View Full Version : Which ARR song you recently listened to?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

1st March 2009, 05:46 AM
Maja Maja - SOK

Enjoying this song again after seeing it being sung by a participant on SuperSinger! This has to be the sexiest song ARRs composed.

And ofcourse, Delhi 6.

1st March 2009, 07:49 AM
Revisiting E20U18.

prasana84
1st March 2009, 01:46 PM
Connections chancesey ila...

4th March 2009, 01:06 PM
hey hey enna aachu unaku
pudhusa indha paarvai edharku
netru neen ippadi illai
indreppadi nallavan aanai- kaadhal virus :cool:

11th March 2009, 06:02 AM
Listening to Ada songs after quite a while in total silence and solitude... wow!!! :clap:

This is vintage Rahman... his carnatic tinge of yester yers is still very much visible in songs like Hawa sun hawa.

11th March 2009, 09:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tns2vX6TAg

90's Rahman :clap:

11th March 2009, 10:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxVM3j71CD8&feature=related

Maximum enjoyment Mode - !.

11th March 2009, 10:18 PM

a very nice lighthearted song :)
A local singer from Singapore sang this!
Not bad though for the context of this song.
Now he has become very close to ARR.

11th March 2009, 10:18 PM
Thanks for the trivia :D.

a very nice lighthearted song :)
A local singer from Singapore sang this!
Not bad though for the context of this song.
Now he has become very close to ARR.

13th March 2009, 04:33 PM
Ariziyan - Delhi 6

One long song but worth every second. ARR interweaves Javed Ali & Kailash Kher's voices beautifully. Truly divine.

14th March 2009, 01:50 PM
again and again dehli 6 songs! :musicsmile: :musicsmile:

15th March 2009, 11:39 PM
Nisarisa - jeans... best love theme ever.

15th March 2009, 11:39 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdEcNe0wrwU

15th March 2009, 11:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CKnDP4Dn4E

Great song....The final part of this song(Hindustani alaap) with ARR vocals is scintillating stuff.

16th March 2009, 09:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fbVyKdf5jU

I swear I didn't see the video.

16th March 2009, 09:14 PM

rasana ketta aaluyaa nee :lol:

16th March 2009, 09:24 PM

Podhu edathil irukinrein as of now :).

rasana ketta aaluyaa nee :lol:

Kumarappa
16th March 2009, 09:48 PM
Thirakkadha Kaaddukulle (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGN4oONgzt8) from En Swasa Kaatre. A masterpiece!
In fact, En Swasa Kaatre had five incredible songs and is one of the most terribly underrated soundtracks in TFM, I guess.

And more over found some of the ads, ARR had composed, before he got into film scoring and was surprised by the following two:

A small part of the Leo Coffee ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9qmJ79YuCs&feature=related), composed by ARR (which is said to have led him to Mani Ratnam and we all know what happened thereafter), has been lifted by Harris Jayaraj for 'Mudhal Kanave' from Majnu. :shock: This can't be coincidence!

And never knew, that a French ad (Volvic ad feat. French soccer legend Zinedine Zidane (!) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33xQVNPvPTE&feature=related)) had music composed by our 'Isai Puyal' (It's in fact the 'Bombay Theme Tune'). :clap:

16th March 2009, 09:51 PM
A small part of the Leo Coffee ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9qmJ79YuCs&feature=related), composed by ARR (which is said to have led him to Mani Ratnam and we all know what happened thereafter), has been lifted by Harris Jayaraj for 'Mudhal Kanave' from Majnu. :shock: This can't be coincidence!

I don't think so. Yes it sounds very similar. But it sure looks like a coincidence.

But amazing piece of music. it wud be good if he can develop this tune and create a full length song.

16th March 2009, 10:23 PM

I don't think so. Yes it sounds very similar. But it sure looks like a coincidence.

But amazing piece of music. it wud be good if he can develop this tune and create a full length song.

Atha thaan HJ pannittare :|

Kumarappa
16th March 2009, 10:29 PM

Atha thaan HJ pannittare :|

Yeah, ithu coincidence-a? Copy illaya? Never! Never won't agree! But "usually" HJ "hides" these lifts in his song, but this is too obvious. Sorry to say this., but this time to escape.

shocker
16th March 2009, 10:40 PM
I don't think HJ actually did that...
I agree that it was just a coincidence.
And even if he did copy it..so what..who cares. :)

16th March 2009, 10:44 PM

Yaa... he has used that bit as an inspiration and developed a good song.

Kumarappa
16th March 2009, 10:57 PM

Aahma, ehn solla matteenga! Does nobody agree? Etho pongo! Ithukku HJ-a arrest-a pannaporanga? I was just shocked to see that an ad became his "inspiration" and it demonstrates how much HJ needs inspiration to create his own tunes. And yes, when he does, its (almost) always top. But why "who cares"-innu alatchiyam? Anyway, forget it!

16th March 2009, 10:59 PM

Aahma, ehn solla matteenga! Does nobody agree? Etho pongo! Ithukku HJ-a arrest-a pannaporanga? I was just shocked to see that an ad became his "inspiration" and it demonstrates how much HJ needs inspiration to create his own tunes. And yes, when he does, its (almost) always top. But why "who cares"-innu alatchiyam? Anyway, forget it!

I think there is no MD who composes without inspiration. And ARR's music is Harris's inspiration.

16th March 2009, 11:06 PM
ARR's music is Harris's inspiration.
Time and again HJ keeps proving this point :lol:

16th March 2009, 11:33 PM

Kumarappa,

This Leo Coffee ad - Mudhar Kanave similarity was discussed in length quite sometime ago. I think this can be carried on 'Copying thread".

Friends,

Let's stick to ARR's songs here :D

16th March 2009, 11:39 PM
Kumarappa,

This Leo Coffee ad - Mudhar Kanave similarity was discussed in length quite sometime ago. I think this can be carried on 'Copying thread".

Friends,

master :thumbsup:

Kumarappa
17th March 2009, 12:00 AM
Kumarappa,

Friends,

master :thumbsup:

Sir, athuthane naan appove muttrupulli vatchutten, ippo yaaru aracha maava vatchu arakkirathu? Marappom, mannipom (once more...). Athu sari, 2 vera "news"-um ithoda serthu post pannine, athu yaaru kannukaachu therinchicha? Ellarum ithukkuthan comment pannanga. Now, let's stop here and go in with ARR magic:

Thirakkadha Kaaddukulle (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGN4oONgzt8) from En Swasa Kaatre. :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: (listening the 7th or 8th time in a row now)
As I said, one of the most terribly underrated soundtracks in TFM.

