View Full Version : || Blue | Anthony D' Souza | Akshay Kumar ||

Rocky89
10th September 2009, 12:12 PM
oh yehhhhhhh fiqraaaanaa.. yehhhhh fiqranaaaaa :D and then the guitar stiff.. :omg: :cool2:

10th September 2009, 12:36 PM
Especially the 2nd interlude.. Guitar at its best..

10th September 2009, 02:50 PM
Rehnuma is top of my list now! Amazing backing.....

Followed by Blue Theme, Fiqrana, Aaj Ki Dil...

ezy0265
10th September 2009, 03:57 PM
Tracks are very disappointing. Not at all as expected and does not justify all the hype behind the album before release.

10th September 2009, 04:16 PM
Tracks are very disappointing. Not at all as expected and does not justify all the hype behind the album before release.

Aiyah Jaali... vanthuthaare.... :lol:

10th September 2009, 04:57 PM

Aiyah Jaali... vanthuthaare.... :lol:

Athu avaroda kadamai sir! :lol:

10th September 2009, 05:01 PM
Yaaru avar? Idhukku munnadi ivaru post paathadhilaiyae.. :?

ezy0265
10th September 2009, 05:05 PM
Ayyah! Unga kadamaiyilirunthu neenga thavaraama irrukkum pothu naanga mattum yean kadamai thavara vendum macchi.....s. :lol:

The fact still remains that tracks are messy and noisy generally. Truly not upto his standards....Probably still in daze of Academy Award high....Hopefully he comes back in his next album.

Appu s
10th September 2009, 05:17 PM
The fact still remains that tracks are messy and noisy generally. Truly not upto his standards....Probably still in daze of Academy Award high....Hopefully he comes back in his next album.

ezy.. puriuthu unga vayitherichal.. athukku enna panna mudium :cry:

10th September 2009, 05:18 PM
Ayyah! Unga kadamaiyilirunthu neenga thavaraama irrukkum pothu naanga mattum yean kadamai thavara vendum macchi.....s. :lol:

avana nee :lol:

10th September 2009, 05:42 PM
[tscii:19352c46f3]Blue
Producer: Dhilin Mehta
Director: Anthony D’Souza
Starring: Sanjay Dutt, Akshay Kumar, Lara Dutta, Zayed Khan, Rahul Dev and Katrina Kaif
Music: A.R Rahman
Lyrics: Abbas Tyrewala, Mayur Puri, Rajat Arora, Sukhwinder Singh
Singers: Kylie Minogue, Sonu Nigam, Sukhwinder Singh, Shreya Ghosal, Vijay Prakash, Rashid Ali, Blaaze, Sonu Kakkar, Jaspreet Singh. Neha Kakkar, Udit Narayan, Madhushree
Audio On: T-Series Number of Songs: 7
Album Released on: 10 September 2009
Rating: 9.0 / 10

There are some musicians who turn out to be one-time wonders. There are some who have a fluctuating career graph – all the time. There are some, who, after getting the required fame, forget how to compose. And there are some who have a never-say-die-attitude, and always compose with passion and hard work, something that strikes gold and pays rich dividends every time their album releases. Unfortunately, composers in the fourth and last group are rare to find in the music industry.
Fortunately though, A.R. Rahman is included in that list.

And the results are there for us to see – right from Roja to the Oscars for the best soundtrack of Slumdog Millionaire, his career graph has always shown an upward trend, what with a few dips here and there, but that doesn’t matter anymore. With the only Rahman release in 2009 being Delhi-6, one eagerly awaits the soundtrack of Blue with bated breath. Expectations break the sky-high limit due to the Oscar tag associated with A.R. Rahman, as also the wonderful soundtracks he has given his fans in 2008 (a bumper year for both him and his fans, what with six albums releasing back to back every three months – Jodhaa Akbar, Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na, Ada, Yuvvraaj, Slumdog Millionaire, and Ghajini). So does one get what he expects from this album? Read on to find out.

Sensuous cooing, backed by the right pads and synth loops strikes all the right notes to addict the listener right from the word ‘Go’ for the bumper opener of this soundtrack, Chiggy Wiggy, which turns out to be an experiment (albeit highly successful) from the composer’s side, presented to us. Australian pop sensation Kylie Minogue turns out to be a powerhouse performer for the first half of the song which is backed by the right set of beats that will make the listener groove to the track from the opening beats. Categorised under the Pop/R&B category, the first half of the song turns out to be a winner hands down, while the second half takes a sudden Bhangra twist, bringing in Sonu Nigam into the picture.

The latter manages to give the right impact to the song, which suddenly morphs from Western to Indian, though it still doesn’t lose on the addictiveness factor. In fact, it’s the second half which might turn out to have some detractors from the urban audience, even it would grow over them after sometime. In fact, it can be a vice-versa situation for the rural crowd in India.

Suzanne provides ample backing vocals to this song, however her efforts might go in vain, as people would tend to think that it is Kylie who is singing. Lyrics by Abbas Tyrewala turn out to be innovative; nobody would really do something as pitching in semi-Urdu lyrics into a subtle Bhangra beat - which he manages brialliantly to do with this song.

Overall, this one turns out to be a seriously mind-blowing number, and for some, might require a few hearings for the song to completely envelope them into addictiveness. In the end, the song will manage to conquer the hearts of all; it is just a matter of time.

Speaking about conquering hearts, it is Shreya Ghoshal who does exactly that (and some more) for the song Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai, which has the composer’s stamp all over it. It shows; be it the melody or the beat, or the synthesizer or the pads even for once you don’t feel that Rahman has deviated from his version of “the lighthearted-cum-intense romantic track”, which is a good news, as it is this very style of his that really captures the imaginations of millions of fans around the world. Coming back to Shreya and her new sensuous vocal avatar, her voice totally floors you.

Sukhwinder Singh doesn’t disappoint either, he delivers yet another hit with the composer (who has inadvertently used Singh in many of his successful soundtracks). Lyrics by Mayur Puri (who probably makes a first-time collaboration with the renowned composer) are contemporary and simple enough to understand – which is exactly what is required to connect with the youth of today. Ghoshal’s crooning leaves you open-mouthed and out of breath, and makes a nice vocal duo with Singh. The intense feel of the song hasn’t been compensated, considering its lighthearted feel. All that the listeners have to do to feel the song is to sit in a dark room, close their eyes and let the music play its magic on their ears. This turns out to be yet another winner from Rahman after ‘Chiggy Wiggy’.

After his fantastic classical outing in ‘Manmohini Morey’ from Yuvvraaj, Vijay Prakash is back in yet another Rahman song, Fiqrana, which is a fun song, that hooks you right from the auto-cut guitar pads that open the song before Prakash’s vocals surround the ears of the listener. And the moment the beats start, you know you are helplessly drawn to the song and can’t let go of it – or is it the other way round? Is the song drawing you to it and won’t let go of you?

Complexity aside, this one is yet another sensational revelation from the musical genius, that completely sweeps you off your feet. Shreya Ghoshal’s supporting vocals strike the right chord and make the listener want more from the song. Lyrics of the song by Rajat Arora (‘Tere Naina’ from Chandni Chowk To China) accentuate its fun feel. Unfortunately, even the whopping 5 minutes and 24 seconds isn’t enough!

Prakash sings clearly without stumbles, and shows that his talent isn’t just restricted to classical music, though there are slight inclinations that are present in the song. Another aspect of the song that makes it superior is its effects – which are not really overdone and used at the right places. The sonic-sound effect given to Prakash at some places, compiled with other effects like the flanging and echo gives just the right pumped-up feel to the song – something that takes the song to another level altogether. This one turns out to be another ace in the whole pack of seven cards – or songs.

The trademark “Rahman” orchestration is back in this unexpectedly soft number titled Bhoola Tujhe that makes us reminiscent of ‘Meherbaan’ from Ada and 'Kahin Toh' from Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na, though this song is completely dissimilar from the aforementioned songs. In fact, this one is a standout number and has all the emotional prowess that one can pack in a song. Credit should go to Rashid Ali for singing his heart out, pouring out all the emotions into the listener’s ear, elevating the latter as a result. A.R. Rahman returns to basics: which he won many hearts and fans – soft and melodious songs, with heart-rending lyrics by Tyrewala.

Opening with “the” orchestration, which sets the mood of the song, subtle beats get into the picture, with Rashid Ali’s sensitive vocals. Seeped into melancholy, the lyrics totally give new meaning to the song (Bhoola Tujhe Kaise Kahaa, Hua Tujhse Kab Judaa, Yaa Khuda… Yehi Hai jo Malik Teri Raza, Teri Aazmaaish hai Yaa Sazaa…), and the end result is there for all of us to hear. The ‘feel’ and ‘emotion’ of the song is so powerful that it might make the listener shed a tear or two. Rahman does it yet again – this one makes for four spellbinding tracks in the album so far. This one has all the potential to make the Rahman’s fans excited, and music lovers in particular go ga-ga about the song. In one word – magical!

The 'Khallballi' from Rang De Basanti feel is back with this power-packed Blue Theme. Though not one bit like ‘Khalballi’, this one turns out to be a winner right from the start for the fantastic arrangements the song has in store for the listener. The eclectic group of six singers – Blaaze, Sonu Kakkar, Raqueeb Alam, Dilshad, Neha Kakkar, and Jaspreet Singh – provides amply power-packed vocals required for a song such as this one.

And the surprise revelation comes in the form of Blaaze singing! The best part of the song is its constantly energetic feel, which resonates in your whole body for the time you listen to the song (and after as well). By the end, the tempo increases a few notches above normal and reaches its peak at the very end, when the songs starts to fade. At last, when you hear the shout of Blue on reverb, you know you’re going to listen to it again. Yet another exceptional ditty in Rahman’s kitty! Did I actually rhyme the two? Wow!

Melody and the “trademark Rahman” feel is back with Rehnuma, this one featuring Shreya Ghoshal, who gets to eat more three-fourths of the cake; which means that she gets to sing in most part of the song. And rest assured, when she sings, your hair starts to stand, and once she starts crooning ‘Qaatil Adaa’ in her seductive avatar.

The song relies more or less on the heavy orchestration that Rahman constantly uses for such songs – a recipe that guarantees complete success for the song. Sonu Nigam is relegated to the backseat (this is completely Shreya’s song). Tyrewala comes back for the lyrics of this one, which are fresh and innovative (Oh Fida… Khatam, Fanaa… Meri Chaahat Mein Tuu…). Starting with Jazz and Blues, it moves forward into the 'Dil Ka Rishta' from Yuvvraaj mode with similar arrangements. And though one might find some similarity between the two songs, they end up being completely different, because the song from the Subhash Ghai’s movie had an auditorium ambience, whereas this one in particular has that intense feel, but takes out the stage equation from it. This turns out to be another novel track which will probably be in the minds of the fans and music lovers for a long time to come.

Just like the opener, the album closes with yet another bang titled Yaar Mila Tha. And with experienced singers like Udit Narayan and Sujata Bhattacharya (also known as Madhushree to the world) coming together for a song, expectations rise sky-high. But guess what? This one delivers, and how! At the start, one starts to wonder if the track is going to be any good, but as the song starts progressing, second-by-second, and the beats start, you will be completely blown away by the feel of the song. The arrangements (yet again) are something to talk about – watch out for the synthesized Shehnai, and the delicate piano in the background. The beats are eclectic and electrifying, and, coupled with the percussions, make for just the right sound and that rare experiment which clicks, and keeps growing over you after each listen.

Abbas Tyrewala is back, and has written up some really interesting lyrics, that keep up with its upbeat feel. Udit Narayan’s vocals are a treat to hear, and the enhanced sonic-sound effect given to the vocals enhance the overall playful, upbeat attire. Madhushree is a talent to watch out for. She has a simply scintillating voice that really attracts the listener into hearing her even more. Right from the time she has started singing, she has always been choosy with her assignments, and whatsoever song she has picked till date has always been a magical treat for her fans to hear. Overall, this song is the perfect end to an album that, one wishes, should have gone on and on.

Keeping in consideration the theme of the movie, Rahman has managed to create and give a power-packed feel to the soundtrack, but that doesn’t mean he’s left out on the quality factor; with songs like ‘Bhoola Tujhe’ and ‘Rehnuma’, Rahman also gives his fans what they really want. And it is refreshing to hear some catchy, energetic tunes that are not synonymous with Bhangra and Soft rock, which have become stalemate now, what with every composer wanting to do a ‘Rock On!' or a ‘Mauja Hi Mauja’ these days. A must buy!

Reviewer’s tip: Don’t judge the album by the first listen; some songs take time to grow on the listener.

http://www.planetbollywood.com/displayReview.php?id=m091009030449

[/tscii:19352c46f3]

10th September 2009, 05:54 PM
[tscii:30d6760711]

Reviewer’s tip: Don’t judge the album by the first listen; some songs take time to grow on the listener.

http://www.planetbollywood.com/displayReview.php?id=m091009030449

:exactly:[/tscii:30d6760711]

10th September 2009, 05:57 PM

avana nee :lol:

avane thaan.... avarakke Harris album than class... appo terinjekoiyen.... :lol: :lol2:

10th September 2009, 06:04 PM
yes!i know him :lol:

muzammil_fr
10th September 2009, 08:40 PM
Dinesh, Enna unga aalu supera kalukiranga in Yaar Mila Tha, after 10 listen, chansless guys, other pathcake from ARR :)

10th September 2009, 09:53 PM
me too didnt like the theme :| :ashamed:

:boo: :P

10th September 2009, 09:55 PM
Yaar mila tha is awesome, madhushree voice ROCKS!!!
cant get over yaar mila tha/fiqraana (guitar :bow:) and the theme now.... rehnuma :cool2:

10th September 2009, 10:43 PM
Fiqrabna, aaj Dil, rehnuma rocking

10th September 2009, 10:57 PM
Dinesh, Enna unga aalu supera kalukiranga in Yaar Mila Tha, after 10 listen, chansless guys, other pathcake from ARR :)

Yaar mila tha is awesome, madhushree voice ROCKS!!!
cant get over yaar mila tha/fiqraana (guitar :bow:) and the theme now.... rehnuma :cool2:

Yessss!!! :twisted:

That song is damn catchy!! Madhushree sounds great!! no doubt she sounds the best in ARR"s songs !

I love that "thak thina thin thin thina" chant... running tru my mind the whole day.. haha

rashid2raj
11th September 2009, 01:20 PM
Yaar mila song is rocking. Try listen it in the car. The bass is kicking ass. The theme music is cool would be a pleasure to watch along with the movie, however i find the Indian part of Chiggy Wiggy disturbing. Rehnuma has shades of Hey goodbye nanba. Aij Dil is superb composed. I think, this is a song, which is certainly needed, as the western world would have an eye on A.R.Rahman, and this track definitely show ARR's capability of being versatile.

