View Full Version : Tata Nano - Car for Rs 1 Lakh ($2500)...first 100K allotted

11th January 2008, 08:33 PM
I was overjoyed to read about this yesterday!

It was also given nice coverage in the media worldwide (yesterday's Wall St journal had almost 3/4th page report on it).

Having worked on a successful, pioneer, indigenous product development program (digital switching eqpt.) in my first job and also having supported a similar effort in auto industry by buying Indica as my first car, this is personally a very satisfying news too!

Bravo Ratan Tata! (Media compares his effort to the $500 Model T by Henry Ford)

11th January 2008, 08:33 PM
Local news:
http://dailythanthi.com/article.asp?NewsID=386255&disdate=1/11/2008

tvsankar
11th January 2008, 10:17 PM
Sun News il indha car ai parthen. Regular car ku endha vidhadhilum kurai illadha oru Model. Good Look.

12th January 2008, 07:57 AM
http://www.ibnlive.com/videos/56264/wah-wagh-meet-the-man-who-made-nano.html
Its a pathetic interview though. The interviewer looks completely lost :shock:

12th January 2008, 10:57 AM
Naalu sakkara auto :)

13th January 2008, 03:22 PM

Good one! :clap: :lol2:

13th January 2008, 06:12 PM
One of my prior colleagues at Ford was telling that when Honda first introduced their car in the U.S., the media wrote similar comments like Sanjeevi - "They took two motor cycles and connected with some metal bars to sync":-)

Now Honda is an icon here, both for reliability and fuel efficiency. And they have their two cars always in the top 10 sellers, year after year, and are always profitable:-)

Hope Sanjeevi (& Lamby)'s comment makes Nano / Tata similarly:-))

15th January 2008, 08:40 PM
Nano again got featured - this time with a photograph - in the Wall st journal yesterday in its report about the Detroit auto show:-) This is in the interview with some GM bigwig who wants to make a car for $4000 now (down from the hitherto most economical $4500 car).

I listen usually to the V98.7 FM in the Metro Detroit area (smooth jazz) and like to listen to the Alexander Zanjik's freewheeling chat with co-hosts in the morning show. Guess what, when they were talking about the Detroit auto show, again the "$2500" car came up this AM. While talking about "those old days" when one can buy a car for $12,500, they got reminded of like - 'well you can even by now, a car for $ 2500':-) Then Kevin said, "well, that's in India":-))

To get the attention of such people (who typically never even talk about India / Indians -with the rare exception of Sanjaya who was in the American Idols last year, again because he was on stage in the U.S., - is definitely something, IMO.

Tata Nano, the $2500 car (or the most economical car in the world today) is causing ripples around the world, without any doubt!

17th January 2008, 04:31 AM
http://news.in.msn.com/business/article.aspx?cp-documentid=1193329

Very interesting report!

thilak4life
21st January 2008, 10:40 AM
Link (http://www.ibnlive.com/news/ratan-tata-will-be-a-hero-if-he-made-bus-like-nano/56973-11.html)

21st January 2008, 11:17 AM
a_e,

just for fun :) . In fact I want to buy this car.

A big competition to Tata Nano - Mahindra Renault Yeni

http://www.chillpilgrim.com/mahindra-renault-yeni-the-mahindra-13-lakhs-car/

http://gallery.techarena.in/showphoto.php/photo/8612

http://www.humsurfer.com/mahindra-renault-yeni-the-mahindra-13-lakhs-car

21st January 2008, 07:34 PM
thilak4life,
Excellent link!

Oh, how much I agree with that very reasonable lady!!!

While the engineer in me (who strived for indigenous tech. for many years) rejoices with such a product from the country, that turns world's attention to us, it also pains to foresee the application of such a product:-( What a mixed feeling this!

