View Full Version : Kamal-Ilayaraaja-Singeetham Rao-MUMBAI EXPRESS

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

10th March 2005, 07:02 PM
Valee has some talent otherwise he wouldnt be in the industry for so long.Listen to Undhan Desathin Kural beautiful lyrics...course all he had to do was translate but the words chosen were very well written.

anyways back to the music i think kamal can sing...certain types of songs.Like in Vasool Raja the song he sung suited the picturization and the song.he should know his limits and sing in that range.

NagaS
10th March 2005, 07:33 PM
What I mean when I said kamal is not saving money is, he is having valee on board, and he has to pay him separately, whereas if kamal / raja writes all the songs (like what happened in virumaaNdi), kamal will save some money ... I had no intention of comparing vaalee and kamal's kavith thiRamaigaL !

I think we better have these discussions about vaalee's poetic talents outside this thread (there is one thread dedicated for this)

By the way, 'Muham' is not a tamil word !

NagaS

10th March 2005, 08:32 PM
muka naka natpathu natpandRu, nenjaththu
aka naka natpathE natpu (kuRaL)...

enna NagaS, mukam Thamizh chollalla endRu solli vitteergaLE:-(

10th March 2005, 08:34 PM
`mukham' may be also used by vadamozhi, but no one will really ever know what is the original...probably some linguist who studies all those before 2000 years stuff can throw some light on this...

10th March 2005, 09:41 PM
One more digression:
It's really an interesting discussion `How to determine the ORIGINAL owner (language) of any single WORD...'

It's not just going back 2000 years, it should be in fact going back much beyond that (to around BC 2200, about 4200 years back, when the languages were confused at the tower of Babel according to Bible History)...

With the language academics claim some 3000 languages being spoken in the world and many of them part of a fewer language `families' (the major families listed by philologists - Indo-European, Sino-Tibetan, Afro-Asian, Japanese and Korean, Dravidian, Malayo-Polynesian, and Black African)...it would be really, really difficult for anyone to place a single word to where it originally belonged:-))

End-digression

kiru
11th March 2005, 12:23 AM
One more digression:
It's really an interesting discussion `How to determine the ORIGINAL owner (language) of any single WORD...'

It's not just going back 2000 years, it should be in fact going back much beyond that (to around BC 2200, about 4200 years back, when the languages were confused at the tower of Babel according to Bible History)...

With the language academics claim some 3000 languages being spoken in the world and many of them part of a fewer language `families' (the major families listed by philologists - Indo-European, Sino-Tibetan, Afro-Asian, Japanese and Korean, Dravidian, Malayo-Polynesian, and Black African)...it would be really, really difficult for anyone to place a single word to where it originally belonged:-))

End-digression

app_engine, it is difficult to place ownership for a word with a language. This is because, the term 'language' itself is very fluid. There is no geographical boundary like for a country with legal/international agreements/treaties.
But we can safely say mukam is a tamil word. the presence of mukhi in hindi and kaal (kaalam) etc are provided as proofs of dravidian heritage of hindi which has been layered almost completely by indo-european sanskrit, by quite a few tamil scholars I know of.

I am impressed with Kamal's lyrics writing, but I wouldn't say valee is inferior - avar pazham thinRu kottai pOtta periyavar (ha..even fal has pazham as its roots I am told). Going by the description of ME storyline, I am not so sure the songs would come out well. How long would IR keep doing this for kamal ? Kamal might think he is still young :-) but IR surely has grown old for these kind of tastes, IMHO.

NagaS
11th March 2005, 12:06 PM
muka naka natpathu natpandRu, nenjaththu
aka naka natpathE natpu (kuRaL)...

enna NagaS, mukam Thamizh chollalla endRu solli vitteergaLE:-(

:) I am not an expert in this, But 'muham' is a sanskrit word, thats what I remember ! (muuh in hindhi ?)

NagaS

11th March 2005, 03:51 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/13642.html

Kamal's next with Gautham is likely to go on the floors on Independence day,that's a pretty big gap for Kamal after ME(4 months)&even more for Gautham after the telugu version of 'Kakka Kakka'(1 year). Wonder what is there in the script that they are working for such a long time :?

NagaS
11th March 2005, 03:55 PM
may be kamal will do a crazy mohan flick with KSR / Mauli in those four months ? ;)

NagaS

11th March 2005, 04:04 PM
may be kamal will do a crazy mohan flick with KSR / Mauli in those four months ? ;)

NagaS

Nakkal? :) I doubt it as most sites say Gautham's film will be his next after 'ME'.I was always under the impression that this will be his Diwali release as in most interviews Kamal says he is not happy vis-a-vis films/year&he wants to increase his output.If they are starting it on Aug 15th,it will be a Pongal release which means he would have done just 1 film this year. :(

NagaS
11th March 2005, 04:44 PM
but Im not ready to believe that kamal will just sit silent for four months :)

NagaS

11th March 2005, 04:49 PM
but Im not ready to believe that kamal will just sit silent for four months :)

NagaS

maybe he will rewrite Gautham's script :wink:

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/livewire.asp?n=kamalmar10.txt

Kamal Vs MarutHuvar Eramadasu :)

eden
12th March 2005, 12:07 AM
with the females holding sax, can we expect a song rich with sax interludes / counter points? Or, some racy number like `thaththOm thadAngu thaththOm' of vetRi vizha?

12th March 2005, 03:57 AM
Eden ,

I was just about make that point !!!!
I definetely see that the music is going to be racy !!!We will see a different raaja ...

kbee
12th March 2005, 06:36 AM
Thats what I heard, Raja is going to look younger in this CD. Lets hope.

tmrrmt
12th March 2005, 09:57 AM
Raja will not look younger, but his music might sound younger!

Indiaglitz says Kamal is 'donning three young role' - so the four month hiatus is for Kamal to stay abroad - say New Zealand or USA, and get himself propped up to look younger than he does!

12bums
13th March 2005, 06:48 AM
ME press conference for Hindi. I wonder what Kamal spoke about during the press conference.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/gallery/Events/7186.html

14th March 2005, 12:44 PM
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/12032005-2.shtml

'ME"press conference in Mumbai,no info given on what was said.

kbee
14th March 2005, 01:08 PM
he said the movie is like Nayagan or any other of his hit movie, except sound track. So does he mean the sound track is not good or better?

raja_fan
14th March 2005, 04:46 PM
WHEN IS THE ME AUDIO RELEASE ????

14th March 2005, 04:53 PM
he said the movie is like Nayagan or any other of his hit movie, except sound track.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/article/13695.html

NagaS
14th March 2005, 05:07 PM
What kamal means by that ? Soundtrack is not better than nayagan ? that looks like a funny comparision :)

NagaS

14th March 2005, 05:17 PM
What kamal means by that ? Soundtrack is not better than nayagan ? that looks like a funny comparision :)

NagaS

I think he's been misquoted.In his interview to Ananda Vikatan last week he said that ME will have the intelligence of Nayakan,Mahanadi,Thevar magan without the anger.Instead it will be satirical.Perhaps he was saying the soundtrack too would not be serious but fun/racy&more mass oriented.

http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/specials/cinema/interview/kamal3.html

This one says the release might be slightly delayed because of some technical improvements required in theatres where the digital version will be screened.Appo April 14th release illaya :?

Vaz
14th March 2005, 05:52 PM
The soundtrack creates a mood for a movie...
I remember reading in one of his interviews that ME will be as serious as Nayagan but the soundtrack will make it "look" satirical...

kbee
14th March 2005, 10:12 PM
Looks like postponed. Only 2 films are released for apr 14th, Chandramukhi and Sachin. I cant believe people wanted to watch Vijay's movies. He was no where between Kadhalukku mariyathai and Ghilli and suddenly he is a big hero (than Kamal!). Thiruppachi was a horrible movie and has no difference between Thirumalai, thiruappachi and Madhurey stories.

I guess there is no place for good talent in tamil industry. Kamalji, Just release the movie in Hindi and shun the tamil ppl.

14th March 2005, 11:44 PM
kbee,

This is the place where most schools of thought in film making emerged. most of the north indians rely upon us for talent is a known fact. Northies have ruthlessly discarded our talents for decades. its only now that they have started realising us they accept our technicians.
Regarding your comment upon thirupaachi i agree with you. but to shun tamil people altogether for one such film is highly unwaranted. Hindi films are suriving just because of the sheer market space they have. If at all we had such market we would work wonders with the talents around here.

kbee
15th March 2005, 01:48 AM
rajasaranam, i very well know that,but just after seeing that mumbai xperss has to pull out because of sachin made me really upset

15th March 2005, 10:08 AM
rajasaranam, i very well know that,but just after seeing that mumbai xperss has to pull out because of sachin made me really upset

Where did you read that?The ad's given by Kamal in the newspapers say'April-il',so if not 14th,it will be in theatres next month.

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/march/140305a.asp

This article says 'Sachein'is being postponed becos Rajni requested Thanu to do so.So,now which are the movies hitting the screens on 14th apart from CM.Which article should we believe and which one we should not :?

vssathish
15th March 2005, 03:18 PM
Anak Audio buys ME rights

Sanjay Wadhwa of ANaK audio, who had purchased Rajnikanth’s Chandramukhi audio has snapped the audio rights of Kamal Haasan’s Mumbai Express and Vijay’s Sachin!
This means ANaK has a monopoly over the audio of all the biggies slated for April 14 release. Says Sanjay: “Mumbai Express and Sachin audio will be launched only by March end. Both the albums have good music by Ilayaraja and Devi Sri Prasad respectively. I am sure that all the three audios would revive the music market”.

This a smart move by Sanjay as he has brought over the competition to Chandramukhi audio by snapping the other two films. And by the time Sachin and Mumbai Express audios are released, Chandramukhi audio sale would have peaked.

NagaS
15th March 2005, 03:20 PM
AnAk released 'virumaaNdi' also right ?

I am eager to listen to ME songs, because,... I really don't know what to expect from this movie's songs ... enna genre, eppadi irukkum-nnu guess paNNamudiyaama sema kuzappamaa irukku :)

NagaS

NagaS
15th March 2005, 03:21 PM
and 'sachin' is directed by S/o Mahendiran ... will he give the importance for muzik his father used to give for his films? :-?

NagaS

15th March 2005, 03:37 PM
AnAk released 'virumaaNdi' also right ?

I am eager to listen to ME songs, because,... I really don't know what to expect from this movie's songs ... enna genre, eppadi irukkum-nnu guess paNNamudiyaama sema kuzappamaa irukku :)

NagaS

Yes,you are right-AnAK did release 'Virumaandi'.

Ithe kuzappam ennakkum irukku :)

I feel 'Sachein'will have soft music,i have heard DSP's music for telugu movies like 'Varsham'&'Nuvvostavante nen oddanttana'-pretty catchy&melodious.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/13722.html

Adding to the confusion,this one says 'Sachein' will be released on 29th April.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13693404

AnAK gets monopoly of April biggies.

http://www.nowrunning.com/comingsoon/slideshow1.asp?movieNo=2135

Movie stills of the Hindi version.

teja
16th March 2005, 09:04 AM
This article (in Telugu, from Eenadu) mentions that Hindi version of audio has already been released. Tamil version is due in 2 days.
http://www.eenadu.net/ncineshow.asp?qry=chennai

Is it true? If so, any reports, reviews, links to the songs?

Teja

16th March 2005, 11:18 AM
This article (in Telugu, from Eenadu) mentions that Hindi version of audio has already been released. Tamil version is due in 2 days.
http://www.eenadu.net/ncineshow.asp?qry=chennai

Is it true? If so, any reports, reviews, links to the songs?

Teja

when did the audio get released :? I don't think so.

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13694088

ME confirmed on April 14th,audio launching next week.But the article is wrong when it says Kamal-Rajni are clashing after 16 years as Kuruthippunal-Muthu in 1995 was the last time both their movies released on the same day.Also Guna-Thalapathi released in 1991 and not 1989.

http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/news/2005/03/16/thirumavalvan.html
Thiru warns Kamal to change the title within 26th.Vere velai ille. :twisted:

teja
16th March 2005, 12:57 PM
FYI, more info from that telugu article from Eenadu:
ME has 4 songs [only 4 :( ]. Kamal sang one song. He might be singing in the Telugu version too.

NagaS
16th March 2005, 01:19 PM
kamal singing telugu ? I thought SPB gives him dubbing in all his telugu movies, how come he is into singing now ?

NagaS

krish244
16th March 2005, 02:30 PM
only 4??? Atleast 5-6 would have been good (for more variety). Anyway, like many here I am really curious to know what kind of music would IR have given to this movie. As per previous posts, IR is supposed to have done the recording in New York. Is it music or BGM or those were rumours???

thanks

Krishnan

krish244
16th March 2005, 02:31 PM
"Is it music"...i meant "Is it for songs" :-)

thanks

Krishnan

16th March 2005, 04:13 PM
http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2005/mar/16sld1.htm

The movie in pictures.

teja
17th March 2005, 02:36 AM
kamal singing telugu ? I thought SPB gives him dubbing in all his telugu movies, how come he is into singing now ?

