View Full Version : Asian movies

Pages : [1] 2

29th April 2008, 09:57 PM
the best thriller and horror movies i have watchd from these languages.

just to discusson the movies of these nations

directors like park chan wook,fruit chan,takashi miike and of course kurasawa...many wonderful movies could be recommended by others

11th June 2008, 02:18 PM
The best animation movies.....Oh check out this guy's flicks
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0594503/
The grave of the fireflies....Unforgettable movie!Damn selvaraghavan:He lifted the climax from this movie for 7G....

19th June 2008, 01:14 AM
My Sassy Girl (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0293715). A delightful romantic comedy. Must watch!!!

Sid_316
19th June 2008, 01:19 AM
Old Boy-thriller

Rashomon ,Seven Samurai

i havent seen much of korean/jap any recommendations?

19th June 2008, 01:23 AM
Shutter - A horror movie from Thailand. This is THE BEST horror movie I've ever seen :thumbsup:

Sid_316
19th June 2008, 01:27 AM
Shutter - A horror movie from Thailand. This is THE BEST horror movie I've ever seen :thumbsup:

adha inga remake pannanga :( sivi nu oru padam tamil la! romba koduram .. total disgrace when compared to the original

19th June 2008, 01:30 AM

adha inga remake pannanga :( sivi nu oru padam tamil la! romba koduram .. total disgrace when compared to the original

Yeah. If not for Sivi, I wouldn't have known about Shutter in first place. In that way, I'm grateful to Sivi ;)

19th June 2008, 02:45 AM
k my list of korean/japanese movies my math teacher used to show us :hammer:

BATTLE ROYAL :shaking: it's so freaky :banghead:
Tale of Two sisters....it's so weird :? :roll: although i coudn't understand the movie :roll:

and 2 other creepy movies who's names are really weird :-|

i'm never gonna watch japanese or korean movies anymore :twisted: :hammer:

19th June 2008, 02:52 AM
Wibha,

Watch 'Ringu' & 'Ju-On'. You'll like them ;)

Shankar
25th June 2008, 02:06 PM
>>>>
i havent seen much of korean/jap any recommendations?
<<<<

sid,
Try and watch the "samurai rebellion" (toshiro mifune plays a retired samurai who comes out of retirement to handle the warlord - nice movie),

"The samurai-1/2/3" (based on the life of Miyamoto musashi - Master swordsman, and the author of a management-bible "book of five rings"

Issac stern's "Mao and mozart" (am i getting it wrong ? lemme check my dvd and get back)

Kurosawa's yojimbo and its sequel sanjuro

Kurosawa's social dramas - Red-beard, high and low, Ikiru

Kurosawa's shakespeare interpretations - "ran" (king lear - his best movie in color, and his last movie as a director), "throne of blood" (macbeth - the best version of macbeth yet)

17th July 2008, 12:02 AM
kwaidan - japanese thriller

4 stories - just like four rooms or grindhouse.

these japanese guys knows how to make thriller.considering the year the film was made,it was really awesome.the music,photography,camera angles,acting,make up.

give it a try with the year of making in the mind.

p.s.it won juries award at cannes in 1965

18th July 2008, 02:29 PM
Kurosawa's shakespeare interpretations - "ran" (king lear - his best movie in color, and his last movie as a director), "throne of blood" (macbeth - the best version of macbeth yet)
He made Dreams and Madadayo, which was his last, after Ran...

18th July 2008, 02:36 PM
anybody seen Red Cliff???
Pls post the review if anyone has seen it. Thanks :)

18th July 2008, 02:39 PM
Madodoyo was the first film I saw which was directed by Kurosawa.
For those who have not seen it: Madadoyo means "not yet".

There is an annual party, for moving a year closer to the end, held by the students of a retired professor where the master loudly declares - Madodoyo- I am not done yet ! :-)

Did he intend that to be his last film ? If so - then it is as poetic as Prospero's burying his magic wand in Tempest - Shakespeare's last play.

18th July 2008, 02:51 PM
Madodoyo was the first film I saw which was directed by Kurosawa.
For those who have not seen it: Madadoyo means "not yet".

There is an annual party, for moving a year closer to the end, held by the students of a retired professor where the master loudly declares - Madodoyo- I am not done yet ! :-)

Did he intend that to be his last film ? If so - then it is as poetic as Prospero's burying his magic wand in Tempest - Shakespeare's last play.

for shakespere it couldnt be intended as he was just in 30s.

but kurasawa could have thought that it could be his last movie!

in shakesperes case its really :notworthy:

kurasawa - :D

thilak4life
29th July 2008, 08:10 AM
Let's not miss K-horror which is much more subtle, and less tacky than J-horror

Kim Ji-Woon's "A tale of two sisters". A psychological thriller with more than a hint of supernatural, that runs on emotional levels. Excellent
Bong Joon-ho's "The host". A Sci-fi "monster" film, but a refreshing detour from hollywood style.

11th March 2009, 09:32 AM
Ip Man - the movie is a thrilling martial arts flick about the legendary Wing Chun master that is set to join the league of classics like the Once Upon A Time in China series.
When it comes to martial arts, Chinese are the best to show it on screen. :)

The movie is adapted from the life story of Ip Man, the grand master of the Wing Chun style of Kung Fu and Sifu (master) of legendary Kung Fu superstar Bruce Lee. :cool:

11th March 2009, 09:35 AM
Kim Ji-Woon's "A tale of two sisters". A psychological thriller with more than a hint of supernatural, that runs on emotional levels. Excellent
Bong Joon-ho's "The host". A Sci-fi "monster" film, but a refreshing detour from hollywood style.

I've seen it twice, and I still don't understand the movie.

22nd March 2009, 11:41 PM
Indha (spring summer fall winter and spring) padam torrents/live streaming-layo engappa kedaikkum?.

22nd March 2009, 11:45 PM
AF,

I have the torrent. Not sure if there are any seeds available. Veettukku poi check pannittu PM anupparen :)

Sid_316
22nd March 2009, 11:47 PM
Indha (spring summer fall winter and spring) padam torrents/live streaming-layo engappa kedaikkum?.

Mininova la there is a healthy torrent get it :)

22nd March 2009, 11:52 PM
Thanks LM and sid :). Have you guys seen that movie?. Any words of wisdom for lesser mortals! :mrgreen:

22nd March 2009, 11:58 PM
Started watching it. But the subtitles didn't work :oops: Adhanala porumaiya pakkalam-nu irukken.

23rd March 2009, 01:33 PM
Thanks LM and sid :). Have you guys seen that movie?. Any words of wisdom for lesser mortals! :mrgreen:

Kim Ki Duk :notworthy:

The movie is mostly open and surreal. Though many seem to interpret it the same way, it is mostly ambiguous. Surprisingly, the movie is all about Buddhist ideals and Zen concepts but is directed by a Christian! :D

23rd March 2009, 01:49 PM
AF,

Visually the movie is spectacular - Must watch just for the visual impact of the movie.

23rd March 2009, 01:53 PM
AF,

Visually the movie is spectacular - Must watch just for the visual impact of the movie.

Locations.. Set... Figure :P

The movie is almost devoid of dialogue. It might all sum up for only a page of spoken words in the whole movie.

Sid_316
23rd March 2009, 05:13 PM
Yeah but i wud recommend 3 iron from the same dir.. imo that was better than spring summer...

23rd March 2009, 07:14 PM
Thanks, you fellas :ty:

2nd April 2009, 10:35 PM
A moment to Remember (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Moment_to_Remember)

Pinraangappa!!. Pinrangappa !!

The Lead actors - :clap:

2nd April 2009, 10:58 PM
Did you feel 'Oru Kallooriyin Kadhai' is loosely inspired from this?

2nd April 2009, 11:28 PM
Well may be LM, Can't say No I guess :roll:. Adhai vidunga, Ungalukku indha padam pudichirundhudha?

Sid_316
2nd April 2009, 11:42 PM
Well may be LM, Can't say No I guess :roll:. Adhai vidunga, Ungalukku indha padam pudichirundhudha?

Where to get this ?? torrent ah?