Just my 5 cents..

11th September 2009, 02:33 PM
[tscii:2185e2e15b]
Fiqrabna, aaj Dil, rehnuma rocking

My picks too at the moment. I have to admit though, I didn't like most of the songs on the first few listens!

ARR pushes away from orthodox arrangements with every album & sometimes it takes time to catch up. Sometimes I wonder if non-fans will give it the time it deserves.

However, the song I can't stand at the moment is Chiggy Wiggy. Seems like a wasted opportunity.

There are some musicians who turn out to be one-time wonders. There are some who have a fluctuating career graph – all the time. There are some, who, after getting the required fame, forget how to compose. And there are some who have a never-say-die-attitude, and always compose with passion and hard work, something that strikes gold and pays rich dividends every time their album releases. Unfortunately, composers in the fourth and last group are rare to find in the music industry. something that strikes gold and pays rich dividends every time their album releases. Unfortunately, composers in the fourth and last group are rare to find in the music industry. group are rare to find in the music industry. Fortunately though, A.R. Rahman is included in that list.

:yes:[/tscii:2185e2e15b]

ezy0265
11th September 2009, 04:37 PM
"Sometimes I wonder if non-fans will give it the time it deserves"

its a nice way of saying the songs sucks and the only way to hope is to give it a listen perhaps a 100 times and hope that it will grow on you....very pathetic.

For this Chiggy song why the hell go all the way and get poor Kyle....even any woman in India wearing 'Kaili' would have suffice. I suppose she did not mind it as she had already gone thro worse with cancer. And what's with the choice of Udit???? goodness

Most songs just moves with meaningless beats without any clue of a tune or melody. And sadly here people are raving about it as experimentation???

When an album is so crabby....even true fans will feel the pinch, but of course they have to pretend otherwise as usual and keep saying it rocks!!! etc etc

11th September 2009, 04:41 PM

its a nice way of saying the songs sucks and the only way to hope is to give it a listen perhaps a 100 times and hope that it will grow on you....very pathetic.

For this Chiggy song why the hell go all the way and get poor Kyle....even any woman in India wearing 'Kaili' would have suffice. I suppose she did not mind it as she had already gone thro worse with cancer. And what's with the choice of Udit???? goodness

Most songs just moves with meaningless beats without any clue of a tune or melody. And sadly here people are raving about it as experimentation???

When an album is so crabby....even true fans will feel the pinch, but of course they have to pretend otherwise as usual and keep saying it rocks!!! etc etc

Nee vaitherichal odhey piranthavano? :twisted:

11th September 2009, 05:17 PM

unakku enna venum rasa :D

11th September 2009, 05:18 PM
[tscii:1de11b262c]Blue is a must Buy!

The highly-anticipated music of Blue is finally out and it doesn’t disappoint. It is the first time that A.R. Rahman has composed for an action thriller, for Ashtavinayak (Pritam is their favourite) and a first-time director (Anthony D’Souza).

From what we have seen on TV, Blue seems to be Rahman’s most commercial score but when you listen to it, some of it is classic Rahman and some songs don’t even sound like A.R.Rahman. The album is full of surprises and very fresh. You wouldn’t expect an action thriller to have such fresh tuneful, sometimes unusual, romantic songs with meaningful lyrics. It’s an you must take seriously. Only Rahman can make you do that. The album also has an oceanic feel to it. You are transported to the beaches of the Bahamas when you listen to it and imagine what the videos will be like. The seven songs pack in a lot of variety and no two songs sound alike. Hip-hop, reggae, bhangra, and soft rock are among the genres. The album is a must buy. The Blue Theme, Chiggy Wiggy are instant favourites and Rehnuma is the gem of the album. Aaj Dil Gustakh and Fiqrana are equally good. You may not like the album the first time you hear it but listen to it a few more times and you will love it.

Pop star Kylie Minogue’s innocently sexy vocals open Chiggy Wiggy. It’s a hip-hop track that makes you want to chiggy wiggy with Kylie. However, Sonu’s enthusiastic Hindi vocals spoil the song a little bit. But that was required because then the song would have been only in English, limiting its appeal and reach. So the bhangra bit has been added for a wider appeal. It’s unlike a Rahman song and yet quite nice, catchy and danceable. Maybe there should have been a solo Kylie Chiggy Wiggy number too.

Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai is helmed by Shreya Ghoshal and Sukhwinder Singh. With the piano, flute and guitar, it has a laidback yet playful and naughty feel, perfect for the beach. The instrumentation is wonderful. The tune sounds familiar yet fresh and is instantly likeable. Shreya doesn’t sound as sweet as she usually does and that is great. A drunk-sounding Sukhwinder complements her perfectly.

Fiqrana may take a while getting used to. Vijay Prakash sounds like Kunal Ganjawala and is quite a find. Shreya Ghoshal sounds sexy. The song sounds like an echo and also has a Sufi, spiritual and intoxicated vibe to it. The more you listen to it, the more you will like it.

Rahman brings Rashid Ali (of Aditi and Kahin Toh fame) back with Bhoola Tujhe. And that makes you glad. It’s a ballad. The instrumentation is lovely and the song is soothing, even if it is played on full volume.

The Blue Theme is mind-blowing. It will wake you up on a lazy day and/or give you goosebumps. Genres like rock, bhangra and hip hop have been fused together beautifully. It has an international feel and lyrics that are hard to understand. It is haunting and you could listen to it all day. An absolute must-listen on repeat! There are a bunch of singers like Neha and Sonu Kakkar, Blaaze, Raqeeb Alam and Jaspreet Singh who croon Bul-loo instead of Blue. Rahman is an expert when it comes to multiple singers (remember Pappu Can’t Dance and Nazrein Milana) used them like only he can.

Beautiful is one word that best describes Rehnuma. Shreya Ghoshal is at her seductive best since Jaadu Hai Nasha Hai and shares sizzling chemistry with Sonu Nigam. The song which sounds like The World is not enough by Garbage. It isn’t a copy though, only the vibe is similar. It’s like an ocean, at times calm and viciously wild and angry at other times. Amazing!

The album ends with Yaar Mila Tha which reunites Udit Narayan with Madhushree after Hum Hai Iss Pal Yahaan from Kisna. This song is raunchy though, like Shabba Shabba Hai Rabba from Daud. The song has a hip-hop, reggae feel; like music you would hear on the beach. It’s something you can easily sway to. Nice and naughty.

Rating: 4.5 on 5

http://www.starboxoffice.com/movie/musicreview.aspx?bid=2011/January/reviews_20110105_7
[/tscii:1de11b262c]

Guess_Me
11th September 2009, 05:36 PM
I see that majority of yours posts are in IR sub forum. There is this particular post of yours:

Jegan Mohini is another great offering from the great IR!!!

All 5 songs are unique and beautifully composed with so much energy and youthfullness.....I can only feel sorry for those who have lost their senses to not be able to appreciate such songs....

Take that last line as our reply to you and stop wasting time in this thread.

11th September 2009, 05:38 PM
Oh, sorry HJ, unggala tappA nenachuttEn... :(
Avar vEroru camp-nu clarify panna Guess-Me-ku nandri hai... :)

11th September 2009, 05:39 PM
I see that majority of yours posts are in IR sub forum. There is this particular post of yours:

Jegan Mohini is another great offering from the great IR!!!

All 5 songs are unique and beautifully composed with so much energy and youthfullness.....I can only feel sorry for those who have lost their senses to not be able to appreciate such songs....

Take that last line as our reply to you and stop wasting time in this thread.

i thought he is a Harris jaldra? :?

Guess_Me
11th September 2009, 05:47 PM
Almost all his posts are in IR sub forum. He might have praised HJ some time, you know just to piss off ARR fans :D

11th September 2009, 05:50 PM
Almost all his posts are in IR sub forum. He might have praised HJ some time, you know just to piss off ARR fans :D

ohhh... true true ... varathum.... :lol:

11th September 2009, 06:10 PM
Good research Guess_me :lol:

11th September 2009, 06:25 PM

i always wonder at such attitude

and again, we choose love instead of hatred ;)
meendum varuga ezy.... :)

11th September 2009, 06:37 PM
How many like Chiggy Wiggy here?

11th September 2009, 06:51 PM
ennum kojam better-ra panni irukalam innu thonuthu but, i like it too!

11th September 2009, 06:56 PM

IMO, the bangra portion spolit the song. Started off very well. :) How about u?

11th September 2009, 06:59 PM

I like the bhangra portion as well, but can't beat kylie's portion. Quite enjoyable

11th September 2009, 07:21 PM

dun like the bhangra part... the way Sonu says Chiggy Whiggy sounded very irritating... ARR should have created a Kylie version alone as well... 8-)

11th September 2009, 09:12 PM

dun like the bhangra part... the way Sonu says Chiggy Whiggy sounded very irritating... ARR should have created a Kylie version alone as well... 8-)

may be banghra is director choice! :roll:

12th September 2009, 07:38 AM
There must be a Punjabi element to the film, as there are some Punjabi lyrics in the Blue theme.

12th September 2009, 08:41 AM
Sh*t, Rehnuma is simply a haunting number. I would never have guessed the impact it was going to create from the rather slow start. Rahman catches the listener off guard! As the song picks up the tempo, we can see Rahman in full flow with orchestration. The Rehnuma chant is mind-blowing followed by the violin bit. Bhoola Tujhe is another pleasant number, IMO. This album on first hearing is very good. I have avoided listening to Chiggy Wiggy so far, though.

12th September 2009, 08:59 AM

i always wonder at such attitude

தாயை போல பிள்ளை.. நூலை போல சேலை...

Hope u understand.. :wink:

12th September 2009, 09:53 AM

ulta for me, bahngra portion saved a boring song for me :)

jangofett
12th September 2009, 05:02 PM
I think Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai is a superb song from ARR - very fresh and Sukhvinder's vocal is excellent!!!

The Kylie track is a wasted opportunity - reminds me of the time when ARR combined with Apache Indian in Love Birds... but at least in that track ARR sang towards the end to save it. Another singer should have been chosen rather than Sonu Nigam - maybe Sukhvinder, etc.

But the best track for me currently is Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai...

12th September 2009, 05:34 PM
My Take on 'blue' music

http://ursmusically.blogspot.com/2009/09/blue-soundtrack.html

12th September 2009, 07:31 PM

ulta for me, bahngra portion saved a boring song for me :)

Bro, almost every normal Hindi songs have the banghra bits.
So, I find nothing special in this song. :)

Benny Lava
12th September 2009, 09:07 PM
Sh*t, Rehnuma is simply a haunting number. I would never have guessed the impact it was going to create from the rather slow start. Rahman catches the listener off guard! As the song picks up the tempo, we can see Rahman in full flow with orchestration. The Rehnuma chant is mind-blowing followed by the violin bit. Bhoola Tujhe is another pleasant number, IMO. This album on first hearing is very good. I have avoided listening to Chiggy Wiggy so far, though.

Yeah.. and it doesn't arrive until almost halfway into the song!! :shock: It is not very common to see MD's use their best hook so late into a song. Atleast I can't remember any.

Bhoola tuje is awesome! I guess the song will be pictured underwater with some cool underwater cinematography. ARR has used some ocean sounds very feebly in the track.

Benny Lava
12th September 2009, 09:10 PM
I think the Blue theme sounds awesome!! Am i the only 1 liking it???? :?

i am here with u, i like that song, but some parts i don't like.

even Inetk karthik has liked this track only 8-)

It is my favorite as well.. As I said, bombastic number :D

Appu s
13th September 2009, 12:04 AM
I think the Blue theme sounds awesome!! Am i the only 1 liking it???? :?

i am here with u, i like that song, but some parts i don't like.

even Inetk karthik has liked this track only 8-)

It is my favorite as well.. As I said, bombastic number :D

the start of sonu nigam part is similiar to "poo maalai " .. :D

13th September 2009, 12:34 AM
I changed my mind. Chiggy wiggy is going to rock bollywood. Man, what a punjabi blast! The best massy number of the album. I love it and it is running nonstop ...

Chiggy Wiggy mere sangu soniye
chiggy wiggy mere sangu jaaniye
chiggy chiggy wiggy chiggy chiggy chiggy wiggy

and then Kylie goes
I wanna chiggy wiggy with you.

What an album. Will definitely watch Blue for ARR, he he.

13th September 2009, 04:16 AM

dun like the bhangra part... the way Sonu says Chiggy Whiggy sounded very irritating... ARR should have created a Kylie version alone as well... 8-):exactly:

vjay
13th September 2009, 06:42 AM
The bhangra part in chiggy wiggy is awesome but nothing special.But still i like it very much.

13th September 2009, 10:44 AM
[tscii:dcf1247436]In the Blue theme there is a Punjabi lyric that goes:

Kudi daa shaloo paata hai
Shaaloo kaun samete hai
Chaccha chori kutte hai

That lyric appears to be a reference to a lyric from a Lohri (harvest festival) song that celebrates Punjabi hero Dulla Bhatti...

http://www.bookrags.com/wiki/Dulla_Bhatti

Tera kaun wicahara hoe!
Dullah bhatti walla hoe!
Dullahe di dhee vyayae hoe!
Ser shakkar payee hoe!
Kudi da laal pachaka hoe!
Kudi da saalu paatta hoe!
Salu kaun samete!
Mamhe choori kutti! zamidara lutti!
Zamindaar sudhaye!
bade bhole aaye!
Ek bhola reh gaya!
Sipahee pakad ke lai gaya!
Sipahee ne mari eet!
Sanoo de de lohri te teri jeeve jodi! (Cry or howl!)
Paheenve ro te phannve pit! ”

(Rhyming: beautiful one like a ringlet one!)
Who will save you poor one (to a rescued girl)
Dullah Bhatti is here for you (He rescued the girls who were abandoned and rejected after kidnap!)
The Duallah married off his daughter (the rescued girls were adopted by him as his daughters)
He gave a measure (sher about a kilo)of sugar!
The girl is wearing bridal red dress!
But her shawl is torn (poor and soiled-girl has been raped?)!
Who will stitch her shawl(repair her reputation)?!
The maternal uncle made sweet ghee bread (choori)! (maternal uncles were responsible to vouch for chastity of the girl)
The landlords ravished it (meaning the girl kidnapped by rich moghul landlords!)!
He made the landlords eat a lot!
Lots of innocent guys came (poor grooms)
One innocent boy got left behind (the poorest of poor!)
The soldiers arrested him! (Indicated that he was in collusion with Bhatti the rebel)
The soldiers hit him with a brick! (tortured him)
Cry or howl!
Give us lohri (gifts) ..long live you couple![/tscii:dcf1247436]

13th September 2009, 01:45 PM
some positif review

http://ram-theobserver.blogspot.com/2009/09/blue-music-review-ar-rahman-is-back.html

http://anandhansubbiah.com/blog/blue-hindi-music-review/

http://hotgas.wordpress.com/2009/09/12/music-reviewbluear-rahman/

13th September 2009, 05:58 PM
[tscii:d7e1bfe58e]Our desi actors are yet to realise his genius

Mumbai: Although international biggies are queuing up to work with the Maestro from Madras, AR Rahman, but our desi actors are yet to realise his genius as they carelessly put aside opportunities to share the stage with him. And one such airy star is Farhan Akhtar, who turned down a personal invitation from the Oscar winning musician to sing a track for ‘Blue’.

