View Full Version : IR's New albums - Ver 2008/2009

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

kameshratnam
26th December 2008, 09:24 AM
Hi .this is great news....One of the producers of nandalala has replied to my post in orkut in the Tamil cinema community...see it under the topic

http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#CommMsgs.aspx?cmm=64172&tid=5278727970347737105&na=2&nst=11

He says

Audio probabaly by 10th of jan, we have plans to release score also...but at a later date...

krish244
26th December 2008, 03:23 PM
Another link that says NK album will be released on 1st.

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tamil/exclusive/2008/naan-kadavul-audio-launch-261208.html

"..The film's music by the maestro Ilayaraja, is said to be spell binding. According to the unit, "The songs are really excellent and amazingly shot by the director. This time Raja sir will definitely receive the national award for his extra ordinary work in this film...."

Not that it (national award) matters much to IR or us, but I will be glad if he receives it.

Krishnan

krish244
26th December 2008, 10:37 PM
I don't remember hearing about this (new) tamil movie in this forum or maybe I forgot. It has music by IR:

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/id/Mathiya_Chennai_20939.html

Krishnan

NagaS
29th December 2008, 02:51 PM
IR Combining with Uttam Singh For Naan KadavuL's BGM? Thats very surprising, given the way IR Normally works:

http://cenimafun.blogspot.com/2008/12/blog-post_4067.html

NagaS

rooky
29th December 2008, 03:26 PM
I guess, Uttam singh is associated with IR for quite sometime now.
The only difference i see here is that association is explicitly given here,may be for the first time :)

crvenky
29th December 2008, 03:37 PM
The news is from here: (it has pics also)

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2008/december/291208c.asp

Uttam was associated with IR for about 15 years as stereo mixer, or something like that. IR has acknowledged his contributions at many a times, including the Italy concert, which was conducted by Uttam. His daughter Preeti has sung some songs for IR.

I also remember one of the episodes in Ananda Vikatan, where IR has written about an incident which happened in Kasi. Once he went to Kasi with Karthik Raja and Uttam. When Karthik got drowned in the water (while bathing), Uttam saved him immediately. When I saw Naan Kadavul stills, I remembered that.

I feel Uttam might have rendered some slokas/songs in Hindi/Sanskrit for the movie.

NagaS
29th December 2008, 03:54 PM
rooky,

I Knew Uttam Singh is associated with IR already, I have seen him in many of IR's stage shows as well and his daughter(?) Preethi Uttam Singh sang for IR (Kaadhal vaanile, Allah un aaNaippadi Ellaam Nadakkum),

But Usually IR's compositions are 100% His own, He doesn't like / allow others to do improvisation etc., this includes singers too - Even in 'Making Of Thiruvasagam' program in SS Channel, One person remarked proudly, 'whatever comes in his name, is his own creation', (May be KR's influence in terms of arrangements is a glaring exception)

From this angle, Seeing Uttam Singh as Co-MD For BGM of Naan KadavuL is very surprising and I am wondering WHY he needs somebody to assist him, that too in this movie which is closer to his heart,

If Uttam singh is involved in this movie officially, What Next? IR - YSR MDing for a movie together?

NagaS

29th December 2008, 05:57 PM
What Next? IR - YSR MDing for a movie together?

That is my dream :D

29th December 2008, 06:59 PM

Ivanga ellam IR fans'aam :banghead:

Uttam singh himself was only just a good MD with quite a few cheesy hits. I really can't comprehend the need for assistance leave alone providing creative inputs!

29th December 2008, 08:37 PM
Uttam Singh is associated with IR as "arranger" (& "conductor") for many years, much before he became an independent MD.

I think he works in the same capacity for this movie too - the only difference being him understood as a music director from bollywood, because he has done some work there (and possibly some songs as hits). Since he is independently known as a MD now, the press wants to give him a mileage, I think.

Otherwise, IMO, he is doing the same work of arranger that he had been doing for IR for many years.

Nothing new, except the press projecting him as "somebody". That is good while not taking anything away from IR.

rooky
29th December 2008, 08:54 PM
Uttam Singh is associated with IR as "arranger" (& "conductor") for many years, much before he became an independent MD.

I think he works in the same capacity for this movie too - the only difference being him understood as a music director from bollywood, because he has done some work there (and possibly some songs as hits). Since he is independently known as a MD now, the press wants to give him a mileage, I think.

Otherwise, IMO, he is doing the same work of arranger that he had been doing for IR for many years.

Nothing new, except the press projecting him as "somebody". That is good while not taking anything away from IR.

I am also of the same opinion.dont think he will be a co-md there

NormalMan
29th December 2008, 10:03 PM
BehindWoods is very notorious of brining down and defaming IR, with every opp they get,

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/dec-08-04/naan-kadavul-29-12-08.html

"The movie is scored by Ilayaraja and Bollywood musician Uttam Singh."

29th December 2008, 10:08 PM
பாவம் உத்தம் சிங் . அவரை இப்படி வாரீங்களே! அவர்களுக்கு ஏதாவது செய்தி கிடைக்க வேண்டும். நாளைக்கு பாலா ஒரு பாடலுக்க்கு இசயமைத்தார் என்று கூட போடுவார்கள். அப்ப தான் நிறய hits கிடைக்கும்.

29th December 2008, 11:37 PM

Ivanga ellam IR fans'aam :banghead:

Uttam singh himself was only just a good MD with quite a few cheesy hits. I really can't comprehend the need for assistance leave alone providing creative inputs!

What is there to bang your head?? I sincerely want IR to compose and let Yuvan choose his sounds for those notes and do mixing and recording. Then all IR fans who cry about his synth usage in recent times will be in cloud nine. I am sure about it.

raagas
30th December 2008, 12:03 PM

Even i think this must the case. And i doubt if it is intentional too.You know, sometimes, few articles are written by not-so-well-informed people. Also, since Uttam Singh is now a composer, the author of the article might have unintentionally but carelessly wrote "Ilaiyaraaja and Hindi composer Uttam Singh". Could be. Could not be. We never know Uttam Singh's role till we see the cds. So, let us not speculate and lets just wait. meanwhile,Let me give you a background of Uttam Singh.

Uttam Singh is a not yet a full-fledged composer, although he did compose music for a handful of films and he is known for his music for 'Dil To Pagal Hai'. thats it. Uttam Singh was originally a violinist in orchestras of yesteryear composers such as S.D.Burman etc. Later sometime during 80s, he became an arranger for many composers such as R.D.Burman. He was also the arranger for legendary composer Naushad's only private album "Aathwaan Sur". Ilaiyaraaja used to record in Bombay many times and his confidante` or if we can call 'Right Hand Man', to arrange, communicate with musicians was Uttam Singh. How IR knew about Uttam Singh is a mystery.I only guess that R.D.Burman must be the common point between them, given the fact that IR used RD's orchestra in Bombay. So, for Ilaiyaraaja, the moment he thinks of going to Bombay for anything, be it recording or mixing or mastering, Uttam Singh is involved in someway of other, either in conducting orchestra or even as point-of-contact for getting good sound engineers such as Daman Sood, Avinash Oak, K.J.Singh etc.
The notable albums in which i could hear Uttam Singh's (and/or his daughter Preeti Uttam's) voice are "India 24 hours", "Hey Ram", "Live in Italy", "Chalia"(the prabhudeva film which has 'Kaadhal Vaanile', 'Mastaana' songs). Remember, Thiruvasakam was originally planned a Hindi version too and Uttam Singh was associated with it.It was shelved later. I think the final version which we hear now also has some recordings in Bombay, in which he might be involved.His own music for 'Dil To Pagal Hai' was a huge hit, although his music does not have any influence of any of composers with whom he had worked, including IR.However, his subsequent films did not do well.

30th December 2008, 08:52 PM
2 MORE DAYS TO GO FOR KADAVUL THARISANAM...ROMBA BORING :(

31st December 2008, 12:10 AM
I think after a looong time , there is somee hype abt a IR album !

writeface
31st December 2008, 03:05 AM
Don't hv high expectations. Remember pitamagan had only couple of good songs.

ananth222
31st December 2008, 04:43 AM
Don't hv high expectations. Remember pitamagan had only couple of good songs.really? If this album is anything like Pithamagan, I'll be very happy.

writeface
31st December 2008, 05:20 AM
Sethu had one decent song.
Pithamagan had 2 great songs (Ilankaatru and the KJY song).

Bala's movies typically have more scope for BGM.

31st December 2008, 07:44 AM
Sethu had four good songs, what movie album were you listening to? :curse:

The only thing i am looking forward to in the album is the sanskrit song. the rest must be forced-in themes.

kameshratnam
31st December 2008, 11:36 AM
Synopsis:

Naan Kadavul is the 4th movie by director Bala. Arya and Pooja are in the lead roles. Cinematography is by Arthur Wilson and music is by maestro Illayaraja.

The Album has six songs of which five is penned by Vaali and a song is written by Illayaraja. Illayaraja, Madhu Balakrishnan, Vijay Prakash, Sadhna Sargam, Madhumitha and Shreya Ghosal have sung a song each. The album has come out well and its a masterpiece of Illayaraja.

http://www.pstl.in/master_page/naan_kadavul.php

kameshratnam
31st December 2008, 11:38 AM
Maatha un kovil by Madhumitha

Sanskrit song for 7 - 8 minutes by Ilayaraaja.. :D

31st December 2008, 12:41 PM
One more day to go, I guess by this time tomorrow we should be hearing the songs :D

vigneshram
31st December 2008, 12:53 PM
Maatha un kovil by Madhumitha

Sanskrit song for 7 - 8 minutes by Ilayaraaja.. :D

Also include "Pitchai paathiram" from 'Ramana maalai'

crvenky
31st December 2008, 03:39 PM
Raja to grace the audio release function:

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2008/december/311208c.asp

rooky
31st December 2008, 06:05 PM
I remember seeing an ad in Kalaignar TV about telecast of audio release function on the 1st January.

kameshratnam
31st December 2008, 06:48 PM
கே.பாலசந்தர், பாரதிராஜா, மணிரத்னம், இளையராஜா, வாலி, பாலுமகேந்திரா, மகேந்திரன், ராம.நாராயணன் இவர்களுடன் பிரமிட் சாய்மீரா நிறுவன தலைவர் சாமிநாதன் கலந்து கொள்கிறார். தான் இசையமைத்திருந்தாலும், அந்த படங்களின் ஆடியோ வெளியீட்டு விழாக்களில் கலந்து கொள்வதை விரும்பாதவர் இசைஞானி இளையராஜா. ஆனால், நான் கடவுள் படத்திற்காகவும், பாலாவுக்காகவும் இந்த விழாவிற்கு வர இசைந்திருக்கிறாராம் ராஜா.

31st December 2008, 07:20 PM
I remember seeing an ad in Kalaignar TV about telecast of audio release function on the 1st January.

Do you know what time it is on?

rooky
31st December 2008, 07:57 PM
I just googled and found this schedule..
http://www.kalaignartv.co.in/programmes.html

as per this schedule,
audio release function from 10PM.

you may also be interested in this..
making of nandhalala at 5.30 PM

watch out for nan kadavul Trailer at 9am tom in the same channel

1st January 2009, 08:01 AM
கே.பாலசந்தர், பாரதிராஜா, மணிரத்னம், இளையராஜா, வாலி, பாலுமகேந்திரா, மகேந்திரன், ராம.நாராயணன் இவர்களுடன் பிரமிட் சாய்மீரா நிறுவன தலைவர் சாமிநாதன் கலந்து கொள்கிறார். தான் இசையமைத்திருந்தாலும், அந்த படங்களின் ஆடியோ வெளியீட்டு விழாக்களில் கலந்து கொள்வதை விரும்பாதவர் இசைஞானி இளையராஜா. ஆனால், நான் கடவுள் படத்திற்காகவும், பாலாவுக்காகவும் இந்த விழாவிற்கு வர இசைந்திருக்கிறாராம் ராஜா.

