View Full Version : Which ARR song you recently listened to?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]

23rd May 2011, 10:11 PM
Mettupodu from duet - WOW what a song and what an intro WOW :cheer: :happydance:

Amazing song by ARR + SPB, those swarams towards the end is Flawless by SPB ! I have personal reason to like this song, this song fetched me the first prize in a singing competition ! I kind of get emotional when I hear this song!

23rd May 2011, 10:16 PM
Kadhalikum Pennin, Udit sirs first song in tamil and my fav song from Kadhalan.

I hoped that would be his Last too but it seems tamilians and telugu audience likes a bit of comedy in songs !

28th May 2011, 10:07 AM
want connections album and Lord of the rings theatrical production scores...
can some post the download link?

28th May 2011, 10:50 AM
want connections album and Lord of the rings theatrical production scores...
can some post the download link?

Connections is not found anywhere :roll: Except a torrent with 1 seed. And I haven't seen LOTR dl link yet.

28th May 2011, 11:57 AM
Few songs of connections:

http://www.songs.pk/connections_ar_rahman.html

28th May 2011, 01:29 PM
ya...there was one blog named anamika digital..you can see almost every collection of thalaivar....
now its not available..

28th May 2011, 01:30 PM
Few songs of connections:

http://www.songs.pk/connections_ar_rahman.html

thx.......sathya

28th May 2011, 01:35 PM
Selected Tracks from Taal, Swades, Zubeida, Rangeela, Guru, Dil Se

29th May 2011, 10:24 PM
Amma Thale (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ualiIlNHyhE)

31st May 2011, 07:25 AM
Na shiqwa hota from tehzeeb

I especially like the rendition of the part Dard ki yaad mein bhi dard hai behtar ye tha and Khawab dekhe they joh humne.

A nice madhushree driven album :musicsmile:

2nd June 2011, 08:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUUCjfROtFk

:bow::bow:

2nd June 2011, 02:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUUCjfROtFk

:bow::bow:

savadi song!

2nd June 2011, 02:36 PM
dil ka ristha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7KgyNdI0Go

true genius!

4th June 2011, 04:53 PM
also man mohini,Tu Meri Dost.. a true gem from Yuvvraaj
I dont know gindi but blindly listening just for ARR

tvsankar
4th June 2011, 06:55 PM
Disturb agadha orchestration.............. indha style music dhan ennal kaetka mudiyum...........
adhil ARR music il, indha paatu - i love it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-uMEL0rb7M&feature=related

very nice no............. Best lyrics..................

tvsankar
4th June 2011, 07:04 PM
Senthamizh naatu thamizhachiyae

Nice lyrics.. Nice Beats..................

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyorIK1NF_s&feature=related

6th June 2011, 02:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wecj7rTsidM

One highly underrated song of ARR. Not tired to listen to it even today..

7th June 2011, 08:17 AM
yea awesome song..bringing back the Yodelling effect again..Aslam :clap:

8th June 2011, 07:09 AM
Marudaani from sakkarakatti ..awesome song
Picturisation was spoiled by amateur grapics.

AudazJay
8th June 2011, 01:00 PM
Nenjinile Nenjinile- Even after 13 years, no one could come close to the quality of work that ARR has produced. It's still so refreshing to hear this song!:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OFHDlzO12k

13th June 2011, 05:58 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tD06e0SycI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMQH5Uk5fpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6aLUAfwsJk

18th June 2011, 08:47 PM
The road goes on from LOTR musical. The chorus sounds similar to ale ale from one 2 ka 4

18th June 2011, 10:28 PM
Thalaivar Prabhu Deva Combos - Urvasi, MukkAbula, Romeo, Chikku Bukku. Nostalgia :) PD is a genius :bow:

19th June 2011, 02:37 PM
The road goes on from LOTR musical. The chorus sounds similar to ale ale from one 2 ka 4
sunil..do let me know the links to download
LOTR musical..

19th June 2011, 06:01 PM
http://www.mediafire.com/myfiles.php

19th June 2011, 07:06 PM
sunil..do let me know the links to download
LOTR musical..

Tokien would've never thought that an Indian would compose the songs of a musical based on his novel. :)

19th June 2011, 07:14 PM
www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hps-su52Pg

Here is an adaptation of Arziyan. The judges are Javed ali and Kailash sir and these two kids have done a commendable job in singing the song in front of the original singers without being nervous. Javed ali likes the sargam improvisation so much so that he would've wanted it to be in the original.

Hats off to both kids! :clap:

21st June 2011, 10:36 PM
Shehzade from Lakeer.

Kunal ganjawala :thumbsup: He soars in this song. Although this song is a solo it doesn't feel like it. Kunal portrays many diverse voices which are presented by ARRs polyphonic arrangement. At certain places he sounds like Shaggy :lol:

MusicIsLife
25th June 2011, 12:22 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvpctfkRYs0

tvsankar
25th June 2011, 09:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvpctfkRYs0

Thank u MIL.. idhu Harmony play panradhu.. enna oru sweet..... Compose pannii irukanga.. sweet a.........