So, while most artists would do anything for a chance to work with Rahman, Farhan chose to decline the offer as the actor wants to sing only for films that feature him.

According to the latest Bollywood news, Rahman was much too eager for Farhan to sing for a track named ‘Fiqrana’ in ‘Blue’. So much so was the musician looking forward to Farhan singing that he had even composed the track keeping in mind Farhan’s range and style..

But the actor gave Rahman a rude shock when he decided to state a firm ‘no’. Disappointed by the actor’s attitude Rahman then asked Vijay Prakash of ‘Yuvvraj’ and ‘Swades’ fame to sing the track.

Confirming the news, ‘Blue’ director Tony D`Souza said, "We were very keen to have Farhan sing for us. But he couldn`t. So we got Vijay Prakash for ‘Fiqrana’”.[/tscii:d7e1bfe58e]

13th September 2009, 06:03 PM
Blue released in SD Card and Pendrive..

http://tseries.com/Shopping/tabid/265/List/1/ProductID/47509/Default.aspx?SortField=PublicationStart+DESC%2cPub licationStart+DESC

http://tseries.com/Shopping/tabid/265/List/1/ProductID/47510/Default.aspx?SortField=PublicationStart+DESC%2cPub licationStart+DESC

sha
13th September 2009, 07:39 PM
192 kbps? lol... for 500 RS?

Remove all that additional stuffs and put uncompressed wav or flac in it... when do these guys learn ?

13th September 2009, 08:48 PM
192 kbps? lol... for 500 RS?

Remove all that additional stuffs and put uncompressed wav or flac in it... when do these guys learn ?

:lol: :lol: i know... i rather buy the audio cd which is half the price and has the BEST quality. 8-)

13th September 2009, 08:50 PM
Dinesh. Sadly, the quality of the audio cd is pathetic here. Its like listening to 128 kbps songs..

13th September 2009, 08:53 PM
Dinesh. Sadly, the quality of the audio cd is pathetic here. Its like listening to 128 kbps songs..

yeah man, i saw about it in ARR yahoo fan group. What every happened?? :shock: Something i never did expect from an ARR album.... Normally his Indian CD versions r the best, but even the rips from it sounded awfully bad... :(

13th September 2009, 09:00 PM
ARR shud stop giving the audio rights to T-Series. Those guys are surviving just because of ARR. Even Yuvvraj, Ghajini sounded much better. But I dont know where it went wrong for Blue. Hope they have not burned those 192 kbps tracks in the cd..

sharus1000
14th September 2009, 02:03 AM
http://sharus100.blogspot.com/2009/09/blue-electro-storm-new-era-rahman.html

Expected ur vaulable comments.

thineshan54321
14th September 2009, 02:16 AM
hey guys just listened to blue. its amazing. but whats wrong with the quality? i have a flac rip but the quality is lacking. what happened?

14th September 2009, 03:54 AM
Blue released in SD Card and Pendrive..

http://tseries.com/Shopping/tabid/265/List/1/ProductID/47509/Default.aspx?SortField=PublicationStart+DESC%2cPub licationStart+DESC

http://tseries.com/Shopping/tabid/265/List/1/ProductID/47510/Default.aspx?SortField=PublicationStart+DESC%2cPub licationStart+DESCinteresting..

14th September 2009, 08:04 AM
If I'm going to pay for a file, I'd rather it be FLAC than an mp3, especially a 192kbps.

I haven't heard the CD yet (not available in local stores), but Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na from T-Series sounded dynamically compressed and boosted. Ghajini and Yuvraaj sounded okay. I wish Sony would distribute all of ARR's soundtracks!

14th September 2009, 08:20 AM
ARR shud stop giving the audio rights to T-Series. Those guys are surviving just because of ARR. Even Yuvvraj, Ghajini sounded much better. But I dont know where it went wrong for Blue. Hope they have not burned those 192 kbps tracks in the cd..

i think this is what happend :shock:

music man
14th September 2009, 12:33 PM
I got the original cd from Planet M..But the audio quality is not that good..Last time, Delhi-6 was mastered in a superior quality. Inspite of various sound engineers and international artists behind the sound design, they were put down by inferior CD quality..Sony should have released the CD.. :argh:

music man
14th September 2009, 12:35 PM
CD packaging (like a bounded book) is good with neat photos and lyrics but it is fragile and will tear off after a few listens..

sha
14th September 2009, 02:07 PM
do anyone have some audio editing programs like sound forge ? open a track from blue CD and open another track from Indian or Kandu kondain .. n plss post the graph(waveform), lets see the difference..

music man
14th September 2009, 02:33 PM
do anyone have some audio editing programs like sound forge ? open a track from blue CD and open another track from Indian or Kandu kondain .. n plss post the graph(waveform), lets see the difference..

Hi sha!! But what can we infer from the wave form??? I believe, these waveforms change according to the mood of the song..A slow mellowed down string produces a low peak whereas a distorted bass/sawlead and distortion guitars produces big waveforms...

Anyway I hope people will post the waveforms. I will try Delhi-6 and BLUE.. :roll:

14th September 2009, 02:39 PM

Oops Sha, I had this Sound Forge b4. After I formatted my pc, I haven't re-install this software. I'm not sure where I put it. Will try to search for it... :oops:

sha
14th September 2009, 02:42 PM
but i can assure u we see more peaked out waveforms on latest CD's... i dont know the technical words for these,,, but latest releases like blue the waveform is always at the top end,, there is no variation,,, correct me if im wrong.

same like comparing waveform of mp3 and WAV of a same song,,

14th September 2009, 07:21 PM
some reviews Blue music

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movies/musicreview/13837/index.html

http://www.bombaynews.net/story/542739

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/entertainment/rahman-proves-his-prowess-yet-again-with-blue-ians-music-review_100246996.html

http://www.bollyspice.com/music-reviews.php/blue-music-review.html

http://movies.rediff.com/report/2009/sep/14/music-review-blue.htm

music man
14th September 2009, 10:26 PM

CHIGGY WIGGY-BLUE ANALYSIS
http://www.esnips.com/doc/f40be273-bc98-4529-9ed5-1fdc50fb5bfe/Chiggy-Wiggy-Blue-analysis

CHIGGY WIGGY-BLUE
http://www.esnips.com/doc/7c383a39-e975-4525-883d-9b941cd14393/Chiggy-Wiggy-Blue

YEH TARA WO TARA-SWADES ANALYSIS
http://www.esnips.com/doc/86ec4fb8-7256-436c-a972-cb19b8735c42/Yeh-Tara-Woh-Tara-Swades-analysis

YEH TARA WO TARA-SWADES
http://www.esnips.com/doc/1e67dd02-b68b-433b-9cfb-0e3d15252083/Yeh-Tara-Woh-Tara-Swades

HOPE THIS HELPS...[/img]

14th September 2009, 10:27 PM

Nice review by Rediff. Reflects lots of my thoughts.

Particularly liked th closing paragraph:

Blue is not your run-of-the-mill assemblage of hummable songs with catchy riffs and melodies. The music is as global in its influences and execution as can be expected from Rahman and the scale of the film. You cannot use conventional wisdom to analyse it.

Benny Lava
14th September 2009, 10:50 PM

Nice review by Rediff. Reflects lots of my thoughts.

Particularly liked th closing paragraph:

Blue is not your run-of-the-mill assemblage of hummable songs with catchy riffs and melodies. The music is as global in its influences and execution as can be expected from Rahman and the scale of the film. You cannot use conventional wisdom to analyse it.

Why do they call Bhoola Tuje as a sad song? :confused2:

These days ARR is using Shreya G in a lot of masti songs and she is getting quite good at it :cool:

Anyone still jiving to Lattooo? :boo:

15th September 2009, 03:44 AM
Anyone still jiving to Lattooo? :boo:ya ya ya :boo:

sha
15th September 2009, 10:42 AM
thanks music man,, chiggy wiggy waveform tells all u needed,, its clipped.. to the core,,, dammit !

i read somewhere before the same issue with the new metallica album,, they call it "loudness war"

some one need to report this to arr's studio,, i dont think any one there will be listening from these crap CDs.. they have better source :)

music man
15th September 2009, 12:20 PM
thanks music man,, chiggy wiggy waveform tells all u needed,, its clipped.. to the core,,, dammit !

i read somewhere before the same issue with the new metallica album,, they call it "loudness war"

some one need to report this to arr's studio,, i dont think any one there will be listening from these crap CDs.. they have better source :)

Hi!! Are u referring to the "No of clipped samples" in both the songs???
I feel ARR and his team would have surely approved the sound quality before the CD was released...

I always feel the sound quality of ARR's 90 's songs was way better and crisp than his present song...If someone could analyse his songs..one thing will be clear..His old song had a simple tune and had a few layers...For (e.g) Take Kannaalane or Ennavale, both are great songs but had only a few layers added to it...In Ennavale song u can hear a solo synthesized bell sound that comes throughout the song...whereas his present songs like New York Nagaram or Chiggy Wiggy has more layers making the song "Heavy" thereby distorting the crispness of his sound...

Its my personal opinion....

15th September 2009, 12:36 PM
MM, Even i have the same complaint. However, its not heavyness that matters here. The jarring effect is the one that i noticed in Blue cd. Even Ghajini and Delhi 6 were released by T Series. But they sounded much better..

AudazJay
15th September 2009, 01:30 PM
I've been restraining myself from coming to this thread until I've experienced the full effect of Blue. I've just heard the songs 2 days back, then again, then again, and again, and....:musicsmile:

What can I say, the album was totally superb! Aaj Dil is downright sizzling! It's a pleasant surprise to hear Sukhvinder sans his usual high beat punches...and Shreya Ghosal seem to have undergone a makeover as far as her singing style is concerned...totally sexy :2thumbsup:

As far as Chiggy Wiggy is concerned, at first I wanted to dismiss it as yet another western-Banghra pop but something about the song keeps you asking for more...whether it's the catchy chiggy wiggy, the sensous voice of Kylie or the high beat Banghra influence in the second half..this song is sure to rock Bollywood for the next few years!

Fiqraana is amazing :clap: Vijay Prakash is definitely here to stay. A totally racy number! I don't know how Farhan would have handled such a song but Vijay has nailed it beautifully..there's a certain rawness in his voice which fits the mood of the song completely.

Bhoola Thuje is easy on the ear though. The slow number has been crooned magically by Rashid Ali...definitely would be on the list of Rahman's best melodies!

With Rehnuma, Rahman has broken all paths of the conventional indian music! I would rate this as the best in the album. And Shreya Ghosal...well I never guessed how predictable her style of singing was before..but with this number, she has proven how versatile she can be if only she was given the chance to do so! Sonu Nigam sounds a little distant though, which is a surprise.

The Blue theme was definitely rocking! With the right picturisation, the theme would do wonders!

Last but not least Yaar Mila Tha is foot-tapping number with just the right mixture of western and modern folk. Udit definitely is an asset to Bollywood...no one could have performed the song better than him, and Madhushree...it's a relief to finally hear her singing in fast beat numbers as compared to the slow songs she's been getting off late. Watch out for the chorus's chant of a-ta a-tinna a-tin tin tinna though! Very addictive :thumbsup:

Appu s
15th September 2009, 02:01 PM
Why do they call Bhoola Tuje as a sad song? :confused2:

isn't a sad song ? :roll:

Fiqrana overtaking Bhoola tuje :musicsmile:

15th September 2009, 02:14 PM
full effect of Blue

Very addictive :thumbsup:

15th September 2009, 07:59 PM
BLUE MUSIC REVIEW

Director :
Music :
Lyrics :

Starring : Anthony D'Souza
A. R. Rahman
Abbas Tyrewala, Rajat Arora, Mayur Puri, Raqueeb Alam and Sukhwinder Singh
Sanjay Dutt, Akshay Kumar, Lara Dutta, Zayed Khan and Katrina Kaif (special appearance) and Rahul Dev.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
By Abid, Bollywood Trade News Network

view BLUE videos

In many ways Shree Ashtavinayak Cine Vision's BLUE is a unique film, having many firsts to its credit. It is Hindi cinema's first ever under water, action adventure film with the cast undergoing scuba diving training in order to shoot under some eighty feet below the water, almost at the bottom of the sea! It is director Anthony D'Souza's first film. Also, it is the first project where Oscar winner A. R. Rahman has composed for action king, 'Khiladi' Akshay Kumar. Yes, not many will be aware that even though Akshay Kumar and A. R. Rahman have been dominating the Bollywood scene for more than a decade, yet the two have never combined for any film, and so BLUE is the first film where the two will share the same platform. Then we have Australian pop sensation, Kylie Minogue, who features for the first time in a Bollywood flick. With so many unique features to its credit, combined with the finest international crew and some amazing underwater action sequences, BLUE is the most anticipated Diwali release. And its audio album too comes fraught with gargantuan expectations, BLUE being the first album to be launched after A.R. Rahman's historic Oscar win. And last and not the least, Resul Pookutty, another Oscar winner, is the sound engineer for BLUE. Need we say more?

First let's come to the most talked about song, featuring the international pop sensation from Australia, Kylie Minogue, ''Chiggy Wiggy''. The number is a perfect blend of soft pop and bombastic, earthy but all Punjabi 'bhangra', which makes it a totally 'dhamaal' dance track. Kylie's part is naturally pop and the soft tune chosen is very infectious and alluring, in -keeping with Kylie's super hot image. Her sensuously soft vocals caress the senses and is the highlight of the composition, as she is simply brilliant. The 'bhangra' part, sung by Sonu Nigam is no great shakes, and shades of ''Tote Tote Ho Gaya'' (BICHOO) is present. Although as seen in the promos of the song, the part where Akshay Kumar comes in, accompanied by the sound of loud 'hoi' and 'dhols' and breaks into the 'bhangra' jig, will certainly set the house on fire. All this combined with the festive Diwali mood, the song having the added propellants in the form of all the top stars of BLUE like Sanjay Dutt, Lara Dutta and Zayed Khan, will no doubt rule the charts for a while, although it will not have a long shelf life, as it is not worth the hype. The A.R. Rahman stamp of quality is missing. His signature musical orchestration, the fresh as a morning dew tune which is expected from a Rahman composition too cannot be heard. The lyrics by Abbas Tyrewala though are definitely fresh and instantly appealing.

