View Full Version : IR News and Other Titbits Ver.2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

20th December 2008, 02:19 PM
Lets share all small news and titbits in this thread keeping the new albums section for albums alone.

For pre-2009 posts, see http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=8587

kameshratnam
20th December 2008, 06:17 PM
I heard Nandalala is releasing in Jan 2009

To add on one more film: Jagan Mohini

Waiting to hear the songs

vigneshram
23rd December 2008, 10:06 PM
இளையராஜாவின் திருவாசகம் கேட்டபோது

Writer S.Ramakrishnan, about his experiences with Thiruvasagam & other Raja's songs

http://sramakrishnan.com/view.asp?id=209&PS=1

Sureshs65
23rd December 2008, 11:21 PM
An excellent writeup by S.Ramakrishnan. 'Tiruvasagam' is definitely one of the greatest achievement of any Indian music director. (I wish I could translate this for people like raagas but my English is no match to Ramakrishnan's tamil). I liked one sentence in this very much and it expresses so well what each one of us feel. "The genius of Illayaraja, of which you can never get tired". Well said.

Thanks for the link Vignesh.

S.Suresh

raagas
24th December 2008, 01:32 PM
Cool.. I know.. somethings are better off as they are, without any translation. but i got the intent of it, though not the content. nevermind.

Sureshs65
26th December 2008, 09:08 AM
A journalist from Hindu, Bangalore had gone to watch Illayaraja while he was doing the background score for 'Nandala'. He narrates his experience here.

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2008/12/26/stories/2008122650770400.htm

S.Suresh

26th December 2008, 09:17 AM
[tscii:f57c9831cf]
A journalist from Hindu, Bangalore had gone to watch Illayaraja while he was doing the background score for 'Nandala'. He narrates his experience here.

S.Suresh

Thanks for the link.

" “This is the first time in 35 years that his work is being recorded,” says Mysskin."

So will this be included in DVD as director's cut?[/tscii:f57c9831cf]

kameshratnam
26th December 2008, 09:25 AM
Hi .this is great news....One of the producers of nandalala has replied to my post in orkut in the Tamil cinema community...see it under the topic

http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#CommMsgs.aspx?cmm=64172&tid=5278727970347737105&na=2&nst=11

He says

Audio probabaly by 10th of jan, we have plans to release score also...but at a later date...

ananth222
26th December 2008, 10:52 AM
Hi .this is great news....One of the producers of nandalala has replied to my post in orkut in the Tamil cinema community...see it under the topic

http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#CommMsgs.aspx?cmm=64172&tid=5278727970347737105&na=2&nst=11

He says

Audio probabaly by 10th of jan, we have plans to release score also...but at a later date...
what is this?
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.aspx?cmm=52405498&tid=5281061052403263086&start=1

kameshratnam
26th December 2008, 11:06 AM

He says

what is this?
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.aspx?cmm=52405498&tid=5281061052403263086&start=1

Thats an orkut site where u can find the message posted by me and the reply given by Mr.Srikanth. Mr.Srikanth is one of the producers of the movie nandhalala

Renault
26th December 2008, 01:38 PM

S.Suresh

What a finish to the article , "If music is divine then is Ilayaraja God?"

Everyone knows the answer :-)

Seems like IR fans are set for a good 2009.

ananth222
26th December 2008, 09:56 PM

He says

what is this?

Thats an orkut site where u can find the message posted by me and the reply given by Mr.Srikanth. Mr.Srikanth is one of the producers of the movie nandhalala

I got that, but the title for the second link I posted says
"Ilayaraaja refuses to work with mysskin again!!!"

26th December 2008, 10:49 PM
I got that, but the title for the second link I posted says "Ilayaraaja refuses to work with mysskin again!!!"

:shock: What's happening??

27th December 2008, 03:04 AM
nothing to worry - it was a playful pull by the maestro.

27th December 2008, 05:40 PM
One thing we can understand is that 'Raaja' has felt Mysskin had made him "work" hard for the BGM. We could expect some real great score :)

27th December 2008, 06:10 PM
One thing we can understand is that 'Raaja' has felt Mysskin had made him "work" hard for the BGM. We could expect some real great score :)

IR should have felt energized (instead of drained) after working hard for NK and nandhalala. Hope he converts that energy into some good albums in 2009. I want more people to make him work hard.

kameshratnam
1st January 2009, 05:43 PM
Heard all the songs for 2 mins ..here is my review

There is no 11 minute or 10 min song in the cd...

1. Om sivoham om - Vijay Prakash
Runs for 6 mins...full sanskrit song...a great number in praise of lord shiva....typical bhajan..IR Kalakarar...in the lines of Mandir Sabari...wow ...superb number

2. Kannil Paravai - Shreya Goshal
6. oru katril - ilayaraaja

Both songs have the same tune....a beautiful number...superb tune and well rendered by shreya goshal.....
After a very long time...this tune is refreshing...IR ..

Thumbs Up! Thumbs Up! Thumbs Up! Thumbs Up! Thumbs Up!

3. Matha un kovil - Madhumita runs only for 42 secs
5. Amma un pillai - Sadna Sargam
Amma un pillai tune is of matha un kovil.....

4. Bhikshai Pathiram - Madhu Balakrishnan
lyrics: Ilayaraaja
We have already heard this tune.so

1st January 2009, 09:47 PM
Iniya puthandu nalvazhthukkal to all IR fans :D

2nd January 2009, 02:52 AM
Rahman Recording a Raaja song in his studio :thumbsup:
http://www.tubetamil.com/view_video.php?viewkey=b3ac9b59c7eb5b435673
Watch the last few minutes ;)

K
2nd January 2009, 07:46 PM
http://urfriendchennai.blogspot.com/2009/01/blog-post_4120.html

NormalMan
2nd January 2009, 09:40 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-08/kamal-31-12-08.html

NormalMan
2nd January 2009, 09:41 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/jan-09-01/ilayaraja-02-01-09.html

kameshratnam
3rd January 2009, 08:04 AM
@ Above

The news is totally wrong..the movie was totally cleared on dec 31st by the censor board and how cud IR do the RR On jan 1st..if u are gonna give a movie for censor..the movie shd be fully ready isnt it..

3rd January 2009, 03:28 PM
@ Above

The news is totally wrong..the movie was totally cleared on dec 31st by the censor board and how cud IR do the RR On jan 1st..if u are gonna give a movie for censor..the movie shd be fully ready isnt it..

A movie can be sent to censor without BGM! They are more concerned about visuals and dialogues which needs to be censored rather than the music.

BTW I heard from some industry people that 'Raaja' is infact very much engrossed by the movie and still working on the BGM. He has completed the BGM for 'Nandalala' while still working for 'NK' Which shows the master craftsman 'Bala' had given a challenge to Raaja which he has never met in last 32 years. We all know Raaja will come out with flying colors :notworthy:

raagas
6th January 2009, 06:40 PM
Why is this thread not yet in Sticky?

6th January 2009, 07:01 PM
The moderators are nomore visiting this section I believe. Its Time one of us apply for the MOD post :lol:

crvenky
7th January 2009, 03:50 PM
Maestro tunes to a poem by Kavignar Abdul Rahman:
http://tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/January/070109.asp

crvenky
7th January 2009, 04:00 PM
A sculptor impresses Maestro:

http://tamil.sify.com/fullstory.php?id=14831900
http://chennaionline.com/tamil/newsitem.aspx?NEWSID=72eae17e-8bba-4693-9a02-bdfa8dc5fded&CATEGORYNAME=TFILM

7th January 2009, 05:27 PM
Maestro tunes to a poem by Kavignar Abdul Rahman:
http://tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/January/070109.asp

8th January 2009, 12:11 AM
crvenky, the news about the Sculptor is at least a year old. It came in Ananda vikatan long ago.

kameshratnam
8th January 2009, 07:49 AM
"ஹாலிவுட் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸ் சார்லி சாப்ளின்" என்று சொன்னாராம் பெர்னார்ட்ஷா. தமிழ் சினிமாவின் ஒரே ஒரு ஜீனியஸாக யாரைச் சொல்வீர்கள்?

" இளையராஜா "

அரசு கேள்வி - பதில்கள், குமுதம் 14.01.2009

9th January 2009, 04:15 PM
Ilayaraja tries to compose music like his son yuvan

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=fP6c1Xyytj8&feature=related

9th January 2009, 05:27 PM
Ilayaraja tries to compose music like his son yuvan

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=fP6c1Xyytj8&feature=related

I have seen this before. When he imitates Yuvan, he was full of energy and happy. :D Why can't he do something like that in his albums? Definitely the youngsters will like it. He has been doing only the other versions of mAnguliyE he tried on stage :roll:

ananth222
9th January 2009, 08:00 PM
Why can't he do something like that in his albums? Definitely the youngsters will like it. He has been doing only the other versions of mAnguliyE he tried on stage :roll: It is such an irony - IR was mocking the way music is done these days, without a care for the situation or the lyrics... and that is what people want more of?? :huh:

11th January 2009, 09:03 AM
It is such an irony - IR was mocking the way music is done these days, without a care for the situation or the lyrics... and that is what people want more of??

Yes, I think so. And ofcourse opinion differs. Well, it is not going to be a difficult task for him to churn out the likes of today's trendy songs, but some people believe the opposite. I just want him to prove they are wrong and to see him taking the top spot again.

11th January 2009, 09:06 AM
I completely agree with him in that interview. Especially that memory chip example was :thumbsup:

IR - :god: :bow: :salute:

raja_fan
11th January 2009, 11:13 AM
Watch "Rasigan" programme today on Kalaignar TV. Part 2 of Ilaiyaraja special ! Just for IR fans ! Dont miss it !

The programme is running right now on Kalaignar TV !

12th January 2009, 08:55 AM
[tscii:e59a7d8368]
Another news item on a new IR Film in Gulzar's (Hindi Lyricist) website www.gulzaronline.com

" Gulzar saab once again with Maestro Illaiyaraja
Gulzar saab has been teamed up with Illaiyaraja for a new under production film directed by debutant Ajoy Verma. The yet untitled film marks the coming together aof a great pair that gave us an unforgettable score in Sadma. Even after so many years and so many thousands of listenings, songs like Ae zindagi gale laga le and Surmai ankhiyon me nanha munna ik sapna deja re are as fresh as they were 25 years ago. After Sadma, Gulzar saab and Illaiyaraja shared the credits in Revathy's Mitr My Friend where Gulzar saab penned one song.

For this new film a few songs have already been recorded, one of them is "Mujhko itne se kaam pe rakh lo" rendered by Roop Kumar Rathore. (Remember last time Vishal made the same poem into a song in Boodhey Pahadon Par)

Looking forward to the coming together of two legends... more details soon.."

This film is titled SRK. I saw the poster for it at a cinema in Pune.

Trailer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8GYsLLx0ps

http://www.screenindia.com/news/SRK/362591/

SRK
Posted: Sep 19, 2008 at 1458 hrs IST

This is the story of Shivaji Rao Khote (Vinay Pathak), who is fondly called S.R.K. by his friends. SRK is a graduate in Economics and a schoolteacher in Kerala. He lives with his wife, Vidya (Rituparna Sengupta) and two young daughters. SRK always feels that his meagre job is keeping him away from a grand ambitious life in the big city.

He quits his job to pursue other career avenues but fails at all. His wife Vidya struggles to keep their household running as SRK flounders more than he earns. Both Vidya’s and SRK’s fathers, who are ex-servicemen, decided to mend SRK’s ways. They decided to send him on a religious voyage to Sabrimala to help realise his responsibilities.

But, their plan backfires as SRK returns reformed but becomes obsessed with the idea of becoming a sanyasi. He takes to the life of hermit and wanders about aimlessly. A lonesome Vidya decides to work her way out of troubles and starts sewing clothes for contracts.

“SRK is a story of great topical and social relevance, dealing with the lives of those who desire luxury but are not prepared to work hard. We wrote the script by combining satire and humour and made the situations of the film hilarious and enlightening at the same time.

In SRK we have tried to unfold the mind of an idler and show the realism and biting sarcasm of it. I have tried to draw inspiration from the commercially successful and critically-acclaimed Malayalam film, Chintavishta Aaya Shyamala, written, directed and enacted by Sreenivasan, one of the most popular personalities of Malayalam cinema.

This film draws on the saying, “people become reasonable only as a last resort.” The film lays bare the hypocrisy and indifference that affect some people in our society. The message of SRK is conveyed with great force; effective in its impact and delightfully humorous in treatment.”[/tscii:e59a7d8368]

12th January 2009, 09:16 AM
This is a remake of chitha vishishtaya shyamalan - which was remade as 'Chidambarathil oru appasamy' by Thangar. However this project has the blessing of Sreenivasan the original writer - so we can have some hopes

K
12th January 2009, 02:06 PM
http://tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/January/120109a.asp

12th January 2009, 02:14 PM
I saw that Sreenivasan was credited with story-screenplay, so I wondered if it was the same Sreenivasan who was a Malayalam actor. I hope IR has given some new tunes instead of reusing COA tunes.

12th January 2009, 06:14 PM
no worries!! tunes are new!!

12th January 2009, 07:34 PM
but does SRK have a chance of doing well commercially ?

raja_fan
12th January 2009, 10:06 PM
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/009200901121760.htm

Ammani Rajavai marandhuttaanga polirukku..hmm..kali kaalam :(

12th January 2009, 11:10 PM
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/009200901121760.htm

Ammani Rajavai marandhuttaanga polirukku..hmm..kali kaalam :(

Well, Pritam is in her list, whom do you expect there? IR? :lol:
This is where we are lacking, Bollywood just hails their trashes and we don't even talk about our gems. I hope one day the table turns our way.

13th January 2009, 12:26 AM
avasiyama indha threadai continue pannanumaa - pudhu thread thaan vandhaache.

13th January 2009, 11:32 AM
Asha Bhonsle - ularalin ucham. idhu enna:
"I am very delighted with Rahman for what he has done. When I met him first for 'Rangeela', he was a young guy with long hair. And look at his compositions now. He is a genius," the veteran singer said.
"

What the heck is that? Long hair - is that all she can remember of Rahman from those times? Rangeela-la paadinadhukkappuram dhaan she got a second innings in bollywood. Rangella composition pathi oru word illai - enna arthathula pesaranga ivanga? Long hair vechurkkavanguakkellam golden globe thara mattangala?

13th January 2009, 11:52 AM
Plum ,
dont bleieve whatever news papers write !

raagas
13th January 2009, 11:58 AM
I dont understand, why do IR fans go frenzy when someone appreciates someone else. It looks kiddish, pardon me for saying so. If a composer from India won an international award (forget about the merit, but look at plain facts) and if film fraternity congratulates him at that moment, what is wrong.
if Sachin tendulkar sets some record and if all players praise him, why should fans of some other player feel jealous about it.

And regarding Asha Bhonsle, she sang songs of every composer. today, at a moment when she wants to congratulate ARR and if she forgot mentioning IR among 'good composers', does it mean she doesnt hold him in high esteem? i find it really strange and silly, but people read in between lines so much, to the extent that it transforms into 'appreciation clamouring'. Please dont get me wrong folks, but we dont need everyone to always vouch for IR's music. thats impractical.If we feel that 'she did not mention IR', then if she mentions IR in some other interview, fans of composer Raveendran might feel offended for not mentioning him (for example). wherre is the end to it.
I once read Asha Bhonsle's interview in which she told that her most favourite song in tamil is "Shenbaghame Shenbaghame". Doesnt that say more?

MrJudge, lets not get into the biases of Bollywood and South Indian film music and 'Our way' and all.Just because IR did not get enough recognition in the North, it doesnt mean that there are things like 'Their' and 'Our'. IR has lot of respect among the elitest of the composers in North.Why did Pt.Bhimsen Joshi sing for him? Pt.Rajan Mishra and Sajan Mishra? They are doyens of Hindustani music.
the point i am trying to make is...we dont need to always clamour for appreciation endorsed by legends.They like and respect IR and they dont need to show it always. For the moment, merits and brickbats aside, it is a 'feel good' factor that an Indian musician has been recognized and everyone is congratulating that. Nothing wrong in that.

raagas
13th January 2009, 12:06 PM
Infact.. in this thread, http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12038&start=375

a member named fliflo expressed same thoughts as i have.

Chill guys. an award is just an award. whats worth more is the music!
If some music by an Indian composer got recognized, be it so..it is good. but it doesnt necessarily mean 'this music' is great and 'that music is not'.
I think it is high time we set aside comparisons and view music by different composers as stand-alone schools of thought.
There is never good music or bad music. the difference lies only in 'what we like' and 'what we dont like' and i am sure even IR's thought process agrees with this philosophy.

raagas
13th January 2009, 03:25 PM
Btw, I heard that Nandhalaala audio is releasing on Pongal. I request all the fans in Tamil Nadu to try to buy it soon and post their thoughts here.