17th March 2009, 01:38 PM
yes!thirakatha kattukulle-unblievable composation from arr! :omg:

22nd March 2009, 01:16 AM
Poonkudi - Iruvar

Great song, been listening to it a lot the past few days. It sets such a relaxing mood. 8-)

22nd March 2009, 01:28 AM
Ringa Ringa - Slumdog Millionaire. Everything about this song is just perfect :thumbsup:

shocker
22nd March 2009, 02:27 AM
En Kadhale sung by SPB
Kalai Maane from Thalam

23rd March 2009, 01:24 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2JEStfK0mw

Last one for the day :musicsmile:

23rd March 2009, 06:57 PM
porale ponnuthaye [sad version]

etho oru palaya viswanathan ramamoorty song ketta feeling!

arr vazhalga! :clap:

shocker
24th March 2009, 12:35 AM
Ramakrishna wrote:

ARR's music is Harris's inspiration.

Time and again HJ keeps proving this point Laughing

Who's inspiration isn't AR

24th March 2009, 01:07 AM
Who's inspiration isn't AR

I think he inspires everyone thats either come across him or his music. I'm inspired by his work ethic, his spirituality. If I was a MD I'd be inspired by his work too.

Moreover, ALL MDs are inspired by good music. This doesn't just have to be ARRs. Good music is inspirational.

shocker
24th March 2009, 02:17 AM
Hence with those conclusions drawn we should end comparing composers because it is actually silly and I am glad AR mentioned it at his felicitation.
All composers are inspired by eachother - get over it.

24th March 2009, 03:08 AM
- get over it.

:lol: I think they'll listen, as you've asked so nicely.

Last song: #Roooo-ba-roooooo#

24th March 2009, 04:27 PM
Ringa Ringa - Slumdog Millionaire. Everything about this song is just perfect :thumbsup :
:) I said something about this song in The last song that made you post in hub some days ago :)

24th March 2009, 04:46 PM

24th March 2009, 04:57 PM

24th March 2009, 09:01 PM
:lol: enna master mudhal post-la :thumbsup: sariya varathanala 2 thadava podureengalaa? :lol:

24th March 2009, 09:02 PM
browser problem :oops:

Last song listened: Tu Meri Dost Hai - Yuvvraaj :musicsmile:

25th March 2009, 02:14 AM
Azaadi... Bose!! :musicsmile:

The goosebump song!!! :bow: :bow:

25th March 2009, 07:48 AM
Roobaroo roshni :boo: :musicsmile:

dheemi dheemi dheemi dheemi- 1947 earth :musicsmile:

27th March 2009, 10:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z60AtvjHs4c

8-)

27th March 2009, 10:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z60AtvjHs4c

8-)

Hey super song yaa.. I was just listening to this song few mins before.

6th April 2009, 09:01 PM
Oh Vennila and Thendrale ( Kaathal Desam )
One can keep listening to these songs forever.

7th April 2009, 10:17 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUPnwqkPXYc&feature=related

The song which marked the beginning of a new generation.

7th April 2009, 10:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HznxI8sSjNA&feature=related

8-)

7th April 2009, 11:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yw5NHJauFDc&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3UtV9EIra8&feature=related

8th April 2009, 12:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HznxI8sSjNA&feature=related

8-)

:2thumbsup: :2thumbsup: :ty:

8th April 2009, 12:25 PM
ada album songs- :musicsmile:

9th April 2009, 01:07 AM
Masakalli - my daughter's favourite..
She sings mazakali mazakali
enjoyable in which ever way sung..

9th April 2009, 09:34 PM
kaNNil oru vali irunthAl
kanavugaL varuvathillai..

poongaaRRilE un suvAsathai..

10th April 2009, 06:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kt4DS0U0Ldo&feature=related

13th April 2009, 06:58 PM
Masakalli - my daughter's favourite..
She sings mazakali mazakali
enjoyable in which ever way sung..
My daughter's gaze is transfixed to the TV whenever this song is played :)

13th April 2009, 10:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJBv2nGZyH4&feature=related

Ada ada ada, 90's-00's rahman is the best :musicsmile:

13th April 2009, 11:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLjRAc7a1VE

Yevarithing berpekt :clap:

13th April 2009, 11:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDUuyFb27LY&feature=related

Funky !!!.

13th April 2009, 11:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dz7Fpckc0ek&feature=related

Sathyama naan video-vae paakala :banghead: :P.

14th April 2009, 10:27 AM

after looking at picturisation, rahman would have thought "aandava enna yen indha madhiri karichetti pasangaloda koottu sera vechha" :lol: absolutely killed the song with picturisation.....

14th April 2009, 10:43 AM

after looking at picturisation, rahman would have thought "aandava enna yen indha madhiri karichetti pasangaloda koottu sera vechha" :lol: absolutely killed the song with picturisation.....

14th April 2009, 11:07 AM

wow! wat a beautiful picturisation... topless hot vaseegaran with his sexy single pack abs... :clap: I thank almighty for keeping me away from this video all this while and curse AF for bringing it to attention :twisted:

14th April 2009, 11:20 AM
"This entire movie had an incredible choreography. I remember watching this movie for that reason. Even this song has so much in depth choreography. But people have to understand the song to correlate the choreography"
- Comment in teep :lol2:

That description you gave "bottle-a un nenjula vuttu open pannren.." :rotfl:

14th April 2009, 11:27 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gf7SdT7oows

What a song????

Terribly wasted like Theekkuruvi...

14th April 2009, 11:35 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gf7SdT7oows

What a song????

Terribly wasted like Theekkuruvi...

woooow!one of my fav.song! :musicsmile: thankx ajay sir! :D

14th April 2009, 11:42 AM

wow! wat a beautiful picturisation... topless hot vaseegaran with his sexy single pack abs... :clap: I thank almighty for keeping me away from this video all this while and curse AF for bringing it to attention :twisted:

Is that 'Theekuruvi' - KKS? Terrific song.

I had the misfortune of seeing this film FDFS :cry:

14th April 2009, 11:43 AM
LM,

Same blood!!!

14th April 2009, 11:45 AM
Neraya per varuthapaduvaangannu Theriaama ling(u)ittein, Mannichirunga ARR Fans :oops:

14th April 2009, 11:47 AM
Vidunga AF..

Idhu maadhiri pala kaayangalai sumandhukittuthaan naangalum vaazhnthuttu irukkom... :wink:

14th April 2009, 07:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78ab1abdWPA

14th April 2009, 07:40 PM
july mAdham vandhAn ... jOdi serum vayasu ...

