after a few comic incidents they fall in love. Both the families agree for the marriage but in a sudden turn of events, Rajarajan is given a punishment transfer for slapping the local MLA’s son who misbehaved with another policeman in public.

When Rajarajan refuses to apologise to the MLA’s son, he is transferred to Kodaikal, a notorious small town, ruled by a gangster Varadarajan (Ajay). When he arrives there, he finds that the local Sub Inspector (Ravi Kala) has been brutally beaten up by Varadan, and the cops, fearing the don, have not filed an FIR!! It is the beginning of more trouble for Rajarajan and his family, especially Sakthi, who gets sucked into a difficult situation, for no fault of his. On the day Sakthi gets selected as an SI, something untoward happens, that changes the course of their life.

Kireedam showcases Ajit as never before, it is his best performance in a very difficult role. He looks so dashing and at the same time exudes menace with his expressive body and eye language, and the climax belongs to him. Don’t miss his on-screen chemistry with Trisha, especially their romantic encounters. And Trisha can’t ask for more in an action-based family drama about father-son relationship. She spells magic on the screen with her bubbly comedy act, the naughty and talkative girl who falls for the soft spoken guy. She is irresistible, and looks great in the dream song Akkam Pakkam?/I>, which is beautifully picturised by cameraman Tirru, with the backwaters and forest green as background.

Raj Kiran as the doting but strict disciplinarian father writes an actors` manual for impeccable acting. Saranya and K P A C Lalitha are adequate for the mother and grand ma act. The Vivek-Santhanam comedy track raises a few laughs. However, Trisha steals the thunder with her comedy antics especially in the scene when she speaks her heart out to Ajit on what she thinks about his family sitting in the water tank, as Vivek and rest of the family overhear their conversation.

On the downside, the main villain character done by Ajay is a little weak, and does not have the necessary menace in him. The introductory song of Ajit could have been better picturised. G V Prakash’s music is rocking, especially the song Kanavellam?/I> on the father-son relationship and their aspirations with meaningful lyrics of Na. Muthukumar.

Antony’s editing is crisp without using any gimmicks, which enriches the story telling. Tirru’s camera work is eye catching and has used Vizag and Kerala locales suitably to fit in with the mood of the film. What makes the film work is the charm of the central characters, the father-son bonding, and the sentimental ending contributes considerably towards tugging at your heart strings.

The film may not be typical Ajit mass masala formula movie, but there is an elegant charm and a straight-from- the-heart feel about it. Bravo director Vijay, producer Suresh Balaje and his team for making a gutsy, daringly different film within the commercial format. It needs a lot of guts and conviction to make a realistic film without resorting to crass clichéd formula associated with a superstar film.

On the whole, Kireedam is an engaging entertainer which is so rare to find these days. Go for it!

Verdict: Good
selva kumar sir,ippa santhosama???

[/tscii:8ba12113b2]

rajachandar
23rd July 2007, 01:04 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/specials/cinema/review/kireedam_070722.html

23rd July 2007, 02:45 PM
[tscii:75c9aaf71e]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news/july-07-03/21-07-07-kreedom-ajith.html

The verdict is out; Ajith is at his best in Kreedom. He looks young, fresh energetic and performs from his heart which may steal many a hearts. All the hard work shows on screen and the mood is upbeat in Ajith’s camp. Like the proverbial phoenix rising from the ashes, Ajith has risen from a furrow that fate, destiny or plain bad luck and choice of films got his career into.

Kreedom
This is an appreciation not only of Ajith but also a sincere acknowledgement of the unwavering support of all his fans, the people who never doubted the ability of their favorite star. The reviews are positive; everyone who saw the movie has liked it; there is everything that goes towards the making of the film into a hit. But fortunes at the box office are fickle, so let us not make any premature celebrations that Kreedom is a huge hit. Those celebrations can be held later. For the moment the fact that everyone can revel in is that one of the most promising youth of Tamil cinema has proved all his critics wrong. Varalaaru was a big hit, but Kreedom is even more special because it is the remake of a movie that was and is still Varalaaru (read part of history).