Yes, SPB/Mano usually dub for Kamal in Telugu.
But Kamal did sing a few songs in Telugu - Oka Radha Iddaru Krishnulu, Indrudu Chandrudu are the ones I remember.

thops
17th March 2005, 10:15 AM
the interesting thing about the song from Oka Radha Iddaru Krishnudu is that the Telugu version is sung by Kamal and the Tamizh version is sung by SPB...

vssathish
17th March 2005, 09:32 PM
This is what drummer Sivamani has to say about Raaja :

It was Raaja who was instrumental in guiding me to venture out and display my talent to the outside world. It was he who told me not to waste my talent and go abroad and showcase my talent.. It was Rahman who gave me oppurtunities to work abroad and meet Micheal Jackson in person.

There were two very happy moments for me in 2005.
After 12 years, I worked for a song with Raaja Sir in Mumbai express and I had played drums in a different manner and the song has come out beautifully.
Other moments was playing drums before Tsunami affected people ...

vssathish
17th March 2005, 09:32 PM
Source : This week's Kungumam

21st March 2005, 11:26 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13697772

http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/specials/cinema/specials/kamal22.html

ME is on schedule says Kamal,dismisses rumours about a change in release date.

http://www.idlebrain.com/news/2000march20/news258.html

Kamal sings for 'ME',not sure whether it's only for the Tamil version or all 3 versions.

22nd March 2005, 03:58 PM
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/21032005-3.shtml

Prizes for selected people buying cassettes&Cd's.This is something new for a Kamal film.

23rd March 2005, 04:44 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/13868.html

It's just Kamal Vs Rajni on April 14th.

kbee
27th March 2005, 06:31 PM
Mumbai Express all set to release on April 13th in New Jersey

Wait for Chandramukhi announcement!!!

28th March 2005, 11:45 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13703239

Kamal is launching his own audio company today hmmmm.Then what was that news about AnAK buying the rights :?

krish244
28th March 2005, 11:48 AM
What happened to ME audio release? Any news?

Krishnan

krish244
28th March 2005, 12:26 PM
oh....idhaan sangadhiya ! What is V-Can network marketing? It says another one lakh audio cassettes have already been purchased by the fans. Onnume puriyala. nambavum mudiyala. Dont we know the track details despite one lakh audio cassettes already been purchased :-).

This reminds me of a dialog from the movie "Panchathanthiram" in which Devayani says "Ivvalavu periya maathiraiya??" (or something like that). I guess, that kind of a dialog suits this situation very well. "Ivvalavu periya halluva'va??" :-)

Krishnan

12bums
28th March 2005, 01:20 PM
krish I suppose those 2 lakh appaavis have paid for the cassettes and are waiting to get it. Also 4 songs in a movie album greatly reduces its selling capacity. I just dont understand why Kamal could have thought a little more commercially and gone for a couple more songs, especially since this movie is catering to Bollywood too.

krish244
28th March 2005, 01:40 PM
12bums, I guess, to maintain the pace of the comedy movie, Kamal must have cut the number of songs. I feel, atleast one or two songs could be repeated in the album with different singers and thereby increasing the number of songs to 6 or 7.

Krishnan

28th March 2005, 03:50 PM
oh....idhaan sangadhiya ! What is V-Can network marketing? It says another one lakh audio cassettes have already been purchased by the fans. Onnume puriyala. nambavum mudiyala. Dont we know the track details despite one lakh audio cassettes already been purchased :-).

This reminds me of a dialog from the movie "Panchathanthiram" in which Devayani says "Ivvalavu periya maathiraiya??" (or something like that). I guess, that kind of a dialog suits this situation very well. "Ivvalavu periya halluva'va??" :-)

Krishnan

Can someone throw more light on "V Can Marketing"?As for 1 lakh pieces sold to fans it's difficult to believe it.I think they are selling thro the network of Kamal's Narpani Iyakkam.

krish244
28th March 2005, 05:20 PM
Can someone throw more light on "V Can Marketing"?As for 1 lakh pieces sold to fans it's difficult to believe it.I think they are selling thro the network of Kamal's Narpani Iyakkam.

if that (selling through Narpani Iyakkam) is the case....it would be so strange!!! Anyway, eagerly waiting to listen to the songs...

Krishnan

kbee
28th March 2005, 09:22 PM
Its not hard to believe either, because when Kamal was in US during Virumandi release, he was talking about releasing Virumandi by his own company, both for marketting Tamil mvoies abroad and release them in theatre and for releasing DVDs. I thought he gave up on that idea. Kamal is really not a business minded person, but an artist. If he stick to it, it will be good for him and his movies. If he wants to jump to CD/DVD business, he is going to hurt his fingers.

alias
28th March 2005, 10:53 PM
Has the album released? I could not see any information. it was suppose to release on 28th march. Same thing with Black DVD. It has not released.

kbee
29th March 2005, 01:41 AM
Black DVD sometime next week.
ME CD, will be released soon in Hindi. Not sure about Tamil.

kbee
29th March 2005, 10:01 AM
http://www.mumbaixpress.com/

Is it IR or YSR? Music seems to be in line with latest trend. Lets hope IR gives some fast beat ones for a change.

29th March 2005, 11:06 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13704115

One of the biggest ever press meets held yesterday by Kamal.

http://sify.com/movies/imagegallery_slideshow.php?gid=13704158&imgidx=1&gname=Mumbai+Xpress&lid=1&gord=A&view=

New stills

kbee
29th March 2005, 11:24 AM
Well it will be released by Rajkamal Audio only. Visit indiaglitz for the audio company launch stills...

29th March 2005, 11:30 AM
kbee,
here's the link.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/Events/7246.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/interview/6293.html

Interview with Kamal(presumbly a gist of what was spoken at the press conference yesterday)

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13704199

Jyothika likely to be Kamal's heroine in Gautham Menon's film.

12bums
29th March 2005, 12:37 PM
Its after a long time that IR is scoring for a full fledged Kamal comedy, if you dont consider Magalir Mattum and Sati Leelavathy, which had guest appearances by Kamal. There have been a lot of KH comedies like Avvai Shanmughi, Tenali, Panchatantiram, PKS, Vasoolraja in the meantime without IR. And we all know what the soundtracks of the above movies were like. I think the last full KH comedy with IR was MMKR in 1990! 14 years down the line, 14 years of waiting and I hope we have something to savour!

raja_fan
29th March 2005, 12:53 PM
Everything is ok :)

But when can we get the CDs or Cassettes ???

29th March 2005, 04:20 PM
Everything is ok :)

But when can we get the CDs or Cassettes ???

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2005/march/290305.asp

tmrrmt
29th March 2005, 04:39 PM
I don't have the fonts to read that page - what does it say ?
thnx

29th March 2005, 04:44 PM
I don't have the fonts to read that page - what does it say ?
thnx

Kamal has started out by saying that this is not a function for the audio release but a conference to announce that they already have a advance order for 1.75lakh cassettes.The date of the audio in the market has not been announced,I think it should happen within this week.Then the "Are you clashing with Rajni","Are you unhappy that Shivaji productions chose to make a film with Rajni&Not you","Censor of the film despite being in digtal format"were asked&answered.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/moviegallery/7354.html

Photo gallery.

NagaS
29th March 2005, 06:01 PM
There have been a lot of KH comedies like Avvai Shanmughi, Tenali, Panchatantiram, PKS, Vasoolraja in the meantime without IR

You forgot kaadhalaa kaadhalaa :)

But ME is a 'full' comedy flick ?

NagaS

29th March 2005, 06:18 PM
I just caught a very very brief glimpse of the trailer on Star plus on Sunday.It had Kamal driving a bike with the kid inside a old building.Next shot was of Kamal peeping into the camera placed on the ground thro a small hole giving naive expressions as if searching for something.on top of these two frames "He knows everything","he knows nothing" were written.The title was in the background of green with the tagline "When Crime meets confusion".

naga,
Have a look at the website,i feel it a comedy of errors with a bit of 'life in Mumbai'thrown in.

A few lines from the title song(sung by Kamal,but don't fear :D ) plays in the backround along with a small piece of BGM.The music sounds modern.A similarity with 'Chandramukhi'is that one of the lines from the song is in telugu.

kbee
29th March 2005, 07:25 PM
NagaS - kaadhalaa kaadhalaa is by Karthik Raja.

Cinefan thanks for the link. I am more curious now, after listening to the title song. hopefully the CD will be out in a day or two. I was thinking that it will be Jo in Gautham's movie and seems like it. Now I do hope that it is not a remake of CopLand.

NagaS
29th March 2005, 07:29 PM
kbee,

naanum athaanae sonnaen? Kaadhalaa kaadhalaa - non-IR kamal movie-nnu ?

NagaS

kbee
29th March 2005, 09:13 PM
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... slept while reading. sorry!:)

krish244
30th March 2005, 10:13 AM
Hi All,

Even I got a chance to see (from midway I guess) ME's trailer (Hindi version by Sahara) on MTV. The song started like "Ayala Re...". On first hearing, I found the pallavi to be peppy and pretty catchy. Initially sounded a bit unlike IR, but midway somewhere I could make out IR's stamp. The orchestration was again different with some sax interludes. I guess Shaan is one of the singers. It was only his voice that I could guess, others no idea. On the whole, on first hearing, I felt that its a very good catchy number and it seemed to stick to the current trend. Its surely unlike IR's other recent catchy numbers.

Need to hear it again.

Krishnan

30th March 2005, 12:01 PM
http://www.cinesouth.com/masala/hotnews/new/29032005-3.shtml

More on the press conference.

raja_fan
30th March 2005, 12:38 PM
"Usually, the cassette release functions will be held before the sales of cassette. We wanted to do it in a different way; we have already released the cassette to be sold in the shops to start with."

Cassettes released ..?? Is Suriyan F.M playing the songs ??

Can anybody update please..?

30th March 2005, 02:04 PM
When is the cassette getting released???

30th March 2005, 11:42 PM
http://www.mumbaixpress.com/

The trailor music is very very trendy ..Is this Raaja ????

multinamatheyan
31st March 2005, 06:42 AM
enna Ramki saar,

Yuvan thaan music pottaar ennu neengale purali kilappi vittuduveenga pola irukke?! :shock: :)

12bums
31st March 2005, 08:07 PM
Aiyo. What are our journalists doing these days? Press meet'la avalavu kelvi kaettaanga, but they did not ask when the audio was being released. So many people are so impatient!

1st April 2005, 02:38 AM
Kamal about the music in MX
http://www.hindu.com/fr/2005/04/01/stories/2005040101580100.htm

Ilaiyaraja is the composer. "The songs have come out very well. Leave alone the Hindi number you have to listen to Sonu Nigam singing in Tamil. His diction is excellent ... I've also sung a couple of songs." Kamal's eyes are aglow with excitement as he dwells on the maestro's composing skills.

"Ilaiyaraja went to Budapest for composing. At a time when synthesised music holds sway he has gone in for a live orchestra ... and the difference is discernible," says a happy Kamal. "He's done a wonderful job with the Hungarian orchestra, which he has used for the opening of the romantic number. The quaint piece, `Bandar Ki Dug Dugi Hai,' has been well sung by Sonu Nigam, KK and Shaan, and is a recurring theme in `Mumbai Xpress,' he adds.

1st April 2005, 10:43 AM
Aiyo. What are our journalists doing these days? Press meet'la avalavu kelvi kaettaanga, but they did not ask when the audio was being released. So many people are so impatient!

Same thought occured to me,how could they miss out on such a basic question&how could Kamal also not utter one word about this :?

raja_fan
1st April 2005, 11:28 AM
Yes yaar ! crap fellow !
Simply talking and talking without releasing anything :?
just 2 weeks remaining and still audio not released :(

krish244
1st April 2005, 11:29 AM
Ramki,

This is so inspiring and certainly increases the impatience level :-) (neverthless, I am not keeping my expectations high). Its a news that Hungarian orchestra was used for the songs. Hope the recording is top quality! As 12bums said, there is absolutely no clue as to when the audio is releasing. It better be soon though.

Very glad to note that Sonu, KK & Shaan have sung some songs. I always felt Sonu's tamil pronounciation was pretty decent (compared to Udit's torture) in the "Vaarayo Thozhi" song of Jeans.

Krishnan

1st April 2005, 11:34 AM
http://www.star-ecentral.com/news/story.asp?file=/2005/4/1/movies/10555051&sec=movies

Kamal retrospective in Malaysia.