2nd April 2009, 11:43 PM
You-Tube!!>

3rd April 2009, 08:03 AM
Yeah, liked the film. Aana konjam senti jaasthi maadhiri irundhudhu :|

3rd April 2009, 08:03 AM

Sid,

Torrents are available for this film.

3rd April 2009, 11:16 AM

Hero's an architect :P
Padam sumaar thaanga.. Classic pakkathula kooda nikka mudiyaathu :yes:

3rd April 2009, 11:45 AM
Venki,

What is in "The Classic" that attracted you so much? Seems I have missed something :?

3rd April 2009, 11:53 AM
heroine a dhaan irukkum :P - hoping to watch it this weekend

3rd April 2009, 10:46 PM
Soreenga aafisar!.

Hero's an architect :P
Padam sumaar thaanga.. Classic pakkathula kooda nikka mudiyaathu :yes:

4th April 2009, 01:49 PM
Windstruck - :D

Jyun Ji Hun :thumbsup: (ponnu remba nalla nadikudhu)

4th April 2009, 01:54 PM
Windstruck - :D

Jyun Ji Hun :thumbsup: (ponnu remba nalla nadikudhu)

I have become a fan of her :mrgreen: Watch her other films too :P

Except her latest film, all others were pretty good.

4th April 2009, 09:39 PM
Windstruck is good? Download paNNiravA?
Classic-la climax-a thavira ellamE appadiyE ennaya katti pOttiruchu LM. I was never close to a movie so much, Fight club another exception. Climax sutha sothappal. :rant:

4th April 2009, 09:42 PM
Venki,

Windstruck is several notches below My Sassy Girl. Unakku MSG pidikkalainna Windstruck pidikka vaaippe illa.

4th April 2009, 11:26 PM
Venki,

Windstruck is several notches below My Sassy Girl. Unakku MSG pidikkalainna Windstruck pidikka vaaippe illa.

Delete torrent+data :lol2:
Next enna padam download paNNalAm? Kim Ki Duk's movies, I guess. Korean :P

4th April 2009, 11:26 PM
:o

5th April 2009, 10:46 AM
My tutor friend - Simple and funny.

7th April 2009, 02:11 PM
Two guys (Korean) - Action cum comedy entertainer. Watchable

salem.saravanan
8th April 2009, 11:32 AM
the way home and the home run..
worth to watch.

9th April 2009, 05:27 AM
Seducing Mr. Perfect (Korean) - Hilarious :thumbsup:

The lead character Daniel Henney is impressive and the heroine is good.

10th April 2009, 01:10 AM
My Little Bride (Korean) - :rotfl:

A romantic comedy on a forced marriage between a 15 year old high school girl and an intern teacher. The lead kid girl, avala paathalae siripa varudhu :lol:.

End of cinema bloopers were :thumbsup:

10th April 2009, 06:36 AM

This is in my list for quite some time. Inimeydhaan paarkkanum :roll:

Enna AF, Korean padamaa paarthu thalreenga ;)

10th April 2009, 08:18 AM
LM, It is happening by chance. Neenga movie-ae Paarthutu sollunga :).

salem.saravanan
11th April 2009, 08:14 PM

A romantic comedy on a forced marriage between a 15 year old high school girl and an intern teacher. The lead kid girl, avala paathalae siripa varudhu :lol:.

i've watched it too... avanga pesarthey semma comedy ya irukkum.

11th April 2009, 08:25 PM

This is in my list for quite some time. Inimeydhaan paarkkanum :roll:

Enna AF, Korean padamaa paarthu thalreenga ;)

athaan naanum nenachen :lol:

14th April 2009, 10:19 PM
Who slept with her (Korean) - :rotfl2:

An strict high school teacher is on a mission to find out as who had sex with the high school's gorgeously hot new trainee teacher is the crux of the movie.

enna oru kansept. enna oru thinking. Camaan ya :notworthy:

P.S: It's an adult - raunchy comedy, Not for everybody.

15th April 2009, 06:28 PM
chi bi 2

Must watch for action movie lovers.

15th April 2009, 09:38 PM
Volver
Penelope Cruz :notworthy: Thaarumaaru screenplay! :clap: Pedro padam ellAm pArkaNum, :)

Strangers on a train
Hitchcock :irk: indha emoticon ellAm pOda vaikureengaLE saar! :banghead:

15th April 2009, 09:51 PM
Volver
Penelope Cruz :notworthy: Thaarumaaru screenplay! :clap: Pedro padam ellAm pArkaNum, :)

Strangers on a train
Hitchcock :irk: indha emoticon ellAm pOda vaikureengaLE saar! :banghead:

Hitchcock eppo Korean padamlaam edutthaaru :P

15th April 2009, 09:53 PM
chi bi 2

Viv,

Indha (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1326972/) padamaa?

15th April 2009, 09:58 PM
saaringa... kanpees AyittEn.
Last movie thread-la pOtrukaNum..

15th April 2009, 10:07 PM
chi bi 2

Viv,

Indha (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1326972/) padamaa?

adhethan!

15th April 2009, 10:10 PM
1st part alavukku illainnu sonnangale :roll: Will watch both the parts :D

:ty: Viv

15th April 2009, 10:12 PM
1st part alavukku illainnu sonnangale :roll: Will watch both the parts :D

:ty: Viv

watch it ... sema entertainment.

21st April 2009, 09:12 PM
Il Mare (Korean) -Romance...One of the best movies i have seen of this genre...Beautiful music as well.

22nd April 2009, 05:33 PM
I saw Shaolin Soccer in Tamil....:lol2:

22nd April 2009, 05:41 PM
Il Mare (Korean) -Romance...One of the best movies i have seen of this genre...Beautiful music as well.

Cinematography too 8-) I liked the film more in second watch.

25th April 2009, 09:52 PM
200 Pounds Beauty (Korean) - These korean drama's / rom com's are pretty entertaining :thumbsup:

25th April 2009, 10:38 PM
:ty: Vicky for the title change. Sounds more apt now.

ArulprakasH
26th April 2009, 04:54 PM
The Classic (korean) :thumbsup:

26th April 2009, 11:39 PM
Chocolate (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoccbDV5NOI).

The film is pretty ordinary, but the stunts are awesome :thumbsup:

30th April 2009, 09:43 AM
My first movie of Acclaimed film maker Kurosawa

RAN - Visual Grandeur etched all over :notworthy:. Great Adaptation of Shakespeare's Tragedy King Lear(??). The fight scenes :thumbsup:

30th April 2009, 09:56 AM
My first movie of Acclaimed film maker Kurosawa

RAN - Visual Grandeur etched all over :notworthy:. Great Adaptation of Shakespeare's Tragedy King Lear(??). The fight scenes :thumbsup:
Welcome to the official Peter club of the hub 8-)

30th April 2009, 10:13 AM

30th April 2009, 09:56 PM
ithu ennadhu pudhusA? Hub groups-A?

30th April 2009, 10:17 PM
RAN - Visual Grandeur etched all over

O Anban, where art thou ?

1st May 2009, 05:08 AM
100 days with Mr. Arrogant.

13th May 2009, 12:51 AM
Saw parts of Windstruck again. Jyun Ji hun is impressive :thumbsup:

13th May 2009, 01:26 AM
Saw parts of Windstruck again. Jyun Ji hun is impressive :thumbsup:

Especially the first half :2thumbsup:

15th May 2009, 09:34 PM
The Audition :shock:

15th May 2009, 09:37 PM
The Audition :shock:
Aduthadhu Visitor Q, Ichi the Killer, Gozu ellAm pAkkanum in that order :twisted:

15th May 2009, 09:40 PM
same director-eh?

15th May 2009, 09:43 PM
Aamaam.

18th May 2009, 11:05 AM
Someone suggest me some impressive Martial Arts action movies which aren't the typical Lee-thal/ Chan-tastic types. Something like Tony Jaa or Chow Yun Fat types. Watched a Thai movie yesterday involving elephants... top notch entertainment! :P

18th May 2009, 01:32 PM
Venki,

Try Chocolate. Stunts are similar to Tony Jaa's. There is nothing to write about story/screenplay. Just stunts all through.