13th January 2009, 05:00 PM
Ramki, yeah, I wouldnt take the papers seriously. But the following line proves it was Asha Bhonsle indeed - the following line was "Pancham is the greatest ever", which is her mantra. So, I have no doubts she said that - she also said "I won two international awards before but nobody bothered now I am sure a major appreciation will be made for Rahman". Konjam poramai kooda theriyudhu.

Raagas is talking about IR fans worrying about Bhonsle not mentioning IR. IMO, she hasnt even praised Rahman in that -all I can see is self-dabba and RDB-dabba. My point is she has form for this so yeah in this instance, I dont have a doubt it was her, times of india notwithstanding!
Anyway, who cares? She will be shut up when Rahman brings the oscar home.

raagas
13th January 2009, 05:45 PM
Plum... different people have different eccentricities...and talented people, more so. Lets not get into rights and wrongs of their personalities, because we might find many. All thats matters to us is only talent..be it Asha Bhonsle or anyone for that matter. Rest all, we neednt bother. I agree with you... that there was lot of self-dabba and it is evident.. But then.. thats how world is..

It is up to us..to ignore crap :)

13th January 2009, 08:54 PM
its up to us to ignore crap...says Raaga
its up to us to ignore crap or just laugh at it and then ignore - says me
purinjidha?

raagas
13th January 2009, 11:37 PM
yaa.. Do that Plum..because thats what i too did. i dont take Asha Bhonsle's interviews that seriously, with due respect to her talent. That I am a fan of R.D.Burman is a different story, but then she doesnt talk much of other greats with whom she worked, including Naushad, S.D.Burman, Madan Mohan, C.Ramchandra, O.P.Nayyar etc (although she respects them..she doesnt give them any media mileage). And she talks a lot about only RDB.Now thats unfair, with due respects to RDB.this is the reason i dont take her interviews seriously although i like the talent she has got and her achievements.
Anyways, this is all for a different thread.. I am just reasoning out why i laugh and ignore. :)

14th January 2009, 08:59 PM
something else i noticed - while the Indian media always goes over-the-top if someone like Amitabh Bachan even visits a temple somewhere (forget abt him getting something like Golden Globes), on a relative scale, the media has been playing it very low-key abt ARR's winning the Golden Globe, which by all means is something extraordinary !(am a HCIRF - but an award is an award and recognition is recognition, and am happy)

even media reports abt the Golden Globe do not carry any in-depth view of ARR's career highlights, his music, the recording finesse that is one of his music's highlights etc

its all simple, naive, reporting - "ARR virudhu petraar" kind of reports - that probably reflects the overall trend in Indian journalism with not many qualified people reporting on music related news

14th January 2009, 11:47 PM
irir - our tamil media only talks if there are some politicians get some doctorate or some one "fights well in a movie" - like he didnt use make up or dummy, he himself jumped from 2 feet above the ground etc.

lot of hindi channels covered ARRs life journey, from Roja onwards. Ofcourse their version is ARR is a "Bollywood composer, first introduced in Roja Hindi movie" etc.

Hope one of our tamil channel (Usually Vijay TV does this) step up and celebrate this with all other MDs across India.

Getting Golden Globe or Oscar (I am sure ARR will get this) is not a joke. Apart from Music, it require dedication to consistently look for international assignment, understanding what international music demands, lobbying etc. Hats off to ARR. In the interview, ARR mentioned that he was interviewed by award comittee to assess his abilities and to see if he is really worth the prize. All other aspiring MDs has to chat with him to understand the process.

Hope this trend continues for India music industry.

raja_fan
15th January 2009, 10:15 AM
Hope this is a thread on IR.

If you don't want us to talk anything bad about ARR , it holds also for people who appreciate ARR here .

If you want to talk about ARR and his GG win etc, please have it on ARR section.

15th January 2009, 05:03 PM
Yeah, I read that bit about ARR humbly meeting the award committee members and 'proving' to them why he deserves the award. When I read that I chuckled - because I knew then and there that if not for any other reason, IR will never get this award for this reason alone - and I am fine with that. Good point about lobbying, njv. Ippollam nalla product succeed aradhukke lobbying thevai padudhu.

As for media, Times of India actually consoled itself saying today "Even though Rahman won the award, Anil Kapoor and Sharukh Khan 'distinguished' themselves(single quotes mine, with a snigger) by showing passion etc. While the hollywood guys were showing appreciation by politely clapping, Anil showed true Indian passion(!, exlcamation mine) by 'clowning around'(words mine - have substituted the eulogy of times for his clowning), and Sharukh Khan rocked by blowing kisses to the crowd"

I mean, can anyone of you react to that?
There is one word that crossed my mind when I read that - "Thoo!"

idhu dhaan bollywood media coverage latchanam.
raja_fan - sorry i am ignoring your commandment.

16th January 2009, 09:08 AM
Plum & all,

No sidetracking please.. For GG award discussions, we have a
separated thread, pls go there:

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12362

I will have to delete posts if the digressions continue..

16th January 2009, 10:59 AM
RR, thats fine. delete pannidunga. Infact, inime ezhudha poradhu enna, ippo varaikkum ezhudhinadhaiye kooda digression-a irundha delete pannidunga. ungalukku illadha urimaya? :-)
thavira, naan enna kamba ramayanama ezhudittaen, aiyo pochenu azharadhukku :-).

raja_fan
19th January 2009, 11:57 AM
http://www.tamilhindu.com/2009/01/thiruvasagam-thirupporcunnam/

steveaustin
19th January 2009, 12:26 PM
[tscii:7f5aa48ca4]Awesome twosome from Ilayaraja

Maestro Ilayaraja has begun the year 2009 with a bang. The man known for coming up with melodies with great ease and élan has mesmerized everyone with his compositions in two albums – 'Naan Kadavul' and 'Nandhalala'.

The music composer, who virtually dominated the Tamil film music for over three decades, has come up with varied tunes in both the version. Expectations are high on both the films.

Director Bala, whose Naan Kadavul is making so much news even before its release, said, 'Ilayaraja is a peerless musician. His musical score and re-recording gave life to my films. In the company of Uthham Singh, he has come up with a stunning work in Naan Kadavul'.

Echoing the same is director Mysskin. 'I can never forget those moments I sat with Ilayaraja for 'Nandhalala'. He is a great ocean but yet humble and humane. He knows what should be given for the audience. A great asset, he has floored me with his commitment to excel even after achieving so much'.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/44367.html[/tscii:7f5aa48ca4]

Tamilan
21st January 2009, 01:36 PM
http://malayalam.galatta.com/entertainment/malayalam/livewire/id/Pazhassi_Raja_on_April_10_21505.html

krish244
21st January 2009, 07:52 PM
Yuvan to held a concert in toronto and the first link says IR might sing in it:

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/jan-09-04/yuvan-21-01-09.html

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/id/Yuvan_to_shake_a_leg_with_Meenakshi_and_Sanaa_Khan _21546.html

Krishnan

21st January 2009, 08:49 PM
when is PAZHASSI RAJA audio releasing ??

23rd January 2009, 02:16 PM
http://www.hindu.com/cp/2009/01/23/stories/2009012350060300.htm

SA Rajukmar scoring for Puratchi Thalaivan , animation movie by the makers of Inimae Naaga thaan :banghead:

23rd January 2009, 02:21 PM
http://www.hindu.com/cp/2009/01/23/stories/2009012350180800.htm

Maiyulu to release in April

23rd January 2009, 06:26 PM

Was it completed already? surprising.

raja_fan
23rd January 2009, 07:16 PM
http://www.hindu.com/cp/2009/01/23/stories/2009012350180800.htm

Coooooool :D

Unlike NL and NK, we need not wait anxiously how Mayilu songs would be..we already had the taste of it..

If NL, NK and Mayilu all do well in BO, this would be a great year for IR ! :)

crvenky
23rd January 2009, 10:26 PM
Inime Nangadhan (V4) would be telecasted shortly on Zee TV (date to be announced).

23rd January 2009, 11:32 PM
Inime Nangadhan (V4) would be telecasted shortly on Zee TV (date to be announced).
thats great news. Pls post the exact timings too !

Fliflo
24th January 2009, 04:27 AM
Original video of IR's live concert in Italy available here

Dear Vibrations of IlaiyaRaaja,

Kindly the get the Original Video from "The Best Audio", Chennai. Contact No: 42123464 (Chennai, India)

With love & peace,
Akbar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOwhAO8Qpe8

Fliflo
24th January 2009, 09:45 AM
"Azhagu Malar Aada" in Sarode is just adorable in the above link

crvenky
25th January 2009, 11:35 AM
Inime Nanganadhan tomorrow (26th) at 10 am in Zee TV.

26th January 2009, 06:46 PM
Last saturday's "ennodu paattu paadungaL" had IR's rythm programmer Puru as the chief guest and he made some interesting observation which is quite noteworthy. Extensive use of technology has shrunk musicmanship among instrument players today which is a very disturbing trend.:( . Though technology has brought many sound samples, it is killing home grown talent.
Are our film MDs listening?

vigneshram
30th January 2009, 01:25 PM
தமிழ் சினிமாவில் இசைக் குறிப்புகளை நிரப்பிய இரண்டு இமயங்கள் இணைந்த தருணம் அது!

டி.எம்.சௌந்தர்ராஜன் பற்றிய தங்கள் நினைவுகளையும் கருத்துக்களையும் பிரபலங்கள் பகிர்ந்துகொள்ளும் 'இமயத்துடன்' என்னும் நிகழ்ச்சி விரைவில் கலைஞர் டி.வி -யில் ஒளிபரப்பாகவிருக்கிறது. விஜயராஜ் இயக்கும் இந்த நிகழ்ச்சிக்கான ஐடியா கொடுத்தது டி.எம்.எஸ்ஸின் பரம ரசிகரான மு.க.அழகிரி.

மிக நீண்ட நாட்கள் கழித்து குரல் இமயமும், இசை இமயமும் கலைஞருக் காகச் சந்தித்துக்கொண்டார்கள். அந்த நெகிழ்வான சந்திப்பு இதோ...

''எதுக்குமே ஒரு யோக்கியதாம்சம் வேண்டும். அதாவது அருகதை. டி.எம்.எஸ் அண்ணன் பற்றிப் பேச, எனக்கு அந்த அருகதை இருக்கு. ஏன்னா, எனக்கு அவரோட வேல்யூ தெரியும். அவரோட குரலுக்கு ஈடாக நாம் திருப்பிக்கொடுப்பதற்கு உலகத்தில் எதுவுமே கிடையாது. ஆண்மை நிரம்பிய குரல்வளத்தில் அவருக்கு முன்னும் யாரும் இல்லை, பின்னாலும் யாரும் இல்லை. ஆண் குரல் என்றால் அது டி.எம்.எஸ்ஸோடு முடிந்துவிட்டது'' என்கிற ராஜாவின் குரலில் அழுத்தம் அடர்த்தியாகக் கூடுகிறது.

'' 'அன்னக்கிளி' படத்துக்கு இசையமைக்கும்போது டி.எம்.எஸ்ஸை எப்படியாவது பாட வைக்கணும்னு முடிவு செய்தேன். ஆனா, அது ஒரு சின்ன பட்ஜெட் படம். டூயட் பாடல்களோ, வேறு பிரமாண்டமான பாடல்களோ கிடையாது. பஞ்சு அருணாசலம் சார்கிட்ட சொல்லி, அண்ணன் பாடுவதற்காகவே ஒரு சிச்சுவேஷனை உருவாக்கச் சொன்னேன்'' என்று தன் நினைவுகளைப் பகிர்ந்துகொள்ளும் ராஜாவின் தலையில் கை வைத்து ஆசீர்வதிக்கிறார் டி.எம்.எஸ். ஆசீர்வாதத்தைக் குனிந்து பெற்றுக்கொள்ளும் ராஜாவிடம் அப்படி ஓர் அடக்கம்!

''இந்த ஆசீர்வாதம் போதும்ணே! இதைத்தான் உங்ககிட்ட எதிர்பார்த்தேன்'' என்கிற ராஜாவின் குரல் தழுதழுக்கிறது. சிறிது நேரம் வார்த்தைகளற்ற மௌனம் இருவருக்கும் இடையில் அமர்கிறது. மௌனத்தை உடைக்கிறது டி.எம்.எஸ்ஸின் மதுரக் குரல்.

''இப்ப எனக்கு 86 வயசாகுது. ஆனாலும் இன்னும் குரல் தளர்ந்துடலை. சின்ன வயசிலிருந்தே என் சாரீரத்துக்கு மெருகு கொடுப்பேன். இதுவரை எவ்வளவோ பக்திப் பாடல்கள் பாடியிருக்கேன். ஆனா, எந்தக் குரலையும் இதுவரை காப்பியடிச்சதுஇல்லை'' என்று டி.எம்.எஸ் சொல்ல, ''ஆஹா!'' என்று ஆமோதிக்கிறார் இசைஞானி.

'' 'கற்பனை என்றாலும் கற்சிலை என்றாலும் கந்தனே உன்னை மறவேன்' பாட்டை மறக்க முடியுமா? நான் படத்துக்கு மியூஸிக் பண்றதுக்கு முன்னால உங்க கச்சேரிகளில் ஆர்மோனியம் வாசிச்சுட்டிருந்தேன். அப்ப எனக்கு 'சரிகம'வும் தெரியாது, 'பதநிச'வும் தெரியாது. மியூஸிக் நோட்ஸ்னா சுத்தமா என்னன்னு தெரியாது. எழுதிவெச்சு பிராக்டீஸ் பண்ணி ஆர்மோனியம் வாசிப்பேன். பெங்களூரு, மதுரைன்னு எத்தனை ஊர்களுக்குப் போய்க் கச்சேரி பண்ணியிருக்கோம். கச்சேரி முடிஞ்சவுடனே இசைக் கலைஞர்களுக்கு வேற பொழுதுபோக்கு கிடையாது. எல்லாம் தண்ணியடிக்க ஆரம்பிச்சிடுவாங்க. அப்புறம் உங்களைப் பார்த்தவுடனே பாட்டிலை எல்லாம் மறைச்சு வைப்பாங்க'' என்று பெரிதாக சிரிக்கத் தொடங்கும் இசைஞானியின் கைகளைப் பற்றிக்கொள்கிறார் டி.எம்.எஸ்.

''அன்னக்கிளி, பத்ரகாளி, தீபம்னு மூணு படத்துக்கு இசையமைச்சு முடிஞ்ச நேரம். அப்ப மலேசியாவில் இசை நிகழ்ச்சி. நீங்க அங்கே பேசினதைப் பலரும் தப்பாப் புரிஞ்சுக்கிட்டாங்க. 'கே.வி.மகாதேவன், ஜி.ராமநாதன் மாதிரியான ஜாம்பவான்கள் இசையில் அவ்வளவு சுலபமாப் பாடிட முடியாது. பாடிப் பாடி பிராக்டீஸ் பண்ணிக் குரலில் மெருகேத்தித்தான் பாடுவேன்'னு நீங்க பேசுனீங்க. ஆனா, அப்ப வளர்ந்து வரும் என்னை மாதிரியான இசையமைப்பாளர்களை நீங்க மட்டம் தட்டுறீங்கன்னு பல பேர் புரிஞ்சுக்கிட்டாங்க. ஆனால், உங்க பேச்சுல சத்தியம் இருந்தது. அது எனக்குத் தெரியும்'' என்கிற இளையராஜா, ''உங்களை நான் பயன்படுத்திக்கலை, ஓரங்கட்டினேன்னு ஒரு குற்றச்சாட்டு இருக்கு. அப்ப ரஜினி, கமல் மாதிரியான நடிகர்கள் வளர்ந்து வந்தது ஒரு பக்கம். இன்னொரு பக்கம் நானும் வளர்ந்துட்டிருந்தேன். உங்களைப் புறக்கணிக்கணும்கிறது என் நோக்கம் கிடையாது. ஆனா, உங்களை எப்படி அணுகுறதுங்கிற கூச்சம் எனக்கு இருந்துச்சு. அதுதான் நிஜம்!'' என்று மனம் திறக்கிறார் ராஜா.

அமைதியாக ஆமோதிக்கும் டி.எம்.எஸ், ''ஜி.ராமநாதன் பாடும்போது, 'குனிஞ்சு பாடக் கூடாது. கலைஞன்னா நிமிர்ந்துதான் பாடணும்'னு சொல்வாரு. அந்தக் கட்டளைதான் கம்பீரமா, ஆண்மையா என் குரலை மாற்றியது. என்னோட சாரீரத்தோட குரு தியாகராஜ பாகவதர். அதே மாதிரி உச்சரிப்புக்கும் சொல்வளத்துக்கும் கே.பி.சுந்தராம்பாள் குரு. பாவத்துக்கு எம்.எஸ்.சுப்புலட்சுமி அம்மா குரு'' என்று தன் இசைமூலத்தைச் சொல்லும் டி.எம்.எஸ், ''நான் ஒரு டியூன் போட்டிருக்கேன். கேளுங்க'' என்று தத்தகாரம் போடத் தொடங்குகிறார். அவரது டியூனில் மயங்கிய இசைஞானி மெள்ளத் தலையசைக்கிறார். ''இந்த டியூன்ல வார்த்தைகளைப் போட்டுட்டா, ஒரு நல்ல பாட்டு கிடைக்கும்'' என்று டி.எம்.எஸ். முடிக்க, ''இன்னிக்கு இருக்கும் இசைஅமைப்பாளர்களுக்கு நீங்க பாடம் எடுக்கணும்'' என்று மகிழ்ச்சி ததும்பச் சொல்கிறார் இசைஞானி.