ARR :-)

15th April 2009, 01:22 PM
Muthal murai
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5zXeDQlUAE

amazing song ARR-VM :notworthy: :2thumbsup:

15th April 2009, 02:47 PM
"Khoyee Khoyee" Tehzeeb (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQUlz5N52dI)
:musicsmile:

15th April 2009, 05:56 PM
Anbe Aaruyire & Thigu Thigu - Anbe Aaruyire

Wasted MASTERPIECES. :sigh2:

16th April 2009, 01:23 PM
"Khoyee Khoyee" Tehzeeb (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQUlz5N52dI)

:thumbsup: :notworthy:

17th April 2009, 07:06 AM
Thenali entertainers in that order

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ww3R5OTQwE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4SXCfM2X9Q&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArJizX16BLE&feature=related

17th April 2009, 06:09 PM
Bombay Madras Delhi - Ratchagan

A song with a beat. 8-)

20th April 2009, 04:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUiO2GAKCYE&feature=related

Lyrics/Picturization/Singing/Meesik :D

thineshan54321
20th April 2009, 06:03 AM
marudhaani! arrrrghhh. a song like this going unnoticed!!! what an idiot director. ARR could have easily made two songs out of the tunes he has used in this song. and taxi taxi!!! glad it picked up some attention due to the picture not having a negative effect on the song.

21st April 2009, 11:27 AM
Ethu Sugam Sugam Athu, Vendum Veendum.

(Vandi cholai Sinna Rasu).

How many people still remember this song? Subtle eroticism, with velvety voices caressing over modestly pulsating rhythm, yapapapa....tremendously underrated. Too bad the movie ruined it all. ARR brought an additional dimension from SPB and VJ.

Sometimes I think of this song as 90s answer to IR's Mendum Mendum Va, albeit less erotic.

24th April 2009, 03:54 AM
Samba Samba - Love Birds

Great percussion use. 8-)

24th April 2009, 06:31 AM
Paper Planes - DFA Remix 8-)

24th April 2009, 03:23 PM

Strictly speaking, this isn't an ARR song.

24th April 2009, 07:00 PM

Strictly speaking, this isn't an ARR song. :shock: Isnt Paper Planes composed by MIA and its remix that is in the SDM album supposedly ARR's remix on it? :confused2: (the rhythms that appear in the remix did sound like ARR's :? ) and that's what I read in some forums too..

24th April 2009, 09:20 PM
Paper Planes - DFA Remix 8-) Strictly speaking, this isn't an ARR song. :shock: Isnt Paper Planes composed by MIA and its remix that is in the SDM album supposedly ARR's remix on it? :confused2: (the rhythms that appear in the remix did sound like ARR's :? ) and that's what I read in some forums too.. Yeah I read that too, but I seriously doubt it. The remix sounds like someones just put a sample loop over the original song. What does DFA stand for anyway? Maybe thats the person/people who did the remix. :?

24th April 2009, 09:29 PM
Vijay Iyer kitta thaan kekkanum :? (hopefully if he knows)

shocker
24th April 2009, 10:01 PM
I've said this before on these forums...
Paper Planes was produced by Diplo. MIA did the songwriting. Rahman had nothing to do with it.

He did do a remix which featured on SDM soundtrack though.

24th April 2009, 10:10 PM
I've said this before on these forums...
Paper Planes was produced by Diplo. MIA did the songwriting. Rahman had nothing to do with it.

He did do a remix which featured on SDM soundtrack though. We are indeed discussing on this song brother, and we are aware of the first point you have wrote :)

shocker
25th April 2009, 12:48 AM
You said Paper Planes is composed by MIA.........

25th April 2009, 01:23 AM
The version of Paper Planes thats in the film (as part of the train scene BGM) is the original. I think it was only slightly tweaked by ARR. The "DFA" remix, I'm pretty sure is definitely not by ARR. I don't remember whether it featured in the film either.

25th April 2009, 01:40 AM
Thiruda thiruda album

Konjum nilavu

Thee thee

Veera Paandi Kottayilae

90's rahman :thumbsup:

shocker
25th April 2009, 02:23 AM
I think we can safely say that the credentials regarding Paper Planes in SDM is not clear.
To my ears the one featured in the movie was the original version untouched (apart from editing)
What on earth is this DFA thing. I was thinking maybe it could be an acronym for some sort of genre.

P.S It's nice to have some healthy discussion around here :)

25th April 2009, 02:24 AM
Then Merku paruva kaatru - KARUTHAMMA (1994)! 8-)

25th April 2009, 02:43 AM
What on earth is this DFA thing. I was thinking maybe it could be an acronym for some sort of genre.

This should clear up the DFA thing:

The DFA team do just that, swapping the Clash riff for an obese funk bassline. A subliminal Italo-throb keeps the originial's choppy feel, but gives it a much smoother texture.

The first decision any "Paper Planes" remixer has to make is whether or not to keep the signature gun shots and cash registers intact. Those elements are wisely excised here (I mean how can you make it your own if its still got Switch's fingerprints smeared on it?). Their solution is to punctuate each "All I wanna do is..." with a quick laser shot, and then get back to the sweet synth horns and cosmic squiggles. Not heard is the sound of a dozen remixers slapping their foreheads at the sublime obviousness of that decision. They seal the deal by offering up a lazy piano roll as coup de grace. The rub is, though, that the actual narrative weight of Maya's border outlaws is completely lost. Her vocals are just abother DJ face card to be slapped on the table for crowd reaction. But hey, that's the trade-off.

http://www.prefixmag.com/media/mia/paper-planes-dfa-remix/17280/

The DFA remix is by 'DFA Records':

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DFA_Records

It's listed under the remixes they've done:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DFA_Records#Remixes

Kumarappa
25th April 2009, 03:06 AM
The version of Paper Planes thats in the film (as part of the train scene BGM) is the original. I think it was only slightly tweaked by ARR. The "DFA" remix, I'm pretty sure is definitely not by ARR. I don't remember whether it featured in the film either.

Both the versions featured in the film:

the (untouched) original one, during the train scenes
the remixed one, during Taj Mahal sequences

25th April 2009, 03:19 AM
Ow cool, thanks for the info Kumarappa. Don't remember the BGM for that scene. Will have to invest in the DVD when it comes out!

Last song: Sowkiyama - Sangamam. We need another classicly based album like this from ARR.

shocker
25th April 2009, 02:51 PM
Thanks for clearing that up.
I didn't notice the remix in the film.
I guess the conclusion is that Rahman did not do the DFA remix.