Yes, what the country really needs is a "nano bus" , i.e. affordable transportation for the masses which does not kill the environment! While that should be the goal and the real war, let us now toast on the victory of this small technological battle:-) Any gain in technology is +ve:-))

21st January 2008, 07:39 PM
Sanjeevi:-)

Interestingly, this vehicle (i.e. the petrol version) may be less polluting that many of the "diesel 3 sakkara autos":-))

thilak4life
21st January 2008, 10:41 PM
thilak4life,
Excellent link!

Oh, how much I agree with that very reasonable lady!!!

While the engineer in me (who strived for indigenous tech. for many years) rejoices with such a product from the country, that turns world's attention to us, it also pains to foresee the application of such a product:-( What a mixed feeling this!

Yes, what the country really needs is a "nano bus" , i.e. affordable transportation for the masses which does not kill the environment! While that should be the goal and the real war, let us now toast on the victory of this small technological battle:-) Any gain in technology is +ve:-))

Sure, In that very interview, KT raised the very point of this to be treated as an "option" to people. When it's found to be more environment friendly than the other cars, as much as 40% more effective!! The catch is the "price", and people got their four-wheeler, good for them, but considering the roads, pollution, population, and the state of driving today - no room for the cars to pass through, thus the room for congestion, and chaos~! Let's not get into the SEZs that paves way for conspicuous consumption of the bourgeoisie, it could be argued that it's "convenience" that Tata has to offer here..

Talk about catch-22.. :)

22nd January 2008, 08:30 PM
One thing I really liked about in that discussion is about the diesal. While it's unavoidable that the Govt. subsidises diesal (for the masses, esp. goods transport to keep the prices of essentials down / agricultural use etc.), it is definitely possible to limit the abuse of such subsidy for "unclean" fuel by car driving public. While raising the excise for diesal cars / autos could be the easiest option available to the Govt. , there should also be focus on strict emission standards on any new vehicle being sold (taking into account the worst available fuel in the market). And while the economy is booming like now, get 100% of all those diesal ambassadors exported to some metal recycling place:-)

22nd January 2008, 11:05 PM
Very good link Thilak :clap:

She says no city except Singapore has implemented air conditioned buses. In chennai it is implemented to an extent. I am always a firm advocate for Public transport. Even the old soot spewing Metro buses are ecologically more benign compared to the same number of people using personal transport. In india, to implement an effective public transport is much tougher compared to other countries considering our population.

Another related link:
http://www.indiatogether.org/2008/jan/env-diesel.htm

23rd January 2008, 12:32 AM
And while the economy is booming like now, get 100% of all those diesal ambassadors exported to some metal recycling place:-)
For that matter Ambys r already being replaced (by preference) by Diesel Indicas as taxis....rather than the Ambys (the last of which have much developed Isuzu diesel engines with mpfi injections as well! :)) better get all those current diesel transport buses (which claim to be "green" vehicles but sport the same technology!) exported to metal recycling places!

thilak4life
23rd January 2008, 12:34 AM
App_Engine,

Confession: I have a Tata Indica :oops: (TM's link is a smack at the back) I would also vouch for a petrol car any day. The maintenance charges after the first few years is poor for a diesel car. Thus the running cost of Petrol cars is justified IMO.

23rd January 2008, 01:15 AM
thilak4life, my first car was the same - Indica DLE:-( I had it till I moved to U.S. Though it didn't give me any trouble, looking back, I can say it was environmentally a poor choice. If & when I'm back home, I may go for "Petrol Nano", if not some CNG car:-)

BTW, how many cities in India currently offer CNG supplies, other than Delhi? Does Nano plan a CNG version? Where does the country get supply of CNG from - are there any domestic sources or completely imported? If imported, at what cost?

23rd January 2008, 09:39 AM
BTW, how many cities in India currently offer CNG supplies, other than Delhi?
Only Delhi & Bbay as far as I know.

The maintenance charges after the first few years is poor for a diesel car. Thus the running cost of Petrol cars is justified IMO.
Thats very much true. Diesle may be cheaper to buy but it results in greater maintenance (engine oil changes need to be more frequent for one thing.)