சந்திப்பின் இறுதியில், ''என்னைப் பயன்படுத்திக்க ராஜா'' என்று இசைஞானியின் கைகளைப் பற்றிக்கொண்டே டி.எம்.எஸ் சொல்ல, ''நிச்சயமா, நிச்சயமாண்ணே'' என்று உறுதி தெரிவித்தார் இளையராஜா.

காலத்தின் வரையறைக்கு அப்பாலும் வாழவிருக்கும் கலைஞர்கள் இருவரும் அன்பில் மகிழ்ந்து, உணர்வில் நெகிழ்ந்து, பிரியத்தில் கலந்து இசையில் கரைந்த அந்த சந்திப்பு இசையைப் போலவே இனிமையானது"

- From this weeks AV

30th January 2009, 02:40 PM
aaha , aaha !!!!!

raja_fan
30th January 2009, 02:59 PM
Who is the MD of Rattha Kanneer ?

This film makes me rethink my assumption that re-recording in Tamil Cinema was almost nothing before the entry of IR !

Just see the amazing rerecording.

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=uDJiGfNDh3c&feature=PlayList&p=3712DB49A4642826&index=2

And listen to the BGM at around 7:10 - 7:20 of the clipping . Does it not end like "Tharappa pappa paaram.." that IR directs his musician for "Naan Kadavul" recording ? :)

raja_fan
30th January 2009, 03:20 PM
அது சரி... !

TMS-இன் கர்வம் அப்படியே தான் இருக்கிறது.
சில வருடங்கள் முன்னால் வரை "சில முட்டாள்கள் தங்கள் ஆர்மோனிய பெட்டியில் வருவதை எல்லாம் நான் பாட வேண்டும் என்று எதிர்ப் பார்த்தார்கள்" என்று ராஜாவை இடித்தவர் இப்பொழுது "ராஜா..என்னை உபயோக படுத்திக் கொள்" என்று வழிகிறாராக்கும் ! :banghead:

இவரிடம் போய் இசை ஞானி இந்த அளவுக்கு அடக்கம் காட்டிக் கொண்டிருக்கிறார் ! T.M.S-ஐ ராஜா புகழ்ந்ததர்க்கு பதிலாக ஒரு பாராட்டுக் கூட அந்த பக்கத்திலிருந்துக் காணோம் ! :angry2:

raja_fan
30th January 2009, 04:17 PM
"Ilayaraaja taught me great discipline"

http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2009/jan/30sld2-a-r-rahman-people-making-of-a-genius.htm

30th January 2009, 05:33 PM
<deleted>

30th January 2009, 09:07 PM
Who is the MD of Rattha Kanneer ?

This film makes me rethink my assumption that re-recording in Tamil Cinema was almost nothing before the entry of IR !

Just see the amazing rerecording.

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=uDJiGfNDh3c&feature=PlayList&p=3712DB49A4642826&index=2

And listen to the BGM at around 7:10 - 7:20 of the clipping . Does it not end like "Tharappa pappa paaram.." that IR directs his musician for "Naan Kadavul" recording ? :)

MRR is simply brilliant!

baroque
31st January 2009, 12:21 AM
Forget X or Y or Z praising IR or not praising him, It doesn't matter.

TMS wishes to sing for Shri.IR now :roll: .

I love some of his old MGR songs, Sivaji hits, Jaishankar songs etc... he sang for Shri.MSV and others. Indeed he has sung with bhaavam and singaara rasam sotta sotta some love songs, memorable pathos, lullabies etc... That was then, this is now.
I have posted all over MSVTIMES :)

TMS wishes IR to use him now? I read Shri.MSV has recorded some songs by TMS and Susheela for his வாலிபன் சுற்றும் உலகம் ..I am really curious to hear the songs, I don't care to watch the movie. :)

anyway... Shri. Ir can always hunt for new talents for his satisfaction.

I like to see SPB working for Shri.Ilayaraaja more. His voice is amazingly young, bubbly even now... Lover boy delivers the composition with care, He understands IR and his wishes. That's my prayer. SPB with IR.. RULES! :musicsmile: anyway... They have generously given zillion songs for me to indulge this life and more lives to come while I eagerly wait for new compositions in the future.

oh, Jayachandran and Unni Menon too. Recently I watched an interview of Vani Jayaram by Unni Menon, He was singing with her, HE ROCKS. Rahman has used Jayachandran recently in his Hindi album. He was melodious. :musicsmile: :swinghead: Vinatha.

31st January 2009, 07:13 PM
The kumudam.com report is somewhat different, says TMS visited IR's recording place, obviously not an expression of pride :

=================
சென்னை பிரசாத் ஸ்டூடியோ ஒலிப்பதிவுக்கூடம். கடந்த சனிக்கிழமையன்று இசைஞானி இளையராஜா புதிய மலையாளப்படம் ஒன்றுக்கு பின்னணிப் பாடகர்கள் சிலரை வரவழைத்து பாடல்களை கம்போஸ் செய்வதில் மும்முரமாக இருந்தார்.

அப்போது உதவியாளர் ஓடிவந்து இளையராஜாவிடம் ஏதோ சொல்ல, எல்லா வேலைகளையும் அப்படியே விட்டுவிட்டு வெளியே வந்தார். பிரபல பின்னணிப் பாடகர் டி.எம்.சௌந்தர்ராஜன் காரில் வந்து இறங்க அவரை இன்முகத்தோடு இளையராஜா கட்டித்தழுவி வரவேற்று தன் அறைக்கு அழைத்துச் சென்றார்.

"ஏற்கனவே நான் உங்ககிட்டே சொன்னது போல் விஜயராஜ் என்ற இந்த ஃபிலிம் இன்ஸ்டிடியூட் மாணவர் என்னுடைய வாழ்க்கை வரலாற்றை இமயத்துடன் என்ற பெயரில் கலைஞர் டி.வி.க்காக தொடராக எடுத்து வருகிறார். நீங்கள் இத்தொடரில் என்னைப்பற்றி பேச வேண்டும்" என்றார் டி.எம்.எஸ்.

கேட்டதும் உண்மையிலேயே உணர்ச்சிவசப்பட்டுத்தான் போனார், ராஜா.
"சிறுவயதில் உங்கள் பாடல்களைக் கேட்டுக்கேட்டு இசைஞானத்தை வளர்த்துக் கொண்டவன் நான். திரைப்படங்களிலும் சரி, ரேடியோக்களிலும் சரி. உங்களுடைய பாட்டு ஒலிபரப்பினால் போதும். அப்படியே மெய்மறந்து கேட்க ஆரம்பிச்சுடுவேன். என்னோட அம்மா உங்களைப்பற்றி மிகவும் பெருமையாகப் பேசுவார். அம்மா அடிக்கடி கூறும் வார்த்தையை இங்கே மீண்டும் உங்கள் எல்லோர் முன்னிலையிலும் கூறுகிறேன். திரைஉலகில் அழகான, தெளிவான உச்சரிப்பில் பாடக்கூடிய..அதே சமயம் ஆண்மைக் குரல்வளம் உள்ள ஒரே பாடகர் டி.எம்.எஸ் அவர்கள் மட்டும்தான் என்பார் அம்மா.

அதே கருத்தை நானும் வலியுறுத்தி இங்கே கூறுகிறேன். இப்போது இருக்கும் பாடகர்கள் எவருக்குமே இவரைப்போல் ஆண்மைக்குரல் கிடையாது. ஒவ்வொரு பாடகருக்கும் ஒரு தனித்தன்மை இருந்தாலும் இவர் இடத்தை இன்றும்- என்றும் எவருமே தொடமுடியாது" என்று இளையராஜா கூறியபோது, டி.எம். சௌந்தர்ராஜன் கண்களில் ஆனந்தக்கண்ணீர்.

"ஒரு குறிப்பிட்ட காலகட்டத்துக்குப் பிறகு உங்களை என்னுடைய இசையமைப்பில் பாடவைக்க முடியவில்லை. காரணம், உங்கள் குரல்வளத்துக்கு வாயசைத்து நடிக்கும் திறமையும் தகுதியும் எவருக்கும் இல்லையென்பதால்தான் உங்கள் குரலைப் பயன்படுத்த முடியவில்லை. அதற்காக நீங்கள் என்னை மன்னிக்க வேண்டும்" என்றபடியே டி.எம்.எஸ் கரங்களைப் பற்றினார் இளையராஜா.

இளையராஜாவின் இசையில் டி.எம்.எஸ் பாடிய பாடல்கள் சிலவற்றை இருவரும் மாறிமாறிப் பாடினார்கள். அப்போது அந்த இடமே இசையில் ததும்பியது.

"உங்களைப்பற்றி நான் எப்போதாவது ஏதாவது கோபப்பட்டு பேசியிருப்பேன். அதையெல்லாம் மனதில் தயவுசெய்து வைத்துக் கொள்ளாதீர்கள். என்மீது கோபம் இருந்தால் மறந்து விடுங்கள்". டி.எம்.எஸ் ஒரு குழந்தையைப் போல் இளையராஜாவிடம் சொன்னார்.

"ச்சேச்சே...உங்களோட மனசுக்குள்ளே என்னைப்பற்றி நன்கு அறிந்து வைத்திருப்பீர்கள். அதேபோல் என்னோட மனசுக்குள்ளேயும் உங்களைப்பற்றி நான் மிகவும் உயர்வாக இன்றும் வைத்திருக்கிறேன். நம் மனதுக்குள் என்ன இருக்கிறது என்று நமக்குத்தெரியும். மற்றவர்களைப் பற்றி நாம் கவலைப்பட வேண்டாம்" என்றார் இளையராஜா.

"இந்த 87-வயதிலும் நான் திடகாத்திரமாக அதே குரல்வளத்தோடு இருக்கிறேன். 6-வது தலைமுறையாக இன்று வந்திருக்கும் இளம் கலைஞர்களுக்கும் என்னைப்பாட அழைக்கிறார்கள். வாஞ்சி தேசம், வாலிபன் சுற்றும் உலகம், சிங்கள மொழியில் தயாராகும் காசி போன்ற படங்களுக்காகப் பாடியிருக்கிறேன்" என்று கூறிவிட்டு சிங்கள மொழியில் காசி படத்துக்குப் பாடிய பாட்டை பாடிக்காட்டுகிறார்.

பிசிரில்லாத அதே கணீர்குரல். இளையராஜா அப்படியே டி.எம்.எஸ் கால்களில் விழுந்து ஆசி பெற்றார்.

அந்த அரைமணி நேர உணர்ச்சிகரமான சந்திப்பு - உரையாடலை படம்பிடித்துக் கொண்டிருந்த விஜயராஜ், நம்மிடம் "இந்த இரு சங்கீத ராஜாக்களின் அபூர்வ சந்திப்பை என் வாழ்நாளில் மறக்கவே முடியாது" என்றார்.
=================

31st January 2009, 08:37 PM
Good :D

Fliflo
1st February 2009, 09:01 PM
Retelecast of Raja Rajathaan is being done at IsaiAruvi TV right now. Don't miss it.

rajkumarc
1st February 2009, 09:48 PM
Can anyone please point me to right website which lists IR's complete filmography and songs? I think it used to be rajaangam.com or something like that.

I'm not able to get the right website address. Thanks.

ananth222
2nd February 2009, 02:42 AM
Can anyone please point me to right website which lists IR's complete filmography and songs? I think it used to be rajaangam.com or something like that.

I'm not able to get the right website address. Thanks.
Please use this thread for questions like this:
http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12634

You can find the discography here:
http://www.raaja.com/ric/index.html

5th February 2009, 08:50 PM
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/February/050209c.asp

Ithenna puthukadhai

5th February 2009, 09:21 PM
Sanjeevi,
இதுக்குப்பெயர் தான் "சிண்டு முடியறது".

simbly ignore!

7th February 2009, 06:50 PM
Maayakannadi @Kalaignar TV ..

I feel this is one of the most under rated BGm scores of IR ! The movie itself is one of my 'personal' favourties , despite the the ugly topping wig on cheran !!

There is a theme for every emotion (rather than person) used in this film , which is just superb !!

Sureshs65
8th February 2009, 12:59 PM
A week or more earlier I saw the Asianet Awards. The best singer went to M G Sreekumar for 'Kandu Kandu Kaaka Kuyile' from 'Innate Chintha Vishayam'. Looks like it was a popular song in Kerala. I like the song especially when the 'thavil' joins in the pallavi.

S.Suresh

Sureshs65
8th February 2009, 01:06 PM
That should read 'thavil joins in the charanam'. Me bad.

Sureshs65
10th February 2009, 12:04 AM
Nandalala movie website

http://www.nandalalathemovie.com/

raagas
10th February 2009, 01:32 PM
what happened to Jaganmohini?

10th February 2009, 01:38 PM
March release(Movie). Audio most probably released by end of February or early March.

krish244
12th February 2009, 11:23 PM
According to Pandit Ravi Shankar, IR is one of the "bollywood" composer who did not get the global recognition that he deserved.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Potpourri/Im-glad-Zakir-has-won-his-first-Grammy/articleshow/4117467.cms

Krishnan

vigneshram
20th February 2009, 07:22 AM
I'm really bowled over by Raja's song in his son's "Sarvam". Just close your eyes and imagine our isaignani singing this peppy number, amazing. This song made me write this post on Raja's influence on each of us...

http://vigneshram.blogspot.com/2009/02/blog-post_20.html

20th February 2009, 09:53 PM
http://inhome.rediff.com/movies/2009/feb/20music-review-sarvam.htm

From the above review :

Thumping rhythms make an entrance, pounding your ear-drums as Adada Vaa begins, courtesy the maestro Ilayaraja himself. A truly bizarre flute segment captures your attention, giving an almost surreal experience, something that snags your attention at once. Quite suddenly, Arabic music makes a brief appearance, interspersed with English lyrics, and there's that weird flute segment again. It looks like the maestro's had a blast.

raja_fan
20th February 2009, 09:55 PM
Vigneshram and app_engine,

I gave a listening to that song. No impact on me..just another noisy stuff from Yuvan...

20th February 2009, 09:58 PM
Vigneshram and app_engine,

I gave a listening to that song. No impact on me..just another noisy stuff from Yuvan...

I haven't heard that song yet.

However, based on your statement ("just another noisy stuff"), it may get popular in TN with all TV channels telecasting it frequently :-)

20th February 2009, 10:35 PM
Quite an interesting link :
http://jeyamohan.in/?p=1715

He talks about a certain "sugA" who is rAgA sensitive and is making a movie with IR as MD and Bala's asst as director.

Will IR get a musically challenging assignment from this producer? Let's hope so.

20th February 2009, 10:39 PM
What's really interesting about this list is these are all "popular" songs as well (not obscure numbers that didn't get the attention they deserved).

That could mean that this person also has a 'janaranjaga' taste in addition to being a connoisseur of rAgA.

Makes me feel even more enthusiastic about his project!

kiru
21st February 2009, 03:18 AM
What's really interesting about this list is these are all "popular" songs as well (not obscure numbers that didn't get the attention they deserved).

That could mean that this person also has a 'janaranjaga' taste in addition to being a connoisseur of rAgA.

Makes me feel even more enthusiastic about his project!

app..IR does not do a rAgA based song only to do a 'classical' number..to gain credibility as a 'classical' music composer..To him, rAgams are a treasure chest from which you can pull out infinite number of film tunes..he basically has a formula to get tunes out of a given rAgAm..that is the reason he has 10 songs on the same rAgAm which sound totally different to a lay listener..whereas a new MD will do a 'classical' number and when confronted that it sounds very similar to another song..they will say it is because it is based on the same rAgAm..this is BS..learn from IR to create tunes..
Well..you knew this already ..

21st February 2009, 10:03 AM

!