Kamal has given a big ad today announching the launch of his audio company proudly stating that 1,75000 pieces(ME audio) has already been sold even before release.For business enquires he has given his Eldams road office address with a ph no:30916616.Chennai based, interested hubbers can call up&find out when the audio will be out in the market.

kbee
1st April 2005, 06:38 PM
Give it up guys. no point in talking with out the product. Let kamal release the movie and music when we all have our grand children

multinamatheyan
1st April 2005, 08:51 PM

Thanks for the link. An eloquently written article.

tmrrmt
2nd April 2005, 11:18 AM
I tried watching MX trailer in each and every satellite channel available - but no - and the audio shops in Bangalore are not even aware of MX!

with MP3s and piracy ruling the roost, Kamal must be sure that only last minute marketing coups and gimmicks will work - hence all this drama - I also have an inkling that the entire movie must have been completed on a shoe-string budget, but projected otherwise as a mega-budget action comedy - make the most of profits by glorifying the quality of the product, even before it is released for public consumption

The late GV used to do this in the 90s - for ex., all songs of BOMBAY were 'terrific, astounding hits' one week before the actual release of the album itself!

I only hope that Kamal doesn't fall prey to such temptations and instead do some genuine soul-searching

krish244
3rd April 2005, 11:55 AM
"Leave alone the Hindi number"

Which audio company is going to release hindi version of ME? After again going through the above statement by Kamal, suddenly realised if the audio rights for hindi version is sold at all!! Hope the audio will be released in Hindi. I am saying this because, when I saw the promo ("Ayla Re Ayla" song) on MTV, I noticed something (only) the below

MUMBAI EXPRESS
AYALE RE
Rajkamal International/Sahara One ...

there is one more line to it, but I forgot. It does not mention the audio company nor the music composer. Whereas for many other movies, the audio company is also mentioned.

tmrrmt, watch MTV between 10pm and 11pm, somewhere during that time you will see promos of all upcoming movies. Even yesterday I saw it on MTV. I think its called MTV Xclusive or something like that. The song sounds lot more peppier (and good actually) than the tamil one. The north indian singers (one voice is Shaan's I guess) are good choices and they do make a difference. IR should score for more movies in hindi.

Anyway, its a pretty catcy tune. Looking forward to promos of other songs aswell (what do do...hope Sahara will show promos of other songs aswell...stopped expecting release of audio (particularly in hindi))

Krishnan

mumbaixpress
4th April 2005, 12:18 AM
Dear friends,

Our most waited album is released... Listen here :

Yelae Nee Yetippo
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170957
Kurangu Kaiyil Malai 1
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170948
Kurangu Kaiyil Malai 2
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170949
Poo Poothathu
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170952
Vandhematharam
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170954
Theme Music 1
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170939
Theme Music 2
http://www.coolgoose.com/music/song.php?id=170944

hmmmm...after listening first time.. really dissappointed ... :roll:

kbee
4th April 2005, 01:25 AM
mumbaixpress.

thanks a ton. I just typed something bad about this, but has to change.. need multiple listening. Will update later.

kbee
4th April 2005, 02:41 AM
Okay, after multiple listening, I am posting this. 2 Theme music are good and rest of them are disappointing. This is the first time that IR song gave me head ache.

4th April 2005, 02:53 AM
I don't know why people find it disppointing ...
This is PURE jazz stuff ..Something which has not been experimente extensively in the TFM ..

Jazz stuff are like this - The first few times u hear it - Its a real headache ,...when i heard some of the Miles Davis stuff i was irritated ..but after multiple listenings ,it was superb ....

Kurunku Kayil Malai,Theme music 2 - Just pure Jazz Bliss !!!!!!

I assure you that after 4-5 listenings ,u will be mad with Jazz !!!!

PURE BLISS!!!!

I throughly enjoyed the music ....!!!

kbee
4th April 2005, 07:22 AM
MumbaiRamki dont get disappointed, I was just expressing my view at first hearing. I am (die hard - hard core) IR and KAMAL fan, and I am sure it will grow on me. Now that I listened to it multiple times, I liked

Kurunku Kayil Malai
Theme Music (both 1 & 2)
Vandemataram bit
Yalay nee othi po

like you said, it will (should) grow on me. Let me listen thru out tonight. I am waiting for the CD since CD will have better sound effect (man each and every instrument you can clearly hear in digital recording, why didnt IR use this 10 years back) and hoping to sell in big nos.

NormalMan
4th April 2005, 08:21 AM
Jazz written all over it .... more of New Age - Jazz fusion. At places I see Jazz - Modern Rock fusion. Man this man's limits are boundless. Interested in seeing if the HFM folks will be able to grasp such a kind.

tmrrmt
4th April 2005, 09:42 AM
MX rocks big time ----> I am midway listening - this will be an epoch-making album in IR's long list of landmark albums -

Man,jazz with Indian classical(!) in "poo poothathu" - Mumbai has lots of jazz enthusiasts - hope this album is received well

the theme is amazing jazz - I doubt it has been attempted anytime before in Indian film music!

4th April 2005, 10:40 AM
I tried watching MX trailer in each and every satellite channel available

Watch Sony TV's 'Chartbusters'daily at 7pm.The trailers are also on Star plus,saw 30sec ones a lot yesterday.

By the way is the audio available in shops?

4th April 2005, 10:52 AM
I went to sankara hall on saturday(2nd april) . I asked Mumbai express and they replied that they don't have it. I picked up "Maaya Bazaar" and "Yaar payyan" though :-) :lol:

4th April 2005, 10:59 AM
Then I think Kamal's decision to start a audio company has not been well thought out&has been made at the last minute.By the time he has his network of distributors,dealers in place April 14th would have come&the film itself released.If it does well,the music will pick up&viceversa.He has missed out on an oppurtunity to sell a good amount of pieces b4 the film's release or is he just happy about the adv order of 1,75000 he claims to have received?Anyway the common fan like me is disappointed at this poor marketing.Hope the film atleast compensates.

krish244
4th April 2005, 11:03 AM
mumbaixpress, thanks a zillion for the links...

just downloaded one song for now....."poo poothadhu"...man....this is really refresshing stuff...IR has lots in stock I guess. Guys...you will notice very different IR...you must listen to it. As MumbaiRamki says....PURE JAZZ. Again agree with MumbabRamki that I have not heard many try this kind of JAZZ stuff. I can see Sonu putting extra effort in pronouncing tamil well. He has sung very well. The other singer should be Shreya. Shaan's humming is very good too. Will post more comments later.

Thanks again

Krishnan

crvenky
4th April 2005, 11:31 AM
Which of these are recorded in Hungary?

12bums
4th April 2005, 11:32 AM
Maaaaaaaaaaan, I just heard the 2nd interlude for aelay nee and am rushing to write this - awesome jazz! How could Kamal stop with just 4 songs?!!! Songs are on the net already, ippom eppadi kamal is going to sell cds and cassettes I dont know! Already I am sure everyone has exceeded their puthaandu music budget by rushing to buy Chandramukhi and Sachin!

And now I am hearing poo poothathu! Who can compose a romantic duet like Raaja? The last 2 days I have been hearing ARR's Bose - a forgotten hero. Between these 2 chennai stalwarts, North Indians are going to get a good dose of top class music in the next few weeks, whether they want it or want.

ME has certainly taken orchestration in film music to a totally whole level!

More when I have heard it a few more times!

tmrrmt
4th April 2005, 12:15 PM
Finished listening to the entire album - Just one line to describe

MX is AWESOME, BRILLIANT Stuff - many many Thanks to Padma Shri Kamal Hassan to have brought out the unique Raaja yet again

and critics of Sonu Nigam's voice are sure to rethink/change their opinion after listening to this album - impressive effort

4th April 2005, 12:35 PM
Oh ma...n This guy never retires is it?!!! :D

Ive never waited so tensely for any other album of IR.... and the waiting was worth it :D

thanx Mumbaixpress
are you releasing the songs over net officially?

even if not, never worry mumbaixpress team everyone will buy this album after listening to it. me for sure. would love to hear these from original CD in a high blown stereo player.

4th April 2005, 12:36 PM
i find myself awestruck to write a review about this album :( the music is highly trendy and its giving me a new experience who had been listening to raja for 29 years.
the pick of the album should be yaele nee ettipo, kurangu kayil malai and poo poothathu,and these are the only three nos. in the album :) while vandhe matram is a bit chorus song retaining the original tune from the film 'Anand mut' and gaining pace at the end of the song. there is also two theme musics.
theme music 1- 5.04 mins highlights the life at 'mumbai' i presume. let me check out the visuals later. the music explains the life at mumbai as modern,trendy embracing all who comes to her, adding on another layer of satire, with its underworld kingdom, corruption et all and the peoples life living over platforms and dwelling in slums,. the red light areas, the fun and frolic over there the underlying sadness in their life. oh god this is a perfect musical tour of mumbai.
theme music 2- 3.24 mins this takes us deep into some mystery and adventure and while we are at it stupified, gives us a breath of fresh air and journeys into calmness and love and a feeling of alls well that ends well

4th April 2005, 12:37 PM
the songs are too trendy and i cant stop tapping my foot for yaele ne ettipo and kurangu kayil malai. the songs are like something we have never heard from Raja. with all those saxofone trumpets and drums raja has transcedended into something new and if this is what he is gonna be, There will be no one to beat him for another 20-30 years.kamal sings both songs while he has someone else along with him singing in kurangu kayil malai[ is it shaan?]. listening to the interludes i feel its rich in format intricately woven patterns of drums sounding jamaican or mexican!? and sax sounding WCM and added with layers of trumpets, piano, guitars all making a complete world music. this one particular interlude from Kurangu kayil.. is enough to prove how deep is Raja's knowledge of world music - which has got nothing to do with 'loops' or 'softwares' :)

4th April 2005, 12:37 PM
next he takes us to soft melody with 'poo poothathu' where he excels always, this time no tabla- well he uses synthesizers and piano to sizzle our brain and sooth the mind. the humming of male voice 'nananana nananana' and 'yayayaya..' is something listening to which we can say 'this is not Raja'. he never stops amusing us isnt it. yes this is Raja.Sonu nigam is male performer and i doubt the female to be Bhava?.Sonu nigam has got perfect control over the language and he has delivered the feel of the song too in perfect manner.

how far is mumbaixpress from annakili...?
how far has Raja travelled?
traversing all musical forms and still seeking to find the soundless space.
well till then we are breathless and speechless before his musical genius.

p
4th April 2005, 01:08 PM
poo poothathu is THE song of this wonderful album..wow!

12bums
4th April 2005, 01:20 PM
p say it is the song of the season !

RajaRam
4th April 2005, 02:05 PM
Can any one give me the URL of ME songs?

RajaRam
4th April 2005, 02:41 PM
In chennai, in which theatres ME going to release?

Arjuna
4th April 2005, 03:31 PM
Yappa- what junk!! I wasted my broadband bandwidth downloading this crap!! Is the same IR who gave a gem in Bharathi!! Songs look like as if Sirpy or SA.Rajkumar has composed!! Better luck next time!!

tmrrmt
4th April 2005, 04:12 PM
Arjuna - do you expect Bharathy style music for MX, which is touted to be a hip urban entertainer ??! it would be like having a cocktail of coke and buttermilk - the situation demanded and IR has delivered peppy, racy, Jazz scores - besides, the scores will make complete sense only when we watch the movie with them (especially the "Vande Mataram" piece, since I believe a motorcycle stunt goes on in the background!)

RajaRam
4th April 2005, 04:15 PM
Aiyyo, Songs link a yaravathu sollungappa?

4th April 2005, 04:18 PM
Aiyyo, Songs link a yaravathu sollungappa?

Just go back a couple of pages in this thread,Mumbaixpress has given coolgoose links.But you need to be a member&download is pretty slow.

The audio is not available in the stores,from where did 'Coolgoose'get it,Kamal-e kudututtara,marketing-kku :? :)

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13709350

An update on the three films releasing on April14th,

CM:all work completed,being censored today,200 prints.audio a smashing hit.

ME:all work completed,censored with 'U'certificate last thursday,150 prints with 12 in digital format(even one will not come here to bangalore.where is the theatre with that facility :( )audio yet to come out. :(

Sachein:Post production going on,likely to be censored on 7th,225 prints(highest among the 3 releases) ,1 lakh audio pieces sold in two days(2nd&3rd) :o

4th April 2005, 04:41 PM
tmrrmt,

vidunga ivangalukku badhil solla vaendam namma thalai than paattulaye sollitarae....
yaela nee ettipo oram nee othipoannu :D
kurangu kayil poomalai kudukka koodathu,
kaluthaikku karpoora vaasanai theriyathunnu.... :D

Cacaphonix
4th April 2005, 04:45 PM
The audio is not available in the stores,from where did 'Coolgoose'get it,Kamal-e kudututtara,marketing-kku

Kamal kuduthirukka saathiyakkoorugaL kammi.

en appan veengiya vaayOn (hanuman-kku thamizhaakkam idhu thaanE 'lena' thamizh vaaNan ayya?) thannai yaar enRu koori koLgiraarO andha peyarudaya maruththuvarin thondaradi(thadi) podigaLin vElayaaga kooda irukkum. yaar kaNdaa. Naama kEtta savukkadi vizhum maruththuvarayyavin maruththuva pudhalvar kEtta ettaNaa abaraadham thaan varum.