23rd January 2008, 06:11 PM
Hosur Road traffic sandhi sirikkidhu :lol2:
Ini ethana RoR vanthalum samalikka mudiyaathu aena 1 latchathula car :D
nenachu paartha ippavae thala suthuthu..

chevy
23rd January 2008, 06:19 PM
I really admire and congratulate Mr. Ratan Tata for accomplishing his dream of letting the Indian common man have a car. Though , the nano is not exactly targeted right at the bottom, it s closer to it.

However, being a car enthusiast, I've always felt Indian cars never meet the global standards. Of course, we have to keep in mind the quality of the roads, yet, we never get money's worth while buying Indian cars.

At the same time, the most silliest thing is to buy a foreign cars while in india. I mean, no offense to those who already own such, but i meant it's not a lucrative choice!

Speaking of the nano, or any other small car in india, could pose as a major environmental disaster. Moreover, such small cars have flimsy bodies and don't provide much safety. Add on, that Indian roads and traffic aren't safe either.

As some newspaper article said, If the nano bus comes, Ratan Tata will really be GOD! However, achievement is achievement, so hats off to him!

23rd January 2008, 06:47 PM
Lambretta,
Thanks for the info on CNG. I looked at the wikipedia :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compressed_natural_gas

This says Ahmedabad also mandates use of CNG. Interesting also to note that Pakistan is the 2nd largest user of CNG in the world and that the cost of CNG in India is much lower compared to petrol. Why is then this fuel not used in large scale across the country? What are the challenges? (I remember studying in school that we had considerable domestic methane resources. Is it correct or not?)

23rd January 2008, 06:58 PM
Another interesting link:
http://tatacars.blogspot.com/search?updated-min=2008-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-08%3A00&updated-max=2009-01-01T00%3A00%3A00-08%3A00&max-results=19

25th July 2008, 02:01 AM
[tscii:d9c378e5c8]Ratan says Tata Nano won't increase pollution:
http://www.hindu.com/2008/07/25/stories/2008072553441500.htm

From this report:
Mr. Tata said contrary to claims that the Tata Nano would result in traffic congestion and increased pollution, “the Nano will be 12 per cent less polluting than a two-wheeler. As regards congestion, one has to put the issue in perspective. Last year, India sold 1.2 million cars against eight million in China, while in India 7.3 million two-wheelers were sold last year. Of the total population in India, 14.5 million constitute cars and there are 80 million two-wheelers. Even at one million cars per year, over five years, we will not add more than 4-5 per cent of cars on the road. It would not be fair to blame congestion on the Nano.”
[/tscii:d9c378e5c8]

3rd October 2008, 11:18 PM
http://news.in.msn.com/national/article.aspx?cp-documentid=1673973

Tata Nano moving out of WB due to the agitations / protests etc :-(

It's really sad that in the political game between the ruling party & the opposition, any amicable solution to the bigger issue of "industrial development without hurting farmers / local residents" has taken a back seat. Apart from being very negative to WB, if similar tactics are adopted by political parties in every other state, the phrase "acceptable solution" will cease to exist for industries and farmers!

wrap07
8th October 2008, 10:39 AM
http://expressbuzz.com/edition/story.aspx?Title=Tata+Motors+to+make+cheap+Nano+in +Gujarat&artid=PTJfEfOyV2s=&SectionID=b7ziAYMenjw=&MainSectionID=b7ziAYMenjw=&SEO=Nano,+Tata,+Gujarat&SectionName=pWehHe7IsSU=

MUMBAI: Tata Motors Ltd will make its ultra low-cost Nano car in Gujarat, Chairman Ratan Tata said on Tuesday, days after India's top vehicle maker pulled out of West Bengal because of violent protests.

The plant to be built at Sanand, near Ahmedabad, will be located on about 1,100 acres (445 ha), and have an initial capacity of 250,000 units, which can be expanded to up to 500,000 cars per year, Tata said.

Tata Motors, which had planned to launch the Nano around October, will in the meantime explore the option of making it at existing units in Pune and Pantnagar.