You should read his blog! man he has got a flair for writing :thumbsup:

21st February 2009, 03:07 PM
from Suka's Blog
http://venuvanamsuka.blogspot.com/2008/09/blog-post_7710.html

எங்கள் வீட்டில் உள்ள ஹார்மோனியத்தை விடவும் கிருஷ்ணன் ஸார் வீட்டு ஹார்மோனியமே எனக்கு வாசிப்பதற்கு சுகமாக இருந்தது. இத்தனைக்கும் எங்கள் வீட்டு ஹார்மோனியம் புத்தம் புதியது. ஸாரின் ஹார்மோனியம் அருதப் பழசு. ஆனாலும் அதுவே எனக்கு பிடித்திருந்தது. என்னுடைய பாடம் முடிந்த பிறகும் நான் ஏதேனும் ராகங்கள் வாசிப்பேன். பெரும்பாலும் இளையராஜாவின் இசையில் உள்ள பாடல்கள்தான். வேஷ்டியின் மடிப்பில் உள்ள மெஷின் பக்கம் ஸாரின் கை தானாகச் செல்லும். 'இது ஸ்ரீரஞ்சனில்லா? ஆரு போட்டது? அவந்தானா?' தரையில் 'இ' என்று எழுதிக் காண்பித்து கேட்பார். ஆமாம் என்பேன். 'அவனை வாரியலக் கொண்டு அடிக்க வேண்டாமா. என்னமா போட்டிருக்கான். இன்னொரு மட்டம் வாசி' என்று கேட்டு, அவரும் வயலினை எடுத்துக் கொள்வார். சிம்மேந்திர மத்தியமம், அம்ருதவர்ஷினி, குந்தலவராளி, மணிரங்கு என பல ராகங்களில் இளையராஜா மெட்டமைத்த பாடல்களை வாசித்துக் காட்டி நான் கிருஷ்ணன் ஸாரிடம் அந்தந்த ராகங்களின் நுணுக்கங்கள் பற்றி கேட்டுத் தெரிந்து கொள்வேன். அடிக்கடி சொல்வார். 'ஒனக்கு குரு அவம்லா'. தரையில் எழுதி காண்பிப்பார் 'இ' என்று.

Ithu allo pArattu oru 'Kalaignanukku' :)

Thought not related to Raaja, I couldn't help laughing for this
அந்தக் குழுவில் சிறுவயதில் நான் பாடிய பல பாடல்களை இன்று ஹாரிஸ் ஜெயராஜ் புண்ணியத்தில் சினிமாப் பாடல்களாக கேட்டுக் கொண்டிருக்கிறேன். :lol:

Lets hope for a great musical from Raaja with this guys association. :thumbsup:

21st February 2009, 06:09 PM
wow, very interesting quote!

Thanks rs, I'll find time to read his blog in detail!

raja_fan
22nd February 2009, 12:52 PM
I am getting some details on Suka's film with IR from sources close to this man.

Will share with you soon.

23rd February 2009, 09:07 PM
http://www.livemint.com/2009/02/23141222/Rahman8217s-team-celebrates.html?h=B

Raja's name is in the list and I hope he attends and does not disappoint Thamizh people!

raja_fan
23rd February 2009, 11:37 PM
Raja should attend !

Otherwise with what face can he stand before people of TN ? After all, he wanted every music director to appreciate his Thiruvasagam and ARR promptly attended that function. Now if IR does not do the honour that ARR deserves, then IR will be seen only as a jelousy person !

24th February 2009, 01:17 AM
http://www.livemint.com/2009/02/23141222/Rahman8217s-team-celebrates.html?h=B

Raja's name is in the list and I hope he attends and does not disappoint Thamizh people!

Well, this is my wish - he doesn't attend the function.

24th February 2009, 01:20 AM
Raja should attend !

Otherwise with what face can he stand before people of TN ? After all, he wanted every music director to appreciate his Thiruvasagam and ARR promptly attended that function. Now if IR does not do the honour that ARR deserves, then IR will be seen only as a jelousy person !

Why did he invite him for the thiruvAsagam release function? still I don't understand. I didn't like Raaja's planning that time also. :x

24th February 2009, 06:57 AM
MrJudge - what are you driving at ?

24th February 2009, 01:30 PM
Raja should attend !

:exactly: 200% true

24th February 2009, 01:35 PM
Hypothetically lets assume Raaja attends the function, What will he talk about Rahman?
Just a plain 'Vaazhthukkal'? or will it be a elaborate talk about his association with his father and later with ARR. Just curious :)

24th February 2009, 01:37 PM
Raja should attend !

Isn't it true that Rahman was also there when the whole cine industry took part in the felicitation function for Raaja after he came back from composing at RPO!

24th February 2009, 02:20 PM
Let us not read too much into whether Raja attends ARR's felicitation or not. But I would like the current crop of MDs like yuvan, GVP to get inspired from the Mozart and deliver

24th February 2009, 02:47 PM
RS, maybe he will talk about how this is an award not just for Rahman but for the TFM maestroes from Ramanathan and Subbaraman to Viswanathan to himself.
(viz)
"Vaaliyai paaratturadhu, kannadasanai paarattara maadhiri, pattukottaiyai paarattara maadhiri"
"Jeyakanthanai paarattaradhu, bharathiyai paarattara maadhiri, Pudhumaipithanai parattara maadhiri"
Indha template dhaan use pannindirukkar felicitation functions-la - andha logic padi "Rahmanukku kidaicha award viswanathanukku kidiacha award maadhiri, Rasaiahvukku kidaicha award maadhiri" nu...solla mattar illai apdi ellam ?:-)

24th February 2009, 03:16 PM
Hypothetically lets assume Raaja attends the function, What will he talk about Rahman?
Just a plain 'Vaazhthukkal'? or will it be a elaborate talk about his association with his father and later with ARR. Just curious :)

RS, IR praised ARR's father a lot in his Dailythanthi / Dinathanthi Varalatru suvadugal articles. And he even mentioned about ARR by very few words but nachunu :)

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 06:18 PM
Raja should attend !

That was not IR's wish, Bharthi raja arranged for that function. Neverthless i am not searching for an excuse of IR's absent here.But i wish/expect him to participate and should talk bit more than usual.

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 06:21 PM
RS, maybe he will talk about how this is an award not just for Rahman but for the TFM maestroes from Ramanathan and Subbaraman to Viswanathan to himself.
(viz)
"Vaaliyai paaratturadhu, kannadasanai paarattara maadhiri, pattukottaiyai paarattara maadhiri"
"Jeyakanthanai paarattaradhu, bharathiyai paarattara maadhiri, Pudhumaipithanai parattara maadhiri"
Indha template dhaan use pannindirukkar felicitation functions-la - andha logic padi "Rahmanukku kidaicha award viswanathanukku kidiacha award maadhiri, Rasaiahvukku kidaicha award maadhiri" nu...solla mattar illai apdi ellam ?:-)

Exactly !! If he participates he will echo these words or along the same line.

24th February 2009, 06:45 PM

Do you think Raaja likes his scores or his way of music making? ithu eppadi irukuunnA ethO oorukkAga seira mAthiri irukku. Why would we expect a classically inclined music composer should come on stage and appreciate Britney spears? I don't understand. intha kooththu ellAm namma nAttula thAn nadakkum. I don't have problems if Yuvan/HJ attends, but Raaja... I will never accept.

Raaja should not have accepted BR's request to have all those MDs for his thiruvAsagam release function also. It should've been released just like any other album, why he approved BR's request and had all those people? I didn't understand and I was mad at that time also.

24th February 2009, 06:51 PM
Judge,
Seriously, yen ungalukku Rahman melayum avar isai meedhum ithana kovam? I'm really curious to know...

24th February 2009, 06:54 PM
Let us not read too much into whether Raja attends ARR's felicitation or not. But I would like the current crop of MDs like yuvan, GVP to get inspired from the Mozart and deliver

The globe is becoming one big village now. Talents here will work with other parts of the world will be a norm in a few years down the line. It is not a big deal. Nobody needs to learn from anybody. It is bound to happen soon.

ethO Madras-ngra vArththaikku Mozart-nnu porunthippOga kadaisila ellOrum solla ArambichchAchu. Webberkku thAn paNam paNNa vEndiya kattAyam, ethO sonnAr....nAmalumA?..

raagas
24th February 2009, 07:56 PM

Do you think Raaja likes his scores or his way of music making? ithu eppadi irukuunnA ethO oorukkAga seira mAthiri irukku. Why would we expect a classically inclined music composer should come on stage and appreciate Britney spears? I don't understand. intha kooththu ellAm namma nAttula thAn nadakkum. I don't have problems if Yuvan/HJ attends, but Raaja... I will never accept.

MrJudge,

firstly, i dont understand tamil, so i might miss some point which you wrote in tamil.
coming to other point,i agree that IR is classically inclined. But that alone is not IR's forte right. same applies to even ARR. The degrees of 'classicalism' and 'peppy-ism' vary fr both, but ultimately, they both are in same field and did many common things. I am not saying each did exactly what the other did, but if we draw a venn diagram, we will see an overlap of their circles (irrespective of quality etc). if i understood it right, you drew an analogy of classical inclined vs pop inclined. but IR too did works which are pop inclined and ARR too did works which are classical inclined (plz dont compare the degrees or levels, thats not my point). and as long as they (or any composer) are in same field/business - film music, they can compliment each other, instead of blaming each other right.

when Far more pure classically inclined composers such as Pt.Ravi Shankar, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Ustad Bismillah Khan etc could appreciate ARR, then we neednt completely rule out the possibility of IR appreciating ARR. I am not saying that IR SHOULD do it. I am only saying that he CAN, if at all he has such a heart. When MSV could appreciate IR back then, why cant IR do that? please think about this without looking at qualitative terms such as musical-richness, since that is relative.. i am talking merely on the lines of who is at the side of winning laurels. When IR was winning them, MSV clapped. Now if ARR is winning, reasons whatsoever, IR can also clap.and personally, i think it is fair enough if he does it, because even he is in same business and it is not as though IR did not compose 'Britney Spears' or 'Pop Corn' kind of music.

also how do we draw a line for classical-inclined?
IR is classically inclined, but not ONLY classically inclined. when his own sons give the kind music that you think IR doesnt like in ARR's style and when he can endorse that, why not this. i often wondered about this.
(opinions expressed abt IR's sons' music are purely personal, because i never liked their music that much, barring few exceptions.)

24th February 2009, 08:39 PM
Raaagas, you cant club YSR and KR together as IR's sons doign same type of music - they are a world apart in their musical philosophies. Yuvan belongs to the Rahman school - Karthik's headmaster is IR :-)

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 09:52 PM
when Far more pure classically inclined composers such as Pt.Ravi Shankar, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Ustad Bismillah Khan etc could appreciate ARR, then we neednt completely rule out the possibility of IR appreciating ARR. I am not saying that IR SHOULD do it. I am only saying that he CAN, if at all he has such a heart. When MSV could appreciate IR back then, why cant IR do that?

Firstly i dont want to spoil the party, but still as you are pulling IR's leg again and again, i have to do this.

First thing first, from the beginning of his career IR has been appreciating and acknowledging MSV's role in tfm history and also MSV's influence in his life, MSV has been reciprocating it. And IR went to some extend to request MSV to work along with him in an AVM production movie, after came to know that MSV was not doing good financially.

Where as ARR never revealed that he worked for IR couple of years until recently, on top of it he said that he never listened to any of IR's work. On the other hand IR never opened his mouth about ARR. But the things changed post 2000 as ARR started to appereciate IR and now IR is reciprocating it.

So, please dont assume things if you dont have history on ur side.

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 10:14 PM
And also dont forget that we are talking about a man who refused to score music for legendary Director Sridhar just 'coz Sridhar ditched MSV and came to him. When this happened (1978), he was not even a well established MD.

Then Sridhar had to go back to MSV and aked him to request IR to score music for his film.

24th February 2009, 10:33 PM
nanchil_guy ,
what arr said was that he stopped listening to illayraaja's music , to avoid his influence !

raagas
24th February 2009, 10:34 PM
Firstly i dont want to spoil the party, but still as you are pulling IR's leg again and again, i have to do this.

First thing first, from the beginning of his career IR has been appreciating and acknowledging MSV's role in tfm history and also MSV's influence in his life, MSV has been reciprocating it. And IR went to some extend to request MSV to work along with him in an AVM production movie, after came to know that MSV was not doing good financially.

Where as ARR never revealed that he worked for IR couple of years until recently, on top of it he said that he never listened to any of IR's work. On the other hand IR never opened his mouth about ARR. But the things changed post 2000 as ARR started to appereciate IR and now IR is reciprocating it.

I am not pulling IR's leg. I am only expressing my thoughts abt certain things which I, personally, feel are just as valid as they rightfully should be so.

It is surprising to read that ARR never revealed that he worked for IR, while i myself have seen many of his interviews, way back in 90s, in which he took the names of Ilaiyaraaja, Ramesh Naidu, L.Shankar and many others. Infact, in 1996-97 period, i was constantly reading ARR's profile as 'erstwhile keyboardist to Ilaiyaraaja'. One ARR interview (posted on a website hosted by some subramaiam) quoted him talking about IR as 'He is a legend in his own right and he is the only composer who has been consistently giving good music' (these remarks are etched in my mind, since i felt proud as IR fan). Then, I have seen one channel-V interview, a decade ago (in 1998), in which ARR quoted 'Oru Iniya Manathil' (from Johny) as his favourite iliayaraaja song. Ofcourse, recently he said that How to Name it is his fav album. So, this thing about ARR talking about IR only after 2000 is false.

I dont exactly remember who it was but I have also seen one post by a frequent hubber (and famous too) in this forum (or was it in orkut..shit i dont remember), who is a hardcore IR fan and expressed some disappointment over IR disapproving ARR's music - something which that hubber saw in a Doordarshan interview apparently. That hubber, despite being a IR fan, felt sad/surprise that IR made unnecessary comments in derogatory fashion. I myself read one interview, before 'Cheeni Kum' in which IR said that people might develop 'wrong notion' about music if ARR continues to make the music he was making. So, please dont think that I am merely assuming things.

My point is: he might be right or wrong, but such comments were unnecessary. a dignified silence is far better.

How many times we have seen IR talking about 'Popcorn music'? Honestly, i never liked all that talk of 'others are making popcorn, i am making full-meals' kind of talk. It is a different issue that i still rever IR, but frankly, i personally didnt like all that talk.He may be partially right (partially, because he too gave Popcorn music, apart from fullmeals, pickles, snacks, feast..etc). Even if such comments were not directed at ARR as such but at entire music fraternity as such, i felt it was not needed.

And IR reciprocating it?? I am yet to see it, not for ARR'ssake but for IR's sake (i naturally feel little selfsh about my idol to have big heart and inclusive attitude and remain non-controversial). This event... Lets see what unfolds.

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 10:43 PM
nanchil_guy ,
what arr said was that he stopped listening to illayraaja's music , to avoid his influence !

yup i have already mentioned it here http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1701722&highlight=#1701722.

nanchil_guy
24th February 2009, 10:45 PM
And IR reciprocating it?? I am yet to see it

I dont have anything to say amymore.

24th February 2009, 11:05 PM

I am not pulling IR's leg. I am only expressing my thoughts abt certain things which I, personally, feel are just as valid as they rightfully should be so.

It is surprising to read that ARR never revealed that he worked for IR, while i myself have seen many of his interviews, way back in 90s, in which he took the names of Ilaiyaraaja, Ramesh Naidu, L.Shankar and many others. Infact, in 1996-97 period, i was constantly reading ARR's profile as 'erstwhile keyboardist to Ilaiyaraaja'. One ARR interview (posted on a website hosted by some subramaiam) quoted him talking about IR as 'He is a legend in his own right and he is the only composer who has been consistently giving good music' (these remarks are etched in my mind, since i felt proud as IR fan). Then, I have seen one channel-V interview, a decade ago (in 1998), in which ARR quoted 'Oru Iniya Manathil' (from Johny) as his favourite iliayaraaja song. Ofcourse, recently he said that How to Name it is his fav album. So, this thing about ARR talking about IR only after 2000 is false.

I dont exactly remember who it was but I have also seen one post by a frequent hubber (and famous too) in this forum (or was it in orkut..**** i dont remember), who is a hardcore IR fan and expressed some disappointment over IR disapproving ARR's music - something which that hubber saw in a Doordarshan interview apparently. That hubber, despite being a IR fan, felt sad/surprise that IR made unnecessary comments in derogatory fashion. I myself read one interview, before 'Cheeni Kum' in which IR said that people might develop 'wrong notion' about music if ARR continues to make the music he was making. So, please dont think that I am merely assuming things.

My point is: he might be right or wrong, but such comments were unnecessary. a dignified silence is far better.

How many times we have seen IR talking about 'Popcorn music'? Honestly, i never liked all that talk of 'others are making popcorn, i am making full-meals' kind of talk. It is a different issue that i still rever IR, but frankly, i personally didnt like all that talk.He may be partially right (partially, because he too gave Popcorn music, apart from fullmeals, pickles, snacks, feast..etc). Even if such comments were not directed at ARR as such but at entire music fraternity as such, i felt it was not needed.

And IR reciprocating it?? I am yet to see it, not for ARR'ssake but for IR's sake (i naturally feel little selfsh about my idol to have big heart and inclusive attitude and remain non-controversial). This event... Lets see what unfolds.