This is something about the original Kireedam that was released in 1989 in Malayalam that will give you an idea of what Ajith and the rest of the Kreedom team have pulled off.

Kreedom
When Kireedam was released 18 years back, it was almost instantly proclaimed as a classic film and deservingly so. Mohanlal in the lead role had just given the finest performance that Indian cinema had seen in years and the brilliance just could not be overlooked, it shone so bright. It was at a time when the National Film awards were being announced and unfortunately Kireedam had been released at a date too late to be considered for the awards that year and incidentally Bharath award that year went to Mammooty for his performance in Oru Vadakkan Veeragatha. But Kireedam could just not be allowed to pass by unrecognized and it was one of the very few occasions in the history of Indian cinema that a President’s special medal was given away to an actor. It was nothing less than the national.
Kreedom

Why then, you could ask, was the movie not remade for nearly 18 years? It is not that no one thought about remaking it. It was just that many people considered it and went back realizing the level of mastery that the actor in the lead role had to possess to carry off the role. Also it might not be wrong to say that the movie has been remade many times in bits and pieces. Anyone who has seen the original can notice many scenes of Kireedam being replicated in many movies. This is a fact that has been acknowledged by Chiyan Vikram who once in an interview to a Malayalam channel said that a Kireedam remake would be dream come true for him. What more, the Kireedam level of perfection has not been bettered by Mohanlal himself. It remains to date (in spite of two other national awards) his best performance.
It is this dream of many people that Ajith with director Vijay and Rajkiran has accomplished and that too in a manner that will not make the minds behind the original version feel let down. Yes, there are changes in the script to suit the changed times and the Tamil audience and the duet that was not there in the original, but the soul has been retained and the entire team of Kreedom must be congratulated for not swaying to too many commercial compulsions. They have stuck to their guns and the results can be seen.
What Kireedam did to Mohanlal? It placed him on par with the best in the country. He was no longer just another actor, he was an actor of caliber, of repute, of stature. It started his growth from being just a star to a superstar who can be depended upon to carry out tough roles. It was after Kireedam that Mohanlal really began to get some wonderful roles, both commercial and offbeat ones and now Ajith has opened those doors for himself. There was never any doubt that he can act well, but how well, no one knew. He has delivered good performances in Vaali and more recently Varalaaru, but Kreedom because of the sheer precedent that had to be emulated, should be the best of them all. That is why no one has minced any words in proclaiming Kreedom as Ajith’s best ever performance.

Kreedom
Now, Ajith has to tread carefully to keep the standards that he has set for himself in Kreedom because he can be sure of one thing. We are not going to settle for anything less. Kreedom may just be Ajith’s crown. [/tscii:75c9aaf71e]

23rd July 2007, 02:47 PM
[tscii:3d0db20f7f]http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-06/kreedom-movie-review.html

Kreedom Movie Review

Cast: Ajith, Trisha, Raj Kiran, Vivek, Saranya, Haneefa, Santhanam, Ajay Kumar

Direction: AL Vijay

Music: GV. Prakash

Production: Suresh Balaji
Being inspired from an award winning movie is not new to Kollywood, but doing justice to the story is tantamount to tightrope walking and debutant AL Vijay passes this litmus test with flying colors. A straightforward story with unpretentious characters, captured on celluloid in a most simplistic fashion.

The movie set in Trichy, is all about an honest police constable Rajkiran, who dreams of making his son, Ajith a sub-inspector of police. Being an honest policeman always comes along with its taglines, and when Rajkiran 's dream was about to come true, he is shifted to one of the most treacherous areas, Kodiyakkarai, a place ruled by a local dada Ajay who dislikes his honesty.