However, the next number, 'Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai', is a true blue Rahman number and one is simply blown away by its sheer magical melody that is so easy on the lips. The music maestro makes up for somewhat letting down his fans, this time with a superb romantic composition, a fine love ballad. The breezy song, complete with Rahman's superlative trademark crescendo, single string guitaring and lovely background female chorals, makes for a perfect romantic beach song. After a mesmerizing ''Kaise Mujhe Tum Mil Gaye'' (GHAJINI), Rahman comes up with another gem of a romantic outing in the from of ''Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai''. The moment the song commences with sensual female chorals and Sukhwinder's trademark, well loved and admired TAAL type semi-classical singing, one knows that this is Rahman's special Diwali gift to his fans. The number may take a couple of hearings to grow, as is the norm with most Rahman compositions, but grow it definitely will and stay on the play list of many die-hard romantics for quite sometime. Sukhwinder is magical. His chemistry with Rahman never fails, whether it is an inspirational, romantic, situational or devotional composition, Sukhi always reserves his best for Rahman. And 'sone pe suhaga' is the new nightingale, Shreya Ghoshal, who is at her 'surily' best.

CHECK OUT: No BLUE song for Katrina!

''Fiqrana'' can be classified as a theme song, as it is a beautiful musical way that the characters of the film are introduced through the song, without it being too heavy on the senses. The dare devil, non caring attitude of the protagonists is beautifully expressed through a highly charged, high on octane composition that has a slight resemblance (in parts) to Rahman's ''Dhakka Laka Bukka'' (YUVA). Vijay Prakash shows that it's just not classical that he is adept at as he skillfully wades through the song that has a slight rock touch to it as well. He is aided by Shreya who comes in briefly and not to mention, Rahman's acoustic innovations in the form of echo and synth. Once again the opening guitar piece is haunting and keeps coming back, embellishing the song, so does the amazing 'mukhda' which is the jewel in the crown. Rajat Arora's lyrics go well with the spirit of the film and successfully conveys the feel of the characters and introduces them to the audience.

From one true blue Rahman number to another, ''Bhoola Tujhe'' and it is an absolute delight that the talented team of Rahman, Abbas Tyrewala and Rashid Ali, who had given us the hugely popular and heartwarming ''Kabhi Kabhi Aditi'' (JTYJN) are back with a beauty! This number is a hauntingly beautiful 'sufi' based composition that is absolutely divine. Rashid Ali's vocals enthrall the senses, his maturity as a singer from ''Kabhi Kabhi'' to ''Bhoola Tujhe'' is to be heard to be believed. The song commences with an elaborate, totally trademark Rahman orchestra, playing a haunting tune, followed by simple guitar strums, and as Rashid Ali's vocals take over, one is simply mesmerized by the sheer genius of the maestro and the beauty of the song. Lyrics by Abbas are heavenly, and take the listeners to a totally different level with its divine references. And we are reminded of what Abbas had told us in an informal chat that he does not write lyrics for money, but selectively as a hobby.

Take a bow Rahman, Abbas and Rashid. Shades of ''Khwaja Mere Khwaja'' and ''Piya Haji Ali'' are present, may be because they have the same theme. Feast on by putting it on repeat mode!

view BLUE movie stills

Rahman's theme songs have been as revered as his songs, and the reason is simple. The maestro, with his sheer class and command over music is able to spin wizardry with his heavy duty orchestrations and scintillating assembly of tunes, and in a sense he has pioneered the theme song revolution in the Hindi film music scene. Since BLUE is an action adventure under water thriller, naturally the scope for some highly charged musical extravaganza is on the cards and this is exactly what we have in store with the ''Blue Theme. The composition is partly instrumental with the sound of the exotic Bahamas finding prominent place along with other highly eclectic beats and sounds like the chopper flying etc.

The highlight of the theme is again the Rahman crescendo, which is absolutely something to die for! As the tempo heightens gradually and the peak is reached, one is left spell bounded. Extraordinary! Superlative! The talented group of six singers, Blaaze, Sonu Kakkar, Neha Kakkar, Raqueeb Alam and Jaspreet are electrifying and fantastic as they sing in a group and the chorus, as they go, ''Blue''. Raqueeb Alam and Sukhwinder Singh provide lyrics and the spirit of BLUE is superbly conveyed. The similes used to highlight the perils and beauty of the sea are very apt - ''Sagar ke dil mein, Jitney khazane, Dil ke sagar mein utne fasane, Aatish angaare, Sholon ke dhaare, Rangeen sharare, Baarish ke tare, Satrang wafa ka, Sagar mein kyon hai, Kabhi surkh lahoo hai, Kabhi rang blue hai!'' Another composition that can be kept on the repeat mode and heard over and over again.

When ''Rehnuma' commences one feels that Rahman has done a repeat of ''Anjaana Anjaani'' (YUVA) but as the song slowly unfolds and all its musical gems are churned out for the pleasure of the listeners, it is a different experience altogether. Well, we are short of words for the praise of the Beethovan of the East. As we try and get out of the magical spin of this seductive, passionate song, that has such a rocking background signature tune (the enthralling guitaring) that marvelous crescendo, as the tempo is built up slowly and surely that we are left wondering how the music wizard managed to compose a number quite uncharacteristic of himself. The song belongs to Shreya whose seductively base vocals (reminding of Geeta Dutt) are superlative, as she goes ''Qaatil ada' in precariously high pitch, with utmost ease that she makes the listeners delirious and Sonu Nigam, Rahman's favourite for a long time, comes back to support Shreya matching her step for step. The 'mukhda' is infectious as Sonu goes ''Rehnuma', a slight R. D. Burman touch to the song can be felt.

CHECK OUT: Shemaroo takes BLUE around the globe

To bring the album to a close, Rahman's ever reliable lieutenant, Udit Narayan, comes out of semi-retirement for this endearing 'ched-chaad' song that is sung in a cute conversational manner, and the 'madhur si' Madhushree supports him ably. The rocking and rolling rhythm is simply enchanting, and this combined with some international feel musical addendums in the background make for a lovely composition. The use of Indian musical instruments like the synthesized 'shehnai' and Western percussions and piano blend gently into the song making it a 'hat ke' experience. The use of Bhojpuri lyrics, along with Hindi, Urdu and Punjabi by the powerhouse of talent, Abbas Tyrewala, is unique and relishing. And we know why Rahman has called Udit out of semi-retirement (for the unaware, Udit is now of the top singer/producer of Bhojpuri films/songs) to render this song. Moreover one never knew that the maestro had it in him to compose a song that will strike right at the heart of the hinterland.

To sum up, BLUE is one of Rahman's finest album of the last couple of years and what is exceptional is that Rahman has managed to do the impossible, combined best of both the worlds as the compositions will find patronage amongst both mass and class. All the songs are our favourites, yet the ones that stand out are, ''Bhoola Tujhe'', ''Fiqrana', ''Yaar Mila Tha'' and the ''Blue Theme''.

Simply a must buy! Even those few who are not Rahman fans should buy and give this

RATING - 4/5

http://www.glamsham.com/music/reviews/15-blue-music-review-090904.asp

15th September 2009, 08:01 PM
I can see most sites giving 3.5-4 out of 5 for this album... :clap:

16th September 2009, 06:00 AM
[tscii:3c4021d617]A.R.Rahman's BLUE Music Review

The Much awaited bolly flick with big names like Academy award winner A.R.Rahman,Kylie minogue,Akshay Kumar, and Sanjay dutt, -BLUE is out for the music lovers.

The FIRST album of A.R.Rahman after the Oscars and YES !!! The expectations are SKY high…And again a big YES…the expectations are very well met by the album.

Let us have look :

Blue

1.Blue Theme - Vocals by Blaaze, Raqeeb Alam, Sonu Kakkar, Jaspreet Singh, Neha Kakkar, Dilshad

One would expect hard English rap and heavy techno beats in a theme for such a stylish movie.But ARR has something different to offer.Hard Hindi and punjabi lyrics with simple,yet powerful beats is here in Blue Theme.Its highly appreciable that not even a single English word other than the title is used here. Rahman very well knows how to deal with Themes..and Blue theme is just another example.

The way the number has composed is simply awesome.The western Rap style mixed with Punjabi fast lyrics is a treat to the music lovers. Blaaze and Co has done full justice to this number.The basic theme of the film is very well expressed in this 3.55sec piece as it reveals the movie has bikes,cars,Danger,Mystery,Treasure hunt,Thrill,Fun and a bit of Desipan.Very well done AR. RATING 9.8/10

2.Aaj Dil Gustakh Hai - Vocals by Shreya Ghoshal, Sukhvinder Singh

A new style for romantic songs.The music arrangements are marvelous and the song as a whole is very refreshing.The way the song starts with a Techno stuff sung by Sukhvinder and ARR himself is very catchy.Lyrics has also added charm to the song.Both Shreya Ghosal and Sukhvinder has done a great job here. RATING 8.5/10

3.Chiggy Wiggy (5:12) - Vocals by Kylie Minogue, Sonu Nigam

This song has already become a hit as it is aired in most of the TV channels.It’s a mix of WEST by Kylie and BHANGRA by Sonu and perfectly blended by ARR.It has been blended to that extend that the listener will never feel that chiggy wiggy is being sung in two entirely different styles – western chiggy wiggy and Punjabi chiggy wiggy.Another noticeable thing in the song is that the basic beat used in the song is same for both western and bhangra, but still doesn’t feel anything missing.Thats ARR’s style,where others would have mixed unnecessary extra bhangra beats and dholaks for the Punjabi part. RATING 8.5/10

4.Bhoola Tujhe - Vocals by Rashid Ali

SPEECHLESS!!!

This soulful song, beautifully sung by Rashid ,is an asset to your iPod.Will definitely make an impact in the first try itself.Highly melodious, soothing and soulful song.ARR is a master in melodious numbers and he is proving it again and again.This song is in same genre with JTYJN ‘s "Kahin to hogee woh" and GHAJINI ‘s "Kaise mujhe tum mil gayee" .

The musical arrangement and orchestration is excellently done and can’t ask for more.From top to bottom, the song speaks volumes of emotions and depth. Accompanied by excellent lyrics ,this song is going to stay for sure.RATING 9. 5/10

5.Fiqrana - Vocals by Vijay Prakash, Shreya Ghoshal

Bad Luck Farhan Akhtar..You missed something big.Supposed to be sung by Farhan, this song is packed with youthful energy.Perfectly sung by the replaced Vijay Prakash and Shreya , this song stands along with songs like "Hey khuda Hafiz.." from Yuva or "Dhakka laga" from the same movie.

The song is fresh and a charm of youthfulness is felt throughout the song.This song should find its place in your freakout-with-guys playlist.RATING 9/10

6.Rehnuma - Vocals by Shreya Ghoshal, Sonu Nigam

Though you wont get the impact in the first go,this one will catch up on further listening.Starts with a Jazzy genre and then it enters to a 007 kind of mood and stays ,we will forget that this song started with a smooth jazz.Sonu and Shreya has done a good job here also.

This track will take time to grow on you.RATING 7/10

7.Yaar Mila Tha - Vocals by Madhushree, Ujjaiyinee Roy, Udit Narayan

We will never expect village song kind of a track in a movie like Stylized Blue and that too with lyrics like Saiyya,Dulhaniya,Balma etc..But Blue has a better deal to offer –Stylized village song.We will come to know in the very first listening itself that this is the stylized version of a village song.

Excellently supported by Ujjaiyinee, the song is nicely carved out by Madhushree and Udit.ARR is a master in his experiments and they gain him good points also.The lyrics are purely traditional village stuff,but it has been used in a very different mood.

You will fall in love with this track and move your head along the catchy and slow beatsas soon as the song starts.RATING 9.5/10

The OVERALL RATING for this album is 9.5/10

FINAL VERDICT:

What are you waiting for???Didn’t you see the Rating..?? Go and grab your copy.

http://getinfo4me.com/InfoPages/A.R.Rahman's-BLUE-MusicReview.html

[/tscii:3c4021d617]

16th September 2009, 10:44 AM
HT reviews Blue

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/3924543410/

AudazJay
16th September 2009, 01:54 PM
Seems like most reviews are giving a special mention on Shreya Ghosal's new found avatar! :thumbsup: Very good...the girl deserves it :clap:

16th September 2009, 05:07 PM
Really loving Fiqrana at the moment. Vijay Prakash rocks, even if his voice has been heavily processed in parts. Such a contrast from Manmohini to this! Can't wait for his VTV track.

thineshan54321
16th September 2009, 05:50 PM
guys i cant feel the full effect of blue for some reason. maybe the quality? sounds so low quality. how is the international version?

thineshan54321
16th September 2009, 05:54 PM
the guitar portion in rehnuma is an amazing piece of work, so addicting.

16th September 2009, 06:03 PM
guys i cant feel the full effect of blue for some reason. maybe the quality? sounds so low quality. how is the international version?

Its the CD's fault. Even the Indian CD version was horrible. See the chaos thats going on in ARR Yahoo Fan group on this issue... :lol:

T Series :hammer:

music man
16th September 2009, 11:24 PM
Friends!!!

My thoughts on the album

http://musically-marx.blogspot.com/

16th September 2009, 11:29 PM

Its the CD's fault. Even the Indian CD version was horrible. See the chaos thats going on in ARR Yahoo Fan group on this issue... :lol:

T Series :hammer: how is the digital release? (those that were released on thumbdrive / sd card :roll: )

17th September 2009, 02:57 AM
[tscii:ddcf184638]Akshay sings to AR Rahman

Akshay Kumar has done 120 the first time that Academy Award winner A R Rahman has composed music for a film of his. It is Anthony D’Souza’s debut vehicle, and he gets to start with the music supremo.

It is also Rahman’s first album after his two Oscars for Slumdog Millionaire. And, it is the first time that Bollywood launched on pen drives and memory chips. Quite naturally - Dr Rahman and Dr Akshay (both PhDs) are in a celebratory mode. Says Rahman, “Any music that I lay my hands on, I first rip it apart on my computer. I repeatedly listen to a new album because I wish to grab all the finer nuances of it.’’ He’s thrilled that his latest album is on a memory chip. “This is fantastic. What one must ensure is that the sound is of the highest quality.’’ Akshay jokes, “After the pen drive, we’ll perhaps have the music album in an injection form. All you need to do is to prick the needle and you’ll break into song.’’