Last time he attended was in Maaya kaanadi!

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 08:35 AM
Year 2009 started..wishing all here a new happy and great year of music ahead

Nan Kadavul
Nandhalala - Jan 10
Then we have a great list...
Expected ones to be
Pazhassi Raja
Pa - NDTV said upcoming film of Amitabh

1st January 2009, 09:50 AM
I just googled and found this schedule..
http://www.kalaignartv.co.in/programmes.html

as per this schedule,
audio release function from 10PM.

you may also be interested in this..
making of nandhalala at 5.30 PM

watch out for nan kadavul Trailer at 9am tom in the same channel

Thanks man. I was looking at their other site and couldn't get the schedule, now I won't miss both of these programs.

Anyone seen the trailer??

1st January 2009, 10:26 AM
Trailer http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=KhgqouLo1Hg :redjump: :bluejump:

1st January 2009, 11:54 AM
The percussions in the trailer are damn apt and interesting !! eagerly looking forward to the songs and the bgm !

as usual , its going to be a movie with very very strong characterisation !

1st January 2009, 01:10 PM
naadi narambellaam adhirudhu!!
BP high, adrenalin summaa oothudhu idhai kaettaa
. I think disclaimer should be added to warn heart patients and nervous cases.

1st January 2009, 01:47 PM
visuals and music :notworthy:

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 04:20 PM
Ok guys i spoke to some one in pyramid saimira who are the audio company releasing the cd

The person said the cd cud be available in odeysey shop in chennai today and it will be available only tomorrow morning in all shops :) in chennai..

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 04:29 PM
Guys please rush to odeysey in adyar...the cd is available there..i spoke to the people...wow wow

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 05:17 PM
ok i just purchased the audio cd..wow wow

6 songs in the album they are

1. Om sivoham om - Vijay Prakash

2. Kannil Paravai - Shreya Goshal

3. Matha un kovil - Madhumita

4. Bhikshai Pathiram - Madhu Balakrishnan
lyrics: Ilayaraaja

5. Amma un pillai - Sadna Sargam

6. oru katril - ilayaraaja

Rest song lyrics by vaali

I am gonna hear it now..lemme wait for the expert comments....

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 05:37 PM
Heard all the songs for 2 mins ..here is my review

There is no 11 minute or 10 min song in the cd...

1. Om sivoham om - Vijay Prakash
Runs for 6 mins...full sanskrit song...a great number in praise of lord shiva....typical bhajan..IR Kalakarar...in the lines of Mandir Sabari...wow ...superb number

2. Kannil Paravai - Shreya Goshal
6. oru katril - ilayaraaja

Both songs have the same tune....a beautiful number...superb tune and well rendered by shreya goshal.....
After a very long time...this tune is refreshing...IR ..

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

3. Matha un kovil - Madhumita runs only for 42 secs
5. Amma un pillai - Sadna Sargam
Amma un pillai tune is of matha un kovil.....

4. Bhikshai Pathiram - Madhu Balakrishnan
lyrics: Ilayaraaja
We have already heard this tune.so

1st January 2009, 06:59 PM
So, effectively only four songs ? :(

1st January 2009, 07:06 PM
Makes sense, for such a film having many songs even if they are very good will be a speedbreaker to the film. Like rajasaranam said the BGM will be of more delight to us as that is where IR is truly needed.

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 07:17 PM
ramki

only 2 according to me

1st January 2009, 09:09 PM
Only 2 :(
Looks like a Pithamagan kind of score ..anyway if these 2 are gems + Matha un Kovil, it shld be OK

1st January 2009, 09:13 PM
Raaja did not attend the function

hmmm attend panninathan ennavaam

vem
1st January 2009, 10:09 PM
even if he does attend, he needs to put up with the familiar faces he really dreads.

the behindwoods.com link doesnt really mention anything abt the songs though. eagerly waiting to hear them from the web. am going to check them at raja.com

1st January 2009, 10:15 PM
Heard the sivoham song now in Kalignar TV function .. For a very long time , i was waiting for such a song on Lord Shiva -> Raaja bang on target ! Hopefully they will play other songs also :)

1st January 2009, 11:34 PM
Wov wonderful programme thanks Kalaigar TV

Surya :notworthy: you are one of us

medaiya kanpikku pothellam antha IR still vaseegarithathu :notworthy:

I expected playing of some songs but only one song played that too in the background not with visuals :sad:

krish244
1st January 2009, 11:45 PM
Uttam Singh was also present there, but I dont think he talked anything.

Krishnan

vem
2nd January 2009, 12:59 AM
nope ! Uttam Singh mentioned he has worked with IR for the past 30 years and also that IR is the only complete music director who can bring a change in Indian cinema.....

I seriously dont know what he means by this. He for sure has poured on thick on IR. But IR may turn a deaf ear to these adulations. But the audio release has cut a wide swathe raising the expectations highly. Hopefully it lives up.

vem
2nd January 2009, 01:28 AM
utham singh's take on IR

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/44018.html

vem
2nd January 2009, 01:30 AM
Trailer on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRZBPvsC0L4

2nd January 2009, 01:35 AM
"ஒம் சிவோஹம் ஒம் சிவொஹம் ருத்ரணாமம் பஜே ஹம்" சும்மா சாமி ஆட வைக்குதுன்னா, 'ஒரு காற்றில் அலையும் சிறகு' தாலாட்டும்...கண்கள் முடி அமர்ந்து கேட்டால் ஒரு தவம் போல இருக்கும். மாலை சி.டி. வாங்கி வந்தது முதல் தொடர்ந்து ஒலித்து கொன்டிருக்கும் இவ்விரு பாடல்களும் ராஜாவை நாம் ஏன் இன்னும் ரசித்து கொன்டிருக்கிறோம் ஏன் இன்னும் அவரிடம் எதிர்பார்ப்புகள் வைத்து கொன்டிருக்கிறோம் என்பதற்க்கு கட்டியம் கூறும். அவரது இசை சினிமா என்னும் எல்லைகளுக்குட்பட்டு கதை, கதைகளம், கதை பாத்திரங்களினோடு பயனிப்பது. ஆல்பம் போல் அல்லாது ஒவ்வொரு பாடலுக்கும் கதைத்தலில் என்ன பங்கு என்பதை தெளிவாய் தீர்மானித்து கொண்டு இசை நெய்கிறார். சினிமாவை பற்றிய ஆழமான புரிதல் இல்லாமல் இங்கு இருக்கும் எல்லா இசை அமைப்பாளர்களிடம் இருந்து இதனாலேயே தனித்து நிற்க்கிறார்.

2009ன் தொடக்கம் இப்படி ஆன்மாவை உலுக்கும், அமைதி படுத்தும் இசையோடு தொடங்கியதில் மகிழ்வு கொள்வோம்...சற்றெரத்தாழ 6 மாதங்களுக்கு முன் ஒரு நன்பர் மூலமாக நந்தலாலா'வில் 'ஒன்றுகொன்று துனை உள்ள இந்த உலகத்திலே அன்பு மட்டும் அனாதையா' என்னும் பாடலை ஒரு முறை கேட்க நேர்ந்தது, இன்னும் நெஞ்சை பிசைந்து கொன்டிருக்கும் அந்த பாடலின் வருகைக்கு காத்திருப்போம்...இந்த வருடம் முழுதும் ஓட்டி விட எனக்கு இந்த ஒரு சில பாடல்கள் போதும்.

பி.கு. 'ஆல்பம்' பற்றிய எதிர்ப்பார்புகளில் இருப்பவர்கள் தயவு செய்து ராஜாவின் இசையை தவிர்த்து விடுங்கள்... அவரது இசை வாழ்வின் பல்வேறு பரிமானங்களை அலசி பார்ப்பது. வாழ்வின் மீதும் சினிமாவின் மீதும் தீரா காதல் உள்ளவர்கள் மட்டும் அவரது இசை கேளுங்கள்.

Sureshs65
2nd January 2009, 08:52 AM
Excellent writeup RS. I am eagerly awaiting the chance to listen to these two songs. Hope they get the audio out in Bangalore today.

S.Suresh

NormalMan
2nd January 2009, 10:20 AM
I'm so hooked to "Om Sivoham", that I'm yet to move on and listen to other songs. Can't bear the adrenaline rush ... :notworthy:

krish244
2nd January 2009, 10:24 AM
nope ! Uttam Singh mentioned he has worked with IR for the past 30 years and also that IR is the only complete music director who can bring a change in Indian cinema.....

I seriously dont know what he means by this. He for sure has poured on thick on IR. But IR may turn a deaf ear to these adulations. But the audio release has cut a wide swathe raising the expectations highly. Hopefully it lives up.

Thanks Vem. During the break, I might have missed the programme a bit. Was just curious what he said about IR and about his association (role) with the movie.

Krishnan

2nd January 2009, 10:27 AM
This looks to be something very different for Indian cinema as a whole! I hope the film itself lives up to the expectation surrounding it. Can't wait to hear the soundtrack.

2nd January 2009, 11:03 AM
Watched Misskin interview at Kalaigar TV yesterday

highlights

1. IR has composed 5 songs (so we can expect 5 songs in CD)

2. But only 2 songs are mixed with visuals in the film :sad: (matha 3 songsum CD-la irukkuma?)

3. Ulagatha thirappadangalil muthanmuraiyaga last 35 (or 40) minutes will not have any dialogues which means only BGM (ithukku as IR fan santhosapaduratha illa as a film fan payapadurathanu theriyavillai)

4. Misskin said, people like this 40 minutes BGM climax, it will be addictive

5. Missking said the reason for not placing many songs in the movie, "I want to grow to make good film"

2nd January 2009, 11:52 AM

http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2009/01/02/music-review-naan-kadavul-tamil-ilayaraja/

2nd January 2009, 12:20 PM
Watched Misskin interview at Kalaigar TV yesterday

highlights

1. IR has composed 5 songs (so we can expect 5 songs in CD)

2. But only 2 songs are mixed with visuals in the film :sad: (matha 3 songsum CD-la irukkuma?)

3. Ulagatha thirappadangalil muthanmuraiyaga last 35 (or 40) minutes will not have any dialogues which means only BGM (ithukku as IR fan santhosapaduratha illa as a film fan payapadurathanu theriyavillai)

4. Misskin said, people like this 40 minutes BGM climax, it will be addictive

5. Missking said the reason for not placing many songs in the movie, "I want to grow to make good film"

mukkiyamAna onna vittuteengalE? He is confidant to say that we wouldn't have heard this kind of bgm from IR in the last 32 years. After watched the whole film IR said 'nAgarigamAna padam'.

vasanth2006
2nd January 2009, 12:31 PM
For me, this album(NK) is another devotinal album from Maestro without commerical elements....I like it....

Madha un kovilil tune adds beauty to this album.....

I am happy that IR uses his recent fav singers(shreya, sadhana and madhumitha) who have high regards for him......