Sorry for the digression.

4th April 2005, 04:45 PM
BTW 'yaela nee ettipo' songla vara antha dialogues nachunnu irukku, written by kamal i presume. akka paeru 'INBA' thangachi paeru 'SITRINBA' was very kool :) making me to expect full fledged satirical comedy like 'Charlie Chaplin' movies.

4th April 2005, 05:17 PM
http://www.telugucinema.com/c/movies/mnapr32005.shtml

This news item says the audio of the telugu version of 'Mumbai Xpress'is being launched by Surya audio today.K.Vishwanath is the chief guest.So,can we hope the Tamil/Hindi version will also make it to the stores today.If it does not happen ,we will see the amusing thing of a dubbed version getting released b4 the original.

krish244
4th April 2005, 05:56 PM
BTW, when you do a "File Info" from Winamp of these tamil mp3 files, it says

Title: CD Digital Audio, Track#4
Comment: Copyright SUN Music

Whenever the audio releases in Tamil, I am going to buy the CD for sure. It should be amazing to hear this kind of stuff from a CD. Its more than worth. I just wished it had more "Poo poothadhu..." kind of melodious numbers. Anyway...

Hope for the best.

Krishnan

4th April 2005, 07:20 PM
Been listening to MX (Tamil) for quite a few times now.
Summary:
Liked "Yelay nee..." the very first time i heard it. Hip and catchy.
"Korangu kayyil..." needs a few listenings to come to terms with it. Stron jazz flavor.
"Poo poothathu.." is very melodious. Jazz again!
The themse music pieces are very very jazzy. We do have jazz present in a few of our Tamil and Hindi songs before. However, nothing quite like what maestro has done in MX.
One thing which stands out is how this man at his age makes such "hip" and modern music? Nothing like the borrowed beat loops or styles (latin american JLo with typical spanish guitar which Vidhya Sagar and co use). It's all original. Hope it won'tl go over the head of the Hindi audience and even our own audience.

Alwarpet andavan

12bums
4th April 2005, 07:32 PM
alwarpet_andavan as you said, hope it does not go over the heads of the audience. BTW, guys here could be the reason why the audio is not released yet:

http://www.behindwoods.com/News/4-4-05/mexpress_censored.htm

4th April 2005, 07:52 PM
I listen to a few of the songs. Right away, the tunes are ordinary. The Jazz interlude in "kurangu kayil" is pretty good, but the interludes dont jell well with the rest of the song and seem forced. Probably the songs were composed for situations and something is happening on screen for IR to compose such interludes, but listening to it just in audio there doesnt seem to be a flow in the songs as was present inn earlier "hip" efforts like Agni Natchathiram or Anjali etc. Rahman's "vaan nila tharum" had some wonderful sax pieces and the whole song had an uniform energetic flow to it.

Yelai nee etti po and Poo poothadhu are average by IR's standards.I had expected something like "nee paartha paarvaikoru andri" or "niram pirithu paarthen" but Poo poothadhu neither has a great tune nor the interludes compensating for it. Kamal mentioned that IR had recorded the start of some song (I believe poo poothadhu) in Hungary. I cant see any evidence of the presence of Hungarian orchestra in the 3 songs I heard. Synth-heavy stuff which could have been belted out by local talent like Viji Manuel. No presence of any real orchestra here.

BTW, Sonu Nigam could have been in place of Udit Narayan these past few years in TFM. He is infinitely better than the latter.

On the whole, the album is certainly different at places, in terms of feel, from the usual grinding-the-same-old-flour stuff that IR has been giving us the past few years. But thats about it.

4th April 2005, 08:12 PM
Vijayr,
>>Yelai nee etti po and Poo poothadhu are average by IR's >>standards.I had expected something like "nee paartha paarvaikoru >>andri" or "niram pirithu paarthen" but Poo poothadhu neither has a >>great tune nor the interludes compensating for it
If you expected that, that's your problem. How can you expect a melody in place of a fast-paced number which the situation demands? Beats me!
>>Rahman's "vaan nila tharum" had some wonderful sax pieces and >>the whole song had an uniform energetic flow to it
Jazz!=Sax, however, that was a good jazz song by ARR

>>from the usual grinding-the-same-old-flour stuff that IR has been >>giving us the past few years
Wake up! Hey Ram, Virumaandi, Azhagi, Pithamagan, Ramana .... just to name a few in the recent past. What "grinding-the-same-flour stuff are you talking about?
We may disagree and hope you don't find my comments offensive.
IMO, MX is by far the movie which is most unlike anything seen in Indian film music hitherto.

4th April 2005, 08:15 PM
Vijayr,
Moreover, jazz uses various instruments including double bass, drums, voice, piano, trumpet, horn, sax (sax and tenor sax), bass guitar, acoustic guitar, flamenco guitar and even electric guitar.
Listen to "Kurangu kayyil...", "Poo poothathu..." and the theme music. Definitely free-flowing jazz, and not contrived at all!

RajaRam
4th April 2005, 08:32 PM
ilayarajavukkum kamalukkum yaravudhu thristi suthi podungappa.

4th April 2005, 08:39 PM
"If you expected that, that's your problem. How can you expect a melody in place of a fast-paced number which the situation demands? Beats me! "

Alwarpet, how can you completely misread what I wrote? Beats me! Poo Poothadhu is supposed to be a melody, not a fast paced song. So what do you mean by I wrongly expected a melody?!!!
And I was talking about the tunes, which are pretty ordinary.
I already mentioned the interlude was good in one of the songs. But "yelei nee othipo" is a late 70s/early 80s kind of tune. Only the interludes are a little different.

4th April 2005, 08:46 PM
Vijayr,
>Alwarpet, how can you completely misread what I wrote?
Sorry, my mistake :-)
About the tunes, i beg to differ. The more i listen to it, the better it sounds. That's the case with jazz. The patterns seem loose and "aimless", until you get used to the free-flowing nature of the patterns. Give yourself a few more listens, and you'll enjoy the ride, i'm sure :)

Regarding "yelaelo...", for IR, there's nothing like 70s-80s tune. He is a man who possesses an unbelievable "thaala-nyaanam", i.e, sense of rhythm. Check out how the percussion begins in a folk-style slow-beat and how later it transmogrifies into a stylish, hip modern rhythm. Goose-pimple stuff.
This album, is a shocker, no doubt.

4th April 2005, 08:52 PM
alwarpet, yenpa purinjukka maatengareenga? The Jazz part you are talkiung about applies only to the interludes of Kurangu kayyil. I am NOT talking about the interludes, only the tune portion of the song. In Poo poothadhu neither the tune nor the interludes make it. There is no great Jazz presence here either.

"Regarding "yelaelo...", for IR, there's nothing like 70s-80s tune. He is a man who possesses an unbelievable "thaala-nyaanam", i.e, sense of rhythm. Check out how the percussion begins in a folk-style slow-beat and how later it transmogrifies into a stylish, hip modern rhythm. Goose-pimple stuff. "

Again nothing new. Even in earlier songs like "saandhu pottu"(devar magan) you can notice this rhythm pattern change in the course of a song. Raja kayya vachca is another example. Rajadhi raja un thandirangaL from Mannan is yet another example. And the "stylish hip modern rhythm" you are talking about in the latter part of the song has already been done by most new TFM MDs in these past few years. Synth stuff-nothing new. Looks like IR has tried hard to sound like the current generation MDs.

4th April 2005, 09:02 PM
Vijayr,
Listening to "Poo poothathu..." as i'm typing this.
>>The Jazz part you are talkiung about applies only to the >>interludes of Kurangu kayyil. I am NOT talking about the >>interludes, only the tune portion of the song. In Poo poothadhu >>neither the tune nor the interludes make it
I completely disagree. Kurangu Kayyil is all jazz. So is the themse music, at least part1. And Poo Poothathu has strong jazz elements in it. Mixing Indian melody or folk with jazz doesn't mean there is no jazz at all in the song.
One more reason why you might feel there is no jazz except in the interlude is because in India, jazz is perceived to be just sax or trumpet. Piano, the way the drums are played, even bits of guitaring can say whether a tune hass jazz elements are not.
If you listen to the vocal jazz of the early years of jazz, you might find it different from jazz played by Miles Davis or John McLaughlin. Check out "Remembering Shakti - Live in Bombay", and this point will be clear.

And lastly, about your point that IR is trying to sound like other MDs is not worth replying to. Hence, i'm putting the matter to rest, from my side.

balaji
4th April 2005, 09:21 PM
ME:

Music is good and to me it sounded IR has exprimented well with JAZZ.

I know you have always set high standards for IR and yes it should be so, I agree.

But to say that IR has tried to sound like other MDs is a big insult to IR. IR would have experimented to sound like others either to produce a 50s/60s type song, but It is hard for me to believe he would try to sound like current crop MDs.

This is purely IMHO

Bala

eden
4th April 2005, 09:38 PM
Are there any independent reviews (I do not like the idea of listening to a new album from coolgoose)...

thops
4th April 2005, 10:04 PM
after a couple of listenings...pretty good stuff from IR considering the fact that he is sick of film music...

4th April 2005, 10:15 PM
Alwarpet_andavan, explain how the vocal/tune portion of Poo pothadhu is "vocal jazz"? Its just a plain ordinary IRish tune, no jazz to it. Kurangu Kayyil's interludes are the only areas where you sense some semblance of Jazz.

4th April 2005, 10:19 PM
mumbai express songs available at

http://www.tamilmasala.net/Index01.htm
http://www.mau108.com

NagaS
4th April 2005, 10:30 PM
Some info on why MX audio is getting delayed !

http://etamil.blogspot.com/2005/04/blog-post_04.html

NagaS

4th April 2005, 10:39 PM
NagaS,

enna veen purali kalpirrenga ....
apurum ungalukum Osama annanukum contact irukunnu BUSH mama kitta solliduven ...

dude
4th April 2005, 11:06 PM
I am surprised nobody has said anything about the vande maataram song... It has been TOTALLY butchered. I am sure this is for a supposedly comic scene in the movie, but still it is not not an excuse to butcher our national song like this.

I know I am going to get flamed but sorry to say this, I never expected this from IR!

4th April 2005, 11:26 PM
Dude ,

I totally agree ..I have posted the same in KamalHassan groups ...
I never expected this from kamal Hassan and IR !!!!

Thrilled by the JAZZ ,i forgot this point !!!!

4th April 2005, 11:27 PM
Adding ...
Censor has refused this song to be included in the movie !! Kamal is re-shooting this song !!!

4th April 2005, 11:38 PM
well, as an antidote, you can listen to "vande maataram" from Saaza-e-kaalapani by IR. Now that's some inspiring music. Dont listen to Mano's hapless Tamil version.

kbee
4th April 2005, 11:43 PM
I am surprised nobody has said anything about the vande maataram song... It has been TOTALLY butchered. I am sure this is for a supposedly comic scene in the movie, but still it is not not an excuse to butcher our national song like this.

I know I am going to get flamed but sorry to say this, I never expected this from IR!

You can not conclude anythign prior to seeing the movie. I also was pissed off listening to the song, but this is a song that the young boy sing in the school and while singing the song he was making some some jokes/playing with other kids - which is quite normal. If you havent done that in your kiddish days, then you missed your kiddish days. Infact I liked this bit song well at the end, because after singing this like kiddish, the end was more serious and I felt that was a better tune for vandematharam than the current tune that we all hear in AIR.

Kamal is not shooting or anything for Vandematharam. ME got censor clearance with U certificate.

Regarding the news about why the audio is not released (click here http://etamil.blogspot.com/2005/04/blog-post_04.html), I am not at all surprised, because for Virumandi Kamal asked 200,000 for releasing all over USA, saying that it is in no way worst than Baba and if you are ready to give 200,000 to baba, why not for my film.

Kamal has to understand something, he doesnt have the same market as Rajini. Period. This is more true after Aalavandan & Hey Ram. Anbe sivam is a good movie, but in NJ only 500 ppl turned for the show. For Baba, first show itself had 1200 people in NJ. Even for Vasool Raja, we had only 125 ppl in NJ in the first show and 7 ppl on second day. So Kamals market is different than Rajini and he can not quote the same price.