Prabo
18th May 2009, 11:14 PM
Someone suggest me some impressive Martial Arts action movies which aren't the typical Lee-thal/ Chan-tastic types. Something like Tony Jaa or Chow Yun Fat types. Watched a Thai movie yesterday involving elephants... top notch entertainment! :P

Martial Art'ae than venuma :)
Here are some Asian Action movies

Kill Zone(Sha Po Lang)
A Bittersweet Life
Fudoh: The New Generation & DoA (Takashi Miike movie)
The City of Violence
Initial D
Time and Tide
Full Time Killer
Big Bullet
Breaking News
Hard Boiled & The Killer

19th May 2009, 12:30 PM
Gonna watch Hard boiled next! Thanks a lot LM and Prabo! (Prabo- Awesome avatar! :P )

19th May 2009, 12:37 PM
Venki,

I'm sure you won't like Hard Boiled :P

19th May 2009, 08:56 PM
Started to watch the initial scenes of "Some one special".

Spoilers:
The movie is about a baseball player who was recently dumped by his girl friend. What more is that he learns from his doctor that he is not going to live the next year. Saddened extremely, he gets drunk and he picks up a friend in a girl bartender.

The movie was really good until that point of time. Bloody youtube had no volume after that :twisted:

19th May 2009, 09:14 PM
Thanks andi !!.

Martial Art'ae than venuma :)
Here are some Asian Action movies

Kill Zone(Sha Po Lang)
A Bittersweet Life
Fudoh: The New Generation & DoA (Takashi Miike movie)
The City of Violence
Initial D
Time and Tide
Full Time Killer
Big Bullet
Breaking News
Hard Boiled & The Killer

21st May 2009, 04:41 PM
Watched a Thai movie yesterday involving elephants... top notch entertainment! :P

Guess u r talking about Tom Yum Goong :)
Try Ong Bak 2. Now, thats what we call 'Action-packed'... 8-) (but, no story)

21st May 2009, 07:32 PM
Watched a Thai movie yesterday involving elephants... top notch entertainment! :P

Guess u r talking about Tom Yum Goong :)
Try Ong Bak 2. Now, thats what we call 'Action-packed'... 8-) (but, no story)

Yoga,

I heard there is not enough action (read hand fights) in the film :?

21st May 2009, 07:41 PM
Master, not enough action??? No way... Padam Arambathula irunthu kadaisi varaikkum fight pannittE thAn iruppAnungga...
I think Ong Bak 2 is just to show off their martial arts, nothing more. No story at all...
There are hand fights. :) Time kedaikkum pOthu pArungga.

21st May 2009, 08:42 PM
Wanted to watch it in big screen. Inimey downloadhaan :P

21st May 2009, 08:45 PM
LM/Vicky/Any other hubber

Have you guys seen Joint Security Area?. Padam eppidi?

21st May 2009, 08:57 PM
AF,

Heard it's a must watch. Naan innum pakkala :oops:

Prabo
24th May 2009, 08:37 PM
Suicide Club (Jisatsu saakuru)

Not that good as a whole movie, but that opening scene :shaking:

1st June 2009, 09:44 AM
Ok. The girl was adorable though.

"Some one special".

2nd June 2009, 03:20 AM

mHD download paNNunga master.. 2.4 GB I'll get it when coming to Madras, if you need it! Quality-nA idhu dhAn...

2nd June 2009, 11:04 AM

mHD download paNNunga master.. 2.4 GB I'll get it when coming to Madras, if you need it! Quality-nA idhu dhAn...

OK :D

4th June 2009, 08:11 AM
LM/Vicky/Any other hubber

Have you guys seen Joint Security Area?. Padam eppidi?

emotional drama between soldiers of opponent camps...sema interesting plot.

nalla padam..parunga...

indha padatha apdiye India- Pak base panni remake panlam.

also catch lady vengeance of park chan wook...u may like it as it is a "kill bill " type movie..

visually spectacular,female lead seeking vengeance and gruesome...its the final movie of the "vengeance trilogy...second being oldboy.

4th June 2009, 09:41 AM
Thanks vicky,

Actually I am trying to see both the 1st and 3rd films in the Vengeance Trilogy. I have to see JSA also. BTW, I think you know this this director's http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thirst_(2009_film) latest film has won the Jury Prize at this year's Cannes.

4th June 2009, 11:01 AM
Thanks vicky,

Actually I am trying to see both the 1st and 3rd films in the Vengeance Trilogy. I have to see JSA also. BTW, I think you know this this director's http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thirst_(2009_film) latest film has won the Jury Prize at this year's Cannes.

I havent heard abt this movie af

4th June 2009, 10:22 PM
The Art of seduction

Another Rom com with son ye jin in the lead. The plot is about two players(dating guru's) who try to match thier skills with each other. Very funny in parts and overall an good timepass for less than 100 minutes. With SYJ around, the movie is too beautiful as she looks damm gorgeous.

13th July 2009, 11:55 AM
Sympathy for Lady Vengeance

The first one hour is like what is this what are we up to here and where is the real vengeance. But they all set you up for the last 40 minutes and they can get on to you. Riveting film. Not for everybody.

14th July 2009, 08:56 PM

OK :D

hd-united.com or else by this friday..! :D

14th July 2009, 09:11 PM
Venki,

Where can we get mHD links (ddl/torrents)?

14th July 2009, 11:09 PM
Venki,

Where can we get mHD links (ddl/torrents)?

Torrents ellAm Old fashion master. Trust ddl.. only mediafire.

19th July 2009, 10:48 PM
The Chaser (Korean) (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1190539/)

An ex-cop turned pimp is extremely annoyed at some of his girls mysteriously running away from him. When he learns that the girl that he just sent a few minutes back is also missing, he tries to track her down and how he unravels the mystery forms the rest of the story. Intense, gripping and intelligent. Absolutely recommended. But be warned that the violence is very graphic.

Hub korean film critics, idha pAkkaliyaa? Louu stories mattum dhaan pappeengalaa :P

20th July 2009, 08:56 AM
I have seen this film. Not sure If I posted about this or not.

24th July 2009, 01:39 AM
http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1810091748/trailer

A small clip from Director Park chan wook's(Vengeance Trilogy, Joint Security Area) latest film Thirst.

24th July 2009, 06:17 AM
Feddy, LM, Nerd & Venky - Red Cliff 2 pArthAchA??? :)

24th July 2009, 10:15 AM
Innum first part-e pakkala :oops: DL panna mudiyala :(

24th July 2009, 11:27 AM
Joint security area - Fantastic :notworthy:.

24th July 2009, 04:44 PM

24th July 2009, 08:44 PM
Red cliff eh?. 2nd part aa??. :oops:

24th July 2009, 08:58 PM
Red Cliff 2 pArthAchA??? :)

Climaxla than tamil masala padam maadhiri irundhuchu...heroine kaluthu la kathi vechu meratti adhagalam pannainga

Overall sema action adventure....

indha motha kadhayume figurukagathaan....oru figurukaga athana akurumam pannirukainganu ninaikum bodhu...odambellam pullarikudhu

24th July 2009, 09:04 PM
Good movie. Well shot within the canvas of the DMZ. Even the plot is simple but it is superbly executed.

Spoilers!!!
A couple of shots fired!.
Who fired whom?.
What are the witnesses accounts?.
Why does a South Korean guy be in the North Korean zone?.
How does the investigator found them out?.
Whomever found Non - Linear screenplay deserves multiple :notworthy: and so does Park chan wook. The good thing about most korean films i have watched are they end pretty quickly and they never waste your time.

24th July 2009, 09:07 PM
af,
Korean movies entertaininga irukkum...art movie...class moviengra perula kaduppa kelappa matainga..

romance or action...full flowla irukkum

24th July 2009, 09:08 PM
Point :exactly:.

af,
Korean movies entertaininga irukkum...art movie...class moviengra perula kaduppa kelappa matainga..

romance or action...full flowla irukkum

24th July 2009, 09:11 PM
Read in wiki that

Will smith wants to remake OLDBOY without the incest and the octopus eating scene.

24th July 2009, 09:12 PM
subtlety apdingra peche illa!

Point :exactly:.

af,

romance or action...ful flowla irukkum

25th July 2009, 09:54 PM

pala mAsamA HDD-la irukku... pArkaNum :P

Read in wiki that

Will smith wants to remake OLDBOY without the incest and the octopus eating scene.
adhu thAn matter-E!