25th April 2009, 03:34 PM
The version of Paper Planes thats in the film (as part of the train scene BGM) is the original. I think it was only slightly tweaked by ARR. The "DFA" remix, I'm pretty sure is definitely not by ARR. I don't remember whether it featured in the film either. Yes it was, in the Tajmahal scene

25th April 2009, 10:39 PM
Jolin Tsai - Warriors in Peace
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZoofWTLPGA

(ps. the male characters and the setting remind me of Hindi movies)

25th April 2009, 11:07 PM

Warriors of peace ? :?

25th April 2009, 11:16 PM

Warriors of peace ? :? :notthatway: The track is called Warriors in Peace. The album is Warriors of Heaven and Earth :)

27th April 2009, 01:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sp6wUe9gMrw&feature=related

Sooperappu

30th April 2009, 03:21 AM
Theeyil Vizhuntha - Godfather

This is what you call singing your heart out.

thineshan54321
1st May 2009, 04:18 AM

100% true!!!

2nd May 2009, 12:07 AM
O Vennila - Kaadhal Desam

7th May 2009, 05:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ti7M2zGvX8w&feature=PlayList&p=9A5A21E59E5A188E&index=3&playnext=4&playnext_from=PL

90's Rahman :musicsmile:

7th May 2009, 06:06 AM

:bow:

The last ARR song I listened - Shakalaka Baby :thumbsup:

7th May 2009, 08:05 AM
Piya ho from Water.

Just melts your heart :bow:

7th May 2009, 08:21 AM
Jaane Tu Mera Kya (Sukhvinder)

11th May 2009, 10:07 AM
Kural (Connections)

Was expecting a hip hop rap kinda song from the Blaaze - ARR combo when they said they were going to rework Thirukkural

But still the "Respect" refrain kept playing in my head. It ended up more like a Blaaze's lecture on morals. The poetic flavour of the Kural is not captured.

11th May 2009, 10:09 AM
Many songs in a loop over the week end :) Real boost to face the challenging week ahead.

12th May 2009, 05:35 AM
Tauba Tauba, Only You - Vandemataram. Underrated gems :notworthy:

12th May 2009, 06:33 AM
Kabhi Kabhi Adithi (JTYN) (Hj's inspiration for Oyaayiye and Vizhi Moodi for Ayan)

14th May 2009, 07:36 AM
Kabhi Kabhi Adithi (JTYN) (Hj's inspiration for Oyaayiye and Vizhi Moodi for Ayan)

14th May 2009, 08:21 AM
:huh:

20th May 2009, 04:45 AM
Fantastic 90's in Thirakaadha kaatukulle 8-)

20th May 2009, 01:10 PM
Fantastic 90's in Thirakaadha kaatukulle 8-)
Yeah, fantastic 90s indeed.

"Theendai Mei Theendai" - Superlative Rahman, Balu Sir and Chitra

20th May 2009, 04:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4pNqGc9s8w&feature=PlayList&p=9A6A416B3F23B276&index=28&ytsession=luFqCOM9hBiO258FZ3K4zu4gEDqI34pPSNGOS3Rq sjNJmLP-7Jx3O0MXB3ZN3QIMMPK4E94_pCEghQiSevQq2QkwemV1o0d2xj wo0eN34FVFhjJpRdvqqUdseUB5I95aQN5enxIj7F6SUlbaVWRa CKrBYYICDXwWNIdSauF1GE8dGLLQ8QUhReIGVaH3N9QZdYN6PK dY0kaSyD2igSrNkPfq7yDJMDx_2lvoPvn1PYh3z2hs4NuPBwHx 8Lr8t1hU5lfDhR24T6xNJ6kGQyUiOeL8MlmFu7-EhDQfOFBNhnK-SFMmeRv28WXxNYr23Jtf

27th May 2009, 08:39 PM
Yaathi Yaathi song from Tajmahal - Largely forgotten pathos song

9th June 2009, 10:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=We26E_7ADzM

Pveena
16th June 2009, 06:05 AM
"Kadhale" from Rangeela....such a beautiful and haunting tune that I didn't actually remember till now...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kv_046wGims

Was Rangeela a Hindi movie dubbed into Tamil, or was there actually a Tamil version?

16th June 2009, 10:04 AM
Hindi movie dubbed into Tamil.

17th June 2009, 12:47 AM
Vellai pookal (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knubvDUdurM&feature=related)
Vidai Kodu engal naade (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RP7xbzZ8OBw)
Deivam Thandha poove (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDCPgqmGSfg&feature=related)

No sheaf of words can describe the actual, intuitive feelings heeding to these songs. chef-d'oeuvre! Sure the team would have overly disquieted while recording :pain worthy:

ANTHEM for PEACE,LOVE & CARE!!!

24th June 2009, 09:17 PM
Recently I was pleasantly surprised to see that my cable company had added 'Peck on the cheek' in the festival films sections (free movies) - it was nothing else but Kannathil and was enjoying the movie with my wife and kid (both great ARR fans)!!!

26th June 2009, 10:51 AM
it was nothing else but Kannathil and was enjoying the movie with my wife and kid (both great ARR fans)!!!

God is great :P

29th June 2009, 02:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srDjAu_EsuI

As i always say, 90's Rahman is the best .

29th June 2009, 07:26 AM

thanks Feddy, keep them coming..... 8-)

actually to me, rahman post 2000 has been much more dearer........i can, with great difficulty, miss 1 or 2 albums of 90's but i cant miss much after 2000........i donno how other thalaivar fans feel, i know lot of them are fans of 90's music :)

29th June 2009, 08:35 AM
Of course maddy, Anything for Oscar-Ji :D

actually to me, rahman post 2000 has been much more dearer........i can, with great difficulty, miss 1 or 2 albums of 90's but i cant miss much after 2000........i donno how other thalaivar fans feel, i know lot of them are fans of 90's music :)

29th June 2009, 09:26 PM
90s, 2000s... All times annan gilli

29th June 2009, 09:32 PM
Soreenga aafisar.

Enga aalayae kaanom. Waeld toor edhavadhu poneilaa?

29th June 2009, 10:29 PM
Of course

30th June 2009, 02:27 AM

not a fan - but can tell you that in 90s there was no attack of clones for rahman.
post 2000 - clones were all around.
So 90s was the time when every Rahman number made the biggest unopposed wave. It was a new phenomenon altogether .
I remember listening to 'love birds' songs everyday after coming back from school - playing it loudest for the 'mambo mambo'.