Now, regarding Chandramukhi, copy right for NJ itself is 20000, and mumbai xpress is 12500 (reasonable), but this time who ever release ME will make more money than CM because Baba had a big -ve impact on Rajini films and ppl wont drive from different state (which they did for Baba) and get disappinted.

Now since both Kamal and IR doesnt have audio market (rajini, ARR and YSR has audio market), they have to price the product little less.

BTW, I dont know why ppl think it has only 4 songs!

aruld
4th April 2005, 11:55 PM
An excellent album that is filled with full of suprises & quality stuff....! To say the least :-)

Overall - Nambha Mottai Kalakidichu ;-)

5th April 2005, 12:11 AM
kbee ,
Unlike Anbe SIvam ,Mumbai Express is a bi lingual ..SO the number of viewers will be more ;)

vatsa400
5th April 2005, 12:27 AM
I feel the album is different and of good quality. I felt disappointed when I heard for the first time. But, it kinda grows on you and it has some surprises. It is a album for the movie rather than otherwise. That way is thoroughly enjoyable and will make a great impact when we watch the movie. I dont know why 4 songs is an issue and why the theme music is not mentioned anywhere here. I think they are more than theme music ... seems like more of a bg score collection. It sounds great. Already can visualise some of the movie wth this score but IR might have some surprises there. This is quite different from songs with commercially available loop which we are presented with by many MDs. I think this is a must buy album just for the usage of instruments and composition.

kbee
5th April 2005, 12:34 AM
I think this is a must buy album just for the usage of instruments and composition.
Completely agree. Hope they will resolve the price issue and release the CD soon.

kbee
5th April 2005, 12:36 AM
kbee ,
Unlike Anbe SIvam ,Mumbai Express is a bi lingual ..SO the number of viewers will be more ;)
Like Hey Ram... just teasing. I am sure this will movie will rock. Now that it is almost out, I am now eagerly waiting for Kamal-Gautam movie. Hope its not a remake of CopLand movie (story line was similar)

ramdas2005
5th April 2005, 01:23 AM
Hi folks,
How does audio of MX compare with that of CM.
Better or Worse.
Cine Fan

5th April 2005, 01:29 AM
Vatsa,

ive written about the theme music a couple oF pages back. probably you missed it!!!

theme music 1- 5.04 mins highlights the life at 'mumbai' i presume. let me check out the visuals later. the music explains the life at mumbai as modern,trendy embracing all who comes to her, adding on another layer of satire, with its underworld kingdom, corruption et all and the peoples life living over platforms and dwelling in slums,. the red light areas, the fun and frolic over there the underlying sadness in their life. oh god this is a perfect musical tour of mumbai.
theme music 2- 3.24 mins this takes us deep into some mystery and adventure and while we are at it stupified, gives us a breath of fresh air and journeys into calmness and love and a feeling of alls well that ends well

kbee
5th April 2005, 01:32 AM
CM has mass songs - old VS
ME is trendy and new - new IR

no comparison please

5th April 2005, 01:35 AM
Dude,

its Quiet normal for the kids to make fun of national songs and anthems as Kbee said. Its only after when we grow up we understand the meaning of nation etc.,
Till then its only 'Vandhemaatharam varudhae moo...am' or 'janaganamangadhi keezha vuluntha enna gadhi' :D
So there is nothing wrong in kamal and IR butchering this songs as the scene would ve demanded.

5th April 2005, 01:44 AM
Vijayr

Alwarpet_andavan, explain how the vocal/tune portion of Poo pothadhu is "vocal jazz"? Its just a plain ordinary IRish tune, no jazz to it. Kurangu Kayyil's interludes are the only areas where you sense some semblance of Jazz.

well, as an antidote, you can listen to "vande maataram" from Saaza-e-kaalapani by IR. Now that's some inspiring music. Dont listen to Mano's hapless Tamil version.

You got the habit of liking IR compostions after some time and ARR's compostiion immtly. You are indeed different As its IR's songs which catch immtly and its ARR's songs which grow on people :wink: you said the same about Pithamgan and Virumaandi at the beggining now it seems you ve changed your opinion about them in some other thread. I know youll say MX was one of IR's best in a couple of years from now :D

5th April 2005, 01:46 AM
Kbee

CM has mass songs - old VS

no comparison please

a correction
CM has mass songs - old IR
no comparison please :D

vatsa400
5th April 2005, 02:10 AM
I hope Kamal releases it asap otherwise he is paving way for piracy.

Rajsarnam,

I missed it. One theme music seems like a couple of distinct pieces made to fit the situation. If this is indeed a collection of background score, its welcome. If IR does the same for some of his future BG compositions then it will be a treat. He expresses more in this form than in songs which are not challenging more often than not.

Sivamani said he worked with IR in this album, any mention in the CD (if you manage to get one)?

Vatsa

dude
5th April 2005, 03:08 AM
Dude,

its Quiet normal for the kids to make fun of national songs and anthems as Kbee said. Its only after when we grow up we understand the meaning of nation etc.,
Till then its only 'Vandhemaatharam varudhae moo...am' or 'janaganamangadhi keezha vuluntha enna gadhi' :D
So there is nothing wrong in kamal and IR butchering this songs as the scene would ve demanded.

Rajasaranam,

You are right, maybe it was the situation that demanded this song to be treated like this, I am not denying it. It is Kamal's screenplay that is to be blamed. I franky dont care about Kamal's screenplay writing capabilities and am not going to comment about it...

But then that is not the point here...
I respected IR when he initially refused to compose for Hey Ram coz he thot that the screenplay was not to his liking and hence would not be comfortable scoring for it.

That is why I am disappointed with IR. Whatever the situation asked for, he should not have done it (IMHO). Forget about composing it... Once he himself had listened to the final output, he should have objected to that song being released...

5th April 2005, 03:40 AM
But then that is not the point here...
I respected IR when he initially refused to compose for Hey Ram coz he thot that the screenplay was not to his liking and hence would not be comfortable scoring for it.
.. Once he himself had listened to the final output, he should have objected to that song being released...

Exactly Dude,

IR initially rejected HeyRam thinking that It criticized Gandhi, but when the movie came back to him as a finished product he was convinced that, infact the movie glorified Gandhi, thats why he scored for it.
similarly the situation Kamal Created in the screenplay whould've been so compelling that IR couldn't go against it. The movie is finished and IR has scored the BGM. IR allowing the scene and releasing the album means it is nothing to worry about degrading the national song.

5th April 2005, 03:41 AM
BTW the case of sentiments like these is fully debatable in any other space and i dont consider vandhe matharam or even janaganamana as great national songs IMOHPO.

Sari adha vidungaa Kurai enga irukkunnu kandu pudikkanumnae varadheenga. Apram naan ungaalu SCBOSE madhri oru anti humane war alliance kooda irunthavarkellam [Hitler, Mussolini and Japan] music potuirukaarnnu solluvaen :D
Paatellam epdi irukku atha sollunga.

uv
5th April 2005, 03:54 AM
Mumbai Express Rocks!! oops Jazzes you out !!

Awesome
More indetail review later
But this path breaking music for Film Music
ITs like you goto class for kindergarden and you get blown out away with Doctroate material

But if you are Jazz fan
this is defintively for yours to keep

UV

5th April 2005, 04:03 AM
welcome UV,
this is your first post :)

p
5th April 2005, 06:12 AM
this is pure bliss :D - the piece from 4:47 - 6:50 in kurangu kaiyil pUmAlai - V2 / the piece 3:34 - 4:50 in kurangu kaiyil pUmAlai - V1

Also listen to these pieces

aElE nI oththi pO - 1:26 - 1:55 , 2:39 - 3:09 , 4:55 - 6:05

pU poothathu - 0:17 - 0:52 , 1:31 - 2:45 , 4:04 - 4:51 , the beats throughout the song

kurangu kaiyil pUmAlai - V1 - 1:31 - 2:20

thops
5th April 2005, 06:21 AM
after a couple of listenings...pretty good stuff from IR considering the fact that he is sick of film music...

i am revising my review...the album is exceptional...okay maybe a little short (of exceptional)...since exceptional is reserved for early 80s and guru kinda albums...

uv
5th April 2005, 06:44 AM
I have been a ftmpage veteran for years,
but nowadays I dont visit this forum that much as nothing much happening here except for bashing.
But since IR is back in a big way with Mumbai Exp, just want share my feelings with fellow tfmpagians :) .

Man , amazing how IR can come out with something so fresh after these many years.
While other MDs are obessed with 6/6,4/4s this man comes out with this stuff.

I appreciate Kamalji for coming out withs something different but at the same time, he should have some more melodies since there is only 3 songs,
Vandemataram should not have been included in the album
becoz in the film 'A kidnap happens during chorus practise' as per rediff news.

There are real solid drumming not some lousy programming or looping.
And the quality of sound is so rich
anyway more later

5th April 2005, 09:54 AM
I don't think i can explain that to you if you are opinionated. And to say that it's an Irish tune is incorrect.

5th April 2005, 11:02 AM

One more point? Have you listened to Steely Dan or Sting? Many of their songs have jazz elements even if they don't seem obvious.

teja
5th April 2005, 11:30 AM
IR has once again topped himself with MX.
Amazing stuff. I can't get enough of "Poo Poothathu" & "Yelae Nee Yetippo"

Check out MumbaiXpress Telugu version Audio release function details:
http://www.idlebrain.com/news/functions/audio-mumbaiexpress.html

Singeetam says:

The music provided by Ilayaraja is just something one cannot talk about but has to experience. We just told him the situations and he came up with music that enhanced the scenes. We planned for a song less film but when we saw the end product we were happy that we added those songs to the film.

tmrrmt
5th April 2005, 11:33 AM
"Poo poothhadhu" - can easily walk into a Dire Straits "Brothers in Arms" kind of an album - especially the first interlude (1:35 to 1:45) and then goes off into classic jazz for some time and then comes the humming followed by a typical IR melody as the main song!

what would you classify this as ?!!

I am bewildered - when the female voice goes to a high octave with "Oraayiraam....." in the first stanza, oops! that is vintage melody that only IR can come up with

5th April 2005, 11:37 AM
Check out MumbaiXpress Telugu version Audio release function details:
http://www.idlebrain.com/news/functions/audio-mumbaiexpress.html

Singeetam says:

The music provided by Ilayaraja is just something one cannot talk about but has to experience. We just told him the situations and he came up with music that enhanced the scenes. We planned for a song less film but when we saw the end product we were happy that we added those songs to the film.

So finally the dubbed version makes it before the original.Cmon,Kamal,release the music,forget the pricing.Don't push music lovers like us into the arms of the pirates,it's a lose-lose situation for both.

teja
5th April 2005, 12:23 PM
Check out songs from Telugu version.
http://www.greatandhra.com/movies/listen/2005/mxpress_songs.html

Quality is poor, but you can get a feel.
Looks like the site owners didn't even check the quality after uploading.

IMO, 'Poo pothathu's telugu version (Na Kanulalo Evaro) by SPB, Chitra sounds much more pleasant than Sonu nigam, Shreya's version.
Chitra is brilliant, especially when the charanam merges with pallavi!.

Good to see Chitra and SPB back with IR!

5th April 2005, 04:13 PM
My first thought after listening to the album was:Why did Kamal restrict it to just 3 songs :( Kurungu Kaiyil&Poo Poothathu are very very good while yele nee etti po tapers a bit in the middle but is still very listenable.The theme music suits the movie's thought process.The tweaking that IR/Kamal have done with 'Vande mataram'has brought in a lot of criticism but I think as Kids we have all played around with the anthem&songs.I remember my school, days when we punned,made fun of many words in this song.As kamal is supposedly dangling from 150ft when this song is played,it's perfectly understandable that the kids watching this will lose focus on what they are singing.Overall a very satisfactory album.

PS:Kamal's voice which seemed bad&out of place in Virumaandi is very good&in sync here.How did this happen,technology?

5th April 2005, 04:25 PM
cinefan anna!
is the cd or cassette available in Bangalore?

5th April 2005, 04:35 PM
cinefan anna!
is the cd or cassette available in Bangalore?

Haven't checked out today but till yesterday it was not available.I put down my comments after listening to the songs on musiconline he.. he.. he.Pretty good quality,those guys give.

5th April 2005, 05:53 PM
It's frustrating......... Even the folks at Planet M don't know when the CD/casettes are going to be out. Raajkamal only have themselves to blame. This doesn't augur well for the movie's publicity.
The worse part of this whole waiting episode is the silence!

NagaS
5th April 2005, 06:03 PM
Dude,

I totally agree with you, it was kind-of odd in an album like this, where I liked all other songs ...

but vandematharam has too many other controversies ... ushaaru ;)

NagaS

5th April 2005, 07:05 PM
alwarpet_andavan, I have listened to both Police and Sting, all by himself, and also Miles Davis. So please stop throwing names around.The point is, how is "poo pothadhu" vocal jazz? Its just a typical IR tune with Jazz present in parts in the interludes. That doesnt make it vocal jazz.