Guess_Me
12th August 2009, 10:54 AM
Read in wiki that

He better remake Sanjay Dutt's Zinda (2006) then.

4th October 2009, 12:01 AM
After a long time pending

Infernal Affairs (2002) - Very very crisp for 103 minutes.

4th October 2009, 06:25 AM
Welcome back AF :D

11th November 2009, 08:45 PM
Taegukgi :clap:.

Thanks k_g :).

11th November 2009, 10:22 PM
Now - Brotherhood or JSA :?:

12th November 2009, 08:09 AM
Has to be Taegukgi :D

15th November 2009, 02:10 PM
In the mood for Love - Excellent Acting from both Tony Leung and Maggie cheung. Potti pottutu nadikuraanga. That soothing bgm in several scenes of the movie :musicsmile:.

15th November 2009, 11:26 PM
The atmosphere of the apartment and the film, is terrific. Perhaps the title alludes to Wong Kar-Wai's solemn hymn of 60's Hong Kong. Present day desolate Utopian skyscrapers is not his cup of tea. And I love that!

16th November 2009, 12:43 AM
The film was terrific k_g. The best thing is we never were shown who are Mr. Chan and Mrs. Chow. I have never seen a delicate and complex relationship like that been bought on screen so beautifully. :clap: to both the actors.

16th November 2009, 12:53 AM
In the Mood for Love - Slow motion feelings Yumeji's Theme (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsCQ4UqHxTE)

Can't help but thinking about our ilaiyaraja whenever i hear this.

16th November 2009, 09:35 AM
The film was terrific k_g. The best thing is we never were shown who are Mr. Chan and Mrs. Chow. I have never seen a delicate and complex relationship like that been bought on screen so beautifully. :clap: to both the actors.

Yep, we only hear both. I imagined them desolate and deprave. :lol: It was a wise decision to let us form the unknown.

Yes, Actors were both amazing. Tony Leung and Maggie cheung are like Pitt and Blanchett of Asian cinema. Sorry Ms Cheung, Gong Li is Asian Meryl Streep (Faye Dunaway to some others). 8-) I also like Brigitte Lin. An ethereal actress with no parallel. :notworthy:

16th November 2009, 03:03 PM
Lust, Caution - Very well made no doubt but whats with these explicit sex scenes. After a point it was nauseating. The female spy did everything only to spoil it at the last moment?? :huh:. Is this a true story?

16th November 2009, 08:28 PM
Lust, Caution - Very well made no doubt but whats with these explicit sex scenes.
Downloaded it long back. ippO udanE pAthiduREn :P

18th November 2009, 03:32 AM
In the mood for Love - Excellent Acting from both Tony Leung and Maggie cheung. Potti pottutu nadikuraanga. That soothing bgm in several scenes of the movie :musicsmile:.

Link please.

18th November 2009, 09:11 AM
No ling(s). Watched it on Netflix (http://www.netflix.com/).

Link please.

21st November 2009, 12:38 AM
Red Cliff part 1 opens today in the US but there are no showtimes in philadelphia.

21st November 2009, 05:25 AM
k_g. Thought this would interest you. There are 4 links in youtube. 3 of them are deleted scenes titled "Secrets of Room 2046" "In the 1970's" and "Days in Singapore". The 4th one is an alternate ending. I found them to be very good.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=%22In+The+Mood+For+Love%22+De leted+Scene+&search_type=&aq=f

Yep, we only hear both. I imagined them desolate and deprave. :lol: It was a wise decision to let us form the unknown.

Yes, Actors were both amazing. Tony Leung and Maggie cheung are like Pitt and Blanchett of Asian cinema. Sorry Ms Cheung, Gong Li is Asian Meryl Streep (Faye Dunaway to some others). 8-) I also like Brigitte Lin. An ethereal actress with no parallel. :notworthy:

21st November 2009, 09:05 AM
Red Cliff part 1 opens today in the US but there are no showtimes in philadelphia.

theatrela paaka chumma gummunnu irukkum :)

24th November 2009, 04:05 AM
http://asianmediawiki.com/Main_Page

A site which may be of interest to some.

27th November 2009, 10:36 PM
k_g. Thought this would interest you. There are 4 links in youtube. 3 of them are deleted scenes titled "Secrets of Room 2046" "In the 1970's" and "Days in Singapore". The 4th one is an alternate ending. I found them to be very good.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=%22In+The+Mood+For+Love%22+De leted+Scene+&search_type=&aq=f

30th November 2009, 03:10 AM

Link please.

paathutean !! Liked the movie. Planning to watch 2046 soon. have you seen 2046?

Mrs Chan was awesome.

Bgm and photography was good :bow:

30th November 2009, 03:51 AM
Yep two days back. 2046 is very different from ITMFL. It has 4 different story tracks and it can be quite confusing. There is a sci-fi love track too. I didnt like this much compared to ITMFL.

Link please.

paathutean !! Liked the movie. Planning to watch 2046 soon. have you seen 2046?

Mrs Chan was awesome.

Bgm and photography was good :bow:

1st December 2009, 06:16 PM
Who slept with her (Korean) - :rotfl2:

An strict high school teacher is on a mission to find out as who had sex with the high school's gorgeously hot new trainee teacher is the crux of the movie.

enna oru kansept. enna oru thinking. Camaan ya :notworthy:

P.S: It's an adult - raunchy comedy, Not for everybody.

Watched this yesterday. Edhirpaartha alavukku comedy-a illa :? But the scene where that older looking student's parents talk to his teacher was :rotfl2:

Dinesh84
1st December 2009, 06:30 PM
CJ7 by Stephen Chow is a good movie to watch.. :)

24th December 2009, 08:13 AM
Seven Samurai - Very well done. The acting was excellent from all the characters from the villagers to the samurai's. No scene was unnecessary. The place really looked from the late 1500's. Toshiro Mifune was very funny and acted exceptionally well. The thumping bgm during the title cards and during the war buildup scenes was very good. A bit lengthy i felt as it ran for 206 minutes.

Kurosawa :clap:

25th December 2009, 01:53 AM
Toshiro Mifune was very funny and acted exceptionally well.

One could see why this man features a lot in Akira's oeuvre. His acting is pure genius in Rashomon too. He steals the spotlight! 8-)

28th December 2009, 09:49 PM
Rashomon : Well taken but what's the point in just showing 4 contradicting stories about an incident. Thank god the film was just for 88 minutes.

10th January 2010, 09:27 PM
Kung Fu Hustle - :cool2:

Chow :2thumbsup:

11th January 2010, 09:58 AM
Rashomon : Well taken but what's the point in just showing 4 contradicting stories about an incident. Thank god the film was just for 88 minutes.

"Truth ?" said the Pilate "what is that ?"

11th January 2010, 10:10 AM
puriala??

"Truth ?" said the Pilate "what is that ?"

14th February 2010, 09:06 AM
Love Now aka Changing Partners - Korean (2007) :clap: :clap:

Padathai edukka sonna kaaviyathai edukuraangappa. Nalla nadichirukaainga all the 4 leads. A story very much believable and happening across the globe. I so liked the girl Han Chae Young's acting.

17th February 2010, 07:31 AM
Yojimbo - :thumbsup:

Toshiro Mifune 8-)

17th February 2010, 02:09 PM

Toshiro Mifune 8-)Evidence of genuine inspiration for Clint :)

17th February 2010, 08:31 PM

Toshiro Mifune 8-)
8-)

28th February 2010, 11:40 AM
Memories of Murder :thumbsup:

Good , taut thriller .

Based on true story took place in the late 80s to early 90s in Korea. :shock: No clue about the murderer.

Similar movie : fincher`s Zodiac

Kambar_Kannagi
1st March 2010, 07:59 AM
14 Blades

வழக்கம் போல - stunts :clap:
Donnie Yen :thumbsup:

கண்டிப்பாக பார்க்கலாம்... :)

3rd March 2010, 10:34 AM
The Hidden Fortress :clap: :clap: :clap:

Wonderful acting by everybody the two peasants, the princess and Toshiro Mifune. The canvas is wonderfully brought on screen. The effort shows up great in the film. An absolute lesson in great film making.