"We lost a lot of time unfortunately, and I think we can try our best to do what we set out to do ... in a new home," Tata said at a news conference broadcast live on leading TV channels.

"It will be our endeavour to be as close to the timelines we set earlier (but) we may not have the volumes initially."

Analysts have said the company, which had invested about $350 million in the West Bengal site, could roll out hundreds or a few thousand Nano cars initially from its existing facilities.

Tata did not give financial details, only saying the agreement with Gujarat was "slightly better" than the one with West Bengal, and that the company would not incur "any significant losses" from the relocation of the plant in the year to March 2009.

"We will be retrieving most of our Singur cost," Tata said.

Ahead of the announcement, Tata Motors shares had ended up 0.9 percent at 316.60 rupees in a weak Mumbai market, after the company said it will hold a news conference in Gujarat.

"The expectation is there won't be any more disruptions or delays," said Vineet Hetamasaria, auto analyst at B&K Securities.

"They can have a plant up and running in 7-8 months, and do a limited rollout," he said, estimating the impact of the delay in ramping up production would be felt in the 2009/10 fiscal year, which starts next April.

BUSINESS FRIENDLY

Tata Motors on Friday pulled out of West Bengal, where violent protests by farmers unhappy with the compensation for their land had forced the firm to suspend work on its factory for more than a month.

The protests, backed by the state's main opposition party, had raised the debate over rising instances of conflict between industry and farmers unwilling to surrender land in a country where two-thirds of the population depends on agriculture for all or part of their livelihood.

Tata Motors, which also received offers of land from Karnataka and Uttarakhand, has said eventual demand for the Nano, which is expected to be priced at just above 100,000 rupees ($2,080), would be about 1 million units.

The "People's car", as it has been dubbed, was unveiled to a rousing reception in January and encouraged others, including Renault/Nissan, Ford Motor, General Motors, Toyota Motor and Volkswagen to announce plans for low-cost cars.

The Nano plant as well as the vendor facilities and other services in Gujarat, which has a reputation for being business-friendly, will together generate more than 10,000 direct and indirect jobs, Tata said.

The "mother plant" in Gujarat, where Tata Motors has no facilities currently, will also make electric and CNG variants, as well as export models, Tata said, reiterating an earlier plan to franchise smaller satellite plants to entrepreneurs.

"Hopefully, it will be a breeze here compared to Singur," said Ian Fletcher, auto analyst at Global Insight in London.

"It looks like a very, very positive step. There's a little bit more certainty about the project now, investors can finally see a light at the end of the tunnel."

27th February 2009, 08:52 PM
Nano arriving to the market in April!

Nice coverage by U.S. media...one example :

http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/SavingandDebt/SaveonaCar/2000-dollar-car-coming-to-showrooms.aspx

3rd March 2009, 02:01 AM
Nice coverage of the launch news by BBC where even a video clip is hosted :

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7911749.stm

[html:250a4c93e0]
http://image.automobilemag.com/f/news/tata-nano-to-go-on-sale-in-april/14909624+w486+cr1+re0+ar1/2009-tata-nano.jpg
[/html:250a4c93e0]

18th March 2009, 11:47 PM
Quite an insightful article on Nano and Tata motors :
http://in.reuters.com/article/topNews/idINIndia-38567120090318

23rd March 2009, 09:21 PM
Nice article with pictures :

http://news.in.msn.com/national/article.aspx?cp-documentid=2222436

sgokulprathap
24th March 2009, 05:13 PM
Nano: All about booking, allotment & more (http://specials.rediff.com/money/2009/mar/24sld1-all-about-nano-booking-allotment.htm)

thriinone
24th March 2009, 07:30 PM
http://www.domain-b.com/automotive/features/20051021_one_lakh.htm

ennenna sonaanga! ippo ennena solraanga.

http://autos.maxabout.com/cvid1319/tata-nano-cvt-automatic

this one is in mid 2010.

