View Full Version : Database connectivity

26th April 2008, 01:24 PM
Please :oops: can someone help me with my problem.

I wanna connect my database (msaccess) using DREAMWEAVER mx

any website to help me?

I wanna connect using local/network and both my access, testing server (server model is asp vbscript) etc are in same machine. Then what protocol (access method) do i need to use

I am not sure even If I put accross the question properly. please GUIDE ME to anyright website. :oops:

26th April 2008, 01:26 PM
Please post some websites to guide me.

I would be happy for genuine posts ONLY.

26th April 2008, 01:52 PM
control panel poyi administrative tools poyi odcb select pannunga

then..mm..add->microsoft access driver(or whateva ur database file is

select select...choose ur file

add

illa neenga vera edhayo kekureengala?

26th April 2008, 01:58 PM
viki,

I had done all this.

YES THIS IS PRECISELY what I am asking.

I had connected it too. I did these odbc conn and its connected (I am able to put the files in dream weaver)

I think I have problem with website configuration in dreamweaver

When I definte (create my site ) in dreamweaver.

I am not able to connect the testing server properly.

26th April 2008, 02:01 PM
i havent used dreamveawer

u mean the database is not connected?

sometimes when i dint give the datasource name in the netbeans code(the name given while we add the driver) and give the acccess file name directly the database is not connected

mmm...dreamviewer use pannadhe illa.

26th April 2008, 02:09 PM
dsn name kuduthachu.

connectivity is also alive in dreamweaver.

but I AM NOT ABLE TO ADD dsn source :cry:

also when I open and close dreamweaver

all site info is lost.
again I have to recreate site then dsn also does not get connected.

yeah, this is more with dreamweaver problem than with odbc or access (all those stages are done)

26th April 2008, 02:12 PM
edhavadhu learn in 24 hours book irukum parunga

www.flazx.com

this have a collection of ebooks...type ur topic and u can download

26th April 2008, 02:22 PM
would try it.
thanks.

If it works, I shall come and post here my loads of thanks to u :)

26th April 2008, 02:25 PM

26th April 2008, 02:29 PM
Just tell me one thing (plz dont joke if my question is a basic question or does not make sense)

but when the remote folder and access server are in same machine. I DONT need any IIS server configuration is it not? :oops:

Then when both are in same (single machine i.e. not even lan) what access protocol do I need?

:oops:

Do I make sense ?

26th April 2008, 02:57 PM
onnum purila...enaku naaledgu konjam hehe

i use netbeans to create a webpage...anga connectionuku rendu steps than

class..forName( "com.somejdbcvendor.TheirJdbcDriver" );

connection conn = DriverManager.getConnection(
"jdbc:somejdbcvendor:other data needed by some jdbc vendor",
"myLogin",
"myPassword" );

the url stars with " jdbc:"protocol

26th April 2008, 03:05 PM
first dreamweaver na enna... lol

what language u use?

26th April 2008, 08:30 PM
Please :oops: can someone help me with my problem.

I wanna connect my database (msaccess) using DREAMWEAVER mx

any website to help me?

I wanna connect using local/network and both my access, testing server (server model is asp vbscript) etc are in same machine. Then what protocol (access method) do i need to use

I am not sure even If I put accross the question properly. please GUIDE ME to anyright website. :oops:

SP.. see whether this site answers your question. (enakkum perusa onnum theriyadhu.. idhu varaikum asp use pannadhilla :P :oops: )

26th April 2008, 08:46 PM
tv,

which site? :?

26th April 2008, 09:02 PM
:oops: site link copy paste panna marandhutten :ashamed:

http://www.haneng.com/lessons_17.asp

sorry SP :ashamed:

26th April 2008, 09:05 PM
thx pps.

If its sucessful I shall come and post it here :|

I took a long break, I am yet to try vicky's link too.