Technical experimenting with music and letting technology dominate organic film music is like synthetically cultured food dominating the organic foods/old world process . I feel Raaja is the last man standing when it comes to old world school of film music composition (Hollywood still has john Williams and Thomas Newman steadfastly in this area) in India and the camping is unavoidable. The success of one camp will crush the other camp equally. We are not talking about music and notes - it is computers Vs man. Even in technology aided decision supported processes cannot mimick the 'art aspect' influenced by human mind - However the modern music trend is to let the computer provide choices and MD choosing - instead of letting musical patterns emerge out of pure human inspiration.

raagas
24th February 2009, 11:09 PM
Raaagas, you cant club YSR and KR together as IR's sons doign same type of music - they are a world apart in their musical philosophies. Yuvan belongs to the Rahman school - Karthik's headmaster is IR :-)

I agree that Yuvan belongs to ARR's school of thought. But i am yet to listen to a pathbreaking album by him (agreed, i haven't listened to many of his albums).
KR.. I dont know. I didnt like much either. But i meant that, overall, YSR and KR are making music which is not that sublime enough. For me, even that is as much a pop corn as the ones made by others currently. I only meant/wondered - why constant bickering about popcorn music, when part of it is coming from his own house/dynasty. either disallow them to be part of it, or stop labelling 'popcorn' and simply move on.

raagas
24th February 2009, 11:25 PM
Jaiganes

I agree with you. But the same John Williams or Thomas Newman or James Horner do not indulge in nitpicking about techno scores or computer-usage.But IR did it manytimes.whats surprising is he too uses the same technology, synth, computers.for that matter, compared to yesteryear great composers, did IR not use ahead-of-time-technology in 80s? If a S.D.Burman or Madan Mohan were alive in 80s, they would have felt even octopad or any synth rhythm pad that IR used, as machine and not organic. Then? even they could have criticized IR right.
We as listeners might feel - Organic vs. Techno ratio in IR is 80-20(suppose) while in ARR, it is 50-50(suppose). Taken, we as listeners are entitled to our choice of how much % or ratio we want and lap it up. But IR complaining that it is 50-50 or 40-60 is unfair, because it looks as if he is mandating 80-20 and that only that much means good music.thats unfair.why such emperical judgement?who shld decide that?

One can criticize or complain about any element only if he did not touch that element.today, if a pure classical musician complains about synth, we can admit that criticism but if IR does that, sorry, i cannot endorse it, no matter how much merit i find in the argument as such. My natural question will be "But u too did it right, proportions aside..."

24th February 2009, 11:39 PM
@raagas

use is one thing and dependence is another.
IR doesn't condemn the 'use' of it. He condemns consistently the 'dependence' on it and the prevalent notion that mastering the science of generating musical choices with the help of technology alone is the be all and end all of music composition.
This is not with reference to ARR - he knew about music and his handling of technology is on a different plane - that is with understanding of the underlying patterns - but for laymen, it will appear that 'any one can compose' with the help of a computer and win accolades. Repeated interviews from ARR collaborators/ fans on his 'crazy love' for latest computer will only add to the fear inherent.
Raagas - I find it amusing that 'you too did it argument' against ilaiyaraja. Because he indulged in it as a curiosity only and his main bread and butter was from pure instrumental notes that he composed extempore.
With everyone jumping on Apple Macbook music composition bandwagon, people who used old world style lost out on quality players who wanted only sleeve note mention and not difficult composition playing sitting whole day in prasad studio. A generation of music players faded out while next generation switched to computers and 'I too will become Rahman' mode and Raaja was left with a reduced orchestra with a big gap to be filled with outdated synth pads - cheaper in price and quality for the budger he is operating with. If I am a composer and given a choice - keep learning latest sound mixing software or keep creating counterpoints for real flutes and violins backed up by bass guitar I would choose option 2 even if the studio is half full with only some synth to fill in the bass guitar shoes. Thats the choice Raaja is making vis-a-vis film music and I am glad he is making that choice still and sticking to the 'organic' style of music composition.

24th February 2009, 11:41 PM
Guys, I think IR's statement dissing "music after his days" - pop corn / plastic etc. - should not be taken seriously.

'நேற்று இல்லே நாளை இல்லே எப்பவும் நான் ராஜா' என்ற மனநிலையில் இருந்தவரை,
'முந்தா நாள் ஒருத்தர், நேற்று நீர், இன்று நான்' என்று சொல்ல புதிய ஆள் வரும்போது வெளிப்படும் சாதாரண மனித இயல்பு. அவ்வளவே.

If anything, it just helps people to understand that he is still only "trying hard" to become spirtiual but unfortunately far from reaching that goal, unable to untangle from 'Asa-pAsangaL':-)

Though it's difficult for people who grew up listening to his emotinally powerful music to separate his human nature & phenomenal quality of music, it's a fact to be understood and separated.

While all those politics are acceptable during normal times, and he'll still be considered normal, "Oscar-Time" is something extraordinary (just like TbI Time when ARR showered praises on Raja) and glowing praises on ARR from IR is in order. Again this need not even mean praising ARR's music but praising his "phenomenal achievements".

If he fails to do that, on the eyes of someone like me who have appreciated his music for years while treating his personality as "normal", it'll be a big disappointment.

I think all will go well and he'll shower praises on ARR on a stage in TN and end all these speculations.

24th February 2009, 11:44 PM
@AE
Even his presence would do.
Because if he says something there will be 'data analysts' who would do psycho evaluation and pour tonnes of crude oil on him.

Sureshs65
24th February 2009, 11:54 PM
Jai,

I am with you on this. What Illayaraja has been saying in interviews is that the computer has started making decisions. It is not about using a synth pad. It is about using an already available loop or some 'off the shelf' sample vs using your own brains to compose. Therein lies the difference. Raja wants every note and every beat to be his own while most of the modern MDs, including Rahman, don't mind using samples from various sources. So it is not about technology but about how much the human input driving the technology. This is what Raja says in one interview for a Malayalam channel. "Why are we not using our brains to create?" The current state is that no one is bothered about samples or otherwise. Everyone is satisfied if the final product is good. Maybe that is something which will not satisfy Raja. He wants to be a creator of music and not an assembler of music. Maybe old school of thought? Maybe not.

24th February 2009, 11:59 PM
Raagas,
Superb posts :thumbsup:

pure bliss
25th February 2009, 12:03 AM
jaiganes,

ARR has already started a school call KM conservatory to have an indian Orchestra so we need not go to budapest

avarala mudinchatha avar panraru. aana evaru?

raagas
25th February 2009, 12:08 AM
Jaiganes

You are right...and i agree with IR too(partially) about dependence.But Who will assume the role of judge, in drawing that line between 'use' and 'dependence'. I say that better judges are listeners themselves since the end product will reach them and they are free to take what they like.composers need to become judges for themselves, but not for others.More so, i dont like IR becoming judgemental about other's works, no matter how much right is his opinion.

And to be fair, i think ARR is not all about technology alone.If it was the case,then anyone with money can get an updated technology now and then.it is just that he mixes tech and organic in a certain fashion that it appeals. Thats all. if it is only technology,we might have already had dozens of ARRs.same applies to any composer infact, be it HJ or Yuvan or just anyone.ultimately, it is the tunes and the arrangements, the proportion of organic vs. synth that defines every composer's slot in the eyes and hearts of music lovers.

raagas
25th February 2009, 12:12 AM
suresh

fair enough and i am with IR too when he says that. i appreciate it infact because i too think the same. The only problem i have is - he should not be saying it about others, when he himself is using loops.

entertainment
25th February 2009, 01:32 AM
(viz)

Exactly !! If he participates he will echo these words or along the same line.

Hmm, Let me look at this in a different angle. Have we really praised/felicitated them when they were alive? May be he might have felt that no one recognized those genius well.

Remember in one of his interviews, he was so serious and said that he replied Bharathiyar saying, "Veedhiyil Isaithaalum Veenaikku isaiundu". So he is in a different world altogether. Do not bring him to the level of cat-fight. That way we are not showing our frustration (IR not being awarded World highest awards) instead we are making him cheap. Please dont do that.

25th February 2009, 02:58 AM

Raaja should not have accepted BR's request to have all those MDs for his thiruvAsagam release function also. It should've been released just like any other album, why he approved BR's request and had all those people? I didn't understand and I was mad at that time also.

MrJudge - I personally dont like many of ARR's styles - though I must admit he does have a penchant for bringing in/working on new sounds - and noone in this whole world can force me to like someone's music if I dont like it! am sure it applies to you - but when you are in the public limelight, there is no way one can avoid such necessities for being politically correct - whichever way you look at it - audiences have changed their tastes, ppl have no time to contemplate deep abt music etc etc, ARR has come a long way since 1992 and am sure IR understands that and hence in public life, IR cannot shut himself off - it might all be a cosmetic exercise, but howsoever, IR might feel, IMO, he shdnt avoid this function to felicitate another contemporary composer

25th February 2009, 05:13 AM
Jaiganes

You are right...and i agree with IR too(partially) about dependence.But Who will assume the role of judge, in drawing that line between 'use' and 'dependence'. I say that better judges are listeners themselves since the end product will reach them and they are free to take what they like.composers need to become judges for themselves, but not for others.More so, i dont like IR becoming judgemental about other's works, no matter how much right is his opinion.

And to be fair, i think ARR is not all about technology alone.If it was the case,then anyone with money can get an updated technology now and then.it is just that he mixes tech and organic in a certain fashion that it appeals. Thats all. if it is only technology,we might have already had dozens of ARRs.same applies to any composer infact, be it HJ or Yuvan or just anyone.ultimately, it is the tunes and the arrangements, the proportion of organic vs. synth that defines every composer's slot in the eyes and hearts of music lovers.

Please revisit what I have typed. I didnt say that ARR is Technology alone. He knows both the techniques and uses then interchangeably. However his influences have yielded a new group of MDs who are slaves to the computer alone.
If you go by better judges are the listeners themselves, then thanks for the conversation - when the young Amadeus whose surname is so affectionately attached to ARR wrote a score sheet, the top composers, reviewers and the audience of the time said 'too many notes'. So placing the mass listener as the ultimate judge of quality is a laughable deplorable idea and a best form of insult to talent.

Pure bliss(thanks for bringing that one up) has said he is in the conservatory establishment mode and I hope that his school would churn out more musical minds who wont look at the computer as their teacher and master but as an aide and express themselves musically well. As far as going to budapest is concerned, then the czech orchestra too shall be casualities wont they be bro? Just a pool of artistes alone is not enough to say we wont fly to prague or budapest, the infrastructure to record an ensemble piece also is needed and that quality of sound proofing might have to be built too.
what is IR doing? is the loaded question that pure_bliss has asked out of blissful ignorance. If you want to know what he has done, you have to revisit the entire thread and the archives. He has done enough to inspire everyone to jump higher and at 65+ he is doing enough to keep alive a distinct style of music composition that has been all but destroyed by computer converts and voice altering software.

25th February 2009, 06:18 AM
can anyone in the industry or at least having knowledge of how the two composers work throw some light on their actual work ethics/style etc ?

I know that IR sits down with the director and once he understands the story, its a tete-a-tete with the director abt the situations n songs and then he goes about composing the same - puts down the music for EVERY piece of instrument on staff notation paper and then simply gets the orchestra to play the music as he has written down and then record the same

How does ARR work ? does he write staff notations with every minutest detail worked out in fine detail ? has he ever done that for an ensemble/orchestra ??

What are the differences ?? maybe that will answer some of the questions raised

nanchil_guy
25th February 2009, 08:46 AM
@raagas

use is one thing and dependence is another.
IR doesn't condemn the 'use' of it. He condemns consistently the 'dependence' on it and the prevalent notion that mastering the science of generating musical choices with the help of technology alone is the be all and end all of music composition.
This is not with reference to ARR - he knew about music and his handling of technology is on a different plane - that is with understanding of the underlying patterns - but for laymen, it will appear that 'any one can compose' with the help of a computer and win accolades. Repeated interviews from ARR collaborators/ fans on his 'crazy love' for latest computer will only add to the fear inherent.
Raagas - I find it amusing that 'you too did it argument' against ilaiyaraja. Because he indulged in it as a curiosity only and his main bread and butter was from pure instrumental notes that he composed extempore.
With everyone jumping on Apple Macbook music composition bandwagon, people who used old world style lost out on quality players who wanted only sleeve note mention and not difficult composition playing sitting whole day in prasad studio. A generation of music players faded out while next generation switched to computers and 'I too will become Rahman' mode and Raaja was left with a reduced orchestra with a big gap to be filled with outdated synth pads - cheaper in price and quality for the budger he is operating with. If I am a composer and given a choice - keep learning latest sound mixing software or keep creating counterpoints for real flutes and violins backed up by bass guitar I would choose option 2 even if the studio is half full with only some synth to fill in the bass guitar shoes. Thats the choice Raaja is making vis-a-vis film music and I am glad he is making that choice still and sticking to the 'organic' style of music composition.

way to go jaiganes!!

25th February 2009, 11:08 AM
"The only problem i have is - he should not be saying it about others,"
No, no. I am not in favour of issuing ultimatums to artists - mavane, nee ipdi behave pannalaina, nee dhoosu da apdinu. Rahmanai paarataradhum paarattadhadhum IR's own ishtam. We have to understand this clearly - IR will appreciate ARR if he is really appreciative of his music. Apdi pannalaina, I will take it as his belief in his school of thought - and that is a pure, unadulterated-by-societal-norms mindset that I support whole-heartedly. Poramai, kiramainu solravanga sollittu ponga. CR, of all people, I expect you to understand this(based on the CR, the person whom I have visualised based on your blog, assuming I am right about the blog that I am thinking of as yours). Look, my job requires me to be at my best-PR mode all the time, and I know how much I lie to mediocre people to keep my fireplace burning. Heck, I am mediocre myself, and because precisely of that, I support an artist like IR's mindset when he calls spade a spade, and mediocre, mediocre. Who decides what is mediocre? Well, he does, ofcourse. Pinne, avar enna raagas definition padiya pesa mudiyum. As I said, avar appadi thaan. Lets not try to place our values on him.

If IR doesnt feel that about ARR but just comes and offers "engappanum katcherikku ponaan" platitudes, that means nothing to me. My view is he wont do it.That is my evaluation of IR, the person. In his old age, he has made a few compromises but certainly I dont think he will change his fundamental nature.
OTOH, if he comes and praises ARR, that will be true from his heart - I will take that as the ultimate enconmium on ARR because that would mean IR appreciates him truly.

25th February 2009, 11:13 AM
jaiganes, thosee are 2 nice posts that you have written. Well put.

Entertainment, I wasnt serious about predicitng IR's speech - I am pretty sure he wont praise Rahman in that way. As I said, whether Rahman appreciates IR's music or viceversa is not an issue. It should not be an issue.

raagas
25th February 2009, 12:16 PM
Jaiganes,

I understand and agree with it. But i just feel uncomfortable about the often repeated 'popcorn' talk. All said and done, everyone is doing everything. He can have an opinion but repeating it so often and then he himself using some popcorn elements is what i find strange. Bottomline: i wish IR too remains non-controversial, like ARR, while talking about others.

I couldnt understand many parts of your post since it was in tamil. But i understood the intent of it, though not the content and thats where i agree with you.

Whatever friends, all our discussions will find their counter-thoughts on March 1st.

Lets see what unfolds.

krish244
25th February 2009, 12:22 PM
It seems it was a deadlock in deciding on who would be the national award winner (for music) between "Roja" and "Thevar Magan":

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/feb-09-04/indravizha-25-02-09.html

Krishnan

25th February 2009, 12:58 PM
raagas, you didnt miss much. I was grinding ground floor again. The summary is "Dont expect your idols to have the same values as you". "Values", "Societal norms" help in running the social machine smoothly. But if we start being fundamental about these, then the whole purpose of these is defeated. If IR doesnt praise ARR, or is silent about ARR, where is he being controversial? Controversy is in your mind here. Sheer societal pressure should not be the reason why IR praises ARR.

25th February 2009, 01:01 PM
If what Balu Mahendra says is true...
For years, I had been thinking that the NA jury for 1992 was unfair in choosing Roja over Thevar Magan. Harbinger of a new generation as Roja was, I felt that that should not have been the criteria rather the rootedness and the intelligent BGM of Thevar Magan should have been rewarded. In my wildest dreams, I couldnt have imagined that Balu Mahendra would have been the chairman of jury that year. Ada paavi, neeya? Neeya ipdi panna? Nambave mudiyalaiye...neeya panna?

raagas
25th February 2009, 02:39 PM
raagas, you didnt miss much. I was grinding ground floor again. The summary is "Dont expect your idols to have the same values as you". "Values", "Societal norms" help in running the social machine smoothly. But if we start being fundamental about these, then the whole purpose of these is defeated. If IR doesnt praise ARR, or is silent about ARR, where is he being controversial? Controversy is in your mind here. Sheer societal pressure should not be the reason why IR praises ARR.

Plum, Please read my posts - i mentioned somewhere that wish IR maintained dignified 'silence'. Controversy, as i said, is not when he is silent... but when he speaks condescendingly about others(not just ARR). What is mean is all that 'fastfood', 'popcorn' talk, which i think is unnecessary. I have seen it manytimes during 90s and even recently when IR said "music which ARR is making can give people wrong notions about music"(i read this interview). Now, as IR fans, we might still be accomodating the idea that probably he meant something else, but as such when a reader reads it, tell me what does it say? Couldnt he avoid such controversial statements. My respect for him did not dent even a bit, but yes, i didnt like it.