Ipadi than irukum.. Nam M B Srinivasan avargaludhum......... Inimaiyaga.........

3rd July 2011, 09:34 PM
Anjanam from Udhaya (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGARR0364'&lang=en) and Saiyyan from Nayak - The beats in both these songs are the same. :musicsmile:

9th July 2011, 03:30 AM
Kannathil Muthamittal Unplugged Version (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDb3jNBGSas)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDb3jNBGSas

This group is reaching dizzy heights, Hats off!

12th July 2011, 05:45 PM
I hear that TMS sand for ARR? :shock: :shock: which song ? :confused2: :confused2:

12th July 2011, 06:39 PM
semozhi song i think

17th July 2011, 07:12 AM
ramta jogi - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIkLuIXZ-hk
masakali - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p35IoDDUiAs way to go li'l girl, first of its kind :)

19th July 2011, 05:22 AM
Nenthikitten Nenthikitten - Star - Prasanth - jothika - A R Rahman - HD Quality (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5I-MUYXBZr8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5I-MUYXBZr8

tvsankar
19th July 2011, 11:29 AM
Thanks for the no............ Sunil.....

20th July 2011, 03:59 PM
Check out this remix of Tu hi re by Dub Sharma - http://soundcloud.com/dubsharma/tu-hi-re-dub-sharma-remix :musicsmile:

24th July 2011, 03:53 AM
Hai rama - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FICaxmQFdx8 Barnali Hota :clap:

24th July 2011, 03:57 AM
The Mozart of Madras, Isai Puyal A.R. Rahman's Medley *HQ* [1080P] by Sunil (www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyTsGBmC_40)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyTsGBmC_40

Here is a medley of some of Thalaivar’s finest compositions arranged by myself:

1. Mayiliragae - Anbe Aaruyire / Ah Aah / B.F. (Best Friend)
2. Urvasi Urvasi / Urvashi Urvashi - Kadhalan / Humse Hain Muqabala /Premikudu
3. Kaatre / Paighaam / Gaalenaa Vaakitikoche - Rhythm / Lakeer – Forbidden Lines
4. Chikku Bukku Rayile/ Chikbuk Raile / Chik Pika Rika Boom Bole - Gentleman / The Gentleman
5. Style - Sivaji The Boss
6. Ore Kanaa/ Jaage Hain / Innalla - Guru / Gurkanth
7. Anbendra / Roshan Huyi raat / Merupu Kalulu - Minsara Kanavu / Sapnay / Aparanji Madanudi
8. Telephone Manipol / Telephone Dhun Mein Hasne Wali - Indian / Hindustani / Bharateeyudu
9. Marghazhi Poove / Ek Ladki Thi / Manasa Veena - May Madham / Love You Hamesha / Hrudayaanjali
10. Humma Humma / Adi Arabi Kadalandam - Bombay
11. Airtel Theme Tune
12. Snehithane Snehithane / Chupke Se / Snehithuda - Alaipayuthe / Saathiya / Sakhi
13. Mel Isaiyae / Mil Hi Gaye / Mallikale Na Asala - Mr. Romeo
14. Pachchai Nirame / Saathiya / Pachchadanamey - Alaipayuthe / Saathiya / Sakhi

You can download this free from - http://soundcloud.com/sunil_m88/ar

6th October 2011, 02:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbiYEXNqksw

Soul-stirrer, soul-mixer, soul-grinder

11th October 2011, 01:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcIsOnNOlEQ

Sheer magic!!

12th October 2011, 02:55 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcIsOnNOlEQ

Sheer magic!!
+11111111
After Yuuvraaj,Delhi6 this is THE album continously in loop.especially TumHo,nadaan,Jo bi main,Phirse and sadda haq.
Ajay mudinja ARR veedu mun tharnaa pannalaamae to dub it in tamil like desam,jodha akbar:mrgreen:

12th October 2011, 07:45 AM
naan kaNdippaa tea kudippEn!

12th October 2011, 11:55 AM
Naadaan Parindey, Jo Bhi Main, Aur Ho, Hawa Hawa on loop. Hawa Hawa is amazingly free flowing. Thalaivan just jumping through various genres with this album. Credit should go to Imtiaz Ali too for not extracting only rock numbers like what Farhan Akthar & Co did with SEL.

//Finally Flipkart delivered the cd. Reg cd quality, I didnt like the way T series messed up with 'Blue'. This one is way better.//

12th October 2011, 01:15 PM
+11111111
After Yuuvraaj,Delhi6 this is THE album continously in loop.especially TumHo,nadaan,Jo bi main,Phirse and sadda haq.
Ajay mudinja ARR veedu mun tharnaa pannalaamae to dub it in tamil like desam,jodha akbar:mrgreen:

muthalla atha seiyanum!aaha... tamil-la ippa irukura varatchi-ikku intha dub panni vantha...huh!!!!