Someone mentioned that KJS has sung one song in this album. I think they might have heared Madhu balakrishnan's voice....

Overall it is kind of divine (without commerical elements).... :D

Madevan94
2nd January 2009, 02:12 PM
listen to naan kadavul songs online at

http://www.raagangal.com/

2nd January 2009, 02:49 PM
For me, this album(NK) is another devotinal album from Maestro without commerical elements....I like it....

Madha un kovilil tune adds beauty to this album.....

I am happy that IR uses his recent fav singers(shreya, sadhana and madhumitha) who have high regards for him......

Someone mentioned that KJS has sung one song in this album. I think they might have heared Madhu balakrishnan's voice....

Overall it is kind of divine (without commerical elements).... :D

But yes, ppl will be confused if they listen to it without the singer details!!!

kameshratnam
2nd January 2009, 06:43 PM
myskin also said that IR asked if he needed a song like the ones in his earlier films..for this myskin replied that in case he needed them he wudnt have come to IR

2nd January 2009, 07:28 PM
Uttam Singh on Naan KadavuL score- "I helped Ilayaraja with some North Indian flavour to the music of the film. I have worked with Ilayaraja for the last 30 years. He is the only complete Indian composer who could bring about some change to Indian music."

K
2nd January 2009, 07:37 PM
Naan kadavul sound track - RAJA is Kadavul. Om Sivoham.

K
2nd January 2009, 07:41 PM
http://urfriendchennai.blogspot.com/2009/01/blog-post_4120.html vimarsanam?

krish244
2nd January 2009, 07:43 PM
Uttam Singh says he helped IR in bringing some north indian flavour to the music (I presume BGM).

http://sify.com/movies/fullstory.php?id=14828917

Impressed with Om siva om and kannil on first listening. Powerful/apt orchestration I should say. Even "Pitchai pathiram" is good.

Krishnan

vem
2nd January 2009, 09:28 PM
NK - Bharathiar type songs. SS rendition of Amma song is just awesome ! That is the pick on first listening.

Somehow, the soothing tune biases you from other songs :)

Overall, I think the songs will chime in with the visuals perfectly, as I think Arya's transformation from Agori to a normal being will have one song I think.

Melody wise, I still wonder how the great brain of IR of the 70s could produce some evergreen songs enjoyed by generations. Older generations liked Madha un koylili because of the tune and Devika. This generations will like it due to SS!

All other songs are certainly not for the current generations who want fast based songs. Commercial success solely depends on the movie now as I dont see how the audio CDs can sell like hot cakes given the fact that the CD has no commercial elements.

vem
2nd January 2009, 09:28 PM
NK - Bharathiar type songs. SS rendition of Amma song is just awesome ! That is the pick on first listening.

Somehow, the soothing tune biases you from other songs :)

Overall, I think the songs will chime in with the visuals perfectly, as I think Arya's transformation from Agori to a normal being will have one song I think.

Melody wise, I still wonder how the great brain of IR of the 70s could produce some evergreen songs enjoyed by generations. Older generations liked Madha un koylili because of the tune and Devika. This generations will like it due to SS!

All other songs are certainly not for the current generations who want fast based songs. Commercial success solely depends on the movie now as I dont see how the audio CDs can sell like hot cakes given the fact that the CD has no commercial elements.

2nd January 2009, 09:30 PM
vem!
vaai pulichadho illai pazham pulichadho!!

vem
2nd January 2009, 09:42 PM
Forgot to mention about the lyrics from Vaali. Just beatiful and meaningful. In fact, the review from Ramesh nails it beautifully. Slow haunting melody.

3rd January 2009, 08:33 AM
pitchchai paathiram - who wrote the lyrics ! Its amazing !!!

Sureshs65
3rd January 2009, 09:15 AM
Ramki,

Pitchai Pathiram lyrics are by Illayaraja. He has written and sung this in 'Ramanamalai'. He has also rendered the song excellently in that album.

S.Suresh

crvenky
3rd January 2009, 11:19 AM
New Malayalam movie Swapna Malika by Maestro. Any idea about this movie?

http://keralaonline.com/entertainment/swapna-malika_14476.html

crvenky
3rd January 2009, 11:57 AM
Amazing video - Naan Kadavul BGM recording!!

http://www.kollywoodtoday.com/events/illayarajaa-at-naan-kadavul-rerecording-session-videos/

3rd January 2009, 06:35 PM
ammaa un pillai konjam konjam annal melae ( vaarnam aayiram ) saayal irukku illa ? - Same raaga ?

( know know .. idhu maadha un kovil songs nnu , just asking )

rooky
3rd January 2009, 10:36 PM
A high class album from Raja..definitely better than Pithamagan in class and quality.

kameshratnam
4th January 2009, 01:29 PM
Dear All,

I have tried my hands on getting the instrumental portions of TIO with the voice being set to a very minimal level. This its for the kothumbi song....I have used a sofware and canceled the voices in the songs...please hear and let me know ur comments :D ..the song can be downloaded from

http://rapidshare.com/files/179604330/03-03___AudioTrack_031.rar.html

Kamesh

raagas
4th January 2009, 08:35 PM
Kamesh, i am unabl to download from there, because there seems to be some limit to the number of downloads. Could you please upload it in any other website.

dochu
4th January 2009, 11:47 PM
mediafire.com has no restrictions and a good site. please try that.

5th January 2009, 10:49 AM
hmm... didnt receive original CD yet (courier delay!), but couldnt resist so downloaded from one of the site. Thalaivar miratti irukkar. All the songs are haunting. worth all the wait. Glad to hear that Nandalala is also coming.

There cant be a better way to begin the year than this. Atleast musically there is no recession for us in 2009!

Also saw the launch function in Indiaglitz. Except Surya, no one talked about IR. Wish other ppl should have talked a bit about IR, after all he is the real hero on the music launch. Surya's spoke well, just like his father. He is getting matured on each passing day.

krish244
5th January 2009, 03:52 PM
Another new malayalam movie:

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/44069.html

Krishnan

5th January 2009, 06:16 PM
Heard "NK" songs from MIOL site. "KaNNil paarvai" and "Ohm Shiviham" are my pick. Raja seems to be recently smitten by Rasikapriya scale with "ethanai bhavam undu" in "ULiyin Oasai" and now "kaNNil paarvai" in "NK". I don't enjoy IR's voice. But Shreya's moves me completely . "Ohm Shivoham" is a high octane number, may be set to climax . Seems to be in "PanthuvaraaLi". I only dread the possibility of the film turning to be another "pazhi vaangal" saga like "Pithamagan" with the only difference , it being shown amidst "saamiyaargaL" ambience. I simply don't like the various rehashes of the "AchhaaNi" song. Old is gold . I haven't heard Ramanamaalai and hence can enjoy Madu bALAKRISHNAN'S simple yet soulful "Pitchai paathiram" song.

5th January 2009, 07:25 PM
@thumburu - Ramanamaalai is 'simple yet soulful '

Sureshs65
5th January 2009, 09:49 PM
Thumburu,

If it is Rasikapriya, then probably Raja does a scale shift and hence the Mayamalavagowla touch in the interludes. Do you feel the same? We must give it to Raja's genius to conceive such a number in Rasikapriya. "Sivoham" does have the Pantuvarali touch, albeit more the Hindustani variety.

I am curious as to why the Acchani song was reused. Maybe Bala requested it? We can only guess !!

Yes. As Jaiganes says, Ramanamaalai is very simple and soulful. There is a very nice Kalyani based song in it and also an Hindolam one, if my memory serves me right. You can probably check out the album at Tiraipaadal site.

S.Suresh

writeface
5th January 2009, 10:41 PM
Mathaa un kovilil -- It is an anthem of beggars. It is quite appropriate for this film.

The songs remind me of "GuNaa" and "Hey Ram". Hope this movie doesn't turn out like either.

Who is the singer for the Sivahom? Every time I listen to it I wish for the voice of Malaysia Vasudevan or SPB!

kameshratnam
6th January 2009, 12:49 PM
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=ddb266757f87bce4d2db6fb9a8902bda

raagas
6th January 2009, 06:33 PM
Thanks Kamesh!

This file gives an idea of what all is happening in that Track. Simply spellbinding. If only we can alter the volume of those violins which originally played along with the vocals (or rather, the violins on which vocals were overlaid). It would have been such a monumental album. It still is,but i still believe that instrumental version of Thiruvasakam will (or would have) showcased his western classical ideas in fullglory. We can hear some pieces which got subdued due to voices.

Kamesh, can you try to do the same with other tracks as well? This one turned out quite well, although voices are still there. But i guess this is the best you could do. Great effort man!

6th January 2009, 09:44 PM
Without Raaja's vocals, Thiruvasagam in Oratorio is an'enbu thoal poartha udambu'

NormalMan
6th January 2009, 10:14 PM
Awesome Kamesh !! How did you did you do this?

kameshratnam
7th January 2009, 08:10 AM

Pls download polla vinayen from the following site

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=4a80816471a6d047d2db6fb9a8902bda

Well u cud hear the chorus voices in this.still i am trying to take them off..will be back

krish244
7th January 2009, 11:51 AM
Looks like another song is added to NK album.

"Naan Kadavul's audio album now has a recent addition, a gift of sorts by Maestro Ilayaraja. After the movie's composition was over, Ilayaraja seems to have felt the urge to add another song on Lord Shiva in the movie. The new song penned and sung by the maestro himself, will be featured in the film's title track.

Most of the other songs, written by Vaali, have already won wide acclaim from the music critics and lovers alike. Especially the goose-bump inducing Sanskrit number seems to be on its way topping the charts, aver music buffs. Naan Kadavul is slated for a Pongal release."

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/jan-09-02/naan-kadavul-07-01-09.html

Krishnan

kameshratnam
8th January 2009, 07:48 AM
"ஹாலிவுட் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸ் சார்லி சாப்ளின்" என்று சொன்னாராம் பெர்னார்ட்ஷா. தமிழ் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸாக யாரைச் சொல்வீர்கள்?

" இளையராஜா "

அரசு கேள்வி - பதில்கள், குமுதம் 14.01.2009

8th January 2009, 11:14 AM
"ஹாலிவுட் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸ் சார்லி சாப்ளின்" என்று சொன்னாராம் பெர்னார்ட்ஷா. தமிழ் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸாக யாரைச் சொல்வீர்கள்?

" இளையராஜா "

CharuNiveditha Thavirththu Ellarkkum intha unmai therinjirikku :)

8th January 2009, 05:05 PM
Alex ♪ராஜாவின்
@ராஜ் கமல்
they say naan kadavul audio has a addition song is it true mods clarify.....please

Yes 2 more songs inculded by Raaja sir after shoot (during RR session )

1. TITLE song abt Lord shiva (one more song abt L Siva ) Penned and Sung by Raajasir

2. One Hindi Song (surprise package ) ...sung by Udit Narayanan ( first time in Tamil movie ) hindustani Gazals Styles

Courtesy of Orkut

sgmsin
8th January 2009, 07:02 PM
why not CharuNiveditha ? @rajasaranam

8th January 2009, 07:17 PM
What about Gnani :lol:

K
8th January 2009, 10:13 PM

" இளையராஜா "

CharuNiveditha Thavirththu Ellarkkum intha unmai therinjirikku :)

கடவுளை உனர்ந்து போற்றுவோரும் உன்டு உனராது தூற்றுவோரும் உன்டு

Sureshs65
8th January 2009, 10:18 PM
I remember reading a comment of Jeyamohan sometime back wherein he says that if there is one person who is technically world class in Tamil film industry it is Illayaraja. Couldn't agree with him more.