30th June 2009, 10:34 AM

I would say 90's is Rahman's best :) :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRMQeII0Okk
Narumugaye :notworthy:

Is this the only Bombay jayshree, ARR song?

30th June 2009, 03:32 PM
Enakkum 90s Rahman is the ultimate. Oru sentimental connection , apart from the music itself and how i perceive it

30th June 2009, 04:57 PM
Yes yes.... 90s Rahman is the best. All the songs were made out of Gold. :)

You know what, the weirdest part is, the songs i listen to his post 2000 songs are very very very countable (repeated hearing after years or months). But u can find almost all his 90s songs in my playlist. Those were gems, classic, extraodinaire compositions. The TUNES, the lyrics, the arrangements, the sharpness in his sounds/instruments, the singers, the base, the "sss" sound in the songs, aahhh... ! Just beautiful i tell u !!! All this 90s songs had soul in them, they r a living being. :)

My only regret today is i really wished i was a teenager during the 90s, but alas, i was only a kid, so the thorough enjoyment of Rahman's GREAT DAYS/YEARS was not tasted 100% :)

30th June 2009, 06:45 PM
Yes yes.... 90s Rahman is the best. All the songs were made out of Gold. :)

My only regret today is i really wished i was a teenager during the 90s, but alas, i was only a kid, so the thorough enjoyment of Rahman's GREAT DAYS/YEARS was not tasted 100% :):yes: :exactly: :cry:

1st July 2009, 08:35 AM
hmm, i knew 90's has a great emotional quotient as CR put it, but coming to Jai's point, the clones brought out the best of rahman.......and the way he came back from dark period of 2002 in Boys was truly amazing.....even 2003, 04,05 were not that great but he still stayed on top....finally rang de basanti in 2006 somehow cleared all his blocks and we see the free flowing rahman again....so as a fan, i found his journey in 2000's much more tougher and the success in this period was very sweet..... :)

musically too, in 2000's, i realised rahman is not a man with set ideas........he ventured into usage of natural instruments much against his intial synthesiser days......the finishing(cant find any other word) in songs post 2000 was very convincing.......to me he also made more soundtracks than albums in 2000 which is again a deviation from his initial idea of albums/songs perpendicular to vision of the movie........in short he ventured into territories unknown to him and came out trumps in most of them coupled with "highs after lows" makes 2000's very special for me..... :D

1st July 2009, 08:41 AM
Just beautiful i tell u !!! All this 90s songs had soul in them, they r a living being. :)

There's no other better way to say it :notworthy:

My only regret today is i really wished i was a teenager during the 90s, but alas, i was only a kid, so the thorough enjoyment of Rahman's GREAT DAYS/YEARS was not tasted 100% :)

Same :cry2: :(

1st July 2009, 08:58 AM
hmm, i knew 90's has a great emotional quotient as CR put it, but coming to Jai's point, the clones brought out the best of rahman.......and the way he came back from dark period of 2002 in Boys was truly amazing.....even 2003, 04,05 were not that great but he still stayed on top....finally rang de basanti in 2006 somehow cleared all his blocks and we see the free flowing rahman again....so as a fan, i found his journey in 2000's much more tougher and the success in this period was very sweet..... :)

musically too, in 2000's, i realised rahman is not a man with set ideas........he ventured into usage of natural instruments much against his intial synthesiser days......the finishing(cant find any other word) in songs post 2000 was very convincing.......to me he also made more soundtracks than albums in 2000 which is again a deviation from his initial idea of albums/songs perpendicular to vision of the movie........in short he ventured into territories unknown to him and came out trumps in most of them coupled with "highs after lows" makes 2000's very special for me..... :Dyes man.. his career revival in Tamil with Boys was awesome and groundbreaking!!

Boys remained the youth anthem for a long time before the Dappankuthu fever started to set in. And in Hindi, RDB :thumbsup:

ok, coming back to the topic, Kannodu Kanbathellam - Jeans :musicsmile:

1st July 2009, 10:28 AM
Lukka Chupi Bahut Hui

Master Piece!

1st July 2009, 03:30 PM

musically too, in 2000's, i realised rahman is not a man with set ideas........he ventured into usage of natural instruments much against his intial synthesiser days......the finishing(cant find any other word) in songs post 2000 was very convincing.......to me he also made more soundtracks than albums in 2000 which is again a deviation from his initial idea of albums/songs perpendicular to vision of the movie........in short he ventured into territories unknown to him and came out trumps in most of them coupled with "highs after lows" makes 2000's very special for me..... :D
Like you mention, he is ever evolving, we (many of us) just tend to hold on to the pieces we don't want to let go, more than others.
I think Delhi 6 is a very important album in this phase

1st July 2009, 10:00 PM
90s -Tamil
00s - Hindi (Gowarikar, Rakeysh, TLOBS, Mangal Pandey, all of 2008)
10s - Hollywood :goodidea:

1st July 2009, 10:06 PM
90s -Tamil

Aaha :thumbsup:

2nd July 2009, 01:18 AM
90s -Tamil

Perfect! :thumbsup:

2nd July 2009, 01:38 AM
90s -Tamil 00s - Hindi (Gowarikar, Rakeysh, TLOBS, Mangal Pandey, all of 2008) 10s - Hollywood :goodidea:

:exactly: :D

2nd July 2009, 07:44 AM
90s -Tamil

:shock: :shock: Very accurately said !! :shock:

:D :D :D

Benny Lava
2nd July 2009, 10:10 AM
No wonder he is called the dream :thumbsup:

2nd July 2009, 03:31 PM
By any chance, Benny Lava = Thamizhvanan?

2nd July 2009, 03:48 PM
Avaredhaan :lol:

2nd July 2009, 03:53 PM
naan paadum sandham - from duet...
not many would hav heard this song much...
but a great melody.... and sax sequences.... awesome...

Benny Lava
3rd July 2009, 09:56 AM

Yaarunga avaru? :roll:

3rd July 2009, 11:28 AM

avara - romba nallavaru :P

idhu dhaan vaazhkai enbadha from pudhiya mugam :thumbsup: .........we can hardly dislike a rahman song isnt it??? how rahman? how :cry3:

3rd July 2009, 12:17 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6--E17NI6k

Nila Kaigiradhu

3rd July 2009, 12:20 PM
Nadu raathiri kekkura paatayya idhu (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUiO2GAKCYE&feature=related)

:oops:

3rd July 2009, 12:27 PM
Nadu raathiri kekkura paatayya idhu (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUiO2GAKCYE&feature=related)

:oops:intha song ku ethukku :oops: la pottu vera maathiri build up kodukkureenga :hammer: :x

what a melody ya.. :musicsmile:

Some singaporeans have sang this song along with SPB :)

3rd July 2009, 12:28 PM
Wrong use of emoticon. Meant to use oops and :cry: as a whole.