Why, in a 1997 filmfare issue, when Karthikraja was interviewed after he won R.D.Burman filmfare award, KR said "ARR is only a good musician not a good composer. I appreciate only his sound,but his songs, never". I was shocked to read that., because that was KR's debut (Grahan, for which he won that award) and he is already talking about someone who has been making music since 5 years before him(good music or bad music..whatever).it is not appropriate right.

25th February 2009, 02:39 PM
Talking about passing judgments and having opinions, like i said "humility", "political correctness" etc seem to be overrated sometimes. I agree with you there. And we can't help passing judgments on anyone from Sreekanth Deva to IR. Aana appadi paatha edha pathiyume namma pesa mudiyadhu, cricket, cinema, etc etc.. just teak kadai talk :) (naama pesarom, avinga *seyyarainga*)
Anyway in this case (or in case of my Aandavar) its more out of 'patru' and 'akkarai' :razz:

Now, to clarify one basic point - you are talking about musical appreciation, i'm talking about recognizing and "vaazhthufying" *achievements*, as a predecessor and a 'guru'.
Personality, working style, priorities - let them be different. Let an individual have his opinions and not be told by nobodies like me what to do, say and how. I'm just expecting an acknowledgement and a pat on the back for what Rahman has done for us. Is it too much to ask for?

P.S: Even in musical terms, while Isaikkadavul has the supreme right to have his opinions, ennala andha frequently used "popcorn" dismissal-a oru slight kasappu illama eduthukka mudiyala but thats a different issue.... raagas has already touched upon some points which i agree with. Its not just about passing an opinion but sometimes i interpret it as "this is good music, today's youth must listen to good music which i give...ALL we get today is popcorn stuff" (note the sweeping 'ALL' here)
[Raagas, please don't mind the Tamil, i'm sure you get the drift]

"The only problem i have is - he should not be saying it about others,"
No, no. I am not in favour of issuing ultimatums to artists - mavane, nee ipdi behave pannalaina, nee dhoosu da apdinu. Rahmanai paarataradhum paarattadhadhum IR's own ishtam. We have to understand this clearly - IR will appreciate ARR if he is really appreciative of his music. Apdi pannalaina, I will take it as his belief in his school of thought - and that is a pure, unadulterated-by-societal-norms mindset that I support whole-heartedly. Poramai, kiramainu solravanga sollittu ponga. CR, of all people, I expect you to understand this(based on the CR, the person whom I have visualised based on your blog, assuming I am right about the blog that I am thinking of as yours). Look, my job requires me to be at my best-PR mode all the time, and I know how much I lie to mediocre people to keep my fireplace burning. Heck, I am mediocre myself, and because precisely of that, I support an artist like IR's mindset when he calls spade a spade, and mediocre, mediocre. Who decides what is mediocre? Well, he does, ofcourse. Pinne, avar enna raagas definition padiya pesa mudiyum. As I said, avar appadi thaan. Lets not try to place our values on him.

If IR doesnt feel that about ARR but just comes and offers "engappanum katcherikku ponaan" platitudes, that means nothing to me. My view is he wont do it.That is my evaluation of IR, the person. In his old age, he has made a few compromises but certainly I dont think he will change his fundamental nature.
OTOH, if he comes and praises ARR, that will be true from his heart - I will take that as the ultimate enconmium on ARR because that would mean IR appreciates him truly.

25th February 2009, 03:38 PM
ok, so I havent heard that popcorn thingy so I cant comment. I think I'll take Jaiganes's take on that - the question is how much you use technology and how much you depend on it. Music as such does refer to a system - so my view is IR's - that is, the establishment view of rigidity and fidelity to underlying form. If IR is fundamental about it...I am comfortable with that. If you guys are not comfy with that, I can understand that. What I am not so fundamental about is dismissing Rahman as "not music". I can 'tolerate' and 'agree-to-disagree' with the 'anti-establishement' view of Rahman and whole-heartedly appreciate his achievements in his context. I can even enjoy Rahman passionately when he gets relatively conventional, like, say Swades or Kangalal Kaidhu Sei. The music of KKS appealed to me instantly and there were moments there which I told myself "now that is so IRish". I also believe IR has a right to be fundamental on this - I think another key factor is IR holds spontaneity sarcosanct, and a fundamental aspect of music making and the music making process of Rahman is not conducive to that.

What I am not happy about is judging him by our standards - even though it is against democratic principles, I believe that people like IR(and ARR) should be given special rights and judging them by 'normal' standards banned.

25th February 2009, 03:40 PM
"I'm just expecting an acknowledgement and a pat on the back for what Rahman has done for us. Is it too much to ask for"
No, not too much. I reckon IR will actually do it this time.

But my basic point about musical appreciation of ARR/IR for each other is not somethign we should expect as a birthright. Abusing them for that reason(like ARR never said he likes IR music, he didnt mention IR in influences and vice versa) is not on..

25th February 2009, 03:56 PM
But my basic point about musical appreciation of ARR/IR for each other is not somethign we should expect as a birthright. Abusing them for that reason(like ARR never said he likes IR music, he didnt mention IR in influences and vice versa) is not on..
Very true but then just like i would have a problem if say, a purist Music Academy mama rubbishes Ilaiyaan's music as "polluting junk", i have a problem with IR rubbishes ALL contemporary music as "popcorn". Nobody can impose his/her opinion on the MA Mama or IR, but anyone has the right to disagree with such a view and express displeasure :)

[I do get the human input vs computer aided stuff thing but when someone says "innaikku irukkara isai ellam enna, popcorn isai dhaane", and on more than one occassion, i can't get myself to imagine it as a critique on JUST techno dependence. Lets not dive deeper into it. We have digressed enough. However, i agree that everyone, mortal or genius musician, is free to have his own musical preferences and dislikes, free of compuslsions of political correctness and niceties]

25th February 2009, 04:04 PM
CR, adhe adhe. Enna naan indha vishayathula konjam fundamental-a, despotic-a think pandraen when it comes to giving special rights for genius musicians - like I'm removing that clause about "but anyone has the right to disagree with such a view and express displeasure " in your post :-)

raagas
25th February 2009, 06:51 PM
Now, can we justify the title of this thread. I am forgetting what i am talking in which post. Relax guys. Lets get back to news.

25th February 2009, 11:19 PM
How does ARR work ? does he write staff notations with every minutest detail worked out in fine detail ? has he ever done that for an ensemble/orchestra ??

I had a chat with one instrumentalist (don't want to reveal his name here for obvious reasons) who plays for him. This is how he works, he will give the main melody and ask him to play whatever he thinks good for it, he won't even be there for recording with the instrumentalist....mostly his assistants will be with him and record. He picks the bits he thinks right for the track at a later date and include them. If he thinks the bits gel with another melody, he will use it for that one. So the instrumentalist doesn't know on which track his music will be. It can come out in any one of his tracks.

26th February 2009, 05:20 AM
It is not just instruments - even vocals are cut and paste. A friend recently watched in horror at some concert where singers who owe their life to ARR sang in a talent show. He told me later that people are blasting Bhavatharini for her voice - but these singers can't even hold a shruthi. Atleast bhavatharini's sodhappals are not technologically glossed up - these singers no doubt owe their life to ARR.
Bala - regarding pop corn - Raja calls his own popular music in heydays as 'appalam and oorugaai' So this is a 360 degree guy. He knows he is not holier than thou - but he laments that today everything is popcorn - Even a sad song should not contain sobs these days coz it will spoil CD sales. And think of it thaimizh film music has had such a treasure cove of pathos -philosophical songs - where are they now? Who vetoes them down - where is emotional content in the songs of movies these days - Valid question from a legend needs to be answered by every music director of the current crop - his sons included.
side note: KR to his credit has the awesome 'Enaannu solluven' from Kudaikkul Mazhai.

26th February 2009, 06:35 AM

I had a chat with one instrumentalist (don't want to reveal his name here for obvious reasons) who plays for him. This is how he works, he will give the main melody and ask him to play whatever he thinks good for it, he won't even be there for recording with the instrumentalist....mostly his assistants will be with him and record. He picks the bits he thinks right for the track at a later date and include them. If he thinks the bits gel with another melody, he will use it for that one. So the instrumentalist doesn't know on which track his music will be. It can come out in any one of his tracks.

Yeah like we are going to believe that. Its true ARR does get in stuff from technicians like a team effort but composing,arranging is all done by him right to the recording. His songs are evidence of this. Ithu yellam over.

ramk1
26th February 2009, 08:38 AM
Hulkster, you got to believe that. He is just a shrewd bits and pieces man, who just like an ordinary programmer would do cuts and pieces and try to create a song. And with the brand name that is associated with his music, it sells like hot cakes. ANd combined with the humility personified image, nobody wud even open their mouth for the truth. Becos, on the other side, u have IR who is a hardcore conformist to his style of music/work/relationship with other fellow technicians/artists. And to add to that, his music sells, and IR's music is no longer a market clincher.People wud never speak ill about success. I know for sure, when IR was at its peak, KJY spoke abt IR as his deivam(this was published in kumudam a few years back when a particular celebrity wud prepare that week's articles). But nowadays, he doesn't even mention his name in interviews etc.

26th February 2009, 09:47 AM
Yeah like we are going to believe that. Its true ARR does get in stuff from technicians like a team effort but composing,arranging is all done by him right to the recording. His songs are evidence of this. Ithu yellam over.

You don't have to believe it but I do, because the talents and knowledge he possess and if I reveal the name, you will also believe. He doesn't need to cook up stories, btw he is a freelancer and has worked and played notes for Raaja also :) I got a chance to meet him accidentally, I asked these questions and he told the experiences he had with both MDs.

26th February 2009, 09:52 AM
ramk1 - I strongly disagree with your posting - IMHO, there is no need to find fault with someone without giving substantiated evidence to support the same - sometime back, there was this Apache Indian, Daler Mehndi n then Gurdas Maann n several others who made big names for a short while with the satellite TV revolution, but did they survive ? NO

ARR has stayed in the industry since 1992! he wudnt be here this long, if he were simply a 'shrewd bits and pieces man' as you suggest - even if he was/is indeed something like that, that doesnt matter, since he is accomplishing stuff in terms of commercial viability

We all have our individual subjective preferences for music, and ppl like his music, for reasons of their own - neither can we thrust our preferences over them nor can they - lets leave it at that

PS: btw, I still think a gentleman by the name Vishal Bharadwaj is one heck of a talented composer, but somehow, Bollywood denied him enough space to blossom into a full-fledged composer - and he could have most likely taken the mantle of the next great composer from Bollywood, but somehow it didnt happen for reasons unknown to us- but ARR has stayed, tats wat matters

26th February 2009, 10:35 AM
"Who vetoes them down - where is emotional content in the songs of movies these days -"
Jai, good question. This bothers me. This is what prevents an emotional connect for me to current songs. Vaaranam Aaayiram, - nice plastic feel-good music but even that love feeling seems manufactured than 'real'. 10 times kettappuram...oru salippu.
But I cant question it if a 'current youth' doesnt want that sort of emotion that IR produces(like thalattu ketka naanum).
Mathabadi, it is tough to take "I met a friend who had a friend who saw IR composing..." seriously.

You can fool some people all the time, all the people some time, not all the people all the time. 16 years of continuous, progressive wowing of TN, North India and the World certainly calls for talent. While I am with Jai, who is trying to rebut the mud-slinging on IR, I cannot simply say that ARR is mere hype and a music editor. He is a bonafide composer. Please check out his work with an open mind to realise that. If you are saying IR is a greater composer, thats an opinion, and I share it. But this doesnt need bringing ARR down to zero. That seems churlish to me.

nanchil_guy
26th February 2009, 11:39 AM
I hope posting this news on this 'IR news and titbits' will not be considered as criminal, as this is not fully about IR.

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/February/250209a.asp

26th February 2009, 11:46 AM
You can fool some people all the time, all the people some time, not all the people all the time. 16 years of continuous, progressive wowing of TN, North India and the World certainly calls for talent.

He lost his ground in TN long time back probably around 2000, that is just 8 years for him. Now everyone has the lastest mac with them, he can never ever gain back the same status he had here. TN is over for him.

K
26th February 2009, 12:00 PM
http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/02/24-ilayaraja-to-participate-ar-rahman-felicitation.html

26th February 2009, 12:07 PM
Mr Jude and Ramk1, Calling ARR a good sound engineer/programmer has been a familiar catcall for IR fans when they judge his work. But as Plum said he certainly is extremely talented.

As i said although he does work in a team and encourages them to put in their own ideas, it aint certainly as bit and pieces as it sounds. Rahman has extremely good knowledge of WCM and carnatic music and as much as his technicians join in it is Rahman who decides the tune,flow and arrangement as every song that Rahman does has a trademark style which only he can do.

If what you said was true, he would not have been able to compose WOHE or even Elizabeth the golden age. Really speculative i tell you.

raagas
26th February 2009, 02:31 PM
We must not forget to understand the basic difference in their environments.

IR was 'music assistant' in real sense, and grew into composer and hence the growth was in a particular dimension.

ARR was a musician, who used to jam with other musicians. He was part of Bands he had formed such as 'Nemesis', 'Roots', 'Magic' at different times, apart from being a session musician for film composers. Also, we must not forget that ARR did not even dream about becoming a film composer. He was just enjoying his bands and performances in a 'Team', which even included playing along L.Shankar, L.Subramaniam, Zakir Hussain etc. And add to that, he branched into Ad jingles and later, films just happened. Remember what ARR told SPB (as narrated by SPB) - "i dont think i will survive beyond 5 years". I myself read his interview during Bombay in which he said "There will be some other person 5 years down the line and i might not be in the field.My music is working now, but it wont be the same always". He himself did not 'decide' in those days. Just that he was giving something different and it was working bigtime and since it was working, he was again giving. Thats why he even did Vandemataram(ever wondered why he did not do any other non-film album after that??, if we leave Bombay Dreams etc,which also had film songs only). Slowly he felt that this is his field in which he will stick or a confidence that he can no longer delink from films. and he kept on moving. so, the whole system in which he operated and his own modus operandi was in different dimension ever since he was a kid may be. Now, we cant question his choice of working that way because thats the way he had been. For me, what matters is the output. if i like it, i like it or else, Light!!! Thats why there have always been ARR scores which i liked and disliked, and liking or disliking happened on their own, without any comparisions with IR or expectations to make music in certain way.

I think ARR is strongly into collaborative environment and thats how he has been always. So, there is no point in finding fault with it today as such. It would be like saying "Pt.Ravi Shankar uses too much of classical music on sitar and tabla for films" (only an example).

And i agree with hulkster, it wouldnt be easy to score for WOHE and The Golden Age, both impressed me a lot, without comparing to any work by any other composer or IR. Golden Age too, was in collaboration with Craig Armstrong. (btw, listen to the track 'Dr. Dee Pt.1' in it, it distinctly reminds us of IR, seriously).

26th February 2009, 02:32 PM
Bala - regarding pop corn - Raja calls his own popular music in heydays as 'appalam and oorugaai' So this is a 360 degree guy. He knows he is not holier than thou - but he laments that today everything is popcorn - Even a sad song should not contain sobs these days coz it will spoil CD sales. And think of it thaimizh film music has had such a treasure cove of pathos -philosophical songs - where are they now? Who vetoes them down - where is emotional content in the songs of movies these days - Valid question from a legend needs to be answered by every music director of the current crop - his sons included.
side note: KR to his credit has the awesome 'Enaannu solluven' from Kudaikkul Mazhai.
One question Jai: Sad/philosophical/pathos songs are classics and a "Tholin Mele" is not??? Or a "Madai Thirandhu"? I don't buy that, sorry, even if its Ilaiyaraaja's opinion. ellam classics-a nu kekkadheenga, adhu vera vishayam]

Ippo "emotional" song-e varadhillaya? Nalla love-duets varradhillaya? Bhakthi-adippadaila varradhillaya? I mean there are examples for this. Do you deny this? Do you enjoy only one kind of songs? one genre? Do you not listen to other MD songs? If your answer is yes, there is no way you can agree with the popcorn thing. Is there not an A.R Rahman song composed 10 years back that you listen to now?

P.S: What we prefer the most, what we would die for etc - thats a diff issue

26th February 2009, 02:52 PM
From what IR says, his reference of popcorn music is the jamming of guitar like in heavy metal songs by nowadays english breakaway artists and most R and B stuff where their music is derived from catchy loops and programming.

He does not hate pop music and all but he hates the fact that our youngsters(indian) are so interested in their type of music which has no "culture" or proper composing skill(like a song just made to sound catchy with sounds added in there and here).

nanchil_guy
26th February 2009, 03:37 PM
One question Jai: Sad/philosophical/pathos songs are classics and a "Tholin Mele" is not??? Or a "Madai Thirandhu"? I don't buy that, sorry, even if its Ilaiyaraaja's opinion. ellam classics-a nu kekkadheenga, adhu vera vishayam]

Ippo "emotional" song-e varadhillaya? Nalla love-duets varradhillaya? Bhakthi-adippadaila varradhillaya? I mean there are examples for this. Do you deny this? Do you enjoy only one kind of songs? one genre? Do you not listen to other MD songs? If your answer is yes, there is no way you can agree with the popcorn thing. Is there not an A.R Rahman song composed 10 years back that you listen to now?