5th April 2005, 07:22 PM
"And to say that it's an Irish tune is incorrect."

I didnt say "Irish", I said IRish. Thats fine, if you cant explain it, I understand :-)

kbee
5th April 2005, 07:32 PM
The songs are already available on teh net, but still ppl are looking for CD and Casette. I am really thrilled to see this crowd here (what else you can expect from a retailer?). The songs are very good and is a collectible for Jazz lovers.

Two theme music are extremely well done. I have been listening to this and Bose and find some similarities in the mood created by the theme music.

2005 is year of IR

Mumbai Express.
Adhu Oru Kanaa Kaalam *** (Balumahendra - another moondraam pirai?)
Oru Naal Oru Kanavu. *** (Fazil - he is already praising the tunes that IR scored)
Kasthoorimaan
Koodal Nagar
Maanidan

Also, please visit www.raaga.com and under malayalam listen to Achuvinte Amma. This is a unique opportunity. The director is telling the story/song situation and IR is composing tune and eventually the actual song comes in. While IR sing the tune, it doesnt look good at all (for a layman like me), but the songs are very good.

alias
5th April 2005, 10:00 PM
kbee, you must be kidding with Mumbai Xpress songs. The songs are real junk except one (with Sonu Nigam) and others are pure outdated and I dont know whether it will stand a chance with Sachin or either with Chadramukhi. The album is sure to flop.

buggle
5th April 2005, 10:19 PM
I guess alias is a jerk or a junk probably

ramdas2005
5th April 2005, 11:23 PM
Hi all,
The word is out that MX is worse when compared to Sachin and CM. Also there is lot of problems with releasing audio in tamil. Looks like Kamal and IR have lost out on the audio race, Probably would hold off buying the album.

6th April 2005, 12:23 AM
RamDoss!!!!!
No wonder u made that comment :))

Hey ..just kidding ...........

kbee
6th April 2005, 12:27 AM
alias

I know you are ARR fan and in no way you will like this, so i am not going to justify my liking for you.

6th April 2005, 10:37 AM
I sinned yesterday.
I had made up my mind not to listen to uploaded MP3s from coolgoose. Yet I could not resist the temptation of listening to MX song 'poo poothadhu'. I listened only once and already it is buzzing around my ears long after I heard it. It starts with a kid kind of voice singing coarsely "poo poothadhu.. thoattam yaar pottadhu?" ,then when sonu nigam joins the song, heaven visits the earth. And when the female singer starts it starts to rain flowers from the sky. In between the marriage between heaven and earth is welcomed and affirmed by piano, bass guitar and light jazzy drums. Throughout the song, IR has resisted the temptation to use a 50 piece violin orchestra and that is why people are calling out "Jazz" instead of same old IR song. Now the tune wise, IR has been giving such divine melodies from 80s. In fact I was strangely reminded by "Oru Kaadhal enbadhu, un nenjil ulladhu" from "chinna thambi periya thambi". There too SPB, Sjanaki, piano, drums come together to party in our ears. However, there would be some flute and violins joining the party and suppressing the strong jazz flavour. Here it was strictly Piano, Little sax, Drums and bass guitar, keeping up the melody and the mood of the song throughout. I haven't listened to other songs and I have made up my mind to buy the cd and listen to it in the cd player instead of coolgoose. I can understand from vijayr's comments why he doesn't find any different between this and any of 80s IR songs. I am sure that many other musci lvers will find this a new style of song for Indian films. That in my opinion is the speciality of IR. To his fans he hasn't changed, still churning out the melodies of his heydays and for new listeners he shows something different whenever he gets an opportunity. vijayr still finds the same elements present. But look at it in a subtle manner, you will find new patterns in his style. Again that is my humble opinion.

6th April 2005, 12:12 PM
guess the songs should be enjoyed on big screen.
i didnt get much out of listening to it.
only "poo poothathu" sounds ok.

6th April 2005, 01:58 PM
"And to say that it's an Irish tune is incorrect."

I didnt say "Irish", I said IRish. Thats fine, if you cant explain it, I understand :-)

No comments and i'm done with you. Feel free to throw more of your stuff..............(if that makes you feel better)

Jambu Paran
6th April 2005, 02:34 PM
EXtremely enjoyed poo pootthatu....just wat i expected from IR + Kamal combo...

but really upset the way Vande Mataram has been ridiculed!....
we can forgive it for being kids song in a comedy film...but it's not rite i guess....

Kamal + IR have tried something new with the music arrangement...BOTH HAVE TRIED TO HIDE THE AGE FACTOR IN THEM!..
and they succeeded up to a certain extent i think

kiran4442000
6th April 2005, 02:48 PM
this is my second post just to notify kamal fans out therein bangalore cassettes/cds of mumbai xpress is not available in music stores, please contact your nearest local kamal hassan fans association for your copies!

6th April 2005, 04:04 PM
"And to say that it's an IRish tune is incorrect."

Come on this is like seeing a painting of piccasso and saying " hey this is Piccasso'ish why cant he try something different ?!! :D yup no way this guy can be convinced leave him aside and get on with enjoying this album folks. Let him go and listen his guru ARR's stuff which doesnt sound ARRish. On lighter side how'll ARR's tune sound ARRish who doesnt have an identity of his own, when he copies all around the world and feeds on loops and sofwares :lol:

6th April 2005, 04:08 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/14075.html

The audio of the Tamil version being released today evening.At last :D

6th April 2005, 04:23 PM
"And to say that it's an IRish tune is incorrect."

Come on this is like seeing a painting of piccasso and saying " hey this is Piccasso'ish why cant he try something different ?!! :D yup no way this guy can be convinced leave him aside and get on with enjoying this album folks. Let him go and listen his guru ARR's stuff which doesnt sound ARRish. On lighter side how'll ARR's tune sound ARRish who doesnt have an identity of his own, when he copies all around the world and feeds on loops and sofwares :lol:

Rajasaranam, ungalukku en saranam :-)
You're right. Let's get on with enjoying the album.

P.S: (BTW, i like ARR too, but IR is my god)

6th April 2005, 05:40 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/14075.html

The audio of the Tamil version being released today evening.At last :D

Cinefan,
Indha dhadava nambalaama ivangala?
"Kaathirundhu kaathirundhu ......." :)

NagaS
6th April 2005, 06:02 PM
chinnathambi periyathambi MD was Gangai amaran I think !

NagaS

6th April 2005, 06:59 PM
Rajasaranam, considering your name, I am not surprised by your knee-jerk reactions here:-) My point was the tune portion was nothing new and was similiar in style to many songs done before(hence "IRish"). Our friend Alwarpet was arguing that it was vocal Jazz, and it was something new, and till now he hasnt proven it. The answer is-its not vocal Jazz. Its a typical IR tune-nothing special in it, in terms of structure or scale employed- the interludes however have Jazz elements in it. I had already commended the interlude of one of the songs in my earlier post. This is definitely a different attempt by IR, albeit in the orchestration area.

6th April 2005, 07:14 PM
"You got the habit of liking IR compostions after some time and ARR's compostiion immtly. You are indeed different As its IR's songs which catch immtly and its ARR's songs which grow on people"

rajasaranam, you are wrong again. Many people here have mentioned that they didnt like ME on first hearing and had to hear it a few times to like it. This happens whenever something new is attempted. So this is not attributable just to Rahman's songs.

""you said the same about Pithamgan and Virumaandi at the beggining now it seems you ve changed your opinion about them in some other thread. "
"

I have always maintained that both these albums had 1 or 2 good songs, but that doesnt make the whole album a great one. I dont have to give you examples for IR's great albums. You know better.

"I know youll say MX was one of IR's best in a couple of years from now""

Compared to the mundane stuff he has been churning out in his recent albums like Karagattakaari and the likes, MX is definitely a more creative effort. I have already mentioned it a few posts back.

(But sadly, Kamal is most probably not doing his next 2 films with IR and IR will be back to grinding his same old flour for the likes of thankar bachcan, Kasturiraja etc.)

6th April 2005, 07:36 PM
Rajasaranam and other MUSIC lovers,
Last year i was talking with one of my colleagues, who, like me, liked ARR but saw IR as the god of music. He put the difference between the two very aptly thus:
"If IR is asked to score music for Boys, he would've been a few light years off the mark.
But if ARR is asked to do a Virumaandi, he will be a THOUSAND light years away".
After listening to MX, even the first part of the above comment will have to be reconsidered. IR has shown that he still has the "boy" in him alive and kicking.

P.S: This is just to share a thought i had on listening to MX and not for ARR-bashing, as i've already mentioned i like ARR.

NagaS
6th April 2005, 07:42 PM
vijayr,

Kamal is most probably not doing his next 2 films with IR and IR will be back to grinding his same old flour for the likes of thankar bachcan, Kasturiraja etc.)

What are those two films? one is gowtham movie for which Hariss Jayaraj is the MD, after that ?

BTW, when you talk about IR's work for karakaattakkaari and all and complain about him 'grinding same old maavu' and all (not that I agree with those views), I feel like asking you some question - do you really think IR is in a position to 'experiement' something when it comes to karakaattakkaari kind of movies ? or is he in a position to 'pick' his movies / themes / directors ?

Given the kind of projects he is getting thesedays, IMO he does his best !

NagaS

6th April 2005, 07:47 PM
What are those two films? one is gowtham movie for which Hariss Jayaraj is the MD, after that ?
NagaS

http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/32/4484
The text....
Kamal Hassan is keeping himself busy. Immediately after the completion of 'Mumbai Express', Hassan plans to launch his next film. It will be shot entirely in London in one schedule. Also on the cards is a film with director Gautam Menon. Neither of the two film’s cast has been decided as yet. Watch this space for more.

6th April 2005, 08:11 PM
Yet again I sin out of temptation.
Theme music which starts out like a parlour video game like synth sound, gains divine violin essence and the chase is on with drums and violin and some synth and then piano and cello lead the conversation. It is like a chase music... with sax and trumpets marking key punches with shivamani's drums. So it is a stuff right out of "How to name it" with better recording, feels very hip. The synth stuff is minimal and is used to create a mood. There is a long passage when violins, drums and pianos take a break, this passage creates an interval laced with heavy expectations. Expectations of hearing the divine violins and pianos and majestic drums. And there they come to create a roller coaster like euphoria.
wow! jolly mood maker this piece!!!

NagaS
6th April 2005, 08:31 PM
jaiganes,

unga paava mannippu sessions thodarattum ;)

Amen !

NagaS

Arjuna
6th April 2005, 08:45 PM
Vijayr - rajasrnam is just another jalra of IR!! So dont care about his mindless talk!!

Vijayr - can we say ME is the worst IR album ever?

Arjuna
6th April 2005, 08:50 PM
Vijayr - If someone says IR's Bharathi was too good !! - I would say it is excellent and agree with him..or even Kadhaluku mariyadhai..but this type of bullshit in MEx - even I can compose better than this!!

I am quite amused to see lots of jalras praising this type of junk work!!

Yeah - this is what u call kali kaalam!! ;)

kbee
6th April 2005, 09:00 PM
even I can compose better than this!!
IR muthiratha 10 varusham dialy kudicha kooda umakku music varathaiya.

6th April 2005, 09:03 PM
even I can compose better than this!!
IR muthiratha 10 varusham dialy kudicha kooda umakku music varathaiya.

kbee that was harsh but hillarious :lol:

multinamatheyan
6th April 2005, 09:05 PM
"MEx - even I can compose better than this!! "

thannadakka thilagam Arjuna vazhga!!

6th April 2005, 09:10 PM
kbe ,
Request you to avoid such emotional outbursts ..
If somebody does not ,then he does not like it - We should respect his identity ....

NagaS<
Did u hear Mumbai XPress?How did u like it !!

6th April 2005, 09:13 PM
"I feel like asking you some question - do you really think IR is in a position to 'experiement' something when it comes to karakaattakkaari kind of movies ? or is he in a position to 'pick' his movies / themes / directors ?

Given the kind of projects he is getting thesedays, IMO he does his best ! "

Nagas, and I disagree. You can compare Virumandi and Karagatakaari and see that IR has put a little more thought into Virumandi than he did for Karagatakari, because the former was Kamal's film and he makes sure he extracts what he wants. For the lesser directors, its lesser stuff. I am comparing these two films because both have a more or less similar rural setting and demands songs with folk feel. Nothing new conceptually or in terms of presentation as far as Karagatakaari is concerned. Discerning listeners will easily spot this out. This is nothing new to me as IR has been doing this since the 80s. Like Nitya pointed out yesterday his old tunes/sandhams/rhythm patterns recyled and presented with new singers. In fact, now that I think about it, almost every song in Julie Gnapathy gives a feeling of being recycled from somewhere. A very mundane effort.