karthik_sa2
30th March 2009, 03:36 PM
what is the booking amount of this car...some say it is 2999 and some say it is 95000...??pls clarify

12th April 2009, 08:34 PM
'was reminded of this thread when I read this the other day in an automobile forum:

Although slightly old news definitely interesting :) :

This is an extract from 'The New Indian Express', 26th March '09:

http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news/96yearold-sells-55yearold-Fiat-to-buy-Nano/438919/

96-year-old woman sells her Fiat to buy Nano

The first woman photojournalist, the 96-year-old Homai Vyarawalla, has sold her 55-year-old Fiat 1100 to buy the world's cheapest car, Tata Nano.
Vyarawalla said that she sold her Fiat car to a vintage car lover in Mumbai after she found it difficult to get it repaired.
She said that the Fiat car, which was imported from Italy 55-years-ago, was brought to India through sea route. (Note: Actually I guess she meant that it was brought from Italy and assembled here, as Fiats were back then)
Vyarawalla, who has clicked national and foreign digintaries, including late Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and the First woman Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, said, "I will book the Nano whenever its registration begins in the city and wait for my turn to get the car."
The allotment of the car is to take place by draw and Vyarawalla is hopeful of emerging lucky, so that she could drive the car.

5th May 2009, 03:05 AM
http://news.in.msn.com/business/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3003950

Advance booking is good. Now, let's hope the car matches the international hype in quality; only then it can be termed a real success!

23rd June 2009, 10:14 PM
100K people got their nano allotment via "lots"!

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124575793333541341.html?mod=googlenews_wsj

22nd October 2009, 10:37 PM
http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/business/3-nanos-reportedly-catch-fire-tata-to-do-preemptive-check_420192.html

3 cars out of the 7500 shipped so far had a smokey switch issue :-(

17th May 2010, 09:50 AM
[html:f62a9ff0cd]
http://stbjp.msn.com/i/9C/AEFD47C4A38362432256B539CB3C48.jpg
[/html:f62a9ff0cd]

Bajaj bringing out a competitor, with a Nissan-Renault association.

Expected in the market in 2012 at a 1.1 lac price tag!

http://autos.in.msn.com/autonews/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3903143

Stiglitz
17th May 2010, 04:21 PM

:lol: That's exactly what I felt too. It's not a good look IMO. I felt that the Spark which is of similar size has a better look. :)

Stiglitz
17th May 2010, 04:22 PM
http://stbjp.msn.com/i/9C/AEFD47C4A38362432256B539CB3C48.jpg

Bajaj bringing out a competitor, with a Nissan-Renault association.

Expected in the market in 2012 at a 1.1 lac price tag!

http://autos.in.msn.com/autonews/article.aspx?cp-documentid=3903143

:lol: Looks almost the same! :? Copy adikiradhuliye irunge! :x

22nd June 2010, 11:23 PM
[tscii:508978adc3]http://in.yfittopostblog.com/2010/06/22/tata-nano-goes-topless/

Well, another improvement to the much hyped Nano. Wonder what’s next. May be a Nano without an engine. :lol:

[/tscii:508978adc3]

22nd June 2010, 11:35 PM
But come to think of it, it would be easier to jump out of a roofless Nano in case it catches fire, right?

22nd June 2010, 11:43 PM
But come to think of it, it would be easier to jump out of a roofless Nano in case it catches fire, right?

I did not read this. But it came suddenly in my mind :lol:

21st July 2010, 10:15 PM
http://in.yfittopostblog.com/2010/07/20/sleek-tata-nanos-to-replace-rasping-autos/

10th November 2010, 08:20 PM
To recall or not, Tata dilemma :

http://online.wsj.com/article/BT-CO-20101110-707787.html

One thing is certain, with these "fire" business, any ambitious international plan for the nano car has evaporated :-(

They can still cheat Indian customers and keep selling them.

Personally, I won't touch a model that had 6 cases of fire within a year of intro (out of less than 100K)!

Very poor record!