15th October 2011, 01:26 AM
Thirukkural by A R Rahman & Blaaze :musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkUlNIGw9a8

:cry2: :clap: :bow:

music man
16th October 2011, 08:55 AM
"Thala Ajith in an old ARR jingle "Paaru Paaru Miaami Cushion Paaru"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyAYh8gsJNs

17th October 2011, 08:25 AM
muthalla atha seiyanum!aaha... tamil-la ippa irukura varatchi-ikku intha dub panni vantha...huh!!!!

yes..my long term ...
this Rockstar album is awesome

17th October 2011, 05:48 PM
Enthan Vanil :musicsmile:

Over the years I've never clocked how Swarnlatha mam and Madhushree sound a like. If I didn't read the credits for Enthan Vanil or Suntha Hai (humming portion), I seriously wouldn't be able to distinguish between the two. Teyveeka kuralkal :bow:

27th October 2011, 11:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRXmJ6bdDDM&feature=related

This is the song that be played as I return to India :smokesmirk:

14th November 2011, 12:49 PM
Kelamal Kayille ahaaa, what a song ... superb melody - choreography :banghead: Shreya would keep shaking and Vijay dont know what to do...

20th November 2011, 11:24 AM
First time hearing this bit song :musicsmile: and nicely mixed with AP bgm..pure bliss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-viq5Ob21Ws&feature=related

20th November 2011, 04:11 PM
First time hearing this bit song :musicsmile: and nicely mixed with AP bgm..pure bliss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-viq5Ob21Ws&feature=related

Which movie? indra-va????

20th November 2011, 04:16 PM
Kelamal Kayille ahaaa, what a song ... superb melody - choreography :banghead: Shreya would keep shaking and Vijay dont know what to do...

yes!savadi song!

28th November 2011, 07:27 PM
Happiness by Sunil Malhotra

Sorry for posting this here... I’m here with my new beat and it’s the first time that I’ve structured it like a song i.e. placing interludes, hence it’s my longest piece till date. I hope you enjoy it. I usually do try my best but when making this, I personally felt it’s one of my better works. I would appreciate some feedback and please PM me if you feel it could’ve been better.

Download link – http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/song_details/11162068

Sunil Malhotra

12th December 2011, 01:35 AM
Alive ft. Karen David from Provoked - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChhMsDxDUck

@0.50 The change in the song :bow:

12th December 2011, 06:25 PM
Cairo to India :)

Listen to here http://www.reverbnation.com/play_now/song_10216873

3rd January 2012, 11:33 PM
Love Kannukkul Kannai even more now. After listening to Dost Hai (Girl I Loved You) from Ekk Deewana Tha, I refuse to hear any other track till the album releases. Till then the repeat button for Kannukkul Kannai http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=go6DBvs7B8M will be my best friend. :happydance: This is the magic of Rahman Ji.

Arvind Srinivasan
4th January 2012, 02:46 PM
Addicted to tum ho from rockstar......super stuff

9th January 2012, 04:36 AM
Kaiyil Mithakkum from Ratchagan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PslhoQlt7QI

13th January 2012, 08:50 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BI0AoSpIFhA

14th January 2012, 06:32 AM
i dont have both the above songs :(

anyone know where i can download some of ARRs old songs?

14th January 2012, 06:40 AM
If u have real player installed, it will let u download youtube videos as Mp3

14th January 2012, 07:03 AM
Here is a song... I hope you have this one :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wr-OzLhHXFU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wr-OzLhHXFU&feature=related)

16th January 2012, 07:27 PM
Just when I was over the moon wondering what more does Rahman Ji have to offer, he pulled out VTV, especially Aaromale :grin:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9exfKUDt6Y

Awesome blues set to Raag Bageshri and an outstanding TFM debut by Alphonse :clap:

The distorted violins (Ganesh Rajagopalan) :shock: are to die for! :bow:

17th January 2012, 11:46 PM
Anbe Sugama (Paarthale Paravasam)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZa4H7EUF5Y

tvsankar
18th January 2012, 12:54 AM
Sunil,
Thanks for kannathilmuthamital and anbae sugama. nice nos.
Taj mahal. really great...................

19th January 2012, 04:59 AM
Your most welcome

Kan vizhithal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NJv2oYND5A

19th January 2012, 07:39 AM
Kadhal Desam - Thendrale

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0e8cQTqfqGM

21st January 2012, 10:27 PM
Great Compilation on the BGMs Sunil Bro! We are indebted to your continued contributions and service to fellow Rahmaniacs :clap:

22nd January 2012, 01:01 AM
Aww, thanks man. My pleasure :D

23rd January 2012, 04:58 AM
LUKA CHUPPI - RDB

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jI4Id9TE8ew

Even after all these years, I'm still touched by this song and its subject of love between a mother and son.

24th January 2012, 05:00 AM
Suthi Suthi Vanthigal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cKMosUTO7s

music man
24th January 2012, 10:49 PM
Hi all!!