3rd July 2009, 12:28 PM

:oops:intha song ku ethukku :oops: la pottu vera maathiri build up kodukkureenga :hammer: :x

seriously :lol: I was wondering what song :lol: :oops:

3rd July 2009, 12:30 PM
seriously :lol: I was wondering what song :lol: :oops:me too.. very VERY few songs of ARR can be classified as :oops:

3rd July 2009, 12:32 PM
seriously :lol: I was wondering what song :lol: :oops:me too.. very VERY few songs of ARR can be classified as :oops:

:exactly: I was thinking really hard but could land up with none but raathiriyin sondhakaara :? :roll:

3rd July 2009, 12:33 PM
Jaaze/Wibha

Paatu ennanae theriama neenga rendu peru thappa nenaichittu ennai kuttham solreenga :twisted: . Adhuleeyum Wibha acting, adadaa :clap:

3rd July 2009, 12:34 PM
feds unga thappu dhaan :x

nadu raathiri potutu (oops) pota? :huh: :hammer:

3rd July 2009, 12:35 PM
[tscii:33210ed26d]
Jaaze/Wibha

Paatu ennanae theriama neenga rendu peru thappa nenaichittu ennai kuttham solreenga :twisted: . Adhuleeyum Wibha acting, adadaa :clap:I think success exists on every level. Success is a nice thing because it always means you’ve taken a step forward and it gives you a sense of pride, which in turn gives you confidence and experience – a positive circle, so to speak :exactly:[/tscii:33210ed26d]

3rd July 2009, 12:37 PM

nadu raathiri potutu (oops) pota? :huh: :hammer:Wibhs ARR melodies esp the ones from 90's are great to listen to at midnight.

That's why you need to drop your Nazi activites and be a good Tamil ponnu :twisted:

3rd July 2009, 12:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CP-OBgfgvy0

Ishq Bina Kya

OMG sonu's voice :notworthy:

3rd July 2009, 12:38 PM

Wibhs :lol2:

nadu raathiri potutu (oops) pota? :huh: :hammer:Wibhs ARR melodies esp the ones from 90's are great to listen to at midnight.

That's why you need to drop your Nazi activites and be a good Tamil ponnu :twisted:

3rd July 2009, 12:40 PM

Wibhs :lol2:

paavigala :hammer:

melodies :notworthy: :musicsmile:

3rd July 2009, 12:49 PM
Veera pandi kotaiyile :cool:

nee yelam poda, veraala paaru :boo:

Benny Lava
3rd July 2009, 10:43 PM
Veera pandi kotaiyile :cool:

nee yelam poda, veraala paaru :boo:Idhan moolam thaangal ulagathuku koora virumbum karuthu enna? :lol2:

3rd July 2009, 11:27 PM
TV,
Avanga available illayam. Sappan la sackie chan kooptagaa...... :lol2:

4th July 2009, 06:55 AM
:x :banghead: paatu la puducha line-ah pota :cry3: :x

ANYWAYYSSS!!!!!!

hey hey enna aachu unaku
pudhusa indha paarvai edharuku
netru nee ippadi illai
indreppadi nallavan aana :cool2: -Kaadhal Virus.

4th July 2009, 09:37 AM
TV,
Avanga available illayam. Sappan la sackie chan kooptagaa...... :lol2:

Aamava Wibha ?? :lol:

4th July 2009, 11:02 AM
:idontgetit: :cry3:

4th July 2009, 11:28 AM
http://vodpod.com/watch/1813496-pussycat-dollsft-a-r-rahman-jai-hoparshu

Pussy cat dolls Jai ho :D :D :D

I like this version as well :cool:

You are the reason that I breathe
You are the reason that I still believe
You are my destiny Jai Ho

I can't wait to see Ar Rahman's name in one of the stars in front of Kodak Theatres :D (hopefully soon)

5th July 2009, 02:32 AM

ahaa, idhu theriyama oru moonu-naalu thadava ticket eduthuttanappa!

6th July 2009, 08:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv0jeUCrZis

One of the fastest beats in this planet.

7th July 2009, 01:44 AM
Hai Hai Dil Ke - One Two Ka Four. An underrated song.

7th July 2009, 02:19 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmSUSt63gvU

vetri kodi kattu :clap: :clap:

This song made me study for my physics test :cool: :clap:

7th July 2009, 07:06 AM
anjathey jeeva nenjodu vaa vaa-jodi song!

Benny Lava
7th July 2009, 08:23 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmSUSt63gvU

vetri kodi kattu :clap: :clap:

This song made me study for my physics test :cool: :clap::lol:

Indha paata ketta unarchi varanum thaan.. aana adhukaaga indha madhiri sappa matter ku ellam motivate aaradhu too much :rotfl:

Arshu... Vetri kodi kattu :thumbsup:

7th July 2009, 08:31 AM
Indha paata ketta unarchi varanum thaan.. aana adhukaaga indha madhiri sappa matter ku ellam motivate aaradhu too much :rotfl:

Arshu... Vetri kodi kattu :thumbsup:

I kinda studied during vacations :evil: which needs a LOOTTTT of motivation :twisted:

9th July 2009, 01:58 AM
Ennuyir Thozhiye - KKS :clap:

The flute in the 2nd interlude is deadly. And Unni picks up where it left off with kaNNil vizhunthavaLE nenjai thuLaikkuthun garvam. Great lyrics and singing too. One of Rahman's best compositions, undeniably.

9th July 2009, 05:26 AM
Ennuyir Thozhiye - KKS :clap:

The flute in the 2nd interlude is deadly. And Unni picks up where it left off with kaNNil vizhunthavaLE nenjai thuLaikkuthun garvam. Great lyrics and singing too. One of Rahman's best compositions, undeniably.

And the most underrated one too...

21st July 2009, 09:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_o4bQ0pkx0&feature=related

:D.

21st July 2009, 10:33 PM
ARR Radio - LM, Sig :thumbsup:

Listening to all 90's like Akkadaanu, Kannalanae....

21st July 2009, 10:41 PM

Is it playing 90's hits now? How is the quality overall?

21st July 2009, 11:30 PM
Sorry LM, had to go for lunch. The quality is good and i just listened to two songs before i had to leave.

