View Full Version : Indian and International Hockey

2nd July 2007, 10:50 AM
India finish third in Champions Challenge

India survived a scare to pip a resurgent England 4-3 and bag the bronze medal in the Champions Challenge hockey tournament for men in Boom, Belgium, on Sunday.

The weakness of faltering at the death again haunted India, who nearly blew away a 4-0 lead before clinching their back-to-back bronze.

Tushar Khandekar (3rd, 6th minutes), Sandeep Singh (14th) and Roshan Minz (22nd) did the early damage before easing off. England, known for fighting from the trenches, hit back through Rob Moore (34th), James Tindall (54th) and Simon Mantell (63rd).

Incidentally, India had beaten England by the same scoreline when the teams had met in the league stage.

England, who applied pressure to rattle the Indians towards the end, paid dearly for the horrific lapses in deep defence in the first half.

With the sun out in all its glory for the first time in the competition, the Indians, at the start, showcased their skills and teamwork that was missing in the round robin stage. But they flattered to deceive in the second session by conceding three goals.

Scoring four goals by the 22nd minute, India looked to have effectively sealed the game in their favour against a side that simply could not pick itself up from the bullets fired at it.

It was only when the Indians, who had won the league encounter 4-3, relaxed a bit that England got the chance to make a few moves.

The manner in which the Indians began the game, England looked destined for a rout. Fluency and rhythm marked the Asian outfit's moves that flowed from both the flanks, stretching the English defence thin.

In fact, England barely crossed into the other half for much of the session. The Indians generated a lot of pace to frequently outrun the rival defence and looked sharp to capitalise on virtually every opening that came their way.

Under pressure from the ceaseless onslaughts, England defenders blundered repeatedly, giving deflections inside the circle and were severely punished for the lapses.

Gurbaaz Singh twice breached the English defence with hard hits and Khandekar was on hand to put home the deflections off defenders' sticks to give India a 2-0 lead by the sixth minute.

Pressing on, India scored yet again. This time Sandeep Singh snatched the ball from a slow moving defender to score in the 14th minute.

With England reeling from these body blows, Minz joined the party and slammed the fourth in the 22nd minute from a goalmouth scramble.

The change of ends saw England playing with more purpose and determination. Attacking in waves, they applied pressure on the Indian defence, which just about managed to counter the English surge.

mgb
2nd July 2007, 11:21 AM
2nd half indians played pathetically.. looked worse than a league team :x

9th September 2007, 09:07 AM
India in finals with 4-1 victory over Japan :clap:

http://ia.rediff.com/sports/2007/sep/08hock.htm

rocketboy
9th September 2007, 08:49 PM
Indians crush South Koreans 7-2 to lift the Asia Cup.

Yaar Kitta 8-)

9th September 2007, 09:18 PM
wow! :D :clap:

9th September 2007, 09:26 PM
In which channel they telecasted Asia cup?

rocketboy
9th September 2007, 10:09 PM
I think DD sports. I came to know the results through a news channel

9th September 2007, 10:21 PM
Chak de India :)

Indian Men's Hocky Team well deserves :clap:

many young bloods

Next Olympic gold medel after lang gap :D

9th September 2007, 10:23 PM
SS anna good thread :D

10th September 2007, 07:15 AM
:shock: What's happened to the Indian men's hockey team????

What a tournament :clap: :notworthy:

Too bad i couldnt watch even a single match as i don't think ESPN/Star Sports covered it...

Since when is our team playing like this? :shock:
I'd given up on them quite a while back. Beating South Korea 7-2!!!!

Wow...

"sakku" de O "Sakku" de indHiyA :razz:

10th September 2007, 07:30 AM
nethu match paakaalam-nu DD sports potten, but ellarum romba serious-a ice-skating velaanduttu irrundhaanga...! :roll: eppo match pottaanganu therila, I missed it!

flawless victory! right?

Wibhs, thank you! :)

10th September 2007, 07:39 AM
And I heard that the stadium was jam-packed :clap: :clap: :clap:

sriranga
10th September 2007, 09:27 AM
India beat korea 7-2

romba varusham munnadi SAF games in chennai-la India beat pakistan 5-1, playing superb free-flowing hockey.

yesterday's was one such performance.

india scored a total of 57 goals in the tournament. :clap:

10th September 2007, 10:26 AM
:exactly: Sennai eppavumE sports-a encourage panra oru ooru...
Cricket as always, Tennis and Hockey... :clap:

romba varusham munnadi SAF games in chennai-la India beat
pakistan 5-1, playing superb free-flowing hockey.

I watched that match in the stadium. Terrific crowd and response :yes:

10th September 2007, 10:58 AM

And the chennai crowd response was :clap:

mgb
10th September 2007, 11:27 AM
Sridhar.. the match was telecast at 6:30pm in DD sports.. i thot you wud ve gone to the stadium to watch it :)

Match was quick paced and korean could not make up for the stick work with their speed.. but as usual indians eased the pressure in the last few minutes.. india should continue with carvalho as coach for some more time :thumbsup:

10th September 2007, 12:57 PM
Sridhar.. the match was telecast at 6:30pm in DD sports.. i thot you wud ve gone to the stadium to watch it :)

Oh ok, Thanks Ganesh! :)

Actually my colleagues were trying to get tickets but it was already jam-packed!