Kurosawa(r) :bow:

4th March 2010, 09:11 PM
Sanjuro - A good sequel to Yojimbo. Toshiro Mifune does a great job as usual. Kurosawa(r) does a great job to make every scene engaging. Acting was wonderful as usual. Fine, fine film for less than 100 minutes.

6th March 2010, 09:58 AM
High and Low - Kurosawar :bow: :bow: :bow:

What a fine noir thriller. What a finely written film. The depth of background research shows in the investigation scenes. A very cleverly conceptualized film. The bullet train scenes were very good. And the year was 1963. The investigating officer did his role very well. He is nobody but the villain in Yojimbo/Sanjuro. It was good to see Toshiro Mifune out of samurai costumes. How come everybody acts so well in his films?. Next in the pipeline will be Ikiru.

6th March 2010, 12:46 PM
Feddy,
I strongly urge you to see Ran

9th March 2010, 12:05 AM
Bala

I have seen Ran before but if i get a chance i will watch it again.

15th March 2010, 10:52 PM
3-iron (Korean) - A very very different movie. The protagonist is a guy who breaks in and lives in empty apartments/houses and does small household things for them when the owners are away. He doesn't steal any of their stuff. Some times he is lucky not to get caught and sometimes he is not. The hero and the heroine don't speak to each other throughout the film. Ennannellam yosichu padam edukkuraanga. I don't want to spoil more. See the film for yourself.

P.S: What an idea to hit by golf balls.

18th March 2010, 07:19 PM
saw the final part of the Vengeance triology, Sympathy for lady vengeance. yet to watch the first of the triology "Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance".

The movie is stylish, BGM and photography are good. The violence in the movie is less compared to Old Boy, not sure if its intentional one. This movie is defn below OB, neverthless its a good one esp the last 30 minutes.

24th March 2010, 10:49 AM
23 Tuesday

6:00 AM Sanshiro Sugata (1943)
A young man struggles to learn the ssence of the martial arts. Cast: Ryunosuke Tsukigata, Akitake Kono, Shoji Kiyokawa. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-79 mins, TV-PG

7:30 AM Most Beautiful, The (1944)
Japanese women sacrifice everything for the war effort. Cast: Takashi Shimura, Shoji Kiyokawa, Ichiro Sugai. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-85 mins, TV-PG

9:00 AM Men Who Tread on the Tiger's Tail, The (1945)
In medieval Japan, a feudal lord undertakes a perilous mission to put his brother's soul to rest. Cast: Kenjiro Okochi, Susumu Fujita, Kenichi Enomoto. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-59 mins, TV-PG

10:00 AM Sanshiro Sugata Part 2 (1945)
A judo fighter continues his training to prove his superiority to foreign challengers. Cast: Denjiro Okochi, Susumu Fujita, Ryunosuke Tsukigata. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-82 mins, TV-PG

11:30 AM No Regrets For Our Youth (1946)
A woman flees society after seeing her father and lover destroyed by government oppression. Cast: Danjiro Oicochi, Eiko Miyoshi, Setsuko Hara. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-110 mins, TV-PG

1:30 PM One Wonderful Sunday (1947)
An engaged couple tries to enjoy their Sunday holiday without spending any money. Cast: Midori Ariyama, Chieko Nakakita, Isao Numasaiki. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-109 mins, TV-PG

3:30 PM Drunken Angel (1948)
An alcoholic doctor builds a shaky friendship with a dying gangster. Cast: Takashi Shimura, Toshiro Mifune, Reizaburo Yamamoto. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-98 mins, TV-PG, CC

5:19 PM Short Film: Dogs 'N Ducks (1953)
BW-10 mins,

5:30 PM Stray Dog (1949)
When a detective's gun is stolen, he tears apart the underworld to get it back. Cast: Toshiro Mifune, Takashi, Shimamura, Keiko Awaji. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-122 mins, TV-PG

8:00 PM Rashomon (1950)
In medieval Japan, four people offer conflicting accounts of a rape and murder. Cast: Toshiro Mifune, Machiko Kyo, Masayuki Mori. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-88 mins, TV-PG

9:30 PM Seven Samurai (1954)
Japanese villagers hire a team of traveling samurai to defend them against a bandit attack. Cast: Toshiro Mifune, Takashi Shimura, Kuninori Kodo. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-207 mins, TV-14

1:00 AM Yojimbo (1961)
A samurai-for-hire sets the warring factions of a Japanese town against each other. Cast: Toshiro Mifune, Eijiro Tono, Seizaburo Kawazu. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-111 mins, TV-14, Letterbox Format

3:00 AM Sanjuro (1962)
A wandering samurai recruits younger fighters to help him battle corruption. Cast: Toshiro Mifune, Tatsuya Hakadai, Yuzo Kayama. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. BW-96 mins, TV-14, Letterbox Format

4:45 AM Dodes 'Ka-Den (1970)
Slum dwellers in Tokyo fight to survive while dreaming of better lives. Cast: Yoshitaka Zushi, Kin Sugai, Kaou Kato. Dir: Akira Kurosawa. C-140 mins, TV-14

Movies that were aired today in Turner Classic Movies to honor kurosawa.

http://www.tcm.com/thismonth/article/?cid=290029

24th March 2010, 02:08 PM
We used to have TCM, now no more :cry:

27th March 2010, 04:42 AM
http://www.acepilots.com/discussions/rashomon.html

Rashomon commentary.

28th March 2010, 12:56 PM
3-iron (Korean) - A very very different movie. The protagonist is a guy who breaks in and lives in empty apartments/houses and does small household things for them when the owners are away. He doesn't steal any of their stuff. Some times he is lucky not to get caught and sometimes he is not. The hero and the heroine don't speak to each other throughout the film. Ennannellam yosichu padam edukkuraanga. I don't want to spoil more. See the film for yourself.

P.S: What an idea to hit by golf balls.

He steals their life in those hours :)

Golf balls edhukunnu purila...

2nd April 2010, 07:55 AM
Stray Dog (Kurosawar - Japanese)

A homicide detective officer loses his gun in a bus and he wants to retrieve it anyhow. The film takes a philosphical turn when people are murdered from his pistol bullets and he feels its his responsible to nab the killer. Toshiro Mifune and Takashi Shimura are excellent as usual and especially Mifune looks so elegant and handsome. I would not say this is Kurosawar's best but it is a very good watch.

Kambar_Kannagi
2nd April 2010, 08:03 AM
Confucius (Chinese)

Based on the life of legendary Chinese social philosopher Confucius (551-479 BCE)... Chow Yun-fat gave a neat performance. :)
Strictly not for typical Thamiz movie watchers...

Prabo
31st May 2010, 10:17 PM
Memories of murder - Awesome :notworthy:
The film unfolds lazily and the same tempo is maintained throughout the movie, things seem to happen slowly, may be portraying the state of the rural town. Its yet another serial killing psycho story but not just concentrates on the killer or his victim or his methods/reasons, instead it mainly concentrates on the happenings surrounding serial killings. There are some chilling moments; rain, sad song broad casted on radio, women in red dress, dark fields, serial killer really creates panic. Cinematography is topnotch. Characters and acting are perfect. Laced with wry comedy and philosophical touch, the movie marches towards the perfect climax and leaves a lump in throat. People who liked 'Zodiac' might like this very much.

There is one railway tunnel scene near the climax, I think there is very similar scene in the movie 'Brick', may be inspired from this one.

Jyothsna
8th June 2010, 12:40 PM
The Classic- I liked the first half a lot, i was watching the first half with a smile , but then i lost interest in the second half because of over melodrama.

Excellent music and cinematography. The scene in which they run to library in rain was too good.

18th June 2010, 02:19 AM
LM/Vicky/KG

Have you guys watched "Welcome to Dongmakgol"?. Few words please.

18th June 2010, 08:30 AM
LM/Vicky/KG

Nope!

But I have seen this movie recommended in the imdb forums(korean movie sections) many times. Should be a good watch :)

18th June 2010, 03:55 PM
Not yet, Feddy

18th June 2010, 07:54 PM
LM/Vicky/KG

Nope!

But I have seen this movie recommended in the imdb forums(korean movie sections) many times. Should be a good watch :)

Ditto!

18th June 2010, 08:39 PM
Thanks Guys. It's in youtube (HQ) if you guys are interested.