Just thought of sharing this youtube video with all!!!

http://youtu.be/GzkBXVKyXLY

25th January 2012, 10:59 PM
You know Otheri - Local Rap

American Rape :lol: & Local Otheri mix in a new method that is Pettai Rap

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vH3AYbzx2us#!

27th January 2012, 03:19 AM
American Rape :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vH3AYbzx2us#!

At first, I was lost about what you meant but after watching the clip :rotfl: Vadivelu :clap: I got this Vellai Paiyan in my uni. dorms hooked on to this song within one week of my freshers. After all everyone should be aware of Rahman Ji :grin:

7th February 2012, 06:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVFvZ9TUsuA

22nd February 2012, 12:01 AM
Bombay Dreams - How many stars

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iciJswm7F0

22nd February 2012, 03:04 AM
Can't get enough of Bombay dreams today :musicsmile:

Only Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0LlojC_O8MA

22nd February 2012, 11:46 PM
So heavenly, especially when the male singer goes iniyavaley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GNxSa1ebqQ

23rd February 2012, 02:20 AM
Soothing melody... beautiful violin interludes
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZa4H7EUF5Y

4th March 2012, 06:01 AM
Kappaleri poyachu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RpwVmB41zs

Each note is filled with immense emotion. 4:46 onwards in video - best part, depicting all cultures of India :D

9th March 2012, 01:04 PM
Rang De Basanti - Loose Control

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4s8D3ASKMg&feature=relmfu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5qhBM3KJY8&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ObJ3vfAhchA&feature=relmfu

9th March 2012, 01:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6aLUAfwsJk

satissh_r
9th March 2012, 01:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mXact4Pj9Gw

Was listening to this y'day and had goosebumps when Karthik goes Inquilab zindabad...

26th March 2012, 05:52 PM
listening to two contrasting songs atm, Dochey and moments in Kerala

26th March 2012, 06:00 PM
kedaakari from Raavanan...
watta music... the finishing percussion... apdiyae oor thiruvizhaa instruments...
saami eragurappo pull pitchla alutthi apram vaatthiyattha ellaam kalatti veppaaingalae... andha feel...

27th March 2012, 08:56 PM
TUM KO - ROCKSTAR

http://youtube.com/watch?v=wgGkHKCh67A

What an underrated song, I can't believe Kavita Ji wasn't even nominated :shock: :(

2nd April 2012, 08:06 PM
Based on melodies, I feel the best of the best by Rahman Ji of late is truly defined by Tu Muskura, Mannipaaya and Tum Ko/Tum Ho. :thumbsup:

If we look at the surface of these songs, then it’s more than fair to say they’re exceptional but if we go beyond the surface then “exceptional” becomes an understatement.

Indefinable gems that really leave behind a healing stamp! :bow: x infinity

2nd April 2012, 08:26 PM
TUM KO - ROCKSTAR

http://youtube.com/watch?v=wgGkHKCh67A

What an underrated song, I can't believe Kavita Ji wasn't even nominated :shock: :(

Sunil, not sure you read my post in Tamil in "Tamil films section - Songs" Thread some months back where I mentioned that Kavitha Ji so far is my national award winning singer for 2011. Such a feel she emoted in her voice.. divine stuff. Truly, one of THE best melody from ARR.

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

2nd April 2012, 08:59 PM
I was surprised when I saw her name on the OST list prior to audio release and my expectations had rocketed as Rahman Ji never disappoints and to hear Kavita Ji after a while truly was an added bonus to the album.

2nd April 2012, 11:24 PM
Vennilavin Theril Yeri - Duet

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gk10H794IIw

17th April 2012, 04:55 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Z2jPH64mub8

25th April 2012, 01:46 PM
SDM after a long time. Oh Saaya is more like a first ball sixer. No wonder that the westerners were amazed. Mausam and Escape still remains my favourite though.

icezlus
25th April 2012, 07:34 PM
Mausam and escape is by far the best of Slumdog. It would be perfect for some trailer of a big action film. westerners (in germany) love this track, at least the very few who have heard it fully

MusicIsLife
27th April 2012, 10:58 PM
awesome.. this is one hell of a song...! Vaali lyrics are still absolutely awesome probably it was VM

4th May 2012, 05:24 AM
Hum Hain Iss Pal from Kisna

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxGuBRS9ddo

6th May 2012, 04:58 AM
A peck on the cheek

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8964-Song-of-the-Open-Road-(Latest-song-heard-Part-9)&p=855697&viewfull=1#post855697

8th May 2012, 08:56 AM
Saada Haq
Khalbali
Mausam and Escape
in loop.......................Multiple Orgasms for the ears :shock:

8th May 2012, 09:08 AM
mayya mayya
hairathe
maula maula

rahman only the 'new age' composer in indian cinema music.