S.Suresh

8th January 2009, 11:09 PM
if there is one person who is technically world class in Tamil film industry it is Illayaraja
S.Suresh

While there can be no two opinions about IR's class (world class or otherwise:-)), this kind of remarks from people who are from the literary domain is quite funny and has to be taken like a typical statement from a poet celebrating his king.

For one thing, with due respects to Jeyamohan, he is NOT an accepted authority in ANY "technical" area in filmdom, let alone the huge field of music.

It's another matter as to HOW TO DEFINE WORLD CLASS, especially in music:-) We can talk about world class in manufacturing tech, for e.g., quite easily, as there are standards, institutions, certifications etc. However, it's so different in arts - especially music, where world class cannot be defined at all. There can be definitions for purely technological aspects, like sound recording, but not music itself - as it is not a wing of technology (even though MD is often mistakenly called as another technician). I'm just not talking about the "imagination" part alone, which also applies to cinematography. This is a larger area and technology, if anything, plays only a limited part here.

If JM called ARR a world class technology person in music recording, it will be much easier to agree with him. However, on music? Or other creative aspects of filmdom? IMO, there's not much that can be defined as world class itself.

8th January 2009, 11:12 PM
OTOH, I have absolutely no issue with Kumudam arasu calling IR as the lone genius:-)

While there could be other talented people in TF with sparks of brilliance here and there, the word "genius" easily belongs to IR!

natha1729
8th January 2009, 11:28 PM
Music for India is as second nature as spirituality and renounciation. It has no comparison. All India are world class composers and beyond. so, comparing world class composers with India composers should be the way to do it. There should be a new benchmark for musixc. It should be India Class or Maha Class :---) and, one more unique benxchmark, Raaja Class, maybe an MSV Class. So, please xcomparison from now on to be to Raaja Class, not anymore world class. ;----)

buggle
9th January 2009, 03:53 AM
Any possibility of IR being roped for this project??

http://www.hindu.com/2009/01/09/stories/2009010957610200.htm

kameshratnam
9th January 2009, 08:10 AM
OTOH, I have absolutely no issue with Kumudam arasu calling IR as the lone genius:-)

While there could be other talented people in TF with sparks of brilliance here and there, the word "genius" easily belongs to IR!

I cannot think of any other person who can call loudly "notes" after watching a film reel and immediately start writing musical notes for the same.

This what manivannan(Director) also has said..it seems the englishmen and the australians were amazed at Raaja's talent..

raja_fan
9th January 2009, 09:04 AM
Years before AV reported that IR is the only MD in India who can write down notes directly without playing it on harmonium or keyboard etc.

For me, this is like writing software code for a project directly without any "prototype, compilation and trials" etc :)

Sureshs65
9th January 2009, 09:59 AM
app_engine,

I agree with you on most of the points. Jeyamohan's statements are as good as your statement or mine :) In fact I stated the fact to say that I fully agree with him and think the same. Not that my views matter much :)

I fully agree with the other statements about world class. It is indeed difficult to define something as world class in the area of music, where subjectivity is high. Having said that I still feel among the technical aspects of Tamil Films, only music, that too Illayaraja's, (especially the BGM)is the only aspect wherein we can say it stands up to what we see in the best films of other countries. All other aspects don't compare. A harsh statement but I believe there is some truth in it.

S.Suresh

9th January 2009, 10:59 AM
Any possibility of IR being roped for this project??

http://www.hindu.com/2009/01/09/stories/2009010957610200.htm

I hope not! :lol:

9th January 2009, 11:08 AM
I fully agree with the other statements about world class. It is indeed difficult to define something as world class in the area of music, where subjectivity is high. Having said that I still feel among the technical aspects of Tamil Films, only music, that too Illayaraja's, (especially the BGM)is the only aspect wherein we can say it stands up to what we see in the best films of other countries. All other aspects don't compare. A harsh statement but I believe there is some truth in it.

S.Suresh

I get a feeling that we(Indians) are always world class in fine arts that are part of our tradition. The richness and depth in music is something we have accumulated over hundreds of years and consequently Indian MD's, instrumentalists and vocalists can churn off melodies even in sleep whereas meldoy is such a challenging aspect for western musicians. Same can be said about our singing, rhythmic cycles etc., Compared with this, film making is an art that came from west, no wonder we are yet to get to that level in film making.

In the same breath, I beleive we are world class in lyrics(poetry), acting(drama skills). Prose is not second nature to us, but even in that we see lots of indians getting recognition these days. :)

9th January 2009, 11:36 AM
why not CharuNiveditha ? @rajasaranam

I have read many a times him spewing venom on Raaja. :(

What about Gnani :lol:

Gnani has accepted Raaja's greatness. Only during Thiruvaasagam release he wrote about Raaja negatively relating to some other incidents that happened at those times.

Sureshs65
9th January 2009, 12:28 PM
Tamizh,

Your observation is right. My only grouse is that there are directors from other Indian languages who have been accepted all over the world as good directors. Ray, Adoor, Benegal, Ghatak, Mrinal Sen etc. Not a single director from Tamil will get into that category, unfortunately.

I think I will stop here before someone points out this has nothing to do with Illayaraja or film music :)

S.Suresh

raja_fan
9th January 2009, 03:36 PM
Sanjeevi wrote:
What about Gnani

Gnani has accepted Raaja's greatness. Only during Thiruvaasagam release he wrote about Raaja negatively relating to some other incidents that happened at those times.

Gnani is well known for his anti-religion ( means anti-Hinduism in Tamil Nadu ). So he would have got irritated when IR did some thing to popularize Thiruvasagam :)

9th January 2009, 04:27 PM
hi Suresh, you are right. In "kannil paarvai" song of "Naan KadavuL" , Raja has done a scale shift from Rasikapriya to MMG in the interlude . Raja has done it so seamlessly that makes him a master weaver . The "Graha bedham" from Rasikapriya to MMG was more apparent in "ethanai bhavam undu" of "ULiyin Oasai"

9th January 2009, 04:29 PM
Iam particularly irked by directors like Balki, Bala who are supposedly big fans of IR , but rehash his old hits with the excuse of nostalgia. Classics are best left untouched. It is impossible to better either the orchestration or legendary singers like KJY/SPB/PS/SJ/VJ . If I were to direct a movie , I would like to extract nice , fresh tunes from IR . Do the directors feel it is impossible to do that? Hope Myshkin iatleast successfully drills IR for fresh tunes for "Nandhalala"

Sureshs65
9th January 2009, 05:49 PM
Thumburu,

While I do enjoy the revised version of 'Mata Un Kovilil' (Amma Un Pillai Naan), I too would have loved a new tune. When Raja can come up with 'Kannil Paarvai', I am sure he would have come up with an equally fascinating tune for the other situation as well. It is our loss :( I guess people like Balki, Bala, Balu Mahendra etc are so close to Raja that he cannot sometimes refuse when they want him to use an old tune.

The graha bedham has really been done very seemlessly. You have used the right words, a 'master weaver'. He hides his craft so well in this song.

Looks like there will be two more added songs in Naan Kadavul, one a ghazal styled song. Lets wait and see.

S.Suresh

Vkrish
10th January 2009, 06:55 PM
New tune would'hv been great, but however i'm sure the present generation would get an opputunity to listen to these forgotton gems.

Further I don't think 'Madha Un Koil' is a familiar song as i haven't seen it aired in any TV, Radio or even in the Net radios or youtube. In fact, some of my office colleagues who are in thier 20's could not even guess that 'Amma Un Pillay' is a old tune of Raja until i mentioned this to them. Similarly 'Pichai Paathiram' too is seen as a new tune by many...

Infact it could'hv been absolutely a bliss, if a rehash of 'Deva Sangeetham' and 'Aruna Kirana Deepam' of Guru Malayalam was used in this Album instead of the above two, of course with the same original sound track :)

10th January 2009, 07:57 PM
Baradwaj reviews !
http://www.desipundit.com/baradwajrangan/2009/01/10/between-reviews-a-little-midnight-music/

raja_fan
11th January 2009, 11:14 AM
Watch "Rasigan" programme today on Kalaignar TV. Part 2 of Ilaiyaraja special ! Just for IR fans ! Dont miss it !

The programme is running right now on Kalaignar TV !

11th January 2009, 12:31 PM
Watch "Rasigan" programme today on Kalaignar TV. Part 2 of Ilaiyaraja special ! Just for IR fans ! Dont miss it !

The programme is running right now on Kalaignar TV !

it was quite interesting

Sureshs65
11th January 2009, 01:02 PM
Read Baradwaj's review. Very condescending review I would say.

I know lot of people point out to the synth usage to say that Illayaraja has lost it. While the synth sounds may not be great compared to what the other MDs have been doing, the music that he gets out of the synth is what I generally hear. Is the idea musically good? I generally find it is. I too would love a better synth from Raja but that does not stop me from admiring his musical ideas. Whether an album catches fire with buyers is a different question. As a fan of Raja's music all I ask is if his brain cells are still working and do they come up with good musical ideas. I will answer that with a resounding YES with the evidence that I have of his recent work.

S.Suresh

11th January 2009, 07:06 PM
Cant agree more with you on that Suresh!!
One thing that has been humming in my mind.
In the modern commercial loops - there are some groovy sounds that need no composition - the mere sound of certain effect give a trendy feel. Certain pre programmed beats can definitely enhance and trick the listener into feeling that the 'music is great'. The actual fact is 'the electronics behind the sound is great'. If Raja had set those notes to real live instruments and chorus instead of the cost effective synth he is using, the result would have been the glorious - but 'oh so 80 ish sounding'. The fact of the matter is that as time progresses, electronic music will prevail and real music will die out. This is what some scifi authors consistently point out. While west has the healthy tradition of 'harmonic orchestra' being used predominantly in BGMs and general patronization of live music, We are not that encouraging. Barring a few families, most of the 'listeners' of today have not set foot inside the music hall where there is live music being played - be it carnatic kutchery or hindustani concert. Raja's music is soon becoming an anachronism and he is doing his bit by sticking to some synth. Though I must say that I liked the 'Bitchai paathiram' synth in Ramanamaalai than the movie version. However we should see the movie before commenting a bit too soon on that.

NormalMan
12th January 2009, 10:52 AM
Ada pongapaa !! Indha manushan uyira koduthu albums score panu irukaan. Aana guduvaancheirya thaandi oruthanun appreciate panna mathiri theiryala. I sometimes feel, I'm (like the herd of IR fans) is the only one who thinks he is a genius. Pity him .... really pity him.

12th January 2009, 11:39 AM
Ada pongapaa !! Indha manushan uyira koduthu albums score panu irukaan. Aana guduvaancheirya thaandi oruthanun appreciate panna mathiri theiryala. I sometimes feel, I'm (like the herd of IR fans) is the only one who thinks he is a genius. Pity him .... really pity him.

I don't think any Indian director will take our movies and IR to the western world. Collaborating with one of their directors is the only way to get their attention. Bollywood is also a launching pad to get the clients in the UK right now, I don't think IR will prefer that route. If at all he wants to get some attention from the western world, first he should release his symphony (however good/bad it is) and work with more orchestras abroad. He should also make connections with the film-makers there slowly....then there will be no stopping for him to showcase his BGM potential. neenga Asa padalAm, AnA IR Asa padanumE. I think he doesn't have any plans to reach anywhere as of now.

appushiva
12th January 2009, 01:35 PM
Hello everybody,

Heard the songs of "Nan Kadavul" , IR proved again that he can still have the power to stimulate human minds with his song. The first choice is "Amma un pillai nan" to appreciate the whole team , Sadana sargam, Vaali ,the musicians and the team leader IR.
Just i cant able to move out from hearing again and again, the song remembers the agony of beggers and road side living humans.