ThalaNass
10th September 2007, 04:29 PM
India :notworthy: :D

Malaysia :clap: for finishing 3rd.. 8-)

sriranga
9th March 2008, 01:20 PM
Wishing the indian hockey team all the best for the finals of the olympic qualifier against england.

Hope they can win it and clinch a berth for the olympics.

sriranga
10th March 2008, 09:53 AM
India fails to make it to olympics. :cry2:

KPS GILL :hammer:

Arthi
10th March 2008, 10:14 AM
India lost to Britain :( :cry2:

Better luck next time :)

Tamilan
14th March 2008, 11:54 AM
http://www.ndtv.com/convergence/ndtv/showsports.aspx?id=SPOEN20080043957

mr_karthik
27th March 2008, 06:17 PM
very very sad to know, India failed to enter in to Olympic for the first time among the past 80 years.

day by day our hockey is going down and down in Olympics.

alan2008
28th August 2008, 10:29 AM
Hello!
If you are thinking of buying a WoW CD key (http://www.item4u.com/bestSelling-CDKey/WoW-US-CDKey) (World of Warcraft CD key (http://www.item4u.com/bestSelling-CDKey/WoW-EU-CDKey)) from Item4u, there are things you need to consider before bidding for it. It is very popular to get CD key from Item4u as it is easy and convenient. However, not to mention there are many scams around so beware. Here is a list of tips when you want to buy Warhammer CD key (http://www.item4u.com/bestSelling-CDKey/Warhammer-Online-CDKey) (Warhammer Online CD Key (http://www.item4u.com/bestSelling-CDKey/Warhammer-Online-CDKey)) from Item4u.

18th September 2008, 11:32 AM
Kaushik named India's hockey coach

http://www.rediff.com/sports/2008/sep/17hock.htm

20th January 2009, 11:44 AM
Thakur's brace helps India beat Argentina

http://www.rediff.com/sports/2009/jan/19hockey-india-beat-argentina.htm

23rd January 2009, 09:32 AM
Hockey: India lose 0-2 to Argentina

http://www.rediff.com/sports/2009/jan/22hockey-india-lose-to-argentina.htm

11th April 2009, 08:56 PM
India beat Pakistan 2-1, qualify for Azlan Shah final

http://sports.rediff.com/report/2009/apr/11/india-beat-pakistan-2-1-qualify-for-azlan-shah-final.htm

12th April 2009, 07:51 PM
India beat Malaysia 3-1 to win Azlan Shah title

http://sports.rediff.com/report/2009/apr/12/india-beat-malaysia-3-1-to-win-azlan-shah-title.htm

:clap: :clap:

dinesh13284
12th April 2009, 09:46 PM
India beat Malaysia 3-1 to win Azlan Shah title

http://sports.rediff.com/report/2009/apr/12/india-beat-malaysia-3-1-to-win-azlan-shah-title.htm

:clap: :clap:

They never lost a match in the tournament.. Congrats to new Team India.. Chak de India :cheer: :cheer: :happydance: :happydance:

13th April 2009, 02:06 PM
Hail the Indian team who outplayed Malaysia 3-1 in Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Hockey Tournament. :clap: :clap: :clap:
This was the forth time India has lifted the coveted cup. :cool:

13th April 2009, 02:45 PM
Indian Hockey team :clap: :clap:

ThalaNass
13th April 2009, 02:51 PM
Chak De India..!! :clap: :notworthy:

sgokulprathap
13th April 2009, 03:09 PM
:clap: Indian hockey team

wrap07
13th April 2009, 04:20 PM

13th April 2009, 05:04 PM

Nass, they played in my state, Ipoh... :P

ThalaNass
13th April 2009, 05:27 PM

Oh OK Yoga :D I didnt followed this series at all :oops: and I thought they were playing in Bukit Jalil :lol:

13th April 2009, 05:32 PM

Oh OK Yoga :D I didnt followed this series at all :oops: and I thought they were playing in Bukit Jalil :lol:

:oops: Even I don't follow. Innaiku paper pArththu thAn therinjathu. Glad that India won. :D (Malaysians mAthiriyA pEsurOm) Sultan Azlan Shah-nAlE Perak thAnE... :)

ThalaNass
13th April 2009, 07:06 PM

:oops: Even I don't follow. Innaiku paper pArththu thAn therinjathu. Glad that India won. :D (Malaysians mAthiriyA pEsurOm) Sultan Azlan Shah-nAlE Perak thAnE... :)

Malaysia'kunu thaan badminton irukkae.. :P malaysian hockey in very bad condition.. :lol:

Yes but I thot Ipoh stadium is not in good condition.. :oops:

wrap07
27th April 2009, 01:48 PM
http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/story.aspx?Title=Hockey+stars+deserve+more+recogni tion&artid=1Ji7atyiKOs=&SectionID=Aw|qo8JJkxA=&MainSectionID=Aw|qo8JJkxA=&SectionName=||WM0BI9WGM=&SEO=BCCI,%20Gurbux%20Singh%20Sandhu.

Hockey stars deserve more recognition