Is it playing 90's hits now? How is the quality overall?

22nd July 2009, 12:02 AM
Oh OK. Anyway I couldn't have listened as I'm in office. This radio goes live in 20 days or so 8-)

22nd July 2009, 06:37 AM
Latoo Latoo 8-)

22nd July 2009, 07:02 AM
yuvraj song!ahaaa...what a songs! :notworthy:

22nd July 2009, 07:07 AM
i havent listened to those songs yet :oops:
i even missed the tv telecast of the movie few months back :ashamed:
must listen soon :oops2:

22nd July 2009, 09:45 AM
song innum kekkalaya :omg: :ashamed:

arr fans-sa irunthu kittu intha album kekkalaya!shamed..shamed..puppy shamed! :poke:

yuvraj one of masterpiece of our thalaivar album! :2thumbsup: patta kelungga apparam 'manthirichi'vitta mathiri agiduvingga jaaze thambi!

22nd July 2009, 11:27 AM
yuvraj one of masterpiece of our thalaivar album! :2thumbsup: patta kelungga apparam 'manthirichi'vitta mathiri agiduvingga jaaze thambi!

But, Subash Gai padaththa kavuthuttAnE :sigh2:

22nd July 2009, 12:13 PM

But, Subash Gai padaththa kavuthuttAnE :sigh2:

but, nalla music sence ulla director-la avarum oruvar! retaired director-la ivaraiyum senthukalam! :lol:

22nd July 2009, 12:34 PM

arr fans-sa irunthu kittu intha album kekkalaya!shamed..shamed..puppy shamed! :poke:

i know.. i don't listen to much hindi songs.. appdiye kaetta athu namma thalaivar songs thaan :D (just few mths ago i started listening to JTYJN, ADA and Delhi6. They beat the recent Tamil songs hands down :musicsmile: :thumbsup: Nexxtu Yuvvraj thaan :smokesmirk:
naduvula ethukku shahul hameed-a koopudureenga :confused2:

22nd July 2009, 01:00 PM

i know.. i don't listen to much hindi songs.. appdiye kaetta athu namma thalaivar songs thaan :D (just few mths ago i started listening to JTYJN, ADA and Delhi6. They beat the recent Tamil songs hands down :musicsmile: :thumbsup: Nexxtu Yuvvraj thaan :smokesmirk:
naduvula ethukku shahul hameed-a koopudureenga :confused2:

shahul hameed-da! :lol: ethavathu spelling tappo?? :roll:

22nd July 2009, 08:44 PM
Jiya se jiya..

Nowadays, this song has become my hot favourite. Dont know why??

23rd July 2009, 06:37 AM
Jiya se jiya..

Nowadays, this song has become my hot favourite. Dont know why??I love this song 8-)
esp the part where ARR would go oh oh oh and there would be an echo at the end :D

24th July 2009, 09:24 PM
http://d.yimg.com/kq/groups/1247092/754951617/name/DJ

A friend of mine gave me this link in orkut

25th July 2009, 01:22 PM
http://d.yimg.com/kq/groups/1247092/754951617/name/DJ

A friend of mine gave me this link in orkut

:2thumbsup: :cool2:

28th July 2009, 04:24 AM

Summer/Fall season of 1994 - KG complex - Coimbatore right in my eyes. :P.

28th July 2009, 10:58 AM

Neenga kalakkureenga Stan, great way to start the day :thumbsup:

28th July 2009, 11:53 PM
Swades background score. :notworthy:
The movie itself is a beauty.

28th July 2009, 11:58 PM
Ungaluku theriudhu aana en univ la irukara sila loosugalukku theriyleeyae( Read like Kaaling from Mettukudi).

Neenga kalakkureenga Stan, great way to start the day :thumbsup:

29th July 2009, 12:31 AM
Delightful Pookkum malargal from Udhaya

29th July 2009, 02:38 AM
"Pachai Kiligal Tholodu" and
"Kappaleri poyaachu" from Indian
Evergreen :musicsmile:

29th July 2009, 06:15 AM
uyirum neeye uravum neeye-pavithra!

Appu s
30th July 2009, 06:15 PM
Mann chandre nu ras na aave :cry:

hooked to this song,forgot to add the next track for an hour :P , the whole punjabi bhajjis should felicitate our man. :)

30th July 2009, 06:26 PM
Welcome to the Hub, Appu :thumbsup: Have a pleasant stay here :D

30th July 2009, 06:31 PM
Meherbaan - :musicsmile: (I prefer the instrumental though, the elec guitar is :thumbsup: )
Rehna Tu - :musicsmile:

nalla manasu vittu paadirupaaru :bow:

Appu s
30th July 2009, 06:35 PM
Welcome to the Hub, Appu :thumbsup: Have a pleasant stay here :D

Thank you :)

Benny Lava
30th July 2009, 11:33 PM
Mann chandre nu ras na aave :cry:

hooked to this song,forgot to add the next track for an hour :P , the whole punjabi bhajjis should felicitate our man. :)

mesmerizing is the word man :thumbsup:

31st July 2009, 12:11 AM
gurus of peace :musicsmile:

I want another vande mataram kind of album :notworthy: :notworthy:

31st July 2009, 06:36 AM
Sandai Kozhi - Aayitha Ezuthu
awesome!!!

31st July 2009, 06:55 AM
MettupOdu from Duet
Simply awesome - lyrics, music, sound arrangements etc etc... Evergreen :bow:

31st July 2009, 01:32 PM
Masakkali - :musicsmile:
The 'playful' violin bit at the beginning of the pallavi is quite something. It evokes the same reaction now as it did the first time

31st July 2009, 01:53 PM
theeyil vizguntha-godfather :musicsmile:
ajit performance!

Benny Lava
15th August 2009, 03:42 PM
Raath ki from 1947 Earth

Heart wrenching pathos :cry:

19th August 2009, 05:39 PM
Satrangire - Dil Se

Naasthi. Eppadi ippadi ellam conceive panna mudiyidhu! Onnum solrathukkilla :notworthy:

Picturization is also terrific till the last part (namakke thala suthum)

20th August 2009, 08:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlE9gfQCmOY&hd=1

A feeling to be seen and only felt. ARR's singing

:clap:.

20th August 2009, 08:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYNOIqm_oAY&feature=related

8-)

20th August 2009, 08:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpKeULQg9pY&feature=related

HD-yae evan kandupudichaano avan neeruli vaazgha!!