13th May 2012, 11:52 PM
I dedicate this to my mum

Only You - AR Rahman Jai Ho Concert Detroit 2010

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eM0h2FFWsr0

Happy Mother's Day to all the mums :)

shylu65
15th May 2012, 12:01 PM
Dholna - Thakshak (1999)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1f_hexY601g

baroque
22nd May 2012, 03:35 AM
Can you believe Bhaiya got an opportunity to do FEMALE DUET only in ALAIPPAYUDHEY, after that , I didn't recall any?

C.Ramachandra, MSV-TKR, S.D.Burman to Ilayaraja , they got so many chances to do FEMALE DUETS,
yesterday I was making a list,
only one pattu from Rahman!

yaaro yaarodi....alaippayudhey.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17H7_LeCC5A

22nd May 2012, 04:59 AM
Munbe Vaa - http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8964-Song-of-the-Open-Road-(Latest-song-heard-Part-9)&p=865505&viewfull=1#post865505

baroque
22nd May 2012, 07:12 AM
good job, sunil!
nice post about the composition in the other thread.

munbey vaa.... rag jounpuri!

earlier classics in this rag are

sonnadhu neendhaana sol sol......shri.msv-shri.tkr

jaaye to jaaye kahan.... Dada Burman.

kallile kalai vannam kandaan.... singer - Late Seerghazhi Govindharajan.

eppo varuvaaro..... Gopala krishna bharathi composition.

My favorite Carnatic vocalist Shri. Sanjai subramanyan has done RTP in Rag Jounpuri just like many other rags. Sanju, YOU ROCK!:thumbsup:

vinatha.

22nd May 2012, 04:57 PM
Thanks Vinatha man, I can always count on you for ragas :D

baroque
22nd May 2012, 08:48 PM

You mean to say, you can count of tfmpage for raga info.....

post it in Raga thread. RR, Vel, thumburu etc... will stop by to ponder on the composition with their music might!

7th June 2012, 09:58 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWiwA227l3U

amazing stuff....hip hop music sprinked in this beutifully... when no one in India really woke up to western

8th June 2012, 02:57 AM
If I had to choose the most un-Rahman Ji-ish song post 2010, then hands down my vote goes for, Beera. OK, I’m kidding, Rahman Ji’s vocal presence in the prelude can be attributed to many of his gems but besides this vintage humming there isn’t much I can seriously relate to with reference to the rest of his songs.

Simply put, this is the amost non-Rahman Ji song which thankfully has clicked with people from different walks of life.

You know that you’re hearing a great song when you remove the core melody from the additional instrumentation and arrangements, if the core melody is lingering in your head after this then there’s no looking back. I don’t think there is another carefree melody bringing so many smiles as much as Beera and as a fan you can improvise the lyrics without deviating to much from the melody (talking from experience, I’m mainly singing/humming gibberish) when I’m in a comical mood.

As a title song(?), I would have never expected Rahman Ji to churn out such a number i.e. Tribal, fun-loving, simple. I was definitely expecting something more sombre yet exuberant, lavish and high on orchestration.

The pattern is highly free flowing yet it has little or no deviation. Keerthi Sagathia sounds ditto of Kailash Kher, but from hearing his other songs, I’ve come to a conclusion that he can reach the extremes of Kailash Kher as well as the mellowness of Naresh Iyer (prime example being the Gujarat Swarnim song).

The reason why I brought this up, is because when I went for my vacation this song was constantly ringing in my head for no clue what so ever. :D

8th June 2012, 03:00 AM
Pyar Yeh Jaane Kaisa hai

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTavHodUbrg

IT’S BEEN HAUNTING ME ALL DAY

8th June 2012, 08:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NovCNFS1O1M

9th June 2012, 12:16 PM
Innisai Alabadai - Enchanting me since 2006. Coupled with GF's opening credit video pullarrippu. A great booster for a Nonsense of a Satur-Work-Day. Works on every vein/muscle. Pity that this is not appreciated much.

Arvind Srinivasan
10th June 2012, 02:11 AM
NEE NATHASWARAM POLA VANTHA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_62GxV8ViM

Wonderful song. A tad unfortunate that the part comprising of swarams in different ragas was edited out in the video. Benny Dayal, Ujjaiinee were all good. And adding to the singing, the masterly use of the Nadaswaram and the tavil makes the song a memorable listen....

11th June 2012, 04:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHoBl7U2Ikk&feature=g-vrec

The freshness of this song and the lucidity of the tunes/lyrics is great.

11th June 2012, 11:27 PM
'Aaruyirae mannippaaya mannippaaya sol en sagiyae' .... This song can be best described by a line from the song itself 'ainthu pulangaLin azhagiyae'. A song for all your senses.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XPolqWbAsw

11th June 2012, 11:58 PM
Iruvar songs on loop for the whole day. Will easily find its place in ARR's top 10 albums.

12th June 2012, 04:47 AM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8707-Oscar-Thamizhan-Isaipuyal-AR-Rahman-News-Updates/page162

18th June 2012, 05:31 PM
tu bin bataye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4UBXB2mdmLA&feature=related

from my god...

KlamRoyA
18th June 2012, 06:06 PM
Anand... Excellent song.. :notworthy:

One of my fav. of ARR...