Rahman, who hasn’t interacted closely with Akshay, smiles and says, “My first memory of Akshay is his grooving to Tu Cheez Badi Hai Mast Mast with Raveena Tandon in Mohra. The year was 1994 and I had just completed the music of Rangeela.’’ Akshay adds, “And my all-time favourite Rahman album is Roja. I listened to it continuously for two months when I was shooting a when I was shooting a film in Shimla. And though the music had a soulful feel, I would still exercise only to that track.’’

Incidentally Blue may well be one of the last films Rahman does this season because of his international commitments. Admitting this, the composer says, “I love all filmmakers but there is only that much work I can do. I have taken on a couple of major assignments overseas and I’m also committed to building my music school. I wanted to do something different hence I chose to associate with Tony’s Blue.’’ Rahman also adds that though the film has a completely international feel, his music is a combination of Indian sounds as well. “It has some folk and Punjabi tunes also,’’ he reveals. That’s when Punjab da munda Akki butts in to ask, “Why Punjabi, Sir? Is it because I’m in the film?’’ “No,’’ replies Rahman, “it’s because I love Punjabi music, it has very robust sounds, a very alive quality that I find attractive.’’

www.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/news-interviews/Akshay-sings-to-AR-Rahman/articleshow/5017926.cms[/tscii:ddcf184638]

17th September 2009, 07:40 AM

T Series :hammer: how is the digital release? (those that were released on thumbdrive / sd card :roll: )

its a 192kbps rip itseems :?

17th September 2009, 11:57 AM
[tscii:6a14c19e4a]Had no expectations from this album going thru the cast and the banner blu-promoting it as “Underwater Adventure” is nerve-wracking. What resulted is oodles of Punjabi spiciness. Err!!!!!!!! Good for Akshay, Sanjay Dutt and the bolly admass sure a diff experience under water.

1. Aaj Dil Gustakh hai really had me head-bang on the intro “O saaaya maa saaya” but ARR’s piano strokes on the hook and interludes is amazing stuff <bow- review worthy>. The tune is unexciting and both S didn’t impress much. Sanjeev Thomas is back again with his Guitars remember Ghajini instrumental theme.
2. Bhoola Tujhe: Slowly hooked! Awesome tune and brilliant orchestration. I would love to hear Karthik singing such songs would have exelled better. Still no regrets. Kavita Baliga & Kishore for Trumpet were credited their part is very short indeed not to forget the prelude and postlude <humming> are long and beautiful.
3. Blue Theme: Punjabi – bhangra- hiphop. Didn’t register! Raqueeb alam the lyricist have sung himself. Kakkar ‘s are having blast!
4. Chiggy Wiggy: I have trimmed the kylie’s part and started straight with Sonu nigam intro.
What a singer, Effortless singing! And the way ARR blended Sonu with kylie is sure gonna rock the sea. Mandolin - Seenu take charges of the postlude.
5. Fiqrana : Energetic and a song. Vijay Prakash all the way have done a fabulous job. Keep going! Terrific guitar ludes.
6. Rehanuma : Starts with a Jazz influence and slowly shifts to a different genre. The interlaces between another ‘S’ pair gels very well.. The hook is deadly “Rehanuma” part by Sonu Nigam is enthralling.
7. Yaar Mila : Starting beats <50cents<<Raghav> Balesh credited for Shehnai @ 0.14 <Crazy ARR> for such a short piece. Playful Ujjayinee. Madhushree & Udit Narayanan have done their part.

Nowhere near to his recent releases. I may pick Fiqrana & Rehanuma for a re-listen but doesnt have a place for shelf life.

Inimelacham Oscarji timea waste pannadheeghappa!

Passage - Terrific!
[/tscii:6a14c19e4a]

17th September 2009, 12:24 PM
Thanks Jay & Music man for your reviews.

Yathu,
<< Quite naturally - Dr Rahman and Dr Akshay (both PhDs) are in a celebratory mode>>.

:banghead: :hammer:

Appu s
17th September 2009, 03:45 PM
Bhoola Tujhe (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3k1JIecCwc0) Video

17th September 2009, 04:48 PM

Yathu,
<< Quite naturally - Dr Rahman and Dr Akshay (both PhDs) are in a celebratory mode>>.

What's Akshay's doctorate for?

Appu s
17th September 2009, 05:38 PM

Yathu,

What's Akshay's doctorate for?

Akshay kumar receieved doctorate from canada university for social works he involved...

17th September 2009, 08:27 PM
Video: Launch Of 'Blue' Music On Pen Drive

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Parties-and-Events/owrnoU90/3/Launch-Of-Blue-Music-On-Pen-Drive.html

18th September 2009, 08:28 AM
Blue is bloody infectious man....

18th September 2009, 09:31 AM
Blue is bloody infectious man....

Its a very fun album. A good 'start' after the Oscar award. Im very sure BLUE would be the hit album of the year in North. :)

18th September 2009, 10:14 AM
Chiggy Wiggy grows on me day by day..

18th September 2009, 01:05 PM
It is a pity that after all a song like Chiggy wiggy grows with day but some people refrain themselves from growing..

All that i can recommend u is this..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpZ-QWX6Prw&feature=related

Benny Lava
18th September 2009, 01:29 PM
When I first listened to Yaar mila tha, I was like "Ok.. this is a hip hop song" (ezy, note the beats.. it is typical hip hop and hence "theepidikka" hints) but then the song breaks into "Tha tha nina tha " refrains.. it was interesting.. I thought it was so cool to have it in a hip hop song.

And then, when the singers start singing the song, you realize that it is NOT hip hop at all.. its a traditional hindi melody song, yet the hip hop beats fits so perfectly. Shows that thalaivar has no genre specific restrictions at all.. We look at it as a hip hop beat, to him it is just some beat that will fit the melody, so he goes for it. He doesn't restrict himself by categorizing music. In the end, it feels like amazing experimentation... but I feel it just comes naturally to him.. avar fusion pannanumnu panradhila.

18th September 2009, 02:33 PM
have not been able to listen to the album much.. since its Ramaza... will listen to it during the weekend... hope its as good as everyone's been saying

Benny Lava
18th September 2009, 02:44 PM
have not been able to listen to the album much.. since its Ramaza... will listen to it during the weekend... hope its as good as everyone's been saying

Lancey,

Watch out for Bhoola Tujhe, Blue theme, Rehnuma and Fiqrana... Rocking stuff :2thumbsup:

18th September 2009, 02:46 PM
Ramalan nalvazhthukkal, lancy...

Benny Lava
18th September 2009, 02:47 PM
Why there is no thread for Passage? :huh:

18th September 2009, 02:50 PM
Details of passage are being posted in Face of music thread.

18th September 2009, 03:01 PM

Yes, even I wanted to ask the same...
Anyone here watched it??? How is the bgm??? :D

18th September 2009, 03:03 PM

isnt it just a short movie? around 20 mins?? :? the 'movie' is watchable at the official website itself....

18th September 2009, 03:05 PM

isnt it just a short movie? around 20 mins?? :? the 'movie' is watchable at the official website itself....

Yeah but I just want to know what fellow frens here think of the movie and bgm... :D
Naan innum pArkala... :oops: Streamyx sucks nowadays, takes longer time to watch even a small clip... :x

18th September 2009, 03:09 PM

Yeah but I just want to know what fellow frens here think of the movie and bgm... :D
Naan innum pArkala... :oops: Streamyx sucks nowadays, takes longer time to watch even a small clip... :x

naanum innum parkale :twisted:

but incase u want, u can download the movie :

http://www.passage-experience.com/media/interviews/passage_movie.mov

its very true about streamyx, utube takes hell loads of time to load a 5 min song.... :evil:

18th September 2009, 03:10 PM
Thanks for the link Dinesh... :D

18th September 2009, 06:34 PM
http://images.orkut.com/orkut/photos/OgAAAF9mlFKJ1zllw8iP5Xmv66tlPSnS_2vwJrUj9eFWw4xg0B gLKnY7L1DDOXZgGN6yELcRxWlTAC9zGUdeAuO-93UAm1T1UES1-d2nV2esBg3tEiVjwmKVDxOC.jpg

18th September 2009, 06:36 PM
Rahman and Resul on Blue..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFC0D3q9hkc

18th September 2009, 06:53 PM
Thanks for the link Dinesh... :D

no mention ba :P

18th September 2009, 08:28 PM
Rehnuma. My God. What a number. Fiqrana -- what a number. All songs are astonishing. Looks like ARR has composed with a vengeance. I am going to buy the album today. All I want now is for him to give a super duper album in VTV.

19th September 2009, 02:25 AM
My review on Blue album : http://exquisitely-din3sh.blogspot.com/2009/09/blue-music-album-by-arrahman-review.html

21st September 2009, 09:02 AM
The CD quality is bad man....evident in Blue Theme especially :(

23rd September 2009, 07:52 PM
[tscii:f53f3badc5]Sneak Preview of the New Kylie Minogue and A.R. Rahman Song
by Paul Cashmere - September 23 2009

Kylie Minogue has recorded a song with A.R. Rahman for the Bollywood movie `Blue’.

For ‘Chiggy-Wiggy’ , Kylie gets to team up with the Slumdog Millionaire star. "By working with Kylie, I was able to create something truly unique for fans—the music fuses the cultures of mainstream pop, Hindi, and Bhangra," Rahman said in a statement.

“A.R. Rahman, amazing. Obviously he is a huge star,” Kylie said. “I am thrilled to be singing this song he has written for me. What can I say? He is amazing”.

Anthony D’Souza directed ‘Blue’. “The director Anthony D’Souza is doing something that is very fresh, very interesting for a Bollywood film and he is pushing the barriers. I’m glad he wanted me to be a part of it,” Kylie said.

Kylie filmed her part for the movie earlier this year in Mumbai but recorded her vocal for the song in London

http://undercover.com.au/News-Story.aspx?id=9339_Sneak_Preview_of_the_New_Kylie_ Minogue_and_A.R._Rahman_Song

[/tscii:f53f3badc5]

24th September 2009, 03:43 AM
Chiggy Wiggy is slowly becoming my favourite song in Blue. :oops: I think I may have dismissed it too soon. Once you get around the lyrics, its a great number.

Also loving Yaar Mila. The drum hit that comes later in the song during Udit's part is really effective.

This change of mind happens with nearly every ARR album but I never learn!

music man
24th September 2009, 12:41 PM
Chiggy Wiggy is slowly becoming my favourite song in Blue. :oops: I think I may have dismissed it too soon. Once you get around the lyrics, its a great number.

Also loving Yaar Mila. The drum hit that comes later in the song during Udit's part is really effective.

This change of mind happens with nearly every ARR album but I never learn!

Yes...Now Chiggy Wiggi,Yaar Mila Thaa and Rehnuma are my favorites...I am more addicted to Yaar Mila Thaa :bluejump:

24th September 2009, 02:08 PM
I figured it out.....i guess the Bass for the CD cut it too high by default, so usually my car audio has the bass setting at +3 which works very well for other CDs (Delhi 6, Ghajini) but fir Blue I have to set it at -3 and the sounds are much clearer now.....

you guys might wanna try it out....

24th September 2009, 02:35 PM
United, even i tried that out. It sounded ok but stil it lacks the clarity of Delhi 6 and Yuvvraj.

24th September 2009, 03:55 PM
Ajay, yea....its not the best quality...but the clarity improved for sure ... cheers

24th September 2009, 09:13 PM
there was a similar problem with the bass in Ah Aah, felt in both the Indian (5star) and Malaysian (Suara) CDs

Seriously why let T Series handle a $1M worth album. Sony Music would have done wonders.

24th September 2009, 10:31 PM
Hope this news has reached ARR's ears by now..

thineshan54321
27th September 2009, 09:38 PM
ya basically T-Series is failling into the loudness war. i wrote a post on this here on the hub, not sure how many of u guys saw it. but they r compressing the track to make all the sounds even and therefore increase the overall volume of the songs. if u go back to old pyramid songs of arr, the volume level is very low but the quality is amazing. i never felt the dynamics i felt in jeans or roja in any of the current albums. its not the sound engineers or arrs fault. the cd company is processing the finished songs to make it more louder/commercial. not healthy at all. this pen drive release is really catching my attention. it means once the price of a single pen drive reduces in cost, we may hear the file straight out of arrs studio with quality much greater than even blu ray. cant wait. LOVE BLUE THO. fantastic album. rehnuma is a killer of a song.

29th September 2009, 07:30 AM
Chiggy Wiggy removed from Blue

Kylie Minogue's big Bollywood debut has fizzled out. She recorded the song Chiggy Wiggy, composed by A R Rahman, for the film Blue - which stars Akshay Kumar, Lara Dutt, Sanjay Dutt and Zayed Khan - but it will not be used.

Minogue was paid $1-million (R7.3m) for the song, but the producers decided not to use it because it was "silly".

A source said, "The film is way over budget and the producers are struggling to complete it. Everyone expected the song to be a hit, especially since Rahman was involved, but it was disappointing. It makes no sense to have the song because it does not add anything to the film."

source:arryg

29th September 2009, 07:32 AM
http://www.bluethefilm.com/blog/

29th September 2009, 07:51 AM
Chiggy Wiggy removed from Blue

Kylie Minogue's big Bollywood debut has fizzled out. She recorded the song Chiggy Wiggy, composed by A R Rahman, for the film Blue - which stars Akshay Kumar, Lara Dutt, Sanjay Dutt and Zayed Khan - but it will not be used.

Minogue was paid $1-million (R7.3m) for the song, but the producers decided not to use it because it was "silly".

A source said, "The film is way over budget and the producers are struggling to complete it. Everyone expected the song to be a hit, especially since Rahman was involved, but it was disappointing. It makes no sense to have the song because it does not add anything to the film."

source:arryg

what BS !!! The song is a HIT already. Just a few sites gave it a bad review, doesnt mean the song is a flop. Yeven aven anthe message koduthan, anand, link kodunge, avane naan kilikiren !

29th September 2009, 07:57 AM
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movies/audiolisting/13837/index.html

Second version of Chiggy Version, sung by Suzzane....

Why are they doing this???????? :shock: Whats wrong with Kylie's version? The second version sounds boring! Kylie surely gave the song a good feel.... :?

29th September 2009, 12:06 PM
Surprised that the blame game started early...so if the movie flops....they have these reasons to choose from...

1) Kylie's cost
2) ARR didn't deliver a hit film
3) Akki's string of flops...
4) Resuls insistence on spending money for underwater sound equipments
5) SRK visitng Blue filming set

kadavule....

my honest opinion...I have not heard a composition as complex, as many layered, as harmoniuos, as rich instrumentation as BLUE THEME! I think it will take a long time before people can really appreciate the beauty of this particular song.