Kreedom
One thing leads to another and Ajith ends up thrashing the villain and now the wounded villain is keen to take revenge. And the rest of the movie is all about how Ajith faces the problem and whether he becomes the inspector or not.
Kreedom

The movie is shot very well but is not without its share of minuses as the director fails to sustain the momentum in the second half that was generated in the first half. Kreedom's post interval session seems to delve deep on melodrama which will undoubtedly bring the fairer sex to the theatres. One such scene is where Ajith is sent out by his father due to a tussle which makes him loaf around the town and enter his house late in the night. On his re-entry, Ajith’s Mother, Saranya, beckons him to have food and at that instant, all the members of the household come out with their eating plates, not having eaten a morsel of food without him the entire day. This sequence is sure to open the floodgates and make the audience wish that they were also part of this affectionate family unit.
It's very hard to pick who impresses more, Ajith or Rajkiran. Ajith has performed his part with consummate ease and looks dashing. His screen presence and dialogue delivery justifies his huge fan base and is likely to fetch him more fans. Rajkiran as Ajith's father has given an immaculate performance. His acting skills have been continuously honed to perfection and Kreedom is certain to be amongst his best.
Trisha's role is not a miniscule one but has a prominent part in the proceedings and she excels in it. Saranya's performance as Ajith's mother is very natural. Vivek makes a fleeting appearance but it is Santhanam who steals the limelight. VMC Haneefa, does a brilliant cameo in the movie. Ravi Kale as the inspecter was a revelation. Ajay as the villain thinks being a baddie is just about talking loudly and screaming at a high pitched decibel

The emotional and sentimental dialogues by AL.Vijay and Na.Muthukumar will definitely go well with family audiences. AL.Vijay has done a perfect job in selecting the right artists, and has extracted the best from each one of them like an experienced director. He sure does have a bright future in the tinsel world.

Kreedom
Music by G.V. Prakash needs a special mention and especially the Akkam Pakkam number which lingers on long after we walk out of the theatres. Camerawork by Thiru is nothing short of exceptional. Seamless editing by Anthony adds to the credit of Kreedom.

It's a good realistic attempt towards meaningful cinema. But if the sluggish pace in the second half is taken care of, the movie would have been much crisper.

Kreedom will categorically be Ajith's prized trophy in his filmi career.

Final Verdict - Complete family entertainer. [/tscii:3d0db20f7f]

rajachandar
24th July 2007, 11:09 AM
http://www.rediff.com/movies/2007/jul/23sski.htm

24th July 2007, 03:16 PM
[tscii:5c7a822849]http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/review/8943.html
Kireedam Movie Review

Kireedam - Heady with realism
IndiaGlitz [Thursday, July 19, 2007]

Kireedam is a sensible and sincere attempt at realistic entertainment. And after a long time, Ajith looks very cool and relaxed --- actually a throwback to his hey days --- and showcases his undoubted histrionic talent with spunk. Trisha, as an impish college girl, shines and brings to fore her growing felicity with comedy.

But the film is not about the funny bone; it deals with a tender and touching relationship between a father and son. A dream that a doting dad has for his ward and how fate undoes all the desires through a catena of compelling events forms the bulwark of this sturdy story.

A remake of the Malayalam hit of the 80s, the film scores because its core is about humanism and the values that bond all cultured beings. Kireedam is a commercial movie, alright. But there is no over-the-top heroic stuff that undid all the recent Ajith movies. Kireedam’s strength is its low-key elegance, and letting honesty of life take over. Ajith has consciously avoided the pitfalls of his previous movies and dishes out a delightful performance.

The natural bonding between a father and son is brought out spontaneously by Ajith and Raj Kiran, who it must be said, has managed to re-invent himself as a bankable middle-class dad onscreen. The slow-paced movie holds your attention through its smart soft-focus moments in everyday life. The ebb and flow of everyday emotions gets the right treatment from AL Vijay, the director. He sure knows how to mix the various ingredients, and shows a level-headedness that can stand him in good stead for long.

Sakthivel (Ajith) is an implicitly obedient son of a sincere policeman, Rajarajan (Raj Kiran). Sakthi and his dad’s dream is the same: That of seeing him enter the police force. The entire family comprising two other daughters, the mom (Saranya) and a wastrel of a brother-in-law (Vivek) are cuddly and close-knit. Rajarajan is from the old school of life and honesty is his watchword. In a venal system, this lands him in trouble often.