Naresh iyer debut song.. :)

22nd June 2012, 11:35 AM
Aalapane Mellane

Awesome.. Who is this Abhay?

27th June 2012, 09:55 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slF9Uoo2Vvs

one of my fav spb ar song...very catchy...always fun listening and watching it...:musicsmile:

29th June 2012, 09:30 PM
Ale Ale

What genre will this song fit into?

29th June 2012, 09:53 PM
ARR Genre :wink:

7th July 2012, 10:46 PM
SemMozhi |Tamil Anthem |AR.Rahman | [HD]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRITPjraXgA

I am a north Indian and still feel proud by watching this video even though i didn't understand a single word.. why ? because i felt it and i felt it because i consider tamil a part of my family which is the whole of india .. so why do you divide people on dravdian , aryan etc if you look to divide stuff then division won't stop .. instead think about unity .. that is the road to progress for this great nation !! Bharat Vazhaga .. Tamil Vazhaga

One of the comments from Youtube, my sentiments exactly.:D

7th July 2012, 11:04 PM
God made humans, humans made religion i.e. Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Christians etc.
God made the world, humans made countries i.e. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc.
No child enters the world with religion written on his forehead but we place this child on the drum of religion and start playing beats.
That will be the day when we teach our kids humanity, that day earth will become heaven.

We don't tell animals to be like animals, we only tell humans to act like humans.

வாசுதேவ குடும்பம்

Senmozhiya is one such song that regardless of being a song for Tamil World Conference, it has as a singer by the name of TMS who is from Saurashtra and the video is directed by a Mallu... You will find many others too... :D

We as Rahman Ji devotees should bridge the gap between NI and SI fans as for me Rahman Ji is defnitely the biggest uniting factor and that is his goal aswell. Jai Ho! #RantOver

14th August 2012, 09:30 PM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8707-Oscar-Thamizhan-Isaipuyal-AR-Rahman-News-Updates&p=930227&viewfull=1#post930227

14th August 2012, 10:57 PM
Recently got a chance to listen to Sevaanam chinna pen soodum from pavithra...

Great composition and orchestration by ARR.... Truly miss such orchestration by ARR off late....

Definitely a great song not to be missed

14th August 2012, 10:59 PM
Another ARR Genre song... which is mesmerizing

Maari mazhai peiyaatho from Uzhavan

What a song... 100% justice by Shahul hameed....
Miss this ARR and the talented singer too...

14th August 2012, 11:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yQoec3wMyzg

15th August 2012, 03:57 PM
Another ARR Genre song... which is mesmerizing

Maari mazhai peiyaatho from Uzhavan

What a song... 100% justice by Shahul hameed....
Miss this ARR and the talented singer too...

one of my favorites...
watta song... watta tune...

15th August 2012, 09:52 PM
one of my favorites...
watta song... watta tune...

Very true :clap:
If Sahul was alive... he would have definitely made it BIgggggggggggg

30th August 2012, 04:45 AM
Alka Yagnik P. Jayachandran

Milo wahan (http://youtube.com/watch?v=7f5fDiwgxag)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f5fDiwgxag

Blood boils when such songs get lost in time :( Alka mam's humming portion is akin to Meenaxi's Rang Hai (http://youtube.com/watch?v=7lBV4SUGoh0)...

31st August 2012, 11:20 PM
Arima Arima

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL1oRzvm_rs

Thalaivar glorifying Thalaivar. This IS the best shot song for Rajini Da!

V_S
1st September 2012, 12:11 AM
Wishing you A Very Happy Birthday Sunil!. On this beautiful occasion, I am sharing my biggest Rahman favorite of all times with you. One of the best piece of music I have ever heard. :notworthy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJloCZReXvk

1st September 2012, 03:48 AM
Aww, appreciate the love Sir! Call it a coincidence but I was going to write about this song a few days ago. :lol: A party isn't a party without this number... guaranteed success... Definitely should be one of the first songs played at any joyous occasion. A great dance number where Rahman Ji hasn't compromised on the melody one bit. Love the part at 2:12.

Thanks again! :cool: Ooh La Lala

brigs
9th September 2012, 08:26 AM
Dotted Line from People Like Us...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOa4srjSOIM

17th October 2012, 04:41 AM
I have only read one or two music reviews as I don’t want to get too influenced. Anyway I’m too immature to review an album like “Jab Tak Hai Jaan”.

I don’t really listen to music for lyrics but when the lyrics are in my mother tongue (Punjabi) and Rahman Ji is behind the music then I have no option but to unintentionally pay a slight bit of scrutiny. “Heer” and “Challa” are like chalk and cheese but somehow conjure up the same feelings and deep down explore a similar message with relation to the divine.