The violen part even I not heared in european opera...now IR moved much higher than others cant imagine.

The angush is when we a genious and getting quality songs our tamil flim industry is dying with ..........................................

Let the movie makers open their eyes, flim industry is not a gambling table , there are so many other fields to play these..

As a genuine IR fans we simply praising him is of no use we have to expose him to the rest of the world for proper recognation.
Any body have any plans/idea we will contribute.

The result will be we had done a righteous thing and we will get more and more of quality music of indian origin.

K
12th January 2009, 02:06 PM
http://tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/January/120109a.asp

12th January 2009, 06:13 PM
@Normal Man.
Dont worry too much.
IRIR123 is doing a fabulous job.
Even otherwise, Thirukkuralai Texasla irukkuravan therinjukkalaingradhaala Thiruvalluvar onnum kashta padalai.

Sureshs65
12th January 2009, 07:08 PM
Jaiganesh,

:) Reg Tirukural, very true.

S.Suresh

12th January 2009, 07:32 PM
jaiganes - mikka nandri!

Am wondering if I may perhaps begin a yahoo groups or something like that specifically for those seriously interested in doing something for taking IR's music to concerned people around the world, in an effort to popularise the same

let me know everyones comments/suggestions pls

as MrJudge said, "neenga Asa padalAm, AnA IR Asa padanumE" factor is also there

svarman
12th January 2009, 10:15 PM
[i]Change is constant and we keep evolving. Music does evolve too. I still get goose berries, when I listen to TOS with tears moisting my eyes and cheeks. And that is Music, which obviously moves you and takes you to different plane, without the booze or boogie drugs.
Leave him alone, the great IR. Let him to what he does in anyway he likes, bearing in mind, we would be still talking about his immortal music in twenty years time!

I still remember those unfortunate souls in Film Industry, who written IR out, way back in 1993, after the hits of Chinna kounder and Singaravelan!
IR was written off even in 1998, after Kadalukku Mariyathai. Now it is 2009. He is still on. He will be on. Needless to say, I have missed so many superb stuffs from him including a classic album like Mumbai Express, as I was biased by the TFM mortals. (Includes me).
Now, this is revered as a mile stone in Jazzical music album making in TFilm!!! (according to some surfers)
Wake up guys. Take your time and be dont judgemental with knee jerk reactions. It is you avid, serious IR fans, who literally, turn away current genartion from serious listening to his music.Stop pretending as if we know, everything!

Not at all.

Fliflo
13th January 2009, 01:49 AM
I am seeing that whenever ARR gets an award IR fans feel a bit downcasted. Why IR did not win that? Believe me. I am a hardcore IR fan and have been visiting this forum for more than 13 years. I used to get into some unyielding IR vs ARR arguments. But over years I have learnt few things. My passion to IR's music has not lessened any bit though. But if ARR has won a reputed award that is kinda of achievement and there could be factors behind that has supplemented to achieve this feat. It is commendable. On the other hand, IR doesn't have to follow the suit. He probably is on a different plane. Apparently, he has reached a stage where he doesn't have to prove anything to the world either. If he is Gnani, he may not have any ego to perform to prove anything but totally immersed in work and find his happiness there. His vision is far from a regular man's vision, who has already seen 35 years of ups and downs in the industry. An award could mean little for such a personality. Remember, he has so many die hard fans who breathe and live with his music everyday. People can pretend to do that for others. But, from my understanding, all IR fans are "than-nilai maranthu avar magudiukku aadum paambukal". That is a real, solid achievement, something hard to procure more than any awards. I have lost the comparison feeling absolutely. So, no more fights or arguments any more. How many musicians can make their songs immortal. Millions of South Indians have given a big place for him in our hearts. So let's be proud about that. Let's allow him flow like a stream. But at the same time, let us not compare (or) degrade other MDs to praise IR. IR has gone beyond that. Watch the TV music channels everyday, you definitely know what I mean.

svarman
13th January 2009, 02:26 AM
I agree. Well said and written for all of us and you all. Let him live his day and years, devoted to his music and stream along, as we suppose.

rooky
13th January 2009, 08:15 AM
Nandhalala Audio from Tomorrow (14th jan)

kameshratnam
13th January 2009, 08:16 AM
will it be available in the stores

raja_fan
13th January 2009, 08:20 AM
If he is Gnani, he may not have any ego to perform to prove anything but totally immersed in work and find his happiness there.

Excellent ! :)

13th January 2009, 10:50 AM
NK -> 4 songs = 4 GEMS !!!!

Im expecting atleast 3/5 GEMS in nandala !!!!

appushiva
13th January 2009, 11:28 AM
Let's appreciate and congratulate Mr. A.R.Rahman for winning the Golden Globe award for his music score for the flim Slum dog millionaire.

Well done Rahman...

raagas
13th January 2009, 12:01 PM
rightfully said Fliflo. My thoughts!

krish244
13th January 2009, 01:08 PM
Well said Fliflo! Exactly my thoughts too.

Krishnan

sgmsin
13th January 2009, 01:13 PM
Super!!!!!!!!!!!! Fliflo... Well said....

raja_fan
13th January 2009, 01:54 PM
So guys...who is ready to give the first review of NK tomorrow ?
Any one with tickets ?

13th January 2009, 02:36 PM
Raja_fan,
I dont think NK is releasing for pongal ..didnt see any ADs

raja_fan
13th January 2009, 02:46 PM
Raja_fan,
I dont think NK is releasing for pongal ..didnt see any ADs

hmm..sariyaa pochchu :)

raagas
13th January 2009, 03:25 PM
I heard that Nandhalaala audio is releasing on Pongal. I request all the fans in Tamil Nadu to try to buy it soon and post their thoughts here.

13th January 2009, 03:34 PM
அனைத்து ராஜா ரசிகர்களுக்கும்
தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கள்!

raagas
13th January 2009, 05:46 PM
அனைத்து ராஜா ரசிகர்களுக்கும்
தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கள்!

Sorry, i didnt understand/know. is it anything about nandhalaala release?

raja_fan
13th January 2009, 05:57 PM
Raagas,

He just wishes "Happy Tamil New year for all Raja fans"

Mr.Judge,

Sorry, I am not accepting Pongal day as Tamil New year day.
So Pongal Nal Vaazthukkal to you and all !

raagas
13th January 2009, 07:26 PM
Oh...cool. Happy Pongal to everyone out here.. :)

13th January 2009, 07:35 PM
Happy Pongal :D

Fliflo
13th January 2009, 08:44 PM
Guys,

It is good to know that many had identical feelings like me about IR. Good. When IR flows like a stream the creativity is at its peak. I believe Naan Kadavul is one such movie. May god bless him to gratify us more (and more) in the coming years. Nevertheless, this year opening seems to be good, which means more treats are awaited for us.

Anaivarukkum enathu Pongal mattrum Puththaandu Vaazhthukkal!!

anbudan

Fliflo

eagle
13th January 2009, 11:44 PM
NK songs are that great? I agree with rozavasanth that raja fans are deluding themselves.... honestly the songs are at the best can be said average ones... definetely the magic is missing, never felt the need to listen to songs again & again.... wat a disappointment!! not one song close to "elangaathu" in pithamagan...

ananth222
14th January 2009, 12:16 AM
NK songs are that great? I agree with rozavasanth that raja fans are deluding themselves.... honestly the songs are at the best can be said average ones... definetely the magic is missing, never felt the need to listen to songs again & again.... wat a disappointment!! not one song close to "elangaathu" in pithamagan...
Thats what I felt at first. But it has been running on repeat in my car since last week, and I just can't get enough of it. Sometimes some portions are so good that I skip backwards to listen that part again.

eagle
14th January 2009, 12:26 AM
Thats what I felt at first. But it has been running on repeat in my car since last week, and I just can't get enough of it. Sometimes some portions are so good that I skip backwards to listen that part again.

Hmmm... that means really something... i will have to give another round of hearing...one thing is sure this was not the way i used to listen to the maestro's compositions... used to be a addict to them without this reviews and all... time changes and how!!! :(

kiru
14th January 2009, 10:25 AM
Cant agree more with you on that Suresh!!
One thing that has been humming in my mind.
In the modern commercial loops - there are some groovy sounds that need no composition - the mere sound of certain effect give a trendy feel. Certain pre programmed beats can definitely enhance and trick the listener into feeling that the 'music is great'. The actual fact is 'the electronics behind the sound is great'. If Raja had set those notes to real live instruments and chorus instead of the cost effective synth he is using, the result would have been the glorious - but 'oh so 80 ish sounding'. The fact of the matter is that as time progresses, electronic music will prevail and real music will die out. This is what some scifi authors consistently point out. While west has the healthy tradition of 'harmonic orchestra' being used predominantly in BGMs and general patronization of live music, We are not that encouraging. Barring a few families, most of the 'listeners' of today have not set foot inside the music hall where there is live music being played - be it carnatic kutchery or hindustani concert. Raja's music is soon becoming an anachronism and he is doing his bit by sticking to some synth. Though I must say that I liked the 'Bitchai paathiram' synth in Ramanamaalai than the movie version. However we should see the movie before commenting a bit too soon on that.

I agree with both you guys ..I would like to add that music playing is supposed to be like a sport .. a mind-body coordination activity..human beings should continue to keep this skill intact..Probably I am not reading much scifi to understand why some predict the human race will get away from this..
Re: synth and different sounds. My understanding is Raaja collects lots of real instruments and learns to play them..he is pretty much very "hands-on" like they say in the s/w industry. But he never touches an instrument while recording. The point he is making is ..he is a composer and focussed mainly on the notes. Sound is probably a secondary thing to him. It is a concession he is making to the popular music format that film music is. Personally, I also like him to record with real instruments. And it is clear that is his personal favorite as well (eg. TIS). But apparently, either there is no interest from the producers or even the listeners. Many gems of his with real instruments go unnoticed. So it is probably some sort of disinterest/annoyance that he uses these synths..with the attitude .."my job is to compose and I am doing it..".

For people who like different rhythm arrangements/drum sounds ..it is probably that too much emphasis on this has turned him off..think about it..he did these for thousands of songs and now you want cool/trendy versions of this ..while you pretty much equate his melodies with any new composers' ..do you think he is going to sit around late in the night..tweaking the drum machine to get the best/coolest drum sound or go through the library of loops to pick the best ..hmmm..that is exactly what bharathy said.."nallathOr veenai seidhu adhai nalam keda puzhudhiyil (loops puzhudiyil) erivathundO".