Divya (Trisha), a college girl, is a charming full-of-beans girl. She has some comical run-ins with Sakthi, and eventually falls in love with him. Elsewhere, Rajarajan, who books a MLA’s son for an offence, is hauled up over the coals and sent on a ‘punishment transfer’ to a place, which is run as personal fief by a local dada (Ajay). On thing leads to another, and Sakthi is unwittingly sucked into the unholy vortex. Just as he is about to join the police force, destiny decrees otherwise: His life is not going to be the same again. A dad’s dream lies shattered while a son, despite his unwillingness, has to fight a honest war beyond the matrix of a law. It is a situation that is actually an emotional cauldron. How the dad and son reconcile to the new reality is the story.

Ajith as Sakthi is suave and oozes quiet charm initially, and shows the desired intensity when taking on the baddies. There is a new maturity to his work reflecting his calmness in real life. The exchanges between him and Raj Kiran are almost tangible in its realism. The romantic interludes are all-out fun. The bonding between Ajith and Trisha is cool and has the right comic touches.

Trisha shines in this effervescent character and manages to leave a lasting impact. Her comic timing is a big revelation and she manages to hold her own against the likes of Vivek and Santhanam, the established comedians. Surely, this is one of her most enthusiastic performances.

Raj Kiran comes up with all the right touches and adds dignity to the role, which was made memorable in the original by Thilakan. Saranya does the mother role with ease and poise. Vivek and Santhanam provide the right humorous touches at the right moments. The villains have nothing extraordinary to offer. KPAC Lalitha as the grandmother is adequate.

The other main show-stealer is G V Prakash. The young musician has shown that his performance in Veyyil is no flash in the pan. He gives the film all the right aural backing. The re-recording is neither too loud nor too soft. It is just about right. The songs, which are pictured beautifully, are cool and come as a balm among heightened emotional drama. The Akkam Pakkam song holds you in its agreeable embrace while Kanavellam touches your heartstrings with its pithy poignancy.

Thiru’s camera also highlights the script in beguiling colours. The way the young cameraman has captured the cool blue and green of Kerala and Vizag is a treat for the eyes. Anthony’‘s editing, shorn of all gimmicks, is very easy on the eyes add to the visual pleasure. The stunts too, fitting a film of this kind, is very realistic and reasonable. Thanks a million for going easy with the graphic enhancements.

The producer Suresh Balaje and Adlabs deserve plaudits for backing such a sincere project.

And the final word of praise should go to AL Vijay, who despite his relative lack of experience has handled a sensitive subject with nuanced ease. The touches he comes up with are worth savoring.

Kireedam fits the mood of a rainy season with its quiet honesty and the poignant poetry that life writes daily. [/tscii:5c7a822849]

25th July 2007, 02:48 PM
http://www.telugucinema.com/c/publish/news/kireedam_july2507.php

27th July 2007, 02:44 AM
[tscii:c962d55b33]

A.R.Rahman commends G.V Prakash
July 26, 2007
G.V. Prakash’s music in Veyil, which also happens to be his maiden venture, elevated him to star status. This is evident from the fact that this talented music director’s two tracks of the same movie, Veyilodu Uravadi and Uruguthe Maruguthe, are still ruling the charts. Veyil, which was screened at the Cannes Film Festival in the non-competitive section, was also praised for its music.

Now his work in Kreedom is also receiving rave reviews and is acclaimed by all.

This brilliant music director is the nephew of music maestro A.R.Rahman and has worked for some of the biggies like Anu Malik (Jaanemann) and Rahman (Mangal Pandey and Rang De Basanti). His Oram Po songs are quite a hit among the audience and are expected to reach a wider group once the movie is released.

Prakash is all set to rule the roost with projects like Simbu’s Kalai, Prakash Raj’s Vellithirai and Dhanush’s Polladhavan in the offering.