“Heer”

Emotions in music are usually expressed well via Woodwind and Strings and percussion instruments rarely convey more than one emotion. However, the ”Dafli” is one such drum that doesn’t fit in this equation as I believe it expresses happiness, love, passion and sorrow. It basically covers most if not the entire emotion spectrum. This song will have a different effect on different people, some listeners might find it a happy love song and some might feel the pain while others might pick up on both emotions. Either way, this song is definitely a testimony for any person that can control their emotions and really does question whether self-control or emotion is greater. The only way to control emotions is to completely lose yourself in the devotion of the divine. Every emotion that one has is temporary and doesn’t affect for a long term. In this song and probably in reality, love is not an emotion, it is everlasting. “Heer Ranjha” and “Mirza Sahiba” saw the divine in each other hence even today many lovers are inspired by their tales. The verses show that the central character of the song sees herself in her love.

The prelude has this sparkling humming backed by an Acoustic guitar which sets the tone of the song straight away. The yearning for love is expressed as well as the grief when one (a newlywed girl) leaves her family to go to her in-laws. The message of this song is that love is blind and it does this by paying homage to two epic Punjabi love tragedies: “Heer Ranjha” and “Mirza Sahiba”. While the former is a story of lovers separated by wealth and poverty, the latter is about lovers who belong to different tribes.

While the song explores nostalgia via folk it also strikes a chilling lounge vibe. The former is displayed by the earthy cum dolorous vocals and the latter by the obvious easy on ear Guitars and the Bass Drum and Rim. Both nostalgic and contemporary worlds meet at a bridge, which in the songs case is orchestral usage of “Saans”.

“Saans”

This can be termed as a journey, it’s not a song. It’s not just “Saans” but every song in this album makes me feel that Rahman Ji has stopped making music because we all know what music is but this is something else and it’s on another platform altogether.
Musically and lyrically, “Saans” reaches unreachable heights. The orchestration really does sound like a train and we all know Rahman Ji and Gulzar have already released a blockbuster song with a train theme. Other pictures that are depicted through this song are images of the night. All of the pictures are conjured up in the prelude itself. The train aspect is further supported by the Flute piece at 0.30 while the night is reflected by the choral chants and hypnotic bells. However, out of the blue Rahman Ji manages to weave in a Sarangi proving his unquestionable genius creativity.

Even though, there are vast musical flavours in this song, the overall structure/musical genre that glows the most here is Reggae (timbales and tambourine). So here it is, the song displays, Western Classical, Reggae as well Celtic which pops up in the second interlude thanks to the Bagpipes. Who would have thought that Bagpipes would go with Reggae music, it is certainly something that hasn’t been deeply ventured into, however Rahman Ji doesn’t leave any stone unturned in finding innovation here.

The vintage Flute piece at 4:03 just proves that in this song where there is so much experimentation in terms of musical genres, Rahman Ji has still found the scope to also experiment with Raags.

“Mujhe Saans Aayi”

“Mujhe Saans Nahin Aayi” – Rahman Ji has taken my breath away with this heavenly composition! :bow:

More to come...

Happy listening!

brigs
17th October 2012, 10:45 AM
Alka Yagnik P. Jayachandran

Milo wahan (http://youtube.com/watch?v=7f5fDiwgxag)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f5fDiwgxag

Blood boils when such songs get lost in time :( Alka mam's humming portion is akin to Meenaxi's Rang Hai (http://youtube.com/watch?v=7lBV4SUGoh0)...

Soul stirring song. I'm in awe of this beauty. I feel so happy to unearth this gem and great to see it with breath-taking visuals. Brilliantly done.

Thanks for sharing Sunil

6th November 2012, 03:14 PM
this song has been resurrected for me from a master piece of an album called Delhi 6 thnx to the stellar performance by you know who in unglugged..goosebumps all over..:bow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9pfnOD2qBA

6th November 2012, 03:42 PM
well said rag...
i seriously doubt if anybody else can comeup with such a composition... need not say abt the voice chosen...
unplugged was bliss!

23rd November 2012, 12:06 AM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?10002-Jab-Tak-Hai-Jaan-ARR-Shah-Rukh-Yash-Chopra&p=982370&viewfull=1#post982370

23rd November 2012, 11:05 PM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?10002-Jab-Tak-Hai-Jaan-ARR-Shah-Rukh-Yash-Chopra&p=982603&viewfull=1#post982603

10th March 2013, 09:11 PM
Happy Mother's Day

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlgkwtSnX5A

23rd April 2013, 05:55 AM
Impressive vocals on this cover of Adiye :)

http://youtu.be/aRfrZPbM4to

23rd April 2013, 07:14 AM
Excellent attempt!! Singing this one song is equivalent to singing a whole album. Such energy is needed! And coming up with a song that requires the voice portion continuously as if an additional rhythm pattern flowing parallel to the base one! Hats off ARR to bring such novel idea!!

23rd April 2013, 02:35 PM
yathu... where have u been for two years man...
welcome back!

23rd April 2013, 10:25 PM
Hey SS, thanks man! :) Has it been two years! Yikes! ^^

I notice the ARR thread has become quieter. Where are you guys getting your daily dose of Rahman related news these days? :P

23rd April 2013, 10:28 PM
there is nobody around nowadays...
no music discussions... maybe if mariyan gets released, oldtimers might return...