Like, when Parthalae Paravasam came out...I was head over heels on Love Check....but my family members rejected it as rubbish...only to admit the quality after almost 3 years!

29th September 2009, 12:10 PM
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movies/audiolisting/13837/index.html

Second version of Chiggy Version, sung by Suzzane....

Why are they doing this???????? :shock: Whats wrong with Kylie's version? The second version sounds boring! Kylie surely gave the song a good feel.... :?

Honestly second version is horrible....the energy is missing ad Dinesh puts it....

AudazJay
29th September 2009, 01:40 PM
Surprised that the blame game started early...so if the movie flops....they have these reasons to choose from...

1) Kylie's cost
2) ARR didn't deliver a hit film
3) Akki's string of flops...
4) Resuls insistence on spending money for underwater sound equipments
5) SRK visitng Blue filming set

kadavule....

my honest opinion...I have not heard a composition as complex, as many layered, as harmoniuos, as rich instrumentation as BLUE THEME! I think it will take a long time before people can really appreciate the beauty of this particular song.

Like, when Parthalae Paravasam came out...I was head over heels on Love Check....but my family members rejected it as rubbish...only to admit the quality after almost 3 years!

Me too! :D The song would have been a hit if not for the film's ill fate at the box-office!

Nevertheless, coming back to Chiggy Wiggy in Blue, I have a strong hunch that the article is a just a rumour. For starters, there weren't any names given except for "A source said...". I mean if the producers decided not to use the song, why not name them instead of spreading the news through a "source"?

And why do the producers hv to decide on the song? I mean it's understandable if the director might decide not to use it, (and that too only if he had made some changes to the script and felt that the song was not suitable now) but it doesn't make sense to name the producers.

Who in the right mind would do so after spending over $1 million for it?

29th September 2009, 04:08 PM
FIQRANA VIDEO PROMO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iY6BUD7h2Wc

29th September 2009, 05:48 PM
FIQRANA VIDEO PROMO

awesome :bow:

29th September 2009, 05:58 PM
FIQRANA VIDEO PROMO

IMHO, the picturisation doesnt match the song at all... hope it strikes right with the Hindi audience....

29th September 2009, 06:40 PM
it will surely Dinesh - and its no more like tamil films - playing a song separately in the movie, most hindi films bind the song to narrative - so u might see this song running in background for some scenes :D

listening to Blue theme - very interesting, infact its a explosion of instruments :P

30th September 2009, 12:35 AM
Maddy, i just felt the dance steps was a little childish for the song, and was too fancy. Fiqrana was something serious yet melodious. Athan shock aithen.

30th September 2009, 12:35 AM
'CHIGGY WIGGY' ZOOMS UP INDIAN AIRPLAY CHARTS!

23.09.2009 'Chiggy Wiggy', Kylie's collaboration with Oscar-winning A. R. Rahman for the Bollywood movie 'Blue', is Number 4 in the Indian airplay charts!

Kylie is the first ever international artist to appear in the Top 20 Indian Airplay chart as the airplay chart is usually only domestic artists.

http://www.kylie.com/news/1766989

30th September 2009, 08:58 AM
'Blue' promises never-seen-before visuals and stunts

http://www.newkerala.com/nkfullnews-1-121468.html

Benny Lava
30th September 2009, 08:59 AM
Yea! The Blue theme is just terrific, there are so many things going for me in this song... the punjabi lyrics are kicka$$ even if I can't head or tails out of it.

AudazJay
30th September 2009, 09:32 AM
FIQRANA VIDEO PROMO

The promo looks fantastic :D Lara Dutta is really hot :thumbsup:

1st October 2009, 12:39 PM
Anthony D'Souza on Rahman

This is the first ever time A.R. Rahman has composed for an all out action adventure film in Bollywood.

Yes he has. From day one I wanted A.R. Rahman to score for my film. But more importantly, I wanted him for the background score. In an action film, the music and the sound can make or break a film. I can shoot the best of visuals, but without a good sound quality, the visuals will fall flat. For me, Rahman is the only person, or if there are others I'm unaware of them, who understand the importance of a background score. For me, a background score is more important than the soundtrack of the film. Blue is a pure commercial entertainer. Rahman has done all kinds of film earlier so why not an action film too. It doesn't mean that there is no scope of music in an action film. Popular music is what sells and Rahman's music is popular.

Why do an additional music video and shoot the title track one more time?

In all honesty, I didn't want to this video. I think 'Fiqrana' is the best song. My producers and choreographer, Ahmed Khan loved the title track, the Blue theme. It's already been used in the film in a different situation. But they felt that it'll work well with lip sync. So I'm sitting back and watching them shoot the song.

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/features/2009/09/30/5538/index.html

1st October 2009, 01:07 PM
[tscii:6194250e5a]“With Blue we want people to sit back”: Anthony D'SouzaThursday, October

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/bollywood/interviews/2009/anthony-dsouza-interview-011009.html[/tscii:6194250e5a]

1st October 2009, 01:52 PM
[tscii:516624ee13]“With Blue we want people to sit back”: Anthony D'SouzaThursday, October

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/bollywood/interviews/2009/anthony-dsouza-interview-011009.html[/tscii:516624ee13]

padathe paarthe okarerangelo illai oderangalo naambalum parpome :twisted:

1st October 2009, 02:34 PM
[tscii:e7340b72b0]“With Blue we want people to sit back”: Anthony D'SouzaThursday, October

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/bollywood/interviews/2009/anthony-dsouza-interview-011009.html[/tscii:e7340b72b0]

namma style-la lollu! :lol:

1st October 2009, 04:57 PM
[tscii:dbc7f8887b]“With Blue we want people to sit back”: Anthony D'SouzaThursday, October

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/bollywood/interviews/2009/anthony-dsouza-interview-011009.html[/tscii:dbc7f8887b]

namma style-la lollu! :lol:

1st October 2009, 04:58 PM
Re: Chiggy Wiggy Second Version (Without Kylie Minouge)

Here is download link - http://www.mediafire.com/?14mzjm5nimt

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/125821

5th October 2009, 10:04 PM
Blue Theme

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/5cTUNu4/3/Blue-Theme-Blue.html

6th October 2009, 09:22 AM
Director Anthony D'Souza takes BLUE to LA!
Sampurn, Bollywood Trade News Network

Director Anthony D'Souza along with A.R. Rahman have set camp in Los Angeles to get the mixing in place for their mega film BLUE. The makers of the film, which is less than a fortnight away from its release, are leaving no stones unturned to lend an international feel to the product which is touted to be the costliest ever to come out of Indian shores.

Says a source close to the project, "BLUE is huge by all standards and with the kind of technical finesse it boasts of, there was no way that any cost would have been spared during it's post production. The makers didn't hesitate at all to process the film's mixing in LA. As we talk, Tony would already have completed a substantial part of the film's mixing."

Rahman is known for being fascinated with the city of Los Angeles when it comes to recording and mixing of music. Even though he already has studios in Chennai and Mumbai, he is in the process of getting studios in Los Angeles (USA) and London (UK) as well. Since there is also an increase in his international assignments, it only makes sense for Rahman to have a worldwide presence through his studios.

Coming back to BLUE, the film is seeing an unprecedented excitement being built up around it. The advance booking at numerous leading multiplexes has already opened, even though the film is more than 10 days away.

6th October 2009, 10:21 AM
Blue Theme

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/5cTUNu4/3/Blue-Theme-Blue.html

Awesome song, terrible picturization!

8th October 2009, 08:03 AM
[tscii:bbbb36fa5d]A fantastic follow up to Slumdog Millionare [BLUE MUSIC REVIEW]

The Mozart of Madras has upgraded to Global Music God after the roaring success of Slumdog Millionaire, all ears eagerly awaiting Oscar winner A.R. Rahman’s next soundtrack.

Blue is an out-and-out commercial flick – a point to be kept in mind when listening to the soundtrack. Rahman seems to be having fun here, but nowhere does he compromise on quality.

The album kicks off with the Marmite track of the year, Chiggy Wiggy. Vocalist Kylie Minogue’s seductive style infused with Sonu Nigam’s bhangra works, but not instantly. But, given spins enough, the track will surely prove a big hit with fans of the pop princess.

The subsequent stylistic transition is abrupt, but sets the tone for the incredible fusion of jazz and classical Indian with tribal chants in Aaj Dil Ghustakh Hai. Sukhwinder Singh and Shreya Ghoshal excel here, almost outdoing one another in their vocal brilliance.

Fiqrana’s unpredictability bounces from soft rock to Qawwali, altering styles just as you try to categorise it. It’s an interesting track, yet it doesn’t quite take off.

007 and Destiny’s Child drop by to make their presences felt on Rehnuma and Yaar Mila Tha respectively – the music is original, of course, yet the inspiration is hard to ignore.

Yaar Mila Tha soon gives way to an Arabic beat with playful lyrics sung by Madhushree and Udit Narayan. The latter last appeared on the What’s Your Rashee? soundtrack, and it’s a pleasure to hear him again. Rehnuma, meanwhile, is a bona-fide killer track. Easily one of Rahman’s most impressive compositions, it has a James Bond-goes-jazz feel to it, with scintillating vocals by Shreya Ghoshal. Sadly, though, the talents of Nigam seem to fade into the background.

The title track is a powerful number, with Blaaze trading rapping for singing, performing alongside Raqeeb Alam, Sonu Kakkar and Jaspreet Singh. It’s an unconventional track which would sit easily on an Asian Underground album and another of Rahman’s fantastic theme songs.

Let’s just hope that the film matches up to this brilliant musical treat from Rahman, a fantastic follow up to Slumdog Millionare.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/reviews/dx3q

[/tscii:bbbb36fa5d]

8th October 2009, 02:02 PM
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/7ycY7r25/3/Dialogue-Promo-1-Blue.html

This BGM sounds cool....not in the Audio CD though...

8th October 2009, 02:07 PM
Promo 1
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/7ycY7r25/1/Dialogue-Promo-1-Blue.html

Promo 2
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/S5jHTO72/1/Dialogue-Promo-2-Blue.html

Promo 3
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/PL7PDU63/1/Dialogue-Promo-3-Blue.html

Promo 4
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/CUrq7a29/1/Dialogue-Promo-4-Blue.html

Promo 5
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/qgmXfD49/1/Dialogue-Promo-5-Blue.html

8th October 2009, 02:21 PM
[tscii:be3d8eda85]A review on the BBC site for Blue:

A fantastic follow up to Slumdog Millionare.

Steve Chatha 2009-10-07

The Mozart of Madras has upgraded to Global Music God after the roaring success of Slumdog Millionaire, all ears eagerly awaiting Oscar winner A.R. Rahman’s next soundtrack.

Blue is an out-and-out commercial flick – a point to be kept in mind when listening to the soundtrack. Rahman seems to be having fun here, but nowhere does he compromise on quality.

The album kicks off with the Marmite track of the year, Chiggy Wiggy. Vocalist Kylie Minogue’s seductive style infused with Sonu Nigam’s bhangra works, but not instantly. But, given spins enough, the track will surely prove a big hit with fans of the pop princess.

The subsequent stylistic transition is abrupt, but sets the tone for the incredible fusion of jazz and classical Indian with tribal chants in Aaj Dil Ghustakh Hai. Sukhwinder Singh and Shreya Ghoshal excel here, almost outdoing one another in their vocal brilliance.

Fiqrana’s unpredictability bounces from soft rock to Qawwali, altering styles just as you try to categorise it. It’s an interesting track, yet it doesn’t quite take off.

007 and Destiny’s Child drop by to make their presences felt on Rehnuma and Yaar Mila Tha respectively – the music is original, of course, yet the inspiration is hard to ignore.

Yaar Mila Tha soon gives way to an Arabic beat with playful lyrics sung by Madhushree and Udit Narayan. The latter last appeared on the What’s Your Rashee? soundtrack, and it’s a pleasure to hear him again. Rehnuma, meanwhile, is a bona-fide killer track. Easily one of Rahman’s most impressive compositions, it has a James Bond-goes-jazz feel to it, with scintillating vocals by Shreya Ghoshal. Sadly, though, the talents of Nigam seem to fade into the background.

The title track is a powerful number, with Blaaze trading rapping for singing, performing alongside Raqeeb Alam, Sonu Kakkar and Jaspreet Singh. It’s an unconventional track which would sit easily on an Asian Underground album and another of Rahman’s fantastic theme songs.

Let’s just hope that the film matches up to this brilliant musical treat from Rahman, a fantastic follow up to Slumdog Millionare.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/reviews/dx3q[/tscii:be3d8eda85]

13th October 2009, 02:48 PM
[tscii:b797caf545]Kalaipuli Thanu buys Blue!

By Moviebuzz | Tuesday, 13 October , 2009, 12:26

Leading producer Kalaipuli.S Thanu whose recent Kanthaswamy was a hit, has gone and purchased the Tamil Nadu rights for the underwater action entertainer in Hindi Blue directed by Antony Desouza.

The film which cost Rs 100 crore to produce due to its state of arts under water sea bed scenes has a multi star cast consisting of Akshay Kumar- Sanjay Dutt- Katrina Kaif- Lara Dutta-Kylie Minouge- Zyed Khan and Rahul Dev.

The film has been completely shot in the white sand beaches of Bahamas and is an action adventure on a group of people looking for sunken treasure.

The film has India’s two Oscar winners AR Rahman and Resul Pookutty, the sound specialist coming together. The peppy numbers from AR Rahman, are topping the charts.

Says Thanu: “ I saw Blue, it’s awesome, never seen something like this in Indian cinema, and music by Thambi Rahman is fantastic. Depending on the availability of theatres I’m planning to release the film in 50 screens across TN from October 16. I’m sure people will just come for its spectacular 45 minutes under water sea bed scenes.”

The views expressed in the article are the author's and not of Sify.com.

[/tscii:b797caf545]

14th October 2009, 01:18 PM
[tscii:b7eeedd6bd]Blue Movie Review

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movies/review/13837/index.html

Roll out the red carpet.
Blow the conch shells.
Beat the drums.
It's time to pop champagne...

BLUE, the most awaited movie of the year, with its canvas as huge as the ocean, comes alive on the Hindi screen this Friday. Like every biggie, this one also comes with the baggage of monumental expectations. With tremendous hype surrounding it, the inescapable question that crosses your mind is, will BLUE live up to those colossal expectations?

Write your own movie review of Blue
Let me keep it concise and to the point. You haven't watched something like this on the Hindi screen before. Never ever!