In a recent interview, G.V. Prakash’s Uncle A.R. Rahman commended his work in Veyil. A.R. Rahman said that he expects more from his nephew in future and hoped that he would be a trendsetter. Such good wishes from his uncle are sure to take Prakash to higher levels of achievement and bright future. [/tscii:c962d55b33]

11th August 2007, 12:03 AM
Happened to watch this movie, I guess Malayalam version would have been much better. None of the songs are good, atleast couple of tracks are good in veyil, but he disappoints bigtime here. Someone was complaining about TPM songs, but sadly for such a high profile movie not even one song close to arabu naade song in TPM.

11th August 2007, 07:58 AM
Happened to watch this movie, I guess Malayalam version would have been much better. None of the songs are good, atleast couple of tracks are good in veyil, but he disappoints bigtime here. Someone was complaining about TPM songs, but sadly for such a high profile movie not even one song close to arabu naade song in TPM.

JOKE OF 2007 :lol:

11th August 2007, 10:14 AM

JOKE OF 2007 :lol:

Yeah, for you everything is joke dude, glad to know that you are laughing and having good time :) I was also laughing while watching the movie remembering the comments about he is the next big thing after namma annachchi :lol:

Kreedam
12th August 2007, 12:57 PM
Dei naatama penathadha like u always do :lol:

KReedam songs r big hits 8-)

rashid2raj
12th August 2007, 05:53 PM

Kreedom songs are much much better than TPM, which is probably composed by YSR's left hand while he was asleep..

12th August 2007, 06:03 PM

Kreedom songs are much much better than TPM, which is probably composed by YSR's left hand while he was asleep..

:rotfl: ... 1 song in TPM had his Deepavali's Pogathe's charanam .... :lol:

12th August 2007, 11:06 PM

Atleast he has used his own stuff, but our buddy here be it songs/bgm ellam edaththilayum irunthu chumma kalandhu katti adichirukkar. Just wait for Billa 2007, Yuvan will show you the difference!

12th August 2007, 11:44 PM
amaam, 6 paattula rendu paattu remix panraaru :)

13th August 2007, 09:54 AM
amaam, 6 paattula rendu paattu remix panraaru :)

michcham 4 paattu irukke, they will be better than Kreedam songs for sure and so will be BGM :)

13th August 2007, 04:02 PM

Atleast he has used his own stuff, but our buddy here be it songs/bgm ellam edaththilayum irunthu chumma kalandhu katti adichirukkar. Just wait for Billa 2007, Yuvan will show you the difference!

wokay.... will wait... :)

but dun tell me Vizhiyil wasnt a good song, i felt it was one of the best melody number this year, and Akkam Pakkam was good too...the rest was yea,over hyped IMO.... :)

13th August 2007, 04:07 PM
Dinesh,
:roll: I don't think the other songs deserve that word :x esp Kanavallem.
I do agree that he hadn't done anything different in the Intro song. His "Theme" music was excellant.
We can blame Kireedom only for that "Kanner Thuliyae song"

13th August 2007, 04:16 PM
Dinesh,
:roll: I don't think the other songs deserve that word :x esp Kanavallem.
I do agree that he hadn't done anything different in the Intro song. His "Theme" music was excellant.

yea, thats y i edited my post... :)

no Selva, i expected more from him... infact, the starting of Akkam Pakkam, tune wise, is from Uruguthey, Maruguthey.... :?

think he is beeing overhyped.....

13th August 2007, 04:59 PM
yea, thats y i edited my post... :)

no Selva, i expected more from him... infact, the starting of Akkam Pakkam, tune wise, is from Uruguthey, Maruguthey.... :?

think he is beeing overhyped.....

I agree on this :)

14th August 2007, 05:40 AM

May I know why??? IMO, Kanner Thuliyae is the important song like a benchmark for the film. 8-)

14th August 2007, 08:24 AM

May I know why??? IMO, Kanner Thuliyae is the important song like a benchmark for the film. 8-)

:D We LOVE that song. But there are MUSIC PUNDITS who bash it since it looks quite ||| to Dil Se song. :D

IMO, that one is a heart-wrenching one with good blend of lyrics 8-) :P