24th April 2013, 05:11 AM
Welcome Mr Y K :musicsmile:

25th April 2013, 05:07 AM
@SS - yeah really looking forward to Mariyan & Raanjhnaa. Dhanush is definitely on a musical high in his career!

@Sunil - Thanks man! ^^

Brianengab
11th May 2013, 06:26 PM
wt a voice..:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=0V-yfqPDt0g

cokepepsi
11th June 2013, 12:31 PM
super heavy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTF7T1Nw5OU

1st July 2013, 05:30 AM
A.R. Rahman and his “Unsung Heroes”

I personally think that it’s not fair to question an ARR fan’s loyalty. There are different levels of loyalty i.e. the extent of, promoting ARR music, promoting ARR philosophy, etc. If someone asked Rahman Ji if he rather prefer his fans promoting his music blindly or giving him constructive criticisms then it might not be easy as the concept of true fans giving criticisms seems a joke. Most of us probably promote certain songs even if we are only partially satisfied with them. But it’s really important to understand the connection between promotion and feedback (I dislike using the word criticism as it normally has a negative connotation).

Just like other contributors in this group I too sometimes get carried away and act as if I know ARR personally but whilst most of us here are having interesting discussions here and there, somebody somewhere is actually using Rahman Ji’s music for its true potential and worth.

These “Unsung Heroes” who don’t spend much time on forums, online, blogs, etc. execute a great deal of action but sadly don’t get acknowledgement or credit they deserve primarily because they don’t feel the need to gloat online. Please don’t get me wrong and I’m not implying that there lots of fans in this group who wear the pride of an ARR fan on their sleeve.

I witnessed this “Unsung Hero” at work yesterday. I’ve been asked to do night shifts at my work (Care Home) recently and my colleague, the night nurse who co-incidentally is Tamil usually plays Rahman Ji tunes on shuffle in her room. I can hear these tunes when I pass by. (I haven’t had the guts to approach her and talk about Rahman Ji yet). I think I witnessed history yesterday night, as there was a resident screaming and shouting probably due to pain or discomfort and this night nurse walks around with her blackberry phone with Rahman Ji’s music playing lightly on it. When she entered this residents room where I too was present, “Anbendra” had come on and shortly after this the resident had calmed down and started smiling. Magic? I don’t think so! Rahman Ji’s music certainly has divine power which because we hear often take it for granted. We are fortunate to hear such compositions. The resident who was in pain is of English origin, can’t speak but to see the transformation smile that “Anbendra” brought with it to her made me realise there are so many other people out there using Rahman Ji’s music for therapeutic purposes. The connection between promotion and feedback is about that moment of time and not how the two are done over period of time.

I don’t know how much I can say to express my gratitude to these “Unsung Heroes”. Thank you is not enough! I salute A.R. Rahman and his “Unsung Heroes”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgYMgN0Ae9g

1st July 2013, 05:40 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxkri9Gw87o

That was Harini then...

...and this is her now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lt9XicryznI

The innocence is still intact! :bow:

3rd July 2013, 08:08 PM
Namekame - I’m oblivious to Telugu so why do I cry whenever I hear this composition? Give me any religious song to hear and I guarantee that I won't be able to control my emotions.

I recently heard a song, "Maranatha, Come lord jesus". I've been hearing this and "Namakame" on loop for almost an hour now :bow:

18th July 2013, 09:24 PM
R.I.P Vaali #Maryan Naetru Aval - The Sky Is Lit With 100 Moons. Blue Doves Flying Here And There.

24th July 2013, 08:38 PM
WOW, what was that? I can't believe I've never heard b4! Chor Chor Theme Music 4:50 onwards http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=498&mode=100&rand=0.7553028218996027 #ThirudaThiruda

4th October 2015, 07:21 AM
Hearing Jaage Hain from Guru made me think, will I hear such song from Rahman Ji ever again?!

The realist has corrected the pessimist in me with regards to this thought...

ARR need not even attempt to recreate or repeat a song of this stature. Some compositions stand out tall and this is because they don't have any comparison from the past or present, therefore we often certify them as being Once In A Lifetime!

Rahman Ji enters the song with a husky and mellow voice and then...wait for it...blossoms with higher octaves which if sung or attempted by other singers would sound like a hit or miss but with ARR you can be sure it will always sound on point and it is this precise peripeteia why the song is revered by many.

The song's title in its literal sense is definitely a wake up call! The Bass, Cellos, Violins, Woodwinds, Horns, Chorale group also shift gears in this song as in the beginning are less layered but with Rahman Ji's vocal transition they too gather momentum and flourish in parallel.

This song is the soul of the film, Gulzar Ji's lyrics speak of conquering dreams and desires and are the core values reflected by the lead character who's name is, Guru (English: Teacher).

I know no other Guru than Rahman Ji and that's all I see and hear before me.

Happy Listening!