(BTW, Suresh thanks for the thalam/accent explanation on kannil paarvai..let me see whether my maramandai gets it after repeated listening :-) )

14th January 2009, 10:44 AM
another simple factor - not that many players these days kiru.
I remember that around early 90s wedding reception singers used to carry heavy drums and two to three violins.
Now bloody computer reproduces violin sound and drums sound so everyone with keyboard wants to be a composer (half baked). Getting live musicians is difficult and with inflation, their rates too increases - resulting in cost escalation. Producer comes to raja with a budget constraint - Raja does most movies these days to encourage new and young directors - so the compromise is inevitable even though we fans are expecting more. Now when he vouches for a Thiruvasagam and pours his heart and gets it recorded for a change in sony, we start nitpicking at what is the cost, who marketed it , Raja cheated etc., Oor koodi izuththoam, thaer vandhadhaa, andha sandhosham yaarukku irukku? Even today not a month goes without repeating thiruvasagam songs. I can sing Pollaa vinayen fully - now that is only due to raja - bought some 5 CDs - and gifted 4 of them and all the 4 recepients still thank me for that. If we want to hear the majestic raaja, he has to be given a majestic scope - Looks like even Naan Kadavul is not wide enough. Marudhanayaga siddhar vandhu dhaan Raajavukku theeni podanum.

Sureshs65
14th January 2009, 10:53 AM
Thanks kiru to you as well since your statement made me listen to the song with even deeper interest.

Just observe how the beats fall on some of the important place like 'tadumbum tadumbum' or on 'odungum odungum'. I observed that Shreya sings these words normally, in the sense that she doesn't deliberately stress these words. The beat falling on these words give you an effect that the words have been stressed and that sort of gets the words into your memory easily.

While the pallavi begins before the beat the charanam starts after the beat, giving raise to a bit of an anticipation. Lot of thought seems to have gone in selecting this rhythm pattern.

S.Suresh

Sureshs65
14th January 2009, 10:59 AM
Jaiganes,

Same here with Tiruvasagam. I had bought it and given it to atleast 3 people and recently to an American friend of mine. I always maintain that 'Tiruvasagam' is the best work done by any MD of Indian Film Music.

S.Suresh

raagas
14th January 2009, 12:38 PM
Jaiganes,

Same here with Tiruvasagam. I had bought it and given it to atleast 3 people and recently to an American friend of mine. I always maintain that 'Tiruvasagam' is the best work done by any MD of Indian Film Music.

S.Suresh

Very much. It is a phenomenal work. The intricately woven pieces could be conceived only by a genius and thats what he is. Wish he does more of that kind.

15th January 2009, 07:26 PM
Ayyan Music Coming Soon (http://www.orkut.com/Main#AlbumZoom.aspx?uid=2556170191639555856&pid=1231897699917&aid=1213558020$pid=1231897699917)

Courtesy of Kameshratnam

raja_fan
16th January 2009, 06:40 AM
Hulkster,

Please paste the contents.
I am connfused by this Ayyan, there is another film with the same name produced with Surya as lead..

16th January 2009, 09:22 AM
The difference is: அயன் (as in Lord Brahma) vs. ஐயன் (as in leader). I must say the film titles could be quite confusing, considering the popular media in the electronic era have been taking a lot of liberties in using incorrect spellings in Tamil, peobably due to 'font problems'. So, they could even writing ஸ்ரீ as ஷ்ரீ!

raja_fan
16th January 2009, 11:57 AM
So which one of these is IR working on ??

16th January 2009, 12:19 PM
kandippa surya padam kiadiyaadhu !

16th January 2009, 09:59 PM
Nandhalaala >>> Naan Kadavul - simply because of originality of the album - all songs new and extremely soothing..
It is very difficult to even frown if you are hearing this music - just disconnect from earthly world and a stroll in the western ghats...

17th January 2009, 03:23 AM
I always maintain that 'Tiruvasagam' is the best work done by any MD of Indian Film Music.

S.Suresh
Roger, roger, copy that

17th January 2009, 07:59 AM
I dunt think anyone will ever reach thiruvasagam level, Western classical music encompassing all its sub-genres marrying itself with thiruvasagam's original lyrics and giving us a listening experience as well as a subject to study technical wizardry.

As for ayyan its the film with vasan karthik as the hero. I took it from kamesh's album but i guess only orkut viewers can log in. Mods please try to enable the picture.

kameshratnam
17th January 2009, 05:24 PM
I have finished taking the instrumental version of the entire album of tis..pls wait..i will do the needful

kameshratnam
17th January 2009, 05:31 PM
1st song
poovar

http://www.mediafire.com/?jzonpmwdjbl

17th January 2009, 07:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jp00eU-ZgIo&feature=related

nanadalal trailer with gypsy song

Fliflo
17th January 2009, 09:57 PM
A nice dance for "Pooveru" Song of Thiruvasagam.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uRx-QYmizQ&eurl=http://www.dvbs.eu.org/video/6uRx-QYmizQ/Thiruvasakam-Kothumbi.html

NormalMan
18th January 2009, 04:28 AM
So what's the next exciting album in works? I would like to seem him work on albums that fascinate him personally.

18th January 2009, 05:19 AM
http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=K8GYsLLx0ps

SRK trailer

Fliflo
18th January 2009, 05:28 AM
Looks like IR's another movie (telugu) is launched)

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/telugu/gallery/events/17246.html

raja_fan
18th January 2009, 09:54 AM
Looks like IR's another movie (telugu) is launched)

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/telugu/gallery/events/17246.html

That's a great news. A film on Thyagaraja !
that too as fast as in May !

We can expect a classical treat from IR. Singeetham is the director. So no doubt..this year is going to be great :D

Fliflo
18th January 2009, 10:53 AM
Raja fan,

You can find the full details about the movie here. It will be another feast from IR, hopefully.

http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/story.aspx?Title=Singeetham%E2%80%99s+%E2%80%98Tya gayya%E2%80%99&artid=74H7ZpDxrqA=&SectionID=sPqk7hE5Bqg=&MainSectionID=ngGbWGz5Z14=&SectionName=qREFy151z8Q5CNV7tjhyLw==&SEO=

raagas
19th January 2009, 01:33 PM
Nandhalaala is a feast. After Uliyin Osai, this is one album which i am enjoying a lot. Ofcourse NK is also there, but that is more of pathos (kannil Paarvai is a classic). This one has playful numbers too.

12bums
19th January 2009, 10:31 PM
Unearthed these two on youtube for Mayilu - sounds very promising:

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=jaeTPEK8Q5Q&feature=related

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=GYroDRM3XZI&feature=related

raja_fan
20th January 2009, 06:36 AM
Now Abhiyum Naanum declared a hit, will Prakash Raj release Mayilu ?

NagaS
20th January 2009, 12:02 PM
My Comments / Feelings About The Amazing Song Nandhalala's "Mella OOrnthu OOrnthu" -->

http://nchokkan.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/nandhalala/

NagaS

Sureshs65
20th January 2009, 03:09 PM
NagaS,

I had read your article earlier following a link given somewhere else. A very nice analysis.

S.Suresh

20th January 2009, 11:10 PM
Naga kalakiteenga!!

21st January 2009, 01:30 PM
Where are some IR fans who glorified UO like anything and are they deaf in front of NK and NL?

21st January 2009, 02:51 PM
Where are some IR fans who glorified UO like anything and are they deaf in front of NK and NL?
idha thaan naanum ketten :)

21st January 2009, 03:36 PM
idha thaan naanum ketten :)

Oruvelai innum sirpam sethikki mudiyavillainu ninaikkuren

venkiks
21st January 2009, 08:55 PM
உளியின் ஓசை ரசிகன் ஒருவன் இன்னமும் இங்கே தான் இருக்கிறேன்.
எனது சமீபத்திய CDல் நான் கடவுள், நந்தலாலா மற்றும் உளியின் ஓசை பாடல்களை பதிவு செய்து பலமுறை கேட்டு விட்டேன்.

இந்த மூன்று தொகுப்புக்களையும் compare செய்வது apple and orange comparision போல.
மூன்றுமே முத்துக்கள். ஆனாலும் UO நந்தலாலாவை விட சிறிது அதிகமாகவே ஈர்க்கிறது.

"அபிநயம் காட்டுகின்ற" பாடலில் ராஜா ஜால்ராவில் விளையாடி இருப்பது amazing!

-வெங்கி

21st January 2009, 09:52 PM
uliyin oasai Nandhalaalavukku isayil oru pangu kuraivendraalum andha kurai (azhagi varra) neekki paarthaal - adhuvum osai alla isaiyaagave olkkiradhu. moondru muththugalayum ondran pin ondraaga kaettaal - kaala desa varththamaanangal kadandhu payanikkum isayin thaalattai unaralaam.

22nd January 2009, 12:44 AM
undoutedly UO is a class album but when we consider 'the feel' that the songs give, Nandalala is way ahead

23rd January 2009, 06:15 PM
Iam one in the miniscule who rate UO higher than the recent 2 releases by IR for just the marvel of a song "abhinayam kaattugindra aaranange" . Everything about that song, be it delivery, composition, interludes, tune , lyrics seems so perfect that leaves no room for any suggestion. It also showcases Raja's prowess in Carnatic music which is lacking in modern mds .. I watched the movie few weeks back in "Kalaignyar" TV. Not bad at all , except for some lousy comedy track and 80'S kind of production value , garish settings like u find in a telugu mythological. I would like CRVenky or RAJASARANAM to upload that snake dance piece of music . Believe me, it is spell binding and not to be missed by IR lovers

23rd January 2009, 06:44 PM
[quote="thumburu"] 80'S kind of production value , garish settings like u find in a telugu mythological/quote]

It didn't have any production values. Like a local party meeting where a panchayat leader speaks (pandhal covered with vEtti etc) is how king RR Cholan's palace settings are presented:-( Another big eye-sore was the COLORs...yuck...any building, even compound wall, will have red, blue etc colors that too very bright. My goodness!

raagas
23rd January 2009, 07:11 PM
hahaha... and know what... expect the exactly similar production values in Jaganmohini also..and now that reminds me, any JM update? it was supposed to release in Jan.

crvenky
23rd January 2009, 10:28 PM
thumburu,
RS has the video of the BGMs (including snake dance) in his YouTube account.

raja_fan
1st February 2009, 01:24 PM
Jaganmohini in March

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/telugu/top-stories/2009/jaganmohini-movie-release-200109.html

6th February 2009, 04:21 PM
People will be happy to see this advert.

Mayilu Advert (http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww110/urapuli/mayilu.jpg)

Courtesy of Orkut

6th February 2009, 08:07 PM
Info on PAZHASSI RAJA!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/malayalam/article/44378.html

"Given the enormity of the movie, hopefully this will be another grandeur album to the list of ND and NK this year..."

krish244
12th February 2009, 05:03 PM
Pazhassi Raja postponed to Onam 2009!

http://sify.com/movies/fullstory.php?id=14855249

Krishnan

12th February 2009, 05:07 PM
Ada vidunga pa, Naan kadavulukkey 6 years wait panninom, ithu jujubee matter :lol2:

krish244
12th February 2009, 06:37 PM
"Aa dinagalu" director's next movie titled "Suryakanti":

http://entertainment.oneindia.in/kannada/top-stories/2009/km-chaitanya-suryakanti-120209.html

IR is the MD. This movie is produced by P.Vasu!

Krishnan

krish244
13th February 2009, 04:24 PM
Is IR not doing Ameer's Kannabiran? The below article says Yuvan is scoring the music.

http://tamil.webdunia.com/entertainment/film/featuresorarticles/0902/10/1090210054_1.htm

Krishnan

Fliflo
14th February 2009, 06:47 PM
Another news about kannabiran saying that IR would be the MD

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/02/13-ameer-to-start-kannabiran-in-march.html

rooky
14th February 2009, 07:28 PM
Finally, we have got a hit movie in tamil with IR's score and (going by the media) biggest hit so far, of this year.when was it the last time (was it virumandi?).