18th June 2010, 10:13 PM
Memories of Murder - Good.

25th June 2010, 10:51 PM

Watched the film yesterday. Not as funny as I expected, still a good watch. Agree about female lead. Her antics were :lol:

28th June 2010, 12:51 AM
Red Cliff(2008)- Good. A nice setup of the invasion along with the planning and the fights make up for a good watch. All the actors acted very well especially Tony Leung. It is visually spectacular for an Asian film. Effects are on par for a Hollywood film. I saw the Western Release which ran for 148 minutes. Did the film release in 2 parts?.

28th June 2010, 10:14 AM
Yes, there is a sequel.

29th June 2010, 11:00 PM
The Western Release is trimmed for 148 minutes. It includes scenes from both 1 and 2 and released as a single film. I would like to see the original version of part 1 (140) and part 2(148) minutes separately.

30th June 2010, 11:44 PM
:lol:.

Watched the film yesterday. Not as funny as I expected, still a good watch. Agree about female lead. Her antics were :lol:

1st July 2010, 12:02 AM
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0901487/

did anyone see the movie?

1st July 2010, 09:09 AM

Yes, enjoyable movie. very high production values.

Kambar_Kannagi
1st July 2010, 09:14 AM
Red Cliff(2008)- Good. A nice setup of the invasion along with the planning and the fights make up for a good watch. All the actors acted very well especially Tony Leung. It is visually spectacular for an Asian film. Effects are on par for a Hollywood film. I saw the Western Release which ran for 148 minutes. Did the film release in 2 parts?.

Watched this and the sequel in theatre. PrammAndham :cool:
The kind of strategy they use for wars. :bow:
Do catch the sequel. :)

P.S Kamal did talk about this movie in one of the interviews during 50 years fecilitation.

Prabo
1st July 2010, 08:23 PM

Stylish axn/adventure movie. Long gun fights and chase sequences with twist in the climax. Not on par with the directors earlier 2 movies, but can be seen once, nothing great.

9th August 2010, 01:19 AM
"The classic" - the soundtrack was beautiful.

Jyothsna
10th August 2010, 04:53 PM
The Way Home- What a movie.. :notworthy: :notworthy: Enna solrathune theriyala.. Enna oru negilchiyana anubavam :notworthy:

AravindMano
23rd August 2010, 03:40 PM
[tscii:53c775dd68]Two Asian films over the weekend.

One, not completely, revisited parts of ‘In The Mood For Love’ – deleted scenes and selected scenes in youtube and all scenes that accompany the haunting theme music – the only scene in which both the couples are present, with the lead pair walking in and walking out of the room - the scene at the noodle shop - simply enchanting. This one is way up in my favourites, creates the mood for love impeccably. Mis-en-scene at it’s best.

Two – flavor of the season, current Asian sensation, the vaLarum kalaignar whose name can only be copy-pasted from Wiki , who made the film which has this-title-that-begins-with-Uncle-Boonmee-and-many-more-words-following-it that won the recent Palme d’Or - Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s Sud Pralad. (In case you missed the apostrophe, the first two words are the director’s name and the later two the film’s name). English title – Tropical Malady. Bewildering experiment. orE the astonishment & orE the impressive. By calling bewildering I mean mystifying more than confusing as I was more impressed with its tone and approach rather than what it intended to say. The metaphysical baggage, the allegorical references etc., looked too literal at first, but was captivating as it proceeded. I can already see this one becoming a favorite after repeated viewings. Popular critics and trusted bloggers call this one as the film of that decade. Already chewing on this film like a lazy cow. Those chilling moments, defining moments etc., Lined up his earlier films as well. And for people who are blessed with both the inability to sit through prolonged shots of darkness & sleep troubles – this is a must watch.
[/tscii:53c775dd68]

23rd August 2010, 04:57 PM
"Syndromes and a Century" next. After that, you move on to Jia ZhangKe. :D

23rd August 2010, 05:02 PM
Apichatpong Weerasethakul :lol:
oru David, Boon, Richard , anthOny ippidi pEr vaichukkappadaadhu

AravindMano
23rd August 2010, 05:09 PM
Doctor, as prescribed! Thanks.

P_R - He himself feels quite shy about his name :P He prefers to be called as Joe.

AravindMano
23rd August 2010, 05:13 PM

oh, have seen this gentleman's 'Still Life'. (Just checked in Wiki). Had noted down 'Platform' from some site. Done!

23rd August 2010, 05:15 PM

oh, have seen this gentleman's 'Still Life'. (Just checked in Wiki). Had noted down 'Platform' from some site. Done!

Yeah, I've seen both - Still life and Platform. And also '24 City', and 'The World'. One of the filmmakers of the decade.

AravindMano
23rd August 2010, 05:33 PM
Sounds orE the exciting! Sure.

Jyothsna
26th August 2010, 02:07 PM
A Moment to Remember- Another alzheimer based movie.. Liked the first half and second half was little boring.

28th August 2010, 12:28 AM
:clap: :clap: :clap:. Ninga namba settu.

[tscii]Two Asian films over the weekend.

One, not completely, revisited parts of ‘In The Mood For Love’ – deleted scenes and selected scenes in youtube and all scenes that accompany the haunting theme music – the only scene in which both the couples are present, with the lead pair walking in and walking out of the room - the scene at the noodle shop - simply enchanting. This one is way up in my favourites, creates the mood for love impeccably. Mis-en-scene at it’s best.

AravindMano
28th August 2010, 11:08 AM
:clap: :clap: :clap:. Ninga namba settu.

[tscii]Two Asian films over the weekend.

:2thumbsup:

24th September 2010, 01:20 AM
Revisiting Windstruck Randomly

Jun Ji Hyun :bow:.

Welcome to Dongmakgol - Another fine film. Recommended to like minded viewers. :D

AravindMano
11th October 2010, 10:46 AM
Tokyo Sonata. Started well with a simple premise, progressed expectedly, followed up with a bizarre detour and quite a rewarding end.

3rd January 2011, 03:41 AM
The Good, the Bad, the Weird

Crazy ass Korean Western film. Good Entertainment.

24th January 2011, 02:33 PM
Good bad and the weird

This guy Ji-woon Kim has some style...all his movies that I have watched are aesthetically too good. As the original, the funny weird charecter stole the show when compared to the other two guys..

We get to hear the famous kill bill song "please dont let me be misunderstood" in one of the important sequence...even the thought of Tarantino remaking the original leone - eastwood classic is mouth watering....tarantino must make a western..pure western..

25th January 2011, 01:18 AM
Vicky :D 8-).

15th February 2011, 07:06 PM
Speaking of Kim. "I Saw the Devil" is another #WIN (4th one in a row!) Following psychological horror, existential mob drama, & kimichi-western, Kim takes on serial killer/revenge flick in mold of Heat/FaceOff/The Dark Knight! Like all his previous films, it's the surface that he's most interested in. He scratches it, even if barely, for the ridges (Futility of revenge, disparity of other forms of violence in face of rape, and so on.) to be made felt. But it's the immediacy of the faceoff, & carnal violence that one finds gripping. It feels weak when it explores adultery that borders on statutory rape. But it also seems like Kim doesn't want our 'consent'. He takes the genre to unknown territory (breaks the convention like all his previous films without seeming like empty gimmicks!), and for the first time (at least to me), unfolds with a seamless narrative (the plot-points seem less wrinkled). The most fascinating aspect of Kim is mood control (take all the bouts of silence between the explosive action setpieces of TGTB&TW). If it's Leone, Melville, or the Hongkong masters in his previous films, with ISTD he tries to marry Fincher to Cronenberg by the way of Mann & Nolan. This is a schizophrenic mix, but Kim pulls it off.

All said, a much more worthwhile experience (than films nominated for Oscar this year). Contains my favorite opening sequence of the year. And contains my fav. performances of 2010. Oldboy's Choi min-sik returns (if Dae-su kicked off the early part of 2000's with one of the rawest performances of all time, Kyung-Chul in flesh and blood seems to be a concoction of Stuntman Mike & Max Cady with Ledger thrown in for bouts of irreverence & vanity! But it all seems organic like Min-Sik could only be!) Mr.Lee lives up to the 'Korean Delon' tag bestowed on him post-Bittersweet Life.