It requires courage, willpower, fortitude, vision and of course, the financial backing to accomplish a project of this magnitude. And debutante director Anthony D'Souza puts his skills and the financial resources to best use. BLUE is not merely a stunning looking film, it's also a well structured film. Most importantly, it's a solid entertainer that packs in so much in those 1.58 hours.

Final word? Go, grab a ticket, if you haven't booked one yet. This under-sea treasure hunt is a kickass film. A must-see for all those who love adventure flicks.

BLUE is set in the sun-soaked white sand beaches of Bahamas. Sagar [Sanjay Dutt] is a simpleton, while his friend Aarav [Akshay Kumar] is a rich, ambitious businessman.

Sagar's brother Sameer aka Sam [Zayed Khan] has inadvertently managed to rankle the mafia in Bangkok [Rahul Dev]. He flees Bangkok and arrives in Bahamas. But the dangerous men reach Bahamas too. Sagar is the sole person who can bail him out from this crisis, but to save his brother, Sagar has to wrestle with the ghost of his dead father.

If you're a die-hard moviegoer, you'd draw parallels with a lot of international projects [especially THE DEEP] that were set in the ocean. In Bollywood, flashes of the Dharmendra - Jeetendra starrer SAMRAAT cross your mind instantaneously, but comparing the two is akin to comparing chalk and cheese.

BLUE grabs your attention from its opening titles itself. The marine life, which you may've watched on National Geographic Channel or Animal Planet, comes alive in all splendour at the start itself.

The story is uncomplicated and Anthony D'Souza garnishes it beautifully. If the aquatic life keeps your eyes wide open, the action sequences are sure to make your jaws drop to your knees. The bike chase at the start, yet another chase subsequently, the chase soon after the interval [atop a running train] is simply astounding.

Anthony's expertise comes to the fore in several sequences. One sequence that needs to be singled out is when Sanju narrates the tragic past, how he was responsible for his father's death. It's simply incredible!

Major portions of the film have been filmed in the ocean and you can't stop admiring and appreciating the enormous contribution of the underwater cinematographer [Pete Zuccarini]. The lighting in those sequences deserves special mention. Also, the underwater sequences, which feature aquatic life like puffer fish, stingrays and sharks, hold tremendous appeal. Cinematography [Laxman Utekar] is gorgeous.

On the flip side, the climax could've been more impactful. The villain's track looks clichéd, but you tend to overlook the minor aberration since the film never falls prey to mediocrity.

Anthony D'Souza is a director to watch. This film has style as well as substance. Also, it requires courage and conviction to think out of the box and most importantly, execute the material with panache. There's not much scope for music in an action thriller, yet A.R. Rahman's score suits the requirements. The Kylie Minogue track - 'Chiggy Wiggy' - is already popular. Sanju and Lara's romantic track - 'Aaj Dil' - is sensuous. The song at the end credits - 'Fiqrana' - has a lot of energy.

Sound design [Resul Pookutty] is fantastic. Action scenes [James D. Bomalick and R.P. Yadav] are a treat and, in fact, one of the mainstays of the film. Dialogues [Mayur Puri] are effective, while the screenplay [Anthony D'Souza and Jasmine D'Souza] is well thought-out, especially towards the second hour.

Sanjay Dutt carries his part well, although he looks very well-fed in some scenes. Akshay Kumar steals the show with a sterling performance. This would easily classify amongst his best works. Zayed Khan is highly competent. This, despite the fact that he's sharing the screen space with two hugely experienced actors.

Lara Dutta has never looked so good before. Though the story revolves around the guys, you can't overlook Lara's small but significant contribution to the film. Katrina Kaif [sp. app.] looks gorgeous and performs exceedingly well. The feminine charm [at the start specifically] would send the youth in a frenzy. Rahul Dev is first-rate. Kabir Bedi is hardly there.

On the whole, BLUE has style as well as substance. The film has everything going in its favour, right from its incredible star cast to the superb action scenes to the hitherto unseen marine life to the tremendous hype and hoopla. At the box-office, BLUE will strike like a hurricane in the festive week. It should set new benchmarks in days to come. In short, the business will be humungous.
[/tscii:b7eeedd6bd]

14th October 2009, 03:55 PM
Great! :2thumbsup:

14th October 2009, 05:18 PM
cool - the reviewer too was not a dumass writing something off-target to please the makers, so i have a trust on this review... :D

14th October 2009, 05:26 PM

The review is by Taran Adarsh, who gave 4 out of 4 to KANK :lol2:

14th October 2009, 05:34 PM
LM, engala thunburuthi paakkuradhula ungalukku avlo sandhoshama?

14th October 2009, 06:14 PM
Expectation jaasthi aagakkoodathulla :huh: Adhuvum oru *trade analyst* pandra review vachukkittu ;)

Appu s
14th October 2009, 06:18 PM

:lol: but there r people who liked the movie :wink: , so KANK is not an exp. to take... he given a good review for kaminey too :) keep your fingers crossed :victory:

14th October 2009, 06:19 PM
ling-a cilick panrathukku oru laziness, adhula indha taran adarsh matter escape aaiduchhu.........taran adarsh is a very bad reviewer - adhula doubt-e illa (http://sirishminapalli.blogspot.com/2009/02/taran-adarsh-most-illiterate-yet.html)
........so he must be wrong abt this movie or hopefully he is right without he himself realising it.....

he was the one who asked wats so great in Rangeela music in 1995 :lol2:

14th October 2009, 06:21 PM

:lol: but there r people who liked the movie :wink: , so KANK is not an exp. to take... he given a good review for kaminey too :) keep your fingers crossed :victory:

Agree, it depends on the individual. But this guy has been overpraising almost every big start film. KANK oru epic-nu sonnadha kooda gnabagam. Angathaan prachnai :twisted:

14th October 2009, 06:21 PM
adhula doubt-e illa (http://sirishminapalli.blogspot.com/2009/02/taran-adarsh-most-illiterate-yet.html)

Read it!
:shock: Baed wards use panna koodadhu nu pakkaren....

Appu s
14th October 2009, 06:24 PM
adhula doubt-e illa (http://sirishminapalli.blogspot.com/2009/02/taran-adarsh-most-illiterate-yet.html)

Read it!
:shock: Baed wards use panna koodadhu nu pakkaren....

:oops: :oops: Maddy thanks for the link

15th October 2009, 08:36 AM
Taran Adarsh is a GOOD REVIEWER ...period. But he is the most horrible Box Office predictor.....

15th October 2009, 03:52 PM
[tscii:250d0a930c]Blue for Diwali
IndiaGlitz [Thursday, October 15, 2009]

Now we have another contestant to compete in the Diwali race. ‘Blue’ is flushing all the way from the North to spread the colour and refreshment to South. Know who brings ‘Blue’ to Chennai? It’s none other than our Kalaipuli S Thanu. So, along with ‘Aadhavan’, ‘Jaganmohini’ and Peranmai’ we will have this Akki starer to entertain Chennaiites this festive season.

Releasing this 16th, the film is one of the most anticipated Bollywood movies of the year. ‘Blue’ is tagged with a U/A certificate by the Censor Board. Directed by Anthony D’Souza, this under-water adventure-thriller includes Akshay Kumar, Sanjay Dutt, Lara Dutta and Zayed Khan. One gets to enjoy a bonus with Katrina Kaif in a cameo role here. The music is already making waves, thanks to AR Rahman and Resul Pookutty, who handled the sound.[/tscii:250d0a930c]

15th October 2009, 03:55 PM
WTF... Resulkum musickum enna sambhandam. .

sunnyg
15th October 2009, 09:00 PM
Guys,

I read many reports that mention about "Blue" music not taking off with the public. Apparently, the songs have not become popular and this is not in keeping with ARR's music.

Do any of our fellow fans have any comment to make about this seeming lack of popularity of the songs?
Is it just media downplaying Thalaivar's music?

SunnyG.

Appu s
15th October 2009, 09:31 PM
Guys,

I read many reports that mention about "Blue" music not taking off with the public. Apparently, the songs have not become popular and this is not in keeping with ARR's music.

Do any of our fellow fans have any comment to make about this seeming lack of popularity of the songs?
Is it just media downplaying Thalaivar's music?

SunnyG.

yup ..except chiggy wiggy which became popular already ... we need to wait for the movie's success for the other songs..

15th October 2009, 09:35 PM
nekkennamo sigi vigi paatu padam release aana piragu innum padu hit aagum nu thonuthu :?

16th October 2009, 07:00 AM
[tscii:2c3bda2cd6]Blue’ premiere in Abu Dhabi

http://www.masala.com/15559-blue-premiere-in-abu-dhabi[/tscii:2c3bda2cd6]

16th October 2009, 01:35 PM
Initial reviews claims that BLUE is disappointing. However, the BGM and sound editing are excellent.

16th October 2009, 02:43 PM
http://movies.rediff.com/report/2009/oct/16/movie-review-blue.htm

The film has some cool songs, but a disappointingly weak background score. Maybe with the right kind of background music things would have looked up

Rocky89
16th October 2009, 04:04 PM
Yoga (Thalafanz) watched it already and texted me.

Watched Blue first show 11.30 just now. BGM is nice. Song picturization is ok. All style, no substance. Draggy here and there. Simple story with mindblowing camerawork.

17th October 2009, 01:55 PM
[tscii:e20472ca85]Bulu – Nonsense! Those “underwater” thickos have to be immediately transported to Sahara desert for poochi porukkum adventures. [/tscii:e20472ca85]

music man
17th October 2009, 08:09 PM
Some reviews here....It seems the movie is shot well but it doesn't have a good storyline...All style and no substance

http://www.apunkachoice.com/content/article/sid827-blue__movie_review/

Most damaging review
http://passionforcinema.com/blue-movie-review-in-shallow-waters/

http://movies.indiatimes.com/Reviews/Bollywood/Blue-Movie-Review/moviereview/5126737.cms

I don't know why ARR chooses these movies....Its time to take huge decisions.... :?

17th October 2009, 10:05 PM
Some reviews here....It seems the movie is shot well but it doesn't have a good storyline...All style and no substance

http://www.apunkachoice.com/content/article/sid827-blue__movie_review/

Most damaging review
http://passionforcinema.com/blue-movie-review-in-shallow-waters/

http://movies.indiatimes.com/Reviews/Bollywood/Blue-Movie-Review/moviereview/5126737.cms

I don't know why ARR chooses these movies....Its time to take huge decisions.... :?

ARR does project which excites him, and apparently these kinda films excites him... i duno y.... :?

sibicalls
18th October 2009, 08:56 AM
This movie is as crappy a movie can get. On the paper level, i think the movie would have looked quite interesting and thats why i believe all the stars agreed to be part of it. But the execution is as crappy as it can get. The director's incapability was evident in every scene. I sincerely wish the news about ARR being part of his next project is false. I wouldn't even listen to the soundtrack of that film if it happens. :hammer:

18th October 2009, 11:25 AM
Talk about squandering money 80Cr is the production cost. Folks, you guys have to see Sh$ face of Akshay Kumar live on NDTV inquiring box office status and a collosal list of his flops this year. This shameless "khiladi" recalls his 18yrs of such patches, but still survives. Producers maanga madayana irundha enna pandradhu?

Leave that aside, coming to ARR whats wrong with him really? Why is he still accepting such garbages? Seriously, Why restrict only film music. A film music have lots of restrictions. A movie/video can never do justice to his music. Thats rare indeed and a very few exceptional directors have done it in the past. Mostly Disaster! Take the recent "passage" & "Couples retreat" some best musical themes have been cruelly wasted. Thanks to "Musicman" & "BennyLava aka TV" for essaying it. Folks, the soundtrack is not for any common listener its an exclusive product for musical fans (who have followed and enjoyed ARR's style of music) It needs lot of attention and involvement to understand such depth of the music and the sheer variety of World music ARR have excelled in genre-wise, instruments and orchestration (Nana, tours of villa, Itenary, Meeting Marcel, Animal spirits, Undress etc..) He is born to innovate and explore the musical world and produce much more global sound. If I am a watchman in ARR's studio I would never let any of these bozos inside for discussion. He should stick to his own terms and work more on private albums rather wasting time with these p**gy wiggies. International collobrations is also a great idea. Comeon ARR, Time to say bye (not what some mean).

sha
18th October 2009, 02:07 PM
"With great power comes great responsibility"

i seen this after his oscar win!

18th October 2009, 09:57 PM
He should stick to his own terms and work more on private albums rather wasting time with these p**gy wiggies. International collobrations is also a great idea

money in films >>> money in private albums......he has reached a stage where KM conservatory, ARR foundation require money and he has to "earn"...........

however i agree to your point - he is wasting his music for garbage films......be it bollywood or kollywood, he composes only for
a) big budget movies
b) friends
c) big production houses/directors

most of the good movies that happen in bollywood and watever decent attempts happening in tamil are "low" budget movies and are done by guys totally alien to rahman......lets face the truth, until some of rahman friends or big production house make good movies like Jaane tu Jaane na, we would never see good movies from rahman's music.......we have to see Blue like crap, banal movies eating up rahman's panaromic scores.....

let me tell you - current hollywood is also not very promising.....we would see crappy projects there too......we can just pray that his music gets noticed by tarantino, spielberg likes and offer him a good package.....

18th October 2009, 11:26 PM
i always knew this was going to be an utter flop... :(

18th October 2009, 11:40 PM
The thing is that the low budget movies wouldn't be low budget movies anymore if ARR scores the music.

seevaa
19th October 2009, 12:40 AM
i just returned from blue. horrible movie. never seen such a movie in years. i dont know how ARR composes music for these types of films. there was no scope to show his talents. almost all the songs are wasted. only two mins of chigg wiggy and aaj dil was there in the movie. yaar mila tha was missing. fiqrana was played at the end after the movie. i almost left the cinema hall when fiqrana was played. i ran again to the hall to see the song. rehnuma was used in the title.

19th October 2009, 01:14 AM
money in films >>> money in private albums......he has reached a stage where KM conservatory, ARR foundation require money and he has to "earn"...........

Ofcourse, Money is significant! But by composing films except remuneration nothing could benefit him which is probably 2-5 cr that too depends on the banner. If I have to believe the sources he was offered only 30k UKS for SDM. Thanks to Oscar its an overdue recognition. With KM label under his name he can easily source a production house locally/internationally and go for a full-fledged creative album. Sure Paisa Vasool and that would be an extraordinary musical treat for fans.