6th April 2005, 09:19 PM
Arjuna, I dont agree with you on ME. I feel its a different effort from IR as far as the interludes are concerned(in 2 songs), not his same routine stuff. But the tunes(or the vocal portions) by themselves are a big letdown and are'nt hip enough to match the rest of the song. We have heard these kind of tunes plenty of times before. Nothing new attempted there. That was my point.

Unfortunately for both the TFM and HFM audience this might prevent them from appreciating the Jazzin the interludes and might force them to overlook the album, favouring pathetic efforts like Sachin, Chandramukhi etc. As far as I am concerned I am listening to ME theme and the interludes of Kurangau kayyil maalai and Poo pothadhu and I like it.

NagaS
6th April 2005, 09:21 PM
hmm, may be you are right vijayr, virumaNdi was sure better than karakattakkaari - but I am not sure if the situations kamal / other director gave would've been similar / equally challenging ... Anyway, we can only guess now :)

I liked virumaaNdi, karakaattakkaari and Mumbai Express ... ofcourse, not in the same order or I would like to rate them ... But I liked each of those albums for different reasons :)

NagaS

6th April 2005, 09:24 PM
Arjuna, however, I do agree with your take on YSR, if thats any consolation :-)

6th April 2005, 09:29 PM
NagaS, karagatakaari sounds like Johny or NizhalgaL when compared with other terrible albums from the late 90s like Thodarum, Thalaimurai, Rajasthan etc :-) Wonder whether he let KR/YSR or any of his assistants do the composing for those films. Ideally, it would be nice to see IR doing 5 or 6 films a year for Bala, Cheran, Kamal and 2 or 3 other young promising directors and avoid films like Vela(I think it is thankfully shelved) or Karagatakaari (the star cast of this film would be suitable for a porn flick)

6th April 2005, 09:30 PM
Vijayr,

Well your name doesnt suggest anything but being a observer of your posts i understand you are a MSV/ARR fan. I too am not surpirsed by your reactions when any album of IR is released. you were desperate when ARR entered the field for IR to be driven out of business, for IR was the one who drove MSV out of business. but 14 years passed and that seems not to happen in remote future too.though you come around snooping in IR forums and say negative comments about his albums nothing will happen... Go have a life buddy. Grow up ive stopped coming to ARR forums and throwing negative comments

And none expect Kbee and Vatsa had said they didnt like the album in first hearing, that means many to you aint it, i understand you being an ARR fan :)

IR churning out the same flour for TB KR is ok for me till ARR churns out the same flour for Ashutosh,MR, SJS etc.,

6th April 2005, 09:31 PM
Nagas, After the Gauytam Menon film I read Kamal was doing another film with Charan-supposedly a comedy and I assumed the MD would be Bharadwaj.But If he is launching his own film like someone mentioned above maybe IR would be the MD

6th April 2005, 09:37 PM
Rajasaranam, if you dont like my posts/opinions you are welcome not to read it. Looks like you miss the points that I like about ME and harp only about my criticism. You sound like a typical fanatic as your name suggests. And as for your claim that I am a huge ARR fan, if you had been in this forum long enough you would know better. Right now, I can only laugh at this comment.

Kbee and Vatsa arent the only people. Few I spoke to said that they liked the album more on subsequent hearings. This happens when something new that you are not used to hearing to, is attempted. And Jazz is mostly alien to most TFM listeners, and takes a while to grow on you. If you like it at the first attempt itself, good for you. It doesnt mean it should be the same way for the others. Maybe it could also be because you decided that you would like this album in advance, no matter what :-)

6th April 2005, 09:44 PM
Vijayr - rajasrnam is just another jalra of IR!! So dont care about his mindless talk!!

Vijayr - can we say ME is the worst IR album ever?

hmmm maatikittiya 'salem kutti samiyaar' alias Arjuna unnai than thaedikittu irunthaen ivalo naala :D eppa en paera ozhunga type panna poara? Key boardla 'Caps lock' kum 's' kum naduvula oru Key irukkum athula 'a' irukkum atha 'srn' ku naduvula type panna en paer correcta varum adutha vaatti ozhunga type pannu ipdi 'rajasaranam' :lol:

6th April 2005, 10:25 PM
And as for your claim that I am a huge ARR fan, if you had been in this forum long enough you would know better. Right now, I can only laugh at this comment.

Kbee and Vatsa arent the only people. Few I spoke to said that they liked the album more on subsequent hearings...... Maybe it could also be because you decided that you would like this album in advance, no matter what :-)

Yeah I've not been around these forums for long. Laugh away :D but show me some pointers to suggest that you are an ardent music fan, not biased in any way and that you had criticized ARR/MSV as vehemently you do IR whenever a new album of his is released. I'll take back my comments on you then. [cont...]

6th April 2005, 10:25 PM
[...cont]

You show me 2 people out of some odd 20 people who had commented on this album in these forums and ask me to take in the words of a few people whom you had spoken personally!!! yup then take in mine too - Except my younger brother who is an ARR fan who said that its too noisier than 'BOYS' and giving him an headache the other 5 were awestruck with this album of Raja.
Yeah Iam biased and have a-priori notions about IR's albums... Dont you too?!! Tell me when was the last time you said this is a complete album by Raja? whenever IR's album is released you come in say a few +ve things and a load of -ve things and finally concluding ' on the whole the album is disappointing and nothing novel' Hmmm... now say me this is not a a-priori notion of yours --- urrrghhhh Gimmeee break yaar.

6th April 2005, 10:44 PM
"Tell me when was the last time you said this is a complete album by Raja?"

When I listened to Guru in 1998. Since then it has been difficult for me to pass that comment on any other album. A few came close but didnt quite make it - Hey Ram, Kochu Kochu SanthoshangaL come to mind. There have been quite a few albums with one or two damn good songs in them like Niram pirithu paarthen in Time - but overall as an album they cant be called great, atleast in my opinion. A great album needs to have atleast 3 great songs out of 5 And I think even most seasoned, reasonably biased IR fans would agree atleast partially with my opinion. You on the other hand...:-)

6th April 2005, 10:48 PM
As for ARR criticism- Parasuram and Baba are some of the worst albums I have heard from ARR in recent times. His "New" wasnt all that good either. His HFM efforts have been better in recent times. Re-recording in films have been forgettable with few exceptions like Iruvar and so on..I'll stop here for this is IR's thread.

balaji
6th April 2005, 10:59 PM
Rajasaranam

VijayR is a good critic of IR's music (though sometimes a little extreme for me). However if only we had more critics like him/Udhaya of IR's music in the mid/late 80s, IMHO IR could have given much more wonderful music.

Such critics should not be silenced, but should filter out the opinions that are many times genuine

Bala

kr
7th April 2005, 12:05 AM
While I do not have a problem anyone posting their opinion on IR's albums or others, I disagree that their opinions have somehow more credibility than those who appreciate the same albums or that more of those critics are needed for IR etc.

Liking a particular type of music or composer's style is all based on individual taste and preferences. These are influenced by so many pyschographic and attitudinal factors and ring these biases in judging . Everyone is going to justify thier preferernces stating that their views are unbiased stating their credentials as to why they are unbiased and how others are. But to me,anyone's opinion including mine is just that - an individual preference based on my set of biases and nothing more and I am not prepared to accept someone else's criticism is more valid than my appreciation.

From the vantage point of having met a lot of people who have created a perception for themeselves that IR's music nowadays are like old days, my hypothesis is that irrespective of the quality of music IR is going to come up with, it is going to be dismissed by this segment as providing validity to their beliefs. From my perspective, it will be a very difficult leap for them to overcome their mental hurdles to provide any credit to IR. And from the yardstick that they may use, it may even be possible for them to justify their perceptions to themselves. However, that may not be the reality for others.

I use what I consider as rational and analytic approaches and I find the accolades afforded to ARR exceed what probably his actual accomplishments offer. But then, I smile at thos people who offer such glorious accolades but don't go out and bash his music everyday to people who enjoy his music. That to me is more disturbing. Well, if you didnt like ME music, dont buy the album, dont listen to the songs but do I need to be out there spoiling the fun for those guys who are enjoying his music.

And for those, enjoying ME, does it really matter that someone else does not like the album. How does it even matter? Ignore and just sing the praises.

7th April 2005, 12:21 AM
balaji,

my intention was not to silence him but to bring out the factual reality that he is biased heavily towards ARR/MSV. ohkay.. he has pointed some movies like baba, parasuram and new as albums which he didnt find good from ARR, well if atall he had been unbiased he should have gone to those threads and criticized them as he does whenever an IR album is released... where was he when 'Vishwa thulasi' was released everyone knew that was an album by MSV it was the same grinder same flour [ i enjoyed the album, it was melodiously soothing though we ve listened to these types of songs from him hundreds of times.]

7th April 2005, 12:30 AM
A great album needs to have atleast 3 great songs out of 5 And I think even most seasoned, reasonably biased IR fans would agree atleast partially with my opinion. You on the other hand...:-)

well that makes 60% which is just average, it should be 80% or more to make it a great album in the opinion of a unseasoned, unreasonbably biased IR fan. for me IR scores 100% always. now go and check in the great albums of ARR by this scale :lol:

7th April 2005, 12:39 AM
And for those, enjoying ME, does it really matter that someone else does not like the album. How does it even matter? Ignore and just sing the praises.

I'Ve conveniently ignored the likes of Arjuna who come in honestly, spit venom and go away. These are the least dangerous.
But Mr.Vijayr comes here under the pretext of a great critic and ciritcize as though he is the only 'allinallazhaguraja' who criticize IR for the sake of music. [avar mujic ariva vachutae enna panrathunnu theriyaama Isaignani thaennarraru, ivar vaera konjam kudutha othavuraraam.... vaenamda saami nu urakka sollanum] these are the dangerous kind IMHO and should be exposed well.

7th April 2005, 01:31 AM
"And for those, enjoying ME, does it really matter that someone else does not like the album. How does it even matter? Ignore and just sing the praises."

That's what I have been trying to drill into rajasaranam's head in vain.

Rajasaranam, if you liked ME or other new albums a lot so be it. I never questioned your opinions, did I?. Then why are you bothered about my posts? Seems like you are an insecure fan. I have as much right to post my opinions as you do. There is no rule that only IR's praises should be sung in this thread. I liked portions of ME and have pointed out the ones that I liked and ones that I didnt. I have also given examples of other IR albums from the past that I liked. In the recent past he hasnt given much that I liked.

Idhukkumm mela I dont have to prove anything to you. You have very poor comprehension skills. I never claimed anywhere that I am a critic. I just express my opinions like you do. If that makes me a critic in your book then your posts make you look like a mad fanatic in my book.

7th April 2005, 02:20 AM
"
That's what I have been trying to drill into rajasaranam's head in vain.
.... Seems like you are an insecure fan. I have as much right to post my opinions as you do.
Idhukkumm mela I dont have to prove anything to you. You have very poor comprehension skills. I never claimed anywhere that I am a critic. I just express my opinions like you do. If that makes me a critic in your book then your posts make you look like a mad fanatic in my book.

balaji,

look he has burst out saying he is not a critic at all. and all these years you had been thinking he was a critic!!! nope. If expressing his opinions makes us think that he is a critic then we are mad fanatics in his books it seems. hmmm.. unga pozhapayum naaradichitaru

7th April 2005, 02:22 AM
Vijayr,
its the duty of an insecure fan to go out finding faults in other MD's compostions to hold his favourite's compostions good.now you know who is insecure :D . I was, not anymore. why dont you grow up too?
you had conveniently evaded some basic questions which i posed to prove that you are an ARR/MSV fanatic. chill out, kool down ponder into your conscience and even after that you feel you are unbiased i salute your adamancy. hats off yaar, duniyaan mein aise aadmi kabhi kabhi milthein hain.

dude
7th April 2005, 03:18 AM
The theme music reminds me a lot of the music pieces from 'Pudhucheri kacheri' from singaravelan...

Anyone else feel so?

12bums
7th April 2005, 04:38 AM
aiyo aenpa thread'la bad blood? ME is a very interesting and very different kind of album. Some will appreciate it, some might not like it. I can also see that some just come to this thread to spit venom out of spite But its better that we dont get into a 'moothiram' :D argument with them! And most of all why bring ARR into this thread at all, whether for criticism or praise? This is about ME music and let us keep it at that. As far as 'IR jalra's' are concerned, this is a thread for such people only - IR fans (which includes jalras). Anyone who does not like it can stay away. This is a thread for people who are excited about IR's music. Period.