Oh yeah Gayathri Joshi - :notworthy: :notworthy:

21st August 2009, 07:31 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpKeULQg9pY&feature=related

HD-yae evan kandupudichaano avan neeruli vaazgha!!

wow! :2thumbsup: :notworthy: one of my fav. song!

21st August 2009, 01:37 PM
Indha kaalathu Amala - well not quite but andha range dhaan :)

22nd August 2009, 09:08 AM
Indha kaalathu Amala - well not quite but andha range dhaan :)

She disappeared after this pilm...Anyway,in swades she had problems emoting..looks camera shy

22nd August 2009, 06:27 PM
She disappeared after this pilm...

she married a businessman right after this film.........news kedachudhum, poittu vandhom - Bar-kku :P

22nd August 2009, 10:12 PM
She disappeared after this pilm...

she married a businessman right after this film.........news kedachudhum, poittu vandhom - Bar-kku :P

26th August 2009, 09:53 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETUJipdnfOM

As I say, 90's :thumbsup:

27th August 2009, 05:08 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETUJipdnfOM

As I say, 90's :thumbsup:

wow, saw the video after ages. cheesy but nice :)

27th August 2009, 08:50 AM
rehna tu - dehli6
mann mohini-yuvraj :notworthy:

27th August 2009, 09:56 AM
Ulundhe Vethakayile - Mudhalvan :musicsmile:

damn !! how i wish i can go back to those time, ARR at his peak, and all his songs were diamonds and hits.

AudazJay
27th August 2009, 01:43 PM
Ulundhe Vethakayile - Mudhalvan :musicsmile:

damn !! how i wish i can go back to those time, ARR at his peak, and all his songs were diamonds and hits.

All his songs are still diamonds and bigger hits :cheer:

11th September 2009, 06:58 PM
Anjali Anjali -Duet..
No words, Such a soulful song. Some arivaali in the best melodies thread described this as a boring song :x

Rocky89
11th September 2009, 09:53 PM
Anjali Anjali -Duet..
No words, Such a soulful song. Some arivaali in the best melodies thread described this as a boring song :x

Exactly. Evrything associated with this song is... top, top class.. the lyrics especially.. 8-)

My last thalaivar song - Masakkali , enjoyable to the core :D

11th September 2009, 11:26 PM
Kaadhalae jeyam ... en mariyathaiku uriyavalae from parthalae paravasam ...

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

enakku music la use pannura instrument pathi lam avalava theriyathu but great song ...

ARR :2thumbsup:

11th September 2009, 11:27 PM
Anjali Anjali -Duet..

hence proved "Taste differs" :banghead:

15th September 2009, 11:00 AM
was having a wretched day till i heard Manmohini morey.....it transforms you to a different world 8-) ......i think i have chosen the last song i'm ever going to hear in this world :P

AudazJay
15th September 2009, 11:20 AM
Was listening to Hai Naa from Zubeidaa in my car this morning. It's funny that I never paid much attention to this song til today. A simple yet amazing number with the soulful rendition by Alka and Udit :musicsmile:

15th September 2009, 11:25 AM
Audaz, Listen to Mahive from the legend of bhagat singh. Yet another stunner from Rahman which went unnoticed...

15th September 2009, 11:42 AM
Audaz, Listen to Mahive from the legend of bhagat singh. Yet another stunner from Rahman which went unnoticed...

I think Jogiya Jogiya is much more sweeter than Mahive. It was not even used in the movie, isnt it?

Just for u guys info , Mahive was re-created (copied) by Harris in 1 song in Arul, Patte Viral i think..... :twisted:

15th September 2009, 12:01 PM
Even jogiya is good. But sadly that was not in the movie though.. Mahive is faster than Jogiya..

AudazJay
15th September 2009, 01:37 PM
There were a couple of ARR's album in Hindi which I missed. Sadly Bhagat Singh is one of them :oops: I seriously need to go back and look for these numbers.

17th September 2009, 11:11 PM
Pray for Me Brother - this song almost makes me :cry: esp after hearing it after a long time

AudazJay
18th September 2009, 12:20 PM
Karisal Tharisal from Tajmahal :musicsmile:
One of the most underrated song of ARR's. Superb orchestration esp in the first interlude. Hats of to ARR :notworthy:
Srikumar and Chitra did a superb job..Now that I've heard abt about Sriram (of Thaya Thaya fame), I'm kinda clueless about Srikumar. Has he sung any other song before?

18th September 2009, 02:59 PM
Karisal Tharisal from Tajmahal :musicsmile:
One of the most underrated song of ARR's. Superb orchestration esp in the first interlude. Hats of to ARR :notworthy:
Srikumar and Chitra did a superb job..Now that I've heard abt about Sriram (of Thaya Thaya fame), I'm kinda clueless about Srikumar. Has he sung any other song before?

M.G.Sreekumar has sung for ARR in these numbers

1.Nenechapadi - Kadhalar Dhinam
2.Dhandhiya - Kadhalar Dhinam
3.En Swasa Katre - En Swase Katre
4.Chinna Chinna Mazhai Thuligal - En Swasa Katrea
5.Karisal Tharisal - Taj Mahal
6.Nenjinile/Jiya Jale (Male Portion) - Uyire

i think there are others, but these were the most popular once

18th September 2009, 03:01 PM
Enna Vilai Azhage - Kadhalar Dhinam

good adaption of MSV's number...

Simply brings my memories back in 1999.... ahhh...great time.....ARR at his peak in Tamil Industry :notworthy:

Benny Lava
18th September 2009, 03:24 PM
Passage Soundtrack

My first favorite was Tango.. I was heart broken to know that is not originally by Rahman. Excellent track nevertheless.

"The opening" is a beautiful piece with Rahman's magic on Piano. This is as beautiful as the theme music from 1947 Earth. And a whining Sarangi adds a touch of heaviness to this track. Poignant!

The atmosphere opens with Sarangi and piano accomponiment from the previous track. The second half of the track is the classical piece Lacrymosa by Mozart. This piece of music is awe-inspiring and moving, but once again I was disappointed that it is not by Rahman.

But the track of the album to me is Aria. The credit goes to Kavita Baliga. what a voice!! :bow: Her singing carries much of the impact of this track. Highlight of the track is towards the end, the whole ambiance music silences and she just continues her singing... it is heart wrenching! it kind of leaves a void in your mind that lingers on even after the track is over, her voice keeps resonating. Listen to it in total darkness at night time :thumbsup:

18th September 2009, 03:29 PM
Revisited Jodha Akbar.. Vintage stuff!! It deserved a national award...