I haven't watched the movie yet, but goodows to bala for inspiring IR for a fabulous score, treating our ears and also for the movie that has reached the masses.

In a way, relieved to see a IR hit in tamil, after quite a few years.

Lot of bright spots this year for IR in tamil, and hopefully we will have a wonderful IR music filled 2009

raja_fan
14th February 2009, 10:30 PM
The producer of Kannapiran is same man who produced NK - K.S.Srinivasan .

So producer should be ok with Amir going with IR. But is Amir and IR ok with working with each other ? is the question. Let's see ! :)

raja_fan
15th February 2009, 11:14 AM
Valmiki awaits release after "Siva manasula sakthi"

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/id/Valmiki_A_marvel_from_Vikadan_Talkies_21515.html

raja_fan
15th February 2009, 11:17 AM
IR's tamil films in 2009

1. NK

2. Nandalala

3.Jagan Mohini

4. Mayilu

5. Valmiki

6. Azhagar Malai ??

7. Aiyyan ??

15th February 2009, 11:23 AM
8. Pazhassi Raja

15th February 2009, 11:23 AM
where can I get NANDHA LALA and NAN KADAVUL original audio CDs ?

raja_fan
15th February 2009, 11:27 AM
irir123,

I was listing Tamil albums only :)

rooky
15th February 2009, 11:52 AM
There was a program in kalaignar TV yesterday, titled "ivarthaan isaignani" at 7.30 pm.

They were showing IR recording a song in his rec theatre and was very interesting..

IR made sure that the violonist and the drummer get the notes right and then making sure karthik,Tippu and others from chorus got their dictions right.

Malaysia vasudevan's daughter was also part of the group, who said ,it was her first song for IR.The song was a folky one.

At the end, pavatharini asked IR, couple of questions, which IR replied in his usual style.

The last one...
"ippo irukkura music directorsla ungalukku pidicha music director yaaru?"

IR: "Un kaelviyae thappu..ungalukku pidicha md yaarunnu kaetirukkanum..ippo irukkirathunna, naanum ippa irukkura music director thaanae?"

then he had this final note to say, "Enakku neray music directors pidikkum...Entha music director, mandhirkul pugura mathiri music compose panrangalao, antha music directorsa enakkum pidikkum".

15th February 2009, 01:11 PM
rooky,

you missed out to post the continuation of that sentence from Raaja...'Aana apdi ivangala pudikkum avangala pudikkumnnu sollalame thavira entha oru kalaignanukkum thannaithaan muthlla pudikkum...ulla irunthu pisaiyum paarunga antha....unarvu... athuthaan nalla padaippa veli varum' :)

rooky
15th February 2009, 02:45 PM
yup, exactly..i missed mentioning that..
b.t.w, any hints on which movie was that recording for?

raja_fan
15th February 2009, 02:56 PM
rooky,

It was for "Mayilu". Seems you did not watch that same programme on last Deepavali on Kalaignar TV :)

16th February 2009, 01:52 AM
where can I get NANDHA LALA and NAN KADAVUL original audio CDs ?
http://www.anytamil.com/php/moviemain.php?l=00001&t=0003&vs=&s1=&g=&nst=y&pr=&page=3

16th February 2009, 05:50 AM
jaiganes - nandri!

16th February 2009, 06:39 AM
IR's tamil films in 2009

1. NK

2. Nandalala

3.Jagan Mohini

4. Mayilu

5. Valmiki

6. Azhagar Malai ??

7. Aiyyan ??

8. Mathiya Chennai

9. Kangalum Kavipaaduthey?

10. Manikandan(Multi-lingual)

Azhagar Malai and Ayyan are confirmed for this year.

vel
16th February 2009, 06:38 PM

May i know what prompted you to post this? i dont understand what you wanted to convey. Since i was one among (and still am) a great admirer of IR's UO, i am curious to know. If you tell the context, i can answer !

16th February 2009, 10:00 PM
As part of a cohesive, well-planned effort of a team working silently, here is an important announcement:

check this out: http://www.thecommentfactory.com/

"Indian composer Ilaiyaraaja is a genius; how long can the West ignore him?"

All credit to Vignesh (violin vicky) for his efforts!

16th February 2009, 10:07 PM
Sanjeevi,
I have listened to NK, NL and UO.
What is your point?
you want to say UO songs are bad - pls go ahead and say it, but in my opinion, UO songs are awesome except that stupid kuththu song that spoiled the whole album. Even that song would have passed if the lyrics had got the period right with words like 'dabba' et al.
NK and NL are different subjects and for them too Raja has given fitting numbers.

16th February 2009, 10:23 PM
irir123,
Why does it keep returning me 'this page cannot be displayed'?

16th February 2009, 10:31 PM
app_engine - its being bombarded by so many users thats all! be patient even am not able to access it!

16th February 2009, 11:46 PM
irir123,

I've managed to get in and read the article. Very nice one and all the three songs chosen (anjali-anjali, idhu oru ponmAlaippozhudhu and pothi vacha malliga mottu) are quite apt to showcase the genius.

Now, any idea whether this website is quite popular among musicians in the west?

16th February 2009, 11:56 PM
app_engine - the website is visited by ppl from all over the world - posting such an article is just 1 of many things tat can be done to make IR visible first!

wait for a few more weeks, as I give more updates

17th February 2009, 02:45 PM

May i know what prompted you to post this? i dont understand what you wanted to convey. Since i was one among (and still am) a great admirer of IR's UO, i am curious to know. If you tell the context, i can answer !
As someone who agreed with Sanjeevi, let me answer. It is our opinion that NK deserves more reactions than what we had seen here, especially given the fact that UO got comments from almost everybody. "Subjective, we can't impose our opinions on others etc etc" apply, but oru aadhangam dhaan.

17th February 2009, 02:50 PM
As part of a cohesive, well-planned effort of a team working silently, here is an important announcement:

I just hope the visuals don't "spoil" it and defeat the very purpose of the article!

vel
17th February 2009, 05:40 PM
:lol: UO'kku extra efforts eduthu adhai review panninadhu oru nalla musical score'a makkal miss pannida koodaadhunnu oru aayasam dhaan. :D NK. NL dont need any such extra efforts as i was fully confident will hook up raja fans who thirsted for more of 80s musical energy ! :lol: murugan kovikkum bodhu dhaan avvaiyaaru samadhaana paduthanum. Appa amma voda avar sandhoshama irukkum bodhu, avvaikku velai illai...

17th February 2009, 08:58 PM
:lol: UO'kku extra efforts eduthu adhai review panninadhu oru nalla musical score'a makkal miss pannida koodaadhunnu oru aayasam dhaan. :D NK. NL dont need any such extra efforts as i was fully confident will hook up raja fans who thirsted for more of 80s musical energy ! :lol: murugan kovikkum bodhu dhaan avvaiyaaru samadhaana paduthanum. Appa amma voda avar sandhoshama irukkum bodhu, avvaikku velai illai...

accepted :D

athavittuttu naan UO-va underrate panninen-nu paaya koodathu

17th February 2009, 09:15 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/02/17-nandalala-postponed.html

17th February 2009, 10:19 PM
I can't understand why Sanjeevi should crib about an "album" which other than the satisfaction of some commercial reach for a Raja score, practically had just ONE song for music fans. And unnecessarily why it should be compared with a rich score like UO.

NK has 'kaNNil pArvai', truly an awesome song, but that's the only one for me. (Yes, there's an IR version which is nice as well, but it won't count as two).

Rest are all "bhajan / bhakthi / slOgam" kind of songs and also among them three remix / remake - mAtha un, ammA un, pichaippAthiram. I don't care much for such devotional songs and I'm sure many TFM lovers don't pay much attention to such either.

That may probably explain the apathy many have towards this "album". IMO NK can technically be called a "single":-)

17th February 2009, 10:22 PM
OTOH, 'nandhalAlA' is a very sweet breezy score and I rate it much highly compared to any of IR's recent scores in TFM. This is like one of his MFM scores and truly good!

ananth222
17th February 2009, 10:25 PM
I can't understand why Sanjeevi should crib about an "album" which other than the satisfaction of some commercial reach for a Raja score, practically had just ONE song for music fans. And unnecessarily why it should be compared with a rich score like UO.

NK has 'kaNNil pArvai', truly an awesome song, but that's the only one for me. (Yes, there's an IR version which is nice as well, but it won't count as two).

Rest are all "bhajan / bhakthi / slOgam" kind of songs and also among them three remix / remake - mAtha un, ammA un, pichaippAthiram. I don't care much for such devotional songs and I'm sure many TFM lovers don't pay much attention to such either.

That may probably explain the apathy many have towards this "album". IMO NK can technically be called a "single":-)
I strongly disagree. I never listen to devotional songs, and didn't even know "pitchai pathiram" was already in a previous IR album (even though I had that album, but never listened to it). Both pitchai pathiram and om sivoham are just brilliant, on par with kannil parvai. NK is a great album, better than UO for me.

17th February 2009, 11:35 PM

I just hope the visuals don't "spoil" it and defeat the very purpose of the article!

The choices of YouTUBE links in that article were strictly the website moderator/management team's!! and not the contributing author's!

either they picked the visuals/links at random or did that on the basis of their liking, no idea abt that

DeepTrance
18th February 2009, 01:30 AM

Anjali and Nizhalgal can easily be seen as music videos but I did close my eyes for "poththi vachcha"... embarassing 80s picturization :D

On the main article itself - He might not be a marquee name in the west but the music industry must know about him - We have had M.I.A, black eyed peas use IR songs.

18th February 2009, 05:13 AM

The moment you stereotype a raja song as devotional, remix, seductive and dunt listen then you cannot be a raja fan. Raja has scored so many numbers but do we bother what is the type? its the way he has done the content that bothers us. You dunt give such explanations when your supposed to be a raja fan.

Overwriting Om Sivoham/Mandir Sabari/Maa Ganga as a bhajan which is why i dunt listen is like saying Sivakasi and Kaaka Kaaka are action films but you dunt care whether they have good content or not. :banghead:

18th February 2009, 12:42 PM
Hulk,
App_engine obviously seems to have a grudge against NK. Nothing else can explain the atrocious logic(?) in his post.
Saying "I like UO and NL more than NK" is one thing but this is something else.
How does it matter if Pichai Paathiram is from some other album (Amma Un Pillai-avadhu othukkalaaam) and how many would care or KNOW if its from another album? Oru padathukku potta paattai vera padathula use panradhillaya? I don't know of anyone outside the hub who has heard the song before.
Oh yeah, Om Sivoham is a "bhajan" song (:rotfl:) and hence it cannot be considered worthy of mention by "music fans" according to app_engine's dictionary. And look at the mention of "music fans". Mathavanga ellam music fans illayaamaam.

With a masterstroke of his artistic brush, he has banished Om Sivohum and Pichai Pathiram from the album (Ma Ganga padathula dhaan irundhuchu ok) :notworthy:

Sanjeevi, vadivel index finger-a than mugathukke point panni "unakku venumda.." nu solra madhiri naama rendu perum sollanum :banghead:

The moment you stereotype a raja song as devotional, remix, seductive and dunt listen then you cannot be a raja fan. Raja has scored so many numbers but do we bother what is the type? its the way he has done the content that bothers us. You dunt give such explanations when your supposed to be a raja fan.