I also agree with Naga S as far as Virumandi and Karagattakaari are concerned! Just bcos they are of the same mileu does not mean they are of the same quality? The narration for the latter may not have excited the MD on an equal level.

Vijay R any criticism, please put them in context. Have you seen both the movies? How can you even crib that IR has not put in the same amount of effort for both? Just bcos they are of the same mileu does not mean you should expect the same kind quality of music. Please put in a little more thought before accusing others of not putting their mind. :)

kbee
7th April 2005, 05:17 AM
guys my appologies. I am the one who invoked the "moothiram". i couldnt tolerate ppl telling that even they can compose better music than IR. my sincere appologies again.

Anyways, I should be neutral too and willing to accept comments / criticism as a matured person as well as a retailer

7th April 2005, 06:34 AM
Kbee, that IS the spirit. It is ridiculous to say that we could make better music than the legend IR. Such statements are made in very poor taste and are best consigned to the bin. They don't deserve any reply from any sane music lover. At the same time it is also ridiculous to opine, for instance, that the song unnai kANavillayE nEtrOdu by ARR was good only because SPB sang it. I hope you understand where I am coming from :)

VijayR, fan paavam pollathathu, paaththu ezhudhunga :)

thops
7th April 2005, 07:14 AM
ok some support for vijay...he has done a lot of service to IR fans (okay atleast for me) by bringing out a lot of very rare IRs gems from 80s in mp3 format...

having said this i have to add that i am not a big fan of his style of putting his criticisms across...

dude
7th April 2005, 07:42 AM
kbee,

Actually arjuna can compose better music than IR...

(just testing ya :-D)

NOM!

7th April 2005, 08:09 AM
Rajasaranam, you havent proven anything here. You havent even read all my posts here in TFMDF in the past few years to come to any conclusion.I dont have time to dig out posts from archives to disprove that I am biased against IR or that I am a MSV/ARRA fan. All I am asking you is to respect others opinions just like how I do yours. Did I criticize you for praising ME or mock your opinions on ME songs? No. Why dont you do the same? And please remove naive thoughts like anyone who criticizes recent albums of IR has to be a ARR/MSV fan and so on. Thats narrowmindedness. I am a fan of good music and have equally criticized everyone. If anything, I am a little biased towards IR and my opinions on his recent albums have been more out of angst than anything else. I sometimes get disappointed that IR chooses medicore films to work with and ends up giving medicore songs too. And as a fan I express my sentiments. If you find it hard to digest, like I said earlier, you are welcome to ignore my posts from hereon and save us all another headache.

7th April 2005, 08:14 AM
"How can you even crib that IR has not put in the same amount of effort for both? Just bcos they are of the same mileu does not mean you should expect the same kind quality of music"

12bums, thats precisely my point, that IR still continues to accept B-grade movies that dont inspire him and ends up giving second-tier products, even after doing 800+ movies.You would think he would be a little more selective or would put in more effort even for medicore films since he does less movies these days. But neither is the case.And thats why my "crib"

Thops, thanks for reminding me of those songs:-) Have got to listen to that collection sometime soon. Time better spent than arguing with rajasaranam.

7th April 2005, 10:29 AM
Vijayr and raja saranam! please hold your tempers and approach this with a cool head.
I sinned repeatedly and heard all the songs/scores of ME except the vandemataram song. Only one song is a bit out of place and it is "Yele nee ettippo" and that too because it is a situational song with lot of dialogues in between. To consider that as a full blown song and criticize would be a mistake and I wouldn't want to do that. It is a dialogue segment with music thrown in between. The rest are gems! Kurangu kaiyyil maalai is simply amazing with Sivamani throwing in beautiful beat punches and creates the mood for the song. The singers have put in a lot of zest and the words are catchy and funny. I have already presented my views on "Poo poothadhu" and "Theme music". So IMHO it is one of the best Thamizh albums for this year. As far as the controversy over whether it is jazz or vocal jazz or snoring jazz, let us accept the fact that IR had practically introduced Jazz and blues kinda music to ignorant fans like yours truly and he continues to do what he does the best, blues-jazz base, WCM orchestra and a carnatic raaga based melody rolled into one beautiful package. NOBODY has so far been able to achieve this packaging and maestor yet again proves that he is the only one who can do it at this moment. This is a level of fusion which IR has made it his own, so when a jazz lover hears it he sees "jazz" and when a carnatic exponent hears it, he sees raagas flowing through it and when people drunk with loads of IR classic right through 80s like vijayr hear it, they see the same old Raaja!! I guess that should make them happy! Infact Raaja has tried to make everyone happy through this album and has succeeded mostly. I would go so far as to say succeeded fully, however that would be my HPO. To support why IR should have chosen sounds of 80s and why he didn't make it a techno pop experiment(as vijayr would like to see it from him), I guess he is trying to make an all India impression with his brand of fusion, which is unique and inspiring. Let us accept the fact that though IR's stable might not have produced that many music directors, there is an entire generation of music directors in Thamizh, malayalam, telugu and Kannada industries who carry the influence of raaja in their minds. Creative impact of Raaja's music is one of the most everlasting and deep in minds of music lovers. So here he is with Mumbai Xpress a satire on our modern urban society , stamping the resurgence of his brand that kept the audience spellbound and marvelled at the fusion of thought patterns in 80s and 90s. This is a welcome change because the techno pop crap that has been shovelled into the ears these days is a bit too much. So much so that genuine earthy albums like virumaandi and karagaattakaari having folk elements of music are being ridiculed as "old music", same old shit and so on. So raaja is making an effort to turn the modern ears that are coiling in pain listening to techno trance and heavy beats like "fanaaah" and synthesized human voices to the original brand of fusion of raaja where he packaged the best of all available forms of music in the right proportions to soothe the acing ear.

12bums
7th April 2005, 10:34 AM
VijayR, I understand what you are trying to say. But do tell me what is the criterion for rejecting or accepting a movie. If you look at it, Sigappu Rojakkal and Manmadhan, Guna and Kadhal Konden had the same kind of storyline. The difference was in the treatment. So how can a MD gauge whether a movie is going to be a classic or not? Have you heard Ponmeghalai ? What happened to the movie?

In hindsight, everything is posssible. Rajni should not have done a Baba, Vijay should not have done a Geethai, Ajith should not have done a Guru. But when someone goes to someone and narrates a story,it is impossible to envisage what the quality of o/p is going to be. Why even ARR, who is terrifically choosy, has had his Udhaya and Parasuram.

7th April 2005, 10:57 AM
http://sify.com/movies/tamil/interview.php?cid=2408

Check out this interview with the US distributor of ME

7th April 2005, 11:30 AM
Vijayr,

still you havent answered some questions!!! but you have come up saying that you are biased towards IR and you post in anguish that he is not choosy. AHHH... ithu natpu muranpaadu pagai muranpaadu illainu purinjikitaen. nandri thozharae.
All artists does create their own style and we find patterns of them repeating time and again in their creations.. IT is these patterns that makes us a fan of any one. IR too cannot come up with newer and novel things always, unless he is inspired heavily to churn out things entirely out of the world.Deviation from these patterns at times may amuse us but there will always be a underlying connection between older ones and this new one too. yeah do you want me to say the similarity i found in MX with his older ones, Dude pointed out something i found some songs were a remix of 'Oru maina main' - Uzhaipaali, 'Pottu vaitha kaadhal' - singaravelan, the beats that begin 'yeale' is from'Aasai athigam vachu' - marupadiyum and many more similar patterns, This cannot be ascribed to non-creativity. [cont...]

7th April 2005, 11:32 AM
[...cont]

i have heard the tune of 'naadu paarthathunda' from the movie kaamaraj hundreds of time before from IR but it never stopped bringing tears when i heard that song again with context in the movie... on lighter side 'Ezhavu veetla poi puthu tune la Oppari vaingannu solla koodathu' 3000 varushama ithu thaan Oppari for us.
this is universal for ARR MSV or IR-they have their own style of composing and dont deviate much if they feel its not a necessity. I differ with you in this aspect only that we need not go on saying ' pudhusa edhuvum illa athae maavuthaan'.Still if you feel like saying this go ahead. you are permitted to do so as this is a public forum and no one can stop you from doing it :)

tmrrmt
7th April 2005, 11:33 AM
has the audio (in Hindi and Tamil) been released in Bangalore and elsewhere ?

which halls is MX to be screened in Bangalore ?

e_hari
7th April 2005, 11:38 AM
I have to say, after a long time, an IR album has awaken my spirits in the first try. It is getting better and better after each hearing.
'Yellie nee Yettippo' is the pick of the album for me, with other two songs also equally good. Though I wish the tunes could have been little trendier. Tunes did remind you his previous work, but the interludes are great. Thisl looks like his another new avatar.
Hopefully he is not done yet.

Hari

7th April 2005, 11:42 AM
has the audio (in Hindi and Tamil) been released in Bangalore and elsewhere ?

which halls is MX to be screened in Bangalore ?

Firstly,was the audio released yesterday as reported by Indiaglitz?

"Vijay release" is distributing the movie in Bangalore.Ph no:9844158127.They may give the list of theatres.I have not called that number as by tmrw the ad's will be out in the papers listing the theatres.

irfansong
7th April 2005, 01:05 PM
I hope in any of the theatres in PVR will screen Mumbai Express and Chandra Mukhi.

We've a good feast for the ears when we enjoy thalaivar's movie in PVR cinemas.

Multiplex may also screen Mumbai Express.
Virumandi ran in that theatre only

Rasigan

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 01:37 PM
can any one throw light on the sales of audio cassettes in bangalore i am totally lost man i tried yesterday in all possible ways to grab a copy which at the end of the day was all in vain plz...anyone update abt this 2 me!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 01:37 PM
can any one throw light on the sales of audio cassettes in bangalore i am totally lost man i tried yesterday in all possible ways to grab a copy which at the end of the day was all in vain plz...anyone update abt this 2 me!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 01:46 PM
I tried thru fans club in vain and a audio dealer states that nobody is ready purchase the distribution of audio cassettes in bangalore wat on earth is happening man! why is it so complicated to grab a copy of audio cassettes, so please can any one throw light on this and poeple from tamil nadu did u guys get ur copy of cassettes! my only solace is the online version of mx songs :oops:

NagaS
7th April 2005, 02:57 PM
vijayr,

IR still continues to accept B-grade movies that dont inspire him and ends up giving second-tier products, even after doing 800+ movies.You would think he would be a little more selective or would put in more effort even for medicore films since he does less movies these days.

sorry to repeat - but I still feel we can't say IR should avoid accepting b grade movies and all ... its his wish and if he wans to do X movies per year and earn some money, I would give that freedom to him, he can afford to give some second grade albums, for all the top quality stuff he has given us all these years.

Ofcourse, he can put more effort on these albums, but that will end-up like what he did for few ramarajan movies and lot of mohan movies, why bother ? :) ... (Antha karakaattakkaari hero mugaththai oru vaatti paarunga, appuRam sollunga, antha padaththukku intha songs-ae athigam !)

Note : This comment is only for vijayr's "crib", otherwise, I liked karakaattakkaari album, infact every song from that album :)

NagaS

7th April 2005, 03:15 PM
NagaS !
Did u buy the CD or cassette? This whole episode of marketing cassettes by kamal in this fashion reminds me of "Potti vandhiduchu" first scene comedy from Aan paavam. I think we are all gonna end up smuggling cassettes across TN border in bangalore.

NagaS
7th April 2005, 03:22 PM
jaiganes,

I am in Riyadh now :( No way I can even dream about getting MX cassette !

NagaS

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 03:27 PM
HAI NAGAS I AM ALSO FROM BANGALORE ANY UPDATE ON THE CASSSETTES? :P

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 03:38 PM
Any one from bangalore who can throw light on this cassette episode and keeps me thinking whether the audio is really released or not pls.....anyone update any information on this....i am becoming impatient..... :oops:

7th April 2005, 04:14 PM
Any one from bangalore who can throw light on this cassette episode and keeps me thinking whether the audio is really released or not pls.....anyone update any information on this....i am becoming impatient..... :oops:

I don't think the audio has made it's way to the market,at least in Bangalore.I only want to know if it's been released in TamilNadu.

When the music of films like 'Varapogum sooriyaney','Gurudeva'get released,I don't understand what's the problem for a high profile movie like this.In fact the Telugu version has been launched but even that is not available in Bangalore.Very perplexing& :? -ing

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/livewire.asp?n=anbe07.txt

http://sify.com/movies/tamil/fullstory.php?id=13712441

Anbe sivam is getting dubbed into Hindi&releasing on 29th April.What nonsense? :evil:

kiran4442000
7th April 2005, 04:21 PM
why is it a nonsense! anbe sivam as a universal story and language should not be a barrier but of of course dubbed version will be lame and will only have a limited viewing. :P