Lets c if I am getting it done.

and thanks a lot to vicky and tv :)

27th April 2008, 12:19 AM
Shakthi: check if these links are useful to you :)

http://kb.seekdotnet.com/ViewArticle/125data.aspx

http://www.adesdesign.net/php/tutorials/dreamweaver/connect_db.php

http://www.adobe.com/support/dreamweaver/database.html

http://livedocs.adobe.com/dreamweaver/mx2004/getting_started_en/wwhelp/wwhimpl/common/html/wwhelp.htm?context=Getting_Started&file=gs_11_16.htm

27th April 2008, 03:04 PM
:ty: :ty: anou.
I have not tried anything yet.
But I think I found out a small reason, why my record set conn is not working.

If I my thinking is right, then I may get it conn.
else I would try any of the websites all u guys ahve posted. :)

thanks a tonne for the pain taken anou, vicky, tv :)
MUCH appreciated :)

29th April 2008, 05:56 PM
lm,

MY INFO STAYS now. thanks to the updater !

:ty:

now what i face is typically

C. Gauch and CC TRAVIS has polambufied in the following site.

http://www.dmxzone.com/forum/topic.asp?topic_id=21027

I tried the last solution

(http://localhost:81/)

but no use!

I hope with this website in mind, I shall contact some of them and try to solve it soon.

anyway :ty: for now atleast INFO stays! :)

29th April 2008, 06:24 PM
Shakthi: I know this is a silly question ... but...Is 81 your port number? :)

29th April 2008, 06:34 PM
nopes. I put my port number only :(

RAGHAVENDRA
29th April 2008, 06:52 PM
Dear SP
Please see if this link is helpful to you.
http://www.w3schools.com/asp/default.asp
V. Raghavendran.

29th April 2008, 07:05 PM
thx raghavendra :)

would check it out :)

29th April 2008, 10:25 PM
lm,

MY INFO STAYS now. thanks to the updater !

:ty:

now what i face is typically

C. Gauch and CC TRAVIS has polambufied in the following site.

http://www.dmxzone.com/forum/topic.asp?topic_id=21027

I tried the last solution

(http://localhost:81/)

but no use!

I hope with this website in mind, I shall contact some of them and try to solve it soon.

anyway :ty: for now atleast INFO stays! :)

The new problem sounds Greek and Latin to me :oops: Will search more :|

29th April 2008, 10:28 PM
:cry:

lm,

as of now my dreamweaver is HANGING if i follow //local:port/ solution

however MY DATABASE is connected now. Only testing server problem :(

Anything to do with VISTA ? (windows vista creates hella lot of probs everywhere
I faced it during 3ds max installation myself)

29th April 2008, 10:54 PM
Windows Vista :bangcomp: This OS made my hairline receding :evil:

Googling with different keywords might help. Could you explain the problem again :roll:

29th April 2008, 10:55 PM
I AM GONNA THROW THIS VISTA :cry:

It made me mad while installing 3dsmax
Next if i need to work in maya I BETTER CHANGE back to my old windows xp :(

29th April 2008, 10:57 PM
"Probably the biggest problem that I have been having with Dreamweaver MX thus far is the inability to successfully use my ASP testing server (under the Applications tab, server behavior) when trying to upgrade an existing ASP site developed by previous versions of Dreamweaver. Basically, I follow the procedures for setting up the site (create new site, choose VBScript ASP website, both those checkmarks appear, but the checkmark for the testing server never appears and no error message results). As a result, I am unable to use all of the nice functionality of Dreamweaver MX in order to create dynamic web sites using drag & drop. Dreamweaver will not allow me to use the '+' button underneath the server behaviors and binding tabs in the Applications menu. "

as per the words there.

hE HAS EXPLAINED IT better than me

that is TYPICALLY my problem, and yeah i use vista.

now added problem is DREAMWEAVER IS hanging, WHENEVER i try to access these datas.

29th April 2008, 11:04 PM
SP akka,

I haven't worked on both ASP and Dreamweaver. But Google will definitely have an answer. I'll search for it :)

30th April 2008, 12:13 PM
I shall try too, today!

30th April 2008, 09:05 PM
SP akka,

Found another link (http://www.daniweb.com/forums/thread104077.html) for a similar problem.

This problem seems to be rare, couldn't get much results from google search :|

30th April 2008, 10:24 PM

would chk it lm.