18th February 2011, 02:20 PM
Thanks to Grouch, I got the English/Holly equivalent of Choi min-sik - Gary Oldman !

18th February 2011, 02:39 PM
Eh, Oh. Remember reading about him in this entry in Cracked.com (http://www.cracked.com/funny-4906-method-actors/)

18th February 2011, 02:47 PM
Ah, spot the odd Carrey out. Ha ha. Good list that, De niro, DDL, C-M-S, and even Bale. One can't truly know the intricacies of their 'methodical' approach, but I suppose the idea is to be fully transformed at end of it. Which they all do, for my money..

18th February 2011, 02:52 PM
DDL's are insane! Gosh, the dedication to the craft.

18th February 2011, 03:53 PM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?9163-Oustanding-haunting-Memorable-performances-of-the-decade

Kamaan!

arthi2780
18th February 2011, 08:10 PM
Here are a few Genre:Horror movies from Asian cinema :

The Shutter (2004) By Pang Brothers
Cello (2005) By Woo-cheol Lee
Infection (2004) By Masayuki Ochiai
Dead Friend (2004) By Tae-kyeong Kim
A Tale of Two Sisters (2003) By Ji-woon Kim
Sigaw (2004) By Yam laranas
Eye 1 (2002) By Pang Brothers
Eye 2 (2004) By Pang Brothers
Muoi (2007) By Tae-kyeong Kim
Re-cycle (2006) By Pang Brothers
Face (2004) By Sang-Gon Yoo
Koma (2004) By Chi-Leung Law

Most of the movies will have a weird twist in the end ... I will post a list of Drama/Thrillers later.

20th February 2011, 03:29 PM
Not seen quite a lot in this genre. But whatever I've seen have been extremely informed by online film journals, and therefore ALL make up the list. Especially last decade belongs to Asian Horror (and my favorite from the West in 2000's is Swedish "Let the right one in".)
"Pulse" by Kiyoshi Kurasawa,
"A Tale of Two Sisters" by Ji-woon Kim,
"Audition" by Miike,
"Thirst" by Chan-Wook Park,
"Strange Circus" by Sono (his "Love Exposure" made my decade's best list),
"Three..Extremes" (Miike, Park and Chan in order),
"Battle Royale".

We love making lists don't we! In that spirit, the classic Asian horror:
Korean "The Housemaid" (the original one),
Vengeance Is Mine" by Imamura,
"Onibaba" by Shinde, "Kwaidan" by Kobayashi,
"Ugetsu" by Mizoguchi,
"Face of Another" by Teshigahara,
"Jigoku" by Nakagawa.

Asian cinema rocks!

kubrick
22nd February 2011, 12:10 AM
Watched Kokuhaku(Confessions) sometime back. The story is of a thriller but it transcends the genre and becomes more of a drama and I felt it to be intentionally done. It was a nice movie.

27th February 2011, 12:47 AM
The Chaser
Shift delete

The first chase after the accident was the only interesting part in the whole film. They didn't know when to stop, how to make it 'thrilling'. Idhula naduvula social commentary, humanisaum vEra. 'shabbA.

BM
27th February 2011, 04:46 AM
No Mercy (Korean).

27th February 2011, 07:56 AM
The Chaser
Shift delete

The first chase after the accident was the only interesting part in the whole film. They didn't know when to stop, how to make it 'thrilling'. Idhula naduvula social commentary, humanisaum vEra. 'shabbA.

Nerd engirundhaalum medaikku varavum!!

27th February 2011, 01:38 PM
I don't think I wrote here but I too liked the film Chaser.

PR :noteeth:

27th February 2011, 09:11 PM
Nerd engirundhaalum medaikku varavum!!
Actually I completely forgot about the film. I went to imdb, still could not remember anything. Went to wiki to read the entire plot, halfway through I was able to recollect. Then I went back in this thread to look for my post about the film :oops:

Anyway (think) I found the film very thrilling and supremely entertaining.

arthi2780
28th February 2011, 09:44 PM
Running Tortoise - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1517239/

1st March 2011, 01:59 PM
I go with Nerd. Like most Korean films, it manages to be gripping in a very classical sense using keys, cellphones, tower level, labyrinth like streets, handcuffs, shrapnel, hammer, and so on. Weak when it suddenly uses a bunch of narrative tricks to earn our feelings for the 'one last victim' (who could be salvaged) & then go on to turn our gaze to the victim's as we're proved wrong. The massacre itself is choreographed with empty virtuosity.

It's no "Memories of Murder" in showcasing Korean police force's investigative shortcomings, or "I Saw the Devil" in macabre-level vengeance seeking FaceOff. The informative tidbits about the Serial killer, much like the killing sequences itself, shoddily opened-up. All the "suggestive" bits (artistic curiosity, religiously inclined torture methods/techniques, impotence, and so on) were nullified by quirky Slasher-esque demon-looking performance. The only great thing about it is the lead performance of "chaser", nearly Choi-min sik level in later stages.

1st March 2011, 03:20 PM
Yes. I liked Chaser too. My wife swallowed 2 mosquitoes in the process of watching this film.

Kid,

Any idea about 'The man from nowhere'?

1st March 2011, 03:28 PM
Nerd, K-g, my prob. is I didn't find it thrilling.
After he is arrested and taken to the station the film confused me - in terms of 'what are they going for'. The bungling system, the topcops having their own issues/agenda, the pimp being the only one who is on-target, his search and piecing things together as he proceeds, unrestrained whacko, having to release him, the murders in all detail.

Too many things stuffed into twelve hours: Finds the girl, girl gets lost, chase again, drops asstend to search, buy soup, hospitalize, go out to do stuff, come back to bedside, gael escape, scary(?), coat clad, clobberfest fights....with no thrill at all. I found it quite tedious. pOdhAkkuRaikku I have little appetite for explicit stuff. adhunaala total damage.

1st March 2011, 04:53 PM
Well of course, it's not that thrilling, which is why I opt for 'gripping' in my post.

1st March 2011, 05:10 PM
Well of course, it's not that thrilling, which is why I opt for 'gripping' in my post. :D Oh idhula reNdu koalty irukkA

1st March 2011, 07:14 PM
:D Oh idhula reNdu koalty irukkA

Achually I found the memories of murder to be 'WTF was that' when it ended, much like zodiac, enakkum mudivu (or at least left to audience interpretation) irundhaa dhaan pudikkin. Now this is a spoiler, but I am only doing those who have not seen a favor :lol2:

1st March 2011, 07:19 PM
:D Oh idhula reNdu koalty irukkA

The anticipation & anxiety of what I'm going to say is the 'thrill'. But if I held your attention throughout, I could be fairly confident of my 'grip', I never intended to 'thrill', it's not my fault you came looking for it! :lol2:

30th March 2011, 05:56 AM
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/24774_373452479619_582719619_3729959_8382381_n.jpg

Recently watched !!

30th March 2011, 10:21 AM
watched "Robin B. Hood" with Jackie Chan
like two men with a baby (a real cutie) who (surprise!) are conmen
of course great stunt scenes
especially in their apartment when overrun by henchmen
just a fun watch overall

actually one great (outtake) scene is when Jackie jumps out a window,
clambers down a wall, lands and jumps to the ground and without losing speed runs to meet
an officer who messes up his one line to which Jackie yells "stop messing up your one liner now I have to do all that in one take again!!"

Balaji.r
23rd August 2011, 12:16 AM
Madeo a.k.a mother.

sumaar ragam.

28th August 2011, 07:25 AM
I Saw the Devil - most brutal film I have seen. I found few of the plot points very convenient, but that was negligible. Never knew a serial killer film can be shot this beautiful. Top class cinematography :thumbsup:

31st August 2011, 11:39 PM
Yojimbo

If only I had the ability to like a series of great sequences, 'genre exercises'....

Not as wholesome as Seven Samurai.

1st September 2011, 04:47 AM
Toshiro Mifune oozes excellence in the film.
Yojimbo

If only I had the ability to like a series of great sequences, 'genre exercises'....

Not as wholesome as Seven Samurai.