Benny Lava
19th October 2009, 04:58 PM
I feel it is natural for him to wish to do a light hearted film. How such an attempt would turn out, is totally beyond his control. Let us all accept, he is a bit freakish... :P

19th October 2009, 05:30 PM
i just returned from blue. horrible movie. never seen such a movie in years. i dont know how ARR composes music for these types of films. there was no scope to show his talents. almost all the songs are wasted. only two mins of chigg wiggy and aaj dil was there in the movie. yaar mila tha was missing. fiqrana was played at the end after the movie. i almost left the cinema hall when fiqrana was played. i ran again to the hall to see the song. rehnuma was used in the title.

the dir treated ARR songs that badly??? :shock: I think Kalaprabhu showed more interest in using ARR songs than this dude.

19th October 2009, 05:37 PM
Just watched the movie....I really don't understand what else was needed....

The movie rocks....technically, first of all....nothing much to say on the acting...as it was just sufficient. But ARR rocked big time.....it's an action movie....go watch Bad Boys, Bad Boys 2, etc and decide....how action movies are made....

This is one of the best recent Hindi movie ....I thoroughly enjoyed the show....

19th October 2009, 10:04 PM
Blue Grosses 19 Crore In Its First Weekend

Monday 19th October 2009 14.00 IST

Boxofficeindia.Com Trade Network

Blue has easily won the Diwali opening battle by grossing around 19 crore nett over its first weekend. The Telugu version added a further 70 lakhs nett. After a strong start the film held steady in the bigger circuits like Mumbai, Delhi/UP and East Punjab on Diwali Saturday which is normally a dull day for business due to festivities. Even Southern circuits were fairly steady. However smaller circuits like CP Berar and CI did show big drops on Saturday. Sunday was super strong all over.

The approx breakdowns for Blue over the weekend are 6.50 crore nett on Friday, 5 crore nett on Saturday and 7.50 crore nett on Sunday. The film will have a strong Monday but Tuesday will decide if the film can sustain.

Blue could set a new record for Monday business by beating Wanted's total of 7.25 crore nett which was set last Month. The film could do anywhere between 6-8 crore on Monday giving it a 25-27 crore nett total for its extended four day weekend

http://boxofficeindia.com/npages.php?page=shownews&articleid=1214&nCat=news

seevaa
20th October 2009, 01:20 AM

The movie rocks....technically, first of all....nothing much to say on the acting...as it was just sufficient. But ARR rocked big time.....it's an action movie....go watch Bad Boys, Bad Boys 2, etc and decide....how action movies are made....

This is one of the best recent Hindi movie ....I thoroughly enjoyed the show....

seevaa
20th October 2009, 01:24 AM

i dont understand what rocks in the movie. bad boys is a far better movie than blue. i m not concerned about the fate of the movie. it is the producer who has to worry. but ARR songs and time has been wasted.

20th October 2009, 08:05 AM

i dont understand what rocks in the movie. bad boys is a far better movie than blue. i m not concerned about the fate of the movie. it is the producer who has to worry. but ARR songs and time has been wasted.

Dear Seevaa,

Are you expecting them to break into songs in the middle of an action movie? I sincerely didn't. Yes I do feel that ARR's songs didn't add much to the movie...but his BGM surely made up to it....listen to Ring Fight BGM and Zayed Khan's intro bike chase and the Bangkok chase scene BGMs.....Also when the villain attacks Sanjay and Lara in their house.....the BGM continues until the scene where Akshay, Sanjay and Zayed talks....I find that interesting......ARR's doing his bit of "story telling" there....these BGM rocks!....

Bad Boys is definitely better...We can't compare these 2.....All I said was the treatment are similar. And do u know what was the budget BB team had? It's Jerry Bruckheimers' production for god's sake....but BLUE sets a standard for Hindi cinema. Have u watched Dhoom? Thats horrible....

Anyways...I liked the movie...I have nothing to complaint...ARR did well with the BGM ...the movie was good....I enjoyed it thoroughly.... Cheers mate....

you can watch any other movie and enjoy it...who am i to complaint :)

20th October 2009, 08:35 AM
Blue - Telugu Version Sound Track Listing

1. Chiggy Wiggy
Artist(s): Karthik, Suzanne (Sonu Nigam replaced by Karthik)

2. Gundey Lo
Artist(s): Sukhwindher Singh, Shreya Ghoshal

3. Chintela
Artist(s): Vijay Prakash, Shreya Ghoshal

4. Yemayyindo Mansukhi
Artist(s): Rashid Ali

5. Blue Theme
Artist(s): Blaze, Naresh Iyer, Vijay Prakash, Raqueeb Aalam, Raihanah, Sonu Kakkark (Jaspreet Singh replaced by Raihanah)

6. Priyathama
Artist(s): Shreya Ghoshal, Naresh Iyer (Sonu Nigam replaced by Naresh Iyer)

7. Priyudu Kalisinadaiya
Artist(s): Udit Narayan, Madhusree

Kalyan K.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arrahmanfans/message/126919

20th October 2009, 01:52 PM
Why don't we get a Tamil version? :(

Do dubbed Hindi films do well in Telugu land?

20th October 2009, 01:55 PM
Why don't we get a Tamil version? :(

Do dubbed Hindi films do well in Telugu land?

athane, tamil-la intha varusam oru album kuda illa!ithayachum dub panna oru aaruthala irukkum,namma makkal intha album tamil version-la kandippa kekkanum! :D

20th October 2009, 02:16 PM
HA ha ha...they are singing "Celaka" in Blue Theme.....ha ha ha....

20th October 2009, 03:42 PM

which part????? :lol:

btw, 'buluuuu' sounds wrong both in Malay and Tamil :twisted: :twisted:

20th October 2009, 06:53 PM

Dinesh...the first stanza....

BULU sounds bad too! Ha ha ha

20th October 2009, 08:37 PM

Dinesh...the first stanza....

BULU sounds bad too! Ha ha ha

:lol: Athethan...!

sunnyg
21st October 2009, 06:22 PM
Guys

I have listened to Blue songs many times over but some how the satisfaction is not there yet.

I really like the Sukhwinder Song in the lot. Kyle's song starts of promisingly but is very slow in the middle - Sonu props up and energizes the song with his punjabi style singing.

I hate the Udit Narayan song.

Just my thoughts. No wonder the music did not make it big.

Benny Lava
21st October 2009, 06:35 PM
Bulueee theme Rocks!!! :2thumbsup:

22nd October 2009, 08:37 AM
Guys

I have listened to Blue songs many times over but some how the satisfaction is not there yet.

I really like the Sukhwinder Song in the lot. Kyle's song starts of promisingly but is very slow in the middle - Sonu props up and energizes the song with his punjabi style singing.

No prob sunnyg......you can enjoy any other music too....

Blue only works for those who believe in its complexity...

thineshan54321
22nd October 2009, 08:12 PM
Guys

No prob sunnyg......you can enjoy any other music too....

Blue only works for those who believe in its complexity...

agreed very sophisticated arrangements. i was listening to the interludes and the preludes and they r so symphonic. very well done.

ezy0265
23rd October 2009, 05:32 PM
Just watched Blue in a new theater with good sound system. The BGM was just too loud and very unoriginal. To make it worst the scenes were also heavily copied from many hollywood flicks like Torque etc. Songs did not impress either. The only good song Fiqurana was used at end credit and sadly not a single person bothered to stay and listen.

23rd October 2009, 06:07 PM
EDITED - Ok, i was rude... haha... had to edit it out...

Ezy, i pity u didnt enjoy the songs. Period.

23rd October 2009, 07:20 PM
Just watched Blue in a new theater with good sound system. The BGM was just too loud and very unoriginal. To make it worst the scenes were also heavily copied from many hollywood flicks like Torque etc. Songs did not impress either. The only good song Fiqurana was used at end credit and sadly not a single person bothered to stay and listen.

It was a mistake of the director to squeeze 2 songs during the credit roll....most of the people didnt know....but when I watched....there was 10 others who stayed until the end to watch those 2 songs.....

anyway....thanks for your 'review'....

Benny Lava
24th October 2009, 12:05 AM
Yeah... thanks for your opinion Ezy

Appu s
24th October 2009, 01:29 AM
Yeah... thanks for your opinion Ezy

:lol: thanks to rahman, made him/her to watch all the movies of Rahman :mrgreen: , i yet to watch... TV,what about you? :P

25th October 2009, 10:21 PM
Blue Telugu Songs

http://www.raaga.com/channels/telugu/album/A0001555.html

26th October 2009, 08:30 AM
No Kylie on Chiggy Wiggy? Also, where are the Autotune effects on Chintela (Fiqrana) and Priyudu Kalisinadaiya (Yaar Mila)? There are a few little extra sounds on a couple of the songs that I didn't notice on the Hindi version.

10th November 2009, 12:08 PM
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/cpages.php?pageName=earnings

Blue at no.2.....escapes from being a disaster.....its touted as Average.... :D

natha1729
10th November 2009, 11:30 PM
Chicky wicky or whatever is wasted attempt for rahman - the singer's dance was a pity, voice was good. such a fantastic song should be billboard no.1.

24th November 2009, 08:23 AM
A funky BGM from Blue

http://www.mediafire.com/?ynygaxyxcxj

Guess_Me
21st January 2010, 05:41 PM
[tscii:ec14a51e9a]Rahman replicated rhythmic accompaniment beats

Any guesses about what’s common between A R Rahman’s ‘Chiggy Wiggy’ (Blue) and his nephew G.V. Prakash’s ‘Un Mela Aasadhan’ (Aayirathil Oruvan)? These two songs have been rocking at top of charts for past six months and still remain favorite numbers on everyone’s list.

Now, it’s revealed that A R Rahman has replicated the rhythmic accompaniment beats from a famous album R. Kelly’s Thoia Thoing. When you play these numbers together, nothing makes a big difference over the rhythmic spell. Similarly, G.V. Prakash has picked the instrumental part on flute for his ‘Un Mela Aasadhan’. As in relativity, Yuvan Shankar Raja had scored a prototyped music for ‘Adada’ (Sarvam).

‘Un Mela Aasadhan’ has been making high waves in town for the catchy tunes and lyrics. More than all, actor Dhanush and his wife Aishwarya Rajnikanth crooning the song has made it yet more attractive. [/tscii:ec14a51e9a]

Guess_Me
21st January 2010, 05:42 PM
R. Kelly - Thoia Thoing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mO9Odejc6Yg

After listening to that song, I feel there is a certain amount of similarity to Kylie's portion.

Reality
21st January 2010, 10:32 PM
This 'Thoia Thoing' song already copied to a song in Aitraaz years back ..sung by adnan sami

8th June 2012, 08:26 PM
My thoughts on Blue

Though I don’t listen to it frequently, I still nevertheless rate this album as Rahman Ji’s finest work. Blue as we know was Rahman Ji’s first project post his Oscar victory. The album might have a low play count amongst my Rahman Ji library, but whenever I do revisit the album, the album is as fresh as when I heard it initially.

There’s a vast number of factors that contribute in deciding Rahman Ji’s best album but as it stands in Hindi, my top 5 currently is:

Rockstar
Swades
Blue
Yuvvraaj
Rangeela/Taal

(This list only includes Rahman Ji’s original Hindi work and not his dubbed/remade/bi-lingual work)

There’s no denying that Blue is still underrated amongst the masses, the film is largely to blame for this. This was also the case to an extent with Raavan, but for me Raavan was better as a film and Blue was better as an OST. I cannot compare the two albums, but I’m only drawing parallels due to these albums/films being considered Rahman Ji’s blips amongst North Indian fans.

I’m not going to review the album, rather I’m going to share my experience. Blue does not deserved to be heard, it deserves to be experienced.
Let me start with Bhoola Tujhe...

Extremely extremely underrated, for me the repeat values solely lies in the prelude. Rahman Ji’s orchestration pleasantly paints a shore with a staircase to heaven. I cannot stress how great of a prelude this is by him. Best till date! Hear this at sun-set or even better at night, to completely drown in to this paradise soundscape. Abbas Tyrewala pulls out some chaste Urdu lines, which make this song an even more concrete Sufi number.” Ya khuda pyaare khuda, pyaare khuda”.

Fiqarana is always a great sing along. Delightful vocals Vijay Prakash, an out and out Rahman Ji melody polished with mind-boggling flanging, stuttering and phasing guitar work. Great song to get a party started.

When the album released, all eyes were on Chiggy Wiggy, due to it being the first collaboration between Rahman Ji, Kylie Minogue and Akshay Kumar. Ever since Mohra, as a kid I have always tried to imitate Akki’s Tu cheez badi mast mast dance, so for me to see these two veterans join was a big moment. Chiggy Wiggy is two songs, one being Hip hop the other being Bhangra. I need to be true to myself and admit, this song fell short of my expectations. The lyrics were silly and the arrangement was not up to mark. But there is something which pulls me towards this song and I’m baffled as I still haven’t clocked what this could be. So I just enjoy once in a blue moon.

Rehnuma

This one is a Jazz, BGM fest and first of its kind by Rahman Ji. The mystical, spy mission centred music definitely overtakes the ambiguous structure of the song and melody. I would’ve preferred this to be the main theme of the movie in instrumental form. Although kudos to Sonu Nigam, IMO he leaves Shreya Ghosal miles behind in this number.

Blue Theme

Is this the most layered track by Rahman Ji? A rap fest which can be attributed more to Akshay Kumar then Rahman Ji. As an Akki fan, Rahman Ji has delivered best of both worlds, with his own sensibilities and sensibilities of hardcore Akshay fans. The Punjabi lyrics stand tall even amongst the haywire arrangements. The folk touch is clearly glaring and if Bhoola Tujhe had a whopping prelude, then the Blue theme has the best answer for a postlude.

Aaj Dil

Has all the sensibilities of a Rahman Ji track. A vintage number, which displays jazz, classical, contemporary and world music via one dimension. It’s definitely another great sing along. The intentional tipsy singing by both legends steal the limelight of this song.

I had to leave the best song for the last...

Yaar Mila Tha

I was depressingly missing a typical Bollywood duet by Rahman Ji and when I heard this all my questions were answered and cravings were taken care of. This song wasn’t featured in the film, which p*ssed me right off. My favourite song in the OST. So many factors which I can relate to, the main one being that it’s an out and out 90s number. It’s always a treat to hear Udit Narayan and Madhushree, the duo that brought us Hum Hain Iss Pal Yaha. I think this was the first time I heard Udit Narayan in Auto-tune. Definitely a tailor-made song for the badmash yet adorable Akki of the 90s. Double thumbs up to Rahman Ji for illustrating this essence.

I know I have faulted this album at a few places, but as I said whenever I do revisit this album I simply cannot forward any song. I hope I’ve tried to convince the haters of this album to give it a second chance.

http://musicindiaonline.co/album/7-hindi/31178-Blue__2009_/#/album/7-hindi/31178-Blue__2009_/