P.S: What we prefer the most, what we would die for etc - thats a diff issue

I am sure Jai didnt mean that only Sad/philosophical/pathos songs are classics all other are junks. What he mentioned was these Sad/philosophical/pathos songs are becoming a thing of past.

One of the important reason for this from my point of view is, this current generation is not like the angry young generation of 70's who celebrated the philosophical songs and definitly not like the 80's young generation who really enjoyed the love/sad songs.

As they say this 'vibrant' young india loves the happy/cheerful songs mostly. Theres no part for 'sad' in their life, atleast thats what they are trying to belive.

26th February 2009, 03:52 PM
nanchil/Jai/Hulk,
At a general level, i agree. The kostin is, idhellam Ilaiyaraaja sonnadha illa neenga (Jai, Hulk) solradha? :)

Anyway, i think this has dragged on for far too long (enna oru nyanodhayam!). Free-a vida vendiya neram vandhiruchu... Plum sonna 'conclusion' ku vidradhu dhaan best pola irukku... :)

nanchil_guy
26th February 2009, 04:06 PM
nanchil/Jai/Hulk,
At a general level, i agree. The kostin is, idhellam Ilaiyaraaja sonnadha illa neenga (Jai, Hulk) solradha? :)

Anyway, i think this has dragged on for far too long (enna oru nyanodhayam!). Free-a vida vendiya neram vandhiruchu... Plum sonna 'conclusion' ku vidradhu dhaan best pola irukku... :)

Avaru ennaikku ethai pathhi pesirukkaru, eppavum pola mouna samiyaruthan, namalaathan ithu mathiri ethavthu 'karuthu' sollikittu irukkom
(kannu theiyathavan etc yaanai thadavi parthu karuthu sonnadhu pola).

Ithu ellathukkum mutru pulli vaikka vendiya neram vandhachhu...... nan intha arguments a sonnen ( ella adiyayum vangikittu vadivelu solra mathiri)

nanchil_guy
26th February 2009, 05:01 PM
crajkumar_be, this one for u

http://archives.chennaionline.com/music/Events/2005/10ilayaraja.asp

"On the current trend of re-mixes, Ilayaraja said he had nothing much to say. "There will always be different kinds of music available. Re-mix is like fast food. Some may not like it, others will like it." It is not for us to judge music in its varying moods and forms -- different formats will be available. One can choose whichever form one likes and relish it, said the maestro. Prophetic words, indeed. He has no quarrel with the world and with those who seek fast music. Have your pick and enjoy music, he seems to say."

(ellam mudinjathukku apparama, vadivelu ethavadhu munumunuppaar illa, adhu mathiri ninaichikittu ithoda niruthiruvom.)

Sureshs65
26th February 2009, 05:33 PM
Good that everyone has agreed to stop this and hadn't gone 'mudhala avana nirutha sollu' (More like how Vivek would say it :)

26th February 2009, 06:39 PM
What did we stop here :roll: As there were multiple activities happening in various threads for the past few days It was really difficult to follow :( Good that one thread is put to silence now :oops:

26th February 2009, 07:13 PM
If what you said was true, he would not have been able to compose WOHE or even Elizabeth the golden age. Really speculative i tell you.

I haven't heard any tracks from the movies you have quoted. Whatever I wrote is strictly applicable for songs alone. I don't know how he works for BGM, so don't assume and conclude something.

buggle
26th February 2009, 08:17 PM
What's this????

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/02/26-ilayaraja-is-above-oscars-ar-rahman.html

26th February 2009, 08:49 PM
What's this????

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/02/26-ilayaraja-is-above-oscars-ar-rahman.html

Ithathan naan ARR section-la sonnen

Sila per tham thoom-nu kuthichanga

BTW Rahman :notworthy:

27th February 2009, 01:05 AM
May be old (Sibiraj marriage / reception), but interesting to see IR in a function like this. May be the reception had people attending at different times and easy to avoid "some" people :

[html:24231c4705]
http://www.kumudam.com/images/gal_images/l_597.jpg
[/html:24231c4705]

eagle
27th February 2009, 01:59 AM
Hulkster, you got to believe that. He is just a shrewd bits and pieces man, who just like an ordinary programmer would do cuts and pieces and try to create a song. And with the brand name that is associated with his music, it sells like hot cakes.

If this is the case every tom, dick and harry can easily create hits and win awards including oscar.

Pls do not belittle his achievements.

27th February 2009, 02:45 AM
http://www.hindu.com/2009/02/27/stories/2009022753850400.htm

YSR mailed ARR to convey IR's wishes, this report says:-)

27th February 2009, 04:40 AM
Hulkster, you got to believe that. He is just a shrewd bits and pieces man, who just like an ordinary programmer would do cuts and pieces and try to create a song. And with the brand name that is associated with his music, it sells like hot cakes.

If this is the case every tom, dick and harry can easily create hits and win awards including oscar.

I agree

27th February 2009, 08:59 AM

If tom, dick and harry works with any english director, they have a chance, I mean it seriously. The future generation will do it with ease is my guess.

27th February 2009, 09:42 AM
MrJudge - there is no point, IMHO, on the part of IR fans to remain constantly in a self-denial mode

It doesnt matter how ARR won the award - what matters is he was/is ambitious and works towards his ambition with a single-minded determination - and he is reaping the benefits of those efforts

You and I may not like his style of composing, but ppl like it and today he is popular throughout India and slowly increased his popularity across the world as well

AM not discussing the merits of ARR as a composer - thats beyond the purview here - what matters is even if there was someone a 1000 times as talented as IR, if that person does not make any effort whatsoever, or is not ambitious to get awards, he is not going to get it!

whichever you look at it, thats the way the world is - IR is musically very ambitious, but when it comes to reputationn et al, he is not

We have to live with it - why would this man devote his life-time ambitious project TiS to a non-entity like Fr.Gasper ?? what prevented him from joining hands with someone like Bharat Bala ?? had ARR handled a TiS-like project, he wud have taken it to unimaginable heights - not interms of quality, but in terms of the product reaching the max no of people with fanfare et al -so whose fault is it ?

True, any tom, *ick and harry with any english director, stands a good chance of winning any award in the future ?? whats wrong with it ? thats the way things have always worked

When Randy Newman contested with Vangelis for the Oscars the latter won for CHARIOTS OF FIRE! even today in the US, there are many who are not happy with it - thats the way it is

OTOH, as an IR fan let me ask you, in the last 5 years, how many times have IR fans bought original CDs of IR's releases ? i mean those that were actually available and could have been purchased, and yet, many decided to download the same from dubious sites and there are sites that shamelessly still maintain his tracks/albums!

I understand that one of the main criteria for awards like Oscars, is the record of no of CDs/albums sold! popularity is the key component - how many CDs of IR's have been sold in the last 5-6 years compared to ARR's ? do we have a statistic to prove the actual number ?? even IR does not care about his albums once they are released, at least gives such an impression

IR gave a stunning album filled with Jazz in Mumbai XPress in 2005 - today I cannot get hold of even one COPY of MX online or elsewhere - why ? coz, Kamal and IR badly mismanaged the CD production of MX - whose fault is this ??

Being a prodigiously talented genius is one thing, but being unprofessional, completely oblivious to whats happening to ones own creations is another - cant IR hire a decent professional management team to manage his projects ?? he can but he wont! why ? only his creator knows

Did ARR or his fans or the present Oscar/Grammy committee prevent IR from releasing his much-publicised SYMPHONY of 1993 ?? we dont even know for sure if such a Symphony actually exists or not!! in 1993-1994, IR took all the credit for a work which he didnt not even show to the world - I still remember an interview in 1994, when asked about the symphony, IR said 'it will never come out'! what the heck ??? while at least ARR is getting credit for something that everyone could actually hear!

he wont DO a single thing thats required of present times, but fans like us want him to be awarded bigtime - how is it going to happen ??

so, IMO instead of cribbing about someone else's success (howsoever it might have been achieved), if we ask the above questions, it will dawn on us that if IR did not manage an award of significance, thats his OWN CHOICE! we dont even have the right to find fault in it

raja_fan
27th February 2009, 10:00 AM
Who is this man who is an ardent fan of IR and close to Mani Ratnam ?

http://www.hindu.com/fr/2009/02/27/stories/2009022751240400.htm

Sureshs65
27th February 2009, 11:09 AM
He is a film critic of Kannada films in Hindu. He was the one who earlier wrote about going with Myskin for Nandala shoot and later also wrote about recording done by Illayaraja. He had ended that article with "If music is a religion, Illayaraja is GOD".

27th February 2009, 11:20 AM
sures , without seeing that link, let me guess - is that Shivakumar?

27th February 2009, 11:26 AM
irir123, agree with you on not belittling Rahman's achievement and the lack of business sense of Raja and his groupies. I still dont understand why Rahman has to be downgraded to appreciate Raja. Sari, adhu avanga avanga ishtam.

It is frustrating when you cant get a original CD anywhere -even a Naan Kadavul, 1 week after release, cant be found in Mumbai. I mean, forget US. This is India, man. I havent still heard Nandhalala. Had to postpone a Chennai trip and that means I cant hear NL until then.

Any Tom, Dick and Harry cannot win an Oscar when he scores for an 'English' director - this is so obvious that I dont need to repudiate this :-)

kameshratnam
27th February 2009, 11:27 AM
irir123: You spoke my mind. I guess.. we need to stop with one sentence..IR is a musical genius...that is it

raja_fan
27th February 2009, 11:57 AM
Rahman says "IR is bigger than Oscars "

சரியான முறையி்ல் அவரது இசை எடுத்துச் செல்லப்பட்டிருந்தால் எப்போதோ அவர் ஆஸ்கர் விருதினை வென்றிருப்பார் என்று புகழாரம் சூட்டினார்.

27th February 2009, 01:00 PM
raja_fan,

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/interview/2009/02/27-ar-rahman-press-meet-full-coverage.html

Full interview is here!
...And also I noticed there is a opinion poll on who is the best composer in tamil. I wanted to see how the trend is and voted for Raaja and saw that Raaja leads by a huge margin :lol: Nammalunga ellam oscar'e vaangittu vanthaalum ARR'a vida Raaja thaan best'nnu vote podraanga, ithu pothum thalaivarukku :notworthy:

raja_fan
27th February 2009, 01:06 PM
Rajasaranam,

Where is the opinion poll ?

If it is in thatstamil, that cannot be trusted !

raja_fan
27th February 2009, 01:10 PM
Also did any English media report what ARR said about IR ?

raja_fan
27th February 2009, 01:21 PM
Rajasaranam,

What is more interesting is the timing of these awards.

Nan Kadavul is breaking BO records and people who have watched IR's back ground score would have certainly wondered about the oscar give for original score :)

nanchil_guy
27th February 2009, 03:29 PM
raja_fan,

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/interview/2009/02/27-ar-rahman-press-meet-full-coverage.html

Full interview is here!
...And also I noticed there is a opinion poll on who is the best composer in tamil. I wanted to see how the trend is and voted for Raaja and saw that Raaja leads by a huge margin :lol: Nammalunga ellam oscar'e vaangittu vanthaalum ARR'a vida Raaja thaan best'nnu vote podraanga, ithu pothum thalaivarukku :notworthy:

In that interview ARR mentioned Rajini, kamal and MR only from Tamilnadu and the reporter raised the next question as ' did IR congratulated u?'. Why should this media persons ask this kinda controversial questions. The reporter could have asked about so many other people from TN, why IR? What i am trying to say here is , either the reporter should have assuemd that IR wouldnt have wished ARR or might have tried to get some controversial answer from ARR, to his credit ARR never did that .

They didnt stop there , the next question was ' what u think on why IR didnt get this award?'. isnt it running after contrversial or what? On the other hand they should have asked about his feeling on getting this award, about the experience working with Hollywood people etc.

Mostly this media is responsible for creating a virtual rivalry between IR and ARR which never exists in real world and most junk of that credit should go to 'kumudam'

pure bliss
27th February 2009, 05:41 PM
MrJudge - there is no point, IMHO, on the part of IR fans to remain constantly in a self-denial mode

It doesnt matter how ARR won the award - what matters is he was/is ambitious and works towards his ambition with a single-minded determination - and he is reaping the benefits of those efforts

You and I may not like his style of composing, but ppl like it and today he is popular throughout India and slowly increased his popularity across the world as well

AM not discussing the merits of ARR as a composer - thats beyond the purview here - what matters is even if there was someone a 1000 times as talented as IR, if that person does not make any effort whatsoever, or is not ambitious to get awards, he is not going to get it!

whichever you look at it, thats the way the world is - IR is musically very ambitious, but when it comes to reputationn et al, he is not

We have to live with it - why would this man devote his life-time ambitious project TiS to a non-entity like Fr.Gasper ?? what prevented him from joining hands with someone like Bharat Bala ?? had ARR handled a TiS-like project, he wud have taken it to unimaginable heights - not interms of quality, but in terms of the product reaching the max no of people with fanfare et al -so whose fault is it ?

True, any tom, *ick and harry with any english director, stands a good chance of winning any award in the future ?? whats wrong with it ? thats the way things have always worked

When Randy Newman contested with Vangelis for the Oscars the latter won for CHARIOTS OF FIRE! even today in the US, there are many who are not happy with it - thats the way it is

OTOH, as an IR fan let me ask you, in the last 5 years, how many times have IR fans bought original CDs of IR's releases ? i mean those that were actually available and could have been purchased, and yet, many decided to download the same from dubious sites and there are sites that shamelessly still maintain his tracks/albums!

I understand that one of the main criteria for awards like Oscars, is the record of no of CDs/albums sold! popularity is the key component - how many CDs of IR's have been sold in the last 5-6 years compared to ARR's ? do we have a statistic to prove the actual number ?? even IR does not care about his albums once they are released, at least gives such an impression

IR gave a stunning album filled with Jazz in Mumbai XPress in 2005 - today I cannot get hold of even one COPY of MX online or elsewhere - why ? coz, Kamal and IR badly mismanaged the CD production of MX - whose fault is this ??

Being a prodigiously talented genius is one thing, but being unprofessional, completely oblivious to whats happening to ones own creations is another - cant IR hire a decent professional management team to manage his projects ?? he can but he wont! why ? only his creator knows

Did ARR or his fans or the present Oscar/Grammy committee prevent IR from releasing his much-publicised SYMPHONY of 1993 ?? we dont even know for sure if such a Symphony actually exists or not!! in 1993-1994, IR took all the credit for a work which he didnt not even show to the world - I still remember an interview in 1994, when asked about the symphony, IR said 'it will never come out'! what the heck ??? while at least ARR is getting credit for something that everyone could actually hear!

he wont DO a single thing thats required of present times, but fans like us want him to be awarded bigtime - how is it going to happen ??

so, IMO instead of cribbing about someone else's success (howsoever it might have been achieved), if we ask the above questions, it will dawn on us that if IR did not manage an award of significance, thats his OWN CHOICE! we dont even have the right to find fault in it

If any tom/dick or harry can get an oscar u can try too!

Fliflo
27th February 2009, 07:34 PM
Full press meet video here.

http://www.nakkheeran.in/users/frmMoreWebTv.aspx?WTV=142

You can see it yourself

27th February 2009, 07:51 PM

If any tom/dick or harry can get an oscar u can try too!

Pure bliss - dont know if you understand Tamil or not - there is a saying "mottai mandaikkum muzhangaalukkum mudicchu poduvadhu" meaning "trying to tie a knot between a bald head and an unrelated bald knee" - your retort reminds me exactly of that

I dont want to say anything that might be construed as an insult - I have given all credit to ARR and you are coming back at me with one dumb (IMO) statement quoting my posting!

sigh

sat_srini
27th February 2009, 10:41 PM
I can see that you are a *ick. So I would love to see you bring the Oscar's next year.

Sorry for the dig guys

If tom, dick and harry works with any english director, they have a chance, I mean it seriously. The future generation will do it with ease is my guess.

27th February 2009, 11:06 PM
Many IR fans recognize rather than deride ARR's achievement. Hats off to them. MrJudge is from an entirely different stock, however :)
The vehemence with which he hates the Oscar Award winner is stunning, simply. Hopefully, Yuvan, who is a very good MD, will come up with something great, otherwise MrJudge will be spending sleepless days.

Having said all of this, I must admit that the presence of Danny Boyle did indeed bring home the bacon for ARR. He has produced many memorable songs before this.

From an ARR fan.

eagle
28th February 2009, 01:49 AM

irir123 ,
I dont quite get what you mean raja's reputation or his attitude towards it.

Second statement is also equally ambiguous.

Yes i have been telling people to buy original CD's rather than downloading it. this is the least we can do for a man who gave so much through his music.