Overwriting Om Sivoham/Mandir Sabari/Maa Ganga as a bhajan which is why i dunt listen is like saying Sivakasi and Kaaka Kaaka are action films but you dunt care whether they have good content or not. :banghead:

kameshratnam
18th February 2009, 12:53 PM

In Naan Kadavul according to me there are only 2 original songs and they are sivoham and kannil parvai and the others cannot be taken as songs..Pitchai pathiram: Why shd it be even used again? All these people praise and shower their praises on IR on this song but how many of them did it when he released ramanamalai..only a few thousands and that too his fans..his loyal devoted fans..

18th February 2009, 01:37 PM
Yes bala appadi thaan namma nilameiyum. :cry2:

Kamesh, The thing is when listening to a album especially an IR album you need to listen fully instead of straight away dismissing them as they are from other albums. Amma un pillai might have been a remake but are you going to avoid it just like that? In that case Cheeni Kum does not even stand a chance. Its how they are composed that matters. As for pichai paathiram, the effect of it being visualised with the situation in NK made it more reachable thus the praises.

krish244
18th February 2009, 03:11 PM
Update on PA. Talks about Balki finalising IR (for music) and P.C.Sreeram for cinematography.

http://www.realbollywood.com/news/2009/02/amitabh-bachchan-artist.html

Krishnan

18th February 2009, 04:23 PM
app_engine, just a bit surprised at your reaction. I think Bhajan is a valid form of music.
I dont see why Bikshai pathiram shouldnt be reused either. In the end, I prefer the IR version to Madhu B's version, but if it is apt for the situation, no reason why it shouldnt be there, especially since it hasnt been in a film before.
'Alai Paayuthaey' by Venkatsubbaiyer use pannaliya films-la? Isnt IR a great musician enough to be referenced when there is a relevant situation in a movie? I think he is. What do you think?

18th February 2009, 04:32 PM
Appo Trinity compostions-ayum reuse/rework panna koodaadhu :huh:

18th February 2009, 09:43 PM
Plum, CR, Hulkster

It may be my dogmatism that IR's scores other than TFM (e.g. cheeni kum) are OK to be replicas / reworks etc and still considered worthy of a listen. Even in TFM, for a lesser movie (say 'dhanam'), if he has reworked some old tunes etc won't matter as the project itself may not merit a lot of attention - with me being happy to have just one or two good singles.

I understand songs were not of great concern in NK for the director but only BGM & BGM-ic songs (I believe most do not find screen time anyways). That may be the reason for collecting some old ones here and there and throw into the disk. If the disk didn't get that much attention from film's director and IR themselves, how do you guys expect more attention from people like me?

Well, one need not like every genre produced by IR to be his admirer. It's one's right to selectively enjoy him - I can always choose to enjoy thakida thadhimi, vAn pOlE, nAdha vinOdhangaL & mounamAna nEram while ignoring the rest in salangai oli.

18th February 2009, 09:50 PM
About alai pAyudhE :

We don't consider IR as great BECAUSE he used 'alai pAyudhE' in EKEP or give credit to ARR BECAUSE he included that song in AP. Those were just there - as they may be situationally nice to have.

However, if someone claims AP a great album because of that song, it would be only too funny.

I totally agree that compositions of IR can be "referred to" as in the case of alai pAyudhE by "other MDs" ( they do a lot of them anyways as BGM or remixes). However, for IR himself to get that into another disk is just outright commercial and not creative. It's OK for business but then expect not to get great admiration / appreciation etc.

18th February 2009, 09:56 PM
And I didn't say all "music lovers" don't care for devotionals in TFM. I only said "many TFM fans" don't care for them. Again, as an explanation to Sanjeevi's wondering why not much people throw their weight around NK.

Come on, I don't think NK is 'dEvarin dheivam' to have so much of religious-style score. And if you're not going to have it on screen anyways, why not some new 'puththam pudhukkAlai' instead of reworking 'mAdha un kOvil'?

18th February 2009, 10:04 PM
One final post -

If a sufficiently publicised album is phenomenal, there won't be any need to wonder why not many people appreciate it:-)

Like Suresh said if the publicity is not enough, there may be need for someone to lavish praises for people to take note of it and that is not the case of NK.

NK as a whole album isn't much to write about- that is as a fresh new creative product from IR. Period. And that's why there're not many postings / comments.

Any such widely advertised product will draw so much of accolades had it delivered the goods. And there won't be worrisome comments as to why not many notice it
:wink:

ananth222
18th February 2009, 10:20 PM
NK as a whole album isn't much to write about- that is as a fresh new creative product from IR. Period. And that's why there're not many postings / comments.

Any such widely advertised product will draw so much of accolades had it delivered the goods. And there won't be worrisome comments as to why not many notice it
:wink:
What are you talking about? The NK thread here has gone over 27 pages. Almost every review of NK out there, even the ones that rate the film badly, have mentioned Raaja's score as something special.

18th February 2009, 10:22 PM
ananth222,
They were mostly post-release of the film (and not the album) and the praises were mainly for the BGM and not songs.

Also, if there are so much of praises for the album / platinum disk etc, there would have been no need for Sanjeevi's comment itself, isn't it?

ananth222
18th February 2009, 10:44 PM
which recent IR album would you say had more such talk? Its the same case for all of them. If UO had anything going for it, it was Kalaignar TVs own interest in promoting the film/music. Other than that, I don't think NK is in any way smaller than UO.
I don't know what Sanjeevi meant by his comment, but the only thing I can notice is that the group of people celebrating NK here is (mostly) different from the group that talked highly of UO here - and what is the reason for that? The comment would be valid even if NK and UO were interchanged.

18th February 2009, 11:03 PM

Kittathatta oru maasam agapoguthu, nalla irukkunga unga takku :P

Indirectly I did not tell anything and don't try to find the inner meaning from my words.

It was just like asking "Ean innaikku avan office varala"

Sanjeevi, vadivel index finger-a than mugathukke point panni "unakku venumda.." nu solra madhiri naama rendu perum sollanum :banghead:

Naanum muttikiduren :banghead:

19th February 2009, 08:23 AM
And I didn't say all "music lovers" don't care for devotionals in TFM. I only said "many TFM fans" don't care for them. Again, as an explanation to Sanjeevi's wondering why not much people throw their weight around NK.

Come on, I don't think NK is 'dEvarin dheivam' to have so much of religious-style score. And if you're not going to have it on screen anyways, why not some new 'puththam pudhukkAlai' instead of reworking 'mAdha un kOvil'?

The songs were done before the decision to omit them just like putham puthu kaalai. I just think you have gone abit too negative. Om sivoham is the most talked about song and your saying that only the BGM is being talked about. Do you at all read the posts? :?

19th February 2009, 10:28 AM
app, I dont question your choices here. We cannot all like all genres of music even if IR does it, fair enough.
However, a comparison between UO and NK is totally unwarranted in my opinion. To be fair, you didnt start that comparision but even as a response, I think it is unwarranted to compare both.
I liked both and where does that leave me now? Are both camps going to appreciate me for liking their choice or both going to hate me for not hating the other one ?:-)

Coming back to Naan Kadavul, even I had the initial reservations about too much reworking and had an argument with Baradwaj Rangan on that. But there is a completely different quality brought in by Sadhana Sargam as compared to S Janaki, which in itself makes it a different song. As Baradwaj Rangan observed, while the Achani version has a diffident S.Janaki pleading with Maadha, the Naan Kadavul version has Sadhana literally demanding attention and almost accusing maadha(Now to be detached from the religious contentions, I'd say even though maadha as in the christian God has been addressed here, we could in principle read that as any God of any pantheon so peace, lets not imagine a particular religion has been targetted here)of not taking care of her. It took me a few hearings and Baradwaj Rangan's observation in his review to notice this but these are subtleties that deserve attention.
This is not a plain rework like Kissa Hum Likhenge to Kaadhal Kadhidham. There is thought behind it> This is how Baradwaj describes it
"Where the marvellous S Janaki, in that earlier tune, made you imagine a tremulous schoolgirl offering a quivering prayer from a far corner of a room, Sadhana Sargam bursts forth with the sharpness of a clarion call, all but ordering us to eavesdrop on her litany of sorrow"

I dont think music can be detached from emotions and reworking the same song to different emotions has been an old trick of Ilaiyaraja. It is not new at all. I understand you either buy it or you don't. But my feeling is you havent thought so much about Naan Kadavul, my feeling is you have rejected it first and found reasons later, no offence :-)

19th February 2009, 10:31 AM
A rework that I liked in the past was Swades' reworking of Baba Kichu tha. While even many Rahman fans gave up on Dekho Na because it resembled Baba Kichu Kichu tha, Rahman's complete reworking of the song to the completely different mood in Swades made it worthwhile for me.

19th February 2009, 02:06 PM
A rework that I liked in the past was Swades' reworking of Baba Kichu tha. While even many Rahman fans gave up on Dekho Na because it resembled Baba Kichu Kichu tha, Rahman's complete reworking of the song to the completely different mood in Swades made it worthwhile for me.
:exactly: Hard to choose between the two versions

19th February 2009, 02:21 PM
I understand songs were not of great concern in NK for the director but only BGM & BGM-ic songs (I believe most do not find screen time anyways). That may be the reason for collecting some old ones here and there and throw into the disk. If the disk didn't get that much attention from film's director and IR themselves, how do you guys expect more attention from people like me?

Hold on, hold on! Sanjeevi and myself just rattled out a manakkumural, "Indha foruthula ulla IR fans UO-ku ellam aahaa oho nu comments kuduthaingale, ippo NK-avanga onnume sollalaye". The world in general > subset of forumhub IR fans. We didn't crib about any lack of reaction from the media/general public. Appadiye paathaal, it was UO which was devoid of any attention :)

Well, one need not like every genre produced by IR to be his admirer. It's one's right to selectively enjoy him - I can always choose to enjoy thakida thadhimi, vAn pOlE, nAdha vinOdhangaL & mounamAna nEram while ignoring the rest in salangai oli.

Who is talking about individual preferences? You seem to represent an arbitary set called "fans of music among IR fans" and pass sweeping generalizations

We don't consider IR as great BECAUSE he used 'alai pAyudhE' in EKEP or give credit to ARR BECAUSE he included that song in AP. Those were just there - as they may be situationally nice to have.
However, if someone claims AP a great album because of that song, it would be only too funny.

I think you are extremely confused here :)
Where did you read anyone sayin IR is great BECAUSE he included Pichaipaathiram??? Wake up, sir!

Neenga survey edutheengala??? Endha ulagathula irukkeenga app_engine? :)

If you could step outside IR threads in forumhub, you will see which has been well received by "many TFM fans"

If a sufficiently publicised album is phenomenal, there won't be any need to wonder why not many people appreciate it:-)
Like Suresh said if the publicity is not enough, there may be need for someone to lavish praises for people to take note of it and that is not the case of NK.

ananth222,
They were mostly post-release of the film (and not the album) and the praises were mainly for the BGM and not songs.
Also, if there are so much of praises for the album / platinum disk etc, there would have been no need for Sanjeevi's comment itself, isn't it?

Please read all points above :)

To summarize
1) Sanjeevi (and myself) ranted thusly: "UO-ku ellam aahaa oho nu indha thread la sonnavanga yen NK pathi onnume sollala?" Does NOT mean we were cribbing about lack of acceptance in general. Just pick 5 people at random and ask them about UO. Chances are, they wont have a clue
2) Songs got a great reception in TF section here and among most IR fans (Orkut, media reviews, WOM, reactions in theater etc) in general