PDA

View Full Version : The Tamarind Tree (Sridevi)

RR
1st December 2007, 03:14 PM
The Tamarind Tree

- Sridevi

My legs are aching. I have been standing for the past twenty years in front of Manickam’s house. He is now a young man. When I first came here to stand, he was just learning to run faster. He would come to me and give one shake and run away. At least for another half an hour, my body would ache. I wouldn’t even be able to cry as God had sealed my mouth long ago. You don’t know that story isn’t it, how my mouth was sealed? I will tell you.

I am a Gandharvan. My original name is Kandeepan. I live in the lokas of the Devas. Once I was walking happily along the clouds, singing my favourite song softly, thinking of my beloved girl. Have you ever walked on the top of the clouds? It is simply great. You have to balance your foot on each cloud and carefully adjust your weight. You will not get it in a day. One needs years of practice. I was taught how to walk on the clouds by my father and not by my mother. Women are not allowed to walk on clouds in our world as they may talk too much and take away the silence of the skies. I have heard elders discussing this.

Gaily singing along on the clouds, my lover’s face came to my mind. Slowly, her entire form came to my imagination. I visualized her very clearly and wished she were with me. If only she had been with me, then I could have danced with small steps down there on those hills, I was thinking and dreaming. And then I saw her coming towards me. May be she managed to escape her mother's eye.

She was radiant, looking every inch a great beauty she was. Her head was thick green, and her limbs were amber, pure gold. Her finger nails looked elegant and light green. She looked exquisite and gorgeous. There was a song on her lips too. I heard it. It was a love song. I was thrilled. I ran and held on to her tightly that she began objecting.