Me too trying to get hold of MX and Heyram albeit with no success. Its really frustrating that his fabulous works are unavilable let me add GURU also in this list. People say lot of things about releasing his BGM score while working with him but forget once the movie is released. If kamal, Bala likes do this to raaja than wat else we can expect?

You are being unneccesarily harsh on Raja for the symphony. John Scot said that he listened to it later defended raja for not relasing it also. he said raja was concerned with the critics reaction to it. Afterall its his work, unlike TIS he is not answerable to anyone.

Its better we concentrate on spreading his music and not thinking in terms of winning awards. He can be a lifetime companion to someone who takes a liking to his music.

28th February 2009, 07:07 AM
irir123 , I dont quite get what you mean raja's reputation or his attitude towards it.

as a fan, its my peeve that IR does nothing to do even the most fundamental things that anyone in this field does - by 2005, IR was in the industry/field for more than 30 years!! with such a vast experience, he should not have even allowed the TiS thing become messy - Fr.Gasper gave an interview in Nakkeeran or some magazine, totally insulting IR - not that it matters, but given that the entire TiS was mishandled so shabbily, my question is why does IR get into such predicaments and let someone like Fr.Gasper humiliate him in the press ?? IR seems to be so uncaring about himself - in the perception of todays world, he seems to be a lost cause - albums for unfinished films, albums for duds, and what not

Second statement is also equally ambiguous.

consistency has never been the hallmark when it comes to Oscar awards anytime - if IR had won an award for one of his 'dandanakka' albums of the past, I personally wudnt have been happy - wud rather if at all he wins, he does so, for the soundtrack of a film like "Hey Ram" - but then, in the end, an award is an award, and there ends the matter

Me too trying to get hold of MX and Heyram albeit with no success. Its really frustrating that his fabulous works are unavilable let me add GURU also in this list. People say lot of things about releasing his BGM score while working with him but forget once the movie is released. If kamal, Bala likes do this to raaja than wat else we can expect?

Dont know how much of the fault lies with IR - cant he make a precondition that he wont put in effort unless the BGM tracks are released as an album ? whats the purpose of making so much effort for Hey Ram when the soundtrack is not released at all ?
doesnt he realise his own worth ?

You are being unneccesarily harsh on Raja for the symphony. John Scot said that he listened to it later defended raja for not relasing it also. he said raja was concerned with the critics reaction to it. Afterall its his work, unlike TIS he is not answerable to anyone.

I dont know if you recall the amount of fanfare that accompanied his symphony announcement in 1993 - it was a musical event, an equivalent of an Indian landing on the moon for the first time! the expectations were skyhigh, ONLY to be squashed by its non-release! 16 years and still IR has not come out with a single statement as to why it has not been released - WHY ? if he was willing to take in all the adulation and pugazhaaram at the time of its recording, he should be equally willing to come forth with a reason(s) as to why he chose not to release it - I think he owes us that

Its better we concentrate on spreading his music and not thinking in terms of winning awards. He can be a lifetime companion to someone who takes a liking to his music.

its easier said than done

28th February 2009, 10:18 AM
To my knowledge IRs first symphony was not released due to fundamental difference in copyright between IR and Sony. Eventually few indian companies also tried to release (Saregama for e.g.), but Sony didnt give up the right.

Its purely upto Sony and not upto IR to release symphony. IR probably can give up his right and that will make Sony happy and Sony can release.

Reg. TIS, yes, IR screwed up completely. He unnecessarily got involved in the transaction. If he had kept aside, it would have been released by Saregama. Saregama definitely would not have taken the music to Grammy or anywhere, but would hvae made it available more easily since they have huge distribution list.

28th February 2009, 10:47 AM
njv - wasnt the Symphony handled by some Pyramid company based outside India ??

28th February 2009, 11:10 AM
I can see that you are a *ick. So I would love to see you bring the Oscar's next year.

Sorry for the dig guys

If you like to call names using bad word, use the PM and keep it private...atleast maintain some decency here. Check you PM, and I am expecting more from you through PM. :D

sat_srini
28th February 2009, 11:35 AM
IMO decency does not apply to you. So, I have no regrets. Anyways, I saw ur response and do not want to continue this discussion. So, this my last post here.

Sorry for the dig guys

If you like to call names using bad word, use the PM and keep it private...atleast maintain some decency here. Check you PM, and I am expecting more from you through PM. :D

kameshratnam
28th February 2009, 11:40 AM
Regarding RPO being released i guess IR is the best person to come and talk about it in public..Simply saying pop corn and full meals is not going to be of any help..
I have been maintaining that ARR has been having a great team of PRO's who spread good things and are responsible for his entry in mumbai and then to places outside india

IR should have young dynamic people who r experienced in the market and who can take him places...He doesnt need people who say Ahaa..ohoho about his music and then take him nowhere..that will be a waste of time and nothing can be done. He needs international recognition..as kamal said the talent is on par of that of bharathiyar...
I dont know and i feel sad as to when that cud sink in....

28th February 2009, 11:46 AM
IMO decency does not apply to you. So, I have no regrets. Anyways, I saw ur response and do not want to continue this discussion. So, this my last post here.

I don't want to continue either. But this is my last word to you...I wasn't asking whether decency applies to me or not, 'bad words' targeting individuals should be avoided in any public forum/place. If you have a problem, you can very well do it through PM. Well, I don't think you understand that and I hope you'll learn it someday.

28th February 2009, 01:32 PM
njv - wasnt the Symphony handled by some Pyramid company based outside India ??
May be they began, but issue came when Sony got into the distribution rights.

28th February 2009, 07:20 PM
Regarding symphony

To: ilaiyaraaja@ yahoogroups. com
Sent: Thursday, February 26, 2009 3:35:28 PM
Subject: [Ilaiyaraaja] Re: Maestro's symphony

Dear All,

This topic has been discussed quite a number of times in our group,
in the past 10 years. But, I understand that our newer members might
not be aware of it. Hence, for their benefit, I am posting the links
to posts containing our Maestro's reply to our question on this
topic, as follows:

http://launch. groups.yahoo. com/group/ ilaiyaraaja/ message/3499

http://launch. groups.yahoo. com/group/ ilaiyaraaja/ message/3465

I hope this helps.

Yours Always Musically,
Vijay.

28th February 2009, 07:38 PM
Regarding symphony

Dear All,

topic, as follows:

I hope this helps.

Yours Always Musically,
Vijay.

What these messages say? Can anyone post them here or is it available already in the hub?

28th February 2009, 08:08 PM
Hulkster - am sorry - I dont buy that explanation - IR should explain the same in a press conference just the same way he announced the symphony in a press conference!

The same IR who claims doing the symphony was a madathanam and that other great people have done it, also says on another occasion that the Budapest Orchestra conductor apparently told him that he could even find fault with Beethovens works (or something like that) but not with IR's notes!

comeon, we are not feeding bottle fed toddlers to believe such 'nilaa nilaa odi vaa' stories - we deserve to know the hard facts - being a little bit more upfront will not hurt anyone

eagle
28th February 2009, 09:54 PM
The same IR who claims doing the symphony was a madathanam and that other great people have done it, also says on another occasion that the Budapest Orchestra conductor apparently told him that he could even find fault with Beethovens works (or something like that) but not with IR's notes!

irir123,
Lets get this straight... i know you know that this man is a bundle of contradictions... many a times he has done that. Now what you expect is not only impractical but also bit childish. I used to wonder whether he is doing it consciously on purpose or that's the way he is... i have come to a conclusion its the second... irri123 there's no point in being consistent in this... its high time you realize it ... :cry:

raagas
28th February 2009, 10:56 PM
raja_fan,

Full interview is here!

Can anyone translate that article into english please.

Also, i heard that IR too congrtulated ARR, something to the effect - "Shekhar's blessings got the oscars for him". Can anyone translate the whole thing. plz.

1st March 2009, 12:01 AM
eagle: all of this comes from my frustration as an IR fan, thats all

1st March 2009, 11:54 AM
Another Dropped movie :(
http://jeyamohan.in/?p=1761

1st March 2009, 01:58 PM
Another Dropped movie :(
http://jeyamohan.in/?p=1761

Nothing to be worried though. All BM's movie after 90s were flop this would have followed the "trend". May be we would have got some good songs from IR.

IRIR - Pl dont waste ur energy in IR anymore. You need two hands to clap and IR is one of the hand that he is not willing to shake. So chill out. Enjoy his songs and BGM and in the next decade or two, lets hope that he comes up with few symphonys that will talk about IR for next centuries to come.

1st March 2009, 02:29 PM
I heard a song from Raasiyaa ( Hindi version ) with soem hindustani flavor .... Does it exists in Tamizh also ?

Laage Nahin Mora Jiyara
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/music/hindi_bollywood/s/movie_name.10332/music_director.504/

Fantastic song , typical 80s stuff !

1st March 2009, 02:31 PM
And probably Sadhana Sargam's first song with IR , although dubbed !!

ezy0265
1st March 2009, 04:38 PM
MumbaiRamki,

That song is Unna Ninaichu in tamil. Some of those gems of IR that simply got ignored.

Also give a listen to Thindukallu from the same movie. Wow, what a song!!!

Rasaiya - Unna Ninaichu
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5tg2mo1ywjd/Raasaiya - Unnai Ninaichu.mp3

Rasaiya - Thindukallu
http://www.mediafire.com/file/dt04zhqwon2/Raasaiya - Thindukkallu.mp3

Mohan

kameshratnam
1st March 2009, 06:59 PM
Regarding symphony

Dear All,

topic, as follows:

I hope this helps.

Yours Always Musically,
Vijay.

:D :D :D :D :D :) :D :D

IR Bhaktargal sangam.....

Fliflo
1st March 2009, 07:13 PM
Gulzar on IR

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/03/01-no-indian-cinema-without-maestro-ilayaraaja.html

eagle
1st March 2009, 09:42 PM
Gulzar on IR

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/03/01-no-indian-cinema-without-maestro-ilayaraaja.html

ஒரு தட்டில், ஒரு படத்தின் கலைஞர்களையும் மறு தட்டில் இளையராஜாவையும் வைத்துப் பார்த்தால், இரண்டுமே சமமாக இருக்கும். அப்படி ஒரு மகத்தான கலைஞரின் இசையை இந்தி சினிமா அடிக்கடி கேட்க முடியாமல் போனது பாலிவுட்டுக்குதான் நஷ்டம். இனி அடிக்கடி ராஜாவின் இசை பாலிவுட்டில் ஒலிக்கும் என நம்புகிறேன்.

Wow!!! what a way to see an artist's contribution to cinema!!! only an artist who knows the real value of raaja's music and without bias can say this... Gulzar saab kya baath kya apne....Raaja i am really proud of you ...

Fliflo
2nd March 2009, 08:26 AM
http://www.nakkheeran.in/users/frmNews.aspx?N=4256

nanchil_guy
2nd March 2009, 11:10 AM
Sariyana nerathil kodukkapadaatha virudhkku mathippillai:IR

http://www.dinamani.com/NewsItems.asp?ID=DNT20090301135002&Title=TamilNadu+News&lTitle=R%AAZLm&Topic=0&ndate=3/2/2009&dName=No+Title&Dist=0

I guess this is one of his best balanced act, he did on the stage.

2nd March 2009, 11:43 AM
MSV, ARR, IR - all the music geniuses conducted a perfect symphony of words - not even one wrong note. Idhulayum gnani maadhiri vyaadhigalum boru niveditha pondra konashtaigalukkum edhavadhu thenbadum neruppu mootti kuLir kaaya.

nanchil_guy
2nd March 2009, 12:38 PM
'MSV Aathaara shruthi, nangal panjamangal': IR

http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/specials/2009/03/02-ilayaraaja-greets-rahman-with-a-gold-chain.html

raagas
2nd March 2009, 01:04 PM
Can anyone translate into english please?

2nd March 2009, 02:35 PM
Bhoomi Thaangathudaa Saami :)

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/45343.html

Sureshs65
2nd March 2009, 04:57 PM
RS,

Why are giving us such heart attacks?

I guess the theaters screening this movie will have to strengthen their foundations and pillars :)

2nd March 2009, 09:38 PM
Bhoomi Thaangathudaa Saami :)

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/45343.html

Actually I am eager to listen to couple of kuthu songs from Raaja in this movie. I hope he won't disappoint me like UO's azhagi vaRrA.

2nd March 2009, 11:17 PM
அப்பாடா, இனி ஒரு பயலும் 'ராசா ஒரு போதும் ரஹ்மானைப்புகழவில்லை'ன்னு சொல்ல முடியாது:-)

ஒரு வழியாக இந்தப்படியான தூற்றுதல்களுக்கு முற்றுப்புள்ளி வைத்த ராசாவுக்கு ஒரு 'சபாஷ்'!

(இனி நீங்க இந்த "ப்ளாஸ்டிக், பாப் கார்னை"யெல்லம் எப்படி வேணா அர்ச்சனை பண்ணிக்கோங்க சார்:-) )

baroque
3rd March 2009, 12:15 AM
songs songs songs :musicsmile:
sexy, very suave melodies, rousing lyrics, seductive vocals.. smooch music, deep luscious tones.. :redjump: more more more
romba aasaiyaayerukkey.. :swinghead:
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/moviegallery/10320.html

வண்ண மயிலே.... யே .....
வண்ண மயிலே மலர்ச்சரமே
வண்டு குடயும் மாம்பழமே
வளச்சு புடிச்சு இழுத்து அணச்சு
காதல்தான் பண்ணுவேன்

சும்மா நிப்பேனாடி நீ சொல்லும்படி வெப்பேனாடி
சின்ன வயசு தெரியாதா என்ன பண்ணும் புரியாதா
Come on, Raaja
Be naughty and make us feel good. :bluejump:
vinatha. :)

teja
3rd March 2009, 05:33 AM
[tscii:dbf6ab37f7]Interesting article on similarities and differences between IR & ARR's compositions.

http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20090309&fname=Cover+Story&sid=6

It has to be said that serious musical work belongs to Ilaiyaraaja. Rahman’s forte is packaged marketing of catchy jingles
[/tscii:dbf6ab37f7]

3rd March 2009, 07:55 AM
vinatha ,
enakkau namitha padam paarththaale bayama irukku !!!

Im just too afraid to near jagan mohini songs

baroque
3rd March 2009, 08:28 AM
MR :)

nanchil_guy
3rd March 2009, 11:37 AM
More news on the felicitation function;

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/March/020309.asp

eagle
3rd March 2009, 11:39 AM
MSV, ARR, IR - all the music geniuses conducted a perfect symphony of words - not even one wrong note. Idhulayum gnani maadhiri vyaadhigalum boru niveditha pondra konashtaigalukkum edhavadhu thenbadum neruppu mootti kuLir kaaya.

Does anybody has the full text of raaja's speech? It seems he talked at length more than his detractors hoped for...

nanchil_guy
3rd March 2009, 11:41 AM
அப்பாடா, இனி ஒரு பயலும் 'ராசா ஒரு போதும் ரஹ்மானைப்புகழவில்லை'ன்னு சொல்ல முடியாது:-)

ஒரு வழியாக இந்தப்படியான தூற்றுதல்களுக்கு முற்றுப்புள்ளி வைத்த ராசாவுக்கு ஒரு 'சபாஷ்'!

(இனி நீங்க இந்த "ப்ளாஸ்டிக், பாப் கார்னை"யெல்லம் எப்படி வேணா அர்ச்சனை பண்ணிக்கோங்க சார்:-) )

Not really AE, There are some people who dont understand Tamil, who will keep on say that they yet to see/hear any of IR's good will on ARR ( Even if you try to translate these news into English, they most probably wont accept it, Coz they hv already formed their opinion on IR as a heartless person).

nanchil_guy
3rd March 2009, 11:47 AM
More...

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2009/February/270209a.asp

raagas
3rd March 2009, 12:39 PM
[tscii:d3f02a381f]Interesting article on similarities and differences between IR & ARR's compositions.

http://www.outlookindia.com/full.asp?fodname=20090309&fname=Cover+Story&sid=6

It has to be said that serious musical work belongs to Ilaiyaraaja. Rahman’s forte is packaged marketing of catchy jingles
[/tscii:d3f02a381f]

It is true that I am IR fan and i do agree that IR's music is seriously disciplined and all. Still, i feel the author was too biased to dismiss ARR's work as mere jingles. I mean, to be fair, there were some good serious music pieces from ARR too. probably the author didnt care to listen to them and just listened to 'packaged' popular hits.
A mere jingle maker cannot cover a spectrum of genres for 16 years and sustain. If he could, how comes other jingle makers are not, despite the abundance of resources today.

raja_fan
3rd March 2009, 01:17 PM
Raagas,

but don't you feel the author is too generous to ARR when he said
"Interestingly, both are proficient in western classical harmonies and string arrangements. "

Do you seriously place ARR on par with IR in WCM and string arrangements ?

eagle
3rd March 2009, 01:21 PM
Raagas,

Do you seriously place ARR on par with IR in WCM and string arrangements ?

Marupadiyumaa? :shock:

aarambathilerunthu aarambingamppa....