PDA

View Full Version : Earth

anbu_kathir
12th May 2008, 07:24 PM
Vanakkam/Namaste

My name is Prasad, and I am a Masters student in IISc India. This thread is about our planet, our only home, (atleast as of now), what has/is being done to it by us, our current environmental/social value systems and what we can/should do to change whatever has to be changed.

Having found no active thread relating to these issues, which are perhaps the most important ones facing humanity as a whole right now, I have started one. Please throw in your views and suggestions, practically of use now and those that you envisage for our future. I know we are all busy doing things for a living, but I wish everyone does take notice of what is happening around us, and that we could potentially lose forever some things that we have always taken for granted.

I begin with a youtube video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQmz6Rbpnu0

These links are about the speaker in the youtube video, and about her life/work.

http://www.time.com/time/2002/greencentury/engeneration.html
http://www.slothclub.org/pages/activity/japan/sevtour/sevindex.htm

Love and Light.

Anoushka
12th May 2008, 08:30 PM
refuse, reduce, reuse, recycle

Refuse to buy/get anything just for the sake of getting it! refuse extra packaging in the shops, refuse gifts that you get for birthdays and anniversaries... (instead you can ask people to donate to a charity of your choice), refuse to print material that is not needed, the list is endless!

Reduce using unnecessary resources where ever possible. Try and walk to the shop instead of driving, use CFL's where possible (it is not practical to sit in the dark and not use electricity, instead reduce its use), etc

Reuse whatever you possibly can. I depend on a lot of hand me down stuff for my son instead of buying new stuff. Clothes, moses basket, pram, etc. If you can reuse anything, then do it!