14th September 2011, 08:44 AM
After a good 2 and a half (Indha 2 1/2 ennai vidadhu pola)years I am watching My Sassy Girl (2001) again. What a funny ass film. :clap: Yenda indha madhiri ellam Tamil la edukka maatinguringa. Chai.

14th September 2011, 11:03 AM
Shush! Be careful, Venkat Prabhu might hear you.:smile:

15th September 2011, 06:39 AM
I saw the devil - It's official now. Koreans are the most twisted screenplay thinkers in the world. Great choices of both Protoganist and the antagonist. The knife stab scene in the car can put almost all H/W stunt choreographers to shame. Kalaasal.

15th September 2011, 09:02 AM
The knife stab scene in the car can put almost all H/W stunt choreographers to shame. Kalaasal.

Haha, that scene was totally wacky and unexpected.

Stiglitz
12th October 2011, 06:05 PM
I saw Noroi The Curse a few days ago... Mindf*cking i must say...

22nd October 2011, 12:21 AM
Departures (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1069238/). Man, how do they even think of these stories :notworthy: A poignant film, though a little sappy towards the end.

22nd October 2011, 01:15 AM
A takeoff from the excellent Six Feet Under (Starring Dexter's Michael C Hall), I'd think.

22nd October 2011, 08:16 AM
Will check that one too :)

5th November 2011, 08:49 AM
The Man from Nowhere (Korean) - Along the lines of Taken/Man on Fire, but have a more serious tone. Action scenes were great. Quite predictable, but that's fine.

14th April 2012, 12:41 PM
Damm, It's time to watch some Korean films. One of the craziest street fights i've seen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Gmyoclyl1I&feature=related

Saai
26th November 2013, 11:43 PM
New World - Korean

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2625030/

Must Watch!

28th March 2014, 06:37 AM
Snowpiercer
Written & Directed by Bong Joon-Ho (Barking Dogs Never Bite, Memories of Murder, The Host, etc.,)

Starring : Chris Evans (Captain America Series), Song Kang-ho (Vengence Series, The Host, "The Good, the Bad, the Weird"), John Hurt with Ed Harris

Its not a full fledged Korean Film, but an universal one with 80% of conversations in English. A very well thought about concept with some stunning survial theme. Not a breakfast hollywood disaster movie, but an elegant touch of Korean film making. A glad news is that, the gore is completely under check, something rare in Asian Action Thrillers, but it has its share of blood, so viewers discretion is advised (+12 maybe). The plot is quite simple, but how well its been elaborated is amazing to watch. It has its twists & turns with enough proposition of action. The takies are good too, well sometimes quite cheesy here and other, esp. towards the climax. Talking about the climax, I was not quite convinced with it. If you are interested, we can discuss about it, if you plan to watch this movie.

And yeah, the story is about the people who have survived the aftermaths of a global warming disastor which turns the earth into a freezing mass. Survivors now dwell in a moving train, which does not stop as its run by an eternal engine, thanks to the engineering brains of Wilford who is the God to this new found world, the train. As usual, the needy are thrown to the tail of the train whereas the rich take the luxury in the front. Its all about how a train revolution breaks and whether equlity is established or is it yet another doom of humanity on the way.

Snowpiercer : Sharp

28th March 2014, 06:50 AM
Remember Iko Uwais starrer The Raid, now buckle up for volume 2 :

The Raid 2: Berandal [Country : Indonesia]
(Trailer viewership rating +18 for violence)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MG9uFX3uYq4

Trailer Music : Georg Friedrich Händel's composition "Sarabande"

Movie Releasing on 28/03/2014

28th March 2014, 04:27 PM
Firestorm [2013 : Chinese]

Starring : Andy Lau [Internal Affairs, Warlords, Detective D], Gordon Lam [Election, Blind Detective]
Genre : Action [Sub : Heist, Crime]

A full fledged Action Movie where they even comprised the story just to increase the intensity through street gunfights and dare devil car stunts. A must for Action film lovers.

Firestorm - Fierce

28th March 2014, 06:24 PM
Awesome ! Raid 2 reviews are pouring in :
"
Bilge Ebiri (vulture.com) : The Raid 2 Is a Relentlessly Violent Film That Blurs the Line Between Action and Dance

Josh Wigler (mtv.com) : Director Gareth Evans delivers a relentless series of bone-shattering knock-out punches that has impressed and repulsed the critics.

Alonso Duralde (The Wrap) : Just when you think the movie has gotten as wonderfully, violently over-the-top as possible, it manages to keep upping the ante until its exhausting climax.

Joe Neumaier (The NEwyork Times) : From the first scene, this Jakarta-set actioner is extraordinarily gorgeous - and extremely violent.

Bryan Bishop (theverge.com) : bigger and bloodier

James Rocchi (indiewire.com) : 'The Raid 2' Brings Better Fights [review from the 2014 Sundance Film Festival]
"

The film maker has released a clip [deleted scene], which I hesitate to post it here. If you are interested check youtube with these key words :

'The Raid 2 Deleted Scenes - Gang War'

And as we say - the bigger the better !
[be warned that its not for everyone or anyone, only for those who admit and admire martial arts and its violence in Films] => I am in

raagadevan
25th April 2014, 01:53 AM
"Siddharth" surprise winner at Beijing film festival

Siddharth, a Hindi film by Indian-Canadian director Richie Mehta, was the surprise winner at the Beijing film festival,
leaving audiences in the Chinese capital stunned as the critically-acclaimed film beat out renowned Hong Kong director
Wong Kar-wai's martial arts epic The Grandmaster.

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/siddharth-surprise-winner-at-beijing-film-festival/article5944496.ece?homepage=true

14th May 2014, 02:35 PM
On the job [2013 : Tagalog : 2hr : Crime [Drama, Suspense, Mystry, Social (Politics, corruption, poverty)]

Written & Directed by Erik Matti

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-GQlW_e_LIvw/UiXXv0iGLeI/AAAAAAAAAZk/8OiMCEbfymg/s1600/OTJ.jpg

[could be a bit violent for some audience]

Important Note : If you are planing to watch this film, please do not read any reveiw or synopsis of the film over the internet. They give away a lot and break the film maker's idea of narational flow. A synopsis does not do any justice neither to the film nor to the audience. It has to be experienced. Plus, I suggest you to watch this movie in your next free time possible, before it gets massacred by Hollywood.

An experienced assassin and a rookie hitman team up to takedown their targets in plain sight. The police are finding it hard to crack these murder cases, as the assassin duo seem to be invisible. A high profile murder thickens the pressure and a rookie cop takes over the case from an experienced cop. After coping up from several misunderstandings, the two cops team up to crack the mystery, and what they unearth should have rested eternally buried.

The film maker has nothing to hide here. But he just needs us to follow him. 20 minutes into the film, I could not make out anything until they reach the prison. Then you start to understand the beauty of the tale, and start connecting the dots and the whole scam neatly gets unfolded before you. And from here, another beauty is that, nothing happens as you would expect it to. Why I had mentioned not to read any synopsis over the net, because every review starts with something like "Two prisoners are brought out of the prison to commit murders". I felt that, it was giving away too much as thats a suspense the film maker wants to keep until the end of Act 1.

An awesome film. A RGV's dream. Spining together the whole plot was terrific. More than the power, the helplessness was captured rawly. At a point of time, you will be following about 3 different patterns, a deviation kind of roads, and the journey turns into an experience when the winding crooked roads meet up in a junction which will make you pray that you never took any of these roads, nor wish to be at this miserable junction. All laurels goes to the screen writer and the director for giving us a pure mixture of every genre possible in its 2 hours runtime. The lead man who plays the experienced assassin drives home with all the performence accolades. The BGM and the songs used were spell bounding. There are a few pretty women in this movie, well, I liked them all. This is not a spoiler, as you will eventually end-up there to know the story - Murder attempt on one guy called PO is a spinner in the film. Absolutely brilliant. The whole Hospital episode will put you back straight in your seats.

Just a thought :
This film has all the potential to be adopted for TFI. An able director can pull it off quite efficiently, and I bet it on Suseenthiran. Casting could be an easy task, but the locations will be a challenge. A similar setup like Pandyanadu (Early morning-Bharathiraja-Escape sequence) can do wonders to the adaptation.

On the